About Buddakan NY

75 9th Ave
New York, NY 10011
View Larger Map

The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 989-2245

Website:
http://www.buddakannyc.com/

Public Transit:
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Yang Huang & Brian Ray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Edamame Dumplings
Crying Chocolate
Shrimp & Lobster Chow Fun
spicy yellowtail yu sheng with smoked chili and pineapple #nyc #buddakan #bday #app #dinner ie  gasm topia porn
Hoisin Glazed Pork Belly
Dim Sum Sampler
Tuna Tartare Spring Rolls
Tranquility Cocktail
black pepper beef
Chili Rock Shrimp
Spiced Tofu & Cashews
Pork Potstickers
Glazed Alaskan Black Cod
Chocolate Pistachio Cremoso
Fate Cocktail
Charred Filet Of Beef
Sizzling Short Rib
Kung Pao Monkfish
Deviled Tuna Tartare
Spicy Yellowtail Yu Sheng With Smoked Chili And Pineapple
Dungeness Crab Sticky Rice
Oxtail Dumplings- Sweet Soy, Lemongrass Broth
Green Tea Doughnuts
Solid
Scallion Pancakes
royal tokaji
Bright
Murrieta's Well "The Whip"
Charm
Vegetable Fried Rice
Minced Pork Lo Mein
Broken Chili Chicken
Sizzling Short Ribs
Edamame Dumplings- Black Truffle, Shallot-Sauternes Broth
Crying Chocolate- Malted Chocolate Ganache, Milk Caramel, Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream
Boneless Spareribs- Chinese Mustard
King crab hot pot
Molton Chocolate Cake
Dim Sum
Jade Shrimp Dumplings
Chilled Udon Noodles
Punch
Tuna Tartare
Blueberry Tofu Cheesecake
Steak
stir fried beef
Chili Chicken
Ribeye Steak
Chocolate
Szechuan Beef Carpaccio
Green beans
King Crab & Lobster Siu Mai Dim Sum
Singapore Noodles
Rock Shrimps
Sea bass
Xiaolongbao
Duck and dungeoness crab roll
Dessert
Apple Tartine With Rice Flavored Ice Cream
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Bread Pudding
Duck Salad With A Poached Egg.
Peking Duck
Bo Bo Plate
Singapore Chili  King Crab
steamed sea bass dumplings
Warm Almond Bread Pudding With Whiskey Ice Cream
Clementine Cloud
Coconut Donut
Sugar Snap Peas
Mushroom & Sugar Snap Siu Mei
Black Bean Silken Tofu
Beef Tartare
Malted Vanilla Pepita Toffee Ice Cream
Rock Shrimp
Banana Almond Cake
Seared Pork Dumpling
Hot & Sour Scallops
Beef Ribs
Steamed Pork Bun
Carrot Dumpling
Beef Lettuce Cups
Sesame Shrimp Toast
Vegetable Rice
Chinese Sausage Fried Rice
Peking Duck Spring Rolls
Haze Cocktail
Crispy Calamari Salad
Ginger Glazed Lobster
Warm Chocolate Ganache
Pork Belly & Steamed Buns
Kobe Beef
General Tso's Dumplings
Asian Barbeque Pork
Spicey Yellowtail
Dungeness Crab Sticky Rice- X.O. Sauce, Chinese Broccoli
Chilled Udon Noodles- Lime Sorbet, Peanut Sauce
Cantonese Lobster
Cocktails
Lobster Dumplings

Buddakan NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Chinese
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Hot Spot
Manhattan
2 More
Chinese
Manhattan
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Meatpacking District ›

special occasion (611)
hot spot (504)
good for groups (489)
See All
fit for foodies (452)
romantic (362)
vibrant bar scene (305)
late-night find (216)
neighborhood gem (123)
notable wine list (91)
scenic view (53)
great for outdoor dining (52)
great for lunch (33)
kid-friendly (22)
great for brunch (15)
Sort By:
Newest
7526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great as always

vip
 (London)
·Dined a day ago

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience with the best se ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great dining experience with the best service and outstanding food.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, late night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The wait staff was amazing. Always prese ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The wait staff was amazing. Always presented us with clean dishes and utensils. Our waiter, Ryan, was absolutely fantastic. He knew the menu in and out and was extremely helpful, even though this was not my first time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The layered flavors in the drinks appeti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The layered flavors in the drinks appetizers and main dishes are truly terrific.

