About buku: Global Street Food

110 East Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Located at the corner of Wilmington and Davie Streets in the heart of downtown Raleigh, bu•ku is a local restaurant that tells a global story. The name "bu•ku" itself is an international slang twist on the phrase, "Merci, beaucoup" meaning, "Thank you very much." Inspired by the pushcarts of street vendors across the globe, our chefs harvest an array of unique and distinct flavors and present them authentically, in a virtual kaleidoscope of plates. The common link: these are foods that people love. Working within different regional traditions, our menu brings together complex and flavorful dishes that have been honed over generations. Foods like Filipino Lumpia, Jamaican Lamb Patties and Chinese Steamed Buns can be found on the street corners of Manila, Kingston and Beijing. We strive to convey the immediate thrill a traveler feels eating foods like these as they first cross over the cart and exchange hands into the urban setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Asian, South American

Hours of Operation:
Serving our Full Menu
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am-12am

Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10am-3pm
Sunday Dinner: 5pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Wilmington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 834-6963

Website:
http://www.bukuraleigh.com/

Catering:
We would love to host your next event! Please ask Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for an Events Package and any additional information you need.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet every day after 5pm and during Sunday Brunch. Lunch parking is available in the public deck.


Enter the City Center Parking Deck from Wilmington Street

Take elevator to ground floor; exit out at revolving doors turn left and enter double doors on the left at the corner of Davie and Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Amanda Haisley

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi-private dining rooms are available for parties and special occasions up to 150 guests. Full-facility rentals are available for up to 293 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katherine Darden: 9198346963x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We would love to help you plan your next event. Our private and semi-private dining rooms seat parties of 10-150 guests and we have a virtual kaleidoscope of menu options for you to choose from! Please speak with Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Porkbelly Buns
  • Pierogi
  • Trio Of Creme Brulee
  • Plantain Crushed Sea Bass With Mango And Spaghetti Squash
  • Korean BBQ
  • Viet Cucumber Salad
Porkbelly Buns
Pierogi
Trio Of Creme Brulee
Plantain Crushed Sea Bass With Mango And Spaghetti Squash
Korean BBQ
Viet Cucumber Salad

buku: Global Street Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Fit for Foodies (118)
Special Occasion (100)
Good for Groups (88)
See All
Great for Brunch (61)
Romantic (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Hot Spot (42)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Great for Lunch (29)
Notable Wine List (25)
Late-night Find (24)
Kid-friendly (11)
Scenic View (7)
Sort By:
Newest
2203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were looking for somewhere to grab br ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 2 days ago

We were looking for somewhere to grab brunch before leaving Raleigh and this was a perfect walking distance from our hotel. It wasn't very busy but it was pretty chaotic because they're not organized very well (made to order items and toasters should be on the ends of the table lines, not in the middle). I was craving bacon but the omelet line was so backed up and no one even had room to move so I could grab some, so I had to go back after a bit. Our server was sweet but awful, we were at a small 2-person table and I was done with my second plate (including bacon!) before the first was taken away. We had to flag her down for drink refills. Overall though, it was very good, just the organization was a bit off for Sunday brunch, especially at the price point. But if we are back in Raleigh, we may try it for drinks or dinner sometime.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Food selection for brunch is amazing. I ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food selection for brunch is amazing. I have yet to be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter was excellent (wish I remembe ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

The waiter was excellent (wish I remembered his name). Very careful with explanations, wine pairings, etc. Very attentive to food sensitivities. The food was excellent. It was a bit noisy for me, but most restaurants seem to be. It appears to be a trend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pad thai and duck were both great.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

