Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

3228 Wisconsin Ave NW
Washington, DC 20016
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bistro, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Macomb ST NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 686-2233

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Nearby street parking available.
Covered parking at the Cathedral.

Executive Chef:
Juan Valdez

Private Party Facilities:
We offer warm and welcoming private or semi-private rooms, thoughtfully created and customized menus, dedicated staff providing gracious, anticipatory service perfect for any group and budget. Your event, whether it’s an intimate party, a large social event, or important 
business meeting, it will be as effortless as it is memorable. The Private Dining Room can seat up to 40 guests and is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Mercado: (202) 465-4677

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
See All
Comfort Food (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Family Style (4)
Healthy (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Romantic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always a good bet fro Brunch, this Mother's Day the chef brought out a tasty quiche/salad/fruit combination. Service was excellent, as always. It pays to make a reservation, because Sunday Brunch at Cafe Deluxe is very popular.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Solid neighborhood spot. They've also made some great improvements to the menu around the past year or so. Worth another visit if you haven't been in a while.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Chaotic brunch.. need more staff.. our food took 45 minutes to come out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Table for four to celebrate Elizabeth's birthday - staff had selected a special booth and written/decorated it with a Happy Birthday message. Halibut special was delicious, as were the traditional steak frites. Server Megan was outstanding, adding to a list we have noted of outstanding servers at Cafe Deluxe.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

As always. Cafe Deluxe Cleveland Park is a great brunch value. Tried the Ham Steak and eggs this visit and the feta-spinach omelet. Delicious. Throw in a side of bacon, sausage and/or fresh fruit. Service is always outstanding, too. Can make a reservation too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One and Done One and Done
One and Done One and Done
One and Done One and Done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Outstanding Porter Burger was the highlight meal of our evening. Good kids menu and yummy shakes. Pleasant outdoor patio and attentive service on a slow weeknight evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch at Cafe Deluxe was great! The usual options - omelets, bagels, steak and eggs, pancakes, French Toast and turkey sausage, along with several different Benedict dishes make Cafe Deluxe our go to dining establishment in North Cleveland Park. Great wait staff and attentive managers round out the dining pleasure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food and service have seriously declined. Salmon horribkyvover cooked, probably not fresh, seemed microwaved. No bread offered. Impossibly slow service - wine brought after my guest has finished his entree - though restaurant empty on a Saturday night.

Maybe still okay for neighborhood coffee or scrambled eggs on a weekday?

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was very good but our table for five was jammed up against another table for five with loud talking people. The ambience for dinner was very negative unlike our times there for Sunday Brunch. It was too crowded and noisy. An unpleasant experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great local restaurant for families with young children, quality level of food and service always consistent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I've almost never been unhappy with the service or the food here. A great neighborhood spot to have a casual dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was just okay. I could have done better cooking at home. Service was efficient but not overly friendly. The place was loaded with families and young kids and on Saturday at least it seems to be place for families with children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food is fine. Staff is overwhelmed all the time. It is popular for brunch because it is the only traditional brunch place in this section of the neighborhood. One would think they would learn to staff for it. And if you have a reservation you shouldn't have to wait ten minutes for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Two of us had delicious breakfast from 11:30 - 12:15 on a Saturday before a gathering at National Cathedral. Nice menu selections for breakfast. Accommodated gluten-free by subbing tasty fresh fruit for biscuit. Attentive service. Very nice about setting up for 8 when only 2 showed up, and not rushing to move extra table away (it was not busy that early).

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy, Disabled Access, People Watching, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The restaurant staff were very accommodating when we changed our reservation from 4 people to 7. Initial service ( greeting and taking drink orders was a bit slow) but after that all proceeded well. Always dependable and a menu with something for every taste.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Casual, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Popped in for an early dinner before a performance at the National Cathedral. The service and food were good, not great (and they were out of one of the main entrees.) Location was ideal for events at NCS and St Albans.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service and food is always good. They also try to accommodate our request for a booth!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The Braised Boneless Short Rib Root Vegetable Risotto, Port Wine Au Jus is excellent!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I always enjoy coming here. This trip it took along time to get service. After sitting, We asked the hostess for service, still took a few minutes more. He was very good once he came.
We saw 2 tables leave and the others just looked perturbed.

