About Cafe Deluxe - West End

2201 M St. NW
Washington, DC 20037
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe is an American bistro that combines the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling eatery. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years.

The diverse breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus showcase fresh classics made from scratch. Menu favorites include Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf, the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for breakfast to the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese created from traditional recipes and seasonal ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday through Friday 6:30 am to11:00 am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 7:00 am to 11:00 am

Lunch:
Daily: 11:00 am to 5:00 pm

Happy Hour - at the bar:
Monday through Friday 3:30 pm to 7:00 pm

Dinner:
Sunday through Thursday: 5:00 pm to11:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 pm to 12:30 am

Cross Street:
corner of 22nd and M Street NW @ the Hilton Garden Inn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 524-7815

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking, garage parking and valet parking are available.

Daily Parking Rates - valet access from 22nd Street
0 - 2 Hours - $10.00
2 – 3 Hours - $15.00
Anything above 3 Hours will be the full rate of $45.00

Public Transit:
Four blocks from Dupont Circle (Red Line) and Foggy Bottom (Orange and Blue Lines) Metro stations.

Executive Chef:
Mark Becraft

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cafe Deluxe offers a wide variety of private and semi-private space with a diverse selection of catering menus to fit any meeting or social event.

Cafe Deluxe - West End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
See All
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Romantic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waiter very rude to my friend.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Waiter very rude to my friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We had twelve of us together for brunch ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had twelve of us together for brunch on Sunday. One baby, one 3 year old, 2 10 year olds and adults. Since it was such a large party, we had to split into two tables. The staff could not have been nicer or more understanding with the movement of people from one table to another, the constant picture taking, etc. The food was very good -- the kids loved the pancakes! A little pricey for a family outing, but still thought it was a great time together. Would definitely recommend it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We really enjoyed everything about dinin ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We really enjoyed everything about dining at Cafe Deluxe. The food, ambiance and service was excellent. I can't wait to go back

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I have gone to Café Deluxe, I ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Every time I have gone to Café Deluxe, I've never been disappointed. The food is always on point and the service is great. They have a very vast menu. This last time I had the Ahi tuna tacos. My brother had the lobster rolls. Bother were great. We also had the chicken roll appetizers. They were delicious. I totally recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My friend got the wrong entree which als ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

My friend got the wrong entree which also took a very long time to arrive. This was surprising because the restaurant us usually excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Waited 22 minutes from when host showed ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Waited 22 minutes from when host showed me to my table, before the waiter showed up. Ordered steak medium rare. But what I got was a overcooked, dry piece of meat. Terrible experience. I will never go back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Good basic comfort foods.

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good basic comfort foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We are big fans of the Cafe Deluxe on Wi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We are big fans of the Cafe Deluxe on Wisconsin Ave., but disappointed with the one on M Street. The service was below standard. Our server forgot out drink order, didn't know the menu, and then brought the entree well before we finished our salad, plus I had to ask for bread. The food was good but the lighting is stark -- not a cozy ambiance like the Wisconsin restaurant. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Been to other Cafe Deluxe locations a fe ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Been to other Cafe Deluxe locations a few times. It tends to be reliable, reasonably priced basic food. This was a Sunday brunch on the occasion of some family visiting town. Service was slow. We had two kids with us and asked if the French toast could be made without corn flake crust for a picky 8 year old; we also asked them to hold all the extras (fruit, eggs, etc). The waitress checked it out and said they didn't have any of the bread without crust! (they served me a dish with regular toast, so clearly they had bread without corn flake crust). Despite what she said, in the end she brought French toast without corn flake crust and our 8 year old devoured the two pieces (one actual slice of bread). She also brought a large portion of scrambled eggs despite us asking her not to. After a very long period when she disappeared, we asked the waitress if she could get us another serving of the same thing and she said sure. This time it came back with corn flake crust (which I have to admit did not look appetizing even to me as an adult); we pointed out to her that this wasn't the same thing she had brought us previously; this seemed to confuse her; she explained that she put in the order and neglected to tell the kitchen that we wanted no crust; this seemed pretty obvious to us, but she felt it necessary to explain it (and make herself look incompetent in the process). She also seemed to explain it as if we should be ok with it because she forgot to tell the kitchen; in any case, she put in the order again and it came back ok.

