About Cafe Deluxe - West End

Cafe Deluxe is an American bistro that combines the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling eatery. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years.

The diverse breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus showcase fresh classics made from scratch. Menu favorites include Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf, the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for breakfast to the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese created from traditional recipes and seasonal ingredients.

2201 M St. NW
Washington, DC 20037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday through Friday 6:30 am to11:00 am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 7:00 am to 11:00 am

Lunch:
Daily: 11:00 am to 5:00 pm

Happy Hour - at the bar:
Monday through Friday 3:30 pm to 7:00 pm

Dinner:
Sunday through Thursday: 5:00 pm to11:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 pm to 12:30 am

Cross Street:
corner of 22nd and M Street NW @ the Hilton Garden Inn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 524-7815

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking, garage parking and valet parking are available.

Daily Parking Rates - valet access from 22nd Street
0 - 2 Hours - $10.00
2 – 3 Hours - $15.00
Anything above 3 Hours will be the full rate of $45.00

Public Transit:
Four blocks from Dupont Circle (Red Line) and Foggy Bottom (Orange and Blue Lines) Metro stations.

Executive Chef:
Mark Becraft

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cafe Deluxe offers a wide variety of private and semi-private space with a diverse selection of catering menus to fit any meeting or social event.

Cafe Deluxe - West End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Great for Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Business Meals (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Authentic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, great prices, great service. Visiting from out of state and we're staying at the Hilton connected to the cafe. We've ate dinner there almost every night!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

In the past, Cafe DeLuxe has been a favorite...but in the Cathedral area of DC. No reason why Downtown isn't as good, but it's it;s just not. the ambiance is urban and happening. the location is great. But, the staff and food leave too much to be desired...and I say this after many hopeful visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

I ordered a burger medium and it came tepid, and more rare than medium. Fries were inconsistent, some crisp, others soggy. First time there. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The service was very slow and when they brought out the meal they told us the soup was not available. It would have been nice to know that when we ordered it not when everyone was getting served (esp since this was for a kids meal). Pretty disappointed in the service overall. Not very attentive, it took a long time between ordering and getting the incomplete set of meals.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Breakfast, beignets great. Service very friendly but not fast or well trained, I.e. To make sure silverware present, milk for coffee comes fast before coffee gets cold. Would be nice if classic eggs Benedict came classic, not with red sauce. Cappuccino orders very very slow. Bright airy corner.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Cafe Delux West End continues is gradual decline. When it opened it was a wonderful addition to the neighborhood. It had great service, great food and was welcoming.

Sadly, it's food continues to decline in quality. The biggest disappointment is it's service and staff. The front staff won't seat you, and the wait staff had become terrible. They forget to pick up the food, forget to refill drinks and don't ask how the food is.

We used to frequent Cafe Delux three times a week. But stopped going because of its decline. When we gave it another trial Thursday it disappointed again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very bad and very very slow service. Wait staff is very inattentive. Food just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall was only fair. Had expected better. Kids were happy at least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Fun atmosphere, excellent service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Waiter was not attentive at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Just can help but come back for the bison burger again and again. My favorite menu item by far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great find during our stay in D.C. I had two picky adult eaters with me and they enjoyed the simple, comfort food options. We went back again because they liked the restaurant and wait staff.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I have had their meatloaf dish several times before and loved it. This time it was a light tan and tasted like nothing. If this is a new recipe, go back to the original. If this was an old piece kept in a refrigerator and then reheated to serve, that's unforgivable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

This restaurant has good field and the service was great. The food was delivered in a timely way and was delicious. While it was the lunch hour, I did not feel crowded or that I needed to scream to have a conversation with my lunch partner. The wait staff were attentive and polite. Will go again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Perfect choice in Cafe Deluxe! It was a great experience from start to finish. Quickly seated on a Saturday night (with our Open Table reservation). Nice things to occupy kids- especially the paper covering the table cloth! Ton's of extra coloring/drawing space.
Kids meals came early and were both visually appealing and delicious. The Greek salad was one of the best I've had recently and the entrees that followed did not disappoint either. Ahi Tuna tacos were thoughtfully prepared and absolutely delicious. The Porter burger was also well received.
Adult beverages also hit the spot! Good beer selections, including some local choices. My cocktail, the Blue Lemonade was just the right balance, and not overly sweet (for the exception of the sugar rimmed glass).
We'll happily return the next time we're in WDC.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were in town for a short holiday and Cafe Deluxe - West End was recommended by our B&B host. I ordered a burger, cooked medium. It was very dry and not very hot when served. It made me think the kitchen pre-cooks the burgers and puts them in a bun when ordered. The rest of the food was fine. Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Very nice upscale casual restaurant that makes a great martini. Eclectic New American menu where everything is good. Only downside is it can get noisy. Have been a repeat vistor.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Gaby was a fantastic server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great burger and great service - a winning combination! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had Easter Brunch at Cafe Deluxe. French Toast was great! Pancakes were rubbery. Omelets were just okay. Service was extremely slow. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was by far the worse, which unfortunately over shadowed the food and the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food here was fine, but not particularly exciting. The menu is pretty generic. Service was quite slow, but friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I think the bison burger is the best burger on the menu. Totally awesome. Looking forward to returning for another one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was good, the prices were fair. I asked for dressing on the side for my salad, and it came premixed. The cup in which my coffee was served wasn't clean - I had to send it back.
Last, but not least, the quality of the service we received was much less than I expect from Café Deluxe. Our waiter took a very long time to take our order, deliver our food, didn't refill our water glasses, and didn't seem to care much. The restaurant wasn't particularly busy, so we didn't ascribe the service we received to too many stations being assigned to him.

