About Buddakan - Atlantic City

1 Atlantic Ocean
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail.
Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Mon – Thurs
Lunch 12noon – 3:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Fri and Sat
Dinner All Day 12noon – 11:00pm

Sunday
Dinner all day 12noon – 10:00pm

Happy Hour Sunday through Friday 3:00pm until 6:00pm (in the bar area only)


**HOLIDAY HOURS**
Christmas Eve: Dinner Only, Served 12pm-10pm
Christmas Day: Dinner Only, Served 5pm-10pm
New Year's Day: Dinner All Day, Served 12pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Arkansas & Boardwalk

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 674-0100

Website:
http://www.buddakanac.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at 215.923.2675.

Parking Details:
Please Park in the Caesars Parking Lot. We provide $ 5 parking vouchers.

Executive Chef:
Nery Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Cara Rice: 609-271-0549 x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scorpion Sucker
Scorpion Sucker

Buddakan - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
7 More
Best Overall
Atlantic City
Best Food
Atlantic City
Best Service
Atlantic City
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City
Romantic
Atlantic City
Most Booked
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

special occasion (176)
fit for foodies (160)
romantic (146)
See All
good for groups (143)
hot spot (94)
great for lunch (34)
late-night find (30)
scenic view (20)
notable wine list (20)
neighborhood gem (16)
vibrant bar scene (11)
great for brunch (9)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

A must visit when in AC. The cauliflower ...

Dined 5 days ago

A must visit when in AC. The cauliflower is amazing.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Annually I take my boys to a mother and ...

Dined 5 days ago

Annually I take my boys to a mother and sons beginning of summer dinner. My youngest has numerous allergies but our server and the chef were more than accommodating. Our food was delicious and the service from Ashlie was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a solid meal. Lobster fried rice ...

Dined 6 days ago

Always a solid meal. Lobster fried rice was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Everything is so good. Calamari, sweet p ...

Dined 7 days ago

Everything is so good. Calamari, sweet potato mash, filet, pork medallions, sweet corn tempura, get it all

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was very good, however, each me ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was very good, however, each member of our party was served the main course at a different time. When we questioned this, the response from the waiter was that the food is brought out when it is ready so that it will all be hot. We dine out quite a bit and this never happens at a nice restaurant. A kitchen should be able to plan in such a way that all members of the party eat at the same time. This aspect was very disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter was amazing. He was knowledga ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

The waiter was amazing. He was knowledgable about the menu and made dining a pleasure. The food was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to all 3 buddakan restaurant ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

I have been to all 3 buddakan restaurants Atlantic city and Phillie are my 2 favorite. I do not live near either restaurant so my husband and myself drive almost 2 hours from Piscataway just to eat here. I have 2 adult children both in there 20's that love this restaurant also, they make it a point to take off of work to come with us or I always have to bring food home . The food is awesome, the service is always great, I can not say enough about this restaurant. Go and you will find out for yourself!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was outstanding! And we loved ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Our server was outstanding! And we loved every dish we ordered. Excellent experience!

food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing restaurant! Definitely try the s ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Amazing restaurant! Definitely try the sea bass... It was out of this world.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love dining at this Buddakan. The Bud ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

We love dining at this Buddakan. The Buddah is magnificent. The food is also excellent. They even acknowledged our anniversary with the best brownie in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience! Food was amazing. I re ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great experience! Food was amazing. I recommend for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and good service. We did not ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and good service. We did not like the location of our table but I guess somebody has to sit upstairs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time dining at Budda ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our second time dining at Buddakan, our first was at their NYC location and both meals were absolutely incredible!! I highly recommend dining at either of these fine restaurants...and be sure to make a reservation well in advance so not to miss out!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service, cool place considering AC ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service, cool place considering AC is not so developed, and great food! Felt like NYC.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Not your Phila or NYC typical experience ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Not your Phila or NYC typical experience - food was not as good, too salty and service spotty

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food, good atmosphere. Never d ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Delicious food, good atmosphere. Never disappointed each time I go here. Everything on the menu is delicious! I'm a tremendous fan of the lobster fried rice, the tuna spring rolls, and the shrimp bao buns. The sweet corn tempura was to die for this time! It's a must visit every time I'm in AC.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I always make a stop here while in AC if ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I always make a stop here while in AC if possible. This night Kitchen was in the weeds. My friend entree came out 20 min later then mine. Management did the right thing was apologetic and comped the plate . I will be back again. Rock Shrimp excel as always!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

I just can't put into words how much I l ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

I just can't put into words how much I loved the food! Over the top!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience was fantastic!! We went t ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our experience was fantastic!! We went there for dinner as part of a mini-bachelorette party for a friend. Our server, Brian, was amazing. I am a server myself and he was definitely one of the best servers I've ever had in my life. He brought us all out champagne to help us celebrate and had suggestions for over drinks and food as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kuddos to the Buddakhan Team who reacted ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Kuddos to the Buddakhan Team who reacted promptly to relocate our table of 8 away from the noise of the kitchen. We were celebrating with multiple generations and the thumpy club music near the kitchen noise was just too much. Once relocated the evening rolled out as imagined. The group meal is amazing! So much delicious food and fun for one nite!!! The kitchen never dissapoints! We had a great time. Thank you!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Love the portions of the chef tastings!! ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Love the portions of the chef tastings!!@

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Buddakan!

