About Cafe Deluxe - West End

Cafe Deluxe is an American bistro that combines the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling eatery. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years.

The diverse breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus showcase fresh classics made from scratch. Menu favorites include Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf, the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for breakfast to the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese created from traditional recipes and seasonal ingredients.

2201 M St. NW
Washington, DC 20037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday through Friday 6:30 am to11:00 am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 7:00 am to 11:00 am

Lunch:
Daily: 11:00 am to 5:00 pm

Happy Hour - at the bar:
Monday through Friday 3:30 pm to 7:00 pm

Dinner:
Sunday through Thursday: 5:00 pm to11:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 pm to 12:30 am

Cross Street:
corner of 22nd and M Street NW @ the Hilton Garden Inn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 524-7815

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking, garage parking and valet parking are available.

Daily Parking Rates - valet access from 22nd Street
0 - 2 Hours - $10.00
2 – 3 Hours - $15.00
Anything above 3 Hours will be the full rate of $45.00

Public Transit:
Four blocks from Dupont Circle (Red Line) and Foggy Bottom (Orange and Blue Lines) Metro stations.

Executive Chef:
Mark Becraft

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cafe Deluxe offers a wide variety of private and semi-private space with a diverse selection of catering menus to fit any meeting or social event.

Cafe Deluxe - West End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Business Meals (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Live Sports (1)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
397 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Very slow service. Decent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2018

I’ve been to Deluxe multiple times and had a good experience. This time, was a disappointment. While service was very good- attentive at the entrance, a bartender that ensured our drinks were mixed correctly and a server that checked on us and was prompt; half of our food was a disappointment. The bison burger was over cooked, as well as the eggs. The fries were cold. The steak and eggs were good on the other hand.
Might give it another try since location and ambiance are right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

Nice restaurant, food was good - very fresh and tasty!

Only complaint was that the restaurant could have been a bit warmer as it was so cold outside. I was sat next to a window and could feel the cold through the glass. Minor point and wouldn't stop me going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Snooty hostess. We had to get our own silverware from another table after our food was served. I had the oatmeal and it was just bleh. We had to ask for our drinks twice. Not a great experience at all. And the prices were just insane for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great place as always and the service is perfect .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

The experience started off bad when they wouldn't let the entire party sit together even though there was plenty of room to have a table of 10 sit together. The server kept disappearing for 10-15 mins at a time. The food we ordered took 30 mins to be brought to our table. If you look at the time our tickets were closed out you will see we arrived right at noon but did not leave until almost 1:30pm.

My company uses Café Deluxe quite often for luncheons for both the office and clients this was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Christmas brunch with co-workers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2017

great breakfast in the west end. great coffee and great service. would be my go to if i lived in this neighborhood

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 16, 2017

A very unremarkable dinner. Bar noise intrudes into the outer dining room area and ruins any chance for a quiet conversation. Staff were polite, but that’s the best complement to be given. Food also average in all respects. Just no outstanding reason(s) to choose to go here.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

you cannot go wrong with a restaurant that has comfort foods on the menu and desserts that you cannot decide from and soups that you literally want to lick the bowl clean...i would eat here every day of the week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Food was decent but they only seem to offer powdered eggs for breakfast. That was disappointing - ketchup helped!

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

Nice lunch menu and setting (lots of windows), but this location isn't as good as the Tysons and Cathedral Park locations. The fish was overcooked, and the server never brought bread. In general, the service was lacking. But based on dining experiences at the other locations, I highly recommend the roast chicken and the salmon nicoise salad.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Food was great, but service was lacking. Very hard to track people down to get drink refills, etc. Waitor confirmed food correctly, but entered it wrong. Took a while to correct the food, which was for a child. By the time the food came, he didn’t want to eat. Restaurant didn’t offer anything or even check in while we were waiting or afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Great place for a casual business lunch. The Mahi sandwich was generous and nicely prepared. Chicken Pot Pie is flavorful, filling and features a light, flaky crust. Prices are fair, service good and one can carry on a conversation without a raised voice.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Great service and food. I ordere the Deluxe Breakfast with a pancake substitute and it was really tasty. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We were looking for somewhere close to where we were staying. There was availability here for a Friday night. It was fairly busy which is always a good sign. Wait staff were attentive and friendly. Good choices on the menu. We both ordered burgers. One well done the other medium. Nothing to write home about my medium was on the dry side but it was well seasoned. Plenty of fries. Good value for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Only go here because it is convenient and I don’t feel like cooking. The manner of the waiter made us feel uncomfortable.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

