About Cafe Deluxe - West End

Cafe Deluxe is an American bistro that combines the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling eatery. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years.

The diverse breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus showcase fresh classics made from scratch. Menu favorites include Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf, the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for breakfast to the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese created from traditional recipes and seasonal ingredients.

2201 M St. NW
Washington, DC 20037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday through Friday 6:30 am to11:00 am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 7:00 am to 11:00 am

Lunch:
Daily: 11:00 am to 5:00 pm

Happy Hour - at the bar:
Monday through Friday 3:30 pm to 7:00 pm

Dinner:
Sunday through Thursday: 5:00 pm to11:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 pm to 12:30 am

Cross Street:
corner of 22nd and M Street NW @ the Hilton Garden Inn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 524-7815

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking, garage parking and valet parking are available.

Daily Parking Rates - valet access from 22nd Street
0 - 2 Hours - $10.00
2 – 3 Hours - $15.00
Anything above 3 Hours will be the full rate of $45.00

Public Transit:
Four blocks from Dupont Circle (Red Line) and Foggy Bottom (Orange and Blue Lines) Metro stations.

Executive Chef:
Mark Becraft

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cafe Deluxe offers a wide variety of private and semi-private space with a diverse selection of catering menus to fit any meeting or social event.

Cafe Deluxe - West End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (19)
Comfort Food (15)
Great for Lunch (10)
See All
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (6)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

This is a hard place to review. The food was flavorful and very reasonably priced, and that may bring us back. Unfortunately, the service was awkward. The host openly discussed, out loud, how he was going to seat us at a different table than he originally planned - allegedly to give us better service. Unfortunately, that was not the case. I had an extremely dirty coffee mug, our server greeted us by asking "what would you like," and then was mostly absent.

I might go back with a different server, but I'm not sure it's going to be a rush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food was very mediocre and the service of was just adequate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food is always amazing & the service extremely courteous.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic, People Watching, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Solid Cobb salad. Seems to be a lot of new servers being trained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Entrees came before appetizers. Ridiculous. The kitchen and waut staff are not in sync

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Cafe deluxe at this location never disappoints... love it here!
The one up off Wisconsin .. not so good!

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Richard is a great server. Look forward to seeing him

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good spot for brunch before a Kennedy Center show.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I had wanted to go to Cafe Deluxe for quite some time. We finally made it there last Friday before a Kennedy Center play. While the calamari appetizer was very good, my steak salad was mighty on the lettuce but very skimpy on the steak. Compared with other steak salads around town, this one paled. My husband and I both agreed--Cafe Deluxe is a pleasant dining experience, but with so many other choices in town, it will be awhile before we return.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The location is excellent and we enjoyed the food, but the service was erratic -- definitely not the same level as the quality of what came out of the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Server was excellent- working bar and bar tables
Food was ok - not the finest but it worked for cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Incredibly slow service, to the point that several people commented on it. Over 90 minutes for what was supposed to be a quick lunch. The food is good. After lunch, we decided to order several desserts that came with ice cream. It looked as though they'd been ready to bring out to us for some time as we waited--the ice cream was half (or more than half) melted, for four of the five desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 26, 2017

I usually enjoy this restaurant, however, on this day the service was TERRIBLE. The staff were more concerned with if cars parking in front the restaurant would hit the car that was already parked or not. I was the only person sitting in my section (literally), yet it took me 45 minutes to get a burger and fries, the waitress checked on me once, after complaining about cold food, AFTER the 45 minute wait, and when I gave her my card to pay my bill, it took her another 20 minutes to come back.

On this day, I popped In on my lunch break and was late getting back. Unacceptable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I thought the restaurant was great for breakfast but lacked service at dinner. Personally I liked the breakfast options better than dinner, but of course depends on what you are looking. They did have hamburgers but no steak and limited choices like pork at dinner. Restaurant is very clean and looks good. Staff was friendly but just seemed understaffed with long wait times between check ins.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Food was very good, service was a little slow but we weren't in a rush so it didn't matter. Overall good food would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great food and service! Will definitely be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Good location, food and service. had the seasonal steak salad and it was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This place never disappoints....thee servers are attentive and friendly without being over the top. The food is good and is a good value. Definite go-to place for business lunch.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food as usual, we had a wonderful time!!!! Love this place

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Went for burgers, and first order (all 3) were mixed up. Server and manager were wonderful about straightening everything out. Replacement order was perfect and totally delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

It was July 4th, maybe just a bad night for the restaurant? Regardless, we'd be hesitant to visit again given the service and flavor of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The desserts were fabulous! Great portion for such a low price! Server, Kye, was awesome! Very polite, prompt and personable! Late night Happy Hour at 9p is a new twist we weren't expecting, too! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I had a wonderful time with an out-of-town colleague. The food was extremely good and the server was very attentive. I have already recommended this location to other colleagues. I'm so looking forward to my next visit there at Café Deluxe.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Seasonal, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was ok. Food was great

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We were very disappointed. I've been here for brunch and was absolutely delighted. However, it seemed that because the night was ending their service declined tremendously. Only the hostess seemed to be on top of her game.

