About Buca di Beppo - San Francisco

855 Howard St.
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4th & 5th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 543-7673

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Parking garages available nearby at 5th & Mission, 5th & Howard and 5th & Folsom; no validation available

Public Transit:
BART Powell St. station

Executive Chef:
Abel Cuevas

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Apple Gorgonzola Salad
Tiramisu
Penne Rosa w/ Shrimp
Spicy Chicken Rigatoni
Baked Ziti
Chicken Marsala
Prosciutto Stuffed Chicken
Bianca Pizza
French Bread
Buca's Traditional Chianti
lasagna
Yummy Chocolate Chip Cookie
Chicken Parmesan
Brunello De Montalcino 2005
Humungous Bowl Of Fettuccine Alfredo
Calamari
Chicken Pesto Pizza
Shrimp Florentine
Eggplant Parmigiana
Meatball
Lasagne
Meat Lasagna
Apple Crostata
Baked Ravioli
fettucini alfredo
Chocolate Chip Cannoli
Mozzarella Caprese
Chicken and Sausage Rigatoni
Birthday cake
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Meatball Pizza
Chopped antipasto salad
Cappuccino
Chianti Braised Short Ribs
Penne Basilica
Pizza Margherita
Cloudy with a Chance of Meatball Pizza
Green beans
Oven-roasted Salmon
Penne Arrabiata
Peroni Beer
Pepperoni Pizza
Bruschetta
Chicken Saltimbocca
Mozzarella and Tomato Pizza
Seafood Pasta
Garlic Bread
Brownie Sundae
Baked Rigatoni
Chicken Carbonara
Supremo Italiano Pizza
Gargonzola Apple Salad
Chicken Parmigiana
Seafood Spaghetti
Linguini Frutti di Mare

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Restaurants in SOMA ›

Good for Groups (20)
Kid-friendly (13)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Great for Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Romantic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1742 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's a fun, relaxing place to dine. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It's a fun, relaxing place to dine. The waiter was full of smiles!!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was terrible.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We had a great server that accommodated ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had a great server that accommodated our group of 14 very well. Portions are very large! It was close and convenient to The Moscone Center.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a classic old restaurant. The f ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This is a classic old restaurant. The food was great. Our server was friendly; he may have been new as he was none too knowledgeable about the Italian fare. I helped him open the fiasco of house chianti. He didn't know that the round bottle of wine in a basket is called a fiasco.....perhaps he'll remember the next time he serves it. It was my last day of visiting SF this year. We came in for a late lunch/early dinner at 2:30 and after asking we were allowed to choose from both the lunch and dinner menus. Because of the hour it was nice and quiet.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Celebrated my 50th birthday in the pope ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Celebrated my 50th birthday in the pope room with family and friends. We had such a fun and memorable time!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very busy restaurant. We were in a hurr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very busy restaurant. We were in a hurry, but were taken care of quickly.

The apple Gorgonzola cheese salad is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This restaurant is a very nice place for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This restaurant is a very nice place for large parties to meet to celebrate together. The service is excellent as is the ambience and sound level, at least on the second floor. Our issue this year was the food - several dishes were lukewarm and just not that tasty. The salad with apples, cheese and nuts was quite tasty, but the other pasta and chicken dishes were just so-so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Had a 7pm reservation but we're not seat ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had a 7pm reservation but we're not seated for more than a half. Service was slow and food, when it came, was barely lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Lotsa fun....it's Buca, you know what yo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Lotsa fun....it's Buca, you know what you're getting and for the value, it's a great time out. Consistent, if not spectacular food. Good portions, fair prices, and a nice, vibrant environment. Can't say i have had a bad dish here, and groups / large parties are the perfect fit here based on family style dining. Wherever you are and if your group is in the mood for decent Italian food at reasonable prices, head over to Buca.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

This restaurant is no longer an option f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This restaurant is no longer an option for large group business or family dinners. The team is poorly trained, the space below is hot and stuffy (no A/C that evening ) and the food was poor quality. Hopefully they can reverse this as it has been a fun and easy night for large parties in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Buca Di Beppo always delivers a wonderfu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Buca Di Beppo always delivers a wonderful dining experience. Our food was delicious and the service was great. This is the perfect place for our large family to have a great meal together.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Jimmy was outstanding. Very ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waiter, Jimmy was outstanding. Very outgoing and personable. The food was huge portions. There was 5 of us, and we ordered the small plates and that was plenty. The Colossal Sundae was huge and yummy. We really had a good time. I would recommend this place to families and friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Having been to Buca Di Beppo before, the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Having been to Buca Di Beppo before, the experience was as we had expected. Staff was very friendly and attentive. With the large portions, there was plenty to go around for our party. Our only disappointment was that the free birthday cake offer was not available to us even though we included a note in our Open Table reservation stating we were a large group celebrating a birthday. So no cake and no song for our birthday guest. (Some type of code is required from the Buca Di Beppo website is required to utilize this offer. There was no flexibility with this.)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to share dishes with friends ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great place to share dishes with friends and family.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not much attention to customers, more em ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Not much attention to customers, more employees just chatting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The place smelt terrible. Like someone h ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The place smelt terrible. Like someone had died there. Devoid of atmosphere despite a tonne of purchased Italian memorabilia on the walls. The food was passable. Service was rudimentary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

