Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

Burwell's embraces a “modern steakhouse” philosophy with a menu of diverse, yet refined, steak dishes cooked over a 1,400 degree wood fire or 700 degree stone. Signature steak dishes include A5 Kobe Beef Ribeye- Miyazaki Prefecture, a Wagyu Outside Skirt Steak with a side of Herb & Aged Parmesan Fries, and Wood Fired Filet Mignon with Broccolini and Farm Egg with assorted sauces.

14 North Market Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Nightly: 4:00pm - Close
Happy Hour Monday - Friday
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-8700

Website:
http://www.burwellscharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music - Call the Restaurant for details
Large Parties - Call the Restaurant for details

Catering:
We can cater any of your office parties or special events

Parking Details:
Private parking lot and weekend valet parking are available.

Public Transit:
Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Moore

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have five distinct private dining options

Private Dining

More than 5 unique private dining spaces.

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Fun (17)
Casual (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Local Ingredients (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Cozy (10)
Wood Oven (10)
Authentic (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great Beer (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Historic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Organic (2)
Waterfront (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined a day ago

I love a good lava stone steak and Burrell's did not disappoint. Got two steak apps instead of entree so I could cook myself. Corn on cob line thing was wonderful. Waitress was charming.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Wood fired Filet was perfect....melted in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our second time at Burwells, and is was fantastic the second time as well. Looks like it will be our go to for our Anniversary dinners from now on. Great service, food an staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a really great time at Burwell's! We got there a little early so we sat at the bar and enjoyed chatting with the bartender. That guy really knows how to make a great martini. The waiter, Al, at Burwell's was exceptional and the food was extremely good. The prices are just way too high. Although the hangar steak was really delicious, for $37 all alone on a plate was unacceptable and a turn off. I had to order a $9 side after the fact.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

My wife and I and loved this place. We were visiting Charleston from out of town and the staff made us feel very welcomed. I would highly recommend this restaurant. My wife and I have already decided this is a must do for all future visits to the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We were the only diners at 7pm and the restaurant didn't fill up until 7.30.
The steaks were excellent and the service was great. The restaurant is a little out of the way at the end of Market Street but I would definitely recommend this place and will eat here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

Went for a dinner date, and we were seated near the window on the bottom floor. I requested that we be moved to another area because it was so hot there. They happily moved us to the second floor, and it was much cooler. Great service! As for the food there was no complaints as far as taste, only negative toward food was the serving size for the sides. It was a small cup for sides. I ordered the bone in ribeye, and my date ordered the wagyu steak. Please note that wagyu is Japanese, or Japanese style steak and there is a rating system A-1 to A-5. I asked the rating of theirs and was not given a rating just that it was not A-5. Still good regardless. Overall I would go again, and recommend this place to my friends and family.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Spontaneous weekend in Charleston with the wife. Drove in from Atlanta to spend the weekend. She likes steak... I like seafood...so we picked Burwells mainly on a friend's recommendation who used to live in Charleston. We dined upstairs in an ackward corner and Caroline, our server, was very busy with larger groups. We were drinking Pellegrino sparkling water and we asked to have the bottle left on the table since she was so busy. She told me that her manager would get mad. She eventually left it for us which was nice of her...but she seemed genuinely irritated with our request. I wanted to order Grouper...but hate anything with squash or zuchinni... when asked if I could have the plain grouper without the squash garnishment, she seemed annoyed and didn't respond "yes" or "no"... just stared at me in disbelief. In order to end the standoff... I told her to bring me a small steak. Also ordered the Parmesan fries... they were overcooked and awful... tasted just like the hard pieces of overcooked French fries at a McDonalds. Really nice place... and the steak itself was absolutely awesome...but the overall dining experience was a major letdown. Don't plan on returning or recommending to any friends. Hopefully they will use this feedback in a constructive manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

An incredible experience. Great food and drinks. Steak and scallops were phenomenal.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The only thing I was not happy about was that I asked for a well done steak and it came out slightly burned, like black around the edges. I know I am picky and it is hard to do a well done steak right. The crab on my husband's steak was slightly bland, it just needed something else. Everything else was wonderful though! Service was great!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This is a classy place good for special occasions and celebrations. Well trained staff, attentive service and well prepared food. Try some of the bison offerings; they're good.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Will, Our Waiter was excellent. He is the type of waiter that all wait staff should emulate. I will surely dine at Burwells again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Always a favorite. Started at bar with s900 degrees stone to cook tebderloin cut meat, truffle oil deviled eggs and great drinks.
Dinner included Wagu steak-as smooth as butter! Amazing restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My wife and I just celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary and decided to dine here. The atmosphere was great. It was quiet enough to have great conversations. The meal was delicious. Our server for the evening was humorous and wasn't pushy on getting you in, fed and out like a lot of other local places. It was a relaxing and an enjoyable evening. Great for special occasions!

