Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.72mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Buckheads - Richmond

Buckhead’s has been a Richmond tradition since 1994. Featuring succulent Braveheart Beef and only the freshest seafood, you can taste our passion for culinary excellence. Consistently recognized with Wine Spectator’s “Best of Award of Excellence”, our list offers over 700 labels to complement your dining experience. Additionally, our bar proudly highlights one of the largest selections of single malt scotches and small batch bourbons in Richmond, Virginia.

8510 Patterson Avenue
Richmond, VA 23229
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Parham and Patterson

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 750-2000

Website:
http://www.buckheads.com/

Parking Details:
Ample on-site parking

Executive Chef:
Eric Lewis

Private Party Facilities:
From business meetings to holiday parties, family celebrations to rehearsal dinners, we are excited about making your event a memorable one. Whatever the occasion, our professional staff will make your private dining experience effortless and enjoyable. We offer two private dining rooms to host your event. "Uptown" accommodates up to 50 guests, accesses our main bar area and boasts a candlelit fireplace and large window. "Downtown" has seating capacity for 30 guests and offers more privacy because it is less accessible to our other dining areas. Both rooms can accommodate audiovisual presentations as well as wireless internet.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Mitchell: (804) 750-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Buckheads - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Quiet Conversation (39)
Notable Wine List (38)
Romantic (36)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Business Meals (28)
Cozy (24)
Worth the Drive (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Authentic (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Private Room (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fun (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

I went for my junior prom, with my date and a friend couple of ours. The steak we had was absolutely incredible, and 10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Waited an unreasonable amount of time between salad and entree. Server apologized and said that "one of the steaks had to be refired." Steaks came out, one perfect, one an over cooked hockey puck. Also our bearnaisse sauce was on the side, not sure why. Server was attentive and apologetic and comped the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

My favorite high end Steak restaurant in Richmond. In my humble opinion, it destroys Fleming's and it is more cozy and club like than Old Bookbinder's and Morton's, which are both also excellent. But I love me some Buckhead's. Old school.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A great steak always perfectly prepared. Fresh crisp salad with great blue cheese dressing. Very relaxing atmosphere and a great wine list. Many great dessert choices Waitstaff is perfect

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food, service and convenient location. Will definitely return for a future meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Three people had the filets which were very good. I had the strip which was very disappointing. For prime meat, it was tough and chewy, more like sirloin. The waiter was friendly, but slow. I suspect that is on purpose so people will drink more. For four people, the bill was almost $500 which is very pricy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The service so slow...tables of 7 served before us 2 and. I was not happy about this...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food and drinks were excellent. Our server was attentive to everyone in our party. The pace was relaxed. We did not feel like we were being rushed to finish our meals.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Lucky me, I was given the gift of a dinner for two at Buckhead's!!! I Celebrated my birthday here and it was certainly the right choice. Everything was absolutely perfect from start to finish. Service was excellent and the food was simply delicious. Would definitely go back again. Perfect restaurant for special occasions 🎉
Strongly recommend ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent can't go wrong with buckheads one of the three best res in richmond

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great steak and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 31, 2017

What a nice place to dine, very cozy, quite, and great food and excellent service. Would recommend to everyone for a nice quite evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I have eaten here twice before for my wedding anniversary and I have never been displeased with this restaurant. The service and food are fantastic and I will continue to go here in the future and highly recommend anyone to go as well.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Love Buckhead's food and ambiance . We go frequently and have always been pleased

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Impeccable service. Cocktails a little pricey. Would highly recommend especially for special occasions and business dinners.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I went to Buckhead's for the first time recently to celebrate a birthday with my boyfriend. Luckily, we were seated at a booth, which is a lot cozier (and quieter) than being seated in the first dining room we passed through. The food was very good; the filet excellent and cooked perfectly (and he's very picky about doneness). My only minor complaint would be that the service was very slow. It took a long time to get our food and too long to get the bill. That being said, I would still return for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Family in town! We always go, and it never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food and service as usual. Always the best steak in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Best steakhouse in Richmond. Wine selection is great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 9, 2017

All staff recognized our special birthday celebration and made us feel welcome. The staff were friendly and polite. The food was great, although both Steaks were terribly undercooked. I've had wonderful Steaks here so I'll let it pass.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Thanks, Buckheads, for never disappointing! I'm working my way down the menu with local friends and out-of-town family.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Best surf and turf in the area. Service and atmosphere are also top notch. Menu offers plenty of options and the beer/wine selection is very good. All of the prices are comparable to other top local menus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

