About Buddakan NY

75 9th Ave
New York, NY 10011
View Larger Map

The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 989-2245

Website:
http://www.buddakannyc.com/

Public Transit:
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Yang Huang & Brian Ray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (256)
Good for a Date (225)
Creative Cuisine (186)
See All
Romantic (186)
Good for Birthdays (182)
Hot Spot (164)
Good for Groups (160)
Modern Decor (158)
Good for Anniversaries (158)
Fit for Foodies (137)
Fun (130)
Vibrant Bar Scene (111)
People Watching (92)
Handcrafted Cocktails (85)
Tasting Menu (70)
Authentic (64)
Late-night Find (59)
Spicy (59)
Business Meals (57)
Family Style (56)
Worth the Drive (52)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Bar Seating (48)
Cozy (47)
Good Vegetarian Options (40)
Outstanding Value (39)
Casual (35)
Comfort Food (30)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Notable Wine List (26)
Happy Hour (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Healthy (21)
Tapas (20)
Scenic View (18)
Private Room (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Molecular Gastronomy (15)
Seasonal (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Vegan (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Great Beer (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Historic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Dancing (3)
Live Music (2)
Waterfront (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
8932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

We loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

interesting menu and use of ingredients, excellent service, appealing decor, good for a date or groups.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I had to wait an hour to be seated even though I arrived half an hour early and that was very very very annoying specially when I was being bumped into every 5 minutes because the waiting area was very packed very uncomfortable since I was also wearing heels no place to sit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

I was extremely excited to make reservations at Buddakan because I had read such wonderful reviews. My boyfriend and I were celebrating Valentine's Day late because I'm from Chicago and was unable to fly out to NY on Valentine's Day. We arrived to Buddakan at 9: 15 for 9:30 reservations. They informed us they're getting our table ready and to have a seat at the bar. At 9: 45 they still had not come to seat us so I asked them how much longer it would be to get a table. They assured me that it shouldn't take much longer. My boyfriend ordered a drink at 9: 35, but the drink did not come until 10: 25 PM. And we finally got seated at 10: 40 PM. Buddakan never apologized for seating us so late or for their poor service. I will never EVER dine at Buddakan nor recommend them to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Excelent waitress , perfection . Plus the vibe is real good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We waited for 10 minutes even though we had a reservation, not a big deal. Service was impeccable from the moment we were seated. The waiter recommended an entree which turned out to be a great choice. Everything was delicious. Of course it's a bit pricey, but you can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Such an amazing dining experience. Kim and Alex made our experience even better with such impeccable hospitality! Thank you for such a special night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Once again The food was excellent. Scallion pancakes, pork dumplings ,ribs , rock shrimp and the vegetable rice with coconut -were all just delicious.

We love coming with the group so we can order as many dishes as possible, we were just two this time.

Our service, as always, excellent.

A real great treat!

Tags: Family Style, Tapas, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was delicious, and service was prompt and very professional. It is not a place to go if you're looking for a bargain, but this is New York City. You're going for the food (tasty), the vibe (active) and the experience (fun). We had mostly appetizers which I would recommend with a group. No duds. They were all good, and we ordered most of them. The entrees were small, so not really for sharing. Our server, Ryan was excellent. Attentive to my wife's allergies, efficient, but not intrusive. Hadn't been in a while, but I'll be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, ambiance and service. Thanks for a memorable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Over priced and under spiced. Chinese for white people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic experience from the moment we walked through the entrance. Great vibe at the host/coat check, and after a few drinks at the bar, we were contacted by staff and led to our table. I'm still unsure of Joe the found us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The experience was great, however Open Table has the wrong address listed for the restaurant so we ended 20 minutes away from the actual location. That needs to be fixed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was amazing except the wait. Reservation was at 10:00 and we were seated at 11.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was all very different Asian fusion. Very lively atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Best upscale Asian restaurant in New York . You will not be disappointed. This is my wife's favorite spot. We always look forward going to this restaurant. Try the jumbo sweet and crispy shrimps and the dim sum tasting for two.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Consistently delicious food and excellent service! Definitely a favorite!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The wait time to be seated was very quick! Loved the food and the service was fantastic! Can't wait to go back to try a dinferent meal!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Location is perfect! Food is delicious but was to cold too soon. Cocktail Tranquility is graet.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Wife's Birthday

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Private Room, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent food, very hip place, but music was a bit loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Noisy but delicious. The attitude oozed from the black-clad guardians of entry, but once we were granted admission our table was ready quickly and our server was the epitome of hospitality. From appetizers to entrées and dessert, the food was full of flavor and beautifully presented. Definitely worth a return visit.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

El local precioso, estaba muy interesada en ir, pero el precio de la comida y vino (sobretodo), un poco elevado..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Me and my girlfriend came here for a Valentine's Day dinner. Kevin's is the best server in NYC. Made us feel totally welcome and was extremely attentive. Offered up recommendations and all of them were amazing, one of the best dinners I've ever had. The yellow tail was like butter, the steak w the sauce was sooo flavorful. The lobster rice, Devine.... scallops, so good....Highly highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It's an experience - excellent food, great drinks, great atmosphere. Perfect for groups. You will spend $100/person though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints . Chaz was our waiter on Valentines Day and was amazing. Try the oxtail dumplings oh my gosh!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Visited for the first time and would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant. Food quality excellent and our waiter was very good answering all questions posed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I absolutely fell in love with this place. Service was beyond excellent and we couldn't have asked for a better server, Jonah. We had an amazing time, all the food we tasted was perfect. Will definitely love to go back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent service! Food was outstanding. Definitely a five star restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We felt very rushed. We placed our order for a general tso dumplings, rock shrimp and fired rice. All the food was on the table about 3 mins later. The quantity is good for the two of us. The waiter will tell you to order 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and 1 side for 2 people which is a ridiculous amount of food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I took my girlfriend to the downtown restaurant for Valentines Day and she and I loved everything about it. The friendly staff and romantic ambiance made it a night to remember.

