About Buddakan NY

The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

75 9th Ave
New York, NY 10011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 989-2245

Website:
http://www.buddakannyc.com/

Public Transit:
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Yang Huang & Brian Ray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (255)
Good for a Date (220)
Creative Cuisine (189)
See All
Romantic (172)
Good for Groups (167)
Good for Birthdays (165)
Modern Decor (161)
Good for Anniversaries (156)
Hot Spot (154)
Fun (140)
Fit for Foodies (137)
Vibrant Bar Scene (110)
People Watching (90)
Handcrafted Cocktails (69)
Tasting Menu (67)
Business Meals (61)
Authentic (60)
Late-night Find (58)
Bar Seating (55)
Worth the Drive (55)
Spicy (50)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Family Style (47)
Cozy (41)
Outstanding Value (35)
Good Vegetarian Options (33)
Casual (33)
Comfort Food (33)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Notable Wine List (30)
Tapas (26)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Healthy (21)
Happy Hour (19)
Private Room (16)
Scenic View (16)
Molecular Gastronomy (15)
Seasonal (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Great for Lunch (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Vegan (7)
Historic (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great Beer (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Live Music (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Dancing (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
8809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Such a great find and place to go for an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Such a great find and place to go for an intimate setting with friends or a loved one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant but to much noisy and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing restaurant but to much noisy and that makes it unconfortable

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Incredible experience while visiting in ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Incredible experience while visiting in NYC for the weekend. It was a little louder than you might prefer but the good and overall ambiance outweigh any negative. The waitress recommended the edemame dumplings and pork belly rolls. They were unbelievable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants we've ever b ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best restaurants we've ever been to. A must try.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this has to be one of my wife and myself ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 2 days ago

this has to be one of my wife and myself favriote restaurants we always have a great

meal and service

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing time, great food and a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We had an amazing time, great food and atmosphere. The service was good, not too close and nudging, but just at the right proximity. Food was amazing.

The only thing is that we brought our own wine and were told on the phone there's a corkage fee of 25$ per bottle and we were charged 35$ per bottle. The moment we told the waitress, this was fixed, but still we didn't like this. The bill was so long someone else would not have noticed.

Still an overwhelming experience at this great place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, , Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place - food is always amazing

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place - food is always amazing

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We got oxtail dumplings, cauliflower lol ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We got oxtail dumplings, cauliflower lollipops, duck salad, filet, kung pao monkfish, and broccoli. The food comes in shareable portions. Our service was excellent and the food was amazing. Of course it's expensive and trendy but that's exactly what I was looking for--something special for a night out with my man! Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is fabulous. I always am div ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

This place is fabulous. I always am divided about writing a good review bec then people will flock to the place and I will have to wait and wait to get a table. Oh well.

If you love really cool decor, impeccable service and scrumptious food.... go here!

The dim sum is yummy, the beef and cod are to die for and the desserts are just the right touch of sweet

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Helped us choose from the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service! Helped us choose from the menu and it was great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've always come to Buddakan every time ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I've always come to Buddakan every time I am in New York and I used to love it. This time was a little bit different. Service was lacking. Bottle service wasn't good. I was trying to chase my waitress to take care of my empty champagne glass. Wake up! I will give you another chance. The last one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Terrible service ar the reception and wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Terrible service ar the reception and waiting att the bar. Confused, slow and not prestative at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Great ambience and amazing food. This pl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great ambience and amazing food. This place is obviously the place to be seen, stylish decor and fabulous menu. Waitress was very friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a reservation for 2 on a Sunday n ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had a reservation for 2 on a Sunday night at 9:30. We waited for one hour!!! to be seated. When they told us that the table was ready we found out that it was not and had to wait for another 10 minutes. After that nothing really mattered. No discount or complimentary dessert etc, only apologies

Food ok cocktails ok. But if I knew I will wait for 70 minutes I will definitely choose something else. Not recommended, it is not so cool after all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I guess when we arrived our reservation ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I guess when we arrived our reservation was "bought out". Came to visit from Los Angeles. Service is horrible. Manager tries to be helpful but cannot accommodate. Never again. What a shame from what this restaurant has become. It was much better a couple years ago. Maybe change the manager.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

Had a reservation for 7:30pm. Was not se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Had a reservation for 7:30pm. Was not seated until 8:45pm. Once seated, food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff and awesome waiter. Gave us ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great staff and awesome waiter. Gave us excellent menu tips that helped us achieve a "just right" amount of food. This included the party favorite oxtail dumplings that we may not have ordered without his recommendation. We opted for mostly dim sum and small plates with a couple of main dishes and were served as they were ready. Food flowed, drinks were refreshed promptly, and the evening was lively. It's still very popular and packed but we lucked out in a corner booth. Extra nice touch: when asked about charging a low battery phone, a hostess appeared in minutes to take it back to the main desk to charge it for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good experience, but not as great as las ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good experience, but not as great as last time. I brought my niece here for a special treat for her birthday. We had an early reservation (5:45pm), and although the restaurant was empty, they had us wait in the bar for 10-12 minutes to be seated. This is always the case, I assume so they can sell you drinks while you wait.

