About buku: Global Street Food

110 East Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Located at the corner of Wilmington and Davie Streets in the heart of downtown Raleigh, bu•ku is a local restaurant that tells a global story. The name "bu•ku" itself is an international slang twist on the phrase, "Merci, beaucoup" meaning, "Thank you very much." Inspired by the pushcarts of street vendors across the globe, our chefs harvest an array of unique and distinct flavors and present them authentically, in a virtual kaleidoscope of plates. The common link: these are foods that people love. Working within different regional traditions, our menu brings together complex and flavorful dishes that have been honed over generations. Foods like Filipino Lumpia, Jamaican Lamb Patties and Chinese Steamed Buns can be found on the street corners of Manila, Kingston and Beijing. We strive to convey the immediate thrill a traveler feels eating foods like these as they first cross over the cart and exchange hands into the urban setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Asian, South American

Hours of Operation:
Serving our Full Menu
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am-12am

Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10am-3pm
Sunday Dinner: 5pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Wilmington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 834-6963

Website:
http://www.bukuraleigh.com/

Catering:
We would love to host your next event! Please ask Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for an Events Package and any additional information you need.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet every day after 5pm and during Sunday Brunch. Lunch parking is available in the public deck.


Enter the City Center Parking Deck from Wilmington Street

Take elevator to ground floor; exit out at revolving doors turn left and enter double doors on the left at the corner of Davie and Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Amanda Haisley

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi-private dining rooms are available for parties and special occasions up to 150 guests. Full-facility rentals are available for up to 293 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katherine Darden: 9198346963x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would love to help you plan your next event. Our private and semi-private dining rooms seat parties of 10-150 guests and we have a virtual kaleidoscope of menu options for you to choose from! Please speak with Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Porkbelly Buns
  • Pierogi
  • Trio Of Creme Brulee
  • Plantain Crushed Sea Bass With Mango And Spaghetti Squash
  • Korean BBQ
  • Viet Cucumber Salad
Porkbelly Buns
Pierogi
Trio Of Creme Brulee
Plantain Crushed Sea Bass With Mango And Spaghetti Squash
Korean BBQ
Viet Cucumber Salad

buku: Global Street Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Fit for Foodies (97)
Special Occasion (84)
Good for Groups (79)
See All
Great for Brunch (48)
Romantic (46)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Hot Spot (35)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Late-night Find (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Tapas (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Scenic View (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Cozy (6)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (3)
Casual (3)
Spicy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2226 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Epicureans take heed! Buku: Global Stree ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Epicureans take heed! Buku: Global Street Food will wake up your senses and leave you yearning for more! We had Korean BBQ Bibimbap. It is a fragrant, lovely dish which will titillate all of your senses. It comes in a large bowl that is sectioned off by its beautiful veggies. The colors of the exotic vegetables vibrant greens, yellows and purple. Simply stunning! The steak melts in your mouth. It is succulent. The rice at the bottom of the bowl is crunchy and deeply fragrant with the spices in the dish. Each bite I took revealed a different texture and flavor combination. It tastes...sublime.

We ordered dessert Filipino Halo-Halo, "a

parfait of coconut custard, sweetened plantains, guava sauce, and purple sweet potato ice cream." The fruits were exotic and I must say a little intimidating! The dish was fabulous! Again a plethora of colors and textures. The coconut meat was fresh and tasted of the tropics. The entire presentation was visually stunning! It tasted of warm fragrant nights bathed in luxurious sweetness!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I live close to Buku and enjoy eating th ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I live close to Buku and enjoy eating there a lot. This past visit was just perfect, though. Told the waiter we were out on a second date, and he provided exceptional service and really helped make the evening special. The food was fantastic, as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

