Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About Burdick's for Breakfast

Burdick's For Breakfast is a great place to start your morning. The colorful buffet and open design displays the kitchen where all your food is prepared right in front of your eyes!

100 W. Michigan Ave.
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday: 6:30am - 12:00pm, Sunday: 6:30am - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
Rose Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 226-3155

Website:
http://www.oldburdicks.com/

Entertainment:
Character Breakfast

Parking Details:
We validated self-parking at the Radisson Parking Ramp (Rose St) and there is ample street parking in Downtown Kalamazoo

Public Transit:
Access via public transit available on most Metro buses northbound towards downtown Kalamazoo such as #16, #1 and many more.

Executive Chef:
Brandon Mendoza

Additional:
Banquet, Private Room

Special Events & Promotions:
Character Breakfast, Post-Wedding Brunch, Breakfast Meetings

Burdick's for Breakfast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (3)
See All
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Private Room (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Cozy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
38 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Service was superb -- Kelly was first rate... food was varied and plentiful.....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was way better than I was expecting it to be. With made to order omelets (which were absolutely delicious), eggs, and pancakes and fresh squeezed orange juice it's definitely worth the price!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Not worth the pricey check. The food was under cooked and very greasy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great laid back atmosphere with great food. Also a very friendly staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent choice for Mother's Day brunch with the family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

They need to have grits. Everything else was 5 stars the staff and food.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I thought that the buffet would be a great idea because it was a good value. I really wanted some cinnamon roll French toast and bacon; however, it took a good 30 mins for those to be filled because when I got there- they were gone. I settled for pancakes but you have to get those at the grill. I waited in front of the glass for a solid 15 mins before I was even acknowledged. And it took forever to make the pancakes and they were gross.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 11, 2016

First visit ,hoping to be on par with former Sol World Cafe,but not too close.Fine service & attention but food quality & variety were lacking.Hoping for eggs Benedict ,but only on menu.Finally,cost is way out of line,could have (&will next time) gone to Bravo!😢

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great good options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were there for a princess character breakfast with my 5 year old and my father.

The chairs were soiled and not clean at all. The stations were not well kept up and ran out of cupcakes for the kids to decorate.

The buffet food was overcooked or bland. It was not worth the hefty price tag and we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were very excited to have brunch at burdicks for mother's day as we had such a lovely experience last year. However this year was a huge disappointment. The selection of desserts was so very small and honestly they tasted disgusting. The service was terrible and we spent far too much time trying to flag down someone to fill water glasses. They were not busy at this time either. The prime rib was bland and tough. The pasta was mush and flavorless. Last year they had ice sculptures, carved watermelons delicious food and ahuge selection of tasty desserts. We had no problem paying over $100 for the four of to enjoy that brunch. This year however i felt cheated. It was far too much money to pay for an unsatisfactory experience. I asked to speak to a manager however after waiting thirty minutes with no one stopping by the table i took the hint and gave up. we likely will not return for special occasion meals or every day breakfast as the service, food quality and selection is just not acceptable for the price. This was a very disappointing start to what should have been a lovely experience on a special day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Better buffer than anticipated. Everything was good.. The omelet was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Many disappointments, the service, the food was mostly breakfast, prime rib too rare and cold. Not many accompaniments to go with it . Ham was good. That's all!
Will not return to this restaurant. Too expensive. We had a four year old she only had a pancake so that cost 12.99!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Had an excellent after church brunch. Food was very fresh. All staff friendly and helpful.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 19, 2016

I guess I was expecting more interaction with the lego brunch for the kids as well as more interaction from the experts. I also felt the price of brunch for my three and five year old was way too high. They each ate, maybe one small waffle or pancake and that was it. I was shocked by the cost of brunch and there was nothing for the kids to take home other that a copied coloring page. For the same price we could have paid for a year membership to the zoo or taken them to the aquarium in Detroit. My kids did enjoy seeing the large setup but that was all there really was for them to do. I guess I was expecting more hands on and more activities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great selection of food. Everyone really enjoyed the fresh squeezed orange juice. The oranges are squeezed right in front of you. It doesn't get any fresher than that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were expecting more from the food and service for the price charged. We would be likely to attend another event like this if the food choices and quality improved or the price reduced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 31, 2016

The food was terrible. Honestly old country buffet breakfast was better. The bacon was the worst thing I have ever tasted. Not worth your money AT ALL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 30, 2016

My son and I had a great time at the Ninja Turtle breakfast! Thank you for taking the wonderful picture for us to keep for the memory. The setup was very fun. My son and I did not care for the pizza, and pizza is usually a favorite for us both. We did love the made to order omelets though. We hope to join you again for another theme breakfast!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 30, 2016

My family and I were very disappointed with the Ninja Turtles breakfast experience. For a family of four, the cost was over $60, so we expected much more than what we received. While there was a large variety of food, it was poor quality. It reminded me of a hospital cafeteria. The Ninja Turtle characters were great, as was the photographer. Other than the pictures, there really was not much else to experience. In fact, despite the fact that we were an early reservation, we were seated as far away from the "Turtle room" as possible. My boys were actually bored and ready to go. I will say that the staff and service was great. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. If not for that, I would have been very upset. I was hoping this would be a great memory for our family on a Saturday morning, but unfortunately it was just a let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 30, 2016

I would recommend this to anyone it was a neat expierence!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2016

All of the restaurant staff were very friendly. Both the cinnamon pancakes and regular pancakes were great. The house-made granola was very tasty. The omelette station was delicious too. Nice variety of fresh food, meats, cereals, etc.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 12, 2015

