About Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

14 North Market Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Burwell's embraces a “modern steakhouse” philosophy with a menu of diverse, yet refined, steak dishes cooked over a 1,400 degree wood fire or 700 degree stone. Signature steak dishes include A5 Kobe Beef Ribeye- Miyazaki Prefecture, a Wagyu Outside Skirt Steak with a side of Herb & Aged Parmesan Fries, and Wood Fired Filet Mignon with Broccolini and Farm Egg with assorted sauces.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Nightly: 4:00pm - Close
Happy Hour Monday - Friday
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-8700

Website:
http://www.burwellscharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music - Call the Restaurant for details
Large Parties - Call the Restaurant for details

Catering:
We can cater any of your office parties or special events

Parking Details:
Private parking lot and weekend valet parking are available.

Public Transit:
Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Moore

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have five distinct private dining options

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

More than 5 unique private dining spaces.

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Good for Groups (18)
Romantic (17)
Wood Oven (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Casual (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Business Meals (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Cozy (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
981 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Party of 4, two of us tried your hanger ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Party of 4, two of us tried your hanger steaks. Disappointed. My wife's was undercooked and flavor of both was ok. Wife usually gets your filet. I usually get your ribeye. Lucky our guests both loved theirs. One had special grouper, other had lobster. Deviled eggs were great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

An all around great experience! Delicio ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

An all around great experience! Delicious food, attentive and friendly staff and really great decor! I say go!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wood fired filet was no less than am ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 4 days ago

The wood fired filet was no less than amazing. The steak was cooked well, tender and very flavorful. The wait for the food was not long. We were taken care of by the best waitress, Chandler. She was knowledgeable of the menu and kind. Best service in Charleston during our visit! We will be recommending this restaurant.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Waygu center-cut was an excellent al ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

The Waygu center-cut was an excellent alternative to the typical filet. The server was excellent. The noise level was too high, but the owner apologized for the group that was involved. A well-run restaurant with valet parking and great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The steak was perfectly cooked , the Cae ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The steak was perfectly cooked , the Caesar salad was out standing but the french fries alone were worth the trip. Don't miss the fries. Next visit we will sit at the bar and have the fries and the Caesar for the perfect bar meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Wagyu steak. Caesar salad was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent Wagyu steak. Caesar salad was equally well prepared. Found the staff quite pleasant, especially considering they were working Thanksgiving night.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our family decided to go out this year f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our family decided to go out this year for Thanksgiving and it was well worth it. . The food and ambiance was excellent. When I'm back in Charleston I will definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for Thanksgiving and had a wonde ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving and had a wonderful meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great time - food, service (Alan) ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had a great time - food, service (Alan), ambiance - all top notch. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found this place for Thanksgiving. E ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We found this place for Thanksgiving. Every item was ordered was incredible. We can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best appetizer ever; must have the devil ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Best appetizer ever; must have the deviled eggs!!! The NY Strip steak was outstanding. Our server was great and recommended all the best items. Have already recommended this restaurant to friends who live in Summerville. Next visit to Charleston will definitely include dinner and will also try the desserts.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always love Burwell's. We've been here ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Always love Burwell's. We've been here 3 times now on our visit to Charleston. Took our teenage daughters here for their first time and the waiter we had was great. Will definitely come back next time we're in the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived early for our reservation and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We arrived early for our reservation and with no problem we were seated in a lovely booth. Our server Chandler was super friendly and knowledgeable and explained the entire menu to us since it was our first time. She provided impeccable service throughout our entire meal! She helped me pick out a wonderful cocktail and we decided to get some oysters for a first course. They came out quick but they seemed to be dried out and stuck to the shell. I asked if they were pre-shucked before the service and that was confirmed. Such a shame because they tasted delicious but they were dried out. After the oysters we ordered both of their soups one being lobster bisque and the other eggplant Parmesan. Both were incredibly delicious so we thought the next course would be better! We both decided to get the dry aged waygu steaks, him getting the rib eye and mine the ny strip with a shared side of mac and cheese. My first bite of my steak tasted so burnt and the steak overall was very tough. His ribeye was cooked alright but mine was pretty medium to medium well when we both ordered medium rare. Such a disappointment for how much they cost. Ended up trying to dip it in the house steak sauce to try and drown out the burnt grill flavor but the sauce tasted overwhelmingly like molasses. The mac and cheese was okay, but not at all cheesy. I ended up boxing majority of my steak but probably won't eat the leftovers. The experience was saved by the wonderful s'mores dessert and chocolate martinis. With this being a steakhouse I really felt like the steaks should have been much much better. Such a disappointment and probably will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Service is always great! Food is always ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service is always great! Food is always great! Price is reasonable!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Burwell's is easily one of my favorite s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Burwell's is easily one of my favorite spots in Charleston. I refer a lot of people especially when I bring new people in town. Would recommend 100%!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely fantastic! The a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was absolutely fantastic! The atmosphere was amazing, the service was second-to-none, and the filet mignon was unbelievable. It was so easy to cut and it tasted so great. The wood-fire grill was a superb way to prepare those steaks. Everything was fantastic! I came with my girlfriend from MD to Charleston for the weekend, it was our first trip together. It was absolutely fantastic, and this was our first dinner reservation this past Friday (11/11/2016) night. Everything was magnificent and I cannot wait to come back to Charleston, SC-- and Burwells!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time and we will be b ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 8, 2016

This was our first time and we will be back! Excellent meal and service.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in Charleston

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Best steak in Charleston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steak and our waitress was very kn ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great steak and our waitress was very knowledgeable and explained the menu and their specialties very well. Awesome wagyu steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were a family of three for dinner. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were a family of three for dinner.