This relatively new restaurant is a good alternative to other neighborhood spots, most of which are either pricier and stuffier or more of the burger joint category. Food was served promptly and congenially.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

It has been a few years since I was last at Cafe Deluxe. The reasons, sadly have not been remedied and thus it will be a long time til I bother to come back. Long wait time, food out of order, waiter disappeared often and for most of the meal, incorrect items served, food fairly mediocre. (my mussels dish had an oz of extremely salty liquid). We went early to enjoy a meal at our leisure, and ended up rushing through dessert in order to get out in time for our movie.
Definitely inattentive, expensive, mediocre food. Sadly, this has not changed in a number of years and includes the Bethesda location as well (previous visit). Only at the very end was the manager involved, and apologized for the service and wished we had told him. If perhaps he walked through his dining rooms, we might have. But until I complained about how we were paying the bill, we never saw him. A shame for a long time DC restauarnt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Great food Maithili excellent service. Fresh and flavorful. Nice place a few blocks north of Foggy Bottom. 2nd visit, and coming back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2017

The place was noisy, the service was and the food was mediocre. I wouldn’t recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

The place had a great atmosphere due to the large windows it had looking out onto the street and was very quiet for a Sunday brunch. Overall I would say our experience was average. Not bad, just not great, especially for the price. I really loved the Cast-Iron Cinnamon Roll, but the Deluxe Breakfast and the French Toast were both just okay. Our server was courteous but again the service was just average. Again, not a bad restaurant, but there is better quality for the same price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 11, 2017

This is my favorite go to place for a casual business lunch. Never a disappointment with the food or service, and if you get there around 11:15, it's quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

They messed up the order three times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great location food and service,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Food was good but service was not good. After seating it took 15 minutes to get our orders taken. The water refill guy came around twice while waiting for our waiter. When food came the server barely spoke and just handed food to the first person and we had to pass around the table to the right person. Also, hair in the food. At least they took care of hat quickly. We weren't in a huge hurry but it took 10 minutes to get the check and another ten for the waiter to come get it; he walked by the table a few times but wouldn't look over; didn't want to tell to the guy. Overall not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Food was good - service was great. Staff was accommodating to a family with six very poorly behaved children - their patience was amazing!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Service was very quick, waitress was very attentive to us, and the food was delicious. Will visit again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

This is a hard place to review. The food was flavorful and very reasonably priced, and that may bring us back. Unfortunately, the service was awkward. The host openly discussed, out loud, how he was going to seat us at a different table than he originally planned - allegedly to give us better service. Unfortunately, that was not the case. I had an extremely dirty coffee mug, our server greeted us by asking "what would you like," and then was mostly absent.

I might go back with a different server, but I'm not sure it's going to be a rush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food was very mediocre and the service of was just adequate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food is always amazing & the service extremely courteous.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic, People Watching, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Solid Cobb salad. Seems to be a lot of new servers being trained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Entrees came before appetizers. Ridiculous. The kitchen and waut staff are not in sync

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Cafe deluxe at this location never disappoints... love it here!
The one up off Wisconsin .. not so good!

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Richard is a great server. Look forward to seeing him

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good spot for brunch before a Kennedy Center show.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I had wanted to go to Cafe Deluxe for quite some time. We finally made it there last Friday before a Kennedy Center play. While the calamari appetizer was very good, my steak salad was mighty on the lettuce but very skimpy on the steak. Compared with other steak salads around town, this one paled. My husband and I both agreed--Cafe Deluxe is a pleasant dining experience, but with so many other choices in town, it will be awhile before we return.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The location is excellent and we enjoyed the food, but the service was erratic -- definitely not the same level as the quality of what came out of the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Server was excellent- working bar and bar tables
Food was ok - not the finest but it worked for cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Incredibly slow service, to the point that several people commented on it. Over 90 minutes for what was supposed to be a quick lunch. The food is good. After lunch, we decided to order several desserts that came with ice cream. It looked as though they'd been ready to bring out to us for some time as we waited--the ice cream was half (or more than half) melted, for four of the five desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.