About Bull Run Restaurant

215 Great Road
Shirley, MA 01464
View Larger Map

The Bull Run Restaurant has been serving the Tired & Thirsty Traveler Since 1740! Join us in the relaxed, "boots off" atmosphere of our pre-Revolutionary Tavern where we use only the finest ingredients sourced from local Central Mass & New England farms. We serve seasonal Lunch, Dinner, Sunday Brunch, Concert, Pizza and Ice Cream menus along with local brews on tap including The People"s Pint. Our legendary Bull Run Concert Series features a diverse lineup of top notch talent each week - everyone from Dr. John, Judy Collins, Paula Poundstone & Los Lobos to Zach Deputy, Paula Cole & Rusted Root. Relax in our authentic Tavern which was the first stop on the Boston to Albany stagecoach route in front of our roaring fireplace in winter, on our outdoor Garden Patio in summer, or take in a show in one of our two Concert venues. And don't forget to visit the legendary Egopantis in our Tap Room. Owned & operated by the Guercio family of Shirley since 1946. Bull Run. Local, Since 1740.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday - Saturday
-Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
-Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday
-Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm
-Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Longley Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 425-4311

Website:
http://www.bullrunrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
The famous Bull Run Concert Series features local, national and internationally known acts weekly. Larger national acts perform in our Sawtelle Supper Room seating 300, while emerging performers are showcased in our upstairs Ballroom, seating just 65. Tickets are available online from our website for both venues. Or join us for live music with no cover on Friday and Saturdays in our Tavern, or Trivia every Thursday and Jazz on the Patio from May - September.

Catering:
The Bull Run Restaurant provides catering with hot or cold items, sandwiches, and a full bar for functions of every kind including business luncheons, weddings, pool parties and more! Ingredients are sourced from local family farms and prepared fresh to order. Visit our website for all our function menus and contact our Function Manager for more info.

Parking Details:
The Bull Run can accommodate up to 200 vehicles in our private lots on either side of the Covered Bridge.

Public Transit:
The closest public transportation is the Shirley train stop, 3 miles from the Bull Run. Taxi service can be arranged from the station at a minimal cost.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Barck

Private Party Facilities:
We have 7 separate dining rooms, an outdoor Garden Patio and a Covered Bridge on which we perform many weddings! Our private dining rooms accommodate from 10 people to 300. For photos & descriptions visit our website or contact us for a tour.

Private Party Contact:
Bryan Sawyer : 978-425-4311x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Holiday Menus available for Easter, Mother's Day, Valentine's Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day & New Year's Eve. Throughout the year we feature live Blues, Jazz, Rock, Pop, Reggae, Comedy, & many other special events such as Psychic Readings, Beer & Wine Food Pairings, Outdoor Jazz & Salsa nights, & our annual Bull Run Moon Party!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bull Run Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Central MA
Best Value
Central MA
Fit for Foodies
Central MA
2 More
Great for Lunch
Central MA
Neighborhood Gem
Central MA

Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Lunch (14)
Romantic (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Live Music (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Historic (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Scenic View (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (3)
Authentic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Dancing (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It is an old historic building and it lo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

It is an old historic building and it looks it, but that's ok. The food was very good. The prime rib was thick, juicy, and had great beef flavor. Popover was eggy and delicious. Also had the duck breast special with mashed squash and a grilled onion. The duck breast was very good although I thought the skin could have been more crisp. We would go back if we were going to one of the shows there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Like the new menu a lot, good mix of opt ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Like the new menu a lot, good mix of options whether you want something fancy, simple, creative, or a burger and beer. We've tried many of the new dishes and the quality of everything was very good. Good service and live music to boot! Favorite "new" local option (ok so it's been here since 1740)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The turkey dinner was second to none. L ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The turkey dinner was second to none. Loved every bite however way too much food. Left overs were just as good. Enough for another meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Dancing, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was looking forward to this meal. My h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I was looking forward to this meal. My husband took me here on a date 40 years ago, and we have gone occasionally since. The waiter seemed inexperienced and never refilled our water glasses. The round tables are awkward for several dishes, and they were too close to other diners. My special appetizer of fried eggplant with tomatoes and buffalo mozzarella was pretty bad. The eggplant had been fried hours ago and was cold. The two tomato slices were fresh, but the buffalo mozzarella was too firm and definitely not made in-house. We both had prime rib and that was cooked correctly and was pretty good. Overall, though, a mediocre meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

