About By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill

4565 Stevens Creek Blvd
Santa Clara, CA 95051
View Larger Map

The restaurant specializes in seafood dishes and hearty comfort food

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: Su-T 3:00pm-9:00pm

Dinner: W-Sa 3:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Woodhams Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 248-6244 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.btbbarandgrill.com/

Catering:
Let us help you with your event planning, whether you"re hosting an event in-house or meeting at a off-site location. We have options to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Restaurant Parking is located behind the main restaurant and can be accessed on both Stevens Creek Blvd. and Woodhams Road.

Public Transit:
VTA Bus Stop 23

Executive Chef:
Paul Furiosi, Jr.

Private Party Facilities:
By-Th'-Bucket has a private Banquet Room for your Corporate Meetings, Wedding or Private Dining options. The room can hold up to 40 guests.

We've proudly served events such as:
Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Business Meetings, Afternoon Mixers, Business Dinners, Wine Tastings

All Banquet Packages Include:

House salad, cheesecake dessert, coffee and iced tea. Price is per person.

The Chef has created 6 different suggested packages on our Banquet Menu

Ask Natalie & the Chef about Custom Banquet Packages Min. of 20 required to reserve Private Banquet Room

Private Party Contact:
Natalie Ceglia: 4082486244x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (23)
good for groups (22)
kid-friendly (15)
See All
great for lunch (12)
fit for foodies (11)
special occasion (11)
romantic (3)
notable wine list (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

By the Bucket

Dined on May 15, 2016

Solid, neighborhood fare. Definitely caters to an older crowd, and kids love the fish take and gelato case. Nothing fancy, sort of outdated to look at but good cioppino, oysters, clams, etc.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great place to dine.!!!

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I have been regular customers of this restaurant for a while now. Over the weekend I dined with some folks from work and we had a great time. My wife and I had Roberto serve us several times now and his service is exceptional. I'd recommend it for anyone, you can ask for Roberto to be your server.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Try the Brie

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Try the Brie

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Still good but has been cheapened

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I've been coming to By th' Bucket for over 20 years and my husband for 30. This place used to be amazing, but we have sadly watched it deteriorate in the last few years. The current owner has gotten incredibly cheap. Both the drink and food menus have been severely cut removing many of our favorite items. The bread with dill spread that was always free you now need to pay for. The waiters are great, but they are spread so thin that they can no longer take care of their guests properly. There are no longer busboys to clear the tables so if your plates are removed it is by the already overworked waiters. It just made us sad seeing that a once great restaurant has changed so much.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Too Expensive- lacking taste

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food too expensive for what you get. Poor choices for side dishes. Everything was bland. There for a birthday dinner and we all had the Steak - 2 of us had the Filet Special. Choice of side dish was either Spinach or Broccoli. I am sorry...paying 35.00 a plate at least you can have some "wow" factor to what you serve. Very disappointed and won't be back. Much better places to eat for that kind of money.

food2
ambience3
service2

Had lots of fond memories of this place ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Had lots of fond memories of this place and was very disappointed when I returned. The food was average, the steamed clams an absolute disappointment and the service left a lot to be desired. Doubt I will be returning.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Where everybody knows your name...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

When my wife & I visit By th' Bucket, many of the servers are so good that they even remember our special orders and quirks...I like that! It's also wonderful that the food is so delicious. It's even better that they offer such nice discounts. We'll keep coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Dinner was disappointing. Draft beer ta ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Dinner was disappointing. Draft beer tap wasn't working and salad greens all brown so entrée salad was returned for a different entrée. Restaurant is very noisy. Not sure I'd want to try again.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Going Down Hill

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

I have been going to the Bucket for more than 50 years..... many dates, family dining, and just having drinks..... Over the last year things seem to be going down hill... First they started charging for the bread, now they have done away with pizza and I think the food quality is also suffering.... what has changed in management and the kitchen?

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Service

Dined on April 7, 2016

The waiter had too many tables. Our beverage wasn't filled when needed. Cost of bread should be covered in the price of dinner. Not separately!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Lunch

Dined on April 5, 2016

Enjoyed lunching with 3 friends. Each entree was delicious and enough for lunch the next day-- and then still delicious

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was great, service was friendly and ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was great, service was friendly and attentive. So much better with reservation - not too long of a wait.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Easter Dinner At By The Bucket

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been coming to this restaurant for many years. It has always been great and the food never disappoints. Unfortunately Easter was not the time to come. Even though the restaurant was not that crowded they seemed to have a skeleton staff. We waited, and waited, and waited for our food. The waiter kept coming back and apologizing. There were only three of us so it wasn't that large a group. I don't think I will be coming back again on a holiday.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good experience. Our waitress did a ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Very good experience. Our waitress did a great job. Only thing was charging for bread? Kinda didn't like that.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We went specifically for the bucket of clams

Dined on March 20, 2016

The clams were great as always. The rest of the food was good. We've been going there as a family for years, back when it was a pizza pallor type environment with picnic tables.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going there for years..

