Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 269 times today

Buddakan NY

4.6
10747 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Chinese
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Creative Cuisine
The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Chinese, Asian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 989-2245
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Yang Huang & Brian Ray
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
16th Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 10747 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 18 hours ago

Posto molto modaiolo. Ambiente ricercato, musica stile Buddha Bar (anche se ad un volume altissimo che rende difficile parlare). Piatti tutti ottimi, ben presentati e molto gustosi.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 19 hours ago

Aspettative totalmente disattese

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great Location, amazing food experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely outstanding. We came from Australia and it is the best restaurant I have ever been to! We will be back whether it takes a 30 hour flight to get here or not. Couldn’t recommend more highly!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Our waiter was great. Food was amazing-especially the edamame dumplings and mochi donuts!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

We had an amazing time! Everything from the service to the food and the ambiance was perfect. We highly recommend and will be back on our next trip to NYC!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 3 days ago

Had to wait for 40 minutes to be seated despite our reservation! And then we had been seated in an empty room (no other table was occupied), thus we missed all the ambience. Too expensive and overrated!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Very loud and slow in service, however very friendly

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

With the exception of the restaurant attempting to sell extra drinks by making one wait in the bar to then be seated when there are many open tables; everything else was very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

To be honest we were disappointed with the whole evening- tables were very badly, to a point it disturbed more than it was meant to add in ambience. Food was ok but over priced for what was brought compared to what was described In point would we recommend- no, would we go again, definitely not it just failed in living up to its high expectations...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

I wish I remembered our waitress name but she was amazing !! The food was excellent....my Bf and I had a rough week at work so the drinks were everything and more!! Lol I have never had a bad experience at buddakan ! Highly recommend to anyone

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful place, beyond food and drinks...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Very good food and so amazing ambient, serivce and music.Even the girls and boys tha work there are so kind and professional.. The price is not expensive ..must to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Service was incredible, food was amazing and ambience was perfect. Will go back again and again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food! The restaurant is beautiful! They were very accommodating to my guest. Some were having a difficult time trying to find parking so we technically were seated about 45 min late but they didn’t make us feel Bad about it or give us any problems. The waiter was very helpful In explaining the menu. Overall great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

I hadn't been here for a few years but decided it would be a great place to take my boyfriend out to eat for his birthday. It was the best choice I could've made, he loved it so much. The ambiance, staff, and food were all amazing. I'm a vegan and they actually had numerous options for me to choose from as opposed to just giving me a choice between one or two things; my boyfriend on the other hand ordered the steak and it was cooked to perfection he absolutely loved it. Our drinks and desserts were delicious and unique. I can't express how perfect everything went I would recommend Buddakan to anyone looking to have a great quality dinner in a trendy place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

I live in NC and every time I travel to NYC Buddakan is a must visit. By far one of the best dining experiences i've ever had. Each time everything is dead on!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Always great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Recommended by a friend who lives in the city. Must make a reservation well in advance if weekend dining. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

A very soecial restaurant, beautiful decorated and good food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Very noisy but fun night. We did tasting menu for 8. Some dishes were just ok, but others fabulous. Tons of food that just kept coming. We added the Peking Duck - that was key. Service was very good and overall liked our dinner very much. The only complaint was the front desk- super uninterested in acknowledging us - two robot like women finally glanced our way (no one else was standing there) and seemed bored or bothered that I mentioned our reservation. She just waived me to the bar and barely looked up while saying we’ll get you. Another unsmiling young lady came and got the 8 of us about 15 minutes later in the bar. Ugh, but we didn’t let the zombie girls ruin our night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant makes you feel like you are in a different country, in a fancy, mysterious and secretive kind of way. The ambiance really sets the tone for the amazing food they serve. I will definitely be going back when I’m in New York.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The food is great! Drinks are as well. If you can get a table downstairs it is amazing. One of the tables was drunk and getting loud and the manager handled it professionally removing the problem without any additional drama.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 6 days ago

I came for my birthday. Very disappointed at the food quality. I tried the DimSum and few things from the menu recommended , everything tasted awful and overly salted. Waiter doesn’t know which order belongs to whom. Only thing good about this place is the ambiance but Never coming back here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

The food had no real flavor. Great atmosphere, but not worth the $90 for 1 person. TAO is way better!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Service was poor. Seated 35 minutes after our reservation. food was delicious. But then waited another 20 minutes just to pay the check. Not sure I would go again because the service detracted from the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great service! Exceptional

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Il viaggio a New York è in genere una occasione speciale e la cena a Buddakan entra perfettamente in questa ottica anche se resta un po’ cara. Io la consiglio

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

The atmosphere is very fun and unusual. It gets very crowded very early. The service is very good and the menu has some different choices not usually seen. The portions are small for the price paid. Do not eat here if you are looking for any value for your dollar. This is a “once and done” experience for us

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

The noise at the waiting room was too high so I couldn’t talk to my family at all. We had to wait 40 min to get our table when I had a reservation. And drinks are way too expensive for what they are, not bad but way too expensive. Although food is quite good, a lot of spicy but really good. Desserts, specially the carrot cake is amazing. But I don’t think I would recommend it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Great place, the waitor may had a bad day 🙄

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

It was excellent. Food was delicious and atmosphere was very funky and fun. It was a bit loud, but was able to still have good dinner conversation with clients. The only thing I would suggest is that they had more bathrooms.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

They put us next to kitchen entrance which was inconvenient and disruptive the entire time. Food was good but too sweet.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 19, 2018

The food at Buddakan is outstanding and we go there 3-4 times a year for the edamame dumplings which are one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten.

but the past 4 times we have gone, including last night, we have been seated at least 30 minutes after our reservation time. It was annoying at first but now given how often it happens feels unwelcoming.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Loved the food and table by the bar

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Was for My birthday. Buddakan is a place I go all the time. The service and food never disappoint me. EVER !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Exceptional Dinner. Deserts not that great!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Outstanding food and the service was incredible. A must go to for Business or Personal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Overwhelmed from the beautiful design of the place, food definitely delicious, great professional service and will definitely return for more

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Visiting NYC from Ireland and was recommended to visit Buddakhan ... I’m so glad we did! Enjoyed the whole experience thoroughly

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
250