About Butter Midtown

70 West 45th
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

BUTTER is located in Midtown Manhattan. Executive Chef, Alex Guarnaschelli offers traditional American fare highlighted and enhanced by subtle global influences with the grace notes of seasonality.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
45th street between 5th & 6th avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 302-8703

Website:
http://www.butterrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alexandra Guarnaschelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Butter Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (142)
Special Occasion (140)
Romantic (88)
See All
Good for Groups (74)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Great for Lunch (51)
Hot Spot (50)
Notable Wine List (44)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Good for a Date (24)
Great for Brunch (24)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Late-night Find (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Cozy (15)
Business Meals (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Authentic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Casual (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Scenic View (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1642 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, but very slow service. There ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, but very slow service. There were times where the server forgot about us and we had to go to the host to get our server's attention.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Extremely underwhelmed by the food, espe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Extremely underwhelmed by the food, especially since the Exec Chef is Alex Guarnaschelli. Returned my entree to the kitchen essentially uneaten. It was really unappealing. My husband's dessert, the special red velvet cake, was dry and in places, burned. Cocktails so loaded with ice it was evident that the pour was small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

I took my fiancé here for his Birthday. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

I took my fiancé here for his Birthday. We've been dying to get to the city and try it out, as weare huge fans of Alex from watching her so frequently on Food Network . I must say, neither of us were disappointed! The service was quick, the ambience was nice and set the tone just right, and the food was impeccable. I had the salmon with sweet corn succotash and he had the short rib over bucatini pasta, and we finished the night with cappuccinos and a peach tarte. Everything was excellent. The ONLY downside was Alex herself was not there, and I was hoping to surprise my fiance with a special greeting. However, the hostess did give me a signed photograph of Alex, which was much appreciated! Would definitely go again and recommend to anybody who is taking a trip to the city!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a before the theater dinner. It ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was a before the theater dinner. It was delicious, service was good and we got in and out in a timely fashion. We have been here several times and always enjoy it. We will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This is the second time my husband and I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

This is the second time my husband and I have eaten here and both times it was mind-blowingly good. We had both appetizers and entrees and everything was to die for.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited 20 minutes for our server to t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We waited 20 minutes for our server to take our drink order.

Our water service and bread service was great, but our regular server was very slow and not suggestive of menu items.

We finally flagged him down and gave him our whole order for apps, and dinner (as we felt we would never see him again), he had no suggestions or other questions. Never even asked "can I get you started with some apps"

Very disappointing; especially for a reservation made a month in advance. We won't be back for our next time in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

I've been here before at Lunch and had a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

I've been here before at Lunch and had a great time so i recommended it for dinner with friends. The hostess wasn't the most accommodating to begin with then we had a slight issue with the server and had to request the manager who wasn't the best either. Basically we ordered the lobster meatballs and pasta(which were so delicious) for starters. It was so great that my friend ordered it again for her dinner. She was told she couldn't have it the starter size for $35 but had to order the entree size for $50. She explained that she just ate one portion and wanted another for dinner. This is pasta we're talking about and we are women...it would be more than she would want to eat. The server insisted he could only serve her a larger size so she went ahead and ordered it. The explanation didn't sit well with us and we asked for the manager who repeated the same thing. I found it odd that i had to remind him that despite the fact the meatballs had been portioned into starter and entree sizes; it makes sense to accommodate his customer who already ordered one portion and liked it so much she ordered it again. Eventually he gave in but i'm shocked it took so much effort to be accommodated. The food was good but there are so many other restaurants with good food and great service as well. I'd rather got there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I was so disappointed by our experience ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was so disappointed by our experience at Butter...I have been waiting to go to either location for years and I am a long time fan of Alex Guarnaschelli. My husband and I booked dinner before the Adele concert this past Friday and arrived just before our reservation. The hostess team was lovely and seated us right away and the restaurant was beautiful. Our server was not very attentive nor personable, the bread that arrived consisted of one soft roll and two matching rolls that were so stale they crumbled like crackers. We asked for new bread, which was marginally better. The appetizer special that evening was a house made buccatini with lobster meatballs, herb oil. The meatballs were delish and hot, but the pasta was cold and it was a linguine and the sauce did not resemble the description we were given. My salmon was cold, my husband's NY Strip was cold and very fatty. He sent his back to be reheated, which only slightly improved the steak. We skipped desert because we were tired of having complaints. I am so sad to have to make negative comments because I wanted to love this restaurant so badly. I am not sure I will even try again because there were problems across the board for a $300+ dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

