About Cafe Amici

1371 main street
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

Cafe Amici is a traditional Italian cuisine, we offer extensive menu, you will enjoy dish from Puglia, Veneto, Tuscany and the Mediterranean shores. There is an eight seat bar with 20 wines by the glass, 120 bottle of wines from all over the world, wine vintage from 1964 thru 2014.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm


Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
between Palm Av and Pineapple St on Main street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 951-6896

Website:
http://www.cafeamicisrq.com/

Catering:
We can arrange catering up to 100 people.

Parking Details:
Free parking garage situated behind Cafe Amici, valet service available.

Executive Chef:
Achille Nigri

Private Party Facilities:
The private room can accommodate up to 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Massimo: 9419142679x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinner.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe Amici Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Sarasota / Bradenton
Italian
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

fit for foodies (32)
neighborhood gem (30)
special occasion (22)
See All
notable wine list (20)
romantic (10)
great for outdoor dining (9)
good for groups (6)
great for lunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
85 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been dining here for ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

My wife and I have been dining here for several years. The food quality is outstanding with menu items like bracioli, homemade pasta in tomato sauce (gravy) that is reminiscent of family Sunday dinners. Portion was large enough that we had leftovers at home and another dinner. Always recommend Cafe Amici to anyone looking for excellent Italian food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic Italian restaurant, authentic ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Fantastic Italian restaurant, authentic Italian food and well selected wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best culinary experience in Sarasota, a ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Best culinary experience in Sarasota, after so many years in business they still delivery amazing food, great job guys!!!

food3
ambience4
service3

We were seated right away but waited sev ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were seated right away but waited several minutes for a waiter. We did get water by service person. Waitress was very pleasant but really rushed and in a hurry to move along. Also overheard another waiters specials which she didn't include in ours. We waited a very long time for meals and it was mediocre at best. Food was smothered in sauces especially my rollatini. Yes, it may have been slow cooked but to the point of no flavor. Gummy orchiaetta . Dry tasteless beef. My partner had veal ossobuco. Nothing special. Also want it noted that there was a party of 12+ across tiny room. Loud, obnoxious & vulgar. No one seemed to mind. It was very distracting & rude. We will not be back

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Surprise

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have lived in the area for a number of years and never visited Cafe Amici before What a wonderful place with great food and service. We'll definitely return and bring friends and family to this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Amici....downtown SRQ gem

Dined on April 23, 2016

Cafe Amici has always been a downtown favorite! The ambiance draws you in, the service is impeccable and the genuine Italian cuisine will thrill your taste buds. We all devoured the appetizers which included mozzarella with balsamic and prosciutto. The classic Cesar Salad and Spinach with Gorgonzola were crisp and perfect compliments to our dinners. The main courses included, Fruit ti de mar brimming with fresh seafood, was the table favorite that evening. Being Gluten Free is often a problem when dining Italian, but not at Cafe Amici! The GF Fettucini Amici with chicken, sun dried tomato and amici sauce had me licking the plate! Lemon-cello, the best we've tasted since visiting Italy, was brought to the table with the description that the owner's mother makes it when she visits each year. You will never be disappointed in this wonderful, family owned and operated restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good Food, Service Just OK

Dined on April 8, 2016

My husband ordered a bottle of wine & the waiter brought the correct brand but not the correct year. The waiter was puzzled when he was questioned about it. One of the owners came over and tried to convince us that it was the identical wine, just 3 years younger. We accepted the wine, but the way it was handled was unprofessional. The food was good. We will give it another try.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great culinary experience, the br ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

What a great culinary experience, the branzino and the veal chop ....simply amazing, good attentive service; can't wait to go back !!!

food5
ambience5
service5

An absolutely fabulous restaurant with a ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

An absolutely fabulous restaurant with a great menu and impeccable service.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Sad to say

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Food and staff were sadly lacking. Waiter and manager pick and choose to whom they allot as a special diner. My meal was salty and overdone with a poor pairing,,,short ribs best over a light pasta or polenta perhaps vs a heavy arborio rice. This restaurant has yet to provide a memorable dining experience...couldn't wait to leave.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent night out with old friends

