About Cafe Deluxe - West End

2201 M St. NW
Washington, DC 20037
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe is an American bistro that combines the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling eatery. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years.

The diverse breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus showcase fresh classics made from scratch. Menu favorites include Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf, the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for breakfast to the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese created from traditional recipes and seasonal ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday through Friday 6:30 am to11:00 am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 7:00 am to 11:00 am

Lunch:
Daily: 11:00 am to 5:00 pm

Happy Hour - at the bar:
Monday through Friday 3:30 pm to 7:00 pm

Dinner:
Sunday through Thursday: 5:00 pm to11:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00 pm to 12:30 am

Cross Street:
corner of 22nd and M Street NW @ the Hilton Garden Inn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 524-7815

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking, garage parking and valet parking are available.

Daily Parking Rates - valet access from 22nd Street
0 - 2 Hours - $10.00
2 – 3 Hours - $15.00
Anything above 3 Hours will be the full rate of $45.00

Public Transit:
Four blocks from Dupont Circle (Red Line) and Foggy Bottom (Orange and Blue Lines) Metro stations.

Executive Chef:
Mark Becraft

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Cafe Deluxe offers a wide variety of private and semi-private space with a diverse selection of catering menus to fit any meeting or social event.

Cafe Deluxe - West End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (23)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (15)
See All
Great for Brunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Romantic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Highly recommend the delicious frosted f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Highly recommend the delicious frosted flake crusted french toast. Great for a quick breakfast or informal brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We spent 5 days in DC. Cafe Deluxe was t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We spent 5 days in DC. Cafe Deluxe was the only restaurant we ate at every day for all our meals because of the friendly kids menu and good entrees at a reasonable price. We tried others but kept coming back. My kids also enjoy eating at Cafe Deluxe.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service, Great Food and Great Valu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great Service, Great Food and Great Value! I love Cafe Deluxe for delivering such consistent quality. My go to item on the menu is always the cobbler!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love Cafe Deluxe and have visited the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We love Cafe Deluxe and have visited the Wisconsin Ave, and West End locations on several occasions. This past Saturday we met some friends for brunch and were very disappointed. The restaurant was not busy and we were seated right away. It was pretty much downhill after we got seated. Our server was very nice but she was a horrible server. We sat for about 15 min before she even took our drink order. It took forever to get our food and while good, she didn't come back to check if everything was OK and she forgot a diet coke and never refilled our ice tea. I had to get up from the table to pay our bill because she never came back. With more and more competition in that area for restaurants, Cafe Deluxe needs to step up their game.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

One of our favorites in Washington DC in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

One of our favorites in Washington DC in the West End. Food is very good, and the prices are reasonable. Great ambiance, big picture windows open in nice weather so you can feel like you're dining al fresco.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was excellent and a really good ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was excellent and a really good value. Our service, Monique, was very friendly and attentive without being overly so. We had far better service here than we had the night before at the Four Seasons! Definitely would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was great. I asked instead o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The service was great. I asked instead of the lobster roll could I have the lobster in a dinner salad. It cost a little more, but was worth it. It seems like a place to go to after work for meal. We were on short vacation and felt very comfortable there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Brunch menu, comfortable atmosphere. If ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Brunch menu, comfortable atmosphere. If you want eggs Benedict, the classic way, you must ask for it. Really wanted to try the beignets, but only came in a basket and no one else wanted. Bra fast eggs were good. Friendly staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was very slow. Possibly understa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was very slow. Possibly understaffed that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A little isolated location, the 1 on Wis ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A little isolated location, the 1 on Wisconsin street is more lively

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Went there because of the delicious dish ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went there because of the delicious dish I had on Mother's Day. Unfortunately, it was not on the brunch menu on Sunday. My eggs were ok…not as wonderful as the Mother's Day special, though. I thought it was very nice that the manager took my eggs off the bill.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Brunch was great! Our server Kristina wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Brunch was great! Our server Kristina was wonderful! CRUSHED the food. Left nothing on our plates. Would go back every Sunday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's burger was raw inside; sauteed ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

