About Buddakan - Atlantic City

1 Atlantic Ocean
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail.
Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Mon – Thurs
Lunch 12noon – 3:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Fri and Sat
Dinner All Day 12noon – 11:00pm

Sunday
Dinner all day 12noon – 10:00pm

Happy Hour Sunday through Friday 3:00pm until 6:00pm (in the bar area only)


**HOLIDAY HOURS**
Christmas Eve: Dinner Only, Served 12pm-10pm
Christmas Day: Dinner Only, Served 5pm-10pm
New Year's Day: Dinner All Day, Served 12pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Arkansas & Boardwalk

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 674-0100

Website:
http://www.buddakanac.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at 215.923.2675.

Parking Details:
Please Park in the Caesars Parking Lot. We provide $ 5 parking vouchers.

Executive Chef:
Nery Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Cara Rice: 609-271-0549 x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scorpion Sucker - Buddakan - Atlantic City, Atlantic City, NJ
Scorpion Sucker - Buddakan - Atlantic City, Atlantic City, NJ

Buddakan - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
5 More
Best Overall
Atlantic City
Best Food
Atlantic City
Best Service
Atlantic City
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City
Most Booked
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

Special Occasion (77)
Romantic (58)
Fit for Foodies (51)
See All
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Groups (46)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Hot Spot (31)
Tasting Menu (25)
Fun (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Modern Decor (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Business Meals (15)
Authentic (15)
Cozy (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Family Style (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Late-night Find (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Scenic View (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Private Room (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Casual (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Tapas (6)
Spicy (6)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Waterfront (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Dancing (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
3373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and wait staff was excellent; you g ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and wait staff was excellent; you get what you pay for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always will return. Excellent food and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

Always will return. Excellent food and service. Happy hour is the best.

Tags: Private Room, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely atmosphere! Our server was very p ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Lovely atmosphere! Our server was very pleasant recommding menu items to try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd dinner at Buddakan in t ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was our 3rd dinner at Buddakan in the last 3 months and all 3 were memorable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday gift was a wonderful touch!!!!! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Birthday gift was a wonderful touch!!!!! It made it a more special evening!!

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to Buddakan a few times and I ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I've been to Buddakan a few times and I keep gong back. Their food is very tasty and the service is exceptional. This time I went for lunch and had numerous appetizers. My favorite was the Spring rolls - they were super tasty and the dipping mustard was uniquely delightful. Of course we ended the meal with the best dessert of all - the doughnuts with dipping sauce. I Highly recommend a visit to The Buddakan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and atmosphere.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff went above and beyond! I ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The wait staff went above and beyond! I selected a cocktail and the server asked me if I really liked one of the ingredients - it's quite strong. I ordered anyway and it turned out that I didn't like it very much. He asked if I would like a replacement beverage, even though he warned me. Later in the meal another server asked if I didn't care for the chocolate ice cream that was served with my creme brulee. I told him that I can't eat chocolate. He took away the plate and returned with a small dish of vanilla ice cream a little later. Excellent meal and very attentive waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, better than expected! Everyt ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

As always, better than expected! Everything was awesome.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a group of girl friends ... Th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went with a group of girl friends ... The ambiance is my most favorite part. Food was amazing and everyone out of 9 people enjoyed their meal, was fun to share some family style. Drinks were delicious. I would highly recommend!

