Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 15 times today

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

4.6
1479 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
Burwell's embraces a “modern steakhouse” philosophy with a menu of diverse, yet refined, steak dishes cooked over a 1,400 degree wood fire or 700 degree stone. Signature steak dishes include A5 Kobe Beef Ribeye- Miyazaki Prefecture, a Wagyu Outside Skirt Steak with a side of Herb & Aged Parmesan Fries, and Wood Fired Filet Mignon with Broccolini and Farm Egg with assorted sauces.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Bar: Nightly: 4:00pm - Close
Happy Hour Monday - Friday
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 737-8700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jordan Moore
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We can cater any of your office parties or special events
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
East Bay Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private parking lot and weekend valet parking are available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Music - Call the Restaurant for details
Large Parties - Call the Restaurant for details
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We have five distinct private dining options
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

More than 5 unique private dining spaces.

View Private Dining Details
What 1479 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

The filets were extremely tender and cooked perfectly. The overall experience was A + + + + .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Amazing!!!!!! Highly recommend the 700 degree slate for your steak and Meg as your server. Everything we ordered was great and Meg’s excellent service made it even better. So coming back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Very friendly and attentive service. The food was incredible!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Food is phenomenal... kudos to the kitchen staff! The wagyu rock appetizer melts in your mouth. Portions are a good size for the $. The hostess left something to be desired. I approached and she didn't say a word, gave my information and she still didn't say anything, just tapped the screen. She disappeared for a while and came back with menus and then stood there staring at us, still no words. Finally, I said, "should we follow you?" She nodded yes. At the table, she dropped the menus in a pile and walked away. Our server was decent but still lacked hospitality and wasn't very personable. She missed several accompanying items: sauce, steak knives, ketchup for the fries (even though we specifically asked). I asked that my guests not be presented with the bill for appetizers, but when they got their bill they were included. Rather, they should have been on my check. Embarrassing for me as I said I would take care of it. The food is amazing and the ambiance is great but everyone needs a little retraining or a manager on the floor for a some accountability.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great food, waitress, Lauren, seemed distracted, maybe new?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

The steak was excellant and I would give full 5 stars except the mashed potatoes my husband had were cold as was my Yukon gold. My husband sent his back and they did heat them up, I don't like to send things back so I ate mine cold. Anyway I would not let this stop me from coming back because the steak was worth it.
Or server was excellant also!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

There are many great restaurants in Charleston. This is not one of the great. They called and left a voice mail that I needed to confirm our reservation. I called and confirmed but when we arrived, even though there were many open tables, we were left sitting for more than 15 min till I asked about it. The web site states they have private parking, what it doesn’t say is that their parking lot costs $8.00. Although our waitress was very friendly, the overall service was not what it should be. Also, I ordered a filet medium rare and got medium well. Not worth the money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent service from start to finish. Our server was great at explaining the different types of steak they had to offer, he made some recommendations & everything paired perfectly. We had the deviled eggs, which were like works of art. For our main course we had the wagyu flank steak & garlic mashed & broccoli. We went early (6pm) to avoid the later dinner crowd. It was full by the time we left. Highly recommend. The dress is from nice/casual to dressy. Just depends on each person’s occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The steaks are very good some of the best I've ever had in Charleston. The side dishes left much to be desired.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day dining

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed a great night at Burwell's after our daughter's grad from Coll of Charleston. Everything from being child friendly to phenomenal food was perfect. Our server Kathy was the best. I cannot state my complete satisfaction adequately. Its fine dining with fine dining prices, but worth every penny. Our bill actually came in far below what we expected. I highly recommend Burwell's for an exceptional fine dining experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We had the rib-eye, it was cooked, spot-on, perfect. A little pricey, however I wish I had known about Balao (seafood specialty side of the house). I would have tried that as well. Overall a great spot for steaks and seafood. I would highly recommend it and I will be returning.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

This was supposed to be a special night out for my husband's birthday. While the service was great--friendly knowledgeable waitress and fairly nice ambiance, the food was mediocre. My husband's $52 rib eye came underdone. They put it back on the grill but it just wasn't a good cut of meat. The appetizer and salad were ok but not great for the price. Drinks were good. All in all, I would say the value was poor. When we spend two bills for two people we expect it to be excellent. Big disappointment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The steak on the hot lava rock is a really fun and tasty app

