About Bumble

145 1st Street
Los Altos, CA 94022
View Larger Map

An locally sourced organic restaurant in Downtown Los Altos with a kids Playroom attached to the restaurant. Our menu serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, and changes seasonally to make the most of locally sourced, organic ingredients.

Reservations are recommended.

Parties of 10 or more, please call the restaurant directly to speak with a Manager.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Organic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Sunday: 8am-2pm

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 383-5340

Website:
http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/

Catering:
http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/planning-an-event/

Parking Details:
There is a large parking lot next to the restaurant.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/event-inquiry/

Private Dining

Private Party capacity is up to 170 people depending on the season. Please contact our Events Team directly by submitting an Event Inquiry with us: http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/event-inquiry/

Bumble Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Kid-friendly (8)
Family Style (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Authentic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the waitress was NOT cooperative ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

One of the waitress was NOT cooperative at all. My 4 year old daughter was scared of the huge heater and literally stared crying so wanted to sit at a table a bit far from the heater where only 3 people can sit. Since we were 2 adults and 2 kids I asked for getting the table by putting 2 more chairs but she didn't allow us to sit there. I don't understand because 2 kids are not going to block anywhere!!! So stubborn and ridiculously poor service/accommodation. SO disappointed today!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

really noisy restaurant but fun if you h ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 18, 2016

really noisy restaurant but fun if you have kids or don't mind being around many any kids :)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too loud and busy with kids. Not a g ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Way too loud and busy with kids. Not a great choice for Brunch, especially if you want Mimosas. Bottomless mimosas you have to have same juice for whole table which was silly. Service was good, staff friendly. But again, way too loud and too many kids for a nice brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

ordered a cappuccino it was just colored ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

ordered a cappuccino it was just colored water, sent it back came the same, horrible, i could not drink it. My daughter got cheese pasta, it was a sad looking thing she didn't even touch it. I hd bagel and lox, the cream cheese was horrible, rest was ok. these guys do not seem to get it together after a couple of years of going bad bad bad

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Loved the wholesome menu, especially the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Loved the wholesome menu, especially the GF waffles or pancakes (?) option! The food was really lovely and the staff really nice. The space was great too and we had the option of being the conservatory away from the babies and families for some peace and quiet but it was too cold in there for us. Still, being surrounded by families didn't bother us and it was really great to be able to eat wholesome great food. Great coffee too which I find lacking in the Bay Area!

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went here for Sunday brunch and to celeb ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went here for Sunday brunch and to celebrate my birthday. It was nice to have a play area for my toddler son. He really enjoyed himself and I got to eat m brunch without him climbing all over me. He absolutely loved the sand box. Service was great - the manager on duty made sure we were comfortable and warm since we were sitting outside. But there was an outdoor heater so it was good. My grandmother who is elderly was a little cold. Mimosas were great 😊

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Will not be returning anytime soon. F ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Will not be returning anytime soon.

Front of house has deteriorated significantly since our last visit (3-4 months ago). Made reservation online as usual, and got there on time. Checked in at hostess desk, and were told someone would be with us "in a couple of minutes".

About five minutes later, the conversation is taken over by a gentleman (FOH manager?) who says they only have an outside table available. It is December, it's chilly outside, we're there with small kids. The offered table is in a corner, under and behind a tree. I ask whether there's heating, and he says "there's a heater there..." (which is EXACTLY behind the tree providing no coverage whatsoever to the table in question) "...but we can't get it any closer because it would be a fire hazard". Bottomline: there's only an unheated table in a far corner, and it is made clear we can take it or leave it. The conversation is punctuated by "Opentable assigned you an outside table", "We have a private event so space is limited", "We tried to reach you but could not". NOTE: I received no messages and would have been perfectly happy to cancel and go elsewhere.

At this point, the kids are hungry so we take the table. I'm told "go ahead and sit down, someone will be with you shortly". The hostess we first checked in with promptly brings us a high chair as requested and menus (thanks!). No sign of waitstaff. After 10-15 minutes of waiting, my husband walks back to the host table and checks in again with the gentleman. A few minutes AFTER THAT, waitstaff puts in a first appearance. We immediately place orders for food and drinks. It's freezing at the table, so we're hoping at least the hot drinks show up first. Well. At 11:20, 50 minutes after reservation time, we receive, in the following order:

