About Buddakan NY

75 9th Ave
New York, NY 10011
View Larger Map

The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 989-2245

Website:
http://www.buddakannyc.com/

Public Transit:
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Yang Huang & Brian Ray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Edamame Dumplings
Shrimp & Lobster Chow Fun
Crying Chocolate
spicy yellowtail yu sheng with smoked chili and pineapple #nyc #buddakan #bday #app #dinner ie  gasm topia porn
Dim Sum Sampler
Tuna Tartare Spring Rolls
Tranquility Cocktail
Hoisin Glazed Pork Belly
black pepper beef
Spiced Tofu & Cashews
Chocolate Pistachio Cremoso
Chili Rock Shrimp
Glazed Alaskan Black Cod
Pork Potstickers
Fate Cocktail
Charred Filet Of Beef
Sizzling Short Rib
Kung Pao Monkfish
Deviled Tuna Tartare
Spicy Yellowtail Yu Sheng With Smoked Chili And Pineapple
Dungeness Crab Sticky Rice
Oxtail Dumplings- Sweet Soy, Lemongrass Broth
Green Tea Doughnuts
Solid
Murrieta's Well "The Whip"
Charm
royal tokaji
Bright
King crab hot pot
Molton Chocolate Cake
Dim Sum
Jade Shrimp Dumplings
Chilled Udon Noodles
Punch
Tuna Tartare
Blueberry Tofu Cheesecake
Steak
stir fried beef
Chili Chicken
Ribeye Steak
Chocolate
Singapore Noodles
King Crab & Lobster Siu Mai Dim Sum
Szechuan Beef Carpaccio
Green beans
Scallion Pancakes
Rock Shrimps
Sea bass
Xiaolongbao
Duck and dungeoness crab roll
Dessert
Apple Tartine With Rice Flavored Ice Cream
Minced Pork Lo Mein
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Bread Pudding
Duck Salad With A Poached Egg.
Bo Bo Plate
Peking Duck
Singapore Chili  King Crab
steamed sea bass dumplings
Warm Almond Bread Pudding With Whiskey Ice Cream
Clementine Cloud
Mushroom & Sugar Snap Siu Mei
Coconut Donut
Sugar Snap Peas
Black Bean Silken Tofu
Beef Tartare
Malted Vanilla Pepita Toffee Ice Cream
Rock Shrimp
Vegetable Fried Rice
Banana Almond Cake
Seared Pork Dumpling
Hot & Sour Scallops
Beef Ribs
Steamed Pork Bun
Carrot Dumpling
Beef Lettuce Cups
Sesame Shrimp Toast
Vegetable Rice
Chinese Sausage Fried Rice
Ginger Glazed Lobster
Haze Cocktail
Crispy Calamari Salad
Peking Duck Spring Rolls
Warm Chocolate Ganache
Pork Belly & Steamed Buns
Kobe Beef
General Tso's Dumplings
Spicey Yellowtail
Asian Barbeque Pork
Edamame Dumplings- Black Truffle, Shallot-Sauternes Broth
Chilled Udon Noodles- Lime Sorbet, Peanut Sauce
Dungeness Crab Sticky Rice- X.O. Sauce, Chinese Broccoli
Crying Chocolate- Malted Chocolate Ganache, Milk Caramel, Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream
Lobster Dumplings
Cocktails
Cantonese Lobster
Citrus Semifreddo
Five Spice Pumpkin Doughnuts
Asian Green Stir Fry

Buddakan NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Chinese
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Chinese
Manhattan
1 More
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Meatpacking District ›

Special Occasion (406)
Hot Spot (318)
Good for Groups (310)
See All
Fit for Foodies (289)
Romantic (258)
Vibrant Bar Scene (206)
Late-night Find (133)
Neighborhood Gem (91)
Creative Cuisine (90)
Good for a Date (84)
Modern Decor (74)
Notable Wine List (65)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Fun (47)
Tasting Menu (34)
Scenic View (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Business Meals (30)
Great for Lunch (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Authentic (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Cozy (21)
People Watching (18)
Kid-friendly (18)
Outstanding Value (16)
Spicy (16)
Casual (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Family Style (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Tapas (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Private Room (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (4)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
7768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food here is always amazing .. I'm obses ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food here is always amazing .. I'm obsessed with the oxtail dumplings and salt and pepper sea bass!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From beginning to end simply amazing gre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

