About Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda

4910 Elm Street
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Woodmont Ave & Elm St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 656-3131

Website:
http://cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a metered parking lot right next to the restaurant. Another hourly parking lot is one block from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located 3 blocks from Bethesda's metro stop.

Executive Chef:
Jason McIntosh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Comfort Food (13)
See All
Casual (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Family Style (7)
Fun (7)
Business Meals (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Disappointed by my steak frite meal. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Disappointed by my steak frite meal. The steak was full of gristle. No fun when you are eating with friends and you have to spit half your meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

So-so food: Lamb sandwich was soggy, wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

So-so food: Lamb sandwich was soggy, with three tiny lettuce leaves and two strips of soggy bell pepper. Medium steak was medium-rare. Shoestring fries were cold. Hummus starter was good, but came with just a few strips of pita - asked for more, was told there would be an "up charge."

Poorly trained staff: If I say thank you, I don't expect a response of "no problem"! Of course it's not a problem - it's your job! Restaurant was nearly empty on this Tuesday evening at 6:00, so the staff hung out together chatting by the bar, far away across the vast room from the booths. Could imagine what the place would be like on a weekend evening - way too many tables crowded together.

Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was good but they were very underst ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was good but they were very understaffed for brunch on thanksgiving weekend. Didn't get food for an hour. Also very noisy!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

For the second time, the food at Cafe De ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

For the second time, the food at Cafe Deluxe Bethesda was undercooked and the service was largely absent and indifferent (with the exception of a manager).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Servers are extremely friendly and helpf ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Servers are extremely friendly and helpful. Food is good. Not gourmet but adequate. Loud like many restaurants

Overall good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Needed as q uiet a table as possible to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Needed as q uiet a table as possible to sit and relax with my dear friend for conversation. The staff gave us the quietest table available, and the waiter was wonderful to let us stay for a nice long visit over brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Quick place to dine before or after movi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Quick place to dine before or after movie. Varied menu and reasonable prices

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great as usual

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great as usual

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was okay, but the only thing th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was okay, but the only thing that stood out was the skillet cookie (with vanilla ice cream) that the kids had for dessert. The fried calamari was okay, but I wouldn't recommend the crispy chicken rolls. The bread wasn't too fresh, and the server said the bread oven was out of order. The server was nice but was kind of frazzled. They didn't clear the small appetizer dishes off the table before bringing the main dishes, so the table was a mess of dirty plates and used, empty wine glasses. They really need to upgrade their service and/or hire more people to make sure the tables get cleared during the meal when necessary.

The place was extremely loud, it was almost impossible to hear anyone talking.

Tags: Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great spot - great food overall a nice p ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great spot - great food overall a nice place only it is a bit loud as it is busy and open concept

The service is very good I only took away a star because as it was packed service wasn't fast and we were not in a hurry .. probavly if you were th wy could accommodate that

.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food service was really slow, but the ma ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food service was really slow, but the manager was great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great burger!

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great burger!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great time with picky parent eaters. Br ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great time with picky parent eaters. Brunch was affordable and delicious!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Cafe deluxe has become a staple for my f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Cafe deluxe has become a staple for my family because of the kids menu. However the food quality has steadily gone down. And without fail you know that food has been sitting under a heat lamp when you look at the kids mac and cheese. In the past we have asked for everything to be brought out as it's ready but it hasn't changed anything.

Their traditional chicken quesadilla used to have a tasty salsa and black bean relish which was great. However now it comes out dry with a creamy chipotle sauce which is bland. The roast chicken used to be tender and very juicy but now it is DRY no matter how much broth they put on it.

And the traditional spinach and artichoke is now spinach and leek which is okay but this was the second time the chips were STALE. I said something to the waitress and the person, maybe the manager, who swung bye asking how everything was, and they didn't say anything. So as the waitress stood there looking at me, I said again "these chips are stale" ! When I got no response I just asked for more chips. Service is very hit or miss there but having been a waiter as a kid I am probably too patient and tip too much for the service we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Wow. I haven't been here in a while and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wow. I haven't been here in a while and it has gone significantly downhill. We arrived at 6:45 on a Saturday, and they were out of the first two things we ordered. Now I would understand if it was 9:30 on a Saturday, but, really? Service was mediocre, food was just OK. Too many better options in Bethesda to ever go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

We went for Brunch on a Sunday morning. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We went for Brunch on a Sunday morning. The restaurant wasn't too crowded, and the food was delicious. Our service was not good, although I think the problem was our particular waiter. Other tables seemed to be taken care of well, and when we flagged down other servers they were very helpful. However, our server was not attentive, didn't refill our coffee or bring us half and half, and was generally unavailable when we needed him.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

very dissapointed. I have been there in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

very dissapointed. I have been there in the past and enjoyed both the food and service. This time everything went poorly - restaurant not crowded either.

The manager stopped by, it was shared what we had been experiencing, he shared he would address it, and walked off. we never saw him again, we received the check, and never had anyone or anything done that made us feel even decent about the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The atmosphere was extremely loud and di ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The atmosphere was extremely loud and difficult to maintain a conversation. The server was absent most of the time, so it was quite difficult to get her attention for things. The drinks were good, but the food was blah. And the table runner who brought the food on quite hot plates gave them to the wrong people and when we asked for help to relocate them he ignored us and walked away, leaving us to move the hot plates around. Overall, a poor experience. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

We've been here several times before and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We've been here several times before and think of it as somewhere to go for a casual, unremarkable meal. Food tends to range from great to so-so, but we can have a fairly quick, casual family dinner without too long of a wait, and sometimes that's good enough. This time the restaurant was only half full, but service was extremely slow. It took 1/2 hour after ordering before we got salad and soup. The soup was lukewarm and the salad was so dry we had to ask for dressing. The manager passed us sitting with no food several times and never stopped. We had to cancel our after dinner plans because dinner took so long.

