Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About Bumble

An locally sourced organic restaurant in Downtown Los Altos with a kids Playroom attached to the restaurant. Our menu serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, and changes seasonally to make the most of locally sourced, organic ingredients.

Reservations are recommended.

Parties of 10 or more, please call the restaurant directly to speak with a Manager.

145 1st Street
Los Altos, CA 94022
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Organic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Sunday: 8am-2pm

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 383-5340

Website:
http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/

Catering:
http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/planning-an-event/

Parking Details:
There is a large parking lot next to the restaurant.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/event-inquiry/

Private Dining

Private Party capacity is up to 170 people depending on the season. Please contact our Events Team directly by submitting an Event Inquiry with us: http://www.bumblelosaltos.com/event-inquiry/

Bumble Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Kid-friendly (13)
Casual (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
See All
Great for Lunch (9)
Fun (8)
Organic (7)
Healthy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Cozy (3)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was delicious! The organic fruit drink was tasty but pricey. We would like to return for a cocktail and/or dessert or to linger - we didn't have a lot of time unfortunately. However, we did get a huge chocolate chip cookie to take with us - this was a good decision - it was really good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Expensive and small portions. The brunch I had was fairly good, but nothing exceptional. I can't help but think that the main incentive for people to come here is for the child care area, not the food.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was a great experience for us as parents of a 1 year old and 3 year old. We were able to send our kids to the playroom (where they even got a hot meal) while we had our dinner in peace but could still spot them. Some might consider the food simple but it was cooked well, tasted great, and was attractive to look at. I will give admit that if you don't like garlic, this may not be the place for you. The sugar on the top of the creme brulee should have been a little more caramelized, but we were having such a good time that it didn't matter. We'll be back when they do it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The kid friendly atmosphere of this place makes it worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing place to go with kids!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on April 30, 2017

Loud kids. small portions. Got sick to my stomach. Maybe the cream in my coffee?

Tags: Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Nice place, excellent food. Innovative and original items.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went here for Easter Brunch and it was a delightful experience! It was slightly slow service, but the food was good and of good price value. Also, the ambience was precious and everyone in our party was charmed by the setting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Ordered Sweet Tooth, a brioche soaked in maple syrup with slices of bananas. Surprisingly the left over for next day was just as good and fresh as eaten in the restaurant. Other family members had the quiche and raved about the freshness of ingredients. Inside was cooked just right. Kid's meal inviting and served in good bite sizes. A bit disappointed couldn't get a cappuccino topped with the bear face design as they advertised. Got a heart instead which the grand kids wowed. A decent place to have good organic food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Nice staff but slow service even though the restaurant was not full - plenty of open tables.

The menu has changed since previous owners. Food is so so. Kids did not like the gluten free pasta or mac n cheese. There is no alternative pasta option.

The prices are expensive for what the food quality is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food: Not too bad. Large portions. I got the breakfast scramble and there was a good tablespoon or two of unappetizing brown liquid at the bottom of the bowl? Also got a Soy Vanilla Latte and that was amazing 5/5 would recommend!

Noise Level/Ambience: Two words. CRYING. TODDLERS. The noise was honestly quite annoying as I was trying to catch up with a friend over Sunday brunch (10:30AM). If you plan on going I recommend sitting on the adult-only patio.

3/5, would go back for the coffee at a better time during the school week.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Casual, Organic, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Went to lunch with my 3 yr old and new baby. The food was delicious and when my 3yr old was restless after eating she played in the sandbox while I finished eating. The staff was friendly and accommodating to my food allergy :) great place for families

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This place is so much fun to visit with kids, and the food is delicious. I only wish it were a bit less expensive.

Tags: Organic, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Innovative healthy delicious options with new organic approach to breakfast / brunch. Great flavor combinations

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good-size portions of tasty food. Went for brunch. Have been here many times before for lunch, but this was the first time for brunch. Menu is somewhat limited but everything is good. Ambience is nice and homey (this restaurant is a repurposed old bungaow home), but it can get a little stuffy on warm days. This place caters to families with kids so be prepared to have little ones come up to you and say Hi. The service is fine, a little stretched, but very nice people. We will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was very bad given that the restaurant was half-empty. We over heard servers in the restroom area bad mouthing other guest/customers on how confused they were and why those guests should not ever visit bumble again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I went at 11am on a Sunday. The morning scramble was watery (literally) and bland. The home fries were dried out and not hot. They were clearly made en masse and sitting for a while. My friend's sandwich wasn't on toast as it was on previous visits. Instead it was pretty greasy on the bun and messy to eat.

We were also deliberately seated on the adult patio, but a small child was seated mid-way through our meal and he proceeded to play on an iPhone with no headphones. I'm not trying to tell anyone how to parent, but a place that offers adults only seating to limit it accordingly.

