About Bull Run Restaurant

215 Great Road
Shirley, MA 01464
View Larger Map

The Bull Run Restaurant has been serving the Tired & Thirsty Traveler Since 1740! Join us in the relaxed, "boots off" atmosphere of our pre-Revolutionary Tavern where we use only the finest ingredients sourced from local Central Mass & New England farms. We serve seasonal Lunch, Dinner, Sunday Brunch, Concert, Pizza and Ice Cream menus along with local brews on tap including The People"s Pint. Our legendary Bull Run Concert Series features a diverse lineup of top notch talent each week - everyone from Dr. John, Judy Collins, Paula Poundstone & Los Lobos to Zach Deputy, Paula Cole & Rusted Root. Relax in our authentic Tavern which was the first stop on the Boston to Albany stagecoach route in front of our roaring fireplace in winter, on our outdoor Garden Patio in summer, or take in a show in one of our two Concert venues. And don't forget to visit the legendary Egopantis in our Tap Room. Owned & operated by the Guercio family of Shirley since 1946. Bull Run. Local, Since 1740.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday - Saturday
-Lunch: 11:00am - 4:00pm
-Dinner: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday
-Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm
-Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Longley Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 425-4311

Website:
http://www.bullrunrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
The famous Bull Run Concert Series features local, national and internationally known acts weekly. Larger national acts perform in our Sawtelle Supper Room seating 300, while emerging performers are showcased in our upstairs Ballroom, seating just 65. Tickets are available online from our website for both venues. Or join us for live music with no cover on Friday and Saturdays in our Tavern, or Trivia every Thursday and Jazz on the Patio from May - September.

Catering:
The Bull Run Restaurant provides catering with hot or cold items, sandwiches, and a full bar for functions of every kind including business luncheons, weddings, pool parties and more! Ingredients are sourced from local family farms and prepared fresh to order. Visit our website for all our function menus and contact our Function Manager for more info.

Parking Details:
The Bull Run can accommodate up to 200 vehicles in our private lots on either side of the Covered Bridge.

Public Transit:
The closest public transportation is the Shirley train stop, 3 miles from the Bull Run. Taxi service can be arranged from the station at a minimal cost.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Barck

Private Party Facilities:
We have 7 separate dining rooms, an outdoor Garden Patio and a Covered Bridge on which we perform many weddings! Our private dining rooms accommodate from 10 people to 300. For photos & descriptions visit our website or contact us for a tour.

Private Party Contact:
Bryan Sawyer : 978-425-4311x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special Holiday Menus available for Easter, Mother's Day, Valentine's Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day & New Year's Eve. Throughout the year we feature live Blues, Jazz, Rock, Pop, Reggae, Comedy, & many other special events such as Psychic Readings, Beer & Wine Food Pairings, Outdoor Jazz & Salsa nights, & our annual Bull Run Moon Party!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Bull Run Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Central MA
Best Value
Central MA
Neighborhood Gem
Central MA

Good for Groups (28)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Great for Lunch (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Romantic (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service as always; however, wh ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service as always; however, when I activated my earned rewards and received a brief acknowledgement that my gift cad had been sent to Bull Run restaurant, Shirley, MA the restaurant management had not received an such notification. The system, although very inviting is not very user friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed a delicious grass fed cheeseburg ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious grass fed cheeseburger, fries and a side of slaw. The service and atmosphere went very well with my burger and fries. The piano man was, as always, entertaining providing a variety of musical selections for listening and sing alongside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good food in restaurant AND GRE ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always good food in restaurant AND GREAT Music venue small and intimite

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food and great service!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am very disappointed to say the least. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I am very disappointed to say the least. I had high hopes for this restaurant. Not only was the server very unprofessional the whole entire staff needs some training in customer service. It was 915 at night and the staff couldn't have been any louder cleaning and resetting the tables all around us. We were the only table in this part of the restaurant. We chose to sit in the back so we could enjoy a nice quiet meal. The waitstaff was yelling to each other from the other side of the room, slamming down silverware, and chit chatting like no one was around. When they finally finished cleaning the room around us, a group of 3 servers came and sat down at a table next to us. Mind you we were the only table in this part of the restaurant. The entire floor was open. They decide to start taking very loudly about their night, the bussers, the kitchen staff, their tables and who annoyed them. One of them was also drinking sangria in her uniform! This was the most inappropriate conversation I have ever overheard in a restaurant by their own waitstaff. They even spoke about spitting in someone's food. Needless to say I will NEVER return to your establishment. The management should be embarrassed and ashamed of themselves and their staff. I have been in the restaurant industry for almost 10 years and never have I seen such poor etiquette from staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

I went with a group of friends , this is ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I went with a group of friends , this is our second time there. I am a waitress at Club Café in Boston and I was also there with one of the owners and some of our customers too! We really love it, the food is fresh and great and we would know! We will continue to come, the servers are really great also!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed some of the best tasting burgers ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Enjoyed some of the best tasting burgers and fries with a side of slaw.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I am never disappointed with the food, s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I am never disappointed with the food, service, friendly wait staff and they are always accomodatating.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten at Bull Run several times n ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have eaten at Bull Run several times now and keep coming back. I love the feeling of being in a place that's been around so long. Their prime rib is always cooked the way you ask for it, the vegetables are done just enough, the service is Goldilocks...not too much not too little,not too fast and not too slow.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always appreciate the warm, friendly w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I always appreciate the warm, friendly welcome upon arrival at Bull Run. The food is always well or ward and promptly served by your friendly wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love going to bull run