The best item was the side of farro - it was delicious.

Our server was knowledgeable, friendly, and accommodating as was all the staff. And the atmosphere was quiet, with room between the tables that we were not smashed against other diners.

Too bad the food isn't as good as the rest. We started the meal with the cheese plate appetizer, which needs help. Of the 5 cheeses only the blue was tasty and the accoutrements were sad - a small bit of honey, 5 raisins, a few slivered almonds and - seriously - 1/4 of a dried apricot; really they couldn't spare the entire dried apricot or a fig?

#1 ordered the steak well done said the meal was delicious. #2 ordered a medium rare steak and it was overcooked, and #3, who doesn't eat meat, ordered the red snapper, which was tasty, but also cooked too long and was dry. #3 knew it was a steakhouse, but thought there would be more than 3 choices for fish/seafood, and the single pasta dish also had meat in the sauce. That was disappointing.

We will not spend $200+ again there on mediocre food.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Father and grown daughter dinner and it ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Father and grown daughter dinner and it was fantastic. Food was amazingly delicious and service was wonderful. Fantastic experience will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We can't say enough good things about Bu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We can't say enough good things about Burwell's! The food was amazing and our server Alan and Emily were outstanding! Perfect start to our stay in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only reason this place was not JAMME ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The only reason this place was not JAMMED the night we visited is that it was a longer walk from the Visitors Center/city center. What a great restaurant. The service was genuinely impeccable. The ambience is totally urban/industrial, right down to those weird concrete bathroom trough sinks. We were impressed with the comprehensive and tasteful wine list. The hot-stone wagyu beef appetizer was the kind of delicious that makes you realize you are making memories. We liked the options and small plate/large entrees options. The owner stopped by to talk to us, and is very hands-on with running his place. The bar even looked like a good place to hang after a long hard day at the market across the street. The waitstaff (all of them) treated their tables with genuine engagement and attention.

One thing that really sold me was my call to the restaurant. I had reserved on Open Table, and then learned our shuttle to the downtown area might not allow us to reach the restaurant by the reserved time. We were told that Charleston restaurants often do not hold tables, and/or even charge the credit card. When I called the restaurant, I got the most gracious and reassuring treatment imaginable. The owner assured me he would never do that to his guests. GO EAT HERE. This place is great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a reservation for 7:15, but the th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I had a reservation for 7:15, but the three ladies joining me were running late which turned out to be good. A able of 13 showed up as 18 and the staff was in the weeds. I waited and when they showed up we were seated and had a fantastic meal. Service was awesome - we even were given a spare appetizer. I would certainly eat here again and I recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. Service was excellen ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was great. Service was excellent I will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the cheese plate and the rigato ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Ordered the cheese plate and the rigatoni . Both were excellent. My friend had the center cut ribeye and was really disappointed. No seasoning or flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Al, our waiter, was tremendous. Great At ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Al, our waiter, was tremendous. Great Atmosphere and great food. A definite recommendation for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were outstanding. A di ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. A different but truly great kind of steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Second timers. Special occasion. Pleasi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Second timers. Special occasion. Pleasing contemporary decor, lighting. Cool rooftop bar. Service good and friendly. Steaks and sides good. Bar noise beyond excessive and essentially ruined a nice dining experience. Some type of partition needed downstairs to isolate bar noise and TV's. Would have gone to a sports bar if that's what we were looking for and for a lot less $$$$.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent all the way around! Best stea ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Excellent all the way around! Best steak I have ever had. And yes I have been to Halls and Oak, probably won't return after eating at Burwell's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

service was great. deviled eggs and pad ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 17, 2016

service was great. deviled eggs and pad thai amazing. the beef was good but in my mind i think they over salt the proteins. we had the wayngu and scallops. i personally think the flavor is great without salt but thats my taste. but save room for dessert and get the charleston smores... wow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Beef choices were excellent. Fish choice ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Beef choices were excellent. Fish choices were weak, but the Catch of the Day was prepared exceptionally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner and experience. Our wai ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful dinner and experience. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the food and menu. She was engaging but not intrusive. She was very attentive and made sure our night was special as we celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary. We have celebrated there for the last 3 years and look forward to many more. The food was delicious and the desserts were incredible.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a beef lovers best ex ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This restaurant is a beef lovers best experience! There's no denying the cooking staff skill to deliver the best cuts done perfectly. I had the hanger 8 oz with red rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service and worth the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food, great service and worth the money. It is a little pricier than expected however. Probably deserves a $$$ rating instead of $$ rating but there are a few cheaper options.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal at Burwell's . It wa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We had a great meal at Burwell's . It was their first day open after Hurricane Matthew . The restaurant was spotless and the service and food were fantastic. We can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten at all of the better steak ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We have eaten at all of the better steak houses in Charleston, and Burwell's ranks favorably with all of them as to service, food, and ambience. I would recommend it to anyone who would like a great steak, although I was tempted by the Low Country surf and turf! Love the home made ginger beer, also!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. will be co ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great food and great service. will be coming back again and again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing. Nothing was bad, but noth ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Disappointing. Nothing was bad, but nothing was really good. I won't go back, nor will I recommend it to others; especially not when there are several other places within a few blocks that are considerably better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.