About BXL Cafe

125 W 43rd St
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Times Square, BXL Café has been proudly serving the finest Belgian beer and cuisine since 2004. With our dark wood decor, comfortable banquettes and delicious beer selection, we pride ourselves in being a little oasis at the crossroads of the world for after-work locals as well as home sick Belgians.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday:11:30am -4:00am

Cross Street:
6th and Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 768-0200

Website:
http://www.bxlrestaurants.com/

Public Transit:
Times Square Subway station/Bryant Park Subway station

BXL Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.5

value

3.9

noise

Energetic

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Belgian
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Restaurants in Midtown West ›

Casual (13)
Great Beer (11)
Bar Seating (9)
See All
Great for Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Sports (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
93 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a last minute brunch before walki ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a last minute brunch before walking over to Bryant Park to the holiday shopping. The brunch menu was perfect and the restaurant was cozy on a chilly December afternoon. Great beer list.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Simple and cozy and easy to get in and o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Simple and cozy and easy to get in and out of. I can't believe how convenient it is to the theatre district. On a side street just a hair off the main strip. Very good, warm lighting. Very casual; don't go dressed up. Has a feeling of an irish bar, but it's Belgian. But not too noisy at all and I am hyper sensitive to sound so that's AMAZING.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good but nothing special. Every ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good but nothing special. Everything was very salty. The bar and restaurant were so crowded it was hard to move. The service was uneven as it got more crowded. Our credit card was charged twice. Not a good place for a quiet dinner. Better as an after work bar scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I ordered what was supposed to be steak ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

I ordered what was supposed to be steak tips in gravy. What I got was pot roast that was so dry I choked on it. The noise level was unbearable as was the temperature of the restaurant. Service was slow and inattentive. Very disappointing overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

BXL used to be a lot better. I've been ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

BXL used to be a lot better. I've been about half a dozen times over the last 5 years. The food is just mediocre now. The service was irritating. I wasn't brought what I had ordered and the response was flip (although meant to be amusing, it was - in actuality - rude).

It's best after the theatre crowd leaves to get to their plays because otherwise the noise level is deafening.

I will only go back if I'm specifically interested in Moules Frites and beer (they're specialty, natch).

Anything else isn't worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The restaurant was too noisy for holding ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The restaurant was too noisy for holding a conversation.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

If you like being crowded and shouting a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

If you like being crowded and shouting and you are a man in your 30's who loves beer or mussels , then yes. Otherwise, skip it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Good Thai food - pre theater -wonton typ ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good Thai food - pre theater -wonton type soup - pad Thai - duck - all better than average - pleasant experience - if you are looking for casual - not fine dining -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was very good! Will definitely com ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was very good! Will definitely come back again!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's hard to find a place in midtown for ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 8, 2016

It's hard to find a place in midtown for work lunches that are unique AND good. From the outside, this looks like your typical Times Sq. pub. The have a vast beer selection and the mussels are absolutely amazing... I highly recommend the Thai Mussels.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great spot right by the Sondheim and T ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A great spot right by the Sondheim and Town Hall theatres. Noisy but fun with great Belgian beer and quick courteous servce

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Location is the great advantage of BXL, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Location is the great advantage of BXL, but the warm welcome and cheerful service also make it very attractive. As in so many places, it's hard to have a conversation with your date, but a liking for the Belgian beer will help that. I expect to go there again and again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was fair, not especially goo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was fair, not especially good but not horrible. The food was very good and the menu was pretty varied. Good selection of beer options. It was too high priced and very loud. Too loud to have cross-table conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Despite its slightly unimpressive bar ap ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Despite its slightly unimpressive bar appearance, the brunch was actually very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We met some friends of ours at BXL Times ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We met some friends of ours at BXL Times Square as we both happen to be vacationing in Manhattan. Everybody knows that Belgian makes the best beer in the world. You pair that with some excellent choices for Moules and Frites and you have great beer, great food, and good friends.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I use BXL for casual business lunches. T ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I use BXL for casual business lunches. The food and service are always good and well priced.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great to place for Belgian beer and soli ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great to place for Belgian beer and solid burgers, steaks, fries, mussels, et al. Definitely more neighborhood bar and grill than chain (despite proximity to Times Square) caters to French speaking guests without being obnoxious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was delicious and generous. The mu ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food was delicious and generous. The mussels were amazing as was the Lomo Saltado. The chips and aji amarillo sauce were a wonderful start to a really good and satisfying meal. Service is excellent, everyone working there is delightful. Can't wait to return when next we are in Red Bank. Thank you for a lovely dinner.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Outstanding Value, Spicy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great typical belgian cuisine, with grea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great typical belgian cuisine, with great Belgian beer

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came into NYC for a play and lunch. Thi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Came into NYC for a play and lunch. This restaurant was busy and very noisy in the main dining area. We sat at the side of the entrance way. The prix fixe menu was a good deal. My friend and I ordered the terrine pate and mussels/frites for lunch. Both were good. A small glass of Stella Artois came with the lunch. Both of us were satisfied with the food and the service.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service is fast and prompt, but expect p ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Service is fast and prompt, but expect pub food.