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The waiter wasn’t good. I do not even know if he knows that he was working! I have been in the restaurant many times and always we got a decent explanation but know nothing, he was not friendly, he dropped a plastic wine cork in my glass and just took it out and gave me the same wine again shame for this good restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Food was amazing. Service was excellent. Would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

So far this is the best for steak I ever have. Can’t wait to come back again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Just like any visit to this restaurant, it was amazing again. I am a returning customer for a reason.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Wonderful staff at every level, but Alan is awesome! The food is always excellent, which is why I like to bring clients here. It is the perfect Charleston dining experience- top to bottom!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Dined at Burwell's for first, but not last time. Beef cuts delicious , but the breads and s'mores dessert were sublime. Easy parking on Tuesday night downtown was a plus.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We shared the cream of broccoli soup - outstanding - and shared the wedge salad - delicious. The catch of the day was Halibut and it came with a vegetable hash couscous which I could have had a whole bowl of just that. BUT the outstanding prime tenderloin steak was the best steak I have had in a long time and I'm from Chicago. Prices are high but everything was so good it was worth it to us.

Service was friendly and attentive but not intrusive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Had a wonder meal. Wagyu hanger steak fantastic! Great value for money! Would recommend over the “famous’ Hall’s in Charleston. Streets ahead for food and atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Went for a birthday dinner. Had been a while since we had been in. Went upstairs to Balao for a cocktail first. That was good too. Table was ready exactly on time. Alan was our waiter and he was very friendly and knowledgeable. Started with the wedge salad which was very good. It had a bacon jam that gave it a sweetness against the blue cheese. We ordered the Wagyu hangar steak and a also filet. Both were very tender and flavorful and cooked to the right temps. All in all, a great night. We will be back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The dining room is so loud that it is difficult to hear across the table. The food and service were fine but we are unlikely to return because we like to talk with our dinner companions and that is not possible.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Great food, welcoming environment!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Always fabulous!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Vacation and steak was delicious! Would have liked more fish entrees since advertised as steak and seafood.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Great find as we were walking Charleston.
Food was excellent, service was great, seating was comfortable, desserts were amazing..... The only CON was the owner’s
Decision to allow a LARGE party to be seated in the center of the very COZY dining room!!
Very loud to the point we could not hear our waiter !!
After trying to suffer through it, we noticed a person whom we thot might be owner, so asked to speak to him. He did apologize and say he normally only put large parties upstairs, but was a last minute group!!
He did offer to pay for the desserts we had already ordered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

This is the 3rd time for me. My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and it was very special for her. The waiter was especially nice for her and the desert afterward was very thoughtful, The business meals for VOLVO were also very nicely done and the engineering group was very much appreciative of the attention and especially the food. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Excellent food and service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great steak!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Got a NY Strip it was pretty good I've had better at Outback. Also got the apitizer that turned out to be a grill your own steak which wasn't explained...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Was there on a date and it was perfect, service was great (Alan M.) and the food was incredible. I have told a dozen people since they need to check it out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Absolutely amazing experience! Juliano was a fantastic server and the food was to die for!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Came here for my boyfriends bday dinner - Amazing experience. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly - this was our favorite spot on our trip to Charleston. Great small rooftop bar with friendly bartender. The waitress we had was fun and gave us recommendations for the rest of the trip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Great location close to Charleston market. Service was a little confused at times but friendly and attentive. Food was amazing, one of the best steaks ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Our server( whose name I can’t remember unfortunately ) was very sweet and informative, she went above and beyond to make sure my sister had a great birthday!
We loved every minute of it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

The server was excellent. Very attentive. We apologize for not remembering his name. We were there on April 16th early in the evening! Very accommodating and knowledgeable. The drinks were excellent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food and atmosphere were great! Deviled eggs appetizer was perfect. The filet was amazing with their whiskey peppercorn sauce. My side of Mac and cheese came out very dry but I was delivered a new one that was fabulous. Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Perfect as always. It was prom night so a little noisy but they did a great job with the flow. The owner of the restaurant stopped by our table to check on us was very nice and thankful. Hands down best steak in charleston. We will go back again soon.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
37

Tweets by Burwell's Stone Fire Grill