About Cafe Deluxe - Tysons Corner

1800 International Drive West
McLean, VA 22102
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 761-0600

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Free covered parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Rodger

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Deluxe - Tysons Corner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.8

ambience

3.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Great for Lunch
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Tysons Corner / McLean ›

great for lunch (64)
great for brunch (58)
neighborhood gem (32)
See All
good for groups (29)
great for outdoor dining (28)
kid-friendly (25)
fit for foodies (18)
special occasion (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

The Austin Veggie Burger was awesome. P ...

Dined 7 days ago

The Austin Veggie Burger was awesome. Perfectly Spicy and delicious! Great server and fun time!!

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Food was ok, service was awkward

vip
Dined 7 days ago

My burger was tasty and cooked to my specifications but my lunch companion said the salmon salad was no better than average. Our server was just a tad too earnest and intent on getting us to order appetizers or dessert. He was just trying too hard to follow his instructions to "up sell" and it quickly became embarrassing for us and for the young server.

Tags: kid-friendly
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Have been going to this location for may ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Have been going to this location for may years but i will not visit this restaurant on any major holidays like mother's day. The service was not good at all. The waiter seemed annoyed from the mint we sat down and never came to the table to make sure our food came out good until we asked for the check. Over all do not recommend this place when there is a major occasion going on.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food was cold and mugs were cracked

Dined on May 8, 2016

2 mugs. Both leaked coffee. Eggs were cold. And then no discount even with issues. Very disappointed. Went for Mother's Day brunch.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Very pushy waitress and undercooked eggs.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Never again. The hostess couldn't find my reservation. The place is too loud. The eggs Benedict were barely cooked. The waitress was a very pushy salesperson who kept calling us "guys."

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food and not too noisy

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was very good and the place nice because it's not too loud where you can't have a conversation. Our waitress left a lot to be desired.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Cafe Deluxe

Dined on April 30, 2016

Helpful front desk, friendly and knowledgeable waiter, good food, nice ambiance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Heringer's Review

Dined on April 28, 2016

I was disappointed in my visit with a friend to this restaurant last Thursday. The flat bread was excellent and the service was good. However, I feel I was taken advantage of when the manager charged me $27 corkage fee for a bottle of wine I brought in to share with my friend. This was all the more insulting given the restaurant was not at all busy - one would think they would be happy to have the diners during a slow night. I am not at all sure I will return again.

food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Cafe Deluxe Experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our experience was very disappointing because of the service. My friends and I went there specifically just to have dessert, and the waitress had an attitude about that. We were also rushed to pay the bill even though the restaurant was clearly not very full and no one was in any hurry to grab our table. I was surprised to find the restaurant not very busy for a Saturday night. Perhaps the poor service was indicative of a larger issue. The desserts were excellent but we would have liked a better dining experience.

food2
ambience2
service1

Brunch. Overpriced. Eggs Benedict was ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Brunch. Overpriced. Eggs Benedict was 2 pouched eggs on a bland piece of white toast (not English muffins) and a slice of ham, with some mediocre potatoes: $12. I didn't want the special $13 Bloody Mary with bacon and beer, so I asked for just a regular one with rail vodka: $12. Croque Madame was dry and tasteless: $12. To top it off, restaurant was freezing, food took 45 minutes to come out, after my sons kids pancakes came out immediately after ordering. They apologized but no compensation offered. It was 2:00pm on Sunday, so busy but many empty tables. Will not go back.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice all-around brunch place

Dined on April 17, 2016

Menu limited but very good. Ambiance is nice. The bloody mary was fantastic, but more expensive than the meal which I found odd. Overall, I enjoyed the experience and would come again.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is always good

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

I have been back here several times recently and it has been consistently good. I definitely recommend Cafe Deluxe.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the place and the food. Service is ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Love the place and the food. Service is always good and the manager checks to make sure all is okay Sad that our favorite hostess Randa is leaving

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Going down hill

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Happy hour is outside closed too cold or at the bar.....not in main dining room. Had to ask for bread twice and water. Use to really like this pllace, time to find another.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was good as usual

Dined on April 3, 2016

Restaurants's food was tasty and fresh. Atmosphere was pretty vibrant. Service was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Consistently getting worse. Find a better option

