About By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill

4565 Stevens Creek Blvd
Santa Clara, CA 95051
View Larger Map

The restaurant specializes in seafood dishes and hearty comfort food

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: Su-T 3:00pm-9:00pm

Dinner: W-Sa 3:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Woodhams Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 248-6244 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.btbbarandgrill.com/

Catering:
Let us help you with your event planning, whether you"re hosting an event in-house or meeting at a off-site location. We have options to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Restaurant Parking is located behind the main restaurant and can be accessed on both Stevens Creek Blvd. and Woodhams Road.

Public Transit:
VTA Bus Stop 23

Executive Chef:
Paul Furiosi, Jr.

Private Party Facilities:
By-Th'-Bucket has a private Banquet Room for your Corporate Meetings, Wedding or Private Dining options. The room can hold up to 40 guests.

We've proudly served events such as:
Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Business Meetings, Afternoon Mixers, Business Dinners, Wine Tastings

All Banquet Packages Include:

House salad, cheesecake dessert, coffee and iced tea. Price is per person.

The Chef has created 6 different suggested packages on our Banquet Menu

Ask Natalie & the Chef about Custom Banquet Packages Min. of 20 required to reserve Private Banquet Room

Private Party Contact:
Natalie Ceglia: 4082486244x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (15)
Casual (15)
Bar Seating (14)
See All
Good for Groups (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Family Style (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Live Sports (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Authentic (4)
Great Beer (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Romantic (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a bad experience. The restaurant w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

What a bad experience. The restaurant was busy but it is no excuse. The calamari was cold when it arrived, our entrées were bad and the server showed up only once after we placed our order and that was to pick up the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Unfortunately they were having problems ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Unfortunately they were having problems in the kitchen or so we were told, overwhelmed was the word they used. Our waiter, I guess was overwhelmed also. He took our drink and appetizer and dinner order and that was pretty much it. Our drinks ran out after the appetizer and didn't get refilled until we were just about to get our bill. Our waiter didn't return until he refilled our drinks, at which point we were done. Our appetizer and food was brought out by another waiter or busboy. It was warm but not hot. For the price I paid for the 4 of us I was completely disappointed. I had high hopes but maybe the overall experience was poor because the NFL playoff game was on and that's where they make their money... in the bar. Won't return😩

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Really good food. Service prompt. They ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Really good food. Service prompt. They do a great job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was good!! Sadly, the service w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was good!! Sadly, the service wasn't all that great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We haven't been here for awhile and prob ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

We haven't been here for awhile and probably won't go back. We had calamari- excellent!! Salmon was over cooked, with something that resembled rissotto but wasn't. My hubby had chicken pesto rissotto and it was huge chunks of chicken cut up in a watery rice dish with pieces of artichokes. He's a big eater, and couldn't eat it nor wanted to take the leftovers home. I had two glasses of wine and the bill was @100. Not worth it for bad food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food is always great at By-Th'-Bucke ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food is always great at By-Th'-Bucket. But the service and attention we get from Roberto at the bar is what keeps us coming back. Always a lot of sports choices on the many tvs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dish. Stuffed mushroom appetizer. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great dish. Stuffed mushroom appetizer. Heavy sauce, but excellent. Portions are very generous. Come hungry. We took our main entree home. As for the service, our waiter was super nice, but did not check often. We had to flag our server down. Overall, worth the wait in food and kindness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

My significant other and I went here for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My significant other and I went here for New Year's Eve dinner with our one year old daughter. We had been here before, without the baby, and had very pleasant experiences. However this time, the hostess first led us to a booth at the bar. When we asked about a highchair for our daughter she quickly said they didn't have one. So we asked the next waiter the same question and later returned with a shorty plastic booster seat with no seat buckle or way to secure it to the booth. We tried to make it work and quickly found out it was not designed nor meant for a one year old. As we're contemplating what to do, we asked a third waiter who told us fire safety wouldn't allow them to put high chairs in the bar area. After learning this we asked to move at the earliest convenience and we were finally seated at a normal table with a highchair. From there on out everything was up to par. However the issue with lack of communication by the hostess made things difficult and unnecessarily complicated.