We waited, what seemed like ages, just to place our drink orders. Then we waited, what seemed like even more ages, to get the drinks. After all that waiting the drinks were absolutely disgusting. I'm not quite sure how drinks could possibly be made so poorly. Maybe the bartender was new or just gave up. Nonetheless, my very hungry party of four left and I'm not sure I'll ever be back (for dinner at least).

Staff was busy breaking down patio furniture, cleaning, and rough housing with each other to be bothered with customer service. We figured if the service and drinks were bad, let's not waste our time and money on the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Terrific- everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Good food, and accomodating staff when our group grew unexpectedly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Usually go for a business meeting. The food is adequate, but quality varies. Sometimes great, sometimes very poor. The same with service. Sometimes you get your food quickly, but other times it can be very frustrating. My most recent visit, we sat at noon, the table of 4 ordered salads and we did not get our food till 1PM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The Salmon salad was EXCELLENT but the service was -0. We were greeted poorly - the girl that took us to our table looked like she needed sleep. After seating us we noticed our waiter hadn't arrived so another passed and I asked if he could get our waiter and he had an attitude but said he'd get him...still no show so I had to go to the front desk to ask for our waiter...he eventually came, didn't apologize for the wait. Then when we needed to go we had to flag another waiter down to assist us with the check! Our reservations were for 1:15pm - it wasn't crowded and we were seated in the back with a lot of empty tables so I guess if you want to be waited on properly ask to be seated in the FRONT of the restaurant. Will only return if I have no where to go after lunch or anything to do!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Solid chain restaurant. Food nothing special but consistent. Good service today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

As the newest restaurant in the Cafe Deluxe "family," the restaurant is really lovely -- pretty decor and large windows that allow a lot of light. But the food and service were disappointing. The salmon on my salad was overcooked, and I didn't want to send it back during a business lunch. The server didn't bring bread, and when I asked for it, he seemed confused -- even asking me what kind of bread I wanted! I thought I might end up with sandwich bread. When he finally brought a basket, the bread was stale. The restaurant should take some lessons from the Tysons location, which is generally very good.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I made reservations for two and we were three hostess seated us at the bar when they were empty at 11:30 am. Food took forever after three tables got served before us we left at 1:40 pm. Other times we had great service.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Back again for another business lunch. Can't beat the environment, service, or location! Food was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Ate here twice over the weekend. Great food and convenient.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Waiter was very nice and attentive. Shrimp and grits were very good. Crab cakes were not the best we ever had but we're good. Peach cobbler was quite large and very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Slow service. No silverware for first 10 mins after food was delivered. No toppings for burger, took 10 to even see my waitress. Another 5 to get them and by then burger was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Cafe Deluxe has become my first choice for business lunches. Good service, good food, good atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The ambiance was great as we sat outside, the waitress who looked after us was very good but the overall service was marred by the male waiter who nearly cracked the table and bust the glasses by banging down the water glasses on the table, spilling the water and just left them at the end of the table. He was in a foul mood. We had to ask for a refill as he was just wandering around doing nothing in particular. I suggest it's not his fault, just needs training on how to do his job. The cheese sandwich for one of my guests was inedible.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The food was good but the greeting and atmosphere was spotty. It really started with a less than welcoming greeting from the host desk. A young woman made a half hearted attempt to open the front door for us (two inches), which made us think she was actually attempting to walk out instead of greet us. Turned out she was one of two hostesses. After a couple seconds of confusion we entered and mentioned that we were meeting a group. The second hostess mumbled something and pointed behind her to our table. There was no effort to seat us or really make us feel welcome. I got the impression we interrupted the hostesses' conversation with each other. Our server was polite and worked hard. But she seemed overwhelmed and didn't get much assistance from other staff members. I wound up going to the bar for a refill after giving up on the server. However, I don't think it was the server's fault.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food, great prices, great service. Visiting from out of state and we're staying at the Hilton connected to the cafe. We've ate dinner there almost every night!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.