About Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park

3228 Wisconsin Ave NW
Washington, DC 20016
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bistro, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Macomb ST NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 686-2233

Website:
http://www.cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
Nearby street parking available.
Covered parking at the Cathedral.

Executive Chef:
Juan Valdez

Private Party Facilities:
We offer warm and welcoming private or semi-private rooms, thoughtfully created and customized menus, dedicated staff providing gracious, anticipatory service perfect for any group and budget. Your event, whether it’s an intimate party, a large social event, or important 
business meeting, it will be as effortless as it is memorable. The Private Dining Room can seat up to 40 guests and is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Raquel Mercado: 2024654677x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe Deluxe - Cleveland Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (46)
great for brunch (40)
kid-friendly (39)
See All
great for lunch (33)
good for groups (31)
great for outdoor dining (24)
fit for foodies (11)
special occasion (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (5)
romantic (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful brunch! A little loud ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch! A little loud, but the outdoor seating wasn't available (due to cold weather) so the dining room was full, but we still had a great time!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband had the pork chop, Mediterran ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

My husband had the pork chop, Mediterranean orzo and the grilled vegetables. I had the mussels and the shredded brussel sprout salad. Everything was cooked to perfection! We also shared a Mango Blueberry Mojito which was great. Our friends had salmon, burgers, and the pot pie. Everyone was satisfied with their meals and the pot pie got a big thumbs up. Prices were reasonable. We'd all go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good Value in Cleveland Park

Dined on May 8, 2016

This neighborhood gem serves excellent, well-prepared dishes that change seasonally. Separate children's menu is available. Outdoor cafe area is larger than most and makes a congenial setting for Sunday brunch in the shadow of Washington Catherdral. Our Mother's Day brunch was slightly marred because service was slow (there seemed to be a shortage of wait persons) but the managers were very attentive and did their best to compensate. Over all, it's my favorite restaurant in the neighborhood because it delivers reliable dining experiences every time we eat here.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Comfortable Late Night Post-theater Spot

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were looking for a comfortable setting with a complete menu for a post-theater dinner, dessert and drinks - in other words, something for everyone's needs in our group. The menu was so perfect and the service prompt. We would definitely go back anytime.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food and good service.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Delicious food and good service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in DC? Maybe..

Dined on April 21, 2016

maybe best restaurant in dc--when you bring together the consistent quality of the food, ambience, and service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you Steve great services !

Dined on April 17, 2016

Thank you Steve great services !

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

It seemed like the whole staff was new t ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

It seemed like the whole staff was new the night we were there -- definitely the waitress and the manager, along with whichever cook prepared my husband's crabcakes. Since they also said we didn't honor our Open Table reservation (which we did and we were on time), I think the hostess must have been new, too. Overall, I like this restaurant, but that night was not one of their better showings.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for lunch or dinner

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great place for lunch or dinner

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good for E everyday and Meeting Friendd

Dined on April 11, 2016

I have eaten here many times, always enjoyable. Service has been consistently good. This time I tried the Steak Fitted. It was acceptable but I have had better. Doesn't matter. I recommend this restaurant anyway.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First visit

Dined on April 10, 2016

I live in Georgetown and came up to try Cafe Deluxe. Loved it will definitely return. Perfect hamburger! My friends loved their brunch selections.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Cafe Deluxe - Old Reliable

Dined on April 8, 2016

This extremely popular Cafe in north Cleveland Park provides very good food, at a reliable price and some consistently good dishes. Among those: the chicken pot pie, the steak frites, the lamb shank, the Caesar salad, and their fish specials. Brunch on weekends is also recommended - sausages, pancakes, delicious eggs benedict. It's always service with a smile at this celebrity cafe.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2

They must have been short staffed becaus ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

They must have been short staffed because we had to flag a manager to get someone to provide the most basic of services; beverage, bread etc. They served one of our party a cup of soup that was only half a cup. They did fill it upon request. They ran out of our first dessert choice and the sundae that we ultimately got was extremely short on sauce. Bad night.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Reliable yummy food

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Cafe Deluxe never disappoints when you want an easy outing with friends, good choice of comfort foods, attentive service, and a boisterous atmosphere. Turkey burger was perfect. Sweet potato fries crispy and sweet but not too sweet. Bourbon cocktail was lovely.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2

Nothing fancy. Local eatery. Not impress ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Nothing fancy. Local eatery. Not impressive.

food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Cafe Deluxe used to be busy! The food w ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Cafe Deluxe used to be busy! The food was always consistently good, not amazing. It was a go to place for the basics. When they dropped the fried onion strings off the menu, it started to go down hill. The last time I ate there, it was bad. I gave it another chance and it was worse. No taste to the Cesar salad dressing. The chicken pot pie was all dough, little filling and extremely bland. The place was nearly empty. Clearly I am not the only one who has decided it is time to find another place for the basics.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Cafe Deluxe a "Go To" for Families

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Café Deluxe is family friendly, has a menu with good options for every taste, and is a comfortable spot. The atmosphere is energetic. They have great service. I would recommend parking in the shopping center parking nearby, doing a “little shopping” at Giant and have Giant validate your parking. It will not cover it entirely but will discount it some.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Cafe Deluxe has always been in the top t ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Cafe Deluxe has always been in the top ten of my favorite dining experiences.

food4
ambience4
service4

We started eating here years ago when ou ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

We started eating here years ago when our daughter lived in the area. We still eat here often. The food and service are always very good and prices are reasonable. It's upscale comfort food in a comfortable atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything great and on time

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Very friendly service and food was good. Nice scene, yet kid-friendly too. Would definitely go back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

lost some of its cachet

Dined on February 21, 2016

Cafe Deluxe is fine... just fine. Seems to have lost some of its cachet. Hostesses could not get their act together re: seating on a Friday. "Just a minute" became 20. Meanwhile others came in and were seated before. Food was fine. Service a bit slow. The place seem tired. Dont get me wrong... there was nothing bad about the experience. There are just other places (many other) that i would go to before this one.

