About Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

14 North Market Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Burwell’s STONE FIRE GRILL serves Premium Steaks and Local Fish inventively updated for our modern world. The setting is a stunning and remarkable restoration of the historic space situated in the center of Charleston’s bustling Market District, adding modern flair. Burwell’s STONE FIRE GRILL serves accessible, approachable dishes that are rooted in the spirit of moving the steakhouse of old into this “Next Generation of Great Steakhouses." The heart of this new, modern steakhouse is award winning Executive Chef Jordan Moore and the Culinary Team. Come for dinner, stay for the fun! Rooftop Bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Nightly: 4:00pm - Close
Happy Hour Monday - Friday
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-8700

Website:
http://www.burwellscharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music - Call the Restaurant for details
Large Parties - Call the Restaurant for details

Catering:
We can cater any of your office parties or special events

Parking Details:
Private parking lot and weekend valet parking are available.

Public Transit:
Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Moore

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have five distinct private dining options

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

More than 5 unique private dining spaces.

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (44)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Romantic (30)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Casual (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Private Room (1)
Cozy (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
935 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The meal was great and the service was a ...

 
·Dined 14 hours ago

The meal was great and the service was awesome. We ordered an appetizer and it was great! We ordered the Hot Stone Waygu Steak at the recommendation of the server and it was fabulous! We had a great meal, steaks were awesome and so were the sides. The service was excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We Burwell's on Sunday evening for my hu ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We Burwell's on Sunday evening for my husband's birthday. The food was delicious. The service was great. We will definitely return and recommend to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food which is the focal point was good p ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food which is the focal point was good price was a fair.enjoyed the place but had too long wait time made reservations but we're seated 45 minsmins later.nice upstairs would of enjoyed some live music.server was friendly but when asked for anoanother ordeorder for bread forgot about it

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was terrible ordered a $40 steak had ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was terrible ordered a $40 steak had to send it back it was raw .. bill was still $100 and we had nothing but water to drink ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Food excellent. Server, Andrew, outstand ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food excellent. Server, Andrew, outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. We enjoyed our ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great food and service. We enjoyed our meal very much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, probably one of the ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was great, probably one of the best steaks I have ever tasted. Our server was new. It was his first night on the job, but he did a good job. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere, but it was a Monday night. We will be sure to try it again with friends on a weekend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Andrew was great and the food ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our server Andrew was great and the food was delicious! The only disappointment was my steak was under cooked. I order it medium and it came out rare. I sent it back and it came back medium rare. Still undercooked. The steak was so good I ate it anyway but a little disappointing that when paying $40 for a steak they can't get the temperature right the first time (or the second). I would give them a second chance because everything else was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I were traveling through ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

My husband and I were traveling through Charleston on our way back home to Florida. Charleston is one of our favorite places to spent a few extra days and I like to look up new places to try on Tripadvisor. Since we had been traveling for 5 weeks and had missed celebrating our anniversary, I thought Burwells sounded like the place we would enjoy.

The food was superb, and we will definitely put this one on our list to come back to.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrific experience, great food, superb ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Terrific experience, great food, superb service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent steaks! Their Wagyu steak is j ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent steaks! Their Wagyu steak is just fantastic. Perfectly prepared on their woodfire grill. The sides were tasty, service excellent, just an overall great dining experience.

The Hot Stone appetizer was a fun way to start dinner. Give it a try!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Private Room, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We’ve had dinner at Burwell’s a number o ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We’ve had dinner at Burwell’s a number of times and the food is always excellent; this visit was no exception. However, on this occasion there was a level of disorganization that was disappointing to the overall experience. The problems began at check-in when the three employees standing at the computer couldn’t find our Open Table reservation (even with us showing them the confirmation). They determined they could still seat us and took us to a table for 6 in the middle of the room. We asked if they had something for 4 and we were directed to a dark corner table upstairs. After an extraordinarily long wait, someone finally brought us water and took our drink order only to disappear for a lengthy period of time before returning with our wine. Feeling abandoned upstairs (we were the only diners in the room) we asked if we could move to the main dining room and were accommodated. Again, the food was excellent but the pace was excruciating slow. While appetizers came relatively quickly (at our 3rd table), the main course took forever. From arrival to departure we were there 2 hours and 40 minutes. While not in a hurry, we had not planned on the meal encompassing our entire evening. There seemed to be plenty of staff in the dining area and in the kitchen so I have no explanation for the level of confusion and slow service. After finishing our meal we promptly paid our check and proceeded out the door only to be stopped and told they had forgotten to put the first bottle of wine ordered during our original seating on the bill and owed $51 additional. I handed them cash and we left. I’m thinking after that disaster, that bottle might have been on the house...

Tags: Outstanding Value, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

This was about my 5th visit to Burwells ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was about my 5th visit to Burwells and have never had a bad meal or bad service here - this was a great visit with very good service and great food. Never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Wow! Food was outstanding .. Our waiter ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Wow! Food was outstanding .. Our waiter was knowledgeable and Very efficient. We were there celebrating my daughters birthday and at the end of dinner they surprised her with a delicious dessert on the house. Excellent restaurant.. would recommend to any one .

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was average but expensive Service ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was average but expensive

Service was o.k.

