Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 119 times today

Butter Midtown

4.3
2955 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
BUTTER is located in Midtown Manhattan. Executive Chef, Alex Guarnaschelli offers traditional American fare highlighted and enhanced by subtle global influences with the grace notes of seasonality.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 302-8703
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Alexandra Guarnaschelli
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
45th street between 5th & 6th avenues
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2955 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
4.3
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Food and atmosphere were fantastic! Raspberry begniets were to die for!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

Wife dish was cold, bread was stale.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Butter was a good restaurant, but it lacked the small details to make it an excellent restaurant. The plating was a bit off. The butter (ironically) was super cold so it could not be spread on the bread. There are small things, but when you are competing with other Manhatten restraints, they matter a lot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Came from out of town for an anniversary dinner and found Butter to be both classy, relaxing and extremely welcoming atmosphere! The staff was attentive and friendly. This is a place to go !!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious. The tobacco smoked pork chops were juicy and tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Food is spectacular! Wine is great. Service is fantastic...we've now taken out friends and family here for dinner parties twice and it is always exceeding our expectations! Highly recommended!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Always a wonderful meal! Her rolls are a very special treat. Doesn't matter, pasta, burgers, steak, eat them all!!! SO GOOD!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Dinner was great! Service was a bit lacking. I tried the tobacco smoked pork chop - AWESOME!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 6 days ago

If this meal had been half the price, I would have given it 2 or 3 stars, but at these prices, I expect more. The menu does not offer a lot of options. I ordered one of the specials of the day -- spaghetti with a sauce of razor clams and halibut. I was dubious about the mix of shellfish and fish, but nothing else really sounded all that appealing, especially given the prices. When the dish appeared, at first I couldn't even see the pasta for the sauce -- not a good sign. There were no identifiable razor clams or pieces of fish -- the sauce was blended. That might have been fine had the dish been edible. However, it was so salty, I took one bite and sent it back. The waiter asked me if I wanted something else. I should probably have said yes, but I thought maybe the lid fell off the saltshaker or something, so I said, "Bring me the same dish, but minus the salt." He brought me the same dish, and it was equally salty -- inedible, really. I asked my tablemates to sample it, to make sure it wasn't just me. They concurred. So I sent it back again. At least I wasn't charged for it. As others' portions were large, I had some of my daughter's strip steak and some of my cousin's salmon. The salmon was good, but not exceptional. The steak was tasty, but had a lot of fat -- maybe that's because it was strip steak, so maybe ok. The grits were overly sweet. The raspberry beignets were delicious, and the service was fine, but still . . . .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I thought it would be great to surprise our daughter with dinner at her favorite chefs restaurant ! So we went all out and we were not dissappointed the atmosphere, the food and the dessert was outstanding! Well done ! And the evening was a huge hit ! Thank you very much !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful service from Sergio and Kiran. The food was outstanding and we had an amazing evening there. Would go there again when we’re in NYC.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Very good food with choices for all pallets. Our waitress was outstanding and made good suggestions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We had a really wonderful meal. Fantastic service by a foodie which was a treat. Great recommendations were helpful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 17, 2018

With the exception of a lovely, tender, pan-roasted chicken breast, our food was so-so at best. The side with the chicken, mash of spring peas, was an over-salted jumble of conflicting flavors that completely overpowered the delicate flavor of the peas. A promising Brussels sprouts salad was swimming in a puddle of dressing (drowning, really...I don't think I've ever seen that much dressing pooled at the bottom of a restaurant salad), while a pasta and sausage dish seemed to be coated in melted Velveeta with a little cayenne in an attempt to jazz it up. The restaurant seemed understaffed the night we were there, too -- it took an hour after ordering for our meals to arrive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

I've always wanted to eat at Butter and our visit did NOT disappoint. We were celebrating my brother's graduation and it was the perfect setting. The prix fixe lunch option was wonderful and our waitress was very accommodating for my dairy allergy - offering me sorbet in place of the 2 listed desserts. The bartender, Genevieve, was also amazing and made a GREAT Purple Paradise. All in all, I can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Butter’s Imaginative take on egg plant Parmesan is a revelation! Don’t miss the raspberry beignets either. It was outstanding in every way.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

I was not overly impressed with the food. I asked the server for suggestions and took those suggestions. Not bad food but food I could have gotten anywhere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Average food not so good service. They charge 20 percent gratuity while the servers don't deserve it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was the best Mother’s Day meal. Everyone ordered something and we all shared, which is what I strongly suggest to do. Thank you to Butter for an amazing meal and an incredible memory.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The meal was Delightful. The cocktails went well with the meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My mom and I went to NYC to celebrate or birthdays and Mother's Day, all three which fell on the same weekend. We enjoyed the Sunday brunch (especially the French Toast) and tasty birthday treats. Everything was delicious, thank you for a great time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We were deeply disappointed to find out, only upon arrival, that the only menu offered for Mother’s Day was a brunch buffet. Service was in different and with the exception of the salads and pastries the brunch items weren’t good. The shrimp and grits dish was bland and didn’t taste fresh. The hanger steak was drowning in sauce and because it was still cooking on the steam trays the meat was tough and chewy. Overall a disappointing experience and not what we expected.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great experience after going to brunch on back to back Sundays here is what I think about your restaurant.

