About Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda

4910 Elm Street
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Woodmont Ave & Elm St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 656-3131

Website:
http://cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a metered parking lot right next to the restaurant. Another hourly parking lot is one block from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located 3 blocks from Bethesda's metro stop.

Executive Chef:
Jason McIntosh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (34)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
See All
Great for Brunch (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Kid-friendly (9)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Casual (4)
Family Style (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Romantic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Miss the former management and servers. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 2 days ago

Miss the former management and servers.

Maybe others do too - fewer customers dining today . . .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Took quite a while to get our food but o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Took quite a while to get our food but otherwise the visit was good.

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Bad inattentive service, worst in a whil ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Bad inattentive service, worst in a while. Super loud, had to shout to speak. Food mediocre. Tasted factory produced. Stay away from colossal chocolate dessert. Never again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

The food is always good here, and it was ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food is always good here, and it was actually pretty quiet on a weekday for lunch. Our servers went out of their way for us. It was a wonderful lunch. We had the grilled cheese, the cod lunch, and a turkey burger, all yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was fantastic, as usual. We p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our waiter was fantastic, as usual. We particularly appreciate that the restaurant is physically accessible to people who use wheel chairs and have mobility issues. The food is reliably good, if not delicious, and the brunch menu fresh. CD always offers interesting mixed drinks and good dishes for even the pickiest eaters. The staff are flexible and will work with you to make sure your order meets your dietary needs/preferences. Our circle of friends meets once a month at CD-B, mainly because the food, service, and accessibility are above and beyond what other Bethesda eateries offer. Plus, it is a great value. We have between 3-7 people in our party, so even when it's a larger group, CD-B is the best bet for us!

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our meals were good. The appetizer our s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our meals were good. The appetizer our server recommended was disappointing. We had to flag down our server to order drinks, an appetizer, and again to order dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Crispy spring rolls & pepper-crusted tun ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Crispy spring rolls & pepper-crusted tuna are my favorites.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Cafe Deluxe has not aged well. We've bee ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Cafe Deluxe has not aged well. We've been eating there since since the original restaurant opened (10-15 years ago). It used to be consistent, high quality, and a good option to take the kids out. Now it's just tired and seems to be running on auto-pilot. On our last visit, the service was friendly but lousy. The beignets we ordered as an appetizer "somehow were forgotten" according to our waiter. When they arrived -- after the main courses -- they were doughy and leaden. Even the kids with us wouldn't eat them. The poached eggs were way overcooked (rock hard) and had to be sent back. Unfortunately, we're taking this one off our list and won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

My first time dining here, I ordered the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My first time dining here, I ordered the Calamari, it was different. The calamari wasn't your typical deep fried served with Marinara on the side type, their calamari was pan fried then tossed with an unique sauce. I ordered a Trout special they were serving, it was filled with crabmeat and spinach. I did not enjoy it too much because the filling was salty but that won't stop me from giving Cafe Deluxe another try in the future. Our service was excellent, all the staff members were helpful and caring.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

My only knock on Cafe Deluxe concerns th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My only knock on Cafe Deluxe concerns the noise level in the main dining room, which borders on extreme during busy times. Otherwise, the experience is fine...not spectacular, but it isn't priced to be. I think some sound absorbing materials could be added to the room without diminishing the aesthetics, and management should look into that.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

excellent service. we had a mix up with ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

excellent service. we had a mix up with an order and the waiter and manager both came by to apologize and give us a comp discount for another dinner (we had already paid the bill when we told him). Very friendly too. Food was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been here before and the food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been here before and the food was okay. This last visit will be the last time we dine here. The daily special was seared tuna, which we ordered. To out it simply, the fish was spoiled. While the waitress was good, all the food was sub par. Someone at our table ordered the steak - it was tasteless. The grilled chicken salad can be found anywhere and nothing special either. The only redeeming quality is that it was a lovely evening to sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

My meal was awful. I ordered steak frit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My meal was awful. I ordered steak frites, cooked medium and it was so unbelievably dry, I couldn't even finish it. Extremely disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Generally food is very good. My guest an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Generally food is very good. My guest and I both had the Cobb Salad and we felt it was not up to their usual high standards. Not Bad just not as good as some of the other choices we have made in the past.

We will return and try something else

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed a family brunch

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Enjoyed a family brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall, a good brunch experience, and g ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall, a good brunch experience, and good food. I did have to get a new cup of coffee because the 1st cup they brought was dirty. Yuck. Also, we asked to have all of the dishes at the same time, but they brought the cinnamon roll first anyway. I would say it is very like Ted's Bulletin, but just a half-notch below in terms of food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food! Great atmosphere! Kids frie ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food! Great atmosphere!

