About Cafe 4

4 Market Square
Knoxville, TN 37902
View Larger Map

Café 4 is Knoxville's Hotest Downtown dining and entertainment experience. Come enjoy our true urban retreat, featuring Traditional Southern Comfort Foods with a Twist. Create memories in our comfortable dining room or relax on our heated and cooled outdoor patio overlooking the bustling Historic Market Square. Savor an entrée from our always-changing "seasonal menu", featuring Chef inspired Southern House made favorites. Chill out in the "Mezzanine Loft" for a great cup of coffee or latté’, a glass of Wine or one of 47 unique Beers. The "Mezzanine Loft" features a "Living Room" setting including free Wi-fi, making it the perfect place to just hang out with friends or family. Book the Square Room for your next special event or catch one of our many live concerts. Cafe' 4; a third place, neither home nor work, a place for nurturing community life and creative interaction, a place where strangers, neighbors, and friends gather to nourish the body and build relationships.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 7:00 AM- 9:30 PM

Friday 7:00 AM-10:30 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM-10:30 PM

Sunday 9:00 AM-8:30 PM

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 544-4144

Website:
http://www.4marketsquare.com/cafe4

Parking Details:
Free Parking in the Market Square Garage all evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
Lori Klonaris

Private Party Contact:
Kaley Smith: (865) 544-4199

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe 4 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Casual (15)
Comfort Food (14)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Romantic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fun (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
People Watching (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Cozy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Authentic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
747 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We like going to Market Square and Cafe ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 2 days ago

We like going to Market Square and Cafe 4 has been our choice for a weekend brunch. Dinner is a different deal: it's very noisy and the kitchen staff isn't as good (at least the night we were there). For medical reasons, I am gluten free: I was happy eating here because they have these options listed on the menu. However, I asked about one of the gluten free options SPECIFIED ON THE MENU, I found out that the sauce was made with wheat flour! So those of you who count on 'GF' meaning what it says, BEWARE. Hope, the server, was very helpful, attentive but not overly so. We ended up having a very good dinner, never feeling rushed to leave. We will probably pick a quieter place for a belated Valentine's Day dinner next year, though!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We LOVE LOVE LOVE Café 4. We were introd ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

We LOVE LOVE LOVE Café 4. We were introducing some friends from out of town to the restaurant last night, and they loved it. Café 4 never, ever disappoints, whether it is a bite before a concert in Square Room or just a leisurely meal on the sidewalk listening to street musicians and people-watching.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Cafe 4 for Valentine's Day an ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Cafe 4 for Valentine's Day and we were not disappointed. They seated us at exactly our reservation time. Our waiter was very conscientious and easy to talk to. The food was fantastic, including the special desserts. We sat in the Square Room, which is always really cool. The location, on Market Square, makes it a great place for a date. I will continue to go here again and again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I went for Valentines and ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I went for Valentines and the special Menu they had was spectacular! Our waitress was super and anticipated our needs and took excellent care of us!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tonight was a big disappointment. Despit ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Tonight was a big disappointment. Despite being regular customers and making reservations a week ago, we were seated in a large back concert room with several other tables and horrible ambiance. The room had a terrible odor and loud music was playing. We asked about the odor and were told others had complained as well, and the odor is the result of work being done on the sewers. This did, of course, affect the taste of the food and our enjoyment of the evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Cafe 4 is one of our goto favorites. Al ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Cafe 4 is one of our goto favorites. Always good service and great food. Prices are competative and staff is knowledgable. This past Valentine's day was no exception. Had the less than romantic Tennessee Cheesesteak but I can't seem to not order it. Parmesan Fries are change your world good.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Private Room, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food...Geilled Chicken Mac & Chees ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food...Geilled Chicken Mac & Cheese-wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time to Cafe 4 and it ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first time to Cafe 4 and it was a wonderful experience. Such a professional staff and really nice. Not loud or noisy at all. The food was exceptionally good. We ate from small plate servings and it was terrific. We strongly recommend for a date, casual or group. We have nothing but praises for this group.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Cafe4 for an early Valentine' ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We came to Cafe4 for an early Valentine's dinner. We haven't been there for quite awhile, so it felt "new" to us. The service (Shep) was excellent and very attentive - not "over" attentive. Food came out hot and quickly. The restaurant had a nice buzz to it (probably because it was Saturday night), but not overly loud so that we couldn't hear ourselves talk. Food was very good - waiter made solid suggestions that worked out well for both of us. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great atmosphere and the food is always ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great atmosphere and the food is always good. Weekends are crowded. The service is always very good. Our go to restaurant pre Broadway in Knoxville.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dinner. Only drawback is nois ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent dinner. Only drawback is noise level. Could use some fabric softening in the ceiling to help reduce noise. Good service without being hovering.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great brunch. Delicious food, good ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a great brunch. Delicious food, good drinks and pleasant service

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Consistently good food and service.

