About BXL Cafe

Located in the heart of Times Square, BXL Café has been proudly serving the finest Belgian beer and cuisine since 2004. With our dark wood decor, comfortable banquettes and delicious beer selection, we pride ourselves in being a little oasis at the crossroads of the world for after-work locals as well as home sick Belgians.

125 W 43rd St
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday:11:30am -4:00am

Cross Street:
6th and Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 768-0200

Website:
http://www.bxlrestaurants.com/

Public Transit:
Times Square Subway station/Bryant Park Subway station

BXL Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (28)
Casual (26)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Quick Bite (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Fun (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Cozy (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Live Sports (5)
People Watching (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (4)
Romantic (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Healthy (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

next door to Town Hall. Very noisy. Good Belgian beer list.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Fine for a bar, but really poor restaurant experience. Worn out seating, very very loud, and near inedible food-- we ordered (2) mains and (2) sides, all of which went unfinished. We didn't send anything back because there wasn't anything specifically "off" about it-- it was just terrible. Endive salad had bland, mayo dressing. Left within 40 minutes, food uneaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was underwhelming, service was very slow. Couldn't understand our waitress, orders were wrong and water was never refilled. Not sure we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was good. Beware when you order brunch you must request the brunch price before you order. We all ordered food from the brunch menu along with drinks and were charged alacarte because we didn't request the prefixed price when we ordered. The waitress begrudgingly adjusted the bill didn't adjust for one of the drinks. Up to that point the BXL would have been on my list of places to return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I was expecting a bistro but this is more of a beer hall.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I love the mussels and writes. Other dishes are good too. Nice selection of Belgian draft beers.

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Forget that it's feet from
Time square - Spectacular moules frites!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Perfect spot before a show. Good bar service, attentive wait staff, tasty food, and good value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went to the 43rd street location and was very disappointed. All of the food orders were wrong, one person's came much later than the rest, and then, rather than been given any accommodation, we were overcharged on the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We enjoyed the mussels and beer. Nice place for lunch. The staff was very accommodating and friendly.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We ate here just before going to a matinee performance. We had a lovely brunch.mwe would like to return for dinner sometime.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Burger was delicious and cooked to perfection. Roast Chicken was equally as good, nice crispy skin, well seasoned. Beer selection is awesome. Waitress was attentive, cheerful and bubbly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Loud, uncomfortably hot, but food tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Disappointing. This is more of a European style cafe than a restaurant. Half of the room is a long bar, where people are having drinks and creating a lot of noise; the other half consists of tables for having a meal. The moules frites (mussels & fries) were not of good quality. Many broken shells and some not open. On the other side of the table the bouchee a la reine (puff pastry with chicken/mushrooms/bacon) was not great either. Instead of a puff pastry pot filled with the chicken & the rest there was only a small leaf of puff pastry on top of the content. Service was quick, before you can blink an eye the food was on the table.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

BXL has never disappointed us! Been eating here for the past 5 years, and we always love it! Simple, good food keeps us coming back. Not a quiet place, but if that's what you need, think twice. Fun ambiance, great food, great selection of beer!!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My first time here, but not my husband's. It was quite noisy, but that is to be expected on a Friday evening in NYC! The food was great--I had mussels and my husband had a burger. They both came with fries which were nice a crispy--not soggy and served with mayo--truly Belgian!! Would definitely go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Casual Bar & Restaurant Dining with great beer selection. Enjoyed the Croquettes aux Truffes , hamburger BXL and fries while sipping on a draft (or drafts) of Delirium Tremens.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Really enjoyed.
We had 12 people for brunch before a theatre matinee.
Perfect place.
reasonably priced
delicious

