Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

4910 Elm Street
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Woodmont Ave & Elm St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 656-3131

Website:
http://cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a metered parking lot right next to the restaurant. Another hourly parking lot is one block from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located 3 blocks from Bethesda's metro stop.

Executive Chef:
Jason McIntosh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (25)
Great for Brunch (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Business Meals (14)
Quick Bite (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Cozy (4)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Family Style (0)
Sort By:
S
275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

One criticism - Monday night was supposed to offer discounted prices. However, they were out of half of the the wines on the list including the one we requested. No effort was made to correct the problem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice experience. High energy level with people enjoying themselves. Our waiter, Vince was very nice and very quick with our requests.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We found the service this visit not as good as we had expected -- in particular, we had to repeatedly remind our server to bring us items that we had ordered. In the end, our meal was OK . . . but our previous dining experiences at Café Deluxe have been better. Two of us ordered Mussels --- and we seem to remember that the meal previously included French fries -- this time we needed to order a separate side order . . . .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We have eaten here many time, mostly at the bar for happy hour, which is a good deal before a movie.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was bad, the portions were small, the orders were not correct and the wait staff was intrusively attentive. The restaurant was nearly empty. For good reason, it turns out.

Don't go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

We got a table outside on a very nice evening. Location is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our extremely pleasant waitress recommended shrimp and grits, and we enjoyed it very much. The noise level is usually high here, seems to have something to do with the architecture of the place. Food has always been reliably good.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Good food, great staff - enjoyable meal for all ages!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Cafe Deluxe is usually our "go to" especially with a small group because everybody can choose/find something they like on the menu. This past time was "just ok". The rib eye special though it sounded delicious was average, the service was a bit slow even though it was not packed, and we had to wait at the hostess stand even though we had reservations and several employees walked by seemingly ignoring us. On the plus side, the calamari and mozarella basil flatbread were excellent appetizer choices and just the right amount for 4 people.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2017

My only complaint is I found a small ant running around my plate of salad. Luckily I squashed him and there were no others in my food.

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We first ate there coincidentally on a busy Mothers' Day afternoon with friends. Food was adequate and service was attentive. We ate there again last week (July 17, not busy) with a guest from out of town. Arrived for a 6:15 PM reservation to an almost empty restaurant with a loud children's birthday near the rear of the dining room. We were seated in the left rear corner adjacent to the service area with a view of the maintenance equipment, right next to the noisy party. Restaurant was empty otherwise. Service was inattentive; one item that was requested "on the side" was not served. No drink refills were offered until entrees had been finished. Restaurant floor was filthy, again even though the place was empty for the duration of our stay. Comments were made to the manager as we were leaving, and maintenance equipment was moved. While we know that the drill is "say something while it is happening" we didn't want to create a disturbance in the presence of our out-of-town guest. You have to understand - making a fuss in public can be really embarrassing. We are unlikely to return because there are many restaurant choices in Bethesda and Rockville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 11, 2017

CaDel is our go to restaurant. We love the ambiance and Kevin the Bar Tender. the food is usual top drawer. This time the kitchen dropped the ball the AHI Tuna was over cooked. the steak was over cooked. The shrimp was dry. We intend to go back but it was not the usual joyous occasion

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The skillet cookie is fantastic! Sitting outdoors is a lot less noisy than inside, especially since the restaurant is on a side street.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We order the mahi mahi well done WITHOUTH cheese. The cook send the plate back with the fish well done WITH cheese... Then they send the salad without cheese but my appetite was gone. The manager did not charge for the food, but the experience was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

