About Buca di Beppo - San Diego

705 6th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
G Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 233-7272

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Valet service Friday and Saturday- $20.00 ($15 with validation)

Paid street, metered parking. Street parking is free after 6pm.

Public parking at Horton Plaza: free before 9pm with validation.

Paid public parking (Park It on Market, located on Market & 6th Street)

Public Transit:
San Diego Trolley - Orange Line or Red Line - Gaslamp Quarter stop.

San Diego Metro transit - bus stop at Market & 6th.

Executive Chef:
Domingo Ramos

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.5

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (6)
kid-friendly (4)
special occasion (3)
See All
great for lunch (2)
romantic (2)
neighborhood gem (1)
fit for foodies (1)
Sort By:
Newest
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rmusic

Dined on May 15, 2016

Reservation time spot on. Busy place before awesome Billy Joel concert ;) great food , excellent service, overall best bang & value . Hats off to kitchen staff. Chianti bottle on table ready to cork, nice touch & good quality for self proclaimed Chardonay wine snob.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was amazing and what stood out the ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was amazing and what stood out the most was pope statue in the center table. It was kinda creepy when. I noticed it was "looking" at me .haha!

food1
ambience3
service2

Ordered two pasta dishes- both were extr ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Ordered two pasta dishes- both were extremely dry with very little sauce and mostly tasteless. The apps were edible. Would not go back again - very disappointed.

food2
ambience5
service2

It was a Thursday night and they ran out ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

It was a Thursday night and they ran out of dough so no pizza, no bread. Service was very friendly but slow.

food4
ambience4
service4

Had a great time celebrating my sons bir ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Had a great time celebrating my sons birthday in the godfather room

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have a great time it was lunch time

Dined on February 28, 2016

The ambiance was very good the servers are very good helping us to decide and the food was very good

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Kitchen table,

Dined on February 25, 2016

We had the kitchen table, it was fun and entertaining. Lots of food, ordered way to much. Our waiter was outstanding. Recommend the manaconi and the salad was outstanding . Meatballs just so so

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

Not the best

Dined on February 16, 2016

Got to the restaurant about 20 minutes early. Almost every table was empty but they still had us wait until our reservation time. Food took longer than usual to come out and they only checked on us once. I guess they were extremely short staffed but it was not a good experience at all.

food2
ambience3
service2
value4

Disappointed

Dined on February 15, 2016

Ive been to other Buca's and always had a good time, great food, however my last experience left me feeling disappointed. Our app, fried mozzarella, was barely warm, our main dish looked like it had been sitting out, possibly pre made. The waitress was quick to push us to order and then basically disappeared. I do like this restaurant and would go again, and still recommend to others. I would like to think it was just a bad night ...

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service1

Mediocre food...slow service..ciuldnt ho ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Mediocre food...slow service..ciuldnt hold a conversation. Will not be returning

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Disappointing!

Dined on January 1, 2016

BEWARE this is not a restaurant for couples! It was noisy, and you had to order either small (enough for 2 ) or Large (enough for 4). We had a $20 coupon to use for my birthday, however only if we ordered two entrees, which was too much food and a waste. The Chicken stuffed with proccuitto was three pieces was breaded little stuffing and was dry, the so called sauce was a thick sticky mess. We ordered a side of Fetticini Alfredo, Lots of noodles with sauce poured over- nothing special. The Mussels as an appetizer in a tomato sauce were tasty but served with no bread to sop up the sauce. It took two tries and 15 minutes to track down the waiter for bread, then he tried to SELL us Gaelic bread, another waiter brought us some bread, That dinner with a Bellini and Whiskey Sour was $80 and as it was New Year's Eve we had to pay another $30 for parking.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Huge portion but eat quickly

Dined on December 30, 2015

2 adults and 2 young kids...we got a 2 small portion of pasta and they were plenty leftover. My son really enjoy the giant meatballs. However, as quickly as the food comes, the server came back within 30min to ask if we are already to get the food packed to go. She rushed us to finish our meal either to end her shift or get another consumer to her table.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For Dad's Birthday

Dined on December 24, 2015

I have always loved Bucca! The food has always been excellent and I love the old school Italian style decor.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service1

Food was ok. 1 party was served 20+ mins late

Dined on November 27, 2015

Not impressed with the service. Thanksgiving dinner and one party is served 20 minutes after everyone else. The issue of not communicating how late the dinner would be also frustraited our group as we all waited a period hoping it would arrive.

food1
ambience4
service3

skip the thanksgiving feast, very disapp ...