Kids friendly, great location!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We got together for a birthday brunch. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We got together for a birthday brunch. The service was quite good overall, attentive without being pushy. The food was good, and satisfying, if not especially memorable. Cafe Deluxe is a dependable venue - and while that may not be exciting, it is reliably a good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good. Young male waiter couldn' ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food was good. Young male waiter couldn't be bothered with single female diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I love Cafe Deluxe Bethesda, but the noi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I love Cafe Deluxe Bethesda, but the noise level is over the top!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

The waiter could not explain all the men ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The waiter could not explain all the menu choices; the appetizers never arrived, one of the meals was substandard, and the final bill was not accurate. Other than all this, the meal was uneventful. We will not be eating at Cafe Deluxe again. We didn't even get an apology at the end of the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great menu items but the actual food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great menu items but the actual food was not good at all. Eggs Benedicts (two orders) were completely overcooked. Menu is great but overall execution is not. This has happened multiple times at this location.

Great ambiance and bar service and quality of cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

We ate outside in the shade on a lovely ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We ate outside in the shade on a lovely day. While the kitchen messed up one of our orders, that was corrected, and the food was very good, as usual. We were there for brunch and had various egg dishes, the oatmeal, and a Croque Madame. Cafe Deluxe is one of our go-to places, as it is consistently good. It is very noisy inside and so we were very pleased to sit outside this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were here for brunch and overall ever ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were here for brunch and overall everything was OK, but we had a few disappointments. Two of our party ordered the french toast described as being 'garnished with mixed berries.' "Garnish" is right -- there were just a few berries and both diners had expected a bit more. My eggs benedict was disappointing--egg was overcooked, ham was thin and anemic-looking, hollandaise was bland. Also, another person in our party ordered the "Croque Madame" which was good except the sunny-side up egg was quite undercooked--it had a thick pool of raw egg white across it. Diner eats sunny-side up all the time but never had one which so much clear egg white on top.

The champagne cocktail was delicious, however, and everyone enjoyed the potatoes, which three diners said were "the best breakfast potatoes" they'd every had.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The service was great at first and then ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The service was great at first and then it was like he forgot we were sitting there. The food took way too long to come out and the waiter treated us like an afterthought- very disappointed. The food was good once it finally arrived but the potatoes cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Weekend dining experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Made an on-line reservation for two people; they had it listed for a party of six.

Requested a booth; they said no booths available, but clearly there were two or three and we were seated in one of them ,after all.

Cheeseburger was very average. Crab cakes were average.

3 stars is generous.

2/3 of the patrons were dining outside, so can not make a very accurate statement about inside restaurant noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good, drinks were good but serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was good, drinks were good but service was great! Loved our waiter - very personable and fun and knew the menu well. Would go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Regular diners. Good experiences all ar ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Regular diners. Good experiences all around. Would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

great in every way

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a party of 8 which they had no problem accommodating. The place is not small but its also not very big. The brunch menu was very nice with lots of appetizing items and the main menu was also very good with too many good choices. The server was excellent and the salted caramel milkshake was INSANE!!! Its worth going there just for the milkshakes. Parking is easy with the garage right next door.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They were a bit slow in getting our food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

They were a bit slow in getting our food to us. They were probably short staffed. But it was a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

was particularly pleased with the change ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

was particularly pleased with the changes to the menu, including the offering of a dozen sides

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall everything was great! Love going ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall everything was great! Love going there for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to the Cafe Deluxe at Tenley ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I have been to the Cafe Deluxe at Tenley many times. This was the first time I've visited the Bethesda location. I will certainly go back. The food was great, but the service was even better. KEVIN was ANAZING!!!! If you visit this location ask if Kevin is working and if so request to sit in his section. He is very knowledgable about the menu and was able to make great recommendations on substitutions. He was also wonderful with my 15 month old nephew. I love CD Tenley, but CD Bethesda is my new go to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, the calamari cam ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food and service, the calamari came out late and was removed from the bill even though we didn't even ask for it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server had to be told we were waitin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Our server had to be told we were waiting to be attended to. Then the manager ended up serving us because our server must have felt it was more important to tend to everyone else but us. Outside of that, the food and drinks were great. Seating was a bit tight, but you weren't all in someone else's conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Service and food were great. Noise leve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service and food were great. Noise level inside is very loud. We ate outside unfortunately between two tables who had in trained dogs and they barked throughout our entire mothers day meal. Which made our busy very unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Popular local lunch spot

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent for brunch, lunch or late night snack. Good variety of standard American fare. Noisy but a very positive vib. The waiter was not very attentive, a problem I've had here before, which is probably due to how large and crowded the place can get.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

THe Cafe Delux-Bethesda is a great spot for lunch.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The Café Delux-Bethesda is a great lunch spot for either a business lunch or a purely social event. The menu is good, the food is consistent, and the service is very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A gluten-free find!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our out-o-town guests and we enjoyed a casual & leisurely dinner. Wait staff was attentive and VERY knowledgable about the gluten-free menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Liked that we could sit outside

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Liked that we could sit outside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.