About Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda

4910 Elm Street
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Woodmont Ave & Elm St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 656-3131

Website:
http://cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a metered parking lot right next to the restaurant. Another hourly parking lot is one block from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located 3 blocks from Bethesda's metro stop.

Executive Chef:
Jason McIntosh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (44)
neighborhood gem (31)
kid-friendly (25)
See All
great for brunch (24)
good for groups (20)
great for outdoor dining (18)
fit for foodies (11)
hot spot (4)
special occasion (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
notable wine list (2)
late-night find (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The waiter could not explain all the men ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The waiter could not explain all the menu choices; the appetizers never arrived, one of the meals was substandard, and the final bill was not accurate. Other than all this, the meal was uneventful. We will not be eating at Cafe Deluxe again. We didn't even get an apology at the end of the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great menu items but the actual food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great menu items but the actual food was not good at all. Eggs Benedicts (two orders) were completely overcooked. Menu is great but overall execution is not. This has happened multiple times at this location.

Great ambiance and bar service and quality of cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

We ate outside in the shade on a lovely ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We ate outside in the shade on a lovely day. While the kitchen messed up one of our orders, that was corrected, and the food was very good, as usual. We were there for brunch and had various egg dishes, the oatmeal, and a Croque Madame. Cafe Deluxe is one of our go-to places, as it is consistently good. It is very noisy inside and so we were very pleased to sit outside this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were here for brunch and overall ever ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were here for brunch and overall everything was OK, but we had a few disappointments. Two of our party ordered the french toast described as being 'garnished with mixed berries.' "Garnish" is right -- there were just a few berries and both diners had expected a bit more. My eggs benedict was disappointing--egg was overcooked, ham was thin and anemic-looking, hollandaise was bland. Also, another person in our party ordered the "Croque Madame" which was good except the sunny-side up egg was quite undercooked--it had a thick pool of raw egg white across it. Diner eats sunny-side up all the time but never had one which so much clear egg white on top.

The champagne cocktail was delicious, however, and everyone enjoyed the potatoes, which three diners said were "the best breakfast potatoes" they'd every had.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The service was great at first and then ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The service was great at first and then it was like he forgot we were sitting there. The food took way too long to come out and the waiter treated us like an afterthought- very disappointed. The food was good once it finally arrived but the potatoes cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Weekend dining experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Made an on-line reservation for two people; they had it listed for a party of six.

Requested a booth; they said no booths available, but clearly there were two or three and we were seated in one of them ,after all.

Cheeseburger was very average. Crab cakes were average.

3 stars is generous.

2/3 of the patrons were dining outside, so can not make a very accurate statement about inside restaurant noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good, drinks were good but serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was good, drinks were good but service was great! Loved our waiter - very personable and fun and knew the menu well. Would go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Regular diners. Good experiences all ar ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Regular diners. Good experiences all around. Would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

great in every way

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a party of 8 which they had no problem accommodating. The place is not small but its also not very big. The brunch menu was very nice with lots of appetizing items and the main menu was also very good with too many good choices. The server was excellent and the salted caramel milkshake was INSANE!!! Its worth going there just for the milkshakes. Parking is easy with the garage right next door.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They were a bit slow in getting our food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

They were a bit slow in getting our food to us. They were probably short staffed. But it was a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

was particularly pleased with the change ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

was particularly pleased with the changes to the menu, including the offering of a dozen sides

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall everything was great! Love going ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall everything was great! Love going there for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to the Cafe Deluxe at Tenley ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I have been to the Cafe Deluxe at Tenley many times. This was the first time I've visited the Bethesda location. I will certainly go back. The food was great, but the service was even better. KEVIN was ANAZING!!!! If you visit this location ask if Kevin is working and if so request to sit in his section. He is very knowledgable about the menu and was able to make great recommendations on substitutions. He was also wonderful with my 15 month old nephew. I love CD Tenley, but CD Bethesda is my new go to.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, the calamari cam ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food and service, the calamari came out late and was removed from the bill even though we didn't even ask for it!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server had to be told we were waitin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Our server had to be told we were waiting to be attended to. Then the manager ended up serving us because our server must have felt it was more important to tend to everyone else but us. Outside of that, the food and drinks were great. Seating was a bit tight, but you weren't all in someone else's conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Service and food were great. Noise leve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service and food were great. Noise level inside is very loud. We ate outside unfortunately between two tables who had in trained dogs and they barked throughout our entire mothers day meal. Which made our busy very unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Popular local lunch spot

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent for brunch, lunch or late night snack. Good variety of standard American fare. Noisy but a very positive vib. The waiter was not very attentive, a problem I've had here before, which is probably due to how large and crowded the place can get.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

THe Cafe Delux-Bethesda is a great spot for lunch.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The Café Delux-Bethesda is a great lunch spot for either a business lunch or a purely social event. The menu is good, the food is consistent, and the service is very good.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A gluten-free find!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our out-o-town guests and we enjoyed a casual & leisurely dinner. Wait staff was attentive and VERY knowledgable about the gluten-free menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Liked that we could sit outside

