About By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill

4565 Stevens Creek Blvd
Santa Clara, CA 95051
View Larger Map

The restaurant specializes in seafood dishes and hearty comfort food

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: Su-T 3:00pm-9:00pm

Dinner: W-Sa 3:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Woodhams Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 248-6244 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.btbbarandgrill.com/

Catering:
Let us help you with your event planning, whether you"re hosting an event in-house or meeting at a off-site location. We have options to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Restaurant Parking is located behind the main restaurant and can be accessed on both Stevens Creek Blvd. and Woodhams Road.

Public Transit:
VTA Bus Stop 23

Executive Chef:
Paul Furiosi, Jr.

Private Party Facilities:
By-Th'-Bucket has a private Banquet Room for your Corporate Meetings, Wedding or Private Dining options. The room can hold up to 40 guests.

We've proudly served events such as:
Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Business Meetings, Afternoon Mixers, Business Dinners, Wine Tastings

All Banquet Packages Include:

House salad, cheesecake dessert, coffee and iced tea. Price is per person.

The Chef has created 6 different suggested packages on our Banquet Menu

Ask Natalie & the Chef about Custom Banquet Packages Min. of 20 required to reserve Private Banquet Room

Private Party Contact:
Natalie Ceglia: 4082486244x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (25)
good for groups (20)
special occasion (18)
See All
kid-friendly (18)
great for lunch (16)
fit for foodies (16)
romantic (5)
notable wine list (5)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (3)
Sort By:
Newest
168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was prompt and courteous. Not on ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was prompt and courteous. Not only was the food excellent but the portions were extremely generous. The menu seemed to have something for everyone. We will be back again.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was such a lucky find! Delicious Du ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was such a lucky find! Delicious Dungeness crab and the homemade bread is not to be missed. Loved it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The order was perfect and the food was t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The order was perfect and the food was the correct temperature when delivered to our table. Very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

By -th -bucket grill and bar was noisy; ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

By -th -bucket grill and bar was noisy; food below average and service was minimal and unresponsive. Had to request food items numerous times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had relatives visiting from Sweden, a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had relatives visiting from Sweden, a family of 5. They wanted to take us out to dinner to say thanks so we suggested By-the-Bucket. They LOVED it! Yes, it was very noisy as we were seated in the bar; but probably a good thing as we were 7 people with three kids (9, 11, 13) so we didn't feel we were disturbing anyone! They raved about the food and the portions sizes but they are, truly. . .way more than we could eat! Enjoyed the leftovers the following day!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been dining at BuyThe Bucket for ye ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Have been dining at BuyThe Bucket for years....the flavor was off, was there a change in main chef??

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Hadn't been to BTB for many years. Was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Hadn't been to BTB for many years. Was impressed by the remodeling that had occurred and couldn't believe the quality of the food. Both our meals, salad and garlic bread were perfectly made. Service was outstanding. Will return soon and often. Thanks!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed food and had great se ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We really enjoyed food and had great service. Can't wait to go back as there is so much more to enjoy!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My family took me here for my Birthday d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My family took me here for my Birthday dinner. The prices were on the high side, as my ordinary steak and baked potato was $35. Thats more than I usually spend, but it was my Birthday. Appetizers of calamari and mushrooms were good and the bar drinks were good too. My husband is a spaghetti fan and he said he would not return for that.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was good, but the bread should ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food was good, but the bread should be free. Unfortunately, we sat in the bar area during game 7 of the NBA championship and the noise was quite excessive with people standing between our table and the tv screens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Alert. .we split bill on 2 credit cards ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Alert. .we split bill on 2 credit cards and latter discovered that server gave herself a full tip (double) on each of our credit cards....40%.

also special was really a very small dinner portion ...other dinners were ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value4

This used to be our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This used to be our favorite restaurant but we were rather disappointed this last time. The quality of the food wasn't what it used to be. We'll try it again sometime to see if we just came on a bad night.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was wonderful server had no persona ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was wonderful server had no personality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Always good

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I have been going to BTB for years. The food is always top notch and plentiful. We watched a Sharks game in this occasion and the other patrons were fun. Our server was pleasant and efficient. The prices are getting to be pricey.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a family gathering

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

First time here, and it was a good choice, after considering a multitude of options in the Cupertino/West San Jose area. I hosted a family meal after my son's high school graduation. The staff were accommodating to our 10 person group. The food was plentiful and well made. This is a fairly casual place, and has a lively vibe. We were able to converse without shouting across the table, yet did not appear to be inflicting pain on the diners around us. The Warriors were on TV that night, so there was some reaction noise from those watching the game. This dinner for 10 also did not break the bank, a nice value, which is one reason I will return to By The Bucket.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Once again the service from Roberto at t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Once again the service from Roberto at the bar was great. He is always attentative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

