About Buddakan - Atlantic City

1 Atlantic Ocean
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail.
Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Mon – Thurs
Lunch 12noon – 3:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Fri and Sat
Dinner All Day 12noon – 11:00pm

Sunday
Dinner all day 12noon – 10:00pm

Happy Hour Sunday through Friday 3:00pm until 6:00pm (in the bar area only)


**HOLIDAY HOURS**
Christmas Eve: Dinner Only, Served 12pm-10pm
Christmas Day: Dinner Only, Served 5pm-10pm
New Year's Day: Dinner All Day, Served 12pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Arkansas & Boardwalk

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 674-0100

Website:
http://www.buddakanac.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at 215.923.2675.

Parking Details:
Please Park in the Caesars Parking Lot. We provide $ 5 parking vouchers.

Executive Chef:
Nery Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Cara Rice: 609-271-0549 x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scorpion Sucker
Scorpion Sucker

Buddakan - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
6 More
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
Atlantic City
Best Food
Atlantic City
Best Service
Atlantic City
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City
Most Booked
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

Special Occasion (164)
Good for Groups (135)
Fit for Foodies (134)
See All
Romantic (111)
Hot Spot (81)
Late-night Find (28)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Scenic View (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a fabulous time. Food was delish, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a fabulous time. Food was delish, and service was wonderful and fast. We had a reservation, and we were seated immediately.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Hot Spot, Fun, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were 22 minutes late for our reservat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were 22 minutes late for our reservation (waiting on Uber) and even though we confirmed our reservation out table was given away. No call ...just given away after 15 minutes. We waited 30 minutes for another table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Buddakan is always our favorite destinat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Buddakan is always our favorite destination when in Atlantic City. Great menu and great service once again. The crab fried rice is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. We were there to c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was great. We were there to celebrate my daughters 19th birthday. Her pick and our first time. Everything was great. My wife kept saying how beautiful it was. Our waiter was great. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Buddakan is one of my favorite restauran ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Buddakan is one of my favorite restaurants. I suggest ordering the chefs tasting for 2.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CRAB FRIED RICE ,CALAMARI SALAD AND LAM ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

CRAB FRIED RICE ,CALAMARI SALAD AND LAMB CHOPS EXCELLENT TO DIE FOR

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Chelsey & Morgan took excellent care of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Chelsey & Morgan took excellent care of my party. We sat in front of Golden Buddha. Incredible atmosphere, cool music.

The Edamame Ravoli, Calamari Salad, Wagyu Beef Satay, Sea Bass, Aged Beef, Filet, Monkfish and more yummy dishes were perfection.

Always an amazing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first experience at Buddaka ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was our first experience at Buddakan, we were on vacation. We were very impressed with the quality of the food we ordered. Only wish we could have had more, but we couldn't finish as it was. Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, great bartender. My favorite ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food, great bartender. My favorite of all 3 buddakans!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

this restaurant had the best service eve ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

this restaurant had the best service ever..staff was welcoming and warm. The manager gave me and my friend complimentary glass of sparkling wine and dessert for my friend's bday. It was a great experience. Waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu answering all questions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved the food and the service was exc ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I loved the food and the service was excellent. The light was so low I needed to use a flashlight to read the menu and the bill. It was a bit noisy, but not problematic. I did not realize it was within the mall area at the pier and so it was a bit hard to find. But a fireman gave us directions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed our dinner. Sea bass excellent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner. Sea bass excellent Took my granddaughter and grandson. She is going to college. He is a sophomore high school Nice way to spend some time with them. Hope to see you soon! Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our dinner was great! Everything was fre ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our dinner was great! Everything was fresh and hot. Enjoyed every bite. It is one of better restaurants that never seems to disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

been to B in NYC on many occasions so al ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

been to B in NYC on many occasions so already a big fan. Different from the city restaurant is this venue has a tasting option. At $60 a person you get so much food and so many tasting options it was worth every penny and the food was amazing. Service was impeccable as well!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too dark inside. Had to go out in wa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Way too dark inside. Had to go out in walkway to read menu, some used flashlight on cell phone. Seemed to me like expensive Chinese. Our waiter amd wait staff were fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been to both locations, Phila and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I have been to both locations, Phila and AC and have had a great experience every time. We did the pre fix dinner for two and it was well worth it. The service is always outstanding and the food is delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

$25 rip off on parking......place was so ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

$25 rip off on parking......place was so dark couldn't see the menu....food was average....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Service great,seating location fair, I l ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Service great,seating location fair, I looked into the kitchen area, I mentioned this to the host,but he ignored my request for a different table...food was excellent, but we ordered several small plates and we requested they be spaced,so we could enjoy each dish, all of a sudden 4 of the 7 dishes were brought to our table,the kitchen was very quick to bring the food to our table we told them to bring one back.Our server apologized and then things did slow a bit,overall a very good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing place to eat the staff was amazi ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Amazing place to eat the staff was amazing and helpful. Food was amazing and delicious. I would recommend this place for anyone who wants a great meal in an amazingsetting

