About Buddakan - Philadelphia

325 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr’s Buddakan is a spectacular restaurant featuring exotic flavors of modern Asian cuisine with creativity and drama. Bon Appetit notes, "The mostly white space is striking, with a lit-from-within communal table in the middle of the room, a waterfall & a ten-foot, candle-bedecked Buddha. The religious icon watches over hip customers indulging in pan-Asian cuisine that far surpasses the fare usually found at hot spots like this." Newsweek reports, "Design also serves as a signifier for cuisine. You walk into Buddakan, one of the hottest new restaurants in Philadelphia, past a shimmering waterfall & Japanese river stones & you say to yourself, 'ginger-miso everything' even before you see the magnificent 10-foot Buddha dominating the dining room." Named one of “America's Top 50 Restaurants" by Travel & Leisure and 'Top Restaurant for Fun' by Gourmet, Buddakan has become one of the country's most talked about restaurants.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 574-9440

Website:
http://www.buddakan.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at $18 per vehicle after 5:30pm. Parking lot available during lunch on 3rd & 4th between Market & Chestnut Streets.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodman

Private Party Facilities:
Buddakan is the perfect venue for corporate or social events. Whether you want to take over the entire facility, overlook the action or be in the midst of it, there are many options for groups to experience Philadelphia’s most highly sought after dining destination.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Farina: 2672383650x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Crying Chocolate
  • Short Ribs With Mushroom Chow Fun
  • Fever And Dream Drinks
  • Lobster Fried Rice
  • White Chocolate Candy Bar
  • Chinese Eggplant With Thai Basil
  • Dumplings
  • Wok Braised Brussel Spoats
Crying Chocolate
Short Ribs With Mushroom Chow Fun
Fever And Dream Drinks
Lobster Fried Rice
White Chocolate Candy Bar
Chinese Eggplant With Thai Basil
Dumplings
Wok Braised Brussel Spoats

Buddakan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Old City ›

Special Occasion (185)
Fit for Foodies (163)
Good for Groups (118)
See All
Romantic (114)
Hot Spot (107)
Good for a Date (52)
Great for Lunch (44)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Modern Decor (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Business Meals (28)
Fun (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Late-night Find (19)
Family Style (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Authentic (11)
Cozy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Scenic View (7)
Healthy (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Spicy (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Casual (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
 (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
 (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
 (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place is amazing, took my husband f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

This place is amazing, took my husband for his birthday. The service, ambiance, food and cocktails were all 5 star. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic experience at Buddaka ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a fantastic experience at Buddakan! Our party of 4 were out to celebrate my sister-in-laws Bachelorette party and we were treated like special guests! Our server Calvin was amazing, very attentive and made excellent recommendations for us to try from the menu. Looking forward to returning in the near future!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would normally rate this much higher - ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

I would normally rate this much higher - but we have been disappointed with the food (menu changes) over the years. Hung in there - as it was always good - even if not our "favorite" meals.

But we were very disappointed with this visit. After going to Budakkhan for many of our special occasions, with clients, with friends, and always having a great table, good food and comfortable - it was "our special place".

However, first time ever, we were seated in the bar area, at a tiny table that was on the fringe of the walkway to the rest room and bar. So we always had people walking by, brushing us - at one point, someone banged into the table. It would've been OK for a walk in experience, but not a 2 week reservation with for our 20th anniversary. I was pretty bummed.

A little disappointed with the Caesar salad - a favorite of ours. Even asked if the dressing was changed as it didn't have that pizzazz that we're used to. Maybe the entrees were good - but at that point, we'd been distracted and bumped enough to call it a night and leave.

I love Starr restaurants. We have been to all. We've been to Budakkhan most - in NYC and AC as well. But, we both decided it was time to retire this one. This was not our first disappointment (it happens) but it was the first time I felt like it really wasn't the same and it's not (for us) a short trip to get to. Will take my chances elsewhere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We went to Buddakan for Restaurant Week ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Buddakan for Restaurant Week and we had a 3 course dinner. Dinner was amazing and exceeded our expectations. I would recommend Buddakan to anyone and everyone, plus it is a perfect restaurant for date night!

