About Buckheads - Richmond

Buckhead’s has been a Richmond tradition since 1994. Featuring succulent Braveheart Beef and only the freshest seafood, you can taste our passion for culinary excellence. Consistently recognized with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence”, our list offers over 700 labels to complement your dining experience. Additionally, our bar proudly highlights one of the largest selections of single malt scotches and small batch bourbons in Richmond, Virginia.

8510 Patterson Avenue
Richmond, VA 23229
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Parham and Patterson

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 750-2000

Website:
http://www.buckheads.com/

Parking Details:
Ample on-site parking

Executive Chef:
Eric Lewis

Private Party Facilities:
From business meetings to holiday parties, family celebrations to rehearsal dinners, we are excited about making your event a memorable one. Whatever the occasion, our professional staff will make your private dining experience effortless and enjoyable. We offer two private dining rooms to host your event. "Uptown" accommodates up to 50 guests, accesses our main bar area and boasts a candlelit fireplace and large window. "Downtown" has seating capacity for 30 guests and offers more privacy because it is less accessible to our other dining areas. Both rooms can accommodate audiovisual presentations as well as wireless internet.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Mitchell: 8047502000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mini Crab Cakes - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
  • Lobster Bisque - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
  • Calamari - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
  • Steak Fromage - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
  • steak and crab - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
  • 20 Oz Bone In Ribeye - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA

Report a photo problem

Mini Crab Cakes - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Lobster Bisque - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Calamari - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Steak Fromage - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
steak and crab - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
20 Oz Bone In Ribeye - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA

Buckheads - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (39)
Romantic (33)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Business Meals (28)
Cozy (25)
Worth the Drive (18)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Authentic (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Private Room (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (5)
Fun (4)
Fireplace (4)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
590 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Consistently some of the best food and s ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Consistently some of the best food and service in the area. Relatively quiet so you can have a nice conversation without having to scream. Excellent wine list and small batch bourbons available. Buckheads is always our first choice for any special occasion. Pricey but worth every penny.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our dinner was excellent as well as the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Our dinner was excellent as well as the service. We certainly will be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu and wine list were very good. T ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

The menu and wine list were very good. The wine by-the-glass was very adequate. I like the meal including salad and sides a strong plus rather than excessive ala carte.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great meal, all the food was scrum ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great meal, all the food was scrumptious, including my veal chop. Service was very attentive and not intrusive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a wonderful meal. Thanks for a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a wonderful meal.

Thanks for a lovely evening, all in all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to try this place for a long time ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Wanted to try this place for a long time.....glad we did. Everything as advertised. Service excellent. Steaks cooked to perfection. Free dessert because of our anniversary. Booked online and noted it was a special day for us. Good follow-through. Only knock is that they had only two beers on tap. And, very pricey. But, it's a solid go-to place for that special occasion. Will be returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very enjoyable evening ! Food was great ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very enjoyable evening ! Food was great and so was service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were immediately seated at a corner t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We were immediately seated at a corner table and presented with menus. After making decisions and getting back to conversation we noticed that one of our wine glasses had a lipstick stain. This was not a good first impression. Our waiter quickly removed and replaced the offensive glass. The rest of the evening was really nice and problem free. My only suggestion is that employees be super vigilante about dirty glasses when they set the tables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We came for an early Birthday dinner on ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came for an early Birthday dinner on NYE everything was fantastic, just as I expected! Buck heads will always be a top 3 restaurant in my opinion for Richmond! Best steak best service best ambiance! Thank you Buckheads!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and steak was awesome! Love t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great meal and steak was awesome! Love the wine selection and the pimiento mashed potatoes!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic as always! Our go-to place for ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fantastic as always! Our go-to place for date night, or a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have lived within a few miles of the r ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I have lived within a few miles of the restaurant for close to 20 years. I have grown up dining here since I was 7 years old. It is a go-to spot for birthdays, Christmas, or other special occasions. Buckhead's never fails to amaze. The wine menu is extensive and fun to browse, the meat is always of excellent quality, and the staff is knowledgeable, friendly, and loyal.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my husband for his birthday. Eve ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I took my husband for his birthday. Everything was great from the service to the food. Staff very attentive even with our waiter having 2 big parties plus my husband and I. This is a good place to take someone for a special occasion. The new York strip was delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We (4 people) had wonderful dinner and r ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We (4 people) had wonderful dinner and relaxing conversation. We were not rushed; the restaurant was fairly quiet; except for the undercooked veggies, everything else was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The best steaks I've had in Richmond! T ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The best steaks I've had in Richmond! The restaurant is quiet with a handsome interior.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was excellent and very attent ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our server was excellent and very attentive. The food was delicious and steaks cooked to perfection. We were celebrating a birthday, and the evening will be memorable. Our table had glueten free concerns and severe nut allergies.s Our server was very attentive with both. It was the first time our birthday guest had enjoyed a meal at Buckheads. I have no doubt there will be return visits!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome evening! Menu and wine list was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Awesome evening! Menu and wine list was spectacular...and perfectly prepared and served!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Buckhead's is a long term favorite. It e ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Buckhead's is a long term favorite. It excelled once again! We were greeted immediately, seated promptly, and served very professionally. This time we were in the main dining room; even though it was packed, we were still able to have excellent conversations. We all selected a filet; without any hesitation, we were every one totally pleased.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service outstanding. I like th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food and service outstanding. I like that each entrée comes with salad, vegetables, and potato, which makes it a very good value for a high end meal. Very nice place for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal and waiter was great! Wine was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The meal and waiter was great! Wine was excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The steak was beautifully seasoned and c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The steak was beautifully seasoned and cooked. I have never seen escargot submerged in garlic butter like the ones at Buckheads were. Wonderful rolls were welcome additions to soak up the butter! Great decaf coffee!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

