About Cadiz

509 State St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Cadiz Restaurant & Lounge offers a Seaside Cuisine influenced by flavors from the seaside villages of Italy and Spain. Cadiz offers pizzas, pastas, seafood, entrees, and a variety of "small plates." The menu is seasonally driven, and all produce is bought from the local Farmer's Market right outside our front door. Our wonderful selection of seafood dishes come from local, harbor fresh seafood, purchased daily. Our mixology bar offers seasonal, market-fresh cocktails, and on weekend nights Cadiz transforms into an upscale European style lounge/nightclub at 10:30 until 2am.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday, 5pm-9pm
(Closed Mondays)

Happy Hour: Sunday, Tuesday-Friday, 5pm-7pm

Cross Street:
Haley and Cota

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 770-2760

Website:
http://cadizsb.com/

Entertainment:
On Friday and Saturday nights at 10:30pm Cadiz transforms into a lounge/nightclub with DJ's for entertainment.

Catering:
We offer various options for catering. Please call for details.

Parking Details:
On Friday and Saturday Nights, we provide complimentary Valet Service out of our back Parking Entrance, which is located on 509 Fig Street.

There is also ample public parking just a few feet away from our front door. The lot is located at Anacapa and Cota Street.

Public Transit:
Right in front of our building at 509 State St.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Vazquez

Private Party Facilities:
Spanish, Italian, and Sicilian Inspired Cuisine in historic Downtown Santa Barbara. Tapas, seafood, flatbreads, pastas & entrees all made from local, fresh produce and seafood. Seasonal cocktails & market-fresh ingredients come together in a warm, inviting space perfect for your next special event.

Private Party Contact:
Messina DeRose: 8052596693x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cadiz can be used a venue for many different events. Rehearsal dinner's, wedding reception's, the after party to your wedding, bachelorette dinner's and private luncheon's to name a few. Please call to book or inquire

Restaurant Photos

Housemade Pasta! - Cadiz, Santa Barbara, CA
Afumagato flatbread - Cadiz, Santa Barbara, CA
apricot dessert - Cadiz, Santa Barbara, CA
Fresh cocktails - Cadiz, Santa Barbara, CA
Margarita Flatbread Pizza - Cadiz, Santa Barbara, CA
Roasted duck and a bottle of Pinot! - Cadiz, Santa Barbara, CA
Calamari at the bar! - Cadiz, Santa Barbara, CA
Chef Alex's New Market Salad - Cadiz, Santa Barbara, CA
dessert and champagne - Cadiz, Santa Barbara, CA
Crab Salad, stunning! - Cadiz, Santa Barbara, CA
New Oysters on the half shell! - Cadiz, Santa Barbara, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cadiz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Cozy (8)
See All
Creative Cuisine (7)
People Watching (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Tapas (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Historic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I gave an overall 5 star because I had l ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

I gave an overall 5 star because I had lost my gold and diamond ring when dining there. The management was very responsive and even called me at 2 A.M and left voicemail to say that the time g was found. Exceptional!!!!

Thank you!!

Tags: Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and service. Can be a bit noi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food and service. Can be a bit noisy with people on the bar but would always recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The staff were super kind to my husband ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The staff were super kind to my husband and I on a weekend getaway to Santa Barbara. Getting a reservation was not too difficult, and they called the night before to re-confirm. The server was also very friendly and we hope to revisit on our next visit to SB.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Cadiz is our favorite restaurant in Sant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Cadiz is our favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara for over 5 years. Wonderful atmosphere, creatively prepared libations and cuisine. Service can be spotty, but would not come for a weekend in Santa Barbara without at least one exquisite meal here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful meal with a little creative tw ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful meal with a little creative twist. Loved it !!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family visited Santa Barbara for an e ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My family visited Santa Barbara for an evening event. We were able to be seated early in the outdoor courtyard. Very beautiful environment. Server took drink orders and apps order; I asked for a class of wine with the main course. Apps were wonderful. It took a long while for the main dishes to arrive and we were not visited by serving staff until time to clear plates for main dishes. Though not wrapped in Prociutto as I believe it was advertised on menu (piece of prociutto on top) the guest with the wagyu burger was happy with plate. Two orders of risotto were a bit under seasoned but wait staff brought red wine vinegar when requested. Paella plate was great. My wine did not come with main course as requested. I believe I would have a better experience on another visit. I will try again.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Try the paella or tapas - had a very ple ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Try the paella or tapas - had a very pleasant experience

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and the whole Cadiz team took great care of us, but especially our waiter Justin. Firstly the hostess seated us in a cozy corner on their elegant patio and then Justin made sure we cared for throughout the night. The chef sent out several complimentary tapas for us to enjoy (which Justin coursed out just right so we won't overwhelmed). Cadiz has authentic Spanish dishes enhanced with their own flare that will please any foodie! They all made us feel very special on our special night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding evening! My wife and I were ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Outstanding evening! My wife and I were left speechless at the taste of the food. The service and atmosphere were excellent. Highly recommend!!

