About Buca di Beppo - Salt Lake City

202 West 300 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of 200 West and 300 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 575-6262

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $4/day.

Public Transit:
Trax train system stop at 300 South and Main Street.

UTA bus stop at 400 South and 2nd West.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Jensen

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.5

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (6)
kid-friendly (5)
special occasion (4)
See All
notable wine list (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for brunch (1)
romantic (1)
great for lunch (1)
fit for foodies (1)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service1

The manager told us he didn't ha e the s ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The manager told us he didn't ha e the staff to accommodate our party at our reservation time. He went on to tell us he couldn't stand the web app reservations. He then asked us why we chose this restaurant when there other gourmet restaurants in the area. The soup came out ice cold and the wait staff told us there was no time to heat it as the timing of the rest of the meal round be off!! We never got bread either.

food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Too much too much!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Too much food. Too much decor. Too much of everything. Yuck!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Good for groups

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good for large groups, had a party of 16. Food was good but somewhat pricy because it comes in family size servings - so had to have friends pair up to split meals which can make the bill tricky. Service was a bit slow but we had one waitress for the whole party and it was a Saturday night. Food was good and filling.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, especially with a lar ...

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

Excellent service, especially with a large party.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Slow service, but great food & employees.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food is always great at Buca. We booked two large tables several weeks in advance. It was a holiday. Was very slow service due to being understaffed. 30 minutes just for water. Employees were very nice and tried very hard to service us. I would recommend this location because overall its about the food and great employees. I believe in this instance, it was poor planning by management for large parties and it being a holiday.

food3
ambience3
service5

Service was awesome! Busy Saturday night ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Service was awesome! Busy Saturday night, and we were seated immediately, drinks ordered and food came before we thought it would, which was great because we had a play to catch.

food3
ambience4
service1

Great server but he was covering too man ...

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

Great server but he was covering too many tables. We felt bad for him. Didn't see the manager once. You would think the manager would have helped out.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Happy and Clean Servers

Dined on December 26, 2015

Grossed out by aprons that weep mustard and ketchup? Looking to be served food by happy servers and not up to stranded spiders on chandeliers? Crispy, fresh vegetables instead of pumpkin puree? Then the SLC Buca di Beppo is for you.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2

Slow

Dined on December 15, 2015

Very slow that evening for some reason. Food was good.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3

best seafood linguine

vip
Dined on December 2, 2015

Favorite dish on the entire menu is the seafood linguine. I don't usually order the same thing over and over again at a restaurant but I do at Buca di Beppo. The chef was generous this time because we got more shrimp than usual. The only uncertain part of this meal is that I never know how the chef is going to spice it. Sometimes it arrives at the table and has a lovely hot spice flavor. This time there was no spice at all. Thankfully we can ask for hot pepper flakes to perk up the dish. No matter how mild or hot the flavor of the dish is, I will continue to order this entrée because it is so tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Thanksgiving 2015

Dined on November 26, 2015

We were looking for a place to join friends for Thanksgiving. Since Buca was serving a traditional turkey dinner plus all of their regular options we close to go there. Our server was very pleasant. The only takeaway for the meal was that the restaurant was out of the warm chocolate cake, kind of like a lava cake not the layered one. That was at 3:30 in the afternoon so they probably disappointed more than me.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service5

Bonnie

Dined on November 22, 2015

Our server Bonnie did an amazing job. We were a group of 14, seated in the Pope room. She handled us by herself and all of our dinner selections came out on time, with just the right of time in between courses. She discreetly checked on us periodically to make sure that everyone had what they needed and wanted.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service2

Amazing food but not impressed with service

Dined on October 31, 2015

This was our first time eating at Buca di Beppo. We loved the food! We thought it was amazing! The service wasn't as great. Our server rarely came to refill our drinks. We spent more time with empty glasses than with anything in them. It took at least half an hour or more after we ordered for our entree to come. If it was busy I might have understood, but it was practically empty. We will probably return because we liked the food and just hope we get a better waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Great. Thank you

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

Great. Thank you

food3
ambience4
service2

Good food slow service

Dined on October 8, 2015

Food was good. They were understaffed and service was slow. It took us more than 2 hours to get through lunch.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!

Dined on September 12, 2015

Has an awesome waiter. He was really funny and very attentive. Food was amazing. Overall, we will be back!

food5
ambience4
service3

Food good, staff overwhelmed

Dined on July 25, 2015

We had a reservation for a group of 10 for 6 pm, we arrived at 5:55 to find ourselves as well as at least 15 others waiting to be acknowledged by someone from the restaurant. Although the restaurant appeared only 40% occupied, we had very long waits for our appetizers, and even longer waits for the entrees. Our waiter did apologize twice for the delays, but even when the appetizers came out, we had to sort them out as to who got what, as they were just plunked on the table. Soda refills had to be asked for, when you could flag the waiter .down. Food was very good and portions were historically ample!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant. Five stars every time!

