About Cadiz

509 State St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Cadiz Restaurant & Lounge offers a Seaside Cuisine influenced by flavors from the seaside villages of Italy and Spain. Cadiz offers pizzas, pastas, seafood, entrees, and a variety of "small plates." The menu is seasonally driven, and all produce is bought from the local Farmer's Market right outside our front door. Our wonderful selection of seafood dishes come from local, harbor fresh seafood, purchased daily. Our mixology bar offers seasonal, market-fresh cocktails, and on weekend nights Cadiz transforms into an upscale European style lounge/nightclub at 10:30 until 2am.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday, 5pm-9pm
(Closed Mondays)

Happy Hour: Sunday, Tuesday-Friday, 5pm-7pm

Cross Street:
Haley and Cota

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 770-2760

Website:
http://cadizsb.com/

Entertainment:
On Friday and Saturday nights at 10:30pm Cadiz transforms into a lounge/nightclub with DJ's for entertainment.

Catering:
We offer various options for catering. Please call for details.

Parking Details:
On Friday and Saturday Nights, we provide complimentary Valet Service out of our back Parking Entrance, which is located on 509 Fig Street.

There is also ample public parking just a few feet away from our front door. The lot is located at Anacapa and Cota Street.

Public Transit:
Right in front of our building at 509 State St.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Vazquez

Private Party Facilities:
Spanish, Italian, and Sicilian Inspired Cuisine in historic Downtown Santa Barbara. Tapas, seafood, flatbreads, pastas & entrees all made from local, fresh produce and seafood. Seasonal cocktails & market-fresh ingredients come together in a warm, inviting space perfect for your next special event.

Private Party Contact:
Messina DeRose: 8052596693x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cadiz can be used a venue for many different events. Rehearsal dinner's, wedding reception's, the after party to your wedding, bachelorette dinner's and private luncheon's to name a few. Please call to book or inquire

Restaurant Photos

Fresh cocktails
Housemade Pasta!
Chef Alex's New Market Salad
apricot dessert
Margarita Flatbread Pizza
Calamari at the bar!
Roasted duck and a bottle of Pinot!
New Oysters on the half shell!
dessert and champagne
Afumagato flatbread
Crab Salad, stunning!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cadiz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
California Central Coast
Outdoor Dining
Santa Barbara
Romantic
Santa Barbara
1 More
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

romantic (18)
special occasion (17)
great for outdoor dining (17)
See All
fit for foodies (16)
hot spot (13)
vibrant bar scene (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
good for groups (6)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (3)
kid-friendly (2)
outstanding value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic food. Amazing Paella and small ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Fantastic food. Amazing Paella and small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, wonderful atmosphere on the ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food, wonderful atmosphere on the outdoor patio and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely food, very pretty setting (we sat ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Lovely food, very pretty setting (we sat in the outer courtyard off the street.)

A highlight of the evening though was the service. We had our 6 year old son with us and our server and the bartender were both so kind and sweet with him. The bartender, Richard, created a special mocktail just for him and our son felt very special. He declared it "the best night of my life".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Cadiz was a lovely little gem on State S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Cadiz was a lovely little gem on State Street with very nice cocktails and wine. The food is oriented towards tapas and small plates and the interior is best for groups and cocktails with extra large seating areas and raised tables.

The servers were very attentive and cordial. The food was nicely presented and good. The restaurant would appeal for those on a date night or looking for a sophisticated bar scene.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and ambiance. I've been there ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food and ambiance. I've been there several times and the service is always mediocre. Our server was friendly and positive and did apologize for delays and issues, but something just doesn't run as smoothly as it should on the service side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was usual high quality we have come ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was usual high quality we have come to expect. Calamari, Steak Skewers, Scallops are our favorites. We suspect that portion size may be shrinking though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Mediocre

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is fresh but mediocre. The decor is a little tacky. Service is good and fast. The kitchen closes at 9pm and the whole place turn into a club. The food is not spanish or italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

