About Buca di Beppo - San Diego

705 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-7272

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Valet service Friday and Saturday- $20.00 ($15 with validation)

Paid street, metered parking. Street parking is free after 6pm.

Public parking at Horton Plaza: free before 9pm with validation.

Paid public parking (Park It on Market, located on Market & 6th Street)

Public Transit:
San Diego Trolley - Orange Line or Red Line - Gaslamp Quarter stop.

San Diego Metro transit - bus stop at Market & 6th.

Executive Chef:
Domingo Ramos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Buca di Beppo - San Diego
Chicken Parmesan
fettucini alfredo
Chopped antipasto salad
Baked Ziti
Brownie Fudge Sundae
Baked Ravioli
Tiramisu and Cannoli
Seafood Spagetti Cabonara
Prosciutto Stuffed Chicken
Bread
Baked Rigatoni
Tiramisu
Fried Calamari
Spaghetti With Meat Balls
Tomato Basil Soup
Pizza Suprema and Pasta Rigatonni

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (8)
Special Occasion (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
See All
Fit for Foodies (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We held our daughter's 18th birthday par ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We held our daughter's 18th birthday party at Buca. We had 14 people and they seated us in their large back room. It was very loud since most of the room was filled. We could barely hear our server or each other. I don't blame the restaurant since the very large group next to us was beyond loud and yelling at times. Once they left it was awesome! We had a set menu and the food was very good. The atmosphere was fun and you could literally look at their walls for hours if your were bored. They have a strolling photographer who took some fantastic photos of our group, which we purchased. Overall everyone had a really good time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Made reservation through open table for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Made reservation through open table for 7pm on a Wednesday (7/27/16) - arrived a few minutes early and were seated right away - party of 4. Restaurant was NOT busy. We were given menus by the hostess and waited more than 15 minutes for our server Chase to actually come to the table. We ordered drinks and an appetizer right away and waited. After another 15 minutes go by he appears with glasses of water. He indicated the drinks would be up shortly and asked if we wanted bread, we said yes. During this time two other parties arrived and were seated near by. Drinks finally arrive - we ordered our entrees still no bread. 52 minutes later I chased down our server Chase and said where the app? I asked to speak to the manager. The manager brought the app to the table and explained the delay on the fact that it took longer for certain foods to come out of the kitchen when I pointed out one of the recently seated diners had gotten drinks salad and a pizza delivered to their table and our app which consisted of fried calamari, mozzarella, and stuffed mushrooms had yet to arrive. The manager leaves and we dig in on the app. It was cold the serving plate itself was cold to the touch except for the marinara sauce which was in a separate container. The calamari was way over done and truly some of the worst I've ever had in a city known for serving decent seafood. Drinks were getting empty by then and no server to be seen after waiting another 10-15 minutes. We got up and left. As I said previously the restaurant was not busy there were open tables everywhere. I spoke with the manager on the way out to settle for the drinks and the horrible app we had received and she was most apologetic. She comped the "meal" and never gave a reasonable explanation of why the service was so poor. We were in the building from 6:45 -8:30 and only received the drinks and app in that time. We walked to the HardRock cafe a few blocks away and had a proper meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

It was a busy night due to comic con but ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was a busy night due to comic con but they had run out of large plates and that pretty much put our entire dinner off schedule. Slow to bring drinks. Salad came after food and with no plates. Not enough sauce with spaghetti and meatballs. Bianca pizza was cheesy garlicky and delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Rmusic

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Reservation time spot on. Busy place before awesome Billy Joel concert ;) great food , excellent service, overall best bang & value . Hats off to kitchen staff. Chianti bottle on table ready to cork, nice touch & good quality for self proclaimed Chardonay wine snob.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and what stood out the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was amazing and what stood out the most was pope statue in the center table. It was kinda creepy when. I noticed it was "looking" at me .haha!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Ordered two pasta dishes- both were extr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Ordered two pasta dishes- both were extremely dry with very little sauce and mostly tasteless.

