About Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda

4910 Elm Street
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Woodmont Ave & Elm St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 656-3131

Website:
http://cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a metered parking lot right next to the restaurant. Another hourly parking lot is one block from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located 3 blocks from Bethesda's metro stop.

Executive Chef:
Jason McIntosh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (34)
Casual (22)
Comfort Food (20)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Kid-friendly (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Business Meals (10)
Family Style (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Fun (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Cozy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Quick Bite (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

I would probably not go back. Drinks took forever, food was ok but my portion of Sea Bass was half of those at the table with me. Waiter was good and offered me a second piece to make up for it but it never came during dinner. Once we were ready for the check the waiter brought it in a to go container because he realized it never came out. Not impressed and not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is ALWAYS solid, and the staff is wonderful. Great for kids!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Reliable food; a little lite on shoestring fries today. Waitress went out of her way to suggest alternate sides.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I met my husband for a valentines day lunch. It was not packed which was great. My salad was delicious. The chef actually brought it to the table. Our wait staff was very attentive. My husband went there with a bunch of co-workers and said it was great then too which is why he suggested it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had brunch, and our omelettes were not great, our server was nice but our drinks came after our entrees. They did accommodate our one year old very well and brought her food quickly. Probably won't go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Enjoyed it very much. Thanks!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Good Service and good place for lunch. Very nice overall!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very disappointing. Cobb salad was slathered with oil and doesn't resemble the real thing. Regret not ordering a burger because that's about the only thing they don't screw up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The steak from the steak and eggs brunch plate was extremely fatty and difficult to eat. The waiter didn't bring us water when we sat down and only to one of us when we asked for it. The waiter also took forever to refill drinks and my husband sat waiting for his soda refill. The breakfast potatoes and steak needed seasoning.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went to Cafe Deluxe for brunch with a friend. Overall, the prices were very reasonable but the food was mediocre at best. The southern breakfast sandwich is NOT something I would order again and, frankly, the home fries that came with it were gross. Very sad, I absolutely love home fries. My friend got the blueberry pancakes, he said they were good but nothing special.

The dining area was large and very open. The staff was not particularly friendly or welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The server Vincent was courteous and funny. Everything came right when you thought about wanting it. Terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Consistently good food and service! You can rely on Cafe Deluxe.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We would come more often except that if you want to talk you have to cream. Anyway to treat the ceilings or walls to absorb more sound. Also need real margarita glasses and pout Albarino wine back in stock.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Promptly seated, service was good despite a busy night due to combination of MLK holiday and $19 bottle of wine night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Service was terrible. Waited at least 1/2 an hour for the food after we ordered.

Way, way too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food always. But a little noisy for my taste. A little hard to hear.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great little place! The Mac and Cheese with prosciutto is not to be missed! Good wine. My husband loved his pork chops. My steak was cooked perfectly. Our waited did a great job! We went to the bar and hung out for a little after. Very nice overall!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Cafe Deluxe is one of our Bethesda favorites. The food is consistently good. It's never too noisy, even when crowded. It's a relaxed and friendly place. Families seem to love it. They can just push several tables together. In good weather one of the front, glass walls opens, completely to let in the nice air, plus there's actual outside dining, as well.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I love this place. It's perfect for breakfast, brunch, lunch, or a casual dinner. The service is generally attentive and the food is always a great value!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Nice place for a simple, inexpensive Sunday brunch. Nearby parking very convenient, especially in bad weather.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful birthday brunch, the salmon Florentino eggs Benedict were amazing. Want to return and have them again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Dinner with family members from Britain was perfect (except for seating right next to the large window on a cold evening, which became very chilly as the meal wore on. The food was uniformly good, the noise level was low (as dinner was reasonably late, there wasn't the crowd there usually is) which promoted conversation, and it felt festive (it was December 30th and there were plenty of holiday lights on trees, etc. in the neighborhood.) We were apprehensive about cost as we usually do the paying but this was a "thank you" dinner from our guests for the time they spent in our home, but the prices were very reasonable, especially for the quality of the food, which was great. Uniformly a wonderful evening. Thanks

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We arrived a little early to beat the lunch hour rush and we ended up waiting over 45 minutes for our food. All of the tables that were seated after us got their food and when I asked our server about our food, she went to go check on it and came back to tell us it was being plated. I think she completely forgot about our order. She was extremely attentive but got overwhelmed when the restaurant got full that she forgot about us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Unfortunately the restaurant did not honor our request for a quiet table. We ended up eating in the bar where it was quieter than the middle of the room table given us.

Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Always a great meal here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The $8 delicious burgers!! Originally $14. I would have paid $20 it was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was of good quality. However, the server was extremely inattentive. We were ignored for long periods of time, despite attempts to make eye contact and otherwise flag the server down. This persisted even after we notified the hostess. It made for a very frustrating meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Only reason I gave service a lower score is because the waiter took a while to bring back my drinks from the bar so by the time I had already finished my meal the drink still hadn't arrived . I didn't want it then but the waiter gave some push back saying it was ready so I waited a bit longer for the drink before we left.

The food was delicious, we made reservations so we were seated right away . The facility was clean and other staff such as management were very nice .

One other small comment , as we had steak we requested A1 but it was watered down so that was bothersome .