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Deviled eggs are a killer! Good service, nice selection of cuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Very good service. I ordered a hamburger medium..barely cooked. Would have liked it with a little red interior. Other than that, great food, service and atmosphere. Would definitely go again!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We love a good steak restaurant and had looked forward to trying this place. Unfortunately, we won't be returning. The appetizers were disappointing. The asparagus soup with pickled shrimp was a large portion but lacked flavor and I had to devein the shrimp. In contrast, the beet salad was small and overpriced. The amount of goat cheese was generous and the dressing on the bottom of the plate was tasty but the beets, which should have been featured, were scarce, unimpressive and overpowered by the cheese. As with a lot of the restaurants in Charleston, the sides are extra so we are accustomed to that. However, a piece of steak on a bare plate without so much as a swirl or sprig of green? I could have looked past that if the steak had been better. Honestly, I've had better at chain restaurants and definitely better from my own grill. I will say the fries and mashed potatoes were delicious and the service and attention was excellent but it was an expensive meal for lackluster quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great service, amazing food and did not disappoint all around! Hit the rooftop bar for before dinner drinks and apps. Get the Stone Fire, it's really cool for a different dining experience. The S'mores dessert was perfection and just enough to top off dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I have been to Burwell's Stone Fire Grill many times and the changing menu is fantastic. They use local ingredients and the steak is absolutely fantastic. It will rival any steak house in Charleston and it is only a short walk from the water. The rooftop bar is a great place to meet before dinner for drinks and the view's are fantastic. Service both at the bar and in the dining room are unequaled. Alan is, without a doubt, the reason we keep going back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Our group of 4 all enjoyed our steaks. The filet was delicious and cooked perfectly. The kitchen is semi-open and I always enjoy watching the chefs prepare the good. Our server was very friendly and not in a hurry to get away from our table. Parking is a plus too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

6th year Anniversary

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent food and exceptional service. Our waiter, Will, was fantastic. A great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Found this place on Yelp. This is a great place for steak. Madison was our server and OUTSTANDING!!! Give this place a try you will love it.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Over priced based on food, atmosphere and wine by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I cannot say enough good things about this place. I got engaged here last Thursday and it was truly an amazing experience. The food, as always, was outstanding, but what truly stood out was the level of care and help I received making everything just right.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We always like to come back great to know what we expect is still available.
The quality of meat, vedgetable and friendly knowledgeable service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The service was just ok at best and the food is not any better. Way over priced for steak that's flavorless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Enjoyed our anniversary dinner there. Service is very good and the kitchen manager we witnessed came by to check how our meal was. Nice touch. My wife tried their Wagyu Prime beef, which looked delicious but lacked tenderness and good beef flavor, a big disappointment being it was to be the better meat, per our server. The New York Strip was large, and tender and seasoned well, a joy to eat. Veggies here are a la cart but large enough for two or more diners. They have a special drink menu for happy hour. We tried the Moscow Mule and Mango Mule which were well made with well blended ingredients.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The meal was great, and the restaurant was not that busy that night so service could be nothing but prompt and good. Meals were a little pricey but portion size was very good. Overall was worth coming back to. Last ate there 3 years ago. Charleston has SOOO many places to eat, and this was a good choice again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Better in previous years.
The issues:
- list of beers on tap had brewer only, not style of beer
- she-crab soup recipe is a fail, ? Squash based?
- wife's medium rare filet closer to rare
- if you're going to provide a view of kitchen, make an effort to remove cardboard boxes, etc. Hardly looks upscale.
- STILL no espresso!
Downhill trend is concerning- will y'all survive in this tough market?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The food was great but a little over priced. I thought my dinner was worth the money but the others in my party didn't agree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I love Burwell's! Their steak is out of this world and the innovative side items and desserts are fun and playful!
This is a place I return to again & again because I don't get tired of their delicious offerings!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a table of four that went there on a Sunday evening. Server was great, and all her recommendations were spot on. Would highly recommend the hot stone steak appetizer and the deviled eggs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I would not waste my money. .our waitress was nice. We were required to put in our drink appetizer and entre order all at one time. Our bottle of wine was left on table..no ice bucket to keep it chilled. From time we were sat to appetizers 45 minutes. .very pricey for what you recieve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent meal but limited menu. Out of chicken on Memorial Day weekend!

Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Our reservation was for 6:30. There were very few guests there when we arrived. Our waiter promptly came to serve us drinks and took our order. I thought I ordered prime rib, telling the waiter I only will order it if they have horseradish. We waited for our dinners for over an hour, which wasn't acceptable. Everyone at the table was pretty upset. My prime rib end up being a rib steak, which I really didn't want. I though I was pretty clear on what I wanted, but guess it was my mistake that I read the menu wrong (saw another item was "prime cut", and thought this was prime rib)
Overall I like this restaurant, but I'll go elsewhere where we don't have to wait so long to get served. I chalk the prime rib order as my fault, but did think I was pretty clear to the waiter on what I wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We ordered the Wagyu Dry aged steak, which was overcooked and very chewy. To share and appetizer and entree with two glasses of wine and spend $125.00 there are a lot better places to go in Charleston. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was excellent. The steaks were cooked to perfection, as was the lobster tail. The roles are simply fabulous. If you plan to visit Charleston you need to put this restaurant on your list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very good choice for a meal for 2. It seems high priced at first, but for quality of food and end amount, very good. All of the dishes were outstanding. Second time we've been there. A little more rushed this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.