Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

About Buddakan - Philadelphia

Stephen Starr’s Buddakan is a spectacular restaurant featuring exotic flavors of modern Asian cuisine with creativity and drama. Bon Appetit notes, "The mostly white space is striking, with a lit-from-within communal table in the middle of the room, a waterfall & a ten-foot, candle-bedecked Buddha. The religious icon watches over hip customers indulging in pan-Asian cuisine that far surpasses the fare usually found at hot spots like this." Newsweek reports, "Design also serves as a signifier for cuisine. You walk into Buddakan, one of the hottest new restaurants in Philadelphia, past a shimmering waterfall & Japanese river stones & you say to yourself, 'ginger-miso everything' even before you see the magnificent 10-foot Buddha dominating the dining room." Named one of “America's Top 50 Restaurants" by Travel & Leisure and 'Top Restaurant for Fun' by Gourmet, Buddakan has become one of the country's most talked about restaurants.

325 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 574-9440

Website:
http://www.buddakan.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at $18 per vehicle after 5:30pm. Parking lot available during lunch on 3rd & 4th between Market & Chestnut Streets.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodman

Private Party Facilities:
Buddakan is the perfect venue for corporate or social events. Whether you want to take over the entire facility, overlook the action or be in the midst of it, there are many options for groups to experience Philadelphia’s most highly sought after dining destination.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Farina: (267) 238-3650

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (119)
Good for a Date (109)
Creative Cuisine (87)
See All
Good for Birthdays (85)
Good for Anniversaries (84)
Fit for Foodies (79)
Romantic (71)
Good for Groups (66)
Fun (59)
Hot Spot (58)
Business Meals (48)
Worth the Drive (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Modern Decor (34)
Authentic (34)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Casual (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Family Style (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (22)
Bar Seating (22)
People Watching (22)
Cozy (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Late-night Find (15)
Tasting Menu (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Spicy (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Healthy (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Tapas (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Historic (3)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
7143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was absolutely delicious and our server was knowledgable and professional.
The edamame dumplings are to die for!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent. Server - Jenny - was professional and friendly. Suggested appetizers and recommended main courses. Her suggestions were "spot on." Excellent service by the staff and food was superb.

Would recommend to anyone. V

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been here before the food is always great. My kids loves the rice and lobster egg rolls. They also ate two orders of donuts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

A shame- good food , good portions, good service, TERRIBLE NOISE LEVEL ruins the experience.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

What an amazing meal! We started with a drink at the bar. Great service and unique selection. Our dinner was delicious. Unique variety, came quickly and was hot. The service was exceptional. Such great flavors.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was bad. Oily and frozen stuff. The waiter was very nice thought. Disappointment big time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was great except dessert was really bad, thus 4 stars

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Good old standby. Still quite popular. Dependable high end Asian cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

This Restuarant's is hands down one of the best in Philadelphia. To the amazing cuisine to the exceptional service. I took my girlfriend to Buddakan for her birthday and it was amazing. It all started with the service we received from Anne out Waitress. She was personable, fun, and gave us great suggestions about what to eat and drink. The was a non-Alcoholic drink that she mad alcoholic because we requested it. She laughed with us and even brought out a lil something for my girlfriend's birthday. The fool was amazing as well. I had the sticky crab fried rice and my girlfriend had the shrimp lo mein. We also had different types of dumplings as appetizers. Everything was to die for. And the presentation of the meals were great. I would recommend this restuarant to anyone in the city and tell them to request Anne because she's amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Every food & drink item I've had at Buddakhan has been superb! Great sake menu as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

I would definitely recommend Buddakan for a really special night out, for the food as well as the decor and ambiance, which were original, elegant, and intimate...owed, no doubt, to the a giant, peaceful, meditating Buddha occupying a first floor alcove. I do feel that a second visit would be necessary for me to seal the deal on a high recommendation, though. We were seated on the 2nd floor overlooking the 1st floor bar and seating area that got very crowded, so a bit farther out of hearing distance of the club music that was playing; though it was not loud we could hear the underlying beat, which my husband found annoying, but which didn't bother me at all. The entire restaurant is pretty darkly lit, and upstairs seemed even more so...in fact, I needed to use my cell phone to read the menu. But I love a dark, romantic restaurant, so it was fine once we placed our order. The wine selections by glass were few, but seemed expertly chosen, and our waitress was both professional and friendly, even though she had just started. For appetizers, we decided on the shared dim sum dumpling sampler. My advice would be to skip this sampler and just go straight for the edamame dumplings...the filling was a pureed edamame that was perfectly complimented by a citrus soy dipping sauce that was light enough so as not to overpower the dumpling. I wanted more!! My husband much preferred the other dumplings. For dinner, my husband ordered the Five Spice duck breast and I ordered the Pan Seared Sea Bass. I'm not a fan of duck, but he is and, unfortunately, it did not meet his expectations, as it was chewy as opposed to melt-in-your-mouth. I totally agreed with him. On the other hand, the sea bass, presented on a generous bed of haricots verts, was seared to perfection and mildly flavored. We also ordered a side of snow peas with mushrooms that was big enough for 4 people. For dessert, we split the coconut lemongrass panna cota that was delish!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

One of my Steven Starr faves. Deliciously tasty food, Asian influenced, creative, unusual upbeat decor, comfortable seating, excellent service. A winner.

