About Buddakan - Atlantic City

1 Atlantic Ocean
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail.
Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Mon – Thurs
Lunch 12noon – 3:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm – 10:00pm

Fri and Sat
Dinner All Day 12noon – 11:00pm

Sunday
Dinner all day 12noon – 10:00pm

Happy Hour Sunday through Friday 3:00pm until 6:00pm (in the bar area only)


**HOLIDAY HOURS**
Christmas Eve: Dinner Only, Served 12pm-10pm
Christmas Day: Dinner Only, Served 5pm-10pm
New Year's Day: Dinner All Day, Served 12pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Arkansas & Boardwalk

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 674-0100

Website:
http://www.buddakanac.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at 215.923.2675.

Parking Details:
Please Park in the Caesars Parking Lot. We provide $ 5 parking vouchers.

Executive Chef:
Nery Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Cara Rice: 609-271-0549 x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Scorpion Sucker
Scorpion Sucker

Buddakan - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
7 More
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
Atlantic City
Best Food
Atlantic City
Best Service
Atlantic City
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City
Most Booked
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

Special Occasion (151)
Fit for Foodies (118)
Good for Groups (113)
See All
Romantic (102)
Hot Spot (72)
Late-night Find (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Lunch (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Scenic View (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Kid-friendly (10)
Family Style (10)
Fun (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (4)
Spicy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Tapas (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great dinner in Atlantic City, can't wai ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great dinner in Atlantic City, can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing from start to finish!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mediocre food and poor service.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Mediocre food and poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Drinks were delicious. Love the tasting ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Drinks were delicious. Love the tasting menu. Great way to try a different things for a flat fee. Disappointed in desserts. The crème brûlée was burnt and one of the other desserts was cold inside. The the meal as a whole was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Outstanding meal and great service. We o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Outstanding meal and great service. We ordered Calamari salad, steamed Edamame and the Ribs (we staggered the ordered which we recommend). Everything was delicious especially the ribs! Then we ordered a meal to share since the appetizers were filling. The waiter recommended the Sea Bass which was the best we've ever had. Highly recommend Buddakan and although pricey, food is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was the best meal and atmosphere! Cel ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

It was the best meal and atmosphere! Celebrated my 50th and my daughters 25th birthday. We had the tasting menu which the portions were so much we had a take away bag. Don't see that often around Atlantic City. Some folks mentioned they got a small cake for they're bd. We did not - possibly due to we got the tasting menu. Not sure. Be careful at the end of your meal - our server was awesome but did offer espresso which I thought was all part of the menu. When I asked her about it she quickly had it removed without hesitation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place ! We come here every time we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great place ! We come here every time we visit AC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this location 3 times ,th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I have been to this location 3 times ,the food as usual was great .I believe the service was a little lacking due to how busy they were.Overall it was another postive experience

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We were a group of 7 celebrating a 60th ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were a group of 7 celebrating a 60th birthday. The food was outstanding and the wait staff very accommodating. The only thing that I can think of as a small complaint was it was fairly noisy and we had a large table and it was hard to converse from one end of the table to the other. This is our second time at Buddakan and the menu had changed slightly. We had so much food, we left with dogie bags. It's definitely a gem in AC and worth the drive wherever you are coming from. I would suggest you definitely make a reservation in advance. We had a 7:30 reservation and there was not an empty table!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great the only issue I ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything was great the only issue I had was that we valet parked and walked to the restaurant thru the casino. Valet did not say anything about validating parking ticket. Hostess nor waiter said anything. We walked all the way back to the valet desk to find out we needed a validation. So the choice was ... Walk all the way back to get a validation or pay 40bucks for valet. On top of that I still gave the attendant 10 bucks( wasn't his fault) so 50 bucks for parking sucked... Only because dinner was 200( not bad) left an 80 buck tip( good service) the 50 bucks was 25% of the dinner tab

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu is great, expect to pay $100+ p ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The menu is great, expect to pay $100+ per person. I absolutely have to mention their desserts. I had a dinner with my husband there and we ordered two desserts - warm donuts with dipping sauces and baked ice-cream. Omg....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a terrific dinner this week and c ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We had a terrific dinner this week and can't wait to go back. The food and service were both stellar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was exceptional!! We opted for the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was exceptional!! We opted for the Chef's selection and it was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our dinner was excellent, server was fab ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our dinner was excellent, server was fabulous, our booth was private and super cute. Loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When visiting Atlantic City you have to ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

When visiting Atlantic City you have to eat at Buddakan. The food was amazing. The service was impeccable and the price was surprising inexpensive. On your next trip book a reservation and try to be seated in one of the private booths. Excellent overall rating!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

The tea ribs were amazing!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The tea ribs were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No room in bar area. Supper small. Dini ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

No room in bar area. Supper small. Dining area very dark and noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was great , service was also ve ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food was great , service was also very good . It was loud in there hard to have a conversation . But we did enjoy our meal food was great !

