About buku: Global Street Food

110 East Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Located at the corner of Wilmington and Davie Streets in the heart of downtown Raleigh, bu•ku is a local restaurant that tells a global story. The name "bu•ku" itself is an international slang twist on the phrase, "Merci, beaucoup" meaning, "Thank you very much." Inspired by the pushcarts of street vendors across the globe, our chefs harvest an array of unique and distinct flavors and present them authentically, in a virtual kaleidoscope of plates. The common link: these are foods that people love. Working within different regional traditions, our menu brings together complex and flavorful dishes that have been honed over generations. Foods like Filipino Lumpia, Jamaican Lamb Patties and Chinese Steamed Buns can be found on the street corners of Manila, Kingston and Beijing. We strive to convey the immediate thrill a traveler feels eating foods like these as they first cross over the cart and exchange hands into the urban setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Asian, South American

Hours of Operation:
Serving our Full Menu
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am-12am

Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10am-3pm
Sunday Dinner: 5pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Wilmington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 834-6963

Website:
http://www.bukuraleigh.com/

Catering:
We would love to host your next event! Please ask Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for an Events Package and any additional information you need.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet every day after 5pm and during Sunday Brunch. Lunch parking is available in the public deck.


Enter the City Center Parking Deck from Wilmington Street

Take elevator to ground floor; exit out at revolving doors turn left and enter double doors on the left at the corner of Davie and Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Amanda Haisley

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi-private dining rooms are available for parties and special occasions up to 150 guests. Full-facility rentals are available for up to 293 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katherine Darden: 9198346963x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We would love to help you plan your next event. Our private and semi-private dining rooms seat parties of 10-150 guests and we have a virtual kaleidoscope of menu options for you to choose from! Please speak with Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for more information.

Restaurant Photos

buku: Global Street Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

fit for foodies (165)
special occasion (117)
good for groups (110)
See All
hot spot (74)
great for brunch (73)
romantic (71)
great for outdoor dining (54)
great for lunch (46)
neighborhood gem (41)
late-night find (37)
notable wine list (37)
vibrant bar scene (36)
kid-friendly (14)
scenic view (7)
Sort By:
Newest
2124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is fantastic as is the venue. Reco ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Food is fantastic as is the venue. Recommend it highly

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our family doesn't go out to eat regular ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our family doesn't go out to eat regularly, so it always feels like a bit of an occasion. That puts pressure on the restaurant we've chosen to be truly exceptional, unbeknownst to them. Our visit to bu-ku happened to be celebratory, so that ratcheted up the hope that it would be an outstanding experience. It was. From the incredibly friendly, helpful and attentive service from Liz--who responded with enthusiasm to our banter and was patient with our extensive questioning and mulling of choices--to the atmosphere to the delicious food, it was an absolutely delightful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Buku is great for sampling from a wide a ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Buku is great for sampling from a wide array of street food, some of which is better than you can find anywhere else in the area, the rest of which is on par with the average. Crispy Vegetarian Dumplings, for instance, were some of the best dumplings we've ever had in the Triangle-- second only to Juju in Durham-- and their limited Sushi offerings are certainly of the highest quality, although the selection is more limited than a dedicated sushi restaurant like Sono. Another dish we enjoyed was their Steamed Bun, but the bun itself lacked the fluffy lightness that the best steamed buns exhibit. Also, be forewarned: There are many dishes that you would not expect to be spicy, but are. Still, Buku is a great place for a special occasion-- wide selection of delicious foods, and FANTASTIC desserts. Definitely worth a try if you haven't been before!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My first time at Buku was overall a wond ...

Dined 4 days ago

My first time at Buku was overall a wonderful experience. The ambiance was very nice (my favorite thing was the water wall behind the bar), the wait staff was very helpful, and most importantly the food was incredible. There were 4 of us and we ordered 6 or 7 of the small plates. It was the perfect amount of food. The Chinese steamed buns were my favorite thing we had by far. I will definitely go back to Buku and would recommend highly to others who enjoy a good tapas-style outing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An great find in downtown Raleigh.

