About Buca di Beppo - Winchester

1850 Apple Blossom Drive
Winchester, VA 22601
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Apple Blossom Mall

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 667-8466

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you"re hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Winchester Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

3.8

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Shenandoah Valley
Best Restaurants in Winchester ›

good for groups (3)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
See All
fit for foodies (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
72 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service1
value5

Terrible Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was really good and plentiful. And not very expensive. Our server was terrible. We basically did not see her after she took our food order. She did not even fill up our waters and we had to ask for our leftovers to be brought out. Even after we asked for more water it took 15 minutes to bring it out.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4

A bit on the expensive side for Winchest ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

A bit on the expensive side for Winchester, but outstanding food. We'll be back.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Big Eaters Club

Dined on April 30, 2016

Went here on a cold rainy night in April. There were 3 of us and we were hungry. We each ordered a "small" entree. So much food! My Baked Ziti was delightful. Skip the cheese bread and just order garlic bread. Bonjourno!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience5
service4

Empty. This place was dead. Thursday nig ...

Dined on October 29, 2015

Empty. This place was dead. Thursday night October 29. Greated promptly, friendly staff. Prompt response for all our needs

food3
ambience3
service4

Fourth time here

Dined on October 10, 2015

This time wasn't so good. We had a party of 9 and did not enjoy sitting in wine area. Preferred a table but that's just a preference. I was excited to take our out of town family members to celebrate birthdays. Our server was very friendly and attentive until the end when she brought the desserts without the coffee. The calamari was fried too much to where it had no flavor or consistency of calamari. The mushroom and mozzarella was very good. We ordered lemon chicken which was fairly bland with a hint of lemon, have had better. Chicken rigatoni which was very flavorful but many of the rigatonis were broken. The appealing thing about rigatoni is the large macaroni but most were broken into pieces. We also had veal Marsala...which was awful. It had no Marsala flavor and instead had an abundant flavor of sugar! Then came dessert...the kids ordered the sundae which they always get and the adults ordered tiramisu. No coffee flavor...very disappointed. Not much was eaten and we didn't want it to go. We did tell the waitress about the Marsala who in turn sent the manager over. She was very apologetic and gave us desserts on the house...nice gesture however I would have preferred the $38 back. So with the free desserts, I still spent over $300 and left disappointed with the quality of the whole dinner. The best part of the meal was the wine and I paid $42 for it!! I also feel that the platters are a bit expensive for the amount of food. The chicken and veal had 1/2 pieces of cutlets and maybe there were 8 (4 full pieces) and they were both over $30. I think I'll be taking a break from Buca... I had been telling my family how great it was and was embarrassed with it all. I've seen it in a different light this time.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2

poor service this evening.

Dined on September 19, 2015

Normally a wonderful spot to stop. This visit, service was poor. Commented upon ordering too much food.( my money and I like leftovers) brought main course and left table. Only had salad plates covered in vinegrette had to ask her for an entree plate. And to refill our water glasses. Had to bag my own doggy bag (not a big deal) but not something I've ever had to do before in my multiple visits here. Service before 5 stars. Server tonight maybe 2. Might have been a bad night for her but her tip reflected it. Unfortunately in this service you have to earn it. WkHowever worth a stop to try the food. Taste like an Italian grandmothers kitchen. Spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

A lovely happy party atmosphere

Dined on August 21, 2015

A lovely happy party atmosphere

food1
ambience3
service3

The food is horrible!

Dined on June 20, 2015

I knew it was going to bad a bad experience when we received our wilted green salad that was soaked in some kind of "un-tasty" dressing. My four year old ordered the kids spaghetti with the advertised "huge meatball" on top. When the plate arrived the meatball was placed on top to make it look like it was big, however the meatball was cut in half. My wife and I shared a dish that is was so bad I can't even remember what it was called. I do remember the noodles and the garlic as being overcooked. It's an Italian restaurant, how can you burn the garlic? The problem is that Buca is trying to win over its customers with large portions of food that isn't very good. Perhaps if they cut down on the size of the servings and concentrated on preparing the food well they may find success. Never again will i step foot in a Buca! P.S. The waitress was kind and helpful. The only thing that allowed me to choke down the food.

food4
ambience4
service5

Come hungry!

