About Bull Run Restaurant

215 Great Road
Shirley, MA 01464
View Larger Map

The Bull Run Restaurant has been serving the Tired & Thirsty Traveler Since 1740! Join us in the relaxed, "boots off" atmosphere of our pre-Revolutionary Tavern where we use only the finest ingredients sourced from local Central Mass & New England farms. We serve seasonal Lunch, Dinner, Sunday Brunch, Concert, Pizza and Ice Cream menus along with local brews on tap including The People"s Pint. Our legendary Bull Run Concert Series features a diverse lineup of top notch talent each week - everyone from Dr. John, Judy Collins, Paula Poundstone & Los Lobos to Zach Deputy, Paula Cole & Rusted Root. Relax in our authentic Tavern which was the first stop on the Boston to Albany stagecoach route in front of our roaring fireplace in winter, on our outdoor Garden Patio in summer, or take in a show in one of our two Concert venues. And don't forget to visit the legendary Egopantis in our Tap Room. Owned & operated by the Guercio family of Shirley since 1946. Bull Run. Local, Since 1740.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday - Saturday
-Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
-Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday
-Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm
-Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Longley Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 425-4311

Website:
http://www.bullrunrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
The famous Bull Run Concert Series features local, national and internationally known acts weekly. Larger national acts perform in our Sawtelle Supper Room seating 300, while emerging performers are showcased in our upstairs Ballroom, seating just 65. Tickets are available online from our website for both venues. Or join us for live music with no cover on Friday and Saturdays in our Tavern, or Trivia every Thursday and Jazz on the Patio from May - September.

Catering:
The Bull Run Restaurant provides catering to private homes, businesses, and exclusively at Farandnear, an 89 acre Trustees of the Reservation preserve located just one mile from our restaurant in historic Shirley Center. From picnics to sit down dinners, our catering department provides dining and full bar set up for functions of every kind. We use only the freshest ingredients sourced locally and prepared fresh to order. Visit our website for all our function menus and contact our Function Manager for more info.

Parking Details:
The Bull Run can accommodate up to 200 vehicles in our private lots on either side of our Covered Bridge.

Public Transit:
The closest public transportation is the Shirley train stop, 3 miles from the Bull Run. Taxi service can be arranged from the station at a minimal cost.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Barck

Private Party Facilities:
We have 7 separate dining rooms, an outdoor Garden Patio and a Covered Bridge on which we perform many weddings! Our private dining rooms accommodate from 10 people to 300. For photos & descriptions visit our website or contact us for a tour.

Private Party Contact:
Bryan Sawyer : (978) 425-4311

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Holiday Menus available for Easter, Mother's Day, Valentine's Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day & New Year's Eve.
Throughout the year we feature live Blues, Jazz, Rock, Pop, Reggae, Comedy, & many other special events including Dinner on the Bridge, Beer, Spirits & Wine Food Pairings, Outdoor Jazz, & our annual Bull Run Moon Party!

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Soft lighting, 2 fireplaces & soft music set the scene for romantic dining in our centuries-old Tavern at Bull Run. Or join us for Dinner & Dancing in our grand Sawtelle Supper Room. Special Valentine's Day menu, full wine list & bar. Reservations required.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bull Run Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fireplace (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Cozy (15)
See All
Casual (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Historic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Live Music (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Authentic (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (6)
Great Beer (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Romantic (3)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server was top notch. Handled every ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server was top notch. Handled every question or request with courtesy and professionalism. Made us feel very welcome, and accommodated my 3 nieces (all under 4 years old) with coloring books, crayons, and special smiley face French fries, which they LOVED. They are well known for their Prime Rib, and it's a well deserved accolade. Portion sizes are huge, and feel like a great value for the money. Wine and drink selection were pretty extensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food ,nice menu,sure to please ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food ,nice menu,sure to please even the fussiest diner,excellent portions,service at times rather slow,but worth the wait

Prime rib best around

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, , Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was amazed at the level of service and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was amazed at the level of service and the exceptional quality of the food for New Year's Eve!