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been dying to go to this restaurant ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

I've been dying to go to this restaurant since I was a kid in college (that was 10+ years ago). Finding myself back in Philly, my husband and I decided to try it. We really wanted to love everything about this place but we just didn't. The food is tasty, but over priced! We paid $31 for 5 shrimp! The staff is friendly though and the environment was lively. We will likely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We came back for restaurant week again, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

We came back for restaurant week again, just to eat the seabass and the dumplings. We do not regret it. By far the best dinner ever. So good! Their zengria is delicious too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went during restaurant week and the fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I went during restaurant week and the food was truly amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had lunch with friends during restaurant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Had lunch with friends during restaurant week and it was fabulous ! Great service , delicious food and nice atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the bento box during the resta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

I ordered the bento box during the restaurant week. The order comes pretty quick and the waitress was friendly and polite. The food was good,but comes in real small portion. I ordered mango cheesecake for the dessert, I would definitely recommend it. There is one thing I would like to say about this restaurant is water. DON'T ORDER A GLASS OF WATER!! At the beginning the waitress asked me would I like some water, I said yes, and then she asked me sparkle or distilled, I said distilled. She gave me a glass of water. I assume the water is free, because water is free in many other restaurant. When she gave me the bill, I was like OMG, the glass of water costs Six Dollars. I can buy a whole case of bottled spring water. I will come to Buddakan again, but I am not going to order a glass of water anymore. It is too pricey.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was wonderful, I was happy to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful, I was happy to be seated up stairs as it was restaurant week and very loud down stairs (but no annoying). The food was to die for, salad, dumplings, & sea bass. Good stuff, still expensive even for restaurant week, but it's certainly a treat to go to this fabulous place!

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided we would revisit Budakkan dur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We decided we would revisit Budakkan during Restaurant Week and it was a great deal! Food was excellent! Dim Sum Doughnuts are incredible! Service was wonderful! Great place for a date night!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was simply exquisite, perfectly ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The food was simply exquisite, perfectly seasoned and prepared, the decor was breathtaking. Our waiter could not have been more accommodating and attentive, I loved him. My specialty cocktail, a "shangri la" perfectly complemented my food. It was my first time eating there and I will be back

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place to dine and will recomm ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Excellent place to dine and will recommend to everyone

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always love the food, atmosphere, ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

As always love the food, atmosphere, service. My friends were very impressed!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Buddakan offers an interesting variety o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Buddakan offers an interesting variety of Pan-Asian cuisine. The restaurant space is very open, dominated by a large statue of Buddha at one end of the restaurant. Thus, the atmosphere was fairly vibrant, not quiet. The quality of the food was excellent. The sashimi dish was yellowtail and was delicious. I had the Five-spice Duck and it was perfectly prepared. It's a bit pricy, but the food, service and atmosphere was worth it to us. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The portion sizes of the plate are small ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The portion sizes of the plate are small. With the prices they are requesting I believe the portions should be bigger

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

From the day it's doors opened in 1998 t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

From the day it's doors opened in 1998 through my last visit in 2016, THE FOOD WAS AND IS STILL PHENOMENAL! The restaurant week menu offered some good dishes BUT I just have my favorites that are a must. The lobster fried rice, wontons and calamari salad still have such a burst of flavor and quality that is like none other. This continues to be my favorite and most recommended place to experience. It is just that....An Experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious!! I absolutely lo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was delicious!! I absolutely loved the doughnuts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for restaurant week. It was sup ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went for restaurant week. It was super loud. We've been in the past, but this was def the loudest. Four people in our party, and it was hard for us to hear each other.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our overall dining experience was "outst ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our overall dining experience was "outstanding"....... just a couple little "hiccups"...

we dined upstairs and there were several parties at the bar that backed into our table and made it difficult for the servers to get around.....it was definitely a lot louder than usual which made it hard to have a conversation and converse with the wait staff.... lighting seemed to be "darker" than I remember (I had to use the flashlight on my cell phone to see some of the menu)....