From beginning to end simply amazing great service even better food my fav place in NYC !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience - we loved it! The foo ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience - we loved it! The food was amazing and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had family over from Australia and wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had family over from Australia and wanted to take them somewhere special. The food and service was absolutely outstanding. A memorable night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our meal at Buddakan! The food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We loved our meal at Buddakan! The food and drinks were exceptional! The Dim-Sum Tasting for 2 and the Bread Pudding were phenomenal. Great drink selections as well. Overall, I would return to Buddakan for another great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Budakahn is a great experience in New Yo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Budakahn is a great experience in New York dining and an even better spot to take friends and family, the wait staff are always super friendly.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Booked in for 8pm. Not seated untill 8:3 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Booked in for 8pm. Not seated untill 8:30pm (advised the 6:30 table was over running and they'll move them on) Ordered and ate a starter + main, then pushed out of the door by 09:15pm. Staff could not have cared less, just wanted to turn the table round for next booking at 09:30pm. My partner is pregnant and we asked the bar staff which non-alcoholic cocktails they did, he couldn't answer. We did ask for a Virgin Mary which was average at best.

Food was super basic and felt out dated, if you like Chinese Cooking Salt (MSG) then these are the chefs for you. I was so dehydrated after this meal I thought I'd eaten a dominos pizza. We ordered dumplings, then steak and fish, it was nice but plain. If you own a quality steel pan then you could replicate the mains easily. The chefs lack of imagination coupled with the awful service made this place really terrible.

In total, we paid around 160 dollars, for 3 plates and 3 drinks consumed over 45 minutes. So yeah, 3.50 a minute to be extremely disappointed and treated like dirt.

Coming away it seems the only good thing to say is the fact we've eaten in Buddakan. Honestly, nothing else. If It wasn't for Carrie this place would be long gone.

You can get so much more in this city for so much less.

Buddakan is a real disappointment.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Although a bit of a delay waiting for ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Although a bit of a delay waiting for our pre dinner drinks at the bar and then being seated at our table, the rest of evening was very enjoyable. The food was beautifully presented, delicious and served in a timely manner. Our waiter, Ben, was exceptional and made our night with his help and understanding of the menu, his attentiveness and very pleasant manner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Restaurant came highly recommended and I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Restaurant came highly recommended and I booked for a small group of friends. Menu was extensive and creative, food was superb, great to share and fair value. Waitstaff were knowledgable, made good recommendations and reasonably attentive. Venue was classy and hip and everyone in our party had a great time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing meal at Buddakan, couldn't fault ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Amazing meal at Buddakan, couldn't fault it. The service was exceptional from our waitress Alyson and the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Buddah was smiling upon us the entire ev ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Buddah was smiling upon us the entire evening

great service and food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, group of 5, everything was perf ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Amazing, group of 5, everything was perfect. Best taste of my life

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very dark and trendy. Far too cold. Very ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Very dark and trendy. Far too cold. Very good service - which you'd expect for the price though. We spent $300 for two people (2 starter, 2 main, 2 sides, 1 dessert and wine). Only dish that particularly stood out was the edamame dumplings. Probably not quite worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We did wait for a little bit but they to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We did wait for a little bit but they totally made it up to us! Our server Justin was the best waiter and also gave us complimentary dumplings due to the long wait. Also every time they brought our food out they made sure to tell exactly what it was and what sauce was too. I would recommend this place !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our experience in the Great Hall was mag ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our experience in the Great Hall was magical, only further bettered by the fact that Draco Malfoy was our server! And let me tell you, he got a bad rap in all the books! He could not have been more attentive or entertaining than if my house elf had gone to Weasley's Wizard Wheezes, took polyjuice potion and became Malfoy, and then gave us impeccable dining service. The food was delicious, appearing out of thin air and our goblets were never empty. Definitely worth a visit! Ask for Malfoy!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my birthday dinner and our waiter ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was my birthday dinner and our waiter made sure I felt very special. The food was amazing and the atmosphere, fun and energetic. We had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After years and years of Budican being o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

