About Buckheads - Richmond

8510 Patterson Avenue
Richmond, VA 23229
View Larger Map

Buckhead’s has been a Richmond tradition since 1994. Featuring succulent Braveheart Beef and only the freshest seafood, you can taste our passion for culinary excellence. Consistently recognized with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence”, our list offers over 700 labels to complement your dining experience. Additionally, our bar proudly highlights one of the largest selections of single malt scotches and small batch bourbons in Richmond, Virginia.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Parham and Patterson

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 750-2000

Website:
http://www.buckheads.com/

Parking Details:
Ample on-site parking

Executive Chef:
Eric Lewis

Private Party Facilities:
From business meetings to holiday parties, family celebrations to rehearsal dinners, we are excited about making your event a memorable one. Whatever the occasion, our professional staff will make your private dining experience effortless and enjoyable. We offer two private dining rooms to host your event. "Uptown" accommodates up to 50 guests, accesses our main bar area and boasts a candlelit fireplace and large window. "Downtown" has seating capacity for 30 guests and offers more privacy because it is less accessible to our other dining areas. Both rooms can accommodate audiovisual presentations as well as wireless internet.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Mitchell: 8047502000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mini Crab Cakes - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
  • Lobster Bisque - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
  • Calamari - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
  • Steak Fromage - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
  • steak and crab - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
  • 20 Oz Bone In Ribeye - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Mini Crab Cakes - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Lobster Bisque - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Calamari - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Steak Fromage - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
steak and crab - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA
20 Oz Bone In Ribeye - Buckheads - Richmond, Richmond, VA

Buckheads - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Virginia
Steak
Virginia
Best Overall
Richmond
3 More
Best Food
Richmond
Romantic
Richmond
Special Occasion
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (38)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Notable Wine List (32)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Business Meals (25)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Cozy (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Bar Seating (9)
Private Room (8)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Fireplace (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The steak was beautifully seasoned and c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The steak was beautifully seasoned and cooked. I have never seen escargot submerged in garlic butter like the ones at Buckheads were. Wonderful rolls were welcome additions to soak up the butter! Great decaf coffee!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

What a Jen to find in Richmond. The food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

What a Jen to find in Richmond. The food was amazing in such a rich setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I chose this restaurant over Shula's and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

I chose this restaurant over Shula's and my date said Buckhead's was her favorite. I knew ahead of time it was going to be a good night and a good choice. My three guests all said it was a great dinner. The waiter was friendly and polite and gave us time to chat while serving us promptly. I could not have planned or asked for a better evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was awesome, Claude was our waiter ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was awesome, Claude was our waiter and so in the know about all things Buckheads, Service was right on time, not too long between courses, but not rushed either. We loved our entrees, the filets were scrumptious, and the lump crab always a fave. The scallop appetizer was so good, the touch of dijon and the capers were sublime. I t was a pleasure, Claude brought us a chocolate decadence something for our anniversay. Super evening. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is tucked into a small strip ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This place is tucked into a small strip mall in Richmond.

All woodsy and clubby...just lovely. We dine early so we

were alone for some time but by the time we finished they were pouring in.

A wonderful menu and the service was perfect, as was the food.

Any time we're in Richmond this will be a 'must'!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service and food. Well wort ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Well worth the 50 mile drive for us to get there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent. We were ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food and service was excellent. We were sat near a noisy table when there was a number of other open tables. A little pricy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The crab imperial is excellent -- big hu ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The crab imperial is excellent -- big hunks of crabmeat!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Buckhead's is one of my favorite places ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Buckhead's is one of my favorite places to take ou-of-town guests. However, this past Saturday nite, we waited over 1 hour and 45 minutes for our food! Not even our salads or appetizers came out.

What's up? All our waiter did was say the kitchen was backed up, and gave us an extra tiny splash of wine.

Not the Buckhead's I used to know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was excellent. Our waiter on th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was excellent. Our waiter on the other hand might have been having an off night. Just not as friendly and exuberant I feel the service should have been for a restaurant of this caliber. If this was my livelihood I would try to be more personable!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

First time visiting, and was pleasantly ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

First time visiting, and was pleasantly surprised. Even though I didn't get steak I was very happy with my meal- crab imperial, which is my favorite. It was full of large portions of lump crab meat. So so good. The vegetables were seasoned perfectly! The only thing that wasn't he greatest was that potato cake. It had the potential to be good it just didn't quite get there. Some extra seasoning would have helped. My fiancé didn't care for his mashed potatoes either. He only ate a couple scoops. The ambiance was perfect for a surprise date night. Definitely coming back again

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The waiter was friendly and helpful. My ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The waiter was friendly and helpful. My meal (New York Strip) was terrible (had to "saw" through it with the knife). It was tough and possibly the worst I've had at any steakhouse. I sent most of it back to the kitchen. My Wife's meal was good, but that does not make up for the over all experience. The cost was taken off my bill, which I appreciate, but we were out for a good meal. The waiter apologized, but there was no acknowledgement by a manager. Our first and probably our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Best filets we have had in a long, long ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Best filets we have had in a long, long time! Everything else was spot-on too - service, sides, cocktails, all top-notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak in town. The steak fromage, h ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Best steak in town. The steak fromage, harry potters favorite, was outstanding!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous old style steakhouse! Pricey, ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fabulous old style steakhouse! Pricey, but no complaints about the food, it was perfectly cooked and served with hospitality.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food - wonderful wine selection ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fabulous food - wonderful wine selection - great menu options

