Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About buku: Global Street Food

Located at the corner of Wilmington and Davie Streets in the heart of downtown Raleigh, bu•ku is a local restaurant that tells a global story. The name "bu•ku" itself is an international slang twist on the phrase, "Merci, beaucoup" meaning, "Thank you very much." Inspired by the pushcarts of street vendors across the globe, our chefs harvest an array of unique and distinct flavors and present them authentically, in a virtual kaleidoscope of plates. The common link: these are foods that people love. Working within different regional traditions, our menu brings together complex and flavorful dishes that have been honed over generations. Foods like Filipino Lumpia, Jamaican Lamb Patties and Chinese Steamed Buns can be found on the street corners of Manila, Kingston and Beijing. We strive to convey the immediate thrill a traveler feels eating foods like these as they first cross over the cart and exchange hands into the urban setting.

110 East Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Asian, South American

Hours of Operation:
Serving our Full Menu
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am-12am

Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10am-3pm
Sunday Dinner: 5pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Wilmington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 834-6963

Website:
http://www.bukuraleigh.com/

Catering:
We would love to host your next event! Please ask Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for an Events Package and any additional information you need.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet every day after 5pm and during Sunday Brunch. Lunch parking is available in the public deck.


Enter the City Center Parking Deck from Wilmington Street

Take elevator to ground floor; exit out at revolving doors turn left and enter double doors on the left at the corner of Davie and Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Amanda Haisley

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi-private dining rooms are available for parties and special occasions up to 150 guests. Full-facility rentals are available for up to 293 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katherine Darden: (919) 834-6963

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would love to help you plan your next event. Our private and semi-private dining rooms seat parties of 10-150 guests and we have a virtual kaleidoscope of menu options for you to choose from! Please speak with Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for more information.

buku: Global Street Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (79)
Special Occasion (67)
Fit for Foodies (61)
See All
Good for a Date (58)
Modern Decor (48)
Good Vegetarian Options (43)
Good for Groups (40)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Tapas (38)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Worth the Drive (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Romantic (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Authentic (24)
Great for Brunch (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Spicy (23)
Healthy (23)
Fun (23)
Business Meals (22)
Tasting Menu (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Casual (20)
People Watching (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Cozy (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Vegan (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Great Beer (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Family Style (8)
Private Room (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Scenic View (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
2525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined a day ago

Great outdoor atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Great outdoor eating available. I was able to talk to my guest and enjoyed the wonderful food at the speed I wanted

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Always professional, always welcoming, always accommodating. Thank you for your high standards and consistency.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved the variety of foods! We sampled about 10 plates with our group and each was distinctive and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a reservation so we got seated immediately and waiter approached us soon after. Appetizers came out fast, but the entrees took some time and then we had to rush to make it to the ballet in time. The hummus was just OK and I thought the pita bread was tasteless. My entree was a Vietnamese Salad that was good, but there were some hot peppers in that dish that will set your mouth on fire for 20 min unless you can cut the burn with rice or milk (the waiter did warn me that it was spicy when I ordered). The Filipino lumpia that I had was just OK; the lumpia shell was hard and greasy so overcooked IMO. This restaurant worked for a pre-theatre venue, but I don't find the food so good that I would make a trip downtown just to eat here. This was my second time eating at this restaurant and my opinion was the same both times.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great dining experience! Waiter was knowledgeable, friendly and made our time constraints work.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was very good, but the service was not. Our party of four each ordered different things, but with no appetizers, our meal took nearly 2 hours. We would have ordered dessery, but we had ballet tickets and had to rush out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Second time there and again, was pleased with our overall dining experience. Is large enough that is not too difficult to get open table reservations, which we did each time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good food and atmosphere but service was not ver tentative. We had a party of six and our waiter only came by three times.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Wonderful experience. Would recommend going for small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very cool outdoor seating. Enjoyed getting several small plates for the table try share & get to try everything

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our waiter Jason was amazing so grateful for him!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Wonderful first visit for a pre-theater dinner. Because of traffic, we were a bit rushed so did not have time to try the incredible small plates offered. Global? When you see pierogies as well Indian Naan and Columbian Pan de Queso, you know you have variety.
We both chose the Ramen Big Bowl: roasted Heritage Farms pork belly, pulled pork shoulder, twenty-four hour shoyu broth, roasted shiitake mushrooms, soft poached Latta Farms egg, pickled radish, wakame, black garlic-sesame oil. I cannot imagine anything more delicious.
We were sorry we were rushed, but we will be back to this lovely and unique restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Interesting menu choices. We enjoyed the poke and pho.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a very special meal at Buku. We were celebrating a birthday and our server took excellent care of us. We had great dishes and sparkling wine and they even brought us dessert. A very memorable evening for both of us.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have been to Buku numerous times for brunch. This is the first time I received such mediocre service. Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Best brunch in Raleigh hands down. Every Sunday. Tons of options. Great food. Great price. Great staff.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was too warm in the restaurant. I was sweating from the minute I sat down.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Besides being seated in a little 2 person table tucked in the corner surrounded by big family tables we absolutley loved this place! Brunch was great, service was great, we will def be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I love this Sunday brunch a couple times a year. Good coffee, service. We always make a reservation. There is such a variety and it's beautifully arranged.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Sunday brunch buffet - large variety of both breakfast and lunch items. Carving stations and dessert stations were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

