Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Cafe 4

Café 4 is Knoxville's Hotest Downtown dining and entertainment experience. Come enjoy our true urban retreat, featuring Traditional Southern Comfort Foods with a Twist. Create memories in our comfortable dining room or relax on our heated and cooled outdoor patio overlooking the bustling Historic Market Square. Savor an entrée from our always-changing "seasonal menu", featuring Chef inspired Southern House made favorites. Chill out in the "Mezzanine Loft" for a great cup of coffee or latté’, a glass of Wine or one of 47 unique Beers. The "Mezzanine Loft" features a "Living Room" setting including free Wi-fi, making it the perfect place to just hang out with friends or family. Book the Square Room for your next special event or catch one of our many live concerts. Cafe' 4; a third place, neither home nor work, a place for nurturing community life and creative interaction, a place where strangers, neighbors, and friends gather to nourish the body and build relationships.

4 Market Square
Knoxville, TN 37902
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 7:00 AM- 9:30 PM

Friday 7:00 AM-10:30 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM-10:30 PM

Sunday 9:00 AM-8:30 PM

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 544-4144

Website:
http://www.4marketsquare.com/cafe4

Parking Details:
Free Parking in the Market Square Garage all evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
Lori Klonaris

Private Party Contact:
Kaley Smith: (865) 544-4199

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe 4 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Special Occasion (17)
Comfort Food (17)
See All
Casual (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
People Watching (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Romantic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Fun (7)
Business Meals (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Authentic (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Scenic View (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Music (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
796 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent by every measure. Menu, service could not be better. Food quality and selection, very good. A great "find". And will return on the next Knoxville trip.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great service & food was served so quick even for a large group!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food presentation and quality are excellent. Good for people watching on Knoxville's Market Square if you can get an outside table. Inside the noise level is like a rowdy bar and distracts from an otherwise fine dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was pretty good but it was very LOUD!! Hard to hear the person sitting next to you, never mind the folks across the table from you. Don't think I will be back because of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Good food with prompt service. Loved their signature cocktails. Busy! Recommend reservations. Noisy. Will go back!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Appetizers were great. Had pimento cheese with naan and lobster flatness. Both excellent. Fish tacos were yummy along with salmon topped with a pepper jelly glaze. We're seated quickly and service was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2017

When the air conditioning dies in early July in Knoxville, you probably ought to inform your guests before seating them, perhaps even offering an outdoor seat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Came here for birthday dinner. Ambiance was ok, a bit loud. Service and food were above average. We will come back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Tomato bisque, mussels, pimento cheese dip and NY strips were all top notch! Also had breakfast there the next morning. Huevos rancheros were outstanding!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great service, great food! Highly recommend the blackberry martini, and lobster Mac and Cheese was to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great lunch! Service was outstanding. Only small negatives was it was a little loud and the price was about 15% above what i was expecting. Still, i highly recommend Cafe 4!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

First time here with family and not disappointed at all. Great service and wonderful food ( Fish Tacos, Cheese Steak , Grits ) and drinks to go with . Beautiful crown and the Market square is a great place to gather in downtown. You won't be disappointed. There is a lil wait even if you reserved ahead. !

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food, great waiter. Pleasant hostess too. No complaints!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Love their waffle and chicken even though our waffle was cold our waitress was great and took care of it immediately.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great time! It's loud, hard to hear sometimes. Food was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Good go to for Market Square dining. The host staff seemed to be having a difficult time managing people coming in and it took a while to get us seated even though we had a reservation. Wait staff was very attentive though and good was good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

As usual whenever we visit Knoxville it the only restaurant that we frequent every time. Great place, great food!! Love open table!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always consistently good food. Somewhat of a contradiction with their booking policy vs. what is on Open Table. They sometimes do not take reservations which is aggravating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

At our recent Sunday brunch we enjoyed good food at a great table - and for that reason we will return - but the overall experience wasn't enjoyable. Both hostess and server were overwhelmed and forgetful. We had reservations and were told the wait would be 5-10 minutes and then we were directed to the lounge. After 25 minutes we checked in with her and her expression told us that she had forgotten us. She did quickly scramble to find a table and, it was a nice table. There was a long wait between us being seated and our server appearing. There was another long wait after ordering coffee, and then a full 45 minutes wait after ordering our meals. The restaurant was busy but not packed - always an empty table or two around us. My guess is the restaurant was understaffed. We will return and hope for a better experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Cafe 4 is one of our downtown Knoxville favorite restaurants. On this occasion, the service was fast but not rushed. The food was very good, as it always has been. When the server found out there was a birthday in our group, they comp'ed her a cupcake for dessert, complete with candle, with no prompting on our part.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was really great. We had a very pleasant, pre-concert experience on our way to the historic Tennessee Theatre.

