About Butter Midtown

70 West 45th
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

BUTTER is located in Midtown Manhattan. Executive Chef, Alex Guarnaschelli offers traditional American fare highlighted and enhanced by subtle global influences with the grace notes of seasonality.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
45th street between 5th & 6th avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 302-8703

Website:
http://www.butterrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alexandra Guarnaschelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Report a photo problem

Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY
Butter Midtown, New York, NY

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Please join us at Butter to celebrate Valentine's Day as we offer our a la carte dinner menu from 5pm - 9pm with some very exciting specials for the evening.

Butter Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (70)
Special Occasion (65)
Good for a Date (63)
See All
Creative Cuisine (62)
Pre/post Theatre (48)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Modern Decor (43)
Cozy (40)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Good for Groups (32)
Romantic (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Business Meals (27)
Bar Seating (27)
Comfort Food (25)
Authentic (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Fun (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Casual (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Seasonal (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
People Watching (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Healthy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Organic (6)
Tapas (4)
Vegan (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Private Room (4)
Fireplace (3)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1857 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We so loved our visit to Butter. We dec ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

We so loved our visit to Butter. We decided to order a lot of appetizers to maximize our taste experience ...everything was amazing... thank you

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a disappointment! Friends were in f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

What a disappointment! Friends were in from out of town and wanted to try it. Did not offer coat check, tables were not set properly, our waitress left mid shift and the food was mediocre at best. Also, $17 for a specialty cocktail with Absolut is insulting. Huge disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Don't let the stairs from street level ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Don't let the stairs from street level leading down throw you off. This is a beautiful, spacious, yet cozy feel, superb midtown find offering small plates, large plates and an excellent crafted cocktail menu. The spinach and melted bacon dip is no-miss, as is the Brussels sprouts salad. Plenty of comfy booths ring the restaurant and the wait staff could not be more attentive and pleasant. This is a return-to location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. The salmon and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was outstanding. The salmon and porckchop were cooked to perfection. Thank you for a wonderful evening and making my birthday so memorable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fantastic all throughout the even ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

It was fantastic all throughout the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good wine list. Food was amazing and oth ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Good wine list. Food was amazing and other fishing coming out of the kitchen were equally as good. Went on a Tuesday night so it was fairly quiet. Would recommend to others if they came to NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome!! We shared the pasta special ( ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome!! We shared the pasta special (house made) and brussel sprout salad - so good. I had the fish special and my husband had the NY strip - both were incredible. Very creative cocktails and extensive wine list, but the alcohol is overpriced. And I was disappointed in the dessert. Guajillo ice cream must be an acquired taste and the apple crisp it was served on just didn't do it for me. But I'd definitely recommend the restaurant and we're definitely going back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Tapas, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An excellent lunch! Bustling scene, atte ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

An excellent lunch! Bustling scene, attentive service and delicious menu choices. I want Alex's cookbooks now! Comfort Food rocks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This meal was amazing! I would have to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This meal was amazing! I would have to say it is the first time in my life where every aspect of the meal was perfect. Appetizers, Side, Main Dish and Accompaniments were all spot on. The Geechie Boy Grits were superb!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a great restaurant! It was one of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

What a great restaurant! It was one of my " bucket list" restaurants to try in NYC and it did not disappoint. The food was fantastic, the service was stellar, and the vibe was cozy yet chic.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with my daughter for her birthday ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I went with my daughter for her birthday! Lovely location inside. Delicious food. I especially enjoyed the roasted and raw brussel sprout salad. Her mushroom appetizer was awesome. Great drinks. Service was solid...not exceptional. It did not adversely affect my meal. The server was attentive. His shift ended. The second server was not as good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was potentially the worst service I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was potentially the worst service I've ever had at a restaurant. I expected more for both the price and the reputation of the owner. Mid-meal I actually texted family and friends to never go to this restaurant.

Pros:

  • The space was quite nice and pleasant. The bar area looked welcoming and there was a large TV showing the football games

-Some of the food was quite good, particularly the bread and the gnocchi mac and cheese. My dining partner raved about her salmon.

-The bartender makes a great drink

-The bussers were friendly and helpful- by far the highlight of the night's customer service.

Cons:

-The food didn't arrive out of the kitchen in a timely manner. Our bread arrived after our appetizers, and the roasted potatoes we ordered never came.

-When we reported to a staff member that our potatoes hadn't come (we had completed our entire entrees without the waiter ever coming to check on us), our waiter returned and simply said "I heard you didn't get your potatoes." Not even an apology.

-I ordered my steak medium rare, and it came back medium. Normally this wouldn't bother me, but the steak's only garnish/side dish was a few slices of onion and some scallions. If I'm paying $46 for a steak, and nothing else, I expect it to be cooked to the temperature I requested. It would also have been nice to have the side dish that I ordered with it.

