Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Bumble

An locally sourced organic restaurant in Downtown Los Altos with a kids Playroom attached to the restaurant. Our menu serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, and changes seasonally to make the most of locally sourced, organic ingredients.

Reservations are recommended.

Parties of 10 or more, please call the restaurant directly to speak with a Manager.

145 1st Street
Los Altos, CA 94022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Organic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Sunday: 8am-2pm

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 383-5340

Website:
http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/

Catering:
http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/planning-an-event/

Parking Details:
There is a large parking lot next to the restaurant.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/event-inquiry/

Private Dining

Private Party capacity is up to 170 people depending on the season. Please contact our Events Team directly by submitting an Event Inquiry with us: http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/event-inquiry/

Bumble Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Kid-friendly (16)
Casual (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
See All
Fun (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Organic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Authentic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort by
S
183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Service was good, everything else was average. Ambiance for which we chose this place was non-existent. Private party had overtaken the main room, the kitchen area was incredibly smelly and noisy, the only option was outside which again gets no points for ambiance. Great idea for play space and restaurant but doesn’t work as well in practice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Met a friend for brunch. Love that there is a gluten-free waffle option. Wish there was also gluten free bread available so that I could try the avocado toast!

Friendly staff and quaint atmosphere. Will be back again soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Went here on a Saturday morning because they take reservations and we were afraid there would be wait at our other two options. Upon walking in, no one was at the greeting station so we waited a moment (no big deal) but as the hostess approached we did not even get a smile as she asked if we had a reservation. She asked if we wanted to sit outside or inside so we chose inside as it was a chilly morning out. As she led us to a tiny table right next to a big party with children lying on the floor on scattered throw pillows, my husband's face must have shown the panic he was feeling as one of the parents of aforementioned children took one of the pillows off the floor and placed it on the seat we were to sit it. The hostess then offered to seat us outside on the patio. If she had told us previously that the patio was heated and for adults only, we could have avoided that awkward encounter.

Anyway, I ordered the avocado toast to see what the fuss is all about and my husband ordered the breakfast burrito. I feel that $15 is a bit much for a slice of thick bread smeared with some avocado and arugula plus 2 slices of bacon, and the breakfast burrito was a little bland compared to others we have had. The salsa verde made it better but there was such a small amount of it on the side that we had to flag someone down to ask for more so my husband could finish his breakfast.

Bottom line, I wouldn't come back but if you have kids and want them to be able to roam freely or lie on the floor, then this might be the place for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our experience was horrible, starting from the front of house who would only give us a table that fit the 3 of us if we promised to give it back in an hour. Bees and hornets surrounded our table the entire meal. The food was tasteless.
The best entrée is the pink waffle with bacon. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The service is bad. The bathroom were dirty. The playroom was close and didn't tell us when we did the reservation. Not a high scale restaurant for Los Altos neighborhood. Very disappointed.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent farm to table food with an organic menu. Lovely decor, family friendly, great outdoor area and a lovely kids playarea. Large cups (and I mean LARGE) of latte and cappucino and to die for puddings!

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Organic, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great place for moms to take a break with friends and eat with the kids at the sand box near by or have the kids go to the play room. Good food, clean and friendly environment. I love it and so did my son who is three!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2017

What an ingenious idea! I'm a busy working mother with two children. At times, I just want to take my eyes off my kids for a moment and sit back, know that they are within the vicinity so that I can enjoy good food and a nice drink, feeling carefree in an inviting, cozy nook in Los Altos. Bumble is situated in a craftsman's house that has been redone to fit your family's needs and for that parent who needs a refuel every once in a while. Charming atmosphere!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Loved sitting outside under the shade of the big tree, and listening to the birds and people. The food was simply amazing, and the Pomegranate Mimosa was so yummy, I'm still dreaming about it. The staff was really on top of it, asking if we needed drink refills, checking on us and just above the usual wait staff, superb!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fabulous place for toddlers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2017

This is the only place I have found where you can have a nice meal while watching your small child have a great time in the sandbox. Sadly, the service this last time was terrible. All five entrees were brought out separately, with the last entree 10 minutes (at least) behind the first.
other aspects of service were poor also. The server was very polite & friendly, perhaps they were understaffed somewhere?

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food is good but perhaps a little pricey for what you are getting. Kids meal in particular is overpriced.
Main attraction with this venue is the kid friendly environment. Great play room area and sand pit out front.
Would mainly go here as great place to keep them occupied as opposed to the amazing food

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great fresh, local organic ingredients. Vegetarian and vegan friendly. Friendly service. Good family spot with young children. They have an outside sandbox for kids in the middle of the tables so that parents can eat too! Even without kids it's an excellent brunch spot.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My husband, daughter and I went for breakfast. Having our daughter play in the sandbox while we ate was awesome, but the food was so-so... my husband's home fries tasted microwaved and my avocado toast was cold.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

If you enjoying eating at a daycare, this place is for you. Parents let their kids run around and walk around with them like it’s a playground. The “adult section” is still open to the noise of children screaming and crying outside.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Really only good if you have kids. Its like eating in one big playground. We even sat in the adult only section but could still hear the crying, screams etc. and then using the restroom! five crying kids in line.. all tired. Service.. server nice but took our order without our drinks even there. never came back to check on us. We tried to flag her down with no avail. what is it with servers that never look over at their tables? we all sat there with dirty plates and she brought our check. didn't even pick up one plate. Breakfast scramble, served with no muffin or toast.. really? and it wasn't that great. My salad with chicken (dried)was not that great either. our friends just ok.
We have grown kids. I get it.. but we we not be back. Would be cute though if it wasn't over run with high chairs, strollers and running around kids.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went here for Father's day breakfast and it was just OK. The service was not what I had expected. We asked for a high chair which the server forgot. We ordered drinks and my daughter's apple juice came much after our drinks and I had to follow-up on. I think its a cute place and fun for kids. But thats about it. There is nothing special about the food or the service.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Hot day, hot restaurant and poor service inn Father's Day. Had to ask for everything instead of the server being proactive about serving.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

