Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Cafe 4

Café 4 is Knoxville's Hottest Downtown dining and entertainment experience. Come enjoy our true urban retreat, featuring Traditional Southern Comfort Foods with a Twist. Create memories in our comfortable dining room or relax on our heated and cooled outdoor patio overlooking the bustling Historic Market Square. Savor an entrée from our always-changing "seasonal menu", featuring Chef inspired Southern House made favorites. Chill out in the "Mezzanine Loft" for a great cup of coffee or latté’, a glass of Wine or one of our craft beers. The "Mezzanine" is a hip lounge with free Wi-fi, making it the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail with friends or family. Book the Square Room for your next special event or catch one of our many live concerts.

4 Market Square
Knoxville, TN 37902
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Mon–Thu 7:00 am–9:30 pm
Fri 7:00 am–10:30 pm
Sat 9:00 am–10:30 pm
Sun 9:00 am–8:30 pm

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 544-4144

Website:
http://www.4marketsquare.com/cafe4

Parking Details:
Free Parking in the Market Square Garage all evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
Lori Klonaris

Private Party Contact:
Kaley Smith: (865) 544-4199

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe 4 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
See All
Casual (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Fun (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Authentic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Business Meals (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Romantic (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
People Watching (8)
Healthy (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Scenic View (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 13, 2018

We had a very nice and enjoyable meal at Cafe 4. Our sever was a very nice young man and did a awesome job. This is one of the best restaurants on Market Square.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 1, 2018

New Year's Eve. First time in Knoxville's downtown Market Street area. Cafe 4 was delightful. Had their special filet Oscar. Outstanding! Service was excellent as well. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Lobster flatbread is all I ever have. I want to try other things but I love the flatbread and can't bring myself to try anything else. And the bloody mary bar!!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great food. Great service. Was an overall great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2017

I frequent this restaurant often when in town. The service is always excellent and the food quality is above average. The staff is very attentive. The room can be a bit loud at times. The outside seating is nice and has heat lamps for chilly nights.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 20, 2017

Service was really great. The food was hot and delicious. It was a nice place to stop in for dinner on a rainy night.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Another great experience at Cafe 4. Filet was perfect and a great value at $28! Carrots and mashed potatoes....plus dessert.....great dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Business Meals, Authentic, Comfort Food, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Stopped to eat before a show. Food was delicious and the service was excellent. Lovely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Location, location, location. We dine at Cafe 4 several times a year but usually at lunch. This visit, however, was for dinner on a busy week night because of the many holiday events downtown. I'm so pleased that we had reservations because many wanna be diners were turned away. This evening we enjoyed fried green tomatoes (a fav for us) followed by chicken and waffles and salmon. Only negative is the salad was served with the entrees. My spouse had cocktails. No wine--the C4 wine list is not noteworthy. More about C4. Great outdoor dining on Market Square. A good place to see and be "scene" as many of K-ville's public servants, business elite, and University notables dine here for lunch. C4 has daily specials including a burger day that attracts faithful regulars. C4 also houses the Square Room a location for small-group or solo entertainers. We recently attended the Jazz Lunch which is a tremendous value because of the performer(s). The buffet food, however, is fair at best but gets a 100 or so people through the line and to their tables efficiently. Bottom line-- C4 is a Market Square staple with dependable service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

We were celebrating both graduation and a 21st birthday for lunch with a group of 10 family and friends. We love Cafe 4! The food is eclectic, always good, with something for everyone. Personal favorites... The grilled cheese braised short rib sandwich with the roasted brussel sprouts, and (my big kids love) the lobster Mac and Cheese. Our seating was by the back wall, which was perfect for a big group. And we ended with great coffee drinks and macarons! Our waitress, Janessa, was a delight and very good.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

We made a reservation online and were able to be seated almost immediately. Food was delicious and had a great atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 6, 2017

We go to Café 4 regularly. The food and service is always good. Their Salmon and Beet salad is my favorite of any restaurant in the area. My husband ordered the meat loaf. It is sliced and then grilled which gives it added flavor. They take reservations which makes it a great choice if you have a show at the Tenn Theatre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Service was very slow but not a deal breaker for us... the problem we had was the attitudes of pretty much every employee there. Literally put down a drink, appetizer , dinner and walked away... no smile, need anything else, dies everything look ok.... NOTHING.... across the board. Management you need to deal with this. Too many other places to go eat in Knoxville that have excellent customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2017

