About By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill

4565 Stevens Creek Blvd
Santa Clara, CA 95051
View Larger Map

The restaurant specializes in seafood dishes and hearty comfort food

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M-F 11:30am-3:00pm

Dinner: Su-T 3:00pm-9:00pm

Dinner: W-Sa 3:00pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
Woodhams Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 248-6244 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.btbbarandgrill.com/

Catering:
Let us help you with your event planning, whether you"re hosting an event in-house or meeting at a off-site location. We have options to meet your needs.

Parking Details:
Restaurant Parking is located behind the main restaurant and can be accessed on both Stevens Creek Blvd. and Woodhams Road.

Public Transit:
VTA Bus Stop 23

Executive Chef:
Paul Furiosi, Jr.

Private Party Facilities:
By-Th'-Bucket has a private Banquet Room for your Corporate Meetings, Wedding or Private Dining options. The room can hold up to 40 guests.

We've proudly served events such as:
Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Business Meetings, Afternoon Mixers, Business Dinners, Wine Tastings

All Banquet Packages Include:

House salad, cheesecake dessert, coffee and iced tea. Price is per person.

The Chef has created 6 different suggested packages on our Banquet Menu

Ask Natalie & the Chef about Custom Banquet Packages Min. of 20 required to reserve Private Banquet Room

Private Party Contact:
Natalie Ceglia: 4082486244x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

By-Th'-Bucket Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Groups (24)
Kid-friendly (20)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Late-night Find (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Romantic (2)
Sort By:
Newest
181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went here for my birthday again. I reall ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went here for my birthday again. I really enjoy the food here and not too hard to get a table for a large group.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was pretty good however, the se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was pretty good however, the service was a little slow. It was busy, though. I also got the wrong starter salad but was too hungry to let the waiter know.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place run by a great family! Ciopp ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great place run by a great family! Cioppino is fantastic-my kids ask for it all the time! Good gluten free menu as well. Delicious dairy free sorbet-esp the cantaloupe!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good For seafood lovers , bad services ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good For seafood lovers , bad services ~ been there several times not very happy with the service , but good foods though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

Very disappointed in the service again w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very disappointed in the service again we waited that long this time before we even got our drinks or appetizers were sent in out of order the oysters were all cracked the shells were all cracked they were not cleaned we had to scrape them off of the shell. I won't be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

This was one of the more frustrating res ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was one of the more frustrating restaurant experiences I've had. The other guests received their drinks and appetizers and I still didn't have my drink. I had to ask three times to receive my drink. It took two requests to receive a refill and I actually had to order dessert twice. The waiter even brought us someone else's bill and credit card. This might have been over looked if the food was good. It wasn't. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were looking forward to our evening b ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were looking forward to our evening based upon previous reviews. But to no avail. Ordered the crab stuffed artichoke appetizer. Received spinach dip stuffed artichoke. Server told us obviously there was crab...nope. No a bit. Husband ordered Italian amigos and really liked it. I ordered clam chowder. Meh. Bland and pretty much an ordinary soup...nothing special at all. Server was slow. When he server the bottle of beer, totally over poured resulting in the head flowing over. He apologized. But did it again on the next one.

I like to give another chance to places that have high railings if my experience is not up to snuff. Won't bother here.

Bummer but I can see where it is a local favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great spot for traditional Italian food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great spot for traditional Italian food and seafood. Our party had absolutely fabulous Salmon that was perfectly cooked and well seasoned. Mashed potatoes were spot on and very creamy. They are used to handling a lot of volume so the servers seem to be geared towards quick interactions while still being attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Needed to talk and it was not too noisy. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Needed to talk and it was not too noisy. The chicken picante(?) was excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

excellent experience, as always. been ea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

excellent experience, as always. been eating at "the Bucket" before the current building was built.....in the old building on the west side of the current parking lot. Good then, good now.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful dining experience! We will ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

A wonderful dining experience! We will definitely be back! The food and service was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been numerous times and loved it. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We've been numerous times and loved it. Our last visit left us with only our memories of their food. The jambalaya was dry. The spaghetti and meatballs was full of water. On the plus side, my drink was stiff, appetizer was delicious and the perfect size for sharing and my friend loved her entree. We may return to give them another chance at the once perfect jambalaya.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was prompt and courteous. Not on ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was prompt and courteous. Not only was the food excellent but the portions were extremely generous. The menu seemed to have something for everyone. We will be back again.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was such a lucky find! Delicious Du ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was such a lucky find! Delicious Dungeness crab and the homemade bread is not to be missed. Loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The order was perfect and the food was t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The order was perfect and the food was the correct temperature when delivered to our table. Very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

By -th -bucket grill and bar was noisy; ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

By -th -bucket grill and bar was noisy; food below average and service was minimal and unresponsive. Had to request food items numerous times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had relatives visiting from Sweden, a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had relatives visiting from Sweden, a family of 5. They wanted to take us out to dinner to say thanks so we suggested By-the-Bucket. They LOVED it! Yes, it was very noisy as we were seated in the bar; but probably a good thing as we were 7 people with three kids (9, 11, 13) so we didn't feel we were disturbing anyone! They raved about the food and the portions sizes but they are, truly. . .way more than we could eat! Enjoyed the leftovers the following day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been dining at BuyThe Bucket for ye ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Have been dining at BuyThe Bucket for years....the flavor was off, was there a change in main chef??

