Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Buckheads - Richmond

Buckhead’s has been a Richmond tradition since 1994. Featuring succulent Braveheart Beef and only the freshest seafood, you can taste our passion for culinary excellence. Consistently recognized with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence”, our list offers over 700 labels to complement your dining experience. Additionally, our bar proudly highlights one of the largest selections of single malt scotches and small batch bourbons in Richmond, Virginia.

8510 Patterson Avenue
Richmond, VA 23229
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Parham and Patterson

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 750-2000

Website:
http://www.buckheads.com/

Parking Details:
Ample on-site parking

Executive Chef:
Eric Lewis

Private Party Facilities:
From business meetings to holiday parties, family celebrations to rehearsal dinners, we are excited about making your event a memorable one. Whatever the occasion, our professional staff will make your private dining experience effortless and enjoyable. We offer two private dining rooms to host your event. "Uptown" accommodates up to 50 guests, accesses our main bar area and boasts a candlelit fireplace and large window. "Downtown" has seating capacity for 30 guests and offers more privacy because it is less accessible to our other dining areas. Both rooms can accommodate audiovisual presentations as well as wireless internet.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Mitchell: (804) 750-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buckheads - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Notable Wine List (32)
Romantic (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Business Meals (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Authentic (17)
Cozy (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
725 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Over the top good. A great dining experience. There is no better place in Richmond

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Always a wonderful, delectable and scrumptious meal. $$$$ well spent and enjoyed. Service is excellent and attentive without hovering.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Awesome bourbon selection, great ambiance and staff, the steak is always perfect, and I can't help but recommend the crab cakes & mushrooms!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The service was impeccable, the food delicious with an extensive wine list. Highly recommend. The food is not trendy - classic dining options prepared to the customer's preference.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Amazing. Eric's roasted potatoes are a hit!!! Should be everyday option. Rick was amazing as usual. Terrific all around. We'll be back....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Normally on of the best restaurants in Richmond. Steak over cooked and food was cold. Avoid Monday's,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We went to Buckheads after receiving a gift card there. We had never heard of them before but the reviews were positive! There were definite highs and lows to the experience. Some things were fantastic, others not what I expect from a fancy, expensive steakhouse. What was mediocre was mediocre, but what was good DAMN was it good.

Mediocre: It was very dark and drab in the restaurant to start. There was a lengthy wait in between courses considering how empty the restaurant was. I felt the waiter could have been more attentive. My extra side was forgotten and then took so long to be made that it didn't come until the end of the meal (waiter took it off the bill). The crab cakes were crab cakes, the veggies were veggies, the salad was salad, the potatoes were potatoes. Creme brulee was meh. Sides are pricey.

DAMN good: what you came there for.... the STEAK. I got Steak au poive (?)- filet mignon crusted in black pepper with a vermouth glaze. BEST STEAK EVER. We went over a month ago and I still dream about it, that kind of steak. My creamed spinach (that had to be taken off the bill since it didn't come until the end of the meal) ended up being worth the wait- AMAZING. Considering how much food we got, I actually think it was a fairly priced meal (an appetizer, two salads, bread, two steaks, two alcoholic beverages, and dessert for $140). Looking forward to going back for our anniversary this year

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 27, 2017

While our service and food were excellent, a family of four was seated right behind us that became very argumentative. The gentleman was loudly insulting his family members -a child included- over the course of 20 minutes or so. When I questioned the staff later they stated that the family had been guests several times and always acted like that. It made the whole room uncomfortable and I felt someone should have intervened. There were four other tables in the room. That business cannot be worth losing other customers.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food and wine were excellent although the filet was medium rare not rare as ordered. The side of onion rings was probably the best we had ever had and we have eaten at numerous fine restaurants. However, the service was extremely slow to the point we may not return again.
We were a party of 3 and ordered appetizers, entre and dessert. We were there more than two and a half hours and waited more than 30 minutes after finishing our salads before our entres arrived. Our bottle of wine was about gone before the entres arrived and we were not asked if we would like another. We spent almost $500 including tip. There was no explanation why service was so slow. There was no evidence of management in sight. The table next to us had a party of 4 (entre with salad only) and then a party of 2 (with appetizer, entre and were on dessert as we were trying to get our check). With plenty of other restaurants to choose from we are unsure we will choose Buckhead's again, at least anytime soon. Disappointing since the food was good but our time is valuable too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Was very quiet the night we went. Lost a little luster because it was a little dead. Food was fabulous. Wine list a little overwhelming and our waiter was not well versed about it.
However it's a wonderful restaurant and we will go often

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We have been to Buckheads for special nights out many times. Always appreciate the warm, dark wooded, very quiet, ambience. Service was prompt, friendly and knowledgeable of menu and specials. Everything came well prepared, very tasteful and timely.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great place. Waiter was weak. Food one of the best in Richmond.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food couldn't have been cooked more perfect! The steak was mouthwatering! The staff paid close attention to the fact that I put my husband's birthday. Wonderful evening and meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2017

