About Buca di Beppo - Sacramento

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

1249 Howe Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hurley Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 922-6673

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Free on-site self parking.

Public Transit:
Regional Bus Transit - Howe Avenue Stop

Executive Chef:
Jeff Mitchell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chicken Carbonara - Buca di Beppo - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA
Chicken Parmigiana - Buca di Beppo - Sacramento, Sacramento, CA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Bring your sweetie to Buca di Beppo for Valentine’s Day. If you haven’t made your reservation yet, make it today!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (9)
Family Style (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
See All
Casual (4)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Spicy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Romantic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
604 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food wasn't as good as usual. The meat s ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food wasn't as good as usual. The meat sauce pasta had no flavor, the garlic bread was uneatable ( they didn't charge us for it) and the chicken lemone was dry. Service was great (or server was the best we ever had (Monika I think) and made up for the not so tasty food. We had fun.

I wonder if they have a new team in the kitchen??? Been there a few times and the food was great before so will be going again. You should give it a try.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

The server Amber went out of her way to ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The server Amber went out of her way to make our experience very memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Upon arriving in was told it would.be mo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Upon arriving in was told it would.be moment to get table together for our 11 person party, even though I had reservation. We then waited approximately 20+/- minutes with a reservation & mind you I did ask what took so long since restaurant was not full many open tables and got the we will seat you in a moment sir. And there is no room for anybody to really wait one small bench and we had our entire party there since that was required when.placing the reservation.

So now that we have been seated in a makeshift room with limited heat on a cold night in a room full of exterior windows so it stayed cool in the room throughout our dining and we had to split tables with our party which was not asked just assumed.by restaurant to be good. Our food was okay plenty of it too just not a lot great flavors pretty bland overall, we had Veal Saltimbocca which was prepared different than I've ever had and all who were in our party. Spaghetti and ravioli were just okay nothing that great, now the baked spicy rigatoni was a good meal and my favorite of them all but it was just ok to others in our party so this being our first experience with this restaurant it likely was our last. Our server was really good and attentive to our group but ultimately the food must shine at some point and it just never did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Somewhat disappointed that we booked in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Somewhat disappointed that we booked in advance with Open Table, only to find our party of 4 waiting for a table with the rest of the crowd long after our reservation. We have two young toddlers and arrived 10-15 minutes prior to our reservation (we also were in the empty parking lot for 30 minutes prior waiting for our toddlers to wake up from a nap); to our disappointment, we waited over 25 minutes for a table. The hostess was disorganized and kept customers waiting at the door despite several open tables in addition to the entire 2nd floor being completely empty! It seems as though they had reserved one too many spots and did not know how to handle the situation. The restaurant operations were disorganized. While the food and service was par, I don't think we would return due to the experience in waiting for our table - with a reservation!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The settings was very Italian, very warm ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The settings was very Italian, very warm. The veal was absolutely delicious. The chocolate cake to die for.

The server attentive. Overall, I love the food and atmosphere. I could go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait was long even with a reservatio ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The wait was long even with a reservation but it was Christmas and they brought out free cheese pizza for those of us waiting in the lobby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Christmas Day dinner with my kids. Great ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas Day dinner with my kids. Great service, good food but quite noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent service, everyone was friendly ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent service, everyone was friendly and helpful even though they had to work on

Christmas. Our server was especially accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here on Christmas Eve despite th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went here on Christmas Eve despite the multiple negative reviews. I've been to other locations though that were always really fun and so thought it might be a fun place to be on Christmas Eve. The hostess staff was nice enough but as we waited for our table, we went to the bar to get a drink. The bartender could barely muster up the energy to get our drinks- despite the fact there was one other person at the bar (they seemed to have a rapport and so he just had no desire to interact with us). Then our waiter... I mean he was way over it. I get it. It was Christmas Eve. There were tons of people there. But much like the bartender, he could not pretend he wanted to be there or wanted any part of serving us. And then the food. We ordered the chicken saltimbocca which basically was very beige, definitely reheated, chicken breasts with sad slices of proscuitto on top. Meatball side was dry. And spaghetti with sauce was basically red water. And our price for all of this plus glass of wine- $89. It was such a disappointment. I would say you dont go to Buca di Beppo's necessarily for the food. If the food is good, its a bonus. You go there for the fun lively atmosphere. This night was anything but fun and sadly I think this will be the last time I go here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Eight of us came here for Christmas Eve ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Eight of us came here for Christmas Eve & were seated promptly at a perfect table by the window. We ordered the Antipasto chopped salad which is amazing, the chicken Marsala, tasty but a bit too sweet for our tastes, baked ziti, fettucine Alfredo, Childs portion of spaghetti with meatballs which was more like an adult portion, and cannoli for dessert. The food and service was first rate, our server was efficient & very friendly and we had a very favorable experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great family style restaurant, generous ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great family style restaurant, generous portion and very helpful and cheery staff.

So glad that they offer OpenTable booking system, so much easier, so handy and much more convenient for group gathering within a scheduled range of time, big help, tks.

Tags: Comfort Food,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food!

