About Butter Midtown

70 West 45th
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

BUTTER is located in Midtown Manhattan. Executive Chef, Alex Guarnaschelli offers traditional American fare highlighted and enhanced by subtle global influences with the grace notes of seasonality.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
45th street between 5th & 6th avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 302-8703

Website:
http://www.butterrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alexandra Guarnaschelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us for Christmas Eve as we offer a special $95 Prix Fixe Menu from 5pm - 8pm.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us as we celebrate bringing in the new year with our special $95 Prix Fixe Menu from 5:00pm - 9:30pm.

Butter Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (70)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Good for a Date (63)
See All
Creative Cuisine (56)
Modern Decor (45)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Cozy (39)
Romantic (38)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for Groups (35)
Business Meals (32)
Hot Spot (27)
Notable Wine List (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Comfort Food (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Great for Lunch (24)
Authentic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Fun (19)
Happy Hour (16)
Casual (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Great for Brunch (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Seasonal (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
People Watching (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Private Room (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Organic (3)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (3)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1764 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is good and Restaurent is attractiv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Food is good and Restaurent is attractive and spacious. However, I would Never go back given the horrible if not invisible service. And, the disinterested and unconcerned attitude of the maitre de and waiter was insulting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

The fish was delicious and they subst ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The fish was delicious and they substituted spinach for chicory because I prefer it. And the loose leaf assam was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Fabulous food that starts with wonderful ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous food that starts with wonderful bread and homemade "butter" of course. Two people can easily share appetizers and not even order an entree, or easily share that too. The gnocchi mac & cheese was the star!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess was friendly and accomodatti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The hostess was friendly and accomodatting. The server was polite. The reason for the low scores is due to it taking 45 minutes for 1 bowl of overcooked pasta. The sauce was delicious, the pasta itself gummy. I didn't complain as I just wanted to leave. The new server didn't seem concerned. I would go back hoping this was an anomaly. Very disappointed

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Very busy night when we were there but s ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Very busy night when we were there but service was very slow and poor. Took over 30 minutes to order wine and almost an hour to get the wine and finally order dinner. Mushroom apatizer was very good. rest of the meals were just okay. Atmosphere was great but service was not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The restaurants was scorching HOT. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurants was scorching HOT. The bus boys kept going to take our plates when we weren't finished (many times). Portions too small for cost. Decor is beautiful. Seating was comfortable. Seems that the staff was overly concerned with their "Big Events" going on upstairs and not with the small tables that paid a nice penny for fine dining.

Tags: Organic, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We are huge fans of Chef Alex so while v ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

We are huge fans of Chef Alex so while visiting NYC for the first time, we had to go to Butter. We went for dinner on a Monday and were seated within 10 minutes of our reservation. We sat for almost 5 minutes before being greeted. Our waiter was attentive after that but was all business. In fact, we didn't even realize he was our waiter for a while because he never "formally" introduced himself. He was not personal with anything and barely spoke to us. Maybe that's a New York thing? Haha. However, our food was outstanding. We ordered the Mac n Cheese Gnocchi for an app and it was heaven. I ordered the Tobacco Smoked Pork Chop and my husband got the NY strip. Both were amazing and cooked perfectly. We also ordered the red potatoes and broccoli for sides. At $10 each we expected them to be bigger and more "family style" but both were tiny. At that point we were too stuffed for dessert unfortunately! Our meal was on the pricier side but we left feeling satisfied and would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Some of the items were better than other ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Some of the items were better than others, but overall I thought that it was not necessarily good enough to justify the price. I found the server to be not particularly attentive or outstanding as well.

Some of the best things- the apple dessert, the oysters, the gnocchi with cheese and the flavor on the new york strip steak

Not so great- the quality of hte NY strip steak (Very fat/a little tough), the pear dessert (Was almost inedible) the spinach/bacon dip-not remarkable

Overall I would probably skip next time because although the food was good it was not good enough.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a great experience at Butter! The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great experience at Butter! The food and drinks were awersom. The cake of the day was tres leches with pepita ice cream... the ice cream was TO.DIE.FOR.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice brunch with great tasting food. Unp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice brunch with great tasting food. Unpretentious and nice place although a bit dark. Will definitely return and recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Butter is one of my favourite places to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Butter is one of my favourite places to eat in New York. I always thought that restaurants run by celebrity chefs were overrated. I was wrong. It's excellent.

The appetizer pastas were phenomenal and our mains (steak and chicken) were cooked perfectly. The wine list is extensive and not too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From Canada and Butter was recommended. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

From Canada and Butter was recommended.

I went with my daughter who also enjoyed the atmosphere and her meal.

I would go again when in NYC and will also recommend Butter.

Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fictional not a dining experience.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Fictional not a dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Lunch with friends and both the food and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Lunch with friends and both the food and service were very good. All four of us had the 3 course lunch menu and found it very tasty, plentiful and of good value. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything from when we were seated to w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Everything from when we were seated to when we left was a great experience. I made reservations to take my boyfriend there for his birthday and we really enjoyed the service. The food was amazing and they had very nice portions. The waiters were very friendly and welcoming. The ambience was also romantic. It's a great place to have dinner parties and well as a romantic evening with your partner. The only thing I noticed was that they had a coat check but didn't ask to check ours in. I don't know if that was for parties, couples or whatever. But I will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a disappointment. We went for Sunda ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

What a disappointment. We went for Sunday brunch and had high expectations because we had dined there for dinner and read the reviews for brunch. We were met by the most unfriendly disinterested waiter. We sat down and were served cold coffee. We asked for hot coffee , which was brought to us without empty cups- we waited for the cups while our now hot coffee got colder. The eggs were cold! We asked for salt and pepper twice- it took at least 10 minutes.

