About Buckheads - Richmond

8510 Patterson Avenue
Richmond, VA 23229
View Larger Map

Buckhead’s has been a Richmond tradition since 1994. Featuring succulent Braveheart Beef and only the freshest seafood, you can taste our passion for culinary excellence. Consistently recognized with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence”, our list offers over 700 labels to complement your dining experience. Additionally, our bar proudly highlights one of the largest selections of single malt scotches and small batch bourbons in Richmond, Virginia.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Parham and Patterson

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 750-2000

Website:
http://www.buckheads.com/

Parking Details:
Ample on-site parking

Executive Chef:
Eric Lewis

Private Party Facilities:
From business meetings to holiday parties, family celebrations to rehearsal dinners, we are excited about making your event a memorable one. Whatever the occasion, our professional staff will make your private dining experience effortless and enjoyable. We offer two private dining rooms to host your event. "Uptown" accommodates up to 50 guests, accesses our main bar area and boasts a candlelit fireplace and large window. "Downtown" has seating capacity for 30 guests and offers more privacy because it is less accessible to our other dining areas. Both rooms can accommodate audiovisual presentations as well as wireless internet.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Mitchell: 8047502000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mini Crab Cakes
  • Lobster Bisque
  • Calamari
  • Steak Fromage
  • steak and crab
  • 20 Oz Bone In Ribeye
Mini Crab Cakes
Lobster Bisque
Calamari
Steak Fromage
steak and crab
20 Oz Bone In Ribeye

Buckheads - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Virginia
Best Overall
Richmond
Best Food
Richmond
3 More
Notable Wine List
Richmond
Romantic
Richmond
Special Occasion
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Special Occasion (76)
Romantic (49)
Notable Wine List (49)
See All
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for Groups (29)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
502 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was excellent! Our waiter wa ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was excellent! Our waiter was friendly but he did not bother us constantly. The waiter spaced the arrival of each course of the meal so we did not feel rushed at all. The food was great. I had the best filet ever. Our reservations were reviewed since we were given a quiet, special booth, and the waiter brought a dessert with a single candle for my husband's birthday. We had a special night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First class everything, as always. You w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 5 days ago

First class everything, as always. You will not find a better steak, cooked so perfectly, anywhere in this town. I mean, it made on one Daniel Radcliff's most-memorable-meals-ever top two, so if you don't believe me, take it from Harry Potter. The wine list is extensive — from bottles in the thousands, to well-curated $36 offerings, you will find a good glass, or three, here. And the service is old-school and perfectly accommodating too. (And get whatever the special potato dish is, it never disappoints!)

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed another wonderful experience a ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I enjoyed another wonderful experience at Buckheads! They simply have the best steaks. I travel around the country and I have only found one restaurant in past 10 years that rivals Buckheads' steaks or filet. However, that other restaurant's steak was $144 for 1 filet, so it should have been great. No one anywhere has better steaks. Also, the scallops and escargot were very good. In addition, our waiter, Steve, was very pleasant and helpful in picking out a great wine. We thought about Stags Leap, however, Steve recommended a Porter Cabernet. The Porter was excellent and cost less than the Stags Leap. One of our guests ordered a martini and the bartender, Christy, stuffed the olives with fresh blue cheese, which was excellent. Great food, great wine, and a friendly and accommodating staff.....what more can one want? No wonder the Harry Potter actor, Daniel Ratcliffe, gave Buckheads glowing remarks in a recent interview for his experience last year at Buckheads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Live in Omaha, NE and return to Buckhead ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Live in Omaha, NE and return to Buckheads almost every time I return to Richmond. Always been great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious, but took way too lon ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was delicious, but took way too long to come out. There was some sort of miscommunication in the kitchen. Waiter gave us free dessert to make amends. Also nothing against the restaurant but noise travels a lot. We had a very loud, obnoxious group next to us and I could barely hear my wife who was sitting next to me.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

I thought the food was great. I didn't l ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I thought the food was great. I didn't like that the tables were so close together. It made it very noisy but overall we enjoyed our dinner experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was impeccable! The food was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was impeccable! The food was cooked correctly, well seasoned, and delicious. Our meal was all about flavor. We had attentive servers that did not rush us, and the whole meal was a wonderful dining experience! We cannot wait to go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food & service

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food & service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a huge disappointment! Hostess cle ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

What a huge disappointment! Hostess clearly did not have a clue about placement of guests who specified they were celebrating a special event/anniversary as opposed to placement of boisterous business partners who were clearly celebrating a night on the town. Noise levels overshadowed any hopes of intimate conversations with my significant other; and the tables were so close together that we could literally touch our neighbors tableware.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

We were a little underwhelmed after all ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We were a little underwhelmed after all of the hype for this restaurant. It was good, but not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Food, service and atmosphere were great. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere were great. We will dine at this restaurant again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I decided to treat oursel ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a nice date night. This was a spectacular experience from start to finish. The waiter was professional and charming. The food was roll-your-eyes delicious. The wine and bourbon lists were amazing. We will DEFINITELY be going back again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buckheads is a consistently reliable 'to ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Buckheads is a consistently reliable 'top pick' dining experience. The food and service are outstanding day in and day out. Just keep it rolling guys !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience was excellent. I am a Sr ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our experience was excellent. I am a Sr. Director and one of my consultants earned this experience. Even though she had no idea what the "gift" was, she was extremely over joyed with the entire experience. This will be one of many visits, I am sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A co-worker recommended this place. It ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