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

This isn't the place for alfredo.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This isn't the place for alfredo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Everything was good, but they don't real ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Everything was good, but they don't really have a meal for two. We got a small, which feeds three. The leftovers were good, though.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Thanksgiving menu was very limited, ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The Thanksgiving menu was very limited, almost take it or leave it. We were able to add an antipasto salad from usual menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Resterant sells good food . a little hig ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Resterant sells good food . a little highly priced. The noise level is low because of all the walls.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was poor and there was arguing ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was poor and there was arguing among the kitchen help, which we could hear. I have been going to this restaurant for years. You didn't get your value for a Thanksgiving dinner special. The regular Italian food we ordered was fair. Not enough help for a holiday. We made reservation a week in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

over booked. over priced. 120 dollars ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

over booked. over priced. 120 dollars for that? and a wait. at least the food was good. you have my money and tip but we wont be back unless I hear from you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

The garlic bread, chicken saltimbocca an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The garlic bread, chicken saltimbocca and shrimp pasta were absolutely delicious. We also had the spaghetti and meatballs that wasn't that great. The meatballs were dry and there wasn't enough marinara sauce so the pasta was dry as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had great service from Roberto. We we ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We had great service from Roberto.

We were there for my Birthday on 11/07/2016. The room we sat in was quiet with only a few other tables/booths being used. Food was excellent!

We had the stuffed Prosciutto Chicken, Fettuccine Alfredo, and the Baked Rigatoni with Spicy Italian Sausage and ricotta. For dessert, a moist chocolate cake and my mother-in-law had Tiramisu. Both servings were enormous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Much much too noisy. Noise level "energe ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Much much too noisy. Noise level "energetic." Could not talk to each other over the table without yelling. Ended up asking to be seated in bar area. Too many unruly and loud children. Food served warm not hot. It will be long time before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Service and food was amazing!!! Our serv ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Service and food was amazing!!! Our server was great at recommending appropriate serving sizes for the size of our party.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service as always. Fun t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great food and service as always. Fun to share family style and sample different things

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and drinks were extremely expensive ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food and drinks were extremely expensive. Service was not very good, seemed a little incompetent to me. Shared a couple family-style pasta dishes, very low quality. The pasta was cooked improperly, and the sauce was very poor quality. The wine we ordered by the glass had been sitting out too long, was at the wrong temperature, and had off-flavors. Very disappointed, Buca used to be a Sacramento attraction.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We were a group of 22 and the staff was ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were a group of 22 and the staff was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made our reservation through Open Tab ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We made our reservation through Open Table early in the day. However, we were not seated till 25 minutes after our reserved time. This restaurant is great for families or large groups because the food is served family style, the noise level is loud and the decor keeps little kids entertained. The food is pretty good and arrives quickly, which is a plus if you are dining with children.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Service was good. App was so so, entree ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was good. App was so so, entree was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I always get the spaghetti with meat sau ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2016

I always get the spaghetti with meat sauce, its my absolute favorite, so I was disappointed that it was hardly sauce-y, and the spaghetti tasted water logged. Ended up taking it to my friends place of business because her boss called into a meeting so she couldn't meet me at the restaurant, she felt the same way about the spaghetti. I guess it was just an off day ??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and service ... Was able to g ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and service ... Was able to get a table right away via opentable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Italian Restaurant

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellente as always; we went for Mother's Day and had to wait a table for about 10 minutes even though we made reservations, and our waitress was very sweet but kept forgetting to bring things to the table-- you could tell she was nearly overwhelmed because of how busy it was. Otherwise, it was a great evening .

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Way too much food as usual

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Since all dishes are shared we, as usual, ended up with way too much food. But it makes great leftovers. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food is always great. We ask for the ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food is always great. We ask for the kitchen table and like to watch all the staff in action. It's so much fun- they really have a good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Italian delight

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 11, 2016

We went to celebrate our sons birthday. We had a wonderful time. The food was really nice. The service was spectacular. Our server J.J. Was a delight. The food was delicious, but there was just too much. We had it as left overs for 2 days. All together a fun experience and we would go back, but not unless we have a party of 6 or more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

The service (by JJ) was excellent.. The ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 28, 2016

The service (by JJ) was excellent.. The food was perfect! The servings are quite large....we had enough for lunch the next day! The restaurant was quiet until a large group was seated next to us...then it got quite noisy. Definitely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was terrible

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food. Nothing we ordered was flavorful. My husband doused his food with tons of salt. The tiramisu, which is supposed to be a favorite was terrible. I'm not a huge fan of Italian food, but it is one of my husbands favorite and he was very disappointed, especially after spending over $120 on a starter, salad, bread, main course and dessert for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Eaten here before, I like it and I'll come back.

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 31, 2015

I have eaten here several times and food choices are good and diverse. Because of the family environment, I brought family here to enjoy some quite time with them. I like it here because there are lots of family pictures and famous pictures. Particularly Gina most of all as the personification of being Italian. That being said, I'll be back to see Gina with my family and enjoy this time with Marsala, I mean Chicken Marsala.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Christmas dinner. First time broug ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Great Christmas dinner. First time brought my brother and his wife here. They were shocked at the size of the portions. Food was delicious as usual. Will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Large group - perfecto!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2015

We had a large group for a birthday party and it was nice to be setup in our own room back behind the kitchen. The food and service were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tradition

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 29, 2015

We eat here when we want to celebrate as a group. Everyone has a great time. The food never fails to impress along with great service. Everyone in the family looks forward to coming here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Pleasent Thank You Liza

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 27, 2015

W dined here on Thanksgiving as we didn't have other plans, or the means to cook a big Thanksgiving dinner, especially just for two. While it was a bit noisy, overall the experience for my husband and I was great. Food was fantastic, large portions, plenty to bring home, and that was only their Thanksgiving special. I can't imagine how their regular food is, but I definitely will be back to try it. Liza, our server, was fantastic. Very attentive, very sincere. I'm a server myself, so I know what it's like to be in a busy restaurant, especially on a holiday. Hopefully the $20 tip I left helped make her Thanksgiving nice. :) we will be returning. Only negative thing I can say is that we were near children who were loud, but what can you do? Haha.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.