BUKU is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

BUKU is one of my favorite restaurants in the city. I have dined here multiple times and have loved trying out their unique take on street food. I love their dessert menu - the Filipino Halo Halo is a must try. Being a vegetarian doesn't restrict me from trying some of their signature dishes since they offer vegetarian substitutes. An accommodating kitchen is what makes me go back to this place quite often.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and comfort of the restaurant w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food and comfort of the restaurant was outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great meal. Never disappointed ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always a great meal. Never disappointed. The mussels are always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my wife here for our anniversary an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Took my wife here for our anniversary and the food and service was excellent. Definitely plan to return to try additional items on the menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tapas, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not good. Very dissatisfied and disappo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Not good. Very dissatisfied and disappointed. We were there before and enjoyed the place and food, this time we took a family group for a night out and food was mediocre to bad. We felt really bad to have taken our family from out of town to a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great restaurant - had the best waiter! ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great restaurant - had the best waiter! We were celebrating a promotion, and although we were not brought out the glasses of Prosecco when seated (as noted in my reservation additional notes) after asking for them, they were quickly brought out and eventually comped. We had never been to Buku before but will definitely be returning:) Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about everything on the menu and was able to quickly answer any questions we had. The food and drinks were AMAZING - I would highly recommend this to all of my friends.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I with friends have been to ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My wife and I with friends have been to BUKU many times and are always pleased with the food, service and everything. My only negative comment this time was that the roast was particularly rare making it a bit chewy and less appetizing that previous occasions when the mean was cooked a bit better.

Probably one of the best items on the buffet was the fried chicken. It was moist, very tasty but not greasy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall okay. The service was good, but ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Overall okay. The service was good, but the food was definitely lacking for how much you pay for it. I had the duck confit, which was much too fatty to eat most of it. The other entrees were underwhelming. The cocktails were alright.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My fiance and I went for Sunday brunch b ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My fiance and I went for Sunday brunch buffet. Some of the food was cold and just not good. I was not impressed at all and it wasn't work the $22 per person price. I have eaten dinner at Buku twice before and enjoyed both times. I would definitely NOT recommend brunch. It's a waste of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We went for Sunday brunch, which our ser ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch, which our server described as "a little more Americanized." Huge selection of traditional breakfast foods, omelet station, waffle station, carving station, lots of hot food selections, and plenty of great looking salads that most people were just admiring as they passed by on the way to the other food. There were a few ethnic selections--biryani, curried veggies, breakfast burritos--and ample vegetarian selections. Everything is fresh and well prepared. A little pricey ($21 apiece for adults) but you can stay there and eat all morning if you're so inclined. Good desserts, too. Service was extremely friendly and efficient. We are planning to go back for the global street food menu some night soon.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We wouldn't have got a table if we hadn ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We wouldn't have got a table if we hadn't booked through open table. The place was extremely busy. Had to wait an extra 20 minutes as our table was not ready, but that was okay. I got the buku Ramin dish, it was delicious! Even though it was busy the waiter was attentive and polite. Would go back again, but avoid a Saturday night!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a great modern restaurant. The m ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is a great modern restaurant. The menu is unique, but is best for special occasions. Beautiful upscale dining experience. I brought out of town guests here during a visit to Raleigh, and they said it was a great showcase to the Raleigh experience. The floor plan is more open, so maybe not so great for an intimate evening, but it is a great place for get together's, special occasions, and to get unique food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved, loved, LOVED this place. Will dri ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Loved, loved, LOVED this place. Will drive up from Fayetteville just to dine here again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Hot Spot, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was such a great night for my birthday. ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Was such a great night for my birthday. I always make my cake and the staff was so helpful even cutting it for us and serving it like it was something offered on the menu. The service was exceptional and the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fabulous night. Took our niece out ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Had a fabulous night. Took our niece out for her 21st birthday and our waiter played right along. Super food and excellent drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch was fantastic as always! F ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Sunday Brunch was fantastic as always! Food is always very tasty and plentiful. All new wait staff so service for drinks, refills , plate removal from table and check were extremely slow.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

