About Cafe 4

4 Market Square
Knoxville, TN 37902
View Larger Map

Café 4 is Knoxville's Hotest Downtown dining and entertainment experience. Come enjoy our true urban retreat, featuring Traditional Southern Comfort Foods with a Twist. Create memories in our comfortable dining room or relax on our heated and cooled outdoor patio overlooking the bustling Historic Market Square. Savor an entrée from our always-changing "seasonal menu", featuring Chef inspired Southern House made favorites. Chill out in the "Mezzanine Loft" for a great cup of coffee or latté’, a glass of Wine or one of 47 unique Beers. The "Mezzanine Loft" features a "Living Room" setting including free Wi-fi, making it the perfect place to just hang out with friends or family. Book the Square Room for your next special event or catch one of our many live concerts. Cafe' 4; a third place, neither home nor work, a place for nurturing community life and creative interaction, a place where strangers, neighbors, and friends gather to nourish the body and build relationships.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 7:00 AM- 9:30 PM

Friday 7:00 AM-10:30 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM-10:30 PM

Sunday 9:00 AM-8:30 PM

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 544-4144

Website:
http://www.4marketsquare.com/cafe4

Parking Details:
Free Parking in the Market Square Garage all evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
Lori Klonaris

Private Party Contact:
Kaley Smith: 8655444199x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe 4 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Knoxville
Best Food
Knoxville
4 More
Best Service
Knoxville
Best Ambiance
Knoxville
Best Value
Knoxville
Most Booked
Knoxville
Best Restaurants in Knoxville ›

great for lunch (32)
great for outdoor dining (31)
great for brunch (30)
See All
fit for foodies (29)
good for groups (24)
neighborhood gem (23)
hot spot (21)
special occasion (19)
romantic (14)
scenic view (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (5)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
647 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great rinks before the meal to the Mezz. ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great rinks before the meal to the Mezz. Quick service with friendly bar tender and wait staff. Truffle parmesean fries amazing. Salads and entrees were delivered to table in timely fashion.The high quality of the Service and the food made our anniversary dinner a memorable experience. From check in to leaving everyone and everything was top notch. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was delightful!!! We love going to Ma ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

It was delightful!!! We love going to Market Square!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always Great!

Dined on May 15, 2016

We all enjoyed our drinks and dinner. I always enjoy our trips to Cafe4.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good

Dined on May 8, 2016

Enjoyable evening with good food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Saturday Brunch

Dined on April 30, 2016

Saturday they only offer a brunch menu for lunch. I didn't want breakfast food so I got a hamburger . It was excellent. My husband got a southwestern chicken breakfast item with fried potatoes . It was very good. The restaurant was very noisy and our waiter couldn't hear us well. Next time I will request to sit outside if the weather is nice. Our waiter seem distracted or had too many tables . We had to ask for refills on our drinks. He brought our bill before we received our dessert. Seem to want to rush us out of there. I think I will go back only for weekday lunch or weekend dnner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A wonderful experience

Dined on April 29, 2016

I dine here frequently, and always have a wonderful experience. This meal was no exception: the cocktails were great, the food was outstanding, and the service was wonderful. The beet and salmon salad was amazing and the baked half chicken was phenomenal ! The decor of the dining room is very uptown chic, but can be a bit loud- this is not a quiet, cozy corner kind of place, but the food and atmosphere is great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love Cafe 4

Dined on April 13, 2016

Café 4 is one of our favorites spots for dinner in Knoxville, and the salmon is delicious! Really do wish they would bring back the pimento cheese dip . . . bartender makes a wonderful Old Fashion.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great

Dined on April 5, 2016

The food is amazing, i had the fish tacos, it has a sriracha dressing in the cloeslaw, avocado and lime, i got 3 tacos in the serving and could only eat 2, i also had a side of the homemade potato chips which were also delicious, service is amazing, very clean, totally recommended!