Brunch was a buffet. They did not replace the utensils for second helpings or clear the plates. The restaurant was not crowded so there was absolutely no excuse for this.

Truly a bad dining experience. Would never recommend this restaurant!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Waiter seemed uninterested and didn't sp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Waiter seemed uninterested and didn't speak to us much at all. Food was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

As always, amazing food! The amount of ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

As always, amazing food! The amount of food served for a Thanksgiving meal was perfect! Missed my beignets though!

Tags: Private Room, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Organic, Seasonal, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food here is always off the charts. My f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Food here is always off the charts. My favorite restaurant in the world...beignets are a must as well as their signature cocktails. Pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious. But the tomaha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Everything was delicious. But the tomahawk steak for 2 changed my life. Sooooo good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband I enjoyed our meals very much ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My husband I enjoyed our meals very much. I had the chicken which is not my usual choice at a restaurant but the waiter convinced me it was worthwhile. Thankfully, he was correct. My husband had the pork chop dinner and loved it. The desserts were good as well. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere, located below street level. The place was lively but not so loud that you have to shout to speak. We had a great time and will definitely return to Butter.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very interesting menu with some unusual ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Very interesting menu with some unusual but very tasty food combinations. Butternut smoked soup with popcorns is very good. Also had the skirt steak without chimichurri that was perfectly cooked. A bit odd that as a main course comes without any side dish at all. Would definitely go back to try other dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Had my boss from California come to NYC ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Had my boss from California come to NYC for an event we did and he wanted to go to Butter...

Last day before he headed back with his family we went there; I had made reservations for 7pm and needed to change to a later time, worried of getting the $35 no show charge turns out that phone not working. Had my Concierge from the hotel send an email. finally we showed up..... the food honestly is NOT all that for $$ and drinks neither. Sorry but not in our repeat list for all our events we do in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Had previously been to original downtown ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Had previously been to original downtown Butter location and had always been amazed at the food and vibe. New place is bigger and just doesn't quite capture the same cozy ambiance. Looks like a traditional steak house; lots of dark wood, large banquets.

Food was okay. Good burger but no pickle, fries, or any adornment other than lettuce and tomato. Fries were extra and they were good, not great. Neither worth the price.

We were anticipating the spinach bacon app and it wasn't very good. There are lots of choices in midtown and I don't think we will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

did not care for ice cream with hot pepp ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 21, 2016

did not care for ice cream with hot pepper--should have had some warning! sad that they charge for a refill on a cup of coffee.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our experience was great! Servings sizes ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our experience was great! Servings sizes were a little small but delicious!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unremarkable. Beautiful restaurant with ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Unremarkable. Beautiful restaurant with a lot if empty tables. High hopes, left disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was terrible. Food had great fla ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was terrible. Food had great flavor but it was served lukewarm to cool, and some was actually cold (broccoli). Had high expectations but too many other options in NYC to gamble when spending this much on a meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Poor food at an expensive price. Average ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Poor food at an expensive price. Average service and decor. Nothing in comparison to many better restaurants in the City. Surprised a celebrity chef would lend her name to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Everything was wonderful but the pork ch ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Everything was wonderful but the pork chop which was delicious was very fatty. There w not much meat left especially for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was very good but the noise lev ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was very good but the noise level was deafening. Way too loud to enjoy conversation.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I was so looking forward to this meal - ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I was so looking forward to this meal - I love Alex, but sadly the food was not up to par - thank got the chefs weren't battling in Chopped - they would have been Chopped. Also - the service was just BIZARRE. The only word I can use to describe it. I won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Went for lunch on a weekday. Food is awe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Went for lunch on a weekday. Food is awesome: butternut squash soup was balanced, with intense real flavor, and the popcorn garnish is hilarious. Nice contrast. Skate was sweet and perfectly cooked, mustard greens were a great counterpoint. Lemon panna cotta was silky and lemony. Everything was lively and fresh. Staff were friendly but unobtrusive. Only issue is that it's really noisy until about 1:45. New Yorkers are loud and like loud restaurants, so that's not going to change. This was my third time, and I can't wait to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

While the decor, layout and food were ve ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 14, 2016

While the decor, layout and food were very good sadly the service was very slow. It wasn't our waitress, the bar and kitchen were either under staffed, overwhelmed or both. It took over 20 mins to get our drink order filled and at the end we had a spontaneous engagement celebration so I ordered a $165 bottle of champagne and it was as if... okay, we'll get to it. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was good, ambiance was very nice ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was good, ambiance was very nice...but food was a complete disappointment. My salmon was dry and over cooked. My wife's chicken was bland. So disappointing as was looking forward to this anniversary dinner and came all the way from Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

The decor is contemporary, the food was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The decor is contemporary, the food was very good, but the wait staff was mediocre and left a negative impression - they did nothing to enhance the dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Very pleased with our meal and the servi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very pleased with our meal and the service. Interesting food and our server was very personable. Our 12-year-old daughter was with us and he was so sweet to get a photo of Chef Alex for her since she is a fan and Food Network viewer. He also knew about the wine we ordered and what was in the dishes.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started our evening with some delicio ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We started our evening with some delicious cocktails at the bar. The bartenders were friendly and the drinks were tasty. Then we moved to our booth for dinner. The food was outstanding. My wife had the brussel spout salad and the gnocchi mac and cheese, both of which were delicious, and I had the NY Strip, which prepared at a perfect medium rare was one of the best I've ever had. The side of fries was also perfectly crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. Finally, our raspberry beignets were a great way to finish the meal. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Overrated, poor menu, loud, not horrible ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Overrated, poor menu, loud, not horrible but better places to spend your money in NYC...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Although the service and ambience were e ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Although the service and ambience were excellent, we were disappointed in the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.