About Buddakan NY

75 9th Ave
New York, NY 10011
View Larger Map

The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 989-2245

Website:
http://www.buddakannyc.com/

Public Transit:
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Yang Huang & Brian Ray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Edamame Dumplings - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Shrimp & Lobster Chow Fun - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
spicy yellowtail yu sheng with smoked chili and pineapple #nyc #buddakan #bday #app #dinner ie  gasm topia porn - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Dim Sum Sampler - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Tuna Tartare Spring Rolls - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Crying Chocolate - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Tranquility Cocktail - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Chocolate Pistachio Cremoso - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
black pepper beef - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Hoisin Glazed Pork Belly - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Spiced Tofu & Cashews - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Glazed Alaskan Black Cod - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Chili Rock Shrimp - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Fate Cocktail - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Pork Potstickers - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Charred Filet Of Beef - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Spicy Yellowtail Yu Sheng With Smoked Chili And Pineapple - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Sizzling Short Rib - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Kung Pao Monkfish - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Deviled Tuna Tartare - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
King crab hot pot - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Molton Chocolate Cake - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Dim Sum - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Jade Shrimp Dumplings - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Chilled Udon Noodles - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Punch - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Tuna Tartare - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Blueberry Tofu Cheesecake - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Steak - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
stir fried beef - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Chili Chicken - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Ribeye Steak - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Chocolate - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Singapore Noodles - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
King Crab & Lobster Siu Mai Dim Sum - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Szechuan Beef Carpaccio - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Green beans - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Scallion Pancakes - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Rock Shrimps - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Sea bass - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Xiaolongbao - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Duck and dungeoness crab roll - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Dessert - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Apple Tartine With Rice Flavored Ice Cream - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Minced Pork Lo Mein - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Miso Glazed Black Cod - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Bread Pudding - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Duck Salad With A Poached Egg.  - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Bo Bo Plate - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Peking Duck - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Singapore Chili  King Crab - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Dungeness Crab Sticky Rice - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
steamed sea bass dumplings - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Warm Almond Bread Pudding With Whiskey Ice Cream - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Clementine Cloud - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Mushroom & Sugar Snap Siu Mei - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Coconut Donut - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Sugar Snap Peas - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Black Bean Silken Tofu - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Beef Tartare - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Malted Vanilla Pepita Toffee Ice Cream - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Rock Shrimp - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Vegetable Fried Rice - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Banana Almond Cake - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Seared Pork Dumpling - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Hot & Sour Scallops - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Green Tea Doughnuts - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Oxtail Dumplings- Sweet Soy, Lemongrass Broth - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Beef Ribs - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Steamed Pork Bun - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Carrot Dumpling - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Beef Lettuce Cups - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Sesame Shrimp Toast - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Vegetable Rice - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Chinese Sausage Fried Rice - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Ginger Glazed Lobster - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Haze Cocktail - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Crispy Calamari Salad - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Peking Duck Spring Rolls - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Warm Chocolate Ganache - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Pork Belly & Steamed Buns - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Kobe Beef - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
General Tso's Dumplings - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Spicey Yellowtail - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Asian Barbeque Pork - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Edamame Dumplings- Black Truffle, Shallot-Sauternes Broth - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Chilled Udon Noodles- Lime Sorbet, Peanut Sauce - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Dungeness Crab Sticky Rice- X.O. Sauce, Chinese Broccoli - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Crying Chocolate- Malted Chocolate Ganache, Milk Caramel, Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Lobster Dumplings - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Cocktails - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Cantonese Lobster - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Citrus Semifreddo - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Five Spice Pumpkin Doughnuts - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Asian Green Stir Fry  - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Alaskan Black Cod - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Crispy Whole Fish - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Seven Treasures Parfait - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Broken Chili Chicken - Buddakan NY, New York, NY
Shrimp And Lobster Chow Fun - Buddakan NY, New York, NY

Buddakan NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Chinese
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Chinese
Manhattan
1 More
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Meatpacking District ›

