About Buca di Beppo - Sacramento

1249 Howe Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hurley Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 922-6673

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Free on-site self parking.

Public Transit:
Regional Bus Transit - Howe Avenue Stop

Executive Chef:
Jeff Mitchell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Buca di Beppo - Sacramento
Chicken Carbonara
Chicken Parmigiana

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Sacramento Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Special Occasion (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
See All
Great for Lunch (4)
Romantic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Spicy (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were a group of 22 and the staff was ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were a group of 22 and the staff was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made our reservation through Open Tab ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We made our reservation through Open Table early in the day. However, we were not seated till 25 minutes after our reserved time. This restaurant is great for families or large groups because the food is served family style, the noise level is loud and the decor keeps little kids entertained. The food is pretty good and arrives quickly, which is a plus if you are dining with children.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Service was good. App was so so, entree ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was good. App was so so, entree was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I always get the spaghetti with meat sau ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I always get the spaghetti with meat sauce, its my absolute favorite, so I was disappointed that it was hardly sauce-y, and the spaghetti tasted water logged. Ended up taking it to my friends place of business because her boss called into a meeting so she couldn't meet me at the restaurant, she felt the same way about the spaghetti. I guess it was just an off day ??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and service ... Was able to g ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and service ... Was able to get a table right away via opentable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Italian Restaurant

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellente as always; we went for Mother's Day and had to wait a table for about 10 minutes even though we made reservations, and our waitress was very sweet but kept forgetting to bring things to the table-- you could tell she was nearly overwhelmed because of how busy it was. Otherwise, it was a great evening .

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Way too much food as usual

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Since all dishes are shared we, as usual, ended up with way too much food. But it makes great leftovers. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food is always great. We ask for the ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food is always great. We ask for the kitchen table and like to watch all the staff in action. It's so much fun- they really have a good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Italian delight

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

We went to celebrate our sons birthday. We had a wonderful time. The food was really nice. The service was spectacular. Our server J.J. Was a delight. The food was delicious, but there was just too much. We had it as left overs for 2 days. All together a fun experience and we would go back, but not unless we have a party of 6 or more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

The service (by JJ) was excellent.. The ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

The service (by JJ) was excellent.. The food was perfect! The servings are quite large....we had enough for lunch the next day! The restaurant was quiet until a large group was seated next to us...then it got quite noisy. Definitely will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was terrible

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food. Nothing we ordered was flavorful. My husband doused his food with tons of salt. The tiramisu, which is supposed to be a favorite was terrible. I'm not a huge fan of Italian food, but it is one of my husbands favorite and he was very disappointed, especially after spending over $120 on a starter, salad, bread, main course and dessert for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Eaten here before, I like it and I'll come back.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

I have eaten here several times and food choices are good and diverse. Because of the family environment, I brought family here to enjoy some quite time with them. I like it here because there are lots of family pictures and famous pictures. Particularly Gina most of all as the personification of being Italian. That being said, I'll be back to see Gina with my family and enjoy this time with Marsala, I mean Chicken Marsala.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Christmas dinner. First time broug ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Great Christmas dinner. First time brought my brother and his wife here. They were shocked at the size of the portions. Food was delicious as usual. Will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Large group - perfecto!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

We had a large group for a birthday party and it was nice to be setup in our own room back behind the kitchen. The food and service were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tradition

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

We eat here when we want to celebrate as a group. Everyone has a great time. The food never fails to impress along with great service. Everyone in the family looks forward to coming here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Pleasent Thank You Liza

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

W dined here on Thanksgiving as we didn't have other plans, or the means to cook a big Thanksgiving dinner, especially just for two. While it was a bit noisy, overall the experience for my husband and I was great. Food was fantastic, large portions, plenty to bring home, and that was only their Thanksgiving special. I can't imagine how their regular food is, but I definitely will be back to try it. Liza, our server, was fantastic. Very attentive, very sincere. I'm a server myself, so I know what it's like to be in a busy restaurant, especially on a holiday. Hopefully the $20 tip I left helped make her Thanksgiving nice. :) we will be returning. Only negative thing I can say is that we were near children who were loud, but what can you do? Haha.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great for group

