About Buddakan - Philadelphia

325 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr’s Buddakan is a spectacular restaurant featuring exotic flavors of modern Asian cuisine with creativity and drama. Bon Appetit notes, "The mostly white space is striking, with a lit-from-within communal table in the middle of the room, a waterfall & a ten-foot, candle-bedecked Buddha. The religious icon watches over hip customers indulging in pan-Asian cuisine that far surpasses the fare usually found at hot spots like this." Newsweek reports, "Design also serves as a signifier for cuisine. You walk into Buddakan, one of the hottest new restaurants in Philadelphia, past a shimmering waterfall & Japanese river stones & you say to yourself, 'ginger-miso everything' even before you see the magnificent 10-foot Buddha dominating the dining room." Named one of “America's Top 50 Restaurants" by Travel & Leisure and 'Top Restaurant for Fun' by Gourmet, Buddakan has become one of the country's most talked about restaurants.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 574-9440

Website:
http://www.buddakan.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at $18 per vehicle after 5:30pm. Parking lot available during lunch on 3rd & 4th between Market & Chestnut Streets.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodman

Private Party Facilities:
Buddakan is the perfect venue for corporate or social events. Whether you want to take over the entire facility, overlook the action or be in the midst of it, there are many options for groups to experience Philadelphia’s most highly sought after dining destination.

Private Party Contact:
Diane Farina: 2672383650x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Buddakan - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Old City ›

special occasion (259)
fit for foodies (233)
good for groups (177)
See All
hot spot (156)
romantic (144)
great for lunch (73)
neighborhood gem (70)
vibrant bar scene (66)
late-night find (44)
notable wine list (29)
great for brunch (17)
scenic view (16)
kid-friendly (10)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
5931 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Asian Fusion with an Attitude!

Dined 4 days ago

Great food and a great dining experience. My party was from out of state and they were very impressed with the overall experience!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice experience.

Dined 5 days ago

The food was fantastic!, but the service was the best. We would never have enjoyed this experience of flavors without the help of our waiter. We leave at his choice the selection and not mistaken none. Sorry do not remember his name, the only thing I remember it was bald. Excellent!!.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Came here for a late-night business dinner and the food was outstanding and the service really great. Terrific find.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing oriental experience!

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The food, the ambiance, the service were all excellent. No accustomed to the dim sum style, we demurred to our guests and allowed them to order for the table. Sharing many small dishes we were extremely happy with the quality and taste experience we had. Our group was glad to find so many interesting and exciting dishes to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

Great for special occasions. The ambienc ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great for special occasions. The ambience and professionalism of the staff say special night.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! And our waiter was fabulous! He ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Amazing! And our waiter was fabulous! He was so funny and helpful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service was attentive ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Excellent food and service was attentive and professional.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasurable Dining Experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had fabulous service and the food was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Would go back again!

Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I have been trying to get to Budakkan for ages and finally made it! The food did not disappoint! We loved the wild mushroom pot stickers and the scallops were amazing! The Bento Box for dessert was perfect for two people. I am big into wine and they have a small, but well selected and reasonably priced wine list. We would definitely go back, but with a bigger group next time so we can try more things on the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service4

Very attentive service. Well trained sta ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Very attentive service. Well trained staff. Food was presented well and was some of the best dishes we've ever had in a "fusion asian" restaurant. This is our third time here and we continue to be amazed by the experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great. The server was ef ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was great. The server was efficient and attentive. The only issue was seating. We were seated near the kitchen. It was very noisy and a small table with limited space

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to eat with amazing service!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. The service, cocktails, food and ambiance is great. I ordered the short rib which was served on a bed of noodles. The noodles weren't great at all. So I let my server know and she let me know that I could have substituted. Its still one my faves, I just wouldn't recommend the noodles that were paired with ththe short rib.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers day delight

Dined on May 8, 2016

All my adult kids present and we choose the tasting menu ( which I highly recommend to everyone) Wonderful variety, high quality, beautifully presented, delicious food. Worth every dollar !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Buddakan Still Can

Dined on May 8, 2016

Since we live in Society Hill, Buddakan is our favorite "neighborhood" restaurant as well as among those in Philly generally. Celebrated wife's birthday last Saturday evening, got the table we requested overlooking the first floor and enjoyed excellent meals. We shared filet and salmon dishes, each spiced just right. Our server was genial and attentive; she retrieved the dessert so that the celebratory sparkler could be added. The joint was still jumping when we left, stuffed, at 11 p.m.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Service extra slow but food very tasty

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our waiter was slow & got some of my sisters order wrong. Service so slow I had 2 ask for check b4 we got our dessert as u was already a half an hour late getting back 2 work.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Worth every dime

Dined on May 1, 2016

Although it was a bit pricey, I agree with my wife's summary: This is the best Chinese food we've had outside Hong Kong. My favorite dish, the sizzling short rib with Asian pear had an excellent combination of flavors that stood up well with each other. The curried cauliflower with cashews was an excellent side dish that shows they can handle other Asian cuisines equally well. This will definitely be on the list to try more things when we next visit Philly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

The number of staff was fantastic, the service and people so friendly and professional. But ultimately it is the food that was the high light of the evening. All I can say is go and experience it for yourself, you will love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Not a good value

Dined on May 1, 2016

WAAAAAY overpriced. The decor is also old and tired. I don't think the menu has changed in 20 years either. I regret dining there last Sunday.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything on the menu is delicious

Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything on the menu is delicious

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved It!

