About Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

3228 Wisconsin Ave NW
Washington, DC 20016
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bistro, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Macomb ST NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 686-2233

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Nearby street parking available.
Covered parking at the Cathedral.

Executive Chef:
Juan Valdez

Private Party Facilities:
We offer warm and welcoming private or semi-private rooms, thoughtfully created and customized menus, dedicated staff providing gracious, anticipatory service perfect for any group and budget. Your event, whether it’s an intimate party, a large social event, or important 
business meeting, it will be as effortless as it is memorable. The Private Dining Room can seat up to 40 guests and is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Mercado: (202) 465-4677

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (19)
Comfort Food (16)
Casual (15)
See All
Great for Brunch (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Business Meals (8)
Family Style (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Live Sports (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Private Room (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Romantic (2)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Eggs Benedict is a cheap variation of th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Eggs Benedict is a cheap variation of the classic.

It was Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Had a great time as always. The cornfl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Had a great time as always. The cornflake crusted french toast is killer.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'd wanted to try this place for years, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We'd wanted to try this place for years, near to concerts at National Cathedral, but had the idea they didn't take reservations. So glad to find otherwise. It was a great value--generous portions at a good price. I had the chicken pot pie, which was a perfect choice on a frosty winter evening (I saw a number being delivered to other diners); my husband was pleased with his steak frites. It would've been nice to have had time to linger over another drink. I was a bit surprised at the number of kids, who on their own were by no means the single source for the high-ish noise level. And despite the double doors at the entrance, a draft of frosty night air occasionally rushed into the dining room. We'll know next time, if it's cold, to request seating in the adjoining dining area further from the door.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, , Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Generarlly a good place to eat, especial ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Generarlly a good place to eat, especially lunch or brunch, but the day after New Years it was just too crowded and service was slow. Served coffee in a Glass! Brunch was cold. Seated by the door, just too busy to really enjoy.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Solid neighborhood joint serving servica ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Solid neighborhood joint serving servicable, above average food. Handled a large brunch party without a lot of fuss.

Tags: Comfort Food, , Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Cafe Deluxe is always a treat. We have ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Cafe Deluxe is always a treat. We have been customers for years and recently my wife has had to have a special diet which the wait staff readily and cheerfully supplied. Strong praise for Cafe Deluxe servers Ron, Yassir, Isham and Abby - service with a smile- always! Recommend the brunch menu on Saturdays/Sundays. And they recently introduced sausage links - Yay!

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The bowls of clam chowder we ordered wer ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The bowls of clam chowder we ordered were, unfortunately, more like plates of clam chowder, the bowls were so shallow. The chowder was delicious which made the measly amount even more disappointing. Otherwise, the burgers and dessert our table ordered were satisfying and the service was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Café Deluxe is always a dependable, fun ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Café Deluxe is always a dependable, fun place to go in our neighborhood. The food is good (and reasonably priced), and everyone is always friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food no longer consistent; r ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Service and food no longer consistent; reduction in ounces of wine served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We went on Sunday afternoon for a late l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We went on Sunday afternoon for a late lunch for a family of five. The restaurant was not crowded. Service was friendly and mostly attentive. The food was very good; nothing fancy and not too expensive. The chicken pot pie looked great. We had drinks from the bar and lingered over coffee afterwards and never felt pressured to vacate the table. It seems like a friendly neighborhood place to go for a meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awful awful food; soup cold, lettuce lea ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Awful awful food; soup cold, lettuce leaves tough, parmesan cheese dried out; cobbler tasteless!

First bad meal there!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Family favorite, very lenient staff, goo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Family favorite, very lenient staff, good enough food for adults and kids.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always warm and friendly at cafe deluxe. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always warm and friendly at cafe deluxe. This was my first time for brunch and I will come back!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The selection was pretty amazing. I had ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The selection was pretty amazing. I had the chicken pot pie and it was hands down the best I have ever had!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The place is nice; however, our experien ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The place is nice; however, our experience was anything but. There were kitchen and major bathroom plumbing problems that closed the restroom facilities during our entire tenure. Ultimately, this resulted in comped meals, but only after complaining to management when our guest was literally forced to visit a nearby restaurant to use its restroom. Only one of the three entrees we ordered was served hot enough to eat. We may give the place a second chance, but we're just not sure given how frustrating was the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We have eaten lunch here and overall had ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We have eaten lunch here and overall had a positive experience. We had tickets to an event at National Cathedral so we decided to eat dinner here. However, dinner was mediocre at best. Restaurant was very crowded and noisy, staff seemed overwhelmed, server didn't know who ordered what and reached over other diners at our table to deliver meals. Now, the food: other diners at our table were happy enough, but my chicken entree was so heavy with some form of garlic (powder? salt?) that it obscured the taste. Mediterranean orzo was okay but I didn't realize it was served cold with lots of red onion (guess I should have asked). All in all not a very positive experience. Biggest plus is its proximity to the Cathedral. May go back for lunch some time if we're in the neighborhood, but don't recommend it for a satisfiying, relaxing dining experience.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The staff and team -- while always busy ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The staff and team -- while always busy - are friendly and accommodating. Great neighborhood spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Went for breakfast with visiting friends ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went for breakfast with visiting friends and it was perfect for the occasion. Traditional and tasty choices for vegetarians and meat eaters. Service was attentive and friendly. Definitely recommend.

