About Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

14 North Market Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Burwell’s STONE FIRE GRILL serves Premium Steaks and Local Fish inventively updated for our modern world. The setting is a stunning and remarkable restoration of the historic space situated in the center of Charleston’s bustling Market District, adding modern flair. Burwell’s STONE FIRE GRILL serves accessible, approachable dishes that are rooted in the spirit of moving the steakhouse of old into this “Next Generation of Great Steakhouses." The heart of this new, modern steakhouse is award winning Executive Chef Jordan Moore and the Culinary Team. Come for dinner, stay for the fun! Rooftop Bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Nightly: 4:00pm - Close
Happy Hour Monday - Friday
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-8700

Website:
http://www.burwellscharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music - Call the Restaurant for details
Large Parties - Call the Restaurant for details

Catering:
We can cater any of your office parties or special events

Parking Details:
Private parking lot and weekend valet parking are available.

Public Transit:
Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Moore

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have five distinct private dining options

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

More than 5 unique private dining spaces.

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Romantic (31)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Notable Wine List (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Hot Spot (12)
Late-night Find (8)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
915 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place. Great food. Great service. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place. Great food. Great service. Would highly recommend this restaurant to any friends or family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak. Awesome service

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great steak. Awesome service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Burwells is our favorite! It is expensiv ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Burwells is our favorite! It is expensive, but the steak is unbelievably good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Still one of the best places in Charlest ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Still one of the best places in Charleston. One of the best waiters at any restaurant in Chareston. Will continue to go back to the restaurant all the time.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think the steaks are a little over pri ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I think the steaks are a little over priced. My steak wasn't as tender as expected. I didn't find the flavor of the steak to be anything to write home about. I've had better steaks at Oak Steakhouse and even Ruth's Chris. The waiter's knowledge and ability to sell me on Wagyu beef had my expectations high and sadly there we not met.

The service was good, the lava rock appetizer was fun and interactive for a table of people. It was a little smokey with the open kitchen, but the decor was very appealing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I took my son here as his "last meal" be ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I took my son here as his "last meal" before entering the Citadel. I had wanted to treat him to a great steak, and did some research online before making a reservation. We are from NJ, so I relied on the reviews before making my choice. I was very disappointed. The service was incredible, so no issue there. But the minute you walk in, you smell smoke and it was very hot. It was also a friday night, 7:15, and it wasn't very crowded, which waa a red flag. We ordered the pork appetizer, which was very good, but overpriced. The REAL disappointment came with the steaks. While they were cooked perfectly, we both ordered them medium rare, they were EXTREMELY over salted, and not the "melt in your mouth" texture I was expecting. I ordered the Kobe fillet, and my son ordered a strip. I can not tell you how disappointing it was, not only given the occasion, but the prices. My fillet was a bit tough, and my son's was gristley, and chewy. For a steakhouse, that was unacceptable. The sides are not very imaginative, and costly as well. My son ordered the "vegetable of the day" which was a grilled ear of corn..... $6....!!!!

We didnt stay for dessert.

My opinion is this.....this restaurant is touristy, trying to be a higher end eatety, it is clearly NOT frequented by the locals, and it misses the mark. Find a better steakhouse. I spent $165, which did not include dessert and only 1 glass of $8 wine. Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

The moment we walked in we were warmly g ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The moment we walked in we were warmly greeted, immediately seated and met by our server Andrew. Andrew provided excellent service and made us feel welcome and valued. The drinks were amazing, I had the wood fired filet medium well and it was perfectly cooked, moist and tender and nicely seasoned. My husband had the premium Wagyu steak and we both agreed these were the best steaks we've eaten in a long time and we eat out quite often. We had the chefs choice desert which was a lemon bar of some type but it was absolutely delicious. Only disappointment was the lack of an espresso machine but they do have coffee. Overall, from the great service and delicious food I'd say we will definitely be back. One of the owners even comes around to ask how everything is, that's a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too expensive for the service and food c ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Too expensive for the service and food consumed.

