About Buddakan NY

75 9th Ave
New York, NY 10011
View Larger Map

The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 989-2245

Website:
http://www.buddakannyc.com/

Public Transit:
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Yang Huang & Brian Ray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Edamame Dumplings
Crying Chocolate
Shrimp & Lobster Chow Fun
spicy yellowtail yu sheng with smoked chili and pineapple #nyc #buddakan #bday #app #dinner ie  gasm topia porn
Hoisin Glazed Pork Belly
Dim Sum Sampler
Tuna Tartare Spring Rolls
Chili Rock Shrimp
black pepper beef
Tranquility Cocktail
Spiced Tofu & Cashews
Pork Potstickers
Glazed Alaskan Black Cod
Chocolate Pistachio Cremoso
Charred Filet Of Beef
Fate Cocktail
Sizzling Short Rib
Kung Pao Monkfish
Deviled Tuna Tartare
Dungeness Crab Sticky Rice
Spicy Yellowtail Yu Sheng With Smoked Chili And Pineapple
Oxtail Dumplings- Sweet Soy, Lemongrass Broth
Green Tea Doughnuts
Solid
Scallion Pancakes
royal tokaji
Bright
Murrieta's Well "The Whip"
Charm
Vegetable Fried Rice
Minced Pork Lo Mein
Broken Chili Chicken
Sizzling Short Ribs
Edamame Dumplings- Black Truffle, Shallot-Sauternes Broth
Crying Chocolate- Malted Chocolate Ganache, Milk Caramel, Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream
Boneless Spareribs- Chinese Mustard
King crab hot pot
Molton Chocolate Cake
Dim Sum
Jade Shrimp Dumplings
Chilled Udon Noodles
Punch
Tuna Tartare
Blueberry Tofu Cheesecake
Steak
stir fried beef
Chili Chicken
Ribeye Steak
Chocolate
Szechuan Beef Carpaccio
Green beans
King Crab & Lobster Siu Mai Dim Sum
Singapore Noodles
Rock Shrimps
Sea bass
Xiaolongbao
Duck and dungeoness crab roll
Dessert
Apple Tartine With Rice Flavored Ice Cream
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Bread Pudding
Duck Salad With A Poached Egg.
Peking Duck
Bo Bo Plate
Singapore Chili  King Crab
steamed sea bass dumplings
Warm Almond Bread Pudding With Whiskey Ice Cream
Clementine Cloud
Coconut Donut
Sugar Snap Peas
Mushroom & Sugar Snap Siu Mei
Black Bean Silken Tofu
Beef Tartare
Malted Vanilla Pepita Toffee Ice Cream
Rock Shrimp
Banana Almond Cake
Seared Pork Dumpling
Hot & Sour Scallops
Beef Ribs
Steamed Pork Bun
Carrot Dumpling
Beef Lettuce Cups
Sesame Shrimp Toast
Vegetable Rice
Chinese Sausage Fried Rice
Peking Duck Spring Rolls
Haze Cocktail
Crispy Calamari Salad
Ginger Glazed Lobster
Warm Chocolate Ganache
Pork Belly & Steamed Buns
Kobe Beef
General Tso's Dumplings
Asian Barbeque Pork
Spicey Yellowtail
Dungeness Crab Sticky Rice- X.O. Sauce, Chinese Broccoli
Chilled Udon Noodles- Lime Sorbet, Peanut Sauce
Cantonese Lobster
Cocktails
Lobster Dumplings

Buddakan NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Chinese
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Chinese
Manhattan
1 More
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Meatpacking District ›

special occasion (616)
hot spot (518)
good for groups (490)
See All
fit for foodies (456)
romantic (365)
vibrant bar scene (305)
late-night find (234)
neighborhood gem (123)
notable wine list (92)
scenic view (61)
great for outdoor dining (61)
great for lunch (36)
kid-friendly (21)
great for brunch (19)
Sort By:
Newest
7440 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The beef filet was incredible, better th ...

vip
Dined 6 hours ago

The beef filet was incredible, better than I've had at other steakhouses! The bread pudding dessert was to die for!! Great food, great service!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service and beautiful venue. Dumpl ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great service and beautiful venue. Dumplings were great however I found the noodles, rice and fish to be a bit average in quality and flavour. surprised by that given how expensive the restaurant is.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, great atmospher ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent, great atmosphere . I would definitely go back .

