About buku: Global Street Food

110 East Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Located at the corner of Wilmington and Davie Streets in the heart of downtown Raleigh, bu•ku is a local restaurant that tells a global story. The name "bu•ku" itself is an international slang twist on the phrase, "Merci, beaucoup" meaning, "Thank you very much." Inspired by the pushcarts of street vendors across the globe, our chefs harvest an array of unique and distinct flavors and present them authentically, in a virtual kaleidoscope of plates. The common link: these are foods that people love. Working within different regional traditions, our menu brings together complex and flavorful dishes that have been honed over generations. Foods like Filipino Lumpia, Jamaican Lamb Patties and Chinese Steamed Buns can be found on the street corners of Manila, Kingston and Beijing. We strive to convey the immediate thrill a traveler feels eating foods like these as they first cross over the cart and exchange hands into the urban setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Asian, South American

Hours of Operation:
Serving our Full Menu
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am-12am

Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10am-3pm
Sunday Dinner: 5pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Wilmington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 834-6963

Website:
http://www.bukuraleigh.com/

Catering:
We would love to host your next event! Please ask Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for an Events Package and any additional information you need.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet every day after 5pm and during Sunday Brunch. Lunch parking is available in the public deck.


Enter the City Center Parking Deck from Wilmington Street

Take elevator to ground floor; exit out at revolving doors turn left and enter double doors on the left at the corner of Davie and Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Amanda Haisley

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi-private dining rooms are available for parties and special occasions up to 150 guests. Full-facility rentals are available for up to 293 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katherine Darden: (919) 834-6963

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would love to help you plan your next event. Our private and semi-private dining rooms seat parties of 10-150 guests and we have a virtual kaleidoscope of menu options for you to choose from! Please speak with Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Porkbelly Buns - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
  • Pierogi - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
  • Trio Of Creme Brulee - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
  • Plantain Crushed Sea Bass With Mango And Spaghetti Squash - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
  • Korean BBQ - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
  • Viet Cucumber Salad - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC

Report a photo problem

Porkbelly Buns - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
Pierogi - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
Trio Of Creme Brulee - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
Plantain Crushed Sea Bass With Mango And Spaghetti Squash - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
Korean BBQ - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC
Viet Cucumber Salad - buku: Global Street Food, Raleigh, NC

buku: Global Street Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (40)
Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good Vegetarian Options (33)
Fun (29)
Good for Groups (27)
Modern Decor (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Healthy (21)
Tapas (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Business Meals (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Great for Brunch (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Authentic (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Romantic (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Spicy (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Casual (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Vegan (7)
Family Style (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our experience at Buku was amazing. We h ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Our experience at Buku was amazing. We hosted a dinner with business colleagues from out of state and they all raved about the experience. It was easy to book a large group using open table and we had a private room with a very attentive and knowledgable server. Buku made planning for a moderately large group dinner easy. Jason was great - he gave excellent recommendations, attended to everyone's needs and showed extra care in serving our party. In addition, the food was excellent. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely love the food at BuKu. This ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

I absolutely love the food at BuKu. This past sunday 1/15 I went in and it was super duper busy. Hopefully as it gets warmer, outdoor seating becomes available and you wont be able to feel the wait.

I would recommend this brunch to anyone. I wish they at least offered a cocktail (sangria or mimosa) with your meal. Oh well!

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We went there for New Years Eve and the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went there for New Years Eve and the food was pretty good but the price was way over what it should have been. I got the New York Strip and it had a lot of gristle in it so I don't think it was a $200 meal but the flavors were good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