While some of the food was tasty, my ove ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

While some of the food was tasty, my overall way to describe the dining experience was maddening. Inferior service is not something you'd expect from a restaurant trying to label itself as fine dining, but this is what I endured. From the lack of visits and name identification from our server to the half hour wait for food, I left the restaurant feeling disappointed. When you tell someone that you have a show to make on Broadway, the last thing you expect is poor treatment. Our server didn't seem to care as she barely made her presence known throughout the meal and when both my drink and water glass go empty, it's a bad sign. On the plus side, the gnocchi mac and cheese, lobster and pasta and bacon were all fine--their corn dip was just okay. I'm a big fan of Chef Alex G, but I doubt if I would return for a second helping of BUTTER with so many other great places in NY with better reputations for fine dining in the highest order.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I am sorry to not be giving a glowing re ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

I am sorry to not be giving a glowing review to a restaurant that I have longed to go to for years. My husband and I traveled to NYC specifically to spend our 25th Anniversary at Butter. The restaurant itself is pretty, contemporary and dark with a really long bar, something that we enjoy. Our style of dining is to sit at the bar, have cocktails and try as many different tastes of food that we can over a leisurely evening. We never really felt welcome. I had made a reservation for dinner and then emailed to see if the staff could give me an idea of the best way for us to get the experience we were looking for. I received a very nice email back, with some guidance but nothing definitive. The host who greeted us, couldn't have been less enthusiastic. She really didn't care what we did, where we sat, had no opinion of where we would have the experience we were looking for. We decided to sit at the bar because that is generally where we would choose to sit on a night out. There were plenty of bartenders, but I don't think one of them cracked a smile. We spent a lot of time trying to catch the eye so we could order throughout the evening. We enjoyed the cocktails and wine we chose. Our first bite was the popcorn with truffle butter which was heaven... truly a wonderful bite. Our second choice was herbed french fries... nothing exciting, typical french fries with ketchup. Third, chose to try the corn and melted bacon dip... tasty but not terribly exciting. Fourth, oysters... delicious but typical. Fifth, pasta with lamb and yellow tomato sauce... again, fine tasting, nothing particularly special with pasta that felt like it was out of the same box I use at home. Sixth, sirloin steak ordered medium rare... seasoned nicely but served medium and barely above room temperature. Finally, we tried a mocha dessert trifle with Boston cream... absolutely delicious! So, two out of seven bites were AMAZING. Overall, I am sorry to say it was a disappointing experience.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A tried and true neighborhood favorite! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

A tried and true neighborhood favorite! A regular since they opened, never a negative experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

VERY disappointed in service: from hoste ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

VERY disappointed in service: from hostess to waiter, to bus "boy". Some of the food was great, some just ok. Very small portions for the money. If Chef Alex was eating with us she would have been mortified...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The reviews on Open Table and especially ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The reviews on Open Table and especially on Yelp were mixed but we decided to give Butter a try.

Simply put Butter is a nice looking, high energy restaurant with a lovely waitstaff. That being said the sad truth is the food service is very slow and the food is so-so. We arrived on time for our reservation and were seated right away.

The restaurant was 1/3 full and it was a lively crowd. Waitstaff came over promptly and our drinks were ordered and delivered quickly. Fresh baked rolls arrived and they were wonderful. We ordered appetizers, oysters on the half shell and silverlake corn and bacon dip. Both were delivered promptly and were wonderful. We then ordered a fairly simple meal of Gnocchi mac and cheese and the special of the night, hamburgers and shoestring fries.

Now the real problems begin ...it took the kitchen over an hour to make 2 hamburgers, french fries and Gnocchi mac and cheese. We were sitting there for so long that the waitress came over and said "Oh my, you've been waiting a very long time." and told us ...it will just be a little bit more of a wait.

Finally the food arrives. One hamburger was fine and one looked like it was cooked in a forest fire. The gnocchi was good but the shoe string fries were like the potato sticks you would find in a can on sale at Walmart.

Despite all of that we stayed for dessert. The desert of beignets and a flowerless chocolate cake were good. At the end of the day it was a $250 dollar meal (no alcohol).

