About buku: Global Street Food

110 East Davie Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Located at the corner of Wilmington and Davie Streets in the heart of downtown Raleigh, bu•ku is a local restaurant that tells a global story. The name "bu•ku" itself is an international slang twist on the phrase, "Merci, beaucoup" meaning, "Thank you very much." Inspired by the pushcarts of street vendors across the globe, our chefs harvest an array of unique and distinct flavors and present them authentically, in a virtual kaleidoscope of plates. The common link: these are foods that people love. Working within different regional traditions, our menu brings together complex and flavorful dishes that have been honed over generations. Foods like Filipino Lumpia, Jamaican Lamb Patties and Chinese Steamed Buns can be found on the street corners of Manila, Kingston and Beijing. We strive to convey the immediate thrill a traveler feels eating foods like these as they first cross over the cart and exchange hands into the urban setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Asian, South American

Hours of Operation:
Serving our Full Menu
Monday-Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am-12am

Sunday Brunch Buffet: 10am-3pm
Sunday Dinner: 5pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Wilmington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 834-6963

Website:
http://www.bukuraleigh.com/

Catering:
We would love to host your next event! Please ask Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for an Events Package and any additional information you need.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet every day after 5pm and during Sunday Brunch. Lunch parking is available in the public deck.


Enter the City Center Parking Deck from Wilmington Street

Take elevator to ground floor; exit out at revolving doors turn left and enter double doors on the left at the corner of Davie and Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Amanda Haisley

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi-private dining rooms are available for parties and special occasions up to 150 guests. Full-facility rentals are available for up to 293 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Katherine Darden: 9198346963x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We would love to help you plan your next event. Our private and semi-private dining rooms seat parties of 10-150 guests and we have a virtual kaleidoscope of menu options for you to choose from! Please speak with Katherine, our Events Coordinator, for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Porkbelly Buns
  • Pierogi
  • Trio Of Creme Brulee
  • Plantain Crushed Sea Bass With Mango And Spaghetti Squash
  • Korean BBQ
  • Viet Cucumber Salad
Porkbelly Buns
Pierogi
Trio Of Creme Brulee
Plantain Crushed Sea Bass With Mango And Spaghetti Squash
Korean BBQ
Viet Cucumber Salad

buku: Global Street Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

fit for foodies (128)
special occasion (106)
good for groups (96)
See All
great for brunch (66)
romantic (54)
great for outdoor dining (52)
hot spot (47)
great for lunch (36)
late-night find (31)
notable wine list (30)
neighborhood gem (29)
vibrant bar scene (28)
kid-friendly (14)
scenic view (8)
Sort By:
Newest
2180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was in Raleigh visiting wife's relatives ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Was in Raleigh visiting wife's relatives and decided this would be an interesting spot to try for dinner. Arrived after 9pm and there was plenty of space and plenty quiet. Waiter was super helpful with our questions and sharing his preferences. We ordered a few small plates and shared an entree. Half of the small plates were very good and half we so-so. Entree was delicious as was the sake. Would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Another enjoyable dinner at Buku! Food ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Another enjoyable dinner at Buku!

Food was delicious as always.

Waitstaff seemed a bit inexperienced.

Recognizing it was a birthday and bringing an extra dessert (complete with candle) was a sweet gesture, but gastronomic overkill, given that we'd already ordered another dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved the ambiance. Greatfoodchoices. L ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved the ambiance. Greatfoodchoices. Liked the tapas style portions so able to taste a variety of foods. Definitely would go again

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at Buku last Saturd ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a great time at Buku last Saturday. Our waiter, Justin, was attentive, witty, and very knowledgeable. We enjoyed the food and our wine selection worked well with our food. Justin recommendation was right on the mark. My salmon was overdone. I could have sent it back but I didn't want to ruin the mood and flow of our table. Our friends were at Buku for the first time and they had a good time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food beautifully plated.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food beautifully plated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First visit for anniversary dinner. Ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