When we got the bill she pointed out that we might ask for the kids' french toast dish next time because it would be cheaper and didn't come with eggs or fruit (which we had told her we didn't want!!!). Of course she charged us for two orders of regular menu french toast . It's not the money; it's the annoying incompetence and really mediocre service. She never once asked if we wanted a coffee refill, for instance-at a brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Came for breakfast on a busy sunday morn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Came for breakfast on a busy sunday morning. Eggs were good though potatoes uninspiring. Reasonable value though not sure I'd go back

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We were seated with 2 small children rig ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were seated with 2 small children right next to a sweet 16 party. Although it was in a "private room" he door was constantly left open, making it difficult for any of the tables near it able to hear their on conversation.

Our server rarely checked on us, and the quality of the food was overpriced and extremely underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

We went for a light brunch on Sunday, ar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went for a light brunch on Sunday, around 11:30 (early). Not too many people, but service was haphazard and slow (though friendly). Wedge salad was good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

My co-worker and I went on a Wednesday, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

My co-worker and I went on a Wednesday, $8 burger Wednesday to be exact and although the burger was tasty I ordered it med-well and it came well...when asked I told them and I stated that if you're going to advertise burger deals such as this, it needs to be done RIGHT!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Went for an "early" dinner (still on eas ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Went for an "early" dinner (still on east coast time) and caught the tail end of happy hour drinks and food. Ordered a beer, fish & chips, and mussels. The beer was great and arrived from the barkeep in 30 seconds of ordering from our server. The mussels were steamy and perfectly cooked, not at all overdone and rubbery. The batter was so light and crispy on the fish, and chips were exactly what you'd expect good fries to be.. perfectly crispy on the outside and steamy potato goodness on the inside. The wait staff, barkeep, and kitchen worked together so well it was an amazingly efficient and pleasant experience for us when you see such a great infrastructure to create team work and happy employees. This is a rarity and we were fortunate to experience it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

I love this branch of Café Deluxe..food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I love this branch of Café Deluxe..food is so good and wait staff and matred are always courteous.

My favorite is the fried goat cheese salad..so delicious and when the weather is nice there's nothing better than sitting outside and having lunch with a friend.

Love it.

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The menu at Cafe Deluxe is mediocre comp ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The menu at Cafe Deluxe is mediocre compared to some similar restaurants like Clydes's or Chef Geoff's. It is in our neighborhood so we go but service is not always good. Wish the menu was better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Convenient, comfortable, friendly, great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Convenient, comfortable, friendly, great service the night we went there. Good find.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Highly recommend the delicious frosted f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Highly recommend the delicious frosted flake crusted french toast. Great for a quick breakfast or informal brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Perfect lunch w out of town friends, enj ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Perfect lunch w out of town friends, enjoying good food and September sun by the floor to ceiling windows on Washington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We spent 5 days in DC. Cafe Deluxe was t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We spent 5 days in DC. Cafe Deluxe was the only restaurant we ate at every day for all our meals because of the friendly kids menu and good entrees at a reasonable price. We tried others but kept coming back. My kids also enjoy eating at Cafe Deluxe.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service, Great Food and Great Valu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great Service, Great Food and Great Value! I love Cafe Deluxe for delivering such consistent quality. My go to item on the menu is always the cobbler!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love Cafe Deluxe and have visited the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We love Cafe Deluxe and have visited the Wisconsin Ave, and West End locations on several occasions. This past Saturday we met some friends for brunch and were very disappointed. The restaurant was not busy and we were seated right away. It was pretty much downhill after we got seated. Our server was very nice but she was a horrible server. We sat for about 15 min before she even took our drink order. It took forever to get our food and while good, she didn't come back to check if everything was OK and she forgot a diet coke and never refilled our ice tea. I had to get up from the table to pay our bill because she never came back. With more and more competition in that area for restaurants, Cafe Deluxe needs to step up their game.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

