About Bumble

145 1st Street
Los Altos, CA 94022
View Larger Map

An organic Farm-to-Fork restaurant in Downtown Los Altos with a kids Playroom attached to the restaurant. Our menu serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, and changes seasonally to make the most of locally sourced, organic ingredients.

Reservations are recommended.

Parties of 10 or more, please call the restaurant directly to speak with a Manager.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Organic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Sunday: 8am-2pm

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 383-5340

Website:
http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/

Catering:
http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/planning-an-event/

Parking Details:
There is a large parking lot next to the restaurant.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/event-inquiry/

Private Dining

Private Party capacity is up to 170 people depending on the season. Please contact our Events Team directly by submitting an Event Inquiry with us: http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/event-inquiry/

Bumble Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
San Francisco Bay Area
Kid Friendly
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Los Altos ›

Kid-friendly (20)
Great for Brunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Cozy (3)
Family Style (3)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Bad service. I booked a table thru open ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Bad service. I booked a table thru open table and they gave away the table to another party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Had brunch with my kids, good selection, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had brunch with my kids, good selection, great play area, kids had lots of fun and staff there was great.

Miserable wait staff, lackluster attitude and not engaging, if I spend good money for good food, I'd like the service to be good too, from reception to payment. Either train them to carry a different attitude or staff turnover will be high because they don't get good tips.

Worth a visit as a large group where kids can play and partners can relax

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

great spaces, including sandbox, for fam ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

great spaces, including sandbox, for families, but also an enclosed adult patio with heat lamps. Brunch menu fairly short, but plenty of choices. will go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great brunch place in a unique setting. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great brunch place in a unique setting. High quality food and preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Families meeting up, and we chose this b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Families meeting up, and we chose this because we were told it was toddler friendly. It is.

Supervised play area at the back for the young ones.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a terrible experience. We were a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a terrible experience. We were a party of 3 and were totally crowded out by two larger parties that they sat us between. There was always a stranger standing and blocking us in or out from our seats, or hovering over us and sprinkling sand on us from their toddlers dangling feet as they picked them up, or leaving their toys & trash on my chair when I got up to go to the bathroom. That was just invasive and weird.

Menu selection was minimal and quality of food was poor. We had to place our drink order (just coffe and water) multiple times because they never came, even after the food arrived. I can't believe how much we paid for so little value.

Our toddler used the play room for 30 min, which was fine, but there were hardly any toys in it. Another (even-larger) party had reserved the back room with the aquarium and their photographer blocked the door to the playroom with his equipment, which was not only annoying when I went to go check on my toddler, but was also a major fire code violation and the staff just let him keep it there. (The photographer even acted annoyed at us for using the door to the playroom to pickup our daughter to leave. It's the only door in or out of the playroom.) The whole layout was super crowded and we were constantly waiting on others several times in a row just to get back to our table.

Also there was another child in the sandbox who was clearly contagious with a viral skin rash like hand-foot-and-mouth or something like that who should not have been in a public space.

This was my birthday brunch and I was woefully disappointed in what a terrible time we had.

We came for our anniversary too, 3 months ago, and it was bad and unorganized then too. We thought they would have straightened out by now, but it was even worse this time. Would love to know of another restaurant in the peninsula with a playroom because we simply can't justify returning here a 3rd time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Fruit bowl was just melons w a couple of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fruit bowl was just melons w a couple of strawberries - the fruit was old and cut a long time ago. Orange juice was not fresh - it was not a very high quality cafe - it was a spot for kids - not a foodie haven

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We didn't have a server check in with un ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We didn't have a server check in with until almost 15 minutes after we sat down and when they finally did come over they were trying to rush us to order. We simply wanted to get some drinks and then take our time looking at the menu. For the rest of our time there we were hardly checked on. Both my friend and I got the soup/salad combo and the sound was barely warm when it arrived. The salad was good, but for the price nothing was that spectacular. Very disappointed as I've been before and enjoyed my experience a lot. Not this time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Great place for kids, really overbooked ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place for kids, really overbooked ....staff tried the best they could to help everyone!!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We have been coming to Bumble many times ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been coming to Bumble many times but always for breakfast. This time it was brunch and the menu was different. We enjoyed the quality food and set outside and relaxed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good. On site childcare is so g ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was good. On site childcare is so great. Service was incredibly slow and not personal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

