About Cafe 501 - Classen Curve

5825 N.W. Grand Blvd
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

Cafe 501, a long-time favorite of Edmond epicureans, brings its colorful, European-inspired cuisine to the Classen Curve. From its humble beginnings as a "little lunch spot" in the heart of historic Edmond, 501 has poised itself as one of central Oklahoma’s most loved eateries. A second location, at 5825 NW Grand Blvd., features the original’s eclectic "French-Californian" approach to dining with a harmonious balance between a hand-crafted menu and a sophisticated yet casual atmosphere that is true to Oklahoma.

Cafe 501 has become synonymous with a discriminating taste in good wine and great foods. From rustic stone oven pizzas, to fresh, uniquely designed salads and delicious specialty sandwiches on house-made artisan breads, Cafe 501 offers tastes delectable enough for even the most discerning diners. When evening arrives, Cafe 501 changes from a buzzing lunch spot to a romantic bistro with soft lighting, an attentive full-service staff, and an expanded dinner menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
58th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 844-1501

Website:
http://www.cafe501.com/

Catering:
Holiday dinners, cocktail parties, business gatherings, large or small; we, at Cafe 501, offer tasteful selections perfect for you and your guests. Our talented staff will work directly with you to determine the ideal menu and presentation for your gathering. We are dedicated to providing you and your guests with a culinary experience that is nothing less than absolutely delicious!

Executive Chef:
Nordeen Bennai

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Hot Roast Beef Sandwich
Hot Cobb Chicken Sandwich
Orange Creme De Chocolate
Gazpacho
Shrimp En Papillote
Santa Fe Chicken Sandwich
Pineapple Pork Teriyaki Endive Cup
Salmon Tartare With Sriracha Soy
Boars Head Roasted Turkey Sandwich
brioche french toast
Jimmy's Breakfast Sandwich
Crispy Polenta With Pulled Pork
Chicken and Waffles
Breakfast Burrito
Tomato Basil Soup
Meditteranean Salad
Calamari
Tenderloin Stuffed Poblano
Mushroom Pizza
Seared Tenderloin With Sweet Potato Fries
Spicy Shrimp And Grits
Jimmy's Sandwich
Stuffed French Toast
Crispy Polenta With Chorizo
Oatmeal Brulee
Braised Short Ribs With Blue Cheese Polenta
Pepperoni Pizza
Chips Ajoy
Chicken Parmesan
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Bacon Wrapped Meatloaf With Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Crab Cakes Benedict
migas
Tomato Florentine Soup
Pork Verde Soup
Mediterranean Salad with Chicken
Tilapia With Garlic Orzo, Capers

Cafe 501 - Classen Curve Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Oklahoma City
Great for Lunch
Oklahoma City
Contemporary American
Oklahoma City
2 More
Great for Brunch
Oklahoma City
Contemporary American
Oklahoma City
Best Restaurants in Oklahoma City ›

great for brunch (38)
great for lunch (34)
fit for foodies (28)
See All
good for groups (21)
neighborhood gem (19)
special occasion (11)
hot spot (10)
kid-friendly (9)
great for outdoor dining (4)
romantic (4)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service2

We ate outside with very little attentio ...

Dined 4 days ago

We ate outside with very little attention given to our table and was served cold food with marginal flavor.

food5
ambience5
service5

A+ service food atmosphere everything. O ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

A+ service food atmosphere everything. One of my favorite places to eat in Oklahoma. Great area, also.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch menu. I wasn't aware you cou ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great lunch menu. I wasn't aware you could make reservations for the restaurant until I saw it on Open Table so it was a little confusing when I arrived. Otherwise we had a great lunch and I will go back.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service! All of us had different d ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service! All of us had different dishes, and we all LOVED our food. The tropical tea is the best, and they kept the refills coming which is always a plus. Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

First time to visit. Unique menu. Had ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

First time to visit. Unique menu. Had an excellent experience. Would definitely recommend.

food4
ambience5
service4

The food is always and dependably good a ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

The food is always and dependably good as is the service. It was not busy the night we were there so the noise level was not an issue but at times it can be. The ambiance is quite lovely.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I don't mind the fact that you have to m ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

I don't mind the fact that you have to make lunch reservations but there was no one there to greet us and we had to flag down a waitress to be seated. A little confusing. Our waitress was efficient but not overly friendly. My friend and I split the coyote crunch wrap (one of my faves) because it is normally huge but I could have easily eaten the whole sandwich. Luckily we also ordered the tomato soup which is always delicious. It was my birthday so we split the brownie dessert but only after the waitress asked vaguely if we wanted cake or pie and then asked if we wanted to see a menu! Service and food were good but our experience was just a little off from the usual 5 stars!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Love your specials!!

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Love your specials!!

