About Buddakan - Atlantic City

Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail.
Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.

1 Atlantic Ocean
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Mon – Thurs
Lunch 12noon – 3:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Fri and Sat
Dinner All Day 12noon – 11:00pm

Sunday
Dinner all day 12noon – 10:00pm

Happy Hour Sunday through Friday 3:00pm until 6:00pm (in the bar area only)


**HOLIDAY HOURS**
Christmas Eve: Dinner Only, Served 12pm-10pm
Christmas Day: Dinner Only, Served 5pm-10pm
New Year's Day: Dinner All Day, Served 12pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Arkansas & Boardwalk

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 674-0100

Website:
http://www.buddakanac.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at 215.923.2675.

Parking Details:
Please Park in the Caesars Parking Lot. We provide $ 5 parking vouchers.

Executive Chef:
Nery Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Cara Rice: (609) 271-0549

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (56)
Creative Cuisine (47)
See All
Good for Groups (46)
Romantic (45)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Worth the Drive (30)
Tasting Menu (25)
Fun (24)
Modern Decor (22)
Cozy (21)
Family Style (18)
Authentic (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Business Meals (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Private Room (14)
Happy Hour (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Scenic View (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Waterfront (7)
Casual (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Spicy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
3726 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was excellent. They accommodated my s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 9 hours ago

It was excellent. They accommodated my seat request and remember to celebrate my wife bday with a free dessert. Food was perfect. Waiter was very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is always delicious food. Very rel ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

There is always delicious food. Very reliable in AC.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere was gorgeous. Food was de ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The atmosphere was gorgeous. Food was delicious. Would definitely return again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 1st time at Buddakan AC, it ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our 1st time at Buddakan AC, it was my girlfriends birthday. Our waiter Brian was amazing, great service, and also told very funny jokes! We frequent Buddakan in NYC so the food as always was excellent. 5 stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Buddakan for my birthday. On ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We went to Buddakan for my birthday. On a friday night the service was excellent the food was amazing and the atmosphere is out if this world. I will definitely recommend anyone visiting Atlantic CIty to try Buddakan.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

To begin this was my wife's birthday din ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

To begin this was my wife's birthday dinner. Reservation made followed up with the day before of a phone call to confirm reservation by a representative from the restaurant. When we arrived the hostess asked if we have been here before and it was our first time. Here to celebrate my wife's birthday. Then for this special occasion we have a special table for you. Table number 73. This is a closed table with a tent like feel of reddish orange drapery around you while you are sitting on very comfortable bench with numerous throw pillows for back support. Our waiter Paul was extremely helpful in helping make decisions for dinner. Since it was our first time he recommend the chefs dinner for two. The zen-gria was absolutely delicious. As one is not enough. (Recommend getting a pitcher.) The Japanese beer I went with was Kirin Light and was ice cold. (Supplied ice cold glass.) The chefs bento box had one spring roll, two dumplings, and one ravioli made with edema. The flavors used to make these was just the beginning of your taste buds opening up. Chef made an Asian style Caesar salad with cashews and a hint of ginger. Just another level up on Caesar salad to die for. The main course for two was a large bowl of fried rice, sea bass over stir fry, and filet mignon with wasabi mashed potatoes. Way too much food at this point. No problem there is no rush sit back recline on the bench sit and wait we are not done. Dessert is on it way. First a marble size peanut butter covered in chocolate topped with peanuts melts in your mouth. Second a brownie topped with raspberry crème, and lastly a mango pudding to savior your taste buds. But wait this was my wife's birthday, on a separate plate out comes a lite candle and a small heated box wrapped like a gift and when she opened up the box warm chocolate cake to enjoy. Green tea was a recommendation to go with dessert but you can do any of the great choices they have to order for after dinner drinks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Me and my significant other loved it her ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Me and my significant other loved it here. The customer service that we received from our waiter was great. It was out first time there so he helped us make a good choice on food decisions. They food was excellent and we definitely will be back here soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To be honest I can't say enough about ho ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

To be honest I can't say enough about how great my experience was at Buddakan AC. Our server Sean provided the best server experience I've ever had with a server at any establishment. He was extremely attentive but far from over bearing. We ordered pork dumplings as an appetizer (omg they were incredible), Kung pao monkfish and char grilled beef steak which were also nothing shy of phenomenal. I'd recommend this establishment to anyone. We will be coming back and hopefully soon. P.s. We had a drink called bonsai which was vodka, cilantro, lime which sounds simple but it is so damn amazing never had anything like it and I will be attempting to remake it myself. So refreshing so well made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always! Food was fresh and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful as always! Food was fresh and delicious. Service was fantastic! A++

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambiance. Great valentines menu. Am ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice ambiance. Great valentines menu. Amazing service!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Server was great! I ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was delicious. Server was great! I made a request for my special event and it was more than beautiful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, , Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect date night dinner with my boyfri ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Perfect date night dinner with my boyfriend! Our server was friendly, provided excellent menu recommendations, was very attentive and overall added to our pleasant experience. The food was fresh, light and delicious! And the Zen-Ful donuts for dessert, so amazing! We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been here many times and really lov ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Have been here many times and really love some of their food. Unfortunately, this time I tried the beef short ribs, which are relatively new on the menu and half of it was pretty chewy. I should have said something to the waiter, but didn't. The taste of the meal was good, especially the pasta under it. It was just disappointing that the meat didn't come out good and it ruined the meal for me.

