Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

Burwell's embraces a “modern steakhouse” philosophy with a menu of diverse, yet refined, steak dishes cooked over a 1,400 degree wood fire or 700 degree stone. Signature steak dishes include A5 Kobe Beef Ribeye- Miyazaki Prefecture, a Wagyu Outside Skirt Steak with a side of Herb & Aged Parmesan Fries, and Wood Fired Filet Mignon with Broccolini and Farm Egg with assorted sauces.

14 North Market Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Nightly: 4:00pm - Close
Happy Hour Monday - Friday
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-8700

Website:
http://www.burwellscharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music - Call the Restaurant for details
Large Parties - Call the Restaurant for details

Catering:
We can cater any of your office parties or special events

Parking Details:
Private parking lot and weekend valet parking are available.

Public Transit:
Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Moore

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have five distinct private dining options

Private Dining

More than 5 unique private dining spaces.

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for a Date (44)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Wood Oven (29)
Romantic (28)
Local Ingredients (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Open Kitchen (22)
Business Meals (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Modern Decor (19)
Casual (19)
Cozy (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Fun (15)
Authentic (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Historic (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Waterfront (5)
Great Beer (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Steaks are great, cooked on wood fire grill. Service was very attentive, and the owner is usually around, which is a good sign to see in a restaurant. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We held rehearsal dinner in the upstairs room...food was outstanding! Great atmosphere and excellent service

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Lively bar scene and very good food. Portions are the right size and sides are good for sharing. Noise level is high on the ground floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Gabby our server was great but food is overpriced for quality compared to other local restaurants. Veerryyyy loud bachelor party came in and sat beside us and ruined the atmosphere - manager should have reigned then in

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Everything about our experience was great. The wait staff was awesome. The food was incredible. Couldn't have asked for more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

OMG. We went to this place that has been on my bucket list for to long. It was awesome. I love the 700 degree stones to cook you lamb chops on. We all loved it and recommend it and definitely will return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Server was fantastic and the food was especially delicious, well prepared and the presentation far exceeds expectations. A return visit is a must!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Over priced small portions. We had a reservation for 7:45 pm and still had to wait. The young lady receptionist was super nice. A man employee tried to undermine her and she advised him we had reservations and had been waiting. She was going to place us at a table downstairs but we were moved upstairs. Not impressed by his importance

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Way over priced. The hanger steak no worth the money. Prime and filet was very good. Serves was good waitress very friendly she got a good tip. Wine was priced right for the bottle. Over all just too much money for the food.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

A great find while visiting Charleston! Wait staff was accommodating to our children and the hot rock with a salad was just enough food to satisfy them and keep them busy so the grown ups could enjoy a cocktail and a filet! Would go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The rock candy appetizer is a must! This was such a fun dinner experience and the service was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Overall the food was good, but we thought the service was very good. It is in a convenient location and we were able to grab a drink on the rooftop prior.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Not worth the price. Food mediocre at best. Half an hour wait with a reservation. Told we had to place appetizer & entree order at same time because server was busy! At their prices you should be able to order any way you want! Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great food and outstanding service and able to accommodate an odd number for a business dinner. We had clients out here last week and enjoyed the food and service so much that we returned again this week with a different group. The staff at Burwell's remembered us, anticipated our needs, and exceeded our expectations on the second visit. We plan to make Burwell's a mainstay for entertaining our business clients.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 10, 2017

ALL of the food was excellent! The flavor of steak and broccolini was amazing. We will definitely be dining here again soon!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Good food service was average and really made the overall experience disappointing. Quality of food was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Outstanding food, service and atmosphere. Loved our experience here!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Alan, our waiter, was fun and informative. We loved the atmosphere. It was elegant but trendy.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Amazing food, the deviled eggs ap is a MUST and the "rock candy" is delicious! Of course the filet is like butter, but the 12oz NY Strip will blow your mind with flavor. A must goto while in Charleston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Overall good experience. Nothing over the top though for the price. Food was good, not spectacular. Dessert was excellent especially the s'mores. Could use some updates to the booth cushions they were quite uncomfortable and ours had big holes in the fabric. Not what you would expect when your paying about $100 per person. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable​ of the menu but the manager came to check on us when the steaks were served and he just seemed distant. Like he was just asking because he was supposed to. Not very enthusiastic or friendly. Our streaks were excellent! The veggies came out quite undercooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Outstanding food and a little bit of a hidden gem in Charleston's excellent food scene. Cooking Waygu beef on a hot rock at your table is a fun experience with a very tasty ending.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was wonderful, staff was very friendly and attentive, knowlegeable server, nice atmosphere. We were gifted a beautiful and delicious anniversary dessert!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had heard about Burwell's from multiple friends as a must try for steak lovers. They were absolutely correct - from the stone fire steak appetizer (where you cook small pieces of steak on a 700 degree 6"x6" stone) to the many entree choice cuts we had a great "steak" experience. Servers suggestions were on point and overall atmosphere was cosy and casual (and smells delicious). No doubt we will be going to Burwell's again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great selection of steaks - would have liked more fish & seafood options. The appetizers could also have been a little more selective. But overall, the food choices that the four of us selected were very good. Most notable was the enthusiasm and food/cocktail/wine knowledge of our server. My husband, brother, sister in law & I thought she was definitely one of the best servers ever. We also liked the ambiance of the restaurant and it's also in a fab location.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had (Filet Mignon, mashed potatoes, Brocolini)

