About Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park

3228 Wisconsin Ave NW
Washington, DC 20016
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bistro, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Macomb ST NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 686-2233

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Nearby street parking available.
Covered parking at the Cathedral.

Executive Chef:
Juan Valdez

Private Party Facilities:
We offer warm and welcoming private or semi-private rooms, thoughtfully created and customized menus, dedicated staff providing gracious, anticipatory service perfect for any group and budget. Your event, whether it’s an intimate party, a large social event, or important 
business meeting, it will be as effortless as it is memorable. The Private Dining Room can seat up to 40 guests and is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Mercado: 2024654677x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (19)
Casual (13)
Good for Groups (12)
See All
Great for Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Cozy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for breakfast with visiting friends ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went for breakfast with visiting friends and it was perfect for the occasion. Traditional and tasty choices for vegetarians and meat eaters. Service was attentive and friendly. Definitely recommend.

Have had happy hour and dinner at their Bethesda location - another reliable place for good food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been patrons of the Café Deluxe ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have been patrons of the Café Deluxe chain for ove ten years and have always been happy with the experience. The prices are reasonable and the food is always above expectations. The service staff are always good but dining time varies depending on how busy they are when you arrive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Private Room, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and great service. It had be ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great meal and great service. It had been a while since we last visited and the menu continues to satisfy a wide variety of tastes.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and food!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an issue with our Open Table rese ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an issue with our Open Table reservation not updating but the Manager quickly arranged for us to be seated. The wait staff was very friendly and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful brunch with our daughter, who ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful brunch with our daughter, who was in town for the weekend. Great neighborhood location for any meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seated promptly. Server and kitchen res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Seated promptly. Server and kitchen responded to our need to depart by a certain time and food came promptly.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food and service were excellent. I t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The food and service were excellent. I took my elderly parents and they were very pleased with everything. I had been to this location on another occasion and enjoyed it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food served was not hot, hollandaise sau ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food served was not hot, hollandaise sauce terrible, spinach omelet sent back because it lacked adequate amount of spinach. Server very nice, manager gave us free desserts. Would not go back for brunch. Been there for lunch - good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

The quality of the food is always good - ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The quality of the food is always good -- and consistently good. The staff is always friendly and attentive. The bistro-style ambiance is pleasant and unpretentious. The restaurant is a family favorite; we go there often, particularly for the restaurant's delicious burgers.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Family Style, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Private Room, Healthy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good local restaurant in a busy loc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Very good local restaurant in a busy location.

Aside from a few glitches like serving the wrong vegetables everything came hot and tasty; nothing out of this world but well priced. The desert was a bit too large, if such a thing is possible, for my taste. The cocktail a bit watered down. The waiter slightly unintelligible.

Parking can be a challenge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Wait staff and kitchen were completely o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Wait staff and kitchen were completely overwhelmed at a Lunch service, however, waiters managed to remain pleasant.

Manager was outstanding as he accommodated us with a bottle of wine at a reasonable price because the revamping of the wine list left no acceptable "wines by the glass" available.

We enjoy Cafe Deluxe and hope they will return to their previous quality of food and wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I hadn't been to Café Deluxe in years, b ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I hadn't been to Café Deluxe in years, but the menu matched our dietary needs and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the good service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great service and great food!!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great service and great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This Cafe Deluxe provides all the essent ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This Cafe Deluxe provides all the essential elements for an exceptional dining experience. Good food, experienced staff, a welcoming environment and noise control.