My wife's burger was raw inside; sauteed spinach was inedibly salty. I will give Cafe Deluxe's management credit for removing the charge for the burger from our bill. But overall, a disappointing experience. We won't be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Brunch can be great here, but they had b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Brunch can be great here, but they had bad luck that day and so did we. There was a huge leak from the ceiling. The waiter was severely inexperienced. The orders were partially wrong. The 'classic' eggs Benedict was not classic: wrong bread, a pink crabby hollandaise (I am allergic to shellfish). They corrected order and brought another with the right sauce but wrong bread: no English muffin but a piece of rye I toasted bread. The manager came to say how sorry he was, but there was no deduction to Bill. Twice we lost our forks from their picking up appetizer plates. Our food came warm, but we had no forks. We asked politely for forks, waited and waited. Finally, I got up and brought forks from a nearby empty table. Unfortunate day for them, unfortunate for us. I am sure that with better training and responsiveness, this could be great for brunch. Upside, the young lady at reception was fantastic, funny, friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I had friends visiting from out of town ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I had friends visiting from out of town and brought them here for dinner. The food was outstanding and the service was great. Great portions for reasonable prices. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped in after Kennedy Ctr performance ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Stopped in after Kennedy Ctr performance for a late dinner.

Waited 15 min before going back to hostess and asking why no waiter had come to our table.

Hamburger came out well done, not medium as ordered.

Sent "special" blueberry lemonade back to be changed for white wine; wine finally showed up after we finished eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Decent experience, but wasn't happy with ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Decent experience, but wasn't happy with the slow service. Also, brought bread, appetizer and entree out all at once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Both orders came out wrong, food took a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Both orders came out wrong, food took a long time, nothing was done at all to remedy the situation- no offer to take anything off bill, bring dessert, nothing. A very disappointing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Disappointed with the food; service was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Disappointed with the food; service was fair; plesant but inattentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was a little harried. Food was g ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Service was a little harried. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Food was very good - salads were fresh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food was very good - salads were fresh and portions were good, lobster roll was tasty and paired with salad made a nice lunch. Our server was a bit overly attentive early on, but became difficult to find when it was time to go. There were lots of items on the menu that we wanted to try, so will definitely go back again soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Was good meal overall. Service could hav ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Was good meal overall. Service could have been better but was enjoyable overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Sunday brunch at 1030. Round table for 6 ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Sunday brunch at 1030. Round table for 6. Always a plus. From checking in at front desk to exit, service was exceptional. Waiter was Extremely polite, attentive, good smile. We were there for 2 hours. No rush. Everyone enjoyed what were basic breakfast items: eggs, omelets, etc. not exceptional but adequate. Ambiance and service made up for any other consideration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I was initially worried when it was so q ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was initially worried when it was so quiet and saw the 3 stars on Yelp, but I was pleasantly surprised at the excellent food and value. We even stayed for dessert, which was also wonderful! **Highly recommend the boneless braised short rib and the bread pudding**

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Extremely long wait for food, then they ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Extremely long wait for food, then they brought out the wrong dishes, then they were slopped together, obviously to make up for the delay, so cold fries, gross fatty end cap of a turkey breast on the sandwich that's supposed to be removed, etc. Really, really disappointing experience. Manager was professional, apologized and discounted the bill. But would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

What a terribly rub place. The host didn ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

