Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 66 times today

Buddakan - Philadelphia

4.7
7824 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Asian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
Stephen Starr’s Buddakan is a spectacular restaurant featuring exotic flavors of modern Asian cuisine with creativity and drama. Bon Appetit notes, "The mostly white space is striking, with a lit-from-within communal table in the middle of the room, a waterfall & a ten-foot, candle-bedecked Buddha. The religious icon watches over hip customers indulging in pan-Asian cuisine that far surpasses the fare usually found at hot spots like this." Newsweek reports, "Design also serves as a signifier for cuisine. You walk into Buddakan, one of the hottest new restaurants in Philadelphia, past a shimmering waterfall & Japanese river stones & you say to yourself, 'ginger-miso everything' even before you see the magnificent 10-foot Buddha dominating the dining room." Named one of “America's Top 50 Restaurants" by Travel & Leisure and 'Top Restaurant for Fun' by Gourmet, Buddakan has become one of the country's most talked about restaurants.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Asian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 574-9440
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jason Goodman
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Buddakan is the perfect venue for corporate or social events. Whether you want to take over the entire facility, overlook the action or be in the midst of it, there are many options for groups to experience Philadelphia’s most highly sought after dining destination.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Diane Farina diane@starr-restaurant.com: (267) 238-3650
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between 3rd & 4th on Chestnut
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is available at $18 per vehicle after 5:30pm. Parking lot available during lunch on 3rd & 4th between Market & Chestnut Streets.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 7824 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 2 days ago

I have been coming to Buddakan for several years. There was something a bit off about this visit .. It started with the Calamari salad. It tasted off. I will come to Buddakan for lunch on occasion just to get the salad for lunch. Not this salad. My date and I each ordered the Char Grilled beef medium rare. It was pretty good. We shared a dessert. I usually order a trio of sorbet to share, but she picked something different, and when it came, the chocolate mousse stuff? Tasted very off. Very off. Anyway, it was not a good representation of Buddakan. Just an off night I suppose. I certainly will not let this deter me from going back as I have been there so many times in the past and had excellent meals with excellent service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

I went on the 24th for my Bday with my best friend, my niece, who recently moved to Philly after college, and her friend/roommate. I have not been to Buddakan in over 8 years and I was pleasantly surprised to find out it lived up to the high expectations I had placed on it. I remember the first time I went and the wow factor that Buddakan had was just simply awesome! It still was simply awesome! The food, the service was on point and the desserts and even the embarrassment of the bday sparkler made me happy. Well done Buddakan!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Great place for entertaining clients as well as friends and family. Outstanding Aisan-Fusion menu with a blend of seafood and other delights like a wonderful pork loin dish amount others. If you are new to Philly or just a visitor give this restaurant a go, you won't be disappointed.

DK

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

My favorite. Always and forever. Never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Food could have had more seasoning but Sea Bass was great, Creamy Cauliflower was good, fried rice was a bit bland

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Had been to this location several years back and since food quality as declined. Food temperature was off, of 4 dishes only one was hot. Staff was accommodating and responsive regarding table selection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great selection of appetizers and entrees. Wait staff can be overly attentive but alert to your needs food is well prepared and is served in an efficient manner. Really good sake . Ambience special with the Buddha overseeeing your meal. Overall worth the drive or wait. Special place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Buddakan is one of my favorite restaurant , whatever Im in a certain city , if a Buddakan location is there than I try my best to visit . I been to this location many times, don't have any complaints .
I made reservations the night before on a Saturday
for Sunday dinner 6:30pm
I arrived at the restaurant at 5:50pm and was able to be seated immediately. Service great atmosphere mellow comfortable , I would say its very dark inside so when its a beautiful day out its hard to notice but thats there style so I like it . I had Edamame Dumplings
tru ed sauternes-shallot broth for appetizer , chicken lo mein for my main course , for dessert chocolate bento box , everything was so delicious , the manager did drift by asking me if everything was ok . What a phenomenal Restaurant
I also ordered the
Passion Fruit Lemonade
passion fruit, peach lemon sugar drink
which had something in it , they fixed it as well it off my bill . When I was leaving the restaurant did to start to get busy like around 7pm

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Though loud, the atmosphere was very exciting and fun. It was a very nice spot with amazing food for our anniversary. Definitely would go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

The hoisin pork belly buns were amazing!!! I wish the place had been a tiny bit quieter but my husband and I had a great time here. Would definitely come back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Anniversary dinner. Food was amazing! Little loud but to be expected. Fun evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The Dumplings were superior to any I’ve had in the past. Staff were very knowledgeable about the dishes. I’d say the food itself was ok, the sauces are what made a dish in this occasion. I’ve had better meals for the value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Awesomeness, every item was over the top delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

