Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 320 times today

Buddakan NY

4.6
10724 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Chinese
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Creative Cuisine
The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Chinese, Asian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 989-2245
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Yang Huang & Brian Ray
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
16th Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 10724 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 17 hours ago

Excellent food! The restaurant is beautiful! They were very accommodating to my guest. Some were having a difficult time trying to find parking so we technically were seated about 45 min late but they didn’t make us feel Bad about it or give us any problems. The waiter was very helpful In explaining the menu. Overall great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 19 hours ago

Always great

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 2 days ago

I came for my birthday. Very disappointed at the food quality. I tried the DimSum and few things from the menu recommended , everything tasted awful and overly salted. Waiter doesn’t know which order belongs to whom. Only thing good about this place is the ambiance but Never coming back here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 2 days ago

The food had no real flavor. Great atmosphere, but not worth the $90 for 1 person. TAO is way better!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 2 days ago

Service was poor. Seated 35 minutes after our reservation. food was delicious. But then waited another 20 minutes just to pay the check. Not sure I would go again because the service detracted from the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great service! Exceptional

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Il viaggio a New York è in genere una occasione speciale e la cena a Buddakan entra perfettamente in questa ottica anche se resta un po’ cara. Io la consiglio

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

The noise at the waiting room was too high so I couldn’t talk to my family at all. We had to wait 40 min to get our table when I had a reservation. And drinks are way too expensive for what they are, not bad but way too expensive. Although food is quite good, a lot of spicy but really good. Desserts, specially the carrot cake is amazing. But I don’t think I would recommend it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Great place, the waitor may had a bad day 🙄

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

It was excellent. Food was delicious and atmosphere was very funky and fun. It was a bit loud, but was able to still have good dinner conversation with clients. The only thing I would suggest is that they had more bathrooms.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

They put us next to kitchen entrance which was inconvenient and disruptive the entire time. Food was good but too sweet.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

The food at Buddakan is outstanding and we go there 3-4 times a year for the edamame dumplings which are one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten.

but the past 4 times we have gone, including last night, we have been seated at least 30 minutes after our reservation time. It was annoying at first but now given how often it happens feels unwelcoming.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Loved the food and table by the bar

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Was for My birthday. Buddakan is a place I go all the time. The service and food never disappoint me. EVER !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Exceptional Dinner. Deserts not that great!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding food and the service was incredible. A must go to for Business or Personal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Overwhelmed from the beautiful design of the place, food definitely delicious, great professional service and will definitely return for more

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Visiting NYC from Ireland and was recommended to visit Buddakhan ... I’m so glad we did! Enjoyed the whole experience thoroughly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant, menu was fabulous and the options plentiful. Our waitress was excellent and very patient and knowledgeable about the food and vegan options for my friend.

Love the whole experience 5 stars and more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Loved it. Food was delicious, the lobster fried rice and the black cod I am dreaming about eating again. Great atmosphere, cocktails, wine and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great experience! Awesome service and ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Amazing atmosphere and fantastic food. Something very special. We had a great dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

FANTASTIC food in a very stylish and well done setting. It's one of our favorite places in NYC and should not be missed.

A+

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Our Servers One gent who wore glasses and another blond haired gent were amazing. Did not take dinning so serious and we were able to joke a bit with them. Everyone was on top of it and although the food is great, I would come back for the service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Our dinner was absolutely fantastic. There were three of us for dinner which allowed us to order 10+ dishes. Each dish was superb. The king crab and lobster Shumai was very flavorful and the tea smoked spare ribs were outstanding. The singleness crab sticky rice and the wok charred broccoli were terrific as side dishes.

This restaurant has made it into my top 15 in NYC.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Very nice place. Amazing service. But the food is high priced corned Chinese.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Amazing from start to finish with excellent service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Best dinner I've ever had, food was very good. Beef dishes are my favourite

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The atmosphere is loud and energetic. The food is good and the deserts are delicious and beautifully designed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Amazing food and service. Food was just delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Ambiance is great, gets really crowded too.. It has a rustic vintage type of feeling. If you're not a fan of bright restaurants, then this is the place for you. I love that each meal is meant to be shared; I loved their Lobster Fried Rice!!
My waitress was super nice and friendly !!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Too high noise level and really cold inside the restaurang. Rest rooms weren’t properly cleaned and food quality didn’t match the prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I went here as part of a bachelorette party I was he MOH in- we did a tasting menu that allowed us to taste a wide variety of the dishes they serve, and almost everything was delicious. The server was great and took pictures of us, and the dining room area is beautiful. The price was also a good value for the amount of food you get. I’ll definitely be going back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Enjoyed one of the chef’s tasting menus. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Always a great time at Buddakan. The staff is very professional and friendly. The food is absolutely outstanding. Will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food was fantastic... Great for sharing. You get to try a variety of dishes.. The waiter was exceptional.. Very attentive. They kept our watee bottle filled and immediately removed any dish were complete with... Service was exceptional. A must visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Awesome place, food was amazing , service was incredible. Would recommend highly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Awesome place to go with friends so you can split lots of apps and dim sum! Definitely get the pork buns :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The service at table was great - it was the hostesses who greet you at the reception that were rude and unqualified.
They asked us to sit in the lounge till another member of our party joined but when he did join they had no clue where to send him - so he had to call us. 2. After he joined us they did not come to take us to our table but beckoned me with a finger gesture to come to the reception and ask to be seated!! Needless to say I was furious at their unprofessional and unacceptable manner.
Someone pls give them classes on greeting and service standards!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
250