About Buckheads - Richmond

8510 Patterson Avenue
Richmond, VA 23229
View Larger Map

Buckhead’s has been a Richmond tradition since 1994. Featuring succulent Braveheart Beef and only the freshest seafood, you can taste our passion for culinary excellence. Consistently recognized with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence”, our list offers over 700 labels to complement your dining experience. Additionally, our bar proudly highlights one of the largest selections of single malt scotches and small batch bourbons in Richmond, Virginia.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Parham and Patterson

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 750-2000

Website:
http://www.buckheads.com/

Parking Details:
Ample on-site parking

Executive Chef:
Eric Lewis

Private Party Facilities:
From business meetings to holiday parties, family celebrations to rehearsal dinners, we are excited about making your event a memorable one. Whatever the occasion, our professional staff will make your private dining experience effortless and enjoyable. We offer two private dining rooms to host your event. "Uptown" accommodates up to 50 guests, accesses our main bar area and boasts a candlelit fireplace and large window. "Downtown" has seating capacity for 30 guests and offers more privacy because it is less accessible to our other dining areas. Both rooms can accommodate audiovisual presentations as well as wireless internet.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Mitchell: 8047502000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Buckheads - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Virginia
Steak
Virginia
Best Overall
Richmond
4 More
Best Service
Richmond
Notable Wine List
Richmond
Romantic
Richmond
Special Occasion
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

special occasion (89)
romantic (63)
notable wine list (58)
See All
fit for foodies (40)
good for groups (28)
neighborhood gem (26)
vibrant bar scene (8)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never fails to delight . Bryant a wonder ...

Dined 5 days ago

Never fails to delight . Bryant a wonderful server, James a delightful back-up .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Evening!

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. We enjoyed every minute and every bite. It was perfect for our celebration dinner with our two teenagers who also appreciate and savor excellent food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Have eaten there many times over the pas ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Have eaten there many times over the past 5 years and every time was excellent. This time we were with a monthly fine dining mens group and again all was great with I thought one exception. We were 11 all together and the one and only lady bartender seemed to be avoiding us for service. Others in our group noticed this as well. She was very slow in even coming down to the end of the bar where all of us had gathered. I will also sat, that when we arrived there were perhaps 6 people at the bar. Not sure what the issue was but as you wrote me I thought I would offer this note. Don't get me wrong the drinks when we did get them, were very good but the service was slightly lacking. The restaurant however could not have been nicer and all food was exceptional. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a good meal. Thank you being my m ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always a good meal. Thank you being my must go to place for years

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good service and good food. We had a boo ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Good service and good food. We had a booth which was quiet and good for conversation. It was a nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Celebration

Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I was celebrating our 5th year wedding anniversary. I must say the atmosphere made it easy to enjoy the moment. From the initial greetings, to the final checkout, the hospitality was 5 stars. To the staff that service us on 14 May, my wife and I say thanks for a job well done. Blessings.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Predictably good

Dined on May 13, 2016

Buckhead's menu is functionally unchanged, on the premise, I suppose, that when you do something well, keep doing it. The steaks are fantastic and the seafood is generally very good. The Steak au poivre was cooked perfectly and the vermouth demiglace was perfect. The tuna appetizer was beyond good. The desert special -- a homemade blueberry ice cream over a lemon chess pie -- was the only thing we ordered that was not top-notch. Seemed like a great idea, but failed in the end. Our server was very attentive and relentlessly chipper. This was a special occasion, so we didn't really mind, but appetizers, entrees and desert took 3 1/2 hours. While a leisurely meal can be very pleasant, that stretched the concept. Buckhead's continues to be a good, traditional, upscale steak house. We will certainly go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our daughter's colle ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were celebrating our daughter's college graduation and Mother's Day. Our server was delightful and the food was excellent. We had a wonderful evening

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always!

Dined on May 8, 2016

My boyfriend and I decided to take my mom out for a delicious steak dinner on Mother's Day. My boyfriend had never been to Buckhead's before, so I knew he was in for a real treat as well. Mom and I had the Petite Filet Oscar style (traditional) and it was sheer perfection! With it, came a Caesar salad, roasted veggies and the potato of the day! My boyfriend had the 20 oz. cowboy bone-in ribeye . Yes, he ate the entire thing! It's also refreshing to get a salad, veg & starch with your entrée, without the all of the a la carte charges!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special evening at Buckheads

Dined on May 8, 2016

Known for their wonderful steaks - and they did not disappoint! This was our third visit to Buckhead's, and we were very happy with everything. When we first arrived, an elderly couple (we are also) two tables away were very loud and annoying, but after they left it was great. They restrict reservations so that there are empty tables between occupied tables, so you don't feel crowded in.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fine dining experience.

