About Café Central

109 North Oregon
El Paso, TX 79901
View Larger Map

With food prepared by one of the most highly respected chefs in the city,
guests of Café Central experience dining at its finest.
Soft lights, handsome furnishings and ambient music create a relaxing mood-setting atmosphere; fine linens and fresh flowers adorn every table. Our staff provides every patron with unsurpassed service. Bon Appétit.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Saturday 11:00am-4:00pm; Dinner: Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mills and San Antonio Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 545-2233

Website:
http://www.cafecentral.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz on Thursdays; Piano during Dinner Monday thru Saturday.

Catering:
Please call Event Planner at (915) 545-2233 or email events@cafecentral.com for details and we will make sure to make your event a success.

Parking Details:
Public lot located next door to restaurant. Parking is $6.00 and Valet parking is $5.

Executive Chef:
Aldo Mora

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please call Event Planner at (915) 545-2233 or email events@cafecentral.com for details and we will make sure to make your event a success.

Restaurant Photos

Café Central
Plum & Burrata Cheese Salad
Crab and Avocado Salad
Cigars
Octopus Carpaccio
Grilled Atlantic Salmon
Beet Tower
Boned New York
Green Chile Soup
Power Lunch
Chilean Bass
Tuna Salad Sandwhich
New York Cheesecake
Bacon Wrapped Prawns
Grilled Angus Tenderloin Four Cheese Daphinoise Potatoes, Sautee Baby Spinach
Créme Brulé
Yellow Tail Sashimi Special
Mango Pie
Tuna
Ceaser Salad
Te Ch

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Candlelit, private, impeccably appointed gatherings are our pleasure. The Board Room accommodates 20 to 48 people with a private, full service bar cloistered on the reverse side of our main bar. The Wine Vault accommodates 2 to 20 people and is a fully private room, separated from main dining area.

Café Central Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
El Paso
Most Booked
El Paso
Best Restaurants in El Paso ›

special occasion (58)
romantic (53)
notable wine list (40)
See All
fit for foodies (28)
good for groups (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
great for lunch (9)
late-night find (8)
great for outdoor dining (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
639 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the top three fine dining restaur ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

One of the top three fine dining restaurants we have ever dined at in our 38 years of marriage.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our 10 year anniversary. Very r ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went for our 10 year anniversary. Very romantic even though my wife and I felt a little young in the place. Food was delicious and the service was great. Would recommend for that once/twice a year event when you want to drop $200 on dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I'll be back, the beef tenderloin was fo ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I'll be back, the beef tenderloin was fork tender! The poblano soup was fantastic, as was the crème brûlée! Yum

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was delicious great staff friendly at ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was delicious great staff friendly attentive waiters

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of El Pado's finest - won ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Absolutely one of El Pado's finest - wonderful food, service, wine list ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelent food, excelent service, great w ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excelent food, excelent service, great wine selection

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely recommend this restaurant for ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Definitely recommend this restaurant for a fine dining experience. Took my friend for her birthday and it was a truly special evening. Everything was excellent, from the ambiance to the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We weren't impressed overall based on wh ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We weren't impressed overall based on what we had previously heard about it. The food was fine but not great, prices were a bit high for the type of food offered. The ambiance would have been nicer if it wasn't for the noise level, which may have been due to the private party going on in the outer part of the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 49th anniversary in a very special restaurant. We had dined at Café Central two other times; in comparing it to other restaurants in the vicinity, we decided that our choice had to be Café Central. The rack of lamb was cooked to perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Certainly the best restaurant in El Paso ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Certainly the best restaurant in El Paso and one of my favorite in Texas. Wait staff is exceptional, sommelier is great, and the food is fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service the food epically the maple ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

the service the food epically the maple duck wear excellent, I really enjoyed the desert the atmosphere was very relaxing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business Dinner

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had a group of 10 and the waiters were very accommodating since some of our party was a little late. The wine list was amazing, food was outstanding. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Got to be the best place in town for usi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Got to be the best place in town for using a fork!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed in service and meal

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We waited 15 minutes before drink order was taken to begin with. I order the pork chop and it was pink even though I requested well done. I did not have time to send it back as we were going to the plaza. I have eaten at cafe central many times but so not think we will return. When you go to a 5 star restaurant that was not even busy and have to wait and wait and then your food is not prepared as ordered it is very disappointing.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Best dining experience in EP

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Always go with your waiters favorite.. I did, the Colorado lamb was divine! The pomegranate martini was so delicious we had one for dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The wagyu beef carpaccio was the best di ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The wagyu beef carpaccio was the best dish of the night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always we enjoyed ourselves immensely ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

As always we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Can't wait to go back. The wine steward was amazing at suggesting a wonderful wine that was perfect. We had the portobello mushroom appetizer as well as the beef carpaccio. Both were outstanding. The puntas de filete was so tender and tasty as was the grilled angus tenderloin. We followed with the mousse tower and the French pressed coffee for an excellent end to a truly memorable evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