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was excellent. Staff was super friendly and brought our orders out on time. Host, servers, waitress all EXCELLENT! Thanks for making this bachelorette party dinner memorable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food and Drinks!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Portion size large enough to share! We were 4 adult women and we split a salad, an appetizer, and two dinners with plenty of left overs. Everything was delicious. Adult beverages were unique and delicious as well. Definitely a restaurant we visit every trip to Atlantic City.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique

Dined on May 31, 2016

We had 4 people in our party and ordered 6 small plates so we could het a feel for their menu..From the salad to dessert they all had the restaurant's creative spin on them. It was truly a unique dinning experience and we had a wonderful time. DO NOT GO WITHOUT TRYING THE EDAMAME RAVIOLI. Someone at the table thought that they saw me shed a tear when I had my last bite. We will go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Been here many times and it NEVER disappoints. I come here every time I visit AC and I always love it.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

It has been better in the past

Dined on May 29, 2016

It was just OK. We have been there many times and it just seemed something was lacking. Maybe because it was a Holiday weekend but we have had much better meals there

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurents. I would ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

One of our favorite restaurents. I would suggest a little more cooperation from the hostess when a guest call to notify the restaurent the will be a few minutes late for their reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Budda best

Dined on May 28, 2016

My family ate at Buddakan in AC last Saturday nite. We were celebrating our birthdays since we have three of them in the month of May. The service was excellent from the time we checked in! The wait staff was excellent and well versed on all their offerings on the menu. We ordered the calamari salad for four. It was big enough to share with six. It was delicious. The shrimp dumplings were also good. The two entree were the sesame tuna and pork. We shared them and they were terrific. Done just right. We also ordered the lobster fried rice which were fabulous. We asked our waiter to take a photo since it was our bdays. He brought us some warm brownies on a decorated plate with candles. We really enjoyed our first experience at Buddakan AC and look forward to going there again over the summer! Give this restaurant a try, you won't regret it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

scrumptious food

Dined on May 28, 2016

Was not sure what to expect having been to the one in NYC and actually had low expectations. Loved the huge buddha and the stars in the ceiling. The ambience was very cool. The hostess was very nice and moved us to a booth when we asked. Took my kids who are both older and well behaved for dinner. The food was amazing. We had the pork which was to die for and seasoned perfectly, a beef dish that was also good. I had a sake, pomegranate lychee drink that was really well balanced and I want to try to replicate at home. The salmon was also excellent. Would skip the chicken and cashews dish - was not sure there were any cashews and the only disappointing dish. For dessert, we had the creme brûlée and house made sorbet (strawberry citrus). Kids loved the food too, even my older one who is picky.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Food, Great Meal

Dined on May 28, 2016

This is a great restaurant for couples or large groups. The food is outstanding- my wife and I ordered the special of the evening, which was a sampling of three appetizers, three entrees, a salad and a dessert share for $60 each. Having eaten here before (Manhattan location), we knew that this isn't an inexpensive restaurant, but it was an excellent experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Service was knowledgable, but not very a ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was knowledgable, but not very attentive. Some food was great, some was just okay. Not overly impressive.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

have written a review in trip advisor.Ve ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

have written a review in trip advisor.Very attentive service but food was average.Place is too dark.Wasabi steak overpowered the taste of the steak,Sea bass was excellent.Salad and rice very good.Appertizers were nothing special.Deserts were okay.This meal should have included coffee or tea.Overall will not return.Food needs to be improved.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place! Food is always on point ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Love this place! Food is always on point. Edamame ravioli is insane!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing all around from Dim sum through ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Amazing all around from Dim sum through the desert! My only complaint is that it was hard to find.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great drinks and quick service. The cho ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great drinks and quick service. The chocolate birthday cake for my husband was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Truly Amazing Experience

Dined on May 21, 2016

My boyfriend and I were in AC to celebrate his 30th birthday. I made the reservation on OpenTable which was so easy and specified that he did NOT like surprises. They brought dessert to the table with a lit candle. Discretely and we appreciated that! The meal was fantastic and the dessert (donuts) were incredible. Perfect for a romantic dinner or a group of friends celebrating.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently spectacular. My favorite r ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Consistently spectacular. My favorite restaurant. Love everything about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pricey but wonderful food and service . ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Pricey but wonderful food and service . Despite being a posh spot to eat, they graciously accomodated my children who range from baby to teen.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delish

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was delicious. Fried fried was so tasty. Romantic ambiance very very very dim lighting.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on May 19, 2016

We had the Chefs tasting menu. The food was amazing and a great value. We had a nice corner booth. Our waiter was very attentive and the manager brought us a class of champagne to toast our anniversary. Would highly recommend Buddakkan Atlantic City

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.