About Buddakan - Philadelphia

325 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr’s Buddakan is a spectacular restaurant featuring exotic flavors of modern Asian cuisine with creativity and drama. Bon Appetit notes, "The mostly white space is striking, with a lit-from-within communal table in the middle of the room, a waterfall & a ten-foot, candle-bedecked Buddha. The religious icon watches over hip customers indulging in pan-Asian cuisine that far surpasses the fare usually found at hot spots like this." Newsweek reports, "Design also serves as a signifier for cuisine. You walk into Buddakan, one of the hottest new restaurants in Philadelphia, past a shimmering waterfall & Japanese river stones & you say to yourself, 'ginger-miso everything' even before you see the magnificent 10-foot Buddha dominating the dining room." Named one of “America's Top 50 Restaurants" by Travel & Leisure and 'Top Restaurant for Fun' by Gourmet, Buddakan has become one of the country's most talked about restaurants.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 574-9440

Website:
http://www.buddakan.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at $18 per vehicle after 5:30pm. Parking lot available during lunch on 3rd & 4th between Market & Chestnut Streets.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodman

Private Party Facilities:
Buddakan is the perfect venue for corporate or social events. Whether you want to take over the entire facility, overlook the action or be in the midst of it, there are many options for groups to experience Philadelphia’s most highly sought after dining destination.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Farina: 2672383650x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Crying Chocolate
  • Short Ribs With Mushroom Chow Fun
  • Fever And Dream Drinks
  • Lobster Fried Rice
  • White Chocolate Candy Bar
  • Chinese Eggplant With Thai Basil
  • Dumplings
  • Wok Braised Brussel Spoats
Crying Chocolate
Short Ribs With Mushroom Chow Fun
Fever And Dream Drinks
Lobster Fried Rice
White Chocolate Candy Bar
Chinese Eggplant With Thai Basil
Dumplings
Wok Braised Brussel Spoats

Buddakan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Old City ›

special occasion (210)
fit for foodies (191)
good for groups (150)
See All
hot spot (129)
romantic (113)
neighborhood gem (61)
great for lunch (52)
vibrant bar scene (52)
late-night find (36)
notable wine list (20)
scenic view (10)
great for brunch (10)
kid-friendly (8)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
5979 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance, great food. Timeless.

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Great ambiance, great food. Timeless.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasabi crusted fillet was amazing. We al ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wasabi crusted fillet was amazing. We also had the dumplings which were also amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Great place to dine with ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food. Great place to dine with friends. Friendly staff, overall enjoyable night out

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at Buddakan celebrat ...

Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time at Buddakan celebrating my daughter's 21st birthday with her aunt, cousin and godparents! We always have a great meal and great service here. Without diminishing that, I had called ahead because my daughter is vegetarian and my niece is only five and was assured that the restaurant was kid friendly and vegetarian friendly -- that was not quite the case. There was little on the main menu for vegetarians, at least nothing with much protein, so my daughter made due with side dishes -- potatoes, rice and vegetables. There were no dishes geared to kids and apparently no willingness to prepare anything simple for a kid. Fortunately, my niece liked the duck spring rolls (who knew) and was persuaded to eat some bits of our other meals but it was not the experience I wanted to her. So, overall, we had a great night! It could have been better, particularly for the birthday girl! Our server was wonderful, even though we were pretty disorganized! He helped us to make the best choices we could for our two restricted diets and was quite knowledgeable about vegetarian issues.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Went out of curiosity, really liked the ...

