Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Cafe 4

Café 4 is Knoxville's Hotest Downtown dining and entertainment experience. Come enjoy our true urban retreat, featuring Traditional Southern Comfort Foods with a Twist. Create memories in our comfortable dining room or relax on our heated and cooled outdoor patio overlooking the bustling Historic Market Square. Savor an entrée from our always-changing "seasonal menu", featuring Chef inspired Southern House made favorites. Chill out in the "Mezzanine Loft" for a great cup of coffee or latté’, a glass of Wine or one of 47 unique Beers. The "Mezzanine Loft" features a "Living Room" setting including free Wi-fi, making it the perfect place to just hang out with friends or family. Book the Square Room for your next special event or catch one of our many live concerts. Cafe' 4; a third place, neither home nor work, a place for nurturing community life and creative interaction, a place where strangers, neighbors, and friends gather to nourish the body and build relationships.

4 Market Square
Knoxville, TN 37902
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 7:00 AM- 9:30 PM

Friday 7:00 AM-10:30 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM-10:30 PM

Sunday 9:00 AM-8:30 PM

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 544-4144

Website:
http://www.4marketsquare.com/cafe4

Parking Details:
Free Parking in the Market Square Garage all evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
Lori Klonaris

Private Party Contact:
Kaley Smith: (865) 544-4199

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe 4 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Casual (16)
Comfort Food (16)
See All
Sunday Lunch (15)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
People Watching (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (9)
Fun (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
758 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Better to plan on eating than dining at this establishment. Courses came on top of each other, rushing and stuffing us, suggesting the waiter submitted the next course without attention to pace. Our two-top able was on a dirty dish staff runway in front of kitchen and breakdown area. This table should be permanently removed and is unsuitable for any paying patron to tolerate. An unsatisfactory experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was okay. Not what I read others say. Good was good but average.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and atmosphere were good. Our server clearly was not interested in providing anymore than minimal, basic service. This was a big disappointment since it was a birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had great service. The waitress was really friendly and sweet. I loved how the atmosphere of the restaurant was. The food was delicious. I would definitely recommend the truffle parmesean fries for the shareables.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Really excellent atmosphere and service. Would go again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

we have eaten several times at Cafe 4 and each experience very pleasant, food yummy, service good. The reservation system allows immediate service especially when patio is rocking

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

In town with my daughter to tour UTK and made a reservation at Cafe 4 for dinner -- yummy menu and lots of vegetarian options for my daughter. We got there a little early so had a drink in the quaint upstairs bar area. Food was tasty. My daughter ordered the black bean burger and mac and cheese and said it was some of the best she's ever had. I got a steak and it was cooked perfectly. Only negative is the mashed potatoes tasted like instant. Our server, Chase, was attentive and extremely personable. I think we have found a favorite in Knoxville!
* Please beware that if you make a reservation and are a no-show, there is a $10 charge.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The portions here are large, and they have a great variety of choices. Our lobster BLT flatbread was a tad greasy and the lobster was a little light. But otherwise amazing food, and a good bakery too!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Slightly disappointed after seeing all the reviews. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great. Pimento cheese/pepper jelly app wasn't what I expected. Wouldn't order that again. Chicken and waffles were solid and cupcakes were amazing. Cool local spot. Good cocktails.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We booked a table for 6 online for 6pm Monday evening. We were seated straight away on a great table. Lovely comfy seats. Great service. Great food. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We waited over an hour for our entrees with little explanation