buku was truly an exceptional experience! We drove over to Raleigh to attend a concert and made a reservation. They have all kinds of street food and everything we ordered was absolutely delicious. Truly an excellent restaurant and we look forward to going back!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Family Style, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Love the different options they have, location is great and Service was good as well. Dessert is a must!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

3 generations came to the restaurant - me, my daughters and their children. My oldest daughter and granddaughter had never been there before and they absolutely loved it! It's a beautiful place with amazing food that I have enjoyed many times and I will come back again and again. Also, the staff is awesome.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Having eaten at this location since it was FIN and probably about twenty times since it became bu ku I must say that my most current visit presented many new experiences, none of them positive. It began when we arrived at 7 and were led to our table in "time-out" corner on the other side of the wall. My wife and I have always enjoyed the ambiance of the dining room and don't know why diners are relegated to the dead zone when the restaurant is not close to full. We sat in that space (the only diners back there) feeling cut off from the restaurant and my wife with a view of a bored, disengaged staff and the door to the men's room. Maybe some wine would help. Our waiter appeared and demanded an ID from my wife in order to serve her. We thought it was a joke but he persisted and said if she would not provide one, the only way he could serve us was if I provided ID. I asked for a manager. He asked if I was an ALE officer. Request for a manager again. He replied he would bring a glass of wine. We are both in our mid 60's. First two plates came promptly. Then about a 25 minute wait for the next two. I feel bad writing this review. We have always enjoyed our time at this restaurant, but will not be returning. This was not a $100 meal, not close, and there is too much to choose from in Raleigh these days.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Delicious food & incredibly warm & friendly service! Highly recommend the lumpia, pierogies, empanadas and Vietnamese crepe!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great service and outdoor dining area. Perfect for before a show at the theater just a couple blocks away. But food was disappointing - okay, but not great. Probably won't go back except maybe for wine on patio.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Enjoyed dining at BuKu as usual. Salmon was particularly outstanding. Great place to hit before a show at Duke Energy Center, a 5 minute walk away.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My husband & I met a couple of friends after church service for Sunday brunch. The service & food was excellent. I typically do not like buffet restaurants but I must admit, this was the first time I really enjoyed my food. The only thing my husband and I had a problem with was the valet person did not open my door. However, he opened my husbands door. That would be the only complaint I would have.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was delicious, wait was a bit (20 minutes late with a reservation), and then I had to grab the hostess to get our server as we sat for another 10 minutes with no service. Other than that, experience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent cuisine! Superb presentation. Waiter knowledgeable, good suggestions and menu knowledge. This was especially important given the menus global menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I had two friends visiting for a Birthday weekend. We wanted to try something different. One of my friends that travels all over the USA for business frequently enjoys fine dining and loves original local food. She said that it was one of the most interesting and best meals she has had in years! Our server made fantastic recommendations and they treated my other friend to an awesome Birthday desert. It was my first visit. I will definitely recommend to others and return again. Great dining experience.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, People Watching, Happy Hour, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was amazing and there were plenty of gluten free options!! Jason was our server and he was great, attentive and quick! Thanks for making my husband's birthday dinner amazing!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I brought a group of out-of-state colleagues for dinner, and every one of them raved about the atmosphere and the food. Our server Jason was top-notch. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Most in our party were there for the 1st time. All thought the food was fabulous!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Amazing food & wait staff! Always a good experience. Can never go wrong with Buku!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Awesome food, wonderful service and fabulous ambiance!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

They have small plates for sharing as well as large entrees. I really like the tapas style so all 4 of us got to experience over a half a dozen different plates. And it was reasonably quiet enough to actually carry on a conversation without being drowned out by the tables next door. I thought it was a bit pricey but that is likely due to location downtown.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We had a great meal for 9 people. Service was excellent, with excellent suggestions about menu options. Waiter was very patient, listened to our questions and possible preferences and made excellent suggestions that met our needs better than our original choices. I tried dishes I would have never ordered on my own and am so glad I did. Our waiter took great care of us. He was also very efficient in helping us meet our time limitations to attend a local concert. Everything we ate was very good. We will be back.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.