About Cafe 501 - Classen Curve

Cafe 501, a long-time favorite of Edmond epicureans, brings its colorful, European-inspired cuisine to the Classen Curve. From its humble beginnings as a "little lunch spot" in the heart of historic Edmond, 501 has poised itself as one of central Oklahoma’s most loved eateries. A second location, at 5825 NW Grand Blvd., features the original’s eclectic "French-Californian" approach to dining with a harmonious balance between a hand-crafted menu and a sophisticated yet casual atmosphere that is true to Oklahoma.

Cafe 501 has become synonymous with a discriminating taste in good wine and great foods. From rustic stone oven pizzas, to fresh, uniquely designed salads and delicious specialty sandwiches on house-made artisan breads, Cafe 501 offers tastes delectable enough for even the most discerning diners. When evening arrives, Cafe 501 changes from a buzzing lunch spot to a romantic bistro with soft lighting, an attentive full-service staff, and an expanded dinner menu.

5825 N.W. Grand Blvd
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
58th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 844-1501

Website:
http://www.cafe501.com/

Catering:
Holiday dinners, cocktail parties, business gatherings, large or small; we, at Cafe 501, offer tasteful selections perfect for you and your guests. Our talented staff will work directly with you to determine the ideal menu and presentation for your gathering. We are dedicated to providing you and your guests with a culinary experience that is nothing less than absolutely delicious!

Executive Chef:
Nordeen Bennai

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cafe 501 - Classen Curve Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (21)
Good for a Date (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
See All
Casual (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Romantic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Authentic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious brunch

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 9 hours ago

Delicious brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time there. Everythin ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time there. Everything was perfect. My husband took me for Valentine's Day. The waitstaff was extremely friendly, atmosphere was very comfortable, food excellent, reasonable prices. The only negative was that they ran out of Chocolate Decadence cake. Only wanted that since it was Valentine's Day, otherwise would not have ordered dessert. We will be back!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, good beer selection, b ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great atmosphere, good beer selection, but the "filet" was extremely disappointing. It was top sirloin at best, dry, and only 3/4 inch thick. Chicken parm and salads were great. The wait staff was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service this time as i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food, great service this time as it has been on several other visits. Staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: , Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 4 ladies to please and we wer ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

There were 4 ladies to please and we were all happy. Will return.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The menu is amazing, there are s many de ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The menu is amazing, there are s many delicious options to chose from that it's hard to pick one. The bacon jalapeño Bloody Mary was phenomenal. Great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Quick and efficient service and the food ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Quick and efficient service and the food is great.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Extremely large portions ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very good food. Extremely large portions. A little pricy but worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband, daughter and I joined our fr ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My husband, daughter and I joined our friends at the table, we were running a little late. The server we had didn't ask us what we wanted to drink. I had to ask for a water thinking she would ask my husband what he wanted to drink and she didn't. She walked away so when she came back I asked for another water. She didn't bother to ask what isn't daughter wanted so I let her drink out of my glass. Then when we ordered or food she didn't ask what sides we wanted. Which we didn't know until we got our food that we would even get a side, and everyone had different sides with their sandwiches. Honestly, I don't think you could pay me to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Delicious food & great service. I eat lu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Delicious food & great service. I eat lunch at 501 once a week. The food and service are consistently excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

came here for our usual after church bru ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

came here for our usual after church brunch. there was a wait but had reservations on here so we got right in. The service was great overall, a couple times the server was a little MIA but as expected for a busy brunch spot on Sunday. Food is outstanding, lots of great choices and prices pretty reasonable overall. Definitely our favorite consistent brunch place and lots of really great items on the menu. would (and do) recommend to lots of people.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service. Great food. Relaxing ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent service. Great food. Relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chocolate mousse cake tastes like so ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The chocolate mousse cake tastes like something I could buy at Walmart, it was supposed to have a raspberry sauce, instead we had something that tastes like Hershey's syrup.

I got the bacon wrapped meatloaf, it comes with BBQ sauce, which is actually ketchup. Food was ok.

Waitress had a tough time keeping the drinks full, this is a big deal to me, maybe not to some..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Had the Huevos for Sunday brunch. Always ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had the Huevos for Sunday brunch. Always a great meal at 501 Classen Curve!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Business Meals, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunday brunch is always great. I ha ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The Sunday brunch is always great. I have never been disappointed eating here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always get the 501 salad. And the brandy ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always get the 501 salad. And the brandy ices were the perfect conclusion to a beautiful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner!

