About Cafe Deluxe - West End

Cafe Deluxe is an American bistro that combines the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling eatery. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years.

The diverse breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus showcase fresh classics made from scratch. Menu favorites include Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf, the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for breakfast to the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese created from traditional recipes and seasonal ingredients.

2201 M St. NW
Washington, DC 20037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday through Friday 6:30 am to11:00 am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 7:00 am to 11:00 am

Lunch:
Daily: 11:00 am to 5:00 pm

Happy Hour - at the bar:
Monday through Friday 3:30 pm to 7:00 pm

Dinner:
Sunday through Thursday: 5:00 pm to11:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 pm to 12:30 am

Cross Street:
corner of 22nd and M Street NW @ the Hilton Garden Inn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 524-7815

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking, garage parking and valet parking are available.

Daily Parking Rates - valet access from 22nd Street
0 - 2 Hours - $10.00
2 – 3 Hours - $15.00
Anything above 3 Hours will be the full rate of $45.00

Public Transit:
Four blocks from Dupont Circle (Red Line) and Foggy Bottom (Orange and Blue Lines) Metro stations.

Executive Chef:
Mark Becraft

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cafe Deluxe offers a wide variety of private and semi-private space with a diverse selection of catering menus to fit any meeting or social event.

Cafe Deluxe - West End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
People Watching (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Authentic (2)
Special Occasion (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice upscale casual restaurant that makes a great martini. Eclectic New American menu where everything is good. Only downside is it can get noisy. Have been a repeat vistor.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Gaby was a fantastic server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Great burger and great service - a winning combination! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had Easter Brunch at Cafe Deluxe. French Toast was great! Pancakes were rubbery. Omelets were just okay. Service was extremely slow. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was by far the worse, which unfortunately over shadowed the food and the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food here was fine, but not particularly exciting. The menu is pretty generic. Service was quite slow, but friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I think the bison burger is the best burger on the menu. Totally awesome. Looking forward to returning for another one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was good, the prices were fair. I asked for dressing on the side for my salad, and it came premixed. The cup in which my coffee was served wasn't clean - I had to send it back.
Last, but not least, the quality of the service we received was much less than I expect from Café Deluxe. Our waiter took a very long time to take our order, deliver our food, didn't refill our water glasses, and didn't seem to care much. The restaurant wasn't particularly busy, so we didn't ascribe the service we received to too many stations being assigned to him.

Bottom line: I don't think we'll be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good breakfast! Make a reservation. Took us right in. Normal price range, for being in a city hotel.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Crab dip was one of the best we've had

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Calamari--overfried (to the point it was bitter... looked like refried leftover from previous order). Water came, bread never made it to the table--I had to go ask the host. Bread came after the host brought us a basket so we ended up with two baskets... Waiter/kitchen got bun for burger wrong (no we checked and rechecked). and re-checked with waiter... Our food was delivered to another table before getting to us. A table of 4 people who arrived and ordered before us got their food after us. They were not happy. I saw one of the guests point out that there was something in the iced tea, but waiter proceeded to argue about it. Wow... I come back to this location once in a while to give it another chance and find myself wondering if I AM insane for coming back over and over again expecting something different. IF I call in advance that I am heading over, the manager has in the past made sure that my order was on point... but it shouldn't have to be this way. CAFE DELUXE still cannot get this WEST END LOCATION to work. I don't understand. I was just at the Tysons Corner location this weekend and had the most fabulous time... In defense of MOD that day, she came by at end of meal, asked if everything was OK, but it was too little too late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Had the porter burger, which was pretty good; next time I'm going back for the bison burger (my favorite).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was excellent. However, the service was dismal. Our waiter was constantly fixing mistakes from bar, kitchen, and the bill all night long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great burger and great service - unbeatable combo that will lead us back here often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

the cinnamon rolls were very dry, but everything else was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Not like the other Cafe Deluxes. The service was sketchy, the food was of poor quality. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Fantastic food, and great service. Would recommend equally for a business lunch, happy hour, or large meeting. Will absolutely be visiting again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Healthy, Great Beer, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I would make it more obvious that this restaurant is part of the Hilton Hotel. I was expecting it to be a standalone restaurant and was a bit turned off upon discovering that it was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I really like this branch of Café Deluxe.. I always end up getting the same thing..crispy goat cheese with sherry soaked cherries, salad with grilled chicken with a sherry vinaigrette dressing. Always good.
My colleagues got the turkey burger and vegetarian plate..everyone liked his entrée.
This is the place I always take friends and business associates because the menu has something for everyone, salads, burgers, fish and soups....it's always well prepared, good quality and not crazy expensive. (The Glover Park branch of Café Deluxe is not good..slimey or dirty lettuce, slow service, dirty glasses.....not good.)
Not fancy but a great place for a casual meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 27, 2017

