Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Bui Bistro

4.1
53 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Vietnamese
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Casual
  • Fit for Foodies
Chef and Owner Patrick Bui creates beautiful French-Vietnamese meals in a sleek space with a sexy atmosphere.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Vietnamese, French, Fusion / Eclectic
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(707) 255-5417
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 53 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
3.9
service
3.5
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was excellent. They seemed to be short staffed. I could tell some people were irritated. I'd still go back for the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

One of the best meals for the best value that we had during our Napa week. The shrimp ball special was great and the Pho was awesome. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

I am surprised that this simple well executed spot doesn’t do more brisk business. When clean an straightforward, it lacks the luxury touches that support event dinning.

The menu is broad and varied weigh well prepared dishes.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great Spring Rolls
Main courses good but not exceptional
Service a little slow

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

What a great find . . . we all enjoyed our meals . . . I enjoyed the Clay Pot Chilean Sea Bass: served steaming hot in a traditional caramelized onion sauce ($24) . . . I'm still thinking about this meal . . . days later !!!

Give it a try, you'll love it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Had a great meal!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Went to early dinner before a movie. Ordered small plate appetizers and shared. Food was bland, tasteless. Peanut sauce consistency of water. I was looking forward to sautéed pea sprouts on menu, but no longer serve. Food was awful and very dissappointing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We have visited Bui Bistro multiple times and have never been disappointed. Always very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We really enjoyed this casual dining experience with flavorful food and great service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2018

It was valentine evening and they were poorly understaffed for the number of patrons they had

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 12, 2018

OMGawd! What a find! Thank you open table I found this place from you. Our waitress (young blond hair in a ponytail) suggested some things for us the Vermicelli and the duck confit and confirmed for us claypot was delicious,and she was spot on. I'm a local so I am surprised none of my friends have told me about this place. We didn't even get a chance to try a pho, but I will be back. Everything was delicious and our waitress was so helpful and charming. Tables need replacing. They are old gummy. Cleaned but just need refinishing

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Food very good as usual. A bit annoying that main dishes were served in the middle of enjoying appetizers. Appreciate the $10 corkage.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2017

The Bahn Mi was fantastic

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 25, 2017

Best Thai fusion food in Napa. It’s a local treasure, more folks should patronize this restaurant!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 6, 2017

Loved the flavors at Bui Bistro. Portions are very generous. Nice bar to sit at if you want to catch a game. The food was tasty. Place was hopping on a Thursday night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

Great food and attentive service. Off the beaten track but easy to find! Really enjoyed our dinner.. delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2017

Went with my wife, best man, and his wife. Excellent and the food was great! My cubed filet mignon was absolutely delicious 😋 Fun ambiance and we got their early enough to not have any wait. Already recommended it to a friend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Was fairly crowded and lively on Saturday night. Maybe the Michelin Guide review brought out a lot of people. This is French Indochinese food and I cant argue with Michelin as to how authentic it is, but I agree with Michelin that, regardless, it is really good food, carefully prepared and quite elegantly served. Locals know about this place. One of my favorites in Napa.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2017

The food is simply delicious--kind of Napa-French-Vietnamese.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2017

Hidden away in a corner of downtown Napa, this is a place where visitors can dine like the locals!

Very accommodating to restricted diets

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2017

Service was friendly and the food was amazing. We're from out of town, or we would become regulars. The Shaken Beef was one of the best dishes we had on our whole weeklong trip to California, and we ate at many good restaurants in Berkeley and San Diego. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2017

The server never mentioned the evening specials nor was there any clue to the possibility that they had specials.We overheard the other server offering them to another table after we were finishing dinner. The chicken curry was good,,but there were zero condiments offered.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2017

We had the Clay Pot Chilean Sea Bass. It had an unusual texture. The flavor was good if a bit salty from the soy sauce.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2017

Great place, grate rosters, wonderful food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2017

This was a great restaurant for me and dad, even though he had a hard time understanding the menu. Everything was so yummy!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Delicious meal, will definitely go back. I got the shaken beef and my husband got the steak on the special. Both outstanding.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2017

We enjoyed our time dining. The papaya salad was tasty. The chicken curry sauce was perfect. Explore the menu and find out favorites

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2017

My husband goes there quite a bit, and he kept recommending we go. Omg such great food, I'm sorry I didn't get here earlier. I'll be back soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 21, 2017

great and varied menu
wide selection,fish - meat-veggies
great beer list
wine list was moderate
service was superb
room temp was a little cool or it would have been quite cozy
1st time there -- was worth the visit --- will return

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 26, 2016

We took my mother-in-law here for dinner. It was comfortable and the portions ample. We ordered 3 appetizers. We also ordered the Shaken Beef and the sea bass. It was delicious. We ate everything family style and this was the perfect amount of food. We would go back. We were considering a Thai restaurant and were excited to find this alternative in a town the size of Napa.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 15, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner here tremendously! Every dish we ordered was delicious! Our server was very attentive and shared great suggestions. Would definitely come back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 21, 2016

One of few spots in Napa to get good Asian food. In this case Vietnamese with a French twist. Quiet, low key, small menu.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 23, 2016

Rather overrated, ?French/Vietnamese, restaurant in Napa Valley. One should try La Sen in Concord if one favors euro-asian fusion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2016

always great food and excellent service, pleasant background music but not loud

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 14, 2016

We shared a table with 2 friends upon their recommendation, and the food proved to be very good with complex and pleasant flavors. The origins of Vietnamese and French influences was a wonderful experience and I would second their recommendation. The wine pricing and pours were generous along with the corkage @ $10. All of us are Napa Valley Residents with local expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2015

This is a hidden gem in Napa if you love real Vietnamese food ! They make their Imperial rolls in house with top shelf ingredients. The Bahn Xeo is also excellent. Service is dicey, but the food it totally worth it. Can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2015

I've heard about Bui Bistro and Chef Patrick but Christmas Eve was our first time there. What a wonderful way to start Christmas Eve! We arrived fairly early and were immediately greeted and seated. Our server was friendly and helpful but not overbearing. We started with Saigon Wings, Imperial Rolls and Spicy Tuna - all were fabulous. Our table had multiple orders of the Shaken Beef (tender and melts in your mouth would be understatements) as well as the Combination Vermicelli. All were exceptional. Our side dishes weren't second rate either - garlic noodles and prawns fried rice. We've dined at many Napa Restaurants, Michelin rated as well, and it was a refreshing experience having such excellently flavored food well presented in an enjoyable environment. Why did it take us so long to find you Bui Bistro, but we're happy we did! True fans planning on returning over and over again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 10, 2015

We were all impressed with our dinner here. A friend recommended we try this place, and we are glad we did. We had Calamari appetizer, Vietnamese crepe, Tofu in Curry Sauce, and Vermicelli with Shrimp and Vegetables. It was all excellent and service was, too. They have a good wine list, as well. We look forward to going back and wish we had tried it sooner.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 5, 2015

They need more waitstaff especially on a Saturday night. Our server was friendly and apologetic . Other than that, we enjoyed all our dishes. We had the Chilean bass, calamari, prawns, garlic noodles, beans, and Chinese broccoli.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 24, 2015

This visit to Bui Bistro was almost as the first. Upon entering, the odor of seafood was very off putting. There was only 1 server and assistant for the entire dining area. Our service was delayed due to short staffing but they gave their best effort. Our wine service was horrible. You must not pull the cork through the foil and then pour the wine across the soiled and protruding foil.
We will return later.

Report
Helpful
1
2