Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

3228 Wisconsin Ave NW
Washington, DC 20016
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bistro, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Macomb ST NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 686-2233

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Nearby street parking available.
Covered parking at the Cathedral.

Executive Chef:
Juan Valdez

Private Party Facilities:
We offer warm and welcoming private or semi-private rooms, thoughtfully created and customized menus, dedicated staff providing gracious, anticipatory service perfect for any group and budget. Your event, whether it’s an intimate party, a large social event, or important 
business meeting, it will be as effortless as it is memorable. The Private Dining Room can seat up to 40 guests and is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Mercado: (202) 465-4677

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (8)
Casual (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
See All
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Good Foodcand excellent Service! Never have been let down!

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Cafe Deluxe is often uneven in food quality. This visit was a real disappointment. Ordered the summer special Grilled Pork Chop with grilled asparagus, peach salsa, potato salad. It was the toughest pork chop I have ever encountered. The asparagus was tasteless and almost raw, the peach salsa seemed to be two or three slices of peaches on top--which may have been canned.Service and ambience were fine but I won't be back for a long time,if at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My out of town guests were very impressed! Excellent food, wonderful service. Fantastic value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Consistently good food and responsive friendly service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Negative: Server Tatum's voice - the 3 of us had to keep asking her to speak up and even when we did, (she seemed annoyed) and barely raised her voice -it was difficult to hear outside with the traffic. Also, her skills at "reading the table" meaning if 3 people are gathered closely clearly discussing something personal and important, you don't come and interrupt to clear dishes. She did this several times. Even when I was to her, she did not get the hint and would return. I expect servers at a white table cloth restaurant to have people skills and determine when is a good time (aside from bringing food, of course) to clear when others are eating and engaging in intimate conversation, etc. I gave her a 20% tip, but she did not deserve it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The service is awful but the food is good.
Basically it takes 20 minutes to get our drinks and even longer to get our food.

It usually takes me hunting down the manager to get our food in a decent time. What's even more appalling is that they don't even give you a bread basket for the ridiculous wait time except other people get it automatically. And I have seen like 4 tables who came in after my group get their food before us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The restaurant was having a maintenance issue in the restrooms right before our party sat down. We were moved and they took our orders and served our food. Food was okay. The issue was the bathrooms were all not operational and when I tried to take my 4 year old to the restroom we were told that none of the bathrooms were operational, not even for staff, and there was a sewage issue. I asked how they were still open, operating, seating people, and serving food with no working bathrooms and a sewage issue. Digusting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Cafe Deluxe far exceeded my expectations. All 5 of us had delicious meal and each one was different. We arrived ahead of the Sunday crowd so our food came in a timely manner. Will be going back in the future.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Cold coffee and omelet. Cold coffee and omelet. The food was cold...supposed to be hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Hoping it was an off day for Cafe Deluxe. Very slow service and mistakes on our order.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Only one criticism. When I asked the waitress if they had a house cab, she indicated they did mumbling as she departed. When the check came, I noticed the wine she had brought me was the most expensive by the glass cab. When someone asks about house wine, they mean lowest price wine. If she had just said "no" to my question, I would have ordered the cab that was about less per glass. It was crowded and I am a considerate person so I did not bring it up. But, I certainly do not appreciate this kind of treatment. It is a small thing, but tells me wait staff needs more training.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Brunch on Sunday morning - the service was excellent as we had an earnest young man who aimed to please - he was very responsive but not overly so. The food was OK - nothing special. The biscuits tasted store-bought and the omelets were standard. I was allowed to substitute a small salad for the potatoes which I appreciated. The corn-flakes crusting the French toast was quite soggy. The coffee was good. A small child was at the table next to us making a very loud fuss; it took the mom a long time to leave the premises with the child. Understandable, but certainly decreased our enjoyment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We had a very nice brunch, sat inside because the sun was so bright, we normally like sitting outside and enjoying the Cathederal bells. Food was excellent - my wife and our granddaughter had the French toast and I had the salmon scrambled eggs. Server, Lucie S, was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Other than some initial confusion about the reservation.,, my name was on the Open Table reservation... there were no other problems. The waiter was efficient and decidedly very patient with my guest who misread the menu, complained about the entree.... waiter replaced it quickly with no mention that the confusion was not the restaurant's fault... a class act!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I have now been to this restaurant a number of times. It is very close to where I live and therefore very convenient for me. The food is only so-so. I ordered a martini and it was served warm. My main course was tasteless. I ordered dessert and it was a huge portion. There were two of us eating together and we could finish it. The dessert was supposed to come with cinnamon but was served with vanilla ice cream instead with no explanation as to why there was a substitute. Our waiter was nice and helpful, but he seemed to have too many tables to cover, so we had a hard time getting his attention. This restaurant is in such a great location and the interior build-out is very nice, it is a shame that the food and service don't match the ambience and location.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Stella pression, Stella cidre and chocolate PB milkshake. We took our grandson to dinner and he loved the Porter burger with a side of Mac & cheese, while we enjoyed the salmon dinner. This is a wonderful little neighborhood restaurant...shhh...don't tell anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Wonderful place
Nice atmosphere
Good food
Highly recommend it for any occasion