You need to make sure the people in the kid play out area explain parents what's expected out of them. I went there with my child to learn later that parents aren't allowed in that area. Unfortunately, the two people working there weren't very communicative. Please tell parents, communicate... If I'm going to leave my child with you I expect you to talk to him!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great place to take small children. The outdoor seating area is nice and shady in the morning, and the sand box is fun for the kids. One downside is that the kids' meals are so expensive. Might as well purchase the adult meals for the kids.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Yummy fresh food, family-friendly atmosphere. Great to sit outside under the trees for brunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very sunny day - with open tables that were shaded. Would not move us. Very odd. Was not related to size either (were 3 people and would've fit there / our 1/2 "sun" table would seat 4-6). Otherwise, nice occasion -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very disappointing. Like several others reviewers also experienced, even though we had an OpenTable reservation, we were forced to sit outside near a sandbox filled with loud kids because of a 'private event' inside and frankly, management didn't seem to care. Bumble even called to confirm several days prior and should have informed us of this issue beforehand.

Bumble has unfortunately gone downhill and we'll be looking elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food was delicious! The organic fruit drink was tasty but pricey. We would like to return for a cocktail and/or dessert or to linger - we didn't have a lot of time unfortunately. However, we did get a huge chocolate chip cookie to take with us - this was a good decision - it was really good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Expensive and small portions. The brunch I had was fairly good, but nothing exceptional. I can't help but think that the main incentive for people to come here is for the child care area, not the food.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was a great experience for us as parents of a 1 year old and 3 year old. We were able to send our kids to the playroom (where they even got a hot meal) while we had our dinner in peace but could still spot them. Some might consider the food simple but it was cooked well, tasted great, and was attractive to look at. I will give admit that if you don't like garlic, this may not be the place for you. The sugar on the top of the creme brulee should have been a little more caramelized, but we were having such a good time that it didn't matter. We'll be back when they do it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Bumble has really gone downhill. It used to be clean, delicious and a unique place that is tailored to families.

Now it's overpriced mediocre at best food, painfully slow service and is in disrepair (they removed the outdoor plant installation and left a stained dirty wall, the outdoor furniture is worn and dusty and the bathrooms were filthy without TP when I visited). Their juices used to be giant and are now small glasses for $9! A kids' meal is close ~$16-18! A latte is $6 which even exceeds the price in SF.

Don't waste your money for this subpar experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The kid friendly atmosphere of this place makes it worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing place to go with kids!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on April 30, 2017

Loud kids. small portions. Got sick to my stomach. Maybe the cream in my coffee?

Tags: Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Nice place, excellent food. Innovative and original items.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went here for Easter Brunch and it was a delightful experience! It was slightly slow service, but the food was good and of good price value. Also, the ambience was precious and everyone in our party was charmed by the setting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Ordered Sweet Tooth, a brioche soaked in maple syrup with slices of bananas. Surprisingly the left over for next day was just as good and fresh as eaten in the restaurant. Other family members had the quiche and raved about the freshness of ingredients. Inside was cooked just right. Kid's meal inviting and served in good bite sizes. A bit disappointed couldn't get a cappuccino topped with the bear face design as they advertised. Got a heart instead which the grand kids wowed. A decent place to have good organic food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Nice staff but slow service even though the restaurant was not full - plenty of open tables.

The menu has changed since previous owners. Food is so so. Kids did not like the gluten free pasta or mac n cheese. There is no alternative pasta option.

The prices are expensive for what the food quality is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food: Not too bad. Large portions. I got the breakfast scramble and there was a good tablespoon or two of unappetizing brown liquid at the bottom of the bowl? Also got a Soy Vanilla Latte and that was amazing 5/5 would recommend!

Noise Level/Ambience: Two words. CRYING. TODDLERS. The noise was honestly quite annoying as I was trying to catch up with a friend over Sunday brunch (10:30AM). If you plan on going I recommend sitting on the adult-only patio.

3/5, would go back for the coffee at a better time during the school week.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Casual, Organic, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Went to lunch with my 3 yr old and new baby. The food was delicious and when my 3yr old was restless after eating she played in the sandbox while I finished eating. The staff was friendly and accommodating to my food allergy :) great place for families

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This place is so much fun to visit with kids, and the food is delicious. I only wish it were a bit less expensive.

Tags: Organic, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Innovative healthy delicious options with new organic approach to breakfast / brunch. Great flavor combinations

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good-size portions of tasty food. Went for brunch. Have been here many times before for lunch, but this was the first time for brunch. Menu is somewhat limited but everything is good. Ambience is nice and homey (this restaurant is a repurposed old bungaow home), but it can get a little stuffy on warm days. This place caters to families with kids so be prepared to have little ones come up to you and say Hi. The service is fine, a little stretched, but very nice people. We will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was very bad given that the restaurant was half-empty. We over heard servers in the restroom area bad mouthing other guest/customers on how confused they were and why those guests should not ever visit bumble again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.