About Café Central

109 North Oregon
El Paso, TX 79901
View Larger Map

With food prepared by one of the most highly respected chefs in the city,
guests of Café Central experience dining at its finest.
Soft lights, handsome furnishings and ambient music create a relaxing mood-setting atmosphere; fine linens and fresh flowers adorn every table. Our staff provides every patron with unsurpassed service. Bon Appétit.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:00am-4:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mills and San Antonio Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 545-2233

Website:
http://www.cafecentral.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz on Thursdays; Piano during Dinner Monday thru Saturday.

Catering:
Please call Event Planner at (915) 545-2233 or email events@cafecentral.com for details and we will make sure to make your event a success.

Parking Details:
Public lot located next door to restaurant. Parking is $6.00 and Valet parking is $5.

Executive Chef:
Aldo Mora

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Event Planner at (915) 545-2233 or email events@cafecentral.com for details and we will make sure to make your event a success.

Restaurant Photos

Café Central, El Paso, TX
Plum & Burrata Cheese Salad - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Cigars - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Octopus Carpaccio - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Grilled Atlantic Salmon - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Boned New York - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Beet Tower - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Power Lunch - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Green Chile Soup - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Chilean Bass - Café Central, El Paso, TX
New York Cheesecake - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Tuna Salad Sandwhich - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Bacon Wrapped Prawns - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Créme Brulé - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Grilled Angus Tenderloin Four Cheese Daphinoise Potatoes, Sautee Baby Spinach - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Yellow Tail Sashimi Special - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Mango Pie - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Crab and Avocado Salad - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Ceaser Salad - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Te Ch - Café Central, El Paso, TX
Tuna - Café Central, El Paso, TX

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

On this special occasion we will be featuring 2 seatings; one from 5:00 pm to 8:00 & another from 9:00 pm to the New Year.

Cancellations must be made at least 24 hours prior to reservation time to avoid $30 per guest fee.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Candlelit, private, impeccably appointed gatherings are our pleasure. The Board Room accommodates 20 to 48 people with a private, full service bar cloistered on the reverse side of our main bar. The Wine Vault accommodates 2 to 20 people and is a fully private room, separated from main dining area.

Café Central Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
El Paso
Most Booked
El Paso
Best Restaurants in El Paso ›

Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (25)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (7)
Historic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Live Music (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Celebrating my husband's birthday and ou ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrating my husband's birthday and our wedding anniversary we made right choice by choosing cafe central love the atmosphere we had romantic diner is now one of our favorite restaurants in el paso thank you!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a very good time, there was a rea ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a very good time, there was a really good service,a and the people were very kind

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was most accommodating, excellent ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Staff was most accommodating, excellent wine menu, food was delicious, the service was attentive and we had a wonderful dining experience and delightful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is very good and service is excelle ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food is very good and service is excellent. Good place for a special occasion, but not a regular place to hit unless you are very well off. Wife and I spent $195 which included an appetizer, two soups, two entrees, a desert, and an inexpensive bottle of wine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambience. Table bread redefined th ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great ambience. Table bread redefined the meaning of crust, it was like biting into a rock. Soup was okay, not quite a fan of veggie soups. Main course was great, depending on what you get, will define how much food is on your plate. Had the warm chocolate cake for desert. Reminded me of those fancy deserts they show on clips. Overall, i was greatly satisfied with food and service. Definitely recommending to others.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Café Central is our go to place for spec ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Café Central is our go to place for special occasions and as usual the food and the service was very good. When we first got there the table that they had for us was a very noisy and very badly located . Thanks to Fred the maître d' we were able to get a little bit better table but we've been concerned that when you make your reservation on open table they give you the very worst table in the restaurant. This is happened to us at other restaurants. Is there something we can do to avoid this problem?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Was an excellent experience overall. Tot ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Was an excellent experience overall. Totally recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best fine dinning restaurant I have ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The best fine dinning restaurant I have been to hands down.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved! Thank to the waiter . Excellen ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We loved! Thank to the waiter . Excellent service. We have already reservation for next week .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. Best experience in El Paso ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding. Best experience in El Paso and Las Cruces area. It's a bummer that Las Cruces has no restaurants like this and we have to drive a half hour but that's the way it is. Worth the drive. The wine list is incredible and they help you navigate it if needed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my mom's birthday It was an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Celebrated my mom's birthday

It was an excellent choice

Food was outstanding

Service by Joey top notch!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scrumptious food, impeccable service whi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Scrumptious food, impeccable service which began when we pulled up to the front door and continued throughout our dining experience. We had a lovely dining experience here and will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food here is always great best sea b ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food here is always great best sea bass anywhere period. Philip is awesome

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good service and food. The Chilean ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very good service and food. The Chilean sea bass was outstanding. Amazing wine cellar!

