Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Butter Midtown

BUTTER is located in Midtown Manhattan. Executive Chef, Alex Guarnaschelli offers traditional American fare highlighted and enhanced by subtle global influences with the grace notes of seasonality.

70 West 45th
New York, NY 10036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
45th street between 5th & 6th avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 302-8703

Website:
http://www.butterrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Alexandra Guarnaschelli

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Butter Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (84)
Good for a Date (79)
Special Occasion (76)
See All
Creative Cuisine (67)
Pre/post Theatre (64)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Modern Decor (55)
Cozy (53)
Business Meals (52)
Romantic (44)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Good for Groups (36)
Casual (34)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Bar Seating (32)
Great for Lunch (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Fun (26)
Comfort Food (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Worth the Drive (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Authentic (19)
Local Ingredients (17)
Healthy (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Seasonal (12)
Organic (12)
People Watching (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Tapas (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Family Style (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vegan (4)
Great Beer (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2009 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

3/28/17 Sister's week in NYC! Made the reservation weeks in advanced looking forward to this Iron Chef restaurant. Unfortunately the food didn't live up to the hype. Maybe this Iron Chef should spend more time in her restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

This was a very nice atmosphere. Our food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Hoped for more from Iron Chef Guarnascelli! Food was just quite good, but in NY quite good is not good enough. I was surprised to get a table on short notice, but the restaurant was almost empty when we came. It eventually filled up more, but nothing like a Sunday crowd in NY. I think it's time that the Iron Chef steps from the screen back into her kitchen!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed brunch at Butter - I wish we could have come for dinner but there is only so much time in the day. The brunch was excellent - food was fresh and plentiful. The restaurant is lovely. The service was a little slow as far as getting drinks to us, but overall an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Took forever and our waitness left mid-visit but food was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were good - but... the restaurant HVAC system is kept far too warm (enough to suppress an appetite, even after requesting an adjustment) and the clientele are so blaringly loud that it was difficult to have a non-shouting conversation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved Butter! Lovely atmosphere and fabulous food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was fantastic but the service was horrible. Our waitress was too busy keeping her friends company who were seated at the table next to us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Menu was good but could be more varied.

Shrimp appetizer lacked texture. Liked the truffle pasta dish. Enjoyed the cauliflower. French fries not truffle-y and crispy enough.

Nice vibe. Appreciate that the chef is on premises. Service is good, although there was a long wait for main course.

Cocktail selection is interesting.

Will be back.

Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

It was such a pleasure and privilege to eat at Butter and meet Chef Alex!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic experience! Made a point to honor our time in regard to having theater tickets.
Every staff member was very polite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Girls weekend In the city for theater- amazing menu, so creative, enough to walk to theater-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

My husbnad and I both ordered the lunch prix fixe menu. The soups (two different) were absolutely DELICIOUS!!!! The house-made rolls and herb butter were sensational! We ordered the Butter Burger on our server's recommondation and were extremely underwhelmed. The burgers were both undercooked for what we ordered, and the burgers were definitely underseasoned. The cheese fondue needed to be sharper to be tasted with the other toppings. Our desserts were fine, but nothing too sensational. I would try this restaurant again, though, based on the soups alone. They were THAT good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Service very slow and had to skip last course after being there well over an hour for lunch.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Fabulous food and atmosphere, with wonderful service by Bennett.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Enjoyable overall. Mix of hot & cold appetizers and small plates. Serving sizes quite small and hard for sharing.
The brussel sprouts and pasta dish were the best. And the beignets are a must.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Modern Decor, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Friendly staff. Our server was very efficient. We loved the ambience--my husband (an architect) said it was the best decor he's seen (and he has been to high end Vegas and Chicago restaurants) The food was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We really enjoyed the restaurant, the service was exceptional I just wished there would've been a few more choices for dinner selection.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Really enjoyed our lunch there and our waiter Jeremiah!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everyone was very pleasant. My waitress was knowledgeable of the menu and made excellent suggestions.
The food was tasty, I especially enjoyed the shrimp appetizer and ordered the short ribs special which was also very good ( maybe I would do a little less polenta).
Thank you a very nice meal.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The appetizers and wine were lovely. Our main courses (strip steak and porkchop) were sadly not well prepared. I ordered my steak medium and it was rare and almost impossible to cut. I had to send it back. It was better the second time, but the onions were chewy and stringy. My friend had the porkchop which was also underdone and the red peas were not completely cooked either... we were super bummed because this was the highlight meal of our trip to NYC and I love Alex G! Service was good, if a little slow considering how few people were there (Sunday night).

