Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About buku: Global Street Food

Located at the corner of Wilmington and Davie Streets in the heart of downtown Raleigh, bu•ku is a local restaurant that tells a global story. The name "bu•ku" itself is an international slang twist on the phrase, "Merci, beaucoup" meaning, "Thank you very much." Inspired by the pushcarts of street vendors across the globe, our chefs harvest an array of unique and distinct flavors and present them authentically, in a virtual kaleidoscope of plates. The common link: these are foods that people love. Working within different regional traditions, our menu brings together complex and flavorful dishes that have been honed over generations. Foods like Filipino Lumpia, Jamaican Lamb Patties and Chinese Steamed Buns can be found on the street corners of Manila, Kingston and Beijing. We strive to convey the immediate thrill a traveler feels eating foods like these as they first cross over the cart and exchange hands into the urban setting.

110 East Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Asian, South American

Hours of Operation:
Serving our Full Menu
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am-12am

Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10am-3pm
Sunday Dinner: 5pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Wilmington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 834-6963

Website:
http://www.bukuraleigh.com/

Catering:
We would love to host your next event! Please ask Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for an Events Package and any additional information you need.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet every day after 5pm and during Sunday Brunch. Lunch parking is available in the public deck.


Enter the City Center Parking Deck from Wilmington Street

Take elevator to ground floor; exit out at revolving doors turn left and enter double doors on the left at the corner of Davie and Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Amanda Haisley

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi-private dining rooms are available for parties and special occasions up to 150 guests. Full-facility rentals are available for up to 293 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katherine Darden: (919) 834-6963

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would love to help you plan your next event. Our private and semi-private dining rooms seat parties of 10-150 guests and we have a virtual kaleidoscope of menu options for you to choose from! Please speak with Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for more information.

buku: Global Street Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (50)
Good for a Date (45)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Tapas (30)
Authentic (29)
Good for Groups (29)
Good Vegetarian Options (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Great for Brunch (25)
Tasting Menu (22)
Spicy (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Healthy (20)
Fun (19)
Romantic (19)
Business Meals (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Cozy (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Casual (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Vegan (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
People Watching (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great Beer (5)
Seasonal (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2709 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic service, the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Had several small plates and all were excellent except for the deviled eggs. I appreciated a healthy amount of heat in some of the dishes. Chaat, empanadas and cucumber salad were great. Lots of gluten free options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service, great food & great time. We couldn't have asked for more!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2017

My friends and I had a great time at the brunch. The only downside is they only had 1 person on the omelette station and that meant there was a long line. They should have at least 2 people making omelettes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We were there for a Second Saturday A Place at the Table brunch and it was fantastic. There was four of us and we shared six small plates which were fantastic, inventive and unique. We have eaten here before and will eat here again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great atmosphere. Delicious, creative menu. One of our favorite places to dine in downtown Raleigh.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2017

My true Raleigh favorite! Whenever we feel like going downtown for a wonderful, relaxing dinner, buku is ALWAYS our #1 choice. We love the menu, the amazing service, the wine list, and the atmosphere. Outdoor dining is the best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Amazing International food and great vegan options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2017

One of our favorites. Love the international cuisine. Lovely surroundings!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great selection of food. The server was very attentive, patient, and knowledgeable.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2017

One of the "draws" for Sunday Brunch at Buku is the Ambiance. Unfortunately, we were seated next to a "networker" of some sorts and whereas they were quiet and professional, they had two young males there to photograph them. These two males were dressed like they were going out to the bars (pants down past their butts, baseball caps on backwards, earphones in their ears, ripped jeans, etc.). It really took away from the experience. Events such as networkers should be held in small, private rooms and not in the midst of the restaurant - especially if they're accompanied by so-called photographers not dressed appropriately for this venue. My friend and I were very disappointed in our experience on Sunday - evidenced by the low marks.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Best visit ever this past Brunch. The server was smooth, efficient, and knowledgeable. Not always the case at BuKu. The food, as always, was really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food menu is truly international but pricy. The decoration is nice and dining area offers a variety of seating options. The food service is commendable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 7, 2017

My wife and I went to Buku for date night last week. A friend recommended we try it out. The restaurant has a nice ambiance and offers outdoor seating as well. It was Friday night and our table was ready right away. Service was very good. Waiter was prompt and friendly. I ordered the Pad Thai (medium spice) with shrimp and was pleased. Very flavorful and satisfied my spice craving. My wife didn't love the Pho, but we'll probably be back to try some sushi rolls. They sounded great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Business Meals, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Met a friend that I hadn't seen in years, who came into town for business. We sat outside, and the waitress was wonderful. We wanted to enjoy a cocktail or two before we had dinner, and she didn't rush us at all. She gave fantastic menu recommendations, and was very friendly, but not overbearing or intrusive at all. I had the Ramen big bowl, which included pork belly, pulled pork shoulder, mushrooms, egg, and wakame in a delicious broth. My friend had the chicken and curry hot pot, and said it was great. If you enjoy bourbon, try the Early Tea Thyme. So tasty, I had 2!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Had my wedding reception at Buku! The food was excellent! Wait staff amazing! This place was definitely a great choice for my wedding reception!! It was a added bonus to my wedding event!! I highly recommend this place ❤