By the Bucket

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Solid, neighborhood fare. Definitely caters to an older crowd, and kids love the fish take and gelato case. Nothing fancy, sort of outdated to look at but good cioppino, oysters, clams, etc.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place to dine.!!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I have been regular customers of this restaurant for a while now. Over the weekend I dined with some folks from work and we had a great time. My wife and I had Roberto serve us several times now and his service is exceptional. I'd recommend it for anyone, you can ask for Roberto to be your server.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Try the Brie

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Try the Brie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still good but has been cheapened

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I've been coming to By th' Bucket for over 20 years and my husband for 30. This place used to be amazing, but we have sadly watched it deteriorate in the last few years. The current owner has gotten incredibly cheap. Both the drink and food menus have been severely cut removing many of our favorite items. The bread with dill spread that was always free you now need to pay for. The waiters are great, but they are spread so thin that they can no longer take care of their guests properly. There are no longer busboys to clear the tables so if your plates are removed it is by the already overworked waiters. It just made us sad seeing that a once great restaurant has changed so much.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Too Expensive- lacking taste

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food too expensive for what you get. Poor choices for side dishes. Everything was bland. There for a birthday dinner and we all had the Steak - 2 of us had the Filet Special. Choice of side dish was either Spinach or Broccoli. I am sorry...paying 35.00 a plate at least you can have some "wow" factor to what you serve. Very disappointed and won't be back. Much better places to eat for that kind of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Had lots of fond memories of this place ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Had lots of fond memories of this place and was very disappointed when I returned. The food was average, the steamed clams an absolute disappointment and the service left a lot to be desired. Doubt I will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Where everybody knows your name...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

When my wife & I visit By th' Bucket, many of the servers are so good that they even remember our special orders and quirks...I like that! It's also wonderful that the food is so delicious. It's even better that they offer such nice discounts. We'll keep coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was disappointing. Draft beer ta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Dinner was disappointing. Draft beer tap wasn't working and salad greens all brown so entrée salad was returned for a different entrée. Restaurant is very noisy. Not sure I'd want to try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Going Down Hill

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I have been going to the Bucket for more than 50 years..... many dates, family dining, and just having drinks..... Over the last year things seem to be going down hill... First they started charging for the bread, now they have done away with pizza and I think the food quality is also suffering.... what has changed in management and the kitchen?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The waiter had too many tables. Our beverage wasn't filled when needed.

Cost of bread should be covered in the price of dinner. Not separately!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Fun Lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Enjoyed lunching with 3 friends. Each entree was delicious and enough for lunch the next day-- and then still delicious

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, service was friendly and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was great, service was friendly and attentive. So much better with reservation - not too long of a wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Easter Dinner At By The Bucket

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been coming to this restaurant for many years. It has always been great and the food never disappoints. Unfortunately Easter was not the time to come. Even though the restaurant was not that crowded they seemed to have a skeleton staff. We waited, and waited, and waited for our food. The waiter kept coming back and apologizing. There were only three of us so it wasn't that large a group. I don't think I will be coming back again on a holiday.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good experience. Our waitress did a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Very good experience. Our waitress did a great job. Only thing was charging for bread? Kinda didn't like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went specifically for the bucket of clams

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The clams were great as always. The rest of the food was good. We've been going there as a family for years, back when it was a pizza pallor type environment with picnic tables.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Been going there for years..

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I always enjoy this restaurant and always order the fish although other items on the menu are probably good as well. I have watched the ahi tuna entree come and go - currently it seems to be gone unfortunately as it is my favorite. This time I got the cajun snapper. they are always happy to make changes in the order such as substituting potatoes for rice, etc... great service always!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As soon as you walk in your mood changes ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

As soon as you walk in your mood changes. It was really nice. Kids love the fish tank. The server was very friendly. The food was delicious. I would definitely recommend this place. I have the open table app and didn't get my point after I reserved and went to place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

They have a great variety of food, italian, pasta, seafood... all delicious! We have always received great service here also. We had a reservation, so there was no wait. It was wonderful, I can't wait to go again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Place was busy but noise level comfortable - did not interfere win our conversation. Good was excellent and service was attentive and prompt.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Every thing is good

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Every thing is good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A friend asked for pizza and was told th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

A friend asked for pizza and was told they were out of dough. Yet the table next to us a while later was served pizza!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Not sure how much time the reservation b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Not sure how much time the reservation bought us. We waited another 25-30mins after arriving to be seated. We were given a buzzer and after that went off we waited some more. The hostess was very nice and apologetic which was cool. I know things get crazy. Still the waiter was so-so and the food was just ok. There were 3 of us eating and no one finished their meal nor were they interested in taking it home. This place may be good for some but I'll skip on returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

mreese

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Food was delicious. Our waiter was attentive and informative regarding our questions on menu items - a good overall dining experience.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was overly soaked in buttery substa ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Food was overly soaked in buttery substance

Potatoes were runny like cream of wheat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.