Dined on July 19, 2015

Every time I come to Salt Lake, I make it a point to eat here. They have some of the best Italian food Ive had. The homemade taste of the sauce and pastas is unmistakable. Their crew, including valet, hostess and wait staff deliver the best experience with true detail and concern. They have a excellent wine and alcohol list. I recently had a party with seven people and the experience was just as amazing. I highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing food; huge portions

Dined on July 11, 2015

We had 7 people, and the large dishes were plenty! We ordered the Apple Gorgonzola salad which was as delicious and gigantic. Same with the Linguine Frutti di Mare which was a little spicy and the baked ziti (so good). The veal saltimbocca was delicious as well. For dessert, we got the tiramisu which was pretty thick & sweet, but it was really delicious too (huge bowl).

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3

massive dessert

vip
Dined on June 30, 2015

Love the seafood fetticini. This is the best pasta dish on the menu. Decided to finish with the brownie sundae dessert. Wow! What a presentation. It comes in a large dish and unless you are a very big eater, there is no way one person could eat this alone. This is large enough for a family of 4 to share but in my case it was just my husband and I. Lets just say that we walked out of there very full.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service1

Food is great, Waiter not so much

Dined on June 6, 2015

I felt out waiter forgot about us a lot. We waited for awhile before we even got water even though he looked at us more than once. We had to raise our hands and call out excuse me several times to get refills and even then sometimes he did not hear us and walked away. On a good note the food was delicious and was just enough for all of us and the chicken carbonara was amazing!! I will come back and invite people for the fun atmosphere and food and hopefully a different waiter!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Greta!

Dined on May 25, 2015

This place was really good. I was very impressed. The waiters, the host was food! everything was great

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1

Great food, forgetful service.

Dined on May 8, 2015

I've been here many times and genuinely pretty pleased with my overall experience here. We were there for a birthday dinner with a group of about 8. We were placed in the Cardinal room, which was beautiful besides all the photos of the temple ha. We seemed to have a new waitress who seemed very understaffed. There were 4 to 5 big tables and from what I saw she was doing most of them. We kept having issues on refills of drinks or bread, and things we would request would either never come or have to be mentioned more then once. She seemed very nice, until later on when I think she realized how unhappy a few of us were and she seemed to have given up completely and just wanted to be rid of us. The food was amazing as usual, and I will definitely be back but being asked to review at that specific visit wasn't the best I've had there before and have come to expect from Buca. Keep up the good work, and maybe throw some extra hours to get people more accustomed.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

great fresh pasta

vip
Dined on May 7, 2015

Always try to visit Buca in the early evening before the restaurant gets busy. The restaurant is much quieter and makes for a much nicer dining experience at that time. Enjoy the fresh pasta on any trip to Buca. Always get the Seafood pasta - my favorite item on the menu. Tried the clam fetticini this time and was rather dissappointed. There were lots of clams but the sauce was rather blah. I won't be getting that again.

food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful evening and delicious food. J ...

Dined on May 3, 2015

Wonderful evening and delicious food. Just wish there were more parking spots.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4

unsatisfied

Dined on April 18, 2015

We went on a Friday evening. The service was great and the time to get our order was also resonance for the amount of customers in the restaurant. The only complaint was the lasagna sauce was under spiced and the noodles were overcooked. For the price I would expect better. In past visits we were very pleased, maybe it was just an off night.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

very impressed

Dined on March 21, 2015

iʻve been to buccas three times and each time was better than the last! the food is always lip smackin, the cream sodas are verrrrrrryyyy good! :) i always try and imitate the drink bt its never a comparison. lOl the waiters are nice and friendly, never seem annoyed or rude. even though the noise was loud, i didnt mind. i love the atmosphere at buccas and i always reccomend it to my out of town folk. :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2

A really poor experience

Dined on March 12, 2015

They were not busy when we arrived at 5:45pm but it took over10 minutes to be seated. Then the temperature was so cold we needed to move to another table, where it was still cold (much warmer outside). We are skiers but you should not need ski clothes for dinner. The waiter was friendly but obviously not trained. He did not know what a Manhattan was and he was not attentive even though we were his only guests for a while. We ordered stuffed mushrooms and shrimp linguine. The mushrooms were good but the shrimp linguine was awful. No taste at all and so wet it was almost soup. The waiter brought second drinks but never took the first empty glasses away. The last time I ate at a Bucca was in Philadelphia in the 1990's. The next time will be never!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food

Dined on February 21, 2015

This is the second time that I have eaten here and both times the food has been excellent. We arrived about 5:10, so the restaurant was quiet and service was quick.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience3
service1

A Traditional Restaurant for the ages

Dined on February 15, 2015

Definitely something people should experience at least once. I had no idea the extent to which the restaurant takes on its traditionalism. We went on Valentines Day, I don't know if they were just too busy, but the customer service could use some improvement. Overall, I would give them a second chance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

Decent Italian food

Dined on February 15, 2015

This restaurant has a nice ambiance and friendly staff, however the prices are quite high and the food not worth the cost.

food4
ambience4
service5

In love with the service!

