Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Buddakan NY

The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

75 9th Ave
New York, NY 10011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 989-2245

Website:
http://www.buddakannyc.com/

Public Transit:
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Yang Huang & Brian Ray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (283)
Good for a Date (245)
Creative Cuisine (230)
See All
Hot Spot (217)
Good for Groups (195)
Good for Birthdays (192)
Romantic (188)
Fit for Foodies (180)
Fun (175)
Good for Anniversaries (168)
Vibrant Bar Scene (138)
Tasting Menu (107)
Handcrafted Cocktails (106)
People Watching (93)
Late-night Find (75)
Worth the Drive (72)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Business Meals (65)
Authentic (64)
Cozy (57)
Bar Seating (54)
Modern Decor (47)
Notable Wine List (46)
Spicy (45)
Tapas (40)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Good Vegetarian Options (34)
Casual (28)
Happy Hour (25)
Scenic View (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Great for Lunch (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Family Style (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Live Music (7)
Great Beer (6)
Seasonal (6)
Vegan (6)
Private Room (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Historic (4)
Organic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Sports (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
9657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

It was spectacular! Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

Can't understand the positive reviews. The restaurant itself is nice, as are the staff, but the food was unrefined and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

We celebrated our 10th anniversary at Buddakan, and had a wonderful meal and evening.

The staff was uniformly friendly, especially our server John. He was knowledgable, considerate, and highly attentive (without being intrusive).

Our meal was delicious, taking advantage of the innovative, Asian fusion menu, we tried (and mostly loved), a range of options.

We started with a trio of dim sum / appetizers, each of which was prepared with careful attention to subtle nuances. Peking duck salad was well composed with frisée, cucumber, shreds of crunchy wonton wrapper, crispy duck skin, and a citrusy sherry vinaigrette. Pork buns were rich and and accented by picked onion, napa cabbage and a sweet and savoury sauce, and pillowy dough. The best appetizer we had was oxtail dumplings. The succulent, fully flavoured meat offset by a spike of fresh jalapeño, and sweetness from green apple. The lovely sweet soy sauce it was served with helped bring it all together. Yum!!!

Our mains were a bit of a let down, after the incredible starters, but still very good (for the most part). General Tso's Munkfish was wear prepared with a crispy external coating and tender, flaky fish inside. The chilli intensive sauce kicked it up a degree or two. Our other main course, Broken Chilli Chicken was the least successful dish we tried. Like the fish, it had an expertly crisp, thin coating, and was served with a slightly spicy sauce (truth be told, both dishes would have benefitted from a bit more heat). The chicken itself, while cooked well, was a bit bland and dry. Too bad b/c everything else was exceptional. That includes a side of wok stir friend Asian greens, with nice pieces of toasted garlic.

The overall atmosphere were great! For a big room, the place is efficiently and effectively managed. Food comes out fast and beautifully prepared, each dish teasing with layered aromas, and visually stunning plating.

Definitely recommend it for couples like us, but also good for larger parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

A very elegant place with delicious fusion food. Besides these music and service people were the best in class. It was My 3rd time and I will be there agaib

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Loved this restaurant. Food, ambiance and service was great. My date really loved it. Great spot. Food was amazingly good!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The ambiance in Buddakhan is outstanding. The service is pleasant and the food is superb. The portions are quite small, so order a few appetizers and entree per person. Our waitress provided excellent recommendations for us, our taste buds were satisfied! Reserve well in advance for the desired time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding food, service and incredible ambience i love this place it was my 5th visit and i cant wait to go back again, i hope they keep it like this!

Tags: Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

The food wasn't good. We ordered a fried rice, crab and a steak. We didn't like it at all.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

As always good food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Love the share meal experiences. Food was great, service was great. It is a noisy environment not a quiet romantic venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience. Recommend for visitors as was recommended for us. Great ambience!

