About Buddakan NY

75 9th Ave
New York, NY 10011
View Larger Map

The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 989-2245

Website:
http://www.buddakannyc.com/

Public Transit:
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Yang Huang & Brian Ray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Buddakan NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Chinese
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Chinese
Manhattan
1 More
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Meatpacking District ›

special occasion (599)
hot spot (523)
good for groups (502)
See All
fit for foodies (458)
romantic (369)
vibrant bar scene (317)
late-night find (225)
neighborhood gem (125)
notable wine list (90)
great for outdoor dining (60)
scenic view (60)
great for lunch (39)
great for brunch (23)
kid-friendly (17)
 (14)
 (14)
 (14)
 (12)
 (7)
 (4)
 (4)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
7341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Vegetable Fried Rice, scallion pan cakes ...

Dined a day ago

Vegetable Fried Rice, scallion pan cakes, crying chocolate.. All top notch!! Many vegetarian options

food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food, impeccable service.. ...

Dined 2 days ago

Always great food, impeccable service.. Definitely would come back other times!

food5
ambience5
service5

Bae said it was delicious

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Bae said it was delicious

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great and fun place to be at . It's loud ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

great and fun place to be at . It's loud but the ambiance is great

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing server Kristen that we ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We had an amazing server Kristen that we couldn't ask for any one better. Food was very good and came out quickly

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Most food options were fried... Too heav ...

Dined 5 days ago

Most food options were fried... Too heavy. Wish they would offer steamed fish with similar sauce. Same with appetizers.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful , unique, amazing food!

Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant is very uniquely designed and atmosphere is accordingly great and unique. Food was simply amazing, each and every dish was very good with few dishes were exceptional! They also provide great flexibly and willing to adjust dish sizes per number of dinner. Service was top with very professional staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Dessert was outstanding. Food was just o ...

Dined 7 days ago

Dessert was outstanding. Food was just ok. This is the type of place you go to for the ambiance - the interior is extremely grand and beautiful without feeling dry and overly formal. Of all the restaurants in NYC that I've been to, this one is the grandest in terms of interior. Great place to bring people to that you want to "wow" (but not really with the food). The tuna tar tar spring rolls are amazing though.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Overpriced

Dined on May 23, 2016

I think this restaurant is overpriced. The food is oke, but i had better for less money. The admosphere is for those who like it fancy. For us it was too fancy, and too dark! I want to actually see what i eat. We called it after 'the dark expensive Chinese restaurant with the loud music'. (if you want to call it music, it is to me: boink-boink-sounds that replaces the music)

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Buddakhan experience

Dined on May 23, 2016

Excellent services it was my bf bday and we had an amazing night. Our server was superb and the food was delicious.... Definitely going again!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The only disappointment was an over 1 ho ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The only disappointment was an over 1 hour long wait with a reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fancy hot spot

Dined on May 23, 2016

Family trip to NYC. Last evening we joined Buddakan on recommendation of a friend. Stunning place and delicious food as awell as very attentive personnel. My husband and two teen daughters were totally impressed and wish to have such a place in Munich/Germany were we are living. All this, though, has to be said with the small reservation that it was very noisy and cold as we are not used to air condition all the time. But all in all, it was an unforgetable experience. Thank you.

Tags: group bookings, special occasions, late night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

This was my second visit to this restaur ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

This was my second visit to this restaurant whilst visiting New York Ciry. Unfortunately the second experience wasn't as good as the first. We were seated downstairs where a big party was celebrating a birthday at the large table. It was so noisy we couldn't even have a conversation. The food although good was not as good as it was 2 years ago, but I would still recommend the restaurant to my friends. We may have just been unlucky on this occasion. Would really recommend the prawn and beef dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We came for the Peking Duck and were NOT ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We came for the Peking Duck and were NOT disappointed! Everything about this upscale Chinese food was delicious and a bit surprising. We also had oxtail dumplings (very rich but balanced by a citrus-y sauce), and the lamb chops which were outstanding. Finally, the desserts were soooo good. We had the bread pudding and the hong kong doughnuts... Highly recommended. We will come back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to this restaurant many times. ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Have been to this restaurant many times. The food is always excellent and so is the variety of items to choose from. The service is great and the wait staff is attentive. I recommend it highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

tasting menu - which is for 6 or more- i ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

tasting menu - which is for 6 or more- is actually a great value @$100/ea... Essentially it's all you can eat and the food was just about perfect; really...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Chinese restaurant in NYC. Food was ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Best Chinese restaurant in NYC. Food was beyond of our expectations. Great for dinner party and dates. Outstanding service.

