Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

C&O Trattoria

4.4
232 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Perfect For:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Good for Groups
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

Self-proclaimed as the happiest place on Earth, C&O Trattoria offers Italian cuisine with a rich atmosphere and unique décor. The restaurant prides itself on its unique ability to stand out in a city known for exclusive and unique venues. C&O Trattoria's honor roll wine costs just $5.95 a glass, and patrons are free to serve themselves. In the cool winter months, guests can still enjoy breakfast on the heated patio during the weekends.

C&O Trattoria's claims no one can eat just one of its famed killer garlic rolls. Open from 11:30 a.m. to 10 p.m. weekdays and until 11 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, the restaurant serves lunch and dinner.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm, Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:30pm.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm.
Weekend Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 1:45pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(310) 823-9491
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mateo Hernandez
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please go to www.cotrattoria.com to review our catering menu and our in-house family style party packages for groups of 15 or more.
You may also contact our catering manager at:
(310) 823-9491
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Pacific Ave.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street, Parking Lot & Valet Parking after 6:00pm
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Nightly Sing Alongs
Additional
Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 232 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on January 19, 2016

Tried to cancel the reservation online but the site would not let me. I have eaten here many time and loved both the food and vibe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2015

Food is delicious as always. Killer garlic rolls were in abundance and the patio was pleasant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 27, 2015

This place remembers that customers come first. The food is good solid Italiano but the service from host to bar to wait staff is fabulous and not often encountered here in LA. Perfect place to begin or end a walking tour of the Venice canals around the holidays.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 20, 2015

I literally have moments when I crave C&O's ! The food is always delicious and the portions are huge ! The best thing ever are the unlimited garlic knots !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 15, 2015

It's been a long time since I ate at this location, I usually prefer the one closer to Lincoln Blvd because of the parking situation. Food was awesome. Service was great. Very pleased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2015

Ate here 2 nights in a row .. Both nights On the padio and the service and food were better than expected as always. WILL be back anytime I'm in la.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 7, 2015

I has been here 11 years ago, and remembered how great my experience had been. This time was even better than I remembered! It couldn't have been better ... The night was absolutely perfect!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 6, 2015

Not much to complain about... It's a great place all around. Just wish service wasn't soooo efficient. Would like to freely linger longer! Otherwise wonderful. Will frequent often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2015

Great service -- and the food is great! We had a broad variety of food ordered in our group and everyone was pleased. The ambiance was really nice for an evening meal with business guests.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 22, 2015

Great food, BOUNTIFUL portions, friendly staff. Love eating on the outdoor piazza. Feels like you're in Italy. And OH THOSE GARLIC ROLLS; they keep refilling them food you!

Then around 8P, the singalong starts. The whole restaurant is filled with the sound of Dean Martin singing, "Amore." The entire staff begins singing and toasting the customers. What fun!

From food, to portions, to ambience to fun, the C&O hits a home run; especially for a special occasion or entertaining out of town guests. I had my 50th birthday party on the piazza with about 75 guests back in 2002 and it's as good now as it was back then!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 18, 2015

Do go there for ambiance/atmosphere. The food is well done and the garlic knots are terrific....you can't eat just one

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2015

I love this place! This was my second visit in one week :)
Our server jordi was wonderful. Everyone that works there is so kind and happy. The food is as good as the service! Always my go to for a guaranteed great dining experience

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 19, 2015

As soon as my party showed up, we instantly received a negative attitude from the host and were told to go to the other hostess on the patio side of the restaurant. We went to the patio and asked if we could sit inside so she walked us over to the host so that we were able to get a table. The host somewhat apologized but then stared us down the whole evening which made it a bit uncomfortable. The food was good but when we were ready to pay the bill, the waitress told us that she couldn't split up the bill and that we needed to do the math before she can process the payments. It's been years since we've been here and I don't recall ever having any issues. We don't think we'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 18, 2015

The food is always great, and the complimentary garlic rolls are addictive. The generously sized portions mean you will likely take a "to go" container. If you're feeling generous when you leave, take note that a common occurrence in the Venice Beach area is to leave your "to go" food with the less fortunate who are a short walk away. Go to C & O's!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 13, 2015

Food was great! However, it seems like portions have become smaller. We got the Pappardelle Pasta with Boneless Beef Short Ribs. Also, garlic knots didn't come around as often as I remember. The garlic knots are the reason to go to C&O! I will try again, I'm hoping the experience will be better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 6, 2015

Great Italian Food! Portions are very Italian-like, big!

Staff were very on top of things that made my dinner a very awesome experience.! Friendly, patient and knows how to listen makes the restaurant shine!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 30, 2015

The free garlic rolls are soooo delicious! My entrée was one of the specials of the evening, pasta with seafood, but it was just so-so, kinda bland. Wine was good, ambience was good. Service ok. I want to go back to give it another chance and order something else.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 24, 2015

C&O has always been a good restaurant for fairly good food. Service is spotty, sometimes great, usually pretty good. Everyone in our group seemed pleased with their food, although we all agreed C&O used to be a better restaurant. My pasta was over cooked. I didn't tell our waiter since he never really came back to our table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 20, 2015

Took out of town relatives from Chicago who rave about Chicago's Italian food. They were really impressed with the food and the outstanding service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 17, 2015

We have been coming here since back in the mid-90s when we lived on the Westside. It was my wife's birthday and wanted a special dinner so we drove their from the San Fernando Valley. It is not special in the way that it is elegant, because it is plastic chairs and plastic tables. It is special in that it is AMAZINGLY GREAT food, wonderful waiters/waitresses, and has just a wonderfully fun vibe! It just makes you smile. The only way I can sum it up is that it exudes happiness and fills your stomach with wonderfully great dishes!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 16, 2015