Overall I can not recommend Butter to anyone. A one hour wait for mac and cheese, two hamburgers (one cooked in a forest fire) and shoestring potatoes that tasted like they were fresh from a can of potato sticks from Walmart, along with a $250 dollar bill is just too much to overcome the decent appetizers and desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

My guest and I happened to make an early ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

My guest and I happened to make an early reservation on what turned out to be half price wine mondays (with the order of a burger) We were early enough that we sat at the bar and enjoyed Happy Hour Drinks and fresh Oysters on the half shell even before we sat for dinner. For Dinner all the food was very good - and the prices very reasonable - especially the 50% cost of the wine. It is rare that you get a restaurant of the quality of Butter with a great value play - but here it really is . Our # 1 dish was the Gnocchi Mac and Cheese.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Missing several food options from small ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Missing several food options from small menu. !!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

This is a really fun upscale but not pre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is a really fun upscale but not pretentious restaurant . Creative excellent menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent drinks, food and service.

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent drinks, food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Alex is a food hero of mine, and I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Chef Alex is a food hero of mine, and I am so glad that Butter lived up to my high expectations. I had the grilled caesar salad, and the seared salmon. Both were perfect. The cocktails my husband and I ordered were also great, in that they were actually well-balanced between alcohol and mixer, unlike every other place we drank while in the city.

The staff -ALL of them - were also dead-on. Nice, smiling, considerate..the waitstaff was telepathic in their ability to refill our water glasses.

I left wanting to camp out in the kitchen, just to learn how to make that salmon.

It was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service. Amazing food.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Amazing service. Amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food delicious, memorable very innovativ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food delicious, memorable very innovative and fresh - we really enjoyed the light gnocchi mac and cheese, the kale pesto pasta, the chicken and the brussel sprouts salad. But with a very limited menu, they should ensure that every dish is available - or if not, has a similar replacement on offer. We were not told that the burrata was unavailable until we came to the point of ordering - frustrating at a not-inexpensive restaurant where the menu options are relatively few.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Went there for a business lunch-restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Went there for a business lunch-restaurant was dark; music loud; service was poor and slow; lobster bisque and coffee cold to luke warm-I will never go again - it was embarrassing with clients-funny, it was impossible to get a table there months ago-and for a lunch in September it was not busy and I understand why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great service good food. Little bit loud ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great service good food. Little bit loud for a business meal but definitely recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food. WAs able to meet Alex an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent food. WAs able to meet Alex and chat with her. Great location.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were not happy with our server. But w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were not happy with our server. But we meet executive chef Alex who just was so sweet. She just made you forget the problems. I will always come back. Awesome food!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Very few options on lunch menu and overp ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Very few options on lunch menu and overpriced. Slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Delicious menu by top chef. Highly recom ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Delicious menu by top chef. Highly recommend for special occasions or just because. A+++

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed in Butter. I have eat ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Very disappointed in Butter. I have eaten here before and was thrilled with my meal. This meal was very disappointing. The burger was small, thin, and not impressive. The peach dessert had a biscuit and it was hard as a rock, very difficult to eat. The sweet pea appetizer was the best part of my meal. The server was timid. I had to ask a few times for her to come over as she was not real attentive. She only had 2 tables as it was 2PM. Not sure that I will go back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Butter is absolutely gorgeous and the fo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Butter is absolutely gorgeous and the food was just as amazing. Best gin/tonic I've ever had. Will definitely recommend and visit again while in NYC>

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved decor. So empty. Brunch was 11-3 w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Loved decor. So empty. Brunch was 11-3 we got there 1245. We basically got chased out around 2 they were closing. Food was good. oustanding flaky and the jam was exceptional. Smoked salmons and shrimp and roasted fingerlings all wonderful. Potato croquettes were greasy. Gnocci maca nd cheese so amazing. Hope business picks up! BTW

Coffee average came with milk not cream or half n half? Still hope to meet Chef Alex maybe next time.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed what we ordered, would have l ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We enjoyed what we ordered, would have liked to see a few more options on the menu.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was really delicious and the servic ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was really delicious and the service was grand. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a wonderful dinner. The food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was a wonderful dinner. The food was excellent and the restaurant was relaxing.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went here for a date ni ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My husband and I went here for a date night. Since I'm a Food Network fan and of Iron Chef Alex Guarnasheelli., I wanted to go to Butter. We had the lamb meatball appetizer, the steak for two, Mac and cheese, green beans and wine. Everything was sooooooo good. We didn't have room for desert this time. I'd go back. I also left with an autographed photo of Alex.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had high expectations coming to this r ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I had high expectations coming to this restaurant. The food exceeded these expectations. I had Roast leg of Lamb, it was excellent. I enjoyed the melted bacon and Silverlake Corn with bread to dip into the corn and bacon. The Gnocchi Mac and Cheese was flavorful. The Peach tart was enjoyable.