Dined on March 23, 2016

The owner's wife served our group of 7 with grace and charm. All food arrived in a timely fashion, was very well prepared, properly plated, and absolutely delicious. The osso bucco was succulent and flavorful, the fresh nicely seasoned and properly cooked, and the veal chop cooked to medium-rare perfection. We greatly enjoyed the suggested wines that came from the owner's home town in Italy. Because we ordered the specials (ossobucco and veal chops) along with 4 bottles of wine, the total bill came to a bit more than $100 per person including tax and tip. That seems a bit high for a $$ restaurant, more on the level of $$$, but again, we ordered on the high end. All in all, highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for opera dining

Dined on March 11, 2016

Right around the corner from the Sarasota Opera House, Café Amici provides for a wonderful pre-performance dinner. The Italian cuisine had the usual dishes plus some innovative recipes. Very fresh ingredients led to a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always good

Dined on March 4, 2016

We've dined here a few times before. Our food was, as ever, outstanding. We both had salads, and then pasta. My wife had the Sacchetti with pear and gorgonzola, and I had the ravioli with wild mushrooms, both quite wonderful. It's such a pleasant space, ( nice decor, cosy but not too tight, acoustics not too loud and good privacy) and regulars were greeted very warmly. That's not to say that occasionals are treated coolly: quite the contrary. We had smiles and speedy service, and when I asked for the discount for opera season ticket holders, even though I didn't actually have on me the little card to prove we were season-ticket holders, they gave us the discount anyway. A really good experience and we'll be back

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great meal!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Always a great meal!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Italian at its Best!!!

Dined on February 26, 2016

You can taste the love put into the food at Cafe Amici.. Had the Seabass special , which I practically order everywhere I go, nothing compared to their preparation .. My server was animated and confident of the dishes she serves, and for good reason. This place is exceptional!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Enjoyed the magic show prior to dinning.

Dined on February 26, 2016

The food was good in a comfortable setting. The restaurant was somewhat loud but that's a sign of attracting a crowd. Our particular waiter was not what I would call outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Very very disappointing

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Our server, Maria, was like a car salesman. She pushed us into the very over priced specials, without telling us the price. Anything we tried to order on the menu she said "you don't want that". I ordered the sea bass and it was the worst I ever tasted. My husband ordered osso buco. It was a little tough and not very tasty. The entire dining experience was the worst we've had in Florida. We would near go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! A hit! A palpable hit! Caf ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Excellent! A hit! A palpable hit! Cafe Amici scores again and certainly will not disappoint the most discriminating of tastes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Amici is a fantastic place to eat i ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Cafe Amici is a fantastic place to eat in downtown Sarasota. The co-owners always go out of their way to ensure that you are having a wonderful experience. Our waiter, Andre, is exceptional. He knows the menu very well, makes suggestions but isn't too "pushy" and is attentive but doesn't hover. All of the staff that we have encountered at Cafe Amici are friendly and helpful. We wish that it were closer to where we live.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on February 14, 2016

So understaffed that servers had no chance of getting folks seated and served. Went to the bar - no service there, either. Lots of complaining from other diners. Lasagna was served dry around the edges. Won't go back.

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Overall, quite disappointing!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Upon arriving, host/owner had no record of this reservation and reluctantly gave us a poorly located table. We felt the mistake was theirs, but they made us feel guilty. My husband's entrée was not as advertised. The waiter and owner misled us twice on this after consulting with chef. Incorrect orders were twice brought to us. Waiter was efficient but curt and not personable. We felt insignificant as guests, especially as the restaurant became increasingly crowded. We were charged for a dessert never ordered also. Good thing we checked. This was resolved, but the owner could have been nicer, more gracious and accommodating with all that had gone wrong. We made a legitimate complaint in a calm and professional manner. In the finest restaurants, an owner would never allow a customer to leave his establishment dissatisfied. He/she would make an offer of good will/compensation to please us. An after dinner drink was not good, as we are not drinkers. Maybe he should go back to Hospitality School!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

would not recommend

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

Although my wife's dish was adequate, the eggplant parmigiann I ordered was simp;y mediocre. It was bland, the eggplant overpowered the rest of the ingredients and was obviously rewarmed or was left over and had turned. Yes, i should have sent it back, but it never should have been served . Also, we did not find the restaurant particularly friendly... No greetings or " thank you for coming ". If one wants Italian food in Sarasota, in our opinion, there are much better options.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was outstanding.