El Paso classic! More than attentive staff from the valet to somilier and everyone in between. Great specials in from steak to halibut. Green chili soup is unique and best I have tasted. Seafood appetizer has is fresh and out of this world. Steak specials are world class. You have to try the Lava cake and tres leeches cake. Never get tired of coming to this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply an amazing experience every time. ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Simply an amazing experience every time. The food, wine selection, and service are better than any restaurant in the metro cities. All the servers are amazing, but Charles is our regular. The sommelier Phil is tops - entertaining and just plain knows his wines. Special orders a rare Malbec for me. All the local VIPs eat here regularly. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I think this restaurant is awesome, however I am concern that having so much Hispanic customers, they have not set a menu in Spanish. Just my thought.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Formal, high class restaurant with good ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Formal, high class restaurant with good food, proper portions, polite and efficient staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Liked the yellow tail sashimi and the lu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Liked the yellow tail sashimi and the lump crab and avocado salad. Ordered special bone in prime steak. Ordered medium. Pretty much well done when served . For the cost of that steak, you would expect it to be cooked appropriately. Otherwise ok. Wife enjoyed Chilean sea bass. Overall we enjoyed our night out and our meal here, but didn't match what we experienced with our first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Service Was Lacking

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Once again the food was very good but the service wasn't great. Good service is expected when dishing out a couple hundred on a table for two.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

VERY DISAPPOINTED!

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

As soon as we were seated our waiter told us they were very busy...that it was going to take a while because they had 400 guests due to a concert and they need it to focus on those customers. I have never been greeted this way especially at a fine dining? restaurant.

The highly recommended chile soup was served cold and our meals arrived without steak knives.

That's when our waiter once again reminded us how busy they were and that we had to wait until steak knives got cleaned, so we had to start cutting our steaks with butter knives.

No plans in returning to Café Central.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Wow! What a dining experience. Their at ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Wow! What a dining experience. Their attention to detail allows the customers to feel very special. From the moment you walk in the door, you are treated as a VIP. The food is exceptional as well. Presentation and flavor combine to make this restaurant one of the best in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

DateNight

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We went here for our anniversary. Both my husband and I enjoyed the experience of "fine dining". The service was good, food was delicious, and the ambiance was elegant perfect for our date night. Of course the food/drink price is high but it is fine dining and in my opinion worth it for a special occasion or date night. My only complaint would be that my vodka tonic seamed watered down other than that I'm happy with our choice to go here and would recommend for a date night to anyone looking to spoil their partner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always great

vip
 (El Paso)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cafe Central has gotten so much better!

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The service has greatly improved with he wait staff being much more attentive and friendly. The food has always been great and still is.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding dining ezperience

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Food was excellent, the service even better!!

The musically talent was a welcome addition to the overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I have been eating at the Central for about sixty years----the original one was in Juarez. I ordered my first cocktail there and it cost $1.00. There was also a lunch special for $1.00. I loved it then and I love the reincarnated, much fancier El Paso version. The food is incredible and the wine list would please any wine enthusiast. The staff are friendly and very helpful. It is the best restaurant in El Paso and more than worth a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent staff with great service

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. The staff was amazing, and the overall service was well beyond expectations.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was up to par and an elegant ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The service was up to par and an elegant experience. The food was delicous and was what we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

It was our anniversary and we wanted something delicious and elegant. This was the perfect place. We were seated in seconds of arriving and our waitress was so attentive. The food was EXCELLENT.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

El Paso fine dining at it's best.

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

An established El Paso eatery. Fine dining at it's best in El Paso. The Mango Colada pie is the best dessert I've had anywhere in the world. It's a must have.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Central - Opera Night

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We decided to dine at Café Central for the 1st time. Our food and server were outstanding. Service was not.

1. After we were sat at a table, we were asked if we didn't mind moving to another table as our table was reserved for a birthday celebration. Shouldn’t the hostess have already known this?

2. Our 2nd table wasn't set. There were sets of incomplete silverware, no plates, and only 1 butter knife.

3. My daughter’s sparkling water was refilled with house water.

4. After ordering a bottle of Nivoli Moscato D’asti, the sommelier came to our table and informed us that they were out of Nivoli Moscato D’asti and tried to serve us Martini and Rossi. This, of course, was unacceptable. Shouldn't the sommelier know his stock? We felt a bit insulted as he tried to serve us a bottle of Martini and Rossi as if we wouldn’t know the difference. He could have asked us if we would like to try the Martini and Rossi.

5. The person bussing the table kept trying to clear our plates even though we were not yet finished with our meal.

6. For dessert, I ordered the Cheese Board. Instead, I got a cheesecake.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Nothing changes, and that's mostly good

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

dining at Cafe Central has been the same for 30 years: high quality green chili soup, meats and fresh fish, tres leches cake and creme brule. these dishes are well prepared and served. the sommelier, Phillip, also really knows wines and can match your taste description with quality wines for a justifiable price. what needs to change is to upgrade the facilities, chairs, carpets and curtain, which also seem at least 30 years old.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very nice atmosphere

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Very nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time dining at Cafe Central. Love ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Second time dining at Cafe Central. Loved the Signature Green Chile soup... had two servings. Great tasting Moscato! Worth the price. Great ambiance! Sat at the bar dining section. Great area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

It was our 25th anniversary and my son recommended this restaurant to me. The restaurant is a very romantic place which went perfect for the occasion. The servers are excellent! They are constantly at your service. The bad thing is, they are in such a rush that the couple next to us, got there alcohol drink full of water. Server filled up the wrong cup with the wrong drink. We ordered the crab tail special. Lobster looked good on the plate but, was far from it. The pasta had no taste and the lobster could of used a spice or two. Paid $163 for 2 plates and 3 cups of wine. We were expecting a lot more for a place so fancy. Personally, I wont be going back anytime soon and I wouldn't recommend it. Maybe, the other plates are better but, for the price we should of gone to red lobster or our usual place of choice, cattlemen's steak house.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Perfect Romantic Evening

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The environment was relaxing, the food was perfect, service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.