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We have been at Burwell's many times. This last visit was ok. I had a pasta dish which included roasted lamb and it was a bit too dry to make it work. The other thing is the charcuterie and cheese plates seemed to be super small for the $15 each. Outside of that, drinks were excellent, most other food was good and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Amazing cuts of beef. Try the hot rock appetizers - you won't be sorry. Great wine recommendation by server was really good and inexpensive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This was our send visit in the past few months and my wife and I were somewhat disappointed. The service was slow and my wife's steak was average at best. I do not eat meat so the limited offerings is a detriment. Nice bar atmosphere and maybe more of a fun place than a fine dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Amazing place to celebrate anything. Any excuse- just go! You like steak, go, eat!

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Hands down the best steak in Charleston. Our meal, the service, and the ambience was perfect. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Authentic, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Filet was wonderful..had the stone appetizer filet and the deviled eggs. Beef taste and quality every bit as good as Halls without the wait to get in. Plan to go back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Burwell's was a great experience with some of the most delicious steak I've ever had (possibly the best!). The Hot Salt Stone appetizers are unique and a must try; the sauces they came with were outstanding as well. My husband ordered a Wagyu Hangar steak which was cooked perfectly and was very tender. I had the Lamb Bolognese which was equally as delicious and reasonably priced. My husband loved them both and was eating off my plate as well as his. We also tried the lobster which was delicious; the buttery bearnaise dipping sauce was a great complement to the lobster.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Caroline was an excellent server . We enjoyed visiting with her, and she did an excellent job. She made us feel welcome and appreciated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We never have been to Burwell's; we will return. Will was our waiter, he was outstanding. Food was amazing. Deviled eggs A+, Rock candy- WOW. Just go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Alan was great and the food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall good experience but there were a few areas of concern. Arrived before reservation and advised they could not seat us until reservation time which was fine for us, once reservation time came and passed the hostesses still did not come and get us so I had to go to her and she advised me that she was giving her servers some time to get caught up but she went ahead and sat us a few minutes after the reservation most likely bc I went and asked what was the status of our seats. Otherwise I am not sure how long we would have waited.

Once seated everything went pretty smoothly. Fresh bread was nice and hot, appetizer she crab soup was good. I did request my salmon to be prepared medium well without any pinkness but it was still cooked with it being pink. Will probably check out other places before returning back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This was not the first time we ate at Burwells, we have always enjoyed it! Food was great and the steaks were cooked to perfection. I do miss the skillet cornbread, but the rolls were great. The best part of the evening was our server, Chandler. She was perky, funny and gave great service! Would go back and if we can get Chandler, we would be happy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our local friends suggested eating here as their favorite place in Charleston. We had the delicious deviled eggs, with truffle oil, appetizer with beer and champagne. It was memorable! We saw the bar crowd eating lamb or steak cooked on a 700 degree salted rock served individually to cook your meat at your chosen temperature. So we returned the next night to enjoy that. It was so tender and delicious. We followed with delicious meals. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The wagu filet was like no other steak I've ever had. It was the finest cut, grilled to perfection with the most wonderful flavor. It was pricy, but worth it! My husband's flatiron steak was perfect as well. We don't do desserts often but when a chocolate-peanut butter s'mores dessert was described, we jumped on it. Again, we were thrilled with our choice. We are planning another trip to Charleston just to eat at Burwells again. We hope the deviled eggs and S'mores dessert stay on the menu options for awhile!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed the great service and awesome recommendations by our server. Perfect time

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic experience. NY Strip was outstanding, potatoes and vegetables were delicious. Service was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.