About Cafe 4

4 Market Square
Knoxville, TN 37902
View Larger Map

Café 4 is Knoxville's Hotest Downtown dining and entertainment experience. Come enjoy our true urban retreat, featuring Traditional Southern Comfort Foods with a Twist. Create memories in our comfortable dining room or relax on our heated and cooled outdoor patio overlooking the bustling Historic Market Square. Savor an entrée from our always-changing "seasonal menu", featuring Chef inspired Southern House made favorites. Chill out in the "Mezzanine Loft" for a great cup of coffee or latté’, a glass of Wine or one of 47 unique Beers. The "Mezzanine Loft" features a "Living Room" setting including free Wi-fi, making it the perfect place to just hang out with friends or family. Book the Square Room for your next special event or catch one of our many live concerts. Cafe' 4; a third place, neither home nor work, a place for nurturing community life and creative interaction, a place where strangers, neighbors, and friends gather to nourish the body and build relationships.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 7:00 AM- 9:30 PM

Friday 7:00 AM-10:30 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM-10:30 PM

Sunday 9:00 AM-8:30 PM

Cross Street:
Union Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(865) 544-4144

Website:
http://www.4marketsquare.com/cafe4

Parking Details:
Free Parking in the Market Square Garage all evenings and weekends.

Executive Chef:
Lori Klonaris

Private Party Contact:
Kaley Smith: 8655444199x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Cafe 4
Low Country Shrimp And Grits
Hot Chicken Sandwich With Mac And Cheese
Macarons
new orleans benedict
Lobster BLT
Calmari
Grilled Chicken Burger
Breakfast Tacos With Chorizo And Queso Fundido
Breakfast Croissant Sandwich
Cheese Grits
Waffle
Sausage
Bacon Cheeseburger
Sweet Corn Cakes
Lobster-Bacon Flatbread
Fried Green Tomato Stack
Spicy Black Bean Burger
Pomegranate Megamosa
Grilled Cheese Tomato Duet
wild mushroom and roast garlic flatbread
Fish Taco
$5 Burger
Fried Chicken and Waffles
Chicken And Buscuits
Filet Benedict
Crab And Crawfish Benedict
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese
Tomato Soup
Fried Green Tomatoes
Almond croissant
Peanut Butter Cake
Salmon With Blue Cheese Wedge
Double Pork Chops
One Big Burger
Cappuccino
Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese
Grilled Pimento Cheese And Fried Green Tomato Sandwich
Turkey Sandwitch And Garlic Spinach
Hickory Burger
Lobster And Bacon Flatbread
Fried Chicken & Waffles
Scallops
Hummus
Atlantic Salmon
Fried Chicken and Jalapeno Mac & Cheese
Filet Mignon
Tennessee Spring Roll
Blackstone Nut Brown Beer
Lo Country Shrimp And Grits
Parmesan crusted Scallops
Seven Layer Chocolate Cake
Tomato Bisque
BBQ pork tacos
Dinner Roll
Hot Meatloaf Sandwich
Steak Tips And Peppers
S'mores Bar
Knife And Fork Caesar Salad
Frittata
Blue Cheese Chips
Braised Shortribs With Creamy Horseraddish Sauce
Chicken and Waffles
Parmesan and Truffle Fries with Aioli
Tennessee Spring Rolls
Mac and Cheese with Fried Onions And Bacon
Cafe 4 Frittata
Breaded Pork Tenderloin Sandwich
Sinful 7
Tennessee Cheesesteak
Crawfish And Crabcakes Benedict
Baja Fish Taco
Roasted Red Pepper Soup
Filet

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cafe 4 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
East Tennessee
Neighborhood Gem
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Knoxville
5 More
Best Food
Knoxville
Best Service
Knoxville
Best Ambiance
Knoxville
Best Value
Knoxville
Most Booked
Knoxville
Best Restaurants in Knoxville ›

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Great for Brunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Hot Spot (12)
Romantic (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Casual (7)
Scenic View (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a nice restaurant on Market Squ ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 2 days ago

This was a nice restaurant on Market Square. The deal of $5 burgers on Mondays was great. My meal was delicious and the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cafe 4 is one of our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Cafe 4 is one of our favorite restaurants in Knoxville. They have a great outdoor patio and the food is always good. I would highly recommend this restaurant. It has a fun atmosphere!