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I made reservations for my wife, myself ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I made reservations for my wife, myself and my three kids so we could celebrate my retirement. It was a perfect evening with wonderful, friendly service along with the always great food. I would certainly recommend Buckhead's to anyone looking for an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dinner was so good! The steaks were ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The dinner was so good! The steaks were tender and cooked perfectly. The service was attentive without hovering. We both enjoyed dining at Buckhead's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, service impeccable, and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was great, service impeccable, and the ambiance was very romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our reservation was made for 8:45 on a T ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our reservation was made for 8:45 on a Thursday night, we arrived at 8:30 and they gladly seated us early. The decor is very at-home feeling and the seating is nicely spread out. I can see the room being loud if the restaurant is full or the eight top tables behind us were filled in. After reading the reviews I was expecting the noise from a stadium, but honestly, it was very comfortable. Our waiter (Rick) was very polite and helped order a bottle of wine that ended up being excellent which matched our steak perfectly. We started off with an order of calamari that was great followed by our salads that were a perfect flavor before our entrees. We both decided on the Ribeye, both medium-rare which came out cooked perfectly. After going to both Fleming's and Shula's in Richmond and having a steak cooked incorrectly, this was a relief.

The negative reviews I've read on here are mostly from people complaining about price and quantity. If that is the case they should probably look into a Longhorn or Friday's. All I can say is, we were definitely impressed and we will be back for more.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal as always. Highly recomm ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Excellent meal as always. Highly recommend the Buckheads steak & crab. My daughter was jealous that she didn't order it. Best demi glace in Richmond.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buckhead's has been a staple dining plac ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Buckhead's has been a staple dining place for my family and me for many years. Dining there many times we have never been disappointed with either food or service; we were once again very pleased with both. We highly recommend Buckhead's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great. Classic steakhouse vibe. ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was great. Classic steakhouse vibe. Would absolutely recommend. Will absolutely come back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic meal! Great atmosph ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic meal! Great atmosphere and fantastic service. Get the steak fromage!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking for a place to take my wif ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I was looking for a place to take my wife of 27 years. We usually go to our standard places but were looking to get outside the norm when I heard about Buckheads. I was looking for something sort of quiet, nice cloth table covers, etc., and exceptional food. Buckheads covered all that and I was pleasantly surprised to hear background of old jazz playing. Servie was excellent, food was wonderful, and we loved the wood walls. I wish it was a little less expensive but even at this price this may be our new anniversary spot. No complaints.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit but not our las ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This was our first visit but not our last. We decided this will be our go to place for special occasions.

The menu was wonderful and the selection was great.

The food was hot and seasoned nicely.

The server was attentive but very busy.

The only thing that was disappointing was the presentation of the escargot, plain but delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

excellent selection of meat.. our intern ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 17, 2016

excellent selection of meat.. our international guests from Europe, loved the taste and good wine selection.. malbec . Stag s Leap..

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food just ok, no flavor for the steak th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food just ok, no flavor for the steak that I ordered. Escargot was the worst, it tasted bland. With high dollars that I paid for the low quality of food, nope, I will not come back again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food and service were on par with a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food and service were on par with a restaurant of this caliber. Excellent all the way around.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All food was decent. I got a filet which ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 11, 2016

All food was decent. I got a filet which was prepared how I ordered it but the outsides were a bit tough, which should never be the case for a $50 piece a meat. Desserts were amazing (bread pudding, pecan pie) and service was great.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always an excellent meal at Buckheads! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always an excellent meal at Buckheads! The ambiance, food, and service are high end!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Won a gift certificate from Down Syndrom ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Won a gift certificate from Down Syndrome Association of Greater Richmond. First time but will return when in Richmond. Thank you for supporting such a worthwhile organization.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

We had not been to Buckheads for over 2 ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We had not been to Buckheads for over 20 years and was so pleased that it was as good as our first visit about 20 years ago. My steak was cooked to perfection and my husbands tuna was perfectly done as to his liking. Also pleased with our server.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Service was Awesome as always

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food and Service was Awesome as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always know what you will get at Buckhea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Always know what you will get at Buckhead's. A great steak, excellent wine list and superior service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Buckhead's served up the best filet mign ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Buckhead's served up the best filet mignon I think I've ever had. You could easily cut it with your fork. The server was terrific--believe his name was Richard. This guy was nearly perfect--timing was impeccable and never hovered or was obtrusive. The food, the wine, the ambiance was perfect for 2 very long - time friends to catch up with each other. A great evening at a really nice place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Buckheads never fails me! The food is to ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Buckheads never fails me! The food is top notch and always consistent! Great staff as well!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Buckhead's was great. The foo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 27, 2016

As always, Buckhead's was great. The food is top notch and the ambience is quite nice. What really made our experience great, however, was the service. Our waiter (Rich? Rick? Richard? - he had glasses and was tall. His wife helped pick out the art for the walls) was exceptional. He was attentive, but didn't hover. He was friendly, but not too friendly. He was the perfect fine dining professional and we couldn't say enough nice things about him.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It's a step back in time with the rich w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It's a step back in time with the rich wood décor and wine "cellar" against the wall. All restaurant personnel are attentive to their guests. The quality and quantity of food is not over priced. All special requests were accommodated.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food & service were very good, as expect ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food & service were very good, as expected. Restaurant was nice to push up a 7:30 reservation to 7:15; they probably could have offered to make it even earlier. They were not full but the restaurant is noisy. Tables for two along the back wall are too big. I felt miles away from my dining partner who is hearing impaired. We had to speak loudly to one another that only contributed to the noise level in the restaurant. Also, note to the hostess. With three tables for two, close together, do not seat one couple next to the other if you don't have to. We will continue to keep this restaurant on our special occasion list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.