About Bukhara Indian Bistro

15718 Wayzata Blvd E
Minnetonka, MN 55391
View Larger Map

Before the British occupation of South Asia, the predominant force that ruled a majority of the continent was the Mughal empire, which originated in Ferghana (modern day Uzbekistan).
The cultural and religious capital of this empire lay in Bukhara due to the established silk trade routes from the Far East to the Mediterranean. This Indo-Islamic power had control over most of Asia and the city of Bukhara was the melting pot for all these cultures and their cuisines. As this great power vanished, so did much of its culinary inventions, but some aspects of this style survived in Northern India which have since come to be known as 'Mughlai Khanna' (food of the Mughals).
Today we carry this ancient tradition of culinary excellence at Bukhara Indian Bistro under the supervision of the first chef to bring North Indian food to Minneapolis and of one of the best North Indian culinary arts master in the Midwest Chef Joginder Cheema.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Indian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 394 frontage road.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 476-7997

Website:
http://www.bukharamn.com/home.html

Executive Chef:
Chef Joginder Cheema

Additional:
Beer, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bukhara Indian Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Neighborhood Gem
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Minnetonka ›

fit for foodies (8)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
See All
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
41 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was our first time eating at an Ind ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was our first time eating at an Indian restaurant and the food was excellent. Many good selections which made it difficult to decide. The garlic naan as an appetizer was exceptional. We got two orders of it. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was really delicious and staff was ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was really delicious and staff was very friendly!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Eating here is like taking your taste bu ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Eating here is like taking your taste buds on vacation! The naan is heavily. Everything I get here is so delisous and the staff is really kind. Always leave happy.

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Best (and only) in the area

Dined on January 30, 2016

There aren't a lot of options for Indian food in the western suburbs so I'm very pleased that Bukhara has stayed around. Their food is good and their service is excellent, but it's certainly not an elegant spot. But the price is right and you can get you fix without going all the way into Minneapolis.

food5
ambience4
service5

We frequently dine here with a great exp ...

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

We frequently dine here with a great experience every time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Always a gr ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

Excellent food and service. Always a great choice in a local Indian restrurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Best!

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

Be sure and try this excellent Indian restaurant -- If you want some variation on the menu items, be sure to ask...as they have always been most accommodating.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Disappointing.

vip
Dined on August 23, 2015

It's hard to find a consistently good Indian restaurant in the Twin Cities. I've tried them all and changing chefs turns exciting food quickly into so so offerings or dumbing down for the Midwest palate are often the reasons. Bukhara's food, while, thankfully, uses good ingredients, has no taste, no complicated spicy levels of flavor that great Indian food is famous for. It's bland bland bland and all the dishes taste the same-same spices for chicken, lamb and dal. I will keep trying MN Indian offerings, but in the meantime return to cooking myself out of the wonderful cookbook, 660 Curries. (Pleasant atmosphere and solicitous staff, but why go back for inauthentic food!)

food5
ambience3
service5

Bukhara is so great!!

vip
Dined on May 31, 2015

We love Bukhara. The food is delicious and the staff is great. We love Hasan. He has a great sense of humor and makes going there fun!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love it!

Dined on May 16, 2015

Every time we return to Bukhara we wonder why we don't come more often. The food has never failed us and we love the ambiance. Very authentic. Prices are reasonable and plenty of selections to keep us coming back! Bukhara, this time I promise to not wait so long to return. Highly recommend!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

The food was very flavorful, waiter was ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2015

The food was very flavorful, waiter was a little pushy but overall experience was nice, would go again.

food4
ambience4
service3

Great Indian Food

vip
Dined on May 10, 2015

We enjoyed our dinner and the wide variety of selections. The only thing wrong was that we were not asked how spicy we would like our dishes and they turned out to be too mild for us but were delicious.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Service was good, suggesting different p ...

Dined on April 26, 2015

Service was good, suggesting different plates than what we ordered to get better flavors than what we wanted.

food5
ambience3
service5

Great service, great food, great prices.

vip
Dined on March 26, 2015

Huge servings...we had enough another complete meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service3

Pretty mediocre

Dined on March 21, 2015

Beer was warm. Food run of the mill stuff. We have much better Indian food elsewhere.

food3
ambience4
service5

Standard Indian fare. Great service.

Dined on March 10, 2015

The food was pretty standard. Nothing special. There are other Indian restaurants in the Minneapolis and surrounding areas with better food. The service was great. The waiter was very polite, responsive and friendly.

food5
ambience5
service4

First time eating Indian cuisine. YUM!

