About Burma Ruby

326 University Ave
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Now open in downtown Palo Alto, Burma Ruby Burmese Cuisine Burmese cuisine. Chefs Win Tin formerly of Burma Superstars locations in Oakland and Alameda respectively, will jointly be heading up the kitchen at the new Burma Ruby venue.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Burmese

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm;

Saturday - Sunday: 11:30am - 5:00pm

Dinner:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bryant St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 285-2770

Website:
http://www.rangoonruby.com/

Parking Details:
5 Story Parking across the street

Executive Chef:
Win Tin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
A father is definitely a hero and we have special present on this day - Prix Fixe menu at only $29.95 per person with the minimum purchase of two Prix Fixe menus

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Burma Ruby Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (32)
good for groups (18)
great for lunch (15)
See All
hot spot (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
special occasion (9)
great for outdoor dining (5)
romantic (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
96 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had always gone to Rangoon Ruby. This is better

Dined 5 days ago

Rangoon Ruby was full so I was directed to Burma Ruby. MUCH preferred this experience. Brighter, lighter space and the food was delicious. The service was very good and I will go back to Burma Ruby when I next have a craving for Burmese food...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

The Chihuly like light fixtures are gorg ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The Chihuly like light fixtures are gorgeous and there is also a skylight. Service was friendly but very slow. The palata with chicken curry was delicious. The tea leaf salad presentation was very attractive, although the dressing was a little oily for my tastes. They had Blue Hawaiians, a drink hard to find, and it was very good.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very noisy. The food was okay, but not ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Very noisy. The food was okay, but not great. Have had great meals at Rangoon Ruby, their sister restaurant, so had high expectations.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We had taken out of town guests as we lo ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We had taken out of town guests as we love the food and have had pleasant experiences until now. We didn't have a pleasant experience and were embarrassed to have chosen such a restaurant with had terrible service. When we arrived we saw a couple vacant table but were asked to wait to be seated inspite of having a reservation. After about 12 minutes we inquired again and were told we would be seated shortly. Finally once we got seated we had to wait another 10 to 15 minutes for someone to take our order. We asked for water which arrived after the food as they had no glasses. It seemed like the manager was new, on previous visits there was a different manager who was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Burma Ruby is a good place to eat.

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and daughter to Burma Ruby to celebrate Mother's day. initially, they seated us at a less than desirable table but they quickly agreed to move us after our request. The food was excellent and the service was very good. I recommend this restaurant as an excellent choice for Burmese/Asian food in Palo Alto.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

bland food

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Special Burmese salad with fermented tea leaves was great. Pork dish was bland. Asked for medium spice. Came out almost unflavored

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Outdoor Dining

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We arrived half hour before the reservation time, so we were offered a table outside. They lit the heaters and it was a comfortable experience. The service was excellent. We were not forgotten. The food was flavorful as always. Mmmm...

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always good; sometimes great

Dined on April 17, 2016

We've eaten here quite a few times in the past couple years. It helps to know how to order. We always start with the tea leaf salad. The pea leaf side dish is another favorite because it's a unique sort of vegetable -- fresh-tasting and nicely prepared. We weren't crazy about the lamb kabat; prefer the biryani or (especially) the "fiery" dishes (tofu, chicken, pork.) The seafood dishes are also quite tasty, as are the noodle dishes. The hosts and wait staff are friendly without being overbearing. They seem to like working here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience1
service5

Excellent as always!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent as always!

food2
ambience4
service1

Very salty.. Everything that we have ord ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Very salty.. Everything that we have ordered ended up grossing me out for the whole night. The tea leaf salad was salty, the village catfish was greasy with too many bones, the curry veggies were not flavorful at all.. And it's $20 per entry. Would not pay that price for this quality of food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good, simple food

Dined on March 17, 2016

Food was very tasty. One appetizer plus two entrees were plenty for two of us. A spicy dish wasn't too spicy - would have liked a bit more spice but would ask next time. Service was very good. Place was packed, and tables are pretty close, but wasn't noisy. So overall a nice, relaxed meal. Would definitely go again.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun Food and Atmosphere.

Dined on March 10, 2016

A fund, energetic place with well prepared and artistically presented food at reasonable price

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easy in & worth staying a while

Dined on March 3, 2016

I've walked past Burma Ruby many times and just discovered what a gem it is! It was easy to get a seat at 12:30, which is rare on University Ave these days, so others obviously haven't discovered it yet either. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, so was a great help given I'm not familiar with the dishes. The food is spectacular if you enjoy spices; I'm sure they can do muted if desired, but their spicy and aromatic dishes make a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, as always!

Dined on February 29, 2016

Great, as always!

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Reservations mean nothing!

Dined on February 28, 2016

We waited an hour on top of reservations to be seated. Also, please note on the reservations that your entire party needs to be there, in order to be seated, not that it made any difference in the wait. Who runs out of rice at a restaurant, on a Saturday night? I enjoyed the food, but we do not plan on coming back because of the wait.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The same food as Rangoon Ruby, but not the ambianc

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

The food was as good as Rangoon Ruby, but this is the place for the out-of-towners. The people were lined up outside to get in. The tables were packed in, and it was an impersonal experience. The tables are also packed in at Rangoon Ruby, but not in a big line. Somehow the table arrangement at Rangoon Ruby is more welcoming, and it's not quite a noisy.

Tags: hot spot
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Way too noisy

Dined on February 24, 2016

I had lunch there on a Friday with a friend. We had high expectations given the reviews about it. Unfortunately we were quite disappointed. The food: We both had the mango chicken. It was OK but lacking in zing: too sweet and not balanced by an acidic note or even just the basil listed in the dish description or other herbs. The ambiance: The worst problem for us was the too-high noise level to the point of having a difficult time carrying a conversation. I imagine that the all-concrete walls and high ceilings do not help and the tables are so close to one another one can hear everybody around.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great From Start to Finish!

