Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.85mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 2.00mi
  1. Distance: 0.85mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 2.00mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.85mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 2.00mi
  1. Distance: 0.85mi
  2. Distance: 1.11mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 2.00mi

About Café Bicyclette

Café Bistro open for counter service during the day and table service at night. Reservations are only available for our night service available Tuesday through Saturday evenings.

004 - La Cité Francophone
8627 rue Marie-Anne-Gaboury (91 Street NW)
Edmonton, AB T6C 3N1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Lundi/Monday: 8h30 - 17h

Mardi/Tuesday: 8h30 - 21h

Mercredi/Wednesday: 8h30 - 21h

Jeudi/Thursday: 8h30 - 22h

Friday/Vendredi: 8h30 - 22h

Samedi/Saturday: 8h30 - 22h

Dimanche/Sunday: 8h30 - 17h

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(587) 524-8090

Website:
http://www.cafebicyclette.ca/

Parking Details:
Free Parking at La Cite Francophone

Executive Chef:
John Lau

Additional:
Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Café Bicyclette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
See All
Cozy (2)
Authentic (1)
Romantic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
84 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always a flawless experience. Their new cocktails are stunning and perfectly executed. Best patio in yeg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Lovely location on the patio. Such great atmosphere. The food was delicious and the staff was very friendly. Don't let a lack of the French language keep you from enjoying this gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Arrived at the restaurant and was told to find any table we wanted and she would bring menus and table settings (a service they offer only at dinner). We found a quiet table away from a loud group whose children were running around and they were shouting at and speaking loudly.
After several minutes, the server brought us menus and place settings and told us she would be back. We waited. And waited. And waited. They brought food out for a table that was close to us. Never spoke to us. The table that received their food, FINISHED their food. Still no one came to our table.
The loud group moved beside us and continued to shout at their children across the patio.

We had had enough. So my husband and I left. It's too bad as we had looked forward to trying this place for dinner. Unfortunately, we will not be back and will not recommend to anyone we know that appreciated basic service and a reasonably quiet dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was excellent, service even better. The valentines experience was truly superb!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and service was good. On the night we were in the restaurant, there was a reception next door and so there were people from the party who were coming back and forth into the restaurant, which was a bit distracting. There appeared to be only one server in the restaurant that night, and she was doing a good job of keeping up, but when we spoke to her, it felt rushed. Next time I go back, I will try the breakfast/lunch menu to see what they have.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were there for dinner on a Saturday night. It was a very relaxed, quiet ambiance with nice French music. Our waitress was quite pleasant. I had the onion soup and risotto which was quite good. The Syrah I had from the French wine selection was quite good. My husband had the bone in pork with duchess potatoes which he thoroughly enjoyed. We also had deserts: carrot cake and a layered chocolate mousse. Perfect sizes and decadent. I would recommend that the Café have at least a few copies of English menus on hand. Although I could translate for my husband, he would have appreciated seeing an English menu. I have also been there for brunch in the past which was also an enjoyable culinary experience. Would certainly go back to Cafe bicyclette.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always an awesome time! Great poutine and great ambiance..
Really awesome patio in the summer time too!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Went to meet friends at this quiet establishment. Service, ambiance and our poutine appie were promising the rest of the food was mediocre. The main dishes seemed like they were prepared in advance then reheated and then fresh veggies were added to the side. I'll admit the fresh veggies were delicious. Unfortunately for those prices I was fresh everything.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 15, 2016

I took my parents and brother to Cafe Bicyclette while they were visiting me in Edmonton. We live around the corner, so I've also been there for brunch. Our food was delicious. I think my parents didn't enjoy their starter salad as much, but everything else was perfect. Nice ambiance and very friendly servers!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 15, 2016

We wanted to come for Saturday brunch, but Open Table said there were no bookings available within 2.5 hours of the 1 pm time I requested. We came for dinner on Friday evening instead, but when we arrived we learned that there are no reservations for petit dejeuner and dejeuner, only diner. So that was disappointing. The staff said they would make sure the Open Table information was clearer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 7, 2016

"Should" be sexy, it's cool venue, but isn't sexy. The servers seem to lack confidence; they all look like they just finished high school.
I like it there, but I'd like it better somehow if were grungier maybe. Seems to have an identity crisis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2016

We had the Merguez grillé and the Ratatouille en Tour. Both were delicious. Service was good, but servers were not familiar with the new wine selection for which there was no printed list. The old wine list was very good so we hope the new one doesn't disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Good food, not spectacular but it was good overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 13, 2016

For my husband's birthday celebration, we had the french onion soup, and the appetizer special which was a peach bruscetta on baked brie toasts. Delicious! Then we had duck confit done perfectly and a rustic ratatouille. We shared a bottle of wine and dessert. What an enjoyable meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Was so not impressed.
Steak and friets was awful, the fries were not crisp, salad was so boring.
Should have stayed home!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 11, 2015

The servers at Cafe Bicyclette are always happy to serve us in French, which is delightful for us. The salmon was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 5, 2015

