About Buddakan - Atlantic City

1 Atlantic Ocean
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail.
Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Mon – Thurs
Lunch 12noon – 3:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Fri and Sat
Dinner All Day 12noon – 11:00pm

Sunday
Dinner all day 12noon – 10:00pm

Happy Hour Sunday through Friday 3:00pm until 6:00pm (in the bar area only)


**HOLIDAY HOURS**
Christmas Eve: Dinner Only, Served 12pm-10pm
Christmas Day: Dinner Only, Served 5pm-10pm
New Year's Day: Dinner All Day, Served 12pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Arkansas & Boardwalk

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 674-0100

Website:
http://www.buddakanac.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at 215.923.2675.

Parking Details:
Please Park in the Caesars Parking Lot. We provide $ 5 parking vouchers.

Executive Chef:
Nery Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Cara Rice: 609-271-0549 x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Buddakan - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
Atlantic City
4 More
Best Food
Atlantic City
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City
Most Booked
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

special occasion (196)
romantic (181)
fit for foodies (180)
See All
good for groups (156)
hot spot (90)
great for lunch (36)
late-night find (29)
notable wine list (22)
scenic view (20)
neighborhood gem (20)
great for brunch (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place! Food is always on point ...

Dined 3 days ago

Love this place! Food is always on point. Edamame ravioli is insane!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing all around from Dim sum through ...

Dined 5 days ago

Amazing all around from Dim sum through the desert! My only complaint is that it was hard to find.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great drinks and quick service. The cho ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great drinks and quick service. The chocolate birthday cake for my husband was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently spectacular. My favorite r ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Consistently spectacular. My favorite restaurant. Love everything about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pricey but wonderful food and service . ...

Dined 6 days ago

Pricey but wonderful food and service . Despite being a posh spot to eat, they graciously accomodated my children who range from baby to teen.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delish

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was delicious. Fried fried was so tasty. Romantic ambiance very very very dim lighting.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on May 19, 2016

We had the Chefs tasting menu. The food was amazing and a great value. We had a nice corner booth. Our waiter was very attentive and the manager brought us a class of champagne to toast our anniversary. Would highly recommend Buddakkan Atlantic City

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite experience here at Buddakan ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

My favorite experience here at Buddakan is the atmosphere ! It's amazing and the Decor is to die for ! A+++

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazingly good food and atmosphere. The ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Amazingly good food and atmosphere. The creme brûlée and the strawberry-lime cheesecake stole the show. I ate the wok cashew chicken and it was delicious. My boyfriend had the duck and he loved it. We had the beef satay as an appetizer and it surprisingly came with tempura veggies which were fantastic. Service was wonderful. It's on the pricier side, but the atmosphere, the variety of dishes, and the great service make it worth the money. Don't miss the opportunity to eat here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little hard to find. Otherwise, wonder ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

A little hard to find. Otherwise, wonderful staff, great food, accommodated by a comfortable seating arrangement

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It's always a pleasure going to Buddakan.

Dined on May 15, 2016

Whenever we go to Atlantic City we always eat there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply a fantastic evening. The food wa ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Simply a fantastic evening. The food was amazing and the service was top notch. The entire staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating to our every need. I will definitely be returning

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome atmosphere. Seabass, filet and ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Awesome atmosphere. Seabass, filet and beef were all excellent meals and big enough to share. Great drinks too.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time...awesome food and s ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a great time...awesome food and service

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tasting menu

Dined on May 14, 2016

A great value, and amazing food on the tasting menu. It is more than a taste- it's a meal with all the favorites Buddahkan has to offer. I get this every time, and it never disappoints. I usually have leftovers to take home

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Much too dark (had to use our cellphone ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Much too dark (had to use our cellphone flashlights) and explanation of tasting menu was quite confusing. So many servers not sure who to order what from. Lobster fried rice subpar for the $, rest was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Not cheap, but worth the pri ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food! Not cheap, but worth the price! Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Anniversary party with picky attendants

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were celebrating our 10 year anniversary and Shawn was our waiter for my party of 7. He was very patient and knowledgeable. He did flinch when my aunt asked if there were any kid's menus. (There aren't any.) The décor and atmosphere was beautiful, although my grandparents complained of how dark it was. It is very dark but a flash of your phone on the menu will solve that. The food was spectacular to look at and taste. My very picky family had nothing but good things to say about it. Shawn surprised us with champagne and cake. Thank you Buddakan for helping to make our night very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Had lunch here so many times, do not hav ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Had lunch here so many times, do not have to look at the menu Shared duck w/a friend and lobster fried rice..had these 2 dishes so many times They are that good The lobster fried rice a bowl is $22. Little bits of lobster you had to search for. . After exchanging a few sentences, a new bowl appeared & it was excellent!!!! Lobster juicy, rice warm & fresh it was just made. The waitre3ss handled this perfect even a manager was concerned. Lunch was good and very fresh

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is amazing!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is amazing!!

food3
ambience3
service4

Having been there many times before. Qua ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Having been there many times before. Quality seems to have gone down. Meal was ok.

food5
ambience5
service5

Was great as usually!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Was great as usually!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my mom here for her birthday/mother ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Took my mom here for her birthday/mother's day.. I had requested a booth and they sat us in the opium dens which everyone loved. It has a very nice ambience and it feels more intimate compared to the louder dining area. My boyfriend and I ordered the tasting menu which was absolutely fantastic and cooked to perfection. Drinks were amazing - definitely try the kalamansi gin drink; it's outstanding (even my boyfriend loved it and he only drinks Cabernet or Jack). Sean did a great job waiting on us. Overall, they get 5 stars. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I did the special tasting ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I did the special tasting and the timing of each course was wonderful and also the quality and potions were wonderful. Loved it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another win at Buddakan

Dined on May 7, 2016

We enjoyed both great food and service. What more can one ask for??

