Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

Burwell's embraces a “modern steakhouse” philosophy with a menu of diverse, yet refined, steak dishes cooked over a 1,400 degree wood fire or 700 degree stone. Signature steak dishes include A5 Kobe Beef Ribeye- Miyazaki Prefecture, a Wagyu Outside Skirt Steak with a side of Herb & Aged Parmesan Fries, and Wood Fired Filet Mignon with Broccolini and Farm Egg with assorted sauces.

14 North Market Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Nightly: 4:00pm - Close
Happy Hour Monday - Friday
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-8700

Website:
http://www.burwellscharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music - Call the Restaurant for details
Large Parties - Call the Restaurant for details

Catering:
We can cater any of your office parties or special events

Parking Details:
Private parking lot and weekend valet parking are available.

Public Transit:
Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Moore

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have five distinct private dining options

Private Dining

More than 5 unique private dining spaces.

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Romantic (28)
Business Meals (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Bar Seating (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Casual (18)
Good for Groups (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Authentic (13)
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Happy Hour (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Live Music (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
1273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

The steak was great but the service left us jaded and we likely won’t return. The server built a high expectation as to what the experience was going to be however they were slow to get our drinks, brought out the wrong sides and disappeared after our entrees were out. We ended up tracking down another waiter to pay our bill. For a meal over $100 it was a very underwhelming experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Food & service were very good. The noise level is so huge, it was difficult hearing our waitress when getting our order. The atmosphere was not conducive for conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2017

The best of the best! Great food. Great service. Great wine recommendations. Repeat customer looking forward to what Burwells will do next! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

Our server was so sweet and enjoyed our meal very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Burwell's was everything all the reviews said it was... a Fantastic Steak house.
our server was very friendly and knowledgeable of the different cuts which led me to an awesome wet aged NY strip, while my wife enjoyed a flavorful Filet Mignon, both dishes had that great wood fired grill taste. the plates were tastefully splashed with the chefs art design of a seasoning and sauce. we had the mac n cheese (Really Good!) too full to order dessert, but our server snuck a dessert sampler on our table and we enjoyed every bite. all this along with handcrafted cocktails, the Dine was Fabulous! the décor is chic and yet casual. the manager mark came over and introduced himself and inquired about our meal. our server Kathy was excellent and made sure we were taken care of from the moment we sat till the time we waved goodbye. definitely a must do next time yall in Charleston,SC

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Excellent service and food! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Burwell's was great! If you are looking to get top quality beef, this is the perfect spot. The portions are huge. Also highly recommend the burger and beet salad.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Happy hour at the bar is a must!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Great service right off the bat. The steaks here are amazing Wagyu beef, cooked to perfection. They have a “Hot Rock” appetizer where they bring premium beef out with a lava rock at 700 degrees and you put the meat on the lava rock with sea salt. It’s delicious.

Then comes the Wagyu Hanger steak. Wow. Perfect, tender, and seasoned just right. There’s not a lot I can say other than you have to try the steak. It’s worth every penny.

I had the coconut cheesecake and my wife had the s’mores desert. It’s worth the trip just for the amazing deserts!

This place is absolutely worth making a reservation and driving downtown!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 2, 2017

We have always loved Hall's but I think we've now found a new favorite in Burwell's!! The stone apps are super fun and the wagyu steaks just melt in your mouth. I definitely need to go back and try the small plates and seafood options as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

The food was delicious! Our waitress was very good especially since it's really hard to find a restaurant with good service in Charleston. Their steak was also very good; it just melts in your mouth! Way better than the overpriced Hall's Chophouse. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Family dinner after a day of sightseeing. Food was great. Atmosphere and service were on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Try the 700 degree hot rock, cook your own appetizer. Quite a treat and fun.
Loved their signature Manhattan which has a classy presentation.
The aged ribeye was one of the 3 best steaks I have had in my life.
We went for my buddy's birthday dinner and he was absolutely blown away.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Service was great but the food isn’t very good. Fair at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Excellent staff, good food, not your typical steakhouse. Worth it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Awesome the meal was fantastic the service friendly a very relaxed and comfortable place would highly recommend

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The steak I had was so tender and flavorful, the best I have ever had. The service was great. My daughter and I agreed that this restaurant is at the top of our list for places to eat in Charleston. It deserves a # 10 rating.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

