About buku: Global Street Food

110 East Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Located at the corner of Wilmington and Davie Streets in the heart of downtown Raleigh, bu•ku is a local restaurant that tells a global story. The name "bu•ku" itself is an international slang twist on the phrase, "Merci, beaucoup" meaning, "Thank you very much." Inspired by the pushcarts of street vendors across the globe, our chefs harvest an array of unique and distinct flavors and present them authentically, in a virtual kaleidoscope of plates. The common link: these are foods that people love. Working within different regional traditions, our menu brings together complex and flavorful dishes that have been honed over generations. Foods like Filipino Lumpia, Jamaican Lamb Patties and Chinese Steamed Buns can be found on the street corners of Manila, Kingston and Beijing. We strive to convey the immediate thrill a traveler feels eating foods like these as they first cross over the cart and exchange hands into the urban setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Asian, South American

Hours of Operation:
Serving our Full Menu
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am-12am

Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10am-3pm
Sunday Dinner: 5pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Wilmington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 834-6963

Website:
http://www.bukuraleigh.com/

Catering:
We would love to host your next event! Please ask Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for an Events Package and any additional information you need.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet every day after 5pm and during Sunday Brunch. Lunch parking is available in the public deck.


Enter the City Center Parking Deck from Wilmington Street

Take elevator to ground floor; exit out at revolving doors turn left and enter double doors on the left at the corner of Davie and Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Amanda Haisley

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi-private dining rooms are available for parties and special occasions up to 150 guests. Full-facility rentals are available for up to 293 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katherine Darden: 9198346963x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would love to help you plan your next event. Our private and semi-private dining rooms seat parties of 10-150 guests and we have a virtual kaleidoscope of menu options for you to choose from! Please speak with Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Porkbelly Buns - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
  • Pierogi - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
  • Trio Of Creme Brulee - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
  • Plantain Crushed Sea Bass With Mango And Spaghetti Squash - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
  • Korean BBQ - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
  • Viet Cucumber Salad - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
Porkbelly Buns - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
Pierogi - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
Trio Of Creme Brulee - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
Plantain Crushed Sea Bass With Mango And Spaghetti Squash - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
Korean BBQ - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
Viet Cucumber Salad - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC

buku: Global Street Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Creative Cuisine (45)
Special Occasion (43)
Fit for Foodies (40)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Good Vegetarian Options (35)
Good for Groups (32)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fun (23)
Modern Decor (22)
Healthy (22)
Romantic (21)
Tapas (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Business Meals (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Authentic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Cozy (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Spicy (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Casual (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Family Style (7)
Vegan (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Private Room (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Seasonal (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
2288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious meal. Great service. I had t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious meal. Great service. I had the Korean Bibimbap which was perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Healthy, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

What more can I say! My sevcond visit an ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

What more can I say! My sevcond visit and I hope to return a sap. It is an outstanding restaurant!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Bit pricey, especially for c ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Bit pricey, especially for cocktails, but still worth it. Definitely would recommend. Average price for 2 people ~$100.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great night out with friends, tasty and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Great night out with friends, tasty and good selection of everything :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great staff and food. Always enjoy comin ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great staff and food. Always enjoy coming back and trying something new.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the variety Buku offers and the opp ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Love the variety Buku offers and the opportunity to try different foods and flavors. The food is creative, well prepared and tasty. The service was excellent. Good place to be with family and friends where you can actually have a conversation and hear each other talk.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the menu and food here. We made a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Love the menu and food here. We made a meal off the small plates and it was fun to get full eating lots of different things.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Modern Decor, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect brunch for our needs, disappoint ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Perfect brunch for our needs, disappointed we had to be at the airport by 12, and Nc state law could not have drinks until 12 noon. Next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic! I suggest going earl ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was fantastic! I suggest going early for brunch before the crowds!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was good enough that we fit in ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service was good enough that we fit in a pre-concert meal between 6:15 and 7:45 pm, table of four. Had time to order two-rounds of small plates plus dessert. Waitstaff always showed up when we were ready to order, and turned the check around quickly when time was short. Food was tasty and interesting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

One of our favorite restaurants in the t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in the triangle! Incredible chef; good wines and amoro; fabulous service; exquisite flavors.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to BuKu for our three ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife and I went to BuKu for our three year anniversary. It was our first time at this location. My wife is also six months pregnant, so we had requested special seating. We were very surprised and enjoyed our experience. Dan was our waiter. He was very informative and helpful in selecting dishes. Our next visit will be to try the Sunday brunch. Thanks again to BuKu for a most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was average. It's not a bad place, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was average. It's not a bad place, it is loud. The food came out sporadically. It's a better fit for a large happy hour gathering.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

In town for the weekend. Wanted a quick ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