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect!

Dined on May 3, 2016

The food was amazing. We had the mid week dinner for two but adjusted for three. Due to health issues I could not have the cesar. The chef was enough to include an extra dumpling with my appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great couples place

Dined on May 1, 2016

I love this restaurant! The food and drink was affordable. Went to our first married couples dinner and we loved it. Knowledgeable staff and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Buddakan and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner! The server was very informative, the service was nicely paced, and the food was fantastic. We went with the chef's four course tasting menu and it was delicious! I love getting a little taste of a lot of things. Only little drawback for me was that it was a little dark to see the menu. We only had a tea light on our table. (Says the forty-something who wears readers) We would definitely eat there again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

not traditional but better

Dined on April 29, 2016

My wife and I love asian cuisine...this is not traditional asian cuisine however it is better. The plates are distinct, different and very imaginative. They are all beautifully presented and extremely tasty. The approach to sharing plates served as they come and family style makes for great conversation and a very enjoyable evening meal. The food is great, the service outstanding, the atmosphere is unique and what more can one ask. A great evening for any reason.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

Dined on April 28, 2016

We have been to your restaurant many a times in the past and looking forward to our visit again !! Your menu is awesome and the perfectly prepared delicious food to go with it!! The consistency and quality of the food has always been the reason we keep coming back!! Loved it once again!!.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

pleasantly surprised

Dined on April 25, 2016

This Atlantic City restaurant was a very pleasant surprise. The dishes were prepared well and we were given ample servings. The ambience is suitable for special location or just a normal dinner. We were provided excellent service as well.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating my boyfriends birthd ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were celebrating my boyfriends birthday. We had Jordan as a server. He was awesome and made the experience ever better! Food was fabulous. Just an all around great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything at this restaurant was amazi ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything at this restaurant was amazing. Filet mignon, sea bass, dumplings, pad Thai... simply perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved again

Dined on April 23, 2016

I went with my daughter for the second time . We loved it last year so we decided to return. The appetizers were delicious, specifically the pork and shrimp dumplings. I had the pork for the main dish. The meat was tender and cooked perfectly . I was not a huge fan of the Chinese broccoli it was served over. I found it to be quite tough and stringy. We ordered the zen -full donuts for dessert which were amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Buddakan is always a great experience. O ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Buddakan is always a great experience. On our most recent visit, we tried the tasting menu for the first time and are glad that we did. Also, the specialty cocktails are worth a try in my experience

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Get the Chef’s Tasting Menu

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was our first time at the restaurant and there was so much I wanted to try that getting the Chef’s Tasting Menu for Two made sense. For $60 per person we each got an appetizer with three items, a large Asian Caesar salad to share, three entrees to share and three desserts to share. The highlights included the Wasabi Filet (melt in your mouth and not an overpowering wasabi flavor) and the Sea Bass (wonderful teriyaki flavor). My husband loved the dumplings and I loved the edamame ravioli for appetizers. We absolutely agreed on the entrees but hubby wasn’t a dessert fan. I personally loved the banana dessert and the crème brule (the donuts had a weird filling we didn’t dig). The menu also included free espresso, coffee or tea which complimented the dessert offerings. It was a quiet night during the week but our waitress was great. I didn’t love my first drink and they were quick to replace it for free (once I reminded them to take it off the bill). This was more than enough food for two people and most was really delicious. Great first introduction to the menu and would love to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner always a good meal

Dined on April 16, 2016

Visited AC for a couples weekend and scheduled our dinner for Saturday night at Buddakan. The food was great the drinks were just as great especially when sharing the experience with good friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buddakan Atlantic City is Tops

Dined on April 16, 2016

We prefer Buddakan in Atlantic City over the original Philadelphia location. The food has been consistently better and we are always able to score an opium den. We are willing to add an hour and a half to our drive for an always outstanding meal. The only problem is that we always order too much.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Bliss

Dined on April 11, 2016

My girlfriend and I came back here after enjoying the restaurant 2 years ago. We were not disappointed! From the flavor filled creative clack tails to the decadent brand new dessert menu we were giddy. Our waiter was very helpful in assisting us navigating through menu items we weren't sure if we're for us. We had an abundance of food. 3 dim sum orders- Edamame ravioli and the Shrimp dumplings were our favorite. Everything was cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars overall is the high cost of our total bill. With 4 drinks, 3 appetizers, 2 meals and two desserts- our bill for 2 people was over $200. I believe for the portion sizes of the apps/ dim sum, they could have been less costly. Otherwise all around amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Return trip after New Years Eve dinner w ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Return trip after New Years Eve dinner which was surprisingly fabulous with how jammin it was. No nightly specials which disappointed my husband. Server was very helpful.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.