About Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

14 North Market Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Burwell’s STONE FIRE GRILL serves Premium Steaks and Local Fish inventively updated for our modern world. The setting is a stunning and remarkable restoration of the historic space situated in the center of Charleston’s bustling Market District, adding modern flair. Burwell’s STONE FIRE GRILL serves accessible, approachable dishes that are rooted in the spirit of moving the steakhouse of old into this “Next Generation of Great Steakhouses." The heart of this new, modern steakhouse is award winning Executive Chef Jordan Moore and the Culinary Team. Come for dinner, stay for the fun! Rooftop Bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Nightly: 4:00pm - Close
Happy Hour Monday - Friday
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-8700

Website:
http://www.burwellscharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music - Call the Restaurant for details
Large Parties - Call the Restaurant for details

Catering:
We can cater any of your office parties or special events

Parking Details:
Private parking lot and weekend valet parking are available.

Public Transit:
Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Moore

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have five distinct private dining options

Private Dining

More than 5 unique private dining spaces.

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (46)
fit for foodies (46)
romantic (28)
See All
good for groups (27)
neighborhood gem (25)
vibrant bar scene (17)
notable wine list (16)
hot spot (14)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
892 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The steaks and service were excellent. D ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The steaks and service were excellent. Dinner was a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were fantastic. The pr ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and service were fantastic. The pricing on Open Table was listed as $$, there was only one entrée that was $30 & under. The rating should be updated to $$$ on Open Table. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took friends/clients on recommendation ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I took friends/clients on recommendation from a friend. The overall experience was only fair and I was hoping to be wowed! We came in on a Friday night at 8 so the restaurant should be prepared....unfortunately, they had 2 items on the menu that they were out of. Also no horseradish for oysters and ran out of "house steak sauce"....not good for a high end steak house. To the owners credit, he had the chef make us some. I thought the food (most of us got steaks) was fair at best. For the price ($800 for six of us), it needs to be great! In my opinion, they can't compete with Halls or Oak. I am doubtful to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

If this place served everything else it ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

If this place served everything else it does except steak, I might have liked it better. If you love steak, do not go here. Our server was friendly, the app was good, the drinks were delicious (minus the nubben dried up orange "slice" as my garnish) but our $30 steaks were so surprisingly awful that we will never go back. I ordered med rare, by companion ordered a rare steak. His came out charred on the outside. As though they forgot to put it on the grill (which might be the case because we were sat at 730 and our steaks came at 850) and really quickly lit it up. Hard to enjoy a rare steak when all you taste is grill char. Mine was also disappointing. It tasted as though there was no seasoning on it. I felt like I could have made that steak myself if that cut were available in my local grocery store. Everything else was great; but the reason for going there was a huge let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

We were in town for 3 nights and found t ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were in town for 3 nights and found this when looking for a last minute reservation for our anniversary dinner. The waiter asked us when we sat down if we were celebrating anything. He was very knowledgeable about the menu, friendly and accommodating. The steaks, my husband a NY strip and me a Wagyu zabuton, were melt in your mouth delicious. The deviled eggs were an excellent choice for an appetizer. We were provided a wonderful crème Brule for dessert to share that had 'Happy Anniversary' scrolled in chocolate. It was perfect to top off our special dinner. The meals are top notch but the atmosphere was warm and not at all snobbish. We would return if back in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding! Alan knows ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The service was outstanding! Alan knows his steak and was anxious to impart that knowledge which was appreciated. The only draw back was the steak I ordered was the aged ribeye and it was tough. The flavor was good but I think the steak had a streak of gristle that even given my best efforts I could not cut through and thus was forced to eat around it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was super informative and exp ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our server was super informative and explained the menu in detail. As a first timer I was very impressed by Jake, even though he was a C of C grad and poked fun at my Citadel friends. Super asset to Burwell's! Exceptional meal, and try the lava rock cooking experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

More expensive than advertised - ad misl ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

More expensive than advertised - ad misleading - only appetizer available on lava rock.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent choice for dinner in Charlesto ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent choice for dinner in Charleston. Our dinners were delicious and our service exceptional. We will definitely return for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JJ our waiter was fantastic. He was know ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

JJ our waiter was fantastic. He was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The food was amazing! Highly recommend this place. The bar was a little loud from a group that arrived earlier but outside of that, it was an amazing dinner with some superbly cooked steaks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was the bet find and we will defini ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was the bet find and we will definitely come again next time in Charleston!!! Everything we got was DELICIOUS!, service was great, awesome drink menu!!! Highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken that was added to my salad w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The chicken that was added to my salad was raw in the middle. We sent it back, and they comp'ed the entree, but it tainted our whole experience. The food came out on very large white plates, making the portions seem extremely small for the high price tag. Our waitress was very attentive, but I wouldn't go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Fantastic meal and service!! Staff is pa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fantastic meal and service!! Staff is passionate about the menu and it shows.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A 51 dollar ribeye should NOT be tough t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A 51 dollar ribeye should NOT be tough to cut and eat. And it's not the cost! The quality was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The steak and appetizer that we ordered ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The steak and appetizer that we ordered was absolutely phenomenal. We constantly kept talking about how good the steaks were throughout our entire week in Charleston and told everyone about it when we got back home! Highly recommend the hot stone appetizer and the Iron Steak! I wish I can rate this higher than OpenTable allows.