The staff at every level is attentive and nice.

Overall it made an already great evening better with terrific food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was very noisi. but the food and serv ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was very noisi. but the food and services was A+.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We loved the food, the beautiful ambient ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We loved the food, the beautiful ambiente and the service elas excellent

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just flawless from beginning to end. We ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Just flawless from beginning to end. We went to celebrate a 21st birthday. We were seated in the great room and went for the top of the line set menu. All dishes were amazing. So much food, all delivered with an incredible level of professionalism. A truly memorable and remarkable night. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined here on our last night in New Y ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 6 days ago

We dined here on our last night in New York it was amazing

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service stood out to me and the food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service stood out to me and the food was really good. I just wish the portions was a bit more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I have been to buddkan a few times. Ever ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I have been to buddkan a few times. Everytime people visit NY they want to go here but I think the food is average and the cost is high. The look and feel (if you sit downstairs) is cool though.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service, food and amazing wine. Wo ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great service, food and amazing wine. Would certainly recommend for large groups. Wait staff were very accommodating and kitchen also accommodating for allergies in the group.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It really did live up to the hype of bei ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It really did live up to the hype of being one of the must do restaurants in NYC. We are from Australia and had been recommended Buddakan by friends and they were right, great food, great atmosphere and visually stunning restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants in NYC! ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in NYC! The ambiance and the service is impeccable, and the food is absolutely amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Holidaying from Australia and was recomm ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Holidaying from Australia and was recommended by few people to have dinner at Buddakan. Met the high expectations from everyone, the food was absolutely AMAZING! And the service was fantastic! Will definetely return if I ever come back to New York and will recommend to others!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good my fave place to bring ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Consistently good my fave place to bring visitors

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second visit to this wonderful restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Second visit to this wonderful restaurant. The food was delicious and unusual. Very helpful and knowledgeable waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing dinner, the intensity and mix of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing dinner, the intensity and mix of all the flavors, spices and textures gave us one mouthgasm after another. Highly recommended for foodies and everyone else too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food. The oxtail ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent service and food. The oxtail dumplings and the penking duck were awesome. For dessert the jasmin rice sorbet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good. We did not order ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was very good. We did not order the protein as the waitress suggested. $40 for one piece of fish to share was just too much for me. We just ordered the sides which were duck fried rice and wok noodles with prawns. Both dishes were the size of a regular entree and tasted amazing on it's own. The ambiance is beautiful but just a little too loud. We usually have a lot to talk about but since it was so loud we hardly spoke to each other. All in all it was a great night. I would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fun vibrant atmosphere with club like mu ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fun vibrant atmosphere with club like music playing very loud. Great vibe but a bit difficult to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious food in a stunning ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Absolutely delicious food in a stunning venue. However, our waiter lied to us and was very snooty. Also it was SO loud we could barely talk to each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Buddakan is a classic fit for the Meatp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Buddakan is a classic fit for the Meatpacking District. Loud, energetic, and trendy. The General Tso's Chicken Dumplings were great.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful venue, good portion sizes of f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Beautiful venue, good portion sizes of food.

Can recommend the pork buns and the fried rice with chinese sausage and poached egg! However, everything else we tried was way too salty :-(

(lobster egg roll, tea smoked ribs, scallops and black bean, beef in birds nest)

Dessert (crying chocolate) was yummy.

Probably would not return.

