Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 11 times today

Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park

4.3
268 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Comfort Food
  • Casual
  • Neighborhood Gem
Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Bistro, Burgers
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(202) 686-2233
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Juan Valdez
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We offer warm and welcoming private or semi-private rooms, thoughtfully created and customized menus, dedicated staff providing gracious, anticipatory service perfect for any group and budget. Your event, whether it’s an intimate party, a large social event, or important 
business meeting, it will be as effortless as it is memorable. The Private Dining Room can seat up to 40 guests and is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Raquel Mercado: (202) 465-4677
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Macomb ST NW
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Nearby street parking available.
Covered parking at the Cathedral.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 268 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 2 days ago

The Cafe was very nice about seating our group of five, despite the fact that we were 20 minutes late. Service was ok but slow. Food was pretty mediocre - I had shrimp and grits and the grits were very soupy and tasted like corn chowder. My friend had a cobb salad that was not very appetizing in appearance. Another in our party had a chicken pot pie that was about the quality of a banquet dinner. The only thing that really recommends this place is its proximity to the National Cathedral and its location in an area that just doesn't have many great restaurants. I will look harder for something better next time I am in NW Washington.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

I used to visit Cafe DeLuxe regularly many years ago when I lived nearby in McLean Gardens. I remember a place buzzing with conviviality and good wholesome food, such a happy place that it was difficult to get reservations on the day or to walk in without a wait of 30 minutes. In those days it was worth it. Now I am living in Japan, so this was a pilgrimage back and to see an old World Bank colleague whom I had not seen for more than a decade.

Frankly, the restaurant was disappointing, apart from the friendly serving staff. It was half empty. The food was so so minus, the steak incredibly chewy and the apple crumble sweet and lacking in biscuity bite. The menu did not have the appeal that I remember from before. The wine (red Argentine) was good, and the bill was reasonable. Our reunion was good, just such a pity that the restaurant has aged, not for the better.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Our family enjoyed a good meal together after the National Cathedral Kirkin of the Tartans. Wide variety of choices for everyone in the group, including our vegans. Service was good. Noise level was rather high, mainly from a table of young children and a disengaged dad, but otherwise a pleasant dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Solid upscale neighborhood diner. Service usually impeccable with strong management presence. Brunch food better than dinner, which can be hit or miss.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Very accommodating when we arrived early for our Easter Brunch reservation. Overall I think this would be a good restaurant on most days. Being Easter, and busy, the food was not as hot as it should have been. Tasty though

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Excellent salmon entree with roasted red pepper sauce.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

A delightful meal and attentive service - will visit again when attending a function or worship service at the Washington Cathedral.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I always love coming here! It's perfect for any meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Brunch in Cleveland Park. I always enjoy brunch at Café Deluxe on a Sunday morning. We enjoyed the French Toast, Blueberry Pancakes, and Bistro Classic (French Toast w/eggs, etc.). No problem getting in with an OpenTable Reservation, otherwise Café Deluxe can be busy by 10:30 on the weekends. This is a great little neighborhood just down from Washington Cathedral - meet your friends for Mimosa's.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Bar service is always super slow. It takes forever...Table service is polite and efficient. Food is creative

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The food is ok and the atmosphere pleasant for brunch/lunch. However, they really need to provide better service. Servers are not well trained and the whole experience, which could be great, is often marred by poor service that could be largely avoided.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Consistently good food with above average service in a clean and bright space. Convenient and walkable in my neighborhood. Excellent value with the Wednesday eight dollar burger special delivered by a welcoming and hospitable staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Last minute dinner and plans. Waited for my guest at the bar and service and drink were perfect. Dinner were salads all fresh and salmon cooked perfectly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

When in Washington, we never miss the opportunity to have lunch or dinner with the family at the (Cleveland Park) Cafe DeLuxe on Wisconsin Ave.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Food orders were incorrect. Food was cold. Service was very slow. Not impressed, especially for the cost.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Cafe Deluxe did not receive my Open Table reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Food was excellent. Attentive service. Good atmosphere, quiet enough to have a real conversation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Cafe Deluxe has been my neighborhood “go to” place for years. Hishem is an outstanding waiter who has become a friend. He quickly knows which new dishes to suggest and is always attentive, even on the busiest visits. The food overall is very good. My personal favorites are the entree salads and the salmon. Any one of those is like a hug from a good friend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

