About BXL Cafe

Located in the heart of Times Square, BXL Café has been proudly serving the finest Belgian beer and cuisine since 2004. With our dark wood decor, comfortable banquettes and delicious beer selection, we pride ourselves in being a little oasis at the crossroads of the world for after-work locals as well as home sick Belgians.

125 W 43rd St
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday:11:30am -4:00am

Cross Street:
6th and Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 768-0200

Website:
http://www.bxlrestaurants.com/

Public Transit:
Times Square Subway station/Bryant Park Subway station

BXL Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (28)
Casual (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
See All
Bar Seating (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fun (12)
Live Sports (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Cozy (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Romantic (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Was a little too much of a bar scene and smell. I went with my friends before a Broadway show

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fun, go-to spot in the theater district. The moules frites are outstanding, with a wide variety of broth flavors, but there are a lot of other choices that satisfy. Excellent beer list, including a fine house ale brewed by Ommegang Brewery. Friendly service and fair prices make for a place we keep coming back to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Belgium beer is awesome!! Food is always amazing!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Always a dependable option in the theater district. Service friendly and efficient. Belgian beer delicious. food arrived hot and best ice coffee.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Perfectly cooked poached eggs...which is not easy to do or to find when eating out. Great bread. But tepid coffee, frozen butter and wilty salad. Serviceable for the neighborhood. But... Best waitress ever! Endlessly patient and kind.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Very tasty Belgian style food. As a belgian myself I enjoyed the great selection of belgian beers.

Tags: Live Sports, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Typical post-work kind of bar, not super elegant or special. The women's bathroom was overflowing with garbage at 930pm on a Friday night...not the cleanest place. Average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We went to BXL on the recommendation of a friend and because it was literally across the street from the theatre. From the moment we walked in the atmosphere was friendly. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. We went for the dessert and the Belgium Chocolate pudding was to die for. I would definitely revisit this restaurant in the future.

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Was a little weirded out by one of the bartenders who kept hitting on the women who were clearly on dates at the bar. Was going to eat but then he was a little skeezy so my partner and I left. We will return but not if we see that guy behind the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very noisy and overcrowded but a solid hole in the wall pre-theatre or lunch joint in an area where the options are slim pickings.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Mussels, good beer, Belgian style, very fun for a date or with family or friends. Bar is in front - don't let it deter you from getting to the dining in back. Staff friendly, capable.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Good is sub par!
It should only be classified as a bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Restaurant was very loud and extremely crowded (i.e., no space between tables) at lunch time. Roast chicken was too dry to swallow, and the butter was a bit bitter. Pretty disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Had a very nice reasonable meal. The lunch specials includes a beer and that was a good value

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Pre theatre dinner. As one reviewer noted more of a pubby type bar than restaurant. And banquettes in back room could use a recovering/makeover.
Had wine because of food choices but they have a nice variety of Belgium beers.
Started with truffle mushroom croquettes, 2 large with little side of greens, very tasty.
Then the Bouchee Reina, large portion, supposed to be chicken, mushrooms and bacon, didn't notice bacon. And a bit light on the puff pastry but excellent frites!

Most folks at early pre theater hour were just drinking or snacking.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

BXL is a very comfy and cozy place offering well prepared French/Belgian fare at a very reasonable price. We recently csme here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

awesome belgium joint. amazing mussels and fries. remind me my previous trips to north of france and belgium. Will become one of my favorites in NYC !!!!!!

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Excellent beer and Belgian food in a popular spot. A bit of attitude from the waitstaff and spotty service once busy - probably typical for a restaurant in this area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Good was fine, as was the service, but I've never been in a noiser restaurant.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Been to BXL several times and have not been disappointed. We usually go pre-post theater when we just want a relaxing meal. Have had the salad and their mussels and of course beer! Love the beer selection. The bar can be very crowded and noisy - went on a Friday night about 6pm and found it as such but it was not an issue with us. This is a very casual place - we love it!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

next door to Town Hall. Very noisy. Good Belgian beer list.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Fine for a bar, but really poor restaurant experience. Worn out seating, very very loud, and near inedible food-- we ordered (2) mains and (2) sides, all of which went unfinished. We didn't send anything back because there wasn't anything specifically "off" about it-- it was just terrible. Endive salad had bland, mayo dressing. Left within 40 minutes, food uneaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was underwhelming, service was very slow. Couldn't understand our waitress, orders were wrong and water was never refilled. Not sure we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was good. Beware when you order brunch you must request the brunch price before you order. We all ordered food from the brunch menu along with drinks and were charged alacarte because we didn't request the prefixed price when we ordered. The waitress begrudgingly adjusted the bill didn't adjust for one of the drinks. Up to that point the BXL would have been on my list of places to return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I was expecting a bistro but this is more of a beer hall.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I love the mussels and writes. Other dishes are good too. Nice selection of Belgian draft beers.

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Forget that it's feet from
Time square - Spectacular moules frites!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Perfect spot before a show. Good bar service, attentive wait staff, tasty food, and good value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went to the 43rd street location and was very disappointed. All of the food orders were wrong, one person's came much later than the rest, and then, rather than been given any accommodation, we were overcharged on the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We enjoyed the mussels and beer. Nice place for lunch. The staff was very accommodating and friendly.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We ate here just before going to a matinee performance. We had a lovely brunch.mwe would like to return for dinner sometime.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Burger was delicious and cooked to perfection. Roast Chicken was equally as good, nice crispy skin, well seasoned. Beer selection is awesome. Waitress was attentive, cheerful and bubbly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Loud, uncomfortably hot, but food tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Disappointing. This is more of a European style cafe than a restaurant. Half of the room is a long bar, where people are having drinks and creating a lot of noise; the other half consists of tables for having a meal. The moules frites (mussels & fries) were not of good quality. Many broken shells and some not open. On the other side of the table the bouchee a la reine (puff pastry with chicken/mushrooms/bacon) was not great either. Instead of a puff pastry pot filled with the chicken & the rest there was only a small leaf of puff pastry on top of the content. Service was quick, before you can blink an eye the food was on the table.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

BXL has never disappointed us! Been eating here for the past 5 years, and we always love it! Simple, good food keeps us coming back. Not a quiet place, but if that's what you need, think twice. Fun ambiance, great food, great selection of beer!!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My first time here, but not my husband's. It was quite noisy, but that is to be expected on a Friday evening in NYC! The food was great--I had mussels and my husband had a burger. They both came with fries which were nice a crispy--not soggy and served with mayo--truly Belgian!! Would definitely go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Casual Bar & Restaurant Dining with great beer selection. Enjoyed the Croquettes aux Truffes , hamburger BXL and fries while sipping on a draft (or drafts) of Delirium Tremens.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Really enjoyed.
We had 12 people for brunch before a theatre matinee.
Perfect place.
reasonably priced
delicious

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Live Sports, Casual, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great beer! Very tight space. Solid food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.