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

We've been going to Café Deluxe (mainly the Bethesda location) for years prior to leaving Washington DC However, we travel to DC frequently for work and pleasure and Café Deluxe is always on the menu. Over the past year or so, the quality of the food and service has consistently gotten worse. This past trip, we ended leaving before even ordering our main entrée. The server was terrible and the appetizer that was served (fire roasted tomato soup) was cold and the serving size wasn't consistent. Additionally, we ordered two cocktails for $10each. Both were under poured. Sadly, Café Deluxe is officially off our list.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I went for their Sunday b ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

My friends and I went for their Sunday brunch. The food was delicious and they had great service! I recommend getting the beignets as a starter.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had reservations for Easter brunch and happy to find something good in the area that didn't have a fixed price set menu for Easter. The restaurant was busy but we were still promptly served, our waitress was attentive, and everything came out hot and tasted great. It was obviously a busy morning and popular with groups/families so was definitely noisy but worked out well for our need and would attend again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not happy with the food. Wish I ate elsewhere.

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

My shrimp was dry and overcooked (had the blackened shrimp salad), and my side order of fries were cold. I was not impressed.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Good food but service is a deal breaker

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Cafe Deluxe has reliably good food and standard breakfast/brunch choices to please all crowds, but the service is too hit or miss. On this particular occasion, we were a party of 7 who took a while to trickle in (10:30 reservation, the full party was in their seats between 10:45 and 11:00). I think this is probably why it took a while (20 minutes after the last person sat) for anyone to actually take our food order. We didn't mind this too much, though. As anyone can imagine, cooking up seven breakfast orders to arrive together can take a little bit of time so we weren't too concerned when the food seemed a bit more delayed than usual. After finally receiving and eating our food, it took us a little while to realize that we hadn't seen any waiters/waitresses in a while in order to ask for the check. Again, not a huge deal, as we finally tracked someone down to ask for the check. We paid and signed the credit card slips (meaning tip had already been paid), and were wrapping up conversation and getting ready to leave. It's at this point that one of the hostesses or managers came over to one of us to let him know that there was a reservation waiting for the table and "invited him" to have a conversation about it at the bar. Translation: You've overstayed your welcome. Putting aside the fact that this is a cardinal sin in the restaurant industry, it is especially irritating due to the fact that the delays were not our fault. If they had waited 5 more minutes, we would've been gone and this review would have taken a very different tone. The Tysons/Vienna/Merrifield and surrounding area has a large variety of breakfast/brunch options so I am surprised to see this type of customer service around here. While the food is good, needless to say, I would recommend skipping Cafe Deluxe as you'll never know which side of the customer service coin you'll get.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food - some service hiccups

Dined on March 13, 2016

Reservations for 10 for brunch at 11am are hard to come by, but they accommodated us - even sat our incomplete party early. We ended up with 8, so the manager asked if we would give back the extra 4-top at the end of our table for another party. We were fine with that. The food was excellent, but we had an issue with some of the food orders - one diner ordered his eggs over hard instead of scrambled, through a long discussion with the server, but his plate came out with scrambled eggs anyway. Then two of our orders did not have the biscuit they were supposed to come with. And the server had a really hard time figuring out whose food was whose. Once we spoke to the manager, it all got worked out. Also, the acoustics are bad - the restaurant was REALLY loud.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Seating not optional

Dined on March 12, 2016

We arrived at our reservation 20- minutes early, while we were seated right away the host/manager was fairly argumentative regarding the table. The table was fair at best. We are all tall individuals and would have preferred a booth, but were told we would have to sit where they placed us. No option was given to wait for a booth. The food was average but overpriced. The waiter took my half empty wine glass and poured it onto my additional wine glass ordered (he did ask, but I find it unprofessional/unacceptable to even ask a guest). Will not frequent ever again. Great disappointment.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Contemporary French bistro

Dined on March 11, 2016

Delicious trout and beef short ribs, both with complementary vegetables cooked perfectly. Service was attentive. Only shortcoming was that we had to ask our server for bread. Loved the ambiance, charming French bistro. Parking was convenient.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dependable Cafe DeLuxe

Dined on March 10, 2016

Always reliable food, excellent service, very welcoming and attentive managerial staff. Wonderful place for a casual meal.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Slipped since last visit

