Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

3228 Wisconsin Ave NW
Washington, DC 20016
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bistro, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Macomb ST NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 686-2233

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Nearby street parking available.
Covered parking at the Cathedral.

Executive Chef:
Juan Valdez

Private Party Facilities:
We offer warm and welcoming private or semi-private rooms, thoughtfully created and customized menus, dedicated staff providing gracious, anticipatory service perfect for any group and budget. Your event, whether it’s an intimate party, a large social event, or important 
business meeting, it will be as effortless as it is memorable. The Private Dining Room can seat up to 40 guests and is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Mercado: (202) 465-4677

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Casual (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
See All
Comfort Food (15)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (2)
Romantic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort by
S
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Decent meal, service was inconsistent and we were rushed out despite the restaurant being empty. Servers were trickling in for work throughout the meal, which was odd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Was a great place to go after a visit to the Nat'l Cathedral , good food, service and you could talk with out shouting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

The food was good not great. The restaurant was very crowded after an event at the National Cathedral let out. Service went downhill after that. On a normal night I think it would have all been very good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Cafe Deluxe is casual and comfortable. The menu is varied and you can order
a sandwich or a dinner entree such as a steak. We enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Cafe Deluxe in my neighborhood has been a go-to venue for years for easy lunch or dinner. The food is ordinary and often too salty -- but the salmon nicoise salad is usually excellent. Last Saturday I was there for supper with two grandchildren. The staff was slammed by 7:00 pm including a large group in the private area. Unlike other nearby restaurants with better and more inventive food options, DeLuxe offers secure booths, crayons for kids to draw on the paper tablecloth, and friendly service.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

Great location close to the National Cathedral. Very lively atmosphere and the staff was outstanding. Prices reasonable and portions large enough to share. Would definitely dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2017

We always enjoying dining at Cafe Deluxe. The food is consistently good, prices are moderate and we are especially happy that they take reservations for small parties (2). This particular night was quite crowded and the wait staff had difficulty serving our drinks in a timely manner. He claimed that the bartender was backed up -- hard to know if this was true or not. Wedined early enough to be served promptly but a large crowd of various sizes did arrive shortly afterwards. We had to depart within an hour in order to attend a local concert and this was not a problem -- we even had time for coffee. Noise is always a factor here but it's just the result of multiple table conversations at a popular site.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Enjoyed a good dinner with friends before a performance at the National Cathedral. We were running late due to traffic tie ups but the staff got us fed and on our way in time for the start of the event!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2017

We had very mixed experienced. Our waitress was helpful and food was good and served quickly . Problems : 1. hair in the bernaise sauce my son was served 2. Lipstick on the coffee mug my friend was served 3. I asked for my steak frites ( I left more than half uneaten) to be bagged up for my husband. While my waitress was standing holding the plate another waiter grabbed it and took it back to the kitchen. And then threw the contents away so we did not get the leftover steak and fries for my husband. When these problems as they occurred were brought to waitress attention she corrected immediately for 1 and 2 saying they were really busy and about #3 the other waiter came out and offered to get another steak which was not really helpful as at that point we had our coats on and were due at the Cathedral for a performance. The waitress was trying but clearly some quality problems and lack of attention to detail. Sad as she was efficient and cordial and the food was good, but as the hostess and organizer of the dinner I just did not feel good about our experience at cafe deluxe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2017

I've been to Café Deluxe three times -- twice for Sunday brunch and once for a late lunch. The brunch menu choices are varied and all were delicious. I enjoyed the neighborhood vibe and casual friendliness of the staff. Service was attentive but they did not rush our family group that took longer than expected to settle on choices. I will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2017

This is our family's favorite neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2017

This is one of our favorite places for brunch in DC. The management and staff are always great to us, and the food is always good!

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Food was excellent - tasty, but not fussy. Service also excellent. We arrived late in the evening, but we weren't rushed at all. Very good value also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Our waiter was clueless. The wait for our food was pretty unreasonable, and once it came, the wait staff tried to deliver it to, not one, but two other tables. We had visitors from out of town, so this experience was disappointing. In addition, the bad service and wait was confounding considering the restaurant was less than half full. This use to be a go to place for me when I lived near by in grad school, but I'm not likely to come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Good food. Good service. Very attentive and helpful. Convenient for breakfast before going to the National Cathedral.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2017

The four of us enjoyed our dinner at Café Deluxe. The salads were crisp and well dressed. I had the Greek, two house salads and one Caesar salad. They were above average in size and abundant. I had a very nice chicken breast on a bed of barley with steamed broccoli on the side. The chicken breast was moist and the barley was cooked perfectly and complimented the chicken. One crab-crake dinner was applauded by one of the ladies as been superb. Other female diner, my date, was overwhelmed at the lamb shank which was tender, juicy and seasoned to perfection. The lamb shank came with a whipped mashed potatoes. Last entrée was a pasta in red sauce that was enjoyed by Jeffrey. The pasta was al dente and the sauce was smooth and well seasoned. Wine was enjoyed and the evening was splendid.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

