Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

Burwell's embraces a “modern steakhouse” philosophy with a menu of diverse, yet refined, steak dishes cooked over a 1,400 degree wood fire or 700 degree stone. Signature steak dishes include A5 Kobe Beef Ribeye- Miyazaki Prefecture, a Wagyu Outside Skirt Steak with a side of Herb & Aged Parmesan Fries, and Wood Fired Filet Mignon with Broccolini and Farm Egg with assorted sauces.

14 North Market Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Nightly: 4:00pm - Close
Happy Hour Monday - Friday
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-8700

Website:
http://www.burwellscharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music - Call the Restaurant for details
Large Parties - Call the Restaurant for details

Catering:
We can cater any of your office parties or special events

Parking Details:
Private parking lot and weekend valet parking are available.

Public Transit:
Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Moore

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have five distinct private dining options

Private Dining

More than 5 unique private dining spaces.

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Romantic (25)
Business Meals (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Authentic (10)
Casual (10)
Cozy (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We had great service from Emily, our server. She surprised us with a Happy Anniversary dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service and ambience but the food was forgettable and highly overpriced. The salads and side dishes were well prepared but the steaks were far less than I expected, hopefully, it was just a bad night.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We were absolutely delighted with Burwell's!
Everything from our "deviled egg" appetizers to our last bite of dessert was delicious! Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and everything in between!:) If you haven't tried it yet, you all are missing out on this hidden gem in Charleston! Can't wait to go back again!:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Somewhat disappointed. Steaks were good, sides were nothing special and dessert was not very good. I was expecting better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I was a bit disappointed in my meal. I ordered the buratta salad appetizer, whichever was nothing special (bland). For my entree I ordered the scallops, which were oversalted and had an overwhelming orange flavor which was not enjoyable. I should've had a steak. When we asekd for more dinner rolls (which were delicious the first time around), they were glazed with some kind of weird orange flavor (again with the oranges), which tasted awful. I did not complain because there really was nothing inherently wrong with my meal, I just didn't care for it. However, our server was great. He was very knowledgeable about all the steaks offered on the menu. When he found out it was my friend's birthday, he brought out a beautiful birthday dessert for us to share. It was very nice. I just wish I had ordered steak!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing food. Even better server. He made sure our anniversary was one to remember.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent food, really great service and a strong wine list. They offered American Wagyu at surprisingly reasonable prices (for wagyu), their deviled egg appetizer was repeat worthy, and the "hot rock" appetizers were fun and very good. Strong, if not extensive wine list, and our server went "off the list" to find us an amazing, velvety Barolo that drew raves. Would I go again? Absolutely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I had not eaten here for three or four years and was pleasantly surprised at the menu changes. Food, drinks and service were all very good. Recommended for a variety of steak/beef options, oysters and some fun veggies as well.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was our first time there and our food was amazing and the service was outstanding. Highly recommend this restaurant. I look forward to going back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I was a guest with a colleague during Charleston Restaurant Week and certainly got my $40 worth. A fantastic Ceasar salad as an opener, along with hot rolls, delish swordfish with a shrimp risotto as a main, and an awesome slice of coconut cheesecake with caramel sauce for dessert. The food was very, very flavorful. Due to my per dieum I didn't get a chance to try the Wagu beef, but I'll be back in November and will be sure to put it on my list.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing food with outstanding service.
Flawless experience every time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The restaurant is very smokey inside due to all the hot stone cooking going on. My eyes were burning by the end of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was our 4th time here and we love it. Wife is allergic to all diary and they always work hard to make sure that what ever she orders never touches any dairy. They even make her dairy free rolls. Steaks are out of this world tender. You have to try the Flat rock appetizers. Some of the best and the most tender beef you will ever have. Celebrated a friends Birthday and they brought out a very nice desert with HB written in very nicely. Nice touch.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Atmosphere was nice very and romantic, food was amazing, desert was phenomenal, the service was excellent and we had a great meal and experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Awesome food and service as always. We look forward to continually coming back.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 26, 2017