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent, the food and service is almost one of a kind

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Love the pimento cheese dip! So sad the farm salad has been taken off the menu, but hope it comes back soon. Some of the best grilled salmon in Knoxville, and Chris the bartender makes the best old fashioned cocktail in town.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Enjoyed dinner with a friend before a show. The service was great and the food was tasty. The salmon beet salad was great, and the truffle French fries are addictive!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Took our mom to Cafe 4 for an early Mother's Day meal before a show at the Tennessee Theater. Our experience was excellent. The table was ready when we arrived, the wait staff were amazing, and the food was delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I've been to this restaurant a couple of other times, but this one was the worst experience. We waited 15 minutes before a waitress came over and when we finally got someone all she did was take our order and only checked on us one time. The food was cold which is really bad if you order fish bc it gets mushy. For the price range I expected much more than what we got. It was my boyfriend's first time eating there and I kept apologizing to him over and over since I picked the restaurant. Neither one of us will go back and we will not recommend any of our friends eat here either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was not my first visit to this restaurant, we usually have a great experience here, but for the first time I was a little disappointed. I ordered the fish tacos, the waiter said they were the "best in town" - not so much. Menu said "lightly breaded", they were definitely heavily breaded. We dined outside, which is always great for conversation and people watching, but the waiter must have had too many tables, because he messed up our drink order, then it took a long time to get our food. He said that the kitchen had messed up the burger that one of us ordered (?) and by the time our food came, everyone else's food was warm, not hot. I would still recommend this restaurant, everyone else enjoyed their meal, but I won't order the fish tacos again.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great dinner spot before a show. Had to tweak reservations twice because of traffic and they STILL got us in and out on time. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My date was seated before me. When I arrived, instead of offering to help me find the table, the hostess asked me to "just walk around" and find her.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter lunch w/parents. Specifically made reservation on open table. Arrived at time of reservation. Two open tables outside. Were told reservations don't apply to those tables. Said there were 8 parties waiting for those tables. After being seated inside for 15 minutes,where it was very dark & too cold, two more tables outside were open, making 4 open tables outside. I asked a manager if we could have one of the 4 open tables, given we had a reservation & these tables had been empty for a considerable amount of time. He contradicted himself repeatedly telling me that there is no way to control their outside inventory. I told him I could understand if the tables were full, but they've been open since we arrived. He told me I just didn't understand. He was completely right. I still don't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We met friends at Cafe 4 for Sunday brunch. Our friends were from the midwest and were anxious to try southern comfort foods such as the fried chicken and waffle. The food was delicious, our server was so great (I'm sorry I didn't get his name, but he's from Memphis), and our meal was just perfect!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Our group had the BBQ ribs and chicken and waffles. Everything was excellent. The service was great as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was great! There was a slight wait but they gave us delicious rolls while we waited. Staff was interactive and polite. I highly recommend eating at Cafe 4.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We took our son who is a freshman at UT out for dinner on a visit to Knoxville. He loved the shrimp and grits. We were able to visit with him and enjoyed the lively but not too loud atmosphere. We had his 2 younger siblings with us who enjoyed food on the children's menu and the cupcakes for desert. Overall a very good experience for the entire family. Great location on Market a Square which was an easy walk from the Hilton.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Server was wonderful. Very attentive and great recommendations. Food was fabulous!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food is great! Service is slow. We would eat here more for lunch but only have an hour and it takes too long to get your food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Very easy to make a reservation, food at Cafe 4 was decent, service and environment was great

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Better to plan on eating than dining at this establishment. Courses came on top of each other, rushing and stuffing us, suggesting the waiter submitted the next course without attention to pace. Our two-top able was on a dirty dish staff runway in front of kitchen and breakdown area. This table should be permanently removed and is unsuitable for any paying patron to tolerate. An unsatisfactory experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was okay. Not what I read others say. Good was good but average.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and atmosphere were good. Our server clearly was not interested in providing anymore than minimal, basic service. This was a big disappointment since it was a birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.