Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Buckheads - Richmond

Buckhead’s has been a Richmond tradition since 1994. Featuring succulent Braveheart Beef and only the freshest seafood, you can taste our passion for culinary excellence. Consistently recognized with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence”, our list offers over 700 labels to complement your dining experience. Additionally, our bar proudly highlights one of the largest selections of single malt scotches and small batch bourbons in Richmond, Virginia.

8510 Patterson Avenue
Richmond, VA 23229
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Parham and Patterson

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 750-2000

Website:
http://www.buckheads.com/

Parking Details:
Ample on-site parking

Executive Chef:
Eric Lewis

Private Party Facilities:
From business meetings to holiday parties, family celebrations to rehearsal dinners, we are excited about making your event a memorable one. Whatever the occasion, our professional staff will make your private dining experience effortless and enjoyable. We offer two private dining rooms to host your event. "Uptown" accommodates up to 50 guests, accesses our main bar area and boasts a candlelit fireplace and large window. "Downtown" has seating capacity for 30 guests and offers more privacy because it is less accessible to our other dining areas. Both rooms can accommodate audiovisual presentations as well as wireless internet.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Mitchell: (804) 750-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buckheads - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Business Meals (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Notable Wine List (27)
Romantic (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Authentic (15)
Cozy (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (5)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
698 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Buckheads is always a treat. Our server Claude is the consummate professional who maintains the level of excellence. Great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Outstanding! Enjoyed our 15 year anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My wife and I visited Buckhead's on a Saturday early evening. The restruant was full be the time we left. A testament to its popularity. My wife had the filet and I had the crab cakes. Both were excellent. The filet was was grilled exactly to my wife's expectations. The crab cakes were mostly crab and very tasty. Our service was exceptional. Not only responsive, but anticipatory. The waiter quickly picked up my wife's allergy to fish and had her Caesar salad prepared without anchovies. If your water glass gets below half full, it is an exception.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Terrible service. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great recommendation from the hotel we stayed at. The service was phenomenal, the food was outstanding and the atmosphere was perfect for our dinner conversation about the college tours we were in town for! Would definitely come back!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Went for a special anniversary dinner. Took our own wine and for a $25 Corkage fee, we were all set to have a 25Yr old Bordeaux, which was nice because so many other places don't allow this. Appetizers were the scallops and so lobster bisque, both of which came quick and both of which were exceptional. The spouse got the Filet and Crab and I got the 14oz veal chop. Both cooked perfectly and seasoned exceptionally. The sides were good, but not exceptional; they were not ala carte so no harm no foul. Overall the meal was great, the service very good and the evening both enjoyable and without incident. I will be back....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Went to Buckheads for our anniversary - great ambiance and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I've never had a hot out of the oven baked potato there. Bummer at a steakhouse.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food, service and ambience were great. Staff are each well trained and delivered sincere customer service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This was probably one of the best dinner experiences that I have had in a long time. Tomahawk ribeye was phenomenal. Great drinks, sides, everything. Worth it