  • Kids' food

  • Adult food

  • Hot drinks

We ate and left. The food itself was very good, as usual. Not worth the obstacle course to get to it, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Friendly waiters and a beautiful environ ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Friendly waiters and a beautiful environment. Our kids loves the huge salt water tank and playing in the sandbox. The food is good and we especially love the vanilla bean latte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Love love love the playroom. Good food. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love love love the playroom. Good food. Pleasant place for kids and parents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our party of 4 received a cold welcome u ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our party of 4 received a cold welcome upon arriving at Bumble - a birthday brunch for my 65 yr old mother. I was told our reservation could only be accommodated outside as other parties had booked tables inside - not an option on Opentable. Overall the restaurant was less than half full when we arrived and 3/4 full when we departed. Heaters are provided on the patio but they do little to warm guests feet. The food - avocado toast, the burger and veggie panini - was bland and our drinks were forgotten until the end of the meal. Disappointing and do not recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

I've been here about three times. This p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I've been here about three times. This place was better upon a previous visit. It has such good potential. Not impressed with service. minor food mix up.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Cute place and fabulous for kids. But t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Cute place and fabulous for kids. But they have an adult enclosed patio with overhead heaters.

Quiet, great place for an adult conversation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Service is not good. The main menu foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service is not good. The main menu food is average but the kids menu is pretty good. The only place with healthy kids options. The play area is nice and the lady who takes care of the kids is very nice.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Slow, slow service. Quality of food is g ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Slow, slow service. Quality of food is great when you can get it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I enjoyed the ambiance, the food was yum ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I enjoyed the ambiance, the food was yummy but it took an extremely long time to get initial service. Even after we ordered food, it took a long time. We were in no rush so we didn't mind but when they forgot the bacon to my friends order it took 30 minutes to get side order of bacon... by then he was done eating his meal. The worst part was the check, we waited a good 45 minutes for the check and our plates were untouched for an hour. The food was good and the waitress was friendly but the service was very slow.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The restaurant is cozy and comfortable, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The restaurant is cozy and comfortable, separated into different sections for privacy. Food was delicious, coffee was a little weak, however, they were very understaffed on the morning we visited. Service was slow and our waitress did not pay attention to the section we were in, we ended up taking the bill to the cashier in front as we couldn't even wave down the waiter. Other than that, the environment is pleasant and the brunch is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Bad service. I booked a table thru open ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Bad service. I booked a table thru open table and they gave away the table to another party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Had brunch with my kids, good selection, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had brunch with my kids, good selection, great play area, kids had lots of fun and staff there was great.

Miserable wait staff, lackluster attitude and not engaging, if I spend good money for good food, I'd like the service to be good too, from reception to payment. Either train them to carry a different attitude or staff turnover will be high because they don't get good tips.

Worth a visit as a large group where kids can play and partners can relax

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

great spaces, including sandbox, for fam ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

great spaces, including sandbox, for families, but also an enclosed adult patio with heat lamps. Brunch menu fairly short, but plenty of choices. will go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great brunch place in a unique setting. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great brunch place in a unique setting. High quality food and preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Families meeting up, and we chose this b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Families meeting up, and we chose this because we were told it was toddler friendly. It is.

Supervised play area at the back for the young ones.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a terrible experience. We were a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a terrible experience. We were a party of 3 and were totally crowded out by two larger parties that they sat us between. There was always a stranger standing and blocking us in or out from our seats, or hovering over us and sprinkling sand on us from their toddlers dangling feet as they picked them up, or leaving their toys & trash on my chair when I got up to go to the bathroom. That was just invasive and weird.

Menu selection was minimal and quality of food was poor. We had to place our drink order (just coffe and water) multiple times because they never came, even after the food arrived. I can't believe how much we paid for so little value.

Our toddler used the play room for 30 min, which was fine, but there were hardly any toys in it. Another (even-larger) party had reserved the back room with the aquarium and their photographer blocked the door to the playroom with his equipment, which was not only annoying when I went to go check on my toddler, but was also a major fire code violation and the staff just let him keep it there. (The photographer even acted annoyed at us for using the door to the playroom to pickup our daughter to leave. It's the only door in or out of the playroom.) The whole layout was super crowded and we were constantly waiting on others several times in a row just to get back to our table.

Also there was another child in the sandbox who was clearly contagious with a viral skin rash like hand-foot-and-mouth or something like that who should not have been in a public space.

This was my birthday brunch and I was woefully disappointed in what a terrible time we had.

We came for our anniversary too, 3 months ago, and it was bad and unorganized then too. We thought they would have straightened out by now, but it was even worse this time. Would love to know of another restaurant in the peninsula with a playroom because we simply can't justify returning here a 3rd time.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Fruit bowl was just melons w a couple of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fruit bowl was just melons w a couple of strawberries - the fruit was old and cut a long time ago. Orange juice was not fresh - it was not a very high quality cafe - it was a spot for kids - not a foodie haven

