About Cafe 2825

2825 Atlantic Avenue
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

2825 is a`"Neighborhood Italian- American" restaurant 1 block up from Tropicana and "The Quarter". Our family has been serving simple Italian-American cuisine in upscale casual style since arriving from Brooklyn in 1986.
Joseph is the host of this 14 table intimate, white tablecloth restaurant. His warmth and friendliness make 2825 a favorite of locals and casino guests.
He travels to his hometown of Brooklyn each week for the necessary ingredients to keep 2825 as authentic as you would find a NY or Philly nieghborhood. On any evening you will find Ginny, his wife, behind the bar, Jackie, his daughter, waiting on tables and Momma Rose's recipes in the kitchen. These are a few of the reasons locals frequent 2825. The difficulty in obtaining reservations reflects all the passion in the restaurant.
We are sure you will enjoy dining at 2825.

Please do not let positive online reviews mislead you, we are just a simple famliy cooking dinners.

.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Brighton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 344-6913

Website:
http://www.cafe2825.com/

Parking Details:
Our lot is located on side street, Brighton Avenue.


Valet assistance Thursday, Friday, Saturday also located on Brighton Avenue.

Please do not park in lot directly next to building on Atlantic Avenue. This is not our Lot.

Executive Chef:
Guiseppe Biancalana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pasta Bolognese With Ricotta
  • Pork Chop Bolognese
  • Patron Chocolate Lava Cake
Pasta Bolognese With Ricotta
Pork Chop Bolognese
Patron Chocolate Lava Cake

Cafe 2825 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
13 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Value
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Neighborhood Gem
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Italian
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
Atlantic City
Best Food
Atlantic City
Best Service
Atlantic City
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City
Best Value
Atlantic City
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City
Neighborhood Gem
Atlantic City
Italian
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

fit for foodies (66)
special occasion (62)
neighborhood gem (56)
See All
romantic (40)
notable wine list (26)
good for groups (14)
hot spot (13)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always wonderful Our only issue was that ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Always wonderful Our only issue was that our waitperson was more of an order taker and had no personal interest in our well being Only when asked was the water refilled And a pepper mill was never offered

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Joe, thank you for your personal service ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Joe, thank you for your personal service! You made our evening even more special and your cuisine was out of this world. Thanks for all the great suggestions! From the homemade buffalo mozzarella to the coconut cheesecake that ended our experience. Beyond our expectations!! A must restaurant to get a reservation if you're at the South Jersey shore!

food5
ambience5
service5

The dining experience exceeded our expec ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The dining experience exceeded our expectations, which were high to begin with! Joe makes you feel like family whether it's your first time or you are a regular. Don't miss this place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as usual !! Will eventually ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Outstanding as usual !! Will eventually try every item on the menu and so far all are outstanding ....Thanks

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A most excellent place. I have been com ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

A most excellent place. I have been coming here annually for many years. Joe and Virginia have it nailed. The food continues to improve, as does the wine list. They also have a very nice small bar with top shelf brands. Highly rec ommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe 2825

Dined on June 10, 2016

Cafe 2825 is a Neighborhood Gem of Atlantic City and should not be missed. Call ahead as it is very small. The Ambience, Staff and Food make it a night to remember. Consistency every single time we come to this restaurant. I Highly Recommend !

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was phenomenal.

Dined on June 9, 2016

Everything was phenomenal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little Italy in AC

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

We enjoyed another spectacular meal at Café 2825. It is very difficult to get a weekend reservation, so we dined late on a Wednesday night. Joe, the owner, and his wife are always present and very gracious making sure all diners are satisfied. The food is fantastic. We are locals who consider this the best Italian restaurant in the area. There is no need to travel to NYC for great Italian food. Café 2825 delivers a great Italian meal every visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Simply the best

Dined on June 2, 2016

This is my second visit to Café 2825 {celebrating my birthday} and it was fabulous, the stuffed calamari and the mozzarella made at table side is unbelievable. My stuffed veal chop was absolutely delicious. Great wine list. Cant wait to go again

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome restaurant. There is a reason w ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Awesome restaurant. There is a reason why they were rated the best Italian restaurant in NJ. Everything is done right here. If you go, you absolutely must have the fresh mozzarella made table side and the pasta Cacio e Pepe. Your tastebuds will thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We treated ourselves to Joe's table side ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

