Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Butter Midtown

BUTTER is located in Midtown Manhattan. Executive Chef, Alex Guarnaschelli offers traditional American fare highlighted and enhanced by subtle global influences with the grace notes of seasonality.

70 West 45th
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
45th street between 5th & 6th avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 302-8703

Website:
http://www.butterrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alexandra Guarnaschelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Butter Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (91)
Special Occasion (88)
Fit for Foodies (80)
See All
Creative Cuisine (76)
Pre/post Theatre (62)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Business Meals (55)
Romantic (51)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Handcrafted Cocktails (43)
Cozy (38)
Good for Groups (35)
Fun (35)
Great for Lunch (35)
Bar Seating (33)
Hot Spot (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Casual (27)
Comfort Food (27)
Worth the Drive (23)
Authentic (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Seasonal (10)
Late-night Find (9)
People Watching (8)
Tapas (8)
Disabled Access (6)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Vegan (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Went for brunch which was buffet style. Had to remind them to refill certain dishes. Buffet concept was fine but the menu was not as varied as expected. Not sure if it was worth $40

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

We went to the Sunday brunch and the food was really good! I think we’ll be back sometime for dinner and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was really tasty and full of flavor, however, our waiter was not attentive at all. He never came back to see if our food was alright and I constantly had to flag him down to get assistance. If it wasn't my daughter's birthday I would have left after waiting 15 minutes for someone to take our beverage order but my daughter had been dying to come here. On another note, the busy boy was very helpful.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing, delicious, outstanding, i could go on and on! This was easily the best meal i have ever had in my life. We ordered the chili rubbed octopus, tomato panzanella salad, gnocchi mac and cheese, guinea hen ravioli, NY strip steak, goat cheese grits, zucchini gratin, chocolate espresso cake and raspberry beignets along with many of the delicious cocktails! Everything was so fresh and seasoned to perfection. The octopus was the most tender and delicious octopus I've ever had. The atmosphere was wonderful!
However the service could use some improvements.. our waiter was a bit rude. Myself and 4 friends came for a ladies dinner to celebrate the upcoming wedding of one of our friends. We requested separate checks at the end of the meal and got some attitude in response. We had several cocktails, a few appetizers, split a few sides, everyone had an entree and everyone had a desert so i understand that it may not have been ideal to split them up but he was pretty rude in his response. At this point, I said just bring one check and i will put the whole thing on my card and we can figure it out later. The menu and online both say that gratuity is automatically added for parties of 6 or more (totally fine, i definitely understand this) however when the server dropped off the check for the 5 of us he had added 20% gratuity and did not disclose it. Luckily we noticed on the receipt when i was completing the signature/tip lines. I have worked in restaurants and bars for over 10 years myself and he would have received a 25-30% despite his not so friendly nature had he not taken it upon himself to add gratuity (contrary to the restaurants policy on the menu) and not let us know about it. I am hoping that we just caught the waiter on a bad night and that this is not his typical way to treat customers... especially groups with a final check totaling over $500. I loved the food, the ambiance and everything but the service. We would good back with a different server!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was terrific and so was the service. However, I was a bit disappointed because the executive chef, Alex, was at the restaurant and we were there because of her and her reputation. We let the server know; however while Alex did greet another table, she did not come to ours which was disappointing since we had specially let our server know.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Birthday fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

2 visits (dinner and lunch) in 3 days. Yup. For lunch, shared small plates and had plenty of time to walk to the theater in time for the matinee show.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and overall a great experience!! The server made great recommendations and let us take our time. We really enjoyed it and would definitely go back.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I've been twice; experience both times was very good. The booth seating is great for two and high ceilings help dampen the noise.

Food is good but the panzanella was a serious disappointment - cut up tomatoes with some dressing and a few croutons. We make it much better at home! The cauliflower is delicious and creative but it is begging for some cayenne - otherwise it was a bit bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

We had a fantastic experience. The food was outstanding and the service was extremely good. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 18, 2017

So great, we came back for lunch 2 days later. Our server was great, and I told her she looks like Alex - especially her beautiful smile.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great server and service. Menu was a bit limited and restaurant was not super busy but it was a Sunday night. Overall, good value.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We went to Butter today for Sunday brunch buffet. It was amazing! We ordered a carafe of peach bellinis for my daughter and I and my husband got a Bloody Mary. The carafe is a really good value and the bellinis were delicious. There was a wide variety of food on the buffet ranging from sweet to savory, including all the requisite breakfast staples. The hanger steak was delicious and the Mac and cheese gnocchi was melt in your mouth. There were also a couple of salads and veggies. There was an assortment of pastries as well, and the croissants and donuts were melt in your mouth. We literally did not taste anything that wasn't excellent. Don't go if you're dieting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Meeting up with old friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2017

So disappointed from bar service, timliness of food, taste/quality of food...regretting my decision to go to Butter on Sat and a shame. Will not be revisiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We enjoyed the food and vibe however our server was barely adequate. We had been seated for 15 minutes before he approached us. Didn't greet or welcome us to the restaurant - just asked about drink requests. Throughout the ordering process we had to pull words out of him about the menu. It seemed to all of us in our party, he didn't want to engage or talk. Nothing changed throughout the night - he remained a verbal minimalist and we had to ask the bus help for several requests. I did not agree with the automatic 20% gratuity added to the bill, as he did not earn it.
Somewhat disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was a lovely dinner start to finish. The flavors were amazing and the apps were delicious. The only disappointment was the dessert. Lacked flavor and depth. Would definitely return!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Had a great time but the food and drinks were way too expensive. We paid more at lunch than we did for our dinner at Catch and Gato!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was great waitress was attentive the only problem was I had the tacos couldn't pick them up by hand they fell apart, who eats tacos with a knife and fork??

