About Bull Run Restaurant

215 Great Road
Shirley, MA 01464
View Larger Map

The Bull Run Restaurant has been serving the Tired & Thirsty Traveler Since 1740! Join us in the relaxed, "boots off" atmosphere of our pre-Revolutionary Tavern where we use only the finest ingredients sourced from local Central Mass & New England farms. We serve seasonal Lunch, Dinner, Sunday Brunch, Concert, Pizza and Ice Cream menus along with local brews on tap including The People"s Pint. Our legendary Bull Run Concert Series features a diverse lineup of top notch talent each week - everyone from Dr. John, Judy Collins, Paula Poundstone & Los Lobos to Zach Deputy, Paula Cole & Rusted Root. Relax in our authentic Tavern which was the first stop on the Boston to Albany stagecoach route in front of our roaring fireplace in winter, on our outdoor Garden Patio in summer, or take in a show in one of our two Concert venues. And don't forget to visit the legendary Egopantis in our Tap Room. Owned & operated by the Guercio family of Shirley since 1946. Bull Run. Local, Since 1740.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday - Saturday
-Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
-Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday
-Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm
-Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Longley Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 425-4311

Website:
http://www.bullrunrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
The famous Bull Run Concert Series features local, national and internationally known acts weekly. Larger national acts perform in our Sawtelle Supper Room seating 300, while emerging performers are showcased in our upstairs Ballroom, seating just 65. Tickets are available online from our website for both venues. Or join us for live music with no cover on Friday and Saturdays in our Tavern, or Trivia every Thursday and Jazz on the Patio from May - September.

Catering:
The Bull Run Restaurant provides catering with hot or cold items, sandwiches, and a full bar for functions of every kind including business luncheons, weddings, pool parties and more! Ingredients are sourced from local family farms and prepared fresh to order. Visit our website for all our function menus and contact our Function Manager for more info.

Parking Details:
The Bull Run can accommodate up to 200 vehicles in our private lots on either side of the Covered Bridge.

Public Transit:
The closest public transportation is the Shirley train stop, 3 miles from the Bull Run. Taxi service can be arranged from the station at a minimal cost.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Barck

Private Party Facilities:
We have 7 separate dining rooms, an outdoor Garden Patio and a Covered Bridge on which we perform many weddings! Our private dining rooms accommodate from 10 people to 300. For photos & descriptions visit our website or contact us for a tour.

Private Party Contact:
Bryan Sawyer : 978-425-4311x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Holiday Menus available for Easter, Mother's Day, Valentine's Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day & New Year's Eve. Throughout the year we feature live Blues, Jazz, Rock, Pop, Reggae, Comedy, & many other special events such as Psychic Readings, Beer & Wine Food Pairings, Outdoor Jazz & Salsa nights, & our annual Bull Run Moon Party!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bull Run Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Central MA
Best Service
Central MA
Best Value
Central MA
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Central MA

good for groups (23)
neighborhood gem (23)
fit for foodies (19)
See All
special occasion (14)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (10)
great for lunch (10)
romantic (8)
great for brunch (7)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
92 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always enjoy a Friday evening dinner at ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always enjoy a Friday evening dinner at Bull Run. I especially like the newly added menu choices. The service (Ashley ) always friendly, prompt and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The waitress said it was a new menu and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The waitress said it was a new menu and neither of us was particularly wowed by the food we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Always enjoy my visits to Bull Run Frida ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always enjoy my visits to Bull Run Friday evenings. The food is always great made even more enjoyable by the friendly, efficient reception and table service. I especially enjoyed he new menu lineup. The lobster casserole was absolutely fantastic. Ashley continues to be among our favorite servers. Always cheerful, always very prompt and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I went to this restaurant ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My husband and I went to this restaurant because they have shows there. When you purchase a ticket to a show, you need to spend a certain amount on food/drink. We decided to eat in the Tavern prior to the show (this is an option). We had an enjoyable time along with good food/service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A classic old restaurant that continues ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A classic old restaurant that continues to offer great food in a setting with a unique ambiance. This is one of the oldest establishments around, yet it remains vibrant, offering great entertainment with traditional and some unusual menu choices. We had a great time and our server did a wonderful job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef has many traditional entrees as ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The chef has many traditional entrees as well as unusual dishes to appeal to the more adventurous. A lot of families were enjoying pizza. The owners have preserved the historic ambiance of the inn which includes featuring locally grown meat and produce. We were there at a busy time, and the servers were stretched thin. They did well filling in for one another, and everything arrived hot. We've gone here a number of times, and the Bull Run has improved tremendously over the last few years.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I particularly enjoy the bar scene, dini ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I particularly enjoy the bar scene, dining and listening to the piano man charm everyone with a variety of music selections. The food is always very good, promptly and served with a smile.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always fun to see what is on the menu at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always fun to see what is on the menu at Bull Run. Food was great and it looks like the new seasonal additions they are adding will be a big hit. Our server was delightful and made the evening special.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a great evening which included m ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Enjoyed a great evening which included my brother visiting from Atlanta. He was pleased with the menu offerings, music ntertainment and great service provided by Ashley.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu options

