Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

About Buddakan - Philadelphia

Stephen Starr’s Buddakan is a spectacular restaurant featuring exotic flavors of modern Asian cuisine with creativity and drama. Bon Appetit notes, "The mostly white space is striking, with a lit-from-within communal table in the middle of the room, a waterfall & a ten-foot, candle-bedecked Buddha. The religious icon watches over hip customers indulging in pan-Asian cuisine that far surpasses the fare usually found at hot spots like this." Newsweek reports, "Design also serves as a signifier for cuisine. You walk into Buddakan, one of the hottest new restaurants in Philadelphia, past a shimmering waterfall & Japanese river stones & you say to yourself, 'ginger-miso everything' even before you see the magnificent 10-foot Buddha dominating the dining room." Named one of “America's Top 50 Restaurants" by Travel & Leisure and 'Top Restaurant for Fun' by Gourmet, Buddakan has become one of the country's most talked about restaurants.

325 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 574-9440

Website:
http://www.buddakan.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at $18 per vehicle after 5:30pm. Parking lot available during lunch on 3rd & 4th between Market & Chestnut Streets.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodman

Private Party Facilities:
Buddakan is the perfect venue for corporate or social events. Whether you want to take over the entire facility, overlook the action or be in the midst of it, there are many options for groups to experience Philadelphia’s most highly sought after dining destination.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Farina: (267) 238-3650

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (106)
Good for a Date (105)
Creative Cuisine (93)
See All
Good for Birthdays (87)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Good for Anniversaries (79)
Good for Groups (69)
Romantic (67)
Hot Spot (58)
Fun (53)
Worth the Drive (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Business Meals (35)
Authentic (35)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Tasting Menu (29)
Good Vegetarian Options (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Spicy (22)
People Watching (21)
Late-night Find (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Cozy (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Casual (17)
Healthy (10)
Tapas (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Scenic View (7)
Vegan (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great Beer (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
7393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined a day ago

Fantastic experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

More a restaurant for people who enjoy ‘the scene’ rather than gourmet dining.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

Noisy, busy and delicious.
Some problems with service with several items delayed or forgotten.
Fabulous food!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary here. We were blown away by both the food and service. Our waiter was attentive, but not overly so. The meal was paced well. The food was delicious--the BBQ pork tenderloin was melt in your mouth good. We will for sure be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Took my teenage kids to Buddakan for the first time for my wife's birthday.....they loved it....we already did. Tuna spring rolls as an appetizer and the lamb chops for main were to die for. They were the standout dishes but everything we ate tasted great, honorable mentions go to the whole peking duck and the glazed pork belly. It's a noisy, lively place so not great for a first date but we had a blast. Only pain felt was on the credit card!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Fun and energetic place to get together with friends. Our group of 8 sat at the long table by the Buddha. We ordered the sample platter and got soooo much delicious food! We ate Shrimp, pad Thai, roasted duck, just to name a few. Will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Definitely try the dim sum sampler. Every course was delicious. Excellent service delivered by a strong team.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Lunch was fantastic and the ambience was wonderful. It also was a beautiful day in Philadelphia.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was fabulous & creative.
Crispy calamari salad always my fav. We shared everything and even though some items may have come as three, waiter advised he could make it four. Group of four women following Bridal gown shopping so a little celebration added to the occasion. I would definitely and always have recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Business Meals, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Excellent service and as usual very nice food.

Love this restaurant and plan to visit it a lot more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Everything was wonderful. From the salad, to the dim sum and the fried rice. I can't wait to come back and try more things on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food was outstanding and he abiance was perfect. Very upscale and worth every dime spent

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Server could have been more attentive. She seemed rushed and only took the order at the beginning and then said goodbye at the end.
We're used to the service at Zahav- much more server/customer connection.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Fantastic experience all around. Would highly recommend it to anyone for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We got the lobster fried rice, Kobe beef satay, pepper beef, and lamb chops. They were all really good! I loved the atmosphere and the vibe of the place. Cool place to go on a date with your significant other. Service was pretty good, and the cook and cut of all the dishes was spot on. Would go again!

