About Cafe 2825

2825 Atlantic Avenue
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

2825 is a`"Neighborhood Italian- American" restaurant 1 block up from Tropicana and "The Quarter". Our family has been serving simple Italian-American cuisine in upscale casual style since arriving from Brooklyn in 1986.
Joseph is the host of this 14 table intimate, white tablecloth restaurant. His warmth and friendliness make 2825 a favorite of locals and casino guests.
He travels to his hometown of Brooklyn each week for the necessary ingredients to keep 2825 as authentic as you would find a NY or Philly nieghborhood. On any evening you will find Ginny, his wife, behind the bar, Jackie, his daughter, waiting on tables and Momma Rose's recipes in the kitchen. These are a few of the reasons locals frequent 2825. The difficulty in obtaining reservations reflects all the passion in the restaurant.
We are sure you will enjoy dining at 2825.

Please do not let positive online reviews mislead you, we are just a simple famliy cooking dinners.

.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Brighton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 344-6913

Website:
http://www.cafe2825.com/

Parking Details:
Our lot is located on side street, Brighton Avenue.


Valet assistance Thursday, Friday, Saturday also located on Brighton Avenue.

Please do not park in lot directly next to building on Atlantic Avenue. This is not our Lot.

Executive Chef:
Guiseppe Biancalana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
1199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is hands down the best Italian Restaurant in NJ!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Outstanding outstanding outstanding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Gourmet Italian with unusual specialties . The food was outstanding the service was attentive . A bit pricey but well worth the culinary expierence.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always wonderful

Our only issue was that our waitperson was more of an order taker and had no personal interest in our well being

Only when asked was the water refilled

And a pepper mill was never offered

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Joe, thank you for your personal service! You made our evening even more special and your cuisine was out of this world. Thanks for all the great suggestions! From the homemade buffalo mozzarella to the coconut cheesecake that ended our experience. Beyond our expectations!! A must restaurant to get a reservation if you're at the South Jersey shore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2016

The dining experience exceeded our expectations, which were high to begin with! Joe makes you feel like family whether it's your first time or you are a regular. Don't miss this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Outstanding as usual !! Will eventually try every item on the menu and so far all are outstanding ....Thanks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2016

A most excellent place. I have been coming here annually for many years. Joe and Virginia have it nailed. The food continues to improve, as does the wine list. They also have a very nice small bar with top shelf brands. Highly rec ommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Cafe 2825 is a Neighborhood Gem of Atlantic City and should not be missed. Call ahead as it is very small. The Ambience, Staff and Food make it a night to remember. Consistency every single time we come to this restaurant. I Highly Recommend !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Everything was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 9, 2016

We enjoyed another spectacular meal at Café 2825. It is very difficult to get a weekend reservation, so we dined late on a Wednesday night. Joe, the owner, and his wife are always present and very gracious making sure all diners are satisfied. The food is fantastic. We are locals who consider this the best Italian restaurant in the area. There is no need to travel to NYC for great Italian food. Café 2825 delivers a great Italian meal every visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2016

This is my second visit to Café 2825 {celebrating my birthday} and it was fabulous, the stuffed calamari and the mozzarella made at table side is unbelievable. My stuffed veal chop was absolutely delicious. Great wine list. Cant wait to go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Awesome restaurant. There is a reason why they were rated the best Italian restaurant in NJ. Everything is done right here. If you go, you absolutely must have the fresh mozzarella made table side and the pasta Cacio e Pepe. Your tastebuds will thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2016

Went to Cafe 2825 for the first time and was pleasantly surprised.We ordered the made at the table Caesar salad as well as long hot peppers followed by pasta dishes that were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 1, 2016

We treated ourselves to Joe's table side homemade mozzarella - out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 1, 2016

Total favorite in Atlantic City. Owners Joe and Ginny do an amazing job here with their staff. We decided on two new items for us as apts. The Mozzarella and Pasta as our first and second courses.... Table side Buffalo Mozzarella-light and airy. perfectly prepared at our table, just perfect for the two of us.... A MUST... Table side Pasta-Joe himself brings out the wheel of cheese, adding the right blend of peppercorns and cheeses-just the right touch. As non-pasta eaters-this was perfect and will be doing it again. Heard about the pork chop-it was perfectly done with right amount of seasonings and taste. Melted in my mouth. My husband got the veal chop it was also done perfectly. Dessert we enjoyed the Homemade NY Style Cheesecake-with coconut... light and tasty. not too heavy. The biscotti's and ice cream were also a delight. As the place is small and usually packed- Cafe 2825 is a must for Italian in Atlantic City. Wine list is amazing and very affordable. We had the Magnificent and paid under $100, compared to other restaurants were we paid upwards over $150 for the same bottle. This is a place where you come in as stranger and leave feeling like you visited your best friends house for some homemade excellent Italian food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 25, 2016