The piano player was outstanding!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, as always. New menu is great ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent, as always. New menu is great. Spent New Years Eve with some friends and had a great time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Authentic, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner with siblings - once a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful dinner with siblings - once a year gathering for all of us to enjoy a meal together!! Bull Run Restaurant had a dinner menu that everyone could find something delicious to enjoy. Will come back to experience the live entertainment.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fireplace, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a wonderful dinner and loved the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and loved the ambience for Christmas! The food was great, and service was fantastic. We always enjoy our time at the Bull Run and recommend it highly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice cozy tavern atmosphere and excellen ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Nice cozy tavern atmosphere and excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bull Run always provides comfortable, fr ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Bull Run always provides comfortable, friendly and efficient table service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The atmosphere was lovely, the mean grea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The atmosphere was lovely, the mean great and generous portions. The piano singer got the crowd sings and the we have a fantastic time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot. But if you are with someone ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great spot. But if you are with someone and want to talk, do not take a table where they are playing jazz. Way louder than I would have hoped for such a small place.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Service and food was very good. Although ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Service and food was very good. Although there was only 1 server for the entire dining room. He could have used more help

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went to Bill Run for a staff appreciatio ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Went to Bill Run for a staff appreciation lunch. Our group left with full bellies. Everyone enjoyed the food and service. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Service was exce ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was delicious. Service was excellent. The place is a charming building with open fire place and rustic look. Will definitely come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful dinner with excellent se ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner with excellent service and entertainment by Steven, the very talented piano man

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual it is fantastic!!

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

As usual it is fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have to make a serious compliant. It i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I have to make a serious compliant. It is absolutely not fair to the rest of the world how good the French Onion soup is. Absolutely not fair!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always great food and service from the f ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always great food and service from the friendly wait staff at Bull Run.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Live Music, Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere for a relaxed evening o ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great atmosphere for a relaxed evening of dining fun. Always excellent service by smiling, friendly wait staff. The piano man continues to provide an entertaining variety of music to appreciate and sing along with if inclined to participate.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

awesome everything from pizza to prime ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

awesome everything from pizza to prime rib, we have dined here several times and the food is just top shelf all the way. they also have a fantastic music venue in the back with some top notch bands, you MUST check this out if you like live music of any kind, I guarantee you will return.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Have had much better meals there and was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Have had much better meals there and was very disappointed this time. Seasonal specials were a bust. Pumpkin agnolotti was way too sweet and brussel sprouts were served in a bowl of water and were inedible. Friends ordered steak/caesar salad and chicken caesar salad and receive enormous portions of meat with their salads. (Not complaining, but it was odd.) We ate in the upstairs because there was an event in the downstairs tavern. The tavern is a very charming space. The upstairs is most definitely NOT. Cheap polyester curtains and white lights are a weak attempt to dress up a very plain room. I will say the servers are all very nice and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

The main menue and specials are truly gr ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The main menue and specials are truly great. I especially enjoy the informal tavern atmosphere, sing along piano man and the great table service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Cozy, Historic, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Made reservations for table of 8 on a Fr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Made reservations for table of 8 on a Fri night for 7p. Didn't get sat until 745. Food was fantastic. Service was great. But I was having a meeting for business and had a VERY hard time talking over the very, very loud piano. WAY too loud.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

SpectacularSpectacular... Spectacular fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 3, 2016

SpectacularSpectacular... Spectacular food, atmosphere, and entertainment. This was the best night of our vacation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Disabled Access, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, , Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Historic, Great Beer, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bull Run is a regular spot of ours. If ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Bull Run is a regular spot of ours. If you haven't been there in a while, try it again - the food is much improved, and on caliber with the best resturaunts in the area.

Prime rib and clam chowder are excellent. My wife had Scallops and said they were excellent as well.

Not the place to go if you are looking for a quiet date night. It is definitely more like a colonial tavern - lot's of regulars and very loud.

Almost always have entertainment after 8ish as well.

Wait staff is very friendly and attentive. There is a bus person coming by every two minutes to see if you need anything, or to clear away dirty dishes.

Price is on par with other resturaunts in the area.

also, check out their website. They are on the regular circuit for many big name bands and comedians.