Dined on February 15, 2015

The food was delicious, especially the stuffed mushrooms. The servers were not annoyingly nice but they were very friendly, attentive (not only to their assigned areas, but to everyone) and knowledgeable. I had a reservation and they honored the time; no long waiting. It was a really good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2015

This was our first visit to Bucca and we absolutely loved it!! From the Attentive door greeter to the hostess and our wonderful server, every one was wonderful. The food was delicious and the portions are large! Will definitely be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Foooood

Dined on February 14, 2015

I love the family style dining! The staff is always extremely friendly and the food is amazing! The huge portions typically yield leftovers which re-heat nicely. All in all one of my favorite places to eat with the family, friends or on date night!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4

Good food, eclectic ambiance

Dined on February 14, 2015

This appears to be a chain restaurant that is targeting has a well thought through decor selection and ambiance. My impression of the target: lots of ecclectic framed pictures some of which are a bit edgy. Including a fair amount of really fat ladies, some other well endowed ladies all showing too much skin. Lots of primary color tones used; white green and red for italy, but others too including old fake flower arrangements perhaps to give an old Italian feeling. It came across a bit gaudy for a +$50 date night dinner place.

food3
ambience1
service3

This was my first and last experiance here.

Dined on February 7, 2015

First the atmoshphere was loud, it was hot like a sauna hot all 3 of the tables in the corner complained to the waitress she explained that she is aware but owners wont do anything about iT. Second it was so long for the food to come out my husband and i waited for an 1 and a half for food and theN we had them packed to go i cant believe i waited at a restaurant that long for food.

food4
ambience4
service5

Fabulous night for long time friends

Dined on February 1, 2015

My husband were fortunate enough to get together with old friends this past weekend to chat and visit and basically get caught up and reminisce about old times. Bucca De Beppo was the perfect place to do it. When I made the reservation on line, I mentioned that we were having a small reunion with friends that we had seen in over 18 years and that it would be great if they could put us somewhere that was not high in traffic and that we could sit and visit. They did just that. We all had such a good time and the food was amazing and we were all impressed as well that the waiter gave us recommendations to fit our needs and was on top of drinks and whatever else we needed. On top of that, we ALL walked away very full! Good food, fun atmosphere, comfortable seating, it all contributed to a fabulous night with old friends! A big thank you to the people at Bucca who took care of us and making our evening a good time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Place!

Dined on January 24, 2015

This restaurant is fantastic. The service was great and friendly. The food was made to order so you can change it if needed.... we added instead of taking away from the already great flavor. The servings are for groups so one small plate fills you up very fast! The place looks great! Overall fantastic place and would recommend for everyone!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

short staffed, great food

Dined on January 22, 2015

Only one bartender, waited 45 minutes for drinks. We were seated promptly according to reservation I made online. Took the server about 15 mins to greet us at the table, but food came out quickly and it was amazing! Overall good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Good Find, but Service Fell Short

Dined on January 22, 2015

Restaurant is large and has lots of seating. Kind of a maze, so make sure you pay attention when seated or else you'll never find your way out. Nice for large groups, as it seems there are a lot of large table areas. However, we had a reservation for 9, and we got seated at a table for 22. Seems the reservations were mixed up and no one seemed to know what to do. Our waiter found another table for us and we had to carry our drinks through the maze to another seating area. Our new table was good, out of the way, we didn't feel bombarded by the other large group there from a city expo. Service was fairly quick. One member of our party asked for a small salad with no dressing (dry) and they brought two huge bowls of the salad. I don't feel they listened well to the request or else they would understand it was just for one person. That person ate one dish full and the rest of the dry salad went to waste. The food overall was tasty, not over-the-top good, but decent. The alcoholic drinks were over-priced for what you got. And it took a long time to get them. Two members of our party didn't get their mixed drinks until partway through the meal - and they weren't complicated. One type of alcohol, orange juice and sprite. Shouldn't have taken so long to make. Another member of our party ordered a second bottle of beer that never came. We ended up cancelling that order. Overall the meal was okay, not great. And I'm not super impressed with the experience. Nothing in particular went WRONG, but there were many opportunities for things to go much much better - but the service fell short. They seemed very understaffed for the amount of reservations they had - possibly could have staffed accordingly. As a side note - décor was interesting and even humorous in a way. However, I don't feel I'd ever bring my kids. If something isn't inappropriate for them (which many decor items are), then most likely they'll be scared by it and freaked out the whole time we're there.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.