Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Buckheads - Richmond

Buckhead’s has been a Richmond tradition since 1994. Featuring succulent Braveheart Beef and only the freshest seafood, you can taste our passion for culinary excellence. Consistently recognized with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence”, our list offers over 700 labels to complement your dining experience. Additionally, our bar proudly highlights one of the largest selections of single malt scotches and small batch bourbons in Richmond, Virginia.

8510 Patterson Avenue
Richmond, VA 23229
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Parham and Patterson

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 750-2000

Website:
http://www.buckheads.com/

Parking Details:
Ample on-site parking

Executive Chef:
Eric Lewis

Private Party Facilities:
From business meetings to holiday parties, family celebrations to rehearsal dinners, we are excited about making your event a memorable one. Whatever the occasion, our professional staff will make your private dining experience effortless and enjoyable. We offer two private dining rooms to host your event. "Uptown" accommodates up to 50 guests, accesses our main bar area and boasts a candlelit fireplace and large window. "Downtown" has seating capacity for 30 guests and offers more privacy because it is less accessible to our other dining areas. Both rooms can accommodate audiovisual presentations as well as wireless internet.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Mitchell: (804) 750-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buckheads - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Romantic (33)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Business Meals (28)
Cozy (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Authentic (10)
Private Room (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent as always! Great food and outstanding service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service. A nice dinner where conversation was easy and not drowned out out by a lot of noise. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Buckheads was a pleasure! Food was great. Service was first rate. Cant wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

You know when go there it is going to be good. Thanks don't change anything,great night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Service was very friendly. Food was ok, rolls very hard, mashes potatoes where nasty, and no mac-n-cheese on menu. Scallop appetizer was the best I have ever had, but lobster bisc tasted like a ginger bread/pumpkin mix, very strange. My husband steak was perfect and my salmon was amazing. Dessert was really good. If I could make any suggestions it would be... Softer bread and butter, add homemade mac-n-cheese to menu, turn up the lights just a little, a give staff a raise because they do a great job.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Have been waiting for years to try Buckheads... The steaks were outstanding, also the creamed spinach. The waiter was perfectly attentive without being intrusive. Very pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We enjoyed a birthday/anniversary with family. It would have been nice if the restaurant had a small dessert for those celebrating. We had an area which was easily accessible for our handicapped nephew and the noise level was moderate. The food was great, a bit pricey, but service was good. The crab bisque was very salty, but other than that, we enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2017

For the money we spent, we did not feel our overall experience was great. Steak and Lamb were great. The mixed vegetables, mashed potatoes and potato cake was not good. They sat us next to the kitchen door and it was noisy and a lot of traffic. I had told them this was a birthday occasion. It took a while for our dinner to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Buckheads is always awesome, excellent food, excellent service

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Relaxed, bar was beautiful, food was expertly prepared, staff was very professional. Loved the ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Evan was very personable and provided excellent service. His recommendation of the pepper crusted filet mignon was cooked to perfection and delicious. One of the best steakhouses in Richmond.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My party of four thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was great, well cooked and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We had a great time dining and celebrating our 26th wedding anniversary at Buckheads.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

A consistent winner in Richmond's West end. Known for their beef but lots of additional choices available on an attractive menu. Service was impeccable and the atmosphere was conductive to a quiet business meal setting.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I went for my junior prom, with my date and a friend couple of ours. The steak we had was absolutely incredible, and 10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Waited an unreasonable amount of time between salad and entree. Server apologized and said that "one of the steaks had to be refired." Steaks came out, one perfect, one an over cooked hockey puck. Also our bearnaisse sauce was on the side, not sure why. Server was attentive and apologetic and comped the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 18, 2017

My favorite high end Steak restaurant in Richmond. In my humble opinion, it destroys Fleming's and it is more cozy and club like than Old Bookbinder's and Morton's, which are both also excellent. But I love me some Buckhead's. Old school.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A great steak always perfectly prepared. Fresh crisp salad with great blue cheese dressing. Very relaxing atmosphere and a great wine list. Many great dessert choices Waitstaff is perfect

