Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Butter Midtown

BUTTER is located in Midtown Manhattan. Executive Chef, Alex Guarnaschelli offers traditional American fare highlighted and enhanced by subtle global influences with the grace notes of seasonality.

70 West 45th
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
45th street between 5th & 6th avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 302-8703

Website:
http://www.butterrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alexandra Guarnaschelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Butter Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (75)
Good for a Date (73)
Special Occasion (66)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (60)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Business Meals (41)
Romantic (40)
Cozy (36)
Good for Groups (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Bar Seating (33)
Fun (32)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Notable Wine List (28)
Casual (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Comfort Food (20)
Modern Decor (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Authentic (13)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Seasonal (9)
Late-night Find (7)
People Watching (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tapas (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vegan (3)
Organic (3)
Fireplace (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 14 hours ago

I went for restaurant week but was very disappointed with the menu options. I've actually eaten a butter several times and we decided to go with regular menu items

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The Sunday brunch was not very impressive. I was looking forward to this restaurant but it fell short fir the brunch. Perhaps a dinner menu would be true to their reputation. Atmosphere was interesting and that made it fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great customer service. The atmosphere was very chic--great for a date or meet-up with friends. Food was excellent and very unique.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

It was my wife's Birthday and she want to go to this restaurant for a special dinner. I drove from Newport RI to the city and had a tribal time. We ordered the 120.00 steak and it took 50 minutes to cook? When it came to the table it was already cut ? Why would they cut the steak and allow to juices to flow or did they cut it to make it cook faster? I have had better service at a Wendy's. The server ( alex? tall man) seemed to spend the entire evening at the table next to ours rather then waiting on others? Several time I tried to get his attention and he would just walk by.
Again this was my wife's 50 birthday and she wanted a memorable time, I guess you can say we had one
Plus no salt on the table and when we asked the server for salt he looked at us as if we were craze -
There is duct work hanging from the ceiling that has not been cleaned or dusted for sometime - YUK
I don't believe we will be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

While the food was excellent, the portions were very small. Furthermore, who serves a hamburger without fries? While the burger was delicious, serving it on a plate without accompaniment made it look rather pathetic. Also, for $36 the burger should have come with something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was good the waitress Bennett was very nice but we couldn't understand why we had to order the entire meal at the beginning? The restaurant wasn't that full. Normally we like to take out time with an appetizer or two and a cocktail before deciding on our dinner order. Apparently this is verboten in Butter

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

A group of girl friends and I went to BUTTER on a Friday night and while the food was pretty solid, the service wasn't the greatest. We were told we had to order our entrees when we ordered our appetizers (totally fine), but we ended up waiting 45 minutes in between courses, and than another 25 mins for the waitress to swipe our cards.

Drinks- I can't comment on everyone's, but I had the Holy basil and boy was it delicious. Super light and refreshing. Perfect summer cocktail.

Food wise- we had 4 appetizers: gnocchi mac & cheese, burrata, veal bacon, &a beef carpaccio. All four were incredible but the carpaccio was bar none my favorite.

Main course I had the cavappi. This was a macaroni dish with a lamb Ragu. The pasta was delicious however it was spicy to the point that half way through eating it I couldn't taste more than the spice. Some of my friends commented the same for their spaghetti with wild mushrooms, and the others that had steak and the Sea Bass said they were incredible!

Overall definitely a fun dining experience, but just know you will be sitting down for a several hour dinner.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My boyfriend and I came to Butter while visiting the city this week and we loved it! The environment/music were very warm and welcoming; it was just beautiful. We both ordered the NY Strip steak with chive butter, wild spinach and a side of the garlic herb French fries and they were to die for! The steak was so tender and flavorful, and a large portion as well! We barely finished them! However, our server was not attentative and seemed very arrogant. I was a server, so this rubbed me the wrong way and my boyfriend was not happy with him either. I did see servers who were bubbly and friendly, so it was probably just our server that had the issue! Overall, we had a wonderful experience and we will have to make another stop when we come to the city!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous roasted chicken served with succulent roasted parsnips. Also tried the grilled dandelion greens with arugula - a great accompaniment! Selection of wines by the glass could be better, but overall a treat I'd love to repeat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We heard about chef Alex Guarnaschelli on Top Chef and absolutely had to try her restaurant! Butter had the best steak I have ever had. The chicken and the salads were also exceptional. This restaurant is a MUST!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent. Lunch took a little over two hours...waiter forgot to put in entree after app. It was a long lunch. He blamed the kitchen saying it was due yo a new menus that day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Do not go here hungry. Portion sizes are incredibly small, and prices are very high. Our small plate salad, while very tasty, would not have filled a typical cereal bowl. It was $18. A small plate of veal bacon was $15, and only had 5 bites. The small plate hummus had around 6 pieces of pita bread the size of quarters. We spent over $50 and left hungry. Also, very dark and very noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The first thing that hit me when I first walked in was the NOISE!!! I'm usually not adverse to noise but this was over the top. It took a long time for the waiter to even notice we were there and then 20 minutes to bring out drinks over . The food on the other hand was delicious. Tuna tartare was great and the lobster salad although small was great-the rolls were awesome ! The noise was really off putting and i don't know how you fix that.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I ordered a kale salad. The salad came with no kale and had some food that wasn't listed (with gluten, and I'm celiac), while missing the food that was listed. The salad was very small too although priced as an entree. I mentioned this to the waiter and he failed to offer me a replacement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Disjointed menu, cold burger and stale bread sums it up... Javier was a good server, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We had a beautiful unrushed family dinner. Terrific service, delicious food. A bit noisy in the dining room, even on a Monday, but we stayed long enough for the room to mellow down. Music sometimes raucous,sometimes perfect. Took advantage of the Monday burger special with half priced bottles of wine. Quite pricey wine list. As often really happens, the quality of the meal is measured by the love around the table with whom the repast is shared; Butter staff allowed our family to enjoy a joyful night together.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

This was not my first visit to Butter. I return because it's excellent--food, service, atmosphere and pricing. It's delightful!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Overall, the food was mostly outstanding - especially the octopus, the spaghetti with mushrooms, and the raspberry beignets. The kale salad would have been outstanding had it had a little less dressing. The tuna tartare was mediocre at best and was very expensive all things considered.