We treated ourselves to Joe's table side homemade mozzarella - out of this world!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Went to Cafe 2825 for the first time and was pleasantly surprised.We ordered the made at the table Caesar salad as well as long hot peppers followed by pasta dishes that were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Total favorite in Atlantic City. Owners Joe and Ginny do an amazing job here with their staff. We decided on two new items for us as apts. The Mozzarella and Pasta as our first and second courses.... Table side Buffalo Mozzarella-light and airy. perfectly prepared at our table, just perfect for the two of us.... A MUST... Table side Pasta-Joe himself brings out the wheel of cheese, adding the right blend of peppercorns and cheeses-just the right touch. As non-pasta eaters-this was perfect and will be doing it again. Heard about the pork chop-it was perfectly done with right amount of seasonings and taste. Melted in my mouth. My husband got the veal chop it was also done perfectly. Dessert we enjoyed the Homemade NY Style Cheesecake-with coconut... light and tasty. not too heavy. The biscotti's and ice cream were also a delight. As the place is small and usually packed- Cafe 2825 is a must for Italian in Atlantic City. Wine list is amazing and very affordable. We had the Magnificent and paid under $100, compared to other restaurants were we paid upwards over $150 for the same bottle. This is a place where you come in as stranger and leave feeling like you visited your best friends house for some homemade excellent Italian food!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Good food. Poor value.

Dined on May 25, 2016

A group of 4 of us recently ate here on a weekday night with a 5:30 reservation we were seated promptly and the server introduced herself. All downhill from there. We ordered two salads which good, not great. For $12 each I expect great. We ordered four different entrees, all good, great. At an average of $35 I expect great especially since all entrees are ala carte Add in $10 sides of pasta. Even veal did not come with pasta. The sides of pasta were rigatoni which is fine but I expected more than 15 of them! Again all good not great. All in all, the check for the four of us was $325 including 4 entrees, 4 sides, 2 salads, 4 glasses of wine and 1 slice of cheese cake to share. While all the food was good, definitely not great at this price point. I mind paying more but I expect more!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Choice

Dined on May 25, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday and made reservations on Open Table. Although it is difficult to get reservations because of the ratings it has received, I have to admit, it was phenomenal. The food, service and drinks were great. We will try to make reservations again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Fabulous!! Cafe 2825 was recommended to ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Fabulous!! Cafe 2825 was recommended to us by friends and it did not disappoint. Will most definitely return

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always! Mozzerella table sid ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Fabulous as always! Mozzerella table side is a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Notch

Dined on May 18, 2016

This restaurant is just spectacular. They serve Sicilian food, with quite a few items made right at your table. My wife and I were in awe of the great care everyone took while serving us 2 wonderful dishes. I encourage you to read my review on Trip Advisor, as I went into more detail. But I want to personally thank the staff who worked on Wednesday 5/18/16 to serve us with love and some of the best pasta and cheese I've ever tried. Thank you...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. Portions were good as we ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was great. Portions were good as well. Fresh mozzarella was a little pricey. I was full after the first course. They had the most amazing coconut cream cheesecake I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lucky reservation at Cafe 2825

Dined on May 17, 2016

This place is so popular now that it's won "Best Italian Restaurant in New Jersey"--on a Tuesday evening around 6:30, it was packed and hopping! The food was wonderful and our server very attentive. My husband loved celebrating his birthday there!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about it was delious! The fo ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Everything about it was delious! The food was outstanding! I don't remember when I had a better meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

Took my boyfriend there for his bday. Se ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Took my boyfriend there for his bday. Service rushed us, they kept trying to take our plates away. I had asked them to bring a candle out after dinner he didn't want dessert but I thought they would at least bring him a candle. They also upcharged us for our food, prices on menu did not match the bill for the same dishes. The experience was disappointing and felt cheap. Was saddened that I chose this for his special night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food with excellent service. Th ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Amazing food with excellent service. The mozzarella and coconut cheesecake are to die for! This place does not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 4, 2016

Had a reservation that I made two weeks in advance, still waited 30 min for my table. Service was a lttle slow at times, I needed to flag down the wait staff. Even though we chose the caesar salad made at the table $15 PP is a bit high.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice find.