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Hadn't been to BTB for many years. Was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Hadn't been to BTB for many years. Was impressed by the remodeling that had occurred and couldn't believe the quality of the food. Both our meals, salad and garlic bread were perfectly made. Service was outstanding. Will return soon and often. Thanks!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed food and had great se ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We really enjoyed food and had great service. Can't wait to go back as there is so much more to enjoy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My family took me here for my Birthday d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My family took me here for my Birthday dinner. The prices were on the high side, as my ordinary steak and baked potato was $35. Thats more than I usually spend, but it was my Birthday. Appetizers of calamari and mushrooms were good and the bar drinks were good too. My husband is a spaghetti fan and he said he would not return for that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was good, but the bread should ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food was good, but the bread should be free. Unfortunately, we sat in the bar area during game 7 of the NBA championship and the noise was quite excessive with people standing between our table and the tv screens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Alert. .we split bill on 2 credit cards ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Alert. .we split bill on 2 credit cards and latter discovered that server gave herself a full tip (double) on each of our credit cards....40%.

also special was really a very small dinner portion ...other dinners were ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value4

This used to be our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This used to be our favorite restaurant but we were rather disappointed this last time. The quality of the food wasn't what it used to be. We'll try it again sometime to see if we just came on a bad night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was wonderful server had no persona ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was wonderful server had no personality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Always good

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I have been going to BTB for years. The food is always top notch and plentiful. We watched a Sharks game in this occasion and the other patrons were fun. Our server was pleasant and efficient. The prices are getting to be pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a family gathering

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

First time here, and it was a good choice, after considering a multitude of options in the Cupertino/West San Jose area. I hosted a family meal after my son's high school graduation. The staff were accommodating to our 10 person group. The food was plentiful and well made. This is a fairly casual place, and has a lively vibe. We were able to converse without shouting across the table, yet did not appear to be inflicting pain on the diners around us. The Warriors were on TV that night, so there was some reaction noise from those watching the game. This dinner for 10 also did not break the bank, a nice value, which is one reason I will return to By The Bucket.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Once again the service from Roberto at t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Once again the service from Roberto at the bar was great. He is always attentative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

By the Bucket

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Solid, neighborhood fare. Definitely caters to an older crowd, and kids love the fish take and gelato case. Nothing fancy, sort of outdated to look at but good cioppino, oysters, clams, etc.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place to dine.!!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I have been regular customers of this restaurant for a while now. Over the weekend I dined with some folks from work and we had a great time. My wife and I had Roberto serve us several times now and his service is exceptional. I'd recommend it for anyone, you can ask for Roberto to be your server.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Try the Brie

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Try the Brie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still good but has been cheapened

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I've been coming to By th' Bucket for over 20 years and my husband for 30. This place used to be amazing, but we have sadly watched it deteriorate in the last few years. The current owner has gotten incredibly cheap. Both the drink and food menus have been severely cut removing many of our favorite items. The bread with dill spread that was always free you now need to pay for. The waiters are great, but they are spread so thin that they can no longer take care of their guests properly. There are no longer busboys to clear the tables so if your plates are removed it is by the already overworked waiters. It just made us sad seeing that a once great restaurant has changed so much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Too Expensive- lacking taste

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food too expensive for what you get. Poor choices for side dishes. Everything was bland. There for a birthday dinner and we all had the Steak - 2 of us had the Filet Special. Choice of side dish was either Spinach or Broccoli. I am sorry...paying 35.00 a plate at least you can have some "wow" factor to what you serve. Very disappointed and won't be back. Much better places to eat for that kind of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Had lots of fond memories of this place ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Had lots of fond memories of this place and was very disappointed when I returned. The food was average, the steamed clams an absolute disappointment and the service left a lot to be desired. Doubt I will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Where everybody knows your name...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

When my wife & I visit By th' Bucket, many of the servers are so good that they even remember our special orders and quirks...I like that! It's also wonderful that the food is so delicious. It's even better that they offer such nice discounts. We'll keep coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was disappointing. Draft beer ta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Dinner was disappointing. Draft beer tap wasn't working and salad greens all brown so entrée salad was returned for a different entrée. Restaurant is very noisy. Not sure I'd want to try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Going Down Hill

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I have been going to the Bucket for more than 50 years..... many dates, family dining, and just having drinks..... Over the last year things seem to be going down hill... First they started charging for the bread, now they have done away with pizza and I think the food quality is also suffering.... what has changed in management and the kitchen?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I remember eating at By th'Bkt many year ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

I remember eating at By th'Bkt many years ago and it was good. Since it had been a long time I had eaten at By th'Bkt I decided to try it again. Big mistake. Of the three meals only one of them was acceptable. Service was terrible. Long story short avoid it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The waiter had too many tables. Our beverage wasn't filled when needed.

Cost of bread should be covered in the price of dinner. Not separately!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Fun Lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Enjoyed lunching with 3 friends. Each entree was delicious and enough for lunch the next day-- and then still delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.