About Buca di Beppo - San Francisco

855 Howard St.
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4th & 5th Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 543-7673

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Parking garages available nearby at 5th & Mission, 5th & Howard and 5th & Folsom; no validation available

Public Transit:
BART Powell St. station

Executive Chef:
Abel Cuevas

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Buca di Beppo - San Francisco
Apple Gorgonzola Salad
Tiramisu
Penne Rosa w/ Shrimp
Baked Ziti
Prosciutto Stuffed Chicken
Chicken Marsala
Bianca Pizza
French Bread
Buca's Traditional Chianti
lasagna
Yummy Chocolate Chip Cookie
Chicken Parmesan
Brunello De Montalcino 2005
Humungous Bowl Of Fettuccine Alfredo
Calamari
Chicken Pesto Pizza
Shrimp Florentine
Eggplant Parmigiana
Meatball
Meat Lasagna
Lasagne
Apple Crostata
Baked Ravioli
fettucini alfredo
Chocolate Chip Cannoli
Mozzarella Caprese
Chicken and Sausage Rigatoni
Birthday cake
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Chopped antipasto salad
Meatball Pizza
Penne Basilica
Chianti Braised Short Ribs
Cappuccino
Green beans
Cloudy with a Chance of Meatball Pizza
Pizza Margherita
Peroni Beer
Oven-roasted Salmon
Spicy Chicken Rigatoni
Penne Arrabiata
Pepperoni Pizza
Bruschetta
Chicken Saltimbocca
Garlic Bread
Brownie Sundae
Seafood Pasta
Mozzarella and Tomato Pizza
Baked Rigatoni
Chicken Carbonara
Gargonzola Apple Salad
Supremo Italiano Pizza
Seafood Spaghetti
Chicken Parmigiana
Linguini Frutti di Mare

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - San Francisco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (33)
kid-friendly (17)
great for lunch (13)
See All
special occasion (12)
neighborhood gem (6)
fit for foodies (6)
notable wine list (4)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
romantic (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1728 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place to share dishes with friends ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great place to share dishes with friends and family.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3

Not much attention to customers, more em ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Not much attention to customers, more employees just chatting.

food2
ambience1
service2

The place smelt terrible. Like someone h ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

The place smelt terrible. Like someone had died there. Devoid of atmosphere despite a tonne of purchased Italian memorabilia on the walls. The food was passable. Service was rudimentary.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had wonderful time at Buca di Beppo w ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We had wonderful time at Buca di Beppo well we've been there total 3 times during our stay. Staff is friendly, food is good size to share. If you are in SF, should be there at once.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

someone took our plate by accident then ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

someone took our plate by accident then Steve gave us back a half plate of new oysters which we really appreciate . A nice gesture of good customer service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After day long meeting, it is very warm ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

After day long meeting, it is very warm and comfortable to have dinner at Buca di Beppo. Staff there is very friendly and helpful.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat for large groups! Fun ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great place to eat for large groups! Fun environment 😊

food3
ambience4
service3

Crazy busy on Mother's Day and a few of ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Crazy busy on Mother's Day and a few of our orders weren't exactly right but we always have a good time and the food is consistently good.

food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Sat at the bar. Staff was rowdy, loud, a ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Sat at the bar. Staff was rowdy, loud, and fooling around with each other in front of customers. They also complained about the quality of the pasta to each other.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The restaurant was alovely place to celebrate

Dined on April 17, 2016

All went well,food was really delicious and plenty to eat, only our waitress took so long to ask us if we needed anything else, we always had to look for her. I knew she has other tables to attend but our family was aliitle annoy.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Ok. Classic Italian but I can't say it ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Ok. Classic Italian but I can't say it was the best. Better stuff else where. Fun atmosphere.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waitress was fantastic and the food ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Our waitress was fantastic and the food delicious! Great place to bring family!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Steven was awesome... Please try to sit ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Steven was awesome... Please try to sit large parties together and smaller parties away from the madness

food3
ambience3
service1

I would never recommend this restaurant ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

I would never recommend this restaurant to anyone looking to celebrate anything. Our waiter Juan was one of the most inconsiderate and inattentive workers I have ever met. He consistently forgot to check in and knew absolutely nothing about the menu or wine choices. His rudeness was not welcomed. I will never return if he has the chance of being our server. The food was good but it took way too long.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is good. Service quite slow even wh ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Food is good. Service quite slow even when there is hardly any customers. Need to be more maintenance conscious. They sat me at a table where the light bulb has been burnt out for the past month. It is dark.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service1

I gave the tip $5.88 but they charged my ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

I gave the tip $5.88 but they charged my card $10.00. Better watch out!

food4
ambience4
service4

Fun for large family gatherings and larg ...

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Fun for large family gatherings and large birthday celebrations. Delicious food!

food3
ambience3
service2

Always a great time at Buca Di Beppo. Fo ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Always a great time at Buca Di Beppo. Food was good, service not so good. Maybe it was an off night due to rain and wind.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is good. Service is hit or miss. At ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Food is good. Service is hit or miss. At times hostess seems as though they don't know what to do or too lazy to walk down the stairs to show us where to seat. Restaurant was pretty much empty but the hostess sat us at a table where the light was burnt out above us so it was kind of dark. Also, service can be pretty slow when no one else is around. I believe when there's more customers, the server will come around more often. That one day, we waited at least 30 minutes for our food when there were no customers. I had to search for someone to ask him to check on our order. However, when things run well, the host and server can be very efficient and everyone is happy.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun Dining Night Out

Dined on February 15, 2016

We have always enjoyed going to the various Buca Di Beppo places in other cities. Although not a San Francisco based restaurant, it is many steps above other chain restaurants. The atmosphere fits in the SF dining scene. Feels neighborly and it wouldn't be out of place if it were in North Beach.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent Pasta!

