HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park

4.3
251 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Comfort Food (24)
  • Casual (22)
  • Neighborhood Gem (17)
Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Bistro, Burgers
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(202) 686-2233
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Juan Valdez
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We offer warm and welcoming private or semi-private rooms, thoughtfully created and customized menus, dedicated staff providing gracious, anticipatory service perfect for any group and budget. Your event, whether it’s an intimate party, a large social event, or important 
business meeting, it will be as effortless as it is memorable. The Private Dining Room can seat up to 40 guests and is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Raquel Mercado: (202) 465-4677
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Macomb ST NW
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Nearby street parking available.
Covered parking at the Cathedral.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 251 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3  based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.0
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
cmar (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Cafe Deluxe has been my neighborhood “go to” place for years. Hishem is an outstanding waiter who has become a friend. He quickly knows which new dishes to suggest and is always attentive, even on the busiest visits. The food overall is very good. My personal favorites are the entree salads and the salmon. Any one of those is like a hug from a good friend

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Detroit)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

The food is always excellent. Have been here several times already, and it has consistently good service as well. First time to reserve on Open Table and that was quick and easy. Arrived earlier than expected but were seated immediately.

Report
Helpful
vipTravellertoDCarea (New England)
4.0  Dined on February 4, 2018

Come here, when in travelling to DC area. Able to make a reservation easily. Good for groups. Food good. Omelets good. Wait staff pleasant, and helpful. Will come back again, when in area again.

Report
Helpful
Tusker (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Very reliable restaurant, food always good and a wide choice. Service was excellent despite a very busy evening rush.

Report
Helpful
vipJrJo (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

Cafe D. is always great. Sunday brunch is filled with omelets, pancakes, French Toast, berries, turkey sausage, bacon and oatmeal. Burger night is special, too. Bison burger with sweet potato fries is a winner. For entrees, steak frites, meatloaf, chicken with mashed potatoes, salmon salad, and chicken pot pie, are all delicious. Try cobbler desserts and milkshakes to top it all off. Light fare menus also available.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

I had not been to Café Deluxe for at least eight years when I returned this past Friday night. My friend and I ordered salads and drinks, so we were not there for a major dinner. The service was thoughtful and gracious and not at all intrusive. I will be sure to return again soon.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

Our server Hennifer was amazing. Food was excellent and quick.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
3.0  Dined on January 7, 2018

The kitchen is always very inconsistent. Some visits all the food comes too fast, others you wait forever. Sometimes your food is just right, sometimes it's cold or just messed up. But the staff is nice, it's kid friendly, good - though expensive - drinks.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Baltimore)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Café Deluxe is a chain restaurant, but they are high quality and this is a good one--friendly and excellent service and relatively quiet. Excellent seafood for a chain restaurant. Café Deluxe was originally recommended by my nutritionist who wanted me to eat more seafood.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

CD never disappoints. It is our go-to place for a delicious meal in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We had a new waiter who was doing his best, but not quite ready for prime time. Still a great evening.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Great warm staff, comfort food. We had the meatloaf and pot pie, wow!! Just great food

Report
Helpful
BarbC (Minneapolis)
4.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

We have eaten here twice in the last 6 months while visiting DC and doing things in that area. In the Fall we ate outside on the front patio and it was very nice even though it can get noisy from time to time with traffic. I had the Salmon Nicoise Salad at that time and it was perfectly cooked and the greens and veggies were fresh.
We were last here two days before Christmas for a late afternoon meal and ate inside in comfort. It was early so it was not full. I had the Meatloaf with green beans and mashed potatoes. It was the perfect comfort food for a cold rainy day! My son had the Chicken Penne Pasta which he had ordered the last time; obviously he thought it was yummy.
Oh, and we both had the delicious Fire Roasted Tomato soup; really good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on December 21, 2017

I had Vincente as a waiter and he accommodated my fiance's diet well and we had a nice evening with my aunt.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on December 17, 2017

They handled the mob from the Joy of Christmas performance as well as anyone could have.

Report
Helpful
vipJenny (Washington DC)
1.0  Dined on December 16, 2017

Terrible service. Food was ok. Will never go back to this restaurant

Report
Helpful
localfavs (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on December 14, 2017

Understated elegance in a casual and accessible environment. Lots of windows with views of the outdoors adds a nice feel of spaciousness.
Waitstaff is knowledgeable and management is agreeable to alterations of the printed menu. Very nice touch.
Even though room acoustic allows for a fairly high overall volume level in the dining area the experience was pleasant and enjoyable
Highly recommended for a variety of social gatherings.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
2.0  Dined on December 13, 2017

Worst waiter I have seen in a longtime and the chicken Penne was inedible. Bad night at Cafe Deluxe.

Report
Helpful
vipNickB (Washington DC)
3.0  Dined on December 4, 2017

Decent meal, service was inconsistent and we were rushed out despite the restaurant being empty. Servers were trickling in for work throughout the meal, which was odd.

Report
Helpful
MEMDDC (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on December 3, 2017

Was a great place to go after a visit to the Nat'l Cathedral , good food, service and you could talk with out shouting.

Report
Helpful
Concertgoer (Washington DC)
3.0  Dined on December 3, 2017

The food was good not great. The restaurant was very crowded after an event at the National Cathedral let out. Service went downhill after that. On a normal night I think it would have all been very good.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13