About Cafe Deluxe - Tysons Corner

1800 International Drive West
McLean, VA 22102
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 761-0600

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Free covered parking adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Rodger

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Deluxe - Tysons Corner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.5

ambience

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (58)
great for brunch (46)
great for outdoor dining (37)
See All
neighborhood gem (31)
good for groups (26)
fit for foodies (22)
kid-friendly (20)
vibrant bar scene (7)
special occasion (6)
late-night find (4)
notable wine list (2)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Always dependable for decent food and se ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Always dependable for decent food and service. Good place for a small group.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal here before goin ...

Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful meal here before going to the theater. Food and service were both excellent. The menu was inventive and the five of us had a round table where it was easy to talk. We would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Based on the online reviews, I had expec ...

Dined 5 days ago

Based on the online reviews, I had expected a better meal. The food was only fair. I have eaten at other Cafe Deluxe restaurants in the area and had anticipated that the dining experience in Tysons would be good enough for a casual client dinner. Unfortunately, the food and service did not meet my expectations.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was fine. Service was good. Way too ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Food was fine. Service was good. Way too loud.

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Father's day sunday brunch with friends. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's day sunday brunch with friends. table of 4. service terrible (get napkins and utensils by self by taking from other set tables, slow slow service, especially drinks from bar and food also, obtained assistance from manager to get check, and hunted down waiter to take money) - so service lacking. we went for beignets which others in group said were delicious and one of the reasons we went there - were not good, doughy in center or undercooked and heavy. restaurant was about 75% full. the actual entree's were very good tasting, took 1 hour plus to be served and we were starving

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Our lunch was a disaster! Food was exce ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our lunch was a disaster! Food was excellent, service was acceptable (server was not fluent in English, but we managed). The problem: YIKES!!! Took an hour and a half to get our food! The manager stopped by twice to apologize, but did not offer any information or explanation. The extremely slow service took the bite out of our lunch .... not sure I'll be back (and we have had many fine experiences @ Café Deluxe).

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

This was the worst dining experience I c ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the worst dining experience I can remember having in a long time. They were clearly uderstaffed and according to our waiter, they are always understaffed. Our order was taken 30 minutes after we sat down and after 45 minutes the only thing we had on our table was water and a cup of coffee. The only way I was able to get any service was by talking to the manager. She was very apologetic but appeared to be overwhelmed. The food was OK but we had such a bad experience that I would never want to eat there again.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service was good

Dined on June 10, 2016

Went to meet a business acquaintance and friend. Spent about two hours discussing various topics. Food and service was good, although the waitress appeared to have a double load of tables. Noise level was fine for a business meeting.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great choice

Dined on June 6, 2016

Fresh food, great flavor, reasonable prices, variety on menu, excellent service, 1/2 price wine bottles Mon. Night!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our Go To Place

Dined on June 5, 2016

Whenever we are deciding to eat out, Cafe Deluxe always is our default restaurant since it is consistent, food is good and service is excellent. We do go to other places, but we know that CD is always a possibility and we go there often. The Lamb Shank is very good and the burgers are also very good. Try the Hot Crab Dip for an appetizer - you can't beat the prices.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great little find in Tysons/McLean

Dined on June 4, 2016

Café Deluxe has excellent food, great service, table linens, and a "no rush" policy. (I dawdled over my breakfast and coffee for almost 2 hours.) The only thing that definitely needs to be improved (since they offer 3 or 4 breakfast entrees with it) is the hollandaise sauce. It was mediocre at best. I have a recipe for blender hollandaise (egg yolks, fresh lemon juice, seasonings, hot melted butter) that is to die-for and takes 5 min. (max.) to make. IMO, there's no reason why a restaurant should offer dishes with hollandaise unless it's willing to serve the real deal.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Deluxe is Exactly That

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Everyone in our group enjoyed their meal. Service was impeccable. Easy parking--all in all, a very pleasant luncheon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Service is always slow

Dined on May 24, 2016

Great patio for outdoor dining in Tysons. Service is always poor however. It doesn't matter if you come for brunch on a weekend or for a business lunch during weekdays. Waiters are not attentive, it takes several requests to just get water or the check. They are also pushy and always trying to sell you more.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This was a get-together with old friends ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

This was a get-together with old friends, but the noise level was such that we all (50's and over) had a hard time hearing the entire conversation. The other problem was that our waitress either did not understand my husband's concern about fat in his oatmeal or did not care. It was filled with cream and had to be returned, so his brunch consisted of two dry bagels. My chicken pot pie sounded delicious, and the puff pastry topping was, but the sauce with the chicken and veggies was way too salty. We'll try again, but we'll ask for waitstaff that can handle special requests.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