Dined 6 days ago

Went out of curiosity, really liked the menu choices and our server was superb. We would definitely return, but the noise level prohibits this restaurant from our "favorite" list, as we enjoy talking (quietly), and not having to repeat ourselves or huddle together on our "date nights". My husband (a wine lover and sophisticate) commented that although the wine list was very good, the prices were not worth the selections, unless we had made a conscious decision to splurge specifically on wine. We enjoyed beer with our dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and great atmosphere. Serve ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing food and great atmosphere. Server was super friendly and knowledgeable. One of my favorite Philly spots to eat!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu is extensive and the setting is ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The menu is extensive and the setting is dramatic. Good backdrop to what was a delicious dinner. The servings are enough that everything can be shared. the Asian Cesaer salad was especially good with the spicy nuts and crunchies but a bit overdone with the dressing. The calamari salad was exceptional-not too much breading and served over a delicious salad with just a hint of dressing. The dumpling sampler was also very good. For entrees we had the monkfish, pork tenderloin and spicy steak. I have had the pork before and it is still my favorite. Seasoned and cooked to perfection-slightly spicy and very tender. The monkfish had a light bread coating and a kick at the end. The fish was firm but tender. The spicy steak was a favorite of one of our group. I thought the meat was a bit fatty but nonetheless tasted delicious. For desert we shared the pana cotta special and a chocolate desert (sorry I didn't have that). The panna cotta was fantastic. With drinks (7), apps , entrees and deserts (2)our bill came to just over $100 per. A little steep but definitely a special treat for the palate and the eyes. Would recommend for a special night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place! Service was amazing and foo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place! Service was amazing and food was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

We were visiting Philadelphia and had di ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

We were visiting Philadelphia and had dinner. The food and service were excellent. The noise was very loud. This restaurant was very pricy. 3 adults, 1 child ate dumplings, 2 entrees, dessert and 1 fancy alcoholic drink . The price was over $200 inc tip. I have had better for much less.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were visiting from out of town and wa ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and wanted to try the best rated restaurants from tripadvisor. The food was good, service decent, the plance looks nice. The restrooms were stincky and not too clean.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Always love coming here. Edamame dumplin ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Always love coming here. Edamame dumplings are life changing - SO AMAZING. Best in the city as well as the calamari salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buddakan - - still AMAZING after all the ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Buddakan - - still AMAZING after all these years. Great food, fantastic service experience. What more can you say. They just got it. :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every meal should taste as great as this ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Every meal should taste as great as this! The food was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the calamari salad. That alone wou ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Loved the calamari salad. That alone would have been enough for lunch or light dinner. Chinese eggplant was also vey good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service!

Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food and service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was on point and delicious.

Dined on June 15, 2016

Everything was on point and delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lunch is great! I went with a frien ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

The lunch is great! I went with a friend and we loved the bento box lunch which is not a box, but three plates or bows on a tray. Each was a generous portion. My lamb chop was perfect and the Japanese eggplant that came with it was delicious. There weere two excellent, perfect spring roles. My third dish was a Thai chicken salad that was tasty. The best were the three mini desserts we shared, which was plenty and a cost of $6.00. The bento was $17. For $20 you had a lovely table , great food and excellent service. Plus tip of course.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first visit to Buddakan and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This was my first visit to Buddakan and my girlfriend and I really enjoyed it. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. It was my girlfriend's birthday and Buddakan proved to be an excellent choice for this special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant dining experience; food was del ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Pleasant dining experience; food was delivered hot and was delicious ! We were celebrating our anniversary and our server was attentive and friendly. Look forward to dining here again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it is dynamite, a great place to dine, ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

it is dynamite, a great place to dine, service was great,decor was very pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my third visit and a must when i ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

This is my third visit and a must when in Philadelphia. Vibrant crowd and a little noisy, but we manage to hear each other above the din. The decor is sleek and modern with a large Buddha presiding over the space, adding to a great ambiance. The food is superb - the softshell crab special was out of this world. The staff are knowledgeable and most helpful - leave it to them to make you meal a gastronomic gallop!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great and the food was a ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The service was great and the food was absolutely amazing!!! I will be back very soon!

food5
ambience5
service5

Edamame dumplings were to die for! Also ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Edamame dumplings were to die for! Also had the pork belly buns and crab sticky rice, everything was excellent !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable

Dined on June 6, 2016

Took some foodie friends with us and they were very impressed. We all agreed we had eaten here before and couldn't understand why we hadn't been back in a long time. Food was interesting, well-prepared and delicious. Excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oriental delight

