Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Café Bicyclette

4.1
95 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Neighborhood Gem
Café Bistro open for counter service during the day and table service at night. Reservations are only available for our night service Thursday through Saturday evenings.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lundi/Monday: 8h30 - 17h

Mardi/Tuesday: 8h30 - 17h

Mercredi/Wednesday: 8h30 - 17h

Mercredi 14 Fevrier/Wednesday 14 February: 8h30 - 17h and Special Valentine's Dinner Menu 18h30 - 22h

Jeudi/Thursday: 8h30 - 22h

Friday/Vendredi: 8h30 - 22h

Samedi/Saturday: 8h30 - 22h

Dimanche/Sunday: 8h30 - 17h

En supplémentaire| Extra date added
Terrasse à sucre |
Sugar Shack

Café Bicyclette is pleased to announce a new date for the Sugar Shack on Saturday, April 21, 2018 at 6pm. These dinners being sold out on April 6, 13 and 14, we want everyone who wanted enjoy this culinary experience can do it in 2018. Select April 21, 6 pm, outdoor.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(587) 524-8090
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Lau
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free Parking at La Cite Francophone
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
The Annual French Canadian Sugar Shack Dinner
March 16-17-23-24 SOLD OUT
April 6-13 and 14 SOLD OUT
April 21 OPEN

The annual French Canadian Sugar Shack!
Reserve your seats for our Sugar Shack Dinner in our wood fire heated outfitter tent! This rustic dining dinner brings a new approach to maple harvest season in Edmonton!
$75/guest
Seating 6:00pm
Prepayment required and non-refundable booking, limited seats
Additional
Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 95 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.3
food
3.9
service
4.0
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Quiet
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The setting was wonderful, food was delicious, servers were attentive, personable, and enthusiastic. We were here for the sugar shack meal which in itself was awesome. My one criticism would be that the event was supposed to start at 6pm so we arrived approximately 20 minutes early (5:40pm) but they waiting to start serving the meal until everyone had arrived and was seated with drinks. In theory this sounds reasonable and quite considerate but in practice it meant we sat until 7pm before we started to eat

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We've previously been to Café Bicyclette about 7 or 8 times for both lunch and dinner sittings and have always enjoyed the food and service but this time was different.
I have to say the quality of food was poor. Also the main dish options for vegetarians was limited to about two dishes on the dinner menu.
I realise Café Bicyclette is a french restaurant but in Edmonton one would think that the servers would be fluent in both languages.
Oddly this time ordering was a bit of a chore due to language issues.
They gave us the wrong salad to start. They offered to fix it but we were under time constraints so we just ate what they brought. The mix up with the salad was because the servers seemed confused with the English language.
It might make it easier for both staff and customers if the menu was in both official languages.

On to the food.
My steak was under-cooked and of a very poor quality.
My wife who is a vegetarian said her food was just OK but far from the quality we we expecting.
All in all, our visit to Café Bicyclette was a disappointment this time.
Unlikely we'll return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

As always, amazing! Would recommend for everyday or something a little different

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Delightful server, delicious meal, good value. We were in a hurry to make curtain and they made it happen.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Had an excellent time at the Sugar Shack!!! The food was fantastic and it was a fun way to spend a Friday night.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Although the service was good and the food was tasty, it was incredibly over priced and the portions were tiny.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

First visit here. We were very impressed with the food, service and cozy environment. Would definitely recommend....we will be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Seemed understaffed and the staff weren’t good at sharing duties. Our waiter was kind and funny though. Food was good but could have been hotter. Overall, a unique restaurant in Edmonton and I’d recommend it.

And background music would have been a great addition.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

The meal was lovely, has chicken with couscous and had great flavor. Had yule log dessert. My friend was celiac and enjoyed the steak frites without problem. I was disappointed that there were no dessert options for gluten free.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

We very much enjoy coming here to eat, anyone we introduce to this restaurant enjoys it!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 21, 2017

The service was friendly and pleasant, although not terribly efficient. The server forgot what wine we ordered, and brought us something completely different. I didn’t send it back because it was a wine I hadn’t tried, and I thought I’d sample it anyway. The food was mediocre at best. The steak et pomme frites was grossly over-seasoned, and was far too heavy on garlic and something else (sage?). My partner had the chicken, which was properly seasoned, but it was tepid by the time it was brought to the table. All in all, it was a passable dinner with friendly service, but the food and service were nothing special, and the whole meal was over-priced for the quality served. Would I go again? Unlikely, if I were to choose the place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 11, 2017

Always a flawless experience. Their new cocktails are stunning and perfectly executed. Best patio in yeg.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 6, 2017

Lovely location on the patio. Such great atmosphere. The food was delicious and the staff was very friendly. Don't let a lack of the French language keep you from enjoying this gem of a restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 19, 2017

Arrived at the restaurant and was told to find any table we wanted and she would bring menus and table settings (a service they offer only at dinner). We found a quiet table away from a loud group whose children were running around and they were shouting at and speaking loudly.
After several minutes, the server brought us menus and place settings and told us she would be back. We waited. And waited. And waited. They brought food out for a table that was close to us. Never spoke to us. The table that received their food, FINISHED their food. Still no one came to our table.
The loud group moved beside us and continued to shout at their children across the patio.