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I love going to bull run

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food. Great service. Very cool bui ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food. Great service. Very cool building. Only issue was apparently it was trivia night, and they broadcast it on speakers throughout the entire restaurant, not just the bar area. Was kind of obnoxious when we were trying to have a nice dinner with "the answer is... Homer Simpson" being yelled over the loudspeaker. If it wasn't trivia night, we really would've enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

the fireplace smell is overwhelming; the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

the fireplace smell is overwhelming; the decorations are unusual but not that interesting, except for a made-up legend connected to a strange animal-like head mounted over the fireplace; the food was pretty good; desserts were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Always enjoy a Friday evening dinner at ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always enjoy a Friday evening dinner at Bull Run. I especially like the newly added menu choices. The service (Ashley ) always friendly, prompt and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The waitress said it was a new menu and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The waitress said it was a new menu and neither of us was particularly wowed by the food we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Always enjoy my visits to Bull Run Frida ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always enjoy my visits to Bull Run Friday evenings. The food is always great made even more enjoyable by the friendly, efficient reception and table service. I especially enjoyed he new menu lineup. The lobster casserole was absolutely fantastic. Ashley continues to be among our favorite servers. Always cheerful, always very prompt and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I went to this restaurant ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My husband and I went to this restaurant because they have shows there. When you purchase a ticket to a show, you need to spend a certain amount on food/drink. We decided to eat in the Tavern prior to the show (this is an option). We had an enjoyable time along with good food/service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A classic old restaurant that continues ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A classic old restaurant that continues to offer great food in a setting with a unique ambiance. This is one of the oldest establishments around, yet it remains vibrant, offering great entertainment with traditional and some unusual menu choices. We had a great time and our server did a wonderful job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef has many traditional entrees as ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The chef has many traditional entrees as well as unusual dishes to appeal to the more adventurous. A lot of families were enjoying pizza. The owners have preserved the historic ambiance of the inn which includes featuring locally grown meat and produce. We were there at a busy time, and the servers were stretched thin. They did well filling in for one another, and everything arrived hot. We've gone here a number of times, and the Bull Run has improved tremendously over the last few years.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I particularly enjoy the bar scene, dini ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I particularly enjoy the bar scene, dining and listening to the piano man charm everyone with a variety of music selections. The food is always very good, promptly and served with a smile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always fun to see what is on the menu at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always fun to see what is on the menu at Bull Run. Food was great and it looks like the new seasonal additions they are adding will be a big hit. Our server was delightful and made the evening special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a great evening which included m ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Enjoyed a great evening which included my brother visiting from Atlanta. He was pleased with the menu offerings, music ntertainment and great service provided by Ashley.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu options

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I especially enjoyed the lobster Mac & Cheese casserole last Friday evening. It is one of my favorite choices among many others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As I enjoy each new dining experience fr ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

As I enjoy each new dining experience from the tasty choices on the menu, I have to say each has been an exciting and delicious surprise. I wish to thank Ashley for her kind, attentive service making our visit to Bull Run even more enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went with the Innkeepers salad this time ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Went with the Innkeepers salad this time. Always a great choice. Pizza is excellent too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy a good meal and an exciti ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I always enjoy a good meal and an exciting nigh out at Bull Run. Great service, top entertainment listening and singing along to the great selection of tunes by "piano man".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved it! the staff was great ( I am ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We loved it! the staff was great ( I am a server also) and we loved the menu and the look of the place also. Everyone loved the food and we are going to meet there more often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have become a somewhat regular Friday ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I have become a somewhat regular Friday evening diner. Always enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rustic and warm feeling It's perfect on ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Rustic and warm feeling

It's perfect on a cool New England evening

The staff makes you feel like your a old friend

The prime rib is alway cooked exactly like you want it

My wife likes it med well and I like it med rare both come out at the same time and are perfect

The onion soup is worth the visit

Just a great take

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Casual atmosphere.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Truly enjoyed the relaxed setting, music by the piano man and patrons. Found was promptly served by courteous wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Haven't been to the Bull Run in ages. We had a lovely experience Friday! Well worth it! Loved the piano player. Our waitress was fabulous (I so wish I remembered her name)!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Shhh

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My husband and I love this place! I am reluctant to give a good review because I don't want it to become too popular and too busy!! But the owners are great people, and I hope they have continued success. It's our favorite local place to go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable dinner atmosphere

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Whether in the dining room or tavern the meal is always a pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Took a chance on something new-Glad we d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Took a chance on something new-Glad we did! Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very expensive

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We were seated in the Tavern room which was so loud it was difficult to have a conversation. Food was very good but very expensive. Total bill before the tip was 200.00 for four people with one drink each, no appetizers, each of us having 12 ounce prime rib and we each had dessert. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

One of our favorite restaurants. Great f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. Great food and atmosphere whether eating dining in the tap room, early American room or dinner/concert in the Sawtelle room. Love the Friday night piano sing-a-longs as well

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pizza choices

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Truly great selection of pizza options prepared and served perfectly

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Whole family gathering

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

whole family met for dinner and everyone had something different off the menu. Burger, pizza, prime rib, pasta and off course, desserts. Haven't been to the Bull Run in many years and was happy to find the food is still fantastic. I had the prime rib and it was perfectly cooked for me, as was the squash and potatoes that came with it. I also had the New England Clam Chowder which was very good - a bit spicier than other restaurants but still very good. Our server, Shane, was great, very attentive and very out-going. The Bull Run is not cheap, it's prices won't be confused with Applebees, but the prices aren't outrageous either. I thought the prices were fair and I thought we certainly got our money's worth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I Love this Place

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The menu is terrific - featuring locally farmed produce, meats and dairy. Interesting options, good beer and wine list. The service is almost always very good, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.