Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Buddakan NY

The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

75 9th Ave
New York, NY 10011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 989-2245

Website:
http://www.buddakannyc.com/

Public Transit:
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Yang Huang & Brian Ray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (268)
Good for a Date (224)
Creative Cuisine (187)
See All
Romantic (182)
Good for Birthdays (170)
Good for Groups (166)
Hot Spot (165)
Good for Anniversaries (152)
Fit for Foodies (141)
Fun (125)
Vibrant Bar Scene (106)
Handcrafted Cocktails (83)
Tasting Menu (81)
Late-night Find (70)
Worth the Drive (69)
People Watching (69)
Business Meals (66)
Authentic (65)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Bar Seating (53)
Pre/post Theatre (46)
Notable Wine List (45)
Cozy (43)
Spicy (38)
Good Vegetarian Options (37)
Tapas (30)
Casual (28)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Happy Hour (25)
Comfort Food (20)
Healthy (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Scenic View (12)
Vegan (9)
Live Music (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
9939 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Love this place! Waiter was amazing and out of town guests had a great meal. Only issue was the wait time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Very nice settings, Excellent food. The cherry on the cake was our waiter Susana from Venezuela. Excellent recommendations from her. Very attentive. They took good care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Food was good . We had the Oxtail dumplings and the short rib appetizer with the scallion pancakes which was good. We had the peking duck for the entree. Sever was great. He was outgoing and on the money. Keep it up Joe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

One of NY’s best Asian Fusion restaurants. Great crowd, dj has great playlists.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

fantastic place to eat, style is top, food is very good, clearly higher price,
Was there with my family. Very stylish Ambiente, service was also very good, we took the mixed starters and different main curses.
Early booking max sense.....

Tags: Late-night Find, Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (München)·Dined 3 days ago

Buddakhan is a must see in NYC - always great ambience, great food, great service. One tiny little thing though - the kitchen has went down a step. Ordered the tuna tartar rolls and got 3 boringly presented spring rolls - rolling around on an otherwise empty plate. The presentation tended to be a touch better in the last years. Everything else was perfect. Try the Peking duck - an absolute delight.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined 3 days ago

Mass catering for the masses. Good door, in a ginormois fancy school dinner hall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined 3 days ago

45 minute delay from booked time. No offer of a drink whilst we waited. Very loud and very dark venue.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

It was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I absolutely love every experience at Buddakan. It isn't the cheapest restaurant so it isn't somewhere I go regularly but there is always something that keeps me going back. The food is absolutely outstanding (those edamame dumplings are heaven!) and the service is wonderful. I love taking out-of-towners here whenever I can and will continue to recommend it to anyone who will listen!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Much too loud, walls should absorb more noise, no specific (asian) food to rate it higher than average, firm prices, not gonna recommend, won't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic food and service- a not to be missed dining experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Overpriced and service designed to move you through quickly. Food good but poor value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

Almost 40min wait for a pre booked table on a Tuesday night. We were seated at a table in a hidden corner, space was dark and noisy and uncomfortably cold. Dishes we ordered were uninspiring and in lack of some seasoning nothing we would want to go back for
Highlight was the carrot cake at the end of the meal which was outstanding

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

For an asian fusion restaurant, I was not expecting much. The quality of the appetizers really blew me away. The cauliflower lolipops and edamame dumplings were delicious. The entrees were also very good. We ordered the sizzlings beef ribs, chili chicken, and the peking duck fried rice which were all pretty good in portion sizes as well.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent as always! Service was superb, thank you Ginette for helping us celebrate our anniversary. Food never disappoints here, well prepared, interesting and delicious. Going back in a couple of weeks and cannot wait!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience for girlfriends birthday. Service was amazing. Food even better!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Food portions were much larger than waitress told us. We made a reservation and they had issues seating us. The entrees we ordered were tasteless. But the noodles and veggies were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was my farewel dinner from my trip to New York and it was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Buddakan is a beautiful place, with very high ceilings and chandeliers. The food was also incredible, I would recommend the dim sum tasting menu for two (10 dim sums, $36). Our server was very professional and the service was overall great. It's a little on the noisy side because of the music. I would say it's better to go there as a group as the tables are so big.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2017

First time here. Nice date night. The host were very lovely and nice and our server was very attentive. The food was great. However, the drinks are pricy but not the strongest or the best. Overall, I will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Amazing Again!
So happy and pleased with this beautiful restaurant!
It’s my favorite in NY buy all!
The food is fresh and full of flavors! Service amazing!
Thank you!

Tags: Organic, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Had a fantastic dinner here, food is delicious and the staff were great, really attentive. We loved the atmosphere. The carrot dumplings were yummy. Would love to come back when we're next visiting NYC. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

This was third time at Budakan, always a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Un des meilleurs restaurants que je suis personnellement aller. Dispendieux par contre, mais la qualité des ingrédients, du service et le décor vaut le coût.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Too noisy! We did not stay because of the music level and because we had a reservation but they couldn”t tell us how much we had to wait to have our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The hostesses were extremely rude, unaccommodating, and condescending... which is probably due to their low pay rate. One of the managers (Alex I believe) attempted to recover the bad service & offered a comp drink but never delivered. Once we finally got seated our waitress was very courteous and informative however one of our proteins didn’t get to our table until we pointed it out. At this time my friend was completely finished with hers. We were under the impression it all came as it was done so we held out in saying anything but it seems it was forgotten all together. The kitchen blamed it on their ticket machine. Our waitress and her mgr however, were very gracious and took some items off the bill along with comp glasses of prosecco for the rough dinner service. Overall food and service was not worth the price. Plenty of other vibrant restaurant scenes with better food out there.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Mal sistema de reservas en el lugar, te hacen esperar en el lobby y las señoritas que te vienen a buscar son un tanto apáticas, más allá de esto el lugar es increíble y la comida también. Deberían esforzarse más en ella calidad del servicio de atención en general de su personal.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great service, cool place, bit too loud for a date, definitely fun with friends.
The food not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Too loud! It was not even possible to hold a converstation. Terrible service, no explanation of the food or anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Always a great time and the food is absolutely amazing. My favorite restaurant!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was wonderful. Our group had the tasting menu and I loved being able to try so many dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We were celebrating ny daughter in laws 30th birthday so we wanted to sit in the main dining area and the hostess was very accommodating and sat us at a perfect table. Also, the food was great, specially the tuna poke and the filet We had a great time!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Sensational!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Everything was nice
Only problem
Kitchen had issue this night only was allowed steamed rice

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Took 30 minutes after we were seated to get a waiter. And then 50 percent of the menu was unavailable due to a kitchen problem. Too bad, as the place has a great vibe and location.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great food and service, but the kitchen breaking and having to wait 90mins for entrees let it all down unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2017

The kitchen was having issues mid dinner service so our experience wasn't the greatest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great Team !!!
Everybody is very friendly and profesional. All times, They are outstanding and attentive to make your diner, a special moment.
Thank you !!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.