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recently dined at buddakan for lunch a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I recently dined at buddakan for lunch and it was amazing had the chicken and ginger steamed dumplings which were nice hot when got them and the portion was great,for my main entree had the duck breast which was amazing the duck was very tender with pieces of roasted garlic around the sauce was very light not overpowering,the spoon break was soft filled with scallions but very creamy and the salad had fresh greens with crispy bell peppers and a vibrant ,this was one of my favorite meals would recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys delicious food

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for my boyfriend birthday and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Went there for my boyfriend birthday and we enjoyed the food and the scenery. I will definitely go there again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The chefs sampler was amazing as is ever ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The chefs sampler was amazing as is everything we have ever had there. Our fav place by far.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally love Bubdakan, was seated next ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Normally love Bubdakan, was seated next to the large family table on the rail when asked to be moved was ignored . Food was good I had grilled lamb chops, husband had shrimp lo-Mein that had 5 shrimp(size small 35-40). Service was ok nothing like you get in Philadelphia.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent asian fusion food. Good portio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent asian fusion food.

Good portion size

Excellent sake flight selection

Excellent service.

Restaurant decor hokey but interesting

Great find if you want to eat well for a special occasion in Atlantic City

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was excellent. Service was outstand ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was outstanding. Not your every day Asian type food. Loved everything we ordered and would definitely go back

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time ate at Buddakan at the Piers ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

First time ate at Buddakan at the Piers

Philadelphia is Bette

Over all food was ok

The donuts had been changed

So taken off the bill

No complaints yet no reason to return

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

We did the tasting menu and it was fanta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We did the tasting menu and it was fantastic! They kept bringing out more and more food. We really could not even come close to eating it all even though we wanted to because it was so good! Our waiter was friendly and attentive and he even brought me a little cake with a candle at the end as it was my birthday. Good job! I would definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very good and our server, Pa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was very good and our server, Paul, was extremely knowledgeable about the cuisine and beverages. He was efficient without being overbearing as far as attentiveness to the table. Appetizers and entrees were both pleasing to the taste and in their presentation. The only marginally negative drawback was the noticeable increasing noise level as more patrons entered the dining area, a quiet conversation was no longer an option by the end of the meal.

However, the evening was a dining experience and would strongly recommend the Buddakan

to friends and visitors.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the cashew chicken and he had the ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I had the cashew chicken and he had the shrimp lo mein we shared a bottle of Alamos Malbec. Everything was great. We asked for a booth table (highly recommended). We were there the day after my birthday so naturally we were still celebrating. They brought out a chocolate cake and sang me happy birthday. It was all very cute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent! I wish I could remember her n ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Excellent! I wish I could remember her name. Very knowledgeable. We look forward to coming back when we are in town next year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Buddakan multiple times ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have eaten at Buddakan multiple times, and it gets better each time. We were seated at a more private table, which was wonderful. We decided to have the Chef's Menu and it was fabulous! Our service was terrific. A fantastic evening!.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful date night - food, drink ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Had a wonderful date night - food, drinks and service was outstanding. Recommend the duck and lamb. Andrew Ferguson (If i remember correctly?) at the bar that evening was fantastic - great drinks and conversation! We will definitely be back next year and ask for him! Thanks for a great night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food poor. Great atmosphere. Not wort ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food poor. Great atmosphere. Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

We absolutely loved this place! The happ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We absolutely loved this place! The happy hour was fun for trying different dim sum appetizers before we headed in for our dinner. The Cantonese Spring Rolls and the Tuna Tartare Spring Rolls were wonderful but the Szechuan Prok Dumplings were extremely salty. I would not order them again.

The menu is Asian but very contemporary Asian food. My husband tried the traditional Pad Thai, which he said was good. I had the Spicy Rock Shrimp Bao Buns, which are a steamed bread (amazingly light and fluffy) with shrimp and slaw. There were 3 generously sized buns. Some of the best I've ever tasted!

The Crispy Calamari Salad was a cabbage-based salad with radicchio and a sweet miso dressing. It was so fresh and had a wonderful flavor. The calamari was very lightly fried, dredged in cornstarch beforehand. The result was a light and crispy coating that held up well to the dressing and greens. I got the small ($15) and it was enough for 4 people to share! I had it as my entree and still brought more than half of it home.

We learned that there is a Buddakan in New York as well as Philadelphia. We will have to try them all!! Given the quality of the food and service, I will als check out the other Starr restaurants in the group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Spectacular Andrew & Audrey were over t ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Spectacular

Andrew & Audrey were over the top

Food was indescribable

Thank you Chef for your attention to detail. Was a pleasure to meet you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and ambiance

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

As usual great food. The sever Jenniferm ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

As usual great food. The sever Jennifermade it even better .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My four friends and I did the tasting me ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My four friends and I did the tasting menu and were blown away by every single course. The sashimi was to die for and my drink the 'Bonsai' was one of the best drinks I have ever had! I highly recommend Buddakan AC! Looking up at the stars and a large Buddha while we dined also added to our fabulous meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Buddakhan Atlantic City went over and ab ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Buddakhan Atlantic City went over and above to accommodate our group for our brother's birthday celebration! From the host staff to the wait staff, everyone was upbeat and friendly! My brother had a fabulous birthday celebration! Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing - portions are small ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food is amazing - portions are small and over priced

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.