Dined on June 6, 2016

Buddhakhan combines urban sophistication with skilful oriental cookery in a high design interior. The wait-staff are smartly dressed and knowledgeable. Service is prompt but not rushed. A good selection of wines by the glass.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Went before Beyoncé's concert, the food ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Went before Beyoncé's concert, the food was Delish and fast

food5
ambience4
service5

An amazing dining experience reduced onl ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

An amazing dining experience reduced only somewhat by the loud tones of Philadelphia's answer to Donald Trump sat at the next table

food2
ambience3
service5
value2

I wouldn't go back

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Hello. We visit NYC and many restaurants around the world. The dumplings were very small and came naked in a sauce. Not elegant presentation. The Singapore noodles could benefit from some spice and some more veggie and meat. The black cod was good but very tiny. Overall this was a very disappointing experience for the price. The music was only lounge which gets very monotonous after a while.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food; the dim sum must be orde ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent food; the dim sum must be ordered. Adorable and delicious dessert selection in bento box. Very noisy. We went at 5:30pm on Saturday and it was already crowded and loud. Service was attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Outrageous Prices

Dined on June 3, 2016

One gets such few bites to even figure out if food is worth prices charged!!! I so admire the knife skills of chef who sliced our sashimi - so thin (like see-thru) and only 5 pieces for 16.50. Calimari salad - the few pieces were tasty but hidden in a lot of greens!!! Everything else was great but too few food to warrant paying over 100.00 for lunch - sorry but not going back

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Great Food; Exhausting to Endure

Dined on June 2, 2016

Food is great, really great. But the noise level is unbearable. My colleague and I sat on abutting sides of a square table, not across from each other. Still, we spent the entire meal shouting at each other. It was exhausting, and impeded what could otherwise be a sensational food experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food in a hidden spot

Dined on June 1, 2016

Buddakan looks very unassuming from the outside. We weren't even sure it was open when we found it as the blinds are drawn until dusk and there are no lights visible from outside. Going in, you're immediately struck by the interior. The ceilings are high, giving the place a spacious and impressive feel. To add to this, there is a giant gold Buddha against one of the walls that watches over dining guests. There is an upper balcony that is more suited to dates, and the tables in the main area are great for dinners with friends, with plenty of tables available on a week night. Whatever you do, start the night with the Edamame dumplings. I would go to this restaurant just for one of those. Both fish and meat Entrees ordered by my group were excellent as well though. Ask one of the knowledgeable members of staff for a sake recommendation to go with your food and you won't be disappointed, although it's worth noting this place isn't cheap - sake carafes (3 small glasses) go for about $35, while a whole bottle is substantially more expensive. Overall, I would highly recommend this restaurant for a night out in Philly, especially if you want to splash out on a celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating a nursing graduation and ea ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Celebrating a nursing graduation and eating and drinking we were asked to quiet down. The restaurant was half empty. So I found this a little insulting.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lou was awesome

Dined on May 30, 2016

We have eaten here over the years! Love it. Great food, beautiful place and wonderful service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

We didn't feel this restaurant lived up ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

We didn't feel this restaurant lived up to the hype. Food was good as was the service but it isn't worth the price we paid.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect night out with friends!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Wow- amazing restaurant Must try edamame dumpling appetizer!and everything was delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

This was my first time here and was cele ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

This was my first time here and was celebrating my wife's birthday. Our server was Joanne who was excellent. I would have given the food five stars but the duck spring rolls were mediocre. I would definitely recommend for special occasions on the ambience and service alone. The doughnuts were CRAZY!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was as we hoped it would be. ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Everything was as we hoped it would be. We had always wanted to go and was happy with the food and the service. I could really taste the flavor in the food, just like they say on my fav food network shows. And the service was great! We are going back!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Awesome!!!

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

We've been coming to Buddakan since 2010 and the quality and service has not changed at all. Always top notch servers and great menu items....Must have for desert: donuts and for dinner is the Dungeness Crab Fried rice

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great, but imperfect

Dined on May 28, 2016

Addictive dumplings, spring rolls, cauliflower. "Appetizer" salads were good but too large even for two people. Carrot cake was tempting, but we were too full to try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.