It was my husband's birthday and we brought our 2 kids (ages 8 and 10). We started off with Rock candy app with the 700 degrees stone to cook it on along with parm fries. Our kids thought this was so much fun to do and they loves the steak. For our main course, my husband had the NY strip and he said it was one of the best steaks he has had in Charleston. I had the salmon which was very good and light. My daughter had the caesar salad with bacon and my son had the mash potatoes. He is my picky eater, but he loved the mashed potatoes. For dessert, we order 1 of every thing except the black forest cake. We all had taste of the creme brulee, smores, peach cobbler, cocoa puff treat with ice cream...each was amazing. Hats off to our server!! He was very charming and helpful!! We highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Wil our server was awesome. On top of everything. Our strip steak was amazing done perfectly. Beet salad was delish. We are now having an after dinner drink at the bar and if you are into a fresh squeezed lime marguarita drink ask Nick to make it. Yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Burwell's is the best restaurant in Charleston. My family and I look forward to visiting Burwell's every time we visit the city. The steaks are phenomenal. The drinks are creative and delicious. The service is always excellent, and every staff member seems to be extremely knowledgeable about their menu. Burwell's is consistently outstanding across the board year after year!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We drove from Columbia to enjoy downtown Charleston and had made reservations. They were running behind although they had open tables. I don't think they were well staffed for the eclipse traffic. The deviled eggs were great. Salad yummy. Burger had potential but it was cold when we got it. I think the server didn't get it in time. Shame it wasn't served hot. Has potential. Will give it another try.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The good- she crab soup (has a hint of citrus), Caesar salad (flatbread croutons mmmm,salty and yum), pork wings ( two-peanuty rich bbq pork on bone chunks), chicken entree -(so tender).
The meh, THE STEAK! You had one job! No seasoning, undercooked medium rare when we ordered medium . One steak came room temp on the exterior to the touch and had to go back. Veggies are all a la carte but at least throw a garnish on the plate. This was meat on a white plate. The end. Our sides were good. Our server failed to comment on the bloody red half of steak left on the plate. The ship had sailed after I had to send it back the first time so I did not wish to send it back a second time. There are other steakhouses to try so we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great experience - Really good food combined with very friendly staff. We had a very good time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were in town visiting friends and wanted to take them out. We used Yelp for reviews and found Burwell's. We were very glad we did. We were also very happy we could get a table at the last minute even though it was a Saturday night on Total Eclipse weekend!

Between the four of us, we tried the Filet, the NY Strip and the Wagyu hangar steak. The Filet was amazing and so was the strip. However, I ordered the hangar steak and although it was incredibly tender and cooked just right, it was a bit tasteless for me. I'm a RibEye guy mainly and the next time I go, that'll be the selection.

Also, I can't go without mentioning our waitress. She was incredibly knowledgeable. She talked about the different cuts of beef and the parts of the cow they came from with the accuracy and passion of a sommelier.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We come to Charleston every year and this was our first time at Burwells. We ordered the lamb to start, then filet, Mac and cheese, mashed potatoes and the green vegetable medley. My husband said this is one of the best meals he has ever eaten. The steak was melt in your mouth tender. We decided that Burwells is on our "must eat" list for future trips. If you love steak, this is your place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Carrie was an amazing server! The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. This was our first time to Burwell's but definitely won't be our last!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We were not disappointed and hope to return. The red meat was great as was our apps.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2017

I have come back each trip to Charleston and it has never disappointed! Live the rooftop bar and the food is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2017

