About Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park

3228 Wisconsin Ave NW
Washington, DC 20016
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bistro, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Macomb ST NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 686-2233

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Nearby street parking available.
Covered parking at the Cathedral.

Executive Chef:
Juan Valdez

Private Party Facilities:
We offer warm and welcoming private or semi-private rooms, thoughtfully created and customized menus, dedicated staff providing gracious, anticipatory service perfect for any group and budget. Your event, whether it’s an intimate party, a large social event, or important 
business meeting, it will be as effortless as it is memorable. The Private Dining Room can seat up to 40 guests and is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Mercado: 2024654677x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

3.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (34)
good for groups (28)
great for brunch (26)
See All
kid-friendly (26)
great for lunch (24)
great for outdoor dining (23)
fit for foodies (9)
special occasion (4)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (2)
romantic (2)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were a group of four for brunch on a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were a group of four for brunch on a recent Sunday morning. Our server was VERY nice but seemed a bit overworked and not able to pay proper attention to each of his tables. When the food arrived, our "hot" breakfast orders were only lukewarm. We had waited a while for them and did not feel like having to wait anymore by sending them back to be heated up. And a minor irritation--coffee and cream delivered to two people at the table, but no spoons. Had to get up and find some on our own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Always popular, Café Deluxe can be relie ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Always popular, Café Deluxe can be relied on to offer something for a wide range of tastes and preferences.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The bread was stale and cold. The musse ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The bread was stale and cold.

The mussels had a cream sauce unannounced which gave our sister diarrea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Granted it was Father's Day, but the ser ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Granted it was Father's Day, but the service was interminably slow. It took 15 minutes after being seated to give our drinks order, and another 20 before they actually came. The waitress repeatedly scurried past us, ignoring our entreaties for refills, etc.

The food didn't come until well over an hour after we sat down, at which point the little kids in our party were so antsy and jumpy that we couldn't enjoy our meal. The food was...ok. The eggs benedict was served on an slab of toast that managed to be both stale and rubbery.

Cafe Deluxe used to be our go to place for special occasion meals, but we will not be returning.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Usually excellent but tour bus group slo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Usually excellent but tour bus group slowed everything down and made it more noisy. Usually very tolerable noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We went for family brunch. Some had brea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We went for family brunch. Some had breakfast foods others lunch. All was delicious. Wait staff was attentive. We weren't rushed. I was pleased that the honored our reservation timely and didn't have to wait. Excellent value

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great turkey burgers! But somewhat slow ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great turkey burgers! But somewhat slow service for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

The service was super slow. I don't know ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was super slow. I don't know why because the restaurant wasn't busy at all. Would definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

We had a wonderful brunch! A little loud ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch! A little loud, but the outdoor seating wasn't available (due to cold weather) so the dining room was full, but we still had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband had the pork chop, Mediterran ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

My husband had the pork chop, Mediterranean orzo and the grilled vegetables. I had the mussels and the shredded brussel sprout salad. Everything was cooked to perfection! We also shared a Mango Blueberry Mojito which was great. Our friends had salmon, burgers, and the pot pie. Everyone was satisfied with their meals and the pot pie got a big thumbs up. Prices were reasonable. We'd all go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Value in Cleveland Park

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This neighborhood gem serves excellent, well-prepared dishes that change seasonally. Separate children's menu is available. Outdoor cafe area is larger than most and makes a congenial setting for Sunday brunch in the shadow of Washington Catherdral. Our Mother's Day brunch was slightly marred because service was slow (there seemed to be a shortage of wait persons) but the managers were very attentive and did their best to compensate. Over all, it's my favorite restaurant in the neighborhood because it delivers reliable dining experiences every time we eat here.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Comfortable Late Night Post-theater Spot

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were looking for a comfortable setting with a complete menu for a post-theater dinner, dessert and drinks - in other words, something for everyone's needs in our group. The menu was so perfect and the service prompt. We would definitely go back anytime.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and good service.

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Delicious food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best in DC? Maybe..

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

maybe best restaurant in dc--when you bring together the consistent quality of the food, ambience, and service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you Steve great services !

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Thank you Steve great services !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It seemed like the whole staff was new t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

It seemed like the whole staff was new the night we were there -- definitely the waitress and the manager, along with whichever cook prepared my husband's crabcakes. Since they also said we didn't honor our Open Table reservation (which we did and we were on time), I think the hostess must have been new, too. Overall, I like this restaurant, but that night was not one of their better showings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great place for lunch or dinner

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great place for lunch or dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good for E everyday and Meeting Friendd

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

I have eaten here many times, always enjoyable. Service has been consistently good. This time I tried the Steak

Fitted. It was acceptable but I have had better. Doesn't matter. I recommend this restaurant anyway.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I live in Georgetown and came up to try Cafe Deluxe. Loved it will definitely return. Perfect hamburger! My friends loved their brunch selections.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Deluxe - Old Reliable