So, now I think of this as a last ditch choice, when you hope for a good casual meal and attentive service, but can afford mediocre food and slow service.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

The service, as usual, was marvelous and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The service, as usual, was marvelous and staff are always there to assist my friends that use wheel chairs and/or have mobility issues. The bathroom is actually handicapped accessible!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The server was very informed and attenti ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The server was very informed and attentive. The kitchen not so much. My dining mate told the server that she was allergic to corn, then the kitchen put corn on the cob on her plate. I ordered steak frite which comes with Bearnaise but for some reason, I got catsup. The kitchen needs to get it together. This is too pricey a place to not get what you order. The restaurant is extremely loud, bar level noise. Difficult to have a conversation with out yelling across the table, and it wasn't even full when I was there. Probably won't come back because of that alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This is a great American-fare restaurant ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This is a great American-fare restaurant right in downtown Bethesda. Easy to get to, nice menu, and close to other bars, stores, etc., so you can really give yourself a night on the town.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

understaffed putting a lot of pressure o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

understaffed putting a lot of pressure on waiters to try to keep up. So service was poor. Went for a Sunday Brunch, and the Food was mediocre. Eggs tasted a bit plastic, potatoes were just not good. Bacon was hyped with a great sounding name but the reality is that it was skinny thin cheap tasting bacon. Biscuits were cold. And couldn't get a coffee refill to save our lives. Just brunch but we are not planning on going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Miss the former management and servers. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Miss the former management and servers.

Maybe others do too - fewer customers dining today . . .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Took quite a while to get our food but o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Took quite a while to get our food but otherwise the visit was good.

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Bad inattentive service, worst in a whil ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Bad inattentive service, worst in a while. Super loud, had to shout to speak. Food mediocre. Tasted factory produced. Stay away from colossal chocolate dessert. Never again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

The food is always good here, and it was ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food is always good here, and it was actually pretty quiet on a weekday for lunch. Our servers went out of their way for us. It was a wonderful lunch. We had the grilled cheese, the cod lunch, and a turkey burger, all yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was fantastic, as usual. We p ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our waiter was fantastic, as usual. We particularly appreciate that the restaurant is physically accessible to people who use wheel chairs and have mobility issues. The food is reliably good, if not delicious, and the brunch menu fresh. CD always offers interesting mixed drinks and good dishes for even the pickiest eaters. The staff are flexible and will work with you to make sure your order meets your dietary needs/preferences. Our circle of friends meets once a month at CD-B, mainly because the food, service, and accessibility are above and beyond what other Bethesda eateries offer. Plus, it is a great value. We have between 3-7 people in our party, so even when it's a larger group, CD-B is the best bet for us!

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our meals were good. The appetizer our s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our meals were good. The appetizer our server recommended was disappointing. We had to flag down our server to order drinks, an appetizer, and again to order dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Crispy spring rolls & pepper-crusted tun ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Crispy spring rolls & pepper-crusted tuna are my favorites.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Cafe Deluxe has not aged well. We've bee ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Cafe Deluxe has not aged well. We've been eating there since since the original restaurant opened (10-15 years ago). It used to be consistent, high quality, and a good option to take the kids out. Now it's just tired and seems to be running on auto-pilot. On our last visit, the service was friendly but lousy. The beignets we ordered as an appetizer "somehow were forgotten" according to our waiter. When they arrived -- after the main courses -- they were doughy and leaden. Even the kids with us wouldn't eat them. The poached eggs were way overcooked (rock hard) and had to be sent back. Unfortunately, we're taking this one off our list and won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

My first time dining here, I ordered the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

My first time dining here, I ordered the Calamari, it was different. The calamari wasn't your typical deep fried served with Marinara on the side type, their calamari was pan fried then tossed with an unique sauce. I ordered a Trout special they were serving, it was filled with crabmeat and spinach. I did not enjoy it too much because the filling was salty but that won't stop me from giving Cafe Deluxe another try in the future. Our service was excellent, all the staff members were helpful and caring.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

My only knock on Cafe Deluxe concerns th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

My only knock on Cafe Deluxe concerns the noise level in the main dining room, which borders on extreme during busy times. Otherwise, the experience is fine...not spectacular, but it isn't priced to be. I think some sound absorbing materials could be added to the room without diminishing the aesthetics, and management should look into that.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Exactly what you expect. No more, no le ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Exactly what you expect. No more, no less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

excellent service. we had a mix up with ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2016

excellent service. we had a mix up with an order and the waiter and manager both came by to apologize and give us a comp discount for another dinner (we had already paid the bill when we told him). Very friendly too. Food was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been here before and the food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been here before and the food was okay. This last visit will be the last time we dine here. The daily special was seared tuna, which we ordered. To out it simply, the fish was spoiled. While the waitress was good, all the food was sub par. Someone at our table ordered the steak - it was tasteless. The grilled chicken salad can be found anywhere and nothing special either. The only redeeming quality is that it was a lovely evening to sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

My meal was awful. I ordered steak frit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

My meal was awful. I ordered steak frites, cooked medium and it was so unbelievably dry, I couldn't even finish it. Extremely disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Generally food is very good. My guest an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Generally food is very good. My guest and I both had the Cobb Salad and we felt it was not up to their usual high standards. Not Bad just not as good as some of the other choices we have made in the past.

We will return and try something else

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed a family brunch

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Enjoyed a family brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall, a good brunch experience, and g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall, a good brunch experience, and good food. I did have to get a new cup of coffee because the 1st cup they brought was dirty. Yuck. Also, we asked to have all of the dishes at the same time, but they brought the cinnamon roll first anyway. I would say it is very like Ted's Bulletin, but just a half-notch below in terms of food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.