About Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

14 North Market Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Burwell's embraces a “modern steakhouse” philosophy with a menu of diverse, yet refined, steak dishes cooked over a 1,400 degree wood fire or 700 degree stone. Signature steak dishes include A5 Kobe Beef Ribeye- Miyazaki Prefecture, a Wagyu Outside Skirt Steak with a side of Herb & Aged Parmesan Fries, and Wood Fired Filet Mignon with Broccolini and Farm Egg with assorted sauces.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Nightly: 4:00pm - Close
Happy Hour Monday - Friday
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
East Bay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 737-8700

Website:
http://www.burwellscharleston.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music - Call the Restaurant for details
Large Parties - Call the Restaurant for details

Catering:
We can cater any of your office parties or special events

Parking Details:
Private parking lot and weekend valet parking are available.

Public Transit:
Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.

Executive Chef:
Jordan Moore

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have five distinct private dining options

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

More than 5 unique private dining spaces.

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Good for Birthdays (21)
Romantic (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Business Meals (17)
Modern Decor (15)
Wood Oven (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Cozy (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (3)
Fireplace (3)
Private Room (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1040 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and will definitely be back

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The hot rock appetizer is always a hit. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

The hot rock appetizer is always a hit. The cocktails were great. The Wagyu Ribeye was the best steak I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was exquisite..definitely wil ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was exquisite..definitely will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was fantastic!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great place to meet friends, h ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a great place to meet friends, have a drink, and a fabulous meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Wagyu beef is delicious! The a la ca ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

The Wagyu beef is delicious! The a la carte sides were creative and inspired. The banana bread pudding for dessert was to die for!! Very tasty and nice ambience overall.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I dined here for out 10th we ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I dined here for out 10th wedding anniversary and had an amazing experience. This restaurant serves some of the best steak I have eaten around town. The presentation of each course was excellent and the staff very attentive. We had a fun time cooking some of our food tableside on a hot plate. Compared to other high end establishments around town the price was reasonable as well. We are already planning additional trips back to try out more entrees!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Groups, , Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servicio y calidad impecable

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Servicio y calidad impecable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the lamb appetizer that you cook ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had the lamb appetizer that you cook on a stone that's heated to 700 degrees. So fun and amazingly good. My husband had the best steak he had ever had, and I had an awesome fish special. They make their own ginger beer so the Moscow miles were awesome.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were so dissapointed in our Restauran ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We were so dissapointed in our Restaurant Week experience. We came 2 years ago and loved everything, this time however the restaurant has gone downhill. For starters, the leather booths are falling apart. The squash soup was disgusting (on the Restaurant Week options) and even though it was clearly barely eaten, we were not asked about it and therefore not given the salad to substitute. We loved their deviled eggs (non-restaurant week option) last time, this time was a different story. If the bacon wasn't on top they would be boring/tasteless. We also ordered the hot rock beef tenderloins (non-restaurant week option) and it's a cool idea to cook your own food, however we weren't given instructions which would've been nice. The steak was obviously fine and the dessert was an okay brownie. Overall, unimpressive which is so sad because we really liked this place a couple years ago and told several people how great it was (embarrassing now). We will not be returning considering all the other fabulous options in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Overall good but some were too salty. To ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Overall good but some were too salty. Too much pepper on fish.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Stone cooked appetizer was unique and go ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Stone cooked appetizer was unique and good. Entrees were very good, although they may want to cut back the salt some.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service was great! Ask for ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food and service was great! Ask for Andrew, he's the best!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok. Waiter was suck so not nice ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was ok. Waiter was suck so not nice to have him on your food. Got drinks before water at table. And was rushed to order like being pushed out the door paying 250.00 tab. Would not got back. GO TO OAK MUCH BETTER. !!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Again another great night in food and se ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Again another great night in food and service by Will

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is ok, but you can do a better ...

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food is ok, but you can do a better steakhouse in Charleston.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very nice restaurant with steaks cooked ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very nice restaurant with steaks cooked as ordered but Ruth Chris is the gold standard. If you want a great steak in Charleston this is not bad so give it a try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's eve 2016, reservation was at ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's eve 2016, reservation was at 5:30, we were seated at 5:30. The waiter was knowledgeable, patient and attentive , while offering excellent suggestions. The food was outstanding. Enough said.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner service by Will was top not ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great dinner service by Will was top notch always knowledgeable about the menu and even remember what we order last time we were their which was four months ago!! Both Steaks cooked to perfection one well done and other medium - well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just Fabulous! Food, drinks, waitstaff ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Just Fabulous! Food, drinks, waitstaff and other patrons were the best.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved cooking on the stone! The zabato ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I loved cooking on the stone! The zabaton steak was the best steak I've ever had!! The cut was so unusual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent service by Alan. We enjoyed ou ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent service by Alan. We enjoyed our stone steak appetizers and our overall experience. Nice atmosphere and central location. Next time we visit Charleston and when I'm not pregnant I hope to try one of their wagyu steaks cooked the way I really want (medium rare).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We eat here often and love Burwells. It ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We eat here often and love Burwells. It has a lovely ambiance and is great for dates or friendly dinners. The food was delicious as usual. My husbands steak was a little on the dry side but his sides were cooked to perfection. We were seated upstairs near a large, loud group celebrating a 60th birthday and the manager came upstairs and offered us a nice table downstairs without us even asking which was really nice!! This is a regular stop for us and we will course be back!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ambience cozy, decor modern and cool. Ni ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Ambience cozy, decor modern and cool.

