About Buddakan - Atlantic City

1 Atlantic Ocean
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail.
Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Mon – Thurs
Lunch 12noon – 3:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Fri and Sat
Dinner All Day 12noon – 11:00pm

Sunday
Dinner all day 12noon – 10:00pm

Happy Hour Sunday through Friday 3:00pm until 6:00pm (in the bar area only)


**HOLIDAY HOURS**
Christmas Eve: Dinner Only, Served 12pm-10pm
Christmas Day: Dinner Only, Served 5pm-10pm
New Year's Day: Dinner All Day, Served 12pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Arkansas & Boardwalk

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 674-0100

Website:
http://www.buddakanac.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at 215.923.2675.

Parking Details:
Please Park in the Caesars Parking Lot. We provide $ 5 parking vouchers.

Executive Chef:
Nery Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Cara Rice: (609) 271-0549

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scorpion Sucker - Buddakan - Atlantic City, Atlantic City, NJ

Report a photo problem

Scorpion Sucker - Buddakan - Atlantic City, Atlantic City, NJ

Buddakan - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Good for a Date (52)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
See All
Romantic (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Good for Groups (34)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Tasting Menu (26)
Fun (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Modern Decor (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Cozy (17)
Business Meals (16)
Authentic (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Family Style (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Private Room (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Scenic View (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (7)
People Watching (7)
Waterfront (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Healthy (5)
Spicy (5)
Seasonal (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Dancing (2)
Vegan (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
3682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ambience was nice, did the tasting menu, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Ambience was nice, did the tasting menu, Asian Caesar salad was bizarre, I don't understand the choice of that. I would have preferred an Asian inspired vegetable salad like steamed bok choy or anything else. Entree was the highlight of the meal,we had filet and sea bass both were cooked to our liking. Service was prompt and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything in this restaurant was wonder ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything in this restaurant was wonderful. The attention to detail was there. The food was outstanding. We ordered 3 dishes. App was Chicken-ginger pot stickers...delish. A new addition to their menu(this was day 1 ) Short ribs, never tasted Short ribs that were this good!We also had cashew chicken, not to sweet(was in plum sauce) It complemented the dinner beautifully . We would definitely visit here again, when in AC.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend. We were originally giv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Highly recommend. We were originally given a table in the middle of the restaurant but asked to wait until a booth opened. We were then taking to a table on the side behind a curtain which was even better than we wished for. We did the tasting menu which was amazing as we got to try all of the most popular dishes. The food and drinks were delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I cannot come to Atlantic City without v ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

I cannot come to Atlantic City without visiting Buddakan. The food is absolutely amazing, the atmosphere and decor all get you into the mood to enjoy their creative chef's tasting menu. The only thing I would change, and it may sound petty, would be the chairs. I'm still recovering from the seats in which the legs stick up and press into the back of your theighs. That's quite literally my only complaint. That being said, come to Buddakan, enjoy the food, drinks, and sit on the couch side of the table!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'll go from best to worst Ambiance: ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I'll go from best to worst

Ambiance:

This was great. Very nicely done, maybe a little too flashy but still great.

Food:

Too generic a taste for the high prices, the chicken was something I could get at a cheap Chinese restaurant.

The vegetable fried rice was great, but the Szechuan Pork dumplings were pre made and stale. The wok cashew chicken was very tough and not fresh, very generic tasting.

The desserts were good but not great. We had the coconut pudding and the salted caramel cashew.

Service:

This was the low point, I usually try to cut servers a lot of slack because their jobs are very hard. However, in this case I can't. They weren't understaffed last night. The servers were only paying attention to the big tables and it was extremely hard to get their attention.

The food was very slow to arrive, took almost 2 hours for two people to be done with the meal!! We were waiting and trying to get attention half the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Amazing food

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing food

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing dinner. I had the pad Thai and m ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing dinner. I had the pad Thai and my husband had the Kung pao munkfish. A little spicier than what I was used to but so, so good! Also they will validate your parking which gives you a discount when you leave the casino parking garage. Just ask your server . All in all the best meal of the wkend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Family style menu--AWESOME!

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Family style menu--AWESOME!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a awesome anniversary dinner. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was a awesome anniversary dinner. The food was perfect. The service was impeccable. It help make it a perfect evening . The champagne and desert capped off a perfect meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance is good and the food and se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The ambiance is good and the food and service is very good. I always enjoy it every time I go. Will always go back there.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I was there Friday Night and have a wond ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was there Friday Night and have a wonderful evening. The food was great and Brian our waiter was phenomenal! Thanks for the excellent service!!!

