About Cadiz

509 State St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Cadiz Restaurant & Lounge offers a Seaside Cuisine influenced by flavors from the seaside villages of Italy and Spain. Cadiz offers pizzas, pastas, seafood, entrees, and a variety of "small plates." The menu is seasonally driven, and all produce is bought from the local Farmer's Market right outside our front door. Our wonderful selection of seafood dishes come from local, harbor fresh seafood, purchased daily. Our mixology bar offers seasonal, market-fresh cocktails, and on weekend nights Cadiz transforms into an upscale European style lounge/nightclub at 10:30 until 2am.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday, 5pm-9pm
(Closed Mondays)

Happy Hour: Sunday, Tuesday-Friday, 5pm-7pm

Cross Street:
Haley and Cota

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 770-2760

Website:
http://cadizsb.com/

Entertainment:
On Friday and Saturday nights at 10:30pm Cadiz transforms into a lounge/nightclub with DJ's for entertainment.

Catering:
We offer various options for catering. Please call for details.

Parking Details:
On Friday and Saturday Nights, we provide complimentary Valet Service out of our back Parking Entrance, which is located on 509 Fig Street.

There is also ample public parking just a few feet away from our front door. The lot is located at Anacapa and Cota Street.

Public Transit:
Right in front of our building at 509 State St.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Vazquez

Private Party Facilities:
Spanish, Italian, and Sicilian Inspired Cuisine in historic Downtown Santa Barbara. Tapas, seafood, flatbreads, pastas & entrees all made from local, fresh produce and seafood. Seasonal cocktails & market-fresh ingredients come together in a warm, inviting space perfect for your next special event.

Private Party Contact:
Messina DeRose: 8052596693x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Cadiz can be used a venue for many different events. Rehearsal dinner's, wedding reception's, the after party to your wedding, bachelorette dinner's and private luncheon's to name a few. Please call to book or inquire

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cadiz Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Santa Barbara
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

romantic (21)
special occasion (19)
fit for foodies (18)
See All
great for outdoor dining (15)
hot spot (14)
vibrant bar scene (10)
notable wine list (7)
good for groups (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
461 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We ordered from Cadiz' tapas and entree ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We ordered from Cadiz' tapas and entree menu. The lamb meatballs, the risotto balls, and the steak skewers were excellent. The receptionist offered us specialty seating when we needed special accommodation. The food seemed authentic and uniquely flavored. We didn't enjoy the bruschetta as it was hard to eat with the amount of pine nuts on top. The flat bread was plain although the artichoke heart on top was wonderful. Skip the Romano salad. The atmosphere is slightly off, though. We were seated inside and the front door was open to the street where significant amounts of cigarette smoke wafted in. The tables were uncomfortably square, too large and scratched up. The seats were small chairs or wicker couches that were too low to reach the table. We would revisit this restaurant for lunch if we were in town, but it was too expensive and the food too uneven in quality to make a special return only trip to Santa Barbara.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Santa Barbara gem

Dined on May 20, 2016

Cadiz is by far one of the best dining experiences we've had in Santa Barbara. Reasonably priced for excellent quality. Great outdoor patio right on State street. Romantic date spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Notch

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great service, great food, beautiful setting. Top notch in all aspects. My girlfriend and I love it here for a night out. Fancy enough to be special, but still on the hip, casual end. Food is great, I got the mushroom risotto which is new and delicious. Richard at the bar was great

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious date night at Cadiz! I couldn' ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Delicious date night at Cadiz! I couldn't help myself I had to get the shrimp pesto pasta again its so good!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely lovely Cadiz -- beautiful ambienc ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Lovely lovely Cadiz -- beautiful ambience, attentive service, excellent wine and cocktails, and tasty plates small and large. Although I could wish for a few more vegetarian items, I always find enough to eat, even if it's two small plates, like the California-style bruschetta and the beet salad. The mushroom risotto was delicious. And we hung out for nearly three hours, chatting in the relaxed environment on the patio. So nice!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great girls's night!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Always the best for a fun girl's night out! Everything was delicious- the meatballs, the bruschetta, the scallops, all perfect. Had some delicious specialty cocktails as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highlight of our Trip to Santa Barbara

