Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Buddakan - Atlantic City

Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail.
Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.

1 Atlantic Ocean
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Mon – Thurs
Lunch 12noon – 3:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Fri and Sat
Dinner All Day 12noon – 11:00pm

Sunday
Dinner all day 12noon – 10:00pm

Happy Hour Sunday through Friday 3:00pm until 6:00pm (in the bar area only)


**HOLIDAY HOURS**
Christmas Eve: Dinner Only, Served 12pm-10pm
Christmas Day: Dinner Only, Served 5pm-10pm
New Year's Day: Dinner All Day, Served 12pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Arkansas & Boardwalk

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 674-0100

Website:
http://www.buddakanac.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at 215.923.2675.

Parking Details:
Please Park in the Caesars Parking Lot. We provide $ 5 parking vouchers.

Executive Chef:
Nery Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Cara Rice: (609) 271-0549

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buddakan - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (92)
Special Occasion (82)
Creative Cuisine (80)
See All
Good for Birthdays (71)
Romantic (69)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Good for Groups (65)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Cozy (40)
Worth the Drive (38)
Tasting Menu (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Fun (33)
Hot Spot (33)
Authentic (29)
Family Style (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Modern Decor (19)
Casual (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Business Meals (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Late-night Find (13)
People Watching (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Healthy (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Spicy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Tapas (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Scenic View (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vegan (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Private Room (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Waterfront (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
3887 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 8 hours ago

Our server Paul G. was terrific! He was very knowledgeable with the menu , extremely helpful with suggestions and very friendly and attentive.
The food was terrific! We had shrimp dumplings, mushroom potstickers, Cantonese shrimp rolls, crab fried rice and sweet and spicy shrimp! All of the items were delicious !!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated Father's Day. We had dinner in the den. It was private and relaxing. No one rushed us and the food and service was great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food, service, and ambiance was/is always "A" plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious - the edamame ravioli were to die for. I loved our experience here!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Buddakan provides very good and interesting food, but is on the expensive side. Dinner will wind up costing at least $50/person for an appetizer, an entree and a drink. My only complaint is that the food tasted very salty.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

My favorite resturant !! Always great service and food !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Not sure if there is a new cook or owner but a couple things are not on the menu anymore and the food was not as good as usual. Restaurant was packed! Was not a enjoyable night with my wife especially since i had to yell across a tiny 2 person table just to have a conversation. Plus there was a party of 15 next to us and a lady kept bending over with her butt in our faces to speak with other people of her party. Not sure if we will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Thank you to my servers they were amazing,
A must if you are in AC

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Last time we were at the restaurant we had an issue with the hosts getting us seated. I wrote a review here and to their credit, they read the feedback! When we returned this time everything was great. The General Manager, Mark, apologized for our previous experience and took care of our desserts. The food was awesome, and again our waiter Sean, was great. Thank you to all of the staff, great recovery! We'll see you soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was excellent they really paid attention to gluten free option over all this was a good dining experience

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

It's hard to beat the ambiance at Buddakan. My wife and I celebrated our 5th anniversary there. The staff was very kind and brought us complimentary champagne and a chocolate dessert. The food there was very good but for the price we thought of other places we enjoy more. They say in the menu that the portion sizes are large and designed for sharing. We ordered an appetizer and 2 entrees and were not full from that. Just a reference, we ordered the sweet and crispy shrimp ($28) and there were 5.....5 shrimp. They were excellent, we just felt like for our money we've had better food in bigger quantities. The setting is very romantic though!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

First and foremost the food is amazing. Our server, Chelsea, was outstanding. Sake was excellent. This is our third time dining here and each time it just seems to get better. We live in Philadelphia and definitely plan on going to Buddakan in the city.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food was excellent. Best meal I had in Atlantic City.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food great service. Would defiantly go back.
Loved the chopped salad.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very attentive excellent service. Small Asian Caesar salad very tasty but certainly not small. Tuna entree was an amazing blend of flavors. A very nice overall dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, food, and service....