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Live Sports, Casual, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great beer! Very tight space. Solid food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was good (I particularly love their sausages and stoemp), and the service was friendly but very slow. If you're not on a tight schedule and want tasty, filling Belgian comfort food, this is a good Midtown lunch choice, but for a work lunch it was a bit too slow.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

food was great and so was the beer..we went for a business lunch and had a very good time.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I booked a reservation here as it was directly across the street from the play "Beautiful" and we like Belgian food and beer. Great choice! Old wood bar and tables. Cocktails were very good as was the beer we tried. Service was very good also.We started with French onion soup and goat cheese in puff pastry. Delicious! My husband had the mussels which came in a pot and there had to be at least 3 dozen. Served with great french fries(frites). I tried the Belgian meatloaf, mashed potatoes and vegetables which I enjoyed very much. We shared the apple tart with ice cream. With tip our bill was $160 which I consider very reasonable for New York City and for all the food we enjoyed. I definitely recommend for a casual meal.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was very good and was served quickly. The waitstaff was very pleasant and accommodating. We were pressed for time on our visit and were very happy to have the best server in New York taking care of us. I have already suggested my friends to your establishment. Bon Appitite!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

On Open Table requested a table comfortable enough for 2 well over 6' diners and one using a cane......ushered to a small 'table for two ' sized accommodation with barely enough room for tableware, water glasses and condiments. Requested this courtesy because we knew restaurant was tight to begin with. Does anyone read these requests? And, no, the restaurant was empty when we arrived and MAYBE 50% capacity as we were leaving. Common sense please! In fairness, we were critical of table and were moved to a larger one. But should. Ot have o start off a meal with negotiating for a table with which to enjoy it.
Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great selection of Belgian Beers and fare. Casual and cosy with an interesting menu featuring mussels served eight different ways. I had the homemade chicken -veg soup and got a big bowl with basket with a variety of good breads -only $6.50. IN the theater district of NYC. Service was very friendly and understanding of our need for speed to get to the show on time.
We liked it so much- we went right back for a nightcap- and they welcomed us back like old friends.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We chose BXL Cafe because it's right across the street from the Stephen Sondhiem Theater. We were going to the Saturday matinee performance of Beautiful-The Carole King Musical. There was a snow storm that day and we came in on the train to Grand Central. Short walk to Cafe for lunch and then right across the street to theater.
Food was very good French/Belgian cusine with a terrific selection of Belgian beers. Very diverse group of diners. The place is small and cozy. Really enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Perfect place to meet and have a bite before a Broadway matinee ... great food and beverages ...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Musique électronique assez forte, on adore. Parfait pour tout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

While the $25 all you can eat mussels plus a drink is a good deal, the mussels Mariniere was unexciting. They are much better at BXL East which is where we usually go. The Provencale was much better but still not up to the east side. I will stick with BXL East one in the future. The noise level was very high as well. It is a good place for tourists to Times Square as the menu is reasonable and the food is decent.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very pleasant brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food, service, Vibe. It was really noisy, but fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Friendly informed servers, good beer selection and adequate foid, priced in accordance with the area. Tight fit.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Disappointing. Not as good as the Flatiron site. Mussels arrived with almost no broth and not hot. We asked for additional broth which took a very long time to arrive. A cheery place that looks better than it tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great mussels and beer. Save room for dessert. Noise level was really high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Met friend here for brunch before a town hall concert. The $18 entree and mimosa special was a good deal. Had the benedict and floretine, both well prepared with good hollandaise sauce. Good coffee, passable mimosa

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great Food! We enjoyed the mussels. The fries are amazing as well! The dipping sauce for fries is delightful. Drink menu on point! From beer choices to great wine choices. Overall an excellent place.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Awful experience, all should be one or no stars, cold not go back & change ratings, ignore any 2 stars. Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The mussels were out of this world good - service was excellent. Has that old world pub feel to it as well. I had the Belgium Meatballs and they were delicious. If are attending a Broadway show, I would highly recommend this place for either before or after.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Small restaurant with big bar area. we were seated immediately in spite of people waiting for tables and all tables occupied. Wait staff was efficient and knowledgeable about menu. Food came out in reasonable amount of time. Omelets were well prepared, hamburger came exactly as ordered medium rare. Only negative was we had to wait for coffee refills and had to ask several times.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.