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and experienced, knowledgable ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great food and experienced, knowledgable, helpful waiter. Would recommend for glamorous night out in NYC.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was an experience from the mo ...

Dined 4 days ago

This place was an experience from the moment we found it. The exterior is all black and the sign is barely legible. The front door is about 15 ft tall and is very heavy. It is extremely dark when you walk in and your eyes have to adjust. The attractive staff led us to our table down a flight of stairs that overlooks the main dining room the entire time you descend. After all that, the food is the best part. The dimplings were great-perfect consistency and warmth. They pour a good drink too. I won't spoil it. Go with a big group and share everything. Great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

This was our first visit to the Buddakan ...

Dined 4 days ago

This was our first visit to the Buddakan restaurant. Our waiter acted like he thought he was special and seemed to be talking down to us as we asked about the menu and portion sizes. Despite his attitude, we enjoyed the food.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food. Innovative. A little too n ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Innovative. A little too noisy. good wine list, and good wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing setting Great service. Super kno ...

Dined 5 days ago

Amazing setting Great service. Super knowledgeable Awesome food

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Modern Asian Gastronomic experienc ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great Modern Asian Gastronomic experience! Awesome place Next time in New York we will reapeat for sure

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We arrived at 7:05pm for our 7pm prior b ...

Dined 6 days ago

We arrived at 7:05pm for our 7pm prior booking. Our table was not available and were asked to sit at the bar area until it was ready. We waited here for 10 minutes with a drinks menu and did not have a waiter serve us prior to our table being ready. Once seated, we again waited for service for 20 minutes without a drink or water offered. The restaurant has a nice ambiance however is extremely noisy and could barely hear my partner talk. We ordered the oxtail dumplings and whole peking duck to share. The peking duck was amazing with a crispy light skin. The food was really tastey and full of flavour. The food is pricey however was worth a bit extra for the quality. Overall Buddakan has great food, however lacks customer service and is loud for what you pay for a dinner experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buddakan was recommended to us and we ar ...

Dined 6 days ago

Buddakan was recommended to us and we are so glad we went. The food was delicious, and the service was impeccable. The ambience was very unique and fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

trendy. some good food. some great foo ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

trendy. some good food. some great food. BUT it's super dark inside. and it's just too loud. excellent scene for vampires.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graeat place and service. Excellent food ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Graeat place and service. Excellent food and drinks. Cool music.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The menu appeared interesting but the fo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The menu appeared interesting but the food turned out to be comparable to PF Chang's. The place is beautiful but the food just isn't inspired.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just absolutely delicious food! Had the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Just absolutely delicious food! Had the Peking duck fried rice, beef short rib pasta, and oxtail dumpling. We all (11 people) enjoyed everything we had and the service was on point!! Will be returning later this summer, for sure!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great dinner. The Restuarant wa ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

It was a great dinner. The Restuarant was recommended by a friend . It stood up to its test. A bit loud but that was ok.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, very tasty. Prices are what ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food, very tasty. Prices are what you would expect for the area. Great for groups. Beautiful space with impressive interior. Request seating "under the chandelier" ;) Gigantic table candles seemed unnecessary.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food great venue good atmosphere s ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food great venue good atmosphere service was great if not too intense would highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, late night find, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, Buddakan was an over ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was excellent, Buddakan was an overall great experience. Well worth the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

One word: pretentious and overrated. The ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

One word: pretentious and overrated. The waitstaff was obnoxious and mildly condescending. The food was good but did not make up for the overall unpleasantness of the experience. With so many great choices available in NYC, I would not recommend this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not my first time at Buddakan, but they ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Not my first time at Buddakan, but they never disappoint. Great service, great meal and just a really stunning atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff from the hostess and bartende ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The staff from the hostess and bartender to our server to the manger, everyone was friendly, accommodating, and added to the amazing service we received. It was my dates first time dining at Buddakan and he was beyond impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

I have admit, I come here a lot when I f ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

I have admit, I come here a lot when I friends in town. However, recently our waiter was HORRIBLE. Absolutely horrible - very rude, snobby, and did not explain things well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I appreciated the attention given by the ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I appreciated the attention given by the bartender,our server, as well as the manager. The food was outstanding and everyone was so accommodating and willing to ensure that we had a great time. It was my dates first time dining at Buddakan and he was beyond impressed at the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food, and wines. Service is co ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food, and wines. Service is correct but could be more attentive . Noise level is a bit too much.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

It was a great experience overall. I wen ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

