About Cafe Deluxe - Tysons Corner

1800 International Drive West
McLean, VA 22102
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 761-0600

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Free covered parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Rodger

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Deluxe - Tysons Corner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.5

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (49)
Great for Brunch (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Kid-friendly (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Special Occasion (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was sent a gift card after a bad exper ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

I was sent a gift card after a bad experience. We went for dinner, and the service was much improved, as was the food. We had the steak salad and steak frites. For dessert, we had the bread pudding and ice cream sundae. I noticed that there was a different manager at the host station, and it was an improved overall situation. I hope this was not a fluke, and we will be returning to see if it stays a decent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a nice time sitting outside. Te f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a nice time sitting outside. Te food was good, although the service was just a bit slow. h

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Forgot friends food. Horrible and cold m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Forgot friends food. Horrible and cold meal. Salad with no dressing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Cafe Deluxe is a moderately priced consi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Cafe Deluxe is a moderately priced consistently good restaurant. The staff is professional and tries hard to make your dining a good experience. The food and the service are Very Good!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Slow service! It was super busy so it wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Slow service! It was super busy so it was understaffed. I asked for my fried egg over hard and it came out totally runny. The waitress had checked on our order literally as the plates were placed in front of us so I didn't know my egg was runny til after she left. She then didn't check on us for a very long time and was no where to be seen. I had to wait forever to finally get my egg cooked through. A total pain when you're dining with two toddlers and time is crucial. No manager came to speak with us regarding the mistake and nothing was offered for the inconvenience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Waiter, server and manager were all poli ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Waiter, server and manager were all polite and attentive. Manager stopped by twice to make sure everything was ok. My salmon entree was prepared perfectly, as were the short ribs my wife ordered. Wine list was ok with reasonable selection and seasonal draft beer (a 5.5% ABV amber) was also good. Peach cobbler was excellent and large portion as desserts go; definitely shareable. A great experience and we look forward to dining at Cafe Deluxe again when we are in Tysons Corner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent, the portions wer ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was excellent, the portions were large, and the prices were extremely reasonable. The only drawback was a fairly inattentive waitress with english that was difficult to understand.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

In response to my last review on a disas ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

In response to my last review on a disastrous burger lunch meal with my friend, Patty, the GM, called me the very next morning to take care of us. She took time to listen to why the service ruined everything for us that day, apologized saying that she would make sure that she provides the feedback with her team members, and offered us a healthy gift certificate to return and dine again. We used her g/c and enjoyed a regular meal this time and I noticed an improvement in service for sure.

My friend ordered ahi tuna tacos and I ordered their daily salmon special, both of which were excellent and fishes were fresh. We will be returning more often for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our waiter forgot to put one of the gues ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our waiter forgot to put one of the guest's order in, so while everyone else was eating, that person waited another 15 minutes before getting their food, and then what came out late was prepared wrong as well. That is on top of the very long 40 minute wait for our food after we initially ordered. We asked the waiter for refills on our drinks, and they were never given. We even went to the manager to ask for refills, and he said he'd get them to us right away...but it also was never received. The restaurant was about 25% full on a Sunday night, so I can't imagine the kind of service they would offer if they were a little busier. Ridiculous and unacceptable. Avoid this place like the plague.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

The special Crab & Avocado Salad was del ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The special Crab & Avocado Salad was delicious! Kind of expensive, but light, fresh, and healthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We finished our dinner...We Sat for a wh ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We finished our dinner...We Sat for a while longer but were ignored for more than an hour no one bothered to see if we needed anything more!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I love cafe D, but service was exception ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I love cafe D, but service was exceptional slow today despite being less than slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Our water glasses smelled because I am p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our water glasses smelled because I am pretty sure the staff uses a dirty rag to clean the glasses. The way to test this is to let the water sit in the glass for awhile, and then smell the glass - it is gross. Our server was gone and terrible most of the meal, and we had to ask for normal items that go with your meal - such as syrup with pancakes. And, the syrup dispenser was sticky and needed to be cleaned. We had to flag down a different person to get the server to bring our check. The food was ok, but the service and cleanliness was questionable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I think the food is great!!! Great menu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I think the food is great!!! Great menu!!! Service was also very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A friend and I have dined at cafe deluxe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A friend and I have dined at cafe deluxe on a wednesday previously to take advantage of their wednesday $8 burger special. We had no idea that second return would be a disastrous one. Our server seemed rather friendly and attentive when taking our order. Something went wrong during processing of our order where we realized after taking a couple bites that they switched our requested temperature - medium went to my friend when it was supposed to be for me. One of the managers came by saying it would take just five minutes to have the burgers cooked correctly and not only did it take more than 10 minutes, but mine also missed avocado add on I requested. What disappointed me more than anything is that the manager never apologized for any of this inconvenience nor offered to give us any sort of courtesy credit for the inconvenience we experienced. Not something we expected from a restaurant that won 2015 OpenTable award...

