About BXL Cafe

Located in the heart of Times Square, BXL Café has been proudly serving the finest Belgian beer and cuisine since 2004. With our dark wood decor, comfortable banquettes and delicious beer selection, we pride ourselves in being a little oasis at the crossroads of the world for after-work locals as well as home sick Belgians.

125 W 43rd St
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday:11:30am -4:00am

Cross Street:
6th and Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 768-0200

Website:
http://www.bxlrestaurants.com/

Public Transit:
Times Square Subway station/Bryant Park Subway station

BXL Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (22)
Casual (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fun (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Live Sports (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Authentic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Cozy (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Romantic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place!! Always fresh food, and fast service. Fantastic burgers! Great bear list! Great value for NYC, you wont leave hungry.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

the mussels were tasty but very small, not the greatest quality - Flex Mussels is a much better place for mussels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Best banana pancakes ever
Great waffle but small portion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Truly a pub style place. Good food but very noisy and fairly small. Would not go back.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Sad because I like the place and I've been going there for years. The food is solid as always but with a reservation to be given the crappiest and smallest table in the restaurant is just straight up disrespectful. May have lost a few faithful customers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Went to dinner with out of town quests. We had a variety of dishes and all were tasty. I had the unlimited mussels and fries which came with a beer. The first bowl they served was more than enough for me and it was very tasty. One complaint was they did not take the shells away though it was not crowded.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Every time we are in the city we eat here. The food has always been amazing. The staff is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I went to BXL because it was close to Town Hall, but was so pleasantly surprised by what a great meal we had. Monday nights are all you can eat mussels and we took a chance on them. They were fantastic! Service was fast and the mussels were perfection. I am looking forward to going back again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great location right next to Town Hall . Very noisy and tight seating but fun and good for for the price

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Delicious mussels! Unfortunately, the noise level was way too loud. But if you can stand it, its a great pre theater Broadway/Town Hall concert, choice

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The ambiance is of an Irish bar but the quality of the food is well above that. While endless mussels sounded a little questionable, it was indeed worth it. Without a doubt a great place for a very casual dinner, resembling a better version of many tourist restaurants in Amsterdam's Centrum district.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Was a little too much of a bar scene and smell. I went with my friends before a Broadway show

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fun, go-to spot in the theater district. The moules frites are outstanding, with a wide variety of broth flavors, but there are a lot of other choices that satisfy. Excellent beer list, including a fine house ale brewed by Ommegang Brewery. Friendly service and fair prices make for a place we keep coming back to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Extremely noisy and the food was average in presentation and average preparation/taste.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Belgium beer is awesome!! Food is always amazing!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Went there twice already. Once because it was next to Town Hall the other after Broadway show.
Good spot for a light-medium meal. I do like the beer selection.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Always a dependable option in the theater district. Service friendly and efficient. Belgian beer delicious. food arrived hot and best ice coffee.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Perfectly cooked poached eggs...which is not easy to do or to find when eating out. Great bread. But tepid coffee, frozen butter and wilty salad. Serviceable for the neighborhood. But... Best waitress ever! Endlessly patient and kind.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Very tasty Belgian style food. As a belgian myself I enjoyed the great selection of belgian beers.

Tags: Live Sports, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Typical post-work kind of bar, not super elegant or special. The women's bathroom was overflowing with garbage at 930pm on a Friday night...not the cleanest place. Average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We went to BXL on the recommendation of a friend and because it was literally across the street from the theatre. From the moment we walked in the atmosphere was friendly. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. We went for the dessert and the Belgium Chocolate pudding was to die for. I would definitely revisit this restaurant in the future.

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Was a little weirded out by one of the bartenders who kept hitting on the women who were clearly on dates at the bar. Was going to eat but then he was a little skeezy so my partner and I left. We will return but not if we see that guy behind the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very noisy and overcrowded but a solid hole in the wall pre-theatre or lunch joint in an area where the options are slim pickings.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Mussels, good beer, Belgian style, very fun for a date or with family or friends. Bar is in front - don't let it deter you from getting to the dining in back. Staff friendly, capable.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Good is sub par!
It should only be classified as a bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Had a very nice reasonable meal. The lunch specials includes a beer and that was a good value

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Restaurant was very loud and extremely crowded (i.e., no space between tables) at lunch time. Roast chicken was too dry to swallow, and the butter was a bit bitter. Pretty disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Pre theatre dinner. As one reviewer noted more of a pubby type bar than restaurant. And banquettes in back room could use a recovering/makeover.
Had wine because of food choices but they have a nice variety of Belgium beers.
Started with truffle mushroom croquettes, 2 large with little side of greens, very tasty.
Then the Bouchee Reina, large portion, supposed to be chicken, mushrooms and bacon, didn't notice bacon. And a bit light on the puff pastry but excellent frites!

Most folks at early pre theater hour were just drinking or snacking.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

BXL is a very comfy and cozy place offering well prepared French/Belgian fare at a very reasonable price. We recently csme here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

awesome belgium joint. amazing mussels and fries. remind me my previous trips to north of france and belgium. Will become one of my favorites in NYC !!!!!!

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Excellent beer and Belgian food in a popular spot. A bit of attitude from the waitstaff and spotty service once busy - probably typical for a restaurant in this area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Good was fine, as was the service, but I've never been in a noiser restaurant.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Been to BXL several times and have not been disappointed. We usually go pre-post theater when we just want a relaxing meal. Have had the salad and their mussels and of course beer! Love the beer selection. The bar can be very crowded and noisy - went on a Friday night about 6pm and found it as such but it was not an issue with us. This is a very casual place - we love it!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

next door to Town Hall. Very noisy. Good Belgian beer list.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Fine for a bar, but really poor restaurant experience. Worn out seating, very very loud, and near inedible food-- we ordered (2) mains and (2) sides, all of which went unfinished. We didn't send anything back because there wasn't anything specifically "off" about it-- it was just terrible. Endive salad had bland, mayo dressing. Left within 40 minutes, food uneaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was underwhelming, service was very slow. Couldn't understand our waitress, orders were wrong and water was never refilled. Not sure we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was good. Beware when you order brunch you must request the brunch price before you order. We all ordered food from the brunch menu along with drinks and were charged alacarte because we didn't request the prefixed price when we ordered. The waitress begrudgingly adjusted the bill didn't adjust for one of the drinks. Up to that point the BXL would have been on my list of places to return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I was expecting a bistro but this is more of a beer hall.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I love the mussels and writes. Other dishes are good too. Nice selection of Belgian draft beers.

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Forget that it's feet from
Time square - Spectacular moules frites!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.