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

This meal was very disappointing. Café ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

This meal was very disappointing. Café 501 was having a special "gourmet dinner" that night, so the menu was very limited. However, there were things that sounded good on the menu. I got chicken fried steak and my business associate got meatloaf. The chicken fried steak was greasy and tasteless. The meatloaf was lackluster at best. It was if they were focusing all attention on the main dining room, and no concern for quality for their walk in guests. I will not be back. Historically, this has been a good restaurant, but this experience was significantly bad to cause me to not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always friendly servers, lovely ambiance ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Always friendly servers, lovely ambiance, and delicious, innovative food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Lunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

My daughter and I traditionally go to 501 on Mothers Day. Their brunch is amazing, especially the spicy grits!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The value of the food is more than worth ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The value of the food is more than worth the price. Top value.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always GREAT

Dined on May 1, 2016

As always.............no disappointments. You cannot go wrong with this choice, make sure you pick up something to go from the bakery on the way out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Happened to be prom night didn't expect ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Happened to be prom night didn't expect so many teens but the food was phenomenal was way worth it I had the salmon was great just glad I had appetizer it was small portion but had great flavor the crab dip was awesome ate all of it the bread was amazing they also sell goodies like bread and desserts there big bonus for something to take home for later

food4
ambience5
service5

Love love love this restaurant. The food ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Love love love this restaurant. The food here is excellent but their drinks with foam....hands down creative and delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service!! As always! ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Wonderful food and service!! As always! We celebrated a birthday this time and it was fantastic.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Lunch

Dined on March 29, 2016

Love this place for lunch with friends when Im listing OKC!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Sunday

Dined on March 27, 2016

It's my favorite brunch place in the city, wished they had it on Saturday!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Cafe 501. Always great food. Always grea ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Cafe 501. Always great food. Always great service. Our out of town guests were duly impressed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with a good friend

Dined on March 26, 2016

A good friend enjoyed a wonderful lunch on Saturday, March 26th. We worked together at one time and I have since moved into another job and we were able to catch up and enjoy a wonderful lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent as always!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Cafe 501 never disappoints! Can't wait to dine here again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, fun atmosphere!!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Great food, fun atmosphere!!

food1
ambience4
service3

Biscuit debris was VERY salty.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Biscuit debris was VERY salty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food was excellent for the price, which was far more reasonable than many places in the metro. It is a beautiful restaurant and our service was quite good. We were very pleased with our experience here at Cafe 501, Classen Curve.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Love the dessert options. There are many ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Love the dessert options. There are many options for lunch: salads, soups and entrees. I had the Parmesan crusted chicken and tomato salad. It was good. I'm not a fan of the thyme in the breading and there were only 2 pieces of mozzarella. Other than that the salad was fresh and the flavor was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite OKC restaurants...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

One of my favorite OKC restaurants...

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Go for the atmosphere

Dined on February 28, 2016

Going to Cafe 501 is all about the experience. The ambiance charming, chic and sophisticated. The food is remarkable! The brunch menu was innovative yet comforting. I enjoyed an awesome Bloody Mary! If you enjoy a drink at brunch, I highly recommend the horseradish cilantro Bloody Mary! you Although it took an hour to get our food, the waitress brought us a cinnamon roll to tide us over. Overall the experience is one of a kind--can't wait to try lunch and dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable visit

Dined on February 24, 2016

Another great visit to Cafe 501 with really tasty food and a great server who didn't make us feel guilty about an hour and a half lunch! Oh but be sure to request a booth when you reserve for lunch or you won't get one!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Raising the bar!

Dined on February 15, 2016

As always, Cafe 501 did not disappoint for our Valentine's outing. Great food, drink and atmosphere in a great location.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Cafe 501

Dined on February 15, 2016

The place was good for the most part. I went on 2/14/2016 on a group couple date. My brother fried pita bread was burnt. When he told our waitress she laughed at him and said" oh really". Did nothing to try to fix it or replace it. When you are spending more than $18.00 on an item and it comes to you it should have nothing wrong with it. If it does it should be replaced or offered a different item, or have it taken off your ticket. The rest of the groups food was good. She came by once to fill our cups and that was it. I do not have plans on going back there.

food1
ambience1
service3

Took over an hour to get our food. The p ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Took over an hour to get our food. The place was by no means crowded. The waitress was good, but obviously frustrated by the kitchen staff. My wife's food was ok, but definitely not worth the price. My food was so bad (cast iron chicken), that I had to send it back. I have a hard enough time sending back soup, but it was that bad. To their credit, they comped the entire ticket. Overall, we won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Stars!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great environment and even better food. Perfect for a special occasion or really anytime you want to have a nice meal with friends or significant other. We had the pizza and it was great! They offer happy hour on drinks and appetizers-- which are both delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good, however, even though ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Food was very good, however, even though it was served fairly quickly after ordering, mine was barely warm. It was definitely not hot! Made me wonder if they had orders plated in anticipation of a crowd. I would go back, however, next time I will send it back if not served hot!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect for quiet weeknight evenings

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

This was my 3rd trip to 501 and I had the Santa Fe Chicken - I may order it again next time. It is spicy without being hot. The kitchen at 501 is very consistent so far at delivering great food repeatedly.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great for brunch!

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Great brunch with a nice atmosphere. The food is great, and the atmosphere is fun and modern.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A+++ food, vibe, decor, everything! wond ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

A+++ food, vibe, decor, everything! wonderful service from the entire staff. this is my new favorite spot.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for Sunday brunch

Dined on January 17, 2016

Went at 10:30 after early service at church and beat the crowd! Had a wonderful brunch in a quiet atmosphere with friends.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on January 17, 2016

We came for dinner and our service was slower that I expected. The restaurant did not seem overly busy. I was unfortunately disappointed with the meal as well. The flavor was lacking and meat was not cooked to the temperature ordered.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We love their diverse menu!

Dined on January 16, 2016

Yum! Great specialty foods and drinks! It's MUST TRY if you've never been there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

501 is one of our favorite places. It ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

501 is one of our favorite places. It is our go to restaurant for out-of-town guests. Brunch, lunch, weeknight dinner, all great . Casual feel, exquisite food. And desserts to die for .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.