It was a great experience overall. I went to the jersey location and like it. The NY location definitely lived up to my standards as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit and we LOVED it ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This was our first visit and we LOVED it! We cannot wait to go back. We were seated in this room that looked like a library and our waitress was truly a gem! She was so amazingly nice and I feel terrible for forgetting her name but she went above and beyond to make sure that we understood how everything worked and she refilled out glasses without us ever having out ask. She was so patient, kind and friendly which really made our experience 282828 stars not just 5! The food is truly delicious! It is all about the presentation. You have to save room for dessert! Order the crying chocolate cake oh my so yummy! I ordered the chili rock shrimp to start with and wow the portion size is HUGE! you can probably just eat that and be full. Don't do this though, definitely keep ordering!! Order the short rib comes with amazing noodles so scrumptious, and my husband ordered the Mongolian lamb chops which he enjoyed but I am not a lamb chops lover so I didn't like at all. We really enjoyed the charred broccoli and the vegetable fried rice was good since it was made with coconut curry and had pineapples. The ambience is lovely! The staff so so sweet! From the moment you enter to the time you leave everyone is smiling and friendly! I would highly recommend to everyone and we will def. be back! oh also the tea is delicious too, order it with the dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

I used to really enjoy Buddakan, but am ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

I used to really enjoy Buddakan, but am really tired of going and waiting for an hour after my RSVP. This happens regularly even on non crowded nights. I am sure it is their business model to get you to drink more at the bar, but they are losing me as a regular client. Can go to Tao across the street or Spice Market for a better layout and shorter wait...

food3
ambience5
service3

Great atmosphere but food is mediocre fo ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great atmosphere but food is mediocre for the price. I've been here twice, mainly for the wow effect the place has on out of town guests. Both times all of my party felt that the food was just ok .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buddakan was fantastic. Food, atmospher ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Buddakan was fantastic. Food, atmosphere, service -all excellent. The Peking Duck was not to be missed. The dumplings and dim sum were also great. Wonderful cocktails and desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Buddakan is one of my favorite restauran ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Buddakan is one of my favorite restaurants anywhere. Period. End of story. The food is mind-bogglingly creative. I simply do not know how the melange of ingredients/recipes are developed...they have combinations I would never dream of while being ridiculously well executed. The juxtapositions of flavors and textures are such that you won't taste or experience them anywhere else. Service is always excellent, and for a large restaurant (that doesn't ever feel as big as it is) that's saying something. I HIGHLY recommend Buddakan.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience every time.

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Great experience every time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dining experience as always. Eve ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Amazing dining experience as always. Every time I come to NY from Dallas, this is the first restaurant I make a reservation for. The food is top tier and the. The hand crafted deserts and homemade ice creams with unique flavors to explode the other part of the desert is phenomenal. Highly highly recommend this restaurant

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great experience. Amazing atmosphere and ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great experience. Amazing atmosphere and setting. Food good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kevin - our waiter for the night. What a ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Kevin - our waiter for the night. What amazing service. He had a tough job on his hands as I had a very sore throat and my vegetarian girlfriend has no ability to make a decision. Kevin pretty much picked our food and even suggested a cognac cocktail to help soothe my sore throat. An absolutely amazing member of staff making this our best night/dinner/drinks experience in NY to date. Needless to say the quality and taste of the food and drinks were top notch. We will definitely visit next time we are back. Absolutely blown away my the service, thank you!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

overal good experience, loved the food, ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

overal good experience, loved the food, Beautiful restaurant nice ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were a group of seven and our server ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We were a group of seven and our server recommended one of the tasting menu choices. The food was delicious and there was a great variety. The staff also was very understanding of special dietary needs due to allergies and did everything to please each member of our party. Cocktails also were great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The best edamame dumplings in the world ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The best edamame dumplings in the world 👍🏻. Great atmosphere - our server Steph was attentive, friendly and was great helping with suggestions. Will definitely visit again

food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance was everything I could have hop ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Ambiance was everything I could have hoped for. Wonderful place, delicious food...a little pricey, but you get what you pay for after all. Would definitely recommend to others.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

To start we had the chicken and foie gra ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

To start we had the chicken and foie gras dumplings- so perfect. Good balance of taste without being too rich. We had spent all day trying to eat every thing we could on our short stay in New York, so shared the green beans with dried scallop and the deep fried soft shell crab. Both were excellent. Had a good conversation with our server- he gave us some good tips of where to go nearby after. The atmosphere was grand. Would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.