Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Buddakan NY

The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

75 9th Ave
New York, NY 10011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 989-2245

Website:
http://www.buddakannyc.com/

Public Transit:
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Yang Huang & Brian Ray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (238)
Good for a Date (228)
Creative Cuisine (198)
See All
Romantic (183)
Hot Spot (182)
Good for Birthdays (181)
Good for Groups (171)
Modern Decor (154)
Good for Anniversaries (149)
Vibrant Bar Scene (142)
Fit for Foodies (135)
Fun (126)
People Watching (102)
Handcrafted Cocktails (77)
Family Style (71)
Tasting Menu (71)
Late-night Find (64)
Worth the Drive (59)
Authentic (58)
Business Meals (55)
Cozy (51)
Spicy (50)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Bar Seating (45)
Casual (38)
Good Vegetarian Options (37)
Notable Wine List (31)
Healthy (28)
Happy Hour (27)
Outstanding Value (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Tapas (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Scenic View (19)
Private Room (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Molecular Gastronomy (12)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Vegan (9)
Seasonal (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Open Kitchen (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Historic (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Waterfront (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
9161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 12 hours ago

The waitstaff were very friendly. Not snooty one bit!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Amazing food as always, but they have to come up with better way of managing reservations. I am here every week and it is sad that even though I have reservation, always on time they make me wait 45 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely top ! Quality of the food, ambiance, nice people. My number 1 for NYC

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

It was my 3rd visit at Budddakan and was the first time for most people in my group and everybody loved it. It was my daughter's 24th birthday. The downstairs dinig room has a very high ceiling, beautiful decor, and romantic lighting. We shared most of food in family style with 1 Vegetarian, 4 Pescatarian and 2 meat eaters. It worked out great. Everything including dessert was yummy and our server was very good and helpful too. excellent spot for birthdays and anniversaries... Will go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We were a group of 8. We did the tasting menu. Tremendous amounts of food. Our wait staff was very attentive and helpful. Drinks and food delicious.

Tags: Private Room, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined 3 days ago

We were 'greeted' by two hosts with their heads down on the computer for an awkward amount of time.
A nod of arrival would have been better than ignoring.
We had a booking for 8pm, we arrived 10 mins early and were told to head to the bar.
After 20mins we asked if our reservation was still in order. We were finally seated after a 30min wait and another awkward wait to tally up my husbands one drink from the 'separate' bar that could not be added to our bill.
I cant drink so a 30 min wait at the bar is too long.
When we were ordering our food, I stipulated I required my meat well done due to pregnancy, which we discussed in a pleasant conversation, but when the food came out it was cooked medium.
Everyone was polite about it being re cooked, but I was made to feel it was a favour, like I had not requested this in the first place.
The food was fantastic, but the service was an absolute let down and diminished what could have been a memorable evening. There are so many places we ate in New York with great service that I would recommend over this place. As the service really plays with the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing place feels very special food was perfect definitely recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

The greeters are uniquely rude, smug and unhelpful. We thought last time they must be having a bad day but learn that must be the standard. Sadly they badly misrepresent the very good food. Each time their role on the side appears to distract rather than greet. One need merely avoid them and wait in the bar. They do not acknowledge if they have the reservation and ask you to wait in the bar. After 5-10 minutes someone appears in the crowded bar and takes you to your seat.
The wait staff do as best they can for them but they are working fast and not very available. The food is excellent and perhaps the administration is but a foil to better present contrast to the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The Food is good!
But to expansive also the wine card is over the top!
When you are sitting in the main restaurant it is very beautiful.
But the other places in the restaurant are totally different .
When i made the reservation I asked for a very nice table because we had a special anniversary .
But we were not seated in the main restaurant.
The waiter we had was very kind!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Been a few times now, absolutely love it. Service was a little less than usual this past visit. Specifically requested the server Marie a week in advance, but we ended up with someone we weren't familiar with. Will be back of course!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Manchester)·Dined 4 days ago

Great venue and food!

It was very cold due to the air con, but other than that...loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is my new go to restaurant every time I'm in NY! Loved everything cocktails, appetizers, main courses and of course the desert.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic restaurant! Will be a pleasure! Food is amazing, service really really good, ambiance veey romantic... so nice experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

We had an amazing experience at Buddakan! Food was fantastic... I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I love this place. Have been coming here for years this last time was the first time we had enough people for the tasting menu. Simply amazing. Everything was delicious. Can't wait to go back again. Plan to spend some money

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I will say the ambiance is beautiful almost breath taking. The service I am sure could have been better. The server was unusually sarcastic almost rude. I been to restaurants that are much more exclusive and the waiter or waitress does not lean over your plate to grab other plates or they ask first before they remove your plate which was what this particular waitress did. Bad service can ruin the experience. The food was good. I had the Lobster fried rice and scallion pancakes which tasted pretty good and was filling. The floor was very slippery which all 5 of my girlfriends confirmed Over-all I will not be back but I would recommend because of the it to someone because of the ambiance else hopefully they have a different waiter and wear non slip shoes.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a fabulous time at Buddakan. Food was delicious,as we're the cocktails. Staff were knowledgable and helped with food selection. Overall great venue and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Our absolute favorite restaurant in NYC. We go at least twice every time we visit NY for the week. Always get the appetizer called The Tower. We have no idea what we are eating but it's the best stuff we've ever tasted!!!! Everything is delicious. Lobster fried rice? Muah 😘 The service is great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing! Would love to come back . Delicious food with lovely flavours .

