About Cafe 2825

2825 Atlantic Avenue
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

2825 is a`"Neighborhood Italian- American" restaurant 1 block up from Tropicana and "The Quarter". Our family has been serving simple Italian-American cuisine in upscale casual style since arriving from Brooklyn in 1986.
Joseph is the host of this 14 table intimate, white tablecloth restaurant. His warmth and friendliness make 2825 a favorite of locals and casino guests.
He travels to his hometown of Brooklyn each week for the necessary ingredients to keep 2825 as authentic as you would find a NY or Philly nieghborhood. On any evening you will find Ginny, his wife, behind the bar, Jackie, his daughter, waiting on tables and Momma Rose's recipes in the kitchen. These are a few of the reasons locals frequent 2825. The difficulty in obtaining reservations reflects all the passion in the restaurant.
We are sure you will enjoy dining at 2825.

Please do not let positive online reviews mislead you, we are just a simple famliy cooking dinners.

.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Brighton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 344-6913

Website:
http://www.cafe2825.com/

Parking Details:
Our lot is located on side street, Brighton Avenue.


Valet assistance Thursday, Friday, Saturday also located on Brighton Avenue.

Please do not park in lot directly next to building on Atlantic Avenue. This is not our Lot.

Executive Chef:
Guiseppe Biancalana

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cafe 2825 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
13 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Value
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Neighborhood Gem
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Italian
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
Atlantic City
Best Food
Atlantic City
Best Service
Atlantic City
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City
Best Value
Atlantic City
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City
Neighborhood Gem
Atlantic City
Italian
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

fit for foodies (87)
special occasion (81)
neighborhood gem (74)
See All
romantic (64)
notable wine list (36)
good for groups (24)
hot spot (18)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1104 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always! Mozzerella table sid ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Fabulous as always! Mozzerella table side is a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Notch

Dined on May 18, 2016

This restaurant is just spectacular. They serve Sicilian food, with quite a few items made right at your table. My wife and I were in awe of the great care everyone took while serving us 2 wonderful dishes. I encourage you to read my review on Trip Advisor, as I went into more detail. But I want to personally thank the staff who worked on Wednesday 5/18/16 to serve us with love and some of the best pasta and cheese I've ever tried. Thank you...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. Portions were good as we ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Food was great. Portions were good as well. Fresh mozzarella was a little pricey. I was full after the first course. They had the most amazing coconut cream cheesecake I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lucky reservation at Cafe 2825

Dined on May 17, 2016

This place is so popular now that it's won "Best Italian Restaurant in New Jersey"--on a Tuesday evening around 6:30, it was packed and hopping! The food was wonderful and our server very attentive. My husband loved celebrating his birthday there!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about it was delious! The fo ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Everything about it was delious! The food was outstanding! I don't remember when I had a better meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

Took my boyfriend there for his bday. Se ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Took my boyfriend there for his bday. Service rushed us, they kept trying to take our plates away. I had asked them to bring a candle out after dinner he didn't want dessert but I thought they would at least bring him a candle. They also upcharged us for our food, prices on menu did not match the bill for the same dishes. The experience was disappointing and felt cheap. Was saddened that I chose this for his special night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food with excellent service. Th ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Amazing food with excellent service. The mozzarella and coconut cheesecake are to die for! This place does not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 4, 2016

Had a reservation that I made two weeks in advance, still waited 30 min for my table. Service was a lttle slow at times, I needed to flag down the wait staff. Even though we chose the caesar salad made at the table $15 PP is a bit high.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice find.

Dined on May 4, 2016

First visit to Café 2825. Loved the cozy atmosphere and the owner was quite welcoming. Our waiter was a bit of a disappointment, however - there was a bit of a language barrier, and he just wasn't familiar with the menu enough to answer any questions. That said, the food was quite good, accompanied by an excellent bread basket. The coconut cheesecake was to die for (and I'm not even really a dessert fan) and not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local Gem

Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I tried Cafe 2825 for the first time. We have been going to the Tropicana Casino for 20+ years and never ventured out to the 2825. Our loss. The service and the food was excellent and the wine selection was very good. The prices were comparable to those that you would find in the Casinos and the menu was ala carte. The Coconut cheese cake was to die for. Great Italian food prepared in a homestyle way. No real frills just very good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Ambivalence.

