Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Buddakan NY

The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

75 9th Ave
New York, NY 10011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 989-2245

Website:
http://www.buddakannyc.com/

Public Transit:
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Yang Huang & Brian Ray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (254)
Good for a Date (220)
Creative Cuisine (179)
See All
Good for Groups (172)
Romantic (168)
Good for Birthdays (167)
Hot Spot (166)
Good for Anniversaries (154)
Fun (127)
Fit for Foodies (119)
Vibrant Bar Scene (112)
Tasting Menu (80)
People Watching (78)
Late-night Find (66)
Handcrafted Cocktails (63)
Worth the Drive (61)
Authentic (56)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Business Meals (50)
Pre/post Theatre (48)
Cozy (41)
Notable Wine List (41)
Good Vegetarian Options (41)
Bar Seating (41)
Spicy (33)
Casual (30)
Tapas (26)
Happy Hour (24)
Scenic View (24)
Healthy (19)
Comfort Food (19)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Seasonal (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Vegan (9)
Live Music (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort by
S
10334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 21 hours ago

It was adequate ... nothing great. P.F. Chang’s is better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing good. Waiters are great but team in reception not very much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

It’s not my first time at Buddakan and so far im not Disappointed.
Very good food and great service!
The edamame dumplings are out of this world! We ordered too much food for 8 people but everything was so delicious we could not stop eating :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The food and the service is AMAZING, I will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

What an amazing interior design, takes you into the world of Harry Potter and beyond with high ceilings etc (trying not to give out many spoilers here) ! Loved the ambiance, eclectic music, and the tasty food (even though portions were kind of small). The service could be faster but in a restaurant this size, you can’t really blame the staff much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

was one of my gotta-try places but utterly disappointed at the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Incredible food, great service, flawless experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing experience delicious food and service is amazing! Couldn’t be happier and great choice of music and great vibes in the place! Edemame dumplings are to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We come from Argentina and at the beginning it was a bit difficult to understand the menu.
But everything was very good. The food is perfect
We would like to go again!!
And they sent me a dessert with a candle because they knew it was my B Day!
It was very nice of them!
Fabiana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Outrageous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Always delicious! I've been here for my birthday celebration with a large group of people and for a date night, both times the service was great and the food was excellent! Definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

My sister and I came here for a fancy dinner in the city and it did not disappoint. The dim sum for 2 was to die for and the waiter was very informative and helpful with the menu. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

I was extremely impressed with this place. The food was great and the service was even better. They were clearly invested that my might be special. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I felt that the quality was not as good as usual. There was no broth in my dish of edamame dumplings. The menu is just upscale Chinese. Nothing exciting. The menu online was outdated compared to the menu in the restaurant. I asked the server about this and he said they have not gotten around to updating it . I feel that it is very expensive for what it is.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Our server was outstanding and made the night feel special. We shared soup dumplings which were very good but the rest of the food was just ok and the cocktails were subpar. At this price point I expected better from the meal but if you’re looking for a spectacle to post on Instagram, this is the spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

Excellent experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

Amazing food. Great vibe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Great food, amazing service, wonderful atmosphere .... It was a magnificent evening I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Everything was amazing. Everyone is nice and friendly and the environment was next to perfect. It made my girlfriends birthday amazing. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2018

Amazing ambience! Great date place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Great food. Great service. Terrible terrible terrible seating downstairs in back room with really odd patrons. Guess we werent vip enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Amazing experience very welcoming as soon as you stepped through the door. Front desk and wait staff were all very helpful and friendly. Was my girlfriend and my anniversary dinner and they were able to sit us in the main room which was requested. They also hooked up the desert with a happy anniversary message on it! Will definitely be back and recommend to friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Place was really nice and the food was really good. Perfect date night venue just a little bit loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Went with our two teenagers. It’s tradition we go once every year when we visit nyc. Love the food and the vibe. Our waiter this time was nice but zero personality.

Still love going there though. The food is really good and the vibe there is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Love always a pleasure great homey feel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Very good food... but do not dine here if you have an OpenTable rewards. They do NOT accept dining rewards. Poorly handled and very disappointed in management! What is the point of having a rewards card if you can’t cash in on it? Clearly states on certificate that any restaurant that accepts MasterCard can accept dining certificate. Buddakan clearly accepts MasterCard but offered a poor excuse of “never seen this before” and “we only accept OT checks” as to why they did not take it. If you are going to use OpenTable as a platform to take reservations, then you need to accept the terms of what OpenTable offers. It shouldn’t be placed on the patron to find out why a restaurant cannot accept the terms of OpenTables dining agreement... seems like a restaurant problem to figure out. Horrible management! Birthday celebration ends with a horrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 5, 2018

As usual this restaurant never disappoints!
Love,love,love it!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Spicy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Not only food was amazing but service was outstanding !!! I went with my new fiancée right after we got engaged. They offered us champagne, and a nice dessert just for us. I felt like i was the most important person in the room. It's a must !!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

Always a memorable experience. Food is amazing. Speciality cocktails are great but I had 5 of them and did t even get a buzz.....that could just be a personal problem.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

love the ambience the Food and service was excellent!!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Great server... very knowledgeable about menu and special diet requests of our family... we loved every minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

Enjoyed the experience however, in my opinion the lighting was far too dark and made it difficult to both view the menu and also to actually see the great food that was served. Could be made much better with a little more light in selected places.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Great food and amazing setting. Best asian food in NY

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

Just one word.... FANTASTIC!! Everything Perfect and excellent service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2018

I was impressed with the venue, amazing! Very nice and cozy, good cocktails-good service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Really cool! Great food! Gorgeous decor! Overall a must go if you are visiting NYC!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Great as always! Just wish dishes were served with more fresh ingredients and a bit more spice!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Great choice. Food outstanding. Excellent service. Great vibe and setting. Highly recommend it

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Ottima esperienza sotto tutto i punti di vista.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.