About Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

14 North Market Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Burwell's embraces a “modern steakhouse” philosophy with a menu of diverse, yet refined, steak dishes cooked over a 1,400 degree wood fire or 700 degree stone. Signature steak dishes include A5 Kobe Beef Ribeye- Miyazaki Prefecture, a Wagyu Outside Skirt Steak with a side of Herb & Aged Parmesan Fries, and Wood Fired Filet Mignon with Broccolini and Farm Egg with assorted sauces.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Nightly: 4:00pm - Close
Happy Hour Monday - Friday
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-8700

Website:
http://www.burwellscharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music - Call the Restaurant for details
Large Parties - Call the Restaurant for details

Catering:
We can cater any of your office parties or special events

Parking Details:
Private parking lot and weekend valet parking are available.

Public Transit:
Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Moore

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have five distinct private dining options

Private Dining

More than 5 unique private dining spaces.

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Good for Birthdays (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Romantic (20)
Good for Groups (16)
Business Meals (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Wood Oven (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Cozy (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fireplace (3)
Historic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Waterfront (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1064 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A delicious dinner. Enjoyed the wagu bla ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

A delicious dinner. Enjoyed the wagu black flat iron with breakfast Mac & cheese &

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great little spot! Great steak cook to p ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Great little spot! Great steak cook to perfection. Wagyu steak was spot on. The staff was excellent and even surprised my wife with a free birthday Creme brûlée! Highly recommended.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Enjoy Burwells. If you are looki ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Always Enjoy Burwells. If you are looking for a great steak downtown in Charleston this is the place to go. Love there choices and the appetizers are amazing!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So delicious !!! I can't wait to return ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

So delicious !!!

I can't wait to return !!!

The filet was amazing and it melted in my mouth !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Had a special dinner with my son. We had ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a special dinner with my son. We had been wanting to try Burwell's for quite some time. It did not disappoint. From the Lava Rock Wagu Beef and Lamp Chops to the dinner entree's it was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second visit and loved it just as mu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Our second visit and loved it just as much. Great food, vegetarian friendly but the steaks are amazing too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vegan, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was recommended by the C ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant was recommended by the Concierge at the hotel we were staying at. What a great recommendation! It was a limited menu because of Valentine's Day, but still many great seafood and steak options. The food was superb, and the service was even better! Even with all the wonderful dinner options in Charleston, be sure to add this restaurant to your list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations for Valentine's Day di ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Made reservations for Valentine's Day dinner. Was seated at a table for 2 that was just beside the underside of the stairs leading to the second floor. It was awkward and unflattering to be seated here-- there were 3 tables of 2 in this side area off the bar and not in the main dining room. Every time someone went up or diwn the stairs, we heard it! Felt like we couldn't ask to be moved, as the hostess told me upon checking in that they were going to be busy that evening. Our waiter was excellent. The food was good. I suggest this area be returned to the bar with high tables/ bar stools.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Best steak I have ever had. The mashed ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Best steak I have ever had. The mashed potatoes and mac and cheese was amazing. But the deviled eggs got the award. Must try. Bought the chef and crew lagers for the incredible meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average at best. For the money, there ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Average at best. For the money, there are many better options in Charleston. Rib eye steak was touted as the leanest rib eye cut but was very fatty. Filet was below average. Tile fish was not prepared well. All very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

I thought the food was very good, howeve ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I thought the food was very good, however the menu was rather expensive and I don't believe the experience matched the cost. For the same cost, you can expect the experience would be much better at Oak Steakhouse or Halls Chophouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really great place, perfect servers at t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Really great place, perfect servers at the bar and at our table. They really knew their stuff! Meal and Drinks were delightful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambience was great, the food was phe ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The ambience was great, the food was phenomenal, the steaks were awesome. The staff was so nice, polite, and gave us suggestions. They even made a happ birthday writing on my boyfriends dessert plate. The evening was amazing

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I thought the steaks were ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My friends and I thought the steaks were better than at Hall's Steakhouse! It is a bit smoky and noisy in there due to the open kitchen, but that's to be expected, I suppose. They made me a special complimentary dessert for my birthday that was large enough to share with the whole table!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a good find downtown.. has its o ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is a good find downtown.. has its own parking lot adjacent to the restaurant... food and service ... very good... a good sign was that we saw a number locals dining there too!! Highly recommend..

