Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Buddakan - Atlantic City

Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail.
Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.

1 Atlantic Ocean
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Mon – Thurs
Lunch 12noon – 3:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Fri and Sat
Dinner All Day 12noon – 11:00pm

Sunday
Dinner all day 12noon – 10:00pm

Happy Hour Sunday through Friday 3:00pm until 6:00pm (in the bar area only)


**HOLIDAY HOURS**
Christmas Eve: Dinner Only, Served 12pm-10pm
Christmas Day: Dinner Only, Served 5pm-10pm
New Year's Day: Dinner All Day, Served 12pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Arkansas & Boardwalk

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 674-0100

Website:
http://www.buddakanac.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at 215.923.2675.

Parking Details:
Please Park in the Caesars Parking Lot. We provide $ 5 parking vouchers.

Executive Chef:
Nery Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Cara Rice: (609) 271-0549

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (90)
Good for a Date (85)
Creative Cuisine (78)
See All
Good for Groups (70)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Romantic (68)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Worth the Drive (42)
Fun (36)
Cozy (36)
Hot Spot (34)
Authentic (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Tasting Menu (28)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Business Meals (14)
Casual (13)
People Watching (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Scenic View (9)
Tapas (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Waterfront (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Family Style (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Spicy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
3979 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Was a very good meal .. with excellent cocktails.. our waiteress at first was all over us and on the ball .. idk what happen towards the end , but she went missing.. luckily the manager was quick to get our desert order and bill .. would deff go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Third visit-great food. Very enjoyable . Great staff.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We always dine here and love it. However, the service was horrible this time. No one asked if i wanted another drink. Waiter kept disappearing. Wanted to sing to my son and dessert came out first with nothing. There was a bone in chicken breast. The experience just wasn't the usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, Buddakan delivered another great dinner and experience!! Still our favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The tasting menu is one of the best ways to go if your in a party of 4. Everything is easily shared and you easily get to try a little bit of everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

All of the food was excellent. Service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, service and a fun place to celebrate with family

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent Happy Hour. Very efficient and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend. Will return on next visit to AC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was mouth watering and the ambiance can't be beat. Open table topped the experience off with quick and easy reservations.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We went to Budakkan to celebrate my husband's Birthday with 2 other couples. I had requested a booth because the noise level in the main dining room was too high and uncomfortable during our last visit. Although our booth was a bit cramped for 6 adults, we were happy to be away from the main noise area. The food, wine and service were all excellent. But as we were leaving and saying our goodbys, one of my friends(a woman) tripped and fell on one of the steps leading to our booth. Although the manager came right over to see if she was OK, the whole episode could have been avoided if there was better lighting in the hallway-a very dark and unsafe area of the restaurant which was only lit by the "Exit" sign near the rest rooms. It was such an unfortunate ending to an otherwise very lovely evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 22nd Anniversary at Buddakan. The food was so delicious, we went back the next night for dinner

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fantastic food and service as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Celebrated a bachelorette here. Great atmosphere and service was excellent. Loved the tapas/family style portions, great for sharing!. Made wonderful drinks and even complimentary champagne.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I have enjoyed Buddakan immensely many, many times in the past several years. However, the food quality wasn't as good as usual. We generally order the same salad, appetizer and entrees so I am very aware of how amazing it's been on every occasion in the past. The filet mignon wasn't tender, the spicey cashew caesar salad wasn't seasoned well enough, and the ponzu chicken tasted a little gamey. The service was excellent as usual, but the meal was disappointing. I have come to expect the superbly amazing dishes and what I always call a tasting adventure Buddakan. I will most certainly return one day, but I'm not rushing back.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

One of the best restaurants I have been to... our whole family loved it. My husband was euphoric over his sea bass. The tempura corn was so amazing it could have been my meal. Even my very picky son was very happy with his meal. Don't miss their sake sangria... it was awesome. Great ambiance and service. A must visit stop if you are in Atlantic City

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Vegans to Carnivores to Sober Sally's to Adamant Drinkers...everyone at our table was happy from apps to desserts. If you're vegan, ask the waiter what can be made vegan. They have yummy vegan sorbet! If you're a meat eater, the Asian pork was the crowd favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

