About Buddakan - Philadelphia

Stephen Starr’s Buddakan is a spectacular restaurant featuring exotic flavors of modern Asian cuisine with creativity and drama. Bon Appetit notes, "The mostly white space is striking, with a lit-from-within communal table in the middle of the room, a waterfall & a ten-foot, candle-bedecked Buddha. The religious icon watches over hip customers indulging in pan-Asian cuisine that far surpasses the fare usually found at hot spots like this." Newsweek reports, "Design also serves as a signifier for cuisine. You walk into Buddakan, one of the hottest new restaurants in Philadelphia, past a shimmering waterfall & Japanese river stones & you say to yourself, 'ginger-miso everything' even before you see the magnificent 10-foot Buddha dominating the dining room." Named one of “America's Top 50 Restaurants" by Travel & Leisure and 'Top Restaurant for Fun' by Gourmet, Buddakan has become one of the country's most talked about restaurants.

325 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 574-9440

Website:
http://www.buddakan.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at $18 per vehicle after 5:30pm. Parking lot available during lunch on 3rd & 4th between Market & Chestnut Streets.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodman

Private Party Facilities:
Buddakan is the perfect venue for corporate or social events. Whether you want to take over the entire facility, overlook the action or be in the midst of it, there are many options for groups to experience Philadelphia’s most highly sought after dining destination.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Farina: 2672383650x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Crying Chocolate - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • Short Ribs With Mushroom Chow Fun - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • Fever And Dream Drinks - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • Lobster Fried Rice - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • White Chocolate Candy Bar - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • Chinese Eggplant With Thai Basil - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • Dumplings - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • Wok Braised Brussel Spoats - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA

Report a photo problem

Crying Chocolate - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Short Ribs With Mushroom Chow Fun - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Fever And Dream Drinks - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Lobster Fried Rice - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
White Chocolate Candy Bar - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Chinese Eggplant With Thai Basil - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Dumplings - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Wok Braised Brussel Spoats - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA

Buddakan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (91)
Special Occasion (88)
Good for Birthdays (65)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Romantic (63)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Creative Cuisine (61)
Modern Decor (49)
Fun (44)
Good for Groups (43)
Hot Spot (40)
Business Meals (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Worth the Drive (25)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
People Watching (23)
Family Style (23)
Authentic (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Cozy (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Casual (17)
Late-night Find (15)
Spicy (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Healthy (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tapas (6)
Vegan (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Historic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
6816 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was an amazing dinner! So glad I got ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 14 hours ago

It was an amazing dinner! So glad I got to celebrate my 23 rd birthday there!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good portions at a great value. Deliciou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Good portions at a great value. Delicious food with fast and polite service.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food wasn't so good. Delay in getting ou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food wasn't so good. Delay in getting our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Always a great meal here. We've never be ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great meal here. We've never been disappointed with the food. We always make it a point to come back for special occasions or the occasional nights out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very loud dining room. We were seated in ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Very loud dining room. We were seated in front of the open kitchen, which was very busy and distracting during dinner.

Food was ok but not outstanding or anything to recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Birthday celebration was great! The wait ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Birthday celebration was great! The waiter was very nice and informative about the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for my birthday with a group of f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I went for my birthday with a group of friends. The place has nice vibes. The food is delicious and served HOT. I do feel it was a little overpriced. But I would definitely recommend and go again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

While the menu didn't seem to have many ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

While the menu didn't seem to have many vegetarian options, when we asked, the staff informed us of a wonderful tofu dish that was not included on the menu. It was fabulous! The food was just wonderful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty pricey but overall THE BEST Chine ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pretty pricey but overall THE BEST Chinese food I've ever had!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

this. place. was. amazing. Our server w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

this. place. was. amazing. Our server was awesome! The food was great. The ambiance was sexy. It was great. GO.. if you've never been….. GO. Now...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buddakan is one of Philly's gems. Even a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Buddakan is one of Philly's gems. Even after decades of business, the food is still creative and exceptional; the dinners are generously portioned. It is a great place to dine with friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

General Tso dumpling, Kobe beef satay, s ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 6, 2017

General Tso dumpling, Kobe beef satay, sizzling short rib, pork tenderloin, ginger cake all very good. Attentive service without being overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Stumbled across this out for a walk .... ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Stumbled across this out for a walk ....doesn't look much from the sidewalk....yet one not to walk by - decor great. Amazing food and cocktails! Servers suggestions spot on ...delicious ...and you'll think you are too full .....but don't miss out on the Dip Sum Doughnuts...so light - share if you dare!

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent on every level. Intimate atmos ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Excellent on every level. Intimate atmosphere, unobtrusive waiter named Mark was top-notch! The Dim-sum was amazing with a variety of dumplings. Also enjoyed the Chilean Sea Bass and Charred Beef entree- both prepared perfectly. Don't forget the delicious homemade doughnuts if you have room for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Korean BBQ wings were tasty but the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The Korean BBQ wings were tasty but the dim sum sampler was pretty bland. For entrees, we got the Pad Thai and Wok Cashew Chicken, which also both missed the mark. The cashew chicken did not have a lot of flavor and the pad thai was way too sweet. After spending $120 on dinner and drinks, my wife and I both said we would've preferred $15 takeout!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Great service and really good food. Cod ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great service and really good food. Cod & seabass were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We (4 of us) picked our granddaughter up ...

