About Buckheads - Richmond

8510 Patterson Avenue
Richmond, VA 23229
View Larger Map

Buckhead’s has been a Richmond tradition since 1994. Featuring succulent Braveheart Beef and only the freshest seafood, you can taste our passion for culinary excellence. Consistently recognized with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence”, our list offers over 700 labels to complement your dining experience. Additionally, our bar proudly highlights one of the largest selections of single malt scotches and small batch bourbons in Richmond, Virginia.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Parham and Patterson

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 750-2000

Website:
http://www.buckheads.com/

Parking Details:
Ample on-site parking

Executive Chef:
Eric Lewis

Private Party Facilities:
From business meetings to holiday parties, family celebrations to rehearsal dinners, we are excited about making your event a memorable one. Whatever the occasion, our professional staff will make your private dining experience effortless and enjoyable. We offer two private dining rooms to host your event. "Uptown" accommodates up to 50 guests, accesses our main bar area and boasts a candlelit fireplace and large window. "Downtown" has seating capacity for 30 guests and offers more privacy because it is less accessible to our other dining areas. Both rooms can accommodate audiovisual presentations as well as wireless internet.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Mitchell: 8047502000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mini Crab Cakes - Buckheads - Richmond
  • Lobster Bisque - Buckheads - Richmond
  • Calamari - Buckheads - Richmond
  • Steak Fromage - Buckheads - Richmond
  • steak and crab - Buckheads - Richmond
  • 20 Oz Bone In Ribeye - Buckheads - Richmond
Mini Crab Cakes - Buckheads - Richmond
Lobster Bisque - Buckheads - Richmond
Calamari - Buckheads - Richmond
Steak Fromage - Buckheads - Richmond
steak and crab - Buckheads - Richmond
20 Oz Bone In Ribeye - Buckheads - Richmond

Buckheads - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Virginia
Steak
Virginia
Best Food
Richmond
2 More
Notable Wine List
Richmond
Special Occasion
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Special Occasion (64)
Notable Wine List (44)
Romantic (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (2)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
516 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always, Buckhead's was great. The foo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 3 days ago

As always, Buckhead's was great. The food is top notch and the ambience is quite nice. What really made our experience great, however, was the service. Our waiter (Rich? Rick? Richard? - he had glasses and was tall. His wife helped pick out the art for the walls) was exceptional. He was attentive, but didn't hover. He was friendly, but not too friendly. He was the perfect fine dining professional and we couldn't say enough nice things about him.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food & service were very good, as expect ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food & service were very good, as expected. Restaurant was nice to push up a 7:30 reservation to 7:15; they probably could have offered to make it even earlier. They were not full but the restaurant is noisy. Tables for two along the back wall are too big. I felt miles away from my dining partner who is hearing impaired. We had to speak loudly to one another that only contributed to the noise level in the restaurant. Also, note to the hostess. With three tables for two, close together, do not seat one couple next to the other if you don't have to. We will continue to keep this restaurant on our special occasion list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary. It ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary. It was a very special occasion that brought us to Buckhead's. The restaurant,food,service were all amazing! The wine list is outstanding!!

I would highly recommend this restaurant!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Buckheads never disappoints; consistentl ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Buckheads never disappoints; consistently way above average; never a regret eating there...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was not worth the price. The ca ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our food was not worth the price. The calamari was very salty and the bone in ribeye and filet were just ok. The lobster tail was quite small and had a fishy taste. The vegetables that come with the dinner are nothing special and really were not that great. Our waiter was nice but never told us about any evening specials and he never came to ask us how our food was. It was not a terrible dining experience but it was sub par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Stake was wonderful and far exceeded our ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Stake was wonderful and far exceeded our expectations. We LOVE eating here...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent in every respect! Service, foo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent in every respect!

Service, food, ambiance - no noise so conversation is easy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone's meal was great except mine. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Everyone's meal was great except mine. I had the grouper special. It was rubbery & dry. I should have mentioned something to the waiter, but I didn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value5

Richmond's sole high-end steak place. Th ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Richmond's sole high-end steak place. The food is solid, but the value is middling even for this level of food. Really good meal, but just a step or two off from expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was forst not great expereince at B ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

This was forst not great expereince at Buckheads First this was for our annivarary, and this reservation by Open Table put us right in center of a room, between two large tables of peoplemeeting on business. So was not quaint. Second - our server was very nice, but in past we had one who knew the wines and pairings for recommendations He was 0-4 in attempts and had to ask the bartender for recommendations three times. We had never seen that at Buckheads before. Still best steaks in Richmond. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Sean was my waiter, and he was the man. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Sean was my waiter, and he was the man. He made the whole dining experience. The bartendress for drinks before dinner was outstanding, as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food and service was fantastic. The ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food and service was fantastic. The only downside was 1 group was a little noisy. I wish people would also think about the dress code.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent! Our waiter wa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was excellent! Our waiter was friendly but he did not bother us constantly. The waiter spaced the arrival of each course of the meal so we did not feel rushed at all. The food was great. I had the best filet ever. Our reservations were reviewed since we were given a quiet, special booth, and the waiter brought a dessert with a single candle for my husband's birthday. We had a special night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Had dinner with fr ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent as always. Had dinner with friends who had never dined at Buckheads and everyone was very pleased with the meal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First class everything, as always. You w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

First class everything, as always. You will not find a better steak, cooked so perfectly, anywhere in this town. I mean, it made on one Daniel Radcliff's most-memorable-meals-ever top two, so if you don't believe me, take it from Harry Potter. The wine list is extensive — from bottles in the thousands, to well-curated $36 offerings, you will find a good glass, or three, here. And the service is old-school and perfectly accommodating too. (And get whatever the special potato dish is, it never disappoints!)

