About Buddakan NY

75 9th Ave
New York, NY 10011
View Larger Map

The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 989-2245

Website:
http://www.buddakannyc.com/

Public Transit:
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Yang Huang & Brian Ray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Edamame Dumplings
Shrimp & Lobster Chow Fun
Crying Chocolate
spicy yellowtail yu sheng with smoked chili and pineapple #nyc #buddakan #bday #app #dinner ie  gasm topia porn
Dim Sum Sampler
Tuna Tartare Spring Rolls
Hoisin Glazed Pork Belly
Tranquility Cocktail
black pepper beef
Chili Rock Shrimp
Spiced Tofu & Cashews
Chocolate Pistachio Cremoso
Glazed Alaskan Black Cod
Pork Potstickers
Fate Cocktail
Charred Filet Of Beef
Sizzling Short Rib
Kung Pao Monkfish
Deviled Tuna Tartare
Spicy Yellowtail Yu Sheng With Smoked Chili And Pineapple
Dungeness Crab Sticky Rice
Oxtail Dumplings- Sweet Soy, Lemongrass Broth
Vegetable Fried Rice
Green Tea Doughnuts
Broken Chili Chicken
Sizzling Short Ribs
Solid
Murrieta's Well "The Whip"
Charm
royal tokaji
Bright
Scallion Pancakes
Minced Pork Lo Mein
King crab hot pot
Molton Chocolate Cake
Dim Sum
Jade Shrimp Dumplings
Chilled Udon Noodles
Punch
Tuna Tartare
Blueberry Tofu Cheesecake
Steak
stir fried beef
Chili Chicken
Ribeye Steak
Chocolate
Singapore Noodles
King Crab & Lobster Siu Mai Dim Sum
Szechuan Beef Carpaccio
Green beans
Rock Shrimps
Sea bass
Xiaolongbao
Duck and dungeoness crab roll
Dessert
Apple Tartine With Rice Flavored Ice Cream
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Bread Pudding
Duck Salad With A Poached Egg.
Peking Duck
Bo Bo Plate
Singapore Chili  King Crab
steamed sea bass dumplings
Warm Almond Bread Pudding With Whiskey Ice Cream
Clementine Cloud
Mushroom & Sugar Snap Siu Mei
Coconut Donut
Sugar Snap Peas
Black Bean Silken Tofu
Beef Tartare
Malted Vanilla Pepita Toffee Ice Cream
Rock Shrimp
Banana Almond Cake
Seared Pork Dumpling
Hot & Sour Scallops
Beef Ribs
Steamed Pork Bun
Carrot Dumpling
Beef Lettuce Cups
Sesame Shrimp Toast
Vegetable Rice
Chinese Sausage Fried Rice
Ginger Glazed Lobster
Haze Cocktail
Crispy Calamari Salad
Peking Duck Spring Rolls
Warm Chocolate Ganache
Pork Belly & Steamed Buns
Kobe Beef
General Tso's Dumplings
Spicey Yellowtail
Asian Barbeque Pork
Edamame Dumplings- Black Truffle, Shallot-Sauternes Broth
Chilled Udon Noodles- Lime Sorbet, Peanut Sauce
Dungeness Crab Sticky Rice- X.O. Sauce, Chinese Broccoli
Crying Chocolate- Malted Chocolate Ganache, Milk Caramel, Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream
Lobster Dumplings
Cocktails
Cantonese Lobster
Citrus Semifreddo

Buddakan NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Chinese
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Chinese
Manhattan
1 More
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Meatpacking District ›

Special Occasion (529)
Hot Spot (438)
Good for Groups (423)
See All
Fit for Foodies (395)
Romantic (310)
Vibrant Bar Scene (276)
Late-night Find (196)
Neighborhood Gem (112)
Notable Wine List (78)
Scenic View (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Great for Lunch (29)
Kid-friendly (20)
Great for Brunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
7630 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

40 min wait for a reservation for a tabl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

40 min wait for a reservation for a table of 9 on Monday night, and no apology. Our seater didn't even know we were waiting 40 min. Come on guys! Otherwise, the good and service were amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, wait staff very knowledg ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great, wait staff very knowledgable, friendly and appeared to really like what they are doing

Pork bellies were great and the Singapore was a better version of the original messy task of separating crab meat from crab, covered in sauce.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upscale modern Chinese in a stunning and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Upscale modern Chinese in a stunning and energetic setting.

Food-wise, a truly stimulating experience not to be missed.

The main downside for me is that the even with a reservation you are often asked to wait at the bar (which is great) and then you have to wait for a server to pick you up and bring you to the table. On multiple occasions, this led to long waits and the general sensation of being not taken care of properly by the staff.

Service at the table has varied from amazing (knowledgeable friendly staff) to pretty bad (monosyllabic answers from the server to very legitimate requests).

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

It was really great: the location, the d ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was really great: the location, the dinner, the waiter, the wine, everything. But it really was too loud, much too loud

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had such a great time. The food, the d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

I had such a great time. The food, the decor, the vibe...all of it was great

I would definitely do it again

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I returned to Buddakan with a group of f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

I returned to Buddakan with a group of friends after a long hiatus and it was ever better than I remembered! The ambience, the food, the drinks and the service are all top notch. The restaurant experience was even better this time than I remembered from my last visit and I couldn't have been more thrilled to bring my friends to celebrate my birthday in such a lively environment. The Atlantic Black Cod was OUTSTANDING and possibly the best fish dish I've ever had in my life!