Their burgers were actually pretty tasty but were noticeably smaller compared to what I would get at either Wildfire or Bushel & Barrel (and B&B's grass-fed burger is hands down the best burger in Tysons and Northern VA!). I would much rather pay full price for a burger meal at a either of those places instead of Cafe Deluxe since I don't eat red meat all too often and just treat myself to it 2 to 3 times a month.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We have been frequent visitors to Cafe D ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We have been frequent visitors to Cafe Deluxe, and in our opinion the food quality has gone way downhill.

Both flatbreads (BBQ chicken and Arugula/Proscuitto) were poorly done, heavy on toppings but light on flavor. The lobster roll was a disappointingly gloppy mix of mushy lobster, too much dressing, and a far too bready brioche roll. The turkey burger was dry and bland. Even our pizza loving kid companion didn't touch the kid's cheese pizza. Only bright spot were sweet potato fries and a friendly waitress. It's too bad because this restaurant is in a great and easy spot to meet friends at Tysons Corner, but unfortunately we will not be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

For a Friday business lunch, Cafe Delux ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

For a Friday business lunch, Cafe Deluxe was way too loud. My steak salad was delicious but the noise was so bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Four of us met for dinner at this unpret ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Four of us met for dinner at this unpretentious Tyson's bistro. All of our dinners were delicious, the drinks were generous, the service was excellent, the prices were entirely reasonable, the parking was easy and it was quiet enough that we could actually talk to each other without shouting. The waitress was even considerate enough to suggest packing up our leftover bones (from the ribs) to take home for our dog! I have only praise for Cafe Deluxe.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was good though the server seem ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our meal was good though the server seemed to have trouble understanding our order and never brought the cinnamon rolls. Syrup came 10 minutes after the pancakes, but the manager comped us. She was very good and showed concern over the issues we had. None of them detracted from the overall meal and nice outside table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Always dependable for decent food and se ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Always dependable for decent food and service. Good place for a small group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

We had a wonderful meal here before goin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had a wonderful meal here before going to the theater. Food and service were both excellent. The menu was inventive and the five of us had a round table where it was easy to talk. We would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Based on the online reviews, I had expec ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Based on the online reviews, I had expected a better meal. The food was only fair. I have eaten at other Cafe Deluxe restaurants in the area and had anticipated that the dining experience in Tysons would be good enough for a casual client dinner. Unfortunately, the food and service did not meet my expectations.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Food was fine. Service was good. Way too ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was fine. Service was good. Way too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Was hoping for a good tasting lunch sala ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Was hoping for a good tasting lunch salad with chicken. Chicken was cold, dry and tasteless. Salad needed more dressing, and the green did not seem fresh.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Father's day sunday brunch with friends. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's day sunday brunch with friends. table of 4. service terrible (get napkins and utensils by self by taking from other set tables, slow slow service, especially drinks from bar and food also, obtained assistance from manager to get check, and hunted down waiter to take money) - so service lacking. we went for beignets which others in group said were delicious and one of the reasons we went there - were not good, doughy in center or undercooked and heavy. restaurant was about 75% full. the actual entree's were very good tasting, took 1 hour plus to be served and we were starving

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Our lunch was a disaster! Food was exce ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our lunch was a disaster! Food was excellent, service was acceptable (server was not fluent in English, but we managed). The problem: YIKES!!! Took an hour and a half to get our food! The manager stopped by twice to apologize, but did not offer any information or explanation. The extremely slow service took the bite out of our lunch .... not sure I'll be back (and we have had many fine experiences @ Café Deluxe).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

