About Café Central

109 North Oregon
El Paso, TX 79901
View Larger Map

With food prepared by one of the most highly respected chefs in the city,
guests of Café Central experience dining at its finest.
Soft lights, handsome furnishings and ambient music create a relaxing mood-setting atmosphere; fine linens and fresh flowers adorn every table. Our staff provides every patron with unsurpassed service. Bon Appétit.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:00am-4:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mills and San Antonio Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 545-2233

Website:
http://www.cafecentral.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz on Thursdays; Piano during Dinner Monday thru Saturday.

Catering:
Please call Event Planner at (915) 545-2233 or email events@cafecentral.com for details and we will make sure to make your event a success.

Parking Details:
Public lot located next door to restaurant. Parking is $6.00 and Valet parking is $5.

Executive Chef:
Aldo Mora

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Event Planner at (915) 545-2233 or email events@cafecentral.com for details and we will make sure to make your event a success.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Candlelit, private, impeccably appointed gatherings are our pleasure. The Board Room accommodates 20 to 48 people with a private, full service bar cloistered on the reverse side of our main bar. The Wine Vault accommodates 2 to 20 people and is a fully private room, separated from main dining area.

Café Central Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
El Paso
Most Booked
El Paso
Best Restaurants in El Paso ›

romantic (62)
special occasion (60)
notable wine list (43)
See All
fit for foodies (30)
neighborhood gem (14)
late-night find (12)
good for groups (11)
hot spot (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for lunch (6)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
625 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best dining experience in EP

Dined 3 days ago

Always go with your waiters favorite.. I did, the Colorado lamb was divine! The pomegranate martini was so delicious we had one for dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The wagyu beef carpaccio was the best di ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The wagyu beef carpaccio was the best dish of the night!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always we enjoyed ourselves immensely ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

As always we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Can't wait to go back. The wine steward was amazing at suggesting a wonderful wine that was perfect. We had the portobello mushroom appetizer as well as the beef carpaccio. Both were outstanding. The puntas de filete was so tender and tasty as was the grilled angus tenderloin. We followed with the mousse tower and the French pressed coffee for an excellent end to a truly memorable evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

El Paso classic! More than attentive staff from the valet to somilier and everyone in between. Great specials in from steak to halibut. Green chili soup is unique and best I have tasted. Seafood appetizer has is fresh and out of this world. Steak specials are world class. You have to try the Lava cake and tres leeches cake. Never get tired of coming to this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply an amazing experience every time. ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Simply an amazing experience every time. The food, wine selection, and service are better than any restaurant in the metro cities. All the servers are amazing, but Charles is our regular. The sommelier Phil is tops - entertaining and just plain knows his wines. Special orders a rare Malbec for me. All the local VIPs eat here regularly. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Menu

Dined on May 7, 2016

I think this restaurant is awesome, however I am concern that having so much Hispanic customers, they have not set a menu in Spanish. Just my thought.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Formal, high class restaurant with good ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Formal, high class restaurant with good food, proper portions, polite and efficient staff.

food3
ambience4
service4

Liked the yellow tail sashimi and the lu ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Liked the yellow tail sashimi and the lump crab and avocado salad. Ordered special bone in prime steak. Ordered medium. Pretty much well done when served . For the cost of that steak, you would expect it to be cooked appropriately. Otherwise ok. Wife enjoyed Chilean sea bass. Overall we enjoyed our night out and our meal here, but didn't match what we experienced with our first visit.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Service Was Lacking

Dined on April 29, 2016

Once again the food was very good but the service wasn't great. Good service is expected when dishing out a couple hundred on a table for two.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

VERY DISAPPOINTED!

Dined on April 24, 2016

As soon as we were seated our waiter told us they were very busy...that it was going to take a while because they had 400 guests due to a concert and they need it to focus on those customers. I have never been greeted this way especially at a fine dining? restaurant. The highly recommended chile soup was served cold and our meals arrived without steak knives. That's when our waiter once again reminded us how busy they were and that we had to wait until steak knives got cleaned, so we had to start cutting our steaks with butter knives. No plans in returning to Café Central.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! What a dining experience. Their at ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Wow! What a dining experience. Their attention to detail allows the customers to feel very special. From the moment you walk in the door, you are treated as a VIP. The food is exceptional as well. Presentation and flavor combine to make this restaurant one of the best in the city.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

DateNight

Dined on April 9, 2016

We went here for our anniversary. Both my husband and I enjoyed the experience of "fine dining". The service was good, food was delicious, and the ambiance was elegant perfect for our date night. Of course the food/drink price is high but it is fine dining and in my opinion worth it for a special occasion or date night. My only complaint would be that my vodka tonic seamed watered down other than that I'm happy with our choice to go here and would recommend for a date night to anyone looking to spoil their partner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Always great

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Cafe Central has gotten so much better!

