About buku: Global Street Food

110 East Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Located at the corner of Wilmington and Davie Streets in the heart of downtown Raleigh, bu•ku is a local restaurant that tells a global story. The name "bu•ku" itself is an international slang twist on the phrase, "Merci, beaucoup" meaning, "Thank you very much." Inspired by the pushcarts of street vendors across the globe, our chefs harvest an array of unique and distinct flavors and present them authentically, in a virtual kaleidoscope of plates. The common link: these are foods that people love. Working within different regional traditions, our menu brings together complex and flavorful dishes that have been honed over generations. Foods like Filipino Lumpia, Jamaican Lamb Patties and Chinese Steamed Buns can be found on the street corners of Manila, Kingston and Beijing. We strive to convey the immediate thrill a traveler feels eating foods like these as they first cross over the cart and exchange hands into the urban setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Asian, South American

Hours of Operation:
Serving our Full Menu
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am-12am

Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10am-3pm
Sunday Dinner: 5pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Wilmington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 834-6963

Website:
http://www.bukuraleigh.com/

Catering:
We would love to host your next event! Please ask Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for an Events Package and any additional information you need.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet every day after 5pm and during Sunday Brunch. Lunch parking is available in the public deck.


Enter the City Center Parking Deck from Wilmington Street

Take elevator to ground floor; exit out at revolving doors turn left and enter double doors on the left at the corner of Davie and Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Amanda Haisley

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi-private dining rooms are available for parties and special occasions up to 150 guests. Full-facility rentals are available for up to 293 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katherine Darden: (919) 834-6963

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would love to help you plan your next event. Our private and semi-private dining rooms seat parties of 10-150 guests and we have a virtual kaleidoscope of menu options for you to choose from! Please speak with Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for more information.

buku: Global Street Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (58)
Special Occasion (53)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Fit for Foodies (47)
Modern Decor (42)
Good Vegetarian Options (40)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for Groups (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Tapas (30)
Fun (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Romantic (27)
Business Meals (24)
Healthy (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Authentic (22)
Great for Brunch (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Spicy (16)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
People Watching (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Casual (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great Beer (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Vegan (6)
Family Style (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Organic (3)
Private Room (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful! This place definitely has a great niche in the Raleigh market. Keep up the great work!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

I Don't Recommend to go anyone for Sunday Brunch , The Quality of food is worse , Maybe If i go back will prefer Lunch or Dinner ..

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous food, comfortable dining, easy parking. The brunch choices are broad. Great for everyone.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

We visited BuKu as a party of 14 people and they did a great job serving us. Our waiter was attentive and professional at all times.

The food was excellent and I several of my friends who attended this dinner are already thinking of visiting back soon. All praised the quality of food. Everything I tasted was delicious. Some friends are vegetarian and they also praised the vegetarian plates.

A great option downtown Raleigh, really close to all bar and great for groups! A must try. We will come back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a reservation and waited a bit to be seated, but after that it was an amazing meal with great service from Justin. The food was absolutely delicious and I would eat there again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Tapas, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We found the menu to be very interesting and our kids were very intrigued by the food variety. We thought that the food was very authentic tasting and we will go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and wonderful atmosphere. Wait staff top notch

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our third time at Buku. All of our visits have been great. If you have a larger group, I'd suggest making sure you are seated in the dining room. The bar is noisier and not as good for conversations among larger groups (more than 4).

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter Josh was very friendly and helpful. His New Zealand accent was great! He was patient with us during our indecisive orders. He always had a smile on his face. He made our visit to Bu.Ku even better. This was our second time dinning here. We are in love with the Halo-Halo dessert! Please keep this on the menu!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Casual, Authentic, Spicy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner, but the location of the table (#71?) by the kitchen was just awful. Way too much back and forth from waitpeople. I'd strongly suggest sitting in the main room-not on this aisle with booths.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

This is an outstanding place to dine. The service is the highest quality. The food is excellent and tasteful. The presentations are picture worthy. I highly recommend this street food.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service and exceptional food as always!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Buku has an adventurous menu covering a range of cuisines, but for the most part they pull it off. Liked the broad selection of small plates for sampling what Buku has to offer. The combinations of flavors and spices in the dishes we had were both interesting and flavorful. Found one we didn't care for that much and our server let us choose something else.

Worth a visit.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything about this place is nice, friendly staff, beautiful decor.

My husband is a scotch connoisseur and the selection amazed him.

We tried several of the small plates and everything was delicious

The waiter even brought us 2 glasses of champagne for our 25th wedding anniversary

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food, as always!

A bit pricey, so not an everyday option.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was outstanding, we ordered several small plates and enjoyed the chance for variety.

The wait staff was knowledgeable and curteous.

I was dissapointed that we had a considerable wait for a reserved table, and they put us next the bustle of the kitchen.

It seemed as if it was first come first serve, with or without reservation.

They have free valet parking some nights which was convenient for downtown.