After years and years of Budican being our most favorite go to Restaurent Budican was disappointing 😟

Do not order the duck or the ribs

I doubt if we will return 😂

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Our favorite NYC restaurant year after y ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our favorite NYC restaurant year after year. Such a fun night out; very attentive service. Excellent wine and food is just heaven. Wonderful romantic night on the town. Love this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was soooo delicious and the service o ...

 
 (Berlin)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

it was soooo delicious and the service one of the best ever had!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely experience. I wished th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a lovely experience. I wished they had Pinot Grigio though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place! The food is always S ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I love this place! The food is always SUPERB!!! Make sure you make a reservation... it's always packed! Very lively!

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always really enjoy buddakan and we di ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I always really enjoy buddakan and we did this time too. The truffle dumplings, singapore chilli crab and spicy beef are my go-to's.All the food was very good except the Peking duck that was bland this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was low quality for what you paid, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was low quality for what you paid, I would rather takeaway Chinese for less than half the cost and better quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Always a great meal n time at buddakan s ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always a great meal n time at buddakan service was awesome n the food was amazing.. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noisy and chilly, food good but pretenti ...

 
 (Edinburgh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Noisy and chilly, food good but pretentious and expensive, form over substance. Service attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We enjoyed the food at this restaurant p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We enjoyed the food at this restaurant particularly the ribs, not your typical ribs though. We had a really lovely night, a family get-together. Atmosphere was wonderful although the music could have been quieter in the restaurant section. It was hard to hear on a table of 5. The bar was nice also. Felt like we were abut rushed through, a bit more time between servings would have been nice. Altogether though a very nice restaurant with beautiful food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Superb food. As good as anything in Lond ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Superb food. As good as anything in London. Service perfect. Ambience very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place the decoration is amazing an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great place the decoration is amazing and the ambience really welcoming. I planned my engagement dinner in this restaurant and I don't regret it. Awesome food, drinks and service made a great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food and service we have ever had! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Best food and service we have ever had! Next time we are in New York we'll be back for more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, food and ambiance. Woul ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Amazing service, food and ambiance. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food and attentive friendly. s ...

 
 (Rheinland Pfalz)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Fabulous food and attentive friendly. service. Think Ben was server.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fun, Modern Decor, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Heard this was a great restaurant from f ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Heard this was a great restaurant from fellow Australians! Lived up to expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The place looks great and the service wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The place looks great and the service was great and the food was good but we did not like waiting 30 minutes for a table we reservedin advance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful food in a very atmospheric pla ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Wonderful food in a very atmospheric place. Waiter very helpful. Would definitely go again . Can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dim Sum for 2 appetizer was a great choi ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Dim Sum for 2 appetizer was a great choice. Waiter recommended a great Riesling and a delicious dark chocolate dessert. Jumbo shrimp was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were on our honeymoon from Australia ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We were on our honeymoon from Australia and experienced the most incredible service and food. Our server was one of the best we have ever met or encountered in our travels across the world. She is a true rare gem and we will keep coming back based on her service alone. The food......

Well that's just out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Buddakan. Beautiful place, sple ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We loved Buddakan. Beautiful place, splendid service and very original menu. Great value!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this stunning place. It was just a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Loved this stunning place. It was just an amazing adventure for us. Excellent!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At the beginning I was hesitant about go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

At the beginning I was hesitant about going to Buddakkan. Especially since I have never heard of it before.

But my assistant had booked it for my dinner meeting, and it turn out to be a great surprise.

Food were great, and service were just as great.

I would certainly be recommending this restaurant to my colleagues.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.