About By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill

4565 Stevens Creek Blvd
Santa Clara, CA 95051
View Larger Map

The restaurant specializes in seafood dishes and hearty comfort food

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: Su-T 3:00pm-9:00pm

Dinner: W-Sa 3:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Woodhams Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 248-6244 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.btbbarandgrill.com/

Catering:
Let us help you with your event planning, whether you"re hosting an event in-house or meeting at a off-site location. We have options to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Restaurant Parking is located behind the main restaurant and can be accessed on both Stevens Creek Blvd. and Woodhams Road.

Public Transit:
VTA Bus Stop 23

Executive Chef:
Paul Furiosi, Jr.

Private Party Facilities:
By-Th'-Bucket has a private Banquet Room for your Corporate Meetings, Wedding or Private Dining options. The room can hold up to 40 guests.

We've proudly served events such as:
Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Business Meetings, Afternoon Mixers, Business Dinners, Wine Tastings

All Banquet Packages Include:

House salad, cheesecake dessert, coffee and iced tea. Price is per person.

The Chef has created 6 different suggested packages on our Banquet Menu

Ask Natalie & the Chef about Custom Banquet Packages Min. of 20 required to reserve Private Banquet Room

Private Party Contact:
Natalie Ceglia: 4082486244x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Casual (11)
See All
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Business Meals (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Live Sports (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Family Style (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fun (3)
Great Beer (3)
Cozy (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Romantic (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Well I did make reservations for 6 o clo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Well I did make reservations for 6 o clock on Thanks Giving, so it was very busy. So we got our buzzer and went to the bar, had a drink and before we knew it the buzzer went off and we were seated. Jose was our waiter and as usual he took very good care of us. The food was wonderful and we took some home for the next day. Over all it was a good time for a Thanks Giving dinner out . We may do the every year it was easy and no dishes to wash and no turkey to put away. GOOD TIME

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy Buy the Bucket. It has ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We always enjoy Buy the Bucket. It has it's own special charm an the receptionist and

wait people are quite friendly and do a nice job.

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

What a great dinner! We dropped in for d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

What a great dinner! We dropped in for dinner after finding Th'Bucket on Open Table. A group of 5 was no problem. We enjoyed the Crab Cakes and Calamari as apps, various entrees and some gelato for dessert. Everything was excellent and the service was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We eat here several times a year and are ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We eat here several times a year and are never disappointed. Great place to take your time and enjoy your meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was good and tasty. Good to se ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was good and tasty. Good to see the many different fish options. Although would like to see trout back on their menu.

The noise level was too high with music, games on tv, birthday celebrations, people cheering for their teams on tv. Also was expecting the bread to be complimentary but it was good spread they had.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My second time there just as good as the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

My second time there just as good as the first went for my wife's birthday. She had never been and was very impressed.

Ahad a great time. We'll be back

Tags: Live Sports, Great Beer, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I selected this restaurant for our date ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I selected this restaurant for our date night and revisit this neighborhood favorite; last visit was over 20 years ago: By- Th'- Bucket didn't disappoint. The menu selection was diverse and my favorite steamers (entree) was loaded with clams and mussels. I even had ample to take home with me to savor a second time! We started with a 1/2 loaf of garlic bread and the Tempura Fried Artichoke Hearts. My husband's entree was Seafood Fettucini Alfredo which he also couldn't finish...expect left overs. Dessert decision; we had to have the gelato and settled on the tiramisu which was heavenly. The patrons included the elderly, middle-age, various ethnic groups and a mix of all ages. Downside: the lack of atmosphere which was austere and boring but then again who cares when you can have delicious comfort food! Caution: if you need to get to the theatre or movies you will never make it...allow for ample time to enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

This is one of those places that is good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This is one of those places that is good for awhile then mediocre for awhile. I've been eating here since they were in the old building. I met a friend for dinner on a Tuesday night, and it wasn't crowded at all. I have been on Tuesday nights when it as so packed you could barely talk. We ordered an appetizer which we never received. Just brought the food straight out. I had chicken parm. Meh, it was disappointing. There was lots of it though. My friend had the paella and said it was decent. Again, a very generous portion. Overall, it was just a so-so experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

There was 6 of us that got together for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

There was 6 of us that got together for a lunch time meal. Food was good, and so was the service.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I wish the free bread was back! I don't ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I wish the free bread was back! I don't like the idea of paying for bread, and I don't like the rolls that are for sale. ALSO, I ordered a pasta dish that listed several ingredients. I did not get the listed red pepper flakes as requested, but the dish had lots of basil that was not listed on the menu. I dislike basil, and it ruined the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

First time for an evening meal..Very hap ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

First time for an evening meal..Very happy I chose to dine there...Definately going again.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By th' Bucket never disappoints! We hav ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

By th' Bucket never disappoints! We have loved going here for years - and the food is always good and plentiful! Great seafood selections. And be sure to save room for the gelato (18 flavors!).

