About Cafe Deluxe - West End

2201 M St. NW
Washington, DC 20037
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe is an American bistro that combines the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling eatery. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years.

The diverse breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus showcase fresh classics made from scratch. Menu favorites include Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf, the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for breakfast to the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese created from traditional recipes and seasonal ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday through Friday 6:30 am to11:00 am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 7:00 am to 11:00 am

Lunch:
Daily: 11:00 am to 5:00 pm

Happy Hour - at the bar:
Monday through Friday 3:30 pm to 7:00 pm

Dinner:
Sunday through Thursday: 5:00 pm to11:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 pm to 12:30 am

Cross Street:
corner of 22nd and M Street NW @ the Hilton Garden Inn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 524-7815

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking, garage parking and valet parking are available.

Daily Parking Rates - valet access from 22nd Street
0 - 2 Hours - $10.00
2 – 3 Hours - $15.00
Anything above 3 Hours will be the full rate of $45.00

Public Transit:
Four blocks from Dupont Circle (Red Line) and Foggy Bottom (Orange and Blue Lines) Metro stations.

Executive Chef:
Mark Becraft

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cafe Deluxe offers a wide variety of private and semi-private space with a diverse selection of catering menus to fit any meeting or social event.

Cafe Deluxe - West End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Great for Brunch (9)
See All
Business Meals (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Healthy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Cozy (2)
Romantic (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Live Sports (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

A small group of business colleagues wanted a location close to our West End hotel after a reception with light food and drinks. Cafe Deluxe was perfect. Very close, allowed for light dining for some and more for others. I had a small salad with an excellent crab cake and a colleague had the chicken pot pie. Service was terrific including providing separate checks for four people that reflected precisely what each of us had ordered. Given the location, prices are very reasonable! Will definitely return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Would not go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great restaurant. Good food. Impressive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very crowded, but fast seating nonetheless. Excellent service. Chicken pot pie is the real deal.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Got together with old college friends for lunch and had a fantastic meal. The fairly new Simply Healthy menu is a real plus. The salmon and sea bass were delicious as well as the always good meatloaf. Service was excellent and the atmosphere very quiet for our visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was nothing great. The waiter was nice though and they seated us not too much later than our reservation. The pour of wine was small and the burger was over cooked. Didn't taste like the description. We call that "food that lies ".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great waitress. Super friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Turkey burgers, veggie burgers and simple chicken were all very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food selection is great, service is timely and effective, always good for a pleasant lunch , low noise.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This is good restaurant. I have been several times, with this latest venture they accidentally put a protein in my salad. When they took my plate away to replace they brought back the same salad - warm plate and all. They removed the protein but the salad still had protein juices and the salad had warm lettuce and was on a hot plate. Unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Steak was over cooked twice when we asked for medium it came out well done both times but pot pie was awesome! Restaurant gave a free dessert instead of comping the steak. Cheap call but atleast they made the effort

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent downtown restaurant with good food, reasonable prices, and lots of good people watching! Very pleasant ambiance too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were a party of 6 including 2 kids and this was the perfect place for Saturday brunch! The white paper on top of the tablecloth kept the kids occupied drawing. Service was great and food was absolutely delicious! Blueberry pancakes were light and scrambled eggs were cooked just right! Mimosas were delightful.

Both kids enjoyed their food, satisfied with both lunch and breakfast options. Everyone cleaned their plates, and beignets were a nice way to top off our satisfying meal! I recommend reservations as other people were turned away without one when we arrived. We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This is one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants. Good food, usually a great place to meet and talk without too much noise or staff rushing you along. Met for a quiet lunch the day after Christmas, and we had practically the whole place to ourselves. Good service. Only reason I did not give it five stars for food, the portion sizes this time seemed much smaller than usual. Wonder if they are just smaller now in general or if this was a one time thing. The prices were up a bit and smaller portions-not our favorite combination.

Still like it there alot though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were happy to find that Cafe Deluxe served on Christmas Day - and we enjoyed a lovely brunch. They have a nice variety of tasty offerings. The dining room is casual yet upscale. It was a perfect start to our Christmas holiday!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was delicious! The service was attentive and the servers were very pleasant! Overall, a fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The service was extremely slow. They forgot about the starters.....a big disaster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Terrible. Don't waste your time or money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was terrific. Service was great. The best Meatloaf I ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was very good but the drinks needed improvements. Nice atmosphere and pretty good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Dinner was great but breakfast is where Café Deluxe excels. Somehow, they've managed to make toast extraordinary. I think they are buttering then grilling it as opposed to using a toaster. The eggs benedict presentation was perfect too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Waiter very rude to my friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had twelve of us together for brunch on Sunday. One baby, one 3 year old, 2 10 year olds and adults. Since it was such a large party, we had to split into two tables. The staff could not have been nicer or more understanding with the movement of people from one table to another, the constant picture taking, etc. The food was very good -- the kids loved the pancakes! A little pricey for a family outing, but still thought it was a great time together. Would definitely recommend it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We really enjoyed everything about dining at Cafe Deluxe. The food, ambiance and service was excellent. I can't wait to go back

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Every time I have gone to Café Deluxe, I've never been disappointed. The food is always on point and the service is great. They have a very vast menu. This last time I had the Ahi tuna tacos. My brother had the lobster rolls. Bother were great. We also had the chicken roll appetizers. They were delicious. I totally recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

