About Café Central

109 North Oregon
El Paso, TX 79901
View Larger Map

With food prepared by one of the most highly respected chefs in the city,
guests of Café Central experience dining at its finest.
Soft lights, handsome furnishings and ambient music create a relaxing mood-setting atmosphere; fine linens and fresh flowers adorn every table. Our staff provides every patron with unsurpassed service. Bon Appétit.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:00am-4:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mills and San Antonio Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 545-2233

Website:
http://www.cafecentral.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz on Thursdays; Piano during Dinner Monday thru Saturday.

Catering:
Please call Event Planner at (915) 545-2233 or email events@cafecentral.com for details and we will make sure to make your event a success.

Parking Details:
Public lot located next door to restaurant. Parking is $6.00 and Valet parking is $5.

Executive Chef:
Aldo Mora

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Event Planner at (915) 545-2233 or email events@cafecentral.com for details and we will make sure to make your event a success.

Restaurant Photos

Café Central
Plum & Burrata Cheese Salad
Crab and Avocado Salad
Cigars
Octopus Carpaccio
Grilled Atlantic Salmon
Boned New York
Beet Tower
Power Lunch
Green Chile Soup
Chilean Bass
New York Cheesecake
Tuna Salad Sandwhich
Bacon Wrapped Prawns
Créme Brulé
Grilled Angus Tenderloin Four Cheese Daphinoise Potatoes, Sautee Baby Spinach
Yellow Tail Sashimi Special
Mango Pie
Ceaser Salad
Te Ch
Tuna

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Candlelit, private, impeccably appointed gatherings are our pleasure. The Board Room accommodates 20 to 48 people with a private, full service bar cloistered on the reverse side of our main bar. The Wine Vault accommodates 2 to 20 people and is a fully private room, separated from main dining area.

Café Central Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
El Paso
Most Booked
El Paso
Best Restaurants in El Paso ›

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (33)
Notable Wine List (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Historic (3)
Live Music (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Private Room (1)
Authentic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
656 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, great live music, awesom ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, great live music, awesome service, will do this again!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fun, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The waiter's rec ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent. The waiter's recommendations were perfect. The service was outstanding. This is an expensive restaurant but a very fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was great and really made the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The staff was great and really made the evening special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine list. The staff are ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food and wine list. The staff are the most courteous and friendly in El Paso. Highly recommended

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We spent our one year anniversary here a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We spent our one year anniversary here and it was terrific. It was a slow night as told by the hostess but still lovely as they still had a pianist and singer play through the dinner. Our waiter was quite nice in that he was knowledgeable about the menu, suggested a few items, made sure we were kept care of, and even worked with my husband to put out a dessert that said happy anniversary to me. I had one of their pomegranate martinis which was delicious, and we had some starters. He got the soup of the day being along the lines of beef, and I got the Beef Carpaccio in which both tasted phenomenal. As for main entrees, he got Sesame Crusted Tuna and I received Stuffed Quail. They still good flavor but we still preferred the starters (probably because we prefer beef). Any case, at the end I got a Chocolate Mousse which was beautifully chocolatey that had the message as described earlier and for added effect. I would no doubt to go there again for another special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The rack of lamb is amazing. Great value ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The rack of lamb is amazing. Great value. The special was a Hawaiian fish, which was OK. If you like lamb, that's the way to go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good wine list. Food was good, not grea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good wine list. Food was good, not great. Prices border on expensive. Service was average at best, and the kitchen seemed quite slow. The décor is overdone to the point of being almost "stuffy".

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

we made the reservations with time for ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

we made the reservations with time for this special event, it was confirmed by them via telephone, upon arrival they didn't a have place for us, after we have settled in a different area and ordered from the regular menu, we were told that an space had been opened up for us, and we were moved. show and food was not good, service in this area was not as good as it is inside the restaurant. the manager of the place did his best to resolve the situation. by the end of our night, we ending paying more than if we had stayed at the restaurant with out the special event.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We had a wonderful dinner and great serv ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and great service. This is a wonderful place to enjoy a very good meal.

I want to point out that some of the other patrons were out right snobs and disrespectful l to the staff, I don't see how the water kept his cool with the old rich bitty. No matter how many dusty old rings you have lady, you don't have the right to teat anyone the way you treated the waiter.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

While in business in El Paso I'm always ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

While in business in El Paso I'm always looking for great dining experiences, and I hit a grand slam on my recent trip. Cafe Central is not just a fine dinning experience, but more over, an experience in dinning. From the moment you arrive and greeting by the Valet attendant, your fears of parking downtown are removed. You're now free to stars your experience using all your senses. The achitectual decor from the front entrance on takes you back to the days of elegance and charm. The attention to customer satisfaction is displayed by every member of the staff from greeting to farewell. The ultimate experience of the evening was without a doubt, the preparation, presentation and taste of the meal that was prepared by the chef perfectly. From my escargot appetizer all the way through to the most amazing Chilain Se Bass, which is the best I've ever had, solidly concluded my evening. Great job to all who made my evening an amazing experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good place to take business guests. Not ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Good place to take business guests. Not too loud. Reasonable prices. Outstanding wine selection. Excellent food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting from DFW and found Cafe ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were visiting from DFW and found Cafe Central on-line. Great web site. Service and food backed that up.

