Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

4910 Elm Street
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Woodmont Ave & Elm St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 656-3131

Website:
http://cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a metered parking lot right next to the restaurant. Another hourly parking lot is one block from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located 3 blocks from Bethesda's metro stop.

Executive Chef:
Jason McIntosh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Kid-friendly (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Authentic (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Healthy (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Cozy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort by
S
308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Cafe Deluxe is my go to neighborhood restaurant when we go to the movies. Its good food and drinks - often go for Happy Hour. We go there so often my husband complains about it! I like sitting in the bar area, which is cozy and less noisy than the table area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Quality of food is inconsistent. One time it's excellent, warm nicely presented. The next time it's mediocre, cold and thrown together.bar is great. Menu is good. Staff are not overwhelming and discreetly keep your meal going so no rush. Biggest problems are in the kitchen I suspect!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2017

This is a great place to go that is not too expensive and has a wide menu selection that should appeal to the whole group. Noise level acceptable except at the busiest times. Food is reliably good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Inexperienced servers. Food very average. Some served cold. Gone downhill. Not going back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Weirdly terrible experience at a Bethesda staple. Service was absolutely brutal: we never really had a waiter, and the guy who seemed like he was supposed to be was so awkward it was like we were his first table ever. Felt like nobody knew we were there. Chef forgot the feta in a feta spinach and tomato omelette. Couldn’t complain until the meal was almost done because nobody attended us, but then the host picked us up a dish of feta cheese to rectify the situation (rather than remake), but the dish had bits of jam in it, which is kind of gross. Honestly everything about it was bad with the exception of one of the dishes, which was a fantastic Florentine eggs Benedict.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2017

I must speak in praise of Cafe Deluxe, the one in Bethesda. (I also like the one on Wisconsin Ave. in NW DC.)

The server was a paragon of patience and grace, dealing with a party of 12 that arrived in pieces, with most arriving significantly late. He took orders early and often. He handled our needs with humor.

The food was tasty and fresh. Everyone was happy with what they ordered, with the exception of one or two of our number who also wished they had ordered what someone else got. More peanut butter captain crunch milkshakes were consumed than was wise. We ate a variety of lunch and brunch items.

Much scribbling was done with crayons all along the table. Our youngest (13) was drawing, along with his cousin who was creating masterpieces, plus many adults.

The owner -- I think she's the owner, maybe she's the manager, in any case she's the one who called that morning to remind me of the reservation -- found us towards the end of the meal and bantered with my wife and myself. She was charming and engaging and I realized from the discussion that she takes a great interest in her staff.

Will we return? Absolutely. Will we give the server and the owner a hard time? I fear we will. Likely by far that we will inflict upon them our lovable -- NOT! -- incompetence, inexcusable tardiness, constant demands for small changes in our orders, lost purses, need to engage in rapt conversations with staff and management about motorcycles and general bewilderment. And yet if our recent experience is any gauge, they will be able to accommodate us with a smile and a quick milkshake.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2017

The food was good. The atmosphere was relaxing. However, one moment was exceptionally rude. My friend had requested a gluten free menu and let the server know that she was allergic. The server even checked with the bartender to make sure that the Bloody Mary was gluten free, which thankfully it was.

When we ordered our food, my friend ordered the mussels from the gluten free menu. Just because of her allergy, she asked the server to make sure the kitchen didn’t add the bread that may normally come with.

Our food came out and unfortunately, there was bread on the mussels. Our server came back to our table and noticed the bread immediately. He apologized, said that he told the kitchen about her allergy and went to take her plate back.

This is when the rude moment came. A couple of minutes later, the server came back to the table and asked the following question. “My manager wants to know how allergic you are to gluten.” WTF?! What type of manager would ask such a question. What was supposed to be a girlfriends brunch was slightly ruined by this. My friend looked at the server and pretty much said “If the manager wants to pay for my hospital bill. They can!”