In town for the weekend. Wanted a quick bite and was easy walk from downtown hotels. I ate late at the bar my first night in town and was pleased with food choices. Columbian pan de queso. YUM! Love the dipping sauce and Filipino Lumpia was well thought out. It was spicy but cooled by the salad. So I brought a group the next night. We dined outside as the evening was temperate. We ravaged the sushi choices- the Hawaiian Tuna Poke and Vishna were outrageously delicious. Empanadas excellent. Definitely try the trilogy of cream brulee. Could not find any love of the Japanese Deviled eggs - a little rubbery and bland. Overall - this is a hot spot for gastronomic pleasure. Something for everyone, reasonably priced.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Bar Seating, Casual, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved the place! Food was outstanding ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We loved the place! Food was outstanding; service excellent. We did dinner before Spamalot at Duke Energy. Will be back for sure!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

buku is worth a second look. We ate at b ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2016

buku is worth a second look. We ate at buku:Global Street Food several months ago and I must say, I was not impressed. We gave it another look a few nights ago. Wow! The Pierogies were amazing! I also thought the nan was the best ever. Hats off to the chef!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Impeccable brunch!!! Our favorite! Defi ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Impeccable brunch!!! Our favorite! Definitely try the grits, carved turkey, truffle kale, waffles and so much more!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sunday brunch in Raleigh hands down ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Best Sunday brunch in Raleigh hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my Mom out for her birthday to buku ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Took my Mom out for her birthday to buku. Liz, our server was extremely helpful, assisting my mom in picking a wine and with pointing out the vegetarian options on the menu.

The pereogies and vegetable dumplings were delicious, and the pad Thai was a spicy entree my mom loved. Dessert was house-made sorbets, of which the mango cinnamon was simply outstanding. And the chocolate cake my mom received was a great birthday treat.

Overall fantastic experience, would definitely come again.

Tags: Spicy, Seasonal, Vegan, Modern Decor, Organic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always have a fabulous meal at buku. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We always have a fabulous meal at buku. This time it was the Sunday brunch buffet. it was huge and everything was delicious. Well worth the drive and cost.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had small plates, and they were all d ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had small plates, and they were all delicious, wine was really good, and ambiance was very inviting. Overall a very pleasant experience, we'll come back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to Buku before and was pretty ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I've been to Buku before and was pretty impressed with the food - enough to come back again. But our experience last weekend was amazing. We were celebrating a 21st birthday with a party of 10 and our waiter was phenomenal. He brought the birthday girl TWO birthday shots, a birthday dessert, and was engaging and attentive. The food, as always, was delicious. At the end of the meal, our split checks were all correct, and we left happy and full. I wish I could give 6 stars for service and food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had to wait about 20 paste my reservatio ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Had to wait about 20 paste my reservations, but were able to grab a beverage at the bar prior to being seated. Great eclectic menu. Enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place and their PadThai is t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I love this place and their PadThai is the best in town. Service is always excellent and waiters always understand the menu and make great recommendations. I think it's some of the best food in Raleigh. I love sitting outside when the weather is great -- feels so Manhatten!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for date night, especially i ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great place for date night, especially if you like to split several small plates so you can try various items!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

WONDERFUL ATMOSPHERE.....delicious food ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

WONDERFUL ATMOSPHERE.....delicious food .....variety of choices..........my third time eating there and I enjoy it better and better.

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We go to Buku for Sunday brunch. Absolut ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We go to Buku for Sunday brunch. Absolute excellent value and extensive brunch buffet options. I highly recommend Buku for Sunday brunch. I cannot speak to the regular menu as I have yet to visit on during other times, but plan to.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We usually have good experiences at Buku ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We usually have good experiences at Buku but this past time around wasn't so great.

We waited 20-30 mins after being seated just to get water. It was not the wait staff's fault but the hostesses. They seem to be pretty useless because after seating us, they didn't even bother telling the wait staff. Our waitress was super apologetic but it was pretty infuriating to know that all the hostesses were doing was talking and playing with their phones.

Our experience after that was great because the waitress went beyond to check on us often.

Food wise, we would highly recommend the duck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We have always loved sharing the small p ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We have always loved sharing the small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Glad for the vegan menu.

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Glad for the vegan menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I asked to make the samosa pot pie spicy ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I asked to make the samosa pot pie spicy. It came to me loaded with Thai chiles. These are hotter than cayenne, Serrano and jalapeño. I barely touched it, informed the waiter it was not enjoyable and he took it away. It remained on the bill. This kind of service is not ok with me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

I am gluten intolerant and was concerned ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I am gluten intolerant and was concerned when I realized it was only buffet for Sunday lunchtime. I am happy to say there was lots of delicious food I could eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Food is good, but need to change up the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food is good, but need to change up the Brunch menu to keep regulars from getting bored with the food options. We have been there 3 times and tired of the same entrees and sides.

Thank you !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was outstanding...I would recommend ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was outstanding...I would recommend Buku to anyone...wish we had room to try all of the small plates!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sorry to find out after arrival that val ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Sorry to find out after arrival that valet parking is no longer free. By the time you pay parking and tip it is expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was our first time and we really li ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was our first time and we really liked it. Had always wanted to try Pho, so this was a great place to try it and other international dishes. We both liked our entrees and wine and the dessert was great. A bit pricey, but we knew that. Fancier than I thought it would be, too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place! Great downtown dining! ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Love this place! Great downtown dining! Great for a date night, brunch on Sundays, birthdays and anniversaries. Staff are friendly and the food is always great!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Late-night Find, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The brunch buffet was excellent. There w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The brunch buffet was excellent. There were many good choices of various kinds. The service was attentive without being intrusive. It was a bit noisy, but not unreasonably so for an obviously popular Sunday brunch location.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food here is excellent and the servi ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food here is excellent and the service very good. But it is much too noisy. They have an annoying músic selection that they can't turn down or off

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Very good food. Always excellent servic ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very good food. Always excellent service. Gets very noisey, though, and inconvenient for conversation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.