Tags: , Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Was disappointed to find out that they w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was disappointed to find out that they were charging for bread. Also, no side dishes with the maid dish. Had to order separately. All other restaurants do not charge for bread or side dishes

Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Had a great lunch

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Had a great lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess didn't check open table to see t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Hostess didn't check open table to see that I have a reservation and told us we didn't. But she recovered nicely and seated us at the reservation time.

the restaurant looked old and tired and without any acoustics that I thought I was eating at a cafeteria. Noisy! And you can hear all the conversations around you as if you were sharing the same table.

I ordered lamb chops (1/2 rack) it was well done even when i emphasized to the wait person that I wanted medium rare on the rare side. Didn't send it back as we wanted to eat and be done. Rack was 4 small/skinny shops with not much meat on it. Still not complaining because it was only $20. The green leafy baby spinach (?) was a delightful huge serving. Too much lemon juice though that made it too 'bright'. My bf ordered pasta with clams, got a bucket size spaghetti. Both dishes were nothing to write home about.

The martini was very good though. And that was the only bright spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Was pretty disappointed. I've been quit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Was pretty disappointed. I've been quite a bit throughout life and it just keeps getting worse. Although waiter was nice when we saw him, the service was terrible. Went there for Christmas Eve celebration with family. I REALLY don't think it is right that they charge for bread and the spread. Probably will only go back here as last resort from now on.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

I had the lobster spaghetti and it was p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I had the lobster spaghetti and it was packed with chunks of lobster, prawns & shrimp. The creamy sauce was light & flavorful. Our server Lourdes was sweet and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, By-th-Bucket offers delicious ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As always, By-th-Bucket offers delicious choices, large quantities and a friendly, relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I haven't been here in 10 years. I love ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I haven't been here in 10 years. I love their Cesar Salad with Bay shrimp just the right amount of dressing, crisp romaine salad and lots of bay shrimp.

The people who work here are super nice. I think that the only challenge is parking.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Casual, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great selection of seafood. Well prepar ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great selection of seafood. Well prepared. Handled our group well.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Well I did make reservations for 6 o clo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Well I did make reservations for 6 o clock on Thanks Giving, so it was very busy. So we got our buzzer and went to the bar, had a drink and before we knew it the buzzer went off and we were seated. Jose was our waiter and as usual he took very good care of us. The food was wonderful and we took some home for the next day. Over all it was a good time for a Thanks Giving dinner out . We may do the every year it was easy and no dishes to wash and no turkey to put away. GOOD TIME

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy Buy the Bucket. It has ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We always enjoy Buy the Bucket. It has it's own special charm an the receptionist and

wait people are quite friendly and do a nice job.

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, , Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

What a great dinner! We dropped in for d ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

What a great dinner! We dropped in for dinner after finding Th'Bucket on Open Table. A group of 5 was no problem. We enjoyed the Crab Cakes and Calamari as apps, various entrees and some gelato for dessert. Everything was excellent and the service was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, , Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We eat here several times a year and are ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We eat here several times a year and are never disappointed. Great place to take your time and enjoy your meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was good and tasty. Good to se ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was good and tasty. Good to see the many different fish options. Although would like to see trout back on their menu.

The noise level was too high with music, games on tv, birthday celebrations, people cheering for their teams on tv. Also was expecting the bread to be complimentary but it was good spread they had.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My second time there just as good as the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

My second time there just as good as the first went for my wife's birthday. She had never been and was very impressed.