Dined on April 26, 2016

Ambiance great! Menu outstanding! Food-benessimo! However, Rushed throughout dining. Selections served to us at differing times, staff efficient but not sociable, no personality including owners. Wine selections poor and over priced for low quality wine. I would return for the food alone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing , will be back soon

Dined on April 26, 2016

Amazing , will be back soon

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

This place definitely lived up to its reputation. The food was absolutely delicious. That coupled with the ambiance made for a great choice for our date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Atlantic City

Dined on April 19, 2016

The food is delicious. Best Italian food ever. Highly recommend. Get the mozzarella.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best Italian Restaurants In NJ

Dined on April 14, 2016

This is one of the few Italian restaurants in New Jersey where the food is creative and exciting. It is obvious that the chef spend a lot of time creating new way to prepare certain dishes and serve them. The portions are just right. We had the grilled octopus, which was prepared with sweet cabbage. When I first saw it, I questioned the combination, but soon I found it to be one the best tasting grilled octopus I have ever had. The polenta spread on a wooden board topped with a shredded meat stew was delectable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

cafe 2825....a gem

Dined on April 8, 2016

Owners make u feel like u r really special..... Joe not only makes homemade mozzarella tableside but explains to you step by step the prework it takes ..... A must have if u visit.... scallop special was savory and light... there were so many dishes on the menu we want to try it will be our go-to whenever we visit AC An amazing dining experience😃

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Outstanding

Dined on April 7, 2016

This will be our 6th dining experience in the Café within the last 6 months. The consistency of the presentation but even more the flavors just continue to make our dinners soooo enjoyable. We like to have the stuffed calamari or the scungilli as a starter. Followed by a stuffed veal chop or even a homemade pasta with wit, in this case, Paparadelli Fra Diable with a bunch of clams , mussels, scallops , shrimp and lobster. Mop up the gravy with the fresh bread, sip a glass of Chianti and it does not get any better!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience on every visit!

Dined on March 31, 2016

A swanky secluded and cozy dining atmosphere. Will definitely would return to try more dishes. The Branzino and Black Sea Bass are most try--pesto shrimp was different and as good as expected. Extensive wine list in a wide range of prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on March 31, 2016

Food and service were excellent. The Sunday gravy and tableside mozzarella were great. A little pricey but we knew that going in. Only bad thing was the loud, obnoxious, cheesey go-tee sportin' guy sitting in the back. The place is small and intimate. A must if you're in AC.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

With the recent accolades of Cafe 2825 i ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

With the recent accolades of Cafe 2825 it was a "must stop" during our recent AC trip. The awards are well deserved as all in our party were raving about their dishes. We all said numerous times during the meal that we will definitely dine there again AND spread the word about this gem!

food5
ambience5
service5

The stuffed artichoke, as well as our ch ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

The stuffed artichoke, as well as our chulicken entrees. Excellent service as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TOP NJ ITALIAN

Dined on March 30, 2016

Other than parking this place is flawless. Incredibly creative presentations of dazzling dishes, somehow rich in flavor without being loaded with salt or calories. We went early and beat the crowd and the noise, wine pours are light but Martinis and Manhattans are to die for and reasonably priced. They coax every possible flavor out of rich fish dishes without overpowering with too much seasoning, there is a genius in the kitchen who will leave a smile on your face for days. Osso Bucco is the best ever. I have already recommended 2825 to many friends and plan on going again often. Dinner for two with drinks, appetizers, entrees, coffee, and tip ran just over $150, well worth every penny. To get an extraordinary meal for this price is unbelievable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the absolute best restaurant in jersey! ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

the absolute best restaurant in jersey! can't wait to go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is done very well: service, f ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Everything is done very well: service, food, presentation, clean-up. The servings are substantial but not inordinate. Joe and Ginniy, the owners, are there to make sure all goes well. This is my favorite restaurant and it continues to please and to exceed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!!!!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Absolutely a fabulous restaurant, you will not be disappointed. The owners,and staff are great and very accommodating. The food is delicious. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