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the prefix menu food was very good ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Love the prefix menu food was very good is expected, we usually go to Phily location, the menu there is different I like the hungry lobster and they hive more tow fish . The desert was very good is well overall a special experience. Always go back , the service was not great , my husband ordered long island tea and they never serve it we had to remind the server . I will only gave three stars for services. Still is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Asked for a romantic table for two and w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Asked for a romantic table for two and was placed in the middle of the room while many banquets were empty. Told them on open table and on the phone it was our 25th wedding anniversary and they never acknowledged with a candle or writing on plate.

while waitress was very nice, the rest of the staff looked miserable especially busboys and food runners. I can't say rude just no personality. They approach the table and do not say anything, no hello, no how are you nothing!!! Not sure who does the training but they need to work on this.

Food was very good and presented well. i would not say it was a romantic restaurant as others have said. yes it was dark but not quiet and very close to other tables.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent service. Great meal. Friendly ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent service. Great meal. Friendly and knowledgable server. Highly recommended for gluten-free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, excellent food. Will ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent service, excellent food. Will come back for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Super impressed, especially for Atl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Wow! Super impressed, especially for Atlantic City. The service, the decor, the ambiance and especially the food were outstanding. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service. One of my favo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Amazing food and service. One of my favorite places down the shore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. Recommendation and wa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Service was great. Recommendation and was friendly. Food was good. The only thing I would have said is that they are better accommodating for large parties. A party of 6 can get a booth which allows for space. I say this because you can't request a table that is not practically on top of another couple for a party of two, with that being said a lot of restaurant are guilty of packing people in a small area. good experience over all.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Awesome dinner for our 39th anniversary. ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Awesome dinner for our 39th anniversary. Service was fantastic and the food amazing, appetizer: edamame ravioli, and entrée: Sea bass

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I love Budakhan and we ha ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My husband and I love Budakhan and we have been here many times . This dinner was not the best we've had . We found the entrées to be very hot... Even dishes we have ordered in the past that are not space he had an unusual kick to them . So much that my husband couldn't really enjoy his dinner. We did have a nice experience the waitress was very nice the edamame ravioli are amazing.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was great except the noise le ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Everything was great except the noise level was impossible to have a conversation with friends at the table . Should lower the music a lot . Can't help that people talk but musuIc level wS annoying

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is beautiful!! Made a re ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This restaurant is beautiful!! Made a reservation for a bachelorette/birthday party & they made it perfect with the private booth, then cake & champagne for the entire table!! Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service. Calamari salad to d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Impeccable service. Calamari salad to die for. Pork entree excellent. Large portions that are great for sharing. Loved the chocolate dessert. Always a treat to have dinner here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Buddakan. Great food & service. Hop ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Love Buddakan. Great food & service. Hope to return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good location friendly service food was ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good location friendly service food was really good the padthi was delicious loved the gluten free options

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ordered was great. The p ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Everything we ordered was great. The pork buns were the best I ever had!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a fabulous time. Food was delish, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a fabulous time. Food was delish, and service was wonderful and fast. We had a reservation, and we were seated immediately.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were 22 minutes late for our reservat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were 22 minutes late for our reservation (waiting on Uber) and even though we confirmed our reservation out table was given away. No call ...just given away after 15 minutes. We waited 30 minutes for another table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Buddakan is always our favorite destinat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Buddakan is always our favorite destination when in Atlantic City. Great menu and great service once again. The crab fried rice is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. We were there to c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything was great. We were there to celebrate my daughters 19th birthday. Her pick and our first time. Everything was great. My wife kept saying how beautiful it was. Our waiter was great. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Buddakan is one of my favorite restauran ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Buddakan is one of my favorite restaurants. I suggest ordering the chefs tasting for 2.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CRAB FRIED RICE ,CALAMARI SALAD AND LAM ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

CRAB FRIED RICE ,CALAMARI SALAD AND LAMB CHOPS EXCELLENT TO DIE FOR

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Chelsey & Morgan took excellent care of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Chelsey & Morgan took excellent care of my party. We sat in front of Golden Buddha. Incredible atmosphere, cool music.

The Edamame Ravoli, Calamari Salad, Wagyu Beef Satay, Sea Bass, Aged Beef, Filet, Monkfish and more yummy dishes were perfection.

Always an amazing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.