About Cafe Amici

1371 main street
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

Cafe Amici is a traditional Italian cuisine, we offer extensive menu, you will enjoy dish from Puglia, Veneto, Tuscany and the Mediterranean shores. There is an eight seat bar with 20 wines by the glass, 120 bottle of wines from all over the world, wine vintage from 1964 thru 2014.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Friday:


Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm


Sunday-4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
between Palm Av and Pineapple St on Main street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 951-6896

Website:
http://www.cafeamicisrq.com/

Catering:
We can arrange catering up to 100 people.

Parking Details:
Free parking garage situated behind Cafe Amici, valet service available.

Executive Chef:
Achille Nigri

Private Party Facilities:
The private room can accommodate up to 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Massimo: 9419142679x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinner.

Restaurant Photos

Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Arugula Salad Topping With Porcini Mushroom Prosciutto Di Parma And Asiago Cheese - Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Brandy Risotto With Jumbo Mediterranean Prawns - Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Grilled Jumbo Tiger Prawns - Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Grilled Maine Lobster - Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Home Made Smoked Salmon With Cabbage And On Toasted Crostini - Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL
Cafe Amici, Sarasota, FL

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

7 Fish Dinner

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe Amici Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.1

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Tampa / Central Florida West
Italian
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Value
Sarasota / Bradenton
1 More
Italian
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (7)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Romantic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fun (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Good for Groups (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great standard Italian restaurant just l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great standard Italian restaurant just like you'd find in the Northeast. Maria is a real joy and fun to have as a server. We always come here first night back in town...sometimes the last night as well! Go there! You'll love it!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Authentic Italian food, as in food you w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Authentic Italian food, as in food you would find in Italy not Little Italy! Italian size portions of delicious pasta. Great service and friendly owner - a neighborhood gem.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was exceptional, the food w ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The service was exceptional, the food was outstanding and the prices are very reasonable. We have already made our next reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

the dinners were very good---the service ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

the dinners were very good---the service also was excellent-----we plan to go back in the near future

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food and service. While Cafe A ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent food and service. While Cafe Amichi is Italian, they do have some American fare.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Heard about this place from a friend. Wi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Heard about this place from a friend. With me being Italian I am very picky where I eat out, BUT this place was amazing.. so authentic and so delishious. Our waitress Maria was very knowledgeable and was also Italian so she knew what she was talking about! Will be back again.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

When vacationing in the Sarasota area, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 21, 2016

When vacationing in the Sarasota area, my husband and I always enjoy Cafe Amici. Our recent visit did not disappoint. We had exceptional service, food and wine from the owner's home town in Italy. Our waiter was very knowledgable and made great suggestions. We love the cozy atmosphere. We had another wonderful experience and would highly recommend Cafe Amici.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always - the service was outstanding ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

As always - the service was outstanding and the food was excellent.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe Amici was a wonderful dining experi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Cafe Amici was a wonderful dining experience. We enjoyed everything from the dinner to the dessert. We will definitely return

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My personal favorite restaurant in Saras ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My personal favorite restaurant in Sarasota. Service and food is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great downtown restaurant with a compete ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great downtown restaurant with a competent and authentic italian menu and reasonable prices. Perfect spot for pre-theater dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Cafe Amici continues to please. Excelle ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Cafe Amici continues to please. Excellent recipes from the Puglia region of Italy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The reviews were much better than our me ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The reviews were much better than our meals. Ordered Bronzino, not much flavor compared to other places I've enjoyed before. Potatoes on side over cooked, companion had veal said it was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

We went for an evening with friends. Our ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We went for an evening with friends. Our waitress greeted us warmly and enthusiastically and seated us. She guided us to the specials, although no prices were quoted. With my dairy challenges, she guided me to foods that would not be a problem, even dessert. The food was delicious, the vegetables, while only a few in number under our main dish, were roasted well with good flavoring. The only downer was when we got the bill, it was a LOT more than we had expected, and we learned to now ask for then"special" prices.

but overall, the food was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service at Amici's was great. ...

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food and service at Amici's was great. Authentic Italian dishes that are well prepared. Wine list is not extensive; however, the selections are good and there are several very nice Italian wines available. Great quality food and excellent value for the money.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice waiter Food tasty Vegetables ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Very nice waiter

Food tasty

Vegetables a bit over cooked

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

What a great place, octopus carpaccio te ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

What a great place, octopus carpaccio tender and perfectly cook, veal chop amazing, Kobe beef cannelloni superb, can wait to go back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. It was warm in there. Tho ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was good. It was warm in there. Thought it was from the candle burning but after we blew it out it was still warm in there. Our waiter was a little hard to hear and understand partly due to his heavy accent but our orders were correct. The only other negative was that the women's restroom was "out of order".

