Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Cafe 4

Café 4 is Knoxville's Hotest Downtown dining and entertainment experience. Come enjoy our true urban retreat, featuring Traditional Southern Comfort Foods with a Twist. Create memories in our comfortable dining room or relax on our heated and cooled outdoor patio overlooking the bustling Historic Market Square. Savor an entrée from our always-changing "seasonal menu", featuring Chef inspired Southern House made favorites. Chill out in the "Mezzanine Loft" for a great cup of coffee or latté’, a glass of Wine or one of 47 unique Beers. The "Mezzanine Loft" features a "Living Room" setting including free Wi-fi, making it the perfect place to just hang out with friends or family. Book the Square Room for your next special event or catch one of our many live concerts. Cafe' 4; a third place, neither home nor work, a place for nurturing community life and creative interaction, a place where strangers, neighbors, and friends gather to nourish the body and build relationships.

4 Market Square
Knoxville, TN 37902
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 7:00 AM- 9:30 PM

Friday 7:00 AM-10:30 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM-10:30 PM

Sunday 9:00 AM-8:30 PM

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 544-4144

Website:
http://www.4marketsquare.com/cafe4

Parking Details:
Free Parking in the Market Square Garage all evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
Lori Klonaris

Private Party Contact:
Kaley Smith: (865) 544-4199

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe 4 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Comfort Food (20)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Special Occasion (15)
People Watching (14)
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Romantic (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Business Meals (8)
Healthy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Authentic (6)
Great Beer (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Historic (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
780 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

As usual whenever we visit Knoxville it the only restaurant that we frequent every time. Great place, great food!! Love open table!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always consistently good food. Somewhat of a contradiction with their booking policy vs. what is on Open Table. They sometimes do not take reservations which is aggravating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

At our recent Sunday brunch we enjoyed good food at a great table - and for that reason we will return - but the overall experience wasn't enjoyable. Both hostess and server were overwhelmed and forgetful. We had reservations and were told the wait would be 5-10 minutes and then we were directed to the lounge. After 25 minutes we checked in with her and her expression told us that she had forgotten us. She did quickly scramble to find a table and, it was a nice table. There was a long wait between us being seated and our server appearing. There was another long wait after ordering coffee, and then a full 45 minutes wait after ordering our meals. The restaurant was busy but not packed - always an empty table or two around us. My guess is the restaurant was understaffed. We will return and hope for a better experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Cafe 4 is one of our downtown Knoxville favorite restaurants. On this occasion, the service was fast but not rushed. The food was very good, as it always has been. When the server found out there was a birthday in our group, they comp'ed her a cupcake for dessert, complete with candle, with no prompting on our part.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was really great. We had a very pleasant, pre-concert experience on our way to the historic Tennessee Theatre.

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Casual, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent, the food and service is almost one of a kind

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Love the pimento cheese dip! So sad the farm salad has been taken off the menu, but hope it comes back soon. Some of the best grilled salmon in Knoxville, and Chris the bartender makes the best old fashioned cocktail in town.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Enjoyed dinner with a friend before a show. The service was great and the food was tasty. The salmon beet salad was great, and the truffle French fries are addictive!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Took our mom to Cafe 4 for an early Mother's Day meal before a show at the Tennessee Theater. Our experience was excellent. The table was ready when we arrived, the wait staff were amazing, and the food was delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I've been to this restaurant a couple of other times, but this one was the worst experience. We waited 15 minutes before a waitress came over and when we finally got someone all she did was take our order and only checked on us one time. The food was cold which is really bad if you order fish bc it gets mushy. For the price range I expected much more than what we got. It was my boyfriend's first time eating there and I kept apologizing to him over and over since I picked the restaurant. Neither one of us will go back and we will not recommend any of our friends eat here either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was not my first visit to this restaurant, we usually have a great experience here, but for the first time I was a little disappointed. I ordered the fish tacos, the waiter said they were the "best in town" - not so much. Menu said "lightly breaded", they were definitely heavily breaded. We dined outside, which is always great for conversation and people watching, but the waiter must have had too many tables, because he messed up our drink order, then it took a long time to get our food. He said that the kitchen had messed up the burger that one of us ordered (?) and by the time our food came, everyone else's food was warm, not hot. I would still recommend this restaurant, everyone else enjoyed their meal, but I won't order the fish tacos again.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great dinner spot before a show. Had to tweak reservations twice because of traffic and they STILL got us in and out on time. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My date was seated before me. When I arrived, instead of offering to help me find the table, the hostess asked me to "just walk around" and find her.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter lunch w/parents. Specifically made reservation on open table. Arrived at time of reservation. Two open tables outside. Were told reservations don't apply to those tables. Said there were 8 parties waiting for those tables. After being seated inside for 15 minutes,where it was very dark & too cold, two more tables outside were open, making 4 open tables outside. I asked a manager if we could have one of the 4 open tables, given we had a reservation & these tables had been empty for a considerable amount of time. He contradicted himself repeatedly telling me that there is no way to control their outside inventory. I told him I could understand if the tables were full, but they've been open since we arrived. He told me I just didn't understand. He was completely right. I still don't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We met friends at Cafe 4 for Sunday brunch. Our friends were from the midwest and were anxious to try southern comfort foods such as the fried chicken and waffle. The food was delicious, our server was so great (I'm sorry I didn't get his name, but he's from Memphis), and our meal was just perfect!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Our group had the BBQ ribs and chicken and waffles. Everything was excellent. The service was great as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We took our son who is a freshman at UT out for dinner on a visit to Knoxville. He loved the shrimp and grits. We were able to visit with him and enjoyed the lively but not too loud atmosphere. We had his 2 younger siblings with us who enjoyed food on the children's menu and the cupcakes for desert. Overall a very good experience for the entire family. Great location on Market a Square which was an easy walk from the Hilton.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was great! There was a slight wait but they gave us delicious rolls while we waited. Staff was interactive and polite. I highly recommend eating at Cafe 4.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Server was wonderful. Very attentive and great recommendations. Food was fabulous!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food is great! Service is slow. We would eat here more for lunch but only have an hour and it takes too long to get your food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Better to plan on eating than dining at this establishment. Courses came on top of each other, rushing and stuffing us, suggesting the waiter submitted the next course without attention to pace. Our two-top able was on a dirty dish staff runway in front of kitchen and breakdown area. This table should be permanently removed and is unsuitable for any paying patron to tolerate. An unsatisfactory experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very easy to make a reservation, food at Cafe 4 was decent, service and environment was great