It's great that this busy restaurant takes reservations even on the weekends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite "go to" place to have dinne ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our favorite "go to" place to have dinner and watch a game. Menu selection is varied allowing one meal of appetizer crab cakes, another of veal parm, and another with pizza, and one with prawns and spinach. LeBou bread is extra, but worth it. Service as always was gracious.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went in for business lunch. Our waitres ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Went in for business lunch. Our waitress wtimeas very attentive and was concerned about our break

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Fun, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant has a Pokemon gym. It's ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This restaurant has a Pokemon gym. It's nice for a trainer to have some battles while waiting to be served.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, the table I requested was giv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

As always, the table I requested was given, the server was polite, knowledgeable and fun.0, the food was great!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We come here specifically for the catfis ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We come here specifically for the catfish a la meuniere. It is perfect every time. All I expect from a restaurant is that my food be well-prepared, whether it is a casual spot like By the Bucket or a very fancy restaurant in San Francisco. If the restaurant is beautiful, the wine list extensive, napkins folded just so, and the waiters tuxedoed, but the food is inconsistent, I simply don't go back. By the Bucket delivers simple, well-prepared food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

The food is good and decent portions. T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food is good and decent portions. The service is horrible. We go there once or twice a year because the service is so bad it never gets better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The portions are large but also on the p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The portions are large but also on the pricier side. The service is good and friendly. The menu has a huge selection of seafood and they have a variety of gelato ice cream. Great place to have family dinner, watch a sport game and have a drink.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Casual, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We come here about once a month. Very co ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We come here about once a month. Very consistant, very good, large portions.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I was there today for dinner and the res ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I was there today for dinner and the restaurant reported no showed. If is necessary I will provide $150+ of receipt my husband paid today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We made reservations for the restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We made reservations for the restaurant and were seated right away. The food was delicious and the selections were abundant. We hadn't been here in years and it is still a very good restaurant and has great service.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went here for my birthday again. I reall ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Went here for my birthday again. I really enjoy the food here and not too hard to get a table for a large group.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was pretty good however, the se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was pretty good however, the service was a little slow. It was busy, though. I also got the wrong starter salad but was too hungry to let the waiter know.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place run by a great family! Ciopp ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great place run by a great family! Cioppino is fantastic-my kids ask for it all the time! Good gluten free menu as well. Delicious dairy free sorbet-esp the cantaloupe!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good For seafood lovers , bad services ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good For seafood lovers , bad services ~ been there several times not very happy with the service , but good foods though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

Very disappointed in the service again w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very disappointed in the service again we waited that long this time before we even got our drinks or appetizers were sent in out of order the oysters were all cracked the shells were all cracked they were not cleaned we had to scrape them off of the shell. I won't be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

This was one of the more frustrating res ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was one of the more frustrating restaurant experiences I've had. The other guests received their drinks and appetizers and I still didn't have my drink. I had to ask three times to receive my drink. It took two requests to receive a refill and I actually had to order dessert twice. The waiter even brought us someone else's bill and credit card. This might have been over looked if the food was good. It wasn't. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were looking forward to our evening b ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were looking forward to our evening based upon previous reviews. But to no avail. Ordered the crab stuffed artichoke appetizer. Received spinach dip stuffed artichoke. Server told us obviously there was crab...nope. No a bit. Husband ordered Italian amigos and really liked it. I ordered clam chowder. Meh. Bland and pretty much an ordinary soup...nothing special at all. Server was slow. When he server the bottle of beer, totally over poured resulting in the head flowing over. He apologized. But did it again on the next one.

I like to give another chance to places that have high railings if my experience is not up to snuff. Won't bother here.

Bummer but I can see where it is a local favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great spot for traditional Italian food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great spot for traditional Italian food and seafood. Our party had absolutely fabulous Salmon that was perfectly cooked and well seasoned. Mashed potatoes were spot on and very creamy. They are used to handling a lot of volume so the servers seem to be geared towards quick interactions while still being attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Needed to talk and it was not too noisy. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Needed to talk and it was not too noisy. The chicken picante(?) was excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

excellent experience, as always. been ea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2016

excellent experience, as always. been eating at "the Bucket" before the current building was built.....in the old building on the west side of the current parking lot. Good then, good now.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful dining experience! We will ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2016

A wonderful dining experience! We will definitely be back! The food and service was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been numerous times and loved it. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We've been numerous times and loved it. Our last visit left us with only our memories of their food. The jambalaya was dry. The spaghetti and meatballs was full of water. On the plus side, my drink was stiff, appetizer was delicious and the perfect size for sharing and my friend loved her entree. We may return to give them another chance at the once perfect jambalaya.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was prompt and courteous. Not on ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was prompt and courteous. Not only was the food excellent but the portions were extremely generous. The menu seemed to have something for everyone. We will be back again.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was such a lucky find! Delicious Du ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was such a lucky find! Delicious Dungeness crab and the homemade bread is not to be missed. Loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The order was perfect and the food was t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The order was perfect and the food was the correct temperature when delivered to our table. Very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

By -th -bucket grill and bar was noisy; ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 3, 2016

By -th -bucket grill and bar was noisy; food below average and service was minimal and unresponsive. Had to request food items numerous times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had relatives visiting from Sweden, a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had relatives visiting from Sweden, a family of 5. They wanted to take us out to dinner to say thanks so we suggested By-the-Bucket. They LOVED it! Yes, it was very noisy as we were seated in the bar; but probably a good thing as we were 7 people with three kids (9, 11, 13) so we didn't feel we were disturbing anyone! They raved about the food and the portions sizes but they are, truly. . .way more than we could eat! Enjoyed the leftovers the following day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been dining at BuyThe Bucket for ye ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Have been dining at BuyThe Bucket for years....the flavor was off, was there a change in main chef??

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.