Dined on April 30, 2016

I took my significant other here for his birthday and both of us had an AMAZING time. We can't wait to go again, we loved it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great dinner

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a very nice dinner. Entree portions were perfect for sharing, food was fresh and cocktails were great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and outstanding service! ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent food and outstanding service! My family and I travel and eat all over the world and have high standards for both food, ambiance and service and Buddakan ranks at the top of the list of Restaurants we have tried over the years. Great restaurant for a romantic date with that special someone or a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch was a delightful experience at Bud ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Lunch was a delightful experience at Buddakan. The service, the drink, the food, and the ambience all were at the highest level.

food5
ambience3
service1

I booked a reservation for 12:45, but we ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

I booked a reservation for 12:45, but we got there at 12:35pm . The restaurant was fairly empty but the hostess told us she would seat us closer to our reservation time. As we waited a couple came in after us, the hostess took them to a table immediately . The couple didn't like that table so the hostess offered them another table, they didn't like that table either. The hostess then seated them at another table. The hostess came back checked another party in then offered to seat us , it was 12:47pm at the first table the couple declined. It was then that I asked her why did she make us wait. The hostess said the couple had a 12:30 reservation. I said but they came in at 12:40. Her response "I had to seat them first" didn't make sense to me, there were plenty of tables available to seat us without us having to wait .... Enough about her The food was FABULOUS , as usual , but our server didn't come back to check on us until the meal was almost finished. Maybe I have been spoiled by previous buddakan servers and hostesses but this service was unlike any service I've ever received at the restaurant .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal!

Dined on April 25, 2016

I took my in-laws here for lunch - great meal and they really enjoyed it!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

table was bad

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

There is one table in the back corner that should not be a table - we were essentially in the kitchen.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing! Great combinations an ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was amazing! Great combinations and flavors .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect double date place

Dined on April 23, 2016

We always love coming here! We went this time for a double date and double birthday dinner. Everything was wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an amazing dining experience at Buddakan

Dined on April 23, 2016

Always an amazing dining experience at Buddakan. Excellent food, outstanding service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The original Asian fusion .

Dined on April 22, 2016

Wonderful night of nothing but appetizers. The duck egg rolls with foie gras was amazing as well as the Kobe beef skewers . Loved the crab and lobster dumplings and calamari salad. The best was yet to come with five spice hot and fresh donuts with your choice of chocolate or strawberry dipping sauce and cream cheese. Scrumptious! Wine list ok.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

The crab fried rice and sea bass was my ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

The crab fried rice and sea bass was my fav!!! Delicious perfectly cooked.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointed Night

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food all tasted like salty soy sauce.....fish, pork, spring roll, tempura. No flavor other than soy....how can this be highly rated? Bar was nice.

food5
ambience5
service5

I love the lobster fried rice and the de ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

I love the lobster fried rice and the desert dumplings with the 3 sauces. Mmm Mmm good! The Malbec wine was great too.

food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Good but...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Went with the wife to celebrate a raise. Didn't really live up to the hype. Good, not great food. Great service. Bit of an attitude from the hostess when she told us about the half hour wait beyond our reservation. Loud club music was a curious choice but whatever. It was ok. Just not what we were expecting.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 15, 2016

Upon arriving to the restaurant early, the receptionist greeted us and had us seated immediately. The waiter really took his time to take our order, and make sure that we're satisfied with the meal and ensure our water is constantly being refilled. The quality of the food has been consistent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MARVELOUS

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

THE TUNA PIZZA, THE SEA BASS, THE SPICY CAESAR SALAD, AND ESPECIALLY THE DOUGHNUTS ARE SO DELICIOUS. I WISH IT WERE A LITTLE LESS EXPENSIVE SO THAT I COULD AFFORD TO EAT HERE SEVERAL TIMES A WEEK AND NOT MERELY FOR SPECIAL TIMES. WHEN MY FRIEND WHO LIVES IN PARIS VISITS, BUDDAKAN IS ALWAYS HER FIRST RESTAURANT CHOICE.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

The atmosphere was very different. It f ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

The atmosphere was very different. It felt like being in another world. It was nice to see the vibrancy of the place. I'll be back.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Buddakan

Dined on April 11, 2016

We've been eating at Buddakan since they opened. The food has been consistently good. The ambiance and the servers excellent. It is an enjoyable restaurant and always a delight to go there for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The place was recommended by a friend, a ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The place was recommended by a friend, and my whole family enjoyed our meal, especially the Strawberry Parfait with Pandan and Kalamansi...and our server was very patient enough to explain to us the Menu .

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service3

Mediocre food compared to other less exp ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Mediocre food compared to other less expensive Philly restaurants....

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.