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A really good and well-prepared meal on ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A really good and well-prepared meal on a special Saturday night, my date and I enjoyed our apps and entrees very much. Our server was very helpful, but the noise level was a bit too high to hear well. Lots of restaurants to choose from in Charleston, and my guess is this is a reliably good traditional steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dinner was great as well as the staf ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Our dinner was great as well as the staff. We enjoyed our quiet time and our conversation. We did feel rushed and were allow to dine at our leisure. Thank you for a wonderful belated anniversary date.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the City of Charleston, Burwell's is ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 23, 2017

For the City of Charleston, Burwell's is an also ran. We went during Restaurant week, and ordered off the "special" menu -- sort of the bargain basement menu. That might have been a mistake. The soup was very good, but the seafood stew and the 8oz Prime Rib Steak were not up to the standards of a good steak house with seafood specialties.

However, the staff was very good, and it would be better to look at reviews over a longer period of time than just one night during restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The service was very good and the overal ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was very good and the overall atmosphere was relaxing and semi formal at the same time. The cuts of steak were excellent and prepared to perfection. We felt it served well as an occasion meal experience.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When I made the reservations on Open Tab ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

When I made the reservations on Open Table I put in that it was for a birthday. Waiter didn't get the info as there was no mention of a birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Above avg steaks tasty sides

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Above avg steaks tasty sides

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great steaks and market vegetable dish w ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great steaks and market vegetable dish with Brussel Sprouts was great.

Tags: Wood Oven, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food and will definitely be back

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great food and will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The hot rock appetizer is always a hit. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The hot rock appetizer is always a hit. The cocktails were great. The Wagyu Ribeye was the best steak I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was exquisite..definitely wil ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything was exquisite..definitely will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was fantastic!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great place to meet friends, h ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is a great place to meet friends, have a drink, and a fabulous meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Wagyu beef is delicious! The a la ca ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The Wagyu beef is delicious! The a la carte sides were creative and inspired. The banana bread pudding for dessert was to die for!! Very tasty and nice ambience overall.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I dined here for out 10th we ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 13, 2017

My wife and I dined here for out 10th wedding anniversary and had an amazing experience. This restaurant serves some of the best steak I have eaten around town. The presentation of each course was excellent and the staff very attentive. We had a fun time cooking some of our food tableside on a hot plate. Compared to other high end establishments around town the price was reasonable as well. We are already planning additional trips back to try out more entrees!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Groups, , Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servicio y calidad impecable

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Servicio y calidad impecable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the lamb appetizer that you cook ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had the lamb appetizer that you cook on a stone that's heated to 700 degrees. So fun and amazingly good. My husband had the best steak he had ever had, and I had an awesome fish special. They make their own ginger beer so the Moscow miles were awesome.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were so dissapointed in our Restauran ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We were so dissapointed in our Restaurant Week experience. We came 2 years ago and loved everything, this time however the restaurant has gone downhill. For starters, the leather booths are falling apart. The squash soup was disgusting (on the Restaurant Week options) and even though it was clearly barely eaten, we were not asked about it and therefore not given the salad to substitute. We loved their deviled eggs (non-restaurant week option) last time, this time was a different story. If the bacon wasn't on top they would be boring/tasteless. We also ordered the hot rock beef tenderloins (non-restaurant week option) and it's a cool idea to cook your own food, however we weren't given instructions which would've been nice. The steak was obviously fine and the dessert was an okay brownie. Overall, unimpressive which is so sad because we really liked this place a couple years ago and told several people how great it was (embarrassing now). We will not be returning considering all the other fabulous options in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Overall good but some were too salty. To ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Overall good but some were too salty. Too much pepper on fish.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Stone cooked appetizer was unique and go ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Stone cooked appetizer was unique and good. Entrees were very good, although they may want to cut back the salt some.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service was great! Ask for ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food and service was great! Ask for Andrew, he's the best!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again another great night in food and se ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Again another great night in food and service by Will

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant with steaks cooked ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very nice restaurant with steaks cooked as ordered but Ruth Chris is the gold standard. If you want a great steak in Charleston this is not bad so give it a try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's eve 2016, reservation was at ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's eve 2016, reservation was at 5:30, we were seated at 5:30. The waiter was knowledgeable, patient and attentive , while offering excellent suggestions. The food was outstanding. Enough said.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner service by Will was top not ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great dinner service by Will was top notch always knowledgeable about the menu and even remember what we order last time we were their which was four months ago!! Both Steaks cooked to perfection one well done and other medium - well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just Fabulous! Food, drinks, waitstaff ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Just Fabulous! Food, drinks, waitstaff and other patrons were the best.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.