About BXL Cafe

125 W 43rd St
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Times Square, BXL Café has been proudly serving the finest Belgian beer and cuisine since 2004. With our dark wood decor, comfortable banquettes and delicious beer selection, we pride ourselves in being a little oasis at the crossroads of the world for after-work locals as well as home sick Belgians.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday:11:30am -4:00am

Cross Street:
6th and Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 768-0200

Website:
http://www.bxlrestaurants.com/

Public Transit:
Times Square Subway station/Bryant Park Subway station

BXL Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.4

ambience

3.1

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown West ›

Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Groups (4)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
73 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service is fast and prompt, but expect p ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service is fast and prompt, but expect pub food.

Decent and not so in the touristy mix of Times Square, but close to all the trains. Good for happy hour.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We never would have tried this place if ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We never would have tried this place if it were not for a review and description of the food. We were all very pleased with the choices, the ambience and service. We would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks to a friend's recommendation, we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Thanks to a friend's recommendation, we tried it out for a late lunch. Had one of the best burgers I ever had!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I can't tell you how unpleasant our expe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I can't tell you how unpleasant our experience was. They forgot our food. It came out late with no apologies after we complained. Nothing from waiter or manager. Basic caesar salads weren't up to standards. Hard to get check. Never coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was great, I made the reservation, go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

It was great, I made the reservation, got to the restaurant, was stared at blankly and told there were no tables and there was a wait of at least 20 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

DECAF SVP

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

IT IS UNHEARD OF NOT TO SERVE DECAF COFFEE WITH BRUNCH, LUNCH OR DINNER.

IF THEY SERVE IT IN PARIS, CERTAINLY IT CAN BE DONE IN NEW YORK! BELGIUM

CAN CATCH UP WITH THE3 REST OF THE WORLD!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Belgian friends

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

As Belgians friends, we wanted to try this Belgian restaurant, celabrating a birthday and engagement of a couple.

The staff was very friendly and the birthday-girl was surprised with a candle on her desert.

The food was very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not very good. Went for a meeting and my ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Not very good. Went for a meeting and my boss didn't even eat. Service was slow. We had to ask for drink refills a few times even though the staff was walking by our table and looking as though they cared how we were doing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Brunch with a side of mussels

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We had an excellent brunch right near Times Square at the BXL Cafe. The Eggs Benedict was great and the waffle was a work of art. Brunch included a mamosas or Bloody Mary. It was a great deal for midtown Manhattan. We also got two different kinds of mussels. You can't go to a Belgian restaurant without getting mussels and fries, right. The mussels were outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value - excellent meal

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Had lunch with a few friends prior to a Wednesday matinee. We all chose the $18 prix fixe which was an outstanding value. There were many options to select from, and the portions were very filling. A beer or a glass of wine was also included with our meals. The service was extremely friendly and so quick and efficient especially since a huge lunch crowd filled the entire place at the time. Planning to go back since the menu has so many interesting items to try. Would definitely recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Authentic Belgian brunch with fun atmosphere

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

The BXL Cafe is a cozy place that serves great brunch and lunch. They have a pre fixe option that is such a good deal! Service was laid-back but very attentive, which I liked. My group enjoyed our brunch and told our server (who had a super cool Belgian accent, by the way) that we were just going to hang out for a while. And it was no problem! We had a very nice time hanging out. The banana pancakes are delicious and the mimosas pack a punch. But get there early, because this place gets packed - it's so worth it though!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Brunch!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

We came for brunch on a Saturday. We got the mussels since they were such highly reviewed on here and they were very good! I got the french toast and my husband got the lamb sausage sandwich for our meal. The french toast was very good! I loved the fruit compote that came with it! The lamb sausage sandwich wasn't to our tasting but still had good flavor! The fries came with the sandwich and the mussels, they are really good fries!

