Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 15 times today

BXL Cafe

4.1
278 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Belgian
Top Tags:
  • Bar Seating
  • Casual
  • Fun
Located in the heart of Times Square, BXL Café has been proudly serving the finest Belgian beer and cuisine since 2004. With our dark wood decor, comfortable banquettes and delicious beer selection, we pride ourselves in being a little oasis at the crossroads of the world for after-work locals as well as home sick Belgians.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Belgian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Sunday:11:30am -4:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 768-0200
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
6th and Broadway
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Times Square Subway station/Bryant Park Subway station
What 278 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
3.6
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed BXL. We went for brunch and were pleasantly surprised that we could watch a World Cup game being shown on several TVs. Nice price fix selection on the brunch menu which includes a food item, mimosa or Bloody Mary, and coffee or tea. Food was tasty. Staff were all friendly and service was very good. We stopped back the next day for drinks and to watch another soccer game. Cute pub atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

great find in the theatre district.
Very accommodating to chiildren's needs. Service was very pleasant and welcoming.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Mussels (the specialty of the house) were not the freshest, the salad (which I made the mistake of substituting for the quite good fries my friend had) was kind of sad and soggy, tand he noise level, thanks to a nearby table of young women who were screeching as though at a sports event and forcing everyone else to talk louder, was appalling. The one good thing I'll say about the evening was that our waitress was outstanding. How she managed, amidst the packed room and the noise, to notice whenever we needed something and materialize promptly at our table I don't know, but she did - as though she worked in a restaurant vastly superior to the one she was actually in.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Mussels tasted off. Noisy and unruly group screeching behind us, annoying everyone but ignored by management. Service was fine, but fries, which should be excellent in a Belgian restaurant, were just meh at best. But the mussels were seriously bad. I would have sent them back and asked for a replacement, but the noise level was so irritating that I just left them, paid, and cut my losses.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great spot, handy to the theater district. Very good food, including calamari and oyster apps, and mussel entrees. Nice, friendly atmosphere, with outstanding service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

This is a nice little spot near Times Square where you can get quite good French Onion Soup , Mussels and Fries. Casual, fun, energetic. Service was very pleasant. Good little find in an overcrowded area.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Very, very dissatisfied. Thought this would be a "just right" for pre or post theater. Horrible pounding loud music spoiled our dinner and request to turn it down were not taken seriously. we could not talk above the music and we felt a need to shorten our stay as we could not relax. it was a shame as food was good, the place cozy and near theater.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Great mussels and perfectly cooked calamari. Great number of beer choices and recommendations were pretty spot on.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Always consistently good. All you can eat mussels on Sunday and Monday! Most dishes are rich and hard to finish.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Went for a pre-theater lunch. Waiter was friendly but as time went on and restaurant filled, he was running all over. Forgot to serve coffee that was part of a brunch special. Mostly negative on the cleanliness -- salt/pepper were yucky to touch. Worst was the ladies room toilet was stopped up. Told the waiter (also welcoming/seating -- seemed the only floor person) about the problem. Clearly short staffed and would understand if no one available to deal with it but no sign went up about "out of order" and about 15 min later heard another women telling waiter the same thing...not a pleasant part of the visit.

Food was good and value was good. Probably won't go out of my way to recommend to friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

We were seriously late for our reservations due to traffic and they still accommodated us and the place was packed! We had less than an hour to order and get served to make our show tickets at Town Hall next door. We told them we were short on time and they were fantastic, came back promptly to take our drinks and food order and food came out quickly and we made our show with 5 min to spare. IPA was great and food very tasty. Noise level very difficult for those with any hearing issues, but other than that very impressed with speedy service and good food. Small cozy place with friendly, highly efficient waitstaff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Check this place out! Wonderful food and ambience with a Belgian flair and unrivaled Belgian beer menu. The service is terrific.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I had the pasta with a light tomato sauce and it was excellent. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. I did find the music too loud, but was not shocked as it is a small venue so the bar is very close to the dining area plus it was 6pm on a Saturday night. Just a bit hard to easily converse. I also don't think the outfit the waitress is asked to wear is necessary in a family friendly venue. She was very sweet, btw. Still, the waiter was fully clothed...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent moules frites and beer menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Great 90’s lower east side vibe. Solid drinks cool music.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Steak frites or Moules frites are fabulous. The atmosphere is lively. The beer selection is good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Second time here, now for lunch. Even better than the first time. We had the moules dijonnaise (owner's suggestion) and the Bouchée à la Reine. Both were delicious. We're not soccer fans but, still, the tv didn't bother us at all. It creates a unique atmosphere. The owner couldn't be more friendly nor kind and the staff is very professional and attentive. We loved it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

