About Burma Ruby

326 University Ave
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Now open in downtown Palo Alto, Burma Ruby Burmese Cuisine Burmese cuisine. Chefs Win Tin formerly of Burma Superstars locations in Oakland and Alameda respectively, will jointly be heading up the kitchen at the new Burma Ruby venue.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Burmese

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;

Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bryant St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 285-2770

Website:
http://www.rangoonruby.com/

Parking Details:
5 Story Parking across the street

Executive Chef:
Win Tin

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Burma Ruby
Burma Ruby

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Burma Ruby Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Groups (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Romantic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I like the food here an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My husband and I like the food here and we have been here several times. This last time we felt rushed through the dining even though the restaurant was mostly empty. The seat was dirty. I put my handbag down next to me end ended up with big food stain on the bottom which doesn't come off. It pretty much ruined my handbag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Great food, lackluster service. We visit ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food, lackluster service. We visited on a Friday evening in August. We were seated a few minutes after our reservation time, which was fine. It took the server several minutes to come by for drink orders (seemingly forever); we ordered the Tea leaf salad at the same time as drinks. The salad came out before the drinks (1 mixed drink, 1 beer), which has always been a no-no in my book. The server came by one more time to take the food order and was never seen again. Food was delivered in a timely manner and plates were cleared from the table promptly after being emptied. I would have liked to order another drink mid-meal, but as the server never came back, I never had the opportunity. The small missteps combined with a very noisy atmosphere and too-few restrooms made for an over mediocre experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

My first Burmese food, and it was delici ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My first Burmese food, and it was delicious! Had the tea leaf salad and a spicy fish dish called Basil Chili Swai. If you order it spicy, be prepared, for they will give you what you ask for. Personally I loved it. Nice wines by the glass. Dined outside on a very pleasant evening. Good service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a good meal here! Note "hot" is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Always a good meal here!

Note "hot" is really hot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Burma Ruby has delicious food. Very tast ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Burma Ruby has delicious food. Very tasty. Excellent service. Good size portions. I would eat there every week if I lived in Palo Alto.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed in the food. We love Rangoo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Disappointed in the food. We love Rangoon Ruby in San Carlos and thought to give this location a try but not the same!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Everything was great, especially the foo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything was great, especially the food. However there was a large 50th birthday celebration going on while we were there which made it hard to hear and enjoy our first experience at this restaurant. We will probably have to come back another time to get a better assessment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Burma Ruby was a great choice for dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Burma Ruby was a great choice for dinner - the food was served hot and was very flavorful. Our server was helpful and friendly. We will definitely go back to try more items on their menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a little pricey for Burmese food. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was a little pricey for Burmese food. Also, they add 3% to your bill to cover ACA costs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food is somewhat unique, because the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food is somewhat unique, because there aren't many places in the Bay Area that do Burmese food. I recommend the Samosa Soup and the Burmese Chicken Salad. Also like the Burmese Iced Tea and Coconut Water to drink. Service is good, nothing out of the ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was not as fresh as usual. Samosa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was not as fresh as usual. Samosa salad was not crisp. Salmon and pumpkin had a fishy taste. We were early on a Friday on a holiday weekend and the food had the aura of a non busy restaurant. This is in direct contrast to other times we have eaten there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and the service were very good. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food and the service were very good. The table location was not ideal but the restaurant was full so we had no choice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Have been here before and like the place ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Have been here before and like the place. Last night the service was a bit slow and it was loud, but that's the nature of this restaurant. It's popular. To me it tastes the same as Rangoon Ruby and there's usually more availability here. So I say give it a try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Nothing exciting

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We have been wanting to visit this restaurant many times, Finally , we were able to go and unfortunately we were very disappointed with the food. It tasted just like other places, nothing special . We ordered the Tea salad and the flavor was too strong (fermented tea). And honestly , the color on the plate turned me off completely! We also ordered a couple dishes but they were ok. The rating from Yelp wasn't accurate at all. I don't think we would come back!

We were ther during weekday, therefore, we got a VIP service!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I had always gone to Rangoon Ruby. This is better

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Rangoon Ruby was full so I was directed to Burma Ruby. MUCH preferred this experience. Brighter, lighter space and the food was delicious. The service was very good and I will go back to Burma Ruby when I next have a craving for Burmese food...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service as always!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Chihuly like light fixtures are gorg ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The Chihuly like light fixtures are gorgeous and there is also a skylight. Service was friendly but very slow. The palata with chicken curry was delicious. The tea leaf salad presentation was very attractive, although the dressing was a little oily for my tastes. They had Blue Hawaiians, a drink hard to find, and it was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Very noisy. The food was okay, but not ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Very noisy. The food was okay, but not great. Have had great meals at Rangoon Ruby, their sister restaurant, so had high expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had taken out of town guests as we lo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had taken out of town guests as we love the food and have had pleasant experiences until now. We didn't have a pleasant experience and were embarrassed to have chosen such a restaurant with had terrible service. When we arrived we saw a couple vacant table but were asked to wait to be seated inspite of having a reservation. After about 12 minutes we inquired again and were told we would be seated shortly. Finally once we got seated we had to wait another 10 to 15 minutes for someone to take our order. We asked for water which arrived after the food as they had no glasses. It seemed like the manager was new, on previous visits there was a different manager who was very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Burma Ruby is a good place to eat.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and daughter to Burma Ruby to celebrate Mother's day. initially, they seated us at a less than desirable table but they quickly agreed to move us after our request. The food was excellent and the service was very good. I recommend this restaurant as an excellent choice for Burmese/Asian food in Palo Alto.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

bland food

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Special Burmese salad with fermented tea leaves was great. Pork dish was bland. Asked for medium spice. Came out almost unflavored

