Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

About Buddakan - Philadelphia

Stephen Starr’s Buddakan is a spectacular restaurant featuring exotic flavors of modern Asian cuisine with creativity and drama. Bon Appetit notes, "The mostly white space is striking, with a lit-from-within communal table in the middle of the room, a waterfall & a ten-foot, candle-bedecked Buddha. The religious icon watches over hip customers indulging in pan-Asian cuisine that far surpasses the fare usually found at hot spots like this." Newsweek reports, "Design also serves as a signifier for cuisine. You walk into Buddakan, one of the hottest new restaurants in Philadelphia, past a shimmering waterfall & Japanese river stones & you say to yourself, 'ginger-miso everything' even before you see the magnificent 10-foot Buddha dominating the dining room." Named one of “America's Top 50 Restaurants" by Travel & Leisure and 'Top Restaurant for Fun' by Gourmet, Buddakan has become one of the country's most talked about restaurants.

325 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 574-9440

Website:
http://www.buddakan.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at $18 per vehicle after 5:30pm. Parking lot available during lunch on 3rd & 4th between Market & Chestnut Streets.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodman

Private Party Facilities:
Buddakan is the perfect venue for corporate or social events. Whether you want to take over the entire facility, overlook the action or be in the midst of it, there are many options for groups to experience Philadelphia’s most highly sought after dining destination.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Farina: (267) 238-3650

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (111)
Good for a Date (104)
Creative Cuisine (87)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (83)
Good for Birthdays (82)
Fit for Foodies (78)
Good for Groups (62)
Hot Spot (61)
Romantic (60)
Fun (53)
Handcrafted Cocktails (42)
Business Meals (35)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Authentic (28)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
People Watching (23)
Bar Seating (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Cozy (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Casual (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Tapas (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Spicy (10)
Modern Decor (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Family Style (6)
Vegan (5)
Scenic View (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
7235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic food and service! The menu has something for everyone. Desert was particularly good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great time. Was my 2nd time going this time was for 3 year anniversary. My girlfriend never has been and she had a blast. Food was great staff was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Buddakan never misses a beat. Everything is delicious, service is impeccable and the entire experience is luxurious! It's a must-go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious unique food! Dim sum was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service, amazing food and a delightful experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food is always delicious! The host at the host stand could be friendlier and when they seat you it would be nice if they can tell you what your servers name is. Also to say enjoy your meal...

Tags: Casual, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our friends and family members that we took there for dinner couldn't stop raving about how wonderful the dinner was for all 7 of us. Our Sunday eve reservation was respected and we were seated at a nice round table/booth that made for great sharing of items and also for conversation. It appeared to be a quiet eve at the restaurant. The waiter did a nice job for us as we asked up front for three separate checks. We all enjoyed some of their fine cocktails, and they were even able to split one for two to enjoy a smaller sip. We ordered the Dim Sum samplers and loved every morsel. The chopsticks they supply are friction-less plastic, so you really have to be a good manipulator to keep a dumpling headed in the right direction. Forks supplied also. We tried many of the dishes, each one better than the next-wasabi mashed potatoes, duck breast, scallion-beef pancakes, pad thai, lamb chops, tuna tataki (mmmm), shrimp dishes, and the desserts of course--donuts, Bento box sampler, peanut butter chocolate bars. It will leave our friends and family talking about the experience for a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I always love going to Buddakan! The only problem I had was my waitress didn't know how to run my debit card, so I had to pay with a credit card. Other than that the food was good, atmosphere is perfect, and the employees are very kind. Thank you

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Good Food, Good Service, irritating and distractingly noisy environment masquerading as hip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food. Good ambiance but noisy. Excellent service. Would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Aged beef dish was great, not impressed with the pad Thai. I would go back, food was good, but really nothing special or that memorable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We ordered a salad, several apps and 2 main courses and had food leftover after sharing with 4 people. Loved the service and attention to details.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We ordered the $60 per person group meal. All courses were delicious and more than amble.
I was pleased to introduce friends not from Philadelphia to a sumptuous experience. The wine was fine also.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great friendly service, excellent food at a fair price. What else is there???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I have many allergies and was please Buddakhan had a sesame and soy allergy menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Loved the atmosphere, calamari salad and spicy rock shrimp appetizer. Server was excellent; great place.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The food was delicious as was the Italian white wine we had. Only negative is that it was very noisy (was a Monday evening).

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Always on point. Everything on the menu is outstanding. Specials are really special. Service is great. Atmosphere is great

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Buddakan is an upscale restaurant that is worth the cost when you want a special dining experience. The food is excellent and the menu is varied enough to meet most food restrictions if that is an issue. The ambience and service are also excellent. It is an outstanding value because of these qualities. My dinner for 2 came to $128 which included one drink each, no dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Dined at Buddakan Philadelphia for dinner to celebrate my anniversary with my boyfriend. The food was exceptional as always. We ordered the king crab tempura for an appetizer. The sauce it came with was a little salty but the presentation was nice. We got the shrimp lo mein and lamb chops (medium) for our entrees to share. The lamb chops were more on the medium rare side than medium and a little to red for my liking. For dessert, we had the chocolate mousse with white chocolate ice cream. Our server was very knowledgeable on the menu items and specials and very attentive.