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great for brunch with friends! Always have a good food and service

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Disappointed by my steak frite meal. The steak was full of gristle. No fun when you are eating with friends and you have to spit half your meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

So-so food: Lamb sandwich was soggy, with three tiny lettuce leaves and two strips of soggy bell pepper. Medium steak was medium-rare. Shoestring fries were cold. Hummus starter was good, but came with just a few strips of pita - asked for more, was told there would be an "up charge."

Poorly trained staff: If I say thank you, I don't expect a response of "no problem"! Of course it's not a problem - it's your job! Restaurant was nearly empty on this Tuesday evening at 6:00, so the staff hung out together chatting by the bar, far away across the vast room from the booths. Could imagine what the place would be like on a weekend evening - way too many tables crowded together.

Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was good but they were very understaffed for brunch on thanksgiving weekend. Didn't get food for an hour. Also very noisy!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

For the second time, the food at Cafe Deluxe Bethesda was undercooked and the service was largely absent and indifferent (with the exception of a manager).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Servers are extremely friendly and helpful. Food is good. Not gourmet but adequate. Loud like many restaurants

Overall good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Needed as q uiet a table as possible to sit and relax with my dear friend for conversation. The staff gave us the quietest table available, and the waiter was wonderful to let us stay for a nice long visit over brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Quick place to dine before or after movie. Varied menu and reasonable prices

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great as usual

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was okay, but the only thing that stood out was the skillet cookie (with vanilla ice cream) that the kids had for dessert. The fried calamari was okay, but I wouldn't recommend the crispy chicken rolls. The bread wasn't too fresh, and the server said the bread oven was out of order. The server was nice but was kind of frazzled. They didn't clear the small appetizer dishes off the table before bringing the main dishes, so the table was a mess of dirty plates and used, empty wine glasses. They really need to upgrade their service and/or hire more people to make sure the tables get cleared during the meal when necessary.

The place was extremely loud, it was almost impossible to hear anyone talking.

Tags: Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great spot - great food overall a nice place only it is a bit loud as it is busy and open concept

The service is very good I only took away a star because as it was packed service wasn't fast and we were not in a hurry .. probavly if you were th wy could accommodate that

.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food service was really slow, but the manager was great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great burger!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great time with picky parent eaters. Brunch was affordable and delicious!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Cafe deluxe has become a staple for my family because of the kids menu. However the food quality has steadily gone down. And without fail you know that food has been sitting under a heat lamp when you look at the kids mac and cheese. In the past we have asked for everything to be brought out as it's ready but it hasn't changed anything.

Their traditional chicken quesadilla used to have a tasty salsa and black bean relish which was great. However now it comes out dry with a creamy chipotle sauce which is bland. The roast chicken used to be tender and very juicy but now it is DRY no matter how much broth they put on it.

And the traditional spinach and artichoke is now spinach and leek which is okay but this was the second time the chips were STALE. I said something to the waitress and the person, maybe the manager, who swung bye asking how everything was, and they didn't say anything. So as the waitress stood there looking at me, I said again "these chips are stale" ! When I got no response I just asked for more chips. Service is very hit or miss there but having been a waiter as a kid I am probably too patient and tip too much for the service we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wow. I haven't been here in a while and it has gone significantly downhill. We arrived at 6:45 on a Saturday, and they were out of the first two things we ordered. Now I would understand if it was 9:30 on a Saturday, but, really? Service was mediocre, food was just OK. Too many better options in Bethesda to ever go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We went for Brunch on a Sunday morning. The restaurant wasn't too crowded, and the food was delicious. Our service was not good, although I think the problem was our particular waiter. Other tables seemed to be taken care of well, and when we flagged down other servers they were very helpful. However, our server was not attentive, didn't refill our coffee or bring us half and half, and was generally unavailable when we needed him.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

very dissapointed. I have been there in the past and enjoyed both the food and service. This time everything went poorly - restaurant not crowded either.

The manager stopped by, it was shared what we had been experiencing, he shared he would address it, and walked off. we never saw him again, we received the check, and never had anyone or anything done that made us feel even decent about the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The atmosphere was extremely loud and difficult to maintain a conversation. The server was absent most of the time, so it was quite difficult to get her attention for things. The drinks were good, but the food was blah. And the table runner who brought the food on quite hot plates gave them to the wrong people and when we asked for help to relocate them he ignored us and walked away, leaving us to move the hot plates around. Overall, a poor experience. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We've been here several times before and think of it as somewhere to go for a casual, unremarkable meal. Food tends to range from great to so-so, but we can have a fairly quick, casual family dinner without too long of a wait, and sometimes that's good enough. This time the restaurant was only half full, but service was extremely slow. It took 1/2 hour after ordering before we got salad and soup. The soup was lukewarm and the salad was so dry we had to ask for dressing. The manager passed us sitting with no food several times and never stopped. We had to cancel our after dinner plans because dinner took so long.

So, now I think of this as a last ditch choice, when you hope for a good casual meal and attentive service, but can afford mediocre food and slow service.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The service, as usual, was marvelous and staff are always there to assist my friends that use wheel chairs and/or have mobility issues. The bathroom is actually handicapped accessible!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The server was very informed and attentive. The kitchen not so much. My dining mate told the server that she was allergic to corn, then the kitchen put corn on the cob on her plate. I ordered steak frite which comes with Bearnaise but for some reason, I got catsup. The kitchen needs to get it together. This is too pricey a place to not get what you order. The restaurant is extremely loud, bar level noise. Difficult to have a conversation with out yelling across the table, and it wasn't even full when I was there. Probably won't come back because of that alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.