Dined on April 8, 2016

The service has greatly improved with he wait staff being much more attentive and friendly. The food has always been great and still is.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining ezperience

Dined on April 7, 2016

Food was excellent, the service even better!! The musically talent was a welcome addition to the overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

I have been eating at the Central for about sixty years----the original one was in Juarez. I ordered my first cocktail there and it cost $1.00. There was also a lunch special for $1.00. I loved it then and I love the reincarnated, much fancier El Paso version. The food is incredible and the wine list would please any wine enthusiast. The staff are friendly and very helpful. It is the best restaurant in El Paso and more than worth a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent staff with great service

Dined on March 22, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. The staff was amazing, and the overall service was well beyond expectations.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was up to par and an elegant ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The service was up to par and an elegant experience. The food was delicous and was what we expected.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on March 20, 2016

It was our anniversary and we wanted something delicious and elegant. This was the perfect place. We were seated in seconds of arriving and our waitress was so attentive. The food was EXCELLENT.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

El Paso fine dining at it's best.

Dined on March 20, 2016

An established El Paso eatery. Fine dining at it's best in El Paso. The Mango Colada pie is the best dessert I've had anywhere in the world. It's a must have.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Cafe Central - Opera Night

Dined on March 17, 2016

We decided to dine at Café Central for the 1st time. Our food and server were outstanding. Service was not. 1. After we were sat at a table, we were asked if we didn't mind moving to another table as our table was reserved for a birthday celebration. Shouldn’t the hostess have already known this? 2. Our 2nd table wasn't set. There were sets of incomplete silverware, no plates, and only 1 butter knife. 3. My daughter’s sparkling water was refilled with house water. 4. After ordering a bottle of Nivoli Moscato D’asti, the sommelier came to our table and informed us that they were out of Nivoli Moscato D’asti and tried to serve us Martini and Rossi. This, of course, was unacceptable. Shouldn't the sommelier know his stock? We felt a bit insulted as he tried to serve us a bottle of Martini and Rossi as if we wouldn’t know the difference. He could have asked us if we would like to try the Martini and Rossi. 5. The person bussing the table kept trying to clear our plates even though we were not yet finished with our meal. 6. For dessert, I ordered the Cheese Board. Instead, I got a cheesecake.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nothing changes, and that's mostly good

Dined on March 15, 2016

dining at Cafe Central has been the same for 30 years: high quality green chili soup, meats and fresh fish, tres leches cake and creme brule. these dishes are well prepared and served. the sommelier, Phillip, also really knows wines and can match your taste description with quality wines for a justifiable price. what needs to change is to upgrade the facilities, chairs, carpets and curtain, which also seem at least 30 years old.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice atmosphere

Dined on March 10, 2016

Very nice atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5

Second time dining at Cafe Central. Love ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Second time dining at Cafe Central. Loved the Signature Green Chile soup... had two servings. Great tasting Moscato! Worth the price. Great ambiance! Sat at the bar dining section. Great area.

food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Anniversary

Dined on February 28, 2016

It was our 25th anniversary and my son recommended this restaurant to me. The restaurant is a very romantic place which went perfect for the occasion. The servers are excellent! They are constantly at your service. The bad thing is, they are in such a rush that the couple next to us, got there alcohol drink full of water. Server filled up the wrong cup with the wrong drink. We ordered the crab tail special. Lobster looked good on the plate but, was far from it. The pasta had no taste and the lobster could of used a spice or two. Paid $163 for 2 plates and 3 cups of wine. We were expecting a lot more for a place so fancy. Personally, I wont be going back anytime soon and I wouldn't recommend it. Maybe, the other plates are better but, for the price we should of gone to red lobster or our usual place of choice, cattlemen's steak house.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Perfect Romantic Evening

Dined on February 15, 2016

The environment was relaxing, the food was perfect, service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Surprisingly unimpressed

Dined on February 14, 2016

The ambiance was about the only thing I was impressed with here. The server was passive aggressively rude and treated us like we were his last priority. Every table around us was offered bread before the meal but our table. The food was subpar... The salmon was dry and unimpressive. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this place unless you are looking to spend way more than what you get.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Big Disappointment