No ambience

Made a reservation for my wife and I, they seat us at a booth that was for made for 6 people which was right by the kitchen door, hostess said ' this is all we have available, otherwise you'll have to wait'. We took the booth and dealt with all of the traffic back and forth from the kitchen to the dining room

Loud

Wide screen TV in bar that you could see from dining area, which seemed inappropriate for

Definitely, would not recommend

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Burwells was genuinely the best restaura ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Burwells was genuinely the best restaurant I've been to in Charleston since living here for two years now. Beyond delicious food and a great atmosphere!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Chandler was fantastic. Food ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our server Chandler was fantastic. Food was very good and dessert (s'mores) was even better. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great atmosphere but not the place for a ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great atmosphere but not the place for a person who doesn't eat meat, seafood options were limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Went there just looking for really good ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Went there just looking for really good food in while on business. Great service and worth the price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. Great food. Great service. ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great place. Great food. Great service. Would highly recommend this restaurant to any friends or family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak. Awesome service

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great steak. Awesome service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Burwells is our favorite! It is expensiv ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Burwells is our favorite! It is expensive, but the steak is unbelievably good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Still one of the best places in Charlest ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Still one of the best places in Charleston. One of the best waiters at any restaurant in Chareston. Will continue to go back to the restaurant all the time.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think the steaks are a little over pri ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I think the steaks are a little over priced. My steak wasn't as tender as expected. I didn't find the flavor of the steak to be anything to write home about. I've had better steaks at Oak Steakhouse and even Ruth's Chris. The waiter's knowledge and ability to sell me on Wagyu beef had my expectations high and sadly there we not met.

The service was good, the lava rock appetizer was fun and interactive for a table of people. It was a little smokey with the open kitchen, but the decor was very appealing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I took my son here as his "last meal" be ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I took my son here as his "last meal" before entering the Citadel. I had wanted to treat him to a great steak, and did some research online before making a reservation. We are from NJ, so I relied on the reviews before making my choice. I was very disappointed. The service was incredible, so no issue there. But the minute you walk in, you smell smoke and it was very hot. It was also a friday night, 7:15, and it wasn't very crowded, which waa a red flag. We ordered the pork appetizer, which was very good, but overpriced. The REAL disappointment came with the steaks. While they were cooked perfectly, we both ordered them medium rare, they were EXTREMELY over salted, and not the "melt in your mouth" texture I was expecting. I ordered the Kobe fillet, and my son ordered a strip. I can not tell you how disappointing it was, not only given the occasion, but the prices. My fillet was a bit tough, and my son's was gristley, and chewy. For a steakhouse, that was unacceptable. The sides are not very imaginative, and costly as well. My son ordered the "vegetable of the day" which was a grilled ear of corn..... $6....!!!!

We didnt stay for dessert.

My opinion is this.....this restaurant is touristy, trying to be a higher end eatety, it is clearly NOT frequented by the locals, and it misses the mark. Find a better steakhouse. I spent $165, which did not include dessert and only 1 glass of $8 wine. Not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

The moment we walked in we were warmly g ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The moment we walked in we were warmly greeted, immediately seated and met by our server Andrew. Andrew provided excellent service and made us feel welcome and valued. The drinks were amazing, I had the wood fired filet medium well and it was perfectly cooked, moist and tender and nicely seasoned. My husband had the premium Wagyu steak and we both agreed these were the best steaks we've eaten in a long time and we eat out quite often. We had the chefs choice desert which was a lemon bar of some type but it was absolutely delicious. Only disappointment was the lack of an espresso machine but they do have coffee. Overall, from the great service and delicious food I'd say we will definitely be back. One of the owners even comes around to ask how everything is, that's a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too expensive for the service and food c ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Too expensive for the service and food consumed.

Certainly we did not know, but now that we do we will not returned. There are much better steakhouses in Charleston for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The customer service was great! The serv ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The customer service was great! The server was very knowledgeable about the menu. We ordered the steak and the fish special. The steak was very tender and packed with flavor. We also tried the smores dessert and it was delightful. We look forward to going back for a date night with friends.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food! Our waitress was knowledgab ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food! Our waitress was knowledgable about the menu and very attentive to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for steaks. Excellent servic ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great place for steaks. Excellent service. Convenient location in historic district.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a surprise ! Great dining in Charl ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

What a surprise !

Great dining in Charlston, the meat was fantstic, the service was very good, but sometimes the noicelevel was th high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak we've had, and we have eaten ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Best steak we've had, and we have eaten at all of the best steak restaurants in Charleston. We also have dined around the world, and raved about Burwell's to our friends and family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing both steaks were cooked to perfe ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing both steaks were cooked to perfection and full of taste and the corn on the cob was unbelievable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had great steak dinner. Would go there a ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had great steak dinner. Would go there again. We had our daughter with us and she enjoyed to cook her steak on the rocks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The deviled eggs were great. My wife ha ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The deviled eggs were great. My wife had the hanger steak and was very good. I had the ribeye and it was a little to done and grainy. But of course I said nothing as usual. I would go back for happy hour and the eggs and hanger steak.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This was the second time there. The firs ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was the second time there. The first time was great. This time the service was horrible. It too over hour to get food. Great steaks but bad service this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

I had the grouper special and my wife ha ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I had the grouper special and my wife had the filet. One of the best meals I have experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bartenders were on it for service an ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The bartenders were on it for service and delicious alcoholic drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the best casual steak hou ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is one of the best casual steak houses I have ever eaten. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends fish was nearly raw on one en ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My friends fish was nearly raw on one end. My filet was not cooked to my specifications and my daughters chicken was served without the avocado or poached egg. The kitchen was really bad. Our waitress was very nice and did a fair to good job. I loved the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.