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We didn't have a server check in with un ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We didn't have a server check in with until almost 15 minutes after we sat down and when they finally did come over they were trying to rush us to order. We simply wanted to get some drinks and then take our time looking at the menu. For the rest of our time there we were hardly checked on. Both my friend and I got the soup/salad combo and the sound was barely warm when it arrived. The salad was good, but for the price nothing was that spectacular. Very disappointed as I've been before and enjoyed my experience a lot. Not this time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Great place for kids, really overbooked ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place for kids, really overbooked ....staff tried the best they could to help everyone!!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We have been coming to Bumble many times ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been coming to Bumble many times but always for breakfast. This time it was brunch and the menu was different. We enjoyed the quality food and set outside and relaxed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good. On site childcare is so g ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was good. On site childcare is so great. Service was incredibly slow and not personal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

My husband and I ate breakfast at Bumble ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2016

My husband and I ate breakfast at Bumble on a Saturday morning with our 2 year old and 4 year old. We made a reservation and they were able to reserve a table for us outside near the sandbox. There is childcare available inside which looks very inviting, but we found it too expensive. The sandbox is free and worked very well for us. Our kids played while we had coffee and kept playing while we ate breakfast. There were plenty of breakfast options including gluten free. Everything was delicious. Our waiter was so friendly and patient with our kids. He took care of everything. Thanks for a great morning, Bumble!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Catering to the niche market of hipsters ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Catering to the niche market of hipsters with kids. Great for brunch and getting together with friends. Great food, great service...with a sandbox!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I love that Bumble caters to kids but th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2016

I love that Bumble caters to kids but the service is consistently poor. My reservation was for 12pm. I called at 10:30am to confirm we could get a table on the front patio (I requested the patio in my Opentable notes). The hostess confirmed a table would be available. We arrived at 12pm and all tables were still occupied. We waited. 10 minutes passed, we were thanked for our patience, and assured a table was on their way out . Another 10 minutes passed so I went to check-in and say I would sit anywhere, we just needed to eat. A small table on the patio opened up & we crowded around it. A server passed by and asked if we wanted water - we said yes. The waters never came and the server never returned (turns out it wasn't our assigned server). 10 minutes later a different server came by to take our drink order. There was such a long delay between sitting and getting drinks that I had to approach the host stand and ask for water for my 18 month old (who had been eating crackers we brought with us). Long story short - after we got drinks, our server was nice, but our food didn't arrive until after 1pm - for a 12pm reservation!!!

I would have appreciated management coming by our table and checking-in or apologizing, or comping a few food items, but that didn't happen. And yet, we keep returning because we like that it's is close, outside, and has a sandbox. Just don't go if you're hungry! This is not the first time we've had exceptionally slow service at Bumble.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

It is overpriced for what you get. Somet ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

It is overpriced for what you get. Sometimes small portions. Not enough vegetarian options. And the service can be pretty spotty. It's also a shame that they took away the dinner hours with the playroom which made for a real nice date night for parents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Bumble has found the right mix of kid-fr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Bumble has found the right mix of kid-friendly without feeling like you are dining in a playpen. The atmosphere is light and fun and the food high quality. We like the farm to table fare and go there often. They recently closed for renovations and opened with new entrees. We really enjoyed the waffle and the breakfast burrito new to the bumble menu. We were disappointed that the "sweet tooth" french toast bread pudding was not very sweet and not the same recipe served at the Mother's day brunch. THAT French toast bread pudding was amazing! This one not so much. We also miss the pink pancakes.

All in all a good place to take friends and family and I highly recommend it, especially if you know what to order.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was slow and lacking. It's not a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was slow and lacking. It's not as good as it used to be.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

They were closing up for renovation..The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

They were closing up for renovation..The restaurant took appointment at 9am and food was not ready until 9:30..They could not accommodate a small change in menu for allergies ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Playroom closed

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Unbeknownst to us the playroom was closed due to some kind of leak so all parents were dining with their kids which defeats the purpose of this whole place! Didn't find this out until we got there.

Food was decent. Big portions. Nice ambience. Will try again when they reopen in June.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Good for Yuppies with kids.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Too noisy and uncomfortable chairs. Limited Menu. Not good for older clientele that want to visit. Hard to hear due to all the noise.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Amazing! Most adorable little restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Amazing! Most adorable little restaurant. Get the eggs beni with bacon or smoked salmon and Bloody Mary with cucumber vodka! Oh and the iced espresso breve was so good!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, but even better service! App ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great food, but even better service! Appetizers and drinks on the adult patio... Heavenly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

How civilized!!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2016

It was pretty awesome to have my daughter completely happily occupied for 2

HOURS while my friend and I enjoyed a leisurely brunch. We were just on the other side of the fish tank from her, but I don't think she would have minded if we were in the adults only room, she was having so much fun she didn't miss me (until she summoned me to request a chocolate milk). I'll be back for sure.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Fun Place - Great Food

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2016

Fun place with great food and great service. Plus, everyone is SUPER nice. We had a burger, artichokes, and guacamole. All yummy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.