Dined on March 5, 2015

It was my first time eating Indian cuisine. If a client hadn't requested I take her there, I likely would never have tried it. I am also a bit weirded out by buffets, but thought it might be my best bet in dipping my toe in the water. As you can imagine, I was apprehensive, but so pleasantly surprised! REALLY DELICIOUS! Nice quiet atmosphere and clean.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1

Refused our LivingSocial Deal

vip
Dined on February 23, 2015

We had our voucher on cel app for redemption. All they need to do just touch it to validate. Manager was furious about the deal discount and declined our voucher saying that it's been used but without the evidence. We therefore requested the refund from LivingSocial with confirmation shown below. Don't understand why the restaurant participated the program but wouldn't like customers to use the deal......... No need to bother eating there in the future. "Your refund request was successfully processed. Your Deal Bucks are already in your LivingSocial account and ready to spend. They will automatically be applied to your next purchase. Please save this email for your records. refund breakdown Bukhara Indian Bistro Choice of Any Two Glasses of Wine, Beer, and Soda, One Shared Appetizer, One Order of Nann, and Any Two Entree's paid voucher total$24.00 eligible for refund$24.00 refunded to Deal Bucks$24.00 Thanks for LivingSocial! Consumer Services | LivingSocial | help.livingsocial.com"

food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious

Dined on February 14, 2015

It smells amazing as soon as you walk through the door. The food was great and the service was outstanding. Try the appetizer sampler and garlic naan!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

This was our first time in this restaura ...

Dined on February 14, 2015

This was our first time in this restaurant and all four of us very much liked what we saw and what we ate. Are planning to return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great birthday with our family

Dined on November 23, 2014

My wife and I shared a very nice brunch with our two adult children. Since my wife has a hearing challenge, we were pleased that a seat near the front of the dining room was made available. The food was very delicious, the quiche was spectacular.........very buttery and creamy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food & friendly staff

Dined on November 5, 2014

Their buffet is always delicious, especially when they have their fried fish on Fridays. Friendly staff & gotta love Restaurant.com savings!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Good food.

Dined on November 2, 2014

Need to improve on desserts. Need to take care of ambiance as well.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

The best!

vip
Dined on October 23, 2014

This is the best Indian restaurant in the Twin Cities/

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Love this place

Dined on October 3, 2014

It's all great: the food is delicious, the staff realy cares, parking is easy and everyone enjoys the meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Worth the drive

Dined on August 24, 2014

Bukhara Indian Bistro is a real treat in Minnesota. After getting spoiled on great Indian food in the San Francisco Bay area, we searched far and wide in Minnesota to find comparable quality. My wife and I both love Bukhara and are happy to see them busy. Service was prompt, but the real reason we visit is for the outstanding food. All of our meals there have been great to outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
food3
ambience3
service4

Tofu is not chicken

Dined on July 9, 2014

Self explanatory. They mixed in tofu with the Chicken Kashmiri. There are plenty of better Indian restaurants around.

food3
ambience3
service3

Lunch Buffet

vip
Dined on July 3, 2014

Went here on a referral from a co-worker, said they have a great lunch buffet. They were right on. I have never Indian food and although it was a bit different for me, I thought it was very tasty. Not as spicy as I was expecting which was disappointing but they did have a very good hot sauce on the buffet. It is off the beaten path and I have always wondered how this place could survive in it's location but there are always several cars in the parking lot when I go by. I'm glad I finally stopped, I would go back.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We live this place!

vip
Dined on June 14, 2014

Bukhara is one of our staple restaurants we visit often during the week. I'll also go occasionally for the lunch buffet any chance I get. The food is always consistently delicious for dinner. We are always greeted kindly, the staff is very nice and accommodating (we have a 3 year old) and even playful with our daughter. The lunch buffet has a very exciting selection for which you are never disappointed. In addition; good food for a good value. Hands down, this is a great place to eat. The ambiance is also nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Just Great!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2014

I have driven by hundreds of times and never thought about eating there. My wife brought it up and off we went. The staff was great and the food was outstanding! We will be back soon....

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Indian Food

Dined on April 25, 2014

My wife and I have been to Bukhara multiple times now and we really enjoy the food. We love Indian food anyway so this fills the bill perfectly! Try anything Shia Korma! Great!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and experience!

Dined on April 20, 2014

Food and experience was great. The waiter recommended some really good food and he was honest about what wasn't good. Everything came out perfect and the quality of the ingredients was definitely higher than any other Indian Restaurant we have been to in the Twin Cities. Now I just wish the location was more convenient! I highly recommend this place!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Well Executed

Dined on April 19, 2014

We had a great dinner. Service was great. Food and flavors were spot on. The mild was not spicy at all. Most other Indian restaurants mild is still a bit heated. This was not. I would order medium next time.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Neighborhood Gem

vip
Dined on April 18, 2014

We love Bukhara! It is like a neighborhood hang out even though it is in a strip mall. The food is fantastic, and the waiters are SO friendly!

food4
ambience4
service4

Great Food and Value

vip
Dined on April 5, 2014

We love Bukhara. The food is wonderful. The waiters are very friendly!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice lunch buffet

vip
Dined on March 17, 2014

A good option for lunch in this area. We liked the fresh naan delivered directly to our table.

food5
ambience4
service5

The best!

vip
Dined on February 22, 2014

You are really missing out if you have not indulged in the great cuisine at Bukhara. It is the best Indian restaurant in the area.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

Wonderful food and servers

vip
Dined on February 17, 2014

We love Bukhara. The food is generous and delicious. You couldn't find nicer servers. They remember us each time we come in. This is the closest we have to a neighborhood restaurant in Minnetonka.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Indian Restaurant

vip
Dined on February 14, 2014

You will not be disappointed -- food and service are outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The Best

vip
Dined on February 2, 2014

This is the best Indian restaurant in the area...great food and service!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.