The apps were edible. Would not go back again - very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

It was a Thursday night and they ran out ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

It was a Thursday night and they ran out of dough so no pizza, no bread. Service was very friendly but slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Had a great time celebrating my sons bir ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Had a great time celebrating my sons birthday in the godfather room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We have a great time it was lunch time

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The ambiance was very good the servers are very good helping us to decide and the food was very good

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen table,

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

We had the kitchen table, it was fun and entertaining. Lots of food, ordered way to much. Our waiter was outstanding. Recommend the manaconi and the salad was outstanding . Meatballs just so so

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Not the best

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Got to the restaurant about 20 minutes early. Almost every table was empty but they still had us wait until our reservation time. Food took longer than usual to come out and they only checked on us once. I guess they were extremely short staffed but it was not a good experience at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Ive been to other Buca's and always had a good time, great food, however my last experience left me feeling disappointed. Our app, fried mozzarella, was barely warm, our main dish looked like it had been sitting out, possibly pre made. The waitress was quick to push us to order and then basically disappeared. I do like this restaurant and would go again, and still recommend to others. I would like to think it was just a bad night ...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

Mediocre food...slow service..ciuldnt ho ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Mediocre food...slow service..ciuldnt hold a conversation. Will not be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Disappointing!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

BEWARE this is not a restaurant for couples! It was noisy, and you had to order either small (enough for 2 ) or Large (enough for 4). We had a $20 coupon to use for my birthday, however only if we ordered two entrees, which was too much food and a waste. The Chicken stuffed with proccuitto was three pieces was breaded little stuffing and was dry, the so called sauce was a thick sticky mess. We ordered a side of Fetticini Alfredo, Lots of noodles with sauce poured over- nothing special. The Mussels as an appetizer in a tomato sauce were tasty but served with no bread to sop up the sauce. It took two tries and 15 minutes to track down the waiter for bread, then he tried to SELL us Gaelic bread, another waiter brought us some bread, That dinner with a Bellini and Whiskey Sour was $80 and as it was New Year's Eve we had to pay another $30 for parking.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Huge portion but eat quickly

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

2 adults and 2 young kids...we got a 2 small portion of pasta and they were plenty leftover. My son really enjoy the giant meatballs. However, as quickly as the food comes, the server came back within 30min to ask if we are already to get the food packed to go. She rushed us to finish our meal either to end her shift or get another consumer to her table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

For Dad's Birthday

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

I have always loved Bucca! The food has always been excellent and I love the old school Italian style decor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok. 1 party was served 20+ mins late

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Not impressed with the service. Thanksgiving dinner and one party is served 20 minutes after everyone else. The issue of not communicating how late the dinner would be also frustraited our group as we all waited a period hoping it would arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

skip the thanksgiving feast, very disapp ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

skip the thanksgiving feast, very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Decent food overshadowed by terrible service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

They brought one entree about 10 minutes before the other and forgot to bring us plates so we had to flag down staff to get us plates. They tried to serve us dessert before we were even halfway through the main entrees. They kept messing up on the dessert and that took forever and then they kept rushing us so they could free the table. The food was decent but it was overshadowed by the bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Bucca

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 23, 2015

Ordered manicotti and fetticinni alfredo. Portions were good size.

Leftovers. We went early dinner so was very quiet.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Not like it used to be

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Last few times I have been to Buca di Beppo the service has been lacking and the food is not great and it took a very long time to get our food & drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Expensive bread and pasta, but tastes good

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 26, 2015

We got a large chicken Alfredo ($30) a small gourmet pizza ($18) some garlic cheese bread ( $11) plus the big brownie Sunday and non alcoholic drinks. Bill was over $100!! WAY too expensive for pasta!! Probably won't return. It did taste good, but could have cooked the same meal for under $30!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Service is flat out horrific. Took about ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Service is flat out horrific. Took about 40 min for our drinks. Once we finally got them beer was warm. That's fine they brought us new ones. The server was horrible, brought the bread an hour after we were sitting. No exaggeration. Then when he set it down he just threw it causing one of the drinks to fall (sangria). I asked to napkins and he was so in a hurry he walked away without even noticing it. Got it cleaned up, and never even offered another drink. When the glass was full. Food was great, just needs better service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Italian family style dining

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

We like to come here with a group, great way to try lots of different dishes.