Tags: People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food great waiter sat in a private ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food great waiter sat in a private room amazing I'm vegan my fiancé isn't n the waiter was able to help us both with helpful information love this place can't wait to come back in February

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Bar Seating, Spicy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitress was FANTASTIC! Very attentive a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waitress was FANTASTIC! Very attentive and energetic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dined here on New Year's Eve, so it wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I dined here on New Year's Eve, so it was crowded, but the staff was still incredibly attentive. The chef's tasting menu was well curated, and all of the food was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food and ambience good wine and mus ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good Food and ambience good wine and music and people and area

Tags: Dancing, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at Buddakan on New Years Eve. We ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We ate at Buddakan on New Years Eve. We choose one of the tasting menus that offered a variety of food items from the menu and the food was plentiful and delicious from start to finish. The waitress and servers were friendly, helpful and prompt. The ambiance is very cool with a large Buddha statue and lit table in the center of the room. Wonderful restaurant!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant never disappoints. The f ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. The food is top quality and the service is attentive without being overly solicitous. Its worth driving an hour + to get there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great drinks great food great service!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great drinks great food great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good place. Love the food, it's wor ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good place. Love the food, it's worth it. And everyone that works there are very attentive and nice.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Titos, cilantro, and lime martini wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The Titos, cilantro, and lime martini was amazing! Our server was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It always has been consistent. The food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It always has been consistent. The food comes out at different times so it was presented well

The taste was very good

We have been there numerous times and it is always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent We had two appeti ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was excellent We had two appetizers pot stickers and pork dim sum Both were tasty We had the lobster fried rice and coconut shrimp Service was good We were there early so the noise was minimal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

great food, wonderful service. Would hi ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

great food, wonderful service. Would highly recommend for celebrating a special day.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not knowing what to expect we were pleas ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Not knowing what to expect we were pleasantly surprised by this restaurant. The service was very good and the server was very helpful in explaining the menu. The food was prepared

beautifully and was a wonderful tasting experience. Very different and delicious. We tried

several different dishes and each one was outstanding. Will definitely return when we are

back in Atlantic City.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Buddakan (in Philadelphia and Atlantic C ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Buddakan (in Philadelphia and Atlantic City) was a long-time must-go dining spot for me several years ago and I decided to go back after not dining there for a couple of years. I was SHOCKED that the menu had hardly changed in nearly ten years. I used to find the menu exciting but with hardly any new offerings, it's a total dud now. Despite having a reservation at 9pm, the hosts were determined to give us the worst tables in the whole place even though they stopped seating an hour later and the restaurant was emptying. First we got a table that was insanely wobbly and not well placed (back of restaurant), then when we asked to move to one of several open booths, they moved us to one behind the Buddha statue in the very back of the restaurant that had no ambience except for the constant sound of the staff shouting "corner" to avoid running into each other as they rounded the dark corner into the area where they pick up the food. We didnt ask for another booth although there were several around us that remained empty during our entire meal because we didn't want to be annoying after already asking once to be reseated. I worked in the industry for years and know that's not the way you want to start a dinner service. Anyway, It seemed intentional and we didn't want to push it. The server was nice. She's the only part of the experience that we enjoyed. Edamame ravioli is the only part of the meal that was just as good as it was back in the day Otherwise, i just couldn't get into the food or the vibe. Felt very stale and lacked all of the appeal and excitement it once had. They need to freshen up there - the menu in particular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Never disappointed. Food exceptional. At ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Never disappointed. Food exceptional. Atmosphere fun. Always a stop when in AC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. The sea bass was ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was amazing. The sea bass was so wonderful and my husband was very pleased with his steak. From taking our coats to dessert it was an amazing and wonderful experience

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Groups, Casual, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food everything we got was d ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Really good food everything we got was delicious , staff was great genuinely nice , attentive even on Christmas Eve :)

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

delicious food and good service, we woul ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

delicious food and good service, we would come here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This place has great food and it was ove ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This place has great food and it was overall great experience! The service was good and the spring rolls are delightful. Also, the crab fried rice is to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have always had a great time here

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We have always had a great time here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed both the food and the ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We really enjoyed both the food and the service at this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still as good as ever!

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Still as good as ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome restaurant! If you have never be ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Awesome restaurant! If you have never been there, you should definitely try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's always a pleasure dining here. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It's always a pleasure dining here. The food is fresh and enough for leftovers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Between the romantic lighting and seclud ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Between the romantic lighting and secluded seating , this was an amazing place to visit for a date. The staff was well trained and warm, the menu easy to read and boasting an exceptional sake list. The food it self was stand out for the way it was seasoned and prepared. I will recommend buddakan to anyone I know looking for great food and a nice place to take a date.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and wait staff was excellent; you g ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food and wait staff was excellent; you get what you pay for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always will return. Excellent food and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always will return. Excellent food and service. Happy hour is the best.

Tags: Private Room, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely atmosphere! Our server was very p ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Lovely atmosphere! Our server was very pleasant recommding menu items to try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd dinner at Buddakan in t ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was our 3rd dinner at Buddakan in the last 3 months and all 3 were memorable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.