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Consistently good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a pleasure to eat here. My frien ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Always a pleasure to eat here. My friend and I ordered salads; the southwest and the grilled salmon. Both were excellent and very filling. Service was outstanding. It's fun to eat here, on Market Square before a show downtown.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to meet and visit with frien ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great place to meet and visit with friends. Servers allow time to enjoy chatting by not pushing for quick ordering. The menu is diverse enough to have options for your entire group without breaking the budget

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Normally a great place to dine. One of t ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Normally a great place to dine. One of the few places downtown that will actually take a reservation. They seated us swiftly in front of 20 plus people that didn't have reservations on a Saturday night around 8. We tried the Buffalo Blue Cheese appetizer. Really a mess unfortunately. We actually thought a lot of the stuff would be on the side and not like a heaping mess of smothered chili cheese fries. Took forever to initially to see the waiter and get water and drinks because he had been set up with a table of 16 and another table of 4 by himself before they added us to his night. My wife ordered a French Martini and returned it to the bar herself because it was terrible and the waiter had not returned for 10 minutes. They only missed one of the three ingredients in the drink....We decided to order their meat loaf. Honestly that was the worst pressed meat microwave mess I've had in my life. Mighty Dog in a cab looks and probably tastes better. Used to be a great place. It's gotten progressively worse every time we visit. This was most likely our last visit. I would seriously dump the meat loaf from the menu also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great place for many types of occasions. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great place for many types of occasions. Janessa was fabulous. Food was great. A bit different than the usual cafe fare.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and atmosphere! Our ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere! Our party ordered the short ribs, shrimp and grits, truffle fries, and chicken with waffles. Everyone loved their food. I would always order the truffle fries as an appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to Cafe 4- after a problem w the re ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went to Cafe 4- after a problem w the reservation- we were taken care of quickly - it was not the fault of the restaurant. The staff was friendly and helpful! The Bloody Mary bar is a nice idea with many options to get exactly what you want- fun idea. The food was very good. We loved the chicken and biscuit, chicken and waffles, the steak Benedict was particularly delicious. There were eight of us and everyone was quite happy with their choices. The gingerbread cupcake for the birthday girl added to a special meal.

Recommended

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe 4 is one of my favorite dining plac ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Cafe 4 is one of my favorite dining places on Market Square. I am never disappointed with the experience.

Tags: , Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Cafe 4 is always a home run! Amazing ser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Cafe 4 is always a home run! Amazing service and food. They have new cocktail menu that was to die for! Can't wait to meet my friends for happy hour in the future!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and great environment ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Always great food and great environment on the square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a nice place and food is good. T ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is a nice place and food is good. The wine list needs an overhaul. Very limited red wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We go to Cafe 4 every time we visit Knox ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We go to Cafe 4 every time we visit Knoxville. It is our families favorite. The food is always great and so is the service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat before going to see t ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great place to eat before going to see the Volunteers play football!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was absolutely mediocre. Brussels s ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was absolutely mediocre. Brussels sprouts were charred

Truffle fries great.

Turkey burger a thin frozen patty that came cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We dined with two other couples who had ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We dined with two other couples who had been at Cafe 4 before; it was our first visit. The food was excellent, and for someone who avoids gluten, I was pleasantly surprised at the gluten-free options. Our server was attentive yet not over-bearing. We plan to return (especially to try something off their extensive dessert menu!).

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there for a B-Day dinner and was pl ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Went there for a B-Day dinner and was pleased overall. Started with drinks at outside tables, but the atmosphere was not what it could be for outdoor seating. Moved inside for dinner, which was actually quieter than outside (unusual) and enjoyed their parmesan crusted tilapia. They have attentive service, but not so much it becomes a nuisance. It's a bit pricey for "comfort food" but worth it on special occassions because it is a special place in a historic building.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

LOVED the lobster BLT flatbread and the ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 24, 2016

LOVED the lobster BLT flatbread and the fish tacos were very good too. The bread pudding was huge and ridiculously good. Nice ambiance, fine service: we'll definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very good food! A must try when in Knoxv ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very good food! A must try when in Knoxville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Perfect evening. The hostess was wonderf ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Perfect evening. The hostess was wonderful, our waitress was fantastic and the food is always exceptional. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorites, depending on crowd ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 7, 2016

One of my favorites, depending on crowd you might have to wait a while so you need to get reservations for dinner. Also remember food done right takes a little longer. I love everything I have ever eaten there, but I wish they would bring the catfish back on friday night.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Café 4 was very accommodating to our gro ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Café 4 was very accommodating to our group on a busy night with the Hola Festival on the Square.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second time dinning (first wi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This is my second time dinning (first with my hubby)and the food and service is as good as the first time!

We had a great time.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Online reservations are simple to make W ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Online reservations are simple to make

We were seated quickly

The shrimp and grits are delicious

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a nice restaurant on Market Squ ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 26, 2016

This was a nice restaurant on Market Square. The deal of $5 burgers on Mondays was great. My meal was delicious and the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe 4 is one of our favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Cafe 4 is one of our favorite restaurants in Knoxville. They have a great outdoor patio and the food is always good. I would highly recommend this restaurant. It has a fun atmosphere!

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal as always!!!! We love eating ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great meal as always!!!! We love eating here for any occasion!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great game day brunch for my husband and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great game day brunch for my husband and me. I had the Smoked Salmon Scramble with egg whites, (delicious and portions were perfect) and the server was very attentive and adered to any request I had. We sat outside and the amibiance was lively but not loud. I personally would choose this over Tupelo Honey. Will defintiely be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waiter was outstanding. He was know ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our waiter was outstanding. He was knowledgeable about the dishes and drinks. He was also patient with a group of 8 with some picky eaters! Thank you for making our night a wonderful time with friends. Shirley

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.