HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Buca di Beppo - Waldorf

3.9
104 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups (125)
  • Special Occasion (78)
  • Kid-friendly (54)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Comfort Food, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(301) 932-9617
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 104 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9
  based on all time ratings
4.0
food
4.0
service
3.8
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipnickname (Washington DC)
1.0
Dined on December 28, 2016

The service at this restaurant was truly awful. They were not busy, yet the food took forever (even our cold appetizers, which required no cooking, took a long time to come out), they brought the wrong food, and they were extremely slow to refill drinks. Also, the waitresses put their fingers and hands all over the plates, silverware, etc. completely unsanitary.

When our entrees came (finally), we asked for more bread. The waitress said, reflexively, "It's baking in the oven; we'll bring it to you as soon as it comes out." 15 minutes (or more) later, another waitress comes by and we mention to her that we asked for more bread and she says, again just reflexively without even thinking about it, "It's baking in the oven; we'll bring it to you as soon as it comes out." We never got any bread. (It must still be in the oven.) Never an apology, never mentioned it again. Just, nothing.

Also (and maybe this is idiosyncratic), they serve their bruschetta (which was one of the better dishes) in a huge, cheap plastic martini glass with tongs. It makes no sense. (Is this how they do it in Italy???) And the tongs are so unwieldy that if you're not careful you get tomatoes all over the place. It's just not very well thought out.

This used to be a nice place. it's not anymore. Food is just OK, and the service makes this place basically unbearable.

Don't eat here!

Report
Helpful
Sylviawhite (Washington DC)
5.0
Dined on December 25, 2016

Spent our Christmas lunch there! Everything was great! I ordered a small and lasagna and had to bring it home! Delicious Italian food! Service was great and everyone was nice! Will go there again!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Seattle)
5.0
Dined on August 9, 2016

It was a different experience for my family and I. Food was amazing, service was great and the prices were very affordable.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
4.0
Dined on February 14, 2016

I really like Buca's food. I really like Italian food but not too much cream or cheese and they are just right for me. Our server was wonderful and knowledgeable of the menu. The prices are great and it is a great choice for families or large crowds. The Waldorf location is rather small and some of the photos on the wall are a bit risque. However, if you can overlook those things, you will have great low key, casual dinner.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
4.0
Dined on February 14, 2016

My waitress seemed overwhelmed and the restaurant wasn't busy at all. Food was great.

Report
Helpful
vipDonald 
1.0
Dined on January 30, 2016

Service was so bad,after waiting 15-20 minutes, we gave up and left. We've been to this location a number of time. Most times there has been issued, such as lack of cooks working, wait staff not working, etc, etc.

We will not be back. They had enough chances. I don't blame any on

Report
Helpful
vipCharlietheclam (Washington DC)
3.0
Dined on January 13, 2016

Although not bad, this restaurant did not compare to other restaurants on OpenTable or other Italian restaurants in the area. It was a bit dark and didn't appear to be very clean. It is a family style restaurant so the portions are good for sharing and I would say most suited to groups. The salad and salad dressing were very good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
2.0
Dined on November 10, 2015

The food was good. The only issue was that there was only 2 servers for the entire restaurant. The servers, as well as the hostess did there best to take care of everyone.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0
Dined on October 30, 2015

The food is always good and the service is excellent. The staff seems to genuinely care about whether the customers enjoy themselves.

Report
Helpful
Reeni (Washington DC)
2.0
Dined on June 21, 2015

The food used to be good when they first opened, but over the course, their dishes never taste the same. I was a fan of their Penne alla Vodka. Every time I would order it, it would taste different - one was too spicy, one was too watery, one was too something else. Also, some of their interpretations of dishes are incorrect - and this coming from an off-the boat Italian family.

Furthermore, we ordered the gnocchi and we had to return them because they weren't fully cooked. When we approached the manager about it, he mentioned "gnocchi are supposed to be al dente". Actually, no they aren't.

I think this the last time, or at least, not go for a very long while to Bucca.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Comfort Food, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Suite G01A
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(301) 932-9617
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you"re hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
From Buca"s delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Buca di Beppo Group Reservations : (855) 757-3326
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.