 
 (Sonora)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We (4 of us) picked our granddaughter up from the airport & wanted to take her to a special restaurant to experience special food and with a great atmosphere. Buddakan fit the bill. We especially enjoyed the Bento box which allowed us to experience three different selections. We also added two different desserts to our Bento box. Our granddaughter ordered the Singapore Noodles for her lunch and the Dip Sum Doughnuts for dessert. Really appreciated the atmosphere and the low noise level.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food tasted great; quite expensive f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food tasted great; quite expensive for an everyday meal though! My wife and I shared a plate and it still cost us over $100! Ambience was quite cozy; it was a bit too dark for my liking though. All in all, I'll say it's a great place to have a special meal with loved ones. Be prepared to have a hole burn through your wallet though! But if the company is worth it, you're certainly going to enjoy it with no regrets...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fantastic. Our server, Tany ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was fantastic. Our server, Tanya, was tremendous and very friendly. We could not have been happier with the food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but the serving sizes have ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good but the serving sizes have gotten smaller for the same amount of money as they were before and the drinks were VERY SMALL compared to the size we got last year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The sea bass dish was excellent!! The po ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The sea bass dish was excellent!! The portion sizes were perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot, awesome venue for New Years ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great spot, awesome venue for New Years Eve. The food was great and ambiance was even better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and good food! The appe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great atmosphere and good food! The appetizer and entrée portions are perfect for 2 people. Great place for a date night! I highly recommend the dumpling sampler as an appettizer!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My boyfriend and I booked this place las ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My boyfriend and I booked this place last minute for the day before New Year's Eve and it was incredibly packed! Great vibe, everyone seemed like they were having fun. The food was fantastic, although the portions were massive (we have a ton of leftovers, which I'm not complaining about). We ordered the whole Peking duck, which was the star of the evening. It was simply amazing. The skin was perfectly crisp and they gave you a ton of pancakes for it too. Also for the real spice-takers, I asked for freshly cut chillis and they had it! One of the few restaurants ever in America to have that for their customers. We're definitely coming here again soon for the Szechuan pork dumplings and the pork and scallion pancakes.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was excellent.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The meal was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

That was my 5th time at Buddakan. But m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

That was my 5th time at Buddakan. But must say was little disappointed this time. The reasons were:

[1] PURPOE ADN ATTENTION FOR A RESERVATION: despite having made a reservation for 5 people well in advance, when arriving at the restaurant, was given a table that fit 4 people only. Then I had to request another table and was given table in the upper level of the restaurant close to the kitchen/service area entrance - and this was a real annoyance.

[2] FOOD: this is normally the highlight of a dining experience at Buddakan, normally... This time, must say that even a simple cashew chicken plate was just fair. Also noticed some plates arrived at the table a not really warm, indicating it might have set a at the kitchen before being served at the table.

Just hope that this was a one time/exception event, and that Buddakan is not losing sight to its service and quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

From the moment we arrived it was an exc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

From the moment we arrived it was an excellent experience. Valet service was great. Hostess and waitress was excellent. Meal was fantastic.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at Buddakan was fabulous! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our experience at Buddakan was fabulous! The food was some of the best we've ever had. It is a high end dining experience that was well worth the expense!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Buddakan more than lived up to the hype. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Buddakan more than lived up to the hype. The Edamame Dumplings were one of the best things I've ever eaten. The service was tremendous (knowledgeable, courteous, friendly) and we even got a dessert plate for our special occasion! (The donuts are some of the best I've had)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have dined at other Buddakan locations ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I have dined at other Buddakan locations in New York City and Atlantic City, NJ, but this was my first time at the Philadelphia location. Overall, my guests and I were very impressed with the food and ambiance, as always. The restaurant was crowded, but we enjoyed our booth near the Buddha statue and communal table, which made us feel like we were sitting in our own private space. We can't wait to return to Buddakan!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, , Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome flavors perfect portions and out ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Awesome flavors perfect portions and outstanding service. Well worth the splurge for a special experience and there will be no disappointment!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the Sea bass and it was absolutel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I had the Sea bass and it was absolutely delicious! It came with asparagus, butternut squash and rice for $37. We had a great waiter and we were all satisfied.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The restaurante is very good And the foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The restaurante is very good And the food is amazing but our clothes was with a oil smell after the dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

greasy,salty food, vegetables not fresh ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

greasy,salty food, vegetables not fresh, extremely noisy, expensive wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

great as usual. from the hostess stand t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

great as usual. from the hostess stand to the person that takes the plates everyone was cheerful and wonderful. besides other times during the year this has become a christmas day tradition for us. the food speaks for itself.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once seated every thing was wonderful. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Once seated every thing was wonderful. A backup in the beginning left us with a party including 2 babies waiting for 1/2 hr past our scheduled reservation. However, it was Christmas and glitches happen. Once seated, everything was like clockwork. A special thanks to the exceptional staff. And a very very special thank you to GM Jordan Fuller who kept on top of things and kept the guests in the loop. Thank you Jordan!!!❤. And as always, the good was delicious, came out proper temperature and in true Buddakan style, in ample portions! Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as always

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here multiple times. I love th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I've been here multiple times. I love the food. Get the donuts for dessert! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was well done, the food came ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The service was well done, the food came out quickly, the "sharing " concept was interesting and enjoyable. Nice creative food but not so avant-garde as to be strange.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fast but we never felt r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The service was fast but we never felt rushed. The food was excellent with many varied choices.

Pre dinner drinks at the upstairs bar were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.