Total waste of time and money. Nothing "special" for the kids, such as Santa pancakes, or any fun food geared toward children. Santa just sat in the back and we couldn't even see him while we ate. Santa did not go around to the tables and talk to the kids. After we ate breakfast we were in line to get our picture taken with Santa and after the camera broke down twice, we left without a picture of the kids with Santa. Everyone was disappointed. It wasn't very busy; it appears that only the first timers were there as no one would choose to waste their time and money on that twice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2015

This is a good place for a healthy brunch for kids and picky eaters. Among the items are fresh fruit, omelets made to order, granola and fresh squeezed juice as well as a la carte items. It is on the second floor of the Radisson so you have to look for it, but it's worth the hunt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 14, 2015

It was good for breakfast. It's even better if you can get it in a package with your hotel room. I did not have that, but it was still nice. Not too expensive and the food was good for what you go. I wish you could get a regular class of OJ and not the super small ones from the fresh squeezed machines.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Arrived for breakfast at 10 am (2 adults, 2 small children). Had special request for a high chair on the reservation. Seated at a table. Did not get a booster or high chair for either kid. We're not given kids menus and didn't notice they had any until after we ordered off the adult menu for the kids. We then noticed that every other child in the restaurant had kids menus with crayons. Our children played with the creamer and sugar packets. We ordered off the menu and not the Buffett. Food took 25 minutes to arrive and the children did not get their waffles until after we had finished eating. The waffles were noticeably burnt(look and smell). Asked for new waffles. 15 minutes later we received the new waffles, they were pretty good. Overall terrible service, way overpriced and will never eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 10, 2015

Burdick's for Breakfast is a great place for breakfast or brunch. They offer an amazing breakfast buffet which include omlets made to order, scrambled eggs, and chocolate chip pancakes. It's great for a girls day out, along with a visit to Blush Salon.

In addition to great food and service, they also do special events for children. My daughters loved the princess breakfast.

The fresh squeezed orange juice and crisp bacon are awesome!

Burdicks for Breakfast is definitely worth checking out!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 14, 2015

Out waiter was hard to flag down, and she forgot to bring us refills even after being asked twice. I ordered off the menu and asked for fruit instead of hash browns- but my order came with no fruit and half a plate of hash browns. The food was ok- nothing great for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 5, 2015

My family and I attended Easter Sunday Brunch at 1:15pm, online reservations did not work when we initially signed up for noon. Someone called us to change, so we agreed on 1:15pm.

Everything started out fine, but soon that changed. First our waitress was extremely slow. After she finally dropped off our drinks, we did not see her again until we were almost done. We have had brunch here before, so we knew what to expect and it being Easter expected nothing less. However, we soon found out that they close at 2:00pm and when around 1:30 to 1:45 came and some food selections ran out, they did not bother to resupply them. Even the dishes ran out and had to wait to get more. This was very disappointing, because we paid the same amount of money as those who were able to dine earlier and they received all choices, while we did not.

Also the dessert selection was very slim for a special day like Easter. On normal Sunday brunches there are several choices, but not today.

My wife and I were disappointed and will never do the Easter Brunch there again. They need to make sure all dishes of food are at least available to the end.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 5, 2015

I realize it was Easter, but the website listed this buffet significantly less expensive than the true cost. This brunch buffet was definitely not worth $27/per person, especially when 2 out of 3 members of our family are vegetarian. Disappointed. Probably will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2015

We were happy to find this restaurant within the hotel before heading out on the road. We opted for the breakfast buffet (heavily suggested by the host who sat us). We were very disappointed in the quality and temperature of the available food. We arrived just after 8 am so we didn't expect the food to have been sitting out for that long but we were mistaken. Coffee was also cold and if we had wanted a refill we couldn't find a server to do so despite a relative lack of patrons in the restaurant. While we were able to make our own omelettes, the ingredients added were disappointing as well. Finally, I had made a reservation and they didn't check me in so I had to request my points through Open Table after the fact.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 8, 2015

We had a decent experience. Most of the food was hot but there were quite a few items that were cool and the donut holes that my little boy wanted were rock hard/stale. The cook doing the pancakes was not nice at all. I asked for french toast and her response was, 'cant you see Im making pancakes not french toast, thats on the buffett." The orange juice, omlets and french toast were very good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 17, 2015

We had a tasty brunch at Burdick's. They have themed breakfasts for the kids, and this week it was Legos. Lot's fun for the kids.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 7, 2014

Food was great. Good variety. Loved the made to order omelets and fresh squeezed orange juice.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 26, 2014

I had made reservations using the online system and sadly when my family arrived none of the staff had a reservation for us. I had it confirmed online and received an email, however neither the downstairs or upstairs dining areas had our reservation. That was disappointing. I rated the overall experience because we still ate at Burdick's and enjoyed it, however we did not have brunch at Burdick's for Breakfast like we had planned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 21, 2014

We met my dad there for brunch on Sunday. The food was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 20, 2014

This was our first time at Burdick's for Breakfast and I was disappointed. The waiter didn't even come to our table until the end of our meal. The food was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 20, 2014

So much fun for the kiddos! Let's be real, the focus here really wasn't the food but the basic breakfast foods were all accounted for and were well done. Plus there were really fun treats with super hero decorations. The staff were amazingly fun and patient with very energetic kids. The photo opportunity was very special . I would definitely return with my little one again!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.