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

I came with 12 people for my workaversary. Came 10 years ago and it was so special we came back! Went for the tasting menu and it was the best. A night I will remember. Food and service were great. Coat ck said there was a table after us at 9 so we couldn't linger. I don't know why she said that cause service slowed down (so much food) and we left closer to 10!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing! Best restaurant in NYC by far and the service outweighed even Tao across the road! Our waitress was brilliant best in NYC! Thank you for an amazing experience!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

good food and great cocktails. Felt a little rushed by the service though

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We loved the experience - the room and service is truly impeccable. Please thank Kevin, our waiter. He was terrific. He knew the menu and was both polite/professional yet relaxed. My only comment is on the food itself. Although it was very good, personally I felt it lacked a little bit of flavour, for food of its kind. I may be a little picky here as I spend a lot of time in Beijing and Shanghai, both I feel, the best cities in the world for food, and there are many fine restaurants particularly in Beijing that offer incredible food of the Chinese/Asian style of course, as it is the cooking of their country. I feel as in the West, we must be very careful serving this food unless it is truly exceptional. No doubt, your restaurant is trying very hard, but I felt that the food was just not a standout. Please don't be offended by this. It was still very good food, healthy, real and the service and atmosphere truly inspirational. We loved our night in every way and nothing could change that. I loved Buddakan and would recommend it to anyone. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Old Friends came in from another country ... have not seen them in years, took them here and it was great except for the service. While the service was not terrible, we felt like we were being rushed. Otherwise, everything else was great.... would have given five stars if wasn't for our waiter....But that's just one person out of many so I will definitely go again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent friendly service without the attitude of other places in the meat packing district. Staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Food was creative and delicious! Wonderful date night !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service was outstanding from the moment we arrived to the time we left. Great food and drink recommendations made by our waitress. Food was delicious and creative.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our server, Emory (sp?), was incredible! She may be the best server I've ever had. I will only be requesting her for all future visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Absolutly sensational dinner at Buddakan! Food and drinks made with great inspiration, fantasy and quality. Very nice and stylish ambiente. The only improvement point is the lighting, it is so dark, that you can hardly read the menue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Delectable high-end asian inspired food. Speciality drinks were delicious. Everything we had from appetizer to dessert was superb. Meal size was perfect. The staff is 100% right in the recommendation to share plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Love this place! Been to New York 3 times and each time we've eaten here. It's a must! Dim sum is the best we've ever had. Our server was amazing too. We went with many of his dish recommendations and they didn't disappoint.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food is awesome , the ambiance is amazing but the music is too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Very cool location with great food and service. The prices are a bit high but worth the overall experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Buddakan NY never disappoints. The food is consistently good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent GLAZED ALASKAN BLACK COD
And pork buns

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Spring rolls had a giant stone and manager told that chef missed seeing it in the mushrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was sub or compared to pasr dining experiences. But overall great time

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This might be hands down my favorite restaurant in NYC.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Buddakan has been a consistent and delicious restaurant since I've been coming here (2006). It surpassed the trendy prestige and achieved excellence with quality and attention to detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

My partner and I had an amazing dining experience on Thursday August 10. The food, the ambiance and the service was above and beyond my expectations. A huge thank you to Danielle who was our waitress for the evening. It was my birthday and it will be an experience I will never forget. Thank you Buddakan xxxxx

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Took special friends to dinner there. There were 4 of us. The waitress was excellent with suggestions and the food sharing was fun and so good. We ordered a lot and enjoyed it all plus dessert. Great food and will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Fantastic food, and great vibes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Chilli crab not really spicy, but good, justa didn't feel like the si Singaporean one. Nice ambience and decor but good not so amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Buddakan is a beautiful space. They serve excellent Chinese food and the service is professional as well as competent. But it is not cool that we were asked to wait in the bar for 15 minutes to be seated at our table. There were dozens of empty tables and I did not appreciate their efforts to sell more alcohol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Very nice Location: they gave us a table in the main hall, as it was our anniversary. Verygood food. A little bit too dark...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excelente servicio de nuestro mesero, nos recomendo lo mas rico y siempre estuvi pendiente.

La comida deliciosa, un placer gastronomico.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

A good restaurant but very expensive and very loud music! We tipped 15% of like $150 but when we checked our account the day after they had taken like $150 tip!! That's so bad! So our date costed us $300 cause we didn't get our money back. We called them and they didn't want to help us out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

This place never disappoints. It is beautiful and impressive inside with incredible chandeliers but the food and drinks are by far the best part. The service is wonderful too. Lychee Martini and the St Germain drink on the menu (the "Fare"??) are both outstanding! Duck fried rice can't be beat as well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great experience! The black cod was overall favorite entree. Loved the buns and foie Gras/chicken dumplings. Beautiful restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.