Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Cafe 4

4.8
881 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Comfort Food
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Casual
  • Comfort Food

Similar Restaurants

About

Café 4 is Knoxville's Hottest Downtown dining and entertainment experience. Come enjoy our true urban retreat, featuring Traditional Southern Comfort Foods with a Twist. Create memories in our comfortable dining room or relax on our heated and cooled outdoor patio overlooking the bustling Historic Market Square. Savor an entrée from our always-changing "seasonal menu", featuring Chef inspired Southern House made favorites. Chill out in the "Mezzanine Loft" for a great cup of coffee or latté’, a glass of Wine or one of our craft beers. The "Mezzanine" is a hip lounge with free Wi-fi, making it the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail with friends or family. Book the Square Room for your next special event or catch one of our many live concerts.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Comfort Food, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu 7:00 am–9:30 pm
Fri 7:00 am–10:30 pm
Sat 9:00 am–10:30 pm
Sun 9:00 am–8:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(865) 544-4144
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Lori Klonaris
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Kaley Smith: (865) 544-4199
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Union Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free Parking in the Market Square Garage all evenings and weekends.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 881 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.5
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

This is one of the best restaurants in Knoxville but our food on our last visit was not the best. I got the fish and chips and my husband got meatloaf. The fish was fresh and the beer batter on fish was tasty but it was greasy. I had the friend cat fish in past and it had always been excellent. So skip the fish and chips. My husband meatloaf was on hard side. It tasted more like grilled chop steak. If your used to more traditional meatloaf, then this may not be to your liking. The waitress we had was excellent. We ended the meal with a yummy blueberry cupcake!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Love the pimento and cheese dip/spread! It is one of the best appetizers In town.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Good food at great prices. The lobster crab cake eggs Benedict was exceptional and the truffle fries were delicious too.
Will be back for more !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Great foods with good environment. I’ve been here many times and we be back many more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Had dinner before play at the Tennessee Theatre. Everything was great. Cafe 4 is a regular place for us to dine before events at the Tennessee Theatre and we are always pleased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

booked through open table. arrived 10 minutes prior to reservation and was seated immediately. staff was attentive and friendly. food was exceptional. moderately priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

It was my Husband’s 51st Birthday! Loved everything!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Cafe 4 is one of our favorites....the kids love it, our out of town family love it. Great food, drinks and atmosphere..and we take home some Macarons as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Had a great experience. Service was great. Lilly (trainee) was wonderful. We never had an empty glass. Buffalo blue cheese chips appetizer was excellent. Spicy and not short or overdone on the toppings. We had huevos rancheros and lobster crab eggs benedict. Poached eggs done correctly on both entrees. The lobster and crab were a little more blended than I preferred. Not bad at all, I just prefer a little more texture from the lobster. We won't hesitate to recommend Cafe 4 to friends and colleagues. Looking forward to another visit and trying other menu items. First visit was definitely positive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

My wife and I have dined here several times alone, with friends and family. The menu is easy to read and the food is awesome. I would like to see outdoor dining reservations if possible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Seated right away at 5:30 on Friday. Small plate scallops special with collards was divine! Large portion of salmon with veggies also wonderful. Macarons were light and airy (gluten free too) and hubby loved his rich-looking chocolate peanut butter thing! Sangria tasty but tiny glass filled with ice was disappointing. Overall great evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Always a pleasant experience with great food and service. Food portion is great for price listed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Good food, better company.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food and service were great. Disappointed that we were sat in the overflow area - lost quite a bit of the atmosphere. Something to consider is to provide something special for folks in that area - since there was a piano on the stage you could have offered live background music to improve the ambience. Special night was made a little less special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great place for a night out with my wife, she loves the chicken and waffles!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

There were 6 of us in our party and we all loved our food choices!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed Sunday brunch at Cafe 4. There were numerous options from which to choose and all looked delicious. The fried green tomatoes were among the best I've eaten. Our server was extremely friendly and attentive without being invasive. We sat at a window so had a great view of those enjoying a warm Sunday afternoon in Market Square. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