We had wonderful time at Buca di Beppo w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We had wonderful time at Buca di Beppo well we've been there total 3 times during our stay. Staff is friendly, food is good size to share. If you are in SF, should be there at once.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

someone took our plate by accident then ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

someone took our plate by accident then Steve gave us back a half plate of new oysters which we really appreciate . A nice gesture of good customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

After day long meeting, it is very warm ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

After day long meeting, it is very warm and comfortable to have dinner at Buca di Beppo. Staff there is very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat for large groups! Fun ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great place to eat for large groups! Fun environment 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crazy busy on Mother's Day and a few of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Crazy busy on Mother's Day and a few of our orders weren't exactly right but we always have a good time and the food is consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Sat at the bar. Staff was rowdy, loud, a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Sat at the bar. Staff was rowdy, loud, and fooling around with each other in front of customers. They also complained about the quality of the pasta to each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

The restaurant was alovely place to celebrate

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

All went well,food was really delicious and plenty to eat, only our waitress took so long to ask us if we needed anything else, we always had to look for her. I knew she has other tables to attend but our family was aliitle annoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Ok. Classic Italian but I can't say it ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Ok. Classic Italian but I can't say it was the best. Better stuff else where. Fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our waitress was fantastic and the food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Our waitress was fantastic and the food delicious! Great place to bring family!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Steven was awesome... Please try to sit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Steven was awesome... Please try to sit large parties together and smaller parties away from the madness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would never recommend this restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

I would never recommend this restaurant to anyone looking to celebrate anything. Our waiter Juan was one of the most inconsiderate and inattentive workers I have ever met. He consistently forgot to check in and knew absolutely nothing about the menu or wine choices. His rudeness was not welcomed. I will never return if he has the chance of being our server. The food was good but it took way too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Food is good. Service quite slow even wh ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Food is good. Service quite slow even when there is hardly any customers. Need to be more maintenance conscious. They sat me at a table where the light bulb has been burnt out for the past month. It is dark.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I gave the tip $5.88 but they charged my ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

I gave the tip $5.88 but they charged my card $10.00. Better watch out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Fun for large family gatherings and larg ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Fun for large family gatherings and large birthday celebrations. Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a great time at Buca Di Beppo. Fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Always a great time at Buca Di Beppo. Food was good, service not so good. Maybe it was an off night due to rain and wind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Food is good. Service is hit or miss. At ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Food is good. Service is hit or miss. At times hostess seems as though they don't know what to do or too lazy to walk down the stairs to show us where to seat. Restaurant was pretty much empty but the hostess sat us at a table where the light was burnt out above us so it was kind of dark. Also, service can be pretty slow when no one else is around. I believe when there's more customers, the server will come around more often. That one day, we waited at least 30 minutes for our food when there were no customers. I had to search for someone to ask him to check on our order.

However, when things run well, the host and server can be very efficient and everyone is happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun Dining Night Out

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We have always enjoyed going to the various Buca Di Beppo places in other cities. Although not a San Francisco based restaurant, it is many steps above other chain restaurants. The atmosphere fits in the SF dining scene. Feels neighborly and it wouldn't be out of place if it were in North Beach.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Pasta!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We went to Buca to get some pasta and we were not disappointed! The Shrimp Florentine was out of this world! Cheap, easy, delicious. Service was incredible with server Jessika! She was a delight to be around and gave great recommendations.

Beware! The portions are large!

Will go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This restaraunt did not score any points with me.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

To begin our hostess kept shuffling us back and forth between tables. Then we were told we could only split our tab into 2 receipts. The waitress took forever to come over and take our orders and even longer to put bread on the table (we had to ask for vinegar & oil). Our food came and it was cold. One of our guests did not get her dinner until most of us were done; and they did not remove it from the bill. We were told the stoves were malfunctioning that night.

The price for the food was over-rated. The food would have been better served hot. I will not be booking any more reservations at any of the Buca di Beppos.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Took almost 20 min to get our check then ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Took almost 20 min to get our check then when we did they messed up and made us wait to another 20 min by the crowded front door.

I used to like this place but this experience kinda ruined off or me especially on New Years when we had somewhere to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Service was good and food cooked to my l ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Service was good and food cooked to my liking. I went early to avoid the crowds. The restaurant can get really busy then the wait time can be very long and unpleasant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good was great but didn't come out all a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Good was great but didn't come out all at once or even close to one another. We ended up canceling the last dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Came for Xmas day dinner. They were crow ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Came for Xmas day dinner. They were crowded but we were seated quickly. Service was slow but they were packed. Food was okay- which is the highest compliment for any chain restaurant. They ran out of a lot of items but it was Xmas day so I can't fault them there. Overall I wouldn't normally come here but it was Xmas and I had family in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Just ok

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

I came here for Christmas dinner with my friends visiting from overseas. Parking was hard to find since it's located in SOMA. While I made a reservation for 11 people, when I got there, my friends said they were seated at a 9 people table. With tight spacing next to the other table, we had to find a staff to get us another table (it's Christmas Day and everybody was so busy and we couldn't find our host).

Food was decent as other locations. We were disappointed that they ran out of their popular tiramisu...

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.