About BXL Cafe

125 W 43rd St
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Times Square, BXL Café has been proudly serving the finest Belgian beer and cuisine since 2004. With our dark wood decor, comfortable banquettes and delicious beer selection, we pride ourselves in being a little oasis at the crossroads of the world for after-work locals as well as home sick Belgians.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday:11:30am -4:00am

Cross Street:
6th and Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 768-0200

Website:
http://www.bxlrestaurants.com/

Public Transit:
Times Square Subway station/Bryant Park Subway station

BXL Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (28)
Great Beer (25)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
See All
Comfort Food (19)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Quick Bite (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Fun (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Business Meals (5)
People Watching (4)
Live Sports (3)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Loud, uncomfortably hot, but food tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

BXL has never disappointed us! Been eating here for the past 5 years, and we always love it! Simple, good food keeps us coming back. Not a quiet place, but if that's what you need, think twice. Fun ambiance, great food, great selection of beer!!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My first time here, but not my husband's. It was quite noisy, but that is to be expected on a Friday evening in NYC! The food was great--I had mussels and my husband had a burger. They both came with fries which were nice a crispy--not soggy and served with mayo--truly Belgian!! Would definitely go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Casual Bar & Restaurant Dining with great beer selection. Enjoyed the Croquettes aux Truffes , hamburger BXL and fries while sipping on a draft (or drafts) of Delirium Tremens.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Really enjoyed.

We had 12 people for brunch before a theatre matinee.

Perfect place.

reasonably priced

delicious

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Live Sports, Casual, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great beer! Very tight space. Solid food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was good (I particularly love their sausages and stoemp), and the service was friendly but very slow. If you're not on a tight schedule and want tasty, filling Belgian comfort food, this is a good Midtown lunch choice, but for a work lunch it was a bit too slow.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

food was great and so was the beer..we went for a business lunch and had a very good time.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I booked a reservation here as it was directly across the street from the play "Beautiful" and we like Belgian food and beer. Great choice! Old wood bar and tables. Cocktails were very good as was the beer we tried. Service was very good also.We started with French onion soup and goat cheese in puff pastry. Delicious! My husband had the mussels which came in a pot and there had to be at least 3 dozen. Served with great french fries(frites). I tried the Belgian meatloaf, mashed potatoes and vegetables which I enjoyed very much. We shared the apple tart with ice cream. With tip our bill was $160 which I consider very reasonable for New York City and for all the food we enjoyed. I definitely recommend for a casual meal.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was very good and was served quickly. The waitstaff was very pleasant and accommodating. We were pressed for time on our visit and were very happy to have the best server in New York taking care of us. I have already suggested my friends to your establishment. Bon Appitite!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

On Open Table requested a table comfortable enough for 2 well over 6' diners and one using a cane......ushered to a small 'table for two ' sized accommodation with barely enough room for tableware, water glasses and condiments. Requested this courtesy because we knew restaurant was tight to begin with. Does anyone read these requests? And, no, the restaurant was empty when we arrived and MAYBE 50% capacity as we were leaving. Common sense please! In fairness, we were critical of table and were moved to a larger one. But should. Ot have o start off a meal with negotiating for a table with which to enjoy it.

Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great selection of Belgian Beers and fare. Casual and cosy with an interesting menu featuring mussels served eight different ways. I had the homemade chicken -veg soup and got a big bowl with basket with a variety of good breads -only $6.50. IN the theater district of NYC. Service was very friendly and understanding of our need for speed to get to the show on time.

We liked it so much- we went right back for a nightcap- and they welcomed us back like old friends.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We chose BXL Cafe because it's right across the street from the Stephen Sondhiem Theater. We were going to the Saturday matinee performance of Beautiful-The Carole King Musical. There was a snow storm that day and we came in on the train to Grand Central. Short walk to Cafe for lunch and then right across the street to theater.

Food was very good French/Belgian cusine with a terrific selection of Belgian beers. Very diverse group of diners. The place is small and cozy. Really enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Perfect place to meet and have a bite before a Broadway matinee ... great food and beverages ...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Musique électronique assez forte, on adore. Parfait pour tout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

While the $25 all you can eat mussels plus a drink is a good deal, the mussels Mariniere was unexciting. They are much better at BXL East which is where we usually go. The Provencale was much better but still not up to the east side. I will stick with BXL East one in the future. The noise level was very high as well. It is a good place for tourists to Times Square as the menu is reasonable and the food is decent.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very pleasant brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food, service, Vibe. It was really noisy, but fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Friendly informed servers, good beer selection and adequate foid, priced in accordance with the area. Tight fit.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Disappointing. Not as good as the Flatiron site. Mussels arrived with almost no broth and not hot. We asked for additional broth which took a very long time to arrive. A cheery place that looks better than it tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great mussels and beer. Save room for dessert. Noise level was really high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Met friend here for brunch before a town hall concert. The $18 entree and mimosa special was a good deal. Had the benedict and floretine, both well prepared with good hollandaise sauce. Good coffee, passable mimosa

