Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda

4.0
359 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Casual
  • Good for Groups
Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American, Burgers
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(301) 656-3131
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jason McIntosh
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Corner of Woodmont Ave & Elm St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is a metered parking lot right next to the restaurant. Another hourly parking lot is one block from the restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Located 3 blocks from Bethesda's metro stop.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access
What 359 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.0
service
3.9
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 3 days ago

We went to Cafe Deluxe for dinner on a Saturday night with the kids. Ordered drinks and then entrees. We got the drinks but then it was at least another 45 minutes before our entrees came out. And we had ordered salad, burger and pasta so it wasn't that our food took long to cook. When it did arrive the burger was way over cooked (had ordered medium), the chicken fingers were overcooked, the greek salad was tiny and not very appealing and the plate of sides was not very impressive considering it cost $15. It was very disappointing after waiting that long. My husband had to go to Five Guys for his burger afterwards. However, they were nice enough to remove the burger from the bill when we mentioned how inedible it was. Overall it was NOT a great experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 3 days ago

Very poor. Cold soup which we asked to be reheated and returned lukewarm. Did not get ordered veggies. No drink refills and lastly, incorrect check. Debating whether to return after many years of dining at Delux!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

We sat outside on the patio because it was a nice evening. The waitress was pleasant but slow to take our order. We sat for at least 10 minutes until someone acknowledged our presence. My husband ordered a burger and received his meal in a timely fashion. My daughter and I ordered four sides as a meal. They ran out of broccoli as a side and had to change it to another side, by the time we received the plate only one thing we actually ordered was on the plate. Overall a very disappointing experience. My husband was finished his meal and we finally got our plate of vegetables. There was no effort to make up for things or to even speed up the process to get us out check. There are to many other really great restaurants in Bethesda to try before we come back to Cafe Deluxe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Pretty, energetic restaurant with lovely service from Lenora. We had a group with kids too, and it was a great spot for our group. A dad wanted to see the tv, kids wanted milkshakes and I wanted a nice meal and a cheerful server. it was perfect. we sat in the window and it was fun to see people walk by and have comfort foods.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The Chicken Pot Pie tasted vinegary and the crust was quite thin. I've been ordering this from DeLuxe for many years and this is the first problem I've had. It is normally excellent. Perhaps it was a new chef with a new recipe. Either way it didn't work at all. If that were the first time I'd had it there I wouldn't return.
George guess

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Everything was super, we will be back.............................................and back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

CD never fails to exceed expectations!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Cafe Deluxe is always good and we appreciate its reliability

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food was surprisingly good, except for the bread. It had been sliced hours before, and was therefore dried out, but even at its best, the quality and taste of the bread was pretty bad. This is a shame, because management has clearly done a lot to beef up the kitchen. The shrimp and grits were excellent, as was the roast chicken one of our party ordered.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Good food and service , call ahead recommended. Inexpensive garage parking adjoining

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Bone-in pork chop was tough. I ordered different sides but the meal came out with the sides that were on the menu. The drink I ordered was skimpy. The original restaurant on Conn Ave that opened years ago was terrific. The Bethesda branch has gone so far downhill I won't go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Excellent experience all around, great for a business meeting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Beignet’s were very good. Everything was great

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The puff pastry on the chicken pot pie was white and doughy. Hadn’t been cooked all the way. I didn’t realize until another went by fluffy and browned. I should’ve returned it but they should’ve noticed when they brought it to me.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Always a satisfying experience. . . With no fuss or pretension. Very good coffee.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Never disappointed here. Nice variety on menu, casual, great for families, terrific service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