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was okay. Not what I read others say. Good was good but average.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and atmosphere were good. Our server clearly was not interested in providing anymore than minimal, basic service. This was a big disappointment since it was a birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had great service. The waitress was really friendly and sweet. I loved how the atmosphere of the restaurant was. The food was delicious. I would definitely recommend the truffle parmesean fries for the shareables.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Really excellent atmosphere and service. Would go again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

we have eaten several times at Cafe 4 and each experience very pleasant, food yummy, service good. The reservation system allows immediate service especially when patio is rocking

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

In town with my daughter to tour UTK and made a reservation at Cafe 4 for dinner -- yummy menu and lots of vegetarian options for my daughter. We got there a little early so had a drink in the quaint upstairs bar area. Food was tasty. My daughter ordered the black bean burger and mac and cheese and said it was some of the best she's ever had. I got a steak and it was cooked perfectly. Only negative is the mashed potatoes tasted like instant. Our server, Chase, was attentive and extremely personable. I think we have found a favorite in Knoxville!
* Please beware that if you make a reservation and are a no-show, there is a $10 charge.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The portions here are large, and they have a great variety of choices. Our lobster BLT flatbread was a tad greasy and the lobster was a little light. But otherwise amazing food, and a good bakery too!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Slightly disappointed after seeing all the reviews. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great. Pimento cheese/pepper jelly app wasn't what I expected. Wouldn't order that again. Chicken and waffles were solid and cupcakes were amazing. Cool local spot. Good cocktails.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We booked a table for 6 online for 6pm Monday evening. We were seated straight away on a great table. Lovely comfy seats. Great service. Great food. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We waited over an hour for our entrees with little explanation

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We like going to Market Square and Cafe 4 has been our choice for a weekend brunch. Dinner is a different deal: it's very noisy and the kitchen staff isn't as good (at least the night we were there). For medical reasons, I am gluten free: I was happy eating here because they have these options listed on the menu. However, I asked about one of the gluten free options SPECIFIED ON THE MENU, I found out that the sauce was made with wheat flour! So those of you who count on 'GF' meaning what it says, BEWARE. Hope, the server, was very helpful, attentive but not overly so. We ended up having a very good dinner, never feeling rushed to leave. We will probably pick a quieter place for a belated Valentine's Day dinner next year, though!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We LOVE LOVE LOVE Café 4. We were introducing some friends from out of town to the restaurant last night, and they loved it. Café 4 never, ever disappoints, whether it is a bite before a concert in Square Room or just a leisurely meal on the sidewalk listening to street musicians and people-watching.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went to Cafe 4 for Valentine's Day and we were not disappointed. They seated us at exactly our reservation time. Our waiter was very conscientious and easy to talk to. The food was fantastic, including the special desserts. We sat in the Square Room, which is always really cool. The location, on Market Square, makes it a great place for a date. I will continue to go here again and again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I went for Valentines and the special Menu they had was spectacular! Our waitress was super and anticipated our needs and took excellent care of us!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Tonight was a big disappointment. Despite being regular customers and making reservations a week ago, we were seated in a large back concert room with several other tables and horrible ambiance. The room had a terrible odor and loud music was playing. We asked about the odor and were told others had complained as well, and the odor is the result of work being done on the sewers. This did, of course, affect the taste of the food and our enjoyment of the evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Cafe 4 is one of our goto favorites. Always good service and great food. Prices are competative and staff is knowledgable. This past Valentine's day was no exception. Had the less than romantic Tennessee Cheesesteak but I can't seem to not order it. Parmesan Fries are change your world good.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Private Room, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food...Geilled Chicken Mac & Cheese-wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first time to Cafe 4 and it was a wonderful experience. Such a professional staff and really nice. Not loud or noisy at all. The food was exceptionally good. We ate from small plate servings and it was terrific. We strongly recommend for a date, casual or group. We have nothing but praises for this group.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.