We were not sat in the main room, but in the library, which was empty except for us. People were setting up for an event in there while we ate (2 large televisions, bartenders setting up, etc.) Initially we had good service, but about 1/2 way through we were left on our own and had trouble getting attention to pay our bill, despite there being at least 8 staff in the room. We felt in the way and not the special setting I had hoped for. The food was good, but not as amazing as I remembered. I still love the edamame dumplings, although pricey at $19 for 6 dumplings, they were delicious. The monkfish was also good, but fairly basic fried fish with a sweet chili sauce. The peking duck fried rice was good, but there was very little duck in it and it was a bit dry. We ended with a banana pudding dessert which is presented in a trendy bowl that it tipped on an angle. Since the dessert is completely deconstructed in components, it is hard to mix without it winding up outside of the bowl.

Overall I was disappointed with the experience, but will be open to giving it another try in the future and considering this an off experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our waitress knew literally nothing abou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our waitress knew literally nothing about the menu and was so rude. When my boyfriend and I were asking questions she was giving attitude. We have been here before and were asking her about the meal we had gotten last time and she told us she knew what we were talking about until we received the food and the dish was wrong and terrible. The food was so basic and too expensive for what was received.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Delicious dishes and quick services

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Delicious dishes and quick services

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a pleasure to be at Buddakan! It' ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always a pleasure to be at Buddakan! It's truly my favorite restaurant the menu is full of amazing options with great taste . My go to dish is Lamb Med rare w/ duck fried rice !!! I'll be back soon the staff is extremely knowledgeable about the menu professional and polite . I can go on and on it's a must on my list at least once a month on open table I RSVP

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went out with my wife for a date night. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Went out with my wife for a date night. It was great experience and the restaurants decor was outstanding. The food was very good and atmosphere was amazing. Will go there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. Especially the oxt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was amazing. Especially the oxtail dumplings and crying chocolate!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Ambiance, food, and service. What ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great Ambiance, food, and service. What more can you expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super good fusion food at reasonable pri ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Super good fusion food at reasonable prices. Presentation and service was great b

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was unreal. Wine expensive but tast ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food was unreal. Wine expensive but tasty of course. Overall loved and will be back

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Spicy, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, vibrant and live place, fashionab ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great, vibrant and live place, fashionable, popular, but still cozy, good food, service and hive atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner here was nothing short of amazing ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Dinner here was nothing short of amazing ! Make sure you sit in the main dining room downstairs if you can ( we asked to be moved there as it was a special occasion and they very generously accommodated our request - thank you !) . The decor and food are exceptional and our waiter was wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was amazing and the service outstan ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food was amazing and the service outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was pur First Visite on mondän.....an ...

 
 (Raum Hamburg)·Dined on January 10, 2017

It was pur First Visite on mondän.....and we Comeback today( thursday) with more than 10000 Restaurants in NY . What Else to say: they are outstanding. Try The duck Ort peppered Beer, all is AAA... Go and find das out you will Love it

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic restaurant! Meals are share ty ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Fantastic restaurant! Meals are share type so the more people you have the more delicious meals you get to try ... lovely staff and food is amazing !!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Perfect set-up - perfect food - great se ...

 
 (Raum Düsseldorf)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Perfect set-up - perfect food - great service - nothing to add - a great recommendation

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

did not live up to expectation, especial ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

did not live up to expectation, especially having spent the previous night's dinner at Tao

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Buddakan is always a great spot to go to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Buddakan is always a great spot to go to for the atmosphere but the food was lacking. Kind of disappointed over sauced and not what I would have expected

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Impressive space, excellent service, del ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Impressive space, excellent service, delicious cuisine.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I recently enjoyed dinner here with five ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I recently enjoyed dinner here with five girlfriends. We were visiting from San Diego and the restaurant was highly recommended to us. Not only was the food amazing, so was the service. My girlfriend is pregnant and when informing the employees that our friend was experiencing some sickness, within minutes they brought a spread of anti-nausea foods to accommodate our friend. I appreciate them going above and beyond.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, great service. Had dim ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful food, great service. Had dim sum sampler to start, duck for main course with cauliflower and pan fried noodles with prawns as sides. Everything was fresh and extremely tasty. Service was fabulous, with knowledgeable servers. Thanks for the special evening!

Tags: Spicy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Vegan, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place with friendly and careful st ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great place with friendly and careful staff. Would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best thing about this restaurant is ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The best thing about this restaurant is the decor and ambiance. Hostesses at the front door were not overly friendly. I had asked to have our family of 3 seated in the main dining hall on the first floor and arrived early in the evening, so the place was still fairly empty. We were told that those tables were all booked and were led to a second floor table (which was OK). Meanwhile, I noted that another group who came after us were initially placed on the second floor as we were, but a few minutes later, they were moved to the main floor. Obviously, the main floor was not all "booked" as the hostesses had informed us earlier.

Regardless, the food was OK and probably overpriced. We had been here before, but this time, the shortribs (main course) were too salty with too much sauce. Among the appetizers, the crab shumai was also too salty. The best appetizers were the shrimp dim sum and the pork belly in bun.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fun, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Asian fusion restaurant. My husban ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great Asian fusion restaurant. My husband and I loved everything order. The service was also fantastic. We found this restaurant to be well priced for it's value and ambience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, , Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.