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food, service and convenient location. Will definitely return for a future meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Three people had the filets which were very good. I had the strip which was very disappointing. For prime meat, it was tough and chewy, more like sirloin. The waiter was friendly, but slow. I suspect that is on purpose so people will drink more. For four people, the bill was almost $500 which is very pricy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The service so slow...tables of 7 served before us 2 and. I was not happy about this...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food and drinks were excellent. Our server was attentive to everyone in our party. The pace was relaxed. We did not feel like we were being rushed to finish our meals.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Lucky me, I was given the gift of a dinner for two at Buckhead's!!! I Celebrated my birthday here and it was certainly the right choice. Everything was absolutely perfect from start to finish. Service was excellent and the food was simply delicious. Would definitely go back again. Perfect restaurant for special occasions 🎉
Strongly recommend ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent can't go wrong with buckheads one of the three best res in richmond

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great steak and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 31, 2017

What a nice place to dine, very cozy, quite, and great food and excellent service. Would recommend to everyone for a nice quite evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I have eaten here twice before for my wedding anniversary and I have never been displeased with this restaurant. The service and food are fantastic and I will continue to go here in the future and highly recommend anyone to go as well.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Love Buckhead's food and ambiance . We go frequently and have always been pleased

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Impeccable service. Cocktails a little pricey. Would highly recommend especially for special occasions and business dinners.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I went to Buckhead's for the first time recently to celebrate a birthday with my boyfriend. Luckily, we were seated at a booth, which is a lot cozier (and quieter) than being seated in the first dining room we passed through. The food was very good; the filet excellent and cooked perfectly (and he's very picky about doneness). My only minor complaint would be that the service was very slow. It took a long time to get our food and too long to get the bill. That being said, I would still return for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Family in town! We always go, and it never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food and service as usual. Always the best steak in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Best steakhouse in Richmond. Wine selection is great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 9, 2017

All staff recognized our special birthday celebration and made us feel welcome. The staff were friendly and polite. The food was great, although both Steaks were terribly undercooked. I've had wonderful Steaks here so I'll let it pass.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Thanks, Buckheads, for never disappointing! I'm working my way down the menu with local friends and out-of-town family.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Best surf and turf in the area. Service and atmosphere are also top notch. Menu offers plenty of options and the beer/wine selection is very good. All of the prices are comparable to other top local menus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

What a disappointment! This is not the Buckheads of old - it used to be our favorite restaurant, but it has changed and not for the better! I could not recommend Buckheads to anyone. We spent $182 and it makes me sick to think about it. We ordered the lobster bisque as a starter, took one taste and stopped, it tasted like tomatoe soup with too much salt &a overpowering sherry, we told our waiter we couldn't eat it and he said he would take it off our bill, then he came back and said the owner was in the kitchen, tasted it and agreed with us, the waiter told us 3 times we weren't being charged for it - we heard the first time! We ordered fillets with Yukon mashed potatoes, fillets were ok, mashed potatoes heavy & gluey didn't eat them after one taste, salads nothing to rave about, looked like they opened the salad bags you buy at the grocery store and dumped some bottled dressing on. Since this was a special occasion our dessert was on the house - we ordered the Godiva cake, wished we had told them to keep it - it was a small cold bundt cake with chocolate poured over it - we were expecting a warm cake with a gooey chocolate center boy were we surprised. Our waiter could not get rid us fast enough- we hadn't finished our coffee when he brought us our check. Our reservation as for 7:30 on Friday night, the bar was crowded but the dining room was empty - now I know why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Thumbs up to this Richmond treasure. I haven't been to Buckheads in years and I regret it. The steaks are prepared and served to perfection. The staff is friendly and attentive. Recommended for a nice business dinner or special occasion. Good value!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 27, 2017

First visit and loved the food - Absolutely delicious! Will return for sure!

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.