A co-worker recommended this place. It was perfect from the minute we entered.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 4th anniversary at Buckhe ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Celebrated our 4th anniversary at Buckhead's and it was excellent. Enjoyed the "no rush" atmosphere. I did not feel like they rushed any part of our meal to get us out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! Service was excellent ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was amazing! Service was excellent. We will be going here again very soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a fantastic dining experience! The ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

What a fantastic dining experience! The menu was excellent and the steak was seriously the best I've ever had. The server was wonderful as well. 5 stars definitely isn't enough!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience - great service and ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wonderful experience - great service and our meal was superb!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dinner. Steaks were perfectly ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent dinner. Steaks were perfectly done. Service was attentive. Not inexpensive but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding, as always. Buckhead's is th ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Outstanding, as always. Buckhead's is the best steak house in Richmond, and one of the best in Virginia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

3rd year in a row we have been to Buckhe ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

3rd year in a row we have been to Buckheads to celebrate our son's birthday. Food and Service was top notch as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was wonderful. Steaks are alw ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our dinner was wonderful. Steaks are always cooked perfectly! Looking forward to going back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The whole evening was exactly what you w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The whole evening was exactly what you would want from a fine dining experience. Our steaks were cooked to perfection. The server was attentive and hit the spot with every recommendation. If you've never been to Buckhead's, you're missing out. We'll definitely be back as soon as possible.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXTREMELY over priced for amount of food ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

EXTREMELY over priced for amount of food and so called quality of the food and service received very disappointed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Took my wife out to Buckheads for a "Dat ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Took my wife out to Buckheads for a "Date night". The steaks were excellent and really enjoyed the romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was not the best, just OK . Th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The steak was not the best, just OK . The rest of the meal was good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good NOT GREAT

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was a highly recommended steak house. My wife loves a great steak. So some friends and I took a group of 6 for her birthday. The cut of steak was great, however the flavor was just not there. I had the cowboy bone in Ribeye. I would recommend the chef to increase the spices (salt&pepper) to increase the flavor of the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great steaks and wine list impressive

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great steaks and wine list impressive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good ambiance, good service.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was great except for the vegetables, which were very much undercooked, and not really edible. Expected everything to be good or great due to the high price. Will try again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Richmond Must

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

If you're visiting Richmond make it a point to dine here. They know how to prepare delicious food, the service was fabulous, and they bring you back to a time when dinner was meant to be savored. They don't treat you like another table that needs to be turned to make more money. Their steaks are better than Ruth Chris & Morton's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never fails to delight . Bryant a wonder ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Never fails to delight . Bryant a wonderful server, James a delightful back-up .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Evening!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent food and service. We enjoyed every minute and every bite. It was perfect for our celebration dinner with our two teenagers who also appreciate and savor excellent food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten there many times over the pas ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Have eaten there many times over the past 5 years and every time was excellent. This time we were with a monthly fine dining mens group and again all was great with I thought one exception. We were 11 all together and the one and only lady bartender seemed to be avoiding us for service. Others in our group noticed this as well. She was very slow in even coming down to the end of the bar where all of us had gathered. I will also sat, that when we arrived there were perhaps 6 people at the bar. Not sure what the issue was but as you wrote me I thought I would offer this note. Don't get me wrong the drinks when we did get them, were very good but the service was slightly lacking. The restaurant however could not have been nicer and all food was exceptional. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always a good meal. Thank you being my m ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Always a good meal. Thank you being my must go to place for years

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good service and good food. We had a boo ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Good service and good food. We had a booth which was quiet and good for conversation. It was a nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome Celebration

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I was celebrating our 5th year wedding anniversary. I must say the atmosphere made it easy to enjoy the moment. From the initial greetings, to the final checkout, the hospitality was 5 stars. To the staff that service us on 14 May, my wife and I say thanks for a job well done. Blessings.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Predictably good

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Buckhead's menu is functionally unchanged, on the premise, I suppose, that when you do something well, keep doing it. The steaks are fantastic and the seafood is generally very good. The Steak au poivre was cooked perfectly and the vermouth demiglace was perfect. The tuna appetizer was beyond good. The desert special -- a homemade blueberry ice cream over a lemon chess pie -- was the only thing we ordered that was not top-notch. Seemed like a great idea, but failed in the end.

Our server was very attentive and relentlessly chipper. This was a special occasion, so we didn't really mind, but appetizers, entrees and desert took 3 1/2 hours. While a leisurely meal can be very pleasant, that stretched the concept.

Buckhead's continues to be a good, traditional, upscale steak house. We will certainly go back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were celebrating our daughter's colle ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were celebrating our daughter's college graduation and Mother's Day. Our server was delightful and the food was excellent. We had a wonderful evening

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My boyfriend and I decided to take my mom out for a delicious steak dinner on Mother's Day. My boyfriend had never been to Buckhead's before, so I knew he was in for a real treat as well. Mom and I had the Petite Filet Oscar style (traditional) and it was sheer perfection! With it, came a Caesar salad, roasted veggies and the potato of the day! My boyfriend had the 20 oz. cowboy bone-in ribeye . Yes, he ate the entire thing! It's also refreshing to get a salad, veg & starch with your entrée, without the all of the a la carte charges!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.