About Burma Ruby

326 University Ave
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Now open in downtown Palo Alto, Burma Ruby Burmese Cuisine Burmese cuisine. Chefs Win Tin formerly of Burma Superstars locations in Oakland and Alameda respectively, will jointly be heading up the kitchen at the new Burma Ruby venue.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Burmese

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;

Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bryant St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 285-2770

Website:
http://www.rangoonruby.com/

Parking Details:
5 Story Parking across the street

Executive Chef:
Win Tin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Burma Ruby, Palo Alto, CA
Burma Ruby, Palo Alto, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Burma Ruby Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (6)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Romantic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fun (2)
Vegan (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Family Style (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Poor service and quality of food. They f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Poor service and quality of food. They forgot to make one dish.. it seemed that the server was in a rush to get the orders in. The place was too noisy with a group few tables down talking loud as if they had the restaurants to themselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Delicious food. We tried several differe ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Delicious food. We tried several different dishes and all were tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is unusual and very tasty--a cr ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food is unusual and very tasty--a cross between Thai and Indian food. The food was more mild than I anticipated but the hot sauce provided upon request was spectacular--very flavorful and full of heat! I managed to forget my credit card on the table after I had paid, and when I realized it, I was at a movie theater. I called the restaurant and Glenda the manager had my credit card. She was kind enough to wait for me at a nearby bar until the movie was over some two hours or more after closing. I was leaving the next morning on a trip so her kindness of waiting for me late that evening was particularly appreciated! Thank you so much Glenda!Overall an excellent experience and I am sure to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was fine. The tea leave salad ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was fine. The tea leave salad was excellent and the rest was fair to good. The main problem is the noise. It's almost impossible to carry on a conversation.

My friend cannot eat spicy food. I discussed this with the waiter and asked for his recommendations. Although he was very nice and made suggestions, which I followed, 2 of the 5 dishes were spicy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

This was our first taste of Burmese cuis ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our first taste of Burmese cuisine and it did not disappoint. The salad with fermented tea leaves was absolutely fantastic! We appreciated the excellent service, too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very tasty food, efficient service . Ove ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very tasty food, efficient service . Overall a very pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We stopped in for a quick lunch. As alw ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We stopped in for a quick lunch. As always it was delicious. The tea salad was spectacular. The chicken kamat was not as tender as is usually is but good none the less. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a birthday event and we as usual ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was a birthday event and we as usual brought a cake to cut after the meal. On asking to put it in inside and bring it after the meal they mentioned that it will cost us $1.50 per person. We decided not to do it but when I checked the bill the cost was still added. It is not only pathetic but very cheap way to overcharge customers. Probably will not be going back again to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

The food is great but it is too noisy. T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food is great but it is too noisy. That t is what would keep me from recommending this restaurant to my friends. The service was helpful and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was great and the waitress was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was great and the waitress was very nice as well. However, the hostess would not seat us because we were 10 minutes early for our reservation... fine. It doesn't make sense that people walking up without reservations were seated before us and we weren't even seated at my reserved time. The hostess forgot we had been waiting. It was frustrating

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food but crowded place. Still I re ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food but crowded place. Still I really like it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Food not as good in taste and quality a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food not as good in taste and quality as its sister restaurants Rangoon Ruby in San Carlos and Belmont.

Very noisy. Could not carry a conversation without shouting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

If you like Chinese food, give this plac ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2016

If you like Chinese food, give this place a try. Burmese is similar in style, but much tastier. And if you ask for spicy you get SPICY.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is special and unique and beer goes ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Food is special and unique and beer goes well with it. Service is helpful about the menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was delicious! Each plate we or ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was delicious! Each plate we ordered was better than the one before. We will definitely go back. Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The servers were not well trained. For e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The servers were not well trained. For example a server clearing plates from our table in the middle of our meal laid a dirty plate he had collected from another table and left behind a messy tomato stain. Overall, unenthusiastic, ill-informed and poorly train staff. The quality of the food was so-so and we will not be returning or recommending this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great location and excellent food but VE ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great location and excellent food but VERY noisy if you eat inside. We ate outside which helped but what we gained in ambiance we lost in service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

My husband and I like the food here an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 22, 2016

My husband and I like the food here and we have been here several times. This last time we felt rushed through the dining even though the restaurant was mostly empty. The seat was dirty. I put my handbag down next to me end ended up with big food stain on the bottom which doesn't come off. It pretty much ruined my handbag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Great food, lackluster service. We visit ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food, lackluster service. We visited on a Friday evening in August. We were seated a few minutes after our reservation time, which was fine. It took the server several minutes to come by for drink orders (seemingly forever); we ordered the Tea leaf salad at the same time as drinks. The salad came out before the drinks (1 mixed drink, 1 beer), which has always been a no-no in my book. The server came by one more time to take the food order and was never seen again. Food was delivered in a timely manner and plates were cleared from the table promptly after being emptied. I would have liked to order another drink mid-meal, but as the server never came back, I never had the opportunity. The small missteps combined with a very noisy atmosphere and too-few restrooms made for an over mediocre experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

My first Burmese food, and it was delici ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2016

My first Burmese food, and it was delicious! Had the tea leaf salad and a spicy fish dish called Basil Chili Swai. If you order it spicy, be prepared, for they will give you what you ask for. Personally I loved it. Nice wines by the glass. Dined outside on a very pleasant evening. Good service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a good meal here! Note "hot" is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Always a good meal here!