Ahad a great time. We'll be back

Tags: Live Sports, Great Beer, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I selected this restaurant for our date ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I selected this restaurant for our date night and revisit this neighborhood favorite; last visit was over 20 years ago: By- Th'- Bucket didn't disappoint. The menu selection was diverse and my favorite steamers (entree) was loaded with clams and mussels. I even had ample to take home with me to savor a second time! We started with a 1/2 loaf of garlic bread and the Tempura Fried Artichoke Hearts. My husband's entree was Seafood Fettucini Alfredo which he also couldn't finish...expect left overs. Dessert decision; we had to have the gelato and settled on the tiramisu which was heavenly. The patrons included the elderly, middle-age, various ethnic groups and a mix of all ages. Downside: the lack of atmosphere which was austere and boring but then again who cares when you can have delicious comfort food! Caution: if you need to get to the theatre or movies you will never make it...allow for ample time to enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

This is one of those places that is good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This is one of those places that is good for awhile then mediocre for awhile. I've been eating here since they were in the old building. I met a friend for dinner on a Tuesday night, and it wasn't crowded at all. I have been on Tuesday nights when it as so packed you could barely talk. We ordered an appetizer which we never received. Just brought the food straight out. I had chicken parm. Meh, it was disappointing. There was lots of it though. My friend had the paella and said it was decent. Again, a very generous portion. Overall, it was just a so-so experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

There was 6 of us that got together for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

There was 6 of us that got together for a lunch time meal. Food was good, and so was the service.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I wish the free bread was back! I don't ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I wish the free bread was back! I don't like the idea of paying for bread, and I don't like the rolls that are for sale. ALSO, I ordered a pasta dish that listed several ingredients. I did not get the listed red pepper flakes as requested, but the dish had lots of basil that was not listed on the menu. I dislike basil, and it ruined the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

First time for an evening meal..Very hap ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

First time for an evening meal..Very happy I chose to dine there...Definately going again.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By th' Bucket never disappoints! We hav ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

By th' Bucket never disappoints! We have loved going here for years - and the food is always good and plentiful! Great seafood selections. And be sure to save room for the gelato (18 flavors!).

It's great that this busy restaurant takes reservations even on the weekends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite "go to" place to have dinne ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our favorite "go to" place to have dinner and watch a game. Menu selection is varied allowing one meal of appetizer crab cakes, another of veal parm, and another with pizza, and one with prawns and spinach. LeBou bread is extra, but worth it. Service as always was gracious.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went in for business lunch. Our waitres ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Went in for business lunch. Our waitress wtimeas very attentive and was concerned about our break

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Fun, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant has a Pokemon gym. It's ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This restaurant has a Pokemon gym. It's nice for a trainer to have some battles while waiting to be served.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, the table I requested was giv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

As always, the table I requested was given, the server was polite, knowledgeable and fun.0, the food was great!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We come here specifically for the catfis ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We come here specifically for the catfish a la meuniere. It is perfect every time. All I expect from a restaurant is that my food be well-prepared, whether it is a casual spot like By the Bucket or a very fancy restaurant in San Francisco. If the restaurant is beautiful, the wine list extensive, napkins folded just so, and the waiters tuxedoed, but the food is inconsistent, I simply don't go back. By the Bucket delivers simple, well-prepared food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, , Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

The food is good and decent portions. T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food is good and decent portions. The service is horrible. We go there once or twice a year because the service is so bad it never gets better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

The portions are large but also on the p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The portions are large but also on the pricier side. The service is good and friendly. The menu has a huge selection of seafood and they have a variety of gelato ice cream. Great place to have family dinner, watch a sport game and have a drink.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Casual, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We come here about once a month. Very co ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We come here about once a month. Very consistant, very good, large portions.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I was there today for dinner and the res ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I was there today for dinner and the restaurant reported no showed. If is necessary I will provide $150+ of receipt my husband paid today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We made reservations for the restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We made reservations for the restaurant and were seated right away. The food was delicious and the selections were abundant. We hadn't been here in years and it is still a very good restaurant and has great service.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

By-th'- Bucket Bar and Grill had delicio ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 23, 2016

By-th'- Bucket Bar and Grill had delicious food; excellent service; and great ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for my birthday again. I reall ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Went here for my birthday again. I really enjoy the food here and not too hard to get a table for a large group.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.