A group of 4 of us recently ate here on a weekday night with a 5:30 reservation we were seated promptly and the server introduced herself. All downhill from there. We ordered two salads which good, not great. For $12 each I expect great. We ordered four different entrees, all good, great. At an average of $35 I expect great especially since all entrees are ala carte

Add in $10 sides of pasta. Even veal did not come with pasta. The sides of pasta were rigatoni which is fine but I expected more than 15 of them! Again all good not great. All in all, the check for the four of us was $325 including 4 entrees, 4 sides, 2 salads, 4 glasses of wine and 1 slice of cheese cake to share. While all the food was good, definitely not great at this price point. I mind paying more but I expect more!

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 25, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday and made reservations on Open Table. Although it is difficult to get reservations because of the ratings it has received, I have to admit, it was phenomenal. The food, service and drinks were great. We will try to make reservations again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Fabulous!! Cafe 2825 was recommended to us by friends and it did not disappoint. Will most definitely return

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Fabulous as always! Mozzerella table side is a must!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2016

This restaurant is just spectacular. They serve Sicilian food, with quite a few items made right at your table. My wife and I were in awe of the great care everyone took while serving us 2 wonderful dishes.

I encourage you to read my review on Trip Advisor, as I went into more detail. But I want to personally thank the staff who worked on Wednesday 5/18/16 to serve us with love and some of the best pasta and cheese I've ever tried. Thank you...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was great. Portions were good as well. Fresh mozzarella was a little pricey. I was full after the first course. They had the most amazing coconut cream cheesecake I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 17, 2016

This place is so popular now that it's won "Best Italian Restaurant in New Jersey"--on a Tuesday evening around 6:30, it was packed and hopping! The food was wonderful and our server very attentive. My husband loved celebrating his birthday there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Everything about it was delious! The food was outstanding! I don't remember when I had a better meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Took my boyfriend there for his bday. Service rushed us, they kept trying to take our plates away. I had asked them to bring a candle out after dinner he didn't want dessert but I thought they would at least bring him a candle. They also upcharged us for our food, prices on menu did not match the bill for the same dishes. The experience was disappointing and felt cheap. Was saddened that I chose this for his special night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2016

Amazing food with excellent service. The mozzarella and coconut cheesecake are to die for! This place does not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Had a reservation that I made two weeks in advance, still waited 30 min for my table. Service was a lttle slow at times, I needed to flag down the wait staff. Even though we chose the caesar salad made at the table $15 PP is a bit high.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2016

First visit to Café 2825. Loved the cozy atmosphere and the owner was quite welcoming. Our waiter was a bit of a disappointment, however - there was a bit of a language barrier, and he just wasn't familiar with the menu enough to answer any questions. That said, the food was quite good, accompanied by an excellent bread basket. The coconut cheesecake was to die for (and I'm not even really a dessert fan) and not to be missed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I tried Cafe 2825 for the first time. We have been going to the Tropicana Casino for 20+ years and never ventured out to the 2825. Our loss. The service and the food was excellent and the wine selection was very good. The prices were comparable to those that you would find in the Casinos and the menu was ala carte. The Coconut cheese cake was to die for. Great Italian food prepared in a homestyle way. No real frills just very good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was tasty . Ambience was awesome.. Love the fact of the fresh Mozzarella being made in front of you. Other options I would choose for Italian in the area though

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2016

Ambiance great! Menu outstanding! Food-benessimo! However, Rushed throughout dining. Selections served to us at differing times, staff efficient but not sociable, no personality including owners. Wine selections poor and over priced for low quality wine. I would return for the food alone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 26, 2016

Amazing , will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2016

This place definitely lived up to its reputation. The food was absolutely delicious. That coupled with the ambiance made for a great choice for our date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2016

The food is delicious. Best Italian food ever. Highly recommend. Get the mozzarella.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2016

This is one of the few Italian restaurants in New Jersey where the food is creative and exciting. It is obvious that the chef spend a lot of time creating new way to prepare certain dishes and serve them. The portions are just right. We had the grilled octopus, which was prepared with sweet cabbage. When I first saw it, I questioned the combination, but soon I found it to be one the best tasting grilled octopus I have ever had. The polenta spread on a wooden board topped with a shredded meat stew was delectable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Owners make u feel like u r really special..... Joe not only makes homemade mozzarella tableside but explains to you step by step the prework it takes .....