We have come here numerous times. I like that you can make a reservation so I never worry if we will get a table. The food has never disappointed us from the Flatbreads, Fish tacos, Meatloaf , and Fried Chicken with Waffles! They have a full bar for those who like Beer , Wine, or Cocktails with dinner. The service was impeccable. We always enjoy our time st Cafe 4.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Always a great experience with great food. Love this place!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Monday’s hamburger special is always delicious especially with a side salad.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

We waited 20 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. there is not a convenient place to wait inside. once seated our service was OK. Nothing spectacular. We were given the wrong order of deserts.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 25, 2017

I would definitely recommend cafe 4 to anyone that wants to get in-and-out quick and have a filling meal and reasonable service and price.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Friday Fish & Chips weekly special is delicious and a large portion

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

I spent 10 days in the US, going from Brooklyn to Orlando to Knoxville and I can say without hesitation that the food I had at Cafe 4 was the best I had during my entire trip! We came here for a family get-together while I was in town and it could not have been a lovelier experience - the ambiance, the service were wonderful. But the food! I had the lobster crab benedict with cheese grits and I have to say I'm still telling people how amazing the meal was! Couldn't recommend this place more highly!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Our favorite spot for dinner in Knoxville. Food and service is always great. Lobster mac and cheese is awesome!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Four of us gathered before heading to the Tennessee Theatre for Lyle Lovett and John H. Service was excellent--so were the drinks!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We really miss the Farmhouse Salad. Please bring it back! Love the pimento and cheese dip. Best Old Fashioned drink in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Food was awesome as always. Server was fun and competent.

Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Cafe 4 is always a winner. Great food at a great price. Our family of 4 ate with appetizers and 2 adults drinking 2 alcoholic beverages each and it was under $85. The bartender was great. He made my kids a special drink just for them. Food is always fresh and cooked perfectly we has cup cakes too! I almost forgot. Super fresh, moist, delicious! Love Cafe 4!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Food and ambiance are generally quite good, especially the patio on warmer days.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Asked for as tea never got it. Asked for table to be decorated, didn't happen. But everything else was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Cafe 4 never disappoints! Love this place!!! Fabulous food and atmosphere. Service was excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Cafe 4 is a great restaurant with great food. Love the location in on Market Square downtown. The only complaint is the noise level in the restaurant. It is very loud and a little hard to hear from across the table. They need to install some sounds panels to help with the noise level. But, all in all, the food is great. I go here often myself. You can go for a walk around town afterwards and talk.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had everything from breakfast omelets to salmon salad...and a few mimosas 👍. Food was great, service was fast and friendly...sat next to a UT basketball recruitment meal. All in all, perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Wait staff is superb!! Lobby/waiting area is a bit small and congested. That is due to people putting their name on the list and hanging around.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Came on a UT football Friday night. Very crowed and a little loud. Food was excellent. Enjoyed the Fried Green Tomatoes and Buffalo Blue Chip apps. Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

We 5 in our party and everyone enjoyed the atmosphere and the food!!! Our server, Dillon was awesome! He was very attentive and friendly. We will be dinning at Cafe 4 again soon!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Best shrimp and grits I have ever had!! Nice outdoor seating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The bar area was fun with a bartender who mixed in a very entertaining way. The fish taco appetizer was delicious. Fun atmosphere with a friendly staff.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent food, service, location. Unfortunately it was extremely difficult to carry on a conversation in our group of five. The acoustics for noise containment seemed non-existent. For that reason, if you're going here, I recommend eating outside. Unfortunately the weather was not conducive for outdoor dining the night we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Love this place! Everything about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Very tasty food. I had shrimp and grits. We shared a flatbread and a fish taco small plate with our group.
The fish tacos I think I liked best.
My Chardonnay was a small pour and should have been nicer for the cost. That was disappointing. Waiter was good.
I would definitely return. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Avery took very good care of us, and the beers were fine, albeit could be a wider spectrum of types -- I.e., dark beers even in summer!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Very good.We enjoyed the great food on the patio. Weather was great! Quiet. Easy to talk & hear.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.