Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 4/26
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Bukhara Indian Bistro

4.6
89 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Indian
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Worth the Drive
  • Creative Cuisine
Before the British occupation of South Asia, the predominant force that ruled a majority of the continent was the Mughal empire, which originated in Ferghana (modern day Uzbekistan).
The cultural and religious capital of this empire lay in Bukhara due to the established silk trade routes from the Far East to the Mediterranean. This Indo-Islamic power had control over most of Asia and the city of Bukhara was the melting pot for all these cultures and their cuisines. As this great power vanished, so did much of its culinary inventions, but some aspects of this style survived in Northern India which have since come to be known as 'Mughlai Khanna' (food of the Mughals).
Today we carry this ancient tradition of culinary excellence at Bukhara Indian Bistro under the supervision of the first chef to bring North Indian food to Minneapolis and of one of the best North Indian culinary arts master in the Midwest Chef Joginder Cheema.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Indian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch:

Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(952) 476-7997
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Joginder Cheema
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Highway 394 frontage road.
Additional
Beer, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 89 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.3
ambience
4.6
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Never disappoints, amazing service, amazing food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

One of our favorite restaurants - service is always good - attentive, friendly & helpful w/ the menu- and they brought us a special birthday dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food at this restaurant is consistently excellent. The ambience is cozy and just right for conversation. The place is not ultra-fancy, but it is most relaxing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great fresh tasting Indian food. Service is always excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

We read about it in the Mpls Tribune about the owner being Jewish and being from India.
While I'm not certain of that, the lunch buffet was really good. Perfectly spiced, good selection of food. We made reservations and thte tale was set and ready for us. Service was terrific. We all had the buffett and I ordered the Chicken Soup. It was really good, very different from the 'usual' chix soup. Great spices, chicken and veggies.
Is a bit of a drive, but do-able. Would certainly return and recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Food and service were great - lots of vegetarian options. One of the top 2 or 3 Indian restaurants in the twin cities but a little out of the way - would go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Delicious Indian food and it looks like they have a great lunch buffet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We’ve been here a number of times and it’s far and away the best Indian food we’ve had in the Twin Cities. The food never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Simply my favorite Indian food, great service and pricing, will be back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Great! Wonderful food and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 3, 2018

Always amazing food and service here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Excellent service and great food, as always. Love coming to Bukhara, I have never beem disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Good find in a strip mall. Great flavor and choices. Good service and value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 27, 2017

We had another great family dinner at Bukhara! Food is always excellent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 5, 2017

Authentic Northern Indian cuisine.
Huge menu. Beer & wine menu. Sunday brunch has buffet which was very crowded. Quiet atmosphere and great place for conversation. Many food choices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Always great food and service. As a bonus it’s quiet enough to have a conversation!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

The food here is consistently fresh and delicious. The staff is amazing. Gracious, welcoming and knowledgeable. The Biryanis (saffron rice dish with green peas, almonds and raisins) with chicken, tofu or lamb are great... we haven’t tried the others. We order a delicious eggplant dish Baingan Bharta under vegetarian choices as a dip for the house made garlic naan...heaven! My favorite however is Chicken Tika Masala. The masala sauce is wonderful. Very reasonably priced in our view. The food, the staff and the value are part of a lovely, flavorful dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Large menu and food was quite good. Strip mall location but comfortable

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 26, 2017

Excellent food and service! They treated my daughter to a special dessert as well to celebrate her birthday.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 16, 2017

We have been to Bukhara before and always enjoyed out meals. This one was not up to the standard we have been used to experiencing. The waiter was new, and unable to accurately answer questions, the tandoori was dry and salty, and the curry was just ok. Because we have had good meals prior, we will try again, but this visit we left less than satisfied.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Really enjoyed amazing flavors and great service! We'll be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 24, 2017

Do not miss this great restaurant -- It is truly a gem! Great service, great food - Enjoy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 22, 2017

Unbelievable. Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Our waiter was very attentive, knowledgeable and helpful. He was very pleasant and made our evening fun.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Great food and comfortable place to meet with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 6, 2017

We enjoy the quiet atmosphere and the style of Indian food which we acquired while living overseas in East African...
The service has always been friendly and prompt. The prices are reasonable for that style of restaurant...
We like to go to this restaurant especially when we want to be able to talk to each other and visit with friends from out of town. The atmosphere is nice and quiet...something that seems to be rare in restaurants today.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 26, 2017

As always phenomenal experience.
Every time I have been to this restaurant both the service and the food was exceptional. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2017

Delicious northern India cuisine! Freshly prepared so flavorful. Loved it will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2017

Really good authentic indian food, service was excellent and very patient with our group, good wine prices, nice atmosphere for group conversations (you could hear each other). Will definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2017

We have been coming to Bukhara for a few years now. Went last weekend for Mothers Day and were not disappointed. Great service, they were also willing to make some changes to the dishes for dietary needs (e.g. dairy free).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2017

Early Mother's Day dinner. Mom & Dad have never had Indian food & wanted to experience it. We have been here a few times, twice with people that have been to India, and loved it. Once again, my family had an amazing meal, and Mom & Dad WILL be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was great if you like Indian. If not try it...it's delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2017

Try anything on the menu. Our group all had different orders, cooked to our spice preferences (we are Minnesotans after all). The waitstaff was happy to customize. Wide choice of meats and veggie options. The garlic naan is excellent. Decent wine list for a small venue. Nice quiet place, you can carry on a conversation!! It's off the beaten path but not hard to find. One of the better Indian cuisine restaurants I've tried here in the cities. We will definitely be back for the food, service and quiet setting. Good value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2017

This was fantastic Indian food. Excellent service and a delicious dinner. Surprisingly economical, too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2017

the food was authentic and very tasty....
the service friendly...outstanding experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was outstanding and the prices quite reasonable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2017

Bukhara Bistro is nothing special to look at on the outside, but inside is another story. The service is speedy, responsive and friendly. The menu is extensive with many different dishes. And the food is delicious! We're definitely going back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

We totally enoyed our experience. This was an authenthic Indian restaurant with a broad menu and excellent food and service! A gem, I wished we had found it years ago.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2017

The service and food are always outstanding each time we visit Buhkara. The hostess was outstanding greeting and seating us this evening. Our server was prompt and attentive to our needs throughout the meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2017

The staff and food are always excellent. Service was on point throughout the dinner. Staff was respective of our conversation and provided the proper amount of contact.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3