Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About buku: Global Street Food

Located at the corner of Wilmington and Davie Streets in the heart of downtown Raleigh, bu•ku is a local restaurant that tells a global story. The name "bu•ku" itself is an international slang twist on the phrase, "Merci, beaucoup" meaning, "Thank you very much." Inspired by the pushcarts of street vendors across the globe, our chefs harvest an array of unique and distinct flavors and present them authentically, in a virtual kaleidoscope of plates. The common link: these are foods that people love. Working within different regional traditions, our menu brings together complex and flavorful dishes that have been honed over generations. Foods like Filipino Lumpia, Jamaican Lamb Patties and Chinese Steamed Buns can be found on the street corners of Manila, Kingston and Beijing. We strive to convey the immediate thrill a traveler feels eating foods like these as they first cross over the cart and exchange hands into the urban setting.

110 East Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Asian, South American

Hours of Operation:
Serving our Full Menu
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am-12am

Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10am-3pm
Sunday Dinner: 5pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Wilmington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 834-6963

Website:
http://www.bukuraleigh.com/

Catering:
We would love to host your next event! Please ask Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for an Events Package and any additional information you need.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet every day after 5pm and during Sunday Brunch. Lunch parking is available in the public deck.


Enter the City Center Parking Deck from Wilmington Street

Take elevator to ground floor; exit out at revolving doors turn left and enter double doors on the left at the corner of Davie and Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Amanda Haisley

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi-private dining rooms are available for parties and special occasions up to 150 guests. Full-facility rentals are available for up to 293 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katherine Darden: (919) 834-6963

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would love to help you plan your next event. Our private and semi-private dining rooms seat parties of 10-150 guests and we have a virtual kaleidoscope of menu options for you to choose from! Please speak with Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for more information.

buku: Global Street Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (67)
Special Occasion (64)
Fit for Foodies (55)
See All
Good for a Date (51)
Modern Decor (42)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good Vegetarian Options (37)
Good for Groups (36)
Tapas (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Worth the Drive (28)
Romantic (27)
Business Meals (25)
Healthy (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Fun (23)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Spicy (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Tasting Menu (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Authentic (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Casual (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
People Watching (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Vegan (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great Beer (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Family Style (4)
Private Room (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
2484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined a day ago

Birthday. Great cake

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

First of all our server Diana was AWESOME!! She was very knowledgeable about all the food and made some great recommendations. This was our first time here and it won't be our last. The food can be best described as a tasting of some of the best foods from around the world. We had the sweet potato pierogis which were like having dessert for an appetizer. They were soft and fluffy and the fillings was delicious!! We also had the ahi tuna poke which was very fresh!! The last small plate we tried were the pork dumplings and they were a little spicy and perfectly made.

For the main course we had the Filipino Duck Adobo and the Argentinian Short Rib. My wife and I split both dishes and the duck was beautifully prepared duck breast with a nice generous serving of shredded duck leg with a side of coconut rice topped off with a sunny side duck egg. I don't like coconut but that coconut rice was AMAZING!! When the yolk burst all over the coconut rice and you ate it with the duck it was a taste bud explosion. The Argentinian short rib was very tender and you could almost cut it with the fork and it came with side of chimichurri rice with a side of espresso mole which was spicy. To finish we had the warm apple tart which just finished us off and I was in total food heaven!!

Both dishes were amazing and we will definitely be coming back to try some of the other cuisines from around the world. I have my eye on the ramen bowl with pork belly.

Great job to the chef and owner of this unique concept for a restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

A great menu for Sunday brunch. Wide selection, delicious !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and very nice service....you couldn't ask for more choices

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

What an awesome experience. The food was simply incredible. I had the pork belly special and the flavors were sublime.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great with nice ambiance! 'Will definitely recommend this place! We will be coming back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Fantastic food, lounge like seating in the bar area is so comfortable!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I have loved this restaurant for several years, but was rather disappointed with the sushi :-(

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tapas, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was outstanding. I had the crepe which was very good. Two others at our table had the salmon and said it was excellent. The fourth had the short ribs and and also thought they were outstanding. Chef Amanda came over to our table to say hi which was quite a treat! Very delicious and enjoyable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This was our first time here, and we will definitely be back. Service was excellent and the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent variety of global cuisine on a manageable menu. My party of four ordered a variety of small plates from several different traditions - Japanese, Polish, Colombian, Filipino, etc. Everything was good, the empanadas and pierogi were my favorites. Probably won't order the Tuna Poke again.

Cocktails were good overall. Server was excellent; responsive and witty but not all up in our business. Lively atmosphere but we were able to carry on a conversation at our table just fine.