My husband and I were seated outside wit ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My husband and I were seated outside with a view of State Street - it's a pretty view looking through the Moroccan style arches at the street scene which that night included the farmers market. Our server was friendly and professional and very knowledgable in recommending wine pairings with the food. We ordered the marinated olives, something we order every time, because they're so good. We also shared the scallops and the ahi tuna, which were excellent. For our main, we shared the steak and one other dish and enjoyed them very much. We look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the new dishes!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Hadn't been here in a while and to our delight there were a number of delicious new dishes. I chose the seafood paella which the perfect blend of light but still filling. Plenty of seafood in it, strong flavors and a hint of spicy. Went perfect with my cocktail which was a tequila cocktail (forget the name) but was also spicy. Fun and scrumptious meal, always beautiful setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed with the food as I had two ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Not impressed with the food as I had two years ago. But service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

We ordered from Cadiz' tapas and entree ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We ordered from Cadiz' tapas and entree menu. The lamb meatballs, the risotto balls, and the steak skewers were excellent. The receptionist offered us specialty seating when we needed special accommodation. The food seemed authentic and uniquely flavored. We didn't enjoy the bruschetta as it was hard to eat with the amount of pine nuts on top. The flat bread was plain although the artichoke heart on top was wonderful. Skip the Romano salad. The atmosphere is slightly off, though. We were seated inside and the front door was open to the street where significant amounts of cigarette smoke wafted in. The tables were uncomfortably square, too large and scratched up. The seats were small chairs or wicker couches that were too low to reach the table. We would revisit this restaurant for lunch if we were in town, but it was too expensive and the food too uneven in quality to make a special return only trip to Santa Barbara.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Santa Barbara gem

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Cadiz is by far one of the best dining experiences we've had in Santa Barbara. Reasonably priced for excellent quality. Great outdoor patio right on State street. Romantic date spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Notch

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great service, great food, beautiful setting. Top notch in all aspects. My girlfriend and I love it here for a night out. Fancy enough to be special, but still on the hip, casual end. Food is great, I got the mushroom risotto which is new and delicious. Richard at the bar was great

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious date night at Cadiz! I couldn' ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Delicious date night at Cadiz! I couldn't help myself I had to get the shrimp pesto pasta again its so good!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely lovely Cadiz -- beautiful ambienc ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Lovely lovely Cadiz -- beautiful ambience, attentive service, excellent wine and cocktails, and tasty plates small and large. Although I could wish for a few more vegetarian items, I always find enough to eat, even if it's two small plates, like the California-style bruschetta and the beet salad. The mushroom risotto was delicious. And we hung out for nearly three hours, chatting in the relaxed environment on the patio. So nice!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great girls's night!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Always the best for a fun girl's night out! Everything was delicious- the meatballs, the bruschetta, the scallops, all perfect. Had some delicious specialty cocktails as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highlight of our Trip to Santa Barbara

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Everything about our dinner experience on Saturday night was amazing ... everything was perfect from our table location, the server, the food, the ambiance ... really enjoyed our dinner! Thank You!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a wonderful experience

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was delicious, diver scallops were superb. They gave us complimentary champagne and dessert because it was our anniversary and that was lovely! I would definitely recommend this place great wine list, good service, and very romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good enough

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was tasty and well displayed. Although the portions appeared small, I found them to be filling - just right. The waiter was a bit too chummy for my taste but pleasant enough. The menu, though small, had some good options that were more tasty than their descriptions implied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A Nice Mediterranean Restaurant.

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Cadiz is still good but not as good as when Tapas was their specialty. Everything was enjoyable, but it still doesn't compare.

