Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 21 times today

Cafe Deluxe - West End

4.3
432 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Casual
  • Comfort Food
  • Neighborhood Gem
Cafe Deluxe is an American bistro that combines the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling eatery. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years.

The diverse breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus showcase fresh classics made from scratch. Menu favorites include Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf, the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for breakfast to the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese created from traditional recipes and seasonal ingredients.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Burgers, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast:
Monday through Friday 6:30 am to11:00 am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 7:00 am to 11:00 am

Lunch:
Daily: 11:00 am to 5:00 pm

Happy Hour - at the bar:
Monday through Friday 3:30 pm to 7:00 pm

Dinner:
Sunday through Thursday: 5:00 pm to11:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 pm to 12:30 am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(202) 524-7815
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mark Becraft
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
corner of 22nd and M Street NW @ the Hilton Garden Inn
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking, garage parking and valet parking are available.

Daily Parking Rates - valet access from 22nd Street
0 - 2 Hours - $10.00
2 – 3 Hours - $15.00
Anything above 3 Hours will be the full rate of $45.00
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Four blocks from Dupont Circle (Red Line) and Foggy Bottom (Orange and Blue Lines) Metro stations.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cafe Deluxe offers a wide variety of private and semi-private space with a diverse selection of catering menus to fit any meeting or social event.

View Private Dining Details
What 432 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.0
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

I was there for a little three day stay and I stayed at the hotel. I have lunch one day and then my last night there I called to get a table but it was going to be a wait and there was a spot at the bar which I didn't mind sitting at. Had the best cheeseburger.
The day before I had the best roasted tomato soup

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

I've been to Cafe Deluxe many times. It's a great place for brunch. Comfort food. Not gourmet but we were pleasantly surprised. I really enjoyed the tomato soup & grilled cheese and my husband really liked his steak sandwich. It is a larger space so easy to get last minute reservations.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Nice server but not a good one. Food was adequate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

A neighborhood choice. This time for a birthday celebration. Lovely atmosphere and excellent food-crab cakes were delish! Service was helpful, pleasant and non intrusive. And they remembered to add a candle. Have eaten here for breakfast, brunch also. Always a positive experience. Prices are reasonable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Not enough staff to handle the lunch rush.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Comfortable, predictably good with quality food and responsive service...

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Had a great experience the night before. This time we were apparently seated in no man's land between a full room and a newly opened room, and we were ignored for 30 minutes. Finally a passing server had mercy on us and took our order.

The quality of food is solid, they just didn't handle the crowd properly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Casual spot good for the family. Sandwiches, salads, simple entrees, kids menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Seating was quick. Server was attentive and friendly. Food was delicious! My picky 3 year old actually ate everything we ordered for him! That’s a first! Great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

The starter, a delicious tomato soup, was perfect. The steak frites beautifully prepared and just right. The Malbec rounded it off. Service was excellent. The manager came by a couple of times to check on me.

Two days later I decided to go back to try their shrimp and grits and have another round of the tomato soup. I’m glad I did. The restaurant is open all day. I highly recommend it. Reservations are helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

So good - the chicken sandwich is my favorite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We ate breakfast on Easter at Cafe Deluxe and were very happy with the food and service. I highly recommend the corn flake encrusted french toast! Their cappuccino was awesome as well!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

The food is always solid, have never had a bad meal at any Cafe Deluxe. The service was slow, but the servers were friendly and professional.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

I have had breakfast here many times and have eaten many a burger. I made the mistake of ordering steak frites. I asked for medium rare and it came back well done. Sent it back and waited and waited. The replacement steak was cooked about right, but was tough and pretty tasteless. My companion, who stuck with tuna tacos--also a reliable choice, observed that this is a comfort food place. Should have tried the meatloaf, but in future I will stick with burgers or breakfast.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Another excellent meal at Cafe Deluxe. Every time I eat here they never fail to impress. Food, service and value are all excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The Cobb salad was excellent and the ahi tacos were wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Excellent blueberry pancakes, bacon and eggs and wonderful coffee! Clean, bright, and just what you want for breakfast in the morning! Went three times in one week! Dont miss the beignets! As good as New Orleans! Los, bagel and capers a hit! Wonderful and friendly maitre'd! Great portions!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

