About Cafe 501 - Classen Curve

5825 N.W. Grand Blvd
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
View Larger Map

Cafe 501, a long-time favorite of Edmond epicureans, brings its colorful, European-inspired cuisine to the Classen Curve. From its humble beginnings as a "little lunch spot" in the heart of historic Edmond, 501 has poised itself as one of central Oklahoma’s most loved eateries. A second location, at 5825 NW Grand Blvd., features the original’s eclectic "French-Californian" approach to dining with a harmonious balance between a hand-crafted menu and a sophisticated yet casual atmosphere that is true to Oklahoma.

Cafe 501 has become synonymous with a discriminating taste in good wine and great foods. From rustic stone oven pizzas, to fresh, uniquely designed salads and delicious specialty sandwiches on house-made artisan breads, Cafe 501 offers tastes delectable enough for even the most discerning diners. When evening arrives, Cafe 501 changes from a buzzing lunch spot to a romantic bistro with soft lighting, an attentive full-service staff, and an expanded dinner menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
58th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 844-1501

Website:
http://www.cafe501.com/

Catering:
Holiday dinners, cocktail parties, business gatherings, large or small; we, at Cafe 501, offer tasteful selections perfect for you and your guests. Our talented staff will work directly with you to determine the ideal menu and presentation for your gathering. We are dedicated to providing you and your guests with a culinary experience that is nothing less than absolutely delicious!

Executive Chef:
Nordeen Bennai

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Hot Roast Beef Sandwich
Hot Cobb Chicken Sandwich
Orange Creme De Chocolate
Gazpacho
Shrimp En Papillote
Santa Fe Chicken Sandwich
Pineapple Pork Teriyaki Endive Cup
Salmon Tartare With Sriracha Soy
Boars Head Roasted Turkey Sandwich
brioche french toast
Jimmy's Breakfast Sandwich
Crispy Polenta With Pulled Pork
Chicken and Waffles
Breakfast Burrito
Tomato Basil Soup
Meditteranean Salad
Calamari
Tenderloin Stuffed Poblano
Mushroom Pizza
Seared Tenderloin With Sweet Potato Fries
Spicy Shrimp And Grits
Jimmy's Sandwich
Stuffed French Toast
Crispy Polenta With Chorizo
Oatmeal Brulee
Braised Short Ribs With Blue Cheese Polenta
Pepperoni Pizza
Chips Ajoy
Chicken Parmesan
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Bacon Wrapped Meatloaf With Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Crab Cakes Benedict
migas
Tomato Florentine Soup
Pork Verde Soup
Mediterranean Salad with Chicken
Tilapia With Garlic Orzo, Capers

Cafe 501 - Classen Curve Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Oklahoma City
Contemporary American
Oklahoma City
Great for Brunch
Oklahoma City
1 More
Contemporary American
Oklahoma City

great for brunch (35)
great for lunch (32)
good for groups (23)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
neighborhood gem (21)
special occasion (12)
kid-friendly (11)
hot spot (8)
romantic (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
notable wine list (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I dine at Cafe 501-Classen Curve frequen ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

I dine at Cafe 501-Classen Curve frequently and have never had a bad meal and their staff is a delight! Their cocktails and wine list are very good. I definitely recommend a reservation for Sunday brunch. I highly suggest the Huevos rancheros-only at brunch on Sunday.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lace for brunch. Excellent servic ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great lace for brunch. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I had a reservation but we still had to ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had a reservation but we still had to wait 25 minutes to get a table for 2 at 7:15 .

I ordered pizza but the waitress came back to tell me they were totally out of all pizzas.

So I ordered fish tacos .

Manager came back to tell me they were out of that.

I finally ordered a coyote sandwich since it was taking so long to get a meal.

Most of the people were gone when we were eating.

They gave me a free piece of cake.

Fortunately this is not typical for Cafe 501.

It is usually one of my favorites...but not that night.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food is always outstanding & like that t ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food is always outstanding & like that the menu changes with the seasons.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely time had catching up with a good ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Lovely time had catching up with a good friend. The noise was minimal enough to have conversation and the atmosphere is positive and energetic.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish and chips were excellent. No oily f ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fish and chips were excellent. No oily fried taste. Burger was perfectly cooked to order. Service was outstanding. Efficient but not intrusive. Only item imperfect was the bread pudding which had too much topping for personal taste. It doesn't mention ice cream on the description of the bread pudding, and it was overkill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Salmon was prepared beautifully and was ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Salmon was prepared beautifully and was yummy! Wine list was extensive

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Filet was overdone, but waitress and man ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Filet was overdone, but waitress and manager handled it beautifully. Still wouldn't recommend the filet, though. Lots of other good choices. Go somewhere else for steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

While it was 11:00 a.m. the day after Ju ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

While it was 11:00 a.m. the day after July 4th and busy, I feel they should have been prepared for such a crowd. The food was okay, nothing fantastic. Dessert was overpriced... I had the chocolate mousse cake and it tasted like a refrigerated cake would be expected to taste. It took quite a while for our food to come out... quite a while to get a dessert menu... and quite a while for us to get our dessert. Unless you're really into that earthy kind of meal, this is not for you. (Our nephew had a chocolate chip cookie with ice cream... he took us to the side and told us, "That cookie tastes like crap." He's seven years old...)

