About Café Bicyclette

004 - La Cité Francophone
8627 rue Marie-Anne-Gaboury (91 Street NW)
Edmonton, AB T6C 3N1
View Larger Map

Soyez des nôtres pour un repas français simple, délicieux et rafraîchissant dans le Quartier francophone!

Come join us for delicious and refreshing French-country fare in the French Quarter!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:

Lundi/Monday: 9h - 17h
Mardi/Tuesday: 9h - 17h
Mercredi/Wednesday: 9h - 17h
Jeudi/Thursday: 9h - 22h
Friday/Vendredi: 9h - 22h
Samedi/Saturday: 9h - 22h
Dimanche/Sunday: 9h - 17h

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(587) 524-8090

Website:
http://www.lacitefranco.ca/café-bicyclette.php

Executive Chef:
Eric Amyotte

Café Bicyclette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (12)
great for outdoor dining (10)
great for lunch (9)
See All
great for brunch (8)
fit for foodies (8)
good for groups (6)
special occasion (3)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
76 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I took my parents and brother to Cafe Bi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I took my parents and brother to Cafe Bicyclette while they were visiting me in Edmonton. We live around the corner, so I've also been there for brunch. Our food was delicious. I think my parents didn't enjoy their starter salad as much, but everything else was perfect. Nice ambiance and very friendly servers!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We wanted to come for Saturday brunch, b ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We wanted to come for Saturday brunch, but Open Table said there were no bookings available within 2.5 hours of the 1 pm time I requested. We came for dinner on Friday evening instead, but when we arrived we learned that there are no reservations for petit dejeuner and dejeuner, only diner. So that was disappointing. The staff said they would make sure the Open Table information was clearer.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lots of potential

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

"Should" be sexy, it's cool venue, but isn't sexy. The servers seem to lack confidence; they all look like they just finished high school.

I like it there, but I'd like it better somehow if were grungier maybe. Seems to have an identity crisis.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We had the Merguez grillé and the Ratatouille en Tour. Both were delicious. Service was good, but servers were not familiar with the new wine selection for which there was no printed list. The old wine list was very good so we hope the new one doesn't disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

it used to be better

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

First, it was nice that they held our reservation for 15 minutes. Second it was irritating that I got a scolding from Open Table implying that I didn't show up for my reservation. Third, they set us at a table which was so close to the backs of the patrons at the next table that I was afraid of food spilling on them. They could not back up a chair without knocking us over, and the wait person had to lean over me to serve them. Fourth, the pizza had a crust like cardboard and so little cover that it felt like I was just eating the cardboard. Salads were pretty good. I was there for lunch a while back and it was much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Perfect dinner for two

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

For my husband's birthday celebration, we had the french onion soup, and the appetizer special which was a peach bruscetta on baked brie toasts. Delicious! Then we had duck confit done perfectly and a rustic ratatouille. We shared a bottle of wine and dessert. What an enjoyable meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was so not impressed. Steak and friets w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Was so not impressed.

Steak and friets was awful, the fries were not crisp, salad was so boring.

Should have stayed home!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A place to use our French language skills!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

The servers at Cafe Bicyclette are always happy to serve us in French, which is delightful for us. The salmon was cooked to perfection.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delightful bistro

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

I had a lovely dinner at Café Bicyclette. The escargot were very tasty and the lamb shank was delicious. The wine list isn't extensive, but seems to have a nice selection of local vintners.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing French cuisine in a romantic atmosphere.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Excellent service, delicious food and crème brûlée to die for, this quaintly warm eatery has everything you need for a special night out. Love eating here before seeing theatre down the hall.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiet French Restaurant

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

My husband and I went to the bicylette for our anniversary. It is right in our neighborhood. The food is tres' bien! A little on the expensive side but nice for a special occasion. I had the poulet and my husband had the porc. Both were very good. We also had dessert. The chocolate mousse cake was divine and the creme brulee was light and delicious. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The spinach salad was exceptional, as we ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

The spinach salad was exceptional, as were the pastries (lemon tart and chocolate/caramel/peanut tart). Service was excellent and thoughtful. I will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

this is a little gem french food and the most

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

this is a lereasonable proce list on edmont frenchfood at an affordable price

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Bday dinner

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

Pretty good price for the menu items. Very decent for groups. Food was overall really good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My friend and I are vegans, and I was to ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

My friend and I are vegans, and I was told by the staff if we call them in advance, the cook can fix us a meal. However, when we got there the only option were the salads without the cheese. So we ended up eating a plate of spinach with some pecans, that was it. We were really disappointed. And hungry afterwards! On a lighter note, this is a lovely place that has character (not easy to find in Edmonton) and you can sit outside without a strip mall or parking lot in sight (again, also very rare in Edmonton). The service was great too. I will keep coming back for a cup of coffee.....