Dined on February 12, 2016

Great place for a romantic dinner. Waiter was excellent. Would go back. Food was fresh and very tasty.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Traditional Italian fare and friendly service

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

We had dinner here before a performance. Service was friendly and prompt. Arugula salad had a tasty balsamic dressing, but the greens were a bit wilted. The salmon with artichokes and black olives over mashed potatoes was cooked just right and was an ample portion. My spouse's veal scallopini was quite nice also.

Tags: outdoor eating
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Not as good as previous

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

We eat here about once each month due to its delicious meals, excellent service, nice wine list, and warm atmosphere. This time, we were disappointed that they attempted to seat us adjacent to the kitchen door, when other tables for two were available. The chicken cutlet was dry and unappealing. Otherwise, our experience was good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good! Authentic Italian wh ...

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Food was very good! Authentic Italian which you would expect to have if you were in Italia

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

very enjoyable

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

We went after the theater and had very good meal ....osso buco, bronzini, pasta. All were very tasty as was the burrata salad. Service was excellent. Waitress was very informative and efficient. Would definitely recommend

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evning

Dined on January 27, 2016

We had a great evening. The food was terrific both in flavour and presentation. The staff was professional and helpful with wine selection. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food. Mid-priced for the value ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

Excellent food. Mid-priced for the value.

food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Nothing Special

vip
Dined on January 25, 2016

As the review title suggests, there is little here to get excited about. Recently, the duck confit was super-greasy and the sauce was overpowered with every spice and herb in the pantry, although in the past it had been quite good. The pesto could have been more generous. The music was dated, repetitious, and deathly boring. The service was very friendly. The parking on a busy night can be a nightmare. There is a dozen decent Italian restaurants in the area which are better.

food5
ambience4
service5

This was our first time eating here. The ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

This was our first time eating here. The food was fabulous. Would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys Italian food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special treat on Main Street Sarasota

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

Many choices for dining in Downtown Sarasota, Cafe Amici remains high on the list for any day in the week, Massimo - a real import from Puglia, manages the room. Mom oversees all the high quality food preparations. Veal Chop, although fully priced, was the best chop I have had in many months. Pastas and sauces are great. And mom makes her own Limoncello, which was used in the lobster stuffed ravioli special today. Free parking in the city garage out the back door.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurant in town!!!!

vip
Dined on January 11, 2016

Authentic Italian cuisine in the heart of downtown, amazing food and service and great wine list!!!'

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Misleading server

Dined on January 6, 2016

We were a party of eight. We all ordered an entrée. We were asked what salad would we like and given a choice of four. We all chose a salad thinking it was included with the entrée. The server should have said "would you like to order a salad" each salad was approximately eight dollars there by increasing our total bill by $64

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Slight disappointment

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

Restaurant lacks ambiance and has a very limited menu.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

New Years Eve

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Our party went to this restaurant for a nice Italian dinner. Unfortunately, it was on New Years Eve. The place was mobbed, the service was marginal, the menu was an "upgrade" to the regular menu and thus had virtually no "favorites". Also, they had very loud music with drum solos that were annoying. We were thankful when we left.

food5
ambience5
service5

Old guy cut the cheese next to us, and w ...

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

Old guy cut the cheese next to us, and we're not talking Parmesan.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An Italian classic in the heart of Sarasota

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

My wife and I have been coming her since the late 1990's, shortly after we moved here. It is the essence of a small family owned restaurant. The regular menu remains essentially unchanged with a number of family receipes, but additional specials insure nice surprises. The wine list contains both moderate and expensive Italian wines with some grat bargains as well. This is the kind of restaurant that most of us who live in a specific location hope never change or disappear.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Holiday Dinner with Friends

Dined on December 16, 2015

On my recommendation, my friends and I had our holiday dinner at Cafe Amici. Everyone enjoyed their food, with the lasagna taking first place.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Always an enjoyable experience

Dined on November 30, 2015

Because it is one of his favorite restaurants in Sarasota, we visit Cafe Amici whenever my son is in town.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.