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Always a fine dining experience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Buckheads.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Buckheads knows how to cook steak. We love going for date night because you feel secluded even in a room full of people. The wait staff are attentive and the food is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

A bit disappointing this trip.still has great food

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

The steak was mostly fat and under cooked...but still great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic, fun service!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Reserved for our bachelorette dinner; service was absolutely wonderful! Our server (Julien) never went too far, joined our mild shenanigans, and walked each of us to our vehicles with umbrellas at the end of the night. The restaurant was lovely and quiet. Prices seemed on par for the ambiance. Seafood was delicious, and meat was prepared well. I definitely recommend Buckheads!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the same - Wonderful

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I love Buckheads...on any special occasion we consider different places but mostly end up back at Buckheads....the food is consistently way above average and the service on point...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Richmond's Best Restaurant

Dined on April 21, 2016

If you have not made plans to dine at Buckhead's, you're simply missing out. Whether it is a romantic night-out, a business dinner or simply just an everyday dining option - Buckhead's menu will blow you. I get the Cowboy Cut every time I am there and every time it is cooked to perfection. From the calimari on the appetizer menu to the key lime pie for dessert, it does not get any better. Make plans to get over there soon! Thanks to Mark and his team for all they do to make sure your meal is perfect every single time!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was my special 55th birthday celebration. I am disabled and I have a stomach and intestinal motility disorder. The staff went above and beyond to ensure that the selections from the menus were those that I could eat and share with my husband and would be digestible for me. I can never repay that kindness. You are a very special group, thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on April 15, 2016

We go to Buckhead's for special occasions and they never disappoint. Our waiter recommended a wonderful appetizer that was every bit as good as he said it was. The main course was cooked to perfection. We have never had any type of disappointing food here, everything has been excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion, simply superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch steaks

Dined on April 12, 2016

Great steaks and sides. Be sure and try the special potato. Excellent and friendly service. Pricey, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great steaks

Dined on April 11, 2016

Buckheads Restaurant has some of the Best steaks in Richmond

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Choice for a Fine Steak & Wine Dinner

Dined on April 8, 2016

We returned to Buckhead's for the occasion of our Mother's 75th birthday. We started off with an excellent French Onion soup accompanied by a waiter recommended Cabernet Savignon. Salad had a nice variety of greens & accessories. Not over-sized, or overdressed. We ordered two beef filet, one prime rib eye & one order of crab cakes as a main course. All the steaks were perfectly done. I'm told the crab cakes were excellent as well. minimal breading and nicely seasoned. There was a special option for potato, creamed leaks & mashed potatoes, that was a treat that I'm glad I ordered. The only disappointment was the cheesecake did not meet the expectation of a native New Yorker. All told, it was an excellent evening out, and I would continue to recommend them to a friend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently wonderful. Bartender. Serve ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Consistently wonderful. Bartender. Server. Onion rings. Calamari. Wine. Steaks. Nice ambience.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We Came For The Steak

Dined on April 3, 2016

Everything about Buckheads was memorable. We were a party of four and we all ordered the Filet. I had mine with Bernaise sauce and Crab Crown, it was spectacular as were the other 3 steaks. Our waiter was a bit inexperienced but very friendly and attentive. The wine list was tremendous and moderately priced averaging as near as we could tell about 100% mark-up above retail. We all had dessert and it too was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Good experience. The rack ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great food. Good experience. The rack of lamb was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Good, not great for the price

Dined on March 23, 2016

Party of four. Wonderful attentive waiter. Usual chophouse fare, but apparently the chef feels compelled to try to make good better and failed with my dish. Generally, I think high quality meat can stand on its own, but my veal chop was covered with some unidentifiable sauce that I did not see on the menu that basically killed the meaty flavor of the veal. I ordered a side of fries which came slightly soggy in a dish with carrots, beans and Brussels sprouts. My wife's filet was good and another in our party liked her scallops. Our bill with tip for only the veal chop and scallops entrees and a drink apiece was just short of $150--way overpriced for the quality of the meal.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Service

Dined on March 12, 2016

Very disappointed in our waiter during the entire course of our dinner at a recent visit to Buckheads. From the beginning the service was lacking. Our reservation was for an early dinner so, at the time of our arrival, there was only one other occupied table for which our waiter had responsibility and they had already been served their entrées. We watch as patrons arriving after we did were attended to by other staff members while we were left waiting. Unfortunately, the situation did not improve as the evening progressed. It was as though our waiter was totally preoccupied and was struggling to meet his responsibilities. It is difficult to be positive about the total evening when the vital component of service is so far below par. I expected more from Buckheads! I would like to think the reduced gratuity conveyed the displeasure with the service.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time, will return.