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was wonderful. Highlights wer ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Highlights were the truffle oil fries and shrimp and grits.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe 4 is a wonderful restaurant on Mark ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Cafe 4 is a wonderful restaurant on Market Square; the darker atmosphere makes it cozy and comfortable, though it's quite noisy on any night. I went on a Saturday evening once and waited an hour and a half for a table for two, but it's worth the wait and you can walk around Market Square and wait for a text letting you know your table is ready. I made a reservation for a Thursday evening once and was seated immediately. The macaroni and cheese is to die for, and so rich. I haven't had a bad thing here yet!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Cafe 4 experience

Dined on March 2, 2016

We had reservations and when we checked in we were told our table was almost ready. 20 minutes later... The food was excellent, as always. I recommend adding at least another 30 minutes to your reservation if you need to be somewhere else. Never had an issue before. Could have been that particular evening. I will definitely return and give it another shot. The food is worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe 4 was excellent as usual!

Dined on March 2, 2016

We had dinner at Cafe 4 prior to a concert downtown. Made reservations on OpenTable which was a great move on our part as the restaurant was packed at 6:00 pm on a Wednesday. The food was excellent. Our party had calamari, pork chops, steak, lobster Mac and crab cakes. Every food item was excellent. We left with cupcakes to take home with us. The service was very good. Food was timely and we never waited for drinks. It was extremely loud in the restaurant with the crowd but nothing unbearable. Overall, it was an excellent experience. Cafe 4 is one of our favorite restaurants in Knoxville.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food.

Dined on February 29, 2016

Great food.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Loud, with great food

Dined on February 27, 2016

Took my wife here for date night before a play. I'd eaten lunch here once before and remembered the large portions and good food. We were not disappointed with the food. I had a vegetable pasta and she had a beef short rib sandwich--her item stole the show, though mine was no slouch. Music or a dance next door with heavy bass was a mood killer, but the restaurant was extremely noisy anyway. We were seated immediately, with the server keeping our drinks filled, but gradually forgetting about us at the end. Overall good experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food! Great service. Like the ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Awesome food! Great service. Like the wine selection!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful

Dined on February 26, 2016

The food was great and the service was spot on. I will definitely be coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4

The waiter was very friendly. While he d ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

The waiter was very friendly. While he did not know the special, when the wrong food came out he quickly replaced it with something I would like. Overall very good brunch.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Reliable restaurant on Market Square

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

I'm a fan of Cafe 4. Their fish tacos are excellent, and their turkey burger is superlative. When the weather is nice, the outdoor seating allows you to bask in the energy of Market Square. Simply put, I'm a fan.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience and they deliv ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Always a great experience and they delivered once again. Highly recommend

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Downtown Restraurant

Dined on February 12, 2016

We made our reservations with the open table app. on a very busy night we ended up being about 10 minutes late and they still had out table ready as soon as we walked in. The food was great and so was the customer service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to be one of the best restaurants

Dined on February 12, 2016

Continues to be one of the best restaurants in Market Square. Service and food are excellent! Quality has been consistently great whether busy or not

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Okay but not treat

Dined on February 12, 2016

Entrees (salmon and tilapia) were good but nothing special. I felt I could have done as well at home. Vegetables were very good except for the Brussel sprouts which were burned. Coffee is very good. They leave you a pitcher of water but server was slow in refilling coffee

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even better than expected!

Dined on December 26, 2015

Great food, great service, I would definitely recommend Cafe 4, and most definitely cannot wait to return in the future!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Waiter was great, but the food was just ...

Dined on December 18, 2015

Waiter was great, but the food was just so-so. Have had lunch here before and thought it was better.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Meal

Dined on December 18, 2015

Never disappoints. This is a favorite for me and my wife. We try something different each time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service and food.

Dined on December 18, 2015

From the moment of being greeted to signing the final check, the experience was fabulous. Our waitress was helpful with the menu and wine choices. The food was superb. Enjoyed watching people in Market Square.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3

Food is always good and I struggle with ...