What a Jen to find in Richmond. The food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

What a Jen to find in Richmond. The food was amazing in such a rich setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I chose this restaurant over Shula's and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I chose this restaurant over Shula's and my date said Buckhead's was her favorite. I knew ahead of time it was going to be a good night and a good choice. My three guests all said it was a great dinner. The waiter was friendly and polite and gave us time to chat while serving us promptly. I could not have planned or asked for a better evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was awesome, Claude was our waiter ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was awesome, Claude was our waiter and so in the know about all things Buckheads, Service was right on time, not too long between courses, but not rushed either. We loved our entrees, the filets were scrumptious, and the lump crab always a fave. The scallop appetizer was so good, the touch of dijon and the capers were sublime. I t was a pleasure, Claude brought us a chocolate decadence something for our anniversay. Super evening. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is tucked into a small strip ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This place is tucked into a small strip mall in Richmond.

All woodsy and clubby...just lovely. We dine early so we

were alone for some time but by the time we finished they were pouring in.

A wonderful menu and the service was perfect, as was the food.

Any time we're in Richmond this will be a 'must'!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service and food. Well wort ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Well worth the 50 mile drive for us to get there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent. We were ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food and service was excellent. We were sat near a noisy table when there was a number of other open tables. A little pricy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The crab imperial is excellent -- big hu ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The crab imperial is excellent -- big hunks of crabmeat!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Buckhead's is one of my favorite places ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Buckhead's is one of my favorite places to take ou-of-town guests. However, this past Saturday nite, we waited over 1 hour and 45 minutes for our food! Not even our salads or appetizers came out.

What's up? All our waiter did was say the kitchen was backed up, and gave us an extra tiny splash of wine.

Not the Buckhead's I used to know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was excellent. Our waiter on th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was excellent. Our waiter on the other hand might have been having an off night. Just not as friendly and exuberant I feel the service should have been for a restaurant of this caliber. If this was my livelihood I would try to be more personable!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

First time visiting, and was pleasantly ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

First time visiting, and was pleasantly surprised. Even though I didn't get steak I was very happy with my meal- crab imperial, which is my favorite. It was full of large portions of lump crab meat. So so good. The vegetables were seasoned perfectly! The only thing that wasn't he greatest was that potato cake. It had the potential to be good it just didn't quite get there. Some extra seasoning would have helped. My fiancé didn't care for his mashed potatoes either. He only ate a couple scoops. The ambiance was perfect for a surprise date night. Definitely coming back again

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The waiter was friendly and helpful. My ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The waiter was friendly and helpful. My meal (New York Strip) was terrible (had to "saw" through it with the knife). It was tough and possibly the worst I've had at any steakhouse. I sent most of it back to the kitchen. My Wife's meal was good, but that does not make up for the over all experience. The cost was taken off my bill, which I appreciate, but we were out for a good meal. The waiter apologized, but there was no acknowledgement by a manager. Our first and probably our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Best filets we have had in a long, long ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Best filets we have had in a long, long time! Everything else was spot-on too - service, sides, cocktails, all top-notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak in town. The steak fromage, h ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Best steak in town. The steak fromage, harry potters favorite, was outstanding!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous old style steakhouse! Pricey, ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fabulous old style steakhouse! Pricey, but no complaints about the food, it was perfectly cooked and served with hospitality.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food - wonderful wine selection ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fabulous food - wonderful wine selection - great menu options

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I made reservations for my wife, myself ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I made reservations for my wife, myself and my three kids so we could celebrate my retirement. It was a perfect evening with wonderful, friendly service along with the always great food. I would certainly recommend Buckhead's to anyone looking for an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dinner was so good! The steaks were ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The dinner was so good! The steaks were tender and cooked perfectly. The service was attentive without hovering. We both enjoyed dining at Buckhead's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, service impeccable, and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was great, service impeccable, and the ambiance was very romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our reservation was made for 8:45 on a T ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our reservation was made for 8:45 on a Thursday night, we arrived at 8:30 and they gladly seated us early. The decor is very at-home feeling and the seating is nicely spread out. I can see the room being loud if the restaurant is full or the eight top tables behind us were filled in. After reading the reviews I was expecting the noise from a stadium, but honestly, it was very comfortable. Our waiter (Rick) was very polite and helped order a bottle of wine that ended up being excellent which matched our steak perfectly. We started off with an order of calamari that was great followed by our salads that were a perfect flavor before our entrees. We both decided on the Ribeye, both medium-rare which came out cooked perfectly. After going to both Fleming's and Shula's in Richmond and having a steak cooked incorrectly, this was a relief.

The negative reviews I've read on here are mostly from people complaining about price and quantity. If that is the case they should probably look into a Longhorn or Friday's. All I can say is, we were definitely impressed and we will be back for more.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.