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had 8:30 reservation and walked in and w ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Had 8:30 reservation and walked in and was immediately told we needed to order in 10 mins bc kitchen was closing...in open table people can make reservation up to 8:45 or 9pm. I would suggest they change this so you don't make customers feel rushed. Don't know why you offer reservations at this time only to tell guests to hurry and order. Not happy about this experience and I usually eat here all the time for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Brunch was great as always. I tried the ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Brunch was great as always. I tried the Denver omelet for the first time, it was very good and I will be having it again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

501 is always a terrific choice for lunc ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

501 is always a terrific choice for lunch or dinner and their weekend breakfast/brunch is excellent!! The service is always amazing too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food, great service. Some classic ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Superb food, great service. Some classics prepared with innovative flair. 501 vintages were superb and great values. A must for those who appreciate a great dining experience without a stuffy atmosphere. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't go on a Saturday near 11 if you wa ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Don't go on a Saturday near 11 if you want breakfast. Most comparable restaurants serve Saturday brunch until 2, we ordered right at 11 and were unable to get brunch, yet 30 minutes later see eggs being delivered around us. The morning crew management was not very friendly. I'm not sure what has happened to the Classen Curve location lately, but only 1/3 of the tables were full and it's usually packed. There are definitely better choices available now to not at least be a little kinder in attitude to hold on to the customers they have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great table service! Glad I used Open Ta ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great table service! Glad I used Open Table to reserve instead of standing in line!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prompt, friendly service. Delicious food

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Prompt, friendly service. Delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Never been disappointed here ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food! Never been disappointed here. Brunch is especially fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great and restaurant is bea ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was great and restaurant is beautifully decorated!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was very good and our lunch ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our service was very good and our lunch was very good. It is a good restaurant for lunch whether you are meeting friends or a business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love brunch here with many southwestern ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Love brunch here with many southwestern themed dishes.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This restaurant had a very classy settin ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This restaurant had a very classy setting from the outside waiting area with sleek and inviting water features to the interior. Very nice setting, well placed screens for viewing sports, and trendy interior design. The service was very good, and the food was better than average, but really didn't compare to the rest of the dining experience. All our meals were fresh, and the food was very good, but lacked the wow factor I was looking for. The breads were fabulous, the fried calamari was a disappointment (chewy small pieces and a small portion), the pasta entre was rich, savory and very good, dessert was really good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The overall experience was good. My wife ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The overall experience was good. My wife was not thrilled so not sure if I will be able to get her to go back. She was not sure if they had put dressing on here salad and that was one of her favorite things there in the past. Our waitress was slow on keeping water filled. We ended up going there because after trying several other options on open table it was the only place we could make a reservation on open table. Not sure why it was not busy on a Friday night. Prices and food are good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I don't usually write reviews; however t ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I don't usually write reviews; however the service wasn't that great. I had a reservation and stood by the host table for at least ten minutes before anyone acknowledged me. The service from the server also was "sub par". She wasn't very friendly, and seem irritated to be helping us. The food was delicious though! Moral of the story is that Cafe 501 should really step up on their customer service training.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Online menu is not up to date.

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Online menu is not up to date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I ordered the shrimp and grits...it was ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I ordered the shrimp and grits...it was cool when presented...after asking to have it heated it was still cool when brought back to me...also martini was "diluted" tasting...first bad exoerience there

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We have had very good experiences here. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We have had very good experiences here. The food is always fantastic and the staff is attentive and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so disappointed with our experienc ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I was so disappointed with our experience for Sunday Brunch. I made a reservation for 12:30 and arrived on time only to be told that they were just waiting on some tables to get up. 40 minutes later we were finally sat. I ordered the Parmesan Chicken & Waffles. The waffle was black and the chicken overdone. The waiter did remove the entree from our bill but I was still left hungry. Everyone is entitled to a bad day, but the unapologetic attitude of everyone we encountered was very off putting. We will be patronizing some of OKC's other brunch spots from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

We dine at Cafe 501 - Classen Curve ofte ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We dine at Cafe 501 - Classen Curve often for Sunday Brunch, lunch and dinner and are never disappointed!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, , Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and atmosphere. Food w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful service and atmosphere. Food was great as always. One of my favorites!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a favorite for Sunday brunch. In ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is a favorite for Sunday brunch. Interested to see a new menu, and both of us tried things we've not had before. The Parmesan chicken and waffles did not disappoint nor did Jimmie's sandwich. Both were excellent! While the kitchen was clearly backed up, our server kept us informed often. We ordered a cookie while we waited so had our dessert first! We weren't pressed for time and didn't mind waiting. And well worth the wait! Wonderful food, overall great experience. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We frequent 501 Curve often ... never di ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We frequent 501 Curve often ... never disappoints!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, , Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to Café 501 a few times, and it’s n ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Been to Café 501 a few times, and it’s nice to see a place so consistently excellent. We went for dinner and ordered the chicken enchiladas with cilantro rice, and the bacon-wrapped meatloaf, and paired a couple of appropriate red wines with each. The enchiladas were well-seasoned with a tasty tomatillo sauce, and the meatloaf had garlic mashed potatoes and a seared tomato that was quite the surprise (in a very good way). Everything was excellent except the wines: They were off, maybe too green (young), or something; neither was anything close to being true to their varietal, which means they’re either from a vintner that doesn’t know its craft, or the wines weren’t ready for decanting. Hopefully the latter. In the end we (two of us) swapped wines and were reasonably happy with the result. Café 501 is our “go-to” place when we want high quality without a high bill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.