About Buddakan - Philadelphia

325 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr’s Buddakan is a spectacular restaurant featuring exotic flavors of modern Asian cuisine with creativity and drama. Bon Appetit notes, "The mostly white space is striking, with a lit-from-within communal table in the middle of the room, a waterfall & a ten-foot, candle-bedecked Buddha. The religious icon watches over hip customers indulging in pan-Asian cuisine that far surpasses the fare usually found at hot spots like this." Newsweek reports, "Design also serves as a signifier for cuisine. You walk into Buddakan, one of the hottest new restaurants in Philadelphia, past a shimmering waterfall & Japanese river stones & you say to yourself, 'ginger-miso everything' even before you see the magnificent 10-foot Buddha dominating the dining room." Named one of “America's Top 50 Restaurants" by Travel & Leisure and 'Top Restaurant for Fun' by Gourmet, Buddakan has become one of the country's most talked about restaurants.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 574-9440

Website:
http://www.buddakan.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at $18 per vehicle after 5:30pm. Parking lot available during lunch on 3rd & 4th between Market & Chestnut Streets.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodman

Private Party Facilities:
Buddakan is the perfect venue for corporate or social events. Whether you want to take over the entire facility, overlook the action or be in the midst of it, there are many options for groups to experience Philadelphia’s most highly sought after dining destination.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Farina: 2672383650x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Crying Chocolate
  • Short Ribs With Mushroom Chow Fun
  • Fever And Dream Drinks
  • Lobster Fried Rice
  • White Chocolate Candy Bar
  • Chinese Eggplant With Thai Basil
  • Dumplings
  • Wok Braised Brussel Spoats
Crying Chocolate
Short Ribs With Mushroom Chow Fun
Fever And Dream Drinks
Lobster Fried Rice
White Chocolate Candy Bar
Chinese Eggplant With Thai Basil
Dumplings
Wok Braised Brussel Spoats

Buddakan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Old City ›

special occasion (191)
fit for foodies (179)
good for groups (137)
See All
hot spot (118)
romantic (108)
neighborhood gem (60)
great for lunch (48)
vibrant bar scene (48)
late-night find (30)
notable wine list (20)
scenic view (11)
great for brunch (9)
kid-friendly (8)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
6016 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good overall dining experience. Recall t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good overall dining experience. Recall the food tasting better. Been a few years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful ambiance and our waiter was su ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful ambiance and our waiter was superb. The food was very good and reasonably priced, although for us, the portion size was too big - we are not big eaters. I highly recommend the restaurant and would recommend going with a group and sharing the entree's which is the way they are organized around. I would suggest 2 entrees for 3 people, as opposed to the 1 for 1 that our waiter recommended - we could have easily shared a single entree. All in all, I highly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite places. A great spin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

One of my favorite places. A great spin on Asian food that is delicious and reasonably priced.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love their ceaser salad - it's the best ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love their ceaser salad - it's the best one yet.

Edemamie ravioli is to die for. - expensive but worth it.

Everything is delish there!

One of my favorite resturant !

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and service. Although we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great ambiance and service. Although we had a late reservation, we didn't feel rushed. Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely dinner. Great staff. Excellent ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Lovely dinner. Great staff. Excellent food. Celebrated my mom's birthday. Took excellent care of her on her 85th! Look forward to coming back here when in Philly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was one of the best, if not THE ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was one of the best, if not THE best, I've ever eaten. A,bit pricy but its,worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It's been a long time since dining at Bu ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It's been a long time since dining at Buddakan in Philadelphia and it did not disappoint. Food was even better than we remembered, beautiful presentation, excellent service and great atmosphere. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to thank the management at Budd ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I wanted to thank the management at Buddakhan for making my sisters bachelorette dinner a special one. They went above and beyond. We had a wonderful time and great food. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

service was great food was great just th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

service was great food was great just thought a small free desert would have been nice since it was my husband birthday waiter told me I had to pay for a small birthday desert

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Overall very good but first level extrem ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Overall very good but first level extremely noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The tasting menu is great for groups and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The tasting menu is great for groups and is a LOT of food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food had aftertaste very disappointed. S ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food had aftertaste very disappointed. Server should have sent over manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Food is consistently excellent! So is t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food is consistently excellent! So is the service, personal touch is appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to have lunch or dinner! T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

A great place to have lunch or dinner! The service was great. The food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, service was impeccable ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great atmosphere, service was impeccable (Eric was our server).

I have a rather immature palette, so I didn't really know what to expect. My wife is way more of a foodie than I am. I like simple stuff---filet, Italian dishes, etc. That being said, the food was wild. Everything is great! Truly an experience. Very recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a little loud at first which was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was a little loud at first which was overwhelming- but once we sat down we found that we could converse easily. The appetizers were amazing- namely the beef satay and house salad with the carrot-ginger dressing. Some of the dim sum we tried left a little to be desired in the flavor area but overall a great experience! The bento box dessert is a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I was really looking forward to my first ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I was really looking forward to my first Buddakan experience . We took two of our grown children with their spouses, three of whom were celebrating birthdays. Basically it was a dining disappointment. We opted for the fixed price menu so that we could sample a lot of different dishes. Not much was memorable with the exception of the crispy calamari salad and the edamame dumplings. Although there were only six of us, the noise level was so high we could barely have any kind of conversation. A bright spot was our very knowledgable waiter who was an excellent guide to our dishes. Wish we liked the food as much. Perhaps we have been spoiled by Zahav.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

While we had a nice dinner, it lacked cr ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