We were the first there at 11:30 when they opened and by the time we left around 12:30, it was packed! It is a small place and the tables are small so anticipate making a reservation.Despite the crowd, service was excellent. It had a good NYC vibe and is at a convenient location for times square and broadway district.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A Dive in Theater District

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

I now assume that Open Table will take membership from any ole' establishment. It was late, like 10:30 and I tried to find a place on my phone while walking, so I didn't have time to research. This is a dive bar with food. The moment you walk in, you can smell the stench of 100 years of beer spilled on the bar, seating and the floor. The food was just about edible and no bargain. I would have walked out, but the people I was with were starving. Described as Belgian food, so I thought it might be nice and good, but don't bother as you'll be wasting your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

Great find!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

A good friend recomended BXL, as we were taking our mother to see Beautiful for her 85th birthday! Brunch was delicious, service was great. I would suggest that they put brewed decaf coffee and teas for their patrons. Will come again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Worth a visit!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

A small European-type bistro/bar with great Belgian-inspired food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very European

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

Before theater lunch for 6. Belgian white beer was great with extensive beer list. Food was extra ordinary with a definite European flair. Really feels like a European cafe. Excellent place. Service was super even though place was packed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An intimate Gem

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Needed a place to eat dinner before a show. The BXL Café was not on everyone's "Gotta eat here" list, but I'm glad we chose it. Small (seating for about 25) with a lively bar serving Belgian beer, wines and food. Roast chicken was excellent. Servers were very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Went pretty late for their Monday all yo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2015

Went pretty late for their Monday all you can eat mussels special. Really good deal with excellent fries and very generous helpings of mussels with a variety of excellent broths. Beer selection was superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Moules frites a volonte. Love it.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2015

Moules frites a volonte. Love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice time

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

It's for the moule-frites and beer that you go to BXL. You will not be disappointed. Service was fast and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

non-tourist Times Sq option

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2015

Tasty food, reasonable prices, outstanding value for money make this site a good option for lunch or early dinner when you want to a casual meal close to Times Sq but without a restaurant packed with clueless tourists. Try the puff pastry (chicken, mushrooms, mini-meatballs) for a sweet comfort food meal, or venture into a bucket of mussels for only $22.00 ! Nice selection of Belgian brews complements the one page menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Over-rated

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

We went to bxl for lunch and wanted to taste their famous steam mussels. A disappointment. Mussels not as fresh as we would view as high standard. If you have been to dc's mussel bar, this place is miles behind. No much service. Will not return.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Mini version of Cheers, everyone knows your name!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2015

This hidden gem is located in the heart of midtown. This bar/ restaurant is only a city block from the famous Time Square, Bryant Park and two streets from Rockefeller Center. . The food is delicious and the drinks are perfect. The wait staff is diverse and very welcoming. Service is quick and accurate! The establishment is small so book a table in advance for lunch rush hour ( noon-2pm Monday-Friday)or risk the wait. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

It was very good we got there an hour ea ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 16, 2015

It was very good we got there an hour early and they sat us immediately. We ordered the all you can eat mussels which were great. They were fast and didn't make u wait around

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

What a pleasant surprise!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2015

We had a patty of 6 for lunch/brunch last Sunday. The food was absolutely delicious!! Would most definitely go back. Can't go wrong with giving BXL cafe a try!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic Mussels!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 3, 2015

Do not miss the mussels, some of the best I have ever had. The Thai style and those with bacon were our favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great lunch place

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

Good place to catch up with a friend or co-workers for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The location was great - right across fr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2015

The location was great - right across from the theater were we were seeing a show. The prices were excellent for the quality of the food and the quality of the food was very good - particularly the French Fries. The selection on the menu was excellent. It would take me many meals there before I exhausted that menu. The ambiance was a bit more barlike than I had hoped and the noise level was also a bit more than was comfortable for me, but not so much that it would prevent me from going back there. The service was good - our meals came out in good time and the waitress who served us paid enough attention that we did not feel neglected. All in all, we had a very nice experience and I shall be recommending this restaurant to friends who will be seeing the same show next month.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious Belgian gem!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2015

