Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Cafe 4

Café 4 is Knoxville's Hotest Downtown dining and entertainment experience. Come enjoy our true urban retreat, featuring Traditional Southern Comfort Foods with a Twist. Create memories in our comfortable dining room or relax on our heated and cooled outdoor patio overlooking the bustling Historic Market Square. Savor an entrée from our always-changing "seasonal menu", featuring Chef inspired Southern House made favorites. Chill out in the "Mezzanine Loft" for a great cup of coffee or latté’, a glass of Wine or one of 47 unique Beers. The "Mezzanine Loft" features a "Living Room" setting including free Wi-fi, making it the perfect place to just hang out with friends or family. Book the Square Room for your next special event or catch one of our many live concerts. Cafe' 4; a third place, neither home nor work, a place for nurturing community life and creative interaction, a place where strangers, neighbors, and friends gather to nourish the body and build relationships.

4 Market Square
Knoxville, TN 37902
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 7:00 AM- 9:30 PM

Friday 7:00 AM-10:30 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM-10:30 PM

Sunday 9:00 AM-8:30 PM

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 544-4144

Website:
http://www.4marketsquare.com/cafe4

Parking Details:
Free Parking in the Market Square Garage all evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
Lori Klonaris

Private Party Contact:
Kaley Smith: (865) 544-4199

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe 4 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Casual (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
People Watching (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Fun (8)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Romantic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Scenic View (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
812 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 7 days ago

Very good.We enjoyed the great food on the patio. Weather was great! Quiet. Easy to talk & hear.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Cafe 4 is a downtown market square staple for Knoxvillians during lunch. Great variety of food fare and friendly service, but be prepared to have to wait for food, or between courses if busy, or a sudden influx of hungry customers. Overall, a tasty place to relax and eat in an urban setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food was good, had the chicken sandwich with goat cheese, only negative, it's very noisy

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Cafe4 is wonderful every time we go - for lunch or dinner. Our friend went for the first time and said it was now her favorite place on Market Square! Keep up the good work!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Cafe 4 location on market square is a real plus for people watching and convenience. We met another couple who were staying at the Oliver, plus parking Sunday is always free. All four meals were quite good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Was ok. Went for anniversary brunch with friends. Had a table of 5, but they sat us at a four-top despite confirming reservation for 5. Food was ok, not great. Server told me I couldn't have something "on the side" - which I only asked for after she said she didnt know what was in it (strong aversion to raw onion).

Probably not high on our list to return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Fabulous evening. Wonderful staff and the food was great!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was a great place to meet up. Our server was great and attentive. There were 7 of us and we all got a different dish. All the food looked and tasted great. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

I love the atmosphere there--you can sit outside and people watch or enjoy the warm decor inside. Our server was polite and attentive. The fried green tomatoes were excellent and I got my favorite comfort food, the grilled cheese dipper (comes with tomato bisque). It was a birthday brunch so we both received free cupcakes! Their cupcake choices are amazing, by the way.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 19, 2017

As always, good service and good food at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Food was good. Service was great. Be sure to make a reservation, or you might have a long waite. Our table was ready when we arrived.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I brought my Grandson here before we went to the Tennessee Theatre and we were served quickly and it was a very comforting atmosphere and we both enjoyed the food.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

What treasure! In Knoxville to counsel patient and family so truly enjoyed some time for great food, cool drinks and a fun place to unwind. Our waiter , Eric, was top rate. Love it! Will return. Open a Cafe 4 in Atlanta!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Really enjoed our meals and the atmosphere is very inviting! I can't wait to return for another enjoyable evening at this location. And if the weather cooperates I hope to dine in the outdoor seating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great location, great food, good service but very noisy. They need to add sound boards to help with the noise level. A little hard to talk across the table because of the noise.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 21, 2017

yo the chicken and waffles were bangin'.
10/10. would recommend to friend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent by every measure. Menu, service could not be better. Food quality and selection, very good. A great "find". And will return on the next Knoxville trip.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great service & food was served so quick even for a large group!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food presentation and quality are excellent. Good for people watching on Knoxville's Market Square if you can get an outside table. Inside the noise level is like a rowdy bar and distracts from an otherwise fine dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was pretty good but it was very LOUD!! Hard to hear the person sitting next to you, never mind the folks across the table from you. Don't think I will be back because of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Good food with prompt service. Loved their signature cocktails. Busy! Recommend reservations. Noisy. Will go back!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Appetizers were great. Had pimento cheese with naan and lobster flatness. Both excellent. Fish tacos were yummy along with salmon topped with a pepper jelly glaze. We're seated quickly and service was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2017

When the air conditioning dies in early July in Knoxville, you probably ought to inform your guests before seating them, perhaps even offering an outdoor seat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Came here for birthday dinner. Ambiance was ok, a bit loud. Service and food were above average. We will come back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Tomato bisque, mussels, pimento cheese dip and NY strips were all top notch! Also had breakfast there the next morning. Huevos rancheros were outstanding!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great service, great food! Highly recommend the blackberry martini, and lobster Mac and Cheese was to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great lunch! Service was outstanding. Only small negatives was it was a little loud and the price was about 15% above what i was expecting. Still, i highly recommend Cafe 4!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

First time here with family and not disappointed at all. Great service and wonderful food ( Fish Tacos, Cheese Steak , Grits ) and drinks to go with . Beautiful crown and the Market square is a great place to gather in downtown. You won't be disappointed. There is a lil wait even if you reserved ahead. !

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food, great waiter. Pleasant hostess too. No complaints!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Love their waffle and chicken even though our waffle was cold our waitress was great and took care of it immediately.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great time! It's loud, hard to hear sometimes. Food was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Good go to for Market Square dining. The host staff seemed to be having a difficult time managing people coming in and it took a while to get us seated even though we had a reservation. Wait staff was very attentive though and good was good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

As usual whenever we visit Knoxville it the only restaurant that we frequent every time. Great place, great food!! Love open table!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always consistently good food. Somewhat of a contradiction with their booking policy vs. what is on Open Table. They sometimes do not take reservations which is aggravating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

At our recent Sunday brunch we enjoyed good food at a great table - and for that reason we will return - but the overall experience wasn't enjoyable. Both hostess and server were overwhelmed and forgetful. We had reservations and were told the wait would be 5-10 minutes and then we were directed to the lounge. After 25 minutes we checked in with her and her expression told us that she had forgotten us. She did quickly scramble to find a table and, it was a nice table. There was a long wait between us being seated and our server appearing. There was another long wait after ordering coffee, and then a full 45 minutes wait after ordering our meals. The restaurant was busy but not packed - always an empty table or two around us. My guess is the restaurant was understaffed. We will return and hope for a better experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Cafe 4 is one of our downtown Knoxville favorite restaurants. On this occasion, the service was fast but not rushed. The food was very good, as it always has been. When the server found out there was a birthday in our group, they comp'ed her a cupcake for dessert, complete with candle, with no prompting on our part.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was really great. We had a very pleasant, pre-concert experience on our way to the historic Tennessee Theatre.

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent, the food and service is almost one of a kind

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Love the pimento cheese dip! So sad the farm salad has been taken off the menu, but hope it comes back soon. Some of the best grilled salmon in Knoxville, and Chris the bartender makes the best old fashioned cocktail in town.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Enjoyed dinner with a friend before a show. The service was great and the food was tasty. The salmon beet salad was great, and the truffle French fries are addictive!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.