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I especially enjoyed the lobster Mac & Cheese casserole last Friday evening. It is one of my favorite choices among many others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As I enjoy each new dining experience fr ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

As I enjoy each new dining experience from the tasty choices on the menu, I have to say each has been an exciting and delicious surprise. I wish to thank Ashley for her kind, attentive service making our visit to Bull Run even more enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went with the Innkeepers salad this time ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Went with the Innkeepers salad this time. Always a great choice. Pizza is excellent too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy a good meal and an exciti ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I always enjoy a good meal and an exciting nigh out at Bull Run. Great service, top entertainment listening and singing along to the great selection of tunes by "piano man".

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved it! the staff was great ( I am ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We loved it! the staff was great ( I am a server also) and we loved the menu and the look of the place also. Everyone loved the food and we are going to meet there more often!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have become a somewhat regular Friday ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I have become a somewhat regular Friday evening diner. Always enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rustic and warm feeling It's perfect on ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Rustic and warm feeling

It's perfect on a cool New England evening

The staff makes you feel like your a old friend

The prime rib is alway cooked exactly like you want it

My wife likes it med well and I like it med rare both come out at the same time and are perfect

The onion soup is worth the visit

Just a great take

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Casual atmosphere.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Truly enjoyed the relaxed setting, music by the piano man and patrons. Found was promptly served by courteous wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Haven't been to the Bull Run in ages. We had a lovely experience Friday! Well worth it! Loved the piano player. Our waitress was fabulous (I so wish I remembered her name)!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Shhh

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My husband and I love this place! I am reluctant to give a good review because I don't want it to become too popular and too busy!! But the owners are great people, and I hope they have continued success. It's our favorite local place to go!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable dinner atmosphere

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Whether in the dining room or tavern the meal is always a pleasant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took a chance on something new-Glad we d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Took a chance on something new-Glad we did! Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very expensive

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We were seated in the Tavern room which was so loud it was difficult to have a conversation. Food was very good but very expensive. Total bill before the tip was 200.00 for four people with one drink each, no appetizers, each of us having 12 ounce prime rib and we each had dessert. Service was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

One of our favorite restaurants. Great f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. Great food and atmosphere whether eating dining in the tap room, early American room or dinner/concert in the Sawtelle room. Love the Friday night piano sing-a-longs as well

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pizza choices

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Truly great selection of pizza options prepared and served perfectly

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Whole family gathering

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

whole family met for dinner and everyone had something different off the menu. Burger, pizza, prime rib, pasta and off course, desserts. Haven't been to the Bull Run in many years and was happy to find the food is still fantastic. I had the prime rib and it was perfectly cooked for me, as was the squash and potatoes that came with it. I also had the New England Clam Chowder which was very good - a bit spicier than other restaurants but still very good. Our server, Shane, was great, very attentive and very out-going. The Bull Run is not cheap, it's prices won't be confused with Applebees, but the prices aren't outrageous either. I thought the prices were fair and I thought we certainly got our money's worth.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I Love this Place