After dining out in many Richmond Restaurants, Buckhead's is definitely
on my favorite list. We enjoyed looking at the decorated walls and wines.
The food and service were excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Expensive menu, and food was OK. Service was excellent

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Buckheads never disappoints! Excellent food, atmosphere and service. Great choice when dining really matters.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Wonderful service and delicious food! Very knowledgeable servers-ours was spectacular. Enjoyed also the fact that the restaurant's interior provided a quiet atmosphere where conversation could be heard. Highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

My wife and I had a very enjoyable anniversary dinner and will definitely be back again. The staff was excellent, the food (steak, crab) was delicious, the booth allowed for a wonderful private setting/conversation, and the free key lime pie was a nice touch. Overall, highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Excellent food and meticulous service. A great time was had by all. I ordered the rack of lamb, and it was perfect. I highly recommend Buckheads for your fine dining needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

i thought this restaurant was great. We love coming her to relax and spend time with friends

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 1, 2017

A cozy booth in the back, absolutely perfect food, attentive service --Buckheads never disappoints us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Again, another outstanding dining experience!
All of the food is FABULOUS.
Service was outstanding.
The BEST place in Richmond for fine dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 26, 2017

My wife and I enjoy Buckheads a couple times a year and would go more often but we always over eat as the portions are delicious but huge. This isn't a negative against Buckheads, it's our inability to stop eating such good food. Buckheads might have the best steaks in Richmond, definitely in the top 3 so this place is on the must eat list of you love steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Ambience I gave 4/5 because I thought it was a little dimly lit (the walls are dark wood paneling and don't reflect much light. It was also noisier than I had expected, probably due to a party of businessmen sitting nearby who hadn't learned how to use their indoor voices. As the prices are quite high, I would only come here for special occasions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Amazing place. we routinely come here because Christie greets us with a smile and glass of Riesling. We love the personal attention. This is boutique dining at its finest. Rick is terrific, along with Richard. We love the restaurant. Best food. Best restaurant..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The restaurant was slammed with a private party for 50, so this may not be a fair review. Everything was delayed, by an hour or more. The ribeye came out overdone, but they immediately made it right and did NOT charge for it, which was way more generous than they had to be. But then, both bottles of wine were overcharged compared to the menu prices. Overall, the meal was lackluster - not up to Buckhead's usual quality. We'll go back and try again another time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Buckheads is always a treat. Our server Claude is the consummate professional who maintains the level of excellence. Great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Outstanding! Enjoyed our 15 year anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My wife and I visited Buckhead's on a Saturday early evening. The restruant was full be the time we left. A testament to its popularity. My wife had the filet and I had the crab cakes. Both were excellent. The filet was was grilled exactly to my wife's expectations. The crab cakes were mostly crab and very tasty. Our service was exceptional. Not only responsive, but anticipatory. The waiter quickly picked up my wife's allergy to fish and had her Caesar salad prepared without anchovies. If your water glass gets below half full, it is an exception.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Terrible service. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great recommendation from the hotel we stayed at. The service was phenomenal, the food was outstanding and the atmosphere was perfect for our dinner conversation about the college tours we were in town for! Would definitely come back!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Went for a special anniversary dinner. Took our own wine and for a $25 Corkage fee, we were all set to have a 25Yr old Bordeaux, which was nice because so many other places don't allow this. Appetizers were the scallops and so lobster bisque, both of which came quick and both of which were exceptional. The spouse got the Filet and Crab and I got the 14oz veal chop. Both cooked perfectly and seasoned exceptionally. The sides were good, but not exceptional; they were not ala carte so no harm no foul. Overall the meal was great, the service very good and the evening both enjoyable and without incident. I will be back....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Went to Buckheads for our anniversary - great ambiance and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I've never had a hot out of the oven baked potato there. Bummer at a steakhouse.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food, service and ambience were great. Staff are each well trained and delivered sincere customer service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This was probably one of the best dinner experiences that I have had in a long time. Tomahawk ribeye was phenomenal. Great drinks, sides, everything. Worth it

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Hostess & waiter we're very polite, informative, and helpful. We had seared scallops appetizer, filet mignon and grouper, with a bottle of wine. All of these were deliciously prepared to perfection. Only reason not to give 5 stars across the board, was that the crust in the creme brulee dessert was a bit thick, and required a little more effort to push through it. Otherwise a splendid evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Excellent steak that was cooked properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We had a delicious meal with just the right amount of service! The drinks from the bar were good, too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great spot for dining. Love the decor and lighting. Each time we eat there we come away pleased. It has been a favorite for years.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.