My husband and I ate breakfast at Bumble ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My husband and I ate breakfast at Bumble on a Saturday morning with our 2 year old and 4 year old. We made a reservation and they were able to reserve a table for us outside near the sandbox. There is childcare available inside which looks very inviting, but we found it too expensive. The sandbox is free and worked very well for us. Our kids played while we had coffee and kept playing while we ate breakfast. There were plenty of breakfast options including gluten free. Everything was delicious. Our waiter was so friendly and patient with our kids. He took care of everything. Thanks for a great morning, Bumble!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Catering to the niche market of hipsters ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Catering to the niche market of hipsters with kids. Great for brunch and getting together with friends. Great food, great service...with a sandbox!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I love that Bumble caters to kids but th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I love that Bumble caters to kids but the service is consistently poor. My reservation was for 12pm. I called at 10:30am to confirm we could get a table on the front patio (I requested the patio in my Opentable notes). The hostess confirmed a table would be available. We arrived at 12pm and all tables were still occupied. We waited. 10 minutes passed, we were thanked for our patience, and assured a table was on their way out . Another 10 minutes passed so I went to check-in and say I would sit anywhere, we just needed to eat. A small table on the patio opened up & we crowded around it. A server passed by and asked if we wanted water - we said yes. The waters never came and the server never returned (turns out it wasn't our assigned server). 10 minutes later a different server came by to take our drink order. There was such a long delay between sitting and getting drinks that I had to approach the host stand and ask for water for my 18 month old (who had been eating crackers we brought with us). Long story short - after we got drinks, our server was nice, but our food didn't arrive until after 1pm - for a 12pm reservation!!!

I would have appreciated management coming by our table and checking-in or apologizing, or comping a few food items, but that didn't happen. And yet, we keep returning because we like that it's is close, outside, and has a sandbox. Just don't go if you're hungry! This is not the first time we've had exceptionally slow service at Bumble.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

It is overpriced for what you get. Somet ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It is overpriced for what you get. Sometimes small portions. Not enough vegetarian options. And the service can be pretty spotty. It's also a shame that they took away the dinner hours with the playroom which made for a real nice date night for parents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Bumble has found the right mix of kid-fr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Bumble has found the right mix of kid-friendly without feeling like you are dining in a playpen. The atmosphere is light and fun and the food high quality. We like the farm to table fare and go there often. They recently closed for renovations and opened with new entrees. We really enjoyed the waffle and the breakfast burrito new to the bumble menu. We were disappointed that the "sweet tooth" french toast bread pudding was not very sweet and not the same recipe served at the Mother's day brunch. THAT French toast bread pudding was amazing! This one not so much. We also miss the pink pancakes.

All in all a good place to take friends and family and I highly recommend it, especially if you know what to order.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was slow and lacking. It's not a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was slow and lacking. It's not as good as it used to be.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

They were closing up for renovation..The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

They were closing up for renovation..The restaurant took appointment at 9am and food was not ready until 9:30..They could not accommodate a small change in menu for allergies ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Playroom closed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Unbeknownst to us the playroom was closed due to some kind of leak so all parents were dining with their kids which defeats the purpose of this whole place! Didn't find this out until we got there.

Food was decent. Big portions. Nice ambience. Will try again when they reopen in June.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Good for Yuppies with kids.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Too noisy and uncomfortable chairs. Limited Menu. Not good for older clientele that want to visit. Hard to hear due to all the noise.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Amazing! Most adorable little restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Amazing! Most adorable little restaurant. Get the eggs beni with bacon or smoked salmon and Bloody Mary with cucumber vodka! Oh and the iced espresso breve was so good!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, but even better service! App ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great food, but even better service! Appetizers and drinks on the adult patio... Heavenly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

How civilized!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

It was pretty awesome to have my daughter completely happily occupied for 2

HOURS while my friend and I enjoyed a leisurely brunch. We were just on the other side of the fish tank from her, but I don't think she would have minded if we were in the adults only room, she was having so much fun she didn't miss me (until she summoned me to request a chocolate milk). I'll be back for sure.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Fun Place - Great Food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Fun place with great food and great service. Plus, everyone is SUPER nice. We had a burger, artichokes, and guacamole. All yummy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to share lunch with girlfrie ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Great place to share lunch with girlfriends while children play and have fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Brunch with Friends

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

New owners/managers are much friendlier. Food was great. Pancakes amazing.

A little nosy in the back room , but that was probably us !

Very good service , continually checking and topping up :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service a bit off

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

While our server indicated that they'd just reopened after being closed for two weeks, wine took way too long to come and then entrees came when we'd barely made a dent into our salads. My salad did not come with dressing on the side, as I'd requested. But the halibut was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Hallelujah, Lord have mercy on mah belly!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The cc and lox bagel tasted just like a NYC bagel minus the onion breath thanks to their delicious idea of pickled onions. The perfect balance of smoky salmon flavor, creamy cream cheese and flavor-packed, palate cleansing pickled onions/tomatoes.

I also ate the french toast with the vanilla whip and berries. It was just like dessert in the morning, but not overly sweet that you couldn't handle it. The berries are acidic enough to cut through the cream, and the vanilla bean whip was like a butter vanilla ice cream flavor. A must if you're into french toast. The bread was thicker than a Texan toast. More bang for the buck.

The atmosphere was nice -- I'm glad there's an "adult only" section as the restaurant is great for kids too, but also for those enjoying an outing sans children. It's like when you hear a telephone and you're away from the office reception desk and want to roll your eyes at that sound. Anyhow, make reservations because this place is gonna blow everyone's minds...or tastebuds rather. I gave my compliments to the chef afterward.