Priced right and was a very focused brunch having a narrow selection of great dishes e.g. perfectly cooked eggs, breakfast sage sausage and the hash browns were the best. The flat iron steak was as tender as Filet Mignon (How did they do that). The Shrimp and Grits plus the Meyer Lemon Caesar salad so so good. The sushi grade Salmon with capers was also perfect.

The staff was professional, attentive and happy to accommodate all our needs from my arrival to receiving my check.

Funny enough I will go again this Sunday and hope you are lucky enough to get a chance to go.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The service was terrible, they sat us in the corner and ignored us the entire time we were there, focusing on much larger groups in order to make more money. Our food was cold when we received it. People were very rude and didn’t give us the attention we should have gotten. Would not go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Wonderful ambiance. Wonderful service. Wonderful food. Just sorry we missed Chef Alex.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Went there with a friend to celebrate my birthday. Completely average experience. Heard they had the best Parker House rolls but they were dry and obviously reheated from earlier in the day. Ordered an appetizer of pasta with spicy lamb sausage. Lamb was overcooked and dish was mostly pasta which needed more sauce. Very long wait between appetizer and entrée. Cedar plank Salmon was not hot enough and seemed like it had been cooked earlier and simply reheated or it was sitting waiting to be picked up and cooled off. Very disappointed in the food. Not quality expected. Noise level isn't good for conversation. It was the night before Mother's Day so maybe the kitchen was gearing up for Sunday. If this was typical, don't go there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We made early reservations, so we enjoyed the leisurely pace of service. We had Peridot - a house speciality drink - and loved it. The food was meticulously prepared, and visually stunning. I had the crispy duck thighs served on grilled arugula with golden raisins. The portion was more than ample. My wife ordered the octopus, chorizo and smoked bacon which was also delicious, but the portion size was a little small. We shared athe raspberry beignet dessert that was divine. This is a relaxed, beautifully appointed place. Perfect for a special occasion. Butter is a winner!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Everything was good, flavorful and our waitress was awesome (!) ...but disappointed that they held our entrée tableside while we were still enjoying our appetizers and as a result my tomahawk chop was served cold. Three stars were the result of this.

We had a late reservation but as a restaurant if you're not prepared to accommodate your guests in a relaxing manner please don't take the reservation.
Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food was excellent, it was like home cooking with the touch of elegance. The servings were just enough. You could have an appetizer, entree, and dessert and feel very satisfied.
The service was excellent, they were knowledgeable about everything on the menu. They checked on us, and were available for questions.
The decor was beautiful very relaxing.

I have told so many people that they must go here. It really was the best experience and food I have ever had at a restaurant. I can't wait to go again. Thank you

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great for a dinner date. Can dress smart/casual but saw a lot of casual diners in jeans so atmosphere was fun and relaxed. The cavatappi pasta appetizer was delicious and comforting. There was a nice mild spicy kick to the lamb sausage and it was big enough that it could be a meal on its own. I had the bass special with asparagus. Perfect portion size for me and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Unfortunately my husband did not really enjoy the duck thigh dish. The meat was fried to the point of being dry, stringy and chewy. Good flavor but poorly executed. The “beet it or not” cocktail was delightful. The beet juice is served in a shot glass on the side for you to add as you like and there was basil frozen into the ice cube. Nice touch. I would definitely go back but would avoid the duck.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We were one of the first guests in and we were seated next to the wait station. After one glass of wine our waitress asked for the wine menu back. My husbands appetizer of pasta was disappointing

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The iceberg lettuce salad was tasteless and the pork chop (which I ordered medium rare) came so overlooked and dry that it was hardly edible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Service was great by everyone except our server. He had a 6 top among his group that was keeping him busy. Good was pretty good. Ambiance was amazing. Overall it was a nice place to eat.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Just a regular experience at what has been previously a great experience. Service was OK - nothing to complain about but pretty slow. Food was OK - the salmon and the daily special were both dry - the mains took a long,’long time to come out with no explanation. Good not great experience. Of multiple times come, this was the most disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Alex Guarnaschelli came out to the dining area and we had a short conversation with her and we took some pics. Wife said it was the best halibut she ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Great service, amazing food! The gnocchi Mac and cheese was heavenly.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 9, 2018

I hate to leave a bad review for this restaurant, but it's named BUTTER and my chicken breast was so dry. And there was this pasty pea puree under it that was sour. I hoped my husband's duck would be better but no it was not. The flavor was just off. The wedge salad was delicious though, but I wouldn't come back for a salad.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

The gnocchi mac & cheese was silky in texture & melted in your mouth. The duck thigh with tangerine glaze was perfectly prepared & flavors went very well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Nice atmosphere, good place for a business lunch. Food was very good!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Really enjoyed the cocktails, wine and delicious food choices we made. I am vegetarian so when I first looked at the menu I was unsure if there were enough options. I hadn't been to Butter in a while and it was my friends first time. Her office is not far away so I thought it would be a great option and it was. I am sure she will be a return customer. Great service too!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
74