Update as of 10/15/17-- they charged me twice for my drinks that I got at the bar. They told me they'd transfer my tab over to my table so I wouldn't have to pay two separate checks, but they ended up charging me twice for them. Hopefully this gets fixed asap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Always love it here
The bar service was slow as they were down a bartender but otherwise amazing service and food as always
One of my favorite places to go

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Fabulous service and food. Our group came for lunch and stayed over 2hours and were welcomed to do so. Server patient in explaining menu and helping with choices. Can’t wait to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Organic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 12, 2017

From the moment we entered the delightful scene with the big Budda looking at us and
the waterfall muting the noise of happy diners, we were treated like royalty. We were
seated immediately and just the right amount of concern shown by the wait staff. The food was outstanding and beautifully presented. This was a fabulous evening.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 12, 2017

I had a business lunch and we had several of the appetizers. The cashew chicken dish tasted like the chicken was warmed up too many times, the same was true for the ribs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2017

It has been a couple of years since I have been there - still awesome! The calamari salad is amazing

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Been coming here for years this place always delivers in the ambience is always amazing. The staff is super attentive and the food is always on point

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Our dinner experience at Buddakan was certainly top-notch! Our servers were very pleasant & attentive. The menu was filled with so many delicious options that it was difficult to choose. Two outstanding selections were the wasabi crusted filet & the sea bass! Both were tender, juicy and well seasoned. We also enjoyed the dumpling sampler which enabled you to try a variety of their dumpling offerings. Would highly recommend it & will definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food is fantastic and has been consistently so for the last 12 years I have been going. Unfortunately the service is lacking. In our server's defense, I think he had too many tables. However, his lack knowledge regarding the menu and basic service skills were evident.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I am not accustomed to making reservations 3 weeks in advance utilizing “Open Table” and being seated at arguably the worst table in the house. Near front door / Hostess stand facing an exit sign wall and the bar. This table should be for walk-ins

It actually makes me reconsider the value of Open Table.

Other than to table location, the server was very inattentive and when we approached the manger we were summarily dismissed without so much as a request to know the issues at hand.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Everything we ordered was delicious! The dumplings are a must! We really enjoyed the Korean fried rice :) It was a great place to celebrate our second anniversary!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Phila. The food is great, the Ambiance is the best and the service is second to none.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

It's very, very dark! The food is fabulous and worth the expensive price tag!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We haven’t been to Buddakan in 10 years and it was even better than we remembered. Whenever we travel to Philadelphia, it will be a must. The dessert donuts were AMAZING

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

For a first timer, should have been an experience, instead it was just ok

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Buddakan served as a perfect venue for our son-in-law's 30th birthday dinner. We all loved the food; many delicious choices. My daughter said that it was the best sashimi that she ever had.
The service was great, very friendly and very helpful to us first time diners. I would definitely return to Buddakan for a future special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

My wife and I had dinner at Buddakan to celebrate our 4 year anniversary. The food was delicious and the service was a great. The Dim Sum was awesome! Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

It was our first and last time there! The food is overpriced. The portions are small. It was extremely loud. The presentation of the food was better than the taste. Spent about $25 on valet parking and the parking attendant snooped through my car. Just overall a bad experience and we won't be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Remains one of my favorite places to have lunch or dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

AMAZING! Do not miss experiencing this place when in Philly!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Delicious food and drinks, nice decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Another delightful meal where we live to bring our out of town guests. Service was great, drinks good, food delicious. Great dessert

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Great as always !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Good food. A bit overpriced. Too loud at times. BUT diverse selection of food all of which-- except the scallion chicken which was uninspiring and almost tasteless--was flavorful and enjoyable.
No real gluten free menu just items without the sauce.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.