We were looking for somewhere to grab br ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were looking for somewhere to grab brunch before leaving Raleigh and this was a perfect walking distance from our hotel. It wasn't very busy but it was pretty chaotic because they're not organized very well (made to order items and toasters should be on the ends of the table lines, not in the middle). I was craving bacon but the omelet line was so backed up and no one even had room to move so I could grab some, so I had to go back after a bit. Our server was sweet but awful, we were at a small 2-person table and I was done with my second plate (including bacon!) before the first was taken away. We had to flag her down for drink refills. Overall though, it was very good, just the organization was a bit off for Sunday brunch, especially at the price point. But if we are back in Raleigh, we may try it for drinks or dinner sometime.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Food selection for brunch is amazing. I ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food selection for brunch is amazing. I have yet to be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter was excellent (wish I remembe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The waiter was excellent (wish I remembered his name). Very careful with explanations, wine pairings, etc. Very attentive to food sensitivities. The food was excellent. It was a bit noisy for me, but most restaurants seem to be. It appears to be a trend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pad thai and duck were both great.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The pad thai and duck were both great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came for Restaurant Week and the plac ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We came for Restaurant Week and the place was crowded. That probably explains why the food wasn't as outstanding as the 1st time I went. The waiter was very attentive in spite of the crowd.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Buku was amazing, as always. Excellent f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Buku was amazing, as always. Excellent food, excellent service, great options.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience for our Anni ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful dining experience for our Anniversary. Service is very friendly and the food was delicious. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Every time we go to buku we have a wonde ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Every time we go to buku we have a wonderful experience. While we have our go-to favorites we like to try new things, this time it was the Aloo Chana Chaat... a spicy potato cake that was very different and very good. And the drinks are good and original as well, definitly want to have another Strawbanero Sling! Server was -- as usual -- very attentive and professional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited Buku for Restaurant Week. Specia ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Visited Buku for Restaurant Week. Special menu was very good. Great creative choices.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and I loved having so man ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was great and I loved having so many GF options. Only thing we were disappointed about was that there was no cast iron bowl for the bimbimbap.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Left halfway through dinner. Our sushi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Left halfway through dinner. Our sushi roll (caterpillar roll) was good. The pan seared dumplings were adequate. The mussels ended up making my wife sick and our pork buns were sent back twice (once for a bug and second time for being large pieces of grisly fat without any meat). Yes I understand it's pork belly but it was extremely low quality. Server was kind and tried but poor performance by the kitchen and no apology from management despite bringing us the check was unforgivable. Will never go back! Avoid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Food was extremely disappointing. Steak ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was extremely disappointing. Steak was very fatty - not a $34 cut of meat! Pad Thai sauce was very over seasoned. Sickeningly sweet/tangy. Very little chicken added. Sea bass was a bit dry. Overall not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Wonderful ambiance!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

First visit for a birthday Sunday brunch ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

First visit for a birthday Sunday brunch. Very good selection . Enough vegetarian items for the non meat eater. Great sweet potato salad. One member of our party opted for an omlette with quite an assortment of ingredients. There is a patio, but weather too humid the day we went.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We went for Sunday Brunch. The food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We went for Sunday Brunch. The food was excellent and there was a wide variety of choices. The omelet station was fast and the chefs were very attentive. All in all we had a very good meal without ever feeling rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

BuKu never disappoints! The food is amaz ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

BuKu never disappoints! The food is amazing, no matter what you try, the drinks are original and the restaurant is chic and fun. I went with a large group and we were easily accomodated and had no problems getting a reasonably timed reservation. I love BuKu for a special occasion or just a tasty meal out!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've only been here twice, but I was blo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I've only been here twice, but I was blown away both times. Great service, food, creativity, cocktails, everything!!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have gone to Buku many times and this ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have gone to Buku many times and this time did not disappoint. The table shared several wonderful appetizers. The only issue was one of our group ordered "vegetarian" ribs and she received normal pork ribs, another ordered salmon rare and it was more cooked than it should have been. The waiter immediately fixed the situation with no issues what so ever. This is our "go to" when we are taking someone new to dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were at the restaurant for a business ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were at the restaurant for a business meeting. We did not appreciate stepping away to the bathroom and having our portfolios removed from the table and the table cleared off of all other items. We felt as if we were being rushed off and that our business was no longer needed.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The menu has been reduced along with the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The menu has been reduced along with the wine menu. Food is good, but the multiple options are no longer available. Had to wait, even with a reservation, but not as long as others with reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Different food downtown - nicely decorat ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Different food downtown - nicely decorated, comfortable and uncrowded seating. Food was excellent and diverse. Service was attentive. Great experience all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.