About Cafe Deluxe - Tysons Corner

1800 International Drive West
McLean, VA 22102
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 761-0600

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Free covered parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Rodger

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Deluxe - Tysons Corner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.6

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (37)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Great for Brunch (20)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Good for Groups (15)
Kid-friendly (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Special Occasion (7)
Casual (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Romantic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Business Meals (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A great venue for quick, variety lunch t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined a day ago

A great venue for quick, variety lunch time meals.

Wait staff is always friendly, attentive and responsive to customer's needs.

An added bonus if you are a frequent patron... The wait staff will likely remember

your face, personality and your previous meals. Enjoy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service, good food. I tool my Dad ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great service, good food. I tool my Dad and Uncle and they enjoyed the food and loved the service of our waiter.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food for most of us looked very good. BU ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food for most of us looked very good. BUT I , being on a diet had to order a salad and I chose the steak...That was a Big mistake.... I asked for my steak to be cooked med. It was like shoe leather . Actually my dog couldn't have eaten it . I asked to please have chicken instead..my friends all nearly finished their lunch by the time it came out ..in fact i had to ask again for it. we asked for bread , the waitress took a good 15-20 min to bring it ..again nearly done with lunch ...Service was terrible! I understand we had a trainee...but the main waiter was supposed to be assisting her. and really we ended up getting no attention.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Their Wednesday, $8 burgers are great. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Their Wednesday, $8 burgers are great.

Try and dine outside if you can.... It's much quieter and more intimate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was average tasting. Restaurant is ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was average tasting. Restaurant is very pleasant inside (lots of light from floor-to-ceiling windows), though rather noisy. Also, it was impossible to catch the attention of our waitress, and when we couldn't flag her down, it was also hard to catch the attention of other wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Very inexperienced staff working on a Sa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very inexperienced staff working on a Saturday night with very little supervision.

The table next to us also had a group of 8-year-olds running around and jumping up and down on the shared bench with us. Neither the parents nor the restaurant cared that they were so disruptive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Amazing. Reservation at 12 on a Friday. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Amazing. Reservation at 12 on a Friday. No server for 15 minutes. Finally called the manager over and he took our order, but still did not assign a waiter. Our section including the booth next to us had a waiter but no one ever checked in with us. We were served throughout the meal by a mishmash of staff, from the manager, to the hostess to other bus help. Food was ok, manager comped an appetizer which was nice, but they really need to get their act together. Maybe just shortstaffed but not acceptable. We have been going to the cafe deluxe in Bethesda for years and had never had a service issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Business lunch. We both had salads whic ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Business lunch. We both had salads which were what you would expect. service was pretty slow and we had to ask several times to get bread. Otherwise it's a pretty standard lunch spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is generally good and the menu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is generally good and the menu has something for everyone. The only issue is the noise level which makes conversation difficult. All in all good value.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

First of all, the food is good and my se ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

First of all, the food is good and my server was fine. My complaint on this visit was that ordered my food and got up to go to the bathroom (I was eating alone). I came back to find them busing my table and my newspaper had been thrown away. They were able to eventually retrieve it from somewhere in the back, probably out of the trash. Then I took a sip from my drink to find something hard and unknown come up my straw, it was neither Coke nor ice. The manager seemed unconcerned about this. He did buy my meal, but I expected a bit more concern from him as it was unsettling. Room was also so hot I was sweating. Not a good experience this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Not my first visit here. Food is always ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Not my first visit here. Food is always good. This particular evening was loud. We asked to be moved away from the bar, which took a while (busing the table took 15 minutes). Service was also slow on this evening. At the end of our entree instead of being asked if we wanted anything else, dessert, or coffee we were given the bill. So, we skipped that part of the meal, which we normally would have had.

