Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

4910 Elm Street
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Woodmont Ave & Elm St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 656-3131

Website:
http://cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a metered parking lot right next to the restaurant. Another hourly parking lot is one block from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located 3 blocks from Bethesda's metro stop.

Executive Chef:
Jason McIntosh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
See All
Great for Brunch (13)
Business Meals (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Quick Bite (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
292 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a very delicious lunch. The service wasn’t speedy but we had a very nice waiter. Located next to a parking garage.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2017

My friend and I were two of few customers; most of them were at the bar watching the game. Our server was very friendly and efficient. Unfortunately, both of our meals were wanting. Her salad contained fried capers, which she had specifically requested not to have, and my prime rib sandwich was decidedly off. After telling our server, she promptly replaced our orders and kept offering additional items to compensate us. Since we didn't want anything else, she comped our dessert.
I have eaten at Cafe Deluxe many times, and this was the first time there was any problem with the food. I was pleased with the way it was handled. She did her best to relieve our embarrassment at having to complain about the food. Cafe Deluxe has always been my go-to for a casual dinner, and that has not changed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

My wife and I opted for dinner there the other night (a Saturday) because the food is a solid value and service has always been reliable . That night, things went awry. First, we were unsettled by what we considered to be small pour sizes for the wine -- the 5 ounces (so we were told) was their standard pour, but that seemed an ounce or two low compared to what we're used to at other restaurants (and we eat out A LOT in Bethesda). Compared to, say Mon Ami Gabi -- where the waiters come to your table with empty glasses and pour from the bottle right in front of you -- the wine pours at Cafe Deluxe are apparently measured at the bar with ball bearing precision, and unhappily so. To top it off, the gas burner on the ovens went out that night, causing our dinners to be hideously long in arriving (to be fair, our waitress warned us that the gas had gone out, and that it might be a long wait).

Our waitress did her best to make up for the snafus, and the manager was gracious in initially providing a free glass of wine after our complaining about the pour ( a first for us), and then in comping all of our wine and offering free dessert after the long wait (we were late for our movie by then, and so had to rush out). We appreciated the good attitude, of course. But they could ensure consistently happy customers by upping that standard wine pour by even just an ounce. I mean, we all know the markup on house wines, and a good pour makes for happier customers and good reviews.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Amazing! As usual. 6 friends for a 17th birthday. Great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I hate not being complementary about a local restaurant, and I’m sure Cafe Delux does some things very well. Our experience was very lackluster, with food that bordered on inedible. The pork chop was too tough to even cut. My grilled shrimp were lukewarm and unseasoned, accompanied by grilled veggies that were saturated in vinegar. Our server was a delight and very accommodating, but it didn’t make up for the awful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

we had a wonderful moment breakfast was very good. was very good.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was terrible - this is not a high end eatery any longer and the food clearly needs an articulated redesign

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

My friend and I were meeting for Saturday brunch. We hadn't seen each other in over a year so it was nice to be able to sit, chat, and catch-up. The staff were attentive but not overly so. The service at CD-B is always top notch. I decided to change my order after it had gone into the kitchen and my waitress (Channing) didn't even blink an eye. She was happy to make the change for me and our food came right away. Although I'm no longer living in the DC area, I come home at least once a month and CD-B is always one of my top places to dine - whether you're looking for a nice brunch menu, dinner or a quick drink, the staff are always friendly and professional and the food is - delish!! Cinnamon Bun in a Skillet - need I say more!??!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I met some friends for a girls' dinner. Great location for conversation. They were able to sit and wait at the bar until we all got there for our reservation.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

A fantastic venue with excellent food and ambiance.

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We shoulda stayed at home, we said upon leaving the Cafe. I've had many pleasant meals there, but this time the food was just awful. My fish tacos were bland, in soggy taco shells, with wilted lettuce. Terrible. My husband had a steak salad, which was edible but also unseasoned.

It's too bad b/c this is an area (Bethesda) we love to visit. But something's happening there -- boarded up shops, restaurants and bars closed, ???? I hope it's not just gonna fold up its tent and leave.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I frequented Cafe Deluxe 5 years ago and have not been back sense. Most of my visit were for dinner. This trip was for lunch with a friend. It was a nice day and we sat outside. There were box trucks and trailers delivering food and it was congested and noisy. The waiter decided to seat us directly across from another occupied table when all the other tables were empty. One guest spoke very loudly interrupting and distracting me from my own conversation.
I had a fire roasted tomato soup which was excellent. The chicken quesadilla was edible but was the least enjoyable I have ever had.
The waitress did everything well. She was pleasant when I asked to return my ice tea ( which wasn't to my taste) and exchange it for water.
I wouldn't deter others from going there; but I would not recommend it as a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Consistently good food. No problem getting a table. The waiter was new, but did his best under the circumstances.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vegan, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I was very pleased with the food, service, and ambience. And I appreciated the fact that the hostess noticed that I had asked for a quiet table in the Notes/Comments field of my Open Table reservation, and she did seat us at a quiet table. Nicely done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We were able to sit outside, as the day was very pleasant. Early lunch (11:30am) for five. Laura was our server and was very timely and congenial. Lots of refills of our Arnold Palmers. We ordered clams, pizza, 2 x cheesburger, and eggs benedict. All OK. Eggs benedict was small, a lot of hashbrowns. Tasted good. Could have had additional side included. Refrigerator delivery trucks on Elm Street quite loud, waiting to unload. Any way around this?