It's very expensive. I ordered the crispy shrimp and they only gave me 5 very small pieces! It's not worth it for the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere, food was delicious. Wasn't a fan of my cocktail but besides that it was a pleasant experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Birthday celebration. Joel, our server, was amazing!!! The food was also amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Food was amazing, everything we ordered was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great experience all the way around. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our night started off a little rocky. We got there and had to wait an hour to be seated. We were to get seats by the bar to wait for our table. The bartender was very nice and despite being overwhelmed by all the people waiting to be seated. Finally get seated, we were starving so by the time we sat down we already knew what we were ordering! We weren't wasting anytime! While we were waiting for our appetizers to come out the manager came over to our table. He apologized for the wait and offered to comp the appetizers. We were not looking for a freebie at all! We were shocked that he didn't just offer a dessert but instead offered to comp us for something we actually wanted. I can honestly say even at their flagship location they don't even do that and they always make you wait. Besides the weight the experience was superb! The food and drinks were delicious. The ambiance at Buddakan is always great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food..great service..!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We always make it a point to visit Buddakan at least once a summer when vacationing at the Jersey shore. This time we went late on a Friday night so there really was not crowd. We were seated immediately and the service was good as usual. We order only appetizers and they usually arrive as they are prepared. Our large Cesar salad, arrived first, great as usual. The appetizers were slow to arrive and all at the same time, two of them cold. Not seeing the waiter, we asked for the manager who apologized and replaced them immediately. The food was very good as usual, and we were very surprised that the replaced appetizers were taken off the bill! Not necessary, but a nice touch. We will, of course, be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Not as good as NY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Fantastic lamb chops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Always good, tasting menu great option and was surprised by the amount of food we had to take home . Cocktails were also very good

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Ate at Buddakan to celebrate my 50th Birthday with family. Food was delicious and atmosphere was absolutely perfect. Service was great and we all enjoyed a wonderful night out. We sat in the booth area which I prefer over the center tables. Much quieter than table area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This is what I would rate it if we went. Our reservation isn't for another hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Fantastic Birthday Dinner! What a great was to celebrate with friends at this family-style establishment. Great value for the price! We will be back for sure!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Beyond incredible. Each course was better than the next. The dumpling were so good, followed by the yummy pad thai and steak. We would absolutely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Everything we tried was great. We had the chefs table for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 26, 2017

I personally found the restaurant too dim. My mother had to put on reading glasses and use her cell phone light just to read the menu. I saw a group of people next to us also using the cell phone lights to see. I wont necessarily dispute the food prices given its effort to rise above mediocre restaurants. However as for taste of food 3/5 for my experience. The server i had was very nice and was able to explain the menu to me as a few meals lacked descriptions such as whether they came with a side item and if you would need to buy a side a la carte. That needs to improved upon. For example, the cashew chicken didnt say if it came with rice......we had to ask. I knew ahead of time there wasnt a kids menu and was able to share our food easily.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Best dinner in our trip to Atlantic City. It is reasonably expensive but good quality food

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Our server was top notch. Forget his name. Bald & full of humor. Never waited for a drink & very insightful about the menu!! One of my favorite restaurants!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Every time we are in Atlantic City we make it a point to go to Buddhakan. Our waitress was fantastic and very knowledgeable of the menu. We had the tasting menu and they were able to accommodate food allergies for our group. The food is simply amazing and it is a hidden gem in the Pier Shops. This is a must if you are in Atlantic City.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 24, 2017

When in the area, we always stop in! One of our all time faves!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We loved everything. Service was excellent. Food as always was cooked to perfection. The menu offered a vast variety of choices. We would definitely recommend it

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Buddakan. The food was delicious as always and service was exceptional. We were seated upstairs for the first time and it simply lacks the ambiance of the main floor. We were hoping at least it would be quieter to allow for nice conversation. However, they hosted a large party upstairs and people were standing around us and making lots of noise while they gathered. Recognizing the intrusion, the manager offered complementary deserts in which we indulged and they were superb! Overall, it was a very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We have never had a bad meal at Buddakan. It was very crowded and a little noisy, but our service was good, and most importantly you can get a consistently good meal here. It's a little pricey, but the knowledge that the food is always going to be excellent is worth it.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.