I will give this place another chance, but, if the service still the same, it will come off my rotation of restaurants in the Tyson's area - many to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Slow start with a strong recovery....Got ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Slow start with a strong recovery....Got seated outside. Most diners were inside, so I think we got lost in the shuffle. Took about 10 minutes for a server to come out, but once he did, it was all good! Server was excellent - professional & friendly. Martinis, chicken pot pie & lamb shank were all very good. Peach cobbler with vanilla ice cream was a great way to end the meal. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cafe Deluxe has a good menu and the food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Cafe Deluxe has a good menu and the food is well prepared. Service was fine. It can get loud which makes it more challenging to have a business discussion.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Another nice lunch at Café Deluxe. Exce ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Another nice lunch at Café Deluxe. Excellent food. Service continues to be rather perfunctory and slow(e.g., capons weren't included on salmon plate and by the time they arrived pursuant to our request, the meal was basically already consumed). Continues to cry out for better training/management. Definitely recommend patio seating ~ very loud inside.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Mussels were good, lamb shank- meat was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Mussels were good, lamb shank- meat was so tender it fell off the bone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I was sent a gift card after a bad exper ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I was sent a gift card after a bad experience. We went for dinner, and the service was much improved, as was the food. We had the steak salad and steak frites. For dessert, we had the bread pudding and ice cream sundae. I noticed that there was a different manager at the host station, and it was an improved overall situation. I hope this was not a fluke, and we will be returning to see if it stays a decent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a nice time sitting outside. Te f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had a nice time sitting outside. Te food was good, although the service was just a bit slow. h

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Forgot friends food. Horrible and cold m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Forgot friends food. Horrible and cold meal. Salad with no dressing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Cafe Deluxe is a moderately priced consi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Cafe Deluxe is a moderately priced consistently good restaurant. The staff is professional and tries hard to make your dining a good experience. The food and the service are Very Good!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Slow service! It was super busy so it wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Slow service! It was super busy so it was understaffed. I asked for my fried egg over hard and it came out totally runny. The waitress had checked on our order literally as the plates were placed in front of us so I didn't know my egg was runny til after she left. She then didn't check on us for a very long time and was no where to be seen. I had to wait forever to finally get my egg cooked through. A total pain when you're dining with two toddlers and time is crucial. No manager came to speak with us regarding the mistake and nothing was offered for the inconvenience.

Follow-up to my review: The manager contacted me within days of reading this review and apologized for our poor experience. She offered a gift card to make up for it and to hopefully interest us in giving them another chance. Based on this I have adjusted my star ratings. We have yet to be back but hopefully it will be a better experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Waiter, server and manager were all poli ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Waiter, server and manager were all polite and attentive. Manager stopped by twice to make sure everything was ok. My salmon entree was prepared perfectly, as were the short ribs my wife ordered. Wine list was ok with reasonable selection and seasonal draft beer (a 5.5% ABV amber) was also good. Peach cobbler was excellent and large portion as desserts go; definitely shareable. A great experience and we look forward to dining at Cafe Deluxe again when we are in Tysons Corner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent, the portions wer ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was excellent, the portions were large, and the prices were extremely reasonable. The only drawback was a fairly inattentive waitress with english that was difficult to understand.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

In response to my last review on a disas ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

In response to my last review on a disastrous burger lunch meal with my friend, Patty, the GM, called me the very next morning to take care of us. She took time to listen to why the service ruined everything for us that day, apologized saying that she would make sure that she provides the feedback with her team members, and offered us a healthy gift certificate to return and dine again. We used her g/c and enjoyed a regular meal this time and I noticed an improvement in service for sure.

My friend ordered ahi tuna tacos and I ordered their daily salmon special, both of which were excellent and fishes were fresh. We will be returning more often for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our waiter forgot to put one of the gues ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our waiter forgot to put one of the guest's order in, so while everyone else was eating, that person waited another 15 minutes before getting their food, and then what came out late was prepared wrong as well. That is on top of the very long 40 minute wait for our food after we initially ordered. We asked the waiter for refills on our drinks, and they were never given. We even went to the manager to ask for refills, and he said he'd get them to us right away...but it also was never received. The restaurant was about 25% full on a Sunday night, so I can't imagine the kind of service they would offer if they were a little busier. Ridiculous and unacceptable. Avoid this place like the plague.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