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

Food is always good and I struggle with which entrée to treat myself to. Short rib grilled cheese is always a favorite and the burger is every bit as good As Liton's!

food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday suprise

Dined on December 12, 2015

Took my wife there for her birthday, we had a great time, the food was excellent, the waiter was very pleasant and personable. We need to go more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

great find

Dined on November 27, 2015

Dined here 11/27/15 with out of town guests. Service was excellent, the menu had great selections and everyone enjoyed their meal. The only downside was that the delicious looking deserts were not that tasty.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Reservation - Didn't Matter

Dined on November 14, 2015

We had an 8:30 pm reservation for a party of 5 (it was Homecoming weekend and I felt it best to make a reservation so we didn't have to wait too long). When we arrived the hostess informed us that "our" table was still occupied by the prior group but she would have us seated as soon as they left (we were about 10 minutes early so I wasn't concerned). at 8:45 we were told they were still finishing their drinks but the manager was going to buy us an appetizer when we got seated. At 8:50 they asked the other party to leave and we finally got seated ... I would expect that the restaurant would have more than just a few tables to accommodate a party of 5 but looking around there weren't any. A reviewer on their FB page had a similar experience this summer, so I would say if you have a party larger than 4 this probably isn't your place unless you don't mind a long wait.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Cool space. Very crowded on Fri night; ...

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

Cool space. Very crowded on Fri night; definitely need reservations. Great menu selection. Mac n cheese, flat bread pizza, fish taco and strawberry salad were all delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5

great food

Dined on November 12, 2015

Always a treat -- love their salmon and the service is excellent. Plus, they accept reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak taco special was outstanding!!

vip
Dined on November 3, 2015

The steak taco special was outstanding!!

food4
ambience4
service4

Weekday Breakfast My bride and I enjoy ...

vip
Dined on November 3, 2015

Weekday Breakfast My bride and I enjoyed a nice late (9:45am), Monday morning breakfast. We both had the market square breakfast but she had poached eggs, sausage and potatoes while I ordered over easy, bacon and grits. We both agreed they were the best breakfasts we have had lately. We will be back on next visit to Knoxville.

food2
ambience2
service4

The food at Cafe 4 is okay, but nothing ...

vip
Dined on October 31, 2015

The food at Cafe 4 is okay, but nothing special. Service was very good, though it was quite early so it wasn't busy yet. The restaurant needs better white wine options.

food4
ambience4
service4

Brunch on Sunday

Dined on October 25, 2015

We arrived early for our reservation but were seated immediately, which was the first plus. I was so glad to see that, although we were seated at a table, the chairs were as comfortable as in a booth. Loved the menu because it had such a variety of things to choose from. I finally decided on the Short Rib Grilled Cheese sandwich with fries, and my friend got the Americana Scramble. I chose chai for my drink, and it was absolutely delicious, steaming hot and in a large cup. When our food arrived, it was still hot. The meat on my sandwich was so tender that it fell apart, which I loved, and the pickled onions on it were delicious. The bread was a cripsy golden brown. The Americana scramble was a perfect size for brunch, accompanied by chunky potatoes and toast. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, and the bill was very reasonable for what we ate. Our waitress was very attentive and pleasant. We definitely plan on returning and sampling different items on the menu.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant viwe

Dined on October 11, 2015

It was a great time I spend with my 7 years old daughter on her birthday, the service was very pleasant and warming my daughter loved the treatment she received from our server thank you for a great time..

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy!

Dined on October 11, 2015

They seated us quickly. Service and food was excellent! We all enjoyed it and will definitely eat there again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and people watching

Dined on October 6, 2015

We liked both the food (fantastic short ribs, great beet salad) and dining on the patio on Market Square. Our waitress was really terrific at describing the menu items and being attentive but not intrusive. As we sipped our wine a constant parade of people were in Market Square with their dogs, musical instruments, or just strolling!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

We had reservations for Sunday Brunch an ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

We had reservations for Sunday Brunch and arrived a little early. We had requested a table for 3 by the window. It was available and ready when we arrived. The Food as always was superb!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.