Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

Burwell's embraces a “modern steakhouse” philosophy with a menu of diverse, yet refined, steak dishes cooked over a 1,400 degree wood fire or 700 degree stone. Signature steak dishes include A5 Kobe Beef Ribeye- Miyazaki Prefecture, a Wagyu Outside Skirt Steak with a side of Herb & Aged Parmesan Fries, and Wood Fired Filet Mignon with Broccolini and Farm Egg with assorted sauces.

14 North Market Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Nightly: 4:00pm - Close
Happy Hour Monday - Friday
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-8700

Website:
http://www.burwellscharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music - Call the Restaurant for details
Large Parties - Call the Restaurant for details

Catering:
We can cater any of your office parties or special events

Parking Details:
Private parking lot and weekend valet parking are available.

Public Transit:
Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Moore

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have five distinct private dining options

Private Dining

More than 5 unique private dining spaces.

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Romantic (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Wood Oven (25)
Casual (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Open Kitchen (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Fun (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Authentic (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Historic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great Beer (5)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Waterfront (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Sports (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Steaks and lamb chops were phenomenal! Great service and wine selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was very good but overpriced. The waitress was very educated on the menu. Overall, the place was very good and enjoyable, the food delicious but overpriced, and the service adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent experience, knowledgeable servers, wonderful steak selection and the chef prepared the meal exactly as requested. Highly recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Walking in, it had the aura of a quick feed state highway restaurant more inclined to quick turns of the table than of a high quality restaurant. Started off with an heirloom tomato salad that was very nice. Things were looking up. The vinaigrette dressing was just the right level of tangy and nicely herbed. Almost went for the wagyu but because they ony offered filet mignon of which in my opinion is a waste of a steak opportunity, i opted for the aged ribeye which was excellent. Boy was I wrong about this place. For desert we went with the chocolate mousse. Ruined the meal. Keep the chocolate cereal puffs and dehydrated strawberries for the kid meal. Sliding back to highway restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The burger was out of this world. Cooked perfectly medium rare & so juicy. The she crab soup was so, so good. We will certainly return in the near future.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Once again we had a fantastic meal. We were well served from beginning to end. Time at Burwell's was well spent

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great service and menu! Everyone made our 30th anniversary memorable from bar area to dinner! Awesome food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

She crab soup - heavy on the "she" with no crab. More like a puree. Lacking taste
NY Strip was bland tasting, lacking any form of seasoned taste.
Wife's filet was ordered medium, came out rare.

First time here. Won't return. Too many other steakhouses to choose from.

Service was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome wine list, Awesome staff, Awesome food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Steaks came out cool. They did heat them up and did not charge for desserts but at the prices they charge, hard to overcome cold steaks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was lacking. Server seemed disinterested. Steaks were tender and had nice flavor; however, all 5 stealks were room temperature. All sides were room temp too. It was a huge let down, especially considering the total cost of our meal. Ambiance was very nice, unfortunately the food and service did not match that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing food and service! Great happy hour drinks and apps!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place has a great vibe and the food is pretty good too! Would return on my next visit to Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food and unique decor utilizing reclaimed wood from many sources. Great spot. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our dinner was out of this world! My husband had the Mahi Mahi and it was by far the best dish he has ever had. I had the NY Strip and it was cooked perfectly! We were on our honeymoon and our server, Cathy was amazing and treated us to the s'mores dessert which we are still talking about.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Family Style, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our server was excellent and the food was good. However, the server assistant was useless. He looked miserable, didn't smile at all. He auctioned off our food at the table. I expect that at outback but not somewhere like this. Also, when he delivered our hot rock appetizer, he just dropped it off. We asked what we were supposed to do - how long to cook it, etc. and he said he didn't know. This is meant to be an experience, not a place where I have to figure out what to do. Again, the server was excellent...she came over and gave us advice and made sure we were enjoying it. The bartender has room to improve as well. We waited at the bar for our table to have a drink, as we were a few minutes early. I ordered the strawberry cucumber cocktail and it was OK - he told us he made them the day before because they get so many ordered. It tasted like it - not bad but not fresh. They didn't have effen or firefly - no big deal there...we can find something else. I went to my standby of amaretto sour. He went away for a few minutes and brought back a drink that looked a little dark but but OK...until I tried it. It smelled odd and then when I tasted it, it was definitely not right. It had a strong coffee flavor. When I asked the bartender about it, he admitted that they didn't have amaretto so he just mixed tia maria and frangelico. Really? Instead of saying you don't have something, you try to trick me?!? I don't mind trying something as an alternative but at least tell me about it. My husband and I enjoy fine dining a couple of times a month in Charleston. Then the hostesses and servers were cleaning silverware right in the dining room next to the kitchen so you hear knives and forks dropping into their containers while we were eating. There are way too many places with great steaks and much better service...charleston grill, oak, halls, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Burwell's is a very nice contemporary restaurant. The food is good, not spectacular. We had a reservation and were seated upstairs. In the future if we ever return we will ask for downstairs seating. Our waitperson would disappear for long periods of time. My husband's soup was served lukewarm (at best) and when our steaks arrived they were not sizzling hot as steaks should be. We don't know if they need food runners or what the problem is. Both of us having worked in the restaurant business for years, we only know there IS a problem. We felt pretty much neglected, although the waitperson was nice when she did appear. We always leave a 20% or better tip, but not this night. I'm not sure if we will return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Not over priced. Great modern vibe