The food is always excellent. Have been here several times already, and it has consistently good service as well. First time to reserve on Open Table and that was quick and easy. Arrived earlier than expected but were seated immediately.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Come here, when in travelling to DC area. Able to make a reservation easily. Good for groups. Food good. Omelets good. Wait staff pleasant, and helpful. Will come back again, when in area again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Very reliable restaurant, food always good and a wide choice. Service was excellent despite a very busy evening rush.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Cafe D. is always great. Sunday brunch is filled with omelets, pancakes, French Toast, berries, turkey sausage, bacon and oatmeal. Burger night is special, too. Bison burger with sweet potato fries is a winner. For entrees, steak frites, meatloaf, chicken with mashed potatoes, salmon salad, and chicken pot pie, are all delicious. Try cobbler desserts and milkshakes to top it all off. Light fare menus also available.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

I had not been to Café Deluxe for at least eight years when I returned this past Friday night. My friend and I ordered salads and drinks, so we were not there for a major dinner. The service was thoughtful and gracious and not at all intrusive. I will be sure to return again soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Our server Hennifer was amazing. Food was excellent and quick.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 7, 2018

The kitchen is always very inconsistent. Some visits all the food comes too fast, others you wait forever. Sometimes your food is just right, sometimes it's cold or just messed up. But the staff is nice, it's kid friendly, good - though expensive - drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Café Deluxe is a chain restaurant, but they are high quality and this is a good one--friendly and excellent service and relatively quiet. Excellent seafood for a chain restaurant. Café Deluxe was originally recommended by my nutritionist who wanted me to eat more seafood.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 28, 2017

CD never disappoints. It is our go-to place for a delicious meal in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We had a new waiter who was doing his best, but not quite ready for prime time. Still a great evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Great warm staff, comfort food. We had the meatloaf and pot pie, wow!! Just great food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

We have eaten here twice in the last 6 months while visiting DC and doing things in that area. In the Fall we ate outside on the front patio and it was very nice even though it can get noisy from time to time with traffic. I had the Salmon Nicoise Salad at that time and it was perfectly cooked and the greens and veggies were fresh.
We were last here two days before Christmas for a late afternoon meal and ate inside in comfort. It was early so it was not full. I had the Meatloaf with green beans and mashed potatoes. It was the perfect comfort food for a cold rainy day! My son had the Chicken Penne Pasta which he had ordered the last time; obviously he thought it was yummy.
Oh, and we both had the delicious Fire Roasted Tomato soup; really good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

I had Vincente as a waiter and he accommodated my fiance's diet well and we had a nice evening with my aunt.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 17, 2017

They handled the mob from the Joy of Christmas performance as well as anyone could have.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Terrible service. Food was ok. Will never go back to this restaurant

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 14, 2017

Understated elegance in a casual and accessible environment. Lots of windows with views of the outdoors adds a nice feel of spaciousness.
Waitstaff is knowledgeable and management is agreeable to alterations of the printed menu. Very nice touch.
Even though room acoustic allows for a fairly high overall volume level in the dining area the experience was pleasant and enjoyable
Highly recommended for a variety of social gatherings.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Worst waiter I have seen in a longtime and the chicken Penne was inedible. Bad night at Cafe Deluxe.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 4, 2017

Decent meal, service was inconsistent and we were rushed out despite the restaurant being empty. Servers were trickling in for work throughout the meal, which was odd.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 3, 2017

Was a great place to go after a visit to the Nat'l Cathedral , good food, service and you could talk with out shouting.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 3, 2017

The food was good not great. The restaurant was very crowded after an event at the National Cathedral let out. Service went downhill after that. On a normal night I think it would have all been very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Cafe Deluxe is casual and comfortable. The menu is varied and you can order
a sandwich or a dinner entree such as a steak. We enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Cafe Deluxe in my neighborhood has been a go-to venue for years for easy lunch or dinner. The food is ordinary and often too salty -- but the salmon nicoise salad is usually excellent. Last Saturday I was there for supper with two grandchildren. The staff was slammed by 7:00 pm including a large group in the private area. Unlike other nearby restaurants with better and more inventive food options, DeLuxe offers secure booths, crayons for kids to draw on the paper tablecloth, and friendly service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 1, 2017

We always enjoying dining at Cafe Deluxe. The food is consistently good, prices are moderate and we are especially happy that they take reservations for small parties (2). This particular night was quite crowded and the wait staff had difficulty serving our drinks in a timely manner. He claimed that the bartender was backed up -- hard to know if this was true or not. Wedined early enough to be served promptly but a large crowd of various sizes did arrive shortly afterwards. We had to depart within an hour in order to attend a local concert and this was not a problem -- we even had time for coffee. Noise is always a factor here but it's just the result of multiple table conversations at a popular site.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7