Special Occasion (274)
Creative Cuisine (222)
Good for a Date (213)
See All
Hot Spot (204)
Good for Groups (200)
Modern Decor (175)
Romantic (173)
Fit for Foodies (167)
Good for Birthdays (155)
Good for Anniversaries (149)
Fun (137)
Vibrant Bar Scene (129)
Late-night Find (77)
People Watching (77)
Handcrafted Cocktails (75)
Tasting Menu (75)
Business Meals (72)
Bar Seating (60)
Worth the Drive (59)
Authentic (57)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Spicy (47)
Cozy (44)
Notable Wine List (39)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Family Style (37)
Good Vegetarian Options (36)
Outstanding Value (35)
Casual (34)
Tapas (30)
Comfort Food (24)
Happy Hour (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Scenic View (18)
Private Room (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Healthy (16)
Molecular Gastronomy (15)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Seasonal (8)
Historic (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great Beer (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Fireplace (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Vegan (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
8080 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Perfect ambiance & food. Friendly servic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Perfect ambiance & food. Friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had several sharing plates, all good exc ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Had several sharing plates, all good except the lobster fried rice, it was made with zafron and that totally killed it, zafron is for paella not asian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Second visit to this restaurant and agai ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Second visit to this restaurant and again very impressed. Such a great atmosphere, well made cocktails and outstanding food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I saw where some people complained about ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I saw where some people complained about the noise level but where we sat it was perfect. We were looking for a evening with some energy and it was provided . Food was great server was fantastic.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was beautiful, the servic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

The restaurant was beautiful, the service was outstanding, and the food was absolutely amazing! Can't say enough good things about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service! Top 5 waitress I've e ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic service! Top 5 waitress I've ever had. Thanks you. And her!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was outstanding. Cr ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service was outstanding. Creative and delious with a great decor and vibe.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent!!!! ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were excellent!!!! You can beat the atmosphere and fun vibe, especially down on the main floor. It's great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best food I have ever had in my life ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The best food I have ever had in my life. The entire experience was outstanding from the beginning. Highly recommended for special occasions. Thank you!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buddakan remains one of the most beautif ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Buddakan remains one of the most beautiful restaurants anywhere. The food is terrific, the service even better, and the décor just amazing. It's my go-to place anytime I want to impress and please a visitor to NYC. It's not cheap, but by today's standards, you get your money's worth and more. Ask to sit in the Main Dining Room or the Library.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a real treat and excellent experi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a real treat and excellent experience--the best Asian Fusion menu I have seen in NYC

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great dining experience, it's t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a great dining experience, it's totally worth going again. Great service and food was amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The ambiance is amazing. In essence th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The ambiance is amazing. In essence this is what you pay for. The service is also great. The servers and greeters are nice. The food was just ok to me. We had the lamb, lobster fried rice, lobster egg rolls and broken chili chicken. I honestly wasn't crazy about any of it and felt it didn't justify the price tag. I would have no qualms getting some cheap Chinese take out instead and save about $150. Is it a great one time place to visit. Absolutely. But I probably wouldn't go back again.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Abysmal...like eating in a nightclub..re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Abysmal...like eating in a nightclub..really loud music with diners all shouting at each other to be heard. Food good but not hot enough.

Miserable experience before you even get to your table..you check in and are then left in limbo in a holding area pending someone bothering to come and find you.