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a tad underdressed as we're here ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were a tad underdressed as we're here for hubby to ride the Santa Barbara 100 but were greeted warmly, seated promptly & our server, Tyler, couldn't have been nicer. Hubby had the arugula fettuccine with shrimp while I had Mary's chicken which was ever so slightly over cooked but still tender & flavorful. Indulged in their chocolate mousse for dessert & it hit the spot, not too sweet, light with good chocolate richness. We had dinner early since hubby leaves early for the ride but this place apparently has a DJ later in the evening so we could see that it's probably a very popular night spot. Very nice ambiance & a very good meal with attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were looking for somewhere to eat in ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We were looking for somewhere to eat in Santa Barbara that was different. Read reviews on the restaurant and decided to try it. We really enjoyed ourselves and the food was fantastic! We had great service as well. They were very attentive. We will definitely go back when we are in Santa Barbara again.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic experience! Our waiter ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

What a fantastic experience! Our waiter Justin was both cordial and knowledgeable, explaining dishes on their multicultural menu. The food presentation was photo-worthy and flavor was delicious - portioned just right. We opted for the tiramisu dessert and a cappuccino to top off the evening, which couldn't have been better. Owner/operator onsite and delightful in conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second dining experience at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was our second dining experience at Cadiz. We first came as a couple in May and brought 2 other couples for our second trip. The restaurant is beautifully designed both inside and out. We enjoyed sitting outside under the heat lamps and could easily converse with one another. The starters were generous and a couple could be one's dinner. We enjoyed arancini, calamari, the sausage flatbread. I especially liked the market salad that had mixed greens, berries, and veg in season. All the entrees were generous, delicious, and we'll priced. I loved the salmon with crispy skin. My husband had the mushroom risotto and my friends the paella, pasta with salmon. We are from San Francisco Bay Area and love trying new restaurants but this restaurant is worth revisiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Mushroom Risotto is back! YEAH! It ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The Mushroom Risotto is back! YEAH! It is our favorite dish in addition to the salsiccia flatbread and the diver scallops. Sangria could be improved on, though...not much flavor. Justin was our wonderful server!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat on the patio, which was very enjo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We sat on the patio, which was very enjoyable. My wife ordered the shrimp fettuccini, which was rather bland and only lukewarm upon arrival. I ordered the shrimp and lobster ravioli which was very good. The staff was friendly, and we received 2 free desserts, either for our joint birthdays or for the complaint about the lukewarm dinner (which they did offer to replace). We were in town just for our birthdays and if we came to town again, would be willing to try the restaurant again.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful evening at Cadiz. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful evening at Cadiz. Service was superb and the food was even better. The seared Ahi appetizer was a favorite of mine as well as the salmon fusolini entree. We were even fortunate to receive some complimentary samples from the chef for us to try. I recommend Cadiz for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Recommended by a friend who lives in SB. ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Recommended by a friend who lives in SB. Packed restaurant and great looking place, so expected great food. It was very bland- ahi crostini, paella, and cioppino. The service was awful except the hostess who finally saved us from sitting there being ignored forever. Passed on dessert bc menus brought but after 20 minutes server never returned. Had to get hostess to bring our check and pay. Had awesome dessert somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Great service and wide selection of meal ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great service and wide selection of meals. We really enjoyed sitting in the front patio area where you can people watch on Main Street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was AMAZING. It is very pricy ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was AMAZING. It is very pricy but it was worth it. And the waiter was very nice

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Santa Barbara!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Best restaurant in Santa Barbara!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was pretty entertaining and t ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server was pretty entertaining and took care of our allergy list with no problems. He made great recommendations and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at this restaura ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 17, 2016

This was our first time at this restaurant and we all thought it was very good. Scallop appetizer was excellent, although small (just 2 scallops). Cocktails were good but quite pricey - $15 for a cranberry martini. We ordered the salmon, which was well prepared and very tasty. Dessert was chocolate mousse and tiramisu -- both were excellent. Service was also exceptional. The atmosphere is charming -- kind of Spanish Moorish. We sat on the covered front patio -- the perfect spot for a warm summer night. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We stumbled on Cadiz by accident during ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We stumbled on Cadiz by accident during Fiesta. The food was better than expected and the service was friendly and professional.