B. Nance MD

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

See Mr Trulove for an unforgettable dini ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

See Mr Trulove for an unforgettable dining experience. He made my anniversary dinner wonderful!

The wait staff flowed and provided invisible hands of service. It was as thought they anticipated every need and provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Restaurant. Great Staff, Ser ...

vip
 (El Paso)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding Restaurant. Great Staff, Service & Food. #1 Restaurant in El Paso.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet was undercooked. Waiter took it ba ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Filet was undercooked. Waiter took it back, I thought I'd get a new cut but I didn't. Still wasn't cooked throughout. Piano bar was way to loud! We love fine dining unfortunately we also live in El Paso!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Wonderful food, however the singer hired ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful food, however the singer hired for that night was unpleasant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

One of the top three fine dining restaur ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

One of the top three fine dining restaurants we have ever dined at in our 38 years of marriage.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our 10 year anniversary. Very r ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went for our 10 year anniversary. Very romantic even though my wife and I felt a little young in the place. Food was delicious and the service was great. Would recommend for that once/twice a year event when you want to drop $200 on dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I'll be back, the beef tenderloin was fo ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I'll be back, the beef tenderloin was fork tender! The poblano soup was fantastic, as was the crème brûlée! Yum

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was delicious great staff friendly at ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was delicious great staff friendly attentive waiters

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of El Pado's finest - won ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Absolutely one of El Pado's finest - wonderful food, service, wine list ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelent food, excelent service, great w ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excelent food, excelent service, great wine selection

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely recommend this restaurant for ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Definitely recommend this restaurant for a fine dining experience. Took my friend for her birthday and it was a truly special evening. Everything was excellent, from the ambiance to the food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We weren't impressed overall based on wh ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We weren't impressed overall based on what we had previously heard about it. The food was fine but not great, prices were a bit high for the type of food offered. The ambiance would have been nicer if it wasn't for the noise level, which may have been due to the private party going on in the outer part of the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 49th anniversary in a very special restaurant. We had dined at Café Central two other times; in comparing it to other restaurants in the vicinity, we decided that our choice had to be Café Central. The rack of lamb was cooked to perfection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Certainly the best restaurant in El Paso ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Certainly the best restaurant in El Paso and one of my favorite in Texas. Wait staff is exceptional, sommelier is great, and the food is fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service the food epically the maple ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

the service the food epically the maple duck wear excellent, I really enjoyed the desert the atmosphere was very relaxing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business Dinner

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had a group of 10 and the waiters were very accommodating since some of our party was a little late. The wine list was amazing, food was outstanding. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Got to be the best place in town for usi ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Got to be the best place in town for using a fork!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed in service and meal

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We waited 15 minutes before drink order was taken to begin with. I order the pork chop and it was pink even though I requested well done. I did not have time to send it back as we were going to the plaza. I have eaten at cafe central many times but so not think we will return. When you go to a 5 star restaurant that was not even busy and have to wait and wait and then your food is not prepared as ordered it is very disappointing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Best dining experience in EP

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Always go with your waiters favorite.. I did, the Colorado lamb was divine! The pomegranate martini was so delicious we had one for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The wagyu beef carpaccio was the best di ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The wagyu beef carpaccio was the best dish of the night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always we enjoyed ourselves immensely ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

As always we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Can't wait to go back. The wine steward was amazing at suggesting a wonderful wine that was perfect. We had the portobello mushroom appetizer as well as the beef carpaccio. Both were outstanding. The puntas de filete was so tender and tasty as was the grilled angus tenderloin. We followed with the mousse tower and the French pressed coffee for an excellent end to a truly memorable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time and will definitely come back ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

First time and will definitely come back again when I'm back in town.

The wine list can cause you a headache because of all the choices; the food presentation was impressive; the dessert was incredible. All in all, you will walk way from your meal feeling satisfied and not stuffed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

El Paso classic! More than attentive staff from the valet to somilier and everyone in between. Great specials in from steak to halibut. Green chili soup is unique and best I have tasted. Seafood appetizer has is fresh and out of this world. Steak specials are world class. You have to try the Lava cake and tres leeches cake. Never get tired of coming to this gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply an amazing experience every time. ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Simply an amazing experience every time. The food, wine selection, and service are better than any restaurant in the metro cities. All the servers are amazing, but Charles is our regular. The sommelier Phil is tops - entertaining and just plain knows his wines. Special orders a rare Malbec for me. All the local VIPs eat here regularly. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I think this restaurant is awesome, however I am concern that having so much Hispanic customers, they have not set a menu in Spanish. Just my thought.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Formal, high class restaurant with good ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Formal, high class restaurant with good food, proper portions, polite and efficient staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Liked the yellow tail sashimi and the lu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Liked the yellow tail sashimi and the lump crab and avocado salad. Ordered special bone in prime steak. Ordered medium. Pretty much well done when served . For the cost of that steak, you would expect it to be cooked appropriately. Otherwise ok. Wife enjoyed Chilean sea bass. Overall we enjoyed our night out and our meal here, but didn't match what we experienced with our first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Service Was Lacking

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Once again the food was very good but the service wasn't great. Good service is expected when dishing out a couple hundred on a table for two.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.