Dined on November 27, 2015

skip the thanksgiving feast, very disappointing

food4
ambience3
service1

Decent food overshadowed by terrible service

Dined on November 27, 2015

They brought one entree about 10 minutes before the other and forgot to bring us plates so we had to flag down staff to get us plates. They tried to serve us dessert before we were even halfway through the main entrees. They kept messing up on the dessert and that took forever and then they kept rushing us so they could free the table. The food was decent but it was overshadowed by the bad service.

food3
ambience3
service3

Bucca

vip
Dined on November 23, 2015

Ordered manicotti and fetticinni alfredo. Portions were good size. Leftovers. We went early dinner so was very quiet.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2

Not like it used to be

Dined on October 31, 2015

Last few times I have been to Buca di Beppo the service has been lacking and the food is not great and it took a very long time to get our food & drinks.

food3
ambience3
service3

Expensive bread and pasta, but tastes good

Dined on October 26, 2015

We got a large chicken Alfredo ($30) a small gourmet pizza ($18) some garlic cheese bread ( $11) plus the big brownie Sunday and non alcoholic drinks. Bill was over $100!! WAY too expensive for pasta!! Probably won't return. It did taste good, but could have cooked the same meal for under $30!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service1

Service is flat out horrific. Took about ...

Dined on October 11, 2015

Service is flat out horrific. Took about 40 min for our drinks. Once we finally got them beer was warm. That's fine they brought us new ones. The server was horrible, brought the bread an hour after we were sitting. No exaggeration. Then when he set it down he just threw it causing one of the drinks to fall (sangria). I asked to napkins and he was so in a hurry he walked away without even noticing it. Got it cleaned up, and never even offered another drink. When the glass was full. Food was great, just needs better service .

food4
ambience3
service4

Italian family style dining

Dined on October 11, 2015

We like to come here with a group, great way to try lots of different dishes. Here are the dishes we had (we had 11 women, and ordered large salads, & a large and a small of both of the main dishes): Chopped Antipasto Salad-really good Mixed Green Salad-not much flavor and pretty plain Chicken Saltimbocca- always a favorite, so good! Baked Rigatoni-good flavor, a little dry

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service3

Really not impressed

Dined on October 11, 2015

There were gnats hovering over our table the entire meal. There was a used paper napkin on the table, which the waiter did notice and picked up eventually. The antipasto salad should also be antimeat salad. There is literally like an ounce of meat. Overall, more hype than the place is worth.

food4
ambience4
service4

Food was good and shared by all! Our wai ...

Dined on October 7, 2015

Food was good and shared by all! Our waiter was very helpful and helped make it a pleasant experience

food5
ambience4
service4

Lovely meal and location

Dined on October 4, 2015

Had a wonderful meal, great service, will return again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3

Prices high for quality. We ordered smal ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

Prices high for quality. We ordered small garlic bread and they gave us a large. Extra $14-$16. Lasagna was not very good. Meatballs not so good. I wasn't impressed.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wedding Celebration

Dined on September 27, 2015

Came to Bucca to celebrate my wedding in a couple of weeks and it was amazing. Everyone loved the food. Service was fast and friendly.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience1
service1

Birthday Ruin

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

Terrible experience with server. Didn't recognize my daughter birthday but he willing to sing to others. Disrepected by family by his actions. Grandkids were very upset over the event.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was an awesome experience and they ha ...

Dined on September 9, 2015

It was an awesome experience and they have some great staff there.

food5
ambience5
service4

Everything was amazing, the device to th ...