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal as always!!!! We love eating ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great meal as always!!!! We love eating here for any occasion!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great game day brunch for my husband and ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great game day brunch for my husband and me. I had the Smoked Salmon Scramble with egg whites, (delicious and portions were perfect) and the server was very attentive and adered to any request I had. We sat outside and the amibiance was lively but not loud. I personally would choose this over Tupelo Honey. Will defintiely be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a great meal and evening at Cafe ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great meal and evening at Cafe 4. While it was slightly pricy for what you got but was still a great meal! Order the Mussels app!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Visited Knoxville for the weekend, went ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Visited Knoxville for the weekend, went to Market Aquare Saturday afternoon, walked past Cafe 4, liked the weekend Brunch Menu on display and went right on the phone to reserve for Sunday Brunch- Very good tiem was had, coffee is GREAT!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When he brought our friends there who we ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

When he brought our friends there who were visiting from New York and they absolutely loved it!! We had the salmon with grilled brussels sprouts and carrots and it was probably the best I've ever had!!! The macaroni and cheese is also divine!!!! This is my favorite restaurant in Knoxville!!! They are on the mark every single time!!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good lunch. Highly recommended. Hop ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very good lunch. Highly recommended. Hope they will take reservations on football weekends using Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived on time and we were immediate ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We arrived on time and we were immediately seated . The food is always suburb . My salmon was cooked perfectly . Mac and cheese is always a hit .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was the second time at Cafe 4 and i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was the second time at Cafe 4 and it didn't disappoint. Service was friendly and attentive. Great selection on wines and beers. Nice menu selections. LARGE portions and excellent food quality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We enjoy dining at Cafe 4. Our family a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We enjoy dining at Cafe 4. Our family always finds something delicious. It is consistent in quality and service. Pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Cafe4! Food is wonderful and beauti ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love Cafe4! Food is wonderful and beautifully cooked! Our host for the table was David - what a polite and fun guy he was! Love the atmosphere and highly recommend their mac&cheese!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Knoxville - request S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Best restaurant in Knoxville - request Shep for a server - he makes the experience even better!!!! Every time we are in town it is the first place we stop...great food, great service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The breakfast menu stops at 10:30. Our r ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The breakfast menu stops at 10:30. Our reservations were for 10. That left us little time for a brunch. When the lunch menu came on, I could tell the waiter was anxious for us to leave. We were offered no refills or service after that.

The food was very good. The menu didn't have much in the way of healthy choices though.

We loved sitting outside and watching Market Square in action. Don't like sitting inside. Much too crowded.

All in all, go earlier, sit outside and enjoy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

have to end the meal with an amazing cup ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

have to end the meal with an amazing cup cake, great nouveau choices, healthy options, really enjoyed a turkey burger on gluten free bread!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my home away from home. Eat ther ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

This is my home away from home. Eat there 2-3 times a week. Weekend brunch is the best. The servers are top shelf and the owner constantly gives back to the community.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great food and service there. Th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had great food and service there. The space was nice and in a great area. We were just passing through but when we come back to Knoxville we will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I never thought I would sing a place's p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I never thought I would sing a place's praises because of oatmeal. But OH MY WORD it's so wonderful, the perfect balance of comfort and decadence. Also, the poached eggs are superb. Can't recommend this place for brunch highly enough.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped in Cafe 4 on our way to Georgia. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Stopped in Cafe 4 on our way to Georgia. Ideally located to our hotel "The Oliver".

Service was excellent. The Mac & Cheese we shared was just okay. Bad choice on our part. Wine list didn't knock us out. Noise level was off the charts loud. Large party near us was boisterous.

Just because it wasn't our night shouldn't be held against Cafe 4. We'll give them another try and so should others.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We have been going to Cafe 4 for a few y ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have been going to Cafe 4 for a few years now, and we have never had a bad meal. I totally recommend this place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the shrimp and grits and brussels ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I had the shrimp and grits and brussels sprouts which were both very good. I also had the butterscotch bread pudding which was amazing-I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great value for a business meal with a g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great value for a business meal with a good variety to meet various dietary preferences.

The herbed grilled chicken and lobster Mac n' cheese were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Dined on Friday evening with good friend ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Dined on Friday evening with good friends. Convenient reservation at bustling Market Square. Table was ready and we were seated promptly. Appetizing menu items. Very pleasant and attentive waitress.