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

I spent my birthday here with my friends. Great food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will be back

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

It was our first time at this restaurant. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great night

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

This was my daughters birthday and the second birthday we celebrated at buca in the last couple of months. The waiter Forrest was awesome food was outstanding. We are a very family oriented little clan and the Italian style family ambiance really fits our way of life. It traditional Italian lots of family around eating good food and having good conversation and laughs. Buca is the place. A guy came out and sang the birthday song in Italian for my special needs daughter. It really made the evening. Please don't change this place their are way to few real Italian restaurants around and we really like buca.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable - a new favorite - could be fabulous!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

We have had take-out from Buca di Beppo several times in the last couple of months, but this was our first meal eaten in. We ordered the make-your-own-pasta, with cavitappi pasta, meat sauce, mild Italian sausage, artichokes, and poached garlic. It was delicious, even though - as we have discovered with our past orders - there wasn't enough sauce. The house bread was cool, not even room temperature, which was a surprise, but it tasted good, and we enjoyed the olive oil and balsamic vinegar. We ordered the large pasta and there was plenty to take home for 2 or 3 more meals for the two of us. Service was excellent - checking back to see if we had everyting, refilling our water glasses, bringing extra bread to take home for our leftovers, and boxing up the leftovers for us. Next time, we will ask for extra sauce and if the bread can be warmed up!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We love the bartender!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

He's also an awesome waiter/server. He danced for us (per our request) and makes awesome drinks. The other young gentelman that helped him was also great and danced for us as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beyond amazaziiiing

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Bucca in sacramento is just all that and more! I love it and brag about bucca to almost everyone !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was good

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

I have only eating here Three times; once for a romantic valentines' day dinner, it was nice but was rushed do to the place being packed and it being a holiday. The second was for a lunch date for my birthday; had great food drinks and awesome service. The Third was this last visit to celebrate my daughter and her best friends birthday ( my daughter loves Italian food and I wanted her to tastes something other then Olive Garden) I was hoping to have the tour of the place with some history; like my earlier visits. But this time It was straight to the table as if they were over booked, however it looked pretty empty to me. Our server however at the end of our visit did tell us the story of the many different photos. Over all it was a good visit. However she was disappointed not taking the tour; but there is always next time.....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Very disappointed

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

I went here to have a nice birthday dinner and it really was one of the WORST choices I've made for a dinner night. First, half of my party was waiting in the front because they wouldn't seat us until everyone got here and the hostess was very rude about seating us without them. THEN they sat us right next to a table of 20 people! We we're already a large party ,it doesn't make much sense to sit us both together. The entire night it was so loud I could barely hear myself think. The food was good but that was the only enjoyable experience of the night....

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great Deal for Excellent Italian Dining

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

I love Buca especially this location. Reservations are great and respected - you get seated at a reasonable time within checking in on your reservation (e.g., 5 minutes). Service is always excellent and the food is great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastico!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

This restaurant is filled with wonderful and unique art on the walls that would take weeks to look at each piece. The food is truly fantastic, especially the Chicken Marsala! Our group started with the Caesar salad and stuffed mushrooms, and the mushrooms were very tender and flavorful. Too bad there were only 6 of them. The children in our group all had pizza and the crust on the pizza is very thin, not to their liking. We also ordered Chicken Limone which was just divine, the chicken is so tender as well as the Chicken Saltimboca, also very tender. The spaghetti with meatballs was a huge hit, the meatballs were huge and flavorful. And don't overlook the dessert menu as all the desserts were large enough for sharing. The cannoli had a taste to it that was not to our liking. The Italian lemon cake was outstanding, moist and delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fun place for a birthday celebr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Always a fun place for a birthday celebration, Buca offers good food and fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

Bucca never fails on it's pizza! mmmmm, so good! Spicy Penne was on point last night as well as the antipasta salad. Great service from the moment we walked in the door to when we left. Our server, Ramiro (?) was very personable and a great server. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lots of food

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 8, 2015

The food is great and portions are huge. Definitely go with more than 2 people due to amount of food you get.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fantastic!