Three factors lowered my rating a bit.

Ambiance: the table beside me was not quieted by the restaurant's attendants. I was dining alone and found the conversation's volume unsettling. It made me want to leave asap.

Ambiance: I had a HUGE moth land on my table. I fought it off for a few minutes. It kept landing on my plate. Finally, I found an attendant who made feeble attempts to capture it. He acted as if he caught it and started to walk away. I pointed out that the moth was still on the table. Finally, he captured it.

It baffled me this subterranean restaurant had this issue.

Service: I had three separate occasions where my glass was empty for extended periods. I did not expect this to happen.

If one pays $108 for a meal for one, one should not ever deal with a moth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

My wife ordered the steak medium, but it ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My wife ordered the steak medium, but it was served almost rare!

After making server aware of the error the steak was taken back, only to be brought back pretty much the same!

The wait time between apps and entrees is too long!

I am one you who doesn't like to be rushed, but the wait times were too long! Dessert was brought to our table 30 minutes after ordering it! We asked to cancel desert , but the server feeling bad for us gave it to us to go. On the house!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I have had Butter on my list of places t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I have had Butter on my list of places to go for a long time, 10 years. I was happy to finally try their food. The space is big for NY and lots of wood. Beautiful decor. The staff is very professional and friendly. WE ordered too much food but what we ate was very good. I especially like the octopus, lamb pasta dish and the gnocchi mac and cheese. WE ordered a steak to split(for the protein) and it was OK. I can't decide if it wasn't great or I was too full to appreciate it. Overall though the food was amazing. WE had a little lamb pasta left over and I ate it in my hotel room later. Still very good!! Perfectly spiced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was expecting the food to be exception ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I was expecting the food to be exceptional, It was not. It was just good, perhaps I set the bar to high. I was unable to put a fork or knife in what was described as Peach Shortcake. While I expected it to be a play on normal Shortcake I thought I would be able to break it apart. Cucumber soup was extraordinary. Pasta dish really missed the mark, while the fish was tasty. Huge respect for the waitstaff, all of them from the beautiful model hostess to the water person.. Waiter Ilton was perfection.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We started out a little rocky with a cou ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We started out a little rocky with a couple of dirty coffee spoons, but quickly moved into the real reason we were there.....the food. Although the brunch selection seemed minimal, it was more than enough to choose from and everything was delicious. My bf was impressed that there were even donuts there to feed his addiction, and not just the usual "fancy brunch" items. I was impressed with everything from the 2 kinds of butter (of course), brioche french toast to the shrimp salad. Next time dinner! However, it may be another 5 years before we get there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were visiting the city for the long w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were visiting the city for the long weekend and being a fan of Chef Alex's (via tv) felt the need to experience Butter.

Overall, Butter did not disappoint. The ambiance was stunning with the interior feel and design complementing the interesting menu offering. It was not as busy as we expected (told due to many locals leaving the city for the weekend) but this only added a sprinkle of intimacy to our evening. The luring signature cocktails were unique as they were tasty. Appetizers were fantastic - the grilled octopus is a must have. Entree's equally good with unique combinations of seasonal ingredients. The gnocchi "mac n cheese" was devilishly good and a great side accompaniment. Service was efficient albeit a little too clinical - lacked a little bit of warmth.

A very good experience and well worth the visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

My boyfriend & I were celebrating 5 year ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My boyfriend & I were celebrating 5 years of being together so we wanted to go somewhere special. We are avid Food Network watchers and came to hear of Chef Alex Guarnaschelli's restaurant. We were convinced she had to have an excellent restaurant because she receives such accolades on the Food Network, so we decided to make reservations. We made them a month in advance and had no trouble reserving at all. Service was prompt, atmosphere was pleasant and the food was on another level. We were incredibly impressed. Everything is fairly reasonably priced for that type of gourmet restaurant, but is on the pricier side if you are looking for something more casual. We were in love with the gnocchi mac and cheese, salmon entree and desserts. I think the desserts were our favorite part, so creative-- a food lover's dream. Portions appear small, but it is perfectly portioned so you can enjoy every course without over-stuffing yourself. We would definitely come back for the sheer creativity of the food. We would like to try the upstairs seating next time, as it was very dark in the main seating area. Normally I wouldn't mind, because the decor is beautiful and rustic, but it happened to be a nice night so I wished I requested to sit on the upper level. Other than that, our service was helpful, restaurant itself and bathrooms were very clean and it was not noisy at all despite being a restaurant in Midtown. Can't stop thinking about the food...we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.