-Dessert was not served in a timely manner. This time there was an apology, but from our busser, and not our waiter.

-The hostess did not say goodbye when we passed her station to leave the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

food was good. hostesses could have bee ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

food was good. hostesses could have been more friendly.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were very disappointed with the resta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were very disappointed with the restaurant, overall.

The service was poor and the waiter acted annoyed to have to be serving us. We were not

Welcomed upon arrival and were made to wait, although there were many tables available.

The only positive was the adept bus people, who were attentive yet discreet. As well

As the French press coffee, which was a nice touch.

The food was average and definitely not worth the hefty price tag.

We expected more, especially better service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Very slow service and when asked, they h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very slow service and when asked, they had lot of excuses. Our bread/ butter starters were late and their excuse were they weren't open for lunch time. When I asked where our drinks were the wine lady tells me the Bar is behind and she walks away without any further listening. How is this is my problem? I am paying for a good customer service.

It's way over priced for a mediocre food and service. ☹️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

The atmosphere is warm and inviting but ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The atmosphere is warm and inviting but still feels modern. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The raspberry Beignets are quite memorable and the portions are exceptionally large for the class or restaurant and price point. We would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicely prepared Sea Bass maybe the best ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Nicely prepared Sea Bass maybe the best I have had . Loved the Brussel Sprout salad.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We were seated directly on the time of o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were seated directly on the time of our reservation. Great service from our server. a very good entree. Will be back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been wanting to go to this restau ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have been wanting to go to this restaurant ever since I fell in love with Chopped on the Food Network. I loved the food, everything we had was delicious. It is a bit pricey (for a young professional/recent grad) but definitely worth the splurge. I plan of visiting again and encourage everyone to try out their menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time at Butter. The ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our second time at Butter. The food, service and ambiance never disappoint. We cannot wait to return for another spectacular experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, positive experience. Good food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall, positive experience. Good food and atmosphere. The service could have been a bit better given the caliber of the restaurant. Be prepared to pay $$$$ but this is NYC. Gnocchi Mac N Cheese was delicious. The strip, halibut, and pork chops were a big hit as entrees at our table. And the bread is awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Very cool, trendy spot in the basement o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very cool, trendy spot in the basement of the Casa Hotel in Midtown. Terrific, creative food and the best dessert I have had in a long time. A real hidden gem.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, People Watching, Seasonal, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service! Entrees were a b ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food and service! Entrees were a bit pricey, but overall was perfect for a pre-theater dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Butter has a beautiful room and an intri ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Butter has a beautiful room and an intriguing menu, but the food as described is much more interesting than it actually tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The food came out WAY too quick (we were ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food came out WAY too quick (we were served our mains 25 minutes after ordering) and we felt very rushed. It led to us feeling uncomfortably full and unwelcome. Also, the DJ played awful top 50 hits mixed with annoying beats that were so loud you couldn't hear yourself think. Too bad, because had it not been for that, the ambiance would have been lovely. Gnocchi mac & cheese was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

If money is no object, then this is a wo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

If money is no object, then this is a wonderful restaurant! The room and decor are fascinating...I loved just looking around the space. The food was spot on. I had a delicious brussels sprout salad and we both had the fish special...perfectly cooked with crispy skin. My only complaint on that side would be that it could have been a little lighter on the garlic. While I loved everything about this restaurant, the prices were a little surprising. On looking at the prices of the salads, my husband asked the waiter if these were entree-sized, and the waiter had to stifle a smile as he told us that they were in fact definitely appetizer portions. We ordered two salads, both of which I would describe as miniscule given the price. But they were delicious. I should also mention that the restaurant has a very lively bar scene and rather loud music, so if you're looking for a quiet romantic spot, this is not it. But for a delicious, pre-theater dinner with great service in a beautiful, modern-but-not-sleek space, I would highly recommend Butter.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place in an area lacking good resta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Nice place in an area lacking good restaurants, but very expensive. Had a $45 pork chop that was really nothing special; $25 sushi appetizer tasted amazing but was tiny, almost amuse Bouche sized. Dinner was nearly 200 bucks for two with no dessert and only one glass of wine. Ambience nice, people nice, if it was third less $$ would rate it very highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Lunch meeting at Butter and I must say I ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Lunch meeting at Butter and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Perhaps the best Onion Soup I have ever had. The Butter Burger was also good, cooked well and put together with some well thought out ingredients. Menu was a bit limited and some items that were found on their website were missing from the menu, but still, overall this was very good and pretty comfy too.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Butter has a lovely ambiance and a wonde ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Butter has a lovely ambiance and a wonderful foodie menu with options for all kinds of eaters (Meat, vegan, etc). Attentive but not intrusive service. Would definitely recommend without hesitation. Expensive but worth it for a special occasion (or on an expense account!).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was very good but over priced. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food was very good but over priced. I wasn't wowed for what I paid. Therefore I wouldn't recommend it. The atmosphere is nice and the service good, but nothing stood out for me. There are so many great restaurants in NYC, so I don't think I will ever go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

