About Cafe Deluxe - Tysons Corner

1800 International Drive West
McLean, VA 22102
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 761-0600

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Free covered parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Rodger

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Deluxe - Tysons Corner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
See All
Kid-friendly (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Business Meals (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter Robert provided exceptional s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Our waiter Robert provided exceptional service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent, not intrusive but ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was excellent, not intrusive but about the right amount of interaction. Food was average at best. I had crabcake sandwich special, very bland and way to small for the hamburger bun.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was great, the service was very ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The food was great, the service was very good and it was quiet enough to carry on a conversation in conversational tones. One of us was so impressed with what he had ordered that he asked for the recipe, and the manager was kind enough to provide it. All in all, a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was bland and not delivered to tabl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was bland and not delivered to table as ordered. Very noisy. Had requested a quiet table but the table provided was not in the quietest area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Good food prepared well. Took longer tha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Good food prepared well. Took longer than usual. Very loud; very!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Great bistro style food and ambiance. T ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great bistro style food and ambiance. The steak frites was exactly as it should be, with the added bonus of bernaise sauce. My companion's meatloaf was also very tasty. Service was unpretentious and friendly. Would definitely recommend this neighborhood gem.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoy this restaurant -- a pub ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I really enjoy this restaurant -- a pub like feel that always pleases. This time the service was overly attentive and a bit disruptive to our table conversation for most of the meal --- and then missing near the end.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Nice place with good ambiance. Usually t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Nice place with good ambiance. Usually the servers there are top notch - we had a newbie who did not seem all that well trained or prepared. Had a situation where I ordered a half seltzer/ half cranberry juice - got 2 refills and was told before the second one that the refills were not free. I resented being charged $9 for a club soda/ cranberry juice drink refilled 2x. Overall, though, this is a place I enjoy and recommend. Consistently good food. It is rather noisy when it is crowded.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Meeting up with family from out of town ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Meeting up with family from out of town so menu options are terrific for all tastes and diets. Noise level was so high it was hard to hear the server. A request for an additional condiment was not filled and could not get a server's attention until we had to get up and find him. Minor complaint for a very busy Sunday lunch seating.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fresh and nicely presented plates. We h ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fresh and nicely presented plates. We had a wonderful brunch and a very pleasant server who couldn't have been nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great dinner at Cafe Deluxe cel ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a great dinner at Cafe Deluxe celebrating my Husband's 50th with a group of old friends. We were visiting from out of town and looking for a central location from Alexandria, Herndon and Leesburg. We lingered over drinks, apps, dinner and dessert. Wonderful evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Uniqueness

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Uniqueness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I can honestly say I will not be returni ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I can honestly say I will not be returning to this restaurant anytime, while the food taste wise was just okay it arrived luke warm and the homefries had very little seasoning. In addition the server gave me the wrong order and I had to wait while everyone else was eating for my meal to be prepared. My daughter ordered a breakfast sandwich without egg and they left the bacon off her sandwich. The hollandaise sauce was to lemony once I finally received my meal and the managers idea to make up for the luke warm food and missing meat is to provide an additional side item, unbelievable. Needless to say this was a first and last for this spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent service, substantial portions ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent service, substantial portions and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for lunch on our anniversary. B ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went for lunch on our anniversary. Both had the lobster roll, which was simple but very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I have enjoyed Cafe Delux for lunch seve ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I have enjoyed Cafe Delux for lunch several times in the past; however, this was my first time for breakfast, and I was very pleased. The food was excellent, the variety of menu items nicely covered multiple options, the server was delightful. The restaurant was quiet enough to enjoy talking with my friends, what's not to like? I will be back!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My server was excellent. Food delish and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2016

My server was excellent. Food delish and priced quite reasonably.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was nothing special about this pla ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

There was nothing special about this place and our sever went MIA after presenting the dessert menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Their glasses were dirty and had food st ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Their glasses were dirty and had food stuck to them. Both of them. Asked the manager about this and said that happens with the chemicals. The completely lack of caring was a glaring sign about what is wrong with the place. The mussels were mediocre. The steak was a decent cut of meat but no flavor. The bearnaisse sauce was amateurish at best. The fries and steak were cold. The chilli was better than all this but didn't even come with crackers or sour cream or cheese. Weird, huh? Yeah, I thought so but telling the manager would only result in my being told it is normal. Well, I'll go back to my normal where there is less attitude.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Never too crowded but I don't know why. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Never too crowded but I don't know why. Food is really good, service is excellent and it is so easy to park and get into. Go for dinner tonight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A great venue for quick, variety lunch t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2016

A great venue for quick, variety lunch time meals.

Wait staff is always friendly, attentive and responsive to customer's needs.