Dined on March 20, 2016

I always enjoy this restaurant and always order the fish although other items on the menu are probably good as well. I have watched the ahi tuna entree come and go - currently it seems to be gone unfortunately as it is my favorite. This time I got the cajun snapper. they are always happy to make changes in the order such as substituting potatoes for rice, etc... great service always!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As soon as you walk in your mood changes ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

As soon as you walk in your mood changes. It was really nice. Kids love the fish tank. The server was very friendly. The food was delicious. I would definitely recommend this place. I have the open table app and didn't get my point after I reserved and went to place

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food!

Dined on March 19, 2016

They have a great variety of food, italian, pasta, seafood... all delicious! We have always received great service here also. We had a reservation, so there was no wait. It was wonderful, I can't wait to go again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had a great time!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Place was busy but noise level comfortable - did not interfere win our conversation. Good was excellent and service was attentive and prompt.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Every thing is good

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Every thing is good

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A friend asked for pizza and was told th ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

A friend asked for pizza and was told they were out of dough. Yet the table next to us a while later was served pizza!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1

Not sure how much time the reservation b ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Not sure how much time the reservation bought us. We waited another 25-30mins after arriving to be seated. We were given a buzzer and after that went off we waited some more. The hostess was very nice and apologetic which was cool. I know things get crazy. Still the waiter was so-so and the food was just ok. There were 3 of us eating and no one finished their meal nor were they interested in taking it home. This place may be good for some but I'll skip on returning.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

mreese

Dined on March 10, 2016

Food was delicious. Our waiter was attentive and informative regarding our questions on menu items - a good overall dining experience.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service4

Food was overly soaked in buttery substa ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

Food was overly soaked in buttery substance Potatoes were runny like cream of wheat

food5
ambience4
service5

Always have great service from Roberto i ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Always have great service from Roberto in the bar area. We'll be back soon.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best looking aquarium in this restaurant!

Dined on January 25, 2016

I like to sit where I can see their spectacular aquarium - one of the highlights about coming to this restaurant! I also like the general buzz around the place and the food and service are pretty good - especially the fish dishes and the rotisserie chicken. They have a gelato bar too. The wait staff is friendly and efficient. If you enjoy watching sports while eating they have t.v.'s all around, but I don't find it too distracting either. We come here regularly!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Good Food and Convenient

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

The food is always good and the wait staff is uniformly excellent. This is a place that does not pretend to be more than it is...... value, tasty food, and wide variety of food for everyone.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4

Food and service is always outstanding. ...

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

Food and service is always outstanding. Restaurant can use some cleaning love.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Besides the great Italian food (must try ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Besides the great Italian food (must try the stuffed mushrooms and the scampi), we love the comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. Service is always great - wait staff is friendly; knowledgeable concerning wine and the menu. This has become a favorite dinner spot for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The ahi was very tasty and large portion ...

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

The ahi was very tasty and large portions Super food super value

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Cranberry glaze is back.

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

The cranberry glaze for fish is finally back, but it was a bit thin. Definitely better than no cranberry glaze, though. Things have changed a lot in the last year or two. A nice place for seafood.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on January 9, 2016

We had a very nice family dinner here and like usual the food was fantastic as was the service. We've been coming here for years and love everything about the place. We can't wait to return!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food, didn't have crab

Dined on January 4, 2016

The food was good and the service was good as well. They did ran out of crab and my wine selection. Overall a good place.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Very Disappointed

Dined on January 1, 2016

We have been going to Buy the Bucket for many years. This visit I was extremely disappointed in the food. I ordered the Clams with Linguine which has always been my favorite. The dish had a large amount of onions that were not saute enough and should not have been in this dish. The garlic was missing too. All it had was an onion flavor. I took two bit and had to bring the rest home and I had to throw it out. I don't think we will be going back for quite awhile.

food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Christmas Eve

Dined on December 25, 2015

This restaurant is an old time Italian favorite. It is casual and comfortable. Our party of four decided to share the family size cioppino, which was ample for the 4 of us. Sauce was tasty, full of good stuff including crab legs, white fish, clams, mussels and calamari (the latter was chewy and tough and, for that reason, is not usually part of the stew). The rest of it was very good. Each of us ordered a different salad appetizer and agreed all were delicious. Our waiter was awesome--great service, made recommendations and had a wonderful sense of humor! He made us feel like he was happy that we were there and made sure we were covered on a very busy Christmas Eve.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The waiters were very attentive however ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

The waiters were very attentive however the flow of the meal was on the slow side and some of the appetizers were undercooked. The entrees themselves were very good. Need more staff/cooks on a holiday occasion as the restaurant was packed.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

Dined on December 13, 2015

Everything was perfect, the food the staff. We have a great time

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service2

Don't ever get seated in back- you might ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

Don't ever get seated in back- you might as well be at a sports bar- loud tvs and big groups not a "date night" spot at all.

food4
ambience2
service4

Please bring back cranberry glaze!

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Last year near Thanksgiving and Christmas the chef added a fantastic cranberry glaze to some of the dishes. We came back especially for that this year, but it wasn't on the menu. Unfortunately, we were seated in the back room next to a large, noisy party so that lessened the ambiance. The food was good, just not what we had hoped for.

food3
ambience3
service3

Waited more than 30 mins for food.

vip
Dined on November 30, 2015

Waited more than 30 mins for food.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.