About Buddakan - Philadelphia

325 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr’s Buddakan is a spectacular restaurant featuring exotic flavors of modern Asian cuisine with creativity and drama. Bon Appetit notes, "The mostly white space is striking, with a lit-from-within communal table in the middle of the room, a waterfall & a ten-foot, candle-bedecked Buddha. The religious icon watches over hip customers indulging in pan-Asian cuisine that far surpasses the fare usually found at hot spots like this." Newsweek reports, "Design also serves as a signifier for cuisine. You walk into Buddakan, one of the hottest new restaurants in Philadelphia, past a shimmering waterfall & Japanese river stones & you say to yourself, 'ginger-miso everything' even before you see the magnificent 10-foot Buddha dominating the dining room." Named one of “America's Top 50 Restaurants" by Travel & Leisure and 'Top Restaurant for Fun' by Gourmet, Buddakan has become one of the country's most talked about restaurants.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 574-9440

Website:
http://www.buddakan.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at $18 per vehicle after 5:30pm. Parking lot available during lunch on 3rd & 4th between Market & Chestnut Streets.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodman

Private Party Facilities:
Buddakan is the perfect venue for corporate or social events. Whether you want to take over the entire facility, overlook the action or be in the midst of it, there are many options for groups to experience Philadelphia’s most highly sought after dining destination.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Farina: 2672383650x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Crying Chocolate
  • Short Ribs With Mushroom Chow Fun
  • Fever And Dream Drinks
  • Lobster Fried Rice
  • White Chocolate Candy Bar
  • Chinese Eggplant With Thai Basil
  • Dumplings
  • Wok Braised Brussel Spoats
Crying Chocolate
Short Ribs With Mushroom Chow Fun
Fever And Dream Drinks
Lobster Fried Rice
White Chocolate Candy Bar
Chinese Eggplant With Thai Basil
Dumplings
Wok Braised Brussel Spoats

Buddakan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Old City ›

Special Occasion (192)
Fit for Foodies (186)
Good for Groups (134)
See All
Hot Spot (112)
Romantic (112)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Vibrant Bar Scene (49)
Great for Lunch (42)
Late-night Find (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Scenic View (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
6074 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always lives up to my expectations. Serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Always lives up to my expectations.

Service and food consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time. Atmosphere was great a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Had a great time. Atmosphere was great and the food was amazing. Waiter was great and energetic and answered all the questions we had. Overall it was an awesome experience. Definitely coming back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Can't wait to go back, it was beyond per ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Can't wait to go back, it was beyond perfect. Great for large and small intimate parties. Good was great and so was the service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Private Room, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience. Great fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding dining experience. Great food, great service with breathtaking decor

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! Service and food is so ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place! Service and food is some of the best in town!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the dumplings and calamari salad! M ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love the dumplings and calamari salad! My drink of choice was a cocktail, Joy, so yummy. I love the service as much as the food!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here for my birthday celebration ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

I came here for my birthday celebration and was so pleased with the food. The sea bass was delightful! Smoked rib tips and the crab and lobster dim sum was divine! I'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local felt the restaurant was more dated ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 6 days ago

Local felt the restaurant was more dated and that there were other options for newer, more innovative restaurants but we found Buddakan to be worth the drive. We didn't like our seat originally by the kitchen but they quickly moved us to something more scenic. The food selections were plentiful and tasted fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoy lunch here quite often...we are ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoy lunch here quite often...we are never disappointed!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is fabulous! The food wa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This restaurant is fabulous! The food was outstanding and the service impeccable. You must have the warm donuts with all the yummy dips for dessert. A great finish!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Buddakan is one of my favorite restauran ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Buddakan is one of my favorite restaurants in Old City. The food is perfection each and everytime. The night I dined the food took alittle long to come out but overall good. The only thing unpleasant was the couple sitting in the booth next to us made our dining alittle uncomfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced and pretentious. The restaur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Over priced and pretentious. The restaurant was not full, with plenty of open tables, but we were made to wait 10 minutes past our reservation time. The food was adequate at best. Our waitress was good, efficient and friendly.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Took my husband to Buddakan for his birt ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Took my husband to Buddakan for his birthday and we had an amazing time. They were super helpful and accommodating of our one year old son and as always the service was amazing. Definitely recommend the edamame dumplings and sea bass.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bento lunch box option was very reasonab ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Bento lunch box option was very reasonable and had plenty of options for all Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We had party of 10 and everyone thought food and service were top notch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The calamari salad is amazing!! As well ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The calamari salad is amazing!! As well as the edamame dumplings. Amazing service and great vibe! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was good. My daughter's food cam ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Service was good. My daughter's food came so late. We were all done just waiting for her food. Food was delicious. It was my husbands birthday, we all wanted desert but then no one wanted another wait.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had wonderful time at Buddakan. It wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had wonderful time at Buddakan. It was first for our 13 year Anniversary we will be back to visit nice ambiance and service was great