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Historic, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The steaks did not measure up to prime grading, I have had better ribeye steaks at outback.

Tags: Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Filet and ribeye were great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent food. Staff was very friendly. Get the wagu stone app. Will not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Awesome service. Great atmosphere. Decided to the Waygu flank steak and it was the best steak I've ever had! Food was worth every penny! They even have us a complimentary cream brûlée for our engagement. Wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is my second visit to the restaurant because the first blew me away. The food is awesome. The service is great. You definitely get what you pay for here and it is worth it. I took my family from out of town to let them experience everything. It is now one of their favorites also. Good job!!! No, GREAT JOB to everyone who works there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My husband and I had never been here before & found it online & decided to take a chance. We were so glad we did! Great drinks, appetizers & meals! Our server was very knowledgeable about everything on the menu & was so nice & friendly. We had a great night & will definitely be back when we vacation in that area again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Steaks are great, cooked on wood fire grill. Service was very attentive, and the owner is usually around, which is a good sign to see in a restaurant. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We held rehearsal dinner in the upstairs room...food was outstanding! Great atmosphere and excellent service

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Lively bar scene and very good food. Portions are the right size and sides are good for sharing. Noise level is high on the ground floor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Gabby our server was great but food is overpriced for quality compared to other local restaurants. Veerryyyy loud bachelor party came in and sat beside us and ruined the atmosphere - manager should have reigned then in

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Everything about our experience was great. The wait staff was awesome. The food was incredible. Couldn't have asked for more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

OMG. We went to this place that has been on my bucket list for to long. It was awesome. I love the 700 degree stones to cook you lamb chops on. We all loved it and recommend it and definitely will return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Server was fantastic and the food was especially delicious, well prepared and the presentation far exceeds expectations. A return visit is a must!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Over priced small portions. We had a reservation for 7:45 pm and still had to wait. The young lady receptionist was super nice. A man employee tried to undermine her and she advised him we had reservations and had been waiting. She was going to place us at a table downstairs but we were moved upstairs. Not impressed by his importance

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Way over priced. The hanger steak no worth the money. Prime and filet was very good. Serves was good waitress very friendly she got a good tip. Wine was priced right for the bottle. Over all just too much money for the food.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

A great find while visiting Charleston! Wait staff was accommodating to our children and the hot rock with a salad was just enough food to satisfy them and keep them busy so the grown ups could enjoy a cocktail and a filet! Would go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The rock candy appetizer is a must! This was such a fun dinner experience and the service was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Overall the food was good, but we thought the service was very good. It is in a convenient location and we were able to grab a drink on the rooftop prior.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Not worth the price. Food mediocre at best. Half an hour wait with a reservation. Told we had to place appetizer & entree order at same time because server was busy! At their prices you should be able to order any way you want! Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great food and outstanding service and able to accommodate an odd number for a business dinner. We had clients out here last week and enjoyed the food and service so much that we returned again this week with a different group. The staff at Burwell's remembered us, anticipated our needs, and exceeded our expectations on the second visit. We plan to make Burwell's a mainstay for entertaining our business clients.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 10, 2017

ALL of the food was excellent! The flavor of steak and broccolini was amazing. We will definitely be dining here again soon!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Good food service was average and really made the overall experience disappointing. Quality of food was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.