food5
ambience4
service1
value4

We waited over 45 minutes to be seated d ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We waited over 45 minutes to be seated despite having a reservation. When we asked about being seated we were told by a person working there that it was not her job in a considerably unkind tone; to check when we would be seated. In all fairness guests to your restaurant would not know the role descriptions of those employed there but expect politeness particularly when they have already been waiting a considerable amount of time. Additionally people are there to enjoy a dinner with others not to be spoken to in that way. We followed up with the correct person and still had to wait an additional 25 minutes. While we were offerred an apology it was quite stale and not very sincere. We were also seated in a drafty area. Would not recommend this restaurant to any friends in NYC. Also I would tell those who recommended this place to me about my experience. I gave a poor rating on the basis of the service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food at Buddakan was FABULOUS! From the appetizers to the main course to the dessert!! We came to NYC to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and I'm very glad we came to Buddakan to celebrate it :) K & J from Toronto

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

General Tso's dumplings must try! Very C ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

General Tso's dumplings must try! Very Chinese oriented. Wild mushroom chow fun is another favourite! Broken Chili chicken is not really spicy yet sweet and sour, quite special in both appearance and taste. Tea flavoured dragon chicken is below our expectations which turned out a bit dry.

food5
ambience5
service5

Came for dinner and was greeted promptly ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Came for dinner and was greeted promptly by the hostess. Had a drink in the lounge area while our table was prepped. Food was delicious. Service was excellent as well. The restaurant itself is gorgeous. Very nicely decorated. Lovely ambiance. Would come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food - great ambiance - great serv ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food - great ambiance - great service. Ask for a table that is in the semiseparate room for more privacy and a quieter atmosphere - or in the main hall to "see and be seen".

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!!!! Love BUDAKKAN NY is an ama ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic!!!! Love BUDAKKAN NY is an amazing experience every time I visit it

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great welcome and fantastic enviroment. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great welcome and fantastic enviroment. Prof. service at the table and the only minus was that you almost felt stressed by the staff waiting for you to finish so they could take your plate. Getting close to food industry...quickly in with the first plate, even before wine was on the table. But....a great experience at thr whole.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Drinks and dinner were fantastic! Loved ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Drinks and dinner were fantastic! Loved the cauliflower lollipops!!! Everything was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely place! The food is great. However ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Lovely place! The food is great. However we got all of our courses within one hour, a little quick for me.

Tags: group bookings, romance, special occasions, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! We will definitely re-visit ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great meal! We will definitely re-visit during our next trip to NYC

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Reached a little late, hence did not get ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Reached a little late, hence did not get a table and was placed near the far. Also all the food ordered did not seem to be fresh, looked it was all pre-cpre-cooked and kept, just microwave and serve!!😈

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Chinese for Grownups

Dined on May 17, 2016

Even if restaurant "scenes" aren't your thing, Buddakan is worth the tumult for state of the art classic dumplings and spare ribs and slightly modern stir fry spins. All delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

Dined on May 17, 2016

Myself and some colleagues went her for dinner between a major event. I have a severe ginger allergy(weird I know). The server was great! Funny, knowledgeable and very attentive. We were sat in a nice area and we had a great time. The person who brought us to our seats was lovely as well. Only two complaints, was that they wouldn't seat us until the fifth person arrived and it wasn't busy and the table they sat us at was for 7, so we wouldn't be inconveniencing anyone else. Also, the people you check in with and desk were not so friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

The setting and food very much impressed ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The setting and food very much impressed my foreign guest. The edamame dumplings were a highlight.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Spectacular

Dined on May 16, 2016

Best Chinese food ever? Possibly not but an excellent restaurant and a great spin on some classic dishes

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We came here for my birthday on a Sunday ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We came here for my birthday on a Sunday night. Even though we made a reservation and arrived on time, they still made us wait in the lounge for over 30min.. After this long and unnecessary wait, they finally sat us at our table. The service was good and fast but for this kind of restaurant, we expected that all our plates would arrive at the same time. The -amazing- lobster rice arrived way before the other plates and nothing was simultaneous. The service might have to be reviewed but at least the food is more than on point!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellant, as always

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellant, as always

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to have dinner after the theater ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went to have dinner after the theater. It was a party of 4. We spent a great time. The TRANQUILITY drink was great! Superb! Saturday Night...the music was so good! I love this place and we will come back for sure! Our waitress was attentive all night.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place! The ambiance is amazing ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Love this place! The ambiance is amazing. I felt so sophisticated. Food superb and loved the Royal drink.

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Not Impressed

Dined on May 14, 2016

Second time eating here over 4 yrs. I was not impressed at all. Actually I was extremely disappointed. Food was bad and wasn't served hot. Never again.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Asian inspiration

Dined on May 14, 2016

My three friends and I dined here on a Friday night. Upon arrival we were escorted to a lounge until our table was ready. Our wait was less than five minutes. The restaurant is very dimly lit. The food was fantastic! The service was phenomenal. As visitors to New York we truly enjoyed our dining experience here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great atmosphere and amazing food. Alway ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great atmosphere and amazing food. Always a fun night out with friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, late night find, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Lovely restaurant in stunning Chelsea. G ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Lovely restaurant in stunning Chelsea. Great food and good, competent service. Very, very noisy so not great for a first (or romantic) date. Front of house staff were brilliant. We'll come back but we'll want a quieter table. Keith, Cheltenham, England

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.