Tags: Fun, , Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had clam chowder, which was a disappo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had clam chowder, which was a disappointment, we felt it wasn't creamy and was lacking in flavor...the cranberry corn muffins were yummy as was the beet salad...for dinner we had sword fish and vegetable lasagna, both of our dinners were excellent and the staff was happy to substitute a backed potato for rice...we didn't eat all of our dinners, as our friendly waitress recommended, so we could have their lemon desert and their apple crisp...I would highly recommend both.

The service was exceptionally great, our server was very attentive to our every need, and anticipated our needs.

Go and enjoy...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, warm friendly atmosphere ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great service, warm friendly atmosphere and excellent me i.e.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Live Music, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We visit Bull Run often since it's near ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We visit Bull Run often since it's near our son's school and is always delicious and consistent. The staff is lovely and the food just what we're looking for.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Friday night at Bull Run has become my f ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Friday night at Bull Run has become my favorite dining out spit for good food, excellent service and great piano sing along.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Bull Run is a "cheers" for today's ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The Bull Run is a "cheers" for today's crowd. Everyone knows your name for sure but the food is excellent and the ambiance is superb. This is the best place intown for a good night out!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Cozy, Vegan, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried this place about 4 months ago a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We tried this place about 4 months ago and absolutely loved the prime rib. Best we have had in a very long time. Was going to dinner with friends and even though they live about 45 min away said they didn't mind driving here. They are glad they did and said they will definitely return. We have only been for dinner but the burgers look great and we will be returning very soon for lunch. Also, I love the hot and dirty martini. The best!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely the best prime rib we ever ha ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Absolutely the best prime rib we ever had! Loved the piano player,waitress was fantastic! Came to see a show which we liked the communal seating,but we were right in front of bar and found that a little distracting at times,otherwise a really fun time and enjoyed the historic building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Get the prime rib!!!!! You will be happ ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Get the prime rib!!!!! You will be happy you did and it's worth the drive!

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It is an old historic building and it lo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

It is an old historic building and it looks it, but that's ok. The food was very good. The prime rib was thick, juicy, and had great beef flavor. Popover was eggy and delicious. Also had the duck breast special with mashed squash and a grilled onion. The duck breast was very good although I thought the skin could have been more crisp. We would go back if we were going to one of the shows there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Like the new menu a lot, good mix of opt ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Like the new menu a lot, good mix of options whether you want something fancy, simple, creative, or a burger and beer. We've tried many of the new dishes and the quality of everything was very good. Good service and live music to boot! Favorite "new" local option (ok so it's been here since 1740)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The turkey dinner was second to none. L ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The turkey dinner was second to none. Loved every bite however way too much food. Left overs were just as good. Enough for another meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Dancing, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was looking forward to this meal. My h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I was looking forward to this meal. My husband took me here on a date 40 years ago, and we have gone occasionally since. The waiter seemed inexperienced and never refilled our water glasses. The round tables are awkward for several dishes, and they were too close to other diners. My special appetizer of fried eggplant with tomatoes and buffalo mozzarella was pretty bad. The eggplant had been fried hours ago and was cold. The two tomato slices were fresh, but the buffalo mozzarella was too firm and definitely not made in-house. We both had prime rib and that was cooked correctly and was pretty good. Overall, though, a mediocre meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

A great place to go with family or on a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

A great place to go with family or on a date. Live music is often available so check ahead. Historical property that dates back to colonial times. Interesting place and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful lunch which included excellent ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wonderful lunch which included excellent clam chowder, fish and chips plus two excellent desserts of key lime tart and cheesecake.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent service as always; however, wh ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent service as always; however, when I activated my earned rewards and received a brief acknowledgement that my gift cad had been sent to Bull Run restaurant, Shirley, MA the restaurant management had not received an such notification. The system, although very inviting is not very user friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Prime Rib was fantastic. Popover warm a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Prime Rib was fantastic. Popover warm and buttery. The Green Dessert - pistachio and raspberry was delicious and different. The Show was really good and the wait service terrific.

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, , Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.