About Cafe Amici

1371 main street
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

Cafe Amici is a traditional Italian cuisine, we offer extensive menu, you will enjoy dish from Puglia, Veneto, Tuscany and the Mediterranean shores. There is an eight seat bar with 20 wines by the glass, 120 bottle of wines from all over the world, wine vintage from 1964 thru 2014.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm


Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
between Palm Av and Pineapple St on Main street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 951-6896

Website:
http://www.cafeamicisrq.com/

Catering:
We can arrange catering up to 100 people.

Parking Details:
Free parking garage situated behind Cafe Amici, valet service available.

Executive Chef:
Achille Nigri

Private Party Facilities:
The private room can accommodate up to 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Massimo: 9419142679x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinner.

Restaurant Photos

Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici
Cafe Amici

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe Amici Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
See All
Special Occasion (5)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Romantic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a great place, octopus carpaccio te ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

What a great place, octopus carpaccio tender and perfectly cook, veal chop amazing, Kobe beef cannelloni superb, can wait to go back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. It was warm in there. Tho ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was good. It was warm in there. Thought it was from the candle burning but after we blew it out it was still warm in there. Our waiter was a little hard to hear and understand partly due to his heavy accent but our orders were correct. The only other negative was that the women's restroom was "out of order".

Although there were a few negatives we will return to give it another try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Café Amici quietly remains the best Ital ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Café Amici quietly remains the best Italian food in town. A good restaurant is one that will prepare your food the way you want it - Café Amici does that so well. And the staff - the friendliest and most knowledgeable around. Good Italian wines at attractive pricing. It's one of our "go to" places downtown.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent food, service, wine lis ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Always excellent food, service, wine list and value. Always look forward to going.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed excellent Italian food f ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We have enjoyed excellent Italian food for almost 10 years at Cafe Amichi. This meal was for our wedding anniversary and we were once again very pleased. Will be back soon with out of town friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the food is consistent ea ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The quality of the food is consistent each time I dine here. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great people, food and ambiance...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great people, food and ambiance...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Cafe Amici, ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was our first visit to Cafe Amici, and it did not disappoint. The food was amazing, and the value was fantastic. We enjoyed this so much, we can not wait to visit again.

When striking up a conversation with new friends the very next morning, they asked for a restaurant recommendation, and we did not hesitate.. you have to go to Cafe Amici!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sarasota downtown gem, amazing food and ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Sarasota downtown gem, amazing food and service, good selection of wine by the glass, I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was going to be in downtown Sarasota for ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Was going to be in downtown Sarasota for the day and staying on for the 4th of July fireworks so decided to try Cafe Amici for an early (6:15pm) dinner. I had a $10 coupon from the local Entertainment book to use. Maria was our server and she was very gracious and welcoming. We ordered bruschetta to start, though we were provided with bread for dipping while we awaited the bruschetta. Turned out the bread was delicious but the bruschetta was only fair. The bruschetta was scorched but the tomatoes were good. My wife had a smothered chicken cutlet that was served without the advertised starch and vegetables, though she gave it a thumbs-up. I had osso bucco that was very flavorful but over-salted. After the coupon and before the tip, the bill came to $70, which was a reasonable value for dinner with one glass of wine. I won't be rushing back there, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Don't go to this or any other place on o ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Don't go to this or any other place on or off Main Street during the powerboat races. Sidewalks impossible to navigate with this group of loudmouth half drunk spectators. Restaurant was very noisy, but on a normal night probably quiet enough. Food was good as was the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

service a little slow- food was ok but ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

service a little slow- food was ok but better a few years ago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value4

Middle of the road quality Italian food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Middle of the road quality Italian food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

It was our second visit and we enjoyed ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

It was our second visit and we enjoyed it very much. We took friends who put the restaurant on the favorites list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I have been dining here for ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

My wife and I have been dining here for several years. The food quality is outstanding with menu items like bracioli, homemade pasta in tomato sauce (gravy) that is reminiscent of family Sunday dinners. Portion was large enough that we had leftovers at home and another dinner.

