Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Buddakan - Atlantic City

Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail.
Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.

1 Atlantic Ocean
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Mon – Thurs
Lunch 12noon – 3:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Fri and Sat
Dinner All Day 12noon – 11:00pm

Sunday
Dinner all day 12noon – 10:00pm

Happy Hour Sunday through Friday 3:00pm until 6:00pm (in the bar area only)


**HOLIDAY HOURS**
Christmas Eve: Dinner Only, Served 12pm-10pm
Christmas Day: Dinner Only, Served 5pm-10pm
New Year's Day: Dinner All Day, Served 12pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Arkansas & Boardwalk

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 674-0100

Website:
http://www.buddakanac.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at 215.923.2675.

Parking Details:
Please Park in the Caesars Parking Lot. We provide $ 5 parking vouchers.

Executive Chef:
Nery Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Cara Rice: (609) 271-0549

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (98)
Special Occasion (81)
Creative Cuisine (79)
See All
Romantic (71)
Good for Groups (69)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Worth the Drive (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Cozy (37)
Tasting Menu (35)
Family Style (33)
Fun (32)
Modern Decor (32)
Hot Spot (28)
Authentic (28)
Casual (19)
Business Meals (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Late-night Find (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Private Room (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Outstanding Value (11)
Spicy (10)
Tapas (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Scenic View (9)
Healthy (9)
Vegan (7)
People Watching (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Waterfront (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Organic (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
3817 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

Great as always! The Edamame Ravioli are my favorite and have been ever since day one. See you guys again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Perfect place to spend our anniversary! Our waitress was excellent and we even got champagne to celebrate our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The food is consistently good no matter when you go or what time you go. This service is always impeccable .

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Anniversary dinner at our favorite place in Atlantic City

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Did the sampler for 2. Expensive & my filet was overcooked. When you're paying $120 for two people, I think they should have offered to take $20 or so off our bill vs. cooking another steak. We were already overloaded with food at that point. A perky manager offering her apologies didn't cut it. Had great expectations that were not fulfilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service, food and atmosphere. All 7 of us enjoyed the Buddakan dining experience.
If we could we would have ordered everything. The Wasabie Mashed potatoes are a must. You will not go wrong with any of their items.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious! One of the few places where I wanted to lick the plate! My husband and I ordered the chefs sampler and there was not one item we didn't enjoy. Their Zen-gria was refreshing. We will definitely be back when visiting Atlantic City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great as always & are server was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My husband and I go away occasionally to Atlantic City NJ for good food and to be alone,Buddakan is a must. The menu is very unique which compliments the decor. The buddakan salad made with a Bib lettuce crisp veggies covered in a flavorful but light ginger dressing is where we always begin. The crab rice is simply exquisite we always order too much just to have for the following day,which I highly recommend. The perfectly cooked to order melt in your mouth filet paired with the Japanese mash is to die for. The fish melts in your mouth, I could go on. No matter what you order, you can't go wrong. The bartenders have perfect pours when it comes to the drinks! The unique mixed drink I have tried on the menu have all been wonderful. Lastly the service is impeccable we go to A LOT of restaurants let me just say it doesn't matter what level restaurant you are in 2*-5* it doesn't guarantee good service. Which I believe stems from the management! Hiring ,training and attentiveness. I can't speak for the other ones but NJ Buddakan is a place you must experience if in A.C.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Bland food! Not nearly as good as the one in Philadelphia! Asian food is never without flavor but for sure it was the case. Expensive to get foo flavor.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The tasting menu is an excellent value with generous portions, great for first timers, as well as, the saki flight.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I've been to the Buddakan in NYC so I had high expectations for this outpost in AC and I wasn't disappointed. Our waitress was pleasant and I really loved our secluded table that we had. It was easy to talk and speak to the other guests in the dining party. The food and drinks were amazing. Definitely try their seasonal Zengria!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I missed Buddakan's edamame ravioli but was disappointed after trying them. The edges of the ravioli were too al dente and it seemed the edamame was lacking in flavor. (Try True Food Kitchen's edamame dumplings if you ever get the chance )

The server recommended her favorite dessert; however, it wasn't what she described. Way to up sell a customer who won't come back now. Don't worry, she was tipped over 20% anyway. Maybe this restaurant is geared towards tourist or casino patrons but as a local who dines out frequently, I won't be back.