The other items I had were delicious like usual: smoked tea ribs app, crispy shrimp app, and ponzu chicken entree. I will go back again for these like usual, but will steer clear of the short ribs unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food. Great for date night ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always great food. Great for date night or fun night out with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this restaurant. Food is always del ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love this restaurant. Food is always delicious. Consistently good. Great ambiance. Great place to go on a regular basis with family or for a date. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They never disappoint!...the food is alw ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

They never disappoint!...the food is always amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. The Chef's T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. The Chef's Tasting Menu is a must for first timers to get an essence of what Buddakan is all about. Cocktails are outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated a birthday with a very nice d ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Celebrated a birthday with a very nice dinner :)

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food.

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Awesome food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was incredible. With a storm that nev ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It was incredible. With a storm that never developed we had the place to ourselves

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant! Really like the family ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great restaurant! Really like the family style to be able to share and try different things.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the tasting menu and everything w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We had the tasting menu and everything was delicious! The potatoes were out of this world and the sea bass was amazing. Hopefully we will come back soon

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect, I really loved the food, especi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Perfect, I really loved the food, especially the filet. Staff was prompt and helpful. Will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were amazing I ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and the service were amazing I will definitely be going back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a must have everytime we come to ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is a must have everytime we come to AC, and this trip did not disappoint. Our seating request was easily accommodated and the service was excellent. The server was attentive and are glasses were never empty, whether it was water, wine, or cocktails. The food pacing was perfect as well and we would recommend the Sea Bass and Beef Nest everytime time! The more people you dine with the more delicious dishes you can try.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Came for my best friends birthday and we ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Came for my best friends birthday and we absolutely loved it our server Derek was delightful! It was beautiful and the food was amazing. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten there many times because the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Have eaten there many times because the service is always excellent. The decor is nice and the food is always great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Asian Fusion cuisine was prepared ni ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Asian Fusion cuisine was prepared nicely; very diverse menu. Sake list is the best I've seen. We visited mid-day on a Sunday, so it was not busy. Service was excellent, given that we were one of three parties dining.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great atmosphere and service was outstan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great atmosphere and service was outstanding. Food was excellent. We went for lunch and the menu was almost the same for dinner. Table ordered spring rolls, shrimp dumplings, mushroom potstickers, and edememe to start. All very good. For the entrees, table ordered shrimp lo mein, crab fried rice, pad Thai, and a chicken dish with Brussels sprouts. All were excellent and served somewhat family style. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is my new special occasion re ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This place is my new special occasion restaurant. The food was creative and authentic come visually appealing and delicious well the decor was unique and apealing. The wait staff were pleasant and patient with our orders as we were new to the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buddakan is my favorite restaurant...eve ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Buddakan is my favorite restaurant...every bite is delicious! Highly recommend it!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious! Great service. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was delicious! Great service. Would recommend this restaurant to a friend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

How did I not know about this place? I'v ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 24, 2017

How did I not know about this place? I've been travlling to AC once a year for 5 years and this never made my radar. I will definitely return. Everything was amazing - we had all of the items on the dim sum menu followed by shared entrees. Specialty cocktails were refreshing and excellent selection of wines by the glass. Service was perfect. It was quiet enough to carry on a conversation - hard to find these days!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always look forward to a great meal & be ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Always look forward to a great meal & beautiful atmosphere. Have never been dissappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great, portion sizes were j ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was great, portion sizes were just right for sharing. Room was very cozy and perfect for a date

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were there for my birthday! It was gr ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were there for my birthday! It was great for party of 11. Very good tuna tartar rolls! Amazing seabass!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Went here with some friends and the four ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went here with some friends and the four of us shared the tasting menu. My friend doesn't eat meat so we asked to change a couple of dishes, no problem . The waitress was a doll. The food was plentiful and just darn delish. A truly wonderful night was had by all.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm sorry I don't remember our servers. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I'm sorry I don't remember our servers. And but he was so friendly and responsive to our large loud group. We had a wonderful time and the food was awesome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Ambience was nice, did the tasting menu, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Ambience was nice, did the tasting menu, Asian Caesar salad was bizarre, I don't understand the choice of that. I would have preferred an Asian inspired vegetable salad like steamed bok choy or anything else. Entree was the highlight of the meal,we had filet and sea bass both were cooked to our liking. Service was prompt and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything in this restaurant was wonder ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Everything in this restaurant was wonderful. The attention to detail was there. The food was outstanding. We ordered 3 dishes. App was Chicken-ginger pot stickers...delish. A new addition to their menu(this was day 1 ) Short ribs, never tasted Short ribs that were this good!We also had cashew chicken, not to sweet(was in plum sauce) It complemented the dinner beautifully . We would definitely visit here again, when in AC.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.