HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.

BXL Cafe

4.0
239 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Belgian
Top Tags:
  • Casual (22)
  • Great Beer (21)
  • Pre/post Theatre (21)
Located in the heart of Times Square, BXL Café has been proudly serving the finest Belgian beer and cuisine since 2004. With our dark wood decor, comfortable banquettes and delicious beer selection, we pride ourselves in being a little oasis at the crossroads of the world for after-work locals as well as home sick Belgians.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Belgian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Sunday:11:30am -4:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 768-0200
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
6th and Broadway
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Times Square Subway station/Bryant Park Subway station
What 239 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0  based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.0
service
3.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vip1artfuldiner (New York Area)
3.0  Dined 6 days ago

This is a cozy place that I've frequented before. Food selection is pretty good and the price point is good. Fantastic selection of beers! The goat cheese salad I had was quite good but if you're looking for quiet forget it. It's pretty noisy here and I recall that in the summer it's pretty warm in here. Not sure whether or not there is air conditioning . If you're looking to have a nice conversation you'll have to yell. Fun place overall.

Report
Helpful
Ginas13 (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

This is my goal to for the theater area. The food is great and reasonable. The staff is always so nice and accommodating. The tables are a bit squished and the heat was up high but we had a very nice time. I would recommend making reservations because it gets packed at rush hour.

Report
Helpful
kms325 (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

Very good pre-theater dinner. Great beer list, decent wine selection. 5 flavors of Moule Frites, the 2 we had were delicious. Do the the try the Cannibal Toast, and excellent take on Steak Tartare. Noisy, so ask to be seated away from the bar if you want to have conversation.

Report
Helpful
Becky (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

The restaurant was very noisy and crowded. I'm severely hard of hearing.
It was very difficult for me to talk with my friend.

Report
Helpful
singing2 (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

This was my first time at BXL Cafe and was really looking for a place to get a quick bite before the Theatre. Very pleasantly surprised as food was terrific, staff very professional and even better, right across the street from the Theatre! Will come again and have already recommended to friends.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

The mussels and fried are outstanding. Very generous portion of mussels - beautifully done!
But too many TV screens for me and a lot of noise.

Report
Helpful
Lovefood (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 31, 2018

Great food and great staff. Lovely time.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on January 31, 2018

Pre-theater burger lunch was delicious, fast, with excellent service. Will visit again when going to the theater

Report
Helpful
Dgirl518 (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on January 22, 2018

this was my first time at BXL Cafe, we came for the all you can eat mussels on Monday night and they were delicious and what a great deal it is, $27 for all you can eat mussels and a stella. WE had the Provencale, Vin Blanc and Thai, the Thai ones were our favorites, love them and they have a huge beer selection. i would recommend to anyone and will definitely be back. the music was loud and energetic at the bar, but the dining area was very casual and cozy.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on January 18, 2018

Always great for moules, frites and Belgian beer. Was a little loud.

Report
Helpful
viprdrdr (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

This place has great beer and mussels, but it is so noisy and cramped you need to text the others at your table in order to have a conversation. this makes the dining experience really unpleasant that you are always shouting to be heard by the person next to or across from you at the table. the tables are really close together making getting in or out inconvenient for the other diners. i have been here several times and have found the noisy level unpleasant, but now it is really out of hand.

Report
Helpful
MSSS (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on January 2, 2018

Yum! Good food here! We tried the soup of the day, a spinach and cream soup, and the French onion soup, both very good. The breads were very flavorful. I had a veggie burger that comes with frites, and it was excellent. The other person had mussels with bacon and onion and he thought it was great. The beer selection is also nice, although one bottle of a specialty beer was $14. Service was very attentive, constantly filling up water glasses and replacing the bowl with mussel shells. We would go again.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

The restaurant and the wait staff had great personality. Went based on the recommendation of a local in the theater scene and it did not disappoint. Great heart food and libations. Small but festive.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

This little cafe was great before going to theater. The mussels were terrific, especially with the fries and Belgium beer!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

This was our second visit to BXL. Solid menu and beer list and fair pricing for NYC. Staff was attentive and friendly. We'll be back again. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

Great, cozy spot - my son loved the creamy chicken vegetable soup and moule-frites!

Report
Helpful
vipGreg (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

When we arrived our order was taken right away (party of 2) but the table next to us (party of 4) seemed to have gotten their order before we did.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlantic City)
4.0  Dined on December 26, 2017

Always fun. Great beers. The mussels are worth the visit.

Report
Helpful
Louisa (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on December 22, 2017

Good food and attentive wait staff. They were ready for us when we came in and we were seated on time. Food menu was as expected - some of us ordered mussels Delicious) others ordered a variety other choices. It was loud - guess you can’t help that! - bathrooms were available but quite small.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on December 19, 2017

I once had brunch here and I really enjoyed. So, I chose this restaurant for a get together with friends before a show on a Tuesday evening. The noise level was insane. Music was blasting from the speakers. That combined with the noise from the bar made it impossible for us to hear one another. We asked the hostess if the music could be lowered and she said, “No.”. I regretted choosing this restaurant and o wont be returning.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12