No matter how full you are, you'll make room for the Dip Sum Donuts!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

The food was amazing! The noise level was very high and, as we were a 2 top, we were kind of stuck behind a column. Overall, though, I would go again and recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

I've had the pleasure of eating at several of Stephen Starr's restaurants, but Buddakan is now my favorite. I get to Philly about twice a year and this time I was finally able to get a table at
Buddakan. My sister and I shared the Dim Sum Sampler which was exquisite. I ordered the Char Grilled Aged Beef and she had the Sweet and Crispy Jumbo Shrimp. Simply divine! This is a restaurant where the staff wants you to have the best possible experience eating great food. Our waiter was very attentive and he was terrific at helping me order drinks, yes drinks, to enhance the meal. Leave room for dessert. We didn't and should have. Next time....

This trip we also ate at The Love., another of Stephen's restaurants. The menu presents foods that might sound familiar to you, but it's the unique ingredient or preparation that makes the food unforgettable. Again, we enjoyed a lovely meal in a beautiful setting.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I wonder if Buddakan is slipping? My son ordered the peppered beef and the waiter did not remind us we should order rice with it. The wait staff was not very enthusiastic and forgot a couple of the things we asked for until we reminded them. It was hard to get a reservation at the time we wanted and then the place was 2/3 empty when we were there.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We were disappointed in our Mother's Day visit to Buddakan. First, our table was wobbly and was fixed to a point, but not really. (Actually I think the floor dipped every time someone walked by, which was quite distracting..) The food was tasty, but very heavy. But the worst was when my drink glass arrived, it had very clear lipstick imprints on it. There were apologies but honestly, how someone could have overlooked that was astonishing. It pointed to a clear lack of care, I fear.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

There is nothing to say except. . . Eat!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Kitchen messed up our order and the noodles were over cooked. Our server, Chelsea, was a doll. She really tried to make up for the error by the kitchen. She absolutely deserved the tip we left.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This restaurant is a must. I’m absolutely in love with the calamari salad. Waitress knew that we were celebrating mother’s day and offered me a great dessert. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great service from Mark. He recommended some dishes across the apps and entrees and all of them were excellent.

Would come back in a heartbeat

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

WOW...the lamb chops, curried cauliflower and miso cod were out of this world! Great service; just really hard to hear given the noise level!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

This place never fails to impress. Food is always great and so is the service. It is our go to place. Price is high but certainly justified.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The food was not very good, considering the buzz of the place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

I have been planning to visit Buddakan for a while, and was pleasantly surprised that my expectations and experience were closely matched. The ambiance consisted of a high energy buzz, and was very nice for meeting a friend for dinner. We had appetizers, entrees, dessert and wine. The wine we ordered was not in stock, so the host was gracious enough to take care of our first two drinks and an appetizer. (without us even asking) I really enjoyed the sea bass, and look forward to visiting again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

This restaurant was exceptional in taste and variety of menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Buddakan is always a treat. With a calming waterfall feature, giant golden meditating Buddha and tables spaced far enough away from one another to NOT hear "their" conversation, it's a great place to talk...and understand. Everything I've ever eater there is really good, though the edamame dumplings are heavenly and favored...sometimes two helpings!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Jay was so nice.
GF MENU. THANK YOU!! My ceilac daughter got to try Pad Thai with shrimp for first time. She is 44 been on gf since thirty years old. One of my favorite Thai food. I got to watch her live it like I do!! Very grateful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Had a great meal to celebrate a birthday. Food and staff were outstanding. I heartily recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Food delicious as always. Wait staff is always efficient

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Buddakan is always a delight. We ended up enjoying a few appetizers and got so full we skipped dinner which is a shame but in a good way. We’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great cocktails - Strength with Tito was fresh and tangy. Dumplings were al dante, light, flavorful, esp. edamame. Aged Filet and Black Cod so good. Beignets were great. They were packed on Fri night and service fought thru and managed to provide good service. Outstanding and consistent dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

It was the first time I’ve been back to buddakan in years and I can say it was the best meal I’ve had since then. I went with four of my girlfriends to celebrate two birthdays and I’ve already told my husband I want to go for mine! It was such a great experience which is hard to find these days where the restaurant holds up to have amazing food, service, and surroundings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

food so tasty and service was exceptional. loved how server knew the product and not afraid to make recommendation. she was spot on and her name is Voula-Susan in Philadelphia restarant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Service was excellent. Food was good but not as good as in previous visits.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Sorority Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Our waiter introduced us to the menu with recommendations. We had the dumpling platter as an appetizer and the lamb along with some Sake. Everything was cooked to perfection and service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Get the ribs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Absolutely tremendous food. Service was amazing, drinks were delicious.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
196