Will we come back to Cafe Deluxe for brunch? Possibly but if this situation was to happen again, it would be our last time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2017

The food was incredible and service was great! Highly recommend the grilled salmon and the fish of the day (mahi mahi) was perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2017

We go to Cafe Deluxe often and usually sit in the bar area. This time we sat at a table at my husband's insistence. I'm going back to the bar next time. More cozy and quieter,

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2017

My wife and I eat at Cafe Deluxe often. We like the diverse, healthy menu. We also often bring our granddaughter with us--they are kid/family friendly. We are particularly enjoying Cafe Deluxe's mussels entree. We have been ordering it as an appetizer to split between us. The price-value of our meals is VG!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Comfort Food, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Service was great... they were attentive and understanding. My food was very good however my friend ordered the steak frites which was initially well done when asked to be medium... and the second time came out raw. Was the only complaint. They tried to be very accommodating about it however couldn't get the cook on the meat the way a medium steak should be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Restaurant was empty on Saturday night. One dish was sent back because it came out of the kitchen cold. Another dish was inedible. The restaurant took the dish off our bill. Bread never served although requested. Waiter tried very hard but not very knowledgeable about menu. Hard to find something for a vegetarian who does not eat food cooked on butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Always dependable, delicious "comfort food" - excellent service and entrees offer something for everyone's taste. Always enjoyable.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Good brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Not our first time and won't be our last. Menu offers something for everyone including a vegetarian in our party. Food was good and service friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2017

This place has gone really down hill. The food was pretty mediocre. The description of the salmon and crab cake benedicts looked outstanding but when the food came out, it looked like an amateur cook made them. I used to be a big fan of Cafe Deluxe 10 years ago but something is going on here. I can get way more for my money at a diner.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 17, 2017

We had a very delicious lunch. The service wasn’t speedy but we had a very nice waiter. Located next to a parking garage.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2017

My friend and I were two of few customers; most of them were at the bar watching the game. Our server was very friendly and efficient. Unfortunately, both of our meals were wanting. Her salad contained fried capers, which she had specifically requested not to have, and my prime rib sandwich was decidedly off. After telling our server, she promptly replaced our orders and kept offering additional items to compensate us. Since we didn't want anything else, she comped our dessert.
I have eaten at Cafe Deluxe many times, and this was the first time there was any problem with the food. I was pleased with the way it was handled. She did her best to relieve our embarrassment at having to complain about the food. Cafe Deluxe has always been my go-to for a casual dinner, and that has not changed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

My wife and I opted for dinner there the other night (a Saturday) because the food is a solid value and service has always been reliable . That night, things went awry. First, we were unsettled by what we considered to be small pour sizes for the wine -- the 5 ounces (so we were told) was their standard pour, but that seemed an ounce or two low compared to what we're used to at other restaurants (and we eat out A LOT in Bethesda). Compared to, say Mon Ami Gabi -- where the waiters come to your table with empty glasses and pour from the bottle right in front of you -- the wine pours at Cafe Deluxe are apparently measured at the bar with ball bearing precision, and unhappily so. To top it off, the gas burner on the ovens went out that night, causing our dinners to be hideously long in arriving (to be fair, our waitress warned us that the gas had gone out, and that it might be a long wait).

Our waitress did her best to make up for the snafus, and the manager was gracious in initially providing a free glass of wine after our complaining about the pour ( a first for us), and then in comping all of our wine and offering free dessert after the long wait (we were late for our movie by then, and so had to rush out). We appreciated the good attitude, of course. But they could ensure consistently happy customers by upping that standard wine pour by even just an ounce. I mean, we all know the markup on house wines, and a good pour makes for happier customers and good reviews.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Amazing! As usual. 6 friends for a 17th birthday. Great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I hate not being complementary about a local restaurant, and I’m sure Cafe Delux does some things very well. Our experience was very lackluster, with food that bordered on inedible. The pork chop was too tough to even cut. My grilled shrimp were lukewarm and unseasoned, accompanied by grilled veggies that were saturated in vinegar. Our server was a delight and very accommodating, but it didn’t make up for the awful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

we had a wonderful moment breakfast was very good. was very good.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was terrible - this is not a high end eatery any longer and the food clearly needs an articulated redesign