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice Spot

Dined on February 14, 2016

This is a nice informal place to eat lunch or dinner. There's a nice menu and the service is good and friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Very kid friendly in early evening

Dined on February 12, 2016

Great place to take kids for an early evening dinner. Went with group of 8, including 2 toddlers, on a Friday evening. Restaurant was busy and about 60% of tables had at least 1 diner under 5. Nobody bothered by kid issues. Service was friendly and helpful. Have dined there many times after about 7 and its a fine, usually quick, neighborhood place. Patio is great in summer & fall

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

A great neighborhood restaurant

Dined on February 8, 2016

I went there with two colleagues this week. Food was very good-- nothing very fancy, but tasty, nicely served and moderate in price. Comfortable dining room, warm and welcoming. This is the kind of place you can return to frequently and enjoy and excellent meal without breaking the bank.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Decent food

Dined on February 3, 2016

The chicken pot pie is really delicious and very filling. We like to go for 1/2 price burgers on Tuesdays for lunch. Otherwise the burgers are a bit pricey. There is always a table and service is overall good. We get in and out for lunch in less than an hour.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good choice if in D.C.

Dined on January 31, 2016

We were seated right away on a Saturday evening. It was a little loud and busy but the crowd was friendly, the service was good, and the food was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Cafe Deluxe Rules!

Dined on January 26, 2016

I'm a lucky person because Café Deluxe is only three blocks away from my home. It is always reliable, fresh, and a good value. Now that they take reservations, it's the perfect choice for a meal, be it casual or special occasion. Great for kids, great for cocktails. Tuesday lunch was a special treat, it was my first meal since the snow started where someone else did the cooking. And, it was the first meal shared with a friend after solitary snow days. Café Deluxe is a wonderful choice for a go-to meal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Second Experience

Dined on January 12, 2016

A decent but reasonably economical restaurant. Good for meetings.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great after Movie treat

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

After many years I returned to Cafe Deluxe after a movie at the Uptown Theatre. The food remains very good. The service was not what I remembered. We had a large group and one order was incorrect (wrong flatbread). The ambiance was great. The menu has something for everyone. The lamb I had was excellent. The kids enjoyed a burger and flabread pizza. I'll be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointing - Not a Good Night

Dined on December 25, 2015

The person training our new waiter was overbearing and the food tasted as if it was frozen and was overcooked and bland.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Big group family pleaser

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

We had our Christmas eve dinner and it was perfect- low key, great food (love the horseradish mashed potatoes and the flounder special was delicious),well priced and family friendly. There are vegetarians, picky eaters and non-adventurous palates in our family so it was a good choice for all.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food, Service and Value

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

Excellent menu and food, great service, very friendly and attentive. Add that it was very reasonably priced and the meal was a wonderful value. Convenient to the National Cathedral (we went before attending the Candlelight Carols service) in a lovely area of the city. Heartily recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Jost

Dined on December 24, 2015

This was a disappointing experience. After getting to the restaurant early we waited for an additional 30 minutes to be seated, a total wait of 50 minutes. The booth that was designated for us was in use by a large party that would not leave. The restaurant gave our party a couple of free appetizers as we waited so that helped. Service and staff were nice, friendly and apologetic but it was not enough to over come the long wait and bland food. Great location and nice ambience though.

food3
ambience3
service1
value4

Poor Service

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

We generally like Cafe Delux but our experience this time was quite uneven. Service was slow, unresponsive, and server seemed very distracted.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Good, but

Dined on December 11, 2015

In the past I've always had hamburgers here that make me want to come back. This time, no - the burger was not delicious, and not cooked sufficiently. Other places are doing it better, so I think Cafe Deluxe should work in it.

food4
ambience4
service4

Pixiekent

Dined on December 5, 2015

My only criticism was an overly attentive floor manager who was constantly interrupting dinner to ensure everything was all right. He was a kind man and lovely to us but we felt he might be trying to rush us through our meal!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1

Long wait for cold food.

Dined on December 5, 2015

We have always enjoyed Cafe Deluxe for it's fun atmosphere and attentive staff. Sadly our last visit resulted in slowness to take our order and after asking where our food was several times, we got cold food that we promptly sent back. Maybe success has made them careless.

food4
ambience4
service5

Special service

vip
Dined on December 5, 2015

We joined some friends for a late night dessert. My son really wanted a root beer float and it wasn't on the menu. Server made not one but two and brought them to him. Lit up his eyes and made the night so nice. Apple dessert was delicious and big enough to share. Nice end to the evening

Tags: kid-friendly
food1
ambience2
service2

Poor service, worse customer service and ...

Dined on November 22, 2015

Poor service, worse customer service and overall experience was disappointing.

food4
ambience4
service5

They were very willing to do a special o ...

vip
Dined on November 19, 2015

They were very willing to do a special order and a bday dessert

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.