Food was average, service was pretty poor and tables are way too close together.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 16, 2015

This was my third time at the C&O Tratorria. I had invited two friends who had never been there before and I was excited for them to have the experience of good food, good service in a fun and friendly atomosphere. Unfortunately, while the food was good, the service was lacking --- beginning with the host. We had made reservations with the intention of sitting on the patio. When we checked in, we were immediately directed to the inside part ... no smiles, no choice, just follow the green steps. This unfriendly greeting put a bad taste in my and my guests mouth right off the bat (and embarassed me because we had been hyping this place to our friends.) However, I insisted on the patio and the non-smiling host said it would be about 10 minutes..... now, why she didn't say that in the first place is beyond me. Once we did get seated, (at probably the crummiest table on the patio) our server didn't greet us, didn't ask if we had been there before, just jumped right into order taking mode. Now, I can understand how they would want to turn tables over, it's a busy place, but one extra minute to warm us up would have been nice. At this point, I was a bit frustrated, but then those mouth-watering rolls came and the poor service to this point was put behind us. Our server did eventually warm up to us, wine and food was ordered and the rest of the night was enjoyable. I usually have a red pasta, but this time tried the linquine with lobster and it was delish. Lots of vegies and a good share of lobster. My fellow diners had equally delicious meals .... clams, shrimp and fish with pasta, all with lovely sauces etc. For dessert we had the spumoni, which was a perfect end to the meal. On the way out, Ms. non-smiling host, true to form, did not say a word, like thank you, or come again. Just ingnored us as we departed. At least we got the fun and good food , but it was not a complete dining experience. Prices are not exhorbatant, but high enough that you would expect a bit more.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 15, 2015

Love the place normally, but service was dry this time and those delicious rolls were bent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2015

Come for the killer garlic rolls. Stay for everything else

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 5, 2015

Good overall experience! Wish they had a bigger outdoor seating area due to the fact that they're located in Santa Monica.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 1, 2015

Used to come here often when we lived in LA, but hadn't been here in years. The killer garlic knots are still great. We ordered marinara sauce to go with them, but it didn't arrive until we were out of knots and our entrees had arrived. Good wine prices, nice outdoor area. Was disappointed that there wasn't any signing like there had been in the past.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 26, 2015

I frequented it when i lived here, and always try to visit when back in town. You're not going to find a busier neighborhood in LA, but this place owns it. The food makes up for the traffic, the parking and the overwhelmed valet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2015

Great experience here. We were entertaining a guest from out of town. Service was great, hostess and wait staff was accommodating.
Only thing that's a bummer is trying to find parking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 19, 2015

We loved everything and the service was amazing, but for some reason they had no garlic rolls that morning (after I had gushed about how great they were to my friend!) But fear not - we'll be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 4, 2015

I have been coming here for about 7 years. I can honestly say, it has never failed to wow me with decadent flavors and lure my palate with such richness and freshness with every dish I have tried. The waiters are attentive,polite and knowledgeable. They work very hard to please you. Garlic balls are just a mesmerizing allure. 💗💗💗💗

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 28, 2015

I love this place! We made reservations at 5:30 on a Sunday. As soon as our party arrived, we were taken to our table promptly. The staff were very attentive. Whenever our little garlic balls ran low, a waiter was right there refilling our plates. When our food arrived, my Dad scooted his chair out of the way and accidentally knocked my Mom's drink over (her cup was filled to the rim). Within a blink of an eye, about 3 waiters came over to help clean up the mess. This place had excellent food and Staff workers. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone!!! <3

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2015

It was very nice mood and view and night light
I loved it!!
And this restaurant is one of my favorite places~~
Thank you!^^*

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2015

Great service. Excellent food at good prices and sizeable portions. Cute interior. Perfect for a graduation dinner. A little difficult to get to because of traffic. And finally, THE GARLIC KNOTS. Loved that they kept bringing warm buttery garlic knots until our entrees arrived.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2015

Management is so great - always helpful and accomodating - they make celebrations extra special and make people feel welcome and special - the food is most excellent !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2015

Stupid on line date nut job canceled on me last second.

Where are the real women in this town?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2015

We visit the area at least a few times a year and always plan a meal at C & O. Great food, wine, ambiance & service with reasonable pricing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2015

We always eat here for big occasions, love it! The only downside is parking on Saturday evening, but that's the nature of the area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2015

I had read reviews about parking problems...and we had them, even with planning extra time.! (We had not been to the area for some time and didn't realize what we were in for...) We were WAY late for our reservation. Fortunately we were still able to be seated, but we had to hurry because of theatre tickets. The delicious garlic knots arrived and, yes, we could have made a meal of those. We took the suggestion of our waiter and had the pasta dish with lobster sauce and shrimp. Wonderful. Although we were celebrating a birthday, we had to order dessert to go, but the staff fit in a quick birthday song and treat. We wished we could have enjoyed the cannoli then, but it would be fabulous any time! A major Yum. Going again, we would head straight for the beach parking and pay the $8.50 just to be able to enjoy the food at a more leisurely, although loud, pace.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2015

My dining outing here was Perfect Thanks to my Waitress Megan. She did not over due her job at all. She was on point with her work Ettiques and I was very satisfied. Jose brought my date and I meals out and I was impressed with his work Ettiques as well. So on point. If I'm ever in this area again....I will stop by.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2015

Dining at C&O Trattoria was an enjoyable experience. Having a reservation made it easy to get seated quickly. The atmosphere was energetic. I had the lobster linguini which was fabulous. It was creamy but not too heavy. The waiter was very nice and provided good service. He was very knowledgeable about the menu as well and promotions. I would definitely return here with friends. And di I mention the garlic rolls? They are sooo decadent and delicious! Great place overall.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6