One of our favorites in Washington DC in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

One of our favorites in Washington DC in the West End. Food is very good, and the prices are reasonable. Great ambiance, big picture windows open in nice weather so you can feel like you're dining al fresco.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was excellent and a really good ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was excellent and a really good value. Our service, Monique, was very friendly and attentive without being overly so. We had far better service here than we had the night before at the Four Seasons! Definitely would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was great. I asked instead o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The service was great. I asked instead of the lobster roll could I have the lobster in a dinner salad. It cost a little more, but was worth it. It seems like a place to go to after work for meal. We were on short vacation and felt very comfortable there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Brunch menu, comfortable atmosphere. If ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Brunch menu, comfortable atmosphere. If you want eggs Benedict, the classic way, you must ask for it. Really wanted to try the beignets, but only came in a basket and no one else wanted. Bra fast eggs were good. Friendly staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was very slow. Possibly understa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was very slow. Possibly understaffed that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A little isolated location, the 1 on Wis ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

A little isolated location, the 1 on Wisconsin street is more lively

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Went there because of the delicious dish ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went there because of the delicious dish I had on Mother's Day. Unfortunately, it was not on the brunch menu on Sunday. My eggs were ok…not as wonderful as the Mother's Day special, though. I thought it was very nice that the manager took my eggs off the bill.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Brunch was great! Our server Kristina wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Brunch was great! Our server Kristina was wonderful! CRUSHED the food. Left nothing on our plates. Would go back every Sunday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's burger was raw inside; sauteed ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2016

My wife's burger was raw inside; sauteed spinach was inedibly salty. I will give Cafe Deluxe's management credit for removing the charge for the burger from our bill. But overall, a disappointing experience. We won't be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Brunch can be great here, but they had b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Brunch can be great here, but they had bad luck that day and so did we. There was a huge leak from the ceiling. The waiter was severely inexperienced. The orders were partially wrong. The 'classic' eggs Benedict was not classic: wrong bread, a pink crabby hollandaise (I am allergic to shellfish). They corrected order and brought another with the right sauce but wrong bread: no English muffin but a piece of rye I toasted bread. The manager came to say how sorry he was, but there was no deduction to Bill. Twice we lost our forks from their picking up appetizer plates. Our food came warm, but we had no forks. We asked politely for forks, waited and waited. Finally, I got up and brought forks from a nearby empty table. Unfortunate day for them, unfortunate for us. I am sure that with better training and responsiveness, this could be great for brunch. Upside, the young lady at reception was fantastic, funny, friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I had friends visiting from out of town ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I had friends visiting from out of town and brought them here for dinner. The food was outstanding and the service was great. Great portions for reasonable prices. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped in after Kennedy Ctr performance ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Stopped in after Kennedy Ctr performance for a late dinner.

Waited 15 min before going back to hostess and asking why no waiter had come to our table.

Hamburger came out well done, not medium as ordered.

Sent "special" blueberry lemonade back to be changed for white wine; wine finally showed up after we finished eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Decent experience, but wasn't happy with ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Decent experience, but wasn't happy with the slow service. Also, brought bread, appetizer and entree out all at once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Both orders came out wrong, food took a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Both orders came out wrong, food took a long time, nothing was done at all to remedy the situation- no offer to take anything off bill, bring dessert, nothing. A very disappointing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Disappointed with the food; service was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Disappointed with the food; service was fair; plesant but inattentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was a little harried. Food was g ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Service was a little harried. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Food was very good - salads were fresh ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food was very good - salads were fresh and portions were good, lobster roll was tasty and paired with salad made a nice lunch. Our server was a bit overly attentive early on, but became difficult to find when it was time to go. There were lots of items on the menu that we wanted to try, so will definitely go back again soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Was good meal overall. Service could hav ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Was good meal overall. Service could have been better but was enjoyable overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.