Able to enjoy conversation with reasonable noise level.

Never felt rushed despite busy time. Menu offered range of prices with appealing selections.

Enjoyed the ice cold water decanter on a warm summer evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot on Market Square. The Bar on ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great spot on Market Square. The Bar on the Mezz is very nice and has good craft cocktails. Food and service were very good in the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Highly mediocre food, drinks, and poor s ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Highly mediocre food, drinks, and poor service. The quality of the food was typical of an average fare. The selections were fairly limited and the drinks were bitter as made with cheap mixers and liquors. Will not revisit this restaurant again unless desperate for food in downtown Knoxville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We had an early dinner here as we needed ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had an early dinner here as we needed to get to a function later on. The food and service were exceptional! This was our first time dining here and if we're in the area again we'll definitely dine here again. Our server was very attentive and handled a special request very well. So nice to have servers that actually listen to you and make sure you're happy. Food was excellent and the variety on the menu was very good. Make sure you check out this restaurant if you're in the area, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried green tomatoes were good, shrimp a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Fried green tomatoes were good, shrimp and grits were on point. My wife had half of chicken which was to much for her which worked out because the shrimp and grits was a little small. Great service, little loud because some kind of kid convention in town. That is what happens when you have reasonable prices definitely worthwhile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Great restaurant

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

This was my first time here. We met friends and sat outside on a beautiful night. The service was great and the food was delicious. We even got a cupcake for dessert which was to die for! Don't know if smoking was allowed or not but no one was smoking. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great rinks before the meal to the Mezz. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great rinks before the meal to the Mezz. Quick service with friendly bar tender and wait staff.

Truffle parmesean fries amazing. Salads and entrees were delivered to table in timely fashion.The high quality of the Service and the food made our anniversary dinner a memorable experience. From check in to leaving everyone and everything was top notch.

Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was delightful!!! We love going to Ma ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

It was delightful!!! We love going to Market Square!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Great!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We all enjoyed our drinks and dinner. I always enjoy our trips to Cafe4.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Enjoyable evening with good food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Saturday Brunch

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Saturday they only offer a brunch menu for lunch. I didn't want breakfast food so I got a hamburger . It was excellent. My husband got a southwestern chicken breakfast item with fried potatoes . It was very good. The restaurant was very noisy and our waiter couldn't hear us well. Next time I will request to sit outside if the weather is nice. Our waiter seem distracted or had too many tables . We had to ask for refills on our drinks. He brought our bill before we received our dessert. Seem to want to rush us out of there. I think I will go back only for weekday lunch or weekend dnner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A wonderful experience

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I dine here frequently, and always have a wonderful experience. This meal was no exception: the cocktails were great, the food was outstanding, and the service was wonderful. The beet and salmon salad was amazing and the baked half chicken was phenomenal ! The decor of the dining room is very uptown chic, but can be a bit loud- this is not a quiet, cozy corner kind of place, but the food and atmosphere is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love Cafe 4

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Café 4 is one of our favorites spots for dinner in Knoxville, and the salmon is delicious! Really do wish they would bring back the pimento cheese dip . . . bartender makes a wonderful Old Fashion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

great

 
 (Cheshire)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

The food is amazing, i had the fish tacos, it has a sriracha dressing in the cloeslaw, avocado and lime, i got 3 tacos in the serving and could only eat 2, i also had a side of the homemade potato chips which were also delicious, service is amazing, very clean, totally recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful. Highlights wer ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Highlights were the truffle oil fries and shrimp and grits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Cafe 4 is a wonderful restaurant on Mark ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Cafe 4 is a wonderful restaurant on Market Square; the darker atmosphere makes it cozy and comfortable, though it's quite noisy on any night. I went on a Saturday evening once and waited an hour and a half for a table for two, but it's worth the wait and you can walk around Market Square and wait for a text letting you know your table is ready. I made a reservation for a Thursday evening once and was seated immediately. The macaroni and cheese is to die for, and so rich. I haven't had a bad thing here yet!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe 4 experience

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

We had reservations and when we checked in we were told our table was almost ready. 20 minutes later... The food was excellent, as always. I recommend adding at least another 30 minutes to your reservation if you need to be somewhere else. Never had an issue before. Could have been that particular evening. I will definitely return and give it another shot. The food is worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.