LaNora & the Maitre’d (I think she was the Maitre’d; she was a large African American woman) were both outstanding. The Maitre’d came to the table first to apologize for our drinks being delayed (which we barely noticed). She then came back a number of times-quite lovely. .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We had tickets to the movies around the corner. This restaurant was the perfect location for parking, dining and movie. The food was very good and service excellent and super fast.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Inedible. Second time in a row. Never going back. Lovely waiter tho.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Nice location and food choices for family dinner after an early movie at Bethesda Row.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The food was so-so: it looked better than it actually was: which was underwhelming. The services was underwhelming also. Would not go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Something must have recently happened (either change of management or change of chef) and the quality of food in this restaurant has declined considerably. This was also evident from the fact that at lunch time there were only 4 parties, whereas in the past it was difficult to find a table without reservations.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We took our 12 year old out for a special dinner. First post-surgical outing. The waiter took drink orders and totally overlooked my son. When my son's meal arrived, it was the wrong meal. He apologized and went back to re-order his meal. 20 minutes later the correct entree comes out with the wrong sides. Our first bill, actually charged us for both meals --- the one sent back and the partially corrected one. It was supposed to be a special event for my son, and instead it was one disappointment after another. The food was okay, but we're paying a premium for the service --- and that was a real disappointment. We won't be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

First time visiting Cafe Deluxe as we live outside the area but come in occasionally. Def will be back as food was reasonable & good quality. Drinks were a bit expensive but that's the way it is in general in that area. Will dine there again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Forgot one persons cheeseburger

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 6, 2018

I ordered Steak Béarnaise, and my steak came out without the sauce. When I asked the waiter, he said they were all out of the sauce (which is why I ordered the steak in the first place). He didnt let me know ahead of time and give me a chance to change my order. Then, he went into the kitchen and came out with the sauce. Not sure if someone just got lazy and didn't want to find a batch or heat it up, but it certainly showed that they didn't care too much. Also, my steak was tough and the salad that came along with it didn't have any dressing on it at all . I wouldn't spend my money there again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 4, 2018

We have dined at Cafe Deluxe numerous times and it is always good. But yesterday, the orders were mixed up a lot (especially for kids), which lowered enthusiasm. Granted it was a large group (10), so we hope this is just an exception.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Always a good experience

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

A little girl’s birthday party was going on, and although it was on the other side of the room that was all we heard! Yelping and rude young girls! I complained to the management and it turned out that the young girl having the party was the daughter of the owner and therefore staff was helpless to do anything about the loud noise!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 27, 2018

We should have booked later than 6:30 pm as the noise level was almost unbearable. A party of about twelve or more 6th graders (?) were having a whale of a time. I am not against people having fun but when you can't hear the conversation at your own table something is wrong. The food was fair but not outstanding. The spinach dip was the best and the rest was OK. The food was a long time in coming (had to prepare the pork chop twice as the first time it was overdone); the flatbread (apple, goat cheese, walnuts) did not have much taste and one of us asked for the salad dressing be on the side - it was not. However, the Prosecco was lovely! I have had much better food in Virginia diners at half the cost so I will not be repeating this dining mistake.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Always excellent! Always go when my parents re in town!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

I have been eating here for years. The menu has changed but the ambiance is the same. I seldom find anything great on the menu but I always come away satisfied. Good value; great staff; neighborhood gem.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 14, 2018

our food order came out all wrong and the waitress yelled at us. The turkey burgers were so salty that they were virtually inedible - everyone agreed the food was horrible

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Ordered braised lamb and got ... tender but entirely unimaginative braised lamb, lacking any interesting spicing/taste/sauce/etc. The accompanying side of spinach was tiny and a bit overcooked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2018

We were very pleased with the cheese burger (medium) and the salmon (medium rare) over salad. Both were prepared to order and were very good quality ingredients. One person had serious allergy concerns and the waitress made sure the kitchen was aware of the concerns and made adjustments to the recipe to accommodate the restrictions. We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 7, 2018

Good brunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 4, 2018

This is a great place to catch up with a friend over lunch. Always bright with the large windows in the front, and cozy booths. Wait staff are very friendly, accommodating and don't rush you. Food is always good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

I chose Cafe Deluxe for our group primarily because it was close to Landmark/Bethesda Row Cinema. It turned out that I made a wise choice because the outside temperature was freezing. However, what made the evening memorable was the understanding management when I kept changing the number in our group, our attentive and friendly server, and the outstanding food. I have always enjoyed a good hamburger, but the best I have ever had was the Bison Burger at Cafe Deluxe. It was also prepared to my specifications and served hot. Kudos to Cafe Deluxe for being a diamond among a group of gems.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Vincent, our server, was great. The food was REALLY delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Consistently good food. Never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9