This classic restaurant now has competition from five fairly new restaurants within three blocks. I'm happy to say it holds its own, in terms of value, ambiance, and delicious food. Remains a favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

I ordered two specific items that were either mixed with something else or it was not given until I had to request it. I know that the waiters don't write down the orders but there where two people listening that I thought one of them would catch these details.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2017

We had a server who was pretty new I think and quite bad. He didn’t offer water, took a long time to take out orders (after other people who I arrived before; my companion arrived earlier), and brought our food so slowly that the poached eggs were hard. We asked for a redo of the eggs and they turned out fine. The kitchen gave us more home fries and a second fruit cup which was nice but a personal appearance (apology) and maybe a comped item would’ve made the experience better and made it more likely that we’ll go back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great neighborhood place. Always dependable good food, and you never feel ripped off.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Wonderful lunch on a lovely day on the outdoor patio. I have experienced too much noise when dining inside, so chose to go on a day when we could eat outside. I had the salmon, beet, and arugula salad. My friend had the bison burger. Both very good, though her bison burger was undercooked in the middle. We shared the chocolate chip cookie in the skillet with vanilla ice cream for dessert. Delish!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We went for brunch on Sunday and the food was poor. The potatoes cold and tasteless, the fruit cup was a very small amount of out of watery melon and one grape. A simple request for my friend's main course was not done as requested and my main was not remarkable. All in all, things would have been better at Dennys. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2017

First off I would like to say that the service was fantastic. Food mediocre at best ordered a burger medium itvwas rare if you want to call it that. Tuna tacos once again not cooked properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Very lovely service! Food was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Too much noise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great neighborhood restaurant with normal menu and good selection. The value is excellent with meals typically under $20, and sandwich selections very affordable. The salmon we had was excellent, cooked beautifully and presented beautifully too. Our server was very good and attentive, and cheerfully happy. I strongly recommend Cafe Deluxe here and at the West End locations - both are excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 11, 2017

It was my first time at Cafe Deluxe and I was impressed with their menu, the food and the service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Cafe Deluxe (or the Celebrity Cafe as we have dubbed it) is a wonderful neighborhood treasure. Great for brunch, lunch or dinnerand there are so many excellent servers, such as Ron, who waited on our table yesterday. Best brunch items: any omelet, Bistro Deluxe, sausages, blueberry pancakes, ham and cheese croissant. Dinner items: lamb shank, steak frites, large salads, roasted half chicken.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Average to poor food. They could do much better with a little effort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Good Foodcand excellent Service! Never have been let down!

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Cafe Deluxe is often uneven in food quality. This visit was a real disappointment. Ordered the summer special Grilled Pork Chop with grilled asparagus, peach salsa, potato salad. It was the toughest pork chop I have ever encountered. The asparagus was tasteless and almost raw, the peach salsa seemed to be two or three slices of peaches on top--which may have been canned.Service and ambience were fine but I won't be back for a long time,if at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My out of town guests were very impressed! Excellent food, wonderful service. Fantastic value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Consistently good food and responsive friendly service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Negative: Server Tatum's voice - the 3 of us had to keep asking her to speak up and even when we did, (she seemed annoyed) and barely raised her voice -it was difficult to hear outside with the traffic. Also, her skills at "reading the table" meaning if 3 people are gathered closely clearly discussing something personal and important, you don't come and interrupt to clear dishes. She did this several times. Even when I was to her, she did not get the hint and would return. I expect servers at a white table cloth restaurant to have people skills and determine when is a good time (aside from bringing food, of course) to clear when others are eating and engaging in intimate conversation, etc. I gave her a 20% tip, but she did not deserve it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The service is awful but the food is good.
Basically it takes 20 minutes to get our drinks and even longer to get our food.

It usually takes me hunting down the manager to get our food in a decent time. What's even more appalling is that they don't even give you a bread basket for the ridiculous wait time except other people get it automatically. And I have seen like 4 tables who came in after my group get their food before us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The restaurant was having a maintenance issue in the restrooms right before our party sat down. We were moved and they took our orders and served our food. Food was okay. The issue was the bathrooms were all not operational and when I tried to take my 4 year old to the restroom we were told that none of the bathrooms were operational, not even for staff, and there was a sewage issue. I asked how they were still open, operating, seating people, and serving food with no working bathrooms and a sewage issue. Digusting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Cafe Deluxe far exceeded my expectations. All 5 of us had delicious meal and each one was different. We arrived ahead of the Sunday crowd so our food came in a timely manner. Will be going back in the future.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Cold coffee and omelet. Cold coffee and omelet. The food was cold...supposed to be hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Hoping it was an off day for Cafe Deluxe. Very slow service and mistakes on our order.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Only one criticism. When I asked the waitress if they had a house cab, she indicated they did mumbling as she departed. When the check came, I noticed the wine she had brought me was the most expensive by the glass cab. When someone asks about house wine, they mean lowest price wine. If she had just said "no" to my question, I would have ordered the cab that was about less per glass. It was crowded and I am a considerate person so I did not bring it up. But, I certainly do not appreciate this kind of treatment. It is a small thing, but tells me wait staff needs more training.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.