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Another great business lunch at Butter. This has become my go to restaurant for business lunches in NYC.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food was good. Service was atrocious. I would loved to have had dessert or coffee but was tired of waiting between courses and chose to get the check instead, which was an ordeal in itself. Return? Nope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We are here based on a recommendation. We will likely not return. Our service was wonderful and the servers were attentive. The food however was just ok. We had stuffed peppers, strip steak, salmon and spinach. The taste was average. I could have made the same thing at home for about 1/4 of the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I think it was overpriced for what we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I'm well acquainted with fine dining. It's not unusual for me to spend a lot of money on food; however, the food at Butter was not worth the price. There was nothing special about the steak or the pork chop. The gnocchi mac and cheese was bland. The experience was truly disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Soooo amazing!! Second time and did not suck! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Was expecting a great meal, ended up with a overly fatty meat and half cooked pre-frozen fish. Server came to our table once and could care less how we were doing. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

While the food at Butter is very good and could have leaned into outstanding if the rest of the experience was outstanding. The waitress was not available. The service was very slow. The restaurant does not have a sommelier so we were referred to the manager for input, he did not seem highly professional or adapt at giving wine advice. We were going to order dessert but the waitress took so long coming back to our table we just asked for the check and immediately gave her our credit card for fear we would not see her again. My husband went to the Men's room and walked past her back to our table where she and the wait staff and manager were all just standing around chatting. She actually never brought back our check, the bus boy brought it back to us. SO incredibly sad to have spent the amount of money we did on dinner and feel used by the restaurant because they gladly took our money and did not deliver, had we not given them the credit card we should have walked out without paying. We truly would never go back or recommend them because you are paying for a luxury restaurant and had a horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was excellent although sides portions were small for the price. highly recommend the foie gras! Excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The octopus was very tender and the salmon cooked to perfection. Loved the Beet Salad and Burrata - excellent!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We were actually pretty stunned by our experience here. The prices are high (read far too expensive) but the food is truly average. The chef is well known but this place just doesn't impress...at all. And the ambiance is that of a high end TGI Friday's. I'm so sorry to say this. Please note...staff was great. Some dish details....Cesar Salad: hardly any greens and no discernible flavor. Shrimp: a bit chewy and no distinct flavor profile. Gnocchi mac and cheese: this is just a mistake. Flavorless pasta with flavorless mild cheeses. If you're a foodie just stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Love this place! It's our favorite place to eat and we're definitely going again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Although we were seriously delayed by traffic, the staff saved our booth and were unfailingly attentive, never intrusive, always pleasant and supportive. The side dishes are superb, and the seafood as well grilled and flavored as any I have had elsewhere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cambridge)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Lovely meal with great service. Quite noisy in there but that is a good sign of a popular place. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Went for our wedding anniversary and it was spectacular food, the time we waited for the food was the only negative, the best salmon I ever had. The salted rolls and butter were exquisite. Truly appreciated the champagne surprise to help us celebrate 42 years of marriage. Highly recommend Butter

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Maybe our expectations were high since it's Alex Guarnaschelli's place. The steak tartare was amazing. Grilled octopus was nothing spectacular. The pasta app was tasty and a large portion. Our service was sub-par. It was not busy, yet we waited for his attention for long periods of time. He also indicated that we could put in only one order, as the chef does not like multiple orders per table. He also understated the portions, talking us in to ordering more small plates/apps.

Overall, Butter is good but not memorable. I will not plan to dine again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We had lunch at Butter. The restaurant is beautifully designed. The service was exceptional. The atmosphere was lively and bustling- exactly what one would expect in Manhattan. The food was delicious and the presentation was nice. I would definitely recommend Butter.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

I was disappointed in the atmosphere and quality/uniqueness of food. I was on a trip to NYC and wanted to experience Alex's cooking/menu. I had the price-fixe luncheon and found the food okay but nothing extraordinary. I also was seated right in the aisle which provided no privacy and constant motion around me. Not a great experience like I had hoped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Unfortunately on the evening we dined there it was very, very noisy and difficult to have a conversation or communicate with the server.
If you are a fan of the chef, you should try this place.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Sad to say I'd been looking forward to this experience but it was a complete let down. The hostess didn't check us an Open Table ID to read check in when we left to make sure I got my OpenTable points because I kept getting emails during dinner saying that I missed my reservation. The waitress we had was great until she disappeared in the middle of service and we found out from a new waiter that she had gone home from the night and didn't clear with us or say goodbye before she left. The food was good some mrs. With the appetizers. The main thing is the service was not remotely up to par for what it should have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Perfect meal and experience. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.