About Butter Midtown

70 West 45th
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

BUTTER is located in Midtown Manhattan. Executive Chef, Alex Guarnaschelli offers traditional American fare highlighted and enhanced by subtle global influences with the grace notes of seasonality.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
45th street between 5th & 6th avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 302-8703

Website:
http://www.butterrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alexandra Guarnaschelli

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Butter Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (192)
special occasion (161)
romantic (107)
See All
good for groups (103)
hot spot (59)
neighborhood gem (58)
notable wine list (57)
great for lunch (55)
vibrant bar scene (45)
great for brunch (21)
late-night find (17)
scenic view (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1499 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall the food was quite good. However ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 14 hours ago

Overall the food was quite good. However, the wait staff as a whole was very awkward. They communicated poorly, and one of the staff actually started pouring the leftover sauce from one of our appetizers onto my main entree as he was clearing the appetizer dish (so bizarre). Additionally, the pace of the meal was very off. They basically rushed the service, and at one point they moved my appetizer plate from in front of me to the side as I was about to take a bite from the plate. They came by multiple times during each course to see if they could clear our dishes. And we are not slow eaters. It would be a much better experience with a well trained wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

AMAZING!!! If I could, I would add an ad ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

AMAZING!!! If I could, I would add an additional bonus star. Our experience was made memorable by the delicious food, impeccable service, and overall great vibe. My girlfriend has wanted to visit Butter for some time now, so taking her for her bday was a must ;) I plan to visit again, and would recommend that everyone experience this flawless restaurant. Bon appetit!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was really delicious but the portio ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good was really delicious but the portions were skimpy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic. Everything we s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was fantastic. Everything we sampled was done with such attention to detail...from the cocktails to the desserts and coffee. The biggest complaint I have is the service. It was just very, very slow. As long as one isn't pressed for time, I think it's a lovely experience. My opinion is, if the restaurant can get over the hurdle of slow service, it would be unstoppable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great new find for me! Looking forward ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great new find for me! Looking forward to entertaining more clients here. Staff was lovely - menu was great- loved the environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They could not have been any more accomm ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

They could not have been any more accommodating. the service was excellent, the food impressed some very particular foodie types. The crowd was a bit boisterous by the time we got there so it was a little hard to talk at first. It got quieter as we ate so it ended up fine. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wow! We ordered from the Restaurant week ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wow! We ordered from the Restaurant week menu and it was all exceptional. So happy I selected Butter to celebrate my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An expensive bummer. Adequate food, exce ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

An expensive bummer. Adequate food, exceptionally cold, neglectful, and sloppy service, prices out of line. Somehow I doubt Alex G., if she's anything like the person I see on TV, would have been happy at all had she been with us at Butter. The negatives swamped the positive-- the food was ok-- but there was no vibe, no buzz, no warmth. Not sure why anyone would come here for any reason other than celeb chef curiosity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Delicious and lovely

 
 (London)
·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious and lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband is a huge fan of Alex Guarnas ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My husband is a huge fan of Alex Guarnaschelli on "Chopped," so when our weekend plans were canceled we decided to eat at her restaurant on a whim. I don't know why I didn't google the place first; none of my friends were surprised that we had a very poor experience here.

The cocktails (Ghost Margarita) and appetizers (burrata) were good, but the NY Strip I ordered was so full of gristle I couldn't get one edible bite. And even if I had been able to chew it, the thick glaze it was encased in was so salty it burned the back of my throat. (And I love salt!) This meal was maybe the second thing I have ever sent back to a kitchen in my life. I ordered the sea bass special instead, and while it was delicious on the inside, it was covered with that same briny goo. The service was friendly and attentive, but for some reason on a 90+ summer day, the air conditioning was barely turned on. The waiters admitted that it tended to be either freezing or stifling in the cavernous dining room. Sweat was trickling down my back all through the meal, and although our waiter said she would try to get the a/c turned up, she didn't express much confidence and it never happened. I had to get my Chinese fan out of my purse -- the one I bought for use on hot subway platforms -- and fan myself off and on throughout the meal.

For a "fine dining" restaurant with $25 appetizers and $50+ entrees, this whole experience was unacceptable. Really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

Very cool and trendy space and is defini ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very cool and trendy space and is definitely what a non New Yorker should expect to find in the city! The food was a 7/10 and a bit overpriced for what it was but overall we had a nice experience and would recommend it to friends visiting New York.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

great food, nice service. except that th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

great food, nice service. except that the bartender didn't offer me the happy hour wines until after i asked, so i paid $14 a glass, when i could've have paid $9. grrr

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our main dishes were great! I us the du ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our main dishes were great! I us the duck and my husband has the pork chops. The flavor and temperature was perfect!! I wasn't too impressed with the greens. It was more like a partially cooked salad.