But like I said overall experience OUTSTANDING!!!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Quite a nice upscale foodie experience. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Quite a nice upscale foodie experience. We were more than satisfied with all of our dining selections, though the portions were a bit modest. The flavors were so engaging that I always found myself wanting more. The decor is clean and inviting. The sea bass and eggplant dish were the stars of the show.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was meh. Hostess and server were pl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was meh. Hostess and server were pleasant. Drinks and starters came to the table in a timely fashion, but it took our steak entree an hour to arrive! My guest and I actually thought the server forgot to put the order in and considered just asking for the check at one point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

There is not a time that I go to the res ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

There is not a time that I go to the restaurant that I don't fall in love with it all over again. Everything from the ambience to the cocktails to the delicious food makes you want to return over and over again.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restaurant week and got the thr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Went for restaurant week and got the three course prix fixe dinner. My sashimi was good. Shrimp main course was good. My wife got the beef chow fun which was very good and I wish I got myself. Finished off with the donut dessert which was also very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This is our second "restaurant week" vis ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is our second "restaurant week" visit, and it was well worth it. We had dumplings, which were sumptuous followed by a fish platter, the beef chow fun, and the chicken dish. All were appreciated and we needed take-out containers to handle the ample portions. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was quite disappointed with the expens ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I was quite disappointed with the expense of the very ordinary side items. I think I would have appreciated knowing it was an al la carte restaurant.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We eat at Buddakan once a week and alway ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We eat at Buddakan once a week and always enjoy the menu, always delicious and never boring. First rate!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super value for restaurant week...staff ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Super value for restaurant week...staff couldn't be more accommodating, and food was best Asian ever!

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and presentation was excellent

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food and presentation was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time here but I can u ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was our first time here but I can understand the good reviews. The majority of our dishes were very delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Buddakan was fabulous. We went for Rest ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Buddakan was fabulous. We went for Restaurant Week to check it out. The food was excellent and plentiful. Our waiter Mark was the best. We had a table upstairs looking down on the dining room. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was delicious! We went for lunc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The meal was delicious! We went for lunch during Restaurant Week; the meal was served Bento box style and included dessert: the cheesecake was melt-in-your-mouth creamy and my friend enjoyed a box of donuts with various sauces. The edamame dumplings were delicious! We will definitely go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Meh... All ambiance and no cuisine...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Meh... All ambiance and no cuisine...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Seated promptly, great food and great se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Seated promptly, great food and great service! Always a winner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Restaurant Week offering is pretty m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The Restaurant Week offering is pretty much the same as the Bento Box usually offered but with desert included for an additional $3 at lunch which was a bargain at least for the Chocolate Dome I had. Food was good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I was on business travel and made a dinn ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I was on business travel and made a dinner reservation for restaurant week. I had a wonderful meal - from the hamachi sashimi to the Chilean sea bass to the chocolate dome dessert. Great service and wonderful preparation and presentation of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an enjoyable meal during Philadelphi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Had an enjoyable meal during Philadelphia Restaurant Week recently.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Buddakan was every bit as good as its re ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Buddakan was every bit as good as its reputation. We were greeted and seated promptly. Our server was attentive without being intrusive. The food was outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and look forward to dining at Buddakan again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am my dining partner did the restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I am my dining partner did the restaurant week menu and all was superb. It was nice to be able to try and see what the restaurant had to offer. The duck wings ,sea bass and dim sum doughnuts were great. I will be back post restaurant week. Thanks for joining the list of restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the third time I have dined at B ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This is the third time I have dined at Buddakan in Philadelphia. I am an out of town occasional visitor, not a regular here. The food is always consistently good. The highlights on this visit were the crab tempura small plate and the sea bass. The sea bass was probably our favorite item. It is a rather noisy place, which is not necessarily good or bad. It just depends on what you like. But, if you want quiet conversation over dinner, this is not your place. It has a young, energetic vibe and really good food. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.