Certainly we did not know, but now that we do we will not returned. There are much better steakhouses in Charleston for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The customer service was great! The serv ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The customer service was great! The server was very knowledgeable about the menu. We ordered the steak and the fish special. The steak was very tender and packed with flavor. We also tried the smores dessert and it was delightful. We look forward to going back for a date night with friends.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food! Our waitress was knowledgab ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food! Our waitress was knowledgable about the menu and very attentive to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for steaks. Excellent servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great place for steaks. Excellent service. Convenient location in historic district.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a surprise ! Great dining in Charl ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

What a surprise !

Great dining in Charlston, the meat was fantstic, the service was very good, but sometimes the noicelevel was th high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak we've had, and we have eaten ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Best steak we've had, and we have eaten at all of the best steak restaurants in Charleston. We also have dined around the world, and raved about Burwell's to our friends and family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing both steaks were cooked to perfe ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing both steaks were cooked to perfection and full of taste and the corn on the cob was unbelievable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had great steak dinner. Would go there a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had great steak dinner. Would go there again. We had our daughter with us and she enjoyed to cook her steak on the rocks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The deviled eggs were great. My wife ha ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The deviled eggs were great. My wife had the hanger steak and was very good. I had the ribeye and it was a little to done and grainy. But of course I said nothing as usual. I would go back for happy hour and the eggs and hanger steak.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This was the second time there. The firs ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was the second time there. The first time was great. This time the service was horrible. It too over hour to get food. Great steaks but bad service this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

I had the grouper special and my wife ha ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I had the grouper special and my wife had the filet. One of the best meals I have experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bartenders were on it for service an ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The bartenders were on it for service and delicious alcoholic drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friends fish was nearly raw on one en ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My friends fish was nearly raw on one end. My filet was not cooked to my specifications and my daughters chicken was served without the avocado or poached egg. The kitchen was really bad. Our waitress was very nice and did a fair to good job. I loved the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

The steaks and service were excellent. D ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The steaks and service were excellent. Dinner was a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were fantastic. The pr ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and service were fantastic. The pricing on Open Table was listed as $$, there was only one entrée that was $30 & under. The rating should be updated to $$$ on Open Table. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took friends/clients on recommendation ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I took friends/clients on recommendation from a friend. The overall experience was only fair and I was hoping to be wowed! We came in on a Friday night at 8 so the restaurant should be prepared....unfortunately, they had 2 items on the menu that they were out of. Also no horseradish for oysters and ran out of "house steak sauce"....not good for a high end steak house. To the owners credit, he had the chef make us some. I thought the food (most of us got steaks) was fair at best. For the price ($800 for six of us), it needs to be great! In my opinion, they can't compete with Halls or Oak. I am doubtful to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was polite, app was tasty, ambie ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was polite, app was tasty, ambience delightful.

However I chose the place for the steaks and, for us, they were a disappointment. I'm not sure if Burwell's is the "leisurely dinning experience" kind of place or not, but our rare and med rare steaks took an hour to come out. We assumed this is customary since no one mentioned the wait time so if you plan to go, just make sure you leave enough time.

On taste we were also not aligned. The rare steak had a char to it that my date did not find appealing while the med rare steak seemed entirely flavorless. Again, we didn't want to question the Burwell's chef (nor did we have time to wait for new ones). We simply did not prefer the particular way in which he or she chose to prepared our entree's.