At first glance, this restaurant seemed ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

At first glance, this restaurant seemed to be ideal for a quick business lunch. However, after making reservations and actually dining here I will most likely choose another restaurant for business lunches. Specifically because even with reservations, my wait was an additional 25 - 30 minutes. The young lady that was the designated server for my table, was inattentive and seemed to want to be anywhere else BUT working; there was an additional 20-25 mins to wait on our meals to come. I chose the 'Grilled Chicken Sandwich' for lunch and my chicken was undercooked. I will say that the house manager attempted to rectify the undercooked meal by offering dessert on the house BUT, I declined; she was nice. Overall, I wouldn't visit this restaurant in the future.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5

The Austin Veggie Burger was awesome. P ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The Austin Veggie Burger was awesome. Perfectly Spicy and delicious! Great server and fun time!!

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Food was ok, service was awkward

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

My burger was tasty and cooked to my specifications but my lunch companion said the salmon salad was no better than average. Our server was just a tad too earnest and intent on getting us to order appetizers or dessert. He was just trying too hard to follow his instructions to "up sell" and it quickly became embarrassing for us and for the young server.

Tags: kid-friendly
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Have been going to this location for may ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Have been going to this location for may years but i will not visit this restaurant on any major holidays like mother's day. The service was not good at all. The waiter seemed annoyed from the mint we sat down and never came to the table to make sure our food came out good until we asked for the check. Over all do not recommend this place when there is a major occasion going on.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food was cold and mugs were cracked

Dined on May 8, 2016

2 mugs. Both leaked coffee. Eggs were cold. And then no discount even with issues. Very disappointed. Went for Mother's Day brunch.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Very pushy waitress and undercooked eggs.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Never again. The hostess couldn't find my reservation. The place is too loud. The eggs Benedict were barely cooked. The waitress was a very pushy salesperson who kept calling us "guys."

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a very pleasant environment, jus ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a very pleasant environment, just outside of the Tyson Corner malls, with a little bit of a European feel to the ambiance and menu. They have a very nice menu with solid dishes, well-prepared. Everyone can get something they like here. The price/value ration is good, and lunch or dinner, this is a nicer than average dining experience. Parking is in the structure next door, and there is an outside dining area.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food and not too noisy

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was very good and the place nice because it's not too loud where you can't have a conversation. Our waitress left a lot to be desired.

food3
ambience4
service4

Food is decent - not exceptional. Wait s ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Food is decent - not exceptional. Wait staff was very nice though female maitre d' was less than friendly day I was there. A bit noisy for a business meeting but doable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Cafe Deluxe

Dined on April 30, 2016

Helpful front desk, friendly and knowledgeable waiter, good food, nice ambiance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Heringer's Review

Dined on April 28, 2016

I was disappointed in my visit with a friend to this restaurant last Thursday. The flat bread was excellent and the service was good. However, I feel I was taken advantage of when the manager charged me $27 corkage fee for a bottle of wine I brought in to share with my friend. This was all the more insulting given the restaurant was not at all busy - one would think they would be happy to have the diners during a slow night. I am not at all sure I will return again.

food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Cafe Deluxe Experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our experience was very disappointing because of the service. My friends and I went there specifically just to have dessert, and the waitress had an attitude about that. We were also rushed to pay the bill even though the restaurant was clearly not very full and no one was in any hurry to grab our table. I was surprised to find the restaurant not very busy for a Saturday night. Perhaps the poor service was indicative of a larger issue. The desserts were excellent but we would have liked a better dining experience.

food2
ambience2
service1

Brunch. Overpriced. Eggs Benedict was ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Brunch. Overpriced. Eggs Benedict was 2 pouched eggs on a bland piece of white toast (not English muffins) and a slice of ham, with some mediocre potatoes: $12. I didn't want the special $13 Bloody Mary with bacon and beer, so I asked for just a regular one with rail vodka: $12. Croque Madame was dry and tasteless: $12. To top it off, restaurant was freezing, food took 45 minutes to come out, after my sons kids pancakes came out immediately after ordering. They apologized but no compensation offered. It was 2:00pm on Sunday, so busy but many empty tables. Will not go back.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice all-around brunch place

Dined on April 17, 2016

Menu limited but very good. Ambiance is nice. The bloody mary was fantastic, but more expensive than the meal which I found odd. Overall, I enjoyed the experience and would come again.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is always good

