About Buckheads - Richmond

8510 Patterson Avenue
Richmond, VA 23229
View Larger Map

Buckhead’s has been a Richmond tradition since 1994. Featuring succulent Braveheart Beef and only the freshest seafood, you can taste our passion for culinary excellence. Consistently recognized with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence”, our list offers over 700 labels to complement your dining experience. Additionally, our bar proudly highlights one of the largest selections of single malt scotches and small batch bourbons in Richmond, Virginia.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Parham and Patterson

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 750-2000

Website:
http://www.buckheads.com/

Parking Details:
Ample on-site parking

Executive Chef:
Eric Lewis

Private Party Facilities:
From business meetings to holiday parties, family celebrations to rehearsal dinners, we are excited about making your event a memorable one. Whatever the occasion, our professional staff will make your private dining experience effortless and enjoyable. We offer two private dining rooms to host your event. "Uptown" accommodates up to 50 guests, accesses our main bar area and boasts a candlelit fireplace and large window. "Downtown" has seating capacity for 30 guests and offers more privacy because it is less accessible to our other dining areas. Both rooms can accommodate audiovisual presentations as well as wireless internet.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Mitchell: (804) 750-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buckheads - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (44)
Quiet Conversation (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Cozy (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Romantic (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Business Meals (25)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Authentic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Private Room (6)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fireplace (2)
Historic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a very quaint place with great se ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

It was a very quaint place with great service and food.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I asked one of my co-workers if she knew ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

I asked one of my co-workers if she knew of any restaurants that had REALLY good food and a nice ambiance because I wanted to take my husband out for his birthday. She mentioned a few and then she said we should try Buckheads. My husband and I are seafood lovers, and that's what we ordered but he had steak as well and I must say, the food and the all around experience was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing steak and excellent service in a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing steak and excellent service in a classic atmosphere. Never disappoints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service, perfect atmosphere. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service, perfect atmosphere. Seriously, the best steak I have ever had in my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely delicious but th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious but the service was inexplicably slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It just isn't worth the money. Fifty dol ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It just isn't worth the money. Fifty dollars for a filet was way too much for the location and quality. The potato of the day was bland and gummy and both accompanying vegetables were cold on arrival. Wine was very good and the service was excellent. Just not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

One table got very loud at the end of ou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

One table got very loud at the end of our evening. I am glad it was at the end!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

My wife and I decided to go out for dinn ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife and I decided to go out for dinner the day before Valentine's day to celebrate.

We decided on Buckhead's based on a recommendation from a neighbor. We were not disappointed, and very pleasantly surprised. The food was great! The atmosphere was perfect! Not too loud, no screaming children, perfect sized space, just right for an intimate dinner. The wait staff were very pleasant. Very attentive, but no overly so. We never had to ask to have our empty glasses filled. The filet mignon steaks were cooked to perfection! Thank you for a memorable experience. We'll be back. Our compliments to the chef, wait staff, and management!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dinner, wine, dessert, servic ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent dinner, wine, dessert, service, and ambience! We will definitely come again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks very good. The potato cake not s ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Steaks very good. The potato cake not so good. We decided to go on a Sunday versus Saturday knowing that it would be not crowded due to upcoming Valentines Day. It was not crowded so for whatever reason service very slow. A couple that came in after us got their food before us. Waiter tried to explain that the NY strip took longer to cook than a Filet, not sure we believe that. Also, noticed that the waiters almost had collisions coming through a door with food. Saw this a few times and my plate almost got the drop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

When I made my reservations, to take my ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

When I made my reservations, to take my husband out for Valentine's Day dinner, I requested a private booth, which was honored. The ambience was cozy and romantic. The food was delicious and presented in an aesthetically pleasing manner. Our server was friendly and very accommodating. Overall, we were extremely pleased!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was very good. however the wait ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

the food was very good. however the wait time was entirely too long it was 50 minutes maybe longer, from the time we arrived until dinner was served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Simply the best steak house in Richmond ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Simply the best steak house in Richmond hands down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was inattentive. Didn't offer cra ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Waiter was inattentive. Didn't offer cracked pepper for salad; didn't check with us to see if steak was cooked to our liking; place looked old and dated and smelled like mildew; food was mediocre and over priced; this place is over-rated! Will not return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

This was our first time and we definitel ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our first time and we definitely will be back. The fish was great, and my husband loved his steak!

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A most enjoyable evening! The service w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 8, 2017

A most enjoyable evening! The service was excellent, the food was delicious and the atmosphere was great. How nice to be able to enjoy a meal and still be able to carry on a conversation. Think this will be my special place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always; took two people for ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fantastic as always; took two people for the first time and both said it was the best place they have ever eaten

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved that we were never t really shed t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loved that we were never t really shed through our meal! Quiet place but lively. Had the steak fromage and I highly recommend it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose this restaurant for a wedding a ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We chose this restaurant for a wedding anniversary dinner. Our server was polite, professional and attentive and our food was served promptly and tasted delicious. My wife and I were both amazed by the exquisite flavor of the filet mignon, and our complimentary dessert of chocolate torts with gourmet, medium-roasted coffee was a pleasant ending to our wonderful meal. We will definitely dine here again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very poor. On a number o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The service was very poor. On a number of occasions the wines we have choosen were not available, more often than not. Food was very good. Once seated it took over 50 minutes to open the first wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

This was our second visit to Buckheads. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our second visit to Buckheads. The food, the service and the ambience was outstanding. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in Richmond. Great servi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

One of the best in Richmond. Great service and environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a party of 10 for dinner. Our wa ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a party of 10 for dinner. Our waiter was very attentive and made sure our needs were attended to. The food was excellent - prepared as requested. One of my favorite restaurants in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From start to finish: Hostess was friend ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