Dined 7 days ago

We had a great evening at Buku! Started with some excellent small plates including steamed dumplings, Buku roll and Japanese deviled eggs. The Vietnamese Pho' and Korean Bibimbap were great choices from the "big bowl" selections! Their craft cocktails were perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buku never disappoints. Excellent food ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Buku never disappoints. Excellent food and even better service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Jason was our server and he was excellen ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Jason was our server and he was excellent!! Very attentive and added special touches as we were celebrating my son's college graduation. Buku is our favorite brunch spot and never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service1

They left my table unattended for the fi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

They left my table unattended for the first 30 minutes. And they kept forgetting the details of my order

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

Dined on May 15, 2016

The menu was eclectic, the ingredients fresh, the service was superb with a knowledgable server ( thank you Kyle) the presentation perfect and the taste was exactly what we wanted . There were plenty of selections for vegetarians like my self and for non vegetarians like my wife. They were happy to alter the dishes. To our preferences Definitely will be back

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

All the dishes we got were great. The or ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

All the dishes we got were great. The ordering of the dishes was also perfect so it allowed us to eat 5 different small plates without feeling overwhelmed

food4
ambience5
service1

Good food, very nice ambiance, sometimes ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Good food, very nice ambiance, sometimes sketchy service.

food5
ambience5
service3

Always a great place to celebrate friend ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Always a great place to celebrate friends birthday. Love sitting outside!

food4
ambience4
service5

Great concept. Good food. Excellent ser ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great concept. Good food. Excellent service. We ordered the empanadas and the aloo chaat to start. The empanadas were perfect - light, crispy with delicious filling and garnish. The aloo chaat was a wonderful combination of textures - spicy, earthy, cool, crisp. Best of all, it was all gluten free. We followed it up with some great cocktsils, the Chilean sea bass, the Dominican pollo guisado and the Argentinian short ribs. The fish was not that special but the other two entrees were wonderful. We ended with a trio of delightful creme brulee minis.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our go-to place for brunch in Raleigh

Dined on May 8, 2016

We don't do brunch often, but we've been to buku a few times. It is very good. The menu has not changed in the past few months, so if you are looking for new experiences, you may be disappointed. But the offerings are very good and enjoyable for a brunch, and you can certainly mix up a variety of omelette orders if you want something different on each visit. Service was pretty good, despite a very crowded Mother's Day/Graduation Day. But the food was hot and fresh.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Great buffet!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great buffet!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Morher's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've dined twice and enjoyed my menu selections. Had heard great things about brunch. The food was great and a good price. My suggestion....move people to stations to avoid one looooong line.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Graduation Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Buku had been on our family's list of restaurants to try. Our taste for food is very diverse and Buku did not disappoint. The menu had many different international flavors. Everyone enjoyed the varied tastes. The value is very good for this diversity. For our family, a special occasion was the impetus for our visit. The service was excellent! The food was really good and the craft drinks were superb. Thanks for an enjoyable time.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very good food and service. Son flew in ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Very good food and service. Son flew in to town for the one night and we took him there. Our first time but not our last. Very different food and hostess very helpful telling us about the portions of the dishes. We sat outside just so the noise level was high, but that was out choice. Would recommend to others.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best brunch in town! Buku is the go-to place!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Buku's Sunday brunch is fantastic! Well organized, clean, great variety of dishes, wonderful service, good value. Can't go wrong.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The best brunch in Raleigh! Everything w ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The best brunch in Raleigh! Everything was spectacular! The service was excellent, as were the cocktails. Definitely will be going back for again!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Buku Brunch Hard To Beat

Dined on April 24, 2016

The buku Brunch is the best value in Raleigh. Terrific menu with excellent presentation

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't have been better

Dined on April 24, 2016

My foody in-laws were in town and wanted to eat somewhere downtown and we settled on Buku. The experience was phenomenal. Our waiting, Justin, knew the menu inside and out and provided excellent recommendations on small plates, large plates, desserts, and even a few local bourbons from the bar. The food couldn't have been better. One of the best meals in awhile!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food for all

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food and a great variety - gluten free, meataterians, vegetarians, pescaterians, dairy free, and normal people! Good variety of beer on tap and friendly service. There are parking garages nearby so I hope that you too get the opportunity to enjoy food focused on South Asia.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

