Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

About Buddakan - Philadelphia

Stephen Starr’s Buddakan is a spectacular restaurant featuring exotic flavors of modern Asian cuisine with creativity and drama. Bon Appetit notes, "The mostly white space is striking, with a lit-from-within communal table in the middle of the room, a waterfall & a ten-foot, candle-bedecked Buddha. The religious icon watches over hip customers indulging in pan-Asian cuisine that far surpasses the fare usually found at hot spots like this." Newsweek reports, "Design also serves as a signifier for cuisine. You walk into Buddakan, one of the hottest new restaurants in Philadelphia, past a shimmering waterfall & Japanese river stones & you say to yourself, 'ginger-miso everything' even before you see the magnificent 10-foot Buddha dominating the dining room." Named one of “America's Top 50 Restaurants" by Travel & Leisure and 'Top Restaurant for Fun' by Gourmet, Buddakan has become one of the country's most talked about restaurants.

325 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 574-9440

Website:
http://www.buddakan.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at $18 per vehicle after 5:30pm. Parking lot available during lunch on 3rd & 4th between Market & Chestnut Streets.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodman

Private Party Facilities:
Buddakan is the perfect venue for corporate or social events. Whether you want to take over the entire facility, overlook the action or be in the midst of it, there are many options for groups to experience Philadelphia’s most highly sought after dining destination.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Farina: (267) 238-3650

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (158)
Special Occasion (151)
Good for Birthdays (103)
See All
Creative Cuisine (103)
Fit for Foodies (98)
Good for Anniversaries (96)
Romantic (92)
Good for Groups (87)
Modern Decor (83)
Fun (75)
Worth the Drive (67)
Hot Spot (67)
Handcrafted Cocktails (51)
Business Meals (50)
Cozy (43)
Authentic (41)
Family Style (39)
Bar Seating (35)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Casual (29)
Tasting Menu (29)
Good Vegetarian Options (27)
People Watching (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Late-night Find (20)
Outstanding Value (18)
Spicy (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Healthy (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Scenic View (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Vegan (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Tapas (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Historic (4)
Private Room (4)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
7048 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Have not been to Philadelphia in 6 years, this restaurant has ben open for 19 with little change to the menu because of the long term success. Food and service is still fabulous; great place to come with friends or business associates to share the variety of appetizers and entrees. get several and share...food is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Expected much more but this was any other restaurant experience....

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a friend's birthday and everything was perfect. The food was great, drinks amazing, the table we got was perfect with a view of the entire beautiful restaurant. We even had great parking (down the street). Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was this night and always has been consistently excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

It was awesome I had their Chilean sea bass my wife had their barbecue pork tender loin and then we had a side order of fried rice with crab. Tuna tartare spring rolls for appetizer. Everything was great. A little loud for me but not objectionable. Service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a great restaurant and the food is much better than at the NY venue.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

This was my first time at this restaurant. I loved it. Great food and great service. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

I haven't been to Buddakan in 2 years and the same comfortable and welcoming feeling I had my first time there came back as if the energy had never left. The food was amazing as always. My girlfriend loved our waiter's vibrancy and the atmosphere overall. If you love your partner..bring them to Buddakan😁

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Family Style, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Spicy, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Spent the day touring Philadelphia.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall I love this place and go whenever I can justify the cost as a special occasion/splurge event and usually leave very satisfied. This visit; however, I was disappointed as I feel quality is slipping. The dimsum sampler I ordered was excellent as was the dungoness crab rice I usually order. The Cashew Wok Chicken; however, was really subpar--on the level of chinese takeout which is NOT the norm for this restaurant. The chicken was bland and chewy and the sauce felt sour/off in some way. I was there on a date so didn't want to make a scene or send it back but all in all this is the first of many times I've eaten here I've had a bad experience with food. I still enjoyed the impeccable and attentive service and the drinks were amazing so will probably give it another go in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great atmosphere. Great food! Was very loud but otherwise enjoyable.
Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent!
Our server Tammy took great care of us. Very personable even with how busy they were. It was a special event at the restaurant for "Dining out for Life" so they were extremely busy but our server made us feel like she wasn't busy at all.
Food was excellent, all in all a fun evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I took my husband to Buddakan for his birthday dinner. The food is always consistently delicious. Our sever was very prompt and attentive. Highly recommend this spot for a unique delicious dinner or lunch.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Visit with my Niece