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

We went to Buca to get some pasta and we were not disappointed! The Shrimp Florentine was out of this world! Cheap, easy, delicious. Service was incredible with server Jessika! She was a delight to be around and gave great recommendations. Beware! The portions are large! Will go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This restaraunt did not score any points with me.

Dined on January 2, 2016

To begin our hostess kept shuffling us back and forth between tables. Then we were told we could only split our tab into 2 receipts. The waitress took forever to come over and take our orders and even longer to put bread on the table (we had to ask for vinegar & oil). Our food came and it was cold. One of our guests did not get her dinner until most of us were done; and they did not remove it from the bill. We were told the stoves were malfunctioning that night. The price for the food was over-rated. The food would have been better served hot. I will not be booking any more reservations at any of the Buca di Beppos.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Took almost 20 min to get our check then ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Took almost 20 min to get our check then when we did they messed up and made us wait to another 20 min by the crowded front door. I used to like this place but this experience kinda ruined off or me especially on New Years when we had somewhere to be.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was good and food cooked to my l ...

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

Service was good and food cooked to my liking. I went early to avoid the crowds. The restaurant can get really busy then the wait time can be very long and unpleasant.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2

Good was great but didn't come out all a ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

Good was great but didn't come out all at once or even close to one another. We ended up canceling the last dish.

food3
ambience3
service3

Came for Xmas day dinner. They were crow ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

Came for Xmas day dinner. They were crowded but we were seated quickly. Service was slow but they were packed. Food was okay- which is the highest compliment for any chain restaurant. They ran out of a lot of items but it was Xmas day so I can't fault them there. Overall I wouldn't normally come here but it was Xmas and I had family in town.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Just ok

Dined on December 26, 2015

I came here for Christmas dinner with my friends visiting from overseas. Parking was hard to find since it's located in SOMA. While I made a reservation for 11 people, when I got there, my friends said they were seated at a 9 people table. With tight spacing next to the other table, we had to find a staff to get us another table (it's Christmas Day and everybody was so busy and we couldn't find our host). Food was decent as other locations. We were disappointed that they ran out of their popular tiramisu...

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Christmas Disaster.

Dined on December 26, 2015

We went for Christmas dinner & even though we made reservations a week in advance, we still had to wait almost an hour (standing room only). Once seated, we decided on about 4 family style entrees. After about 10 minutes our waiter informs us that the restaurant was completely out of chicken. Joking right? NOPE. Great planning ahead Bucca! Never again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress Darlene was the best so mak ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Our waitress Darlene was the best so making our selection of food was made easier with her help. Food was great and my husband enjoyed his whole bottle of Chianti immensely.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service2

Used them for a large party. Hostess s ...

vip
Dined on December 18, 2015

Used them for a large party. Hostess sat us at the wrong table which was not set up. We waited 15 min before we were moved. Food is consistent and always good and plentiful. The waiter brought out the wrong salad we ordered. We had to ask for refills on our drinks. The supplement offered for the vegetarian in the group didn't come with the dinner and we had to ask for it. Which came late.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a great time. I wish they had ro ...

Dined on December 18, 2015

We had a great time. I wish they had round tables where you see and speak to your entire party.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience2
service3

I want to sit in the spinning Pope room!

vip
Dined on December 14, 2015

The food is solid. Portions are huge. They can accommodate large parties and the price is very reasonable. Given it proximity to the Moscone Convention Center, its a sure bet for convention goers so pick good dates for your large group. The bruschetta came in a gigantic martini glass! The small portion of the chicken parm came with 3 large cutlets. The place could use a bit of freshing up though. And even though it wasn't that busy, there was a bit of a lag between our apps and the main entrée, especially since they were so quick to clear our apps plates.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Best for large hungry groups. Perfect fo ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

Best for large hungry groups. Perfect for parties,

food2
ambience4
service1

Will not be going back. Our issue was resolved.

Dined on December 6, 2015

Even though our issue was resolved it doesn't take back our time lost. We had a special night planned with our children but it turned into a disaster. Night ruined.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3

Insufficient Staff

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

Insufficient staff, it wasThanksgiving weekend and they didn't have enough staff. The staff they did have was nice but the one server downstairs was running ragged and there was a long wait for the food.

food4
ambience4
service4

Always plenty of good food.

Dined on November 28, 2015

we had reservation for our group at 5:00pm, they didn't seat us till 5:30. that was annoying.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice place to dine.

Dined on November 27, 2015

The food was good. We went on thanksgiving day and it was really busy. Its a big restaurant. Our server was helping so many people at one time but he did a good job though. I can't complain. Overall a great place to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food for my out of town family visit

Dined on November 27, 2015

I took my out of town family here for thanksgiving and it was perfect. The turkey dinner was delicious as well as the regular menu of itialian. We were warm and comfortable and my family was very happy.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4

Reliable and good

Dined on November 27, 2015

Buca de Bepo is what it is: good food, freindly servers & staff, ok for kids and a lot of fun for a large group. Maybe not a place for foodies (aka: food snobs), but that isn't what I expect there. With that said, I enjoyed a number of their dishes which because it is served family style, can be sampled (or skipped) that I might not have originally ordered for myself. I will definitely return and recommend it to others.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3

Usually come here for thanksgiving but i ...

Dined on November 27, 2015

Usually come here for thanksgiving but it was incredibly disorganized and food was dry

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.