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Hostess & waiter we're very polite, informative, and helpful. We had seared scallops appetizer, filet mignon and grouper, with a bottle of wine. All of these were deliciously prepared to perfection. Only reason not to give 5 stars across the board, was that the crust in the creme brulee dessert was a bit thick, and required a little more effort to push through it. Otherwise a splendid evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Excellent steak that was cooked properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We had a delicious meal with just the right amount of service! The drinks from the bar were good, too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great spot for dining. Love the decor and lighting. Each time we eat there we come away pleased. It has been a favorite for years.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great steak and wonderful service. Sides and salads ok. Very expensive for overall quality. In need of a renovation. Service top notch.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Steaks good as usual. I ordered surf turf. Disapointed. Lobster small and never looked cooked. I was actually scared to eat. All other meals as expected. As a special occasion for me, I came out very disapointed. No one there cared. I guess they have been there too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very expensive place, but very good. Their organization on bringing out food was amazing - bringing out one thing at a time so that you were never waiting long with an empty table, even if all you were getting set out was bread or a salad. The food tasted wonderful! Our server, Steve, was fantastic - very kind and very knowledgeable. Thanks for making my first experience there great, Steve!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Delicious food, great classic steakhouse atmosphere. Pricey, but very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We were at Buckheads celebrating Father's Day. We chose a variety of appetizers, as well as,entres and enjoyed them all . From Filet Mignon to Crab Imperial the menu was varied and scrumptious. I have an allergy to mold and with all the well cared for beautiful wood that is in Buckheads, I left with a horrible headache. No one in our party was bothered by the smell but me so I guess if you are a healthy, foodie, you will enjoy the experience of ultimate service and fine dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Lived up to expectations. Pricey but you got what you paid for. Ambiance is club-like with much wood. Service was very good, but not over the top. Surprising ambiance (good) for the location in a small shopping center. Entering is like going into a different world than what one would expect for this west-end location. I strongly recommend for special occasions and if money is not an object, it could be a regular dining spot.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We love your restaurant the food was excellent thank you for being in Richmond

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The staff was very friendly and personable. Rick our server was great as was all the food we ate. 👍😊

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Awesome on all counts! We really enjoy visiting Buckheads to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 7, 2017

It was my wife's 78th birthday. We like to use Buckheads for our special occasions. It has ALWAYS been first class in every respect each time we have gone there for dinner. Would recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was amazing and the ambience perfect for a intimate dinner to celebrate my husband's birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2017

steaks were the best we ever had. service was outstanding. we will be back

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The service was excellent and very fancy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2017

buckhead's is the premiere chophouse in richmond...consistently great food, service, and cocktails..can not wait to return

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Took my wife for her birthday and was very disappointed. I reached out to the management and have had no reply. There was a small group of business people in the restaurant having dinner and drinks. Unfortunately, the alcohol or camaraderie got the best of them and they decided to outdo each other with their bravado. The group of seven were loud and obnoxious and cussed frequently while trying to outdo each other with their stories. Management was silent, even when voicing our concern. Very sad and more sad the manager has failed to return my email. Food was salty and overcooked, but still quite good actually.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The service is always amazing at Buckheads and tonight away no exception. We appreciate that our waiters really know the menu, make thoughtful recommendations and strike the perfect balance of excellent service without being intrusive. The food was wonderful, they really do have the best steaks in town. We have been coming here for over ten years and have truly enjoyed every visit.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 31, 2017

As usual, delicious food and outstanding service. Entertained first time Buckhead's guest and they loved it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our food was amazing - three of us got steaks, one had the pork chop. Pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Excellent as always! Great food and outstanding service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food and service. A nice dinner where conversation was easy and not drowned out out by a lot of noise. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

overall we really enjoyed our experience. The temperature was a little chilly. Folks at the next table also thought so. And the steamed green beans could have been a little more done. My veal was excellent! We will go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Buckheads was a pleasure! Food was great. Service was first rate. Cant wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

You know when go there it is going to be good. Thanks don't change anything,great night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Service was very friendly. Food was ok, rolls very hard, mashes potatoes where nasty, and no mac-n-cheese on menu. Scallop appetizer was the best I have ever had, but lobster bisc tasted like a ginger bread/pumpkin mix, very strange. My husband steak was perfect and my salmon was amazing. Dessert was really good. If I could make any suggestions it would be... Softer bread and butter, add homemade mac-n-cheese to menu, turn up the lights just a little, a give staff a raise because they do a great job.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 15, 2017

got the fried shrimp because I remember that being the best I ever had from several years ago. They have changed the cooking process and I found the shrimp only ok. Large but did not prefer the coating/cooking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Have been waiting for years to try Buckheads... The steaks were outstanding, also the creamed spinach. The waiter was perfectly attentive without being intrusive. Very pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.