About Cafe 4

4 Market Square
Knoxville, TN 37902
View Larger Map

Café 4 is Knoxville's Hotest Downtown dining and entertainment experience. Come enjoy our true urban retreat, featuring Traditional Southern Comfort Foods with a Twist. Create memories in our comfortable dining room or relax on our heated and cooled outdoor patio overlooking the bustling Historic Market Square. Savor an entrée from our always-changing "seasonal menu", featuring Chef inspired Southern House made favorites. Chill out in the "Mezzanine Loft" for a great cup of coffee or latté’, a glass of Wine or one of 47 unique Beers. The "Mezzanine Loft" features a "Living Room" setting including free Wi-fi, making it the perfect place to just hang out with friends or family. Book the Square Room for your next special event or catch one of our many live concerts. Cafe' 4; a third place, neither home nor work, a place for nurturing community life and creative interaction, a place where strangers, neighbors, and friends gather to nourish the body and build relationships.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 7:00 AM- 9:30 PM

Friday 7:00 AM-10:30 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM-10:30 PM

Sunday 9:00 AM-8:30 PM

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 544-4144

Website:
http://www.4marketsquare.com/cafe4

Parking Details:
Free Parking in the Market Square Garage all evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
Lori Klonaris

Private Party Contact:
Kaley Smith: 8655444199x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Low Country Shrimp And Grits
Hot Chicken Sandwich With Mac And Cheese
Macarons
Grilled Chicken Burger
new orleans benedict
Lobster BLT
Calmari
Breakfast Tacos With Chorizo And Queso Fundido
Breakfast Croissant Sandwich
Bacon Cheeseburger
Cheese Grits
Sausage
Waffle
Spicy Black Bean Burger
Grilled Cheese Tomato Duet
Lobster And Bacon Flatbread
Sweet Corn Cakes
Lobster-Bacon Flatbread
Fried Green Tomato Stack
Pomegranate Megamosa
wild mushroom and roast garlic flatbread
Fish Taco
$5 Burger
Fried Chicken and Waffles
Filet Benedict
Chicken And Buscuits
Crab And Crawfish Benedict
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Fried Green Tomatoes
Tomato Soup
Peanut Butter Cake
Almond croissant
Salmon With Blue Cheese Wedge
Double Pork Chops
One Big Burger
Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese
Cappuccino
Grilled Pimento Cheese And Fried Green Tomato Sandwich
Hickory Burger
Turkey Sandwitch And Garlic Spinach
Scallops
Fried Chicken & Waffles
Parmesan crusted Scallops
Fried Chicken and Jalapeno Mac & Cheese
Blackstone Nut Brown Beer
Atlantic Salmon
Seven Layer Chocolate Cake
Filet Mignon
Hummus
Lo Country Shrimp And Grits
Tennessee Spring Roll
Tomato Bisque
BBQ pork tacos
Hot Meatloaf Sandwich
Dinner Roll
S'mores Bar
Steak Tips And Peppers
Knife And Fork Caesar Salad
Frittata
Blue Cheese Chips
Braised Shortribs With Creamy Horseraddish Sauce
Chicken and Waffles
Parmesan and Truffle Fries with Aioli
Mac and Cheese with Fried Onions And Bacon
Tennessee Spring Rolls
Sinful 7
Cafe 4 Frittata
Breaded Pork Tenderloin Sandwich
Crawfish And Crabcakes Benedict
Baja Fish Taco
Tennessee Cheesesteak
Roasted Red Pepper Soup
Filet

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe 4 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Knoxville
Best Food
Knoxville
3 More
Best Ambiance
Knoxville
Best Value
Knoxville
Most Booked
Knoxville
Best Restaurants in Knoxville ›

great for outdoor dining (33)
great for lunch (26)
fit for foodies (26)
See All
neighborhood gem (24)
good for groups (23)
great for brunch (23)
special occasion (22)
hot spot (17)
romantic (9)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I never thought I would sing a place's p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

I never thought I would sing a place's praises because of oatmeal. But OH MY WORD it's so wonderful, the perfect balance of comfort and decadence. Also, the poached eggs are superb. Can't recommend this place for brunch highly enough.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Cafe 4 for a few y ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have been going to Cafe 4 for a few years now, and we have never had a bad meal. I totally recommend this place.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the shrimp and grits and brussels ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I had the shrimp and grits and brussels sprouts which were both very good. I also had the butterscotch bread pudding which was amazing-I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great value for a business meal with a g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great value for a business meal with a good variety to meet various dietary preferences.

