Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda

Cafe Deluxe, an American bistro combining the charm of a neighborhood restaurant with the energy of a bustling European eatery, serves fresh and innovative classics in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Washingtonians have enjoyed the friendly service and casual dining experience for over 20 years. The diverse brunch, lunch and dinner menus combine traditional fare like Steak Frites and Grilled Meatloaf with menu favorites ranging from the Spinach, Feta and Tomato Omelet for brunch to the Grilled Atlantic Salmon Nicoise Salad, and the Prosciutto Mac & Cheese to the Ahi Tuna Tacos.

4910 Elm Street
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Woodmont Ave & Elm St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 656-3131

Website:
http://cafedeluxe.com/

Parking Details:
There is a metered parking lot right next to the restaurant. Another hourly parking lot is one block from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Located 3 blocks from Bethesda's metro stop.

Executive Chef:
Jason McIntosh

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Cafe Deluxe - Bethesda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (26)
Kid-friendly (21)
Comfort Food (19)
See All
Great for Lunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Quick Bite (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Family Style (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Romantic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We have experienced Cafe Deluxe as a family since 2009. My general impression is that in 2009 this particular restaurant was slightly better. Selection of food is OK but not exceptional, and likely certain cooked items may be more recommendable than others (as opposed to have an all-clear selection). In particular: TOO MUCH SALT (we are talking industrial amounts even for people like me who LOVE salt!) in certain meats/seafood and even in cooked vegetables is not justifiable unless the stocking of food (i.e., freshness) is an issue. Too bad because otherwise it would be really a nice place.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed it very much. coffee too expensive. Make the mug smaller and lower the price.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Good place for families, right in the heart of Bethesda. Waiter was very gracious to bring a 2nd Flatbread out since the first had been delivered before the other guests meals and this order was for a child as her main entree. He was also up on refilling glasses, which always seems to be a problem at some restaurants. It was not very crowded and I was wondering why I couldn't get an earlier reservation...I think they don't like to take reservations during lunch hours...this reservation was for 1:30 on a Saturday. All-in-all it was a fun place to be with family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The menu offered plenty of options of standard fare. Our table had salads and they were all good - not Wow! But good. Although we didn't order dessert, the choices were plentiful and sounded enticing.
Our server lacked enthusiasm and personality. It was like ordering from a mannequin. That being said, she was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Large windows were open due to cool June evening. Unfortunately that seemed to bring in gnats even where we were at the back of restaurant, and our waving them away all evening took away from the ambiance. We've been a couple of times before when everything was absolutely delicious, so the good but not great food was surprising, especially the bland blueberry cobbler with a blah doughy crust. Prices are reasonable and service was good. Not giving up yet on Cafe Deluxe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2017

After being seated, no one waited on us at all - I had to go to the hostess 2x to ask for a waiter to assist us. Then several waiters showed up asking for our orders - soon we received extra cups of coffee - took 45 minutes after finally ordering to receive our food. It is also very noisy. Won't be going there again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Good food and service. Relaxed. Friendly. Affordable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We enjoyed our Saturday brunch. We sat outside. The server was very attentive. We ordered from the breakfast menu but the lunch menu was also available. The croc madame was good. Eggs good too. The servings were plentiful. We would return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We stopped at Cafe Deluxe for a quick bite before the movie. Quick service in the bar area, plus happy hour prices. Its a regular stop for us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We have eaten here many times. This time the service and food was disappointing. Many open tables at the place. Yet it still took over 15 minutes for the first person to come to our table. Then the kitchen performed poorly. Forgot the chicken on one salad, another's person food was just plain cold. Unusual for this place. but still.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Cafe Deluxe has its hits and misses. A simple omelet should always be a hit, but unfortunately it was tepid and the hash browns were as salty as the sea, and the biscuit was cold. Very disappointing. Noise level is always too high, but I knew to expect that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Friendly atmosphere and server. Dessert was awesome and plenty for 4 people to share

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place. Can almost always get a table because it is large. Food is good, well priced and has enough variety you can usually find something you like. Good for kids and large gatherings. Not as much for romantic/dates as it is usually busy and pretty noisy. Not bad but be prepared for lots of chatter. This is one of our go to places, as with 3 kids under 3 it is not always easy to have successful outings. Cafe Deluxe always delivers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A typical brunch .While comparative in cost with other places in the area it still leaves you a little down spending $100 for 4 omlets and two drinks and two coffees. (Tip included).