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

First time here, excellent food. I loved that the steaks came with a salad and a form of potato.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food!

Dined on February 22, 2016

The food was fantastic and you get plenty. You will not leave hungry. The service is above par as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A nice night out.

Dined on February 22, 2016

We chose Buckheads for our anniversary. As expected, the service was excellent and the food was good yet short of excellent. My steak was slightly undercooked and my wife would have preferred her vegetables to have been served warmer. Neither issue was to the degree that warranted complaints though. The ambiance is good though I wouldn't place it in a 'romantic' category due to the noise level which we have found to be somewhat annoying on a couple of occasions. We think this is a very nice dining spot but feel that the difference between 'nice' and 'great' is what justifies pricing and based upon that we find Buckheads to be somewhat over-priced. Still, we would recommend Buckheads for an occasional visit for that special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally excellent in every way conceivable!

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food, the service, the comfortable-in-its-own-skin ambiance, Bulkheads had it all. We will surely return to Buckheads again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

First timer

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food here is definitely high quality. however the prices are also on the high side. Would be nice to get this level of quality at a more affordable price and eat more often at this good a restaurant. At these prices I need a gift card to afford it...

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Love going to Buckheads, however I feel ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

Love going to Buckheads, however I feel like they are going to price themselves out of our neighborhood. They are right up there with Flemings, Ruth Chris and Mortons and their food, however great, is not the same quality as previous mentioned restaurants.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for that once a month/year date

Dined on February 15, 2016

Buckheads was and still is my go to restaurant for any special occasion. Wine selection is excellent and ranges from $8 glasses to $1500 bottles. Food selection hasn't changed and always performs. Service was great and never felt rushed to leave or finish my food. The only thing I would fix is the beer selection. I understand beer isn't a staple at fancier restaurants, but a good stout/porter pairs just as well as a whiskey or wine and steak. Overall, I'll be coming back year in and year out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Food & Service - The Best in RVA!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Buckhead's is the absolute best restaurant in Richmond. We recently visited on Valentine's Day and were treated to an outstanding meal. We tried the one-time appetizer special - I think it was pork cheek w/ mashed potatoes - and it was awesome. Every time we go the service is impeccable, but they made Valentine's Day extra special for my wife with a rose at the end of the night. If you didn't spend Valentine's Day at Buckheads you missed out. Do it next year and you won't regret it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Buckhead Steak and Crab was fantastic! G ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Buckhead Steak and Crab was fantastic! Great amount of crab meat and the fillet medallions were cooked perfectly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best kept secret in Richmond

Dined on February 14, 2016

Buckheads is hands down the best place for a steak in Richmond. The food has never been less than amazing. The ambiance provides for a romantic evening or a business meeting (I actually had both last week there). The wine list is extensive and diverse. The staff is very well versed in their craft. If you go you have to have the scallop appetizer. You won't regret a trip to this gem.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buckheads Is Back

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Have only been to Buckheads a couple of times in the last few years, preferring some of the other higher end steak places. Wife and I dined there Valentine's weekend and had exceptional service from a waiter who not only knew his menu and his wine list but was very down to earth without saying "no problem" to everything. We had the Chateaubriand and it was literally fork tender along with a demi glace that was delicious. It should be a regular part of their menu but think it was offered as a Valentine's weekend special. Anyway, can't wait to get back there and try some of their other offerings.

food5
ambience5
service5

We both knew the waiter from a different ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We both knew the waiter from a different venue regardless he was knowledgeable with the entire menu as well as wine list.......he recommendation of the "special" dessert was spot on!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! The wine and food was per ...

Dined on February 10, 2016

Great service! The wine and food was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding service and food. best all around lamb

Dined on February 9, 2016

Far best restaurant in central Virginia. I am interested in becoming share holder.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.