About Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

14 North Market Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Burwell’s STONE FIRE GRILL serves Premium Steaks and Local Fish inventively updated for our modern world. The setting is a stunning and remarkable restoration of the historic space situated in the center of Charleston’s bustling Market District, adding modern flair. Burwell’s STONE FIRE GRILL serves accessible, approachable dishes that are rooted in the spirit of moving the steakhouse of old into this “Next Generation of Great Steakhouses." The heart of this new, modern steakhouse is award winning Executive Chef Jordan Moore and the Culinary Team. Come for dinner, stay for the fun! Rooftop Bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Nightly: 4:00pm - Close
Happy Hour Monday - Friday
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-8700

Website:
http://www.burwellscharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music - Call the Restaurant for details
Large Parties - Call the Restaurant for details

Catering:
We can cater any of your office parties or special events

Parking Details:
Private parking lot and weekend valet parking are available.

Public Transit:
Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Moore

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have five distinct private dining options

Private Dining

More than 5 unique private dining spaces.

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (66)
fit for foodies (63)
good for groups (44)
See All
romantic (35)
neighborhood gem (28)
vibrant bar scene (26)
notable wine list (24)
hot spot (23)
late-night find (10)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
860 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was wonderful. We had the NY Str ...

Dined a day ago

Dinner was wonderful. We had the NY Strip which was the best I ever had. My wife had the Wagyu Hanger steak and my son had the Wagyu Flat Iron. Both said it was the best steak ever. The desserts were also wonderful. Our lead waiter Alan was great. He guided us with the menu and was right on with his recommendations. Next time we are in town we will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful restaurant! We broug ...

Dined 3 days ago

This is a wonderful restaurant! We brought my boyfriend's parents here, and they were extremely impressed by the steaks, especially the waygu and the hot stone appetizer. The drink selection is great, and they have wonderful cocktails. Our server was amazing, and definitely knew the menu well, making excellent suggestions. We showed up early for our reservation, but they were able to seat us right then and there. I have been here a few times before, and will continue to go here in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined 4 days ago

Nice place for a bachelorette party dinner. It was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was fantastic and the food was amazing!

Dined 5 days ago

If you are looking for a great steak this is the place for you. Truly incredible! From the service to the presentation of the food, to the taste of the food. It was a great place for date night with my husband!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

John and crew have a great restaurant. W ...

Dined 6 days ago

John and crew have a great restaurant. Who needs Hall's Chophouse when we've got Burwell's? Our water was just awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This modern steak house stands up to bot ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

This modern steak house stands up to both Oaks and Halls' that we have visited in the past! Thanks to our waiter, Allan, who made our visit extra special with his knowledge of the wine list, the cut of steak that would appeal to us and his overall service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Underrated Restaurant in the Charleston Area

Dined on May 18, 2016

Burwell's is a little off the beaten path for the typical restaurant locations but once you go you'll continue to go back! Everything on the menu is delicious and the staff is very knowledgeable about their menu. The management is very concerned with your perception of the restaurant and ensures that you've enjoyed your experience. If you haven't been to Burwell's it's a must-see place for a wonderful steak dinner!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous experience! Really wonderful fo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fabulous experience! Really wonderful food, service and atmosphere. Only reason I can't give it 5 stars is that the noise level was a bit high - due to a very boisterous Bachelor party. No harm, though! This is our new go to spot for a great meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Superb steaks. First visit and is now on ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Superb steaks. First visit and is now on our list as one of our favorite restaurants in Charleston. Will definitely go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best dinner ever!!!! Our waiter Alan wa ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Best dinner ever!!!! Our waiter Alan was the best - Thanks for a great experience

food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was very nice, the food was excep ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch was very nice, the food was exceptional as as always as Burwells. Allen made our day very very special

food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Not a good night

Dined on May 8, 2016

Made reservations for after my daughter's graduation. Reservation for 8:00, after 8:30 before we were seated. Seated right next to a bachelor party. Couldn't hear ourselves talk. Daughters steak was overcooked, next one was very salty. Not a good night. Talked to the manager who apologized. And to top it all off the ran my card 3 times and tied up $440 more than the bill. Thanks.

food5
ambience4
service5

Always great! Service and food!bartender ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Always great! Service and food!bartenders are the best!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Melt-in-your-mouth beef!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I would highly recommend Burwell's. Everything on the menu is unique - especially the deviled eggs and s'mores dessert. Worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Graduation Celebration

Dined on May 6, 2016

Had a lovely CofC graduation dinner here. Many of the employees (hostesses and wait staff) were friends of my daughters so made it even more special. Food delicious. They had no problem with my husband and I sharing a steak as neither of us wanted an entire one. I find this to be an issue at many Charleston restaurants. Atmosphere lively and modern!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yum

Dined on May 6, 2016

Very nice service and food. The four (4) of us were greeted with a nice waiter and he was very informative of the food, on where it came from and how it was prepared. Each item was presented very appropriately and followed up with our pleasure of each item. The table next to us ordered an appetizer, wherein they were presented with a flat rock heated to 900 degree with raw meats that the cooked on the stone to their desired doneness. The aroma was intoxicating . Just an overall great dinning pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I cannot say enough amazing things about ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

I cannot say enough amazing things about our entire experience at Burwell's. From drinks and deviled eggs to s'mores, it was perfection. Our favorite meal of our trip. Ask for JJ. He rocks.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best steaks we've ever had!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Absolutely would recommend! We've been to many high end steakhouses and this did not disappoint! Excellent apps and sides As well! Our waitress was fantastic and very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this place. Best steak ever.