A great place to go with family or on a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A great place to go with family or on a date. Live music is often available so check ahead. Historical property that dates back to colonial times. Interesting place and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful lunch which included excellent ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wonderful lunch which included excellent clam chowder, fish and chips plus two excellent desserts of key lime tart and cheesecake.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent service as always; however, wh ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent service as always; however, when I activated my earned rewards and received a brief acknowledgement that my gift cad had been sent to Bull Run restaurant, Shirley, MA the restaurant management had not received an such notification. The system, although very inviting is not very user friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Prime Rib was fantastic. Popover warm a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Prime Rib was fantastic. Popover warm and buttery. The Green Dessert - pistachio and raspberry was delicious and different. The Show was really good and the wait service terrific.

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed a delicious grass fed cheeseburg ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious grass fed cheeseburger, fries and a side of slaw. The service and atmosphere went very well with my burger and fries. The piano man was, as always, entertaining providing a variety of musical selections for listening and sing alongside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good food in restaurant AND GRE ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always good food in restaurant AND GREAT Music venue small and intimite

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food and great service!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am very disappointed to say the least. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I am very disappointed to say the least. I had high hopes for this restaurant. Not only was the server very unprofessional the whole entire staff needs some training in customer service. It was 915 at night and the staff couldn't have been any louder cleaning and resetting the tables all around us. We were the only table in this part of the restaurant. We chose to sit in the back so we could enjoy a nice quiet meal. The waitstaff was yelling to each other from the other side of the room, slamming down silverware, and chit chatting like no one was around. When they finally finished cleaning the room around us, a group of 3 servers came and sat down at a table next to us. Mind you we were the only table in this part of the restaurant. The entire floor was open. They decide to start taking very loudly about their night, the bussers, the kitchen staff, their tables and who annoyed them. One of them was also drinking sangria in her uniform! This was the most inappropriate conversation I have ever overheard in a restaurant by their own waitstaff. They even spoke about spitting in someone's food. Needless to say I will NEVER return to your establishment. The management should be embarrassed and ashamed of themselves and their staff. I have been in the restaurant industry for almost 10 years and never have I seen such poor etiquette from staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

I went with a group of friends , this is ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I went with a group of friends , this is our second time there. I am a waitress at Club Café in Boston and I was also there with one of the owners and some of our customers too! We really love it, the food is fresh and great and we would know! We will continue to come, the servers are really great also!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed some of the best tasting burgers ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Enjoyed some of the best tasting burgers and fries with a side of slaw.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I am never disappointed with the food, s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I am never disappointed with the food, service, friendly wait staff and they are always accomodatating.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten at Bull Run several times n ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have eaten at Bull Run several times now and keep coming back. I love the feeling of being in a place that's been around so long. Their prime rib is always cooked the way you ask for it, the vegetables are done just enough, the service is Goldilocks...not too much not too little,not too fast and not too slow.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always appreciate the warm, friendly w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I always appreciate the warm, friendly welcome upon arrival at Bull Run. The food is always well or ward and promptly served by your friendly wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love going to bull run

