About Buddakan - Philadelphia

325 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr’s Buddakan is a spectacular restaurant featuring exotic flavors of modern Asian cuisine with creativity and drama. Bon Appetit notes, "The mostly white space is striking, with a lit-from-within communal table in the middle of the room, a waterfall & a ten-foot, candle-bedecked Buddha. The religious icon watches over hip customers indulging in pan-Asian cuisine that far surpasses the fare usually found at hot spots like this." Newsweek reports, "Design also serves as a signifier for cuisine. You walk into Buddakan, one of the hottest new restaurants in Philadelphia, past a shimmering waterfall & Japanese river stones & you say to yourself, 'ginger-miso everything' even before you see the magnificent 10-foot Buddha dominating the dining room." Named one of “America's Top 50 Restaurants" by Travel & Leisure and 'Top Restaurant for Fun' by Gourmet, Buddakan has become one of the country's most talked about restaurants.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 574-9440

Website:
http://www.buddakan.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at $18 per vehicle after 5:30pm. Parking lot available during lunch on 3rd & 4th between Market & Chestnut Streets.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodman

Private Party Facilities:
Buddakan is the perfect venue for corporate or social events. Whether you want to take over the entire facility, overlook the action or be in the midst of it, there are many options for groups to experience Philadelphia’s most highly sought after dining destination.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Farina: (267) 238-3650

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (141)
Special Occasion (134)
Creative Cuisine (94)
See All
Fit for Foodies (88)
Good for Birthdays (87)
Good for Anniversaries (86)
Romantic (82)
Modern Decor (75)
Good for Groups (70)
Fun (68)
Hot Spot (61)
Worth the Drive (51)
Business Meals (47)
Handcrafted Cocktails (45)
Cozy (39)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Casual (28)
Tasting Menu (28)
People Watching (28)
Authentic (28)
Family Style (27)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Bar Seating (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Notable Wine List (17)
Outstanding Value (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Late-night Find (16)
Spicy (15)
Healthy (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Open Kitchen (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Tapas (6)
Scenic View (6)
Vegan (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (2)
Live Sports (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
6954 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

The best as always!!!!! Great food, decor and service. A true treasure in olde city, love this place till no end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

We were there the week before. The food was so amazing. Had to go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Loved the food !! Lobster egg rolls were delicious. Was told by a friend to get the crab sticky rice, and I'm glad we did. Our entrees were great as well. I had the Seabass which was moist and flavorful.

Dessert was a three flavored sorbet which ended the meal on a sweet note. Truly a wonderful meal and the service was superb. Can't wait to come back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great service, definitely love the ambiance. Our waiter Lew( don't know if that's how it's spelled) was great. I will definitely come back next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic meal with great drinks! Excellent service from the moment we walked in the door. Buddakahn remains at one of the top spots in Philadelphia! Highly recommend the lamb chops and dip sum donuts! Another great meal! Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We were greeted by friendly hostess and seated on the second floor. Our server was kind and knowledgeable. We had a very pleasant experience at Buddakan.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Best to come with a large portions so you can order different types of food. Ambience and overall atmosphere were wonderful. As long as you are aware, it is a little more expensive, the food was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good a little pricey for what you got. Service could've been a little bit better but I'm not complaining. Overall if I lived in the city I would go back but I probably won't be returning anytime soon.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food. Great flavor combinations. Service was great at first, but waned towards the end.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing but we did order too much. Nice ambiance for celebrating a birthday dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved it! Hit the spot

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Buddakan has a great, dramatic atmosphere but the real attraction is the food. Everything we ate was inventive and delicious. The Kobe Beef Satay was tender and delicious. We also loved the seared sea bass. I would definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our second time at buddakan loved the bento boxes this time I got the Kobe slider which was super cute and it was cooked perfectly cashew chicken was perfectly seasoned and the doughnuts are to die for. loved the big Buddha and the waterfall when you walk in sets a nice relaxing tone

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food and great service! Will visit again

Tags: Business Meals, Vegan, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

An amazing place to dine. Pricey but worth every penny. The servers are the best and the food is just amazing!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My friend and I had a wonderful birthday celebration for lunch! Our server Jessica was attentive and very nice. We loved the bento box selection, which surprisingly included three delicious bountiful servings....I had a pork roll, thai chicken salad and tuna tataki. Delicious!

We will be back soon....recommend this place highly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing. Enjoyed our dinner

Can't wait to make another reservation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Continues to be consistent.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was excellent! Saturday evening was very busy and the noise level was excessive, difficult to have a relaxed conversation. Prefer the Atlantic City location much more than the Philadelphia site.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This restaurant freshens up a lot of traditional Chinese good menu items with excellent presentation and some unique ingredients. The bar Dresher missed are pricey but flavorful. Overall, a nice place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing food and drinks, prompt service

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My husband and I love Buddakan. We live in the Seattle area but are in Philadelphia frequently. We never fail to have dinner here. We have our favorites and it is hard to move past them! The crispy calamari salad and the sea bass with a side of wasabi mashed potatoes have never disappointed us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great place to have an amazing evening. The food was all delicious and well spiced, and the portions were generous.