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

My friend and I were meeting for Saturday brunch. We hadn't seen each other in over a year so it was nice to be able to sit, chat, and catch-up. The staff were attentive but not overly so. The service at CD-B is always top notch. I decided to change my order after it had gone into the kitchen and my waitress (Channing) didn't even blink an eye. She was happy to make the change for me and our food came right away. Although I'm no longer living in the DC area, I come home at least once a month and CD-B is always one of my top places to dine - whether you're looking for a nice brunch menu, dinner or a quick drink, the staff are always friendly and professional and the food is - delish!! Cinnamon Bun in a Skillet - need I say more!??!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I met some friends for a girls' dinner. Great location for conversation. They were able to sit and wait at the bar until we all got there for our reservation.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

A fantastic venue with excellent food and ambiance.

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We shoulda stayed at home, we said upon leaving the Cafe. I've had many pleasant meals there, but this time the food was just awful. My fish tacos were bland, in soggy taco shells, with wilted lettuce. Terrible. My husband had a steak salad, which was edible but also unseasoned.

It's too bad b/c this is an area (Bethesda) we love to visit. But something's happening there -- boarded up shops, restaurants and bars closed, ???? I hope it's not just gonna fold up its tent and leave.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I frequented Cafe Deluxe 5 years ago and have not been back sense. Most of my visit were for dinner. This trip was for lunch with a friend. It was a nice day and we sat outside. There were box trucks and trailers delivering food and it was congested and noisy. The waiter decided to seat us directly across from another occupied table when all the other tables were empty. One guest spoke very loudly interrupting and distracting me from my own conversation.
I had a fire roasted tomato soup which was excellent. The chicken quesadilla was edible but was the least enjoyable I have ever had.
The waitress did everything well. She was pleasant when I asked to return my ice tea ( which wasn't to my taste) and exchange it for water.
I wouldn't deter others from going there; but I would not recommend it as a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Consistently good food. No problem getting a table. The waiter was new, but did his best under the circumstances.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vegan, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I was very pleased with the food, service, and ambience. And I appreciated the fact that the hostess noticed that I had asked for a quiet table in the Notes/Comments field of my Open Table reservation, and she did seat us at a quiet table. Nicely done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We were able to sit outside, as the day was very pleasant. Early lunch (11:30am) for five. Laura was our server and was very timely and congenial. Lots of refills of our Arnold Palmers. We ordered clams, pizza, 2 x cheesburger, and eggs benedict. All OK. Eggs benedict was small, a lot of hashbrowns. Tasted good. Could have had additional side included. Refrigerator delivery trucks on Elm Street quite loud, waiting to unload. Any way around this?

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great menu...excellent chef. Our server, Deepah, was lovely and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Enjoyed fresh salads with grilled salmon. Fish was cooked to order. Pleasant outdoor seating, good for people watching in. Et heads. Service was friendly and attentive

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 21, 2017

One criticism - Monday night was supposed to offer discounted prices. However, they were out of half of the the wines on the list including the one we requested. No effort was made to correct the problem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very nice experience. High energy level with people enjoying themselves. Our waiter, Vince was very nice and very quick with our requests.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We found the service this visit not as good as we had expected -- in particular, we had to repeatedly remind our server to bring us items that we had ordered. In the end, our meal was OK . . . but our previous dining experiences at Café Deluxe have been better. Two of us ordered Mussels --- and we seem to remember that the meal previously included French fries -- this time we needed to order a separate side order . . . .

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We have eaten here many time, mostly at the bar for happy hour, which is a good deal before a movie.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was bad, the portions were small, the orders were not correct and the wait staff was intrusively attentive. The restaurant was nearly empty. For good reason, it turns out.

Don't go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

We got a table outside on a very nice evening. Location is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our extremely pleasant waitress recommended shrimp and grits, and we enjoyed it very much. The noise level is usually high here, seems to have something to do with the architecture of the place. Food has always been reliably good.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.