This meal was great. A group of us share ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This meal was great. A group of us shared several sushi rolls, all fantastic. Afterwards we had the crispy duck breast and pad Thai to share. All full of flavor and delicious. Great service, too. We are gluten free and eating GF here is a breeze. Also have to mention the amazing wine. Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very cool waterfall feature in the bar. ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very cool waterfall feature in the bar. We had the duck larb, pork dumplings and shrimp tom yum small plates. the Dumplings and larb were very good. We sent the soup back because the shrimp were tiny and overcooked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great meal with my husband and son befor ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great meal with my husband and son before heading to see the Nutcracker. Loved the variety of food, great flavors that you can't get other places. Will be going back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My family and I had an excellent experie ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My family and I had an excellent experience. The food and service was outstanding and we were very happy with the menu. We discovered Buku from the Happy Cow app because two of our family members are vegan. They have a regular and a separate vegan menu. It's always a pleasure to find a restaurant that accommodates all dietary needs. The portions were large, so you get your money's worth. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the variety of items on the men ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We loved the variety of items on the menu, no one in our group had any trouble finding something to eat. Presentation was beautiful and service was impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Tapas, Outstanding Value, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been there for dinner ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My wife and I have been there for dinner - elegant. My daughters, wife and I have been there for Christmas dinner - festive. My wife and I hosted the Chancellor of UNC Asheville and her husband there - impressed. My family and I had a post-retirement dinner there - reflective. And for the first time Sunday morning, my daughters, their significant others and I hosted brunch for my wife's birthday - awesome.

If Bu*ku was not such a occassion-flexible space with outstanding food and professional service, why would we keep coming back for some of the most significant events in our lives?

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch was fabulous! Delicious f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Sunday brunch was fabulous! Delicious food and attentive service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jason was a wonderful server! He was so ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Jason was a wonderful server! He was so fun and had great recommendations. Thank you Jason!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ordered a handful of small plates, wh ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We ordered a handful of small plates, which were all OK. None of them stood out, none of them made me say "wow," which really surprised me, given the prices. Perhaps we ordered without thinking enough about diversity of selection, but most of the dishes were fried and honestly, felt heavy and greasy to the point that you didn't really taste the ingredients. I only ate a bite or two of each, because I just didn't want that much of that food inside me. Lunch for 3, with 3 alcoholic bevs and 3 specialty coffees, was $140 before tip. That's more than a friend of mine who happened to go to Herons for lunch that same day paid. The service was very good. The ambiance was fine. But ... I love food, and I wish I had found that to be either more interesting or healthier, or both.

Note: I wasn't really sure how to "rate" the noise level. It was lunch, so it was quiet, as it should have been. I'm not sure if I should give that hardly any bars of rating or a lot of bars of rating (low noise, high good).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was top notch. Service was slow sin ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was top notch. Service was slow since it was a busy night and waitress forgot to put in our drink order but otherwise a great restaurant and will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot for our holiday work function ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great spot for our holiday work function. I would highly recommend and will absolutely return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This a great place to go when you have a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This a great place to go when you have a group that can't decide on one specific food region. Be ready to share dishes and tapas! I highly recommend this fun downtown spot with excellent service, drinks and dishes.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Tapas, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

As always we were pleased with everythin ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

As always we were pleased with everything at buku!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Spicy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! We had the private dining roo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Fantastic! We had the private dining room and everything was amazing. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is probably my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This is probably my favorite restaurant in Raleigh. Technically All you can eat buffet, with a wide selection will leave you feeling full very quickly. Omelette station & fruits are so delicious. I have been in at least 4 times since I moved to Raleigh 2 months ago. Great choice! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations but waited over half ho ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Had reservations but waited over half hour--- be prepared, its busy for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the food was good. Our friends needed g ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