Tags: Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious and our server wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was delicious and our server was super. I have eaten in a number of famous Bay area restaurants Cadiz ranks favorably with most.

Num

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was a great dinner in Santa Barbara ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was a great dinner in Santa Barbara for a group. The waiter was great and friendly and the ambiance was really nice too! Highly recommend this!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious house wine! The beet salad was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Delicious house wine! The beet salad was incredible, and their entrees are mouth-watering. Portions don't look big, but they will fill you up no problem. Our reservation was for 7:00, but I'd recommend eating there a little later on in the evening, like 8 or 8:30, because the restaurant seemed a little empty until we finished our food, at which point the ambiance changed to very lively and happy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

food was fine. Service was really bad. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 29, 2016

food was fine. Service was really bad. We received our main courses before appetizers and had to ask them to bring our glasses of wine about three times. I think it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Food was uneventful and wine selection w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was uneventful and wine selection was limited

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Food was good but not great. Service was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was good but not great. Service was about average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Fantastic food. Amazing Paella and small ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Fantastic food. Amazing Paella and small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, wonderful atmosphere on the ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food, wonderful atmosphere on the outdoor patio and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely food, very pretty setting (we sat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Lovely food, very pretty setting (we sat in the outer courtyard off the street.)

A highlight of the evening though was the service. We had our 6 year old son with us and our server and the bartender were both so kind and sweet with him. The bartender, Richard, created a special mocktail just for him and our son felt very special. He declared it "the best night of my life".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Cadiz was a lovely little gem on State S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Cadiz was a lovely little gem on State Street with very nice cocktails and wine. The food is oriented towards tapas and small plates and the interior is best for groups and cocktails with extra large seating areas and raised tables.

The servers were very attentive and cordial. The food was nicely presented and good. The restaurant would appeal for those on a date night or looking for a sophisticated bar scene.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and ambiance. I've been there ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food and ambiance. I've been there several times and the service is always mediocre. Our server was friendly and positive and did apologize for delays and issues, but something just doesn't run as smoothly as it should on the service side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was usual high quality we have come ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was usual high quality we have come to expect. Calamari, Steak Skewers, Scallops are our favorites. We suspect that portion size may be shrinking though.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Mediocre

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is fresh but mediocre. The decor is a little tacky. Service is good and fast. The kitchen closes at 9pm and the whole place turn into a club. The food is not spanish or italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

My husband and I were seated outside wit ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 8, 2016

My husband and I were seated outside with a view of State Street - it's a pretty view looking through the Moroccan style arches at the street scene which that night included the farmers market. Our server was friendly and professional and very knowledgable in recommending wine pairings with the food. We ordered the marinated olives, something we order every time, because they're so good. We also shared the scallops and the ahi tuna, which were excellent. For our main, we shared the steak and one other dish and enjoyed them very much. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the new dishes!

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Hadn't been here in a while and to our delight there were a number of delicious new dishes. I chose the seafood paella which the perfect blend of light but still filling. Plenty of seafood in it, strong flavors and a hint of spicy. Went perfect with my cocktail which was a tequila cocktail (forget the name) but was also spicy. Fun and scrumptious meal, always beautiful setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed with the food as I had two ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Not impressed with the food as I had two years ago. But service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

We ordered from Cadiz' tapas and entree ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We ordered from Cadiz' tapas and entree menu. The lamb meatballs, the risotto balls, and the steak skewers were excellent. The receptionist offered us specialty seating when we needed special accommodation. The food seemed authentic and uniquely flavored. We didn't enjoy the bruschetta as it was hard to eat with the amount of pine nuts on top. The flat bread was plain although the artichoke heart on top was wonderful. Skip the Romano salad. The atmosphere is slightly off, though. We were seated inside and the front door was open to the street where significant amounts of cigarette smoke wafted in. The tables were uncomfortably square, too large and scratched up. The seats were small chairs or wicker couches that were too low to reach the table. We would revisit this restaurant for lunch if we were in town, but it was too expensive and the food too uneven in quality to make a special return only trip to Santa Barbara.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.