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

I have been back here several times recently and it has been consistently good. I definitely recommend Cafe Deluxe.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the place and the food. Service is ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Love the place and the food. Service is always good and the manager checks to make sure all is okay Sad that our favorite hostess Randa is leaving

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Going down hill

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Happy hour is outside closed too cold or at the bar.....not in main dining room. Had to ask for bread twice and water. Use to really like this pllace, time to find another.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was good as usual

Dined on April 3, 2016

Restaurants's food was tasty and fresh. Atmosphere was pretty vibrant. Service was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Consistently getting worse. Find a better option

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

We've been going to Café Deluxe (mainly the Bethesda location) for years prior to leaving Washington DC However, we travel to DC frequently for work and pleasure and Café Deluxe is always on the menu. Over the past year or so, the quality of the food and service has consistently gotten worse. This past trip, we ended leaving before even ordering our main entrée. The server was terrible and the appetizer that was served (fire roasted tomato soup) was cold and the serving size wasn't consistent. Additionally, we ordered two cocktails for $10each. Both were under poured. Sadly, Café Deluxe is officially off our list.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I went for their Sunday b ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

My friends and I went for their Sunday brunch. The food was delicious and they had great service! I recommend getting the beignets as a starter.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had reservations for Easter brunch and happy to find something good in the area that didn't have a fixed price set menu for Easter. The restaurant was busy but we were still promptly served, our waitress was attentive, and everything came out hot and tasted great. It was obviously a busy morning and popular with groups/families so was definitely noisy but worked out well for our need and would attend again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not happy with the food. Wish I ate elsewhere.

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

My shrimp was dry and overcooked (had the blackened shrimp salad), and my side order of fries were cold. I was not impressed.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Good food but service is a deal breaker

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Cafe Deluxe has reliably good food and standard breakfast/brunch choices to please all crowds, but the service is too hit or miss. On this particular occasion, we were a party of 7 who took a while to trickle in (10:30 reservation, the full party was in their seats between 10:45 and 11:00). I think this is probably why it took a while (20 minutes after the last person sat) for anyone to actually take our food order. We didn't mind this too much, though. As anyone can imagine, cooking up seven breakfast orders to arrive together can take a little bit of time so we weren't too concerned when the food seemed a bit more delayed than usual. After finally receiving and eating our food, it took us a little while to realize that we hadn't seen any waiters/waitresses in a while in order to ask for the check. Again, not a huge deal, as we finally tracked someone down to ask for the check. We paid and signed the credit card slips (meaning tip had already been paid), and were wrapping up conversation and getting ready to leave. It's at this point that one of the hostesses or managers came over to one of us to let him know that there was a reservation waiting for the table and "invited him" to have a conversation about it at the bar. Translation: You've overstayed your welcome. Putting aside the fact that this is a cardinal sin in the restaurant industry, it is especially irritating due to the fact that the delays were not our fault. If they had waited 5 more minutes, we would've been gone and this review would have taken a very different tone. The Tysons/Vienna/Merrifield and surrounding area has a large variety of breakfast/brunch options so I am surprised to see this type of customer service around here. While the food is good, needless to say, I would recommend skipping Cafe Deluxe as you'll never know which side of the customer service coin you'll get.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food - some service hiccups

Dined on March 13, 2016

Reservations for 10 for brunch at 11am are hard to come by, but they accommodated us - even sat our incomplete party early. We ended up with 8, so the manager asked if we would give back the extra 4-top at the end of our table for another party. We were fine with that. The food was excellent, but we had an issue with some of the food orders - one diner ordered his eggs over hard instead of scrambled, through a long discussion with the server, but his plate came out with scrambled eggs anyway. Then two of our orders did not have the biscuit they were supposed to come with. And the server had a really hard time figuring out whose food was whose. Once we spoke to the manager, it all got worked out. Also, the acoustics are bad - the restaurant was REALLY loud.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Seating not optional

Dined on March 12, 2016

We arrived at our reservation 20- minutes early, while we were seated right away the host/manager was fairly argumentative regarding the table. The table was fair at best. We are all tall individuals and would have preferred a booth, but were told we would have to sit where they placed us. No option was given to wait for a booth. The food was average but overpriced. The waiter took my half empty wine glass and poured it onto my additional wine glass ordered (he did ask, but I find it unprofessional/unacceptable to even ask a guest). Will not frequent ever again. Great disappointment.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Contemporary French bistro

Dined on March 11, 2016

Delicious trout and beef short ribs, both with complementary vegetables cooked perfectly. Service was attentive. Only shortcoming was that we had to ask our server for bread. Loved the ambiance, charming French bistro. Parking was convenient.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.