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food, ask for server Nora, she's the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

nice dinner, love their prosciutto flatbread, good bottle of zinfandel for <$40, good dessert apple cobbler and chocolate cake.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Three in my party (of 9)ordered either the steak sandwich or the steak salad and all of them thought the steak was either tough or over cooked. When we ordered the steak sandwich we asked for y to be very rare. We were told that they cook the rare but then bake the sandwich so it ends up well done. So we asked for it not to be baked. After getting a well done steak we asked why and were told that sometimes they precook the steaks. We should have been informed of that up front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Service was awesome! Peach cobbler, one of the best I've eaten at a restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Cafe Express provided a wonderful brunch experience. The service was very good, though clearly a bit strained by the Easter crowd. The food was definitely quite delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was a great place to go before the Movies. They had a wide range of choices, the food was very good, it wasn't over crowded. We ate outside on the side walk in front of the restaurant which we enjoyed as there were so many interesting people walking by, however, I can't comment on eating inside the restaurant. I would say that on a REALLY hot, or overly sunny day this might cause problems as their umbrella's don't give much shade or protection from the setting sun.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great place for families. Good service and convenient. We come back often!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Service was exceptional and food was awesome too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I took my kids to Cafe Deluxe so we could celebrate my birthday and it was the perfect spot. Our waiter, Scott, was fantastic, the food was great and it was a fun, family-friendly experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was excellent, but the service was horrible.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A great spot to have dinner before the movies in Bethesda. Perfectly good food, no surprises- good or bad. Lots of children, my 90 year old mother thoroughly enjoyed herself. We were extremely well satisfied with the choice- solid and reliable- probably not for those who fancy themselves gourmands- but they should then avoid Bethesda altogether. Something for everyone and not too pricy. Bingo

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Family Style, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This is normally our family go-to. But, tonight there was a server who was rude to my child, who is 18 months old.
So, I regret that I will be boycotting this restaurant for a long while to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch, after a morning cycling class. Arrival was at about 11:45. We had a reservation, it was busy but no wait for a table. The hostess, Annalise, could have exhibited better customer service. She initially tried to seat us at a table that was clean but had bench seats that were covered in food. I point out what was obvious, that the seats were dirty, and asked if they could be cleaned. She replied by saying, "oh, I think that's just salt." I again asked if they could have someone wipe them down, she attempted to brush off the seats with her hand and then walked off in a huff as though we were inconveniencing her by requiring clean seats and sat us at a clean table. A few minutes later I saw a busboy come to clean the seats with proper cleaning utensils, not a hand, so that was good. Our server was very sweet and friendly. Of course I can't remember her name. All the other staff I interacted with were great. The food is not great. I ordered the goat cheese omelette. The veggies that came on top looked a day old, def. not fresh cooked. The only thing I ate were the actual egg whites. My son's food looked decent and he enjoyed his pancakes, bacon, etc. but he said the food tasted better at Ihop. Bottom line, I would never eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a great experience! Tasty brunch, cool atmosphere and reasoble price! Great service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Happy Hour in the bar before a movie. We LOVE Nick! Glad he was on duty last night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Super yummy, super fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Service was excellent. Sea bass was so-so (dry, not much flavor) and overpriced. Burger was good, pasta was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Brunch to celebrate my husband's birthday with his daughter. Food is normally consistently very good. Both my husband's and my brunch entrees were excellent.

However the turkey burger was soggy and not good. We also had to look for someone to refill our iced teas and after asking three people including a manager we finally got it.

This is atypical for Cafe Deluxe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was good - offering something for everyone from the less adventurous to the more discerning diner. The service was friendly without being overbearing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Neighborhood gem. Often eat here before or after movies. Happy hour at the bar is a great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The noise level in this restaurant is much too loud when the dining room is full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Every part of our order was incorrect. The manager was very pleasant and made the adjustments, except for the horribly bitter coffee. I was surprised she didn't comp some of the meal give the problems we encountered. This visit reminded us why we don't go there for brunch anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Good, reliable neighborhood restaurant. Quite a few families with young children, but not a bother. Created a good atmosphere, actually.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This restaurant is aimed at families. They have crayons at the check in desk. Just go to the bar if you want reasonable food at a reasonable price. Wine list ok given the size of the place. just don't get a table amid all of the screaming children.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service was fine until the end when our single dessert took 10-15 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Nothing fancy. Nothing exotic. But good solid food. My salmon salad for a reasonable portion of fish on fresh greens, with the right amount of dressing. The humus starter which was sufficient for two or three to share as a starter came with crispy carrots and celery as well as pita. Service was adequate.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.