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Overall experience was great except we h ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Overall experience was great except we had the worse seat in the house. My wife was in a corner behind a wall next to the A/C control unit. Not a good first impression but the food made up for it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A fantastic dining experience. The servi ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 16, 2016

A fantastic dining experience. The service was exceptional and the food was superb.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Café Central is on par with many of the ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Café Central is on par with many of the upper tier fine dining restaurants in Manhattan or San Francisco. We thoroughly enjoyed the total experience. We ordered for starters a crab gnocchi followed by sesame crusted ahi tuna and an order of rack of lamb. One word describes each dish: excellent. We will become regulars.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service, difficult to ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent food and service, difficult to find a similar place at El Paso

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and service. Probably the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Probably the best in El Paso.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect. The place is per ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Everything was perfect. The place is perfect to have a wonderful night.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was perfect, as always and serv ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was perfect, as always and service was what one espects at a classy restaurant. They have a wide of entrees to cover all tastes. My only issue was when we were through my wife hadn't finished her entree and the sever offered to box up the remaining food and never brought us the box back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Disabled Access, Dancing, Waterfront, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service over the top. Kitchen is slippin ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Service over the top. Kitchen is slipping. Sesame tuna was tough. Either a bad cut, or just a tough fish poorly selected.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent and Elegant place!!! My weddin ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Excellent and Elegant place!!! My wedding proposal was epic at Cafe Central, Thanks!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great live music, awesom ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent food, great live music, awesome service, will do this again!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fun, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The waiter's rec ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was excellent. The waiter's recommendations were perfect. The service was outstanding. This is an expensive restaurant but a very fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Impeccable. C

Tags: Ideal para aniversarios, carta de vinos notable
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The staff was great and really made the ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The staff was great and really made the evening special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine list. The staff are ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food and wine list. The staff are the most courteous and friendly in El Paso. Highly recommended

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We spent our one year anniversary here a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We spent our one year anniversary here and it was terrific. It was a slow night as told by the hostess but still lovely as they still had a pianist and singer play through the dinner. Our waiter was quite nice in that he was knowledgeable about the menu, suggested a few items, made sure we were kept care of, and even worked with my husband to put out a dessert that said happy anniversary to me. I had one of their pomegranate martinis which was delicious, and we had some starters. He got the soup of the day being along the lines of beef, and I got the Beef Carpaccio in which both tasted phenomenal. As for main entrees, he got Sesame Crusted Tuna and I received Stuffed Quail. They still good flavor but we still preferred the starters (probably because we prefer beef). Any case, at the end I got a Chocolate Mousse which was beautifully chocolatey that had the message as described earlier and for added effect. I would no doubt to go there again for another special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The rack of lamb is amazing. Great value ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The rack of lamb is amazing. Great value. The special was a Hawaiian fish, which was OK. If you like lamb, that's the way to go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good wine list. Food was good, not grea ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good wine list. Food was good, not great. Prices border on expensive. Service was average at best, and the kitchen seemed quite slow. The décor is overdone to the point of being almost "stuffy".

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

we made the reservations with time for ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 27, 2016

we made the reservations with time for this special event, it was confirmed by them via telephone, upon arrival they didn't a have place for us, after we have settled in a different area and ordered from the regular menu, we were told that an space had been opened up for us, and we were moved. show and food was not good, service in this area was not as good as it is inside the restaurant. the manager of the place did his best to resolve the situation. by the end of our night, we ending paying more than if we had stayed at the restaurant with out the special event.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We had a wonderful dinner and great serv ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and great service. This is a wonderful place to enjoy a very good meal.

I want to point out that some of the other patrons were out right snobs and disrespectful l to the staff, I don't see how the water kept his cool with the old rich bitty. No matter how many dusty old rings you have lady, you don't have the right to teat anyone the way you treated the waiter.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

While in business in El Paso I'm always ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 25, 2016

While in business in El Paso I'm always looking for great dining experiences, and I hit a grand slam on my recent trip. Cafe Central is not just a fine dinning experience, but more over, an experience in dinning. From the moment you arrive and greeting by the Valet attendant, your fears of parking downtown are removed. You're now free to stars your experience using all your senses. The achitectual decor from the front entrance on takes you back to the days of elegance and charm. The attention to customer satisfaction is displayed by every member of the staff from greeting to farewell. The ultimate experience of the evening was without a doubt, the preparation, presentation and taste of the meal that was prepared by the chef perfectly. From my escargot appetizer all the way through to the most amazing Chilain Se Bass, which is the best I've ever had, solidly concluded my evening. Great job to all who made my evening an amazing experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good place to take business guests. Not ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Good place to take business guests. Not too loud. Reasonable prices. Outstanding wine selection. Excellent food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting from DFW and found Cafe ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were visiting from DFW and found Cafe Central on-line. Great web site. Service and food backed that up.

B. Nance MD

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

See Mr Trulove for an unforgettable dini ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 17, 2016

See Mr Trulove for an unforgettable dining experience. He made my anniversary dinner wonderful!

The wait staff flowed and provided invisible hands of service. It was as thought they anticipated every need and provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Restaurant. Great Staff, Ser ...

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding Restaurant. Great Staff, Service & Food. #1 Restaurant in El Paso.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet was undercooked. Waiter took it ba ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Filet was undercooked. Waiter took it back, I thought I'd get a new cut but I didn't. Still wasn't cooked throughout. Piano bar was way to loud! We love fine dining unfortunately we also live in El Paso!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Wonderful food, however the singer hired ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful food, however the singer hired for that night was unpleasant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.