After an hour after ordering, we noticed that we were starving. Turns out that all of the orders were entered into the computer as take out orders. By the time I got my sandwich it was COLD and it had obviously been sitting in a takeout pile and simple dumped onto a plate when the mistake was revealed. We were offered salads or soups while they heated up our meals but by then we were at least halfway into it.
The waiter -- who was NOT overwhelmed; the place was not packed -- not only didn't happen to notice that we'd waited over an hour for our food, but it was hard to get his attention for water, ice, etc.
Our meals were comped, but seriously, that's the least they could do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had brunch at Cafe Deluxe earlier this year and liked the food and ambiance. Unfortunately,
this time the food was served lukewarm and the service was extremely slow. Probably a no go after this. There is enough competition in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great breakfast, solid service, quirky menu. We enjoyed it so much that we are returning for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2017

A small group of business colleagues wanted a location close to our West End hotel after a reception with light food and drinks. Cafe Deluxe was perfect. Very close, allowed for light dining for some and more for others. I had a small salad with an excellent crab cake and a colleague had the chicken pot pie. Service was terrific including providing separate checks for four people that reflected precisely what each of us had ordered. Given the location, prices are very reasonable! Will definitely return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Would not go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great restaurant. Good food. Impressive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very crowded, but fast seating nonetheless. Excellent service. Chicken pot pie is the real deal.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Got together with old college friends for lunch and had a fantastic meal. The fairly new Simply Healthy menu is a real plus. The salmon and sea bass were delicious as well as the always good meatloaf. Service was excellent and the atmosphere very quiet for our visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was nothing great. The waiter was nice though and they seated us not too much later than our reservation. The pour of wine was small and the burger was over cooked. Didn't taste like the description. We call that "food that lies ".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great waitress. Super friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Turkey burgers, veggie burgers and simple chicken were all very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food selection is great, service is timely and effective, always good for a pleasant lunch , low noise.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This is good restaurant. I have been several times, with this latest venture they accidentally put a protein in my salad. When they took my plate away to replace they brought back the same salad - warm plate and all. They removed the protein but the salad still had protein juices and the salad had warm lettuce and was on a hot plate. Unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Steak was over cooked twice when we asked for medium it came out well done both times but pot pie was awesome! Restaurant gave a free dessert instead of comping the steak. Cheap call but atleast they made the effort

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent downtown restaurant with good food, reasonable prices, and lots of good people watching! Very pleasant ambiance too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were a party of 6 including 2 kids and this was the perfect place for Saturday brunch! The white paper on top of the tablecloth kept the kids occupied drawing. Service was great and food was absolutely delicious! Blueberry pancakes were light and scrambled eggs were cooked just right! Mimosas were delightful.
Both kids enjoyed their food, satisfied with both lunch and breakfast options. Everyone cleaned their plates, and beignets were a nice way to top off our satisfying meal! I recommend reservations as other people were turned away without one when we arrived. We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This is one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants. Good food, usually a great place to meet and talk without too much noise or staff rushing you along. Met for a quiet lunch the day after Christmas, and we had practically the whole place to ourselves. Good service. Only reason I did not give it five stars for food, the portion sizes this time seemed much smaller than usual. Wonder if they are just smaller now in general or if this was a one time thing. The prices were up a bit and smaller portions-not our favorite combination.
Still like it there alot though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were happy to find that Cafe Deluxe served on Christmas Day - and we enjoyed a lovely brunch. They have a nice variety of tasty offerings. The dining room is casual yet upscale. It was a perfect start to our Christmas holiday!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was delicious! The service was attentive and the servers were very pleasant! Overall, a fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The service was extremely slow. They forgot about the starters.....a big disaster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Terrible. Don't waste your time or money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.