Note "hot" is really hot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Burma Ruby has delicious food. Very tast ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Burma Ruby has delicious food. Very tasty. Excellent service. Good size portions. I would eat there every week if I lived in Palo Alto.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in the food. We love Rangoo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Disappointed in the food. We love Rangoon Ruby in San Carlos and thought to give this location a try but not the same!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Everything was great, especially the foo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything was great, especially the food. However there was a large 50th birthday celebration going on while we were there which made it hard to hear and enjoy our first experience at this restaurant. We will probably have to come back another time to get a better assessment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Burma Ruby was a great choice for dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Burma Ruby was a great choice for dinner - the food was served hot and was very flavorful. Our server was helpful and friendly. We will definitely go back to try more items on their menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a little pricey for Burmese food. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was a little pricey for Burmese food. Also, they add 3% to your bill to cover ACA costs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food is somewhat unique, because the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food is somewhat unique, because there aren't many places in the Bay Area that do Burmese food. I recommend the Samosa Soup and the Burmese Chicken Salad. Also like the Burmese Iced Tea and Coconut Water to drink. Service is good, nothing out of the ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was not as fresh as usual. Samosa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was not as fresh as usual. Samosa salad was not crisp. Salmon and pumpkin had a fishy taste. We were early on a Friday on a holiday weekend and the food had the aura of a non busy restaurant. This is in direct contrast to other times we have eaten there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and the service were very good. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food and the service were very good. The table location was not ideal but the restaurant was full so we had no choice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Have been here before and like the place ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Have been here before and like the place. Last night the service was a bit slow and it was loud, but that's the nature of this restaurant. It's popular. To me it tastes the same as Rangoon Ruby and there's usually more availability here. So I say give it a try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Nothing exciting

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2016

We have been wanting to visit this restaurant many times, Finally , we were able to go and unfortunately we were very disappointed with the food. It tasted just like other places, nothing special . We ordered the Tea salad and the flavor was too strong (fermented tea). And honestly , the color on the plate turned me off completely! We also ordered a couple dishes but they were ok. The rating from Yelp wasn't accurate at all. I don't think we would come back!

We were ther during weekday, therefore, we got a VIP service!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I had always gone to Rangoon Ruby. This is better

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Rangoon Ruby was full so I was directed to Burma Ruby. MUCH preferred this experience. Brighter, lighter space and the food was delicious. The service was very good and I will go back to Burma Ruby when I next have a craving for Burmese food...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service as always!

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Chihuly like light fixtures are gorg ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2016

The Chihuly like light fixtures are gorgeous and there is also a skylight. Service was friendly but very slow. The palata with chicken curry was delicious. The tea leaf salad presentation was very attractive, although the dressing was a little oily for my tastes. They had Blue Hawaiians, a drink hard to find, and it was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Very noisy. The food was okay, but not ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Very noisy. The food was okay, but not great. Have had great meals at Rangoon Ruby, their sister restaurant, so had high expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had taken out of town guests as we lo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had taken out of town guests as we love the food and have had pleasant experiences until now. We didn't have a pleasant experience and were embarrassed to have chosen such a restaurant with had terrible service. When we arrived we saw a couple vacant table but were asked to wait to be seated inspite of having a reservation. After about 12 minutes we inquired again and were told we would be seated shortly. Finally once we got seated we had to wait another 10 to 15 minutes for someone to take our order. We asked for water which arrived after the food as they had no glasses. It seemed like the manager was new, on previous visits there was a different manager who was very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Burma Ruby is a good place to eat.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and daughter to Burma Ruby to celebrate Mother's day. initially, they seated us at a less than desirable table but they quickly agreed to move us after our request. The food was excellent and the service was very good. I recommend this restaurant as an excellent choice for Burmese/Asian food in Palo Alto.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

bland food

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Special Burmese salad with fermented tea leaves was great. Pork dish was bland. Asked for medium spice. Came out almost unflavored

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Outdoor Dining

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2016

We arrived half hour before the reservation time, so we were offered a table outside. They lit the heaters and it was a comfortable experience. The service was excellent. We were not forgotten. The food was flavorful as always. Mmmm...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good; sometimes great

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We've eaten here quite a few times in the past couple years. It helps to know how to order. We always start with the tea leaf salad. The pea leaf side dish is another favorite because it's a unique sort of vegetable -- fresh-tasting and nicely prepared. We weren't crazy about the lamb kabat; prefer the biryani or (especially) the "fiery" dishes (tofu, chicken, pork.) The seafood dishes are also quite tasty, as are the noodle dishes. The hosts and wait staff are friendly without being overbearing. They seem to like working here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.