I will come back, but I feel they need to address this.
Food is great!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had lunch here on a Sunday afternoon and had a very good meal with pleasant, helpful service and thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience. I had the porter burger and substituted mac and cheese for the fries. The burger was delicious as was the mac and cheese. My wife enjoyed the grilled chicken sandwich and butternut squash. Her meal was also very good. The service was attentive and helpful. The restaurant is not quiet by any means, but it's filled with families and large groups so some noise should be expected. We enjoyed the experience and would definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service was not good at all - one meal was wrong and took over 30 mins for the right one to come. We had to ask several times for silverware and water refills. The same thing happened to the table next to us. And we got 3 different checks until we received the correct one. Would not dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Server was out to lunch and manager had to take care of table.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was a little unsure about here for a Valentine's meal as so many places have specials. The Prime Rib was perfectly done for each of us. The wait staff was engaged and helpful. We will be back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

American food. Nice option to order vegetable sides for dinner. Excellent lamb shank and a great chicken penne with parmesan cream sauce. Competent cooking and friendly wait-staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Enjoyed this brunch date with girlfriends. A bit loud, though. The French toast was delicious and yummy, strong coffee, too. Prices were reasonable on food. Will return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Cafe has a comfortable atmosphere. I was introduced to it be friend who wanted me to share the experience of a stress-free place that served wonderful food. We talked with out shouting and relaxed into a casual conversation. Now, I bring friends to the Cafe and am always cheered by their reactions.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went to Cafe Deluxe for a Saturday Girls Night Out with 5 of us who don't get away from the kids much. We had a great table in the corner, with plenty of room to be comfortable, quiet enough to talk and visit, and superior, friendly service. PLUS yummy food! Thank you Cafe Deluxe for a great evening!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love this place. Had steak frites tonight - amazing. Love their mac & cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Salmon Nicoise Salad is fresh and delicious! My go-to favorite.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Delicious! And perfect amount of food! Went for Sunday brunch and service was timely and attentive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Eggs Benedict is a cheap variation of the classic.
It was Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Had a great time as always. The cornflake crusted french toast is killer.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We'd wanted to try this place for years, near to concerts at National Cathedral, but had the idea they didn't take reservations. So glad to find otherwise. It was a great value--generous portions at a good price. I had the chicken pot pie, which was a perfect choice on a frosty winter evening (I saw a number being delivered to other diners); my husband was pleased with his steak frites. It would've been nice to have had time to linger over another drink. I was a bit surprised at the number of kids, who on their own were by no means the single source for the high-ish noise level. And despite the double doors at the entrance, a draft of frosty night air occasionally rushed into the dining room. We'll know next time, if it's cold, to request seating in the adjoining dining area further from the door.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Generarlly a good place to eat, especially lunch or brunch, but the day after New Years it was just too crowded and service was slow. Served coffee in a Glass! Brunch was cold. Seated by the door, just too busy to really enjoy.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Solid neighborhood joint serving servicable, above average food. Handled a large brunch party without a lot of fuss.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Cafe Deluxe is always a treat. We have been customers for years and recently my wife has had to have a special diet which the wait staff readily and cheerfully supplied. Strong praise for Cafe Deluxe servers Ron, Yassir, Isham and Abby - service with a smile- always! Recommend the brunch menu on Saturdays/Sundays. And they recently introduced sausage links - Yay!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The bowls of clam chowder we ordered were, unfortunately, more like plates of clam chowder, the bowls were so shallow. The chowder was delicious which made the measly amount even more disappointing. Otherwise, the burgers and dessert our table ordered were satisfying and the service was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Café Deluxe is always a dependable, fun place to go in our neighborhood. The food is good (and reasonably priced), and everyone is always friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Service and food no longer consistent; reduction in ounces of wine served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.