Thanks you!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I've been here a few times and love the food which is why I love coming. This times experience wasn't one of my favorites because it took for every to receive our meal. We ordered our drinks, which was made very well. After ordering our appetizers and entrées, we received our appetizers quite quickly but our entrees took so much later than you'd expect. They finally brought our food and the rice wasn't hot at all, it was luke warm thank goodness the meal was still tasty & delicious. At checkout, getting our coats there were about 5-6 staff memes standing around while I stood there waiting for someone to assist me with my coats & bag. Dissatisfying but I still love Buddakah and will be back again.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Buddakan is my favorite NYC restaurant. Great staff , accommodating, friendly but professional. We are always a group, this year there were seven of us, and we choose the tasting menu, there are three options and we choose Option 2, it works for us. And when we choose this menu our waiter always says if there is something on this menu you'd like to change out we can do that. And they also say if you want more of something, just say so. We let our waiter know we must leave in two hours. The food comes out quickly, fast paced as we want it, the portions are always generous. Each bite is delicious...from the appetizers, the mains and the finish of fabulous desserts. I easily give this restaurant five stars, it never disappoints.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 13, 2017

It's a wonderful restaurant with an ambiance and beautiful sights to match! I thoroughly enjoyed the food and the attentive staff.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I go to Buddakan any chance I get and have yet to be even the slightest bit disappointed. Once again, every dish we ordered was expertly prepared (nothing overcooked) and intensely flavorful. I cannot recommend Buddakan enough. When friends ask where to go in NYC I always recommend making this place their #1 priority. So far, no one has been even remotely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Buddakan is has good has everybody tells us. Good food wonderful place

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was amazing. There is a great deal of personal care and attention. We arrived and waited at the bar to be seated. The hostess found us and escorted us to the table. The waiter was great and patient. He gave great recommendations for food. The food and experience was just amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I am extremely impressed with Buddakan for its staff and its delicious food. My husband and I enjoyed the dim sum appetizer sampler. Each dimsum item was better than the next. The cantonese spring rolls, the tuna roll tartare and the shrimp balls...wow! We also ordered the Sea Bass ; citrus chili sweet with a smokey hint...wonderful. My husband ordered the Peking Duck Fried rice ...very savory and I ordered the Mushroom Chow Fun. We also enjoyed the Chocolate Pistachio cremosa....absolutely an out of body experience. The music was subtle and we were able to talk and enjoy each other's company. I must also commend the maitre 'd Johan. What a personable and congenial fellow and our server, Christina was outstanding.

Tags: Great Beer, Seasonal, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Historic, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It is always personal experience from the check in to the seating!

Kermit is a great manager and host in the library and center room down stairs, he is amazing!

Thank you...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Was so looking forward to Buddakan. My husband had never been but I have and always loved the food. Our server was great but be advised if you are a minority the other guests will look and act like you don't belong there. Staff is complicit in this so in my view they are no better. The front desk folks took forever finding out reservation meanwhile one of the guys accepted $10 from another guest in plain sight. I guess you have to tip them for them to treat you well? Hostess towards the end was seating anoTher couple and looked at us like we didn't belong there, despite having spent over $300 on our check. BUddakan also went back and indicated I didn't show for this reservation via Open table. Thanks a lot.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, drinks, service, and atmosphere. Will be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything perfect. Food very food, Wine ad will. The place is very cool i loved it

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time and it was a great experience. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Don't believe the hype. This is your general New York, overdone, wanna-be hip, cosmopolitan hangout with sub-par food that you could get at a takeout Chinese joint. Our table ordered the duck fried rice, chicken congee, and eggplant tofu, and no one was impressed. In fact, we were regretful that we drove into the City from Jersey for what was essentially Chinese takeout on nice plates. The rooms are dark, dreary, loud, and people think they're at a nightclub. The bathrooms are uninex and gross, and people were smoking in the bathroom, as if it were a nightclub. The desserts were poor, too. We ordered the Crying Chocolate b/c everyone raves about it, but it was so hyped up for no reason. It's a standard chocolate cake on a pretty plate. Also had the banana pudding, which was totally forgettable, and the apple fritter that was the sorriest excuse for a dessert that I've ever seen. No filling. No sweetness. No flavor. The apples were sliced on top, like an afterthought. How is this place still in business and jam-packed? I'll never know. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

An amazing dining experince! Don't miss this night out in NYC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My friend and I went to Buddakan before going to the ballet. We had a wonderful waitress and very attentive service except at times, it seemed like she was a little busy with her tables.

Food was delicious. We didn't even end up ordering a entrees, just appetizers. They were all so delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Simply the best Asian fusion food, service fantastic

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a pleasure. A bit of a "scene", which I don't mind, but some may.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was amazing, everything was exceptional. The building was beautiful, service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.