I had a lovely dinner at Café Bicyclette. The escargot were very tasty and the lamb shank was delicious. The wine list isn't extensive, but seems to have a nice selection of local vintners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Excellent service, delicious food and crème brûlée to die for, this quaintly warm eatery has everything you need for a special night out. Love eating here before seeing theatre down the hall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 28, 2015

My husband and I went to the bicylette for our anniversary. It is right in our neighborhood. The food is tres' bien! A little on the expensive side but nice for a special occasion. I had the poulet and my husband had the porc. Both were very good. We also had dessert. The chocolate mousse cake was divine and the creme brulee was light and delicious. We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 28, 2015

The spinach salad was exceptional, as were the pastries (lemon tart and chocolate/caramel/peanut tart). Service was excellent and thoughtful. I will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 18, 2015

this is a lereasonable proce list on edmont frenchfood at an affordable price

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 17, 2015

Pretty good price for the menu items. Very decent for groups. Food was overall really good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 9, 2015

My friend and I are vegans, and I was told by the staff if we call them in advance, the cook can fix us a meal. However, when we got there the only option were the salads without the cheese. So we ended up eating a plate of spinach with some pecans, that was it. We were really disappointed. And hungry afterwards! On a lighter note, this is a lovely place that has character (not easy to find in Edmonton) and you can sit outside without a strip mall or parking lot in sight (again, also very rare in Edmonton). The service was great too. I will keep coming back for a cup of coffee.....

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 4, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed date night at Cafe Bicycelette. We were the only people on the restaurant for most of the meal - which is surprising given the quality of food for a very reasonable price. Our charcuterie plate was mouth watering as an appetizer. Our entrees were very good as well but the appetizer shined.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 25, 2015

Excellent food, with portion sizes as you would expect for excellent food. AWESOME outdoor patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 25, 2015

Great food and atmosphere - incredibly slow service. About 1 hour to get the entrees out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 19, 2015

Lovely French Bistro with great food. Duck and gnocchi was delicious and I would definitely go back again to try something else as well. Wines by the bottle were

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 12, 2015

As always the food is fresh, delicious and each dish unique in flavour. the reduction was heavenly with the vegetables -pork dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 6, 2015

Love this place. I bring my English speaking friends here all the time and they love the staff for explaining things and being patient with them. I adore the food and the drinks

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 4, 2015

The food is always delicious. The lunches are light and fresh and dinner is pleasing and tastey. They are well presented and easy to enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 28, 2015

The food was good. Recommend the duck. Loved the Putin
Great ambiance

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2015

Can't go wrong with Café Bicylcette! Great restaurant in a great neighborhood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 23, 2015

i went for supper. i've heard that brunch is better.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 17, 2015

It was nice to able to order in French. The food was fantastic with a very relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 17, 2015

We have gone here a number of times for coffee and brunch but this was the first for dinner. I don't understand more than high school french but I like the fact that it is promoting that aspect of the area, especially with College St. Jean so close. Anyway, the food is invariably good and the service is friendly and efficient. For dinner I had the pork filet and my wife had the sole. Both very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 27, 2015

The chef excelled in everything but the choice of meat for the angus au poivre that probably
pleases Albertans. I would humbly suggest bottom or top sirloin cuts topped with whole black pepper and gravy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 21, 2015

Café Bicyclette is a laid-back place to have a nice meal at a decent price. The menu is simple, but the food is delicious and reasonable priced. It was a little busy - there were a couple of large groups, so service was a little slow, but they were both friendly and it was nice to be able to hang out and take our time. We shared an order of Beef Tartare, which was nice and subtly flavoured. I had the rosemary chicken with wild mushroom risotto, which was delicious. My husband had the pan-seared sole and rice pilaf. It was very good. The meal reminded me of some of the meals I've had at Parisian cafés. We didn't have desert, but we left satisfied and not overly-stuffed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 21, 2015

We really enjoyed our first visit to Café Bicyclette. The menu is not large but everything was excellent. It is attractively presented and tastes real! The service was perfect, attentive without being intrusive. This café will go on our list for sure. It looks like it will be especially nice in the summer when you can eat out on the patio that is a little sheltered from the street.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 14, 2015

We had a nice meal at the Café with very good service! We appreciated the ambiance--all of the waitresses spoke French. A number of patrons were enjoying drinks outdoors on a charming patio. My salad and mussels were tasty. My husband enjoyed the onion soup and tarragon chicken. The homemade "tarte" offered a sweet conclusion to the simple, but flavourful meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 20, 2015

We enjoyed our meal generally - helped by the very reasonably priced wine. We ended up ordering an extra bottle between the six of us as we waited for our dinner which took a long time due to a problem at large table nearby, which bumped our meal back. The waiter kept us in the loop and checked on us frequently, so while we were hungry, we were also fine. We had a few dishes that were superb. The mussels and french onion soup starters were excellent. (Salad and shrimp were okay.) The tarragon chicken and steak were also good. The duck had a nice flavour but was incredibly tough. A veggie friend enjoyed the Vegetable Bourguignon. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.