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great menu...excellent chef. Our server, Deepah, was lovely and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Enjoyed fresh salads with grilled salmon. Fish was cooked to order. Pleasant outdoor seating, good for people watching in. Et heads. Service was friendly and attentive

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 21, 2017

One criticism - Monday night was supposed to offer discounted prices. However, they were out of half of the the wines on the list including the one we requested. No effort was made to correct the problem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very nice experience. High energy level with people enjoying themselves. Our waiter, Vince was very nice and very quick with our requests.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We found the service this visit not as good as we had expected -- in particular, we had to repeatedly remind our server to bring us items that we had ordered. In the end, our meal was OK . . . but our previous dining experiences at Café Deluxe have been better. Two of us ordered Mussels --- and we seem to remember that the meal previously included French fries -- this time we needed to order a separate side order . . . .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We have eaten here many time, mostly at the bar for happy hour, which is a good deal before a movie.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was bad, the portions were small, the orders were not correct and the wait staff was intrusively attentive. The restaurant was nearly empty. For good reason, it turns out.

Don't go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

We got a table outside on a very nice evening. Location is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our extremely pleasant waitress recommended shrimp and grits, and we enjoyed it very much. The noise level is usually high here, seems to have something to do with the architecture of the place. Food has always been reliably good.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Good food, great staff - enjoyable meal for all ages!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Cafe Deluxe is usually our "go to" especially with a small group because everybody can choose/find something they like on the menu. This past time was "just ok". The rib eye special though it sounded delicious was average, the service was a bit slow even though it was not packed, and we had to wait at the hostess stand even though we had reservations and several employees walked by seemingly ignoring us. On the plus side, the calamari and mozarella basil flatbread were excellent appetizer choices and just the right amount for 4 people.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2017

My only complaint is I found a small ant running around my plate of salad. Luckily I squashed him and there were no others in my food.

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We first ate there coincidentally on a busy Mothers' Day afternoon with friends. Food was adequate and service was attentive. We ate there again last week (July 17, not busy) with a guest from out of town. Arrived for a 6:15 PM reservation to an almost empty restaurant with a loud children's birthday near the rear of the dining room. We were seated in the left rear corner adjacent to the service area with a view of the maintenance equipment, right next to the noisy party. Restaurant was empty otherwise. Service was inattentive; one item that was requested "on the side" was not served. No drink refills were offered until entrees had been finished. Restaurant floor was filthy, again even though the place was empty for the duration of our stay. Comments were made to the manager as we were leaving, and maintenance equipment was moved. While we know that the drill is "say something while it is happening" we didn't want to create a disturbance in the presence of our out-of-town guest. You have to understand - making a fuss in public can be really embarrassing. We are unlikely to return because there are many restaurant choices in Bethesda and Rockville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

CaDel is our go to restaurant. We love the ambiance and Kevin the Bar Tender. the food is usual top drawer. This time the kitchen dropped the ball the AHI Tuna was over cooked. the steak was over cooked. The shrimp was dry. We intend to go back but it was not the usual joyous occasion

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The skillet cookie is fantastic! Sitting outdoors is a lot less noisy than inside, especially since the restaurant is on a side street.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We order the mahi mahi well done WITHOUTH cheese. The cook send the plate back with the fish well done WITH cheese... Then they send the salad without cheese but my appetite was gone. The manager did not charge for the food, but the experience was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

First time visit - the food was great and service was equal. We were not rushed for a leisurely lunch, getting together with friends. Standard American fare, with menu items for many dietary directions, but done at top quality. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Terrible experience. Food came out wrong, and the restaurant will not allow you to bring a stroller in. Instead, they insist you leave it by the host stand where it is not watched. Then, they gave me a high chair to turn upside down and put the infant car seat on top of, despite the fact that there is warning label on the chair warning against this. Also, the upside down high chair/infant car seat set up took just as much space as my stroller would have. I will not be returning here, and will let all my friends with young children know this restaurant is not family friendly and recommends putting your baby in danger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The server was slow and disheveled. He took forever to take our orders then clear our plates. We had to ask him to do so before eating dessert! Not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We have experienced Cafe Deluxe as a family since 2009. My general impression is that in 2009 this particular restaurant was slightly better. Selection of food is OK but not exceptional, and likely certain cooked items may be more recommendable than others (as opposed to have an all-clear selection). In particular: TOO MUCH SALT (we are talking industrial amounts even for people like me who LOVE salt!) in certain meats/seafood and even in cooked vegetables is not justifiable unless the stocking of food (i.e., freshness) is an issue. Too bad because otherwise it would be really a nice place.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We showed up on time for our reservation, but were told that we would have to wait 20 minutes for a table. When we objected (we had small children in our party), we were told that the only other option was to sit outside in the 90+ degree heat. We left for another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We enjoyed it very much. coffee too expensive. Make the mug smaller and lower the price.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good place for families, right in the heart of Bethesda. Waiter was very gracious to bring a 2nd Flatbread out since the first had been delivered before the other guests meals and this order was for a child as her main entree. He was also up on refilling glasses, which always seems to be a problem at some restaurants. It was not very crowded and I was wondering why I couldn't get an earlier reservation...I think they don't like to take reservations during lunch hours...this reservation was for 1:30 on a Saturday. All-in-all it was a fun place to be with family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The menu offered plenty of options of standard fare. Our table had salads and they were all good - not Wow! But good. Although we didn't order dessert, the choices were plentiful and sounded enticing.
Our server lacked enthusiasm and personality. It was like ordering from a mannequin. That being said, she was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Large windows were open due to cool June evening. Unfortunately that seemed to bring in gnats even where we were at the back of restaurant, and our waving them away all evening took away from the ambiance. We've been a couple of times before when everything was absolutely delicious, so the good but not great food was surprising, especially the bland blueberry cobbler with a blah doughy crust. Prices are reasonable and service was good. Not giving up yet on Cafe Deluxe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.