About BXL Cafe

Located in the heart of Times Square, BXL Café has been proudly serving the finest Belgian beer and cuisine since 2004. With our dark wood decor, comfortable banquettes and delicious beer selection, we pride ourselves in being a little oasis at the crossroads of the world for after-work locals as well as home sick Belgians.

125 W 43rd St
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday:11:30am -4:00am

Cross Street:
6th and Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 768-0200

Website:
http://www.bxlrestaurants.com/

Public Transit:
Times Square Subway station/Bryant Park Subway station

BXL Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.5

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Casual (8)
See All
Great for Brunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort by
S
201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 2 days ago

Belgian bistro. Authentic, based on long ago visits to Bruges and Ostend. I had Sun-Mon night all you can eat moules frites special, with a Stella thrown in. Loud hip hop constant, so if not a fan, not a place to linger. Wait staff pleasant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Great friendly staff, excellent food at a reasonable price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We have eaten at this restaurant before and the noise level has generally been "energetic" (as the ratings diplomatically describe the highest level), but our recent experience last Thursday was actually painful. The bar was noisy, as bars usually, and understandably, are, but in the restaurant area it seemed that everyone at every table (mostly guys) was intent on shouting as loudly as he could. It was ear-splitting (it was truly a relief to get back out on the merely noisy street). It's a shame because the food is quite passable and prices are reasonable, but we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Much too loud! Deafening! I would only return here at off hours for a drink near the front of the room. Food was fine but not worth returning for the cacaphony.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Can’t beat their all you can eat mussels special on Sunday and Monday. Great spot for dinner before a show in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

The waffles were incredible, the service friendly and competent. We enjoyed the Euro-vibe and the cozy decor as well. Great place for any meal, lots of good cocktails and beers.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Terrific brunch -- mussels and french toast. Both were terrific even though the combination sounds bizarre. Service was completely backwards -- brought me a lovely apply dessert with ice cream (that I didn't order) first, then mussels and french toast came together. Wish they'd served the mussels first, then the brunch. The dessert was redundant but very good. Bloody Mary was weak, even though I ordered a premium. The server was lovely, apologetic and it was all good. I'd definitely go back -- yummy mussels.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2017

I love BXL cafe for not only the great beer on draft but, the mussels are fantastic, a large portion at a great price.

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Great find in the theatre district. Nice selection of beer, food was good, and so was the service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 15, 2017

BXL Cafe’ is a MUST if you’re in The City. Hands-down, their all-you-can-eat Moules Frite special on Sun/Mon is the best dining deal in NYC. Loved it at 1st visit 7 yrs ago; same opinion now. Being in town but failing to dine at BXL would’ve been like having failed to attend a theatre production. LOVE BXL!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great staff luncheon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

BXL Café was more bar than restaurant. It was packed and may be the loudest place I've ever eaten, to the point where the people at the table next to us were literally yelling at each other from 3' apart. Our group of four 60ish year olds gave up trying to talk, and leaned to within a foot to say anything. It's on us that we decided to stay. My wife ordered mussels. They were tasty but VERY small. I ordered the entrecote ribeye. It was over 50% inedible fat and grizzle (see uploaded photo, showing the last passable bite next to all the grizzle). I showed the pile of grizzle to the waitress, who seemed unconcerned but said she would talk to the manager. He/she never came to the table. The waitress came back and said that the manager said "that's the way a ribeye is supposed to be, that's what gives it its taste". I said I've eaten a hundred ribeyes and never had one that looked like that, and a cut like that should not even be served. She shrugged and walked away. We paid and left. I rarely complain about my food (less than ten times in my life), and never write reviews (this is my first), so when I got your email I promised myself I this would be the first.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very nice for a drink and something light. I like the atmosphere. A rare find in the over-commercialized Times Sq. area. Could be a little cleaner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Too noisy for conversation. I was there for brunch. No bread or rolls were offered or brought to the table. I didn't want potatoes and asked for extra salad. The waiter said no problem, but extra salad wasn't given. Repeatedly had to flag down a waiter to take our order and get coffee refills. The food was fine but would have preferred a restaurant without the multiples tv's blasting in addition to overly loud music.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Eaten here for brunch and now late night dinner- mussels were fantastic. Great beer list concentrating on Belgian brews. Friendly service, of course we were the last diners in the place so I am sure we got more attention than at a busier time. However two visits so far and both were enjoyable.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Belgian beer menu suited husband. Food was all right. Conversation over dinner early dinner before theater was almost impossible due to loudness. Tables so close together we constantly had to shift our chairs to let people by. Would not go back for a meal. Maybe an afternoon beer stop off.

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The background music was too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We came for brunch. Had the croque monsier and eggs Benedict with nova salmon. Both were very good and you could do either as a prie fixe with coffee and a mimosas or Bloody Mary for 20 dollars. Service was great. Decor was very European pub. Would definitely come back,especially to try all the different varieties of moulles frite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

BXL has an excellent location in the Theatre District with great beer on tap. However, the tables are very close together and the restaurant can be quite noisy during the after work/pre-theatre time. Excellent calamari and great sauces for the mussels but the mussels were small this time. Good place to go after theatre, especially for a coffee drink.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We have gone to BXL at least 5 times & we dont live in nyc
Consistently great food & reasonable

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Belgian/French comfort food. Good but nothing special. Portions are rather small by 'European' standards for this type of food and twice as $$$ comparatively.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Good food. Reasonable prices. Only negative was air conditioning barely worked on a humid evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Brought a couple friends from out of town. Wonderful food, great beer and cocktails. Staff is very attentive, we had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Food was ok but the noise level was so high, could not have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Brunch was good, though a little fatty (omelette, fries and mayo)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great beer and Steak Frites. Loud but fun. A very popular location.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Nice options for a pre-theater brunch. Good portion of salmon in the Salmon Fume. Belgian waffles were a decadent treat. Desserts were delicious. Service was spot on! We all agreed that we would return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food was delicious and service excellent but it was too noisy. We couldn't talk.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great place!! Always fresh food, and fast service. Fantastic burgers! Great bear list! Great value for NYC, you wont leave hungry.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

the mussels were tasty but very small, not the greatest quality - Flex Mussels is a much better place for mussels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Best banana pancakes ever
Great waffle but small portion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Truly a pub style place. Good food but very noisy and fairly small. Would not go back.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Sad because I like the place and I've been going there for years. The food is solid as always but with a reservation to be given the crappiest and smallest table in the restaurant is just straight up disrespectful. May have lost a few faithful customers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Went to dinner with out of town quests. We had a variety of dishes and all were tasty. I had the unlimited mussels and fries which came with a beer. The first bowl they served was more than enough for me and it was very tasty. One complaint was they did not take the shells away though it was not crowded.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Every time we are in the city we eat here. The food has always been amazing. The staff is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I went to BXL because it was close to Town Hall, but was so pleasantly surprised by what a great meal we had. Monday nights are all you can eat mussels and we took a chance on them. They were fantastic! Service was fast and the mussels were perfection. I am looking forward to going back again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great location right next to Town Hall . Very noisy and tight seating but fun and good for for the price

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Delicious mussels! Unfortunately, the noise level was way too loud. But if you can stand it, its a great pre theater Broadway/Town Hall concert, choice

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The ambiance is of an Irish bar but the quality of the food is well above that. While endless mussels sounded a little questionable, it was indeed worth it. Without a doubt a great place for a very casual dinner, resembling a better version of many tourist restaurants in Amsterdam's Centrum district.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Was a little too much of a bar scene and smell. I went with my friends before a Broadway show

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.