Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 6/18
Time
11:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 329 times today

Buddakan NY

4.6
11031 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Chinese
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Groups
The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Chinese, Asian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 989-2245
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Yang Huang & Brian Ray
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
16th Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 11031 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

Food was excellent- waitstaff was knowledgeable and made some awesome recommendations that were the highlights of our meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined a day ago

vibe was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great experience - Service is awesome and food is fantastic! Definitely one of our favorites in nyc

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 2 days ago

Was really looking forward to it but was so disappointed. Booked 4 weeks in advance. Shown to our table in what seemed the far corner of the restaurant and had to literally squeeze in between another table to get seated. The service was really rushed, it felt like a fast food restaurant. My main course was put on the table before i had finished my starter. I told the server that I hadn't finished my starter ( he could see that anyway) but still left the main course anyway. Definitely overrated and very expensive for what you got.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 2 days ago

Great food as always but the restaurant had a system error that said our reservation was 30 mins before it actually was. They didn’t apologize at all, didn’t comp anything and sat us 45 mins late (since they had given our original table away). Pretty disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

We'd been recommended here from someone who said it was "the best meal of their life" and after our meal that's not an exaggeration. Our very friendly, knowledgeable waitress was brilliant at suggesting food options and we went for the $95 tasting menu. Not a single item disappointed especially the dumplings, miso cod and beef fillet were amazing. However the desserts were out of this world definitely leave space for afters. would highly recommend this restaurant, it's the higher end of the price range but worth it, service, food and ambience is 100%

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Food great, ambiance and service a bit pretentious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

I was recommended this restaurant by my company's President and all I can say what a phenomenal restaurant. The food, ambiance and drinks were all great. I can't wait to return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Food is Ok...over price!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Great food, Great Venue A must in NYC.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant itself is very beautiful. We had asked when we made the reservation to sit in the main dining room area which is where all of the chandeliers are, but they put us upstairs instead. The music was so loud we could barely hear each other and the tables were so close together I could hardly squeeze through. The food was very good, but the waitress asked for our order as soon as we sat down and then the food was there within 3-5 minutes. It was very disappointing because it was a special occasion, so we wanted to take our time and enjoy the experience. They quickly picked our food up and we were out of the restaurant within 40 minutes of entering. I would have definitely liked for them to slow things down considering the prices and what should have been a special night. I would go again but only if I wanted to scream to be heard and be ready to stick up for myself more about them slowing down.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

This is my 4th time here. I can’t say enough about this place. The food is unbelievably good never disappoint, drink always good. The service is top notch. If you go with a group it’s great for sharing! I will continue to come back again So it’s a little pricey but worth every dollar

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

It was my first time at Budakhan, i have to say that i was impressed!!
Food was great, service was incredible, view and details were special!!
I am very pleased and happy, will return a lot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely fabulous everything it was hyped up to be!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

It was fantastic as always! The short rib and scallion pancakes are the best - one order is never enough. Wait staff was just outstanding. Kevin’s our favorite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great anniversary dinner with my girlfriend it was a perfect setting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We had a really lovely meal, short rib app was a standout, as were cauliflower lollipops. Sea bass entree was extraordinarily good. Service fun and exceptional.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Good restaurant, service and ambient.

The appetizers for two is amazing!

we eaten the duck, it is very good but belived the other options can be more interesting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

I loved everything about Buddakan. I am gluten free and I have never tasted great food anywhere else. Beat food for the best price. Highly recommend it to anyone who has good taste palettes. 👍🏼👍🏼❤️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food, great service, a little noisy, but overall a fantastic experience. We will definitely be going back, just disappointed we left it this long to go for the first time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great love it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Every time I come to Buddakan I am taken by how well the restaurant is run. The food is terrific but, what brings me back time and time again to a restaurant is that perfect combination of food and service. You are greeted at the door by a professional who is not searching for your reservation or too busy doing something else. At Buddakan, they smile and welcome you. That might seem an obvious thing to do but restaurants in NYC ROUTINELY miss this first opportunity to make a good impression on a customer. It's a big one.
We asked for a change of table, and instead of groans were met again with a smile and a swift change. We sat down happy. AGAIN, this greases the way for a happy evening. Do restaurants understand how hard it is to live in NYC???? Make your restaurant an oasis of happiness and we will flock. Buddakan gets it. AND it's not a small feat.
Our waitress SMILED, took our drink orders, talked my guests through the menu, SMILED, suggested appetizers, SMILED and disappeared. Food arrived in a timely fashion and the meal was enjoyed. WHO wouldn't come back?? Food and drink were really great and our server was as nice as she was professional.
THIS is how to run a restaurant. I always come back, but my two guests will ABSOLUTELY come back. More fans. Congratulations!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Family reunion

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Amazing food and service. Quality establishment with great choice of cocktails, wine and variety of food. Cater for allergies well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We had a wonderful dinner at Buddakan. We were a large party of 9 and they could not have been more accommodating. We had the tasting menu which was delicious and so much food. We also had some vegetarians dining with us and our waitress could not have been more helpful. I can highly recommend Buddakan for any evening you wish to make special! One of the best dining experiences I have had in the city.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 10, 2018

I went with my husband for his birthday. Whilst the atmosphere was buzzing and the setting vibrant, we were served by no less than 12 different people which made the whole experience very impersonal. we chose mixed Dim Sum for starters which was good. My husband's main course was very disappointing - not at all Asian, being shrimps and scallops in a very bland creamy sauce. not good at all. The prices were expensive and the portions tiny considering. I would not recommend it unless for a group looking for a good atmosphere. All in all, very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Top notch place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Everything was absolutely terrific...... the food was outstanding, the wait staff Informative and attentive, ambience was great! An overall fantastic experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

First time here and loved every moment . Would definitely go back .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Amazing food. Extremely loud environment, but even if I had to wear headset next tine, ill be back for the food :-)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Birthday party with 11 friends. Ratings would have been top notch if it wasn't for the music being way too load. We had a wonderful tasting menu and it would have been amazing to hear our waitress telling us what we were eating. Besides from that, beautiful place, great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Service was a little slow but the food and ambience was amazing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We actually were about a half an hour late for our reservation but the front staff was very accommodating and basically sat us within 10 minutes. That was very well appreciated given that we were traveling from Long Island and got stuck in a real bad traffic jam.

As a very energetic atmosphere with good music and good lighting. We enjoyed our meal and everyone around us seem to be enjoying themselves The atmosphere was excellent and the wait staff was very attentive and very pleasant so overall we had a great little evening meal get away.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great Food but The level of noise was disturbing. We could not talk to each other over The table without shouting.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Very good food but too high noise level. We had difficulty talking over the table. Bulky decor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Everything was absolutely delightful, from the helpful staff when we needed a last minute reservation change to the wonderful servers who helped us make our selections of fantastic cocktails and meals (and desserts!) The restaurant is truly beautiful making this a positive experience for all five senses.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Experience was overall good. Liked the coctail "fate" the best after trying 3 drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Such a delightful meal to celebrate my birthday. Service was outstanding. Meal was impeccable. We left with our stomachs full and our hearts happy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We first came her 8 yrs ago. It still is special. Great service and delicious food. Try the oxtail dumplings!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
250