Decent and not so in the touristy mix of Times Square, but close to all the trains. Good for happy hour.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We never would have tried this place if ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We never would have tried this place if it were not for a review and description of the food. We were all very pleased with the choices, the ambience and service. We would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks to a friend's recommendation, we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Thanks to a friend's recommendation, we tried it out for a late lunch. Had one of the best burgers I ever had!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I can't tell you how unpleasant our expe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2016

I can't tell you how unpleasant our experience was. They forgot our food. It came out late with no apologies after we complained. Nothing from waiter or manager. Basic caesar salads weren't up to standards. Hard to get check. Never coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was great, I made the reservation, go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2016

It was great, I made the reservation, got to the restaurant, was stared at blankly and told there were no tables and there was a wait of at least 20 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

DECAF SVP

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2016

IT IS UNHEARD OF NOT TO SERVE DECAF COFFEE WITH BRUNCH, LUNCH OR DINNER.

IF THEY SERVE IT IN PARIS, CERTAINLY IT CAN BE DONE IN NEW YORK! BELGIUM

CAN CATCH UP WITH THE3 REST OF THE WORLD!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Belgian friends

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2016

As Belgians friends, we wanted to try this Belgian restaurant, celabrating a birthday and engagement of a couple.

The staff was very friendly and the birthday-girl was surprised with a candle on her desert.

The food was very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not very good. Went for a meeting and my ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Not very good. Went for a meeting and my boss didn't even eat. Service was slow. We had to ask for drink refills a few times even though the staff was walking by our table and looking as though they cared how we were doing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Brunch with a side of mussels

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2016

We had an excellent brunch right near Times Square at the BXL Cafe. The Eggs Benedict was great and the waffle was a work of art. Brunch included a mamosas or Bloody Mary. It was a great deal for midtown Manhattan. We also got two different kinds of mussels. You can't go to a Belgian restaurant without getting mussels and fries, right. The mussels were outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value - excellent meal

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2016

Had lunch with a few friends prior to a Wednesday matinee. We all chose the $18 prix fixe which was an outstanding value. There were many options to select from, and the portions were very filling. A beer or a glass of wine was also included with our meals. The service was extremely friendly and so quick and efficient especially since a huge lunch crowd filled the entire place at the time. Planning to go back since the menu has so many interesting items to try. Would definitely recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Authentic Belgian brunch with fun atmosphere

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2015

The BXL Cafe is a cozy place that serves great brunch and lunch. They have a pre fixe option that is such a good deal! Service was laid-back but very attentive, which I liked. My group enjoyed our brunch and told our server (who had a super cool Belgian accent, by the way) that we were just going to hang out for a while. And it was no problem! We had a very nice time hanging out. The banana pancakes are delicious and the mimosas pack a punch. But get there early, because this place gets packed - it's so worth it though!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Brunch!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2015

We came for brunch on a Saturday. We got the mussels since they were such highly reviewed on here and they were very good! I got the french toast and my husband got the lamb sausage sandwich for our meal. The french toast was very good! I loved the fruit compote that came with it! The lamb sausage sandwich wasn't to our tasting but still had good flavor! The fries came with the sandwich and the mussels, they are really good fries!

We were the first there at 11:30 when they opened and by the time we left around 12:30, it was packed! It is a small place and the tables are small so anticipate making a reservation.Despite the crowd, service was excellent. It had a good NYC vibe and is at a convenient location for times square and broadway district.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A Dive in Theater District

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 28, 2015

I now assume that Open Table will take membership from any ole' establishment. It was late, like 10:30 and I tried to find a place on my phone while walking, so I didn't have time to research. This is a dive bar with food. The moment you walk in, you can smell the stench of 100 years of beer spilled on the bar, seating and the floor. The food was just about edible and no bargain. I would have walked out, but the people I was with were starving. Described as Belgian food, so I thought it might be nice and good, but don't bother as you'll be wasting your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

Great find!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2015

A good friend recomended BXL, as we were taking our mother to see Beautiful for her 85th birthday! Brunch was delicious, service was great. I would suggest that they put brewed decaf coffee and teas for their patrons. Will come again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Worth a visit!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2015

A small European-type bistro/bar with great Belgian-inspired food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very European

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2015

Before theater lunch for 6. Belgian white beer was great with extensive beer list. Food was extra ordinary with a definite European flair. Really feels like a European cafe. Excellent place. Service was super even though place was packed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An intimate Gem

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 19, 2015

Needed a place to eat dinner before a show. The BXL Café was not on everyone's "Gotta eat here" list, but I'm glad we chose it. Small (seating for about 25) with a lively bar serving Belgian beer, wines and food. Roast chicken was excellent. Servers were very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Went pretty late for their Monday all yo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2015

Went pretty late for their Monday all you can eat mussels special. Really good deal with excellent fries and very generous helpings of mussels with a variety of excellent broths. Beer selection was superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Moules frites a volonte. Love it.

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 11, 2015

Moules frites a volonte. Love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice time

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2015

It's for the moule-frites and beer that you go to BXL. You will not be disappointed. Service was fast and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.