Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Butter Midtown

BUTTER is located in Midtown Manhattan. Executive Chef, Alex Guarnaschelli offers traditional American fare highlighted and enhanced by subtle global influences with the grace notes of seasonality.

70 West 45th
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
45th street between 5th & 6th avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 302-8703

Website:
http://www.butterrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alexandra Guarnaschelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Butter Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (81)
Good for a Date (79)
Special Occasion (65)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Pre/post Theatre (62)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Business Meals (51)
Modern Decor (46)
Cozy (45)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Good for Groups (43)
Romantic (41)
Bar Seating (38)
Casual (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Notable Wine List (32)
Comfort Food (32)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Fun (30)
Hot Spot (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Happy Hour (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Healthy (14)
Authentic (14)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Organic (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (6)
Family Style (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Tapas (5)
Fireplace (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great Beer (3)
Historic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 19 hours ago

Fantastic food and great atmosphere!! We loved everything! Complements to the chef!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

I thought this place was very tasty & had a great look to itself-- I do wish that there was more on the menu & the prices weren't so high-- the portions were a good sizes though, better then I expected! I Love that it is Chef Alex G from Food Networks "Chopped" place, come for that experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Plenty seating at the bar. Negroni perfectly made. Carpaccio appetizer plate too small. Recommend the burrato appetizer instead or pesto. The lobster salad small plate was fresh and recommend. The sword fish special was plentiful enough for 2. Definitely get the coconut macaroon for dessert. Quite large very sweet can be shared with 3.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful experience. Everything we hoped it would be from a Chef we admire.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Staff, food and ambiance great. Will definitely recommend to friends

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I was surprised at how small the portions were. A tiny salad for twenty dollars. They could be a bit more generous with the food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely amazing food!! So happy we made this one of the places to be sure to go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Great place, we will definitely be back! Creative, tasty, fresh choices and wonderful cocktails.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food and great service. Bartender was not very personable. Obvious he had no desire to converse with his customers. He preferred hanging at the end of the bar with his fellow co workers.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was excellent but I was terribly disappointed with the orange juice. They served it over ice in an attempt to disguise the fact that is was concentrated.
The service was also disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Insanely expensive mediocre food. Our friends ordered flank steak on crostini that was so small I was actually embarrassed for having suggested the restaurant. It would not even have been an adequate appetizer. Then the waiter wanted to leave at 10:30 (on a Saturday night) so asked us to pay our bill!! Total disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We were visiting New York and wanted to try it out. Arrived and we're seated immediately. It was over 10 minutes before anyone greeted us at the table. When the waiter arrived, he said hello, but never said his name, never made a suggestion and it appeared he would rather be somewhere else. After he served us drinks he said he was leaving because it was slow. When our food arrived it was less than good. My wife had a double cut pork chop that was smothered in a lot of beans and the meat tasted like liquid smoke and not tobacco smoked. The pork chop was comped, but when my wife told the waiter she ordered it medium well, he said she shouldn't have ordered it because anything more done than medium would be tough. She has had medium well chops before that we're not. We are not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious! Flavors on the swordfish and salmon was fantastic!!!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very good food but pricey.
We had foie gras, served warm, and soft shell crabs. Both dishes perfectly cooked. Pleasant and quiet environment. The service was friendly but a bit slow . The check however was stiff: $170 for 2 with one glass of wine per person and no dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food, great drinks, great service! Sea bass was excellent!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I treated myself for my birthday. The food was excellent as well as the service. The owner came out to chat with some of the guests in the restaurant. I would definitely go back if I am ever in Midtown again.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This restaurant was a huge disappointment from beginning to end. Waiter came over and left the menus. Long wait for him to return to take order. Even though the place wasn't so crowded, I had to flag him down to come take our order. We ordered wine which never came until AFTER the meal was delivered. Had to ask for bread and butter. Food was mediocre. Ordered dessert and coffee and asked that the coffee be brought same time as dessert - coffee came first, dessert came by the time we finished the coffee. We sat in the upstairs lounge afterward and chef Alex walked by with a scowl on her face - not friendly or welcoming at all. No maitre'd that I could see. This place lacks management of any kind. Do NOT go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Butter is a mediocre restaurant at best.

The pros: Great for business lunches/dinner. Good for groups. The decor and overall ambiance of the restaurant is very nice.

The cons: The service was boring, bland and dismissive (our waiter seemed almost annoyed at the 2 simple question we asked him). Extremely expensive for lunch (I split an appetizer (hummus) with 4 people in our group, had the chicken breast lunch entree and an iced tea and spent close to 60$ inclusive of tip). To top it off, they charged us 6$ for 5 pieces of extra pita bread for our hummus.