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Outdoor Dining

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We arrived half hour before the reservation time, so we were offered a table outside. They lit the heaters and it was a comfortable experience. The service was excellent. We were not forgotten. The food was flavorful as always. Mmmm...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good; sometimes great

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We've eaten here quite a few times in the past couple years. It helps to know how to order. We always start with the tea leaf salad. The pea leaf side dish is another favorite because it's a unique sort of vegetable -- fresh-tasting and nicely prepared. We weren't crazy about the lamb kabat; prefer the biryani or (especially) the "fiery" dishes (tofu, chicken, pork.) The seafood dishes are also quite tasty, as are the noodle dishes. The hosts and wait staff are friendly without being overbearing. They seem to like working here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent as always!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Very salty.. Everything that we have ord ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Very salty.. Everything that we have ordered ended up grossing me out for the whole night. The tea leaf salad was salty, the village catfish was greasy with too many bones, the curry veggies were not flavorful at all.. And it's $20 per entry. Would not pay that price for this quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Very good, simple food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Food was very tasty. One appetizer plus two entrees were plenty for two of us. A spicy dish wasn't too spicy - would have liked a bit more spice but would ask next time. Service was very good. Place was packed, and tables are pretty close, but wasn't noisy. So overall a nice, relaxed meal. Would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Food and Atmosphere.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

A fund, energetic place with well prepared and artistically presented food at reasonable price

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Easy in & worth staying a while

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

I've walked past Burma Ruby many times and just discovered what a gem it is! It was easy to get a seat at 12:30, which is rare on University Ave these days, so others obviously haven't discovered it yet either. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, so was a great help given I'm not familiar with the dishes. The food is spectacular if you enjoy spices; I'm sure they can do muted if desired, but their spicy and aromatic dishes make a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great, as always!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Great, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reservations mean nothing!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We waited an hour on top of reservations to be seated. Also, please note on the reservations that your entire party needs to be there, in order to be seated, not that it made any difference in the wait.

Who runs out of rice at a restaurant, on a Saturday night? I enjoyed the food, but we do not plan on coming back because of the wait.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The same food as Rangoon Ruby, but not the ambianc

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The food was as good as Rangoon Ruby, but this is the place for the out-of-towners. The people were lined up outside to get in. The tables were packed in, and it was an impersonal experience. The tables are also packed in at Rangoon Ruby, but not in a big line. Somehow the table arrangement at Rangoon Ruby is more welcoming, and it's not quite a noisy.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Way too noisy

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

I had lunch there on a Friday with a friend. We had high expectations given the reviews about it. Unfortunately we were quite disappointed.

The food: We both had the mango chicken. It was OK but lacking in zing: too sweet and not balanced by an acidic note or even just the basil listed in the dish description or other herbs.

The ambiance: The worst problem for us was the too-high noise level to the point of having a difficult time carrying a conversation. I imagine that the all-concrete walls and high ceilings do not help and the tables are so close to one another one can hear everybody around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Great From Start to Finish!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

I have eaten here twice before and it was so noisy that conversation was almost impossible - due to the very high ceilings and close tables. This time on a Sunday evening they honored my request(Via Open Table) for a quiet table and it wasn't as crowded anyway. The woman who waited on us was attentive and friendly but not overly so. The food was delicious, hot and well prepared. The server noted gifts and that it was a birthday so we had a surprise sparkler and nice scoop of ice cream and strawberries for dessert. All in all a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

This was my first time to the restaurant. I truly enjoyed the food. It was unusual and fun. Incredible taste. I made new reservations for

The very next week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great variety of dishes!

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Great variety of dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The food is usually always great. Howev ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

The food is usually always great. However, the service is usually poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Underwhelmed at valentines

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I think that the amount of people showing up on Valentine's , even though everyone had a reservation, caught the staff unprepared. We had to wait for 25 minutes for our appetizers to show up. The food was ok. All in all, will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Amazing food!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The Tea Leaf Salad and the Samosa Soup is a must have here!! It is really great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Gem on University Avenue

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Burma Ruby serves up authentic Burmese food. We visited soon after our two-week trip to Myanmar (Burma). I recommend the tea leaf salad and the lemongrass pork. the place is noisy when full -- not conducive to conversations -- but the service was outstanding despite the crush. John, the General Manager of the restaurant, is charming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Burmese food in Palo Alto

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Definitely go for the tea leaf salad, palotta and the samosas for appetizers and try the Ruby Shrimp with Coconut Rice as an entree. Dee-lish! Food is fresh and flavorful. Dining room is bright and clean. Attentive service and reasonable prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.