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

When we request that the appetizer (flatbread) be brought out first, why can't kitchen handle that? I know our server heard our request clearly but we still got everything at once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent service. Table was ready when we arrived. The food was great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We had excellent service but the food was seriously underwhelming. I ordered an omelette and my friend had pancakes that came with eggs. She did not see the eggs mentioned on the menu and was not asked how she wanted them cooked, so they were scrambled, and she doesn't eat scrambled eggs, so that food went to waste. My omelette was good, however the home fries on the side were seriously under-cooked. I've never seen home fries that are not even browned, and these were shiny with whatever oil they were cooked in, not browned, and too firm for my taste.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My table was not set when I arrived (on time). I had to wait for them to put two together to accommodate my eight guests. Plus, we had no shade - which made it unbearable.
But the young waiter was pleasant and the food was good.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always a good bet fro Brunch, this Mother's Day the chef brought out a tasty quiche/salad/fruit combination. Service was excellent, as always. It pays to make a reservation, because Sunday Brunch at Cafe Deluxe is very popular.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Solid neighborhood spot. They've also made some great improvements to the menu around the past year or so. Worth another visit if you haven't been in a while.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Chaotic brunch.. need more staff.. our food took 45 minutes to come out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Table for four to celebrate Elizabeth's birthday - staff had selected a special booth and written/decorated it with a Happy Birthday message. Halibut special was delicious, as were the traditional steak frites. Server Megan was outstanding, adding to a list we have noted of outstanding servers at Cafe Deluxe.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

As always. Cafe Deluxe Cleveland Park is a great brunch value. Tried the Ham Steak and eggs this visit and the feta-spinach omelet. Delicious. Throw in a side of bacon, sausage and/or fresh fruit. Service is always outstanding, too. Can make a reservation too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One and Done One and Done
One and Done One and Done
One and Done One and Done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Outstanding Porter Burger was the highlight meal of our evening. Good kids menu and yummy shakes. Pleasant outdoor patio and attentive service on a slow weeknight evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch at Cafe Deluxe was great! The usual options - omelets, bagels, steak and eggs, pancakes, French Toast and turkey sausage, along with several different Benedict dishes make Cafe Deluxe our go to dining establishment in North Cleveland Park. Great wait staff and attentive managers round out the dining pleasure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food and service have seriously declined. Salmon horribkyvover cooked, probably not fresh, seemed microwaved. No bread offered. Impossibly slow service - wine brought after my guest has finished his entree - though restaurant empty on a Saturday night.

Maybe still okay for neighborhood coffee or scrambled eggs on a weekday?

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was very good but our table for five was jammed up against another table for five with loud talking people. The ambience for dinner was very negative unlike our times there for Sunday Brunch. It was too crowded and noisy. An unpleasant experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great local restaurant for families with young children, quality level of food and service always consistent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I've almost never been unhappy with the service or the food here. A great neighborhood spot to have a casual dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was just okay. I could have done better cooking at home. Service was efficient but not overly friendly. The place was loaded with families and young kids and on Saturday at least it seems to be place for families with children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food is fine. Staff is overwhelmed all the time. It is popular for brunch because it is the only traditional brunch place in this section of the neighborhood. One would think they would learn to staff for it. And if you have a reservation you shouldn't have to wait ten minutes for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Two of us had delicious breakfast from 11:30 - 12:15 on a Saturday before a gathering at National Cathedral. Nice menu selections for breakfast. Accommodated gluten-free by subbing tasty fresh fruit for biscuit. Attentive service. Very nice about setting up for 8 when only 2 showed up, and not rushing to move extra table away (it was not busy that early).

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy, Disabled Access, People Watching, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The restaurant staff were very accommodating when we changed our reservation from 4 people to 7. Initial service ( greeting and taking drink orders was a bit slow) but after that all proceeded well. Always dependable and a menu with something for every taste.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Casual, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Popped in for an early dinner before a performance at the National Cathedral. The service and food were good, not great (and they were out of one of the main entrees.) Location was ideal for events at NCS and St Albans.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service and food is always good. They also try to accommodate our request for a booth!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The Braised Boneless Short Rib Root Vegetable Risotto, Port Wine Au Jus is excellent!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.