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

This extremely popular Cafe in north Cleveland Park provides very good food, at a reliable price and some consistently good dishes. Among those: the chicken pot pie, the steak frites, the lamb shank, the Caesar salad, and their fish specials. Brunch on weekends is also recommended - sausages, pancakes, delicious eggs benedict. It's always service with a smile at this celebrity cafe.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

They must have been short staffed becaus ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

They must have been short staffed because we had to flag a manager to get someone to provide the most basic of services; beverage, bread etc. They served one of our party a cup of soup that was only half a cup. They did fill it upon request. They ran out of our first dessert choice and the sundae that we ultimately got was extremely short on sauce. Bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Reliable yummy food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Cafe Deluxe never disappoints when you want an easy outing with friends, good choice of comfort foods, attentive service, and a boisterous atmosphere. Turkey burger was perfect. Sweet potato fries crispy and sweet but not too sweet. Bourbon cocktail was lovely.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Nothing fancy. Local eatery. Not impress ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Nothing fancy. Local eatery. Not impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Cafe Deluxe used to be busy! The food w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Cafe Deluxe used to be busy! The food was always consistently good, not amazing. It was a go to place for the basics. When they dropped the fried onion strings off the menu, it started to go down hill. The last time I ate there, it was bad. I gave it another chance and it was worse. No taste to the Cesar salad dressing. The chicken pot pie was all dough, little filling and extremely bland. The place was nearly empty. Clearly I am not the only one who has decided it is time to find another place for the basics.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Cafe Deluxe a "Go To" for Families

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Café Deluxe is family friendly, has a menu with good options for every taste, and is a comfortable spot. The atmosphere is energetic. They have great service. I would recommend parking in the shopping center parking nearby, doing a “little shopping” at Giant and have Giant validate your parking. It will not cover it entirely but will discount it some.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Cafe Deluxe has always been in the top t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Cafe Deluxe has always been in the top ten of my favorite dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We started eating here years ago when ou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

We started eating here years ago when our daughter lived in the area. We still eat here often. The food and service are always very good and prices are reasonable. It's upscale comfort food in a comfortable atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything great and on time

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Very friendly service and food was good. Nice scene, yet kid-friendly too. Would definitely go back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lost some of its cachet

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Cafe Deluxe is fine... just fine. Seems to have lost some of its cachet. Hostesses could not get their act together re: seating on a Friday. "Just a minute" became 20. Meanwhile others came in and were seated before. Food was fine. Service a bit slow. The place seem tired.

Dont get me wrong... there was nothing bad about the experience. There are just other places (many other) that i would go to before this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Nice Spot

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This is a nice informal place to eat lunch or dinner. There's a nice menu and the service is good and friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Very kid friendly in early evening

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Great place to take kids for an early evening dinner. Went with group of 8, including 2 toddlers, on a Friday evening. Restaurant was busy and about 60% of tables had at least 1 diner under 5. Nobody bothered by kid issues. Service was friendly and helpful.

Have dined there many times after about 7 and its a fine, usually quick, neighborhood place.

Patio is great in summer & fall

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

A great neighborhood restaurant

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

I went there with two colleagues this week. Food was very good-- nothing very fancy, but tasty, nicely served and moderate in price. Comfortable dining room, warm and welcoming. This is the kind of place you can return to frequently and enjoy and excellent meal without breaking the bank.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Decent food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

The chicken pot pie is really delicious and very filling. We like to go for 1/2 price burgers on Tuesdays for lunch. Otherwise the burgers are a bit pricey. There is always a table and service is overall good. We get in and out for lunch in less than an hour.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good choice if in D.C.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We were seated right away on a Saturday evening. It was a little loud and busy but the crowd was friendly, the service was good, and the food was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Cafe Deluxe Rules!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

I'm a lucky person because Café Deluxe is only three blocks away from my home. It is always reliable, fresh, and a good value. Now that they take reservations, it's the perfect choice for a meal, be it casual or special occasion. Great for kids, great for cocktails. Tuesday lunch was a special treat, it was my first meal since the snow started where someone else did the cooking. And, it was the first meal shared with a friend after solitary snow days. Café Deluxe is a wonderful choice for a go-to meal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Second Experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

A decent but reasonably economical restaurant. Good for meetings.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Great after Movie treat

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

After many years I returned to Cafe Deluxe after a movie at the Uptown Theatre.

The food remains very good. The service was not what I remembered. We had a large group and one order was incorrect (wrong flatbread). The ambiance was great. The menu has something for everyone. The lamb I had was excellent. The kids enjoyed a burger and flabread pizza. I'll be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointing - Not a Good Night

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

The person training our new waiter was overbearing and the food tasted as if it was frozen and was overcooked and bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Big group family pleaser

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

We had our Christmas eve dinner and it was perfect- low key, great food (love the horseradish mashed potatoes and the flounder special was delicious),well priced and family friendly. There are vegetarians, picky eaters and non-adventurous palates in our family so it was a good choice for all.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.