What a terribly rub place. The host didn't make eye contact when i checked in. He said they had no one top tables even though it was 11pm and plenty of larger tables were available. I opted to sit at the bar and was given the menu by a distracted older white male bartender. He proceeded to ignore me for ten min and started making a drink for another customer who he knew and had arrived after me. I walked out. Horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The service was prompt. The food was goo ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service was prompt. The food was good. Can't complain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

i always enjoy the food at this Cafe Del ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

i always enjoy the food at this Cafe Deluxe and the one in Bethesda, but we had a very strange server experience this time. When my wife asked what the price was of the crab cake added to a salad, the server responded "market price." When my wife asked what that market price was, the server responded "I don't know." My wife had to suggest that she find out. It was a very strange exchange. When she came back, she told my wife that the price was "6 or 7 dollars." Then, when the server replaced our friend's glass of lemonade, she held the empty glass out in front of our friend. She never said why, and it took all of us a while to realize she was asking our friend to take the straw out of the old glass and reuse it.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I often recommend Café Deluxe West End w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I often recommend Café Deluxe West End when I am getting together with people who will want to hang out and talk, because the staff is very welcoming and doesn't rush people out. This time seven former colleagues were getting together to say goodbye to one of us who is moving, and the experience was both pleasant and delicious. Without even asking, our server gave us separate checks and got all our orders exactly right, and was so friendly and accommodating. Delicious food of all sorts. Everyone was very pleased, and I think they will now be coming to Café Deluxe in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our visit to Cafe Delux - West E ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed our visit to Cafe Delux - West End. Food was tasty and prepared as we requested. Salmon salad was quite good. Hamburger was cooked to perfection and the shaved prime rib sandwich was awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was meeting an out of town friend I ha ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I was meeting an out of town friend I hadn't seen in seven years. She was ready to settle in for a very long visit, and the staff(including our server Victor) did not rush us in any way We arrived for an early lunch and stayed for at least three hours. The food was really good(lamb shank and meatloaf), and hung out long after we were finished eating. I don't usually feel comfortable doing that, but we were made to feel welcome. I had a few special requests which they cheerfully accommodated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The brunch menu is very egg heavy. It wo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The brunch menu is very egg heavy. It would be nice to see some non egg, non brunch items. The Chesapeake Bloody Mary was fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Excellent; quality of food & service. Well priced

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Was dubious of quality of food & pricing as it is attached to a Hilton Hotel. Both far exceeded expectations. Great quality, fresh produce & very well priced. Could not recommend highly enough, definitely a gem in the local a area. Staff were engaging & attentive. We came back on consecutive days as enjoyed it so much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Service At Busy Lunchtime

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My party got stuck looking for parking (The Hotel Valet Parking, which they had counted on, was full) but we got seated quickly and drinks were served quickly. The waitress was conscientious in explaining the menu items so that we weren't unpleasantly surprised (one item was served cold and I would have thought it was hot) and very helpful. The food came out in a reasonable amount of time. Definitely will be back ... but not if other members of the party will be driving.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great for People Watching

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

An impromptu get together with friends turned into a fun Friday night when we were seated outside and were treated to a parade of high schoolers who were arriving to their prom at the Hilton next door. The food is consistently good and the service was paced just right.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bad service

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

By far this has got to be one of my worst experience in the DC dining scene. Not only did my server take forever to come greet us when he did he just asked us "are you ready to order". Luckily I had studied the menu online before going in so I knew what we were ordering but when the food came we had no silverware no napkins. We couldn't find our server to ask him for the Utensils, when my husband looked out the window he saw our server outside parking his car while our food got cold because we had nothing to eat it with. My husband finally got up and grab some off the next table. After 30 minutes and asking twice for my Mimosa finally came. I never knew how much a service could really affect your meal. I didn't finish my food nor will I be going back to that establishment.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

The Salmon was perfect, but the French c ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The Salmon was perfect, but the French cut chicken was small and over cooked.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Love the wednesday burgers! Waiter a bit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Love the wednesday burgers! Waiter a bit too pushy and taking plates a bit too fast (no, I am not done yet) but we Bandler. I like this place!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

GETTING BETTER... SERVICE BY THE WAIT S ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

GETTING BETTER... SERVICE BY THE WAIT STAFF IS ALMOST ALWAYS GREAT. It's the food that is inconsistent. Last visit was great however. I hope it gets better and better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent. They have a grea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was excellent. They have a great variety of things to eat at reasonable prices. The service was good as well. Don't be cautious of a hotel restaurant. It's a great place to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.