We had a great waiter who was incredibly personable and helpful. Our bus boy was also very attentive, making sure that we were never without empty water and would help us make space/remove empty plates very quickly. We were also there when it was fairly empty (>25 guests).

Will be back for more spaghetti, octopus and beignets

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Brunch was a very meager spread barely fit to justify price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Went on a birthday date with someone who is as big an Alex Guarnichelli as I am . Restaurant was a little louder than anticipated, but not horribly so. Dining room was beautiful and comfortable, and food was to die for. Staff was absolutely fantastic. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I have wanted to go to Butter since I knew it was Alex Guarnaschelli's restaurant. I am a big fan girl. I love watching her on the Food Network. The place did not disappoint. The atmosphere was wonderful. The food was awesome. I would totally go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great restaurant. Amazing service. The only downside was that my steak had a lot of fat. Other than that it was pretty amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Nice and tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Really mediocre and the epitome of mediocre midtown dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Lived up to hype. Glad we made the effort to put it on our itinerary while in NYC. great everything!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Really enjoyed it, but I had my 5 year old with me and it was not suited for children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

the worst
especially the server are way to rude....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We had the steak for two. It was good. But a bit overpriced. Lots of fat marbled in. Drinks were divine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The food was outstanding. Comfort with an edge...a bite, if you will. My businrss companions enjoyed it as well. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Very disappointing. Salmon and the NY Strip were over cooked and the steak was fatty. Not what we were expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The prix fixe menu was an excellent value at $35, for a business meal. There was a vegan option as well as a regular option for seafood or beef. The food was very tasty and the right size - not skimpy and not too much for comfort. The grilled salmon was very tasty and the service just right - waiters available during the busy lunch period and not over bearing. My favorite thing about Butter is the ambience - moderate lighting in a downstairs environment and comfortable banquettes that allow for some privacy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The whole atmosphere of the restaurant is classy and the ambience was elegant yet subtle hints of nature was evident in the beautiful photographs hung on wood-paneled walls. Service is great, the staff was very interactive and friendly - which is always a 'yes!' to diners. The food experience, however, was a little bit of a let down, although I'd have to say the appetizers were way better than I expected. We ordered the Truffle Gnocchi and Mushroom Spaghetti and both were so rich and robust in flavors that we were almost full and happily satisfied by the time our main courses arrived. For our main courses we ordered the steak, pork chop, and the vegetarian cauliflower dish. The steak was a little oily and although my friend had ordered medium-well, the meat was still too soft. The pork chop was cooked well but accompanied by too many beans. The cauliflower was also interesting, but it started to get a little too rich near the end due to the coconut milk used to cook its sauce. Dessert was also a bit of a let down, we had ordered the raspberry beignets, pistachio mochi ice cream, and some caramel egg dessert. The egg dessert turned out to be a super sweet drink that resembled a watered-down version of a root bear float, but the other two desserts were just OK. Overall, not bad at all but the food here was not quite what I expected but the mood of the restaurant and service is impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Not impressed. Food was overpriced for the taste of it. Service was slow. Overrated resturant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I recently had the pleasure of Dinning at Butter NYC. It was my 30th wedding anniversary and i wanted to do something special with my wife. We are both fans of Chopped and thought it would be a great idea to try Alex's restaurant since we were going to be in town for a show. The staff at Butter were very friendly and could not of been more accommodating. The food was just amazing, we ordered the mac and cheese gnocchi and the poached shrimp for our appetizer. The gnocchi was outstanding and i could eat a huge bowl of just that and would be a happy camper. The tomahawk steak for 2 was unbelievable. Again i would like to thank the staff for making my night with my wife a great experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Cocktails were awesome. Had fish for the main course, which was very well done and seasoned. Only complaint would be that I would have appreciated a tasting menu as the dinner plates were so large that there was no way to order an appetizer or salad.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was delicious and the service outstanding. Shrimp appetizer was delightful and the salmon and bass dinners were prepared perfectly.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with wonderful service. Appetizers were delicious, should have passed on the steak. Pricey for a strip steak that was disappointing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The lemon raspberry ice cream sandwich dessert was so sour it was pretty much inedible. Everything else was good. Had a great waitress at first but then she left and service was not good after that.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Took my 14 yr old Food Network fan twins for Bday. We all got the Prixe Fixe menu. My daughter has allergies which they were conscious of. No bun for her burger and also no fries. We just had water to drink which they refilled throughout the meal without us asking. While I appreciate their mindfulness of her allergies and leaving food off her plate, I was shocked when we were charged $16 for water that we didn't even ask for. And here we paid full price for 85% of a meal. They did not offer any substitutes for what she couldn't have. For what was such a nice meal, I hated to complain, but they wouldn't just keep pouring new bottles of wine without the customer asking. He talked to the manager and got $8 taken off. Well, another $5 came off his tip. I've been to plenty of upscale restaurants all over the world and have never been charged for regular water.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Butter midtown was a great time. Our whole party thouroughly enjoyed the food. Overall, Butter is a great place to go to por any type of formal to semiformal occation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.