A must have if u visit.... scallop special was savory and light... there were so many dishes on the menu we want to try it will be our go-to whenever we visit AC

An amazing dining experience😃

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2016

This will be our 6th dining experience in the Café within the last 6 months. The consistency of the presentation but even more the flavors just continue to make our dinners soooo enjoyable.

We like to have the stuffed calamari or the scungilli as a starter. Followed by a stuffed veal chop or even a homemade pasta with wit, in this case, Paparadelli Fra Diable with a bunch of clams , mussels, scallops , shrimp and lobster. Mop up the gravy with the fresh bread, sip a glass of Chianti and it does not get any better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Food and service were excellent. The Sunday gravy and tableside mozzarella were great. A little pricey but we knew that going in. Only bad thing was the loud, obnoxious, cheesey go-tee sportin' guy sitting in the back. The place is small and intimate. A must if you're in AC.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2016

A swanky secluded and cozy dining atmosphere. Will definitely would return to try more dishes. The Branzino and Black Sea Bass are most try--pesto shrimp was different and as good as expected. Extensive wine list in a wide range of prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 31, 2016

With the recent accolades of Cafe 2825 it was a "must stop" during our recent AC trip. The awards are well deserved as all in our party were raving about their dishes. We all said numerous times during the meal that we will definitely dine there again AND spread the word about this gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 30, 2016

The stuffed artichoke, as well as our chulicken entrees. Excellent service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 30, 2016

Other than parking this place is flawless. Incredibly creative presentations of dazzling dishes, somehow rich in flavor without being loaded with salt or calories. We went early and beat the crowd and the noise, wine pours are light but Martinis and Manhattans are to die for and reasonably priced. They coax every possible flavor out of rich fish dishes without overpowering with too much seasoning, there is a genius in the kitchen who will leave a smile on your face for days. Osso Bucco is the best ever. I have already recommended 2825 to many friends and plan on going again often. Dinner for two with drinks, appetizers, entrees, coffee, and tip ran just over $150, well worth every penny. To get an extraordinary meal for this price is unbelievable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2016

Everything is done very well: service, food, presentation, clean-up. The servings are substantial but not inordinate. Joe and Ginniy, the owners, are there to make sure all goes well. This is my favorite restaurant and it continues to please and to exceed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2016

the absolute best restaurant in jersey! can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2016

Absolutely a fabulous restaurant, you will not be disappointed. The owners,and staff are great and very accommodating. The food is delicious. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2016

Food was good but not exceptional. Risotto was not creamy and was like rice a roni. Artichoke was excellent . Wife and I both got veal. One plain broiled and I got stuffed. Both were tasty but not tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 17, 2016

Absolutely amazing experience! From the staff, the food, and most importantly the experience! The owner came to the table to demonstrate the mozzarella cheese process at the restaurant! He also was checked in to see how everything was going! There's a lot of great places in AC....but this takes the cake! If you don't go to at least try....you're truly missing out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 17, 2016

We were very disappointed as this restaurant got such good reviews. but both of our dishes were way too salty and we like salt. Due to this we only ate half our meals and didn't take the leftovers home. Too pricey not to be totally delicious. The waitress did take one of the dinners off of our bill. unfortunately we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 16, 2016

Great experience from the time you entered to the time we left ,very good food an service and nice size portion's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 16, 2016

Another fantastic experience at Cafe 2825. Arrived early and had martini's at the bar. Pretty amazing what detail goes on here. Our bartender, when grabbing drinks-used a napkin to prevent her hands from going into our glasses! First class... Cocktails excellent. Our perfect table along with wall had a fake window, but made us feel as we were sitting in an open area. Bread service=excellent. Joe, the owner, suggested a 2012 Franciscan Estate -Magnificant-her suggested we let it air and was he RIGHT ON!!! It was heavenly. We shared the grilled octopus, which as done perfectly-nice and tender. My Sunday dinner, while a lot of food here-meatball light and airy, sausage perfect... My husbands Sea Bass was fresh and done exactly the way he asked. We added the long hots and huge bowl of fresh peppers! We finished with coffess and homemade dessert. Feeling way stuffed, but left saying-just like going home to family and eating a GREAT FAMILY DINNER!!! Can not go wrong here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.