Food was good but not exceptional. Risot ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Food was good but not exceptional. Risotto was not creamy and was like rice a roni. Artichoke was excellent . Wife and I both got veal. One plain broiled and I got stuffed. Both were tasty but not tender.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing experience! From the ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Absolutely amazing experience! From the staff, the food, and most importantly the experience! The owner came to the table to demonstrate the mozzarella cheese process at the restaurant! He also was checked in to see how everything was going! There's a lot of great places in AC....but this takes the cake! If you don't go to at least try....you're truly missing out!

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was way too salty.

Dined on March 17, 2016

We were very disappointed as this restaurant got such good reviews. but both of our dishes were way too salty and we like salt. Due to this we only ate half our meals and didn't take the leftovers home. Too pricey not to be totally delicious. The waitress did take one of the dinners off of our bill. unfortunately we won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday party

Dined on March 16, 2016

Great experience from the time you entered to the time we left ,very good food an service and nice size portion's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST ITALIAN in JERSEY

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Another fantastic experience at Cafe 2825. Arrived early and had martini's at the bar. Pretty amazing what detail goes on here. Our bartender, when grabbing drinks-used a napkin to prevent her hands from going into our glasses! First class... Cocktails excellent. Our perfect table along with wall had a fake window, but made us feel as we were sitting in an open area. Bread service=excellent. Joe, the owner, suggested a 2012 Franciscan Estate -Magnificant-her suggested we let it air and was he RIGHT ON!!! It was heavenly. We shared the grilled octopus, which as done perfectly-nice and tender. My Sunday dinner, while a lot of food here-meatball light and airy, sausage perfect... My husbands Sea Bass was fresh and done exactly the way he asked. We added the long hots and huge bowl of fresh peppers! We finished with coffess and homemade dessert. Feeling way stuffed, but left saying-just like going home to family and eating a GREAT FAMILY DINNER!!! Can not go wrong here!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You have to eat here.

Dined on March 15, 2016

From the time we were greeted to the time we left the service was outstanding. The food was exceptional. Any visit to Atlantic City I was make sure I have reservations at this outstanding restaurant. Exceptional, Outstanding, Wonderful the food and services was perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible! Food was fresh and delicious ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Incredible! Food was fresh and delicious. Would have gone back the next night but they were already booked for the night Make sure to make a reservation. You won't be disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional homemade Italian food

Dined on March 15, 2016

A true gem in Atlantic City. One of the best Italian meals I've ever eaten. Owner and wife are friendly, cordial, and personable. Try the mozzerella prepared at table side. It is simply incredible.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great obscure CAFE

Dined on March 9, 2016

Wow the proprietor Joe is great ,hands on ,very welcoming to all his diners engaging and down to earth . Magnifico.. All of it.. Definitely recommended. And save room for dessert. The NY style homemade secret recipe coconut cheesecake and ricotta cheese cake worth the extra calories.. You'll work it off later.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in the State ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

One of the best restaurants in the State. Should be on everyone's list of restaurants to visit in N.J. The food is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

CFS

Dined on March 3, 2016

Food excellent, service very good with attentions to all fine dinning. Tables close and therefore noise level somewhat above average.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best of the best in Atlantic City. t ...

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

The best of the best in Atlantic City. the owner Joe welcomes you like an old friend. Impeccable service always and consistently excellent food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a business dinner

Dined on March 1, 2016

Bone in veal was awesome. Ordered the fresh mozzarella table side. Great tasting and presentation

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Fair at best

Dined on February 25, 2016

Ii had flounder and it was mediocre at best. The other entree's were good. Very close quarters and a bit noisy. The prices are higher than other restaurants with better food and ambiance. Service was very good and reservations were honored in a timely manner.

food5
ambience5
service4

"The Pork" was absolutely amazing and I ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

"The Pork" was absolutely amazing and I will definitely be going back here again. My wife's dish was also amazing!!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.