This was my first visit to Cafe 4 and I was not disappointed. The food was delicious, delivered in a reasonable time period, and piping hot. I recommend the Herb Seasoned Half Chicken-superb! Nice wine list, great cocktails, and delicious Bread Pudding and coffee for dessert!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Enjoyed the food but our party was disappointed that the lobster mac and cheese was not offered for brunch - we had out of town guests who were specifically looking forward to this signature dish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We love Cafe 4 but have never had great service. Todays service was an exception and was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Arrived early for our reservations...Excellent bar upstairs while waiting!! Food was amazing. The Lobster Flatbread was to die for!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

My friends and I were celebrating a birthday dinner out! We had a great time however it IS A LITTLE hard to hear the conversation between people at your table!!! Our waiter, Bryson, was great! He was knowledgeable about everything we asked about. Great evening!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 2, 2018

We have been to cafe 4 many times in previous years......it had been about 1.5 years since we had been in.......we had been looking forward to a night out with friends....service was good-Will was our server....food was honestly very sub par for price point and menu selection was average at best....we won’t return....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

I always enjoy Cafe 4. My wife and I love Market Square in Knoxville and always make Cafe 4 part of our visit. We were in town visiting our sons who are students at UTK. Food is excellent and a Great value

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Food was great, service was phenomenal! I would highly recommend this location!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Great brunch. Inventive menu. Really liked the toasts.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The food was delicious and our waitress was very attentive. The noise level was pretty high.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

As usual the food & service were superb! Have been to this wonderful restaurant many times and it never fails to please!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Cafe 4 is my favorite place to eat, the food is the very best! I absolutely love that it’s by reservation only which gives it a more welcoming dinner atmosphere! I love everything about cafe 4, from the interior decorations to the southern comfort style food! No matter where i go or the occasion, cafe 4 has and forever will be my number one place to eat as well as take my gf! Thanks again cafe 4 for another amazing meal! Cannot wait to go again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

We had a very nice and enjoyable meal at Cafe 4. Our sever was a very nice young man and did a awesome job. This is one of the best restaurants on Market Square.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

New Year's Eve. First time in Knoxville's downtown Market Street area. Cafe 4 was delightful. Had their special filet Oscar. Outstanding! Service was excellent as well. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Lobster flatbread is all I ever have. I want to try other things but I love the flatbread and can't bring myself to try anything else. And the bloody mary bar!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Great food. Great service. Was an overall great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

I frequent this restaurant often when in town. The service is always excellent and the food quality is above average. The staff is very attentive. The room can be a bit loud at times. The outside seating is nice and has heat lamps for chilly nights.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Service was really great. The food was hot and delicious. It was a nice place to stop in for dinner on a rainy night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Another great experience at Cafe 4. Filet was perfect and a great value at $28! Carrots and mashed potatoes....plus dessert.....great dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Stopped to eat before a show. Food was delicious and the service was excellent. Lovely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Location, location, location. We dine at Cafe 4 several times a year but usually at lunch. This visit, however, was for dinner on a busy week night because of the many holiday events downtown. I'm so pleased that we had reservations because many wanna be diners were turned away. This evening we enjoyed fried green tomatoes (a fav for us) followed by chicken and waffles and salmon. Only negative is the salad was served with the entrees. My spouse had cocktails. No wine--the C4 wine list is not noteworthy. More about C4. Great outdoor dining on Market Square. A good place to see and be "scene" as many of K-ville's public servants, business elite, and University notables dine here for lunch. C4 has daily specials including a burger day that attracts faithful regulars. C4 also houses the Square Room a location for small-group or solo entertainers. We recently attended the Jazz Lunch which is a tremendous value because of the performer(s). The buffet food, however, is fair at best but gets a 100 or so people through the line and to their tables efficiently. Bottom line-- C4 is a Market Square staple with dependable service and food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

We were celebrating both graduation and a 21st birthday for lunch with a group of 10 family and friends. We love Cafe 4! The food is eclectic, always good, with something for everyone. Personal favorites... The grilled cheese braised short rib sandwich with the roasted brussel sprouts, and (my big kids love) the lobster Mac and Cheese. Our seating was by the back wall, which was perfect for a big group. And we ended with great coffee drinks and macarons! Our waitress, Janessa, was a delight and very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

We made a reservation online and were able to be seated almost immediately. Food was delicious and had a great atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
23

Tweets by Cafe 4