While we had a nice dinner, it lacked creativity. The menu is full of items that we've seen lots of other places..for a long time. Buddakan is in dire need of a food refresh, but the atmosphere is fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This is a wonderful place and food is gr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is a wonderful place and food is great and the atmosphere is awesome for family, small groups. Food is very tasty and service is also excellent as they pay personal attention the whole time you are there. One of the best in philly.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is absolutely one of my favorites c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is absolutely one of my favorites center city Philadelphia dining establishments.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whatever anybody orders at Buddakan, it ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Whatever anybody orders at Buddakan, it will be fabulous. I've had the edamame dumplings, pan-seared seabass, and five-spice duck breast, and they were astonishingly good. The edamame dumplings are worth the trip from anywhere. By all means, reserve a table for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We over ordered because we wanted to try ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We over ordered because we wanted to try so many things. The calamari salad was AMAZING. That was by far our favorite. We also split the tuna pizza, the tuna sashimi, the ribs and pork belly. Everything was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone was so polite and prompt, my bo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Everyone was so polite and prompt, my boyfriend enjoyed his birthday because of the buddakan staff

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions 3times too large. Cauliflower v ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Portions 3times too large. Cauliflower very good,rest mediocre. Priced way too high for what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

My wife and I went here for date night l ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My wife and I went here for date night last night and had a great experience! I highly recommend the pork belly appetizer, it was incredible. Can't wait to go back. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice dining experience overall, but the ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Nice dining experience overall, but the overall experience was a little less than expected with everything we read prior to dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Buddakan is a staple in the Philadelphia ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Buddakan is a staple in the Philadelphia dining scene and this was my first time back in almost 5 years - it was just as spectacular as I remembered! We were celebrating with another couple who had just recently been married. Everything is meant to share. The server sold us on the edamame dumplings and we were so glad she did - they were so much more delicious than you would guess!! We ordered several other dishes but the standouts were the Five Spiced Duck, the Crab & Lobster Sticky Rice and the Buddakan style sashimi. Just heaven! Great place for a special occasion as the prices are high but they deliver on ambiance, service and, of course, flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Try the doughnuts...so good! The waiter ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Try the doughnuts...so good! The waiter was super busy but really Attentive. I really enjoyed it, a little pricey but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ribs were delicious. Fall off the bo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The ribs were delicious. Fall off the bone; a must have if you go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Buddakan never disappoints. The rock sh ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Buddakan never disappoints. The rock shrimp tempura bao buns are not as great as the classic duck bao buns, but overall meal was as great as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Would only recommend this restaurant if ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Would only recommend this restaurant if you are a large group, so you can sit at the table on the first floor. The food is excellent, but the noise level down stairs meant we decided to leave after appetizers and 1 drink.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Great experience at Buddakan Philadelphi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great experience at Buddakan Philadelphia! The food was delicious and the atmosphere was fabulous! Looking forward to my next trip back to Philly where I will definitely have dinner here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were able to accommodate our large ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

They were able to accommodate our large party size. It was hard to hear for a business dinner but the food was excellent and the presentation was great as well. Would definitely go again!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great ambiance, great food. Timeless.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great ambiance, great food. Timeless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is excellent and the service is won ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food is excellent and the service is wonderful. The atmosphere is also very nice except for the large crane that was parked outside in front of the restaurant when we were there. Hopefully, it will be gone soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved almost everything about our dining ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Loved almost everything about our dining experience except the noise level, we are all in our 30's and felt like old people yelling across the table, that being said, the noise will not keep us from dining here again. Our server Joann, went well above and beyond just by asking about food allergies, one of us has allergies to A LOT of fruits and she saved her from ordering any foods that would be problematic. We started with chicken and shrimp spring rolls that came with this delectable ginger sauce also the tuna pizza, the pizza so AMAZING it was an orgasm in your mouth. Our main courses were the pork loin, the five spice duck and the scallops with black bean sauce and mushrooms, the sides were wasabi mashed potatoes, Korean beef fried rice and the Chinese style broccoli. All the food was excellent we all did not agree on what was best but the majority was that the pork loin was BY FAR the best main dish on the table, cooked to perfection! The duck was excellent with that scallion spoon bread, WHAT??? SO GOOD! Scallops also perfectly cooked with lovely mushrooms and veggies in a black bean sauce. The wasabi mashed potatoes were very tasty, not too spicy, the broccoli was nice and sweet with the black beans and the Korean fried rice was thee best side and we all agreed on that. There was nothing left on any of our plates. We all wanted to try dessert but there was no room for anything else after that meal. The service was amazing, again Joann made the night for us, we will specifically ask for her next time, and try the short rib! Its a beautiful restaurant, known for their extremely large Buddha. And the valet parking is $18. Go, Have fun and eat wonderfully cooked food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wasabi crusted fillet was amazing. We al ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wasabi crusted fillet was amazing. We also had the dumplings which were also amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Great place to dine with ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food. Great place to dine with friends. Friendly staff, overall enjoyable night out

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at Buddakan celebrat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had a great time at Buddakan celebrating my daughter's 21st birthday with her aunt, cousin and godparents! We always have a great meal and great service here. Without diminishing that, I had called ahead because my daughter is vegetarian and my niece is only five and was assured that the restaurant was kid friendly and vegetarian friendly -- that was not quite the case. There was little on the main menu for vegetarians, at least nothing with much protein, so my daughter made due with side dishes -- potatoes, rice and vegetables. There were no dishes geared to kids and apparently no willingness to prepare anything simple for a kid. Fortunately, my niece liked the duck spring rolls (who knew) and was persuaded to eat some bits of our other meals but it was not the experience I wanted to her. So, overall, we had a great night! It could have been better, particularly for the birthday girl!

Our server was wonderful, even though we were pretty disorganized! He helped us to make the best choices we could for our two restricted diets and was quite knowledgeable about vegetarian issues.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.