Thank you for making our NYC birthday trip so memorable!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, People Watching, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really liked the atmosphere of this r ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

We really liked the atmosphere of this restaurant and the food was excellent. Buddakan is our new favorite Asian eatery in New York with a good wait staff and a lively bar. We'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved it! Buddakan is a loud, lively NY ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Loved it! Buddakan is a loud, lively NY scene. Great food, terrific service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Mainly Asian food. Very good din sum ap ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Mainly Asian food. Very good din sum appetiser. Good food and tasty. Good service. A little bit too dark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was perfect. Especially the J ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was perfect. Especially the Justin! He was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent !!! Really enjoy

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent !!! Really enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My 3rd time back in the last few years a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My 3rd time back in the last few years and it never disappoints. Food was beautiful as always. The dim sum tasting plate was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came to the restuarnt after they have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We came to the restuarnt after they have told us our recervation was canceled.

We waited almost an hour for our table.

It was cold dark and loud music.

In addition the dishes was very small but pricey...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

We've been a few times now and what is v ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We've been a few times now and what is very annoying is that no matter if you're on time, late or early for your reservations they ask you to get a drink and wait in the very noisy bar Tobe seated. Then after we were seated we ordered apps and entrees and didn't receive our entrees for an hour! No one really checked on us in the meantime, explained the delay or apologized. This was on a Tuesday, so no real reason for the delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Awesome experience. Service was A+

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Awesome experience. Service was A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic cuisine

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Authentic cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Chinese food we've tried in New Yor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Best Chinese food we've tried in New York

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiting over 30 mins for table even thou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Waiting over 30 mins for table even though booked a month ago. First table was so close to bar asked to be moved. Service was way too quick felt we were at a fast food store rather than an expensive restaurant. And yes it was expensive. No value for money. Not likely to recommend. Found other NYC restaurants of better quality and they were 5 star and acted 5 star

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Was situation off the main dinning room ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Was situation off the main dinning room at the secondary bar in the basement. Food is below average compare to most of the Chinese cuisine or fusion Asian food. The wide noodle tastes horrible and wet. The edamame dumpling is not that tasty. The vegetarian dishes is nothing special. The only dish I like was the black cod.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The food was delicious. I felt the serve ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was delicious. I felt the server could not wait for us to leave and gave us the bill and hovered around until we paid it. He was not friendly and did not introduce himself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food but very loud/noisy! More of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food but very loud/noisy! More of eating fine dinner at a club. And very dark, couldn't see food too clear. Needs more lighting.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved the entire experience at Buddakan! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loved the entire experience at Buddakan! We took our 3 teenagers there for dinner. They definitely love and appreciate a good meal. Dinner was outstanding. Veronique was our server and gave us some excellent recommendations. Would absolutely return! Best dinner in NYC to date and we are regulars in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great energy and clearly a hip place to ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great energy and clearly a hip place to dine. Our seating was a bit cramped but not uncomfortable to the extent that we would ask to be re-seated. The menu is quite diverse and we were able to taste quite a number of dishes with their tasting menu. Definitely a must try!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great food and great service the only do ...

 
 (Berkshire)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and great service the only downside was the restaurant was very dark and noisy so it was difficult to talk with your others at your table.

Tags: Group Bookings, Neighbourhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

From the staff to the food this was hand ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

From the staff to the food this was hands down one of the best dining experiences I have had in quite some time. I will highly recommend to anyone living in or visiting NY to go to Buddakan for a truly classy and all around superior/chic NY night out. It's a can't miss!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was awesome with a real NY ci ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Restaurant was awesome with a real NY city vibe. And delicious food! Will definitely go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience. The food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding dining experience. The food , service and atmosphere was on prenominal! I can not wait to go there again!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!! A must go to, food drinks sta ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Amazing!!! A must go to, food drinks staff atmosphere, one of of favourite spot in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant!!! I can't wait for ano ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great restaurant!!! I can't wait for another date night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I was visiting from Australia with a fri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I was visiting from Australia with a friend and booked Buddakan for my birthday dinner.

Our waitress was fantastic and very knowledgeable re the menu.

Our food was exquisite and we had a really enjoyable night.

It definitely met our expectations, thank you so much.

I will be returning on my next visit and will be referring all my friends to do the same!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Scenic View, Fun, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and super awesome dining ex ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing food and super awesome dining experience.

The food here is so tasty and delicious. Feels like they handpick ther ingredients.

The servers explain u so well about each dish that gives u an idea what's gonna come.

Tags: Romance, Neighbourhood Gem, Special Occasions, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty average sorry. Food nothing speci ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Pretty average sorry. Food nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Best food ever!!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Best food ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. I truly enjo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent food and service. I truly enjoyed the char-grilled filet mignon. Buddakan at its best is an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I really expected more from the food. It ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I really expected more from the food. It lacked taste and was just not worth the money. Won't be visiting again anytime soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Awesome experience with two toddlers in ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Awesome experience with two toddlers in tow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my absolute faves in the city, al ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

One of my absolute faves in the city, always a go to restaurant, even eating alone at the bar or going with a group of girl friends, or my husband, with or without kids!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is very good. But it is overly ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food is very good. But it is overly air conditioned and very loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

I've been to the restaurant a few times ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I've been to the restaurant a few times and I always have an amazing. Great food and amazing drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While overall I like the experience, we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

While overall I like the experience, we were kept waiting for a table for about 15 minutes even though we had a reservation. This was surprising since there appeared to be a number of empty tables.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.