Dined on March 6, 2016

I've been going to this restaurant for a few years. It seems to me that the food quality and prep is slipping a bit.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on March 2, 2016

This restaurant across from Tysons' Corner Mall is awesome. You can go eat there anytime, at any hour, prices do not change. The service in general is impeccable and so is the food and the host/ess who greet you at the door. Even when busy you still feel you are special. At times errors are made -- if they are overwhelmed--, but they re do or fix the issue immediately. The manager will come and apologize. That has happened rarely. It's a tad noisy when there are groups, or, during lunch/dinner hours. The acoustics are not well defined. They have an outdoor balcony in the Spring/Summer time that is lovely. Catch there is that traffic is passing right by you...but I like that!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Lack of Cocktail Comeback

Dined on February 28, 2016

So it seems that everyone is throwing back to the GREAT cocktails of history...not at Cafe Deluxe....when you charge $10+ for a signature cocktail, that you've given a fancy name "Bourbon Re-Fashioned: Bulleit Bourbon, Cherry Juice, Angostura Bitters".... and you see CHERRY JUICE run for the hills. Who uses maraschino cherries in cocktails anymore? Let alone it's JUICE for a custom cocktail? Also, when did it become customary to charge $9.50 for a 4oz pour of an average glass of wine? They need to revamp the bar. While the food was good, service was good, this place could really use an overhaul of modernization of bar trends & cocktail creations.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on February 17, 2016

Our server Kevin was great. Randa at reception greeted us with a smile and seated us immediately. Kudos to Kevin for being prompt, aware of our needs and very courteous

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Prime rib on Valentine menu was not good ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Prime rib on Valentine menu was not good. It looked and felt like boiled meat.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3

I want to like Cafe Deluxe because the f ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

I want to like Cafe Deluxe because the food is always so good. But it never seems to come together. It was so loud that my dining partner and I had to shout to hear each other. The tables were so close together that I felt like everyone could hear our conversation. It was Valentine's Day lunch, so I can see why they tried to maximize space but it made it unpleasant. The omelette I had was delicious. Probably won't be back.

food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Usually better

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was Saturday before Valentine's Day so we expected it to be busy but the food was not hot. Things we asked for were forgotten and service was slower than usual. We had taken another couple there to introduce them to Cafe Delux which has generally been great. This time was dissapointing but since we've had so many good meals at both the one in Cleveland Park and have only been a couple of times to this one in Tyson's so we'll go back. Not so sure our friends will though.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Regular Stop For A Quick Dinner

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

We visit Cafe Deluxe about once per month. We return because we have favorites on the menu, find it to be a good value, and find the service staff to be professional and engaging.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good as Usual

Dined on January 31, 2016

Today's brunch was very good. It was a bit busier than usual -- probably due to heavy snow a few days ago-- because of that the service was a tad slower and the food was (only my dish) a tad over cooked. Upon tasting it though it was great so no complaints. This is my favorite haunt. However, when busy my head complains, there are no carpets or any special things installed to dull the noise level. Often, I try to avoid the busy hours. Again, this time it didn't work cause most people had cabin fever and went out. All in all I still give them "thumbs up" !!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4

Great brunch Place but the menu never ch ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Great brunch Place but the menu never changes and the service gets worse every time

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Below Average

Dined on January 17, 2016

Service and food is almost below average. Service is very slow, lack of waitresses. Have to ask for every little thing.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good But Noisy!

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

This is a go-to restaurant for good, nothing fancy, food, at good prices, but take note - it can be extremely noisy! Between poor acoustics and lots of people, it was hard to even talk across the table.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good service, good food

Dined on January 13, 2016

I usually come here for work-related lunches. They can handle large groups in a reasonable amount of time, the food is good, and everything goes smoothly.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was good and all, a little disappointed.

Dined on January 11, 2016

Food was ok, pricey for what you get in my opinion. People warned me that they have a rep of reporting you never showed up for Opentable reservations and I had that issue too. If you are spending this much... go to Wildfire down the street.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My go to at Tysons for Sunday Brunch

Dined on January 10, 2016

Brunch menu has great selections for all palates. Coffee is good. Service is very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good get together spot

Dined on January 7, 2016

Enjoyed dinner here with family and an old friend. Covered parking a plus in Tysons. Very noisy a minus.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.