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We like going to Market Square and Cafe 4 has been our choice for a weekend brunch. Dinner is a different deal: it's very noisy and the kitchen staff isn't as good (at least the night we were there). For medical reasons, I am gluten free: I was happy eating here because they have these options listed on the menu. However, I asked about one of the gluten free options SPECIFIED ON THE MENU, I found out that the sauce was made with wheat flour! So those of you who count on 'GF' meaning what it says, BEWARE. Hope, the server, was very helpful, attentive but not overly so. We ended up having a very good dinner, never feeling rushed to leave. We will probably pick a quieter place for a belated Valentine's Day dinner next year, though!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We LOVE LOVE LOVE Café 4. We were introducing some friends from out of town to the restaurant last night, and they loved it. Café 4 never, ever disappoints, whether it is a bite before a concert in Square Room or just a leisurely meal on the sidewalk listening to street musicians and people-watching.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went to Cafe 4 for Valentine's Day and we were not disappointed. They seated us at exactly our reservation time. Our waiter was very conscientious and easy to talk to. The food was fantastic, including the special desserts. We sat in the Square Room, which is always really cool. The location, on Market Square, makes it a great place for a date. I will continue to go here again and again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I went for Valentines and the special Menu they had was spectacular! Our waitress was super and anticipated our needs and took excellent care of us!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Tonight was a big disappointment. Despite being regular customers and making reservations a week ago, we were seated in a large back concert room with several other tables and horrible ambiance. The room had a terrible odor and loud music was playing. We asked about the odor and were told others had complained as well, and the odor is the result of work being done on the sewers. This did, of course, affect the taste of the food and our enjoyment of the evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Cafe 4 is one of our goto favorites. Always good service and great food. Prices are competative and staff is knowledgable. This past Valentine's day was no exception. Had the less than romantic Tennessee Cheesesteak but I can't seem to not order it. Parmesan Fries are change your world good.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Private Room, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food...Geilled Chicken Mac & Cheese-wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first time to Cafe 4 and it was a wonderful experience. Such a professional staff and really nice. Not loud or noisy at all. The food was exceptionally good. We ate from small plate servings and it was terrific. We strongly recommend for a date, casual or group. We have nothing but praises for this group.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We came to Cafe4 for an early Valentine's dinner. We haven't been there for quite awhile, so it felt "new" to us. The service (Shep) was excellent and very attentive - not "over" attentive. Food came out hot and quickly. The restaurant had a nice buzz to it (probably because it was Saturday night), but not overly loud so that we couldn't hear ourselves talk. Food was very good - waiter made solid suggestions that worked out well for both of us. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great atmosphere and the food is always good. Weekends are crowded. The service is always very good. Our go to restaurant pre Broadway in Knoxville.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent dinner. Only drawback is noise level. Could use some fabric softening in the ceiling to help reduce noise. Good service without being hovering.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a great brunch. Delicious food, good drinks and pleasant service

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Consistently good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Always a pleasure to eat here. My friend and I ordered salads; the southwest and the grilled salmon. Both were excellent and very filling. Service was outstanding. It's fun to eat here, on Market Square before a show downtown.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great place to meet and visit with friends. Servers allow time to enjoy chatting by not pushing for quick ordering. The menu is diverse enough to have options for your entire group without breaking the budget

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Normally a great place to dine. One of the few places downtown that will actually take a reservation. They seated us swiftly in front of 20 plus people that didn't have reservations on a Saturday night around 8. We tried the Buffalo Blue Cheese appetizer. Really a mess unfortunately. We actually thought a lot of the stuff would be on the side and not like a heaping mess of smothered chili cheese fries. Took forever to initially to see the waiter and get water and drinks because he had been set up with a table of 16 and another table of 4 by himself before they added us to his night. My wife ordered a French Martini and returned it to the bar herself because it was terrible and the waiter had not returned for 10 minutes. They only missed one of the three ingredients in the drink....We decided to order their meat loaf. Honestly that was the worst pressed meat microwave mess I've had in my life. Mighty Dog in a cab looks and probably tastes better. Used to be a great place. It's gotten progressively worse every time we visit. This was most likely our last visit. I would seriously dump the meat loaf from the menu also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great place for many types of occasions. Janessa was fabulous. Food was great. A bit different than the usual cafe fare.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere! Our party ordered the short ribs, shrimp and grits, truffle fries, and chicken with waffles. Everyone loved their food. I would always order the truffle fries as an appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Went to Cafe 4- after a problem w the reservation- we were taken care of quickly - it was not the fault of the restaurant. The staff was friendly and helpful! The Bloody Mary bar is a nice idea with many options to get exactly what you want- fun idea. The food was very good. We loved the chicken and biscuit, chicken and waffles, the steak Benedict was particularly delicious. There were eight of us and everyone was quite happy with their choices. The gingerbread cupcake for the birthday girl added to a special meal.
Recommended

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Cafe 4 is one of my favorite dining places on Market Square. I am never disappointed with the experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Cafe 4 is always a home run! Amazing service and food. They have new cocktail menu that was to die for! Can't wait to meet my friends for happy hour in the future!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Always great food and great environment on the square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is a nice place and food is good. The wine list needs an overhaul. Very limited red wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We go to Cafe 4 every time we visit Knoxville. It is our families favorite. The food is always great and so is the service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great place to eat before going to see the Volunteers play football!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was absolutely mediocre. Brussels sprouts were charred
Truffle fries great.
Turkey burger a thin frozen patty that came cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We dined with two other couples who had been at Cafe 4 before; it was our first visit. The food was excellent, and for someone who avoids gluten, I was pleasantly surprised at the gluten-free options. Our server was attentive yet not over-bearing. We plan to return (especially to try something off their extensive dessert menu!).

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Went there for a B-Day dinner and was pleased overall. Started with drinks at outside tables, but the atmosphere was not what it could be for outdoor seating. Moved inside for dinner, which was actually quieter than outside (unusual) and enjoyed their parmesan crusted tilapia. They have attentive service, but not so much it becomes a nuisance. It's a bit pricey for "comfort food" but worth it on special occassions because it is a special place in a historic building.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 24, 2016

LOVED the lobster BLT flatbread and the fish tacos were very good too. The bread pudding was huge and ridiculously good. Nice ambiance, fine service: we'll definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.