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The menu is terrific - featuring locally farmed produce, meats and dairy. Interesting options, good beer and wine list. The service is almost always very good, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Consistently a good experience. Deliciou ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Consistently a good experience. Delicious food, good service, pleasant servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The Specials are Worth Trying

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We had an excellent dinner. The mushroom bisque special was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

prime rib was excellent. sides were ok. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

prime rib was excellent. sides were ok. price was reasonable. music from the bar area was a bit loud. it wasn't so loud that you couldn't converse, but i prefer softer music at dinner time.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Where Old Meets New

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Old New England, 18th century architecture combined with modern ambiance, superb food and some fantastic live jazz. A five star experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food was good a little pricey $15 for a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

food was good a little pricey $15 for a hamburger is a lot of money.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Maybe it was the Valentine's Day Menu, b ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Maybe it was the Valentine's Day Menu, but my meal was not as I expcted. It tasted pretty bland. The crab appetizer tasted like tuna fish and the risotto meal was flavorless. My husband got the prime rib and said it was good. I wish we could have ordered off the regular menu as I had heard good things about the food on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Will you be my ....XOXOXO

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I had a great time discussing the Egopantis and it's capture, sitting next to the fire enjoying the prime rib and salmon. Both very tasty. We also had the wedge salad and onion soup. Again, very yummy. Desert double chocolate berry cake thought I died and went to heaven. Great whiskey selection!

These folks have some shows too, we haven't seen any of them but maybe we should look into them. Fun piano guy on Friday nights, Steve takes requests (I like 80's) and plays the most amazing, longest airline commercial in history! Can't go wrong here, something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We dined here on Saturday February 13 an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We dined here on Saturday February 13 and were disappointed that Bull Run was not up to its usual standards. We had friends visiting from out-of-state and had raved to them about the restaurant. We think that part of our experience was due to the fact that it was a busy night before Valentine's Day. While the ambiance and music were delightful, we felt that the special Valentine's menu was not up to Bull Run's usual quality i terms of value and execution. Our server did not volunteer the fact that the regular menu was also being presented, something we did not notice until after we had already placed our orders and noticed what other diners were eating. We love this place and the passionate owners and will be back, but definitely not around a Holiday.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Singing along with piano man

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great song selections and lyrics always available. Piano man is a real music machine. He cranks the selections out effortlessly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Another nearby gem

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

We were looking for another nearby restaurant -- that wasn't a national chain -- to add to our list, and my wife saw the Bull Run on the Phantom Gourmet one Sunday. I hadn't been in the place in almost 20 years, but why not check it out again? I'm VERY glad that we did! We started out with drinks, and my Manhattan was one of the best I've had in years, thanks to a little hint of lemon and an icy chill. On to a hearty clam chowder, and a pair of perfectly decorated salads. My wife's prime rib was the best she's had in 10 years, and my braised pork shank was fantastic! Topped off with a couple of desserts and an espresso -- cappucino for my wife -- and it was the perfect end to a long week.

One thing to be aware of: it's both busy and 'lively' there on a Friday night, with a talented piano player and a crowd ready to sing. The colonial charm and toasty fireplaces say "romance," but be prepared for a bit of background noise to go with it! Still, well worth going there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Supreme service

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The customer and wait service is the finest. In particular, among the most courteous and attentive is Ashley. I always enjoy my grass fed cheddar burger, fries, pickle and Cole slaw while listening to the great music played by the very talented piano man.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Pretty Good food, Spotty Service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The old inn ambiance is charming and the food is, generally, quite good. Although we arrived at 5:45 pm to a more-than-half-empty restaurant, we had fairly indifferent service. We were the lucky ones. The table next to ours all had to raise their arms and wave wildly to get a server's attention to place their initial drink order. Maybe we just caught them on a bad night?

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Dinner at the Bull Run

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

My husband and I had the Prime Rib and it was cooked just the way we like it. The butternut squash was delicious. The service was excellent!! The waitress we had was very attentive and Cauy, who cleaned off our table was very efficient. We had an excellent experience and will recommend the Bull Run to our friends.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.