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

If you are a vegetarian, this is not the place for you. Nothing on the menu is veggie-friendly unless modified. Once modified, the food is very bland and uninteresting. For $22 I ended up with a bowl of shredded raw cabbage/cilantro/nuts, a tiny scoop of fried rice, and 2 miniature dry dumplings with no dipping sauce. Other SS restaurants have much better vegetarian options. This is no value and frankly not that fun if you don't eat meat.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The food and service were good. I had lamb chops. My wife had sea bass.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great restaurant great good great service! Would definitely go again

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We chose Buddakan after just a few minutes research on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. We tried four small dishes and two larger ones for 3 of us which was more than enough food. We were reminded of Ron's Gastrobar in Amsterdam (where all dishes are smallish and 15 euros) because of the sharing/tasting aspect. If my son decides to go to U Penn (the reason for our visit), we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

21st bday so nice of them to give a special gift at end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

After all these years, still a very solid restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were very disappointed to be sat in the bar area where it was totally loud and not very comfortable. We say just feet from hungry people waiting for their tables which I found super uncomfortable. The drinks were slow getting to our table and that appetizers were just ok. Expensive and very small. Next we ordered entrees. I ordered kungpow lobster and my husband ordered BBQ pork tenderloin. My dish was $40 and there was next to nothing on my plate. It came with a huge bowl of white rice but without much sauce on the plate it was kinda dumb to have so much rice. So $40 for a few bites of tough breaded lobster was just not worth it. I can say the overall flavor was pretty damn good. My husband on the other hand did enjoy his dish. We both agreed that we r going to have to give buddakan a rest for a long while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Perfection!!! Best meal we've had in years!!! Kobe beef satay appetizer was unbelievably succulent. Miso black cod was tender yet firm, and the pork tenderloin with fried onion rings was melt in your mouth delicious. The desserts were inventive and scrumptious - rather than share one as usual, we each had one: ginger cake and berry mousse with tahini sponge and black sesame cookies. Including decaf, sparkling water, beer and tip, the bill was only $150. Memorable birthday dinner in a classy environment.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food. A bit pricey. Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Buddakhan has become that special place for me and wife to spend time alone and reminisce. Great menu at all times...thanks to "Cameron" for providing excellent service during our most recent visit this past Friday.

Take care.

Walt Wilkie

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Celebrating friendship

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This is the 3rd time I have been to Buddakan. I have never been dissappointed. Each time I try something different and each time I am equally pleased. I could not pick a favorite dish due to the fact everything is just delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

great food and service - hip atmosphere, lively crowd..gotta love it

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We reserved a table for 8 a few weeks in advance and requested a roundtable. Restaurant honored the request and the table was ready when we arrived. Our waiter was attentive and helpful with ordering. He seemed to be there when we needed something, but was not a hoverer. We had an issue with the wine we ordered and he provided an alternate selection without any fuss. We had plenty of food and it was excellent. Overall, it was an enjoyable evening. Just know that inside the restaurant it is very loud and you should not expect quiet conversation.

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The ribs were fantastic! the Lamb chops were great! I really enjoyed my drink also. Definitely a tried and true favorite of mine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fantastic just a bit pricey! Service was great love the atmosphere. Everyone friendly and very accommodating!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The Asian Cesar was the best salad iv ever had! I also enjoy getting their dumplings and rice every time. You can't go wrong with anything on their menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My girlfriends and I had a fantastic dinner at Buddakan in Philadelphia. The food was absolutely wonderful. We were a party of 8 people and everyone enjoyed our cocktails, appetizers and entrees. The donuts for dessert was a nice treat to a fantastic evening. The service was terrific and all attentive to our needs. I asked for a round table, if possible, and we were accommodated. It was a terrific way to celebrate birthdays and enjoy each other's company In a great setting.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Haven't travelled into PA to Buddakan in Philly in several years! It didn't disappoint! They always provide amazing food, service and drinks! I always make sure at least get there for lunch when I travel there.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Overall, beautiful restaurant. Food is just ok. Not worth the price. Decor is beautiful. Wait staff was very nice and accommodating.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great service

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Birthday dinner with my girlfriend. One of the best restaurants we have been to. Zero complaints. From everything to being seated, to the service, food and more. Absolutely phenomenal experience. The way fine dining should be.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A very unique beautiful space with excellent service and a very enjoyable creative menu. If you like Asian Fusion, this is a must go to. The food is consistently excellent. Great for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food is always delicious, they can accommodate some dietary restrictions. Service was great, he gave us time, didn't rush the evening and had good food suggestions.

Tags: Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food and awesome service. We enjoyed my daughters birthday dinner.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.