Although there were a few negatives we will return to give it another try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Café Amici quietly remains the best Ital ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Café Amici quietly remains the best Italian food in town. A good restaurant is one that will prepare your food the way you want it - Café Amici does that so well. And the staff - the friendliest and most knowledgeable around. Good Italian wines at attractive pricing. It's one of our "go to" places downtown.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent food, service, wine lis ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Always excellent food, service, wine list and value. Always look forward to going.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed excellent Italian food f ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 8, 2016

We have enjoyed excellent Italian food for almost 10 years at Cafe Amichi. This meal was for our wedding anniversary and we were once again very pleased. Will be back soon with out of town friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the food is consistent ea ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2016

The quality of the food is consistent each time I dine here. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great people, food and ambiance...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great people, food and ambiance...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Cafe Amici, ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was our first visit to Cafe Amici, and it did not disappoint. The food was amazing, and the value was fantastic. We enjoyed this so much, we can not wait to visit again.

When striking up a conversation with new friends the very next morning, they asked for a restaurant recommendation, and we did not hesitate.. you have to go to Cafe Amici!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sarasota downtown gem, amazing food and ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Sarasota downtown gem, amazing food and service, good selection of wine by the glass, I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was going to be in downtown Sarasota for ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Was going to be in downtown Sarasota for the day and staying on for the 4th of July fireworks so decided to try Cafe Amici for an early (6:15pm) dinner. I had a $10 coupon from the local Entertainment book to use. Maria was our server and she was very gracious and welcoming. We ordered bruschetta to start, though we were provided with bread for dipping while we awaited the bruschetta. Turned out the bread was delicious but the bruschetta was only fair. The bruschetta was scorched but the tomatoes were good. My wife had a smothered chicken cutlet that was served without the advertised starch and vegetables, though she gave it a thumbs-up. I had osso bucco that was very flavorful but over-salted. After the coupon and before the tip, the bill came to $70, which was a reasonable value for dinner with one glass of wine. I won't be rushing back there, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Don't go to this or any other place on o ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Don't go to this or any other place on or off Main Street during the powerboat races. Sidewalks impossible to navigate with this group of loudmouth half drunk spectators. Restaurant was very noisy, but on a normal night probably quiet enough. Food was good as was the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

service a little slow- food was ok but ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 25, 2016

service a little slow- food was ok but better a few years ago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value4

Middle of the road quality Italian food

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Middle of the road quality Italian food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

It was our second visit and we enjoyed ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 8, 2016

It was our second visit and we enjoyed it very much. We took friends who put the restaurant on the favorites list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I have been dining here for ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 18, 2016

My wife and I have been dining here for several years. The food quality is outstanding with menu items like bracioli, homemade pasta in tomato sauce (gravy) that is reminiscent of family Sunday dinners. Portion was large enough that we had leftovers at home and another dinner.

Always recommend Cafe Amici to anyone looking for excellent Italian food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Italian restaurant, authentic ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Fantastic Italian restaurant, authentic Italian food and well selected wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best culinary experience in Sarasota, a ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Best culinary experience in Sarasota, after so many years in business they still delivery amazing food, great job guys!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated right away but waited sev ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2016

We were seated right away but waited several minutes for a waiter. We did get water by service person.

Waitress was very pleasant but really rushed and in a hurry to move along. Also overheard another waiters specials which she didn't include in ours. We waited a very long time for meals and it was mediocre at best. Food was smothered in sauces especially my rollatini. Yes, it may have been slow cooked but to the point of no flavor. Gummy orchiaetta . Dry tasteless beef.

My partner had veal ossobuco. Nothing special.

Also want it noted that there was a party of 12+ across tiny room. Loud, obnoxious & vulgar. No one seemed to mind. It was very distracting & rude.

We will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great Surprise

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We have lived in the area for a number of years and never visited Cafe Amici before

What a wonderful place with great food and service. We'll definitely return and bring friends and family to this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cafe Amici....downtown SRQ gem

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Cafe Amici has always been a downtown favorite! The ambiance draws you in, the service is impeccable and the genuine Italian cuisine will thrill your taste buds. We all devoured the appetizers which included mozzarella with balsamic and prosciutto. The classic Cesar Salad and Spinach with Gorgonzola were crisp and perfect compliments to our dinners. The main courses included, Fruit ti de mar brimming with fresh seafood, was the table favorite that evening. Being Gluten Free is often a problem when dining Italian, but not at Cafe Amici! The GF Fettucini Amici with chicken, sun dried tomato and amici sauce had me licking the plate! Lemon-cello, the best we've tasted since visiting Italy, was brought to the table with the description that the owner's mother makes it when she visits each year. You will never be disappointed in this wonderful, family owned and operated restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food, Service Just OK

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2016

My husband ordered a bottle of wine & the waiter brought the correct brand but not the correct year. The waiter was puzzled when he was questioned about it. One of the owners came over and tried to convince us that it was the identical wine, just 3 years younger. We accepted the wine, but the way it was handled was unprofessional. The food was good. We will give it another try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

What a great culinary experience, the br ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 3, 2016

What a great culinary experience, the branzino and the veal chop ....simply amazing, good attentive service; can't wait to go back !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An absolutely fabulous restaurant with a ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 2, 2016

An absolutely fabulous restaurant with a great menu and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sad to say

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Food and staff were sadly lacking. Waiter and manager pick and choose to whom they allot as a special diner. My meal was salty and overdone with a poor pairing,,,short ribs best over a light pasta or polenta perhaps vs a heavy arborio rice. This restaurant has yet to provide a memorable dining experience...couldn't wait to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.