What a disappointment! This is not the Buckheads of old - it used to be our favorite restaurant, but it has changed and not for the better! I could not recommend Buckheads to anyone. We spent $182 and it makes me sick to think about it. We ordered the lobster bisque as a starter, took one taste and stopped, it tasted like tomatoe soup with too much salt &a overpowering sherry, we told our waiter we couldn't eat it and he said he would take it off our bill, then he came back and said the owner was in the kitchen, tasted it and agreed with us, the waiter told us 3 times we weren't being charged for it - we heard the first time! We ordered fillets with Yukon mashed potatoes, fillets were ok, mashed potatoes heavy & gluey didn't eat them after one taste, salads nothing to rave about, looked like they opened the salad bags you buy at the grocery store and dumped some bottled dressing on. Since this was a special occasion our dessert was on the house - we ordered the Godiva cake, wished we had told them to keep it - it was a small cold bundt cake with chocolate poured over it - we were expecting a warm cake with a gooey chocolate center boy were we surprised. Our waiter could not get rid us fast enough- we hadn't finished our coffee when he brought us our check. Our reservation as for 7:30 on Friday night, the bar was crowded but the dining room was empty - now I know why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Thumbs up to this Richmond treasure. I haven't been to Buckheads in years and I regret it. The steaks are prepared and served to perfection. The staff is friendly and attentive. Recommended for a nice business dinner or special occasion. Good value!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 27, 2017

First visit and loved the food - Absolutely delicious! Will return for sure!

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The expense was worth it. We first dined there five years ago for our wedding anniversary. It is our spot when me and my husband want to get away and enjoy great food and each other.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great experience. Had a minor issue that the restaurant and management took care of immediately and over generously comped the meal over.

Can't say enough about the service, food was awesome as well

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We arrived for an early dinner on a Friday evening; in fact, we were the first couple to be seated in the dining room. The waiter was very attentive and informative. We were glad to see on the menu that our orders of filet mignon with Bearnaise sauce would also include the salad (our Caesar was delicious), the potato and vegetable instead of having to choose a la carte items. The so-called Patricia Cornwell potato cakes (she actually mentioned them in one of her books) were tasty and our steaks were cooked exactly how we like them. The only suggestion I might have for this delightful restaurant is to perhaps spruce up the entryway a bit. A pot out front had what looked like an almost dead rosemary plant in it and the doors looked like they could use some paint. Also, from the outside parking area, the curtains/shades looked quite heavy and drab.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Buckheads delivers an excellent meal in an elegant setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace, Business Meals, Private Room, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Birthday dinner for best friend. As a prior guest, I was confident that the food , service, and ambiance would be great. This was my friend 's first visit and she is still talking about the Salmon with lemon butter sauce. I had the crab cakes. The mashed potatoes with pancetta and veggies were very flavorful. Our server was the best. Loved that he helped me select a terrific glass of wine (that wasn't the most expensive). Overall experience was outstanding. Buckheads is my "go to" restaurant for special occasions or if you just want to treat yourself.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 20, 2017

It was a very quaint place with great service and food.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I asked one of my co-workers if she knew of any restaurants that had REALLY good food and a nice ambiance because I wanted to take my husband out for his birthday. She mentioned a few and then she said we should try Buckheads. My husband and I are seafood lovers, and that's what we ordered but he had steak as well and I must say, the food and the all around experience was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing steak and excellent service in a classic atmosphere. Never disappoints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Outstanding service, perfect atmosphere. Seriously, the best steak I have ever had in my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Unfortunately I had high hopes for Buck heads as it's supposed to be an excellent chop house. My fiance and I found it to be quite the opposite. The fellow who bussed our table showed more attention to us then our waiter. The food was OK but nothing that I couldn't get at any other high end place. I told them it was for our anniversary and only heard congrats on our way out the door 2 hours after we sat down. The only reason we were there that long is ALL of the food took forever, and the waiter took even longer to get our check...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious but the service was inexplicably slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It just isn't worth the money. Fifty dollars for a filet was way too much for the location and quality. The potato of the day was bland and gummy and both accompanying vegetables were cold on arrival. Wine was very good and the service was excellent. Just not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

One table got very loud at the end of our evening. I am glad it was at the end!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife and I decided to go out for dinner the day before Valentine's day to celebrate.
We decided on Buckhead's based on a recommendation from a neighbor. We were not disappointed, and very pleasantly surprised. The food was great! The atmosphere was perfect! Not too loud, no screaming children, perfect sized space, just right for an intimate dinner. The wait staff were very pleasant. Very attentive, but no overly so. We never had to ask to have our empty glasses filled. The filet mignon steaks were cooked to perfection! Thank you for a memorable experience. We'll be back. Our compliments to the chef, wait staff, and management!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent dinner, wine, dessert, service, and ambience! We will definitely come again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.