The service was beyond sub par! I should have given it 1 star. We had reservations and arrived at 5:45. We literally waited 15 mins before someone came over to say anything to us! My husband and I were talking for a while before we realized no one had come over to greet us. We watched the servers walk around casually and talk and periodically check in with the six tables in the dining room. Finally, our server came over and meekly said, hi and asked for our order. He never asked if we had questions, he didn't make any suggestions, he spoke so lightly we could barley hear him. He has absolutely no enthusiasm at all and was completely off putting. Our food came and he never asked how it was. I was very disappointed. Why doesn't great food and good service come hand in hand?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Big disappointment. I took 5 colleagues ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Big disappointment. I took 5 colleagues to dinner on a Thursday evening. These colleagues were in town from London and Washington, DC. The service at Butter was terrible. Our waiter only stopped by our table 3 times over the course of 2.5 hours. Our first round of drinks took at least 20 minutes to arrive and we weren't asked if we would like another round until we were nearly finished with our main course. The food was generally good but most of us agreed that it was too salty. I would not return; NYC has too many fabulous restaurants to give this one a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Underwhelming food. Great atmosphere.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Underwhelming food. Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

We had the tuna tartare and poached shri ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had the tuna tartare and poached shrimp appetizers, and both were good but not great; the tuna was very spicy and with the macadamia nuts, just seemed like an oddly conceptualized dish. Our entrees were better - the pork chop, chicken and a side of grits. The chicken, in particular was extremely good. Our waiter was fantastic and made the entire experience very enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

A very good experience. The food was ex ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

A very good experience. The food was exceptional and sevice very good. Our server had a confluence of tables, but was attentive and did not rush us.

The noise level was high. All hard surfaces around the dinning area amplified the noise. My only serious critique is the artwork, ugh the only thing worse would be the dogs playing poker series on velvet.

All and all a must in midtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

This may have been the best meal I've ev ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This may have been the best meal I've ever eaten. It's not cheap, but you're eating top-notch food prepared by a world-class chef. Simply exquisite dining. Foodies will have an appreciation for Guarnaschelli's masterful recipes, every bite is rich with a flawless balance of flavor (and O'Brien's as well for that matter, the raspberry beignets were to die for). Perfect for a special occasion, like before seeing a Broadway show. I don't see this as a place you bring the kids, or a place you whimsically stumble into and try out. This is the kind of place you get a reservation for a month in advance and plan a perfect evening around. It will be worth the effort, I promise. I cannot give this restaurant enough stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While visiting New York, Butter Midtown ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

While visiting New York, Butter Midtown was pretty high up on our list of things to try. We were so excited to try the famous hamburger and it definitely didn't disappoint. The cheese fondue and pickles that accompany the burger were our favorite part. Yum! Unfortunelty, the service made the experience not so pleasant. Our waiter was visibly "fed up" with us when we ordered a meal to share. He rarely came to our table to check on us and other waiters kept our waters filled and brought us our food. Alex (our original waiter) seemed to be doing everything BUT waiting on his tables. This was frustrating, and made the experience less than what was expected. For a restaurant this popular, I expected above and beyond service and was VERY disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

My son is a huge fan of the Food Network ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My son is a huge fan of the Food Network show, Chopped. Alex G. is his favorite! He requested we go to Butter on our recent trip to NYC. It did not disappoint! The food was fabulous and the service was outstanding. We had a wonderful lunch and made a special memory together before he leaves for college. We will definitely be going back to Butter!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb, the service excelle ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was superb, the service excellent. The wine list was quite extensive. I was pleasantly surprised to see several Napa Valley selections. Would have loved to have had a table visit from Iron Chef Alex, but we were notified that she was opening a new restaurant in Miami. We have seen her in the past. She is as charming as she is talented.

