About Buddakan - Philadelphia

325 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr’s Buddakan is a spectacular restaurant featuring exotic flavors of modern Asian cuisine with creativity and drama. Bon Appetit notes, "The mostly white space is striking, with a lit-from-within communal table in the middle of the room, a waterfall & a ten-foot, candle-bedecked Buddha. The religious icon watches over hip customers indulging in pan-Asian cuisine that far surpasses the fare usually found at hot spots like this." Newsweek reports, "Design also serves as a signifier for cuisine. You walk into Buddakan, one of the hottest new restaurants in Philadelphia, past a shimmering waterfall & Japanese river stones & you say to yourself, 'ginger-miso everything' even before you see the magnificent 10-foot Buddha dominating the dining room." Named one of “America's Top 50 Restaurants" by Travel & Leisure and 'Top Restaurant for Fun' by Gourmet, Buddakan has become one of the country's most talked about restaurants.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 574-9440

Website:
http://www.buddakan.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at $18 per vehicle after 5:30pm. Parking lot available during lunch on 3rd & 4th between Market & Chestnut Streets.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodman

Private Party Facilities:
Buddakan is the perfect venue for corporate or social events. Whether you want to take over the entire facility, overlook the action or be in the midst of it, there are many options for groups to experience Philadelphia’s most highly sought after dining destination.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Farina: 2672383650x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Crying Chocolate - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • Short Ribs With Mushroom Chow Fun - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • Fever And Dream Drinks - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • Lobster Fried Rice - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • White Chocolate Candy Bar - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • Chinese Eggplant With Thai Basil - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • Dumplings - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • Wok Braised Brussel Spoats - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Crying Chocolate - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Short Ribs With Mushroom Chow Fun - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Fever And Dream Drinks - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Lobster Fried Rice - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
White Chocolate Candy Bar - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Chinese Eggplant With Thai Basil - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Dumplings - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Wok Braised Brussel Spoats - Buddakan - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA

Buddakan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Old City ›

Special Occasion (116)
Good for a Date (93)
Romantic (86)
See All
Fit for Foodies (83)
Good for Anniversaries (71)
Good for Birthdays (71)
Good for Groups (68)
Hot Spot (68)
Creative Cuisine (59)
Modern Decor (59)
Fun (47)
Business Meals (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Great for Lunch (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Authentic (23)
Family Style (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
People Watching (20)
Cozy (20)
Casual (16)
Spicy (15)
Healthy (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Tapas (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Scenic View (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Vegan (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Historic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
6246 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Normally, I love the duck and I always o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Normally, I love the duck and I always order it medium rare. Unfortunately, this time it was like shoe leather...very well done. Shame. It likely sat too long on the hot plate before coming to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Excellent food, great service. Was grea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, great service. Was great to return after eating there 10 years ago. We did the family style for large groups since we had 11 (we chose the 3rd option on the group menu + peking duck). Great way to try different things, but it's not cheap. Biggest complaint, they don't have the Angry Lobster anymore. Please bring it back, and I'll fly back to Philly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The last two times I have been to Buddha ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The last two times I have been to Buddhakan the food has not been as good as it sued to be. The monkfish was almost inedible--fried, very tough and very expensive. We keep coming back for the edamame dumplings which are the best thing on the menu by far. The lamb chops and the black cod were very good but not sure that they were worth the expensive price tag. The Korean fried rice was very mediocre. Not much flavor and not very warm in temperature when it arrived. Next time I think that i will stick with edamame dumplings and a few appetizers. The bao buns were very good.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I have been here many times ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I have been here many times and it's always the same experience: Great food, knowledgeable staff, excellent service. This is our favorite restaurant in Philly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great! And they read the reservation co ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Great! And they read the reservation comment that it was all of our birthdays and brought us candles!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great food, lovely ambien ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great service, great food, lovely ambience. The waiter was attentive without being a nuisance. We enjoyed the craft cocktails. Appetizers and entrees were cooked perfectly and served piping hot. Very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was very subpar. Big hype for no re ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was very subpar. Big hype for no reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Amazing food, service could've been bett ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Amazing food, service could've been better as we came for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Kinda disappointed as I looked forward t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Kinda disappointed as I looked forward to this restaurant. Overheard a guy at table next to us complaining about the dry rice and noodles. Thought he was just a complainer. Guess whose rice was dry, really dry? Dumplings were flavorful but weren't very hot either. My wife's scallion chicken was cooked well but tasteless. My cashew chicken was very good though. We were seated in a nice section by a water wall. Our waitress and servers were very nice and the drinks were very good also. For over two hundred for two with the tip it was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Ive been to Buddakan plenty of times,but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Ive been to Buddakan plenty of times,but this time was different.We were celebrating my husband's birthday.For starters we had the shrimp and lobster/crab dumplings which were good.The entrees not so much.My husband had the beef with the birds nest.His first time there he was not impressed.He said his food was bland and the meat was tuff.I had the sea bass and lobster fried rice.The rice was really greasy.The alcoholic beverages were juice.

He didn't eat any of his dessert.He said the tart was hard.Best part of the night was the donuts.

Our waiter Maggie was so impersonal.She didn't make us feel welcomed at all. The restaurant wasn't crowded yet we always had to look for her.

Usual the astronomical bill we get at the end of the night is worth it,but this time I was very disappointed.