The food was fresh and delicious. I will definitely go back!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Good service, steady reliable food that is reasonably priced plus BXL is not too noisy so one can have a nice conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Great Belgian food and beer in a casual, if pretty loud, scene. The staff is friendly, while the service — in true Belgian fashion — can be spotty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Nice brunch and wonderful service! We couldn't resist ordering the mussels and we were glad we did! Delicious! Brunch was very good and most reasonably priced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

BXL is one of our favorite pubs!! This particular visit we had a big group and I think that threw things off. Our food came out in 3 waves—. One group got theirs. Then another 15 minutes later & then another 15 minutes before one person got her order. Food was good- brunch is not my favorite here. So mediocre service this visit. Food just okay. But we will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great mussels. Unique decor. The staff did a great job with kids.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Great mussels, frites, and beer. The wine we ordered by the glass had been open for a while and didn't taste good. Probably not the place for wine - it's a beer bar. The mussels are great and plentiful at a very fair price. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Authentic Belgium/French fare. Very small and cozy, lown lighting adds to atmosphere. Wait stadf were great. Highly recommend for a place to eat away from the hustle and bustle of times square.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Crazy noisy at 6 PM but better at 7 when the after work drinking crowd left! Excellent mussels, fries and beer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

First night in NY, my boyfriend and I both had the burger- YUM! Beer was great and soccer game was on. All you need.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Excellent, as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great food, authentic Dutch cuisine. The mussels were fabulous as well as the terrine. Goat cheese salad is a must try as well as the profeteroles! Highly recommend going even if it's just for their delicious beers and appetizers!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The Thai Mussels are great!! Great Beer selection too!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

good service although confusion at end with money - i thought I gave her $30, waitress said $20. still not sure. could be my fault. food decent comfort food. everyone in place seems happy. lots of french accents. LOUD.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Looks like they have more menu options when you look online than they do.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 5, 2018

I rated it a five for food, service and value but only a four overall based on a three for ambiance.

We would go back again. It is a good and reasonably priced restaurant in the NYC Theatre District.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

BXL is the absolute best spot in Times Square for a genuine dining experience. It isn't fancy, just a real European bar feel with great food, awesome beer selections and a staff that is always attentive and charming. I would love BXL in any neighborhood, but it is a godsend for a neighborhood like Times Square that is thoroughly lacking in bars for New Yorkers.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Good moules et frites and a good selection of Belgian beer, though not as extensive as some Belgian restaurants in NYC.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Terrific assortment of Belgian beer. Food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Unacceptable noise level. Very busy bar. pretty good food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Food was amazing and service was impeccable. Stop by and ask for Arifa, she’s amazing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Too Loud!!! I'm so disappointed because this is now the second time I've been there for a meal and felt like I couldn't hear a thing except the loud music. And of course because of the loud music, the patrons both at the bar and at the tables have to shout! Such a shame because I really like the food and it's authenticity. I see a lot of shows, and finding a nice place with good food and nice atmosphere is hard to come by in the Times Square area. Unfortunately I'll have to find someplace else because as my companion said at the end of our meal at BXL Cafe - "I'll meet you outside on the street where it will be quieter."

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2018

This is a cozy place that I've frequented before. Food selection is pretty good and the price point is good. Fantastic selection of beers! The goat cheese salad I had was quite good but if you're looking for quiet forget it. It's pretty noisy here and I recall that in the summer it's pretty warm in here. Not sure whether or not there is air conditioning . If you're looking to have a nice conversation you'll have to yell. Fun place overall.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7