vip
Dined on June 20, 2015

We were a group of 6 and left with almost as much food as we started with, it seemed. So much food - the small portions are still quite big. Maybe we ordered too many items - ha! The service was excellent, the food was tasty and the restaurant is comfortable. I would probably order a bit less next time - except for the dessert. We polished those off with no problem.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Steve O

Dined on May 23, 2015

We were part of a party of 8, 4 were kids. We had excellent service, excellent food and the atmosphere was great! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place! Oh and I forgot to mention it was worth the hour plus drive!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

love the large portions

Dined on April 10, 2015

Definitely need to loosen your belt while ding here.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

The food never disappoints.

vip
Dined on March 28, 2015

The food was excellent and so was the service. I always look forward to dining at this restaurant. This is a great dining option without the hassle of finding parking in old town.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Love it

Dined on February 14, 2015

Love the food our server Daniel was awesome very attentive the portions were fair for the price

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service3

Ordered veal needed chain saw to cut, se ...

Dined on February 14, 2015

Ordered veal needed chain saw to cut, sent it back was told there wasn't any veal left. Ordered pizza instead, was told they were out of pizza.

food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed our first time experience.

Dined on February 6, 2015

Food was great. Waitress was awesome Not recommend for singles, as food is family style (unless you want a lot of leftovers) Good value for the portions Manager was pleasant.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Party Time

Dined on January 31, 2015

The entire staff of Buca was terrific for our toddler's family party. From keeping the cake and bringing it out at the end, to everyone signing a card for him! The food was great, the family style worked really well for our group of 13 and we were able to relax and enjoy the time with family rather than worrying about anything. They had it under control.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Good

Dined on January 16, 2015

great place for special occasions. Food was great, atmosphere was pleasant. All around good experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Service incredible!!

Dined on December 25, 2014

food and service were phenomenal!! Reservations weren't necessary. Food was quick and service was amazing!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Coming there for Christmas dinner was a ...

Dined on December 25, 2014

Coming there for Christmas dinner was a great idea. Our family had a great time being together with our schedules going in different directions. Had a great time speaking with the chef that came out and asked us about our meal. He was great.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service1

They didn't put their best foot forward.

Dined on December 19, 2014

My husband and I went for dinner at BdB Winchester on a Thursday evening. The restaurant was mostly empty, as we expected. We had been told to expect personable staff and great food. The maitre d' was nice but not especially personable. The waiter suffered from an excessive lack of personality, and even seemed afraid to serve. He stood in front of us stammering. When we asked about him, we were told he was a trainee. Service was slow. It took a long time for our food to come, and when it came it was burnt. The cook apologized, in essence saying that he knew it was burnt but sent it out to us anyway, "not wanting us to wait any longer," in other words, hoping we wouldn't send it back. They did make it right after we complained, cooking another entree and sending us an extra dish (after we asked for it). The non-burnt food was tasty but it gave my husband a headache, probably from food additives like msg. It is basically premade frozen stuff reheated, and expensive. We weren't the only ones with not-great service. The people at the table next to us had a hard time being served, and had four different servers by the end of the meal. We'll be going back, but only because we have a gift certificate to use up. Perhaps it was an off night. They should have been better because they knew it was our first visit.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience5
service3

Jana R.

Dined on November 1, 2014

The restaurant sat us at the perfect location. I had requested a large round table so that everyone in my party could look at each other, while I announced my recent good news. The ambiance was about typical for the style of restaurant in the town. But my father had issues with the service. Our server wasn't fast enough for my father. Who at the end of the meal gave up instead of ordering dessert, and our group went elsewhere for the sweet treat.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on October 25, 2014

The lasagna is delicious! Love the bread and chopped anti-pasta salad!

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service4

Skip it

Dined on October 18, 2014

Pretty expensive for what you get. Food was like buffet quality served at the table, was not impressed.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was wonderful. We loved every ...