Tags: Family Style, Spicy, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

This review is not for food because we didn't get to eat here. We were really late for our reservation 30-40 mins. But we called in advance and let them know we were stuck due to a delayed train. They said we would have to wait at the bar because they would have to give our table away. When we got there, they said we would have something within an hour. Hour and a half pass by and no table. When we check, they said it will be very soon now. Another half hour passes. When we inquire they said check to see i anything in the lounge is available because we were late and they had to give our table away they don't know how long it will be. If that was the case they should've have told us in the beginning. This was a very special occasion for me and my family and on top of that I was pregnant and waiting for 2 hours!!! We could've booked another place by then and I didn't have to starve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous food , great drinks , excellent service ; a wonderful evening of a special occasion !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food, service, decor! This was our last dinner in NY and by far the best, having tried some of the most highly rated restaurants in the city. A MUST!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful time Sat night. Our waiter was great. He explained everything to us and was very helpful. The food and drinks were excellent. I have and would recommend Buddakan to friends. I will definately be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect for an out of towner who wants the swanky NYC ambiance.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It was my first time there and I had a wonderful time. From the moment I walked thru the door I knew this was gonna be a great experience. From my appetizers upstairs to my main course downstairs. The bathroom and the murals on the wall. I enjoyed it all!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 6 days ago

We has our reservation at 9pm, got our table 10pm. Fantastic interior design. Hot spot! Noisy and high vibes.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Teníamos una reserva con Open table pero no sirvió de mucho...Nos tuvieron esperando en el bar una hora exacta de reloj. el bar estaba atestado de gente en nuestra misma situación y con cara de pocos amigos lo cual nos alentaba bastante poco.
Decidimos tomarnos un coctel al desorbitado precio de 16 $ cada uno. La verdad es que no estaban especialmente buenos ninguno de los dos.
Estabamos considerando seriamente el marcharnos cuando justo nos llamaron. Menos mal que nos quedamos, el ambiente era muy ruidoso lo que dificultaba el poder hablar tranquilamente pero el servicio y la comida estaban increibles. pedimos unos entrantes de tartar de atún y dumplings (buenísimos los dos). Como plato principal compartimos el bacalao. Este plato era simplemente espectacular. Como acompañamiento un arroz frito con pato que estaba también muy bueno.
Los precios de la comida me parecieron no excesivamente altos y la comida muy muy buena.
Repetiria? seguramente sí por la comida pero la verdad es que la hora de espera no es de recibo. Deberían mirar un poco como mejorar este aspecto. No puede ser que teniendo reserva esperes una hora!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Our reservation was for 7:45, but we were not seated until 8:15; that was the only drawback.
The food was excellent and our server Marie was a STAR. She greeted us with a warm and contagious smile, combined with a wonderful personality; her attentiveness was bar none.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I would have appreciated less noise. It was difficult to have a conversation.The food and wine was fantastic, the service was very good and a very special design made it worth visiting and recommend, but less noise would give full stars all over.

Tags: Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

A fan favorite of the edamame dumplings. I always recommend this place to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Tapas of very high quality and originality. The service lever from all staff was outstanding.

We would like to admit our very best recommendations.

Noise level is very high.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Perfect for a celebration! Two friends were in town and we were all celebrating our birthdays with a special dinner. Buddakan was the perfect spot, the decor, the service and the food were all impeccable and made for a very "Classy" evening. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who's looking for a fun and delicious night out on the town. The only small warning is that the music got very loud as the evening got later, not a big deal for us because we were in a celebratory mood but might not work for anyone looking for a quiet meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Our server was friendly and excellent. The ambiance helped make the experience even better. But the crown jewel was certainly the amazing food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Tapas, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Absolutely outstanding....ambiance, service and food were excellent!!! Highly recommend this restaurant!!! Will come again when I am back in NYC!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent service. Great food. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Loved the ambiance and the food

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It was amazing! Now, the Buddakan is my favorite in NYC. Thank you! You guys made our dinner the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Incredible atmosphere, outstanding service and the tastiest food we sampled on our second trip to the city!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Coolest part of our dining experiences over the 3 dat visit. Highly recommended for a great evening. Ambiance was wonderful, service was impeccable, and food was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I Have never been disappointed here, but this time everything was phenomenal. The appetizer sampler is definitely worth exploring . However the Filet mignon was the highlight of the evening.
Our waiter Brian, is worth a special nod. Truly passionate about the food he was serving.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.