An added bonus if you are a frequent patron... The wait staff will likely remember

your face, personality and your previous meals. Enjoy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service, good food. I tool my Dad ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great service, good food. I tool my Dad and Uncle and they enjoyed the food and loved the service of our waiter.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food for most of us looked very good. BU ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food for most of us looked very good. BUT I , being on a diet had to order a salad and I chose the steak...That was a Big mistake.... I asked for my steak to be cooked med. It was like shoe leather . Actually my dog couldn't have eaten it . I asked to please have chicken instead..my friends all nearly finished their lunch by the time it came out ..in fact i had to ask again for it. we asked for bread , the waitress took a good 15-20 min to bring it ..again nearly done with lunch ...Service was terrible! I understand we had a trainee...but the main waiter was supposed to be assisting her. and really we ended up getting no attention.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Their Wednesday, $8 burgers are great. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Their Wednesday, $8 burgers are great.

Try and dine outside if you can.... It's much quieter and more intimate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was average tasting. Restaurant is ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was average tasting. Restaurant is very pleasant inside (lots of light from floor-to-ceiling windows), though rather noisy. Also, it was impossible to catch the attention of our waitress, and when we couldn't flag her down, it was also hard to catch the attention of other wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Very inexperienced staff working on a Sa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very inexperienced staff working on a Saturday night with very little supervision.

The table next to us also had a group of 8-year-olds running around and jumping up and down on the shared bench with us. Neither the parents nor the restaurant cared that they were so disruptive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Amazing. Reservation at 12 on a Friday. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Amazing. Reservation at 12 on a Friday. No server for 15 minutes. Finally called the manager over and he took our order, but still did not assign a waiter. Our section including the booth next to us had a waiter but no one ever checked in with us. We were served throughout the meal by a mishmash of staff, from the manager, to the hostess to other bus help. Food was ok, manager comped an appetizer which was nice, but they really need to get their act together. Maybe just shortstaffed but not acceptable. We have been going to the cafe deluxe in Bethesda for years and had never had a service issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Quick and easy place to eat with decent ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Quick and easy place to eat with decent variety on the menu, decent food, decent service--it's all good. Solid 4 out of 5 but not a "special" place for a special lunch or dinner. Still come here frequently!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Business lunch. We both had salads whic ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Business lunch. We both had salads which were what you would expect. service was pretty slow and we had to ask several times to get bread. Otherwise it's a pretty standard lunch spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is generally good and the menu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is generally good and the menu has something for everyone. The only issue is the noise level which makes conversation difficult. All in all good value.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

First of all, the food is good and my se ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

First of all, the food is good and my server was fine. My complaint on this visit was that ordered my food and got up to go to the bathroom (I was eating alone). I came back to find them busing my table and my newspaper had been thrown away. They were able to eventually retrieve it from somewhere in the back, probably out of the trash. Then I took a sip from my drink to find something hard and unknown come up my straw, it was neither Coke nor ice. The manager seemed unconcerned about this. He did buy my meal, but I expected a bit more concern from him as it was unsettling. Room was also so hot I was sweating. Not a good experience this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Not my first visit here. Food is always ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Not my first visit here. Food is always good. This particular evening was loud. We asked to be moved away from the bar, which took a while (busing the table took 15 minutes). Service was also slow on this evening. At the end of our entree instead of being asked if we wanted anything else, dessert, or coffee we were given the bill. So, we skipped that part of the meal, which we normally would have had.

I will give this place another chance, but, if the service still the same, it will come off my rotation of restaurants in the Tyson's area - many to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Slow start with a strong recovery....Got ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Slow start with a strong recovery....Got seated outside. Most diners were inside, so I think we got lost in the shuffle. Took about 10 minutes for a server to come out, but once he did, it was all good! Server was excellent - professional & friendly. Martinis, chicken pot pie & lamb shank were all very good. Peach cobbler with vanilla ice cream was a great way to end the meal. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cafe Deluxe has a good menu and the food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Cafe Deluxe has a good menu and the food is well prepared. Service was fine. It can get loud which makes it more challenging to have a business discussion.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Another nice lunch at Café Deluxe. Exce ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Another nice lunch at Café Deluxe. Excellent food. Service continues to be rather perfunctory and slow(e.g., capons weren't included on salmon plate and by the time they arrived pursuant to our request, the meal was basically already consumed). Continues to cry out for better training/management. Definitely recommend patio seating ~ very loud inside.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Mussels were good, lamb shank- meat was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Mussels were good, lamb shank- meat was so tender it fell off the bone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I was sent a gift card after a bad exper ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I was sent a gift card after a bad experience. We went for dinner, and the service was much improved, as was the food. We had the steak salad and steak frites. For dessert, we had the bread pudding and ice cream sundae. I noticed that there was a different manager at the host station, and it was an improved overall situation. I hope this was not a fluke, and we will be returning to see if it stays a decent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a nice time sitting outside. Te f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had a nice time sitting outside. Te food was good, although the service was just a bit slow. h

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Forgot friends food. Horrible and cold m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Forgot friends food. Horrible and cold meal. Salad with no dressing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Cafe Deluxe is a moderately priced consi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Cafe Deluxe is a moderately priced consistently good restaurant. The staff is professional and tries hard to make your dining a good experience. The food and the service are Very Good!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.