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sunday brunch at Butter was good to very good and would be rated higher if the food on the buffet was kept hot. Food offerings were expertly prepared and tasty. One minor problem was stale bagels and no cream cheese. Our server Visar was very attentive and accommodating.

Not sure Brunch is their forte, dinner menu looks attractive.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great spot to have a relaxing evening together. I'm a very picky eater but found things I really enjoyed. Didn't like the first dessert but they quickly brought a replacement one. Iron Chef Alex wasn't there this night, but she does she come in regularly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food, very fresh and presentation was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

First time eating here. The restaurant is below ground, which made it rather cozy. Let the waiters help you with the menu. We got great service.
I suggest the steak for two people. It was worth the price. The appetizers and sides were also tasty too. My friend and I are foodies and we eat out once month. This was a fabulous meal and we already plan to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a delicious meal in an inviting setting with excellent service. Will recommend Butter to friends and surely be back. A plus

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food is divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I thought the salmon was remarkably good, one of the better I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Beef carpaccio served without any cracker or bread. Very bland.
Veggies with a dip very bland
Tuna tartare also very forgettable.

Roasted chicken for forty dollars over cooked and dry.
Veg entree was undrcoked cauliflower.
Fish dish was good.
Service friendly and attentive.
Overall disappointing.
Food was MUCH better a few months ago.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere, the service was great

Tags: Organic, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food is WAY overpriced. The cheapest thing you can get is a $17 salad, and it is about a half cup of lettuce (if that). The food is extremely weird and there isn't much variety. Only eat here if you want to pay for way overpriced, weird food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I was disappointed in the taste and portion. We went for lunch and the sea bass was paper thin and over greasy over salted I believe were collard greens. The sushi app tasted like it had olives or something salty throwing off the taste and it was done in two bites. The risotto was good. But after seeing the value and quality was so low we decided not to stay for desert and coffee. Nice ambience but with so many options in NYC, the food has to be better.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food was excellent, but the introduction was unpleasant. My party of 5 arrived at different times on a Monday for lunch at a very unbusy time (noon). The hostess didn't want to seat us until the last person arrived. They could but wouldn't serve us until that last person arrived. Made for an unpleasant and unnecessary exchange were we felt unwelcome. I spent $400 for lunch when I had many choices in town. Relax on this policy and let your food and service do the talking. Otherwise a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I loved the ambience of this place ! Very cozy and yet modern, the wooden decor was very unique and the dimming of the lights just set the mood ! Take your next date here

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was excellent the first time I ate at this restaurant. The second time, my friend ordered the chicken and she said it was dry. The salmon was perfect.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My son loves watching Chef Alex on Chopped - so last year for his birthday we went to Butter and he loved it. He has spoken of the chicken for the past year! So, when he turned 16, naturally, he wanted to return. We had 7 people along to celebrate. The food was very good - my son had the chicken! Service was good but not great. Overall we had a good time - for the money I would expect a slightly better level of service. Will only return if my son insists!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Butter is a an upscale mid-town restaurant, great food as a mid price point.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Delightful meal at Butter. Absolutely top shelf from the front of house, the wait staff and the kitchen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent food from top to bottom on the menu. The service was excellent but the atmosphere is fair to poor. Doesn't match to our great meals, loud club-like bar-like atmosphere was too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.