Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 1.45mi
  3. Distance: 1.57mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.48mi
  2. Distance: 1.45mi
  3. Distance: 1.57mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

About Bukhara Indian Bistro

Before the British occupation of South Asia, the predominant force that ruled a majority of the continent was the Mughal empire, which originated in Ferghana (modern day Uzbekistan).
The cultural and religious capital of this empire lay in Bukhara due to the established silk trade routes from the Far East to the Mediterranean. This Indo-Islamic power had control over most of Asia and the city of Bukhara was the melting pot for all these cultures and their cuisines. As this great power vanished, so did much of its culinary inventions, but some aspects of this style survived in Northern India which have since come to be known as 'Mughlai Khanna' (food of the Mughals).
Today we carry this ancient tradition of culinary excellence at Bukhara Indian Bistro under the supervision of the first chef to bring North Indian food to Minneapolis and of one of the best North Indian culinary arts master in the Midwest Chef Joginder Cheema.

15718 Wayzata Blvd E
Minnetonka, MN 55391
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 394 frontage road.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 476-7997

Website:
http://www.bukharamn.com/home.html

Executive Chef:
Chef Joginder Cheema

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bukhara Indian Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.6

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
See All
Good for a Date (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Family Style (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vegan (3)
Business Meals (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
64 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We enjoy the quiet atmosphere and the style of Indian food which we acquired while living overseas in East African...
The service has always been friendly and prompt. The prices are reasonable for that style of restaurant...
We like to go to this restaurant especially when we want to be able to talk to each other and visit with friends from out of town. The atmosphere is nice and quiet...something that seems to be rare in restaurants today.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

As always phenomenal experience.
Every time I have been to this restaurant both the service and the food was exceptional. Will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Delicious northern India cuisine! Freshly prepared so flavorful. Loved it will be back soon!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Really good authentic indian food, service was excellent and very patient with our group, good wine prices, nice atmosphere for group conversations (you could hear each other). Will definitely go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have been coming to Bukhara for a few years now. Went last weekend for Mothers Day and were not disappointed. Great service, they were also willing to make some changes to the dishes for dietary needs (e.g. dairy free).

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Early Mother's Day dinner. Mom & Dad have never had Indian food & wanted to experience it. We have been here a few times, twice with people that have been to India, and loved it. Once again, my family had an amazing meal, and Mom & Dad WILL be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was great if you like Indian. If not try it...it's delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Try anything on the menu. Our group all had different orders, cooked to our spice preferences (we are Minnesotans after all). The waitstaff was happy to customize. Wide choice of meats and veggie options. The garlic naan is excellent. Decent wine list for a small venue. Nice quiet place, you can carry on a conversation!! It's off the beaten path but not hard to find. One of the better Indian cuisine restaurants I've tried here in the cities. We will definitely be back for the food, service and quiet setting. Good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was fantastic Indian food. Excellent service and a delicious dinner. Surprisingly economical, too.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

the food was authentic and very tasty....
the service friendly...outstanding experience.

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was outstanding and the prices quite reasonable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Bukhara Bistro is nothing special to look at on the outside, but inside is another story. The service is speedy, responsive and friendly. The menu is extensive with many different dishes. And the food is delicious! We're definitely going back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We totally enoyed our experience. This was an authenthic Indian restaurant with a broad menu and excellent food and service! A gem, I wished we had found it years ago.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The service and food are always outstanding each time we visit Buhkara. The hostess was outstanding greeting and seating us this evening. Our server was prompt and attentive to our needs throughout the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The staff and food are always excellent. Service was on point throughout the dinner. Staff was respective of our conversation and provided the proper amount of contact.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I know the food is good, but every time I eat there, I underestimate how good it is and walk away with my expectations exceeded. The food is fantastic and the service is always pleasant. I think this may be the best value in town for any cuisine.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Nice friendly service, and good Indian food. Recommend trying it!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2016

As always, everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Nann was somewhat soggy. We ordered two initial orders (Garlic and Cheese) and when those were soggy, we ordered a plain. That too was soggy. Not worth the carbs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 20, 2016

I bought a couple of work colleagues here for dinner. Everything from the lamb to the chicken kashmiri was tasty. We started with samosas followed by dinner accompanied by lots of Naan garlic bread. Don't forget to wash it down with a nice cold Kingfisher beer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Both the service and food was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We love Bukhara we've been there many times. The food is excellent, service fabulous and the value is superb. This restaurant has kind of a funky location so I don't think they get as much business as they could if they were in a different location. I say don't miss this fabulous GEM!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our first time eating at an Indian restaurant and the food was excellent. Many good selections which made it difficult to decide. The garlic naan as an appetizer was exceptional. We got two orders of it. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was really delicious and staff was very friendly!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Eating here is like taking your taste buds on vacation! The naan is heavily.

Everything I get here is so delisous and the staff is really kind. Always leave happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2016

There aren't a lot of options for Indian food in the western suburbs so I'm very pleased that Bukhara has stayed around. Their food is good and their service is excellent, but it's certainly not an elegant spot. But the price is right and you can get you fix without going all the way into Minneapolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2015

We frequently dine here with a great experience every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 28, 2015

Excellent food and service. Always a great choice in a local Indian restrurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2015

Be sure and try this excellent Indian restaurant -- If you want some variation on the menu items, be sure to ask...as they have always been most accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 23, 2015

It's hard to find a consistently good Indian restaurant in the Twin Cities. I've tried them all and changing chefs turns exciting food quickly into so so offerings or dumbing down for the Midwest palate are often the reasons. Bukhara's food, while, thankfully, uses good ingredients, has no taste, no complicated spicy levels of flavor that great Indian food is famous for. It's bland bland bland and all the dishes taste the same-same spices for chicken, lamb and dal. I will keep trying MN Indian offerings, but in the meantime return to cooking myself out of the wonderful cookbook, 660 Curries. (Pleasant atmosphere and solicitous staff, but why go back for inauthentic food!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 30, 2015

We love Bukhara. The food is delicious and the staff is great. We love Hasan. He has a great sense of humor and makes going there fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2015

Every time we return to Bukhara we wonder why we don't come more often. The food has never failed us and we love the ambiance. Very authentic. Prices are reasonable and plenty of selections to keep us coming back! Bukhara, this time I promise to not wait so long to return. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2015

The food was very flavorful, waiter was a little pushy but overall experience was nice, would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2015

We enjoyed our dinner and the wide variety of selections.

The only thing wrong was that we were not asked how spicy we would like our dishes and they turned out to be too mild for us but were delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 25, 2015

Service was good, suggesting different plates than what we ordered to get better flavors than what we wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2015

Huge servings...we had enough another complete meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 20, 2015

Beer was warm. Food run of the mill stuff. We have much better Indian food elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 9, 2015

The food was pretty standard. Nothing special. There are other Indian restaurants in the Minneapolis and surrounding areas with better food.
The service was great. The waiter was very polite, responsive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2015

It was my first time eating Indian cuisine. If a client hadn't requested I take her there, I likely would never have tried it. I am also a bit weirded out by buffets, but thought it might be my best bet in dipping my toe in the water. As you can imagine, I was apprehensive, but so pleasantly surprised! REALLY DELICIOUS! Nice quiet atmosphere and clean.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.