Nice apps and good steak selection.

Perfect for special and event dining.

Will go back!

Get the "rock"

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Steak was good and overall a nice place. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Steak was good and overall a nice place. No sides come with your steak which at that price seems like you should at least get a potato or fries included with your meat.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

lovely food, good setting, and great ser ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

lovely food, good setting, and great service overall.

Tags: Wood Oven, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great. The atmosphere wa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The service was great. The atmosphere was great. The sides and appetizers were great. But for the price we paid for the steaks , we were expecting something special. The steaks we had were average at the best.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Although their website and reviews depic ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Although their website and reviews depicted something great in store, I was a bit disappointed. The quality of beef is extremely high. I could tell because I had ordered my wagyu hangar medium, but was only seared on the outside. I do enjoy a rare steak as well, but it's not what I ordered. A very good indication of service is how often your drink is empty. Which was twice for over 15 minutes each. Which was an accurate depiction of the service overall. Especially for $250 bill for a party of 4. I think with just a few improvements, they could be a great place. Just not at this moment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We took our daughter and seventeen year ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We took our daughter and seventeen year old granddaughter to Burwell's on Christmas Dinner. The steak was delicious, the greens and mashed potato toes were as well. The seventeen year old is not much of a steak eater, but there was nothing left on her plate. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there together. Our server was very helpful and courteous. We will return for some more great food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Romantic, Spicy, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal at Burnell's on Chri ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a great meal at Burnell's on Christmas Eve. The Barrel fish was perfectly cooked and we all agreed it was some of the best fish we'd had. My filet was a little over cooked and the manager insisted on bringing me another one. Not necessary given that the steak was very good and tender. But it showed the lengths to which they will go to make things right. We had salads and the lobster bisque. All were really good. The peanut butter s'mores dessert was incredible. We will go back!

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to burwells all is the time. Ask f ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We go to burwells all is the time. Ask for JJ

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have lived in Charleston for five yea ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We have lived in Charleston for five years and dine out quite often but this was our first visit to Burwell's. We truly enjoyed the experience and everything we ordered was served in a well timed professional manner and most importantly was absolutely delicious.

We will be back!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I went there with a buddy of mine who cl ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I went there with a buddy of mine who claimed that the steaks were the best he's ever had. Our hostess was friendly and our waitress was kind, courteous, and helped create a very pleasant atmosphere. I have to say, it was literally the best steak I have ever had! There have been a few that were close - but - again, Burwell's steak is the best steak I have ever had - and have had quite a few in my day!

Congrats!!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I got the A5 kobe, and it was amazing. M ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I got the A5 kobe, and it was amazing. My waiter Andy was so helpful, and a very kind person. The desserts are to die for! I will be back soon!

Tags: , Fun, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food overall! Side portions serve a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Good food overall! Side portions serve at least 2 people. Didn't care for the mashed potatoes made with buttermilk. Steaks good

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great HOT stone appetizer! My wife had F ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great HOT stone appetizer! My wife had Flatiron steak, perfectly tender. I had the bone in Wagyu strip. So tasty! Our waitperson, Caroline was friendly and attentive. For our 39th Anniversary desert the pastry chef wrote "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate on the platter! We want to find the type stone they use for use at home entertaining. Worth the wait if you forget reservations on open table.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was competent but somewhat awkwar ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Server was competent but somewhat awkward. Server confirmed the way I wanted meat prepared, but neat came undercooked. Server was somewhat disengaged and conversation was forced and inattentive. Most food items were properly prepared and were very tasty.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food and service. Deviled egg and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food and service. Deviled egg and stone brick a treat. Ambiance in the main dining less romantic than preferred but got in the corner and enjoyed. Will go again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent everything! Was glad for a tab ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent everything! Was glad for a table close to the front windows and away from large parties, which by nature were loud! Server Alex was awesome! Great service and fun!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.