The waiters provided impeccable service. It was like boom-bam-bang here you go to whatever request/needs/desires were voiced. They treated you like a guest in their home. Kudos to the team's performance and hospitable attitudes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good for young families

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

My husband and I wanted to try a new restaurant (new for us) in downtown Los Altos. We love the Los Altos Grill but it is hard to get a good same day reservation. We also like Opa's Greek cuisine. Easily located across from Safeway on 1st Street, Bumble is warm, bright, and very energetic even 15 minutes before closing. We didn't realize this was a place for young families (with a supervised playroom for a fee) so calm and quiet it was not. The rainy weather exacerbated the situation since everyone was indoors. We were first seated at the non-functioning fireplace next to 2 overwhelmed dads with small infants (must have been mommies' night out). The hostess kindly moved us to a somewhat quieter back room that overlooked the pretty aquarium and the playroom beyond. There was a very limited cocktail/wine/beer menu understandably it's a family place. The server was nice enough to piece together a cocktail that suited my palette--I'll call it a lime drop without the martini glass. (It was served first with a straw (a cocktail with a straw??) in a metal mug in the shape of a bee hive--the place is called Bumble--but I transferred it to a regular non-stem wine glass and it was fine. My hubby didn't like the Pinot Noir choices so he passed. Anyways, I ordered the flat iron steak which was sliced London Broil style and grilled to perfection! I passed on the potatoes and really enjoyed the farm to table broccoli and cauliflower. Good Job, Chef!!! My hubby liked his salmon Caesar Salad but said it was average. After 8:30 (the place closes at 8pm) it was quiet and we enjoyed our meals. The service was efficient and friendly. We plan to return for brunch which I am told is quite popular (make reservations) but will wait for warmer, dryer weather so we can sit outdoors. We ended the night with better wine and cocktails at the Los Altos Grill.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Their breakfast is outstanding!! Even o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Their breakfast is outstanding!! Even on a rainy Saturday, we enjoyed our hot drinks and French toast! Must return for the French toast!! Wait staff is attentive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Disappointing

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Unfortunately since their reopening, the menu has changed and not for the better. Our waiter explained the change in menu was because the kitchen was overwhelmed with the amount of prep and cooking, however it took until half way through our breakfasts for our coffees to be ready. Normally I enjoy my coffee whilst waiting!

The food was average, but the little things made the meal a disappointment. The bread was barely toasted and they had no soft butter available (frozen or clarified were our options), plus the issue with the drinks it just left us a little sad. I understand it could be teething problems from reopening, but they shut down for a couple of weeks so I thought they would have worked through scenarios and prepared better.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Family friendly neighborhood restaurant

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed dinner at Bumble on a Friday evening. While the weather required us to dine inside it made for a rather loud setting. If you have young children, dining at Bumble is a perfect setting. They do offer an "adult" dining area, but the evening we were there the "adult area" was also in use with families of young children. My husband enjoyed a steak and I enjoyed grilled salmon, food was delicious. On a nice summer evening, dining at Bumble can be enjoyed by all types of diners - inside or outside.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

#hostandtoast

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

I loved the avocado toast and the host! Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FamilyFriendly/child engaging/ good for adults too

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Thanks to A and S for establishing this uniquely family-oriented restaurant for healthy food grazing. Often hold business meetings here, and esp. if kids of any age may be involved- ok, not a teen hangout spot... but for all the rest, thank you thank thank you. Would that someone would replicate it and establish more of these.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Very cute little old building. Is I had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

Very cute little old building. Is I had a small child I would go for sure. They have plenty of things to keep kids busy while parents visit. However, the food that I had was tasteless. Would not bother to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Brunch. To go early or late?

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We had quite a wait for our food, a table of two with no special requests, and brunch took over an hour. The food was tasty, flavorful and delicious but there appears to be some kinks that need to be worked out in the kitchen.

I would go back again but with the hopes that these issues have been resolved.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a winner for me!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

I love having the choice of either coming on my own to work, have coffee, and sit outside when the weather is nice or bring my family (my kids and grandchildren). Bumble has a wonderful supervised area where the kids can eat and play while I catch up with the latest news with their parents. You can see the teamwork within the staff and everyone seems to help out with the service. The restaurant has a cozy, bustling ambiance that I enjoy and although the energy is fast moving, the staff is always attentive, communicative if there is a problem with the meals, and they make me feel welcome when I'm there. My favorite seating area is immediately as you walk in the door across from the kitchen. Bumble is my go-to place for brunch or an afternoon respite with their yummy mocha (a wonderful change from getting coffee at the Starbuck's drive-thru and drinking from a paper cup as I drive up 101.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Cheddar Bay Biscuit-wich is a favori ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

The Cheddar Bay Biscuit-wich is a favorite of mine. My friend likes The Big Bowl. If possible, get a table by the aquarium - love the fish and the "bubbles" where children can pop their heads up into the fish tank.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall good visit, food was great. Kids ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Overall good visit, food was great. Kids loved the play area. But we where seated by the door so it was a bit windy that wasn't fun.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food and a nice feel made it a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Delicious food and a nice feel made it a great dinner with our kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.