My family ate there every morning while visiting DC. Victor waited on us and he was fantastic and helpful. The brunch food was great. We ate there once for dinner and the food was wonderful. 5 stars!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Good food, always reliable at this location and in Cleveland Park. Cafe Deluxe is one of my family's "go to" places!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 9, 2018

The host refused to change table when there were many tables available, claim that he had to be fair with servers and I had to be seated a table with traffic in front of server's station and kitchen door.
From there, unfortunately, I was not comfortable, didn't liked the sangria and my Salmon Burger was not satisfying. Sorry to give this bad review but HOST should know better.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Café Deluxe is a great value. The food is consistently good (my salmon burger was terrific) as is the service. The restaurant is what I call upscale casual, with comfortable ambiance and the ability to easily converse with tablemates.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Bon repas, bon service, beau menu.
WiFi gratuit.
Bruyant et banquette usée.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Efficient and courteous service that allowed for uninterrupted discussion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

great staff .. wait staff has always been kind and pleasant and helpful! I have been to this location over 5 times!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Loved it! Will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

The service was above and beyond what was expected. The meal was delicious and a good value. I highly recommend this restaurant. On the plus side, my open table reservation got me a table quickly at this popular restaurant! I had the grilled salmon, with asparagus orzo and a red pepper sauce (see photo!)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Unfortunately, the burger that I received wasn't good at all. The bread with soggy and it just didn't taste good. I have been to this location and have never has a problem before so I am just chalking this up to a "isolated" incident.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

All of us enjoyed our meals and the service was exceptional. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Held big group volleyball team dinner in private room. Space was perfect. Staff was extremely accommodating and easy to work with. Great waiter and helpers. Food met or exceeded all expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

My daughter accompanied me on a work trip to DC. We wanted a special daddy/daughter date. Cafe Deluxe didn't disappoint. Great service made her feel special and the extensive kid's menu gave us high quality and healthy options. Great night!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

My only complaint was they put us in a tight corner right next to a table with other people. Table too close together when the restaurant was pretty much empty.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 9, 2018

I used to come here because it was dependable in terms of food, with reasonable prices and acceptable service. Slowly, it's been going downhill, and I don't see anyone trying to stop it.

Food: We each had the roast chicken, which used to be a great "comfort" dish (with veggies and mashed potatoes). The chicken dependably had a golden brown (and delicious) skin, and was cooked to perfection. Food would come out reasonably quickly. This time, the skin was the same color as when the chicken is boiled, and the chicken was fairly flavorless, depending on bland gravy with too much thickener for flavor.

Service: Never the strength of Cafe Deluxe, but worse now. Servers seem to turn over every month or two, and the replacements speak less English, have minimal training (filling water glasses, etc.). When the server came by to take our order and we weren't quite ready, he said he'd be right back. It was 12 minutes until we saw him again. There was a problem on the bill, and when we pointed that out, he took over 15 minutes to correct it!

It's a shame, as Cafe Deluxe had a good formula, and a lot of it had to do with what it once stood for. Management needs to do better in terms of overseeing the cooks and service. I won't be back for a while. I hope they take this review seriously.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

The tomato soup was wonderful. The salmon burger & buffalo burgers quite tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Great salmon main course salads! Good business lunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Very slow service. Decent food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 13, 2018

I’ve been to Deluxe multiple times and had a good experience. This time, was a disappointment. While service was very good- attentive at the entrance, a bartender that ensured our drinks were mixed correctly and a server that checked on us and was prompt; half of our food was a disappointment. The bison burger was over cooked, as well as the eggs. The fries were cold. The steak and eggs were good on the other hand.
Might give it another try since location and ambiance are right.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Nice restaurant, food was good - very fresh and tasty!

Only complaint was that the restaurant could have been a bit warmer as it was so cold outside. I was sat next to a window and could feel the cold through the glass. Minor point and wouldn't stop me going back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 3, 2018

Solid lunch.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Snooty hostess. We had to get our own silverware from another table after our food was served. I had the oatmeal and it was just bleh. We had to ask for our drinks twice. Not a great experience at all. And the prices were just insane for what we got.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Great place as always and the service is perfect .

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11