About Butter Midtown

70 West 45th
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

BUTTER is located in Midtown Manhattan. Executive Chef, Alex Guarnaschelli offers traditional American fare highlighted and enhanced by subtle global influences with the grace notes of seasonality.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
45th street between 5th & 6th avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 302-8703

Website:
http://www.butterrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alexandra Guarnaschelli

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Butter Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (184)
Special Occasion (162)
Romantic (106)
See All
Good for Groups (97)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Hot Spot (59)
Great for Lunch (59)
Notable Wine List (55)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Great for Brunch (29)
Late-night Find (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Scenic View (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This subterranean nightmare is the first ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 20 hours ago

This subterranean nightmare is the first restaurant that managed to screw up the water order (tap vs still, ice no ice) and it was downhill from there. The wobbly table was so wide we had to scream at each other to be heard. Noise level: jackhammer loud. My "tomahawk" steak for 2 ($120) which the waitress could not tell me what cut of meat it was, was served raw (not medium rare like I asked or even rare, but raw even though the menu clearly states that consuming raw meat is hazardous) and it was 50% gristle. The cracked mismatched desert plates from Fish's Eddy has zero charm and is totally out of place at these prices. Not a diner. The beignet dessert was very good but it's tough to screw up donuts. No serving spoons so we had to pour the sauces on our food gripping the greasy ramiken which at one point slipped from my hand spilling the bernais sauce onto the table. The waitress did her best and took the desert off the tab but the bus boy was so indignant about screwing up the water that we could not get another thing out of him all night. In short this place is a tourist trap. Buyer beware. The worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I loved the ambiance and style of the re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

I loved the ambiance and style of the restaurant however I did not really enjoy anything else. The appetizer we ordered was salt baked oysters which had some lemon grass on it as well. The oysters were tiny, and the first one I got was dead for some time before they cooked it. There was shell discoloration and the taste was horrible. The next one I tried was fine but I did not expect this at a restaurant of this caliber. The entree was ok, my Fiance had the Halibut I believe and I got the Snapper. The Halibut was way over cooked and needed more seasoning. The Snapper was cooked well but the sauce was overpowering in lemons and was sour. At this point we decided to not get anything else. The price was not worth what we got. The service was pour and we were never asked if our meal was ok. I had to interject my opinion when our waitress came over to take our plates. For the same price of 1 appetizer, 1 beer, 1 glass of wine, and 2 entrees at this restaurant, I could have gone to Bar Americian for better food, an extra appetizer, a coffee, a cup of tea, and a dessert. I will not go back.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Butter was one of the reasons we came to ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Butter was one of the reasons we came to NY. Alex Guarnascelli is one of my favorite chefs. This was a real treat to eat at her restaurant. The food was outstanding. The chicken melted in your mouth. The cauliflower was incredible. The bread, the pasta. EVERYTHING.. The service was excellent. This is a must experience for anyone visiting NY.

Thank you Butter for a great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For Restaurant Week, the steak fritte wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

For Restaurant Week, the steak fritte was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A great place for dining or drinking. A ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

A great place for dining or drinking. A real lively bar crowd. The wait staff is exceptional.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and crafty drinks were ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and crafty drinks were exactly what my girlfriend and I were looking for. Restaurant is clearly popular but the ambience was calm and smooth. Would definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My friend found 2 bones in her fish and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

My friend found 2 bones in her fish and the waiter handled the situation beautifully. The summer menu seems very specific; fall menu more varied.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We got seated right away - but the servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We got seated right away - but the service was quite slow and the restaurant was not packed. It was also VERY dark for a lunch - I could understand it being dark in the evening. Other than that, it was a good experience overall, everyone was nice and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I wouldn't recommend this restaurant. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I wouldn't recommend this restaurant. The service was poor (waiter spilled the water and then abandoned our table all together), uninspired food, chipped plates, small portions. With all the amazing restaurants in NY don't waste your time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

One of the best meals we've ever had!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

One of the best meals we've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. My friend and I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent. My friend and I celebrated our 40th birthday in New York. We had never been to New York and so glad our 1st dinner was at Butter.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cauliflower steak was amazing!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

The cauliflower steak was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not pleased