This location does not give off the same ambiance as the New York and Atlantic City locations. There was just something missing. We always dine at Buddakan for celebrations and we have been given a complementary dessert in New York and champagne in Atlantic City, however, this location did not do the same. (Not that we are looking for anything for free, but it is a very nice gesture from the other two locations.)

Overall, I had an enjoyable experience. The food was good and so was the service, however, I would probably choose to dine at the other two locations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Sea bass was one of the top fish dishes I had in my life, dim sum and the drinks were very good. We got Lobster fried rice as well but it wasn't anything special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was way overpriced given the portion size, there was a birthday party located in the front of the downstairs dining area that was super loud and ghetto. Someone kept yelling yass Chanel, yass b%$# which was super rude and annoying!!! The hostess or management should have stepped in the quite them down but, they did absolutely nothing!!! Never again!!!

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing food and great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Simply wonderful! We had several appetizers to share - dumplings, short ribs and beef satay - and 2 entrees - chicken and cashews and a shrimp dish. Everything was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Yummy midday break.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 3, 2017

About 11 of us visited Buddakan for my friends birthday. For a Wednesday night, the place was packed and pretty noisy. The food was less than medicore, for a restaurant of that caliber we all expected way more. I have been to regular restaurants where the food was immaculate. The waiter did the bare minimum, I am very disappointed in this experience and most likely will not return.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Waiter was absolutely amazing and noticed I was only ordering vegetarian options and told me about an off menu vegan offering which was super nice! Absolutely beautiful restaurant and amazing food, will be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Vegan, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

impeccable service & food. however since it was two colleagues, it was a tad pricy and could be reserved for a more special client event/dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 31, 2017

A classy place to have great Asian inspired dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We love this place! We just went to the one in NYC and although the atmosphere is amazing there, we love the original.

The ambiance is always great as well as the service. We love to see the manager Lowell whenever we are n town. He is so personable and always makes sure we have a wonderful dinner.

The food is always great! We love the Peking Duck and the Crab fried rice especially in addition to the sashimi and dim sum.

Whenever we are in Philly this is our go to place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This is our go-to spot for special occasions - and amazing food - in Philadelphia. Reservations highly recommended. You MUST TRY the Edamame Dumplings! The Wasabi Mashed Potatoes are all fantastic.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Tapas, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Upstairs dining room was extremely dark to walk especially on a dark carpet. Unsafe

for older people .

Appetizers were barely warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Very disappointing just a shell of what it was. Food was uninspiring could have gone to a really good Chinese restaurant for half the price. Will never consider going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Anniversary. And the waiter did recognize this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2017

I always enjoy a visit to Buddakan. The atmosphere is relaxing, the service is top notch, and the food is delicious and unique. The gluten free choices are very much appreciated!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We sat upstairs on a Sunday evening, and while children were present, the atmosphere was quiet and calming. Very reflective of the culture. Our wait staff was excellent and she was very detailed in her description of each dish. The food and wine were excellent. While there are so many fabulous Philly restaurants, dining with the Buddha is a treat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I have been an avid fan of Stephen Starr restaurants since 2000 and I have been to this restaurant many times. At one time, this was one of the most desired restaurant in the city. However, I will not go back to this restaurant for many reasons. Some of the reasons are:
(1) There is no dress code anymore it seems - for a supposedly fine dining, they let people in with shorts, t shirts and sneakers. Why bother going there for a special occasion?
(2) The lobster spring rolls ($25 for 3 rolls) were terrible to the point that they should not even have cost $9 for 3. At a Chinese restaurant you can get much better rolls for $4 for 3.
(3) The chicken dish was about $25 and had no taste at all.
(4) The short rib scallion pancake was like eating a board with no taste.
(5) The waiter had no idea about the wines he was serving.
(6) Service was erratic and you had to ask for your wine bottle a few times.
And so on ... There is nothing memorable except for a terrible experience.

Just the night before this one, we went to a One Michelin Star restaurant in Manhattan and spent less and the food was great.

Do yourself a favor and DO NOT go to Buddakan. Stephen Starr should be ashamed of this quality and service at his restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food at Buddakan is spectacular. We enjoyed 3 appetizers: tuna pizza, spring rolls and veggie dumplings. All were very tasty albeit small portions which I actually liked. The entrees were fresh and delicious and again - small portions which I appreciate. I left with my tastebuds happy and my belly full but not stuffed. The crispy shrimp was lightly breaded and crunchy with a wonderful citrus accent.

The atmosphere was dark and loud. Some people like all the buzzing energy but our party of 5 found it a bit difficult to communicate and it was too dark for us to take pix of our group at the table. Otherwise, it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, People Watching, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great service and food. Music was a bit too loud.......but aside from that......I would eat there every week if I could!!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.