I have, on several occasions, enjoyed The Continental(another Steven Starr restaurant) which is right next door.
On a positive note, my cocktail and companion's rice dish was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great staff and ambiance. Jordan, our server, was particularly impressive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

One of the best places to get an amazing meal. The food is spectacular. Every single dish is superior quality and prepared to perfection. The price point was high at $115 per person after tip with one drink each and the high end price fix sharing menu. It is very dark in the restaurant and there is a huge golden budda for those who don't want to be in front of statues. Drink selection and food options are second to none in Atlantic City. Highly recommended for special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great evening service was amazing, manager stopped by to inquire overall great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had the best waitress Jen. I have had her before and she is attentive and great personality.
She was pregnant but that did not stop her she was excellent.
The food is always good I have never had a bad meal and I go alot.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Family Style, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

As always, Buddakan AC was FABULOUS!!!!! Dinner and dessert were UNBELIEVABLE!!!! LOVE THIS PLACE❣️

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Healthy, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Organic, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great experience overall! We had six people in a very private booth. Perfect for conversation and catching up with old friends. Both the service and the food were impeccable! Every dish was better than the last - tuna tartare spring rolls, short ribs over chow fun, lobster mac and cheese, all fantastic. Really fun and imaginative cocktails as well. Also, with sharing dishes, the bill was not too bad for as great as the experience was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great meal! Could have made a meal of just appetizer choices and rice dishes they were so good!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Never disappointing! The wasabi crusted filet is my favorite dish.. ever!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was an amazing experience. The food was great, the service was awesome and it was worth it. The whole experience was just awesome.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Had an amazing experience. Food was delicious, service was outstanding!

Tags: Vegan, Family Style, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This is my favorite Asian restaurant in AC. One of my friends is a vegetarian and there are excellent options. Se vice Quick and friendly. The lunch specials are a bargain. I had the bento box with a calamari salad, excellent edamame ravioli and fantastic wasabi infused filet mignon. It's $20 and there is plenty to eat. I have had the Tahitian Vanilla creme Brûlée in the past as well as shrimp buns which are. Out great but not this time. I will return for sure. My friends were impressed.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The Asian Caesar Salad was too much for one person! The Crispy Honey Shrimp was amazing! However, we found the crab rice (their best seller) to be a little dry and tasteless. It was very romantic (we liked the dim lighting) and the service was timely. Our reservation was right on time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Visited Buddakan for the first time on a guys' weekend in Atlantic City and we all loved it! Service was friendly and fast, and everything we ate was amazing. We shared chicken dumplings, oxtail dumplings, duck, crab-fried rice, and spicy tofu and thoroughly enjoyed each dish. I also enjoyed a cocktail that was delicious. Too full for dessert but the options looked great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was our third time here and we've always had great service. We did the tasting menu for two and really enjoyed each course.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Buddakan is a place that could be any sort of occasion. A birthday, a date, an anniversary, or even if you're just in the mood for some good food. I went with my boyfriend, and we had gotten the recommendation from my boss, who loves Buddakan. We got got the chefs choice, which was $60 per person and came with so much food! There were 4 courses. An array of appetizer, then salad, then the entree, then dessert. My favorite was definitely the cashew salad, the spring rice, and the desserts. I did like everything else, but I'm not a huge fan of wasabi and there was a bit of that (and still did like the food). I recommend this place! Our waiter was very nice and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Four of us had the tasting for $80 and were blown away by the quality and the amount of food. AMAZING! We all agreed that we wouldn't change a thing. If you have to choose...go sea bass, edamame dumpling, and shrimp pad thai.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Amazing food and service. Definitely try the chef's tasting menu! Lots of food at great price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Amazing as always! Always look forward to eating here or in NYC! Introduced friends to it this time. Creative and fresh.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Overall everything was excellent. Our waiter
Seemed in a rush every time he showed up which we found odd but it didn't impact our experience too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I've been to this Buddakan a few times before, and this time did not leave me as satisfied. Food was just average, wasn't very warm when it came to our tables. Cocktails were good: Had the harmony and enlightenment.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

First time but we have wanted to go for about two years now. Wish we had went sooner, really a nice place for a dinner for two.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Aweful our food was average it was overcrowded it was super dark it was overpriced it was loud the service was terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My waiter was phenominal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Everything was great. From the food to the service. The staff went above and beyond to make a dinner experience enjoyable.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Had an enjoyable meal with a large group of colleagues. After paying our sizable check we headed to a bar at Caesar's and I realized I had left my credit card there. I headed immediately back and asked the busser cleaning our table if he could check for my card. He refused, telling me it wasn't there and that my server had left, and when I objected (knowing it was there) he told me that I could 'wait until the lights turn on and look for it myself.' Luckily a female came by, asked about my situation and for my name, made a quick call and within a minute had my credit card back to me.

Overall my dining experience was fine but the horrible attitude of the busboy and his complete lack of customer service left a bad taste in my mouth and I'd hesitate to return.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Amazing drinks - the Bonsai with muddled cilantro (sounds weird - it's very tasty); family style service with perfectly prepared Asian fusion cuisine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.