Dined on May 4, 2016

First visit to Café 2825. Loved the cozy atmosphere and the owner was quite welcoming. Our waiter was a bit of a disappointment, however - there was a bit of a language barrier, and he just wasn't familiar with the menu enough to answer any questions. That said, the food was quite good, accompanied by an excellent bread basket. The coconut cheesecake was to die for (and I'm not even really a dessert fan) and not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local Gem

Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I tried Cafe 2825 for the first time. We have been going to the Tropicana Casino for 20+ years and never ventured out to the 2825. Our loss. The service and the food was excellent and the wine selection was very good. The prices were comparable to those that you would find in the Casinos and the menu was ala carte. The Coconut cheese cake was to die for. Great Italian food prepared in a homestyle way. No real frills just very good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Ambivalence.

Dined on April 26, 2016

Ambiance great! Menu outstanding! Food-benessimo! However, Rushed throughout dining. Selections served to us at differing times, staff efficient but not sociable, no personality including owners. Wine selections poor and over priced for low quality wine. I would return for the food alone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing , will be back soon

Dined on April 26, 2016

Amazing , will be back soon

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

This place definitely lived up to its reputation. The food was absolutely delicious. That coupled with the ambiance made for a great choice for our date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Atlantic City

Dined on April 19, 2016

The food is delicious. Best Italian food ever. Highly recommend. Get the mozzarella.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best Italian Restaurants In NJ

Dined on April 14, 2016

This is one of the few Italian restaurants in New Jersey where the food is creative and exciting. It is obvious that the chef spend a lot of time creating new way to prepare certain dishes and serve them. The portions are just right. We had the grilled octopus, which was prepared with sweet cabbage. When I first saw it, I questioned the combination, but soon I found it to be one the best tasting grilled octopus I have ever had. The polenta spread on a wooden board topped with a shredded meat stew was delectable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

cafe 2825....a gem

Dined on April 8, 2016

Owners make u feel like u r really special..... Joe not only makes homemade mozzarella tableside but explains to you step by step the prework it takes ..... A must have if u visit.... scallop special was savory and light... there were so many dishes on the menu we want to try it will be our go-to whenever we visit AC An amazing dining experience😃

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Outstanding

Dined on April 7, 2016

This will be our 6th dining experience in the Café within the last 6 months. The consistency of the presentation but even more the flavors just continue to make our dinners soooo enjoyable. We like to have the stuffed calamari or the scungilli as a starter. Followed by a stuffed veal chop or even a homemade pasta with wit, in this case, Paparadelli Fra Diable with a bunch of clams , mussels, scallops , shrimp and lobster. Mop up the gravy with the fresh bread, sip a glass of Chianti and it does not get any better!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience on every visit!

Dined on March 31, 2016

A swanky secluded and cozy dining atmosphere. Will definitely would return to try more dishes. The Branzino and Black Sea Bass are most try--pesto shrimp was different and as good as expected. Extensive wine list in a wide range of prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on March 31, 2016

Food and service were excellent. The Sunday gravy and tableside mozzarella were great. A little pricey but we knew that going in. Only bad thing was the loud, obnoxious, cheesey go-tee sportin' guy sitting in the back. The place is small and intimate. A must if you're in AC.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

With the recent accolades of Cafe 2825 i ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

With the recent accolades of Cafe 2825 it was a "must stop" during our recent AC trip. The awards are well deserved as all in our party were raving about their dishes. We all said numerous times during the meal that we will definitely dine there again AND spread the word about this gem!

food5
ambience5
service5

The stuffed artichoke, as well as our ch ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

The stuffed artichoke, as well as our chulicken entrees. Excellent service as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TOP NJ ITALIAN

Dined on March 30, 2016

Other than parking this place is flawless. Incredibly creative presentations of dazzling dishes, somehow rich in flavor without being loaded with salt or calories. We went early and beat the crowd and the noise, wine pours are light but Martinis and Manhattans are to die for and reasonably priced. They coax every possible flavor out of rich fish dishes without overpowering with too much seasoning, there is a genius in the kitchen who will leave a smile on your face for days. Osso Bucco is the best ever. I have already recommended 2825 to many friends and plan on going again often. Dinner for two with drinks, appetizers, entrees, coffee, and tip ran just over $150, well worth every penny. To get an extraordinary meal for this price is unbelievable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the absolute best restaurant in jersey! ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

the absolute best restaurant in jersey! can't wait to go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is done very well: service, f ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Everything is done very well: service, food, presentation, clean-up. The servings are substantial but not inordinate. Joe and Ginniy, the owners, are there to make sure all goes well. This is my favorite restaurant and it continues to please and to exceed.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.