Dined on April 24, 2016

Everything about our dinner experience on Saturday night was amazing ... everything was perfect from our table location, the server, the food, the ambiance ... really enjoyed our dinner! Thank You!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a wonderful experience

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was delicious, diver scallops were superb. They gave us complimentary champagne and dessert because it was our anniversary and that was lovely! I would definitely recommend this place great wine list, good service, and very romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good enough

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was tasty and well displayed. Although the portions appeared small, I found them to be filling - just right. The waiter was a bit too chummy for my taste but pleasant enough. The menu, though small, had some good options that were more tasty than their descriptions implied.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

A Nice Mediterranean Restaurant.

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Cadiz is still good but not as good as when Tapas was their specialty. Everything was enjoyable, but it still doesn't compare. The service was good but there was a wedding party to ruin things.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Reliably Outstanding

Dined on March 26, 2016

Welcoming, attentive service; always fresh, creatively presented. Our favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ravioli special!

Dined on March 25, 2016

The ravioili special was sublime! I hope its on the menu next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Meh

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was fine. Nothing particularly special about the menu. We were seated about 20 minutes after our reservation. I will say it's a cheap option for a nice looking place.

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Mixed Feelings

Dined on February 13, 2016

This is one of those times when the food makes up for the rest of the dining experience. Our table for two was near the front door and in the center of the patio which was encased in plastic because it was cold outside. There was one of those tall propane heaters just feet away from our table. It was really pumping out the heat, and we were uncomforable the first half of the meal. A waiter never helped us, but a woman from behind the bar kept coming over to take our orders and serve the food. The food was wonderful. The lamb meatballs were the perfect starter and the pasta bolognese made with wild boar would make me go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paella this time around

Dined on February 4, 2016

I went with the paella this time around and was very happy with my choice. It was not a traditional paella but great none the less. A lot of seafood, very filling. Solid menu option

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was lovely, the food was ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

The restaurant was lovely, the food was great with wonderfully attentive service. Will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delicious yet again

Dined on February 4, 2016

Bolognese, pesto shrimp pasta, chocolate mousse, all winners!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cadiz is a very special place!

Dined on January 23, 2016

We have wanted to go to Cadiz for quite a while, finally did, and it was really wonderful? Great and knowledgeable staff, really good food, nice wine selection, plus it's warm and beautifully lit. The atmosphere is very intimate and inviting for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place for a date with excellent food.

Dined on January 21, 2016

Really excellent food with a menu that changes. Our server Justin was courteous and thoughtful in his food recommendations.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

What a great experience! A group of 4 of ...

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

What a great experience! A group of 4 of us went there on 15th for a late dinner. Our waiter was super nice and knowledgable. He tried everything to make us happy from the wine to food and dessert! During our dinner the manager came to check on us to make sure we were not bothered by people smoking on the patio. A little before midnight the place turned to a dance club and DJ played good dance music! Everyone had great time last night! Thank you very much!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paella again

Dined on January 15, 2016

Went back and got the paella again. Still great. Also got the Madrid cocktail, so good I got a couple of them

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Churro Dessert Stole the Show!

Dined on January 15, 2016

Everything about our meal was great, but on this night, the churro dessert stole the show! Great addition.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simple meal but just right!

Dined on January 14, 2016

I ordered the Caesar salad and then added grilled shrimp and the chef was happy to accommodate the addition, and it was a perfect dish. I also got a side of fries and it made for a great simple meal. Very satisfied and happy with my overall experience and will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service

Dined on January 13, 2016

Everything was all around great. Service was sharp, great specialty cocktails and the scallops are the best around.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious again

Dined on January 13, 2016

Another nice night at Cadiz! This time I had the Serrano ham chicken which was new and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was excellent and the ambiance ...

