About Cafe 501 - Classen Curve

5825 N.W. Grand Blvd
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

Cafe 501, a long-time favorite of Edmond epicureans, brings its colorful, European-inspired cuisine to the Classen Curve. From its humble beginnings as a "little lunch spot" in the heart of historic Edmond, 501 has poised itself as one of central Oklahoma’s most loved eateries. A second location, at 5825 NW Grand Blvd., features the original’s eclectic "French-Californian" approach to dining with a harmonious balance between a hand-crafted menu and a sophisticated yet casual atmosphere that is true to Oklahoma.

Cafe 501 has become synonymous with a discriminating taste in good wine and great foods. From rustic stone oven pizzas, to fresh, uniquely designed salads and delicious specialty sandwiches on house-made artisan breads, Cafe 501 offers tastes delectable enough for even the most discerning diners. When evening arrives, Cafe 501 changes from a buzzing lunch spot to a romantic bistro with soft lighting, an attentive full-service staff, and an expanded dinner menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
58th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 844-1501

Website:
http://www.cafe501.com/

Catering:
Holiday dinners, cocktail parties, business gatherings, large or small; we, at Cafe 501, offer tasteful selections perfect for you and your guests. Our talented staff will work directly with you to determine the ideal menu and presentation for your gathering. We are dedicated to providing you and your guests with a culinary experience that is nothing less than absolutely delicious!

Executive Chef:
Nordeen Bennai

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Hot Roast Beef Sandwich - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Thai Shrimp Wrap - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Beef Al Carbon - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Orange Creme De Chocolate - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Pineapple Pork Teriyaki Endive Cup - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Salmon Tartare With Sriracha Soy - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Shrimp En Papillote - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Gazpacho - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Hot Cobb Chicken Sandwich - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Boars Head Roasted Turkey Sandwich - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Santa Fe Chicken Sandwich - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
brioche french toast - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Jimmy's Breakfast Sandwich - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Crispy Polenta With Pulled Pork - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Chicken and Waffles - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Breakfast Burrito - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Tomato Basil Soup - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Meditteranean Salad - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Calamari - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Mushroom Pizza - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Tenderloin Stuffed Poblano - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Seared Tenderloin With Sweet Potato Fries - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Spicy Shrimp And Grits - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Oatmeal Brulee - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Stuffed French Toast - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Jimmy's Sandwich - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Crispy Polenta With Chorizo - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Pepperoni Pizza - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Braised Short Ribs With Blue Cheese Polenta - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Ahi Tuna Tartare - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Chicken Parmesan - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Chips Ajoy - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Bacon Wrapped Meatloaf With Garlic Mashed Potatoes - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Crab Cakes Benedict - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
migas - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Mediterranean Salad with Chicken - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Tomato Florentine Soup - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Pork Verde Soup - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK
Tilapia With Garlic Orzo, Capers - Cafe 501 - Classen Curve, Oklahoma City, OK

Cafe 501 - Classen Curve Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Oklahoma City
Contemporary American
Oklahoma City

Great for Lunch (18)
Casual (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
See All
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great table service! Glad I used Open Ta ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great table service! Glad I used Open Table to reserve instead of standing in line!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prompt, friendly service. Delicious food

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Prompt, friendly service. Delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Never been disappointed here ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food! Never been disappointed here. Brunch is especially fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great and restaurant is bea ...