Dined on September 20, 2014

The food was wonderful. We loved every dish we purchased. Overall the service was good. Our waitress did not speak English well so communicating was a bit of a challenge but not a big deal. We figured it out. My husband and I dine at this restaurant frequently, one thing that we always notice is that it takes a while to get a drink from the bar. With our large group on Saturday night it was no exception. It took about 20 minutes to get our beers and wine. We ended up pre-ordering each round of drinks. Other than that everything else was outstanding. Thanks for a great evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

good service, not so good good

Dined on September 12, 2014

The service is good however the foods are not that good. The veal marshals is very sweet to the point that it is dessert sweet and the baked ziti uses penne and dried and hard. We like the food at Gaitherburg's Bucca because they are cooked accordingly and eatable.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service3

The Willows Gang

Dined on September 3, 2014

Everyone enjoyed their food! Everyone was really taken with the music and the decor!! A perfect setting for all ages.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3

GOOD RESTAURANT

Dined on August 22, 2014

FUN RSTAURANT WITH GOOD ITALIAN FOOD IN A VERY DIFFERENT ATMOSPHERE

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

The calamari was supburb

Dined on July 4, 2014

We were a party of four. Your menu items for two or for four didn't appeal to us as we all like to order our favorites which are all different. Also we had printed out several coupons and not a one was acceptable. As senior citizens we take advantage of any savings we can get.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3

went the wrong day

vip
Dined on July 1, 2014

We love Buca di Beppo in Florida, but this one left us unsatisfied. I hope we were there on a particularly bad service day for them. The food was very slow, and while the employees were very kind and friendly, they were out of the dessert we requested, and forgot to leave the dressing on the side of our salad. The spicy chicken rigatoni was disappointing. I make a better version at home. The sous chef was kind enough to make up for the slow service by giving us a free dessert. We'll come back, and I hope it is tastier and speedier next time!

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice evening

Dined on June 20, 2014

We celebrated Father's Day at Buca with a large group of family members. Food was delicious and service was very good too. I decided to take my husband back that same week because it was his birthday and he loved the stuffed mushrooms! Our friend's birthday was the same day. I made an online reservation for 4. Once again the food was delicious and our server was fantastic! The manager approached our table and gave us some discount coupons because the birthday "girl" and "boy" were too full to have dessert. My only concern is that the entree's do not come with a side dish. Portions are large but side dishes are a bit pricey. However, we will be going back soon! Excellent experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Love it

Dined on June 15, 2014

My husband and I discovered you a few months back, and it has now become one of our top 5 favorites. We recommend to anyone! Love the lunch special. So much food! :) Love the atmosphere as well, all the pictures on the wall bring it such character! We just love it there!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Motherof1

Dined on June 7, 2014

The food is always very good, and affordable! We actually have eaten at several Buca's, in several different states and all of them have been GREAT!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, atmosphere

Dined on May 11, 2014

The Chicken Carbonara is delicious... the portions are really generous - One Meatball could easily be cut into 4 or more - for sharing... Good, clean, fast service... Nice overall experience each time I have gone. Recommend!!!!!!!!!! LOVE the online reservations!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1

Good food poor service.

Dined on May 10, 2014

I found this resturant to be cool and neat with good food and poor service. After ordering a $13 + drink it took 15 min for it to arrive. At least the food was good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great for our large group

Dined on May 7, 2014

We reserved in advance for 9 people. They had the table ready for us with two servers. The servers were great about making suggestions for on food and on serving sizes for our group. The food was wonderful. The only suggestion I would make was that the music was a bit loud so it was harder to hear the conversations going on at the table. Overall a wonderful experience and we will be back.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Professional Day

Dined on April 24, 2014

Had a party of ten for lunch and the food was amazing and the service was great. Had a great time celebrating with people that work all year hard to make our business be the best it can be.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

The food here is good, reasonably priced ...

Dined on April 20, 2014

The food here is good, reasonably priced and the portions are large. It's "family" style so for 2 people you order one dish and share, 2 dishes for 4, etc. The decor is 50s Italian resturant so it leads to conversations. I wouldn't describe the place as romantic or upscale, but that isn't a bad thing, except maybe for a first date. It's different from other chain Italian restaurants in the area, which they don't capitalize on. They also need to advertise more as they're located in the mall, which isn't common in this town as it is in other areas of the country. I reccommend this restaurant to others and plan on returning in the future.

food1
ambience3
service2

Tastless

Dined on March 16, 2014

We had the Chicken Carbonara. Rather tasteless and it seemed as if the spaghetti stuck in your mouth. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service5

Chase was the man!

Dined on March 9, 2014

Chase, the manager, ensured that every single positive aspect of our visit was exceptional and every single negative aspect was remedied and compensated for as immediately as possible. He was ace! That Chase, he's so ace! Go visit his place; stuff food in your face.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Buca

Dined on March 9, 2014

We are glad Buca is here in our community, but it has some real opportunities in front of it to be the next "happening" place.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.