Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

Burwell's embraces a “modern steakhouse” philosophy with a menu of diverse, yet refined, steak dishes cooked over a 1,400 degree wood fire or 700 degree stone. Signature steak dishes include A5 Kobe Beef Ribeye- Miyazaki Prefecture, a Wagyu Outside Skirt Steak with a side of Herb & Aged Parmesan Fries, and Wood Fired Filet Mignon with Broccolini and Farm Egg with assorted sauces.

14 North Market Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Nightly: 4:00pm - Close
Happy Hour Monday - Friday
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-8700

Website:
http://www.burwellscharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music - Call the Restaurant for details
Large Parties - Call the Restaurant for details

Catering:
We can cater any of your office parties or special events

Parking Details:
Private parking lot and weekend valet parking are available.

Public Transit:
Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Moore

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have five distinct private dining options

Private Dining

More than 5 unique private dining spaces.

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Romantic (30)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Wood Oven (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Open Kitchen (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Business Meals (20)
Cozy (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Casual (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fun (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Historic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Family Style (5)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Waterfront (4)
Great Beer (4)
Fireplace (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1092 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

Caroline was an excellent server . We enjoyed visiting with her, and she did an excellent job. She made us feel welcome and appreciated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We never have been to Burwell's; we will return. Will was our waiter, he was outstanding. Food was amazing. Deviled eggs A+, Rock candy- WOW. Just go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Alan was great and the food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall good experience but there were a few areas of concern. Arrived before reservation and advised they could not seat us until reservation time which was fine for us, once reservation time came and passed the hostesses still did not come and get us so I had to go to her and she advised me that she was giving her servers some time to get caught up but she went ahead and sat us a few minutes after the reservation most likely bc I went and asked what was the status of our seats. Otherwise I am not sure how long we would have waited.

Once seated everything went pretty smoothly. Fresh bread was nice and hot, appetizer she crab soup was good. I did request my salmon to be prepared medium well without any pinkness but it was still cooked with it being pink. Will probably check out other places before returning back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This was not the first time we ate at Burwells, we have always enjoyed it! Food was great and the steaks were cooked to perfection. I do miss the skillet cornbread, but the rolls were great. The best part of the evening was our server, Chandler. She was perky, funny and gave great service! Would go back and if we can get Chandler, we would be happy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our local friends suggested eating here as their favorite place in Charleston. We had the delicious deviled eggs, with truffle oil, appetizer with beer and champagne. It was memorable! We saw the bar crowd eating lamb or steak cooked on a 700 degree salted rock served individually to cook your meat at your chosen temperature. So we returned the next night to enjoy that. It was so tender and delicious. We followed with delicious meals. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The wagu filet was like no other steak I've ever had. It was the finest cut, grilled to perfection with the most wonderful flavor. It was pricy, but worth it! My husband's flatiron steak was perfect as well. We don't do desserts often but when a chocolate-peanut butter s'mores dessert was described, we jumped on it. Again, we were thrilled with our choice. We are planning another trip to Charleston just to eat at Burwells again. We hope the deviled eggs and S'mores dessert stay on the menu options for awhile!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed the great service and awesome recommendations by our server. Perfect time

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic experience. NY Strip was outstanding, potatoes and vegetables were delicious. Service was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My wife and I decided to try Burwell's for our date night. And we were not disappointed. The steak selections were among the best in town and the service was very attentive and friendly. Looking forward to honing back for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Disappointed. Arrived ontime for our reservation but was told it would be a 20 minute wait even though half of the tables were empty. Waiter was over the top hard sell. We ordered a bottle of wine he recommended only to have him come back and tell us they were out of it. Ordered another bottle and the cork screw broke opening it. Appys were good - deviled eggs were tasty, Caesar salad also good. Hangar steak was extremely salty and under cooked - ordered medium rare and came out rare almost raw. Sides did not arrive with the steaks - had to wait several minutes for them to hit the table. We were told the kitchen messed up. Side dish of farro and Brussels sprouts was way under cooked. Sprouts were raw. Waiter tried to tell us hangar steak was naturally salty and they purposely cook the Brussels sprouts that way to give the dish crunch. Mac and cheese was mediocre. Not worth the $300 price tag. On a side note we were in a booth that the seat was frayed and had holes in it. For that kind of price tag I don't enjoy sitting on tattered seats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

AMAZING meal. Ann, our server was extremely attentive, knowledgeable, friendly, helpful & on top of things. Absolutely freakin delicious! Highly recommend! Steaks were off the charts. Butternut squash soup was to die for & the mac & cheese brought it all together.

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This was my second time here. I brought a friend here for her birthday and she was crying by the end of dinner. Best restaurant in town hands down. Gabby was an amazing waitress. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Four of us went to this restaurant and all got steak. Three of us got the filet and one the flat iron. We also ordered a peppercorn sauce, mushrooms and a green vegetable. Three of the steaks were cooked to perfection and unfortunately my filet was overdone. Before I realized this I had put mushrooms and veggies on the plate. After cutting into the steak the waitress came to see how we were doing. Being told the steak was overdone she agreed and took it back to the kitchen. When returned the second steak was perfect and the waitress brought another side of mushrooms. My only complaint would be that the veggies on my plate were not replaced and I do like my vegetables. That being said, all steaks were very tasty, the waitress was very good and the overall experience was good.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a great meal at Burwell's. The steaks were superb. I had the Wagyu filet and it was prepared and tasted great. No complaints. The remainder of the food was very good, but on par with other steak houses in Charleston. Nothing over the top. Biggest difference is the atmosphere. This is a great location if you are having dinner with a group or looking for a loud bar scene atmosphere. If you are a couple looking for a quiet romantic date, this is not the place. The restaurants advertises as a modern steakhouse though, so anticipated different. Overall great experience, but my wife and I usually prefer a quieter evening out. Would return with a group for a fun night on the town.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The menu at this modern steakhouse was much more diverse than a typical steakhouse, it included a wide range of beef including wagyu, dry-aged, prime, and traditional styles. I've never seen this before, and it was hard to decide but I enjoyed my wagyu skirt steak very much!