We had had enough. So my husband and I left. It's too bad as we had looked forward to trying this place for dinner. Unfortunately, we will not be back and will not recommend to anyone we know that appreciated basic service and a reasonably quiet dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was excellent, service even better. The valentines experience was truly superb!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and service was good. On the night we were in the restaurant, there was a reception next door and so there were people from the party who were coming back and forth into the restaurant, which was a bit distracting. There appeared to be only one server in the restaurant that night, and she was doing a good job of keeping up, but when we spoke to her, it felt rushed. Next time I go back, I will try the breakfast/lunch menu to see what they have.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2017

We were there for dinner on a Saturday night. It was a very relaxed, quiet ambiance with nice French music. Our waitress was quite pleasant. I had the onion soup and risotto which was quite good. The Syrah I had from the French wine selection was quite good. My husband had the bone in pork with duchess potatoes which he thoroughly enjoyed. We also had deserts: carrot cake and a layered chocolate mousse. Perfect sizes and decadent. I would recommend that the Café have at least a few copies of English menus on hand. Although I could translate for my husband, he would have appreciated seeing an English menu. I have also been there for brunch in the past which was also an enjoyable culinary experience. Would certainly go back to Cafe bicyclette.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2017

Always an awesome time! Great poutine and great ambiance..
Really awesome patio in the summer time too!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 18, 2016

Went to meet friends at this quiet establishment. Service, ambiance and our poutine appie were promising the rest of the food was mediocre. The main dishes seemed like they were prepared in advance then reheated and then fresh veggies were added to the side. I'll admit the fresh veggies were delicious. Unfortunately for those prices I was fresh everything.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 15, 2016

I took my parents and brother to Cafe Bicyclette while they were visiting me in Edmonton. We live around the corner, so I've also been there for brunch. Our food was delicious. I think my parents didn't enjoy their starter salad as much, but everything else was perfect. Nice ambiance and very friendly servers!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 15, 2016

We wanted to come for Saturday brunch, but Open Table said there were no bookings available within 2.5 hours of the 1 pm time I requested. We came for dinner on Friday evening instead, but when we arrived we learned that there are no reservations for petit dejeuner and dejeuner, only diner. So that was disappointing. The staff said they would make sure the Open Table information was clearer.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2016

"Should" be sexy, it's cool venue, but isn't sexy. The servers seem to lack confidence; they all look like they just finished high school.
I like it there, but I'd like it better somehow if were grungier maybe. Seems to have an identity crisis.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2016

We had the Merguez grillé and the Ratatouille en Tour. Both were delicious. Service was good, but servers were not familiar with the new wine selection for which there was no printed list. The old wine list was very good so we hope the new one doesn't disappoint.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 5, 2016

Good food, not spectacular but it was good overall

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2016

For my husband's birthday celebration, we had the french onion soup, and the appetizer special which was a peach bruscetta on baked brie toasts. Delicious! Then we had duck confit done perfectly and a rustic ratatouille. We shared a bottle of wine and dessert. What an enjoyable meal!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 13, 2016

Was so not impressed.
Steak and friets was awful, the fries were not crisp, salad was so boring.
Should have stayed home!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 11, 2015

The servers at Cafe Bicyclette are always happy to serve us in French, which is delightful for us. The salmon was cooked to perfection.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 5, 2015

I had a lovely dinner at Café Bicyclette. The escargot were very tasty and the lamb shank was delicious. The wine list isn't extensive, but seems to have a nice selection of local vintners.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 7, 2015

Excellent service, delicious food and crème brûlée to die for, this quaintly warm eatery has everything you need for a special night out. Love eating here before seeing theatre down the hall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 28, 2015

My husband and I went to the bicylette for our anniversary. It is right in our neighborhood. The food is tres' bien! A little on the expensive side but nice for a special occasion. I had the poulet and my husband had the porc. Both were very good. We also had dessert. The chocolate mousse cake was divine and the creme brulee was light and delicious. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 28, 2015

The spinach salad was exceptional, as were the pastries (lemon tart and chocolate/caramel/peanut tart). Service was excellent and thoughtful. I will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 18, 2015

this is a lereasonable proce list on edmont frenchfood at an affordable price

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 17, 2015

Pretty good price for the menu items. Very decent for groups. Food was overall really good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 9, 2015

My friend and I are vegans, and I was told by the staff if we call them in advance, the cook can fix us a meal. However, when we got there the only option were the salads without the cheese. So we ended up eating a plate of spinach with some pecans, that was it. We were really disappointed. And hungry afterwards! On a lighter note, this is a lovely place that has character (not easy to find in Edmonton) and you can sit outside without a strip mall or parking lot in sight (again, also very rare in Edmonton). The service was great too. I will keep coming back for a cup of coffee.....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 4, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed date night at Cafe Bicycelette. We were the only people on the restaurant for most of the meal - which is surprising given the quality of food for a very reasonable price. Our charcuterie plate was mouth watering as an appetizer. Our entrees were very good as well but the appetizer shined.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 25, 2015

Excellent food, with portion sizes as you would expect for excellent food. AWESOME outdoor patio.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 25, 2015

Great food and atmosphere - incredibly slow service. About 1 hour to get the entrees out.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 19, 2015

Lovely French Bistro with great food. Duck and gnocchi was delicious and I would definitely go back again to try something else as well. Wines by the bottle were

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2015

As always the food is fresh, delicious and each dish unique in flavour. the reduction was heavenly with the vegetables -pork dish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2015

Love this place. I bring my English speaking friends here all the time and they love the staff for explaining things and being patient with them. I adore the food and the drinks

Report
Helpful
1
2
3