Everything else was quite lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

We were in town for 3 nights and found t ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were in town for 3 nights and found this when looking for a last minute reservation for our anniversary dinner. The waiter asked us when we sat down if we were celebrating anything. He was very knowledgeable about the menu, friendly and accommodating. The steaks, my husband a NY strip and me a Wagyu zabuton, were melt in your mouth delicious. The deviled eggs were an excellent choice for an appetizer. We were provided a wonderful crème Brule for dessert to share that had 'Happy Anniversary' scrolled in chocolate. It was perfect to top off our special dinner. The meals are top notch but the atmosphere was warm and not at all snobbish. We would return if back in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding! Alan knows ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The service was outstanding! Alan knows his steak and was anxious to impart that knowledge which was appreciated. The only draw back was the steak I ordered was the aged ribeye and it was tough. The flavor was good but I think the steak had a streak of gristle that even given my best efforts I could not cut through and thus was forced to eat around it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was super informative and exp ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our server was super informative and explained the menu in detail. As a first timer I was very impressed by Jake, even though he was a C of C grad and poked fun at my Citadel friends. Super asset to Burwell's! Exceptional meal, and try the lava rock cooking experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

More expensive than advertised - ad misl ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

More expensive than advertised - ad misleading - only appetizer available on lava rock.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent choice for dinner in Charlesto ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent choice for dinner in Charleston. Our dinners were delicious and our service exceptional. We will definitely return for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JJ our waiter was fantastic. He was know ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

JJ our waiter was fantastic. He was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The food was amazing! Highly recommend this place. The bar was a little loud from a group that arrived earlier but outside of that, it was an amazing dinner with some superbly cooked steaks.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was the bet find and we will defini ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was the bet find and we will definitely come again next time in Charleston!!! Everything we got was DELICIOUS!, service was great, awesome drink menu!!! Highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken that was added to my salad w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The chicken that was added to my salad was raw in the middle. We sent it back, and they comp'ed the entree, but it tainted our whole experience. The food came out on very large white plates, making the portions seem extremely small for the high price tag. Our waitress was very attentive, but I wouldn't go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Fantastic meal and service!! Staff is pa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fantastic meal and service!! Staff is passionate about the menu and it shows.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A 51 dollar ribeye should NOT be tough t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A 51 dollar ribeye should NOT be tough to cut and eat. And it's not the cost! The quality was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The steak and appetizer that we ordered ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The steak and appetizer that we ordered was absolutely phenomenal. We constantly kept talking about how good the steaks were throughout our entire week in Charleston and told everyone about it when we got back home! Highly recommend the hot stone appetizer and the Iron Steak! I wish I can rate this higher than OpenTable allows.

Lastly, service was outstanding - our waiter was very friendly and even gave us great pointers for what we order as well as neat places to check out throughout the city! This is definitely going to be a required visit each time we come into Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entrées could have been better and t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our entrées could have been better and the deviled eggs were not enjoyed by anyone at the table. We were seated with one person looking directly into the kitchen but our waitress Anna was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food is absolutely amazing, especially t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food is absolutely amazing, especially the steaks. Waiter was very knowledgable about the menu and the restaurant and made the dining experience a cut above any other restaurant. If you want a fine dining experience at a reasonable price, this is the place to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The 52oz steak was fit for a king and qu ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The 52oz steak was fit for a king and queen! We ordered this along with 3-sides and it was great! Vegetables were definitely local and fresh.

Great place to have a good meal and drinks.

Bring your wallet!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Pleasant decor. Do NOT tell the staff th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Pleasant decor. Do NOT tell the staff that you haven't been there before, they will spend 15 minutes describing the menu to you. Our waitress went on and on and on. I get it, your steaks have marbling! If you are not a fan of steak, then this is not the place for you. My food was fine (salad and shrimp pad Thai) but not amazing. The mashed potatoes were delicious, but the Mac and cheese was dry and cheese-less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We were vacationing in Charleston for ou ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were vacationing in Charleston for our 5 year anniversary and given a recommendation to dine at Burwell's. I am so glad we did. We had a wonderful time and the food was fantastic. As a self-proclaimed foodie, I loved every minute of our experience. Our server was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable of the menu and was able to give us expert recommendations. We couldn't have been taken care of any better. We will definitely be sure to recommend Burwell's to any family and friends that will be traveling to Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.