This was the worst dining experience I c ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the worst dining experience I can remember having in a long time. They were clearly uderstaffed and according to our waiter, they are always understaffed. Our order was taken 30 minutes after we sat down and after 45 minutes the only thing we had on our table was water and a cup of coffee. The only way I was able to get any service was by talking to the manager. She was very apologetic but appeared to be overwhelmed. The food was OK but we had such a bad experience that I would never want to eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Food and service was good

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Went to meet a business acquaintance and friend. Spent about two hours discussing various topics. Food and service was good, although the waitress appeared to have a double load of tables. Noise level was fine for a business meeting.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great choice

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Fresh food, great flavor, reasonable prices, variety on menu, excellent service, 1/2 price wine bottles Mon. Night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Go To Place

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Whenever we are deciding to eat out, Cafe Deluxe always is our default restaurant since it is

consistent, food is good and service is excellent. We do go to other places, but we know that

CD is always a possibility and we go there often. The Lamb Shank is very good and the burgers are also very good. Try the Hot Crab Dip for an appetizer - you can't beat the prices.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great little find in Tysons/McLean

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Café Deluxe has excellent food, great service, table linens, and a "no rush" policy. (I dawdled over my breakfast and coffee for almost 2 hours.) The only thing that definitely needs to be improved (since they offer 3 or 4 breakfast entrees with it) is the hollandaise sauce. It was mediocre at best. I have a recipe for blender hollandaise (egg yolks, fresh lemon juice, seasonings, hot melted butter) that is to die-for and takes 5 min. (max.) to make. IMO, there's no reason why a restaurant should offer dishes with hollandaise unless it's willing to serve the real deal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Deluxe is Exactly That

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Everyone in our group enjoyed their meal. Service was impeccable. Easy parking--all in all, a very pleasant luncheon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is always slow

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Great patio for outdoor dining in Tysons.

Service is always poor however. It doesn't matter if you come for brunch on a weekend or for a business lunch during weekdays. Waiters are not attentive, it takes several requests to just get water or the check. They are also pushy and always trying to sell you more.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

This was a get-together with old friends ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was a get-together with old friends, but the noise level was such that we all (50's and over) had a hard time hearing the entire conversation. The other problem was that our waitress either did not understand my husband's concern about fat in his oatmeal or did not care. It was filled with cream and had to be returned, so his brunch consisted of two dry bagels. My chicken pot pie sounded delicious, and the puff pastry topping was, but the sauce with the chicken and veggies was way too salty. We'll try again, but we'll ask for waitstaff that can handle special requests.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

At first glance, this restaurant seemed ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

At first glance, this restaurant seemed to be ideal for a quick business lunch. However, after making reservations and actually dining here I will most likely choose another restaurant for business lunches. Specifically because even with reservations, my wait was an additional 25 - 30 minutes. The young lady that was the designated server for my table, was inattentive and seemed to want to be anywhere else BUT working; there was an additional 20-25 mins to wait on our meals to come. I chose the 'Grilled Chicken Sandwich' for lunch and my chicken was undercooked. I will say that the house manager attempted to rectify the undercooked meal by offering dessert on the house BUT, I declined; she was nice. Overall, I wouldn't visit this restaurant in the future.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

The Austin Veggie Burger was awesome. P ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The Austin Veggie Burger was awesome. Perfectly Spicy and delicious! Great server and fun time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was ok, service was awkward

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

My burger was tasty and cooked to my specifications but my lunch companion said the salmon salad was no better than average. Our server was just a tad too earnest and intent on getting us to order appetizers or dessert. He was just trying too hard to follow his instructions to "up sell" and it quickly became embarrassing for us and for the young server.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Have been going to this location for may ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Have been going to this location for may years but i will not visit this restaurant on any major holidays like mother's day. The service was not good at all. The waiter seemed annoyed from the mint we sat down and never came to the table to make sure our food came out good until we asked for the check. Over all do not recommend this place when there is a major occasion going on.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was cold and mugs were cracked

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

2 mugs. Both leaked coffee. Eggs were cold. And then no discount even with issues. Very disappointed. Went for Mother's Day brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Very pushy waitress and undercooked eggs.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Never again. The hostess couldn't find my reservation. The place is too loud. The eggs Benedict were barely cooked. The waitress was a very pushy salesperson who kept calling us "guys."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.