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Loved this place. Best steak ever.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on April 23, 2016

The Wagyu beef was outstanding!! Service was fantastic from J. J. Jo jo at the Bar was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Personal and excellent service. Food and ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Personal and excellent service. Food and atmosphere was great!

food5
ambience5
service4

My wagyu steak was the best steak i've e ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

My wagyu steak was the best steak i've ever had. We didn't care for the minimalist presentation, but the food and ambiance were very, very good. One thing that was annoying was that rather than walking around the table to serve me, the server reached across my husband while he was engaged in conversation. We were not at a booth, so she should have walked around to serve from the left and bus from the right.

food5
ambience4
service5

Seated right away with reservation on a ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Seated right away with reservation on a saturday night. VERY strong smell when entering the restaurant, possibly from lamb cooking... We ordered ceasar salad, which was just ok, but the wagyu gold steak with parm herb fries were exceptional! Clementine cocktail and creme brulee were also delicious! Great service!!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Steaks are wonderful!!

Dined on April 15, 2016

We had the best Filet we've ever eaten tonight!! It was flavorful, juicy, and extremely tender!! We will definitely be back during our next visit.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Steak

Dined on April 14, 2016

Super dinner her with fantastic steak entrees. It is pricey and many items are a la carte. For the few times of the year you want to go first class this is the place. Exciting place with rooftop bar, nice energy and an excellent staff.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice Steak House

Dined on April 8, 2016

I ordered Wagu Steak and my friend ordered Grouper and both were excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service, food was very good, bes ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Great service, food was very good, best deviled eggs I have ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice decor with a blend of rustic and co ...

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Nice decor with a blend of rustic and contemporary appointments. Good service. Busy but not loud, as several of us commented that we didn't have to shout over the roar experienced in most restaurants. The four of us had four different steaks and all were pleased. The wine list had plenty of depth. Prices similar to those in Ruth's Chris, Fleming's, and Morton's.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyable Evening

Dined on April 5, 2016

What a gem. Everything was outstanding. The server was great and did not rush us at all. Had a drinks before ordering. We wanted the deviled egg appetizer but felt it would be way too much food and the server brought one egg for us to try on the house. The owner stopped by and chatted. The atmosphere is beautiful. They have a upstairs deck which would be great during warmer evenings. The steaks were great -- I would probably say one of the best I ever had. The Caesar Salad was divine. The sides were great. I will be visiting Burwell's again and will recommend it to my friends!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Menu and Service

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had dinner Saturday 4/2/16 and All was Excellent! (Food, Service, and Drinks). Our first time to dine here but will not be out last. The steaks are excellent and the Seafood Catch of the Day was Outstanding! Our server, JJ, was also Great and explained all food dishes completely! The Deviled Eggs were Outstanding and Best Ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best deviled eggs I've ever had. Best s ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Best deviled eggs I've ever had. Best s'mores I've ever had. Really great steak. Stone experience rocks! Couple next to us broke up. You should go too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for a wedding with an ex ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

We were in town for a wedding with an extra night for a special dinner for two. We lucked out and there was great live music playing by the bar. Out server said that happens once a month. The food was excellent!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Surprise

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

First time there. Many steak choices and other dishes for the non-meat eaters. Service was very good. Bartender is a hoot. Would recommend to visitors that have tried all of the "tourist restaurants".

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

2nd time back

Dined on March 23, 2016

This isn't a terrible restaurant, so I don't want my review to be misconstrued, however it is smack in the middle of Charleston which is the restaurant epicenter of all cities, so they all have a lot to live up to. Server was very informative, very courteous, and even brought us a dessert on the house because it was our wedding anniversary. Wife and I both got their Wagyu Hangar steak. Asked for it to be cooked medium, it came out medium-rare to rare. Flavor was really just ok. I've had better in chain restaurants. We ordered 3 side dishes - brussel sprouts with rice - very good, Parmesan Frites (yes, fries!) - very good, Broccolini - no flavor. The wine was excellent. Overall, it was "ok", but due to the main attraction (the steak!) being so bland and the prices so rich, I have to give it a "Poor" for overall value. I hope they can improve, but I'm not sure we'll be going back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome Steaks

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Visiting Charleston for a weekend getaway from Atlanta and celebrating birthdays. This is a top notch steakhouse serving excellent beef cooked over an oak fire. The steaks were perfect and you could definitely taste the aging and oak. I was very impressed with the flavors. Caroline took very good care of us. We will definitely go back on our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ummm, steak!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

A nice place just off the public market. Very large, two floors, with a good sized bar area. There were several large groups dining, and with the high ceilings and generous floor space, that was not intrusive. The wine list is not extensive, but had a good variety; we enjoyed a CA meritage along with the excellent Waygu beef. Service was friendly and attentive.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely last night in Charleston

Dined on March 19, 2016

The menu selection was quite nice. Pretty sure there's something for everyone. More of an adult vibe. Not sure if you would want to bring children. Our waiter was very helpful and kind. Would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great place. Food was excellent. ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Really great place. Food was excellent. Service was amazing! Will definitely return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Off the beaten Charleston track

Dined on March 18, 2016

Wonderful find at end of N Market near the water. Super waiter J J . steered us to great dishes. Deviled eggs , cucumber gazpacho and great beef . Excellent coffee. Just a great dinner

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Modern steak house

Dined on March 5, 2016

A sleek modern interior matches the menu in this modern steak house. If you want a great steak this is the place for you. The sides are ok but the real treat is the steak like most other high end steak houses that have sprung up all over the USA. The prices are typically what you should expect in a high end steak house....high. The desert menu was limited to two items. The "special"we had was excellent. The service was very good. I would recommend Burwells to anyone looking for a great steak and who is willing to spend a minimum of $150 per couple.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.