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Not pleased

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Our entrees were small but packed with f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our entrees were small but packed with flavor (steak, fish, chicken) and the grits side dish was delicious. We tried the carrot cake and the beignets for dessert and were disappointed in both.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Usually really good food. Chicken a bit ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Usually really good food. Chicken a bit dry. And bread stale.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

8 of us recently had dinner for restaura ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

8 of us recently had dinner for restaurant week. Everyone loved it! Dessert choices could have been better and that was the weakest course. The blade steak was delicious! Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Butter was as smooth as could be, with t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Butter was as smooth as could be, with the exception of service. We waited way too long to receive our entrees with no courteous update about our food. The food was delicious but the urgency and expediency of which food should be delivered was completely absent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Loved the food. It definitely did not d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved the food. It definitely did not disappoint. My nephew and his boyfriend are both servers and agreed that Altin was not very attentive. He acted like he really didn't want to be there. We had to ask him about how things were done for brunch. I think he came to our table a total of 3 times one of which was because we called him over and asked for our bill. The food was amazing and worth every penny!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Amazing! This restaurant came as a recco ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing! This restaurant came as a reccomendation and I can't wait to come back again!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't expecting it but this place serve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wasn't expecting it but this place served the best steak we've ever had. Only steak on the menu, the New York Strip, seared and cooked to perfection. They don't ask you how you want it done, med rare is what the chef de cuisine recommends and it was phenomenal. Also had the gnocchi mac and cheese and steam (in butter and garlic) green beans. Ambience is great for a date night or hanging out at the bar.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Restaurant Week dinner. Food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Went for Restaurant Week dinner. Food was delicious although the portions for the prix fixe were small.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We visited during Restaurant Week. One ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We visited during Restaurant Week. One of us had the catch of the day off the prixe fixe menu and the other did not. The Roasted Asparagus soup was excellent as were the pea puree crostini and the pasta with the lamb meatballs was excellent.

The fish was explained as 'crispy' but it was extremely thin and pieces actually tasted burnt. This was on the prixe fixe menu, so I don't know if that made a difference.

Overall, very enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious, but the service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was delicious, but the service was HORRIBLE. We felt so rushed and they forgot about our dessert. The server then circled the suggested tip on the receipt - so tacky!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

I like the inside. It has a nice romanti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I like the inside. It has a nice romantic vibe, which I would like to come back for a date.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Was a good exp overall, but dessert let ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Was a good exp overall, but dessert let me down. Sable base was heavy and unpleasant. Dinner roll was superb.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

If you do not like fish now it is the be ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

If you do not like fish now it is the best option to learn to like it. The "Seared Porty with roast potatoes, market greens, citrus vinaigrette" is simply wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was devine, server a bit pre occupi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was devine, server a bit pre occupied with other things . Waited too long in between courses etc. Turned us over to another server

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Unfortunately we were not happy with our ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Unfortunately we were not happy with our dining experience. We both had the chicken and neither of us enjoyed our meal. The greens on the plate were difficult to eat and the chicken lacked flavor. Service was slow, just was not what we expected. Dessert was ok, and the gnocchi was good, but entree' was less than desirable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I met my friend at Butter midtown for di ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I met my friend at Butter midtown for dinner during restaurant week. We had a reservation and were seated right away. Our server came over to take our drink order and then returned for our dinner our. I ordered off the restaurant week menus and so did my friend. Right before the serve was about to walk away, he stated that there is an up charge for the soup I ordered because it was a special. When I asked how much, he said "I dunno, like $5, is that ok?" No where on the menu or board did it say there was an up charge. Food was good, the pasta beat salad starter was excellent. I order the steak, and although very good, was VERY salty. For dessert we both ordered the moose. We waited at least 20 minutes for the dessert and then they brought us the wrong dessert. We waited an additional 10 minutes for the correct dessert. When the bill came, our server said that he already included the 20% tip. No where did it say that gratuity was included. Needless to say, we weren't thrilled with the service and although we would have tipped our server, I did not think he was worthy of 20% with all those errors. Just because people come for restaurant week, it is still a pricy meal, and costumers should have the same quality of service as non restaurant week costumers. Overall okay, but we both left disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