I would greatly appreciate if Management would reach out to me to discuss my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Buddakan stands up over time. The more i ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Buddakan stands up over time. The more intimate size of the Philly location works in the favor of the restaurant as the New York location can come across as a bit self-important. The decor at the Philly location makes quite a statement, but the food takes center stage. Try the cauliflower and the miso black cod.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding, especially the spi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was outstanding, especially the spicy rock shrimp bao buns and kobe beef satay. Service was prompt and courteous without being overbearing. We'll definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This place has been going down over the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place has been going down over the past two years. The food is just ok. It reminds me of an upscale P.F. Changs. We were seated downstairs near the crowded bar which to me is just rude to be seated there. People standing there right on top of you. Whatever. I wont be going back. This was the last chance I gave this place. This time I had a gift card so no harm no foul but this restaurant will continue to do great cause it has Steven Starr's name on it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Always great but our table next to the b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always great but our table next to the bar and walk way was a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and ambiance, positively ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance, positively surprised with the quality of service at the bar and at the table as well. We were a group of 8 and had a great time....will certainly be back with a group or on a night out with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious. Booth seating was fine with m ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicious. Booth seating was fine with my daughter, but not very comfortable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was delicious and everything we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our meal was delicious and everything we wanted and expected from Buddakan. We order our usual Dumplings and tried the ribs this time,very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a birthday dinner herd of 10+. Our ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I had a birthday dinner herd of 10+. Our waiter Patrick was amazing. He was super attentive and accommodating to my whole party. He has waited on me before and I was always pleased with his service. I definitely felt special for my birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant! I had a great time. Th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great restaurant! I had a great time. The overall experience was fantastic! Will definitely come again!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Vegan, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding cuisine- 5 spice duck, sea b ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Outstanding cuisine- 5 spice duck, sea bass tops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our Experience at Buddakan was Outstandi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our Experience at Buddakan was Outstanding! We were greeted with a smile and seated promptly. The cocktails were creative and delicious. The waiter recommendations and descriptions were on point as all of our meals were spectacular.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone living in or visiting Philly. I look forward to a return visit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been for lunch. Good and affordable ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I've been for lunch. Good and affordable menu! The restaurant is not so fancy as the one in NY but it's worth visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

WOW! Food and service was off the chart ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 14, 2016

WOW! Food and service was off the charts incredible. Will be dreaming of this meal for months. Lou our server was fantastic and gave great recommendations. MUST DO in Philly!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm a native to Philadelphia but this wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I'm a native to Philadelphia but this was my first visit to Buddakan. The restaurant is beautifully appointed and the service was superb. It was my daughters birthday and they accommodated us with a dessert complete with sparkler to celebrate. Unfortunately the food was underwhelming and lacked imagination. I had the five spiced duck with corn pudding. The corn pudding was good, but my duck was over cooked and the frisee salad with way to many raw red peppers felt like an after thought which is not something you want at a $28.00 price point.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Good ambiance, cocktails and service. Un ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good ambiance, cocktails and service. Unimpressive overpriced food.

The the beef skewers were tasty and well seasoned, unfortunately, the tempura that came with them was a puddle of fryer oil. The dumplings were tasty but nothing special. The sea bass was a nice portion and well cooked, unfortunately the mushrooms were covered in butter. The scallops were bland, overcooked and chewy. The chocolate-banana tart was just Ok, but very greasy. The butterscotch custard that accompanied it was the best part of the meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was great. Service was great. Highl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was great. Service was great. Highly recommend going to Buddakan for dinner!

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food, amazing service! I want to ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing food, amazing service! I want to eat here every night for the rest of my life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here for my anniversary with my bo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Dined here for my anniversary with my boyfriend and loved it! The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. Would definitely dine here again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite place to Go The food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This is my favorite place to

Go

The food is always amazing-

Edamame dumplings are a must!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and fresh, howeve ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The food was excellent and fresh, however it was very expensive. Don't expect to get full off the lunch bento box however, it's definitely worth it a try. I will go back for lunch again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Get the crispy calamari salad! Great por ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Get the crispy calamari salad! Great portions, great ambiance. Overall great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess sat us 25 minutes late (after re ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Hostess sat us 25 minutes late (after reserved time). The food was ok, nothing special. Nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

The food was good... Everything was fres ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was good... Everything was fresh... However I did not give this restaurant a 5 because an incident took place while I was there and I feel like the whole thing could have been avoided if they wasn't trying to rush the man that fell down the stairs. So for that I did give the restaurant a 5 and I feel like management team is responsible . I know some reviews say sushi but they do not have a sushi menu. I also don't know if It was just my table with horrible service, but the service was not great either. I will not be back to this restaurant, but I do feel people should try it out at least once.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

I think Buddakan had the most delicious ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I think Buddakan had the most delicious food. You cannot beat their Bento Box. I had shrimp dumplings, rare tuna (6 slices) and chicken salad ( no mayo). Everything was scrumptious -- $17.00.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable experience. The fried sna ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Very enjoyable experience. The fried snapper was excellent, tuna roll tasty and desserts decadent. Dumpling and Singapore noodles were ok. The service and check back was good, waiter did not introduce himself during welcome speech. Hostess could be friendlier. The waiter was very friendly and attended to needs very well.

Will definitely revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great as always

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meal was Delicious! We always celebr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Our meal was Delicious! We always celebrate birthdays here and are never disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always !

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Amazing as always !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my significant other here for his ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 31, 2016

I took my significant other here for his birthday. I've heard nothing but great things and Buddakan did not disappoint! We were both so pleased with the food, service and overall ambiance. The only thing I observed is that we did go when it was slower and had a whole booth to ourselves though there were tables on each side of us. I could see where one would feel a little crowded as far as seating goes, so if you're looking for something a little more private, I'd give that recommendation in your reservation. Other than that, I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service started out very slow. We h ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The service started out very slow. We had to wait for drinks and for a vegetarian menu for quite a while. It was our daughter's 21st birthday. The waitress also forgot a dish that our daughter ordered. But it ended up okay and she didn't charge us the cake plating charge and also gave us another free dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.