About Buddakan - Atlantic City

1 Atlantic Ocean
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail.
Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Mon – Thurs
Lunch 12noon – 3:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Fri and Sat
Dinner All Day 12noon – 11:00pm

Sunday
Dinner all day 12noon – 10:00pm

Happy Hour Sunday through Friday 3:00pm until 6:00pm (in the bar area only)


**HOLIDAY HOURS**
Christmas Eve: Dinner Only, Served 12pm-10pm
Christmas Day: Dinner Only, Served 5pm-10pm
New Year's Day: Dinner All Day, Served 12pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Arkansas & Boardwalk

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 674-0100

Website:
http://www.buddakanac.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at 215.923.2675.

Parking Details:
Please Park in the Caesars Parking Lot. We provide $ 5 parking vouchers.

Executive Chef:
Nery Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Cara Rice: 609-271-0549 x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scorpion Sucker
Scorpion Sucker

Buddakan - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
Atlantic City
5 More
Best Food
Atlantic City
Best Service
Atlantic City
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City
Most Booked
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

special occasion (138)
fit for foodies (119)
good for groups (111)
See All
romantic (103)
hot spot (74)
late-night find (24)
scenic view (16)
notable wine list (14)
great for lunch (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

the ambience and service were fine. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

the ambience and service were fine. The food was not great at all. The calamari salad was extremely salty and the black peppered beef meal was ok though they hardly gave you beef and covered it in non-tasty croutons. The best thing we had was the shrimp lo mein and that's why i give 3 stars. I wouldn't recommend to dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Out waitress Jennifer was excellent. Ve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Out waitress Jennifer was excellent. Very polite and extremely helpful when we were deciding what to eat. My wife and I our vegetarians and she was very knowledgeable about their menu. She knew what was made with beef stock and suggested other alternatives. First time in a while someone was that helpful with food selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife and I had another excellent dinn ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I had another excellent dinner at Buddakan. We routinely order the Asian Caesar salad, which is one of my favorite salads to order anywhere. My wife, however, this time tried the Asian chicken salad. She was unhappy with it, so our server more than happily exchanged it for the Asian Caesar.

My Wasabi Crusted Filet MIgnon was prepared perfectly and tasted delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Stay away from the AC Buddakahn if you'd ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Stay away from the AC Buddakahn if you'd like a relaxed meal/experience. This was our second time dining at the Buddakhan in Atlantic City. We had a bad experience with the waiter the first time but tried it again because the food was good. Once again we experienced a rushed waiter - pushing us for menu selections before we even got our drinks. His attitude and demeanor was such a put off we will definitely NOT be returning. The restaurant was not even busy. There was no need for this treatment. The vibe is totally different and better paced in Philly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Excellent food...edamame ravioli are the ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food...edamame ravioli are the best. Go with the aged beef and sea bass too. Was nice being seated in one of the private booths for more privacy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were six girls and we all enjoyed our ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were six girls and we all enjoyed our lunch and especially the delicious desserts. Service was fabulous.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spring rolls and the Zen-gria were spect ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Spring rolls and the Zen-gria were spectacular! Service was excellent..will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I felt I was rushed. Runs more like a b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I felt I was rushed. Runs more like a business then an experience. If they are trying to turnover tables quickly they should not be as obvious about it. Also very loud and could barely hear the person I was with. Food came out quick though!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I loved Buddakan so much so I went 3 tim ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I loved Buddakan so much so I went 3 times in a week. One check minus for them is by the weeks end the lemon lime garnish went down hill as I thought the salad did as well

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was extremely loud and we were put at ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It was extremely loud and we were put at a table with no overhead lights. Had to use our phone flashlight to see the menu. The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Such a great place! Food and service pe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Such a great place! Food and service perfect. Location is great, top level of a shopping pier which is lovely to sit and watch the beach and Boardwalk (from outside the restaurant). We did tasting menu for 3 which was great for a first time as there was variety. Apps, salad, entrees, dessert and coffee/tea was $60 pp SO worth it. It was a bit too much food for us but we were starving and ate quickly. Sharing concept. We will definitely be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the "no rules" concept! We pair ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We loved the "no rules" concept! We paired apps with small plates & entrees in just the right proportion/ timing for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An outstanding experience at the Buddaka ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

