Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Buddakan NY

The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

75 9th Ave
New York, NY 10011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 989-2245

Website:
http://www.buddakannyc.com/

Public Transit:
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Yang Huang & Brian Ray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (253)
Good for a Date (221)
Romantic (201)
See All
Creative Cuisine (183)
Good for Birthdays (180)
Good for Groups (162)
Good for Anniversaries (156)
Hot Spot (156)
Modern Decor (154)
Fit for Foodies (136)
Fun (132)
Vibrant Bar Scene (123)
People Watching (93)
Handcrafted Cocktails (83)
Tasting Menu (64)
Authentic (62)
Family Style (61)
Business Meals (57)
Late-night Find (56)
Worth the Drive (55)
Spicy (50)
Bar Seating (48)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Good Vegetarian Options (45)
Cozy (45)
Casual (36)
Outstanding Value (36)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Comfort Food (28)
Healthy (26)
Happy Hour (24)
Scenic View (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Private Room (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Tapas (16)
Molecular Gastronomy (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Seasonal (10)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Vegan (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Historic (6)
Great Beer (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Organic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Dancing (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
9034 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 18 hours ago

Always top flight and a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

To finish a trip in NYC. The food and the desserts was amazing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic device made the evening for us! Food was excellent and they took great care of our food allergic person.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The meal, wait staff and ambiance was amazing. The only reason they did not get 5 star is the bus staff. It was like they had run out of plates the way he ripped things off our table, often before we were finished. I hate being rushed especially when paying prices like this. I almost lost my patience with him. Bus staff needs to be taught the art of being timely but not disruptive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

everything was terrific. Great Birthday celebration

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a very nice time at the restaurant. Food was great and deserts were awesome.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Jonah our waiter was amazing! Very friendly and informative - we had a very positive experience and this is my go to classy and tasteful place here on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

the experience was really great ..... it was my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food
Service at the bar should pay more attention to customer. I requested myself a menu a couple of tines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing atmosphere and very kind staff. The food was great and we loved it ! We'll recommend to our friends for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food, great service and good atmosphere. Strongly recommend this place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I have now been to Buddakan several times and have never been disappointed. It is my teenage son's favorite place to go for special occasions and we always order the same things: Salmon tartar spring rolls, short rib scallion pancakes, pork belly baos, Peking duck, lobster fried rice, and mixed Asian greens plus dessert. the main dining room is our preference even if we have to sit at the communal table - it is truly a grand room. The only part that is not great is when the check arrives....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for my Birthday and I loved it they kept the food flowing with no wait great customer service

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It was an absolutely amazing night. Great food and great cocktails. The mocktails are perfect as well.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined 7 days ago

Had to wait close to 45 mins for Table having arrived 15 mins early. Staff were very aloof bordering on rude and kept passing the buck. The system is chaotic, bar cramped and very load music. It is not cheap and I expect much better. Basically ruined the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic food, service and ambience. What more can I say! Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Manager, Alex was great! We had our two girls with us, 8 and 6. They were treated very good by all staff. We had the pork buns for an appetizer as well as the prawns and sweet chili chicken. The food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

great atmosphere, good food and good service, a bit too expensive

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was amazing. Service was great. Ambiance was excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Simply a great place! Best experience we had in NYC this time around. Keep up the great work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This place was amazing. Must try the Miso Black Cod - fantastic!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Came here for my sisters 35th birthday and had such a nice dinner. The food was delicious and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I love Buddakan and make it a destination anytime I want to treat myself and not feel overwhelmed with pretension.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I would highly recommend Buddakan! The food interesting & delicious. Service was outstanding. Only negative is noise. It's an extremely loud restaurant, but the food is worth it.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Was very good, but not great. Did not enjoy the dark alleyway by the bathroom where they seated us.

May try again though cause the food and service were great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We had an amazing dining experiences, the food was perfect and really outside of the norm.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great Asian cuisine! love the vibe and ambience! Excellent service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Amazing atmosphere - the grand staircase and main dining table are so unusual and stunning! Incredible food. Everyone loved it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great food. Beautiful place.
Both me and my wife was very pleased with the food and the service.

Its a bit pricey, keep that in mind when making reservations.
(but well worth it!)

Regards
Johan

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food and service was delicious as expected. Management visit several times checking to make sure that we were taken care of.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 13, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had. Pricey but worth every penny. We will be back. Alex the manager was great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was a nice place with delicious food and atmosphere. The cocktails were special and very tasty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food and great service. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excelent place, More than a restaurant an experince

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Still chic, Buddakan definitely delivers on style, service and food. Its meticulous in service, from the hostess to the server. Super happy vibe. Food was great. Favorites of the table tuna tartare rolls and cauliflower lollipops - so good! Our waiter was so nice and kept our drinks and dishes coming until we could take no more. Only downside - music was so loud. We had to yell to each other over the table...but if you are looking for a scene and great food, it always delivers.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The only negative about this restaurant is that's it was so loud, the music on a Saturday night is super loud which means that its hard to talk if your on a date.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything was just great! Fantastic presentation and service. Buddakans has the best atmospher, perfect for either a date or a big group.

Take the black cod and you will be amazed.

Dinner with appetizer and dessert some drinks around 200 dollars.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was good per usual but we got a bad waitress. She was beyond condescending and my clients felt like we were being rushed to finish. Not sure ill be back.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great evening at Budakkan! The service is timely and thoughtful, the menu offers many fun and delicious options and the drinks and dessert are a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.