Always recommend Cafe Amici to anyone looking for excellent Italian food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Italian restaurant, authentic ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Fantastic Italian restaurant, authentic Italian food and well selected wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best culinary experience in Sarasota, a ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Best culinary experience in Sarasota, after so many years in business they still delivery amazing food, great job guys!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated right away but waited sev ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We were seated right away but waited several minutes for a waiter. We did get water by service person.

Waitress was very pleasant but really rushed and in a hurry to move along. Also overheard another waiters specials which she didn't include in ours. We waited a very long time for meals and it was mediocre at best. Food was smothered in sauces especially my rollatini. Yes, it may have been slow cooked but to the point of no flavor. Gummy orchiaetta . Dry tasteless beef.

My partner had veal ossobuco. Nothing special.

Also want it noted that there was a party of 12+ across tiny room. Loud, obnoxious & vulgar. No one seemed to mind. It was very distracting & rude.

We will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great Surprise

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We have lived in the area for a number of years and never visited Cafe Amici before

What a wonderful place with great food and service. We'll definitely return and bring friends and family to this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cafe Amici....downtown SRQ gem

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Cafe Amici has always been a downtown favorite! The ambiance draws you in, the service is impeccable and the genuine Italian cuisine will thrill your taste buds. We all devoured the appetizers which included mozzarella with balsamic and prosciutto. The classic Cesar Salad and Spinach with Gorgonzola were crisp and perfect compliments to our dinners. The main courses included, Fruit ti de mar brimming with fresh seafood, was the table favorite that evening. Being Gluten Free is often a problem when dining Italian, but not at Cafe Amici! The GF Fettucini Amici with chicken, sun dried tomato and amici sauce had me licking the plate! Lemon-cello, the best we've tasted since visiting Italy, was brought to the table with the description that the owner's mother makes it when she visits each year. You will never be disappointed in this wonderful, family owned and operated restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food, Service Just OK

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

My husband ordered a bottle of wine & the waiter brought the correct brand but not the correct year. The waiter was puzzled when he was questioned about it. One of the owners came over and tried to convince us that it was the identical wine, just 3 years younger. We accepted the wine, but the way it was handled was unprofessional. The food was good. We will give it another try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

What a great culinary experience, the br ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

What a great culinary experience, the branzino and the veal chop ....simply amazing, good attentive service; can't wait to go back !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An absolutely fabulous restaurant with a ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

An absolutely fabulous restaurant with a great menu and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sad to say

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Food and staff were sadly lacking. Waiter and manager pick and choose to whom they allot as a special diner. My meal was salty and overdone with a poor pairing,,,short ribs best over a light pasta or polenta perhaps vs a heavy arborio rice. This restaurant has yet to provide a memorable dining experience...couldn't wait to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent night out with old friends

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

The owner's wife served our group of 7 with grace and charm. All food arrived in a timely fashion, was very well prepared, properly plated, and absolutely delicious. The osso bucco was succulent and flavorful, the fresh nicely seasoned and properly cooked, and the veal chop cooked to medium-rare perfection. We greatly enjoyed the suggested wines that came from the owner's home town in Italy. Because we ordered the specials (ossobucco and veal chops) along with 4 bottles of wine, the total bill came to a bit more than $100 per person including tax and tip. That seems a bit high for a $$ restaurant, more on the level of $$$, but again, we ordered on the high end. All in all, highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for opera dining

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Right around the corner from the Sarasota Opera House, Café Amici provides for a wonderful pre-performance dinner. The Italian cuisine had the usual dishes plus some innovative recipes. Very fresh ingredients led to a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

always good

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

We've dined here a few times before. Our food was, as ever, outstanding. We both had salads, and then pasta. My wife had the Sacchetti with pear and gorgonzola, and I had the ravioli with wild mushrooms, both quite wonderful. It's such a pleasant space, ( nice decor, cosy but not too tight, acoustics not too loud and good privacy) and regulars were greeted very warmly. That's not to say that occasionals are treated coolly: quite the contrary. We had smiles and speedy service, and when I asked for the discount for opera season ticket holders, even though I didn't actually have on me the little card to prove we were season-ticket holders, they gave us the discount anyway. A really good experience and we'll be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Always a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Italian at its Best!!!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