The special Crab & Avocado Salad was del ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The special Crab & Avocado Salad was delicious! Kind of expensive, but light, fresh, and healthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We finished our dinner...We Sat for a wh ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We finished our dinner...We Sat for a while longer but were ignored for more than an hour no one bothered to see if we needed anything more!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I love cafe D, but service was exception ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I love cafe D, but service was exceptional slow today despite being less than slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Our water glasses smelled because I am p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our water glasses smelled because I am pretty sure the staff uses a dirty rag to clean the glasses. The way to test this is to let the water sit in the glass for awhile, and then smell the glass - it is gross. Our server was gone and terrible most of the meal, and we had to ask for normal items that go with your meal - such as syrup with pancakes. And, the syrup dispenser was sticky and needed to be cleaned. We had to flag down a different person to get the server to bring our check. The food was ok, but the service and cleanliness was questionable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I think the food is great!!! Great menu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I think the food is great!!! Great menu!!! Service was also very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A friend and I have dined at cafe deluxe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A friend and I have dined at cafe deluxe on a wednesday previously to take advantage of their wednesday $8 burger special. We had no idea that second return would be a disastrous one. Our server seemed rather friendly and attentive when taking our order. Something went wrong during processing of our order where we realized after taking a couple bites that they switched our requested temperature - medium went to my friend when it was supposed to be for me. One of the managers came by saying it would take just five minutes to have the burgers cooked correctly and not only did it take more than 10 minutes, but mine also missed avocado add on I requested. What disappointed me more than anything is that the manager never apologized for any of this inconvenience nor offered to give us any sort of courtesy credit for the inconvenience we experienced. Not something we expected from a restaurant that won 2015 OpenTable award...

Their burgers were actually pretty tasty but were noticeably smaller compared to what I would get at either Wildfire or Bushel & Barrel (and B&B's grass-fed burger is hands down the best burger in Tysons and Northern VA!). I would much rather pay full price for a burger meal at a either of those places instead of Cafe Deluxe since I don't eat red meat all too often and just treat myself to it 2 to 3 times a month.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We have been frequent visitors to Cafe D ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We have been frequent visitors to Cafe Deluxe, and in our opinion the food quality has gone way downhill.

Both flatbreads (BBQ chicken and Arugula/Proscuitto) were poorly done, heavy on toppings but light on flavor. The lobster roll was a disappointingly gloppy mix of mushy lobster, too much dressing, and a far too bready brioche roll. The turkey burger was dry and bland. Even our pizza loving kid companion didn't touch the kid's cheese pizza. Only bright spot were sweet potato fries and a friendly waitress. It's too bad because this restaurant is in a great and easy spot to meet friends at Tysons Corner, but unfortunately we will not be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

For a Friday business lunch, Cafe Delux ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

For a Friday business lunch, Cafe Deluxe was way too loud. My steak salad was delicious but the noise was so bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Four of us met for dinner at this unpret ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Four of us met for dinner at this unpretentious Tyson's bistro. All of our dinners were delicious, the drinks were generous, the service was excellent, the prices were entirely reasonable, the parking was easy and it was quiet enough that we could actually talk to each other without shouting. The waitress was even considerate enough to suggest packing up our leftover bones (from the ribs) to take home for our dog! I have only praise for Cafe Deluxe.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was good though the server seem ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our meal was good though the server seemed to have trouble understanding our order and never brought the cinnamon rolls. Syrup came 10 minutes after the pancakes, but the manager comped us. She was very good and showed concern over the issues we had. None of them detracted from the overall meal and nice outside table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Always dependable for decent food and se ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Always dependable for decent food and service. Good place for a small group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

We had a wonderful meal here before goin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had a wonderful meal here before going to the theater. Food and service were both excellent. The menu was inventive and the five of us had a round table where it was easy to talk. We would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Based on the online reviews, I had expec ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Based on the online reviews, I had expected a better meal. The food was only fair. I have eaten at other Cafe Deluxe restaurants in the area and had anticipated that the dining experience in Tysons would be good enough for a casual client dinner. Unfortunately, the food and service did not meet my expectations.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Food was fine. Service was good. Way too ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was fine. Service was good. Way too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Was hoping for a good tasting lunch sala ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Was hoping for a good tasting lunch salad with chicken. Chicken was cold, dry and tasteless. Salad needed more dressing, and the green did not seem fresh.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Father's day sunday brunch with friends. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's day sunday brunch with friends. table of 4. service terrible (get napkins and utensils by self by taking from other set tables, slow slow service, especially drinks from bar and food also, obtained assistance from manager to get check, and hunted down waiter to take money) - so service lacking. we went for beignets which others in group said were delicious and one of the reasons we went there - were not good, doughy in center or undercooked and heavy. restaurant was about 75% full. the actual entree's were very good tasting, took 1 hour plus to be served and we were starving

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.