First visit for anniversary dinner. Service was fantastic - server was very knowledgeable of the menu and answered any questions we had and was very pleasant. The food was beautifully presented and was delicious.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was beautiful to look at and de ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was beautiful to look at and delectable to eat, so it was a terrific experience for all of us. The waitress was wonderful--cheerful, helpful and very accommodating. It was a lovely dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My first experience at Buku was incredib ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My first experience at Buku was incredible! The server was knowledgable about the menu and wine list. She offered fabulous recommendations and was attentive to our requests. I have dairy and gluten allergies, which can make eating out very difficult. I was so pleased with the gluten free menu, and our server made sure to accommodate my dairy-free needs. I had dinner with a friend and we shared the grilled pineapple-coconut gazpacho, tuna tataki roll, and Korean BBQ bibimbap. Everything was absolutely delicious! I will surely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Justin (with the mustache) was a great s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Justin (with the mustache) was a great server - helping with recommendations as well as with food sensitivities - trying to make it a very good experience in general.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

buku - Always great food and super servi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

buku - Always great food and super service. We enjoy the originality of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, had a good dinner outside in ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food, had a good dinner outside in nice relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We reserved a table for eight . We arriv ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We reserved a table for eight . We arrived right on time. We took advantage of valet parking only five dollars minus tip. Parking downtown Raleigh anywhere convenient is at least five dollars. We were seated at a table that the sun was in the eyes of one of our guest. They quickly prepared another table for us! Service was excellent! Our waiter knew about everything on the menu and gave great recommendation. We tried several of the small plates. A couple of the finicky eaters even stepped out of their comfort zone to try some. Beer and Wine list were pretty good. Noise level was fine until a party of six sat next to us that had just left from some event.

The food was really good, service was excellent, my group thought the atmosphere was very nice. A little pricey, 8 big plates one for each and we all shared 7 or 8 small plates, a couple of adult beverages for all but one. The men finished their plates and the women could only eat half of their large plate.(bill was just under $400) No one had room for desert! It's a shame, as good as the food tasted I was curious to taste the desert with a coffee. Well that will be for our next visit. A couple less small plates and room for dessert! Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Buku was very highly recommended to me a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Buku was very highly recommended to me and I especially enjoy venues with small plates and modern/trendy fusion cuisine. But I left feeling a bit underwhelmed. The service was great, the wine was delicious, the ambiance was perfect....the food just did not hit on all notes. We tried several small plate options and just felt overall that there was a lack of flavor. We liked the naan bread appetizer, but were not impressed by the BuKu roll that we shared, or either of the dumpling options. We had planned to order more, but decided against it. Perhaps there were other options on the menu that would have changed our overall impression, as everyone really seems to love this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I love coming here have been for a long ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I love coming here have been for a long time. Lately it seems like all the servers are new and really don't pay attention to detail. My soup was brought out with no utensils to serve myself with. Normally they served the first portion this time they left it on the table and left i had to flag someone down after a few minutes to ask for serving tools to serve my self. My soup was then cold. My drinks were not refilled without me asking for it. Its sad this place was one of my favorites but it seems to be going down hill with the service.. The food is still great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The Sunday brunch was awesome! Great var ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Sunday brunch was awesome! Great variety of food, and the service was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been to BUKU many times for thei ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have been to BUKU many times for their Sunday brunch and it never fails to please. An interesting variety of foods available in a pleasant setting and friendly staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Brunch was fantastic! They had a wonder ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Brunch was fantastic! They had a wonderful variety of items on the buffet, including delicious fried chicken & southern sides. The price was reasonable, based on my experience with other buffets with similar offerings. Our server was attentive and personable. We saw several groups and the restaurant accomodated them with ease.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dining experience. We de ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a great dining experience. We decided to get a variety of small plates (5-6) to share. Everything was very good except the sushi which was so-so.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent buffet selections, great servi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent buffet selections, great service, reasonably priced. The best brunch in town.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my second visit to this establi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was my second visit to this establishment. Just like the first it was awesome. Bu Ku atmosphere advertise relax, eat, drink and enjoy. My family and I did all four. It is a place we will visit again.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this place. Waitresses are promp ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love this place. Waitresses are promp and they know the menu so coukd answer out pickey questions. Food was outstanding. I am in love with their pad thai (enough so that I went back lady night to get it fir take-out). Outside dining is wonderful and comfortable. Loved every minute if it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service, good food, eclectic menu s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good service, good food, eclectic menu selections, great ambiance...I will definitely be back and would recommend for gathering of friends or romantic night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our second visit and we were jus ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is our second visit and we were just as pleased as the first time, The menu is eclectic- with plenty of excellent culinary fare for the vegetarian and non- vegetarian alike.