We had lunch at Butter before seeing a W ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We had lunch at Butter before seeing a Wednesday matinee. Lunch was by far the more enjoyable part of the afternoon. The prix-fixe lunch was very good value, and delicious. My arugula salad had a delightfully tangy lemony olive oil dressing, and my husband's butternut squash soup was very good (as was the accompanying popcorn). Our Butterburgers (complete with excellent fries and pickles masquerading as salad) were really good, and so was the vanilla bean cake, which came with wonderful alcohol-laced (?) cherries whose name I never remember. There are two regular options for each course of the prix-fixe lunch, and a vegan option as well. That seemed sufficient to us. For those on a more generous budget, additional lunch items available on the regular menu sounded equally appealing. The dinner and brunch menus looked great too. If schedule and circumstances allow, I would certainly go back to Butter for a non-prix-fixe meal.

The restaurant is indeed in a basement but not at all claustrophobic; there is a large sort-of skylight window, and restaurant feels spacious. There is an elevator to/from street level for those to whom stairs might be a barrier. Service was pleasant and professional; it struck me as somewhat like the Danny Meyer restaurants I've been to--and that is intended as a compliment. Overall, having lunch at Butter was a really good idea.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant and atmosphere. Ou ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and atmosphere. Our waitress was spectacular as were the other staff keeping our waters filled, bread basket filled, and table clean. Food was delicious and the drinks with the watermelon ice cubes were AMAZING! They even made the drinks sans alcohol for my kids! Would definitely recommend this place!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent but sadly, the st ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was excellent but sadly, the staff did nothing to promote it or make the dining experience feel like it was anything "special." The hostess was dismissive. The bartender knew how to make the cocktails on the menu, but didn't know how to describe the flavours. The waitress knew how to recite the specials, but didn't know about the ingredients in the plates. We were looking forward to our dinner here because we just assumed the staff would be as excited about the food as we were - which is perhaps a naive way of thinking, but the restaurant of a "Food Network" chef is also an attraction that has to live up to the hype of providing a memorable dining experience, not just memorable food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Hi! I made a reservation with my fiancé ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Hi! I made a reservation with my fiancé for the New Year's Eve 5 course pre-fix menu. When we sat down we were told by our server that the chef "decided not to do the pre-fix menu anymore" which was really disappointing considering we came especially for that. I ordered the poached black cod and it was flavorless,cold, and an extremely small portion. My finance's chicken dish was very delicious, but over all we were both very disappointed. We expected a much better experience due to the name and prices.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

I arrived early on New Years Eve (5:15) ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I arrived early on New Years Eve (5:15) and was dining alone. Still I was sat at a horrible table, next to a busy bus station where the severs were milling around because they weren't busy yet and it was at the juncture of the bar. One table back in an empty restaurant would have made all the difference! It was just poor planning. I did share this with the hostess as I was leaving.

The beet salad appetizer was too chilled to enjoy. I found my chicken for dinner and cake for dessert a bit dry. They both clamored for something creamy, whipped, velvety or luxurious. Whipped potatoes with the chicken, ice cream with the cake would have been perfect.

It's a beautiful restaurant. Everyone was quite kind. I've eaten at Butter downtown and much preferred it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was very good- especially the gnocc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was very good- especially the gnocchi mac and cheese. Food is a bit pricey, but still worth visiting. As far as dress code goes it is business casual.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was outstanding and the wait st ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was outstanding and the wait staff was attentive but not overbearing. The restaurant is beautiful, we will be going back for sure.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll go back. The ambiance and service ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We'll go back. The ambiance and service were excellent. Food was also delicious. Would have given 5 stars overall if the portions were a tad larger.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my 60th birthday celebration dinn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was my 60th birthday celebration dinner. The service was outstanding and so kind. the food was amazing and we loved the restaurant ambience. The staff front of the house/ greeters / bartender/ and waitperson. bus people were so fun and very professional.

They even let me use their iphone plug..for the proverbial "low battery" cell phone.

thank you again for making my birthday special.

Tags: , Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I requested a candle in my wife's desser ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I requested a candle in my wife's dessert since it was her birthday but this was not done.

Service seemed very scattered.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.