The result is a loyal and diverse client base.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Deluxe is consistently good. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Cafe Deluxe is consistently good. We go at least once a month and have never had anything but , great service and food.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I can only speak for the brunch. Our la ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I can only speak for the brunch. Our large group ordered a variety of dishes that we all shared. The omelet with ham and gruyere was a unanimous hit followed closely by the french toast which was light and crispy with just the right amount of egg and spices.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I usually enjoy Cafe DeLuxe but this tim ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I usually enjoy Cafe DeLuxe but this time was not enjoyable. The waiter unsure of himself, almost dropped my drink me, never came back after food was delivered, tipped his tray and almost hit a child with glass that did break which he then cleaned piece by piece but never used a broom. I had to ask a manager to have it cleaned. There were several mistakes with the food which didn't help. Overall, I'll be back as this was an anomaly.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Best roasted chicken I had in years.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Best roasted chicken I had in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was good. Service was very slow ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was good. Service was very slow to receive the food and to pay the check. This was a party of seven who was celebrating four August birthdays during lunch. Waiter was engaged and very polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our brunch was really nice. I had high h ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our brunch was really nice. I had high hopes for the skillet cinnamon roll, but it came back too brown and crusty, twice. Maybe a bad batch? I was hoping for soft and gooey!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I have eaten several times at the Cafe D ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have eaten several times at the Cafe Deluxe in Bethesda, MD, so I thought I would try out this location. I was there for brunch, and I was disappointed by the limited menu. Also, when I ordered an omelet, all I got was a thin egg pancake (not the huge omelet that you would receive at the IHOP for the same price). I've never had a bad experience at the one in Bethesda, so I'd recommend going to that one instead.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I go to Cafe Deluxe in Cleveland Park an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I go to Cafe Deluxe in Cleveland Park and in Bethesda on a regular basis because the food and service are very good and the prices are reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of four for brunch on a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were a group of four for brunch on a recent Sunday morning. Our server was VERY nice but seemed a bit overworked and not able to pay proper attention to each of his tables. When the food arrived, our "hot" breakfast orders were only lukewarm. We had waited a while for them and did not feel like having to wait anymore by sending them back to be heated up. And a minor irritation--coffee and cream delivered to two people at the table, but no spoons. Had to get up and find some on our own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Always popular, Café Deluxe can be relie ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Always popular, Café Deluxe can be relied on to offer something for a wide range of tastes and preferences.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The bread was stale and cold. The musse ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 28, 2016

The bread was stale and cold.

The mussels had a cream sauce unannounced which gave our sister diarrea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Granted it was Father's Day, but the ser ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Granted it was Father's Day, but the service was interminably slow. It took 15 minutes after being seated to give our drinks order, and another 20 before they actually came. The waitress repeatedly scurried past us, ignoring our entreaties for refills, etc.

The food didn't come until well over an hour after we sat down, at which point the little kids in our party were so antsy and jumpy that we couldn't enjoy our meal. The food was...ok. The eggs benedict was served on an slab of toast that managed to be both stale and rubbery.

Cafe Deluxe used to be our go to place for special occasion meals, but we will not be returning.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Usually excellent but tour bus group slo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Usually excellent but tour bus group slowed everything down and made it more noisy. Usually very tolerable noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We went for family brunch. Some had brea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We went for family brunch. Some had breakfast foods others lunch. All was delicious. Wait staff was attentive. We weren't rushed. I was pleased that the honored our reservation timely and didn't have to wait. Excellent value

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great turkey burgers! But somewhat slow ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great turkey burgers! But somewhat slow service for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

The service was super slow. I don't know ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was super slow. I don't know why because the restaurant wasn't busy at all. Would definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

We had a wonderful brunch! A little loud ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch! A little loud, but the outdoor seating wasn't available (due to cold weather) so the dining room was full, but we still had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband had the pork chop, Mediterran ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2016

My husband had the pork chop, Mediterranean orzo and the grilled vegetables. I had the mussels and the shredded brussel sprout salad. Everything was cooked to perfection! We also shared a Mango Blueberry Mojito which was great. Our friends had salmon, burgers, and the pot pie. Everyone was satisfied with their meals and the pot pie got a big thumbs up. Prices were reasonable. We'd all go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Value in Cleveland Park

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

This neighborhood gem serves excellent, well-prepared dishes that change seasonally. Separate children's menu is available. Outdoor cafe area is larger than most and makes a congenial setting for Sunday brunch in the shadow of Washington Catherdral. Our Mother's Day brunch was slightly marred because service was slow (there seemed to be a shortage of wait persons) but the managers were very attentive and did their best to compensate. Over all, it's my favorite restaurant in the neighborhood because it delivers reliable dining experiences every time we eat here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Comfortable Late Night Post-theater Spot

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were looking for a comfortable setting with a complete menu for a post-theater dinner, dessert and drinks - in other words, something for everyone's needs in our group. The menu was so perfect and the service prompt. We would definitely go back anytime.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and good service.

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Delicious food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best in DC? Maybe..

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2016

maybe best restaurant in dc--when you bring together the consistent quality of the food, ambience, and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you Steve great services !

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Thank you Steve great services !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It seemed like the whole staff was new t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2016

It seemed like the whole staff was new the night we were there -- definitely the waitress and the manager, along with whichever cook prepared my husband's crabcakes. Since they also said we didn't honor our Open Table reservation (which we did and we were on time), I think the hostess must have been new, too. Overall, I like this restaurant, but that night was not one of their better showings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.