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Liked that we could sit outside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Had a very delicious brunch! We were the ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Had a very delicious brunch! We were the only people there when we arrived but by the time we left, it was packed! Service slowed down as it got busier, but our meal was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

While the bartender 'tried' to service o ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

While the bartender 'tried' to service our booth while tending the bar, it was an unrealistic expectation on the part of MGMT to schedule this way. Long pauses. Interest in dessert was lost losing restaurant revenue, as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great brunch selections, extremely amazing staff!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We had a great time with our mini friend reunion at Cafe Deluxe. With two young kids and four adults that are kids at heart, we all devoured the hot beignets with honey butter. Wonderful place for a mixed age group.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Healthy options

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Pretty restaurant, great service, good food. Several low calorie tasty options for brunch for patrons watching their weight.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place to dine

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I am a fan of Café Deluxe. The food is very good. Saturday's prime rib special was great, cooked perfectly (rare) and served hot. My only complaint is the noise level. It is hard to have a conversation. Will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was outstanding! He was atten ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Our server was outstanding! He was attention in every way and gave us honest opinions when we asked. The restaurant was a bit old when we arrived and they were very accommodating to us when we mentioned it. They seated us by one of the doors that opened so we were able to get some warmth from the outside.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Headed Downhill

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

I used to LOVE this restaurant...it is really starting to go downhill. This last time we went the food was awful. My family are creatures of habit and we order the same thing most of the time and the same meals are consistently changing and not for the better. I may stop going unless it improves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Great meeting place for food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent place to meet friends for food. Large variety of menu item types and amounts of food, great service, tasty food and lovely presentation too. No stairs. Quick seating, prompt service, clean.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and delicious food!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I met with sorority sisters that were here from out of town. We met for brunch and i brought along my children. The waiter was superb and the service was excellent. I would definitely recommend it and will visit again soon!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fine and convenient

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Our Cycle for Survival team went out for brunch after the amazing morning ride. It was busy but not as packed as the previous year. The breakfast sandwich was excellent, the eggs benedict not so much. Unfortunately our server seemed distracted and disorganized. The food took over 40 minutes to arrive, when it did it was warm and only 4 of the six dishes came. When the server came back to check on us he asked "was there something wrong with the dishes that you sent them back" we replied "no, they haven't come yet" To which he responded, "well, they should come soon, maybe the person couldn't carry all the plates at once" The rest of us were half way done by then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Poor service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Restaurant couldn't find my reservation (it was there) and had a bad attitude once they did find it. Service was inattentive but the food was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

We went during brunch and the atmosphere ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We went during brunch and the atmosphere was great. The food was very good and the sunrise mimosa went well with our meal. Parking can be hassle but the restaurant experience was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was ok but not spectacular. I order ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was ok but not spectacular. I ordered the french toast and it was only two pieces of bread with no sides for $10. Our waiter was terrible. We were there for about 15 minutes before anyone even acknowledged us. We ordered coffee and were going to order our food immediately since we had already been waiting but he ran off before we got a chance. It took another 10 minutes for him to bring us our coffee. It was very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

good food, but really noisy

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Brunch at Cafe Deluxe was OK, but the noise level made it difficult to talk to the person I was with. I had not expected so many Bethesda families with little kids at this restaurant. Food was tasty, but portions were small. Service was friendly and attentive without being overbearing. A late night outing sans all the kids would probably be more enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Burnt not braised

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Ordered Braised short ribs but got BURNT short ribs instead. Service was good until requested split check with friend. Only one credit card was returned to table. No one could find it so I had to cancel card. What seemed like a nice place turned out to be a negative experience for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Friendly and reliable

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Cafe Deluxe's excellent crab benedict on fried green tomatoes for brunch was the highlight. Love the booths, and in summer, the dining out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Very disappointing - nothing deluxe about it

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was a very disappointing brunch . The beignets were dense, dry and tasteless. The 'short stack' was two average sized bland pancakes. The steak in the steak and eggs breakfast was overcooked despite the request for medium. The drinks were the only part of the meal that was not a disappointment . This was not worth the money at all and I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Always good. Excellent prime rib: great ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Always good. Excellent prime rib: great Bloody Mary (made with beer).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just don't go to Cafe Deluxe

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

There were 5 of us ranging from 23 years to 60. The most passable thing our table ordered was the veggie burger. The fries were like cardboard. The omelets we ordered were tasteless, and weren't served as ordered (ex. ordered fruit, no bacon...came with bacon no fruit). The worst mimosas ever, didn't even look right much less taste good. The noise level is so loud conversation was almost impossible. A totally unpleasant experience. None of us will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

The food and service were great! Howeve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

The food and service were great! However, the dining room was very noisy, and tables are too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.