An outstanding experience at the Buddakan in AC!! The food was so delicious, the service was perfect, very professional but warm and engaging. We highly recommend the Chef's Tasting Menu, everything was fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed everything offered. We look forward to going again when we get the chance, such a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent as always. Wine by t ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was excellent as always. Wine by the glass was not a good portion for the cost.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The hostess was very rude. She made us w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The hostess was very rude. She made us wait forever because she said the only open booth was for a "special" group.. We were sat at that table 45 min later after talking to the manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Delicious food and great service. My onl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Delicious food and great service. My only complaint was that it was too dark to read the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistently excellent with great servic ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Consistently excellent with great service. If any complaint, it is that the servings might be a bit generous, but is that really a complaint? We do the tasting menu, and they are very accommodating to substitutions (We eat fish, but no chicken or meat). The edamame ravioli are wonderful---Eat them slowly to really enjoy them.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service! The food i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food and great service! The food is so delicious and flavorful. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food as usual was excellent and for the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food as usual was excellent and for the FIRST time ever in any Atlantic city restaurant we were asked if they could take care of our parking

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent but not the same menu as NYC. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent but not the same menu as NYC. Definitely will go again next time we are in AC for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good meal to celebrate our anniversary. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Good meal to celebrate our anniversary. Nice Asian fusion. portion for small calamari salad was very generous. Duck was good as was the appetizer baos. The monkfish was a little bland though. The shrimp baos were good with nice spicy kick. Crying chocolate dessert was good. Gave us a champagne toast which was a nice touch.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service and food! One thing we ask ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great service and food! One thing we asked for was not to put mushrooms on the sea bass but they did anyway. Other than that, I would definitely recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A must visit when in AC. The cauliflower ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

A must visit when in AC. The cauliflower is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Annually I take my boys to a mother and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Annually I take my boys to a mother and sons beginning of summer dinner. My youngest has numerous allergies but our server and the chef were more than accommodating. Our food was delicious and the service from Ashlie was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always a solid meal. Lobster fried rice ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always a solid meal. Lobster fried rice was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is so good. Calamari, sweet p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything is so good. Calamari, sweet potato mash, filet, pork medallions, sweet corn tempura, get it all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The food was very good, however, each me ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was very good, however, each member of our party was served the main course at a different time. When we questioned this, the response from the waiter was that the food is brought out when it is ready so that it will all be hot.

We dine out quite a bit and this never happens at a nice restaurant. A kitchen should be able to plan in such a way that all members of the party eat at the same time. This aspect was very disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The waiter was amazing. He was knowledga ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The waiter was amazing. He was knowledgable about the menu and made dining a pleasure. The food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to all 3 buddakan restaurant ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I have been to all 3 buddakan restaurants Atlantic city and Phillie are my 2 favorite. I do not live near either restaurant so my husband and myself drive almost 2 hours from Piscataway just to eat here. I have 2 adult children both in there 20's that love this restaurant also, they make it a point to take off of work to come with us or I always have to bring food home . The food is awesome, the service is always great, I can not say enough about this restaurant. Go and you will find out for yourself!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was outstanding! And we loved ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our server was outstanding! And we loved every dish we ordered. Excellent experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing restaurant! Definitely try the s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Amazing restaurant! Definitely try the sea bass... It was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We love dining at this Buddakan. The Bud ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We love dining at this Buddakan. The Buddah is magnificent. The food is also excellent. They even acknowledged our anniversary with the best brownie in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience! Food was amazing. I re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great experience! Food was amazing. I recommend for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and good service. We did not ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and good service. We did not like the location of our table but I guess somebody has to sit upstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was our second time dining at Budda ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our second time dining at Buddakan, our first was at their NYC location and both meals were absolutely incredible!! I highly recommend dining at either of these fine restaurants...and be sure to make a reservation well in advance so not to miss out!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, cool place considering AC ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service, cool place considering AC is not so developed, and great food! Felt like NYC.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not your Phila or NYC typical experience ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Not your Phila or NYC typical experience - food was not as good, too salty and service spotty

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Delicious food, good atmosphere. Never d ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Delicious food, good atmosphere. Never disappointed each time I go here. Everything on the menu is delicious! I'm a tremendous fan of the lobster fried rice, the tuna spring rolls, and the shrimp bao buns. The sweet corn tempura was to die for this time! It's a must visit every time I'm in AC.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved every part of the meal!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Loved every part of the meal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always make a stop here while in AC if ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I always make a stop here while in AC if possible. This night Kitchen was in the weeds. My friend

entree came out 20 min later then mine. Management did the right thing was apologetic and comped the plate . I will be back again. Rock Shrimp excel as always!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.