Butter is a great place for an after work meal, a special occasion or simply drink with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is very good at Butter and it's ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food is very good at Butter and it's a pretty restaurant. But the service is not only slow but annoying (not refilling drinks, not watching the table, expecting you to move your dirty plate etc.) Even worse was when I called to change the reservation from 4 to 6 people, they said they couldn't accommodate us - and the restaurant was half filled with plenty of spots for a 6-top. If a big supplier didn't work right across the street, I probably wouldn't be back....hmmm maybe that's why they don't care?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The tobacco-smoked double pork chop is o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The tobacco-smoked double pork chop is one of the best meals I have had in NYC. The food was terrific; however, the two times I went the service was lacking not due to lack of staff but lack of attention. I had to constantly ask for things for the table, like what the "of the day" was on each menu, for more butter (at BUTTER!), and for the check. In addition, on each visit there were menu items that were not available and instead of informing at the start of the night, I only found out when I ordered them!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The cocktails were delicious! The veal b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The cocktails were delicious! The veal bacon was outstanding along with the potato croquettes. The red snapper was cooked perfectly-very crispy but the snap peas were tough and fibrous making them in edible. The gnocchi Mac and cheese needed seasoning although the gnocchi were very light and airy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We had a great time and the food was gre ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a great time and the food was great. Wines were very well priced for the value. Excellent desserts too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best burger we have ever enjoyed. Excel ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best burger we have ever enjoyed. Excellent setting and Exceptional food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely outstanding food, atmosphere, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Absolutely outstanding food, atmosphere, and service. Every bite of food had an ultimate depth of flavor and beautiful presentation. What an amazing experience for our first time in New York City!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed every dish that we ord ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We really enjoyed every dish that we ordered, the halibut was really delicious! The restaurant was nice enough to treat my husband and I to glasses of champagne to help celebrate our wedding anniversary! We also got to meet and chat with Alex, which was so special to us! Thanks for making our anniversary dinner so memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The food at Butter Midtown was delicious ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food at Butter Midtown was delicious and service was perfect. The gnocchi mac 'n cheese and grits were great, and the halibut that my colleague had and the chicken that I had were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An oasis in the midtown sea of madness. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

An oasis in the midtown sea of madness. Went for a pre-theater dinner and it was perfect. The food and wine was wonderful. The space is serene and beautiful. The service was attentive, but unobtrusive. They were very sensitive to my time constraint. I would return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The halibut with lobster sauce was delic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The halibut with lobster sauce was delicious. However, when we first sat down the server took a long time to bring us bread and take our food orders. We ended up having to flag someone down. After they brought our meal we didn't see the servers again...no one refilled our waters and when we were finished it was a pretty long time before anyone took our plates / gave us the checks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Restaurant service was good but food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Restaurant service was good but food was a bit overpriced even for mid town.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice brunch buffet in a beautiful settin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Nice brunch buffet in a beautiful setting. Delicious, well priced, fresh food. The potato haystacks/hash brown patties were TO DIE FOR!!! Have been wanting to check out Alex Guarnaschelli's place for years. Glad I had the chance. Beautiful decor- wood and trees. If I didn't know better, I would have thought the name of the restaurant was "Tree" or "Forest", instead of "Butter". But it was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I were in NYC for the wee ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I were in NYC for the weekend and made it a point to go to Butter. The service was excellent and the food was absolutely amazing. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been 1 1/2 years since we last at ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It had been 1 1/2 years since we last ate here. Twice I had a filet (steak) that was melt in your mouth good. Best steak both times I ever had. They have now switched to a pedestrian strip that was tasteless. I have had steak that is better at Outback. Definitely not worth $49. Then I get my bill and see $18 for my iced tea. I asked about it and only then did the waitress tell me they don't give free refills so it was $6 each time. Again, if it was some special flavored tea or tasted like anything special, I might understand, but the tea at Cheesecake Factory is better. It's a nice restaurant and we certainly enjoyed the other items we ordered, but it felt like the restaurant is coasting downhill since our last visits. It seems like they are riding on Alex's reputation and have cheapened their product. I have no problem paying this much for a great meal, but this time I felt a little ripped off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Well done comfort food, but no "wow, thi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Well done comfort food, but no "wow, this is awesome" for us. . The roasted cauliflower entrée was a very good veggie option. Good variety on the dessert menu (not the normal staples i.e., lava cake, cheesecake, etc.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was just perfect. We ordered ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Everything was just perfect. We ordered our favorite classic cocktails - Old Fashioned and a Manhattan and they were divine. The waiter recommend the perfect Bourbon that was something new for the Old Fashioned...and it was really tasty.

The food was fresh and beautiful. Loved the Watermelon and Feta salad and the beignets were lovely. Will go back again next time in NYC.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic venue, highly recom ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Absolutely fantastic venue, highly recommended. Catered well for all five of us and especially for myself as I have many food dietary requirements. The staff are very friendly and well presented. The interior looks great, very modern, and very clean.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We chose to have dinnner here for our on ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We chose to have dinnner here for our one night in the city and enjoyed the meal thoroughly. The restaurant is beautifuly designed with a cozy modern feel and the tables are not on top of each other. The bread and butter served with dinner were great! As s starter we has the veal bacon, which was tender and served with a tangy mustard sauce. I had the halibut which was in one of the best broths I have had. Really rich in tomato flavor and seasoned perfectly. My husband ordered the scallop special which he enjoyed, but the size of the dish and scallops didn't leave room for me to taste! As the scallops appeared small. We shared the gnocchi mac which was also creamy, cheesy and delicious. I think we will be back! This restaurant was not crowded at all so I hope it stays around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The red snapper was the best seafood dis ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The red snapper was the best seafood dish I have ever had! I would love to have the recipe for the sauce!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.