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I love going to bull run

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food. Great service. Very cool bui ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food. Great service. Very cool building. Only issue was apparently it was trivia night, and they broadcast it on speakers throughout the entire restaurant, not just the bar area. Was kind of obnoxious when we were trying to have a nice dinner with "the answer is... Homer Simpson" being yelled over the loudspeaker. If it wasn't trivia night, we really would've enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

the fireplace smell is overwhelming; the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

the fireplace smell is overwhelming; the decorations are unusual but not that interesting, except for a made-up legend connected to a strange animal-like head mounted over the fireplace; the food was pretty good; desserts were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Always enjoy a Friday evening dinner at ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always enjoy a Friday evening dinner at Bull Run. I especially like the newly added menu choices. The service (Ashley ) always friendly, prompt and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The waitress said it was a new menu and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The waitress said it was a new menu and neither of us was particularly wowed by the food we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Always enjoy my visits to Bull Run Frida ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always enjoy my visits to Bull Run Friday evenings. The food is always great made even more enjoyable by the friendly, efficient reception and table service. I especially enjoyed he new menu lineup. The lobster casserole was absolutely fantastic. Ashley continues to be among our favorite servers. Always cheerful, always very prompt and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I went to this restaurant ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My husband and I went to this restaurant because they have shows there. When you purchase a ticket to a show, you need to spend a certain amount on food/drink. We decided to eat in the Tavern prior to the show (this is an option). We had an enjoyable time along with good food/service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A classic old restaurant that continues ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A classic old restaurant that continues to offer great food in a setting with a unique ambiance. This is one of the oldest establishments around, yet it remains vibrant, offering great entertainment with traditional and some unusual menu choices. We had a great time and our server did a wonderful job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef has many traditional entrees as ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The chef has many traditional entrees as well as unusual dishes to appeal to the more adventurous. A lot of families were enjoying pizza. The owners have preserved the historic ambiance of the inn which includes featuring locally grown meat and produce. We were there at a busy time, and the servers were stretched thin. They did well filling in for one another, and everything arrived hot. We've gone here a number of times, and the Bull Run has improved tremendously over the last few years.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I particularly enjoy the bar scene, dini ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I particularly enjoy the bar scene, dining and listening to the piano man charm everyone with a variety of music selections. The food is always very good, promptly and served with a smile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always fun to see what is on the menu at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always fun to see what is on the menu at Bull Run. Food was great and it looks like the new seasonal additions they are adding will be a big hit. Our server was delightful and made the evening special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a great evening which included m ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Enjoyed a great evening which included my brother visiting from Atlanta. He was pleased with the menu offerings, music ntertainment and great service provided by Ashley.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu options

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I especially enjoyed the lobster Mac & Cheese casserole last Friday evening. It is one of my favorite choices among many others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As I enjoy each new dining experience fr ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

As I enjoy each new dining experience from the tasty choices on the menu, I have to say each has been an exciting and delicious surprise. I wish to thank Ashley for her kind, attentive service making our visit to Bull Run even more enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went with the Innkeepers salad this time ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Went with the Innkeepers salad this time. Always a great choice. Pizza is excellent too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy a good meal and an exciti ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I always enjoy a good meal and an exciting nigh out at Bull Run. Great service, top entertainment listening and singing along to the great selection of tunes by "piano man".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved it! the staff was great ( I am ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We loved it! the staff was great ( I am a server also) and we loved the menu and the look of the place also. Everyone loved the food and we are going to meet there more often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have become a somewhat regular Friday ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I have become a somewhat regular Friday evening diner. Always enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rustic and warm feeling It's perfect on ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Rustic and warm feeling

It's perfect on a cool New England evening

The staff makes you feel like your a old friend

The prime rib is alway cooked exactly like you want it

My wife likes it med well and I like it med rare both come out at the same time and are perfect

The onion soup is worth the visit

Just a great take

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Casual atmosphere.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Truly enjoyed the relaxed setting, music by the piano man and patrons. Found was promptly served by courteous wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Haven't been to the Bull Run in ages. We had a lovely experience Friday! Well worth it! Loved the piano player. Our waitress was fabulous (I so wish I remembered her name)!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Shhh

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My husband and I love this place! I am reluctant to give a good review because I don't want it to become too popular and too busy!! But the owners are great people, and I hope they have continued success. It's our favorite local place to go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.