Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Buddakan NY

The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan
combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.

75 9th Ave
New York, NY 10011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Chinese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Monday & Tuesday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 12:00am
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
16th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 989-2245

Website:
http://www.buddakannyc.com/

Public Transit:
A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.

Executive Chef:
Yang Huang & Brian Ray

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining with bar for 45 seated guests, 60 standing.
Private dining for 60 seated guests, 100 standing.
Exclusive private dining for 300 seated guests, 550 standing.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Cook: (212) 989-4180

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (265)
Good for a Date (252)
Hot Spot (233)
See All
Creative Cuisine (229)
Good for Groups (207)
Good for Birthdays (195)
Romantic (180)
Fun (169)
Vibrant Bar Scene (164)
Fit for Foodies (160)
Good for Anniversaries (159)
Handcrafted Cocktails (109)
People Watching (108)
Modern Decor (108)
Tasting Menu (106)
Late-night Find (81)
Business Meals (64)
Worth the Drive (63)
Bar Seating (59)
Authentic (57)
Cozy (55)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Pre/post Theatre (46)
Family Style (46)
Notable Wine List (46)
Spicy (44)
Casual (35)
Good Vegetarian Options (35)
Tapas (33)
Happy Hour (29)
Scenic View (27)
Comfort Food (25)
Healthy (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Great for Lunch (20)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Paleo Friendly (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Private Room (9)
Seasonal (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Historic (7)
Vegan (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Organic (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Live Music (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Live Sports (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fireplace (2)
Dancing (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
9425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I'm disappointed in the level of service that I've come to expect at such an iconic establishment. Though we had a reservation we were delayed being seated by at least 10 minutes (for a late evening reservation on a Monday), then were offered a table hidden in the back. I found this to be offense as it appeared racially determined (my friends are Jamaican and they tried seating up next to other black men in the back of the restaurant).
However, the manager did rectify the table situation after speaking to him.
On the plus side our server was friendly, and attentive for the most part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

I've eaten at Buddakan 5 times now. It keeps getting better with every visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Fuimos atendidos por Susana y fue lo máximo en amabilidad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Österreich)·Dined 3 days ago

Great atmosphere. Service was ok. Food good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Brian was very attentive & gave us great confidence regarding the Cook's preparation of food for guests who are Coeliac.
Many thanks, Richard

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Increíble!!!! Visita y cena obligada. Un sitio único!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Good service, beautiful people in a beautiful restaurant. Be prepared to spend for the experience. The filet dish was excellent, as were the desserts. One star less for service after our waiter forgot our broccoli side dish.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best meals we've ever had! The food, ambience, and service were superb. The edamame dumplings were life changing. We ordered a 2nd helping. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious! Service was very slow and not a busy night....we were there around midnight. Tea smoked ribs and lobster spring rolls were great. Would go back again!!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Anazing service by a venezuelan chinesse waiter!!!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Buddakan is everything you want it to be - chic music and ambiance, very sex and the city - and the food is out of this world. Totally worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place! Awesome decor and ambiance! The best service! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Upbeat atmosphere with great food and service! A new favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was absolutely excellent but the noise terrible. Why such cheap, horribel and loud sound with this lovely food?

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, service and ambiance. Can't get enough of Buddakan! The yellow tail, rock shrimp, crab fried rice and monkfish are excellent! I would highly recommend them.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The AC was blasted!!! We were frozen while we eat. Food is excellent yes!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

service was wonderful. food was out of this world! will definitely come back here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Terrible!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

You go for the trendy NYC bar seen and people watch. Pricey but it is New York. Food was good, restaurant was bustling and loud.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome place great food phenomenal experience! Celebrates my loves Birthday and it more then I expected. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and beautiful restaurant. A bit too noisy but a lot of restaurants in New York are so nothing that cannot be expected. Definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

I was traveling to NYC for a meeting and a friend suggested we try Buddakan for dinner. I had no expectations for the meal but was most pleasantly pleased with the menu, service and the food. We shared the Edamame Dumplings and the Lobster Egg Rolls for appetizers. They were both very good. We also shared the Glazed Alaskan Black Cod which was excellent and paired it with three sides: Asian Green Stir Fry (very good), Spiced Tofu and Cashews (excellent) and Cauliflower Stir Fry (good, but I would order something different next time). The overall meal, service and atmosphere was great and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to NYC or who lives there!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Service poor. Lot of staff walking around but not being effective to look after the customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

I absolutely love this place, it is one of my favorite restaurants. Every dish is distinct and the food is very tasty!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Excellent !!! Food, service, ambience ...everything was perfect !!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Tasty food!!! Awesome service!!! A bit noisy, but worth a visit!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Spicy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Terrible food - edamame dumplings were the worst we have ever tasted. This should have a zero rating and I would not recommend it ever to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Always a classic in my book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We have never been disappointed! Always great food and service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Tuvimos que devolver platos, el chef no estaba inspirado ese día. Hermoso lugar pero la comida dejo muchas de que hablar

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our waitress was outstanding . Two people in our group are dieting and she was extremely accommodating. The chef was able to modify the foods our our diets and still make them taste delicious.
Always a great place to go to.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

the girl that taked us order was wonderful, other waiters (guys) awful.
too much noisy

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My waiter was amazing, he gave great suggestions and we enjoyed them all. The bar tenders were not as friendly as in my past visits. I asked a bartender during the end of the evening to take a photo of me and my date and she was very standoffish and rude. In the past I've experienced nothing but positive energy from the staff at this restaurant so I was a bit turned off. But overall another great experience at Buddakan.

Tags: Fun, Spicy, Good for Groups, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Buddakan is by far one of the best restaurants in NYC!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excelent food and service but definitively too noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had a fabulous meal here. Service was excellent. Stunning restaurant...definitely will be recommending to friends!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Buddakan was nothing short of amazing. The service was impeccable. I attended on a Saturday night with girlfriends celebrating my bachelorette weekend. The service was flawless, the food was to die far, the scene and atmosphere doesn't get any better in NYC. This place completely lives up to its reputation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent Asian fusion food in Chelsea. Portions are generous. Everything we ordered was fabulous. Alaskan black cod was phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service. Very attentive. The waitress gave us excellent suggestions on what to order. The food was prepared beautifully and truly an exceptional meal. We had an early dinner at 6 o'clock and the room was excellent. Will be be returning

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Was my second visit, I´ll be back again!!! Good food, good wine, good service. Love it!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.