Lastly, service was outstanding - our waiter was very friendly and even gave us great pointers for what we order as well as neat places to check out throughout the city! This is definitely going to be a required visit each time we come into Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entrées could have been better and t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our entrées could have been better and the deviled eggs were not enjoyed by anyone at the table. We were seated with one person looking directly into the kitchen but our waitress Anna was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food is absolutely amazing, especially t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food is absolutely amazing, especially the steaks. Waiter was very knowledgable about the menu and the restaurant and made the dining experience a cut above any other restaurant. If you want a fine dining experience at a reasonable price, this is the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The 52oz steak was fit for a king and qu ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The 52oz steak was fit for a king and queen! We ordered this along with 3-sides and it was great! Vegetables were definitely local and fresh.

Great place to have a good meal and drinks.

Bring your wallet!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Pleasant decor. Do NOT tell the staff th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Pleasant decor. Do NOT tell the staff that you haven't been there before, they will spend 15 minutes describing the menu to you. Our waitress went on and on and on. I get it, your steaks have marbling! If you are not a fan of steak, then this is not the place for you. My food was fine (salad and shrimp pad Thai) but not amazing. The mashed potatoes were delicious, but the Mac and cheese was dry and cheese-less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We were vacationing in Charleston for ou ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were vacationing in Charleston for our 5 year anniversary and given a recommendation to dine at Burwell's. I am so glad we did. We had a wonderful time and the food was fantastic. As a self-proclaimed foodie, I loved every minute of our experience. Our server was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable of the menu and was able to give us expert recommendations. We couldn't have been taken care of any better. We will definitely be sure to recommend Burwell's to any family and friends that will be traveling to Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak house. They don't serve ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent steak house. They don't serve the enormous steaks found elsewhere, but the quality is great and cooked right. Tartare was unique and very good. Good cocktails as well. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best scallops and Caesar salad ever! The ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Best scallops and Caesar salad ever! The chocolate gelato was amazing. Definitely worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful food, knowledgable server, and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful food, knowledgable server, and the perfect finish with the Charleston S'mores. I'd definitely return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Great service loved the plac ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food. Great service loved the place and food

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated at a corner "booth" for t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were seated at a corner "booth" for two, very private but with a view of the entire restaurant. Our server was very helpful, it was our first visit, without being too familiar. The food was delightful. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for Date Night!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My spouse and I enjoyed drinks and appetizers before the theatre on a Saturday night. Neil did a great job describing menu items and helping us with our selections. The flat iron steak cooked on the signature hot rock was tender and delicious! The pork belly and kimchi was flavorful and spicy and the deviled eggs were excellent as well. Splitting the frisee salad was a great way to end our meal as it was more than enough for two people.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding meal with wonderful sides.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I cannot remember having such a wonderful dining experience! All the food was delicious and cooked perfectly....The owner came over and asked how everything was and we said the same thing. We eat out frequently and what a pleasant surprise we got at Burwells. I highly recommend the beef with the Mepkin Abbey mushrooms. Will definitely return!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was great!! The service was impe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Dinner was great!! The service was impeccable!! Will was a great server and surprised me with a special birthday dessert. Would definitely go back and recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner was wonderful. We had the NY Str ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Dinner was wonderful. We had the NY Strip which was the best I ever had. My wife had the Wagyu Hanger steak and my son had the Wagyu Flat Iron. Both said it was the best steak ever. The desserts were also wonderful. Our lead waiter Alan was great. He guided us with the menu and was right on with his recommendations. Next time we are in town we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a wonderful restaurant! We broug ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant! We brought my boyfriend's parents here, and they were extremely impressed by the steaks, especially the waygu and the hot stone appetizer. The drink selection is great, and they have wonderful cocktails. Our server was amazing, and definitely knew the menu well, making excellent suggestions. We showed up early for our reservation, but they were able to seat us right then and there. I have been here a few times before, and will continue to go here in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice place for a bachelorette party dinner. It was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was fantastic and the food was amazing!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

If you are looking for a great steak this is the place for you. Truly incredible! From the service to the presentation of the food, to the taste of the food. It was a great place for date night with my husband!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

John and crew have a great restaurant. W ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

John and crew have a great restaurant. Who needs Hall's Chophouse when we've got Burwell's?

Our water was just awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This modern steak house stands up to bot ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

This modern steak house stands up to both Oaks and Halls' that we have visited in the past! Thanks to our waiter, Allan, who made our visit extra special with his knowledge of the wine list, the cut of steak that would appeal to us and his overall service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Underrated Restaurant in the Charleston Area

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Burwell's is a little off the beaten path for the typical restaurant locations but once you go you'll continue to go back! Everything on the menu is delicious and the staff is very knowledgeable about their menu. The management is very concerned with your perception of the restaurant and ensures that you've enjoyed your experience. If you haven't been to Burwell's it's a must-see place for a wonderful steak dinner!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous experience! Really wonderful fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fabulous experience! Really wonderful food, service and atmosphere. Only reason I can't give it 5 stars is that the noise level was a bit high - due to a very boisterous Bachelor party. No harm, though! This is our new go to spot for a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb steaks. First visit and is now on ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Superb steaks. First visit and is now on our list as one of our favorite restaurants in Charleston. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dinner ever!!!! Our waiter Alan wa ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Best dinner ever!!!!

Our waiter Alan was the best - Thanks for a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was very nice, the food was excep ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch was very nice, the food was exceptional as as always as Burwells. Allen made our day very very special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a good night

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Made reservations for after my daughter's graduation. Reservation for 8:00, after 8:30 before we were seated. Seated right next to a bachelor party. Couldn't hear ourselves talk. Daughters steak was overcooked, next one was very salty. Not a good night. Talked to the manager who apologized. And to top it all off the ran my card 3 times and tied up $440 more than the bill. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.