Avoid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Very nice decor and ambiance. Good food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Very nice decor and ambiance. Good food. Fair pricing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

A wonderful experience.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing!!!! Our server was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was amazing!!!! Our server was great she had suggestions and it made our experience much easier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is excellent and the atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food is excellent and the atmosphere is great. Only down side is that it's quite pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Buddakan is definitely a good place to g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Buddakan is definitely a good place to go with friends to get some drinks. Really good food, the waitress was really nice and super friendly. Drinks were well made and the restaurant has a good atmosphere. Would return without a doubt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as usual ...but as usual food is s ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great as usual ...but as usual food is served way too fast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wunderfull place but far too much noise. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wunderfull place but far too much noise. Conversation almost NOT possible. Because of that we won't come again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Abundant tasting menu. Bring your appeti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Abundant tasting menu. Bring your appetite! Celebrated my daughter's 23rd birthday on a busy Friday eve. Everything was delicious. Server was friendly and the ambiance was charming. A little noisy though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was beautiful! Decor was contempora ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was beautiful! Decor was contemporary! It's one of the best restaurants in NY!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worth the wait for a reservation to join ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Worth the wait for a reservation to join my college son during Thanksgiving break. Awesome food, excellent service, vibrant atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Family Style, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice environment but very dark and loud. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Nice environment but very dark and loud. Food was OK but service was pushy to the point of offensive...and it was way way overpriced. Stupid overpriced. We went for a special occasion and wish we hadn't. Not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Amazing restsurant in meatpack district. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Amazing restsurant in meatpack district. We took in everything from the menue and it was fantastic!! The service was perfect and the venue spectacular. I will be back for sure.

Regards from Mr Anders Gustafsson from Bro/Stockholm Sweden

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic and service is exceptional ...

 
 (Dubai)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Very romantic and service is exceptional as we came before our reservations time but they welcomed us and took us to our table, food was great and definitely will come again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful ambience in a up and coming pa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Wonderful ambience in a up and coming part of NYC. The food was all great, but not anything to rave about. The service was great, but overall, the restaurant decor really made this a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always visit here when in NYC. Super sex ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Always visit here when in NYC. Super sexy fun place with great food. A scene from sex in the city.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic food.

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Absolutely fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best service ever from a great Calif ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The best service ever from a great California server. Joseph made our evening, took time to explain the menu and gave us great info! Delicious food and cool ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were a group of 6 and the waiter reco ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We were a group of 6 and the waiter recommended the banquet - I would not advise anyone to order the banquet, just focus on the favourites and this should be enough. Unless of course your group consists of hungry ahtletic young people under 25

Restaurant is feeling a bit jaded now, food and service not what is was in it's sex and the city heydays..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Hadn't been to budakan in a couple of ye ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Hadn't been to budakan in a couple of years. So glad I decided to give it another chance. The bartender (forgot her name). Was very courteous and friendly. The best I have encounter in a long time. Our server was very efficient and took great care to give us time when we weren't ready to order and yet be prompt and available when we needed her. Food was great and so was the atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although the seating policy states that ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Although the seating policy states that requests will try to be honored but no guarantees, Buddakan really does try to seat diners where they prefer. And once seated, expect wonderful service, great cocktails, tasty dishes and lovely ambiance. The restaurant has done a good job of maintaining an impressive level of services even though it is no longer the new kid on the block. We have never been anything other than pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have had an amazing 15 year married a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We have had an amazing 15 year married anniversary!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Healthy, Comfort Food, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise level was way over the top.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Noise level was way over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Drinks are not consistent at all. Severa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Drinks are not consistent at all. Several of them we could not even drink. It really depends on the bartender...At $16 a drink, it was quite disappointing. As for the food, always delicious. I love the vibe here. They just need get some more consistency and they would be awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The noise level is terrible. You can't h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The noise level is terrible. You can't hear what people say, neither your friends nor the staff. But the food is excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

It Was a little bit stressful during the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It Was a little bit stressful during the dinner. IT felt like they wanted to get rid of us as soon as the last bite Was finished. That Was a little bit annoying... But the food Was insanely good and IT Was a really nice and fancy restaurant. IF you want a pieceful dinner this is not the place because they played loud music.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

This was my husband's first time to Budd ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was my husband's first time to Buddakhan NYC and I was excited for him to try it as we have tried the one in Philly before. He definitely enjoyed the NYC location. He felt that even the drinks we well made which is a big deal as he is picky about his drinks :-)

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.