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I met my friend to celebrate our new job ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I met my friend to celebrate our new jobs and we had a fabulous meal. Our apps were fabulous and the sea bass was amazing! Our issue was they initially tried to seat us in this tiny spot with a huge column on one side and a very large party table on the other. That said, they accommodated our request for a different table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Every time we go to Buddakan - we are ne ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Every time we go to Buddakan - we are never disappoint. The food is always consistent. The wait staff is great. The food is just amazing and so are the desserts! I always love going to Buddakan, and hope to go back very soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food! We especially loved the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious food! We especially loved the edamame dim sum.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Last minute reservations for my mothers ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Last minute reservations for my mothers upcoming birthday. Everything from the ambiance to the delectable dishes over exceeded our expectations. Needless to say my mother really enjoyed her night...especially desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a great meal!!!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always a great meal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is top on my favorite places to din ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is top on my favorite places to dine. The food is beyond outstanding. Everything is so flavorful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the restaurant and the food but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We love the restaurant and the food but the noise level really detracts from the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While charging fine dining prices, the s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

While charging fine dining prices, the service was more akin to a fast food Chinese restaurant. The service was rushed, the food arrived well before the wine and the meal, and the food was only marginally more interesting. Save your money for some place where you will be treated as if your dining experience matters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Second time at this restaurant and it di ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Second time at this restaurant and it didn't disappoint. Food is very good, but it is a big pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Server was good. Not great as they usual ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Server was good. Not great as they usually are. Runners made lots of mistakes and set drinks and food at wrong areas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Went to celebrate a 21st bday with one m ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went to celebrate a 21st bday with one member in a wheelchair and a one year old. Service was great and accommodating. The food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey - but consistent as always

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Pricey - but consistent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It doesn't get any better...fine dining, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It doesn't get any better...fine dining, exquisite presentation, super service

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very overrated. the price was very high ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

very overrated. the price was very high and the food was average at best. typical Chinese fair at very high price. nothing special. They make reference to the fact that some of the food and apps are "family style" meaning more than usual to feed more than one person. not the case. I guess this is how they justify higher cost, but certainly not enough for more than one person. definitely not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Our server was polite and was able to ta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server was polite and was able to talk us thru the menu since we have never eaten here before. Our reservations were at 6:00 and we were seated within a few minutes of our time. The menu was a little overwhelming for us since we were newbies. Everything we ordered was delicious. We would go back in a heart beat. Celebrating my husband's birthday here was a success.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was amazing. Service was fast. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was amazing. Service was fast. Waiters were really nice and explained everything and answered questions well. Definitely will come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food us tremendous at this establishment ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food us tremendous at this establishment. Pricy but worth the trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. A little loud but very g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was great. A little loud but very good ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Buddakan is terrific. The dumplings are ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Buddakan is terrific. The dumplings are one of my favorite foods of all time. Service is top-notch as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is still doing it right ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This restaurant is still doing it right after several years. Food and service was great but hostess was not. It was a 5:45 pm res, only 3 other couples were in the place and the hostess took us to the saddest, farthest table in the upstairs bar area.

I have been using Open Table for several years now and I eat out at least once a week. Nearly every time I use open table I arrive at the restaurant to find that they offer the worst possible seat in the place and I have to ask for a better table. I know other folks experience this as well b/c I have read their online comments so why does this continue to happen?

Open Table is convenient for make reservations any time but I'm feeling more inclined to call these days b/c I can get a better table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food great service ambience wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food great service ambience was pleasant although the physical environment looked a little tired and worn and needed some freshening up. But overall a great experience and we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great smoked ribs Fun ambience

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great smoked ribs

Fun ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Asian fusion restaurant with sleek ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great Asian fusion restaurant with sleek interior.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.