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great Food! We enjoyed the mussels. The fries are amazing as well! The dipping sauce for fries is delightful. Drink menu on point! From beer choices to great wine choices. Overall an excellent place.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Awful experience, all should be one or no stars, cold not go back & change ratings, ignore any 2 stars. Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The mussels were out of this world good - service was excellent. Has that old world pub feel to it as well. I had the Belgium Meatballs and they were delicious. If are attending a Broadway show, I would highly recommend this place for either before or after.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Small restaurant with big bar area. we were seated immediately in spite of people waiting for tables and all tables occupied. Wait staff was efficient and knowledgeable about menu. Food came out in reasonable amount of time. Omelets were well prepared, hamburger came exactly as ordered medium rare. Only negative was we had to wait for coffee refills and had to ask several times.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great brunch for adults and kids. Would definetly go back! Great beer selection, killer Irish coffees too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Both the food and service had been better in the past. The mussels were particularly tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Good for a place in Times Square. Honored our reservation with other people waiting. It's very loud, so if you really want to talk with friends, I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had a last minute brunch before walking over to Bryant Park to the holiday shopping. The brunch menu was perfect and the restaurant was cozy on a chilly December afternoon. Great beer list.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Simple and cozy and easy to get in and out of. I can't believe how convenient it is to the theatre district. On a side street just a hair off the main strip. Very good, warm lighting. Very casual; don't go dressed up. Has a feeling of an irish bar, but it's Belgian. But not too noisy at all and I am hyper sensitive to sound so that's AMAZING.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

For drinking only. Noise was impossibly loud. Crowded. service was slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I ordered what was supposed to be steak tips in gravy. What I got was pot roast that was so dry I choked on it. The noise level was unbearable as was the temperature of the restaurant. Service was slow and inattentive. Very disappointing overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food was good but nothing special. Everything was very salty. The bar and restaurant were so crowded it was hard to move. The service was uneven as it got more crowded. Our credit card was charged twice. Not a good place for a quiet dinner. Better as an after work bar scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

BXL used to be a lot better. I've been about half a dozen times over the last 5 years. The food is just mediocre now. The service was irritating. I wasn't brought what I had ordered and the response was flip (although meant to be amusing, it was - in actuality - rude).

It's best after the theatre crowd leaves to get to their plays because otherwise the noise level is deafening.

I will only go back if I'm specifically interested in Moules Frites and beer (they're specialty, natch).

Anything else isn't worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The restaurant was too noisy for holding a conversation.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

If you like being crowded and shouting and you are a man in your 30's who loves beer or mussels , then yes. Otherwise, skip it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good Thai food - pre theater -wonton type soup - pad Thai - duck - all better than average - pleasant experience - if you are looking for casual - not fine dining -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was very good! Will definitely come back again!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 8, 2016

It's hard to find a place in midtown for work lunches that are unique AND good. From the outside, this looks like your typical Times Sq. pub. The have a vast beer selection and the mussels are absolutely amazing... I highly recommend the Thai Mussels.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A great spot right by the Sondheim and Town Hall theatres. Noisy but fun with great Belgian beer and quick courteous servce

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Location is the great advantage of BXL, but the warm welcome and cheerful service also make it very attractive. As in so many places, it's hard to have a conversation with your date, but a liking for the Belgian beer will help that. I expect to go there again and again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was fair, not especially good but not horrible. The food was very good and the menu was pretty varied. Good selection of beer options. It was too high priced and very loud. Too loud to have cross-table conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Despite its slightly unimpressive bar appearance, the brunch was actually very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We met some friends of ours at BXL Times Square as we both happen to be vacationing in Manhattan. Everybody knows that Belgian makes the best beer in the world. You pair that with some excellent choices for Moules and Frites and you have great beer, great food, and good friends.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I use BXL for casual business lunches. The food and service are always good and well priced.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great to place for Belgian beer and solid burgers, steaks, fries, mussels, et al. Definitely more neighborhood bar and grill than chain (despite proximity to Times Square) caters to French speaking guests without being obnoxious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food was delicious and generous. The mussels were amazing as was the Lomo Saltado. The chips and aji amarillo sauce were a wonderful start to a really good and satisfying meal. Service is excellent, everyone working there is delightful. Can't wait to return when next we are in Red Bank. Thank you for a lovely dinner.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Outstanding Value, Spicy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great typical belgian cuisine, with great Belgian beer

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.