Tags: Wood Oven, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were disappointed in the whole experience. The seats were all wore out. That should of given us the first clue. Took a while for server to get to us. The steak was very disappointing for the price. We notice a gentleman walking around in jeans and casual shirt, has no idea who he was. Came to our table asked if everything was ok. Never introduced himself, but I guess he worked there. We won't go back.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great server. Very accommodating. They opened the roof deck just for us. I woud recommend this location.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Really enjoyed the bar prior to dinner. The wait staff in general is very nice but way too much talking and explaining the entire menu versus allowing the diner to ask questions or they ask questions of the diner and make recommendations. The drinks upfront and the desert at the end were awesome. The appetizer and a meal were good to very good but not incredible. Prices were a little on the high side compared to Oak and Halls chophouse. Overall we enjoyed the experience. I did mention in the original reservation that we were celebrating a birthday and no one at the restaurant made mention of the birthday.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Restaurant was empty with us and one other person on a Sunday night at 7:30. Strange!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was a last minute reservation. We were so pleasantly surprised. This a very nice, efficiently run, family business. We sat close to the open kitchen, and we were able to watch the operations. Our waitress was personable, and walked us through the menu. One of the owners came to talk to us. The food was so nicely prepared. We had a cheese sampler, and the choices were well chosen. We both had the grilled salmon Caesar salad, and my mouth is watering just thinking about it. Great find!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Fun, Cozy, Authentic, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food with a great experience that was different than the average dining experience. Outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The BEST waygu steak I have ever had! Mouth watering good!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Andrew was our waiter and he was fabulous . I highly recommend the steaks.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 21, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary with a trip to Charleston. Burwell's was our second's night's dining destination. My husband hasn't stopped talking about how much he enjoyed his Wagyu hanger steak - he said it's the best steak he's ever eaten. I ordered their she-crab soup and was wowed - it was absolutely fabulous. Then I ordered their "stone" appetizer of Wagyu filet, cooked the meat on the stone at the table, and enjoyed eating every bite - it was delicious. If we go back to Charleston, Burwell's warrants a return visit.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

My wife and I were looking for a good steak. But wells appeared to be well rated. We were pleasantly surprised it was even better than rated. My wife chose the filet and I went with the strip, they were perfectly prepared and melted in our mouths. If you appreciate a good steak, you will love Burwell's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Fantastic! The hot stone steak appetizers were great fun.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service. Menu was a bit confusing. Also, I'm not really a fan of cooking my own food. We had the charcuterie board as an appetizer...very scarce, but tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A delicious dinner. Enjoyed the wagu black flat iron with breakfast Mac & cheese &

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great little spot! Great steak cook to perfection. Wagyu steak was spot on. The staff was excellent and even surprised my wife with a free birthday Creme brûlée! Highly recommended.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always Enjoy Burwells. If you are looking for a great steak downtown in Charleston this is the place to go. Love there choices and the appetizers are amazing!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

So delicious !!!
I can't wait to return !!!
The filet was amazing and it melted in my mouth !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a special dinner with my son. We had been wanting to try Burwell's for quite some time. It did not disappoint. From the Lava Rock Wagu Beef and Lamp Chops to the dinner entree's it was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our second visit and loved it just as much. Great food, vegetarian friendly but the steaks are amazing too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vegan, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by the Concierge at the hotel we were staying at. What a great recommendation! It was a limited menu because of Valentine's Day, but still many great seafood and steak options. The food was superb, and the service was even better! Even with all the wonderful dinner options in Charleston, be sure to add this restaurant to your list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Made reservations for Valentine's Day dinner. Was seated at a table for 2 that was just beside the underside of the stairs leading to the second floor. It was awkward and unflattering to be seated here-- there were 3 tables of 2 in this side area off the bar and not in the main dining room. Every time someone went up or diwn the stairs, we heard it! Felt like we couldn't ask to be moved, as the hostess told me upon checking in that they were going to be busy that evening. Our waiter was excellent. The food was good. I suggest this area be returned to the bar with high tables/ bar stools.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Best steak I have ever had. The mashed potatoes and mac and cheese was amazing. But the deviled eggs got the award. Must try. Bought the chef and crew lagers for the incredible meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Average at best. For the money, there are many better options in Charleston. Rib eye steak was touted as the leanest rib eye cut but was very fatty. Filet was below average. Tile fish was not prepared well. All very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I thought the food was very good, however the menu was rather expensive and I don't believe the experience matched the cost. For the same cost, you can expect the experience would be much better at Oak Steakhouse or Halls Chophouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Really great place, perfect servers at the bar and at our table. They really knew their stuff! Meal and Drinks were delightful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The ambience was great, the food was phenomenal, the steaks were awesome. The staff was so nice, polite, and gave us suggestions. They even made a happ birthday writing on my boyfriends dessert plate. The evening was amazing

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.