I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a great time at Bumble! Our 2 year old got some play time in while my husband and I enjoyed brunch. Super great spot for families with little ones. We'all definitely be back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great place for families with young ones. The play room is awesome because it allows the adults to enjoy their meals at their own pace. You can also order food for your young ones that they can eat in the play room. Wish they were open for dinner too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent Amazing Best child care to free up adults. Costs extra and worth it !!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

One of the waitress was NOT cooperative at all. My 4 year old daughter was scared of the huge heater and literally stared crying so wanted to sit at a table a bit far from the heater where only 3 people can sit. Since we were 2 adults and 2 kids I asked for getting the table by putting 2 more chairs but she didn't allow us to sit there. I don't understand because 2 kids are not going to block anywhere!!! So stubborn and ridiculously poor service/accommodation. SO disappointed today!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 18, 2016

really noisy restaurant but fun if you have kids or don't mind being around many any kids :)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Way too loud and busy with kids. Not a great choice for Brunch, especially if you want Mimosas. Bottomless mimosas you have to have same juice for whole table which was silly. Service was good, staff friendly. But again, way too loud and too many kids for a nice brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

ordered a cappuccino it was just colored water, sent it back came the same, horrible, i could not drink it. My daughter got cheese pasta, it was a sad looking thing she didn't even touch it. I hd bagel and lox, the cream cheese was horrible, rest was ok. these guys do not seem to get it together after a couple of years of going bad bad bad

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Loved the wholesome menu, especially the GF waffles or pancakes (?) option! The food was really lovely and the staff really nice. The space was great too and we had the option of being the conservatory away from the babies and families for some peace and quiet but it was too cold in there for us. Still, being surrounded by families didn't bother us and it was really great to be able to eat wholesome great food. Great coffee too which I find lacking in the Bay Area!

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went here for Sunday brunch and to celebrate my birthday. It was nice to have a play area for my toddler son. He really enjoyed himself and I got to eat m brunch without him climbing all over me. He absolutely loved the sand box. Service was great - the manager on duty made sure we were comfortable and warm since we were sitting outside. But there was an outdoor heater so it was good. My grandmother who is elderly was a little cold. Mimosas were great 😊

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Will not be returning anytime soon.

Front of house has deteriorated significantly since our last visit (3-4 months ago). Made reservation online as usual, and got there on time. Checked in at hostess desk, and were told someone would be with us "in a couple of minutes".

About five minutes later, the conversation is taken over by a gentleman (FOH manager?) who says they only have an outside table available. It is December, it's chilly outside, we're there with small kids. The offered table is in a corner, under and behind a tree. I ask whether there's heating, and he says "there's a heater there..." (which is EXACTLY behind the tree providing no coverage whatsoever to the table in question) "...but we can't get it any closer because it would be a fire hazard". Bottomline: there's only an unheated table in a far corner, and it is made clear we can take it or leave it. The conversation is punctuated by "Opentable assigned you an outside table", "We have a private event so space is limited", "We tried to reach you but could not". NOTE: I received no messages and would have been perfectly happy to cancel and go elsewhere.

At this point, the kids are hungry so we take the table. I'm told "go ahead and sit down, someone will be with you shortly". The hostess we first checked in with promptly brings us a high chair as requested and menus (thanks!). No sign of waitstaff. After 10-15 minutes of waiting, my husband walks back to the host table and checks in again with the gentleman. A few minutes AFTER THAT, waitstaff puts in a first appearance. We immediately place orders for food and drinks. It's freezing at the table, so we're hoping at least the hot drinks show up first. Well. At 11:20, 50 minutes after reservation time, we receive, in the following order:
- Kids' food
- Adult food
- Hot drinks
We ate and left. The food itself was very good, as usual. Not worth the obstacle course to get to it, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Friendly waiters and a beautiful environment. Our kids loves the huge salt water tank and playing in the sandbox. The food is good and we especially love the vanilla bean latte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love love love the playroom. Good food. Pleasant place for kids and parents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our party of 4 received a cold welcome upon arriving at Bumble - a birthday brunch for my 65 yr old mother. I was told our reservation could only be accommodated outside as other parties had booked tables inside - not an option on Opentable. Overall the restaurant was less than half full when we arrived and 3/4 full when we departed. Heaters are provided on the patio but they do little to warm guests feet. The food - avocado toast, the burger and veggie panini - was bland and our drinks were forgotten until the end of the meal. Disappointing and do not recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I've been here about three times. This place was better upon a previous visit. It has such good potential. Not impressed with service. minor food mix up.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Cute place and fabulous for kids. But they have an adult enclosed patio with overhead heaters.
Quiet, great place for an adult conversation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service is not good. The main menu food is average but the kids menu is pretty good. The only place with healthy kids options. The play area is nice and the lady who takes care of the kids is very nice.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Slow, slow service. Quality of food is great when you can get it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I enjoyed the ambiance, the food was yummy but it took an extremely long time to get initial service. Even after we ordered food, it took a long time. We were in no rush so we didn't mind but when they forgot the bacon to my friends order it took 30 minutes to get side order of bacon... by then he was done eating his meal. The worst part was the check, we waited a good 45 minutes for the check and our plates were untouched for an hour. The food was good and the waitress was friendly but the service was very slow.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The restaurant is cozy and comfortable, separated into different sections for privacy. Food was delicious, coffee was a little weak, however, they were very understaffed on the morning we visited. Service was slow and our waitress did not pay attention to the section we were in, we ended up taking the bill to the cashier in front as we couldn't even wave down the waiter. Other than that, the environment is pleasant and the brunch is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Bad service. I booked a table thru open table and they gave away the table to another party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had brunch with my kids, good selection, great play area, kids had lots of fun and staff there was great.
Miserable wait staff, lackluster attitude and not engaging, if I spend good money for good food, I'd like the service to be good too, from reception to payment. Either train them to carry a different attitude or staff turnover will be high because they don't get good tips.
Worth a visit as a large group where kids can play and partners can relax

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

great spaces, including sandbox, for families, but also an enclosed adult patio with heat lamps. Brunch menu fairly short, but plenty of choices. will go back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great brunch place in a unique setting. High quality food and preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.