The herbed grilled chicken and lobster Mac n' cheese were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Dined on Friday evening with good friend ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Dined on Friday evening with good friends. Convenient reservation at bustling Market Square. Table was ready and we were seated promptly. Appetizing menu items. Very pleasant and attentive waitress.

Able to enjoy conversation with reasonable noise level.

Never felt rushed despite busy time. Menu offered range of prices with appealing selections.

Enjoyed the ice cold water decanter on a warm summer evening

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot on Market Square. The Bar on ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great spot on Market Square. The Bar on the Mezz is very nice and has good craft cocktails. Food and service were very good in the restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Highly mediocre food, drinks, and poor s ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Highly mediocre food, drinks, and poor service. The quality of the food was typical of an average fare. The selections were fairly limited and the drinks were bitter as made with cheap mixers and liquors. Will not revisit this restaurant again unless desperate for food in downtown Knoxville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We had an early dinner here as we needed ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had an early dinner here as we needed to get to a function later on. The food and service were exceptional! This was our first time dining here and if we're in the area again we'll definitely dine here again. Our server was very attentive and handled a special request very well. So nice to have servers that actually listen to you and make sure you're happy. Food was excellent and the variety on the menu was very good. Make sure you check out this restaurant if you're in the area, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried green tomatoes were good, shrimp a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Fried green tomatoes were good, shrimp and grits were on point. My wife had half of chicken which was to much for her which worked out because the shrimp and grits was a little small. Great service, little loud because some kind of kid convention in town. That is what happens when you have reasonable prices definitely worthwhile.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Great restaurant

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

This was my first time here. We met friends and sat outside on a beautiful night. The service was great and the food was delicious. We even got a cupcake for dessert which was to die for! Don't know if smoking was allowed or not but no one was smoking. I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great rinks before the meal to the Mezz. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great rinks before the meal to the Mezz. Quick service with friendly bar tender and wait staff.

Truffle parmesean fries amazing. Salads and entrees were delivered to table in timely fashion.The high quality of the Service and the food made our anniversary dinner a memorable experience. From check in to leaving everyone and everything was top notch.

Can't wait to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was delightful!!! We love going to Ma ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

It was delightful!!! We love going to Market Square!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Great!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We all enjoyed our drinks and dinner. I always enjoy our trips to Cafe4.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Enjoyable evening with good food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Saturday Brunch

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Saturday they only offer a brunch menu for lunch. I didn't want breakfast food so I got a hamburger . It was excellent. My husband got a southwestern chicken breakfast item with fried potatoes . It was very good. The restaurant was very noisy and our waiter couldn't hear us well. Next time I will request to sit outside if the weather is nice. Our waiter seem distracted or had too many tables . We had to ask for refills on our drinks. He brought our bill before we received our dessert. Seem to want to rush us out of there. I think I will go back only for weekday lunch or weekend dnner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A wonderful experience

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I dine here frequently, and always have a wonderful experience. This meal was no exception: the cocktails were great, the food was outstanding, and the service was wonderful. The beet and salmon salad was amazing and the baked half chicken was phenomenal ! The decor of the dining room is very uptown chic, but can be a bit loud- this is not a quiet, cozy corner kind of place, but the food and atmosphere is great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love Cafe 4

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Café 4 is one of our favorites spots for dinner in Knoxville, and the salmon is delicious! Really do wish they would bring back the pimento cheese dip . . . bartender makes a wonderful Old Fashion.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

great

 
 (Cheshire)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

The food is amazing, i had the fish tacos, it has a sriracha dressing in the cloeslaw, avocado and lime, i got 3 tacos in the serving and could only eat 2, i also had a side of the homemade potato chips which were also delicious, service is amazing, very clean, totally recommended!