the food was good. Our friends needed gluton free and we were able to get that. Our server was there when we wanted her, and not when we didn't need her.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tapas and large plates combination t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The tapas and large plates combination theme is refreshing, and incorporating so many cuisines into this tapas centric menu is necessary in a food forward spot like buku inhabits. The service was very good, perhaps to the point of interrupting, but always brief and cordial. For the cost of the meal, not cheap but aperitive in downtown Raleigh, we split several small dishes and a large bibimbap. The dishes, Perogies to Filipino Lumpia were unalike and to my novice tastes authentic. I had a pleasant meal, long and venturing. The atmosphere screams modern asian, for parties and young professionals but the intimacy and lighting something more personal. Buku is more a celebratory spot for groups or a drink at the bar than a date night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had to make a last minute change in o ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had to make a last minute change in our original plans because additional friends wanted to join us for dinner. buku accepted out late reservation. Everything was ready when we arrived, even though we were early. The service was great. The food was wonderful. We are already talking about going back when our groups get together next month.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love that this restaurant is withing wal ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Love that this restaurant is withing walking distance of the Raleigh Memorial Auditorium and open early enough to have a leisurely dinner before a 7:00 performance. One can park once and go to the restaurant and the performance. Fun for a group of 4 or more adventurous diners who like to taste a lot of different foods and share. Definitely not the same old-same old that so many menus offer.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a variety of the small plates and th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Had a variety of the small plates and the duck. All were excellent. Wait staff helpful and friendly

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed being able to experience food ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We enjoyed being able to experience food that was different but not way out there. Lots of choices and all of it was great. They were also very accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious meal. Great service. I had t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Delicious meal. Great service. I had the Korean Bibimbap which was perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Healthy, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

What more can I say! My sevcond visit an ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 5, 2016

What more can I say! My sevcond visit and I hope to return a sap. It is an outstanding restaurant!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Bit pricey, especially for c ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food! Bit pricey, especially for cocktails, but still worth it. Definitely would recommend. Average price for 2 people ~$100.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great night out with friends, tasty and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great night out with friends, tasty and good selection of everything :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great staff and food. Always enjoy comin ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great staff and food. Always enjoy coming back and trying something new.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the variety Buku offers and the opp ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Love the variety Buku offers and the opportunity to try different foods and flavors. The food is creative, well prepared and tasty. The service was excellent. Good place to be with family and friends where you can actually have a conversation and hear each other talk.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the menu and food here. We made a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Love the menu and food here. We made a meal off the small plates and it was fun to get full eating lots of different things.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Modern Decor, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect brunch for our needs, disappoint ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Perfect brunch for our needs, disappointed we had to be at the airport by 12, and Nc state law could not have drinks until 12 noon. Next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic! I suggest going earl ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was fantastic! I suggest going early for brunch before the crowds!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was good enough that we fit in ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service was good enough that we fit in a pre-concert meal between 6:15 and 7:45 pm, table of four. Had time to order two-rounds of small plates plus dessert. Waitstaff always showed up when we were ready to order, and turned the check around quickly when time was short. Food was tasty and interesting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

One of our favorite restaurants in the t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in the triangle! Incredible chef; good wines and amoro; fabulous service; exquisite flavors.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to BuKu for our three ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife and I went to BuKu for our three year anniversary. It was our first time at this location. My wife is also six months pregnant, so we had requested special seating. We were very surprised and enjoyed our experience. Dan was our waiter. He was very informative and helpful in selecting dishes. Our next visit will be to try the Sunday brunch. Thanks again to BuKu for a most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was average. It's not a bad place, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was average. It's not a bad place, it is loud. The food came out sporadically. It's a better fit for a large happy hour gathering.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

In town for the weekend. Wanted a quick ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

In town for the weekend. Wanted a quick bite and was easy walk from downtown hotels. I ate late at the bar my first night in town and was pleased with food choices. Columbian pan de queso. YUM! Love the dipping sauce and Filipino Lumpia was well thought out. It was spicy but cooled by the salad. So I brought a group the next night. We dined outside as the evening was temperate. We ravaged the sushi choices- the Hawaiian Tuna Poke and Vishna were outrageously delicious. Empanadas excellent. Definitely try the trilogy of cream brulee. Could not find any love of the Japanese Deviled eggs - a little rubbery and bland. Overall - this is a hot spot for gastronomic pleasure. Something for everyone, reasonably priced.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Bar Seating, Casual, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved the place! Food was outstanding ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We loved the place! Food was outstanding; service excellent. We did dinner before Spamalot at Duke Energy. Will be back for sure!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.