Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

4910 Elm Street
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Woodmont Ave & Elm St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 656-3131

Website:
http://cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a metered parking lot right next to the restaurant. Another hourly parking lot is one block from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located 3 blocks from Bethesda's metro stop.

Executive Chef:
Jason McIntosh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (31)
Casual (24)
Comfort Food (20)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Kid-friendly (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Family Style (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (7)
Healthy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Cafe Express provided a wonderful brunch experience. The service was very good, though clearly a bit strained by the Easter crowd. The food was definitely quite delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was a great place to go before the Movies. They had a wide range of choices, the food was very good, it wasn't over crowded. We ate outside on the side walk in front of the restaurant which we enjoyed as there were so many interesting people walking by, however, I can't comment on eating inside the restaurant. I would say that on a REALLY hot, or overly sunny day this might cause problems as their umbrella's don't give much shade or protection from the setting sun.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great place for families. Good service and convenient. We come back often!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Service was exceptional and food was awesome too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I took my kids to Cafe Deluxe so we could celebrate my birthday and it was the perfect spot. Our waiter, Scott, was fantastic, the food was great and it was a fun, family-friendly experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was excellent, but the service was horrible.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A great spot to have dinner before the movies in Bethesda. Perfectly good food, no surprises- good or bad. Lots of children, my 90 year old mother thoroughly enjoyed herself. We were extremely well satisfied with the choice- solid and reliable- probably not for those who fancy themselves gourmands- but they should then avoid Bethesda altogether. Something for everyone and not too pricy. Bingo

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Family Style, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This is normally our family go-to. But, tonight there was a server who was rude to my child, who is 18 months old.
So, I regret that I will be boycotting this restaurant for a long while to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch, after a morning cycling class. Arrival was at about 11:45. We had a reservation, it was busy but no wait for a table. The hostess, Annalise, could have exhibited better customer service. She initially tried to seat us at a table that was clean but had bench seats that were covered in food. I point out what was obvious, that the seats were dirty, and asked if they could be cleaned. She replied by saying, "oh, I think that's just salt." I again asked if they could have someone wipe them down, she attempted to brush off the seats with her hand and then walked off in a huff as though we were inconveniencing her by requiring clean seats and sat us at a clean table. A few minutes later I saw a busboy come to clean the seats with proper cleaning utensils, not a hand, so that was good. Our server was very sweet and friendly. Of course I can't remember her name. All the other staff I interacted with were great. The food is not great. I ordered the goat cheese omelette. The veggies that came on top looked a day old, def. not fresh cooked. The only thing I ate were the actual egg whites. My son's food looked decent and he enjoyed his pancakes, bacon, etc. but he said the food tasted better at Ihop. Bottom line, I would never eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a great experience! Tasty brunch, cool atmosphere and reasoble price! Great service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Happy Hour in the bar before a movie. We LOVE Nick! Glad he was on duty last night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Super yummy, super fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Service was excellent. Sea bass was so-so (dry, not much flavor) and overpriced. Burger was good, pasta was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Brunch to celebrate my husband's birthday with his daughter. Food is normally consistently very good. Both my husband's and my brunch entrees were excellent.

However the turkey burger was soggy and not good. We also had to look for someone to refill our iced teas and after asking three people including a manager we finally got it.

This is atypical for Cafe Deluxe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was good - offering something for everyone from the less adventurous to the more discerning diner. The service was friendly without being overbearing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Neighborhood gem. Often eat here before or after movies. Happy hour at the bar is a great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The noise level in this restaurant is much too loud when the dining room is full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Every part of our order was incorrect. The manager was very pleasant and made the adjustments, except for the horribly bitter coffee. I was surprised she didn't comp some of the meal give the problems we encountered. This visit reminded us why we don't go there for brunch anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Good, reliable neighborhood restaurant. Quite a few families with young children, but not a bother. Created a good atmosphere, actually.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This restaurant is aimed at families. They have crayons at the check in desk. Just go to the bar if you want reasonable food at a reasonable price. Wine list ok given the size of the place. just don't get a table amid all of the screaming children.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service was fine until the end when our single dessert took 10-15 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Nothing fancy. Nothing exotic. But good solid food. My salmon salad for a reasonable portion of fish on fresh greens, with the right amount of dressing. The humus starter which was sufficient for two or three to share as a starter came with crispy carrots and celery as well as pita. Service was adequate.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The only issue I have is the noise level..which probably can't be abated and the closeness of tabkes..which can!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Overall, Cafe Deluxe in Bethesda is good - not great. The food is always pretty good, but just doesn't have that special something to push it into the great category. Fairly average on that side of things.

It's usually easy to get a spot for brunch, so for that, I definitely recommend this place if you don't want to spend a lot, and didn't have time to make a reservation at a hotspot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I would probably not go back. Drinks took forever, food was ok but my portion of Sea Bass was half of those at the table with me. Waiter was good and offered me a second piece to make up for it but it never came during dinner. Once we were ready for the check the waiter brought it in a to go container because he realized it never came out. Not impressed and not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food is ALWAYS solid, and the staff is wonderful. Great for kids!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Reliable food; a little lite on shoestring fries today. Waitress went out of her way to suggest alternate sides.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very poor execution on Valentine's Day. Server forgot to get drinks, then forgot to get my daughters meal and when the food arrived - my roast chicken was quite undercooked/ bleeding red liquid. My daughter ate last after the rest of us were done...

Normally this place is good- they just were not geared for a week Day Valentine's Day crowd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I met my husband for a valentines day lunch. It was not packed which was great. My salad was delicious. The chef actually brought it to the table. Our wait staff was very attentive. My husband went there with a bunch of co-workers and said it was great then too which is why he suggested it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had brunch, and our omelettes were not great, our server was nice but our drinks came after our entrees. They did accommodate our one year old very well and brought her food quickly. Probably won't go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Enjoyed it very much. Thanks!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Good Service and good place for lunch. Very nice overall!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very disappointing. Cobb salad was slathered with oil and doesn't resemble the real thing. Regret not ordering a burger because that's about the only thing they don't screw up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The steak from the steak and eggs brunch plate was extremely fatty and difficult to eat. The waiter didn't bring us water when we sat down and only to one of us when we asked for it. The waiter also took forever to refill drinks and my husband sat waiting for his soda refill. The breakfast potatoes and steak needed seasoning.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went to Cafe Deluxe for brunch with a friend. Overall, the prices were very reasonable but the food was mediocre at best. The southern breakfast sandwich is NOT something I would order again and, frankly, the home fries that came with it were gross. Very sad, I absolutely love home fries. My friend got the blueberry pancakes, he said they were good but nothing special.

The dining area was large and very open. The staff was not particularly friendly or welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The server Vincent was courteous and funny. Everything came right when you thought about wanting it. Terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Consistently good food and service! You can rely on Cafe Deluxe.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We would come more often except that if you want to talk you have to cream. Anyway to treat the ceilings or walls to absorb more sound. Also need real margarita glasses and pout Albarino wine back in stock.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Promptly seated, service was good despite a busy night due to combination of MLK holiday and $19 bottle of wine night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Service was terrible. Waited at least 1/2 an hour for the food after we ordered.


Way, way too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.