I had wanted to try this place for a whi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I had wanted to try this place for a while, and when the Restaurant Week menu came out, I knew I should go. I met two colleagues for lunch and we enjoyed the food immensely. The service was spotty to say the least. I had arrived first in my party and talked to the hostess-she knew I was expecting 2 others. One showed up and we asked to be seated, but expressly told her that she should look out for our colleague. He didn't show for over 45 minutes. We texted him after 15-20 minutes, but he didn't receive the text immediately. It turned out that the hostess screwed up and told him that we hadn't arrived yet, so he sat in the lobby area for over 20 minutes while we were beyond sight in the dining room. No apology was even offered. Then we didn't have bread plates, and had to ask multiple people each 3 times before they came to our table--despite being on all neighboring tables. Finally, we asked for more bread, and although it was explained that it is made fresh to order, we didn't receive it. These, while minor details, became frustrating when added to each other. Loved the actual meal, and the ambiance is special as well--just get your act together better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Very tasty food but nothing that was sup ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Very tasty food but nothing that was supposed to be hot was more than lukewarm. The Restaurant week menu offered only 3, not very exciting, choices. We wanted to try it for lunch to see if we wanted to return for dinner . Although the food and service was very good it in no way compared with other Restaurant Week lunches we tried and will return to (i.e. Atlantic Grill, Boulud Sud and a couple of others.). The restaurants should realize that the restaurant week "specials" are their opportunity to shine and make regular customers out of us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We chose Butter to take advantage of Res ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We chose Butter to take advantage of Restaurant Week. In the past, I've had incredible restaurant week lunches -- at places like Telepan, Dovetail, Esca -- so in comparing our lunch to those experiences, the lunch fell far short. The ravioli needed seasoning, my friend who chose the vegetarian item -- "broccoli steak" -- was treated to a large stalk of broccoli (the choice of name still mystifies us). The dessert, peach short cake, was so cloyingly sweet, I couldn't finish it. The one entrée that was successful was the branzino. Service was excellent, but the culinary experience did not delight or impress us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was horrible because they ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our experience was horrible because they sat us at a table in the glaring sunlight; no shade; no way to move us, and it was impossible to enjoy the food while broiling away.

I was shocked that they would not have been able to figure out a way to avoid that for such a high end space.

On top of it, the manager really didn't care one bit and neither the waiter nor the front person had any ideas how to help either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Good was above average, but not spectacu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Good was above average, but not spectacular, for a well-known, highly acclaimed chef.

The service was inconsistent in several instances. One example, the server didn't offer all the specials they had that day, but when I was walking out saw better options. Plus - the servers 'vanished' for extended periods of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We enjoyed this very much and it was mad ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We enjoyed this very much and it was made even nicer being restaurant week.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Quality food and service at typical NY p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Quality food and service at typical NY prices. Overall, a good restaurant but nothing special that we are going to run back to especially with the other options in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Made several reservations for my trip to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Made several reservations for my trip to NY, Butter was definitely the best food for the price. Also had dinner at Lambs Club and Red Rooster, Butter was better than the competition.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic meat. The tobacco smoked doubl ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fantastic meat. The tobacco smoked double-cut pork was exceptional - best pork ever!

The meal was expensive though considering we only had a main meal and 2 drinks. Also Butter doesn't have a Michelin star but is charging 2star prices. Lovely dining experience but make sure you'rewyou're wallet is full.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighbourhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasions, Group Bookings
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My children obsessively watch the Food N ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My children obsessively watch the Food Network and are huge fans of Executive Chef Alex Guarnaschelli. Unlike other celebrity chefs, Ms. Guarnaschelli is definitely not resting on her laurels and depending on her name recognition to bring in customers without worry about the food and service. Every dish was succulent and inventive. When I mentioned to the server that my children were huge fans, he brought them autographed pictures of Ms. Guarnaschelli. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal, the service and the ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to try out Chef Guarnaschelli's r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wanted to try out Chef Guarnaschelli's restaurant while I was visiting NY. A very lively place both visually and audibly (but not uncomfortably so). Waitstaff were very friendly and service was good. Food was kind of a mixed bag-some just OK (burrata cheese appetizer-kind of bland) and some very good (peekytoe crab appetizer-very flavorful). Asked for my tomahawk steak for two cooked med. to med. well and it came out med. rare to med. A friend's pork chop was very tasty as were the sides (green beans and gnocchi mac and cheese). Desserts were also good but not great. Dinner for three with five glasses of wine was just north of $400 which I felt a bit high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.