About Bui Bistro

976 Pearl St
Napa, CA 94559
View Larger Map

Chef and Owner Patrick Bui creates beautiful French-Vietnamese meals in a sleek space with a sexy atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Vietnamese, French, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 255-5417

Website:
http://buibistro.com/buibistro/Welcome.html

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Bui Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.0

service

3.5

ambience

3.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
22 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of few spots in Napa to get good Asi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

One of few spots in Napa to get good Asian food. In this case Vietnamese with a French twist. Quiet, low key, small menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Rather overrated, ?French/Vietnamese, re ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Rather overrated, ?French/Vietnamese, restaurant in Napa Valley. One should try La Sen in Concord if one favors euro-asian fusion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

always great food and excellent service, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

always great food and excellent service, pleasant background music but not loud

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

MtVeederView

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

We shared a table with 2 friends upon their recommendation, and the food proved to be very good with complex and pleasant flavors. The origins of Vietnamese and French influences was a wonderful experience and I would second their recommendation. The wine pricing and pours were generous along with the corkage @ $10. All of us are Napa Valley Residents with local expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent Vietnamese!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

This is a hidden gem in Napa if you love real Vietnamese food ! They make their Imperial rolls in house with top shelf ingredients. The Bahn Xeo is also excellent. Service is dicey, but the food it totally worth it. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Different and Great

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

I've heard about Bui Bistro and Chef Patrick but Christmas Eve was our first time there. What a wonderful way to start Christmas Eve! We arrived fairly early and were immediately greeted and seated. Our server was friendly and helpful but not overbearing. We started with Saigon Wings, Imperial Rolls and Spicy Tuna - all were fabulous. Our table had multiple orders of the Shaken Beef (tender and melts in your mouth would be understatements) as well as the Combination Vermicelli. All were exceptional. Our side dishes weren't second rate either - garlic noodles and prawns fried rice. We've dined at many Napa Restaurants, Michelin rated as well, and it was a refreshing experience having such excellently flavored food well presented in an enjoyable environment. Why did it take us so long to find you Bui Bistro, but we're happy we did! True fans planning on returning over and over again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Vietnames Gem in Napa

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

We were all impressed with our dinner here. A friend recommended we try this place, and we are glad we did. We had Calamari appetizer, Vietnamese crepe, Tofu in Curry Sauce, and Vermicelli with Shrimp and Vegetables. It was all excellent and service was, too. They have a good wine list, as well. We look forward to going back and wish we had tried it sooner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

They need more waitstaff especially on a Saturday night. Our server was friendly and apologetic . Other than that, we enjoyed all our dishes. We had the Chilean bass, calamari, prawns, garlic noodles, beans, and Chinese broccoli.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Almost as good, but...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

This visit to Bui Bistro was almost as the first. Upon entering, the odor of seafood was very off putting. There was only 1 server and assistant for the entire dining area. Our service was delayed due to short staffing but they gave their best effort. Our wine service was horrible. You must not pull the cork through the foil and then pour the wine across the soiled and protruding foil.

We will return later.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Service is lame

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

Service was between marginal and indifferent. Forgot rice. Creme Brulee were flavored scrambled eggs. This is the only surviving Vietnamese restaurant in Napa, sadly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

A neighborhood gem off the beaten path

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

Exceptional food at a reasonable price very unusual for downtown Napa. Highly recommend this fantastic restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food & service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Patrick was our server and he was great! We enjoyed the Saigon Wings and lamb special. We have always enjoyed this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Needs work.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

Vietnamese food there is quite good. Stay with that. Service is quite amateurish; nice folks but they need to get trained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Nice local surprise

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

Quaint little restaurant with a small bar, tastefully decorated. Menu seemed a bit limited at first for a Vietnamese restaurant, but there is a sampling from most traditonal dishes plus a few French inspired. Everything I tried was absolutely delicious - duck rolls, roasted garlic prawns, shaken beef w/arugula and sea bass w/tamarind coconut sauce. Decent wine list and full bar, but you can BYOB for $10 corkage. Friendly and attentive service, but kitchen is a bit slow making it fresh so don't be in a hurry. I will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Bui Bistro

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 14, 2014

As someone who enjoys a lot of Asian and Middle-Eastern food I was not impressed. The service was not great and when I asked to get a yellow curry that was mild, I was told they could not do that because the curries are pre-made/packaged. Just hearing that made my opinion of the restaurant drop. If I wanted pre-packaged curry I could heat some up in my microwave for less money. With that said, the curry went well as a light drizzle on top of the shrimp rice. The broccoli left much to be desired, but the green beans were delicious. Overall, the restaurant was fairly decent. However, the quality of their food was very inconsistent. I would recommend going here as an introduction to Vietnamese food, but not for connoisseurs of the cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Birthday dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 9, 2014

Spotted this place on a local feed and though it would be a good spot for my birthday. Staff were attentive. Food was tasty. Only down side was that they had a small menu and were out of many things on that menu. It was a wednesday night and we were there at 6pm. With the menu being so small they should have added a few specials to fill in. I will return in hopes that there is a little more variety on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Super Food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2014

We had a great dinner, doesn't get the traffic it deserves!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Very good Vietnamese food in Napa

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2014

The food at Bui was very good and both the wine list and food were extremely reasonable.. Everything was fresh and tasty. Service was excellent. It is well located if you are going to a show at the City Winery or anywhere else in downtown Napa..

We will return..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great find.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2014

We went to this restaurant based on several Open Table reviews. I agree with the reviewer who said that the food was great but the wine was lacking. The first 5 white wines that we requested were not available. (5 out of 10 wines are not available?) However, the food was outstanding, and the duck was the very best that we had ever tasted. Atmosphere was pleasant and it's located on a nice side street with parking across the street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

undiscovered gem

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2014

The food is delicious and varied. Service is a little uneven but not enough to distract from the experience. Great place to have dinner before going to the opera house as it is within easy walking distance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Bui Bistro had great high

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 30, 2014

Bui Bistro had great high quality food and the service was excellent; however, the portions are somewhat small.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good, but a little overpriced

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 15, 2014

We enjoyed our first meal at Bui Bistro. The food is good and the service was excellent. It doesn't compare to our favorite Vietnamese restaurants in San Francisco, but prices are comparable to those. The best parts of our meal were the crispy imperial rolls and the house salad that they substituted for fries I didn't want. The place was empty when we arrived and only a couple more tables came in before we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.