Dined on January 10, 2016

The food was excellent and the ambiance is lovely. I would recommend requesting an indoor table if weather is cold/rainy. The table space was warm enough, but the plastic drapes are not nearly as nice as the beautiful flowing linen drapes in the inside. I really enjoy the attention to detail in the decor; especially the candles and lighting on the inside. The covered patio is best when it is warm and sunny.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

New Years menu

Dined on January 1, 2016

I have only been to this place once and it was for New Years eve. It had a special prix fixe menu and I can't judge it on it's regular menu. I ordered the paella which was recommended to me by my hotel hostess and waitress. There was very little seafood in the paella, some shells were empty, one was a broken shell from a clam. The rice was not the kind and texture I know from real Spanish paella. The first course were scallops that were cooked perfectly and had a little bit of sand in one of them. My girlfriends' steak main course was pretty good, she thought it was undercooked for medium. Her caprese salad was ok. Overall, I would not recommend this place for its food, the location is great if you are a tourist.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Something was wrong with the kitchen

Dined on December 31, 2015

Food service took a long time, were out of selected wines, Calamari came out cold twice. Just was not a great night. We had two previous dinners that were great. Will go back again and hopefully it will be wonderful.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

the oxtail was tough...

Dined on December 29, 2015

Service was very slow on not a particularly busy night. The servers were friendly enough, but it took a long time to get our food. We ordered one appetizer each, and entree came a little after an hour after we sat down. I ordered the Gnocchi with ox tail. The gnocchi was delicious but the meat that came out was not ox tail like. I've had plenty of oxtail and know it's texture. The pieces of meat that came with the gnocchi were tough little pieces of roasted or grilled beef. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A memorable dining experience!

Dined on December 26, 2015

Very good food and wonderful service by all the wait staff at this restaurant. The ambiance was also nice for a Christmas dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Food was very good, although a tad skimp ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

Food was very good, although a tad skimpy for the price. We asked for bread and were told they were not serving it, but the table next to had some...not a huge deal, but combined with the fact that our server was not entirely on the ball it detracted from our overall impression.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Christmas Dinner, A-Ok

Dined on December 26, 2015

Was a little disappointed that even though they called to confirm twice, they never mentioned they would have a very limited menu for Christmas Dinner, nor was it posted to Open Table. The steak/polenta dish was good. Steak was cooked as we ordered (med rare) and veggies were fresh. Pesto with shrimp dish was nothing special, and a small portion. Chocolate mousse dessert was fantastic. Would come back again but not on a holiday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Just OK at best.

Dined on December 25, 2015

Not good value for money. Small portions, food is unexceptional, uneven service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fun girls night!

Dined on December 16, 2015

We had a great night with great food and libations, thanks Cadiz! Chris (our server) made our night special with his service and our food was delicioussss! I had the salmon which was just perfect

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Seriously good

Dined on December 3, 2015

Oh man... Still thinkin about that meal! The Burger was insanely good. I had it with a side Caesar which was great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious yet again

Dined on December 2, 2015

From the scallops to the steak....everything just delicious. Yet another great meal here

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2

Slow, inattentive service.

vip
Dined on November 25, 2015

Slow, inattentive service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Dining Experience

vip
Dined on November 25, 2015

Fell in love with the "albondigas" and the delicate scallops. The service was excellent, the ambience pleasant and the food was outstanding. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Mostly a miss!

Dined on November 20, 2015

The wine selection by the glass was small and mediocre. The food was hit and miss. Mussels were too salty to eat. Diver scallops were super. Homemade gnocchi were good but the meat in the sauce was stringy.

food3
ambience3
service3

Nice for small plates, the beet salad excellent

vip
Dined on November 17, 2015

Hummus and flatbread nothing special plus the deep fryer was broken so many items not available-felt like an 'off' night

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.