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Good French cafe is a hidden gem in Bonnie Doon

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed date night at Cafe Bicycelette. We were the only people on the restaurant for most of the meal - which is surprising given the quality of food for a very reasonable price. Our charcuterie plate was mouth watering as an appetizer. Our entrees were very good as well but the appetizer shined.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Felt rushed

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2015

Excellent food, with portion sizes as you would expect for excellent food. AWESOME outdoor patio.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food and atmosphere - incredibly s ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2015

Great food and atmosphere - incredibly slow service. About 1 hour to get the entrees out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Lovely French Bistro with great food. Du ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2015

Lovely French Bistro with great food. Duck and gnocchi was delicious and I would definitely go back again to try something else as well. Wines by the bottle were

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

As always the food is fresh, delicious a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 13, 2015

As always the food is fresh, delicious and each dish unique in flavour. the reduction was heavenly with the vegetables -pork dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. I bring my English spea ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 7, 2015

Love this place. I bring my English speaking friends here all the time and they love the staff for explaining things and being patient with them. I adore the food and the drinks

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always light and fresh

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 5, 2015

The food is always delicious. The lunches are light and fresh and dinner is pleasing and tastey. They are well presented and easy to enjoy.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

The food was good. Recommend the duck. Loved the Putin

Great ambiance

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great restaurant in a great location

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 26, 2015

Can't go wrong with Café Bicylcette! Great restaurant in a great neighborhood!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

many items from the menu were not available

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 24, 2015

i went for supper. i've heard that brunch is better.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Enjoyable dinner

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 18, 2015

It was nice to able to order in French. The food was fantastic with a very relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bicyclette is a true gem in the Bonnie Doon area

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 17, 2015

We have gone here a number of times for coffee and brunch but this was the first for dinner. I don't understand more than high school french but I like the fact that it is promoting that aspect of the area, especially with College St. Jean so close. Anyway, the food is invariably good and the service is friendly and efficient. For dinner I had the pork filet and my wife had the sole. Both very tasty.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The chef excelled in everything but the ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

The chef excelled in everything but the choice of meat for the angus au poivre that probably

pleases Albertans. I would humbly suggest bottom or top sirloin cuts topped with whole black pepper and gravy.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Casual French Fare

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

Café Bicyclette is a laid-back place to have a nice meal at a decent price. The menu is simple, but the food is delicious and reasonable priced. It was a little busy - there were a couple of large groups, so service was a little slow, but they were both friendly and it was nice to be able to hang out and take our time. We shared an order of Beef Tartare, which was nice and subtly flavoured. I had the rosemary chicken with wild mushroom risotto, which was delicious. My husband had the pan-seared sole and rice pilaf. It was very good. The meal reminded me of some of the meals I've had at Parisian cafés. We didn't have desert, but we left satisfied and not overly-stuffed.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fabulous Find

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

We really enjoyed our first visit to Café Bicyclette. The menu is not large but everything was excellent. It is attractively presented and tastes real! The service was perfect, attentive without being intrusive. This café will go on our list for sure. It looks like it will be especially nice in the summer when you can eat out on the patio that is a little sheltered from the street.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very Pleasant

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 15, 2015

We had a nice meal at the Café with very good service! We appreciated the ambiance--all of the waitresses spoke French. A number of patrons were enjoying drinks outdoors on a charming patio. My salad and mussels were tasty. My husband enjoyed the onion soup and tarragon chicken. The homemade "tarte" offered a sweet conclusion to the simple, but flavourful meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service but food hit and miss

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

We enjoyed our meal generally - helped by the very reasonably priced wine. We ended up ordering an extra bottle between the six of us as we waited for our dinner which took a long time due to a problem at large table nearby, which bumped our meal back. The waiter kept us in the loop and checked on us frequently, so while we were hungry, we were also fine. We had a few dishes that were superb. The mussels and french onion soup starters were excellent. (Salad and shrimp were okay.) The tarragon chicken and steak were also good. The duck had a nice flavour but was incredibly tough. A veggie friend enjoyed the Vegetable Bourguignon. We will return.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Valentine's Dinner -- Straight To The Points

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Food was the most disappointing part.