Here are the dishes we had (we had 11 women, and ordered large salads, & a large and a small of both of the main dishes):

Chopped Antipasto Salad-really good

Mixed Green Salad-not much flavor and pretty plain

Chicken Saltimbocca- always a favorite, so good!

Baked Rigatoni-good flavor, a little dry

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Really not impressed

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

There were gnats hovering over our table the entire meal. There was a used paper napkin on the table, which the waiter did notice and picked up eventually. The antipasto salad should also be antimeat salad. There is literally like an ounce of meat. Overall, more hype than the place is worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Food was good and shared by all! Our wai ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 7, 2015

Food was good and shared by all! Our waiter was very helpful and helped make it a pleasant experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely meal and location

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

Had a wonderful meal, great service, will return again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Prices high for quality. We ordered smal ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

Prices high for quality. We ordered small garlic bread and they gave us a large. Extra $14-$16. Lasagna was not very good. Meatballs not so good. I wasn't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Wedding Celebration

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Came to Bucca to celebrate my wedding in a couple of weeks and it was amazing. Everyone loved the food. Service was fast and friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Ruin

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

Terrible experience with server. Didn't recognize my daughter birthday but he willing to sing to others. Disrepected by family by his actions. Grandkids were very upset over the event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

It was an awesome experience and they ha ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

It was an awesome experience and they have some great staff there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was amazing, the device to th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

Everything was amazing, the device to the food, to the environment. However I called 5 minuets before my check in time to tell the host that my party would be a couple of minutes late and the girl who picked up the phone was extremely condescending and kinda made me question if we really wanted to eat there. Also the girl who came around to take pictures was extremely pushy. I understand it's her job to 'sell' those photos however i think she should go through some training because she definitely came off like a pushy Chaldean car sales man. Other than that my night at Bucca was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fantastic Birthday Dinner

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

My family enjoyed celebrating my wife's birthday at Buca di Beppo

The service was great, as a first time visitor - everything was explained clearly.

The decor is nice, service is great and food was fantastic

Portions are generous to say the least.

Good value for the money

I highly recommend it

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing! It was the first time for my bo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Amazing! It was the first time for my boyfriend and as soon as we left he couldn't stop talking about about great the food and wine were! I love Bucca

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Full and Happy

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 2, 2015

Buca is fantastic, old school Italian food that comes in MASSIVE servings. It is the ideal place to take the family or to go with another family or two. Even after you eat as much as you can possibly eat (because it truly is delicious food), you will still have leftovers to take home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Terrible Service!

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

We made a reservation on Open Table for 5, and they didn't seat us until 5:35. We told them that we had a concert at 7pm and really needed to be sat immediately - that didn't matter. Once we were finally seated, we head to track down the manager just to get water. Employees kept telling us that we "weren't in their section" although we were! Barely got food by 6:45, inhalded it and had to run to the concert. I would NEVER go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Won't be back

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2015

We came for a birthday celebration and brought the $20 off for bday promo they sent us. Only after we ordered we were told we couldn't use it because they don't consider pizza to be an entree. Large garlic bread arrived but was dry and did not feed 4. Would have been ok if it was free but it was $10! Then after our meal which was very mediocre and overpriced, the staff came with a candelabra and sang happy birthday but there was no bday dessert, not even a tiny scoop of ice cream. Service was painfully slow all night even though there were hardly any customers. Not worth the hassle parking or the cost. Won't be back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Food & Valet

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Big portions. Don't recommend the Veal Marsala though, way too sweet. Probably goes for the Chicken Marsala as well. Mushrooms in the sauce nice, though.

Great service inside.

Terrible valet service, guy was on his own. Took forever to get our car.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Lots of fun--bring your appetite!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Took four friends to dinner to celebrate a special occasion. This is my second Buca di Beppo experience (the other was in Albany NY), and I was not disappointed! Lots of GREAT food and wonderful service. I will be back--either in San Diego or elsewhere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slow at times

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

Food was good but service was a little slow and, whether it was the server or someone he asked to help him, forgot about our drinks and didn't get to the table until just about the entree was served.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.