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

As always, the pizza, marsala and stuffed shells were amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding group event dining!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

I came to Buca di Beppo, Sacramento to host a party for my niece visiting from the east coast which included 12 family members in attendance ranging in age from 65 to 2 years old. The decor is really fun and lends to an entertaining party atmosphere. The food is FABULOUS and there was more than enough variety and quantity to accommodate all appetites. Our server Jena was attentive, fulfilled our many different requests and gave some great suggestions from the menu. She was OUTSTANDING! Buca di Beppo will be my go to family dinner/party place in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Italian food find

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

I am a regular here at Buca, any excuse to eat here I will find it!! I absolutely love the service the food the eccentric photography the welcoming staff the smell of food food food. The chicken carbonara , spinach artichoke dip and apple gargonzola salad are to die for, I also love the calamari and any pizza on the menu, the baked ziti, garlic bread, chicken saltimboca are very pleasing and beautifully crafted, the meatballs and spaghetti are a great choice for the kiddos. Overall I would recommend Bucca to any and all of my friends and family for any all occasions

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Vibtant place. No room for Romance.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

Definitely for a group of vibrant guests. Cannot be a place for a quiet romance. Unless it is slow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm a picky eater

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 19, 2015

My husband lived in Italy and loves Italian food, I'm not a big fan of tomato sauces. We usually get either the chicken parmigiana or the Prosciutto Stuffed Chicken, and I'll ask for 1 of the pieces not to have the red sauce put on it, since it's fresh, they have no problem leaving it off. We also will get a pasta dish to go with it, Spaghetti with Meatballs, even though there is plenty of sauce, because of the way it is made my husband gets lots of sauce and I can get some without a lot of sauce. Plus there is always leftovers. The meatballs have a lot of flavor. Another item I love is the Ravioli, and they have not problem putting Alfredo sauce instead of the meat sauce on it for me.

There was a table near us that had a young child who's mom was not trying very hard to control the loudness. Our server went over and quietly talked to the little one about staying in his seat and maybe being a little quieter. That there were other people nearby, she pointer out the crayons and paper. He quieted down. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Happy Birthday

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

I've been telling my family forever "I want our whole family to go to Buca di Beppo". Finally my choice for my BDay dinner out. I choose Buca made reservation on line myself. I was going even without the whole family being able to be there. More food for us that were there & those not, their lost. I wanted to try it all but decided to save some for next time, Lol. Food was wonderful. A mix up on the appetizers, which the manager took off our bill. That was very nice of them to do. Our waitress was great made sure we had everything we needed. But all in all food was yummy, antipasto salad great for NorCal. I have a favorite in SoCal. And the dressing, delicious was really good. The waitresses, waiters came together to sing, "Happy BDay" to me that was nice of them to do. I'd rather come to Buca then the other 2 Italian places we frequent, because this was tastier, more authentic, & fun. We defiantly will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Usually, I have great services. Not that night!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 20, 2015

So, I usually go here. Make reservation and usually have a great experience.

This night however was not that. The guy forgot my drink and our bread. The manager had to bring both the drink and our bread and refill drinks. I ran out of ice tea and never got a refill. My kids also after there first refill never got another refill either. He paid more attention to the other tables and ignored us.

What made it worse is that was my kids birthday and my friends first time trying Bucca and that was her experience. I had to tell her usually it is great.

When I go back I hope to not have that server again. I was a server and am very understanding. However, when you get straight ignored and the manager is the one primarily taking care of the table and you as the server can not and you pay more attention to your other party and not all your tables. It's a shame.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

pastaiscool

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

A few of the staff is friendly and the bus boy helped more than our hostess.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Very good

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

Only complaint they do not provide a free birthday dessert like most other restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Birthday Lunch

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2015

Friendly staff, very accommodating to our senior group with special needs. The assistant manager Ray Sisco helped me arrange the diner, and everyone enjoyed them self. We all had a great time, we will be back sometime in the future. Made my Lunch very Special, Thank You..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pizza crust was soggy. They only have on ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 22, 2015

Pizza crust was soggy.

They only have one bottle of hot spicy oil for the whole place. It took two servers to get one to my table.

Food not as good as before.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.