You can taste the love put into the food at Cafe Amici.. Had the Seabass special , which I practically order everywhere I go, nothing compared to their preparation .. My server was animated and confident of the dishes she serves, and for good reason. This place is exceptional!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed the magic show prior to dinning.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

The food was good in a comfortable setting. The restaurant was somewhat loud but that's a sign of attracting a crowd. Our particular waiter was not what I would call outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Very very disappointing

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Our server, Maria, was like a car salesman. She pushed us into the very over priced specials, without telling us the price. Anything we tried to order on the menu she said "you don't want that". I ordered the sea bass and it was the worst I ever tasted. My husband ordered osso buco. It was a little tough and not very tasty. The entire dining experience was the worst we've had in Florida. We would near go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Sarasota downtown gem!! Best Ossobuco ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Sarasota downtown gem!! Best Ossobuco and veal chop in the area, jumbo tortelloni is a must, great wine list by the glass and bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent! A hit! A palpable hit! Caf ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Excellent! A hit! A palpable hit! Cafe Amici scores again and certainly will not disappoint the most discriminating of tastes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Amici is a fantastic place to eat i ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Cafe Amici is a fantastic place to eat in downtown Sarasota. The co-owners always go out of their way to ensure that you are having a wonderful experience. Our waiter, Andre, is exceptional. He knows the menu very well, makes suggestions but isn't too "pushy" and is attentive but doesn't hover. All of the staff that we have encountered at Cafe Amici are friendly and helpful. We wish that it were closer to where we live.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

So understaffed that servers had no chance of getting folks seated and served. Went to the bar - no service there, either. Lots of complaining from other diners. Lasagna was served dry around the edges. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Overall, quite disappointing!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Upon arriving, host/owner had no record of this reservation and reluctantly gave us a poorly located table. We felt the mistake was theirs, but they made us feel guilty. My husband's entrée was not as advertised. The waiter and owner misled us twice on this after consulting with chef. Incorrect orders were twice brought to us. Waiter was efficient but curt and not personable. We felt insignificant as guests, especially as the restaurant became increasingly crowded. We were charged for a dessert never ordered also. Good thing we checked. This was resolved, but the owner could have been nicer, more gracious and accommodating with all that had gone wrong. We made a legitimate complaint in a calm and professional manner. In the finest restaurants, an owner would never allow a customer to leave his establishment dissatisfied. He/she would make an offer of good will/compensation to please us. An after dinner drink was not good, as we are not drinkers. Maybe he should go back to Hospitality School!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

would not recommend

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Although my wife's dish was adequate, the eggplant parmigiann I ordered was simp;y mediocre. It was bland, the eggplant overpowered the rest of the ingredients and was obviously rewarmed or was left over and had turned. Yes, i should have sent it back, but it never should have been served . Also, we did not find the restaurant particularly friendly... No greetings or " thank you for coming ". If one wants Italian food in Sarasota, in our opinion, there are much better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner was outstanding.

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Great place for a romantic dinner. Waiter was excellent. Would go back. Food was fresh and very tasty.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traditional Italian fare and friendly service

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

We had dinner here before a performance. Service was friendly and prompt. Arugula salad had a tasty balsamic dressing, but the greens were a bit wilted. The salmon with artichokes and black olives over mashed potatoes was cooked just right and was an ample portion. My spouse's veal scallopini was quite nice also.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Not as good as previous

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

We eat here about once each month due to its delicious meals, excellent service, nice wine list, and warm atmosphere. This time, we were disappointed that they attempted to seat us adjacent to the kitchen door, when other tables for two were available. The chicken cutlet was dry and unappealing. Otherwise, our experience was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.