First time visit - the food was great and service was equal. We were not rushed for a leisurely lunch, getting together with friends. Standard American fare, with menu items for many dietary directions, but done at top quality. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Terrible experience. Food came out wrong, and the restaurant will not allow you to bring a stroller in. Instead, they insist you leave it by the host stand where it is not watched. Then, they gave me a high chair to turn upside down and put the infant car seat on top of, despite the fact that there is warning label on the chair warning against this. Also, the upside down high chair/infant car seat set up took just as much space as my stroller would have. I will not be returning here, and will let all my friends with young children know this restaurant is not family friendly and recommends putting your baby in danger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The server was slow and disheveled. He took forever to take our orders then clear our plates. We had to ask him to do so before eating dessert! Not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We have experienced Cafe Deluxe as a family since 2009. My general impression is that in 2009 this particular restaurant was slightly better. Selection of food is OK but not exceptional, and likely certain cooked items may be more recommendable than others (as opposed to have an all-clear selection). In particular: TOO MUCH SALT (we are talking industrial amounts even for people like me who LOVE salt!) in certain meats/seafood and even in cooked vegetables is not justifiable unless the stocking of food (i.e., freshness) is an issue. Too bad because otherwise it would be really a nice place.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We showed up on time for our reservation, but were told that we would have to wait 20 minutes for a table. When we objected (we had small children in our party), we were told that the only other option was to sit outside in the 90+ degree heat. We left for another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We enjoyed it very much. coffee too expensive. Make the mug smaller and lower the price.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good place for families, right in the heart of Bethesda. Waiter was very gracious to bring a 2nd Flatbread out since the first had been delivered before the other guests meals and this order was for a child as her main entree. He was also up on refilling glasses, which always seems to be a problem at some restaurants. It was not very crowded and I was wondering why I couldn't get an earlier reservation...I think they don't like to take reservations during lunch hours...this reservation was for 1:30 on a Saturday. All-in-all it was a fun place to be with family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The menu offered plenty of options of standard fare. Our table had salads and they were all good - not Wow! But good. Although we didn't order dessert, the choices were plentiful and sounded enticing.
Our server lacked enthusiasm and personality. It was like ordering from a mannequin. That being said, she was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Large windows were open due to cool June evening. Unfortunately that seemed to bring in gnats even where we were at the back of restaurant, and our waving them away all evening took away from the ambiance. We've been a couple of times before when everything was absolutely delicious, so the good but not great food was surprising, especially the bland blueberry cobbler with a blah doughy crust. Prices are reasonable and service was good. Not giving up yet on Cafe Deluxe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

After being seated, no one waited on us at all - I had to go to the hostess 2x to ask for a waiter to assist us. Then several waiters showed up asking for our orders - soon we received extra cups of coffee - took 45 minutes after finally ordering to receive our food. It is also very noisy. Won't be going there again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Good food and service. Relaxed. Friendly. Affordable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The service was incredibly slow. It took a long time to get water and bread, and to place our order. When bread was brought to the table, the server gave us only 2 plates for a party of 3 and left before we could request a third plate or a refill of water. The food was mediocre. The chicken looked and tasted like it was previously frozen and cooked in a microwave. We waited (AGAIN) to get the check. We will not be returning.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We enjoyed our Saturday brunch. We sat outside. The server was very attentive. We ordered from the breakfast menu but the lunch menu was also available. The croc madame was good. Eggs good too. The servings were plentiful. We would return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We stopped at Cafe Deluxe for a quick bite before the movie. Quick service in the bar area, plus happy hour prices. Its a regular stop for us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The server was great. I stopped in for a quick breakfast (and mimosa) and even though I was alone he was as attentive as if I came with a large group.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We have eaten here many times. This time the service and food was disappointing. Many open tables at the place. Yet it still took over 15 minutes for the first person to come to our table. Then the kitchen performed poorly. Forgot the chicken on one salad, another's person food was just plain cold. Unusual for this place. but still.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Cafe Deluxe has its hits and misses. A simple omelet should always be a hit, but unfortunately it was tepid and the hash browns were as salty as the sea, and the biscuit was cold. Very disappointing. Noise level is always too high, but I knew to expect that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Friendly atmosphere and server. Dessert was awesome and plenty for 4 people to share

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

CDL is always awesome! My family and I just love going there and enjoying their service and food!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a relaxing early dinner on Mother's Day after a wonderful day visiting the African American Museum downtown DC. The food was delicious and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place. Can almost always get a table because it is large. Food is good, well priced and has enough variety you can usually find something you like. Good for kids and large gatherings. Not as much for romantic/dates as it is usually busy and pretty noisy. Not bad but be prepared for lots of chatter. This is one of our go to places, as with 3 kids under 3 it is not always easy to have successful outings. Cafe Deluxe always delivers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A typical brunch .While comparative in cost with other places in the area it still leaves you a little down spending $100 for 4 omlets and two drinks and two coffees. (Tip included).

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food, ask for server Nora, she's the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

nice dinner, love their prosciutto flatbread, good bottle of zinfandel for <$40, good dessert apple cobbler and chocolate cake.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Three in my party (of 9)ordered either the steak sandwich or the steak salad and all of them thought the steak was either tough or over cooked. When we ordered the steak sandwich we asked for y to be very rare. We were told that they cook the rare but then bake the sandwich so it ends up well done. So we asked for it not to be baked. After getting a well done steak we asked why and were told that sometimes they precook the steaks. We should have been informed of that up front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Service was awesome! Peach cobbler, one of the best I've eaten at a restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.