I would highly recommend, and will definitely return to BuKu.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First time diners there. Fantastic menu, food and service. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was great. We had a party of six and everyone thought their food was fantastic. The service was good until we finished our meal, then no water.... guess it was time to get out so they could turn the table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Zane was a great waiter, entrees and appetizers were out quickly and tasted amazing. We're eat at again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was spectacular. It was crowded but there was also a big game on tv so I'm sure that added to things. Our server seemed a bit overwhelmed and took a while to even acknowledge us-again I'll blame that on the game. Overall, we will definitely go back for that amazing food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Tapas, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My friends and I dined at Buku before going to a show. They were very accommodating before that night, allowing me to change the reservation multiple times, and when we were late due to traffic, they didn't give us any grief, which was appreciated! The food and ambience were fabulous. The pierogis, caterpillar roll and crab flautas in particular were excellent. Great wine list and cocktails as well. I look forward to going back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food and excellent service. Highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

very varied menu with Asian fusion flair. appetizers are interesting. Attentive service. Food is well prepared and presented. Creme brulee trio is a favorite. Wish for some variation of entrees over time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The food and service was great. I ordered the sea bass and it came out cooked perfectly. I loved the flavors and presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Their Sunday brunch was great and the service was awesome! Definitely would recommend them. They accommodate larger parties and make it a more intimate experience by setting up larger tables in separate dining rooms

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Worst meal I have had in years. I've been coming to Buku for many years, several times a year. I could always count on great food prepared in interesting ways. My dinner the other night was just plain awful. I ordered the cucumber salad which was just some cumber slices with a spicy sauce and some foo-foos on top. For the entree I ordered "Banh Xeo." The crepe was poorly made altho the taste was not bad. But there was an enormous chunk of unprepared bock choy on top, sticking up in the air perhaps 6-8 inches. What was that all about? And it came with some uncooked vegetable rolls which I could not eat. The wrapping (I think) was cabbage and I couldn't get get my teeth through it. So they sat. Awful, just god awful food experience.
What happened at Buku?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I came on a business lunch and received incredibly slow and sporadic service. The food was good,

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We actually had a reservation on Saturday on the 25 th and forgot to cancel Sunday on the 26th. We went on the 25th . My wife was VERY impressed with the young man DONNIE! She liked the fact that he took the time to try to teach us how to use chop sticks. She said he was a genuine people person. I drove 150 miles to Raleigh Nc. to take my wife to the Shen Yun show for our anniversary and dinner was icing on the cake! If wife is happy I am happy! I will promote this restaurant's impeccable service and food to everyone I know!

sincerely,

Ronnie McGlone

Tags: Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

At least half the meal selections were way too spicy and not obvious from the food description

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Another excellent visit topped off by another round of perfect crème brûlée. Visiting one of my favorite restaurants in Raleigh made for a great birthday!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food (appetizers in particular) were delicious. Portions were well-sized and flavorful. The ambience was very nice for a romantic birthday dinner.

Food selection is great as well. There are multiple options depending on your food needs and everything we had was very flavorful.

The service was decent but not the best. However, the restaurant was rather crowded with one large group in particular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Cool spot downtown Raleigh. If it's nice, sit out on the veranda and people watch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Restaurant week got us hooked, so the girlfriend and I had to come back to try more of the regular menu. We're now convinced that it's impossible for Buku to disappoint. Service was excellent, the appetizers were incredible, and the entrees were wholly unique. Now begins the long process of trying everything on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

13 guests for my birthday celebration. It was perfect. The food was incredible.

Tags: Hot Spot, Spicy, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food was delicious, and the presentation was gorgeous. Our waiter, Josh, was exceptional. My first time there and place is lovely. I cannot wait to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful! This place definitely has a great niche in the Raleigh market. Keep up the great work!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I Don't Recommend to go anyone for Sunday Brunch , The Quality of food is worse , Maybe If i go back will prefer Lunch or Dinner ..

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fabulous food, comfortable dining, easy parking. The brunch choices are broad. Great for everyone.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was wonderful as usual. And the staff was polite and courtesy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We visited BuKu as a party of 14 people and they did a great job serving us. Our waiter was attentive and professional at all times.
The food was excellent and I several of my friends who attended this dinner are already thinking of visiting back soon. All praised the quality of food. Everything I tasted was delicious. Some friends are vegetarian and they also praised the vegetarian plates.
A great option downtown Raleigh, really close to all bar and great for groups! A must try. We will come back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a reservation and waited a bit to be seated, but after that it was an amazing meal with great service from Justin. The food was absolutely delicious and I would eat there again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Tapas, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We found the menu to be very interesting and our kids were very intrigued by the food variety. We thought that the food was very authentic tasting and we will go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food and wonderful atmosphere. Wait staff top notch

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was our third time at Buku. All of our visits have been great. If you have a larger group, I'd suggest making sure you are seated in the dining room. The bar is noisier and not as good for conversations among larger groups (more than 4).

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our waiter Josh was very friendly and helpful. His New Zealand accent was great! He was patient with us during our indecisive orders. He always had a smile on his face. He made our visit to Bu.Ku even better. This was our second time dinning here. We are in love with the Halo-Halo dessert! Please keep this on the menu!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Casual, Authentic, Spicy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.