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding on all levels....Hubby and I ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Outstanding on all levels....Hubby and I partook of the $60.00 tasing menu and it was divine.....The desserts are incredible.. Service is excellent and professional.......And the Buddha is there!! What more could you ask for???!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have returned here with a business group ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Have returned here with a business group for dinner as the food is always excellent and the service impeccable. Full bar and wine list is a plus. Enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Me and my girlfriend did the tasting for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Me and my girlfriend did the tasting for two. The food was very good, and the service was very attentive. Was a 1st class dining experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service and excellent food. O ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent service and excellent food. Ordered Asian Caesar salad as first course....small was enough to comfortably feed 4 people. Very unique flavors!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent! Service was in ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was excellent! Service was informative & very nice. Chilean Sea Bass, Calamari Salad, & Tuna Spring Rolls were amazing. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable thursday night dinner for ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Very enjoyable thursday night dinner for the 3 of us. Drinks, apps and dinner all excellent. Thanks for the great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Buddakan was great. Food was delicious. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Buddakan was great. Food was delicious. I took my son there for his 24th birthday. We all had a great meal and enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rushed waiter service. No hostess at s ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Rushed waiter service. No hostess at stand for 3 minutes when we arrived. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Everything was simple amazing. It's a ra ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Everything was simple amazing. It's a rather pricey place, but trust me everything is worth the money spent there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wow. Every time I come here, which is ev ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wow. Every time I come here, which is every time I'm in Atlantic City, I make sure to come here. Amazing food and amazing service!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Family Style, Good for Groups, Authentic, Historic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Busdakan was a great restaurant! The atm ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Busdakan was a great restaurant! The atmosphere was nice and the food was different , plentiful and delicious. We had the special where you share appetizers and meals and desserts picked by chef!! Great value and lots of food!! Definitely recommend!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, and the service was ex ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was amazing, and the service was excellent. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was awesome and really provid ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our server was awesome and really provided a great experience. I'm regretful that I don't remember his name.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fried rice w/lobster & duck .. along w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Fried rice w/lobster & duck .. along w/spring rolls & black tea is the lunch we get all the time

Never look at a menu. This meal is the best.

Whenever we are in AC we come here because we know our lunch is luscious.

Really love this place..much better than the one near my home..8 blocks away in e Phila.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was on par.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The service was on par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The food was very good the atmosphere is ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was very good the atmosphere is very nice but it is a little pricey.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always great food and even better servic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always great food and even better service. Servers always have the best suggestions and are on top of their game. I only wish that it was easier to get to from the borgata. Well worth the $40 cab ride there and back or I guess driving and parking. Definitely a must visit if you're actually staying in the area

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a great time. Went on a Quiet ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 18, 2016

As always a great time. Went on a Quiet night and my date had never been there. She is still raving about the food. "The bar left something to be desired". I ordered Jack and coke, and I am a regular drinker of this. If a shot was in it I was lucky. Less coke more of a drink with what the drink prices were. Otherwise a Very nice evening

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good! Food left a lot to be ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Service was good! Food left a lot to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Amanda, manager and our server, Jennifer ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Amanda, manager and our server, Jennifer were great. The only problem I had (second time) was the carbonation for soda, it was not working. My only complaint is that they have such a small bar. On the weekends forget about it, no room. People are eating at the bar and that's it. Can't get close to the bar to order a drink and if you are that lucky you have no place to stand inside the bar. If that's my only complaint and you can work with that, then go and you will enjoy.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and great service. We have ex ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Good food and great service. We have excellent time.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful evening! Tried the tasting and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wonderful evening! Tried the tasting and they allowed us to swap in and out dishes! Incredible evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been here many times. Came for lun ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Have been here many times. Came for lunch time so ordered just two of my favorites, the tea smoked ribs and ponzu chicken. Both were awesome like usual.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinning experiences I ha ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

One of the best dinning experiences I have had in quit a while.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an outstanding and delicious dinn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had an outstanding and delicious dinner as always at buddakan AC. Our waitress was fabulous and presented us with complementary Champagne flutes to celebrate our recent engagement and start our dinner with. She knew the menu well and was not a pushy nor non-existing waitress. The Pork dumplings were a great first course and the sea bass and aged beef were cooked to perfection (and plates were licked clean!). The zen donuts were a sweet finish. We will absolutely be back soon!!!! Thanks buddakan!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant! Pork chops were to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very good restaurant! Pork chops were to die for! Will definitely be back once I am in the area!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Budak an is by far our new favorite rest ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Budak an is by far our new favorite restaurant. The service was amazing and the food was out of this world! If you are looking for a romantic or a really cool atmosphere to dine this is the place to be!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really love the AC location. Worth the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Really love the AC location. Worth the drive to visit in AC. Make a night of it, enjoy fabulous food and the casinos!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My first time to this restaurant and wou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2016

My first time to this restaurant and would recommend highly. Dined alone. Loved the scallops dish-so very flavorful! I ordered the curried cauliflower, which was full of delicious cashews. I had enough of both for my lunch the next day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.