The pad thai and duck were both great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Buku was amazing, as always. Excellent f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Buku was amazing, as always. Excellent food, excellent service, great options.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience for our Anni ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful dining experience for our Anniversary. Service is very friendly and the food was delicious. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Every time we go to buku we have a wonde ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Every time we go to buku we have a wonderful experience. While we have our go-to favorites we like to try new things, this time it was the Aloo Chana Chaat... a spicy potato cake that was very different and very good. And the drinks are good and original as well, definitly want to have another Strawbanero Sling! Server was -- as usual -- very attentive and professional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited Buku for Restaurant Week. Specia ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Visited Buku for Restaurant Week. Special menu was very good. Great creative choices.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and I loved having so man ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was great and I loved having so many GF options. Only thing we were disappointed about was that there was no cast iron bowl for the bimbimbap.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Left halfway through dinner. Our sushi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Left halfway through dinner. Our sushi roll (caterpillar roll) was good. The pan seared dumplings were adequate. The mussels ended up making my wife sick and our pork buns were sent back twice (once for a bug and second time for being large pieces of grisly fat without any meat). Yes I understand it's pork belly but it was extremely low quality. Server was kind and tried but poor performance by the kitchen and no apology from management despite bringing us the check was unforgivable. Will never go back! Avoid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Food was extremely disappointing. Steak ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was extremely disappointing. Steak was very fatty - not a $34 cut of meat! Pad Thai sauce was very over seasoned. Sickeningly sweet/tangy. Very little chicken added. Sea bass was a bit dry. Overall not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Wonderful ambiance!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

First visit for a birthday Sunday brunch ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

First visit for a birthday Sunday brunch. Very good selection . Enough vegetarian items for the non meat eater. Great sweet potato salad. One member of our party opted for an omlette with quite an assortment of ingredients. There is a patio, but weather too humid the day we went.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We went for Sunday Brunch. The food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We went for Sunday Brunch. The food was excellent and there was a wide variety of choices. The omelet station was fast and the chefs were very attentive. All in all we had a very good meal without ever feeling rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

BuKu never disappoints! The food is amaz ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

BuKu never disappoints! The food is amazing, no matter what you try, the drinks are original and the restaurant is chic and fun. I went with a large group and we were easily accomodated and had no problems getting a reasonably timed reservation. I love BuKu for a special occasion or just a tasty meal out!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've only been here twice, but I was blo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I've only been here twice, but I was blown away both times. Great service, food, creativity, cocktails, everything!!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have gone to Buku many times and this ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have gone to Buku many times and this time did not disappoint. The table shared several wonderful appetizers. The only issue was one of our group ordered "vegetarian" ribs and she received normal pork ribs, another ordered salmon rare and it was more cooked than it should have been. The waiter immediately fixed the situation with no issues what so ever. This is our "go to" when we are taking someone new to dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were at the restaurant for a business ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were at the restaurant for a business meeting. We did not appreciate stepping away to the bathroom and having our portfolios removed from the table and the table cleared off of all other items. We felt as if we were being rushed off and that our business was no longer needed.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The menu has been reduced along with the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The menu has been reduced along with the wine menu. Food is good, but the multiple options are no longer available. Had to wait, even with a reservation, but not as long as others with reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Different food downtown - nicely decorat ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Different food downtown - nicely decorated, comfortable and uncrowded seating. Food was excellent and diverse. Service was attentive. Great experience all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was in Raleigh visiting wife's relatives ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Was in Raleigh visiting wife's relatives and decided this would be an interesting spot to try for dinner. Arrived after 9pm and there was plenty of space and plenty quiet. Waiter was super helpful with our questions and sharing his preferences. We ordered a few small plates and shared an entree. Half of the small plates were very good and half we so-so. Entree was delicious as was the sake. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Another enjoyable dinner at Buku! Food ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Another enjoyable dinner at Buku!

Food was delicious as always.

Waitstaff seemed a bit inexperienced.