Dined on September 7, 2015

Everything was amazing, the device to the food, to the environment. However I called 5 minuets before my check in time to tell the host that my party would be a couple of minutes late and the girl who picked up the phone was extremely condescending and kinda made me question if we really wanted to eat there. Also the girl who came around to take pictures was extremely pushy. I understand it's her job to 'sell' those photos however i think she should go through some training because she definitely came off like a pushy Chaldean car sales man. Other than that my night at Bucca was great!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic Birthday Dinner

Dined on September 6, 2015

My family enjoyed celebrating my wife's birthday at Buca di Beppo The service was great, as a first time visitor - everything was explained clearly. The decor is nice, service is great and food was fantastic Portions are generous to say the least. Good value for the money I highly recommend it

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! It was the first time for my bo ...

Dined on September 5, 2015

Amazing! It was the first time for my boyfriend and as soon as we left he couldn't stop talking about about great the food and wine were! I love Bucca

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Full and Happy

vip
Dined on September 2, 2015

Buca is fantastic, old school Italian food that comes in MASSIVE servings. It is the ideal place to take the family or to go with another family or two. Even after you eat as much as you can possibly eat (because it truly is delicious food), you will still have leftovers to take home.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience2
service1

Terrible Service!

vip
Dined on August 30, 2015

We made a reservation on Open Table for 5, and they didn't seat us until 5:35. We told them that we had a concert at 7pm and really needed to be sat immediately - that didn't matter. Once we were finally seated, we head to track down the manager just to get water. Employees kept telling us that we "weren't in their section" although we were! Barely got food by 6:45, inhalded it and had to run to the concert. I would NEVER go back again!

food2
ambience3
service2

Won't be back

Dined on August 27, 2015

We came for a birthday celebration and brought the $20 off for bday promo they sent us. Only after we ordered we were told we couldn't use it because they don't consider pizza to be an entree. Large garlic bread arrived but was dry and did not feed 4. Would have been ok if it was free but it was $10! Then after our meal which was very mediocre and overpriced, the staff came with a candelabra and sang happy birthday but there was no bday dessert, not even a tiny scoop of ice cream. Service was painfully slow all night even though there were hardly any customers. Not worth the hassle parking or the cost. Won't be back.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service5

Food & Valet

Dined on August 23, 2015

Big portions. Don't recommend the Veal Marsala though, way too sweet. Probably goes for the Chicken Marsala as well. Mushrooms in the sauce nice, though. Great service inside. Terrible valet service, guy was on his own. Took forever to get our car.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Lots of fun--bring your appetite!

vip
Dined on August 23, 2015

Took four friends to dinner to celebrate a special occasion. This is my second Buca di Beppo experience (the other was in Albany NY), and I was not disappointed! Lots of GREAT food and wonderful service. I will be back--either in San Diego or elsewhere!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

Slow at times

Dined on August 22, 2015

Food was good but service was a little slow and, whether it was the server or someone he asked to help him, forgot about our drinks and didn't get to the table until just about the entree was served.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service5

Cold Food

Dined on August 8, 2015

It was my first time Buca di Beppo San Diego but my sister went to one in New York. We order a small meat lasagna and glaric mozzarella cheese bread. We should have sent the food back because it was cold and the bread was hard. But we was starving I didn't ear breakfast. I would give it another try one day. I herd how good the food was so I wanted it give it a try. I like Lucidas up north and Filippis personal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service!

Dined on August 8, 2015

I've been to multiple Buca locations and this is by far the best! The service was outstanding. Even walking through the restaurant to be seated everyone from wait staff to kitchen staff greeted you with a smile and friendly hello. The food here was delicious! We had a party of 9 and ordered 5 dishes which was way too much food but we loved every dish. We ordered a bottle of wine, which was not bad and a decent price. Our server made the overall experience ever better. Fast and friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great enternainig restaurant

Dined on August 5, 2015

This is a great restaurant for entertaining. The food is delicious and ample! The atmosphere is delightful and quite relaxed. The restaurant is very kid friendly and accommodating. The service was wonderful, our server was very attentive. I highly recommend Bucca di Beppo

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.