The menu is delightful and the food is presented beautifully, small plates are just that, a small taste of their offerings, we nibbled our way through 4 plates and a desert.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was prompt and both waitstaff and hostess were polite and attentive! Great for a special occasion with my fiancée!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We decided to have our valentine's day dinner here. The place was busier than usual. Our waiter forgot to put in our appetizer order and directly brought us the entree! The wait time for our dessert too was longer than usual. Food quality was great! No complains there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It is a place for those who enjoy elaborate dishes, well seasoned. There are no plain options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Started with the mussels and was served a few empty shells and one that had not opened. This was fine but not a great start. Our entrees took a long time to come out to the table, long enough the server felt the need to apologize. When the food finally made it to the table, after every table around us had eaten and left, the food was fine. It was nothing exciting and really kind of bland. Definitely did not match the price point of the place we were eating. While our server was great I do not plan on ever coming back. It had been years since I had been here and now I remember why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Server was not good. We got appetizers and main course at the same. Very slow to get drinks.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had three couples there for Valentine's Day and had excellent food and service. Would recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Just a moment out to observe World Love Day with the lady. Great to pull up, enter and immediately be seated. Great service and she enjoyed it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Convenient valet parking, service and ambiance! Nice cocktail menu, gluten free options - food was delish. Well organized and consistent even on a busy Valentine's Day!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food is delicious. I can't say enough good things about the staff. Great place for special occasions such as birthdays & anniversaries. My husband and I will definitely be returning to celebrate more occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is a 5 stars retaurant! Love it. Love the brunch buffet!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Reservations were for 8:45 and we were seated immediately when we arrived at 8:35. Buku was very busy so the noise level was up a bit. The food was great. The flavors were amazing! Wait staff was very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Reservations are a must. Our party of four ate here on a Saturday night. While the menu is diverse and offers a good selection, our party found that the restaurant shines in its appetizers, not its entrees. The steamed buns, lumpia, pan de queso, and rolls were very good. However, the short ribs were cold upon arrival to the table and the pho and pad thai were big on ingredients but not on flavor. We did enjoy the cocktails...they were well made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

2nd worst $120 I've spent in my life. Our server was a cool guy, very nice, but I didn't like anything we ordered. I don't consider myself a picky eater by any means, but I just couldn't do it. Date's food wasn't any better. (Korean BBQ, Pad-Thai, $6 beer from a can)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was way above normal. We went with several small plates, each of which were excellent. It is a bit pricy, but about right for a special occassion and unique foods.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was absolutely amazing!! I highly recommend this place. So many great things on the menu that we had a hard time choosing just one entree. The small plates selection looked good too. We ordered Japanese Deviled eggs and crab flautas to start. Did not disappoint!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great Empanadas and Pork Belly Buns. Order several tapas to share. Staff very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great shared meal of several small plates - like a trip around the world! High quality ingredients, well & creatively prepared and in a nice setting - a little loud & the tables are a bit close (taking out just 2 would make the space SO much more pleasant) would be my only marks against buku. Food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was delicious. We ordered entrees and a dessert and it took over 2 hours. Had to ask for the wine list. We were with friends so we had a great time and the food was wonderful. So much flavor. Short ribs were fork tender. Will go again but not before an event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing Asian fare. Creative, tasty, and portions that are just right. We had a tuna sushi toll and ramen. Both were excellent. Wish I lived closer. We will done here on each trip to Raleigh.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Enjoyed our visit. Within easy walking distance of Meymandi (sp?) concert hall, so it was a no brainer. Specialty Tiramisu dessert was outstanding abda rather large portion-easily shared. 👍👍👍

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was excellent! Loved their take on some of the most "common" foods you find around the world.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The staff, food and atmosphere are the best of the best in Raleigh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The Service was impeccable. Food is delicious and Ramen is to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Such a great experience for a date night! Sloan was such a great waiter and was so attentive to us. The wine pairings were on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Really good food with an interesting take on street food that is refreshing without being pretentious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went to BuKu for Triangle Restaurant week. The 3-course dinner was fabulous, with new offerings not on the usual menu. Everything we ate was innovative and tasty, especially the African peanut soup and Afghan dumplings. The green tea cheesecake with chocolate glaze and strawberries was to die for. Highly recommended!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was restaurant week in the Triangle, and my husband & I had tickets to the NC Symphony. We were delighted to get reservations at buku because we had been planning on trying it. The restaurant week menu gave us a chance to expand our horizons & try foods we had not eaten before. Everything was wonderful as was the service by Matt.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Nothing short of phenomenal. Our server (Josh, I believe) was attentive and helpful without being overbearing. The food was probably the best meal I've had in Raleigh, and I've been just about everywhere in my six years here. We will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Been to buku a few time prior. The pork shank was good but not ridiculously good like other dishes from there. Should have stuck with pesce! Ahi tuna app was awesome per normal.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, great service! Recommend trying the various small plates.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Menu is diverse for a large crowd but food is avaerage in taste

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My favorite restaurant in all of Raleigh! Never disappoints!

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Live Music, Spicy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Been here before, and as always, the service and food were wonderful. One of our go-to places in Raleigh!

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.