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was great and restaurant is beautifully decorated!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was very good and our lunch ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our service was very good and our lunch was very good. It is a good restaurant for lunch whether you are meeting friends or a business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love brunch here with many southwestern ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Love brunch here with many southwestern themed dishes.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This restaurant had a very classy settin ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This restaurant had a very classy setting from the outside waiting area with sleek and inviting water features to the interior. Very nice setting, well placed screens for viewing sports, and trendy interior design. The service was very good, and the food was better than average, but really didn't compare to the rest of the dining experience. All our meals were fresh, and the food was very good, but lacked the wow factor I was looking for. The breads were fabulous, the fried calamari was a disappointment (chewy small pieces and a small portion), the pasta entre was rich, savory and very good, dessert was really good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The overall experience was good. My wife ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The overall experience was good. My wife was not thrilled so not sure if I will be able to get her to go back. She was not sure if they had put dressing on here salad and that was one of her favorite things there in the past. Our waitress was slow on keeping water filled. We ended up going there because after trying several other options on open table it was the only place we could make a reservation on open table. Not sure why it was not busy on a Friday night. Prices and food are good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I don't usually write reviews; however t ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I don't usually write reviews; however the service wasn't that great. I had a reservation and stood by the host table for at least ten minutes before anyone acknowledged me. The service from the server also was "sub par". She wasn't very friendly, and seem irritated to be helping us. The food was delicious though! Moral of the story is that Cafe 501 should really step up on their customer service training.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Online menu is not up to date.

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Online menu is not up to date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I ordered the shrimp and grits...it was ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I ordered the shrimp and grits...it was cool when presented...after asking to have it heated it was still cool when brought back to me...also martini was "diluted" tasting...first bad exoerience there

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We have had very good experiences here. ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We have had very good experiences here. The food is always fantastic and the staff is attentive and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so disappointed with our experienc ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I was so disappointed with our experience for Sunday Brunch. I made a reservation for 12:30 and arrived on time only to be told that they were just waiting on some tables to get up. 40 minutes later we were finally sat. I ordered the Parmesan Chicken & Waffles. The waffle was black and the chicken overdone. The waiter did remove the entree from our bill but I was still left hungry. Everyone is entitled to a bad day, but the unapologetic attitude of everyone we encountered was very off putting. We will be patronizing some of OKC's other brunch spots from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

We dine at Cafe 501 - Classen Curve ofte ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We dine at Cafe 501 - Classen Curve often for Sunday Brunch, lunch and dinner and are never disappointed!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and atmosphere. Food w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful service and atmosphere. Food was great as always. One of my favorites!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a favorite for Sunday brunch. In ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is a favorite for Sunday brunch. Interested to see a new menu, and both of us tried things we've not had before. The Parmesan chicken and waffles did not disappoint nor did Jimmie's sandwich. Both were excellent! While the kitchen was clearly backed up, our server kept us informed often. We ordered a cookie while we waited so had our dessert first! We weren't pressed for time and didn't mind waiting. And well worth the wait! Wonderful food, overall great experience. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We frequent 501 Curve often ... never di ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We frequent 501 Curve often ... never disappoints!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to Café 501 a few times, and it’s n ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Been to Café 501 a few times, and it’s nice to see a place so consistently excellent. We went for dinner and ordered the chicken enchiladas with cilantro rice, and the bacon-wrapped meatloaf, and paired a couple of appropriate red wines with each. The enchiladas were well-seasoned with a tasty tomatillo sauce, and the meatloaf had garlic mashed potatoes and a seared tomato that was quite the surprise (in a very good way). Everything was excellent except the wines: They were off, maybe too green (young), or something; neither was anything close to being true to their varietal, which means they’re either from a vintner that doesn’t know its craft, or the wines weren’t ready for decanting. Hopefully the latter. In the end we (two of us) swapped wines and were reasonably happy with the result. Café 501 is our “go-to” place when we want high quality without a high bill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

If you are looking for an excellent brun ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

If you are looking for an excellent brunch with great food, terrific service and wonderful value go to the 501 on Classen Curve you will never be disappointed. There is something for you at 501 Cafe no matter what you choose to eat.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch! We had two types of Eggs ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great Brunch! We had two types of Eggs Benedict and always prefer on the delicious biscuits vs a regular English Muffin. The others in our group ordered the Biscuits and Gravy. Modern Restaurant and nice atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy Cafe 501; food is great and ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always enjoy Cafe 501; food is great and the staff was terrific!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time having lunch at 5 ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 1, 2016