Dined on February 14, 2016

I went there on Valentine's Day, my first time ever there. We had a reservation, and were seated at our table right away. The table they put us in was a two person table which was nice. The problem was though that the chair of the table behind us was was pretty much pressed up against mine with no room to move. Next comes the service. About 5 min after we sat down another couple was seated behind us. Almost immediately their waiter came to their table and filled their water glasses and asked them what they needed. Almost 8 min went by before ANYONE came to our table for the first time. Now comes the food. We ordered the "couples entree " which was lobster tail and steak for two. This meal took almost an hour to come to our table. Mean while we were almost ignored the whole night by our waiter who seemed to almost conviently come to our table to service us only when the manager was walking around the area. The lobster tail was over cooked and rubbery and the steak which we ordered medium was well done. I ate all my food because I was starving and didn't want to wait another hour to get our food back. My girlfriend barely ate her steak and when the waiter came by and saw she didn't eat, I explained that we ordered it medium and it was extremely well done. He takes the plate away and moments later the manager comes by and precedes to tell my girlfriend she should have said something the moment she was not happy with the steak. We got our bill, which they didn't even offer a free dessert or discount or anything, and just paid and left. Such a huge disappointment and lots of money wasted.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food needs to improve

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was not as we expected and had previously had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

there were a few issues

Dined on February 13, 2016

My first issue was that the woman who was singing, was singing so loud that everyone had to lean into each other just to hear each other. I also noticed that people, including myself were bothered by the fact that the tables were too close together, so that since of intimacy was not there. I also noticed the waitress was not as attentive to my table as she was to others. Maybe it's just me, but I thought I would have been treated better, since I spent $180.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Central:Still wonderful after all these years

Dined on February 6, 2016

We have dined at Cafe Central for over 20 years...but don't live in El Paso. This was our first time in ~ 3 years. We make a point to always have at least one meal when we're in the neighborhood. It serves the consistently best dinner in El Paso, with excellent service, great ambiance and a convenient central location (The name says it). Extensive wine list from known to obscure with a range of pricing to suit all budgets. Food is always well presented cooked to order.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Cafe Central

Dined on January 31, 2016

Good food, great service, live music really enhanced the atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time dining at Cafe Central. Great ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

First time dining at Cafe Central. Great food! Great ambiance! Great service! Steak cooked to perfection. Great dessert! Will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best, wine, food and service

Dined on January 30, 2016

This is my favorite place for a romantic dinner or a lunch with friends. The service, the menu and the wines are excellent. The sommelier has exceptional suggestions for the dishes. My favorite is the lamb but, I really enjoyed everything. The ambience is relaxing and the staff is eager to serve you. I love this place!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always

vip
Dined on January 14, 2016

I have been dining here since I started traveling to El Paso back in 2003. This is one of my favorite restaurants in the country. Service is beyond explanation - ask for Charles. Food is amazing. The sommelier Phil is simply the best. Highly recommend this for lunch or dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visitor from Phoenix

Dined on January 12, 2016

One of the best restaurants I have been to, anywhere! Our waiter"Joey" was a gem and very knowledgable about the menu. It is a very spendy place to eat, but if you are looking for a special place, this is it. The only down side is the wine steward is downer and not very friendly. I dare anyone to find a better place in the area

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service has gotten better

Dined on January 12, 2016

Food is always great. Service used to be snooty and not timely. But our waiter was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night

Dined on January 3, 2016

We wanted to go out for a nice dinner with great food. A friend recommended Café Central. So glad they did. The food was amazing. We started with escargot which were tender and in a great butter. I had the quail while my date had the Scottish Salmon. Both meals were spot on and delicious, the sauces on both adding an amazing dimension. We finished with over dinner coffees and the dessert sampler. All were delicious, but our favorite was the mango pastry. We plan to go back again and make this a special occasion date spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

wish i would have eaten..:(

Dined on January 1, 2016

This was my husbands and I first time there and it was new years eve... we also had been celebrating are 1st anniversary... we wanted it to be special , that's why we chose café central.. The beginning was great.. are reservations where at 9 , we wanted to bring in the new year... the first 2 courses where excellent... except we never received the main course.. it was 11:30 and still nothing... what made it worse for me was are server she was nothing sensitive to our needs...after complaing 4times , she kept telling us it was coming she finally got tired and told .look I am not cooking it.. which for me was just rude.. when we finally got to see a manager, he did make it up , he told us they skipped our meal and forgot us... and I just told him its ok , at this point I wanted to ring in the new year with a happy smile for my husband.. but I was furious... they made it up ..put are food to go and picked up our tab.. so I guess I have to give a 2 star.. I loved the place , always wanted to go .. but I didn't enjoy it the way I wanted to celebrate my anniversary and nye...

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Cafe Central retained its high standards ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Cafe Central retained its high standards with excellent food and service.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.