The service was good but there was a wedding party to ruin things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Reliably Outstanding

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Welcoming, attentive service; always fresh, creatively presented. Our favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Ravioli special!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The ravioili special was sublime! I hope its on the menu next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Meh

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

It was fine. Nothing particularly special about the menu. We were seated about 20 minutes after our reservation. I will say it's a cheap option for a nice looking place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Mixed Feelings

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This is one of those times when the food makes up for the rest of the dining experience. Our table for two was near the front door and in the center of the patio which was encased in plastic because it was cold outside. There was one of those tall propane heaters just feet away from our table. It was really pumping out the heat, and we were uncomforable the first half of the meal. A waiter never helped us, but a woman from behind the bar kept coming over to take our orders and serve the food. The food was wonderful. The lamb meatballs were the perfect starter and the pasta bolognese made with wild boar would make me go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Paella this time around

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

I went with the paella this time around and was very happy with my choice. It was not a traditional paella but great none the less. A lot of seafood, very filling. Solid menu option

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was lovely, the food was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

The restaurant was lovely, the food was great with wonderfully attentive service. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

delicious yet again

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Bolognese, pesto shrimp pasta, chocolate mousse, all winners!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cadiz is a very special place!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We have wanted to go to Cadiz for quite a while, finally did, and it was really wonderful? Great and knowledgeable staff, really good food, nice wine selection, plus it's warm and beautifully lit. The atmosphere is very intimate and inviting for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a date with excellent food.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Really excellent food with a menu that changes. Our server Justin was courteous and thoughtful in his food recommendations.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What a great experience! A group of 4 of ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

What a great experience! A group of 4 of us went there on 15th for a late dinner. Our waiter was super nice and knowledgable. He tried everything to make us happy from the wine to food and dessert! During our dinner the manager came to check on us to make sure we were not bothered by people smoking on the patio. A little before midnight the place turned to a dance club and DJ played good dance music! Everyone had great time last night! Thank you very much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Paella again

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Went back and got the paella again. Still great. Also got the Madrid cocktail, so good I got a couple of them

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Churro Dessert Stole the Show!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Everything about our meal was great, but on this night, the churro dessert stole the show! Great addition.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simple meal but just right!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

I ordered the Caesar salad and then added grilled shrimp and the chef was happy to accommodate the addition, and it was a perfect dish. I also got a side of fries and it made for a great simple meal. Very satisfied and happy with my overall experience and will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

Everything was all around great. Service was sharp, great specialty cocktails and the scallops are the best around.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious again

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

Another nice night at Cadiz! This time I had the Serrano ham chicken which was new and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the ambiance ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

The food was excellent and the ambiance is lovely. I would recommend requesting an indoor table if weather is cold/rainy. The table space was warm enough, but the plastic drapes are not nearly as nice as the beautiful flowing linen drapes in the inside. I really enjoy the attention to detail in the decor; especially the candles and lighting on the inside. The covered patio is best when it is warm and sunny.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

New Years menu

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I have only been to this place once and it was for New Years eve. It had a special prix fixe menu and I can't judge it on it's regular menu.

I ordered the paella which was recommended to me by my hotel hostess and waitress. There was very little seafood in the paella, some shells were empty, one was a broken shell from a clam. The rice was not the kind and texture I know from real Spanish paella. The first course were scallops that were cooked perfectly and had a little bit of sand in one of them. My girlfriends' steak main course was pretty good, she thought it was undercooked for medium. Her caprese salad was ok.

Overall, I would not recommend this place for its food, the location is great if you are a tourist.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Something was wrong with the kitchen

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Food service took a long time, were out of selected wines, Calamari came out cold twice. Just was not a great night. We had two previous dinners that were great. Will go back again and hopefully it will be wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

the oxtail was tough...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Service was very slow on not a particularly busy night. The servers were friendly enough, but it took a long time to get our food. We ordered one appetizer each, and entree came a little after an hour after we sat down.

I ordered the Gnocchi with ox tail. The gnocchi was delicious but the meat that came out was not ox tail like. I've had plenty of oxtail and know it's texture. The pieces of meat that came with the gnocchi were tough little pieces of roasted or grilled beef. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

A memorable dining experience!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Very good food and wonderful service by all the wait staff at this restaurant. The ambiance was also nice for a Christmas dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.