Tags: Spicy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect atmosphere, food & service! Romantic yet casual at the same time- highly recommended!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We took my husband here for father's day. He really enjoyed his wasabi crusted filet. The ambience was gorgeous and service great. My only critique would be that all our food did not arrive at the same time but that's a small thing. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The ambiance were up to Star standards. We ordered the lobster egg rolls which were average the lobster lacked taste but the overall roll with sauce was good. The sticky dungeness crab rice was amazing the flavors all came together so effortlessly creating a dish to die for. The shrimp lo mein was good nothing to celebrate after having the rice. The presence of the manager was overwhelming seemed like he was running a tight ship always standing watching and moving I guess that's what gets the job done as our service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Everything was wonderful as usual! Their food is always top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Disappointed by flavor of food, lighting and noise level. The charred beef entree was bland and small proportion; the accompanying szechuan fries were topped with a horrible tasting wasabi sauce. There was supposed to be a watercress salad but it was a very minimal amount buried underneath the fries. The orange cocktail drink was just okay - no unique flavor. The chicken Lo Mein was flavorful, but the veggie fried rice was bland. Lastly, the place was way too loud at 4pm on Sunday, and the ambience was extremely dark where you couldn't even see the menu. Overall POOR EXPERIENCE for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Celebrated Father's Day and a birthday! Great special occasion restaurant. Consistently great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful experience at Buddakan. My wife had stated that she wanted to dine at the establishment since doing so with her friends in April. It was my first time and I must say it was well worth the wait. The food was simply amazing. We are making plans to do it again this summer.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good food and service. Slightly pricey but good value for the money.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fabulous dinner! Fun cocktails! Great service! A must try!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was excellent and everyone in our part of 4 enjoyed their meal. Seating next to the kitchen was less than optimal and took away from the overall experience. Service was good but a little aloof.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Enjoyed it so much! Did not disappoint!
The service, recommendations, desserts were all superior!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this dining experience. The food was phenomenal as well as teh service and ambience.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Have eaten there a number of times and food always good. This time it was average.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We went for our 10 year anniversary. Had a great booth in the corner, the atmosphere was perfect! Delicious cocktails and the food was fresh and delicious. Great service too! I would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This restaurant was wonderful! We were there with friends celebrating my husband's birthday. I loved that they didn't insist on our entire party being present before seating us. The wait staff is intuitive and work within the parameters of making the patron happy which is all you could ask of any establishment. Aside for the outstanding service the food and the ambiance was phenomenal so we will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I've been to this restaurant several times and I'm never disappointed! Such a great atmosphere and our server was awesome, and very knowledgeable when asked about certain dishes or drinks!!
I love this place

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food. Manager, Lowell is extremely hospitable! Never a disappointment dining here.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We went here for our 1-year wedding anniversary. Ordered shrimp bao, yellowtail tartare, the duck, sea bass and snow peas. The sea bass - to die for!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We were approximately 45 minutes late due to an issue with our limo. The restaurant was extremely gracious and held our table on a busy Friday night in prime time. We really appreciated that. Beyond that, the night was delightful - service was outstanding and the food was incredibly delicious. We had a group of 8 celebrating a 50th birthday and everyone had a great time. Highly recommend Budakan for large parties - it was a lot of fun and energetic!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great as always. One of our favorites. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food & service at Buddakan are always excellent and today's lunch was no exception. My only complaint? 2 apps & 2 mains (one main was mostly rice & one app had 5 very thin slices of duck) is the prices High for the portion sizes. With tip and tax, $100 for lunch for three with no drinks or beverages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The food was marginal which for the expense and noise led to a disappointing experience. We chose the restaurant for a special occasion based on atmosphere and location and wouldn't go back unless to just get a drink at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on June 7, 2017

A really great evening and a great restaurant. Everything was first rate, not least the food - just a shame we couldn't fit in more than we did as everything was not only delicious but it was also interesting. Great ingredients, cooking and service and a brilliant environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We love the food and had the Peking Duck and it was amazing, the best we ever had. The crab fried rice is superb as always.

The service is always impeccable.

Lowell the manager is a pro and everything is always running smoothly.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Had a great birthday dinner !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We were a table of 8 which is not always easy and our server, Ann, was exceptional. She helped us with quantities and paced the meal perfectly. We were celebrating our son's engagement and she brought out a special dessert at the end which made the night even more special.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I treated my husband to a dinner here on a Saturday night as part of my anniversary gift to him. The food was yummy and I was happy to see multiple vegetarian options (separate menu was available upon request).
Pros: Service, Valet parking, Food
Cons: A little pricey, Noisy, tables very close together

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

First time at this restaurant. I thought the food was good. The service was good. A bit crowded and a little noisy, but I would go back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.