Recognizing it was a birthday and bringing an extra dessert (complete with candle) was a sweet gesture, but gastronomic overkill, given that we'd already ordered another dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved the ambiance. Greatfoodchoices. L ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved the ambiance. Greatfoodchoices. Liked the tapas style portions so able to taste a variety of foods. Definitely would go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at Buku last Saturd ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a great time at Buku last Saturday. Our waiter, Justin, was attentive, witty, and very knowledgeable. We enjoyed the food and our wine selection worked well with our food. Justin recommendation was right on the mark. My salmon was overdone. I could have sent it back but I didn't want to ruin the mood and flow of our table. Our friends were at Buku for the first time and they had a good time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food beautifully plated.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food beautifully plated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First visit for anniversary dinner. Ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

First visit for anniversary dinner. Service was fantastic - server was very knowledgeable of the menu and answered any questions we had and was very pleasant. The food was beautifully presented and was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was beautiful to look at and de ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was beautiful to look at and delectable to eat, so it was a terrific experience for all of us. The waitress was wonderful--cheerful, helpful and very accommodating. It was a lovely dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My first experience at Buku was incredib ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My first experience at Buku was incredible! The server was knowledgable about the menu and wine list. She offered fabulous recommendations and was attentive to our requests. I have dairy and gluten allergies, which can make eating out very difficult. I was so pleased with the gluten free menu, and our server made sure to accommodate my dairy-free needs. I had dinner with a friend and we shared the grilled pineapple-coconut gazpacho, tuna tataki roll, and Korean BBQ bibimbap. Everything was absolutely delicious! I will surely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Justin (with the mustache) was a great s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Justin (with the mustache) was a great server - helping with recommendations as well as with food sensitivities - trying to make it a very good experience in general.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

buku - Always great food and super servi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

buku - Always great food and super service. We enjoy the originality of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, had a good dinner outside in ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food, had a good dinner outside in nice relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We reserved a table for eight . We arriv ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We reserved a table for eight . We arrived right on time. We took advantage of valet parking only five dollars minus tip. Parking downtown Raleigh anywhere convenient is at least five dollars. We were seated at a table that the sun was in the eyes of one of our guest. They quickly prepared another table for us! Service was excellent! Our waiter knew about everything on the menu and gave great recommendation. We tried several of the small plates. A couple of the finicky eaters even stepped out of their comfort zone to try some. Beer and Wine list were pretty good. Noise level was fine until a party of six sat next to us that had just left from some event.

The food was really good, service was excellent, my group thought the atmosphere was very nice. A little pricey, 8 big plates one for each and we all shared 7 or 8 small plates, a couple of adult beverages for all but one. The men finished their plates and the women could only eat half of their large plate.(bill was just under $400) No one had room for desert! It's a shame, as good as the food tasted I was curious to taste the desert with a coffee. Well that will be for our next visit. A couple less small plates and room for dessert! Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Buku was very highly recommended to me a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Buku was very highly recommended to me and I especially enjoy venues with small plates and modern/trendy fusion cuisine. But I left feeling a bit underwhelmed. The service was great, the wine was delicious, the ambiance was perfect....the food just did not hit on all notes. We tried several small plate options and just felt overall that there was a lack of flavor. We liked the naan bread appetizer, but were not impressed by the BuKu roll that we shared, or either of the dumpling options. We had planned to order more, but decided against it. Perhaps there were other options on the menu that would have changed our overall impression, as everyone really seems to love this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I love coming here have been for a long ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I love coming here have been for a long time. Lately it seems like all the servers are new and really don't pay attention to detail. My soup was brought out with no utensils to serve myself with. Normally they served the first portion this time they left it on the table and left i had to flag someone down after a few minutes to ask for serving tools to serve my self. My soup was then cold. My drinks were not refilled without me asking for it. Its sad this place was one of my favorites but it seems to be going down hill with the service.. The food is still great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The Sunday brunch was awesome! Great var ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Sunday brunch was awesome! Great variety of food, and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been to BUKU many times for thei ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been to BUKU many times for their Sunday brunch and it never fails to please. An interesting variety of foods available in a pleasant setting and friendly staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Brunch was fantastic! They had a wonder ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Brunch was fantastic! They had a wonderful variety of items on the buffet, including delicious fried chicken & southern sides. The price was reasonable, based on my experience with other buffets with similar offerings. Our server was attentive and personable. We saw several groups and the restaurant accomodated them with ease.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dining experience. We de ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a great dining experience. We decided to get a variety of small plates (5-6) to share. Everything was very good except the sushi which was so-so.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.