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love Buckheads. It is our fav ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We always love Buckheads. It is our favorite for a date night out. Their steak is always exceptional. Great wine list with some good wines by the glass. My only negative ... It could benefit by some cosmetic redo. It is beginning to look a little tired.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I enjoyed another wonderful experience a ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I enjoyed another wonderful experience at Buckheads! They simply have the best steaks. I travel around the country and I have only found one restaurant in past 10 years that rivals Buckheads' steaks or filet. However, that other restaurant's steak was $144 for 1 filet, so it should have been great. No one anywhere has better steaks. Also, the scallops and escargot were very good. In addition, our waiter, Steve, was very pleasant and helpful in picking out a great wine. We thought about Stags Leap, however, Steve recommended a Porter Cabernet. The Porter was excellent and cost less than the Stags Leap. One of our guests ordered a martini and the bartender, Christy, stuffed the olives with fresh blue cheese, which was excellent. Great food, great wine, and a friendly and accommodating staff.....what more can one want? No wonder the Harry Potter actor, Daniel Ratcliffe, gave Buckheads glowing remarks in a recent interview for his experience last year at Buckheads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Live in Omaha, NE and return to Buckhead ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Live in Omaha, NE and return to Buckheads almost every time I return to Richmond. Always been great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious, but took way too lon ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was delicious, but took way too long to come out. There was some sort of miscommunication in the kitchen. Waiter gave us free dessert to make amends. Also nothing against the restaurant but noise travels a lot. We had a very loud, obnoxious group next to us and I could barely hear my wife who was sitting next to me.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

I thought the food was great. I didn't l ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I thought the food was great. I didn't like that the tables were so close together. It made it very noisy but overall we enjoyed our dinner experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was impeccable! The food was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was impeccable! The food was cooked correctly, well seasoned, and delicious. Our meal was all about flavor. We had attentive servers that did not rush us, and the whole meal was a wonderful dining experience! We cannot wait to go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food & service

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food & service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a huge disappointment! Hostess cle ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

What a huge disappointment! Hostess clearly did not have a clue about placement of guests who specified they were celebrating a special event/anniversary as opposed to placement of boisterous business partners who were clearly celebrating a night on the town. Noise levels overshadowed any hopes of intimate conversations with my significant other; and the tables were so close together that we could literally touch our neighbors tableware.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

We were a little underwhelmed after all ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We were a little underwhelmed after all of the hype for this restaurant. It was good, but not worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Food, service and atmosphere were great. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere were great. We will dine at this restaurant again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I decided to treat oursel ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a nice date night. This was a spectacular experience from start to finish. The waiter was professional and charming. The food was roll-your-eyes delicious. The wine and bourbon lists were amazing. We will DEFINITELY be going back again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buckheads is a consistently reliable 'to ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Buckheads is a consistently reliable 'top pick' dining experience. The food and service are outstanding day in and day out. Just keep it rolling guys !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience was excellent. I am a Sr ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our experience was excellent. I am a Sr. Director and one of my consultants earned this experience. Even though she had no idea what the "gift" was, she was extremely over joyed with the entire experience. This will be one of many visits, I am sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A co-worker recommended this place. It ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

A co-worker recommended this place. It was perfect from the minute we entered.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 4th anniversary at Buckhe ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Celebrated our 4th anniversary at Buckhead's and it was excellent. Enjoyed the "no rush" atmosphere. I did not feel like they rushed any part of our meal to get us out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! Service was excellent ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was amazing! Service was excellent. We will be going here again very soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a fantastic dining experience! The ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

What a fantastic dining experience! The menu was excellent and the steak was seriously the best I've ever had. The server was wonderful as well. 5 stars definitely isn't enough!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience - great service and ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wonderful experience - great service and our meal was superb!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dinner. Steaks were perfectly ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent dinner. Steaks were perfectly done. Service was attentive. Not inexpensive but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding, as always. Buckhead's is th ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Outstanding, as always. Buckhead's is the best steak house in Richmond, and one of the best in Virginia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

3rd year in a row we have been to Buckhe ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

3rd year in a row we have been to Buckheads to celebrate our son's birthday. Food and Service was top notch as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was wonderful. Steaks are alw ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our dinner was wonderful. Steaks are always cooked perfectly! Looking forward to going back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The whole evening was exactly what you w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The whole evening was exactly what you would want from a fine dining experience. Our steaks were cooked to perfection. The server was attentive and hit the spot with every recommendation. If you've never been to Buckhead's, you're missing out. We'll definitely be back as soon as possible.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXTREMELY over priced for amount of food ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

EXTREMELY over priced for amount of food and so called quality of the food and service received very disappointed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Took my wife out to Buckheads for a "Dat ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Took my wife out to Buckheads for a "Date night". The steaks were excellent and really enjoyed the romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.