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

I love this place! I usually attend the Sunday Brunch, but we visited during dinner for the first time on a Friday night and I fell in love all over again. The atmosphere was great and the food was divine. Great service and amazing drinks! Get the Caterpillar Rolls for an appetizer and thank me later!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

A very pleasant experience. The environment is beautiful with much attention to decorative detail. Had the Sangria as a drink -- it was delicious. The duck main course was very good as was the Korean beef bowl. A little on the pricey side but an enjoyable experience nonetheless.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Fun atmosphere, great food. They raised the price of the Brunch by 25% (5$ per adult) since I was last there.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We found a hair in my daughter's food which was not hers. We notified the staff and we were told the manager would address the problem. The manager never came to address the issue. We only received a tepid apology from the waiter. We were disappointed in the overall experience and especially the service. We will not be returning to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Got cocktails and had several of the small plates and it was all ridiculously delicious. Recommend the Pan de Queso, empanadas and steamed buns. Creme brûlée was delicious! Highly recommend this unique menu. Great spot pre symphony as well as they offer a discount if you're going to the symphony (which is right up the street)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2017

I have been wanting to try this restaurant for several years, but it was a trek to downtown from our meeting. Finally, we had meetings downtown and walked to dinner. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious, unique, everyone left happy and full. No complaints. The wait staff was exceptional, friendly and quick with service. One order was delayed in the kitchen, but the wait staff communicated and apologized. The restaurant was very flexible with my large party. They were able to accommodate several time changes due to our meeting running over, and making us late for dinner. Quality chefs! Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Work dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food and atmosphere was amazing. I mean amazing!!! ...but our visit was overshadowed by a few important details. The food wasnt ready at 10:00. Our reservation was 10:00 and we were there maybe 3 minutes early. But that was really no big deal. Our server could have had us wait for the buffet instead of sending us on to awkwardly stand there waiting for the food. We also ran out of coffee twice, creamer and water. It was a sad ending to what could have been an amazing brunch experience for my out of town sister who said it was the best food she had on her visit to Raleigh. We will be back at least one more time because the food was so good and hey, everyone gets to have a one-off kind day.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We eat out often and this was the best meal I've had in months. Loved the food and the service. I've already told many friends about our excellent experience.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Had Bimbimbap and the duck large plate with coconut rice. The coconut rice was so comforting and delicious.

Tags: People Watching, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Two of my friends and I dined as part of a pre-birthday event. Everyone was so pleasant from the door staff to the server. The diversity of the selection allowed everyone to try something new and different. My selection of Vietnamese Pho and Tiramisu was phenomenal. Looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

It was ok.. over priced and lacking flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Note: We only ate small plates this time and were outside. We've eaten here several other times and we're trying new dishes we've not yet had.

Service was good and swift and friendly - as usual. We appreciated the attention and advice. Other patrons seemed to be well attended to as well. Outsides atmosphere was pleasant. Bathrooms were clean and well presented.

We eat & cook predominately SE Asian & Asian food: Indian, Pakistani, Afghani, Chinese, Vietnamese, Korean, Filipino, & Thai, and frequent many other restaurants that serve similar fare. We travel a lot internationally and love street food just like what this menu suggests.

Buku continues to present an Interesting menu but it is only somewhat well executed. It could be so much better in terms of flavor nuance within each dish - especially given the prices and portions. The dishes (specifically chaat and mantu and a little bit the flautas) would be more authentic and memorable if there were several and pronounced flavor notes from the different spices those dishes are known for. Instead the spicing tasted muddy and a bit too piquant. We love 'hot' food, but the other flavor notes need the opportunity to shine through. The presentation of each dish, however, was attractive.

We want to like Buku more because we love street food - but it will be a while before we return here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We split a bottle of wine and two plates between three friends. Loved both the steamed buns and the empanadas. Really quiet for a Friday night. Service was great.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch with a large group of friends and as always was not disappointed. This is the best brunch in downtown Raleigh in my opinion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Good Sunday brunch place. They used to have different choices from more countries and it felt like they are slowly narrowing to typical American. That's not bad on itself but there are many like that. Before it did feel unique.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was delicious, service was outstanding, our waiter was very attentive. I will definitely be returning again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Love all the variety!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Overall excellent food options and variety.
Everything we ordered was beautifully presented .
We ordered several small plates between 3 of us and loved and finished all but one!....,we didn't love the Panzanella !...otherwise we will be back !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Celebrated kids going off to college with good friends. Wine flight offered a great opportunity to try a variety of wines. The buku hot pot was delicious. Great appetizers. Extensive menu which made the choice of one dish difficult. It just means that we will have to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Server was great! understood my dad's dietary restrictions and the chef was able to improvise his meal. The menu items that we ordered were delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The brunch options were excellent. Everything was seasoned and prepared very well.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Amazing food! Great experience for the newbies I brought with me. The service was superb for my party of 17!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.