My friend got the wrong entree which also took a very long time to arrive. This was surprising because the restaurant us usually excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Waited 22 minutes from when host showed me to my table, before the waiter showed up. Ordered steak medium rare. But what I got was a overcooked, dry piece of meat. Terrible experience. I will never go back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good basic comfort foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We are big fans of the Cafe Deluxe on Wisconsin Ave., but disappointed with the one on M Street. The service was below standard. Our server forgot out drink order, didn't know the menu, and then brought the entree well before we finished our salad, plus I had to ask for bread. The food was good but the lighting is stark -- not a cozy ambiance like the Wisconsin restaurant. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Been to other Cafe Deluxe locations a few times. It tends to be reliable, reasonably priced basic food. This was a Sunday brunch on the occasion of some family visiting town. Service was slow. We had two kids with us and asked if the French toast could be made without corn flake crust for a picky 8 year old; we also asked them to hold all the extras (fruit, eggs, etc). The waitress checked it out and said they didn't have any of the bread without crust! (they served me a dish with regular toast, so clearly they had bread without corn flake crust). Despite what she said, in the end she brought French toast without corn flake crust and our 8 year old devoured the two pieces (one actual slice of bread). She also brought a large portion of scrambled eggs despite us asking her not to. After a very long period when she disappeared, we asked the waitress if she could get us another serving of the same thing and she said sure. This time it came back with corn flake crust (which I have to admit did not look appetizing even to me as an adult); we pointed out to her that this wasn't the same thing she had brought us previously; this seemed to confuse her; she explained that she put in the order and neglected to tell the kitchen that we wanted no crust; this seemed pretty obvious to us, but she felt it necessary to explain it (and make herself look incompetent in the process). She also seemed to explain it as if we should be ok with it because she forgot to tell the kitchen; in any case, she put in the order again and it came back ok.

When we got the bill she pointed out that we might ask for the kids' french toast dish next time because it would be cheaper and didn't come with eggs or fruit (which we had told her we didn't want!!!). Of course she charged us for two orders of regular menu french toast . It's not the money; it's the annoying incompetence and really mediocre service. She never once asked if we wanted a coffee refill, for instance-at a brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Came for breakfast on a busy sunday morning. Eggs were good though potatoes uninspiring. Reasonable value though not sure I'd go back

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were seated with 2 small children right next to a sweet 16 party. Although it was in a "private room" he door was constantly left open, making it difficult for any of the tables near it able to hear their on conversation.

Our server rarely checked on us, and the quality of the food was overpriced and extremely underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went for a light brunch on Sunday, around 11:30 (early). Not too many people, but service was haphazard and slow (though friendly). Wedge salad was good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

My co-worker and I went on a Wednesday, $8 burger Wednesday to be exact and although the burger was tasty I ordered it med-well and it came well...when asked I told them and I stated that if you're going to advertise burger deals such as this, it needs to be done RIGHT!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Went for an "early" dinner (still on east coast time) and caught the tail end of happy hour drinks and food. Ordered a beer, fish & chips, and mussels. The beer was great and arrived from the barkeep in 30 seconds of ordering from our server. The mussels were steamy and perfectly cooked, not at all overdone and rubbery. The batter was so light and crispy on the fish, and chips were exactly what you'd expect good fries to be.. perfectly crispy on the outside and steamy potato goodness on the inside. The wait staff, barkeep, and kitchen worked together so well it was an amazingly efficient and pleasant experience for us when you see such a great infrastructure to create team work and happy employees. This is a rarity and we were fortunate to experience it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I love this branch of Café Deluxe..food is so good and wait staff and matred are always courteous.

My favorite is the fried goat cheese salad..so delicious and when the weather is nice there's nothing better than sitting outside and having lunch with a friend.

Love it.

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The menu at Cafe Deluxe is mediocre compared to some similar restaurants like Clydes's or Chef Geoff's. It is in our neighborhood so we go but service is not always good. Wish the menu was better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Convenient, comfortable, friendly, great service the night we went there. Good find.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Highly recommend the delicious frosted flake crusted french toast. Great for a quick breakfast or informal brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Perfect lunch w out of town friends, enjoying good food and September sun by the floor to ceiling windows on Washington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We spent 5 days in DC. Cafe Deluxe was the only restaurant we ate at every day for all our meals because of the friendly kids menu and good entrees at a reasonable price. We tried others but kept coming back. My kids also enjoy eating at Cafe Deluxe.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great Service, Great Food and Great Value! I love Cafe Deluxe for delivering such consistent quality. My go to item on the menu is always the cobbler!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We love Cafe Deluxe and have visited the Wisconsin Ave, and West End locations on several occasions. This past Saturday we met some friends for brunch and were very disappointed. The restaurant was not busy and we were seated right away. It was pretty much downhill after we got seated. Our server was very nice but she was a horrible server. We sat for about 15 min before she even took our drink order. It took forever to get our food and while good, she didn't come back to check if everything was OK and she forgot a diet coke and never refilled our ice tea. I had to get up from the table to pay our bill because she never came back. With more and more competition in that area for restaurants, Cafe Deluxe needs to step up their game.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

One of our favorites in Washington DC in the West End. Food is very good, and the prices are reasonable. Great ambiance, big picture windows open in nice weather so you can feel like you're dining al fresco.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was excellent and a really good value. Our service, Monique, was very friendly and attentive without being overly so. We had far better service here than we had the night before at the Four Seasons! Definitely would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The service was great. I asked instead of the lobster roll could I have the lobster in a dinner salad. It cost a little more, but was worth it. It seems like a place to go to after work for meal. We were on short vacation and felt very comfortable there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Brunch menu, comfortable atmosphere. If you want eggs Benedict, the classic way, you must ask for it. Really wanted to try the beignets, but only came in a basket and no one else wanted. Bra fast eggs were good. Friendly staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Enjoyed the dinner and the service was great. Young GW crowd but drinks wete good and reasonably priced meal. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

A little isolated location, the 1 on Wisconsin street is more lively

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.