Excellent food and beer list- truly delicious, and a good deal for midtown/the theater district. Great for lunch before a matinee (they take reservations!) and a wonderful spot for a late dinner or a drink at any time. Suitable for all sorts of occasions. My husband and I had our first date here and we've been back with friends and family, and it always seems to please!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We left it was too noisy.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2015

We left it was too noisy. One of the ladies has a hearing problem

and could not stand the noise at all. Plus, it looks like a bar more

than a restaurant. The staff was very nice. Sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

patron pas sympa - addition prête à confusion -

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 8, 2015

L'addition reprend une cote de satisfaction du service 3, 7 et 11 dollars si vous êtes très satisfait.

J'ai payé le repas 52 euros + 11 dollars. Le patron est ensuite venu me faire une remarque musclée devant les autres clients que je n'avais pas payé les 20 % obligatoire en plus du repas. j'ai ajouté 11 euros supplémentaires car j'étais vraiment choquée. Après réflexion, 52 euros de (11+11) ce qui fait 42 %; ARNAQUE - ATTENTION.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Came for lunch and enjoyed prix fixe men ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2015

Came for lunch and enjoyed prix fixe menu of the terrine and lb of mussels - both delicious! Great service - not rushed but attentive. Gets a bit noisy with lunchtime crowd but adds to the casual atmosphere. Will return for the mussels!,

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

BXL

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

This is a friendly and cheerful Belgian-style beer place where the food is quite good. They were out of mussels when we were there but this was due to the bad winter we have had and the shortage of supplies from Prince Edward island. The food we had was quite good but this is probably not the place for a gourmet but for good value food. It is also a place to watch soccer which can make it a bit noisy. I would go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Solid pub at decent prices

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

With tickets to the Town Hall performance in hand, we searched for a convenient place for brunch. This little pub is a great alternative to the overpriced, tourist haunts that surround the Times Square area. Known for their moules, we were disappointed to discover them unavailable on a Sunday.For a a beer and burger, or the traditional Belgian sandwiches, this would be a great choice.

The brunch menu is well priced for the neighborhood. Food is average, drinks were tasty and large but the service is rather clueless, (though that has become the norm these days --it seems good service must come at a price of $100 pp no matter where you are of late). My Oeufs Norwegienne (eggs benedict style with salmon) were acceptable but salty. I would request a salad substitute for the potato side. My friend chose the croquettes, and had the better meal. I would go again if in a rush for Town Hall, but otherwise, would head further west to the better dining options found in the 8th and 9th avenue corridors.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

BXL - Great food & brew

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 6, 2015

Great food, outstanding beer list (both draft & bottled)!! Wait staff was friendly, attentive and efficient. Emily, our server was wonderful. Great spot!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent!!! Will return.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 4, 2015

I loved that they had bitterballen on the menu and that they played Dutch music. The food was very good, as well as the service. I will be returning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Croque Madame (open face grilled cheese ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 19, 2015

Croque Madame (open face grilled cheese with creamy bechamel sauce, a slice of warm ham, and a fried egg on top) is my favorite sandwich in all the land and BXL does it quite well. Their fries are always perfect (crunchy with just a little bit of squishiness) and the salad is a great side. The service is good, quick, and friendly. Highly recommend. Also, the Delirium is a tasty beer and comes in a fun glass covered in pink elephants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good brunch. Service was very slow, pro ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Good brunch. Service was very slow, probably because waitress was new.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Perfect casual mid-town spot

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 4, 2015

Good range of options on the lunch menu. The burger I ordered came with fries and a small salad - perfect! Great selection of Belgian beers and we had several. It was a great for a conversation among friends catching up, but still had good level of energy and activity... Definitely will go back

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for lunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 16, 2015

Bxl is small but packs a lot of flavor. I go for the lunch menu which has your choice of mussles with frites (other choices as well) small Stella and an appetizer. $17, perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.