It was something I could have prepared better at home.

The cost per person was around $70.

It was somewhat slightly understaffed for the night.

Would have been better to lower the price to match the food received.

Food was served not by table but for the entire restaurant by the course -- Good try, but could have been better executed.

Staff was really nice and friendly.

Nice ambiance, it was easy to talk.

Clean and well presented establishment.

Would like to go back for breakfast items and normal dinner.

Will try again in the future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Not an expert in French cuisine but when ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Not an expert in French cuisine but when the accompanying dish is "risotto" and the "vegetarian" option is "ravioli", not sure where the "French" is.

The meal was a "fixed" menu for S. Valentine's Day, but not a fixed price. This aside, we were served a glass of champagne/sparkling wine w/ the appetizers were served. I didn't see the menu because it wasn't on their website when I made the reservation but my companion did and said there were "non meat" options so we didn't worry. When I saw the menu while he excused himself a moment, I did let our hostess know and she said they would accommodate him w/ something "similar". Our meal: The appetizer was ONE oyster on a VERY large bed of ice, the vegetarian option was a generous spinach salad w/ pecans and chevre. My companion loves oysters so I gave him mine. My companion enjoyed his oyster but would have liked at least one more. I shared my salad with him. The charcuterie and cheese plate that followed were very good and well presented. This part of our meal we enjoyed and I enjoyed my spinach salad. Before the main course, we had a nice strawberry sorbetto. Our mains were the duck breast w/ a mushroom risotto (the rice was well cooked but bland). My companion had the "ravioli" (a bit saltier than expected). We enjoyed out mains fine, however, given the expectations based on the reviews, the food was good, but not "phenomenal"/"amazing" based on others' experiences.

Staff was not running around, it was steady. This was nice since it gave everyone a chance to eat tranquilly without rushing and also the staff to serve without rushing. The awkward moment came when around 7:45, seeing a lengthening row of people waiting and watching as you finished. To top it off, you were asked to go to the counter to pay, thus another long line to pay to leave so the "2nd shift" can get in.The dessertwas a charming heart shaped chocolate cake for two. Again, the cake to the price point ($26) didn't add up to me or my palate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Disappointing

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Previous visits were very good, but unfortunately, this visit was a disappointment. Although the shrimp appetizer was outstanding, my main course of leg of duck was tough. I recognize the menu did not say it was confit, but I would not order it again, My wife had the pork tenderloin, and found it dry and overdone. The cauliflower puree, although tasteful, was cold. We decided to skip desert.

On a positive note, the service was up to its high standard. As our waitress mentioned before we ordered, there were a few new items on the menu so this may account for the inconsistent preparation.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great find!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening out here! Everything was superb, from the service, ambiance and the food. Highly recommended. Great bike art as well!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome French Cuisine

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

Great french food, great service, and a cozy little place!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful - Again!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 30, 2014

This was my fourth time at the restaurant but only my first time for dinner and it was excellent. The service is attentive and friendly without being intrusive. The food is excellent and interesting - not what you find everywhere which is great. The menu changes often so you may not find the same items. We shared the charcuterie platter which was simple but tasty, the steak tartare which was heavenly, and the coq au vin which was also delicious. The outside patio is lovely as well, for an afternoon glass of wine or beer. We did not have dessert but will next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was the star

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 21, 2014

Food was good, service excellent (but only because we made a reservation). During the fringe, this restaurant was too busy and noisy. They were disorganized and the line-up was out the door. The food was worth another try, on a less busy night.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Had a fantastic dinner tonight of escarg ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 2, 2014

Had a fantastic dinner tonight of escargot, mussels (amazing sauce), fried cod and steak. Everyone raved. Will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.