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

I have eaten here twice before and it was so noisy that conversation was almost impossible - due to the very high ceilings and close tables. This time on a Sunday evening they honored my request(Via Open Table) for a quiet table and it wasn't as crowded anyway. The woman who waited on us was attentive and friendly but not overly so. The food was delicious, hot and well prepared. The server noted gifts and that it was a birthday so we had a surprise sparkler and nice scoop of ice cream and strawberries for dessert. All in all a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great find.

Dined on February 21, 2016

This was my first time to the restaurant. I truly enjoyed the food. It was unusual and fun. Incredible taste. I made new reservations for The very next week.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Great variety of dishes!

Dined on February 17, 2016

Great variety of dishes!

food4
ambience3
service2

The food is usually always great. Howev ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

The food is usually always great. However, the service is usually poor.

food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Underwhelmed at valentines

Dined on February 15, 2016

I think that the amount of people showing up on Valentine's , even though everyone had a reservation, caught the staff unprepared. We had to wait for 25 minutes for our appetizers to show up. The food was ok. All in all, will not return.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing food!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The Tea Leaf Salad and the Samosa Soup is a must have here!! It is really great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Gem on University Avenue

Dined on February 7, 2016

Burma Ruby serves up authentic Burmese food. We visited soon after our two-week trip to Myanmar (Burma). I recommend the tea leaf salad and the lemongrass pork. the place is noisy when full -- not conducive to conversations -- but the service was outstanding despite the crush. John, the General Manager of the restaurant, is charming.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Burmese food in Palo Alto

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Definitely go for the tea leaf salad, palotta and the samosas for appetizers and try the Ruby Shrimp with Coconut Rice as an entree. Dee-lish! Food is fresh and flavorful. Dining room is bright and clean. Attentive service and reasonable prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

The food was very good in general. We ordered Tea Leaf Salad, Rangoon Noodles, Home Style Fried Rice and Tofu with Veggies that were really good. The Samosa Soup wasn't that great, though. A must visit place of you like Burmese or haven't tried it before.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best resturant in Palo Alto

Dined on January 26, 2016

I have never been so obssessed with a resturant before. Burma Ruby is by far one of the best restaurants to go to for any occasion. There food isn't overpriced like more Palo Alto restaurants and there food is so delicious. The service is beyond amazing, their staff is beyond friendly and are the reason (as well as their food) why my family and I always go there for every occasion!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Dishes - the eggplant dishes in the vege ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Dishes - the eggplant dishes in the vegetarian menu are to die for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Even better than other local burma's

Dined on January 9, 2016

I've been here twice now. Nice tea selection. Spicy dishes are just right. Not too spicy. Perfect sharing portions. The sesame chicken and coconut rice rock.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A Pleasant Evening

Dined on January 7, 2016

The seating host was very good about keeping our table as we were a bit late due to parking and weather issues. The food was identical to their sister restaurant Rangoon Ruby on Emerson but the drinks from the bar weren't as well made. The restaurant seems spacious due to the high ceilings which reduces the noise somewhat but it isn't quiet. Compared to Rangoon Ruby, I'd say it feels a bit more intimate.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service. Stained table cloth

Dined on January 4, 2016

Food and service are pretty good. The ambiance is very nice, too, but it's very busy. Our table had a stained table cloth, but the waiter fixed it on request.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

We enjoyed our meal at Burma Ruby. It has most of the qualities of Rangoon, just a different atmosphere. It was pretty loud with a full house, maybe not the best place for a quiet romantic dinner. The food was pretty good, again reminiscent of Rangoon which has been one of our favorites over the years in Palo Alto. Flavors distinct, bold in some cases, but nothing was over seasoned or salty. Ingredients seemed fresh, very enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great early dinner on a Sunday evening

Dined on December 14, 2015

We went for an early dinner, and it was nice an quiet so that we could easily talk. The service was very good and the food always delicious. We had the tea salad, salmon with pumpkin and coconut rice. Just perfect and a good blend of flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3

Interesting cuisine

Dined on December 5, 2015

I had eaten Burmese food at Rangoon ruby previously and wanted to once again try it at this place. Liked the tea leaf salad. Coconut rice was way too sweet to eat with the curry. The fiery tofu curry was spicy and quite oily. But the tofu which they prepare themselves was quite nice. Very different texture than what you get in market. The garlic noodles were very good.

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food, very good service

Dined on December 3, 2015

Excellent choice for the four of us. I would suggest turning the back left corner table so two people are not looking at the back wall .

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Good - similar to Burma Superstar.

Dined on November 21, 2015

Good - similar to Burma Superstar.

food4
ambience3
service5

Great service and really good Burmese fo ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

Great service and really good Burmese food. The tea salad and northern fried tofu were excellent

food4
ambience5
service3

Delicious food as always!

vip
Dined on November 2, 2015

We had the tea salad ... two orders, it is so lovely. The beef kabot was absolutely scrumptious. We tried the sesame chicken for the first time. It was a disappointment. There was barely any chicken and lots of batter. The sauce was way too sweet. The service was spotty. Not the usual excellent service that we are used to. This is still our goto place for special occasions. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Friendly service. Try their coconut wate ...

Dined on October 31, 2015

Friendly service. Try their coconut water. I have liked all their dishes so far - my favorites are tea leaf salad and samosa soup. also loved the Indian Burmese rice - very flavorful. If you are going their to celebrate a birthday let them know - not the usual candle

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent variety, impeccable service. W ...

vip
Dined on October 28, 2015

Excellent variety, impeccable service. Will be there again soon.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.