As a local, we feel like Burwell's is a hidden gem! Lots of great steak options that other spots don't have and several wonderful seafood dishes as well. I also really appreciate the array of sides offered - we feel like we can go out for a great meal and still stick to our health goals! They've always been super accommodating to adjust any dietary needs - gluten, dairy free, even when I was on a "cleanse" a few years back! The "hot rock" steak appetizer is really unique and worth ordering - my 5 year old daughter adores this and requests Burwell's for any of her special occasion nights out so she can "cook her own steak"! :-) This last time we dined, we mentioned that she chose her favorite, Burwell's, for dinner to celebrate her first day of Kindergarten... the owner and staff couldn't have been more sweet to her - even giving her a special dessert with "Have a great school year!" written in chocolate on the plate!! :-) They had already won her heart many dines before, but this time will truly be a meal to remember! :-)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Late-night Find, Fun, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The price was a little high compared to the portions and quality of the food. I had a reservation for 7:30p but had to wait till after 8:00p to be seated. That was a little too long. We made the most of it and had a drink and enjoyed the ambiance while we waited. I didn't like feeling as if I was pestering the staff but I waited a half hour to ask the staff to make sure they were trying to find us a table. It would have been nice if they had updated us once every fifteen minutes or so I didn't have to keep wondering what was taking so long. Good experience overall but with so many great choices in Charleston I probably won't come back anytime soon. We each had a different cut of Wagyu which was seasoned well but nothing special considering the price. The wine selection was good and our server was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

steaks seemed to be good quality but were served barely warm. think the waitress dropped the ball. on the other hand the beer was on the warm side. with many choices available would definitely not come back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great steaks, outstanding friendly and knowledgeable staff, good value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Thank God the food was excellent because most everything else was a disappointment. Our reservation indicated that we were a party of 5 celebrating our 2 sons college graduation.

1. This restaurant is loud to the point of being annoying.

2. We were seated at a booth right next to the entrance of the kitchen. I commented to the hostess, "I would hate to see where we would have been seated without a reservation". Her response was, "this is a great table, I promise". It wasn't...

3. Our waiter was well informed and helpful.

4. We ordered drinks, 3 dirty martinis. Our waiter offered "blue cheese stuffed olives?", yes all around. When the martinis arrived there was a pick with 2 olives in each of the 3 drinks, one olive was stuffed and one was not! Seriously, you're going to charge >$100+ per person to eat at your restaurant and are going to cheap out on 1/4 t. of blue cheese in one of your olives?! Here's a tip, don't offer if you can't deliver or only use one olive. Things like this makes a restaurant look ridiculous and so sad considering the caliber of the restaurant. My husband said something to the waiter and he brought three new picks, two stuffed olives on each.

5. Appetizers were expensive but good. Deviled eggs and lamb chops.

6. Steaks were perfection.

7. I expected someone to mention our special occasion that we were celebrating, 2 college graduations, since I made a note of it when I made the reservation. There was nothing mentioned, no congratulations, no free dessert, nothing. Another low class move in my book.

We were in a great mood when we arrived and although we enjoyed each others company, this restaurant could have made a better impact on our evening and the truth is it did not, it was just average.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The steaks are incredible, one of the top three steakhouses in Charleston...great location central to historic downtown Charleston.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Loved our visit, the waguyu beef, deviled eggs, and pig wings were all delicious. Service was awesome and the restaurant is great looking too. Top dining in Charleston

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This restaurant is amazing!! We had amazing service, the owner is so friendly, and they are great with allergies!! We could not have asked for a better 1 year anniversary dinner! Thanks for making it so special!!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Best meal in Charleston to date. Deviled eggs were outstanding. I would go with the filet, the flank steak did not live up to the high expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Fantastic time we came in from out of town wanting to try a great restaurant and we did. We arrived early to sit at the bar with one of the friendliest bartenders I've spoken with who mad amazing mango mules(a must have). When we got sat for dinner our waiter was phenomenal, from start to finish he was professional but very likable and instructed us on what we might like to try based on our preferences. Wagu hanger steak was great as when as my girlfriends catch of the day which was red snapper. All in all a fantastic experience and we will be returning definitely, and hopefully with more people so they can experience as we have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My boyfriend and I had an amazing first experience! We started with a drink upstairs at the bar before our reservation. The bartender was attentive and personable! We both described our meal as one of the best we have ever had. Our waitress Emily was awesome and you could tell she really enjoyed her job. The mac and cheese is a MUST!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Delicious meal and wonderful service! Recommend the waygu hangar steak!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Hangar steak and fillers were outstanding. Creme brûlée was fantastic. One of the best. Server was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.