I've been to Buku a few times, and this particular visit was for my husband's birthday. The food is always amazing here. I got the Scottish Salmon, my husband got a steak, one friend got the pho, and another friend got one of the Korean bowls. We had the triple crème brûlée for dessert. Oh, we also got the Baja crab flautas for an appetizer, which honestly was probably my favorite part of the entire meal. My husband is very, very picky about his steak and he was very impressed with his meal. Everything was very fresh with amazing taste and quality. As for the drinks, we were impressed by those as well. The Thai iced tea is great. My husband and his friends ordered a cocktail that had cilantro in it. I can't remember the name but they loved it. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and attentive to us. The environment was quiet enough that we could enjoy a nice chat without hearing other people's conversations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

Service was amazing.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Service was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing. New spring menu. Liz w ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was amazing. New spring menu. Liz was delightful

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was very good. Service a bit sl ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was very good. Service a bit slow, but I think they had a larger early rush than they planned being prom season.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience

Dined on April 14, 2016

We had a marvelous server who went to great lengths to make sure my questions and concerns were addressed. I had the jicama corn sweet potato soup which was a happy surprise to my tastebuds. My entree was the Dominican Pollo Guisado. " Mojo-spiced airline chicken breast, grilled sweet peppers, red onion, Spanish olives, yucca-plantain mash, cilantro, lime." I left as a very happy camper!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Not the experience described in other reviews

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We visited the restaurant for brunch because of seemingly positive reviews and location (it was close to our hotel). Nice interior and friendly staff. But, the food was not appealing. The French toast was undercooked...slicing into it resulted in batter spilling into the plate. The bacon was undercooked with an out-of-package appearance. The eggs had an "interesting" aroma and flavor. Although I must admit, the fruit was very good...even the melon was ripe & tasty. Very disappointed. We hope it was a fluke for us & everyone else has a good experience.

food4
ambience4
service5

Went to brunch for my mother's bday and ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Went to brunch for my mother's bday and it was great! She loved the waffle station as did I. I really liked the assortment of differ t meats as well as the breakfast items it was plentiful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Gluten Free Menus in RTP ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

One of the best Gluten Free Menus in RTP! I love coming here for business or personal - for lunch or dinner. It is safe for Celaics.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on April 9, 2016

Buku always delivers. Food, service and atmosphere are wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience.

Dined on April 8, 2016

It was my first visit to Buku with my grown daughter for a Mother/Daughter night out. Our experience was excellent. The location is great and it was nice that since it was raining, we could park in the parking deck and go through the Red Hat building and never go outside except for a very short walk underneath a covered area. Very nice parking situation for downtown Raleigh if you don't mind the $5 parking fee, which I did not mind it. We enjoyed Buku very much!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was great and our server was at ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

The food was great and our server was attractive and friendly. It was an extended family get together and everyone found great options for the particular good interests. A+

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Our Favorites!

Dined on April 8, 2016

This is one of our favorite downtown Raleigh restaurants. The food is always wonderful and the service is very caring and personalized. The servers want to make sure that you have a wonderful dining experience. We enjoy the variety of items on the menu and everything is always delicious! We love to take friends and family here as well as they know it will be a good evening for everyone! Great wine selections!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

I really liked the Bass starter we got b ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

I really liked the Bass starter we got but the Indian Naan and the Ramen were definitely not that great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buku

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was amazing, got the Filipino duck, it was the best cooked duck I ever had. The food display came out great and the scenery is great. Highly recommend Buku for a nice dinner occasion, grab a drink and appetizers with some friends, or even to try new food from different spots of the world.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Ginger pear salad was great. Empanadas w ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Ginger pear salad was great. Empanadas were very good. We really enjoyed everything here.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Chaat is our favorite! Hands down! ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

The Chaat is our favorite! Hands down! Enjoyed a nice dinner of small plates with our teen son. Sushi always a hit.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Food in a fun environment

Dined on April 2, 2016

We dined here Saturday evening as a part of a bachelorette evening. The food was very good, the service was excellent, and we all enjoyed ourselves. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.