Nothing really special about the whole place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Holiday weekend so not crowded. Our serv ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Holiday weekend so not crowded. Our server seemed uninterested in us tho - food was amazing however

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We love this place! Wonderful staff and ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We love this place! Wonderful staff and great food! Best bread pudding around! If they have a special, get it!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and so was our servic ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was great and so was our service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess told us that the table we re ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The hostess told us that the table we reserved had been given away even though we were right on time, and that she could seat us next to the door. When I said that would not work, she quickly agreed and found us a nice booth normally reserved for larger parties. She was also helpful in selecting a different wine for us when the one we ordered was out of stock. So...what could have been a bad experience was quickly turned into a good one thanks to her understanding and ability to adjust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was just ok. I had a garden veggie ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was just ok. I had a garden veggie omlette and a mimosa. Service was just ok. Not bad but not great either. Beautiful interior.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Food and service have been getting conti ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food and service have been getting continually worse the last few times we've been. Will not return as we both ended up sick after lunch.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

We ate outside with very little attentio ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We ate outside with very little attention given to our table and was served cold food with marginal flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

A+ service food atmosphere everything. O ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

A+ service food atmosphere everything. One of my favorite places to eat in Oklahoma. Great area, also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch menu. I wasn't aware you cou ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great lunch menu. I wasn't aware you could make reservations for the restaurant until I saw it on Open Table so it was a little confusing when I arrived. Otherwise we had a great lunch and I will go back.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! All of us had different d ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service! All of us had different dishes, and we all LOVED our food. The tropical tea is the best, and they kept the refills coming which is always a plus.

Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First time to visit. Unique menu. Had ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

First time to visit. Unique menu. Had an excellent experience. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always and dependably good a ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food is always and dependably good as is the service. It was not busy the night we were there so the noise level was not an issue but at times it can be. The ambiance is quite lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I don't mind the fact that you have to m ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I don't mind the fact that you have to make lunch reservations but there was no one there to greet us and we had to flag down a waitress to be seated. A little confusing. Our waitress was efficient but not overly friendly. My friend and I split the coyote crunch wrap (one of my faves) because it is normally huge but I could have easily eaten the whole sandwich. Luckily we also ordered the tomato soup which is always delicious. It was my birthday so we split the brownie dessert but only after the waitress asked vaguely if we wanted cake or pie and then asked if we wanted to see a menu! Service and food were good but our experience was just a little off from the usual 5 stars!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Love your specials!!

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Love your specials!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This meal was very disappointing. Café ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

This meal was very disappointing. Café 501 was having a special "gourmet dinner" that night, so the menu was very limited. However, there were things that sounded good on the menu. I got chicken fried steak and my business associate got meatloaf. The chicken fried steak was greasy and tasteless. The meatloaf was lackluster at best. It was if they were focusing all attention on the main dining room, and no concern for quality for their walk in guests.

I will not be back. Historically, this has been a good restaurant, but this experience was significantly bad to cause me to not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Always friendly servers, lovely ambiance ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Always friendly servers, lovely ambiance, and delicious, innovative food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Lunch

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My daughter and I traditionally go to 501 on Mothers Day. Their brunch is amazing, especially the spicy grits!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The value of the food is more than worth ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The value of the food is more than worth the price. Top value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always GREAT

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

As always.............no disappointments. You cannot go wrong with this choice, make sure you pick up something to go from the bakery on the way out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happened to be prom night didn't expect ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Happened to be prom night didn't expect so many teens but the food was phenomenal was way worth it I had the salmon was great just glad I had appetizer it was small portion but had great flavor the crab dip was awesome ate all of it the bread was amazing they also sell goodies like bread and desserts there big bonus for something to take home for later

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love love love this restaurant. The food ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Love love love this restaurant. The food here is excellent but their drinks with foam....hands down creative and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service!! As always! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Wonderful food and service!! As always! We celebrated a birthday this time and it was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Lunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Love this place for lunch with friends when Im listing OKC!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Sunday

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

It's my favorite brunch place in the city, wished they had it on Saturday!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Cafe 501. Always great food. Always grea ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Cafe 501. Always great food. Always great service. Our out of town guests were duly impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lunch with a good friend

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

A good friend enjoyed a wonderful lunch on Saturday, March 26th. We worked together at one time and I have since moved into another job and we were able to catch up and enjoy a wonderful lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Cafe 501 never disappoints! Can't wait to dine here again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, fun atmosphere!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Great food, fun atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Biscuit debris was VERY salty.

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Biscuit debris was VERY salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Great experience

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The food was excellent for the price, which was far more reasonable than many places in the metro. It is a beautiful restaurant and our service was quite good. We were very pleased with our experience here at Cafe 501, Classen Curve.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.