Tags: group bookings, romance, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Overall very good, but I found it expens ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Overall very good, but I found it expensive. Wine list was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a wonderful evening celebrating birt ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Had a wonderful evening celebrating birthdays and the food and service were outstanding

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this restaurant was goo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Everything about this restaurant was good! Definitely will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food as usual was amazing! But our exper ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food as usual was amazing! But our experience was not.. My husband and I drove to NYC on a Tuesday for our Anniversary dinner. Our hostess was very nice she congratulated us when we checked in and they sat us almost immediately. Now, our server was a totally different experience! He was not very nice, he was rushing us all through the meal, he seamed annoyed when we asked for drinks, and when I asked for sugar for my espresso he told me NO "sweetener" is all we have!! he did the same to the 2 tables next to us. We just did not feel comfortable! Too bad because this is one of my favorite in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Skip appetizers food portion sizes are h ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Skip appetizers food portion sizes are huge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent although the kung ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was excellent although the kung pao monkfish was a little too salty, that's the reason for the 4 stars.

Service a little slow, but attentive, nice and cool ambiance although a little too dark especially when walking in, it will take a few minutes to be able to see.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great main dining room, excellent servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great main dining room, excellent service. Wine a little pricey .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely restaurant, it was a Sunday so mu ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Lovely restaurant, it was a Sunday so much less manic then a previous Saturday night visit. Food excellent. Bit too eager to keep filling up glasses which I am beginning to find annoying

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

It was our anniversary and this is one o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was our anniversary and this is one of my wife's favorites. I asked for a quiet, nice table. what we got was right next to another couple next to a storage area where they were taking chairs in and out. Service was efficient bordering on frantic. The waist staff to customer ratio seemed to be 2 to 1. I had my favorite spare ribs and monkfish. The ribs were tasty but barely warm. The monkfish was also good with a nice spicy sauce. Overall it was a good, not great, experience. Noisy and very dark atmosphere. Drinks were pricy, $40 for two cocktails, one of which was a single shot of ordinary single malt scotch.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Had a great experience here. The food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a great experience here. The food was delicious, as always. The waitstaff was very nice and helpful, something you do not always get at trendy restaurants like this. 10/10

Tags: romantic, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my first time visiting Buddakan ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was my first time visiting Buddakan (my birthday) and it was really nice. I had a reservation and was a little late so we waited maybe 10 minutes and was able to get the spot overlooking the big room that I requested when they called me to confirm my reservation. I thought it was great that I still got that considering I was late. Service and food was awesome. Ambiance was perfect! I would definitely go again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Buddakan for dinning in our A ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went to Buddakan for dinning in our Anniversary vacations and it was great. Food and service were memorable.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The epitome of NY cool! Beautiful place ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The epitome of NY cool! Beautiful place, great music, wonderful service, delicious artistically prepared food ,,,terrific in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I loved the intamacy of this place despi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I loved the intamacy of this place despite the loud music and open space. The food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Edamame Dumplings and Cauliflower Lollip ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Edamame Dumplings and Cauliflower Lollipops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was a special occasion for a re ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our meal was a special occasion for a relatively large group--and the experience was superlative for everyone. Outstanding dishes, attentive service, and of course the stunning ambience and interior design. Our guests--some of whom consider themselves foodies of the first rank--were all delighted. As the host, my only disappointment was that I found the rhythm of the service far too rushed. We ordered the fixed-price menu, and large quantities were delivered simultaneously, with little time between courses to savor what we were served. I had to ask our servers to slow down at one point. If it weren't for this, the dining experience would have been otherwise faultless.

As it happens, just afterwards we ran into four visiting friends (two of whom are professional chefs)--and I recommended Buddakan for a late night meal, if they could get in. I accompanied them; they got a table. They all raved about the experience the next day. Their enthusiasm speaks for itself.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Hi Loved our late night dinner at Buddak ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Hi Loved our late night dinner at Buddakan with friend at the communal table. The staff were great to accommodate us for a late night dinner for ten. Thanks again!!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.