The food was absolutely phenomenal! And the wait staff were so friendly and knowledgeable, even offering us a free glass of wine that he thought would be a nice pairing with our steaks. We will definitely come back there again! It is a little pricey but well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Had 3 course meal with a friend of mine Saturday night. Food and service were great. Steak was cooked to a perfect medium rare. Good drink menu as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

We we're celebrating our anniversary and the staff really made it a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Went there for our anniversary and couldn't be happier. The drinks were great and the deviled eggs were outstanding. Both of the steaks were cooked perfect and could be cut with a fork. The waitress was extremely nice and accommodating. The owner or manager even stopped by a couple times to make sure everything was as expected. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Our waiter, Aneel, was OUTSTANDING! He gave us great tips on cooking on the 700 degree stone and was spot on regarding the portion sizes.

Deviled Eggs appetizer amazing! Espresso Flat Iron steak was sooo good!!!!

The noise level on the first floor was a bit high however it was a Friday night in Charleston.

Reservations are a must.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 20, 2017

We were celebrating my birthday and thoroughly enjoyed several different types of steaks cooked over hot-stones, and shared family-style. It was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Great date restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Appetizers (deviled eggs are a must!!) and dinner were great. Our waiter, Alan, was gracious and answered all of our questions. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent Service and Food Quality again!! Our friends who had not been here before told a co-owner that came to our table that they "had dined at lots of downtown places" and this was the BEST they had been too.

Server Cathy was Excellent and always checking on us. Will go back for sure!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

The bartender made great cocktails. The service was excellent! The food was creative and delicious. I highly recommend for any occasion, or special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We enjoyed our evening very much! Our waitress was great and the good was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great staff! Great steak! Relaxed atmosphere. Classy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food and service was on point! I haven't had a meal that tasty in a very long time! The filet was to die for and the mac and cheese was out of this world. My husband and I went to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we will be back when we visit the area next time! Must try!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Very excellent experience. Adam was a great server to our table. The kitchen even set up a special dessert for a birthday. Two steaks were some of the best tasted. Very tender and full of flavor. The Steak Oscar was a best ever treat. The ribs were very good. We had an appetizer of the deviled eggs that were as nice to look at as they were to eat. The vegetables and the mac and cheese were fine sides.

We will go back.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

SO everything was delicious except the bone in Ribeye I had. It had a strange odor and taste. I tried to eat it dunked in steak sauce but it was not edible at all. I took it home but looking back I should have sent it back. But the appetizers and salad and dessert were all fantastic and I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 6, 2017

This was a great restaurant. The server was extremely knowledgeable. Would remind this place to any steak lover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food and service was exceptional as always. Ann was great!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Other than the server being scripted to provide a description of how the cows are treated to differentiate the quality of the beef it was good. I think the owner needs to tone it down a bit on that. My wife and daughter where so taken by it they ended up getting chicken and I doubt my daughter eats beef again. Personally just say it's raised better. Don't make people feel they are eating a family pet. I really don't care if my cow was coddled before it was killed for food. Other than that it's a nice place. Our server did nothing wrong. It's how she was trained obviously. She was awesome. The manager or owner could also put on a jacket when talking to customers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had great service from Emily, our server. She surprised us with a Happy Anniversary dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great service and ambience but the food was forgettable and highly overpriced. The salads and side dishes were well prepared but the steaks were far less than I expected, hopefully, it was just a bad night.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We were absolutely delighted with Burwell's!
Everything from our "deviled egg" appetizers to our last bite of dessert was delicious! Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and everything in between!:) If you haven't tried it yet, you all are missing out on this hidden gem in Charleston! Can't wait to go back again!:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Somewhat disappointed. Steaks were good, sides were nothing special and dessert was not very good. I was expecting better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2017

I was a bit disappointed in my meal. I ordered the buratta salad appetizer, whichever was nothing special (bland). For my entree I ordered the scallops, which were oversalted and had an overwhelming orange flavor which was not enjoyable. I should've had a steak. When we asekd for more dinner rolls (which were delicious the first time around), they were glazed with some kind of weird orange flavor (again with the oranges), which tasted awful. I did not complain because there really was nothing inherently wrong with my meal, I just didn't care for it. However, our server was great. He was very knowledgeable about all the steaks offered on the menu. When he found out it was my friend's birthday, he brought out a beautiful birthday dessert for us to share. It was very nice. I just wish I had ordered steak!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.