Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Buddakan - Atlantic City

Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail.
Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.

1 Atlantic Ocean
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Mon – Thurs
Lunch 12noon – 3:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Fri and Sat
Dinner All Day 12noon – 11:00pm

Sunday
Dinner all day 12noon – 10:00pm

Happy Hour Sunday through Friday 3:00pm until 6:00pm (in the bar area only)


**HOLIDAY HOURS**
Christmas Eve: Dinner Only, Served 12pm-10pm
Christmas Day: Dinner Only, Served 5pm-10pm
New Year's Day: Dinner All Day, Served 12pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Arkansas & Boardwalk

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 674-0100

Website:
http://www.buddakanac.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at 215.923.2675.

Parking Details:
Please Park in the Caesars Parking Lot. We provide $ 5 parking vouchers.

Executive Chef:
Nery Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Cara Rice: (609) 271-0549

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (96)
Good for a Date (89)
Creative Cuisine (80)
See All
Good for Birthdays (70)
Good for Groups (70)
Romantic (67)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Fun (38)
Worth the Drive (36)
Hot Spot (33)
Cozy (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Authentic (27)
Tasting Menu (27)
Casual (16)
Business Meals (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
People Watching (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Tapas (9)
Waterfront (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Spicy (8)
Scenic View (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
4020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service and outstanding food as always. One of my favorite places in Atlantic City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

This is my favorite spot in AC hands down!! Always on the money!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good and the service was excellent. Would go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was great. Good was delicious. Server was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We absolutely love Buddakan, we celebrate our anniversary here every year. This year, our 11th, had incredible service, perfect food, and all the bells and whistles.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Adelaide)·Dined 5 days ago

This place is much better in AC than Phila.

Duck is delicious. Lobster rice is one of the best dishes

Everything we ate didn't even need a menu get the same food each time we go...a few times a year

Lovely meal in beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The space still looks good. Food is good and several tasting menus were offered. Service seemed a little off.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

IT WAS A GREAT EXPERIENCE!!! THE AMBIENCE WAS GREAT!! THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT AS WELL AS OUR SERVER!!! THIS WAS A GREAT WAY TO SPEND OUR 3RD WEDDING ANNIVERSARY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2017

It was my 2nd time there, the 1st time was so much better. I am not sure what they are doing different from 2 years ago, but I thought the food was marginal. Definitely not worth the cost. Service was slow to come to the table and take our order.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food was fabulous and service was outstanding. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Beautiful place delicious food. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Buddekan is always one of my favorite restaurants during Miss America Week. We always must eat there at least once during the 6 or 7 days we are in Atlantic City.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was our second visit and it was excellent as was our previous visit. The food is delicious and the service excellent!! Will most definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our dinner here was delicious, must try the rock shrimp buns appetizer, dinner I had the black bean scallop, so good, my husband had the chicken and cashews, also very good. Service was fast, and friendly server. Will definitely be goin back , maybe tonight

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The ambiance was ruined by multiple people taking flash photos in the dining area, including one young couple who spent 10-15 minutes taking selfies in front of the big Buddha.

Dumplings and the Zen-gria were excellent, but the rest of the food was just meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I love coming to Budakan! Always Delicious!
Wish you still had the chocolate Bento box for dessert!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Love buddakan. Have eaten there several times in AC and phila. Overall was very good except for fatty ribs. That was a disappointment. Buddakan's blend of seasonings / ingredients is what makes it normally so delicious and different from many other restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Loved it! Food was excellent and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Good quality food & service great ambiance and considerate on the wallet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our server was the man.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had great service from our waitress who gave us excellent suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Enjoyable meal and the staff was very accommodating to our well behaved 3 year old

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This place never gets old, the serving sizes are big the food is fantastic and the attention from the staff is great. Highly recommend this dining experience. I think we were in an area called the opium den which was nice, quiet, and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Loved the ambiance and atmosphere! Excellent service! Food and drink are mediocre. I recommend the lamb chops, pork bell buns, and sesame cheesecake.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

This is a very special place with wonderful food. The chef creates some very special meals and I would strongly recommend it.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 30, 2017

My son & I on vacation !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Amazing service and food was spectacular. Those general tso dumplings, wow!!
Will done there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food! The waiter was exceptional and bent over backwards to make sure we were happy. It was a great night!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I've been to Buddakan several times for multiple occasions and so finally I decided to leave a review. My boyfriend and I came to celebrate our anniversary a few months early considering we were in the area and some of the food items are worth the $$. Our favorites are the Asian Caesar Salad, Rock Shrimp Bao Buns (to die for), and the Aged Beef. Only thing disappointing this time around was our server. She must have had friends stop by and most of her attention was on them. Other than that, great spot for an upscale romantic date, especially if you enjoy the lively ambience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I've been here a few times over the years and it's always great. It's a good place to go for groups or couples and the food and service are always excellent. We did a tasting menu for two this past visit for $60 each and it was well worth it. We each had a sample of 3 appetizers (chicken and ginger dumplings, edamame ravioli, and a shrimp spring roll), shared a large Asian Caesar salad, and shared 2 full sized entrees (wasabi filet and the sea bass) and a fried rice dish, followed by another sample of 3 desserts for each of us. It was enough to feed 3 hungry people easily. We were very hungry and could barely finish, but everything we had was amazing. Our server was excellent and they make great cocktails. It's very swanky with the dim lighting and light music playing and the huge Buddha statue when you walk in, but the vibe isn't too clubby or pretentious either. Fantastic place!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Bachelorette Party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

It is my favorite restaurant hands down in AC. Edamame ravioli are things dreams are made of .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great restaurant for any occassion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

beautiful restaurant with terrible vibes from hostess to waiter. We arrived about 5-10 mins late, but was extremely polite and apologetic. Hostess checked our names with a straight face and no acknowledgement accept to say "have a seat till the rest of your party arrives." When they arrived she walked us in without a word or smile. Which is fine, but if it were my restaurant I'd expect proper/ polite/ up beat greetings from all hostesses. We sat down with all the same thought which was "that felt rude". Minutes later, our waiter comes by with the same straight face to introduce himself. He comes check on us 2 more times looking agitated. Again, for an entire table to feel the same negative vibes, it must be true. Food comes out, gave us pad Thai instead of Lo Mien as requested. We confirmed with them which dish it was and waiter sounded irritated. We stuck with the dish and did not inquire much else the rest of the night except to respond when waiter came by the table to follow up. but the vibe was terrible. Food was on the ok. Of course there were some awesome waiters and hostesses who have helped us take photos. But our hostess and waiter in particular were not very nice.. not recommended for special occasions where excellent service is expected.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Service was beyond good. Sam was very attentive and very accommodating to out special diet needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 23, 2017

A mix of Asian inspired flavors and theme. Food was good, design of restaurant was interesting. Does get very loud.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Incredible tasting menu. Sam was perfect she was attentive but not intrusive. Appreciate acknowledgement of Anniversary too

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Was a very good meal .. with excellent cocktails.. our waiteress at first was all over us and on the ball .. idk what happen towards the end , but she went missing.. luckily the manager was quick to get our desert order and bill .. would deff go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Third visit-great food. Very enjoyable . Great staff.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.