From start to finish: Hostess was friendly and promptly sat us. It was an early Saturday night reservation. I enjoyed the ambience. It was really nice for a steak house. Service was adequate. There was not an ounce of enthusiasm from him. To us that's ok but I almost started to think we were an annoyance to him. We were offered the specials. He knew them well enough. We ordered steak fromage and steak au poive. The menu does not specify that you are getting steak encrusted with pepper. When a French man orders this he expects peppercorn sauce. This left my husband scrapping off the pepper into the sauce. While ordering we didn't realize the menu came with sides. It was nice to find out with the prices being so high. This made more sense. The sides were great. Mushrooms were my favorite. We ordered an additional side. Steak fromage was a disappointment. The walnuts were a nice touch but the cheese was overpowering. Our steaks were cooked well... sadly the rare steak ended up on my plate and the medium rare on my husbands. This was mixed up somehow. This entire time we were not checked on. No one ensured the steak was prepared correctly. Even outback does that! Ok so we ordered dessert. The two reasons we picked this restaurant were for steak and for creme brûlée. Birthdays deserve favorite desserts! Right? Well it was almost perfect. Again we were fooled. Creme brûlée with ORANGE came out. It was prepared perfectly but what is this orange taste?! Yes it was still good just a disappointment. Server still did not notice or ask how anything was. It was ok since we would not have fussed over this anyway. I'm choosing to fuss here bc for a special occasion the entire experience was a huge disappointment. There was nothing that would ever bring me back to this place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Disappointing. This is clearly a popula ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Disappointing. This is clearly a popular spot based on how many people were there on a Thursday night in January but I don't know why. The quality of our steaks was excellent (although my ribeye was only a little over 1/2" thick). My wife's filet was perfect. The vegetables were overcooked and the asparagus was thing and stringy. The baked potato was underdone. On a more positive note, the wine selection was very good as was the dessert. We will keep looking for an outstanding steak restaurant in Richmond.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We had early reservations and were seate ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We had early reservations and were seated right next to the kitchen hallway. The noise and traffic was very annoying. We went for the steak based on the reviews. We both bought the most expensive cowboy cut bone in ribeye. I ordered rare plus and it was too rare and my friend ordered medium and it was also undercooked. He sent his back for more cooking and I just struggled through extra chewing. I've had far better steaks over the years so it was really a disappointment for us. The service we got was excellent and the bar area is very nice. If we were at a different table location and the steak was better, I would definitely recommend the location.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Consistently some of the best food and s ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Consistently some of the best food and service in the area. Relatively quiet so you can have a nice conversation without having to scream. Excellent wine list and small batch bourbons available. Buckheads is always our first choice for any special occasion. Pricey but worth every penny.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our dinner was excellent as well as the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our dinner was excellent as well as the service. We certainly will be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely, very leisurely dining e ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a lovely, very leisurely dining experience at Buckhead's. The room in which we were seated was not full and so the noise level was very low and we were really able to enjoy our conversation as well as our meals. The menu is not filled with "nuevo" or unique cuisine offerings, but there is a good solid range of long time favorites, and all our dinners were cooked to perfection. That's most notable as we all ordered filet mignon and we all ordered them cooked differently. The seared tuna appetizer was beautifully prepared. Our waiter, Claude, was superb. The food is a bit pricey, so this would not be a regular for us, but we certainly enjoyed this splurge for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu and wine list were very good. T ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The menu and wine list were very good. The wine by-the-glass was very adequate. I like the meal including salad and sides a strong plus rather than excessive ala carte.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great meal, all the food was scrum ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Had a great meal, all the food was scrumptious, including my veal chop. Service was very attentive and not intrusive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a wonderful meal. Thanks for a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 11, 2017

It was a wonderful meal.

Thanks for a lovely evening, all in all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to try this place for a long time ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Wanted to try this place for a long time.....glad we did. Everything as advertised. Service excellent. Steaks cooked to perfection. Free dessert because of our anniversary. Booked online and noted it was a special day for us. Good follow-through. Only knock is that they had only two beers on tap. And, very pricey. But, it's a solid go-to place for that special occasion. Will be returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very enjoyable evening ! Food was great ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very enjoyable evening ! Food was great and so was service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were immediately seated at a corner t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We were immediately seated at a corner table and presented with menus. After making decisions and getting back to conversation we noticed that one of our wine glasses had a lipstick stain. This was not a good first impression. Our waiter quickly removed and replaced the offensive glass. The rest of the evening was really nice and problem free. My only suggestion is that employees be super vigilante about dirty glasses when they set the tables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We came for an early Birthday dinner on ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came for an early Birthday dinner on NYE everything was fantastic, just as I expected! Buck heads will always be a top 3 restaurant in my opinion for Richmond! Best steak best service best ambiance! Thank you Buckheads!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and steak was awesome! Love t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great meal and steak was awesome! Love the wine selection and the pimiento mashed potatoes!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic as always! Our go-to place for ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fantastic as always! Our go-to place for date night, or a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have lived within a few miles of the r ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I have lived within a few miles of the restaurant for close to 20 years. I have grown up dining here since I was 7 years old. It is a go-to spot for birthdays, Christmas, or other special occasions. Buckhead's never fails to amaze. The wine menu is extensive and fun to browse, the meat is always of excellent quality, and the staff is knowledgeable, friendly, and loyal.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my husband for his birthday. Eve ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I took my husband for his birthday. Everything was great from the service to the food. Staff very attentive even with our waiter having 2 big parties plus my husband and I. This is a good place to take someone for a special occasion. The new York strip was delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.