Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Buddakan - Atlantic City

Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail.
Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.

1 Atlantic Ocean
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Mon – Thurs
Lunch 12noon – 3:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Fri and Sat
Dinner All Day 12noon – 11:00pm

Sunday
Dinner all day 12noon – 10:00pm

Happy Hour Sunday through Friday 3:00pm until 6:00pm (in the bar area only)


**HOLIDAY HOURS**
Christmas Eve: Dinner Only, Served 12pm-10pm
Christmas Day: Dinner Only, Served 5pm-10pm
New Year's Day: Dinner All Day, Served 12pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Arkansas & Boardwalk

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 674-0100

Website:
http://www.buddakanac.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at 215.923.2675.

Parking Details:
Please Park in the Caesars Parking Lot. We provide $ 5 parking vouchers.

Executive Chef:
Nery Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Cara Rice: (609) 271-0549

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (84)
Good for a Date (83)
Creative Cuisine (77)
See All
Good for Birthdays (72)
Good for Groups (68)
Romantic (67)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Worth the Drive (35)
Cozy (34)
Fun (33)
Authentic (33)
Hot Spot (30)
Tasting Menu (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Casual (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Business Meals (13)
Family Style (13)
People Watching (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Tapas (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Scenic View (7)
Waterfront (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Spicy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vegan (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
3942 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Our server was top notch. Forget his name. Bald & full of humor. Never waited for a drink & very insightful about the menu!! One of my favorite restaurants!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Every time we are in Atlantic City we make it a point to go to Buddhakan. Our waitress was fantastic and very knowledgeable of the menu. We had the tasting menu and they were able to accommodate food allergies for our group. The food is simply amazing and it is a hidden gem in the Pier Shops. This is a must if you are in Atlantic City.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

When in the area, we always stop in! One of our all time faves!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

We loved everything. Service was excellent. Food as always was cooked to perfection. The menu offered a vast variety of choices. We would definitely recommend it

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful dinner at Buddakan. The food was delicious as always and service was exceptional. We were seated upstairs for the first time and it simply lacks the ambiance of the main floor. We were hoping at least it would be quieter to allow for nice conversation. However, they hosted a large party upstairs and people were standing around us and making lots of noise while they gathered. Recognizing the intrusion, the manager offered complementary deserts in which we indulged and they were superb! Overall, it was a very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We have never had a bad meal at Buddakan. It was very crowded and a little noisy, but our service was good, and most importantly you can get a consistently good meal here. It's a little pricey, but the knowledge that the food is always going to be excellent is worth it.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We've also been to their NYC location, and both were excellent!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We arrived on time and our table was ready. We had some unexpected guest for dinner and the staff readily accommodated a table size increase to 4 people. Food was excellently prepared and we were rushed. Everything we had was delicious. Been to the ones in Philadelphia and Paris. Would recommended this restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food, great service. Great drinks. I had edamame raviolis and tofu with cashews and my significant other had the shrimp pad Thai. I enjoyed all of my food but his tasted a little strange.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful dining experience. Try the taster menu if it's your first time there. Tons of food at a great value. Every course better than the last. Service impeccable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food is exceptional and unique as the eating style-solid five-star restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Never disappointed
Will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was excellent. Our server was extremely helpful. We have been to Buddakan several times and it is always delicious. The general manager Mark came by our table and it was a pleasure speaking with him. Will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The only downside is that the restaurant was very dark. I wish they had more lighting. This is not being said to deter anyone from going, just make sure you have a light on your phone. It was a great meal

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food is good but overpriced. Good for celebrating a birthday or other special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Was very nice! We all had a great time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food is a bit pricey but it is a very nice special occasion restaurant. Servers are always friendly & I love the atmosphere.

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Beautiful dining experience for a special occasion. We were lucky to have one of the tables with a light overhead--some tables are very dark.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 13, 2017

3 different dim sums and a main course for 3 and it came to $200 with tax. Insanely overpriced. Service was excellent and the good was better than average I would not bother going again as there are better choices in Atlantic City for far less money

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

It's dark in there but the food is so good you notice after a while

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Second visit. Good experience with variety of tastes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always wonderful.... We decided to do the tasting menu for two. We substituted the cashew chicken for the sea bass.. We are not fish people. Everything was delicious. Endame raviolis are so delish.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Have eaten there many times trying different items and the menu changes always different and always good

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We specifically came to Buddakhan Atlantic City to celebrate my son's 26 th birthday. Absolutely fabulous ! We had the chefs tasting menu which is beyond outstanding! Yes it's pricey. BUT, the food is phenomenal , service outstanding, and I consider it such a treat. Of course , you can order off the menu which would cost less, but the tasting menu is so good there's value. My favorite place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The food was excellent. Presentation flavor heat all good. The waiter was a bit unfriendly. He was efficeint , but seemed a liitle put off. Very quiet and private area for 6 of us.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Delicious tasty food
Nice atmosphere
Friendly wait staff

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

everything from service..suggestions.appetizers drinks ..meal n dessert were outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Amazing, delicious food! Very recommend!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Came with group service was prompt and knowledgeable.
Was very dark was only complaint

Tags: Healthy, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

After making reservations 6 was in advance, we were told to go to the bar and wait 20 minutes. This is typical of this restUrant event though 5 tables were visibly empty.
Then we were dragged to the far corner of the restaurant to be seated in a drab corner adjacent to the kitchen with a table of 10 anad whining 1 yr old next to us.
Not what we dressed up for to plan a romantic dinner in a dark corner with no view. Food was good and the saving grace of the lost evening.
Highly offended at the lack of attention by the hostess and Mgmt
Doubt we would return.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our waiter was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We are frequent visitors to Buddakan in Atlantic City and have been coming for years. I have four teenage kids and this is one of their favorite spots. The food is served family style which works well for our family. The food is also very interesting and unique and is very consistent every time we go. The only negative is that this restaurant is in Atlantic City which feels like a dying city and doesn't have the excitement that it once had. The people that work here are all great and really work hard to make sure that your every need is taken care of. Overall I would recommend this place but don't plan on walking around before or after dinner as the surrounding community unfortunately has little to offer anymore.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We come here for family celebrations every year. Waitress was rather short with us in explaining changes to tasting menu, when previous visits to the restaurant were very accommodating. Food was good, but Asian Caesar salad lost some of its "Kick" . We appreciated that our request for a booth round table was honored. Desserts were great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The service was excellent. The reality is that you are paying for the ambiance. However the food is solid and you really can't go wrong dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent food particularly the appetizers, service was very good, great place for sharing food and the restaurant culture encourages that. Even though the ambience was overall very good, it was a bit too dark to read the menu but we will certainly go there again.
Edamame Ravioli was amazing and also loved Spicy Rock Shrimp Bao Buns
Our friend ordered Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon with sweet potato mash & loved it, we take seafood but not meat so tried the potato mash and the flavors were out of this world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We spent an evening here for our anniversary, and we both agreed that it was the best food we have had in a long time. The edamame ravioli was phenomenal. The hamachi sashimi was flavorful and fresh. Amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We had a great experience again. Jordan was very attentive and exceeded our expectations. He knew the whole menu and made some great food and beverage suggestions. We always eat at Budakkan when we're in Atlantic City because they never disappoint us. We'll be back again next year!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious. Service was great. Decoration and ambiance was spectacular.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious. We got the tuna spring rolls and steamed edemame for appetizers, only wish there was more than 3 spring rolls, they were amazing! My boyfriend got the cashew chicken and I got the 5 spice duck, both were cooked perfectly and truly enjoyed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.