This was my first time having lunch at 501 and it was very good. I made a reservation which apparently is required for lunch table service. The good was great and the nose level was fine for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the Café 501 in Edmond but this o ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I love the Café 501 in Edmond but this one was just now very good. My favorite item is the Kentucky Hot Brown. I got this item at the Classen location and was completely different and not very good. Our waitress never even told us her name and acted like we were an inconvenience the entire time. When I asked for mimosas she rolled her eyes at me before asking for my id. I will stick to going to the Edmond 501 for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Caesar Salad pizza was delicious!!! The ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Caesar Salad pizza was delicious!!! The service is consistently good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the salads and bakery items!

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Love the salads and bakery items!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I dine at Cafe 501-Classen Curve frequen ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I dine at Cafe 501-Classen Curve frequently and have never had a bad meal and their staff is a delight! Their cocktails and wine list are very good. I definitely recommend a reservation for Sunday brunch. I highly suggest the Huevos rancheros-only at brunch on Sunday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lace for brunch. Excellent servic ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great lace for brunch. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I had a reservation but we still had to ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I had a reservation but we still had to wait 25 minutes to get a table for 2 at 7:15 .

I ordered pizza but the waitress came back to tell me they were totally out of all pizzas.

So I ordered fish tacos .

Manager came back to tell me they were out of that.

I finally ordered a coyote sandwich since it was taking so long to get a meal.

Most of the people were gone when we were eating.

They gave me a free piece of cake.

Fortunately this is not typical for Cafe 501.

It is usually one of my favorites...but not that night.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food is always outstanding & like that t ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food is always outstanding & like that the menu changes with the seasons.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely time had catching up with a good ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Lovely time had catching up with a good friend. The noise was minimal enough to have conversation and the atmosphere is positive and energetic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish and chips were excellent. No oily f ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fish and chips were excellent. No oily fried taste. Burger was perfectly cooked to order. Service was outstanding. Efficient but not intrusive. Only item imperfect was the bread pudding which had too much topping for personal taste. It doesn't mention ice cream on the description of the bread pudding, and it was overkill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Salmon was prepared beautifully and was ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Salmon was prepared beautifully and was yummy! Wine list was extensive

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Filet was overdone, but waitress and man ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Filet was overdone, but waitress and manager handled it beautifully. Still wouldn't recommend the filet, though. Lots of other good choices. Go somewhere else for steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

While it was 11:00 a.m. the day after Ju ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 5, 2016

While it was 11:00 a.m. the day after July 4th and busy, I feel they should have been prepared for such a crowd. The food was okay, nothing fantastic. Dessert was overpriced... I had the chocolate mousse cake and it tasted like a refrigerated cake would be expected to taste. It took quite a while for our food to come out... quite a while to get a dessert menu... and quite a while for us to get our dessert. Unless you're really into that earthy kind of meal, this is not for you. (Our nephew had a chocolate chip cookie with ice cream... he took us to the side and told us, "That cookie tastes like crap." He's seven years old...)

Nothing really special about the whole place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Holiday weekend so not crowded. Our serv ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Holiday weekend so not crowded. Our server seemed uninterested in us tho - food was amazing however

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We love this place! Wonderful staff and ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We love this place! Wonderful staff and great food! Best bread pudding around! If they have a special, get it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and so was our servic ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was great and so was our service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess told us that the table we re ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 28, 2016

The hostess told us that the table we reserved had been given away even though we were right on time, and that she could seat us next to the door. When I said that would not work, she quickly agreed and found us a nice booth normally reserved for larger parties. She was also helpful in selecting a different wine for us when the one we ordered was out of stock. So...what could have been a bad experience was quickly turned into a good one thanks to her understanding and ability to adjust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was just ok. I had a garden veggie ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was just ok. I had a garden veggie omlette and a mimosa. Service was just ok. Not bad but not great either. Beautiful interior.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Food and service have been getting conti ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food and service have been getting continually worse the last few times we've been. Will not return as we both ended up sick after lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.