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Super delicious food, and great service! Everything we ordered was great - Tempura veggies, pork dumplings w/ szechaun sauce, sweet and crunchy shrimp, seared tuna and duck breast. Unique dishes. Will definitely go back

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Wonderful all around. Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Spicy, People Watching, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

It just doesn't get any better than this. The ambiance, food and srrvice are all superb. We sat in a curtained booth - I felt transported to a mysterious, far-away land. It was fabulous. The food too was fabulous. I ordered the braised short ribs. Indescribably delicious. I'm a foodie and love trying new places. This ones a keeper through and through. I live an hour and a half north of AC so visit 4-5 times a year. I'll definitely go back to Buddakans every time I'm in AC from now on.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent service and food was fantastic and something different. It was a little noisy with the wide open room and several bachelor and bachelorette parties.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Amazing treatment for our anniversary. We always visit this location when in AC. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Tasting menu!! Felt rushed. Too many servers. Kept interrupting our conversation.

WAY WAY TOO sweet and vastly over priced sangria

Sea bass dish was the highlight.

Very very dark.

Drunken Patrons abound.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Always an amazing meal! Service was good. Dessert was super good! endamame ravioli is my favorite.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Spicy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Need to go easier on the soy sauce. Our snap peas where almost inedible and beef rice was also too salty to enjoy. Other than that, very enjoyable meal. Edamame Ravioli Zen Sangria still fabulous. Sea Bass and Aged Beef delicious. Coconut Rice Pudding has me wanting more and more😍

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Birthday dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

My husband and I took a quick trip to AC so we decided to try this location since we've been to the one in NYC. Our experience was the same as it was in NYC, great food, great service, great ambiance! I (we) highly recommended Buddakan!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Amazing food-everything we ordered was prepared perfectly. Excellent service. We had a terrific dinner & Birthday celebration!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food and service was EXCELLENT! I will be coming back in the near future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Buddhakhan is consistently one of the best dinner places in AC. The food is incredible - I highly recommend either form of the crab or lobster fried rice and the tasting menu is killer if you are up for it. The setting and ambiance is awesome for a date or just dinner with friends. Can't go wrong here.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great and fun Birthday dinner. Food was delicious, drinks and desserts.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food, table, and being seated in a timely manner based on our reservation and a very busy weekend, were excellent.
Service was the only issue. Request for condiment to have after dinner was served was never fulfilled, even after a repeated request. And out of our party of 4, 3 were served their entrees, while the 4th waited quite a while for his.
Overall I would recommend and go back to this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Simply excellent food. We came back again next day for more.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Everything about this trip was delicious. We had the General Tso's dumplings, Tuna Tartar Spring Rolls, and Pad Thai. The portions were great for sharing and had delicious flavor. Specifically, the General Tso's dumplings were the best dumplings I've ever had!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Delicious as always? Had the Tea soaked spareribs which is a standard for me. Most tender non BBQ ribs. Also had lobster fried rice which was a bit bland.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My wife and I ate at Buddakan in Atlantic City for the first time. We started off with the General Tsao dumplings which are delicious and unusual. Then my wife had the shrimp with candied walnuts and I had the sesame tuna and the food was heavenly. The combination of the well prepared meal and the spices just made the dining so special. Plus, our waiter was very attentive and helpful. This was a fun, quiet, very enjoyable evening.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was delicious! We love this place!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food and service, but nothing worse than being seated in the worst seat in the house- right outside of the kitchen. I made a comment to the hostess, but no attempt was made to change my table.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We really enjoyed our night out at Buddakan. Everyone was so friendly and nice to us. The food was excellent. Tom brought me, his wife, Deborah for my 60th birthday. The whole experience made turning 60 a whole lot easier to take. Thank you all so much.

Thomas & Deborah

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

First time there. Day after Mother's Day, not too crowded, allowed for a relaxed experience, friendly and attentive wait staff that didn't feel rushed and clearly a kitchen that had the time to make each dish arrive perfectly prepared and presented. Don't know how things go when it's crowded and a zoo, but for us, on this night, it was perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.