The service both times was exceptional- the staff was knowledgable, adept yet not pushy or overbearing- I do wish I could remember the server's name this last time- he was truly excepetional

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

to say that buku is fabulous is truly an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

to say that buku is fabulous is truly an understatement. from the food to the service to the ambiance, its perfectly on point!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is always a winner! High ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This restaurant is always a winner! Highly recommended- especially for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific full brunch buffet. Great sele ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Terrific full brunch buffet. Great selection, delicious food and reasonably priced. Friendly staff. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to Buku for lunch at the recomme ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went to Buku for lunch at the recommendation of a friend. The small plates were good, but I thought the large plates and big bowls on the menu were dinner portions and could have been scaled down. I found the food to be hyped and overpriced for their interpretation of street food.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

My friends and I had a wonderful time at ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My friends and I had a wonderful time at buku - everything more than met our expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING FOOD! The best experience I have ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

AMAZING FOOD! The best experience I have ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early dinner pre-show at Red H ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had an early dinner pre-show at Red Hat. Our server took a step above and beyond and helped me find a cushion to sit on so I could reach my bowl (I'm short, and bowl was large). I took a chance that night and ordered something different, which I wasn't crazy about, but everything I have eaten there on previous occasions has been great. The crème brulee trio, however, was amazing! My boyfriend did enjoy his entrée, and the empanada appetizer was great. Next time I may just try a few small plates or get the steak frittes as usual.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Might have been the best meal I ever had ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Might have been the best meal I ever had. I had the duck adobo and it was perfection, the duck was deliciously balanced by the papaya and lemongrass salad. My husband had the ramen and it was also very good, as well as the tuna tataki roll and lumpia. The cocktail, beer and wine lists were quirky and well curated. If you are looking for something different in Raleigh, this is your place. Our sever, Nathan was great, friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Only downside was that it was very warm inside, but that may have been our table that was by the window kind of under a false ceiling. Beyond that...this is going to be our new date spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have been to buku several times and ev ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I have been to buku several times and everything from food to service has been very good. This time things were slightly off all the around but I think that stems mainly from the server. Everything sort of gets influenced by the server. Took him a while to get to us, recommended a glass of wine that wasn't on the list and told me the dish I was ordering would be bland without a protein (which I then added). Then once the dish arrived it had a different protein than I asked for... and the server was MIA again. Everyone else had their food so I decided to eat what I was given anyway - and I just put the protein aside. He was right... it was bland. Once the server reappeared, he told me it was the kitchen that had made the mistake and he was glad for it because what I got was better than what I ordered. Huh? No apology? No offer to fix it? No discount on the bill? I'll give them another shot in the future but won't order the Pad Thai again and may ask for a different server if I end up in the same server's section.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We came here late after one of our child ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We came here late after one of our children's high school graduation downtown! The service was excellent and even our picky eaters and celiac family members left full and happy! Thank you for a wonderful post-graduation dinner for my family!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service - friendly, efficient, ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent service - friendly, efficient, non-intrusive. Great gluten-free menu, which was important for our party.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went Buku for restaurant week. It was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I went Buku for restaurant week. It was amazing. The food was all delicious but I was a little less impressed with dessert. We had a great time and I can't wait to go back and try more of their food.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

the duck was highly recommended by the s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

the duck was highly recommended by the staff but was impossible to chew or cut...totally undercooked.

Starters were the best as well as sushi rolls, chicken dish and Pho.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The place wasent busy at all however, th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The place wasent busy at all however, the service was not great. The waiter was a very nice and helpful, just slow. The dining room set up was weird with tables squished into places people walk through causing people to have to scoot their seats when 2 or more people walk together. Was there for restaurant week, and had the noodles and lamb chops...for $30 a plate, it was not close to worth it. The noodles were ramen noodles, and if they were home made, the chef stole the recipe from the from the guy who invented ramen noodles. The brunch there is great, but I will not be going back for anything else.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Restaurant Week Date

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Really nice experience, we went for the special menu and enjoyed every dish. Our server was fun and attentive. We'll be returning to sample the small plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service made the day

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Went during restaurant week which can be hectic. Food was very good except for the Eton mess dessert. Service by Justin was great. He was very knowledgeable and professional. Knew about all the options wine and food. Accommodated a gluten free diner very well. We went on a Thursday night where there was some Raleigh music event so parking was tough. When we arrived at the restaurant after parking , we discovered that there was complimentary valet parking.. Buku should advise diners of this very very attractive feature for those of us who are hesitant to come to downtown because of the parking.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We were there to celebrate my son's high ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We were there to celebrate my son's high school graduation. We had friends with us and the food was excellent and the service was top-notch. We spent two hours on the patio eating, drinking, and celebrating. We appreciate the patience and care of the folks at

Buku. Really topnotch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.