Overall: Given the plethora of great restaurant options in midtown this is easily one to pass.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

What a wonderful place, came here from uk and was not disappointed- excellent food, outstanding service and the most wonderful atmosphere of any restaurant I've ever eaten in. When we come back to NY in a few years I will definitely be coming back!!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Pork Chop, mac n Cheese gnocchi , carpaccio were good. Outdoor Bar was closed for the entire stay, which was disappointing since it showed it was on the website. Dishes were dirty with greasy fingerprints. Waiter was great. They is so many good restaurants in NY I wouldn't waist my money at Butter.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The pork chop was perfect, as was my friend's Steak. The service was really slow. We had to ask to find our waiter three times - twice for drinks. It isn't fun when you run out of water and drinks more than once in an evening's dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Delicious pea salad, really light and bright.
Mac and cheese gnocchi was rich and amazing
Service was friendly and informative

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

THis place rocks. Great good. Plenty of choices. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We took our daughter to Butter after her graduation from NYU and it was so much better than expected! We were disappointed with another Resturant that wanted to switch us from one more casual location to its larger more business location. We were so pleasantly surprised by our last minute change to Butter. Couldn't be more happy. The food and service were superb! Will go again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Once entering Butter, I was delighted at the look and ambiance of the restaurant. It had a sophisticated yet cozy feel to it. However once we sat down that feeling went away quickly by the abysmal service. Once we sat down it took nearly ten minutes for our waiteress to finally arrive and take our drink order. Which I because at the time it was pretty busy, but I took a mental note of it. Then once we finally got our drinks she was gone. She gave so much attention to other tables ( now mind you I wanted to give her a chance, as others may have had a show to catch), but it boarded on being completely ignored. It was another twenty minutes before she finally arrived, took our order and finally receive out bread for the table. The bread was very delicious so I thought that things would be getting better. But I was very wrong. We waited a VERY long time to finally receive our food, however no one cleared our plates from our appetizers so the runner had to clear our plates, bring them to the kitchen, come back, serve us and then go back for clean silverware. My partners chicken was inedible and dry and my risotto which I ordered to go with my meal arrived when I was finished with my entree. Alex guarnaschelli is one of my favorite celebrity chefs and I cook from her cookbook quite often. But her restaurant was a big letdown, mainly from the poor service I received. Especially on Mother's Day. It was my first and only time I will be dining at Butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family went to Butter this past Sunday May 14th for Mother's Day and had booked and early dinner at 5:00 which included my 8 year old grand daughter. To sum it up quickly, while the food was very good, the service was terrible, the portion size for the price was pretty outrageous and after we waited for our waitress for 20 minutes to come to back to see if we wanted desert, although we did we were so frustrated with waiting the entire meal to be served we got the check and left. I doubt I would return considering there are so many great restaurants I love to eat at in the city that have enough waiters and waitresses to take care of the dinner rush hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Mother's Day brunch buffet was unremarkable. We were hoping for a memorable meal and did not find it at Butter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Would not recommend. We went for brunch on Mother's Day. It was darker and noisier than expected. The buffet options were quite limited, especially for vegetarians. There was meat in one of the dishes but wasn't labeled as such. The buffet platters that were out were constantly on low or empty. Nothing felt abundant or celebratory. Disappointing. Definitely put a damper on our celebration. Way overpriced for the offering. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day brunch. Good value for the food and the location. Iron Chef Guarnaschelli was very accessible and gracious. Food was superior.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Butter Midtown was our favourite and most memorable meal during our most recent visit to New York and one of our most favourite meals ever. We are fans of Chef Alex Guarnaschelli before we visited and were very much looking forward to our reservation - and our experience did not disappoint! The food is fresh, creative, and absolutely delicious. Great value and this quality is only matched, if not surpassed, by the friendly, informative and professional service. If you are looking for a nice meal pre-theatre, an intimate date night, or nice dinner-out, we would recommend Butter Midtown - it strikes the perfect balance between warm, inviting casual atmosphere and high-end, food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I enjoyed the food. It would have been better if it were appropriately hot when it arrived at the table.

Service was good but slow.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great prix fixe lunch for $35. The salmon special and chicken liver toast were delicious.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Absolutely an outstanding meal

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

AMAZING! The food, service, was great. They kept your table clean while eating without being a disturbance. They kept clean silver wear on the place settings, and knew who the food went to, even if it was not your waiter bringing it. Great atmosphere, nice and cozy. very welcoming.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This was my first time eating at Butter and was really excited because I am a huge fan of Alex Guarnaschelli. The food and astomphere were great. The only complaint I have is when I saw the host stand on the bar countertop with her sneakers on to write the daily special of the day.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Loved eating at the restaurant while visiting NYC for the week! Would definitely recommend trying the Gnocci Mac N Cheese, so creative and tastey.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Disappointed after looking forward to it. First round of foie gras was cold in the middle. It seemed like they just threw the same piece back on the grill to get it a little warmer. And we agreed it was probably the least flavorful foie gras we've ever had. Gnocchi was great, duck was pretty good.
Restaurant was loud and service was a bit slow. Asked about chefs tasting menu and were disappointed that the waiter discouraged it, didn't know what was on it at first, told us it would take a long time, and it was set with no substitutions allowed. Restroom was not clean, although the main restaurant had nice decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

staff very nice and accomadating. Service excellant.

Tags: Wood Oven, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Best steak I've had in a very long time. Great drinks. Great service

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great service and dining experience without feeling rushed. We left very full and satiated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.