Service was friendly, professional, and prompt while the ambiance made it a great place to spend a Friday evening with my girlfriend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Amazing as always...our server Sandy is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went before a show. All four of us felt the food was excellent and service very attentive. The place is not quite, but has a lot of good energy. The portions are not huge, so feel free to order a couple of small plates to share with an entrée. I would definitely recommend it for a date or fun night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Been several times before. Feels to be slipping a bit. Meh. Past it's prime.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was very disappointed at the receptionist's attitude. Terrible service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went to buddakan for valentines day. Its our favorite restaurant in Philadelphia. The food is amazing and the staff is very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was a magical experience , the food, the service. It was amazing

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for a date night and it was perfect. Checked in with the host staff and grabbed a cocktail at the bar prior to being seated. The bar team was polite and receptive.

The highlight was the Server. She was tremendous. I want to say her name was Mandy... I really hope I'm not wrong, because she deserves her due. She started by describing the daily specials (three to be exact) in detail as though they were featured for months.

She took time to talk to us when she could, but also had a good understanding of where to be and when. She recommended dishes to our liking vs what made money. Enjoyable to have conversation with... jut a great server.

Thanks for the great night. Will definitely be back!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food! Good service! Would definitely go back. Wish it was kid friendly

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The decor and ambience are what make Budakkan so great. We went for lunch so it was certainly more quiet than dinnertime when I'm sure it's more energetic and lively. Kobe beef satay appetizer was great. My husband got a shrimp and walnut entree (not an appetizer) that literally had 4 shrimp and four walnuts arranged in a row. Though it was tasty, it was hardly a meal. It didn't even come with rice. This was especially perplexing because my chicken entree was enough for two people and came with a generous bowl of rice. The sauce said it was a plum wine sauce but it tasted much like a standard Chinese brown sauce. I was just expecting great, and it wasn't.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful food and nice atmosphere. Tried the Kobe beef satay app, BBQ pork, and scallion chicken. All of them were interesting and superb.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was fantastic as always. Atmosphere was fantastic! Overall a wonderful night and great time!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We drove 1 1/2 hours to dine there. It was well worth the drive. Service was first rate and the food was excellent. Would absolutely recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Upscale dining with a casual and comfortable feel. They always deliver on a great experience. The food is delicious and presented in a classy manner. The service is top notch. An awesome time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was going to be in the city for an event later that day, so we decided to give Budakan a try. Once inside the atmosphere of authentic Asian and very tranquil waterfall by the front entrance set the tone. We were quickly greeted by hostess, who took our coats and seated us.

Our waitress came over promptly and asked us if we had dined there before, then took our drink order. She was very helpful in making suggestions when ordering as it was our first time. She was very on point and familiar with the menu.

Overall experience was great and good was delicious.

Only downfall is small portions, which could be a good thing as it would allow you more choices to sample from the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food, and very friendly staff. This was a great spot to celebrate my sister's birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely family birthday dinner. All the

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My experience at Buddakan was an amazing one! Our server was very knowledgable about the menu and was able to describe some of his favorite dishes. I'm glad we asked, because his recommendations were delicious. We ordered a variety of dishes and shared them as a couple. I couldn't get enough of the Crispy Calamari Salad, Spicy Rock Shrimp Bao Buns and Edamame Dumplings!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Buddakan was the first restaurant my now husband took me to on our first trip to Philly last year. I am obsessed with the edamame dumplings and when we were going back for our first Valentine's weekend as husband & wife, we had to go here! The edamame dumplings melt in your mouth (wish there were at least 6 instead of 5 so you could evenly share), the Korean duck wings were fantastic, Black Bean Scallops & Barbecue Pork Tenderloin were cooked to perfection, and the dungeness crab sticky rice was tasty. (A little too much food for 2 people especially if you were going out after/just staying for the weekend in the city.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our server was amazing and attentive. The noise level was a bit much for me, it was hard to hear. The food was superb, taste and texture and artful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My husband and I went on a lunch date here. The pan seared sea bass was perfection! The sticky crab rice was amazing. The desserts were okay. It was a nice atmosphere and quiet. Our server was very knowledgeable and helpful when it came to our questions. He made good recommendations which contributed overall to our wonderful experience. I would definitely visit again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

A swanky dig with delectable cuisines of rich flavors.

A statement worthy restaurant or special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Great restaurant. Would recommend to anyone. Great serve staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A cool hip vibe. The service was amazing though hard to linger. They cook fast and move you through. The calamari salad was delicious as were the dumplings. Skip the chicken cashew stir fry - the veggies were good, sauce too heavy and chicken rubbery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had a reservation and were seated timely. Waiter was friendly, polite and informative. We had the scallion pancake w short rib for appetizer (tasty, and v tender), snow peas, aged Beef, and sticky rice with du genes crab - all were delicious though the beef and app especially. The dip sum donuts finished the meal on a sugary sweet high note!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Restaurant week was great! The filet was outstanding! Short rib appetizer was phenomenal!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, People Watching, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I always enjoy myself here, the food is my fav in Philly! Looking forward to returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Compared to another Buddakan, this one was unfavorable. Loud techno music did not match the restaurant theme. The food seemed rushed and poorly prepared. Had I known the red snapper was a deep fried mess I would have not ordered it. The filet was not cooked with the wasabi, instead they just placed a spoon full of the wasabi crust on top of the finished filet.. The table layout was a desperate attempt to fit as many people as possible, I was bumped into numerous times and a waitress even tripped and fell on me at one point, (they served free donuts as an apology - thanks). Overall I do not recommend this Buddakan.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.