Bottom line: I don't think we'll be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good breakfast! Make a reservation. Took us right in. Normal price range, for being in a city hotel.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Crab dip was one of the best we've had

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Calamari--overfried (to the point it was bitter... looked like refried leftover from previous order). Water came, bread never made it to the table--I had to go ask the host. Bread came after the host brought us a basket so we ended up with two baskets... Waiter/kitchen got bun for burger wrong (no we checked and rechecked). and re-checked with waiter... Our food was delivered to another table before getting to us. A table of 4 people who arrived and ordered before us got their food after us. They were not happy. I saw one of the guests point out that there was something in the iced tea, but waiter proceeded to argue about it. Wow... I come back to this location once in a while to give it another chance and find myself wondering if I AM insane for coming back over and over again expecting something different. IF I call in advance that I am heading over, the manager has in the past made sure that my order was on point... but it shouldn't have to be this way. CAFE DELUXE still cannot get this WEST END LOCATION to work. I don't understand. I was just at the Tysons Corner location this weekend and had the most fabulous time... In defense of MOD that day, she came by at end of meal, asked if everything was OK, but it was too little too late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Had the porter burger, which was pretty good; next time I'm going back for the bison burger (my favorite).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was excellent. However, the service was dismal. Our waiter was constantly fixing mistakes from bar, kitchen, and the bill all night long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great burger and great service - unbeatable combo that will lead us back here often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

the cinnamon rolls were very dry, but everything else was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Not like the other Cafe Deluxes. The service was sketchy, the food was of poor quality. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Fantastic food, and great service. Would recommend equally for a business lunch, happy hour, or large meeting. Will absolutely be visiting again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Healthy, Great Beer, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I would make it more obvious that this restaurant is part of the Hilton Hotel. I was expecting it to be a standalone restaurant and was a bit turned off upon discovering that it was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I really like this branch of Café Deluxe.. I always end up getting the same thing..crispy goat cheese with sherry soaked cherries, salad with grilled chicken with a sherry vinaigrette dressing. Always good.
My colleagues got the turkey burger and vegetarian plate..everyone liked his entrée.
This is the place I always take friends and business associates because the menu has something for everyone, salads, burgers, fish and soups....it's always well prepared, good quality and not crazy expensive. (The Glover Park branch of Café Deluxe is not good..slimey or dirty lettuce, slow service, dirty glasses.....not good.)
Not fancy but a great place for a casual meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 27, 2017

After an hour after ordering, we noticed that we were starving. Turns out that all of the orders were entered into the computer as take out orders. By the time I got my sandwich it was COLD and it had obviously been sitting in a takeout pile and simple dumped onto a plate when the mistake was revealed. We were offered salads or soups while they heated up our meals but by then we were at least halfway into it.
The waiter -- who was NOT overwhelmed; the place was not packed -- not only didn't happen to notice that we'd waited over an hour for our food, but it was hard to get his attention for water, ice, etc.
Our meals were comped, but seriously, that's the least they could do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had brunch at Cafe Deluxe earlier this year and liked the food and ambiance. Unfortunately,
this time the food was served lukewarm and the service was extremely slow. Probably a no go after this. There is enough competition in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great breakfast, solid service, quirky menu. We enjoyed it so much that we are returning for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2017

A small group of business colleagues wanted a location close to our West End hotel after a reception with light food and drinks. Cafe Deluxe was perfect. Very close, allowed for light dining for some and more for others. I had a small salad with an excellent crab cake and a colleague had the chicken pot pie. Service was terrific including providing separate checks for four people that reflected precisely what each of us had ordered. Given the location, prices are very reasonable! Will definitely return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Would not go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.