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful. Highlights wer ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Highlights were the truffle oil fries and shrimp and grits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Cafe 4 is a wonderful restaurant on Mark ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Cafe 4 is a wonderful restaurant on Market Square; the darker atmosphere makes it cozy and comfortable, though it's quite noisy on any night. I went on a Saturday evening once and waited an hour and a half for a table for two, but it's worth the wait and you can walk around Market Square and wait for a text letting you know your table is ready. I made a reservation for a Thursday evening once and was seated immediately. The macaroni and cheese is to die for, and so rich. I haven't had a bad thing here yet!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe 4 experience

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

We had reservations and when we checked in we were told our table was almost ready. 20 minutes later... The food was excellent, as always. I recommend adding at least another 30 minutes to your reservation if you need to be somewhere else. Never had an issue before. Could have been that particular evening. I will definitely return and give it another shot. The food is worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Cafe 4 was excellent as usual!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

We had dinner at Cafe 4 prior to a concert downtown. Made reservations on OpenTable which was a great move on our part as the restaurant was packed at 6:00 pm on a Wednesday.

The food was excellent. Our party had calamari, pork chops, steak, lobster Mac and crab cakes. Every food item was excellent. We left with cupcakes to take home with us.

The service was very good. Food was timely and we never waited for drinks.

It was extremely loud in the restaurant with the crowd but nothing unbearable.

Overall, it was an excellent experience. Cafe 4 is one of our favorite restaurants in Knoxville.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food.

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Loud, with great food

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Took my wife here for date night before a play. I'd eaten lunch here once before and remembered the large portions and good food. We were not disappointed with the food. I had a vegetable pasta and she had a beef short rib sandwich--her item stole the show, though mine was no slouch. Music or a dance next door with heavy bass was a mood killer, but the restaurant was extremely noisy anyway. We were seated immediately, with the server keeping our drinks filled, but gradually forgetting about us at the end. Overall good experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome food! Great service. Like the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Awesome food! Great service. Like the wine selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

The food was great and the service was spot on. I will definitely be coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The waiter was very friendly. While he d ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The waiter was very friendly. While he did not know the special, when the wrong food came out he quickly replaced it with something I would like. Overall very good brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Reliable restaurant on Market Square

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

I'm a fan of Cafe 4. Their fish tacos are excellent, and their turkey burger is superlative. When the weather is nice, the outdoor seating allows you to bask in the energy of Market Square. Simply put, I'm a fan.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a great experience and they deliv ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Always a great experience and they delivered once again. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Downtown Restraurant

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

We made our reservations with the open table app. on a very busy night we ended up being about 10 minutes late and they still had out table ready as soon as we walked in. The food was great and so was the customer service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to be one of the best restaurants

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Continues to be one of the best restaurants in Market Square. Service and food are excellent! Quality has been consistently great whether busy or not

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Okay but not treat

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Entrees (salmon and tilapia) were good but nothing special. I felt I could have done as well at home. Vegetables were very good except for the Brussel sprouts which were burned. Coffee is very good. They leave you a pitcher of water but server was slow in refilling coffee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Even better than expected!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Great food, great service, I would definitely recommend Cafe 4, and most definitely cannot wait to return in the future!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was great, but the food was just ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Waiter was great, but the food was just so-so. Have had lunch here before and thought it was better.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great Meal

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Never disappoints. This is a favorite for me and my wife. We try something different each time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent service and food.

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

From the moment of being greeted to signing the final check, the experience was fabulous. Our waitress was helpful with the menu and wine choices. The food was superb. Enjoyed watching people in Market Square.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is always good and I struggle with ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Food is always good and I struggle with which entrée to treat myself to. Short rib grilled cheese is always a favorite and the burger is every bit as good As Liton's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Birthday suprise

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Took my wife there for her birthday, we had a great time, the food was excellent, the waiter was very pleasant and personable. We need to go more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great find

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Dined here 11/27/15 with out of town guests. Service was excellent, the menu had great selections and everyone enjoyed their meal. The only downside was that the delicious looking deserts were not that tasty.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Reservation - Didn't Matter

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

We had an 8:30 pm reservation for a party of 5 (it was Homecoming weekend and I felt it best to make a reservation so we didn't have to wait too long). When we arrived the hostess informed us that "our" table was still occupied by the prior group but she would have us seated as soon as they left (we were about 10 minutes early so I wasn't concerned). at 8:45 we were told they were still finishing their drinks but the manager was going to buy us an appetizer when we got seated. At 8:50 they asked the other party to leave and we finally got seated ... I would expect that the restaurant would have more than just a few tables to accommodate a party of 5 but looking around there weren't any. A reviewer on their FB page had a similar experience this summer, so I would say if you have a party larger than 4 this probably isn't your place unless you don't mind a long wait.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.