Have had happy hour and dinner at their Bethesda location - another reliable place for good food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been patrons of the Café Deluxe ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have been patrons of the Café Deluxe chain for ove ten years and have always been happy with the experience. The prices are reasonable and the food is always above expectations. The service staff are always good but dining time varies depending on how busy they are when you arrive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Private Room, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and great service. It had be ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great meal and great service. It had been a while since we last visited and the menu continues to satisfy a wide variety of tastes.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and food!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an issue with our Open Table rese ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an issue with our Open Table reservation not updating but the Manager quickly arranged for us to be seated. The wait staff was very friendly and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful brunch with our daughter, who ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful brunch with our daughter, who was in town for the weekend. Great neighborhood location for any meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seated promptly. Server and kitchen res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Seated promptly. Server and kitchen responded to our need to depart by a certain time and food came promptly.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food and service were excellent. I t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The food and service were excellent. I took my elderly parents and they were very pleased with everything. I had been to this location on another occasion and enjoyed it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food served was not hot, hollandaise sau ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food served was not hot, hollandaise sauce terrible, spinach omelet sent back because it lacked adequate amount of spinach. Server very nice, manager gave us free desserts. Would not go back for brunch. Been there for lunch - good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

The quality of the food is always good - ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The quality of the food is always good -- and consistently good. The staff is always friendly and attentive. The bistro-style ambiance is pleasant and unpretentious. The restaurant is a family favorite; we go there often, particularly for the restaurant's delicious burgers.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Family Style, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Private Room, Healthy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good local restaurant in a busy loc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Very good local restaurant in a busy location.

Aside from a few glitches like serving the wrong vegetables everything came hot and tasty; nothing out of this world but well priced. The desert was a bit too large, if such a thing is possible, for my taste. The cocktail a bit watered down. The waiter slightly unintelligible.

Parking can be a challenge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Wait staff and kitchen were completely o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Wait staff and kitchen were completely overwhelmed at a Lunch service, however, waiters managed to remain pleasant.

Manager was outstanding as he accommodated us with a bottle of wine at a reasonable price because the revamping of the wine list left no acceptable "wines by the glass" available.

We enjoy Cafe Deluxe and hope they will return to their previous quality of food and wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I hadn't been to Café Deluxe in years, b ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I hadn't been to Café Deluxe in years, but the menu matched our dietary needs and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the good service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great service and great food!!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great service and great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This Cafe Deluxe provides all the essent ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This Cafe Deluxe provides all the essential elements for an exceptional dining experience. Good food, experienced staff, a welcoming environment and noise control.

The result is a loyal and diverse client base.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Deluxe is consistently good. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Cafe Deluxe is consistently good. We go at least once a month and have never had anything but , great service and food.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I can only speak for the brunch. Our la ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I can only speak for the brunch. Our large group ordered a variety of dishes that we all shared. The omelet with ham and gruyere was a unanimous hit followed closely by the french toast which was light and crispy with just the right amount of egg and spices.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I usually enjoy Cafe DeLuxe but this tim ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I usually enjoy Cafe DeLuxe but this time was not enjoyable. The waiter unsure of himself, almost dropped my drink me, never came back after food was delivered, tipped his tray and almost hit a child with glass that did break which he then cleaned piece by piece but never used a broom. I had to ask a manager to have it cleaned. There were several mistakes with the food which didn't help. Overall, I'll be back as this was an anomaly.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Best roasted chicken I had in years.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Best roasted chicken I had in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was good. Service was very slow ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was good. Service was very slow to receive the food and to pay the check. This was a party of seven who was celebrating four August birthdays during lunch. Waiter was engaged and very polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our brunch was really nice. I had high h ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our brunch was really nice. I had high hopes for the skillet cinnamon roll, but it came back too brown and crusty, twice. Maybe a bad batch? I was hoping for soft and gooey!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I have eaten several times at the Cafe D ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have eaten several times at the Cafe Deluxe in Bethesda, MD, so I thought I would try out this location. I was there for brunch, and I was disappointed by the limited menu. Also, when I ordered an omelet, all I got was a thin egg pancake (not the huge omelet that you would receive at the IHOP for the same price). I've never had a bad experience at the one in Bethesda, so I'd recommend going to that one instead.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I go to Cafe Deluxe in Cleveland Park an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I go to Cafe Deluxe in Cleveland Park and in Bethesda on a regular basis because the food and service are very good and the prices are reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.