About Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square

3 Station Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Carson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 471-9463

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking available in two public lots at Station Square.

Public Transit:
Port Authority Bus Service - Carson Stop or Smithfield Street Bridge stop

Port Authority Trolley Station Square stop.

Executive Chef:
Joby Morgan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (19)
kid-friendly (6)
special occasion (5)
See All
fit for foodies (5)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
romantic (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
743 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

Had a great time. Festive atmosphere, n ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a great time. Festive atmosphere, nice staff and good food.

food4
ambience5
service4

Good not great food, decor is great, if ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good not great food, decor is great, if you like old Italian photos and the Yankees!

food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent atmosphere great food. Only do ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent atmosphere great food. Only down side was our server Daniel was not the friendliest. Otherwise great experience.

food4
ambience3
service2

Spaghetti and meatballs has excellent me ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Spaghetti and meatballs has excellent meatballs family style the small feeds two.

food5
ambience4
service4

This was my second time here and both ti ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

This was my second time here and both times the service was poor. They are very unorganized. We actually had to leave after waiting for our reservation for over an hour after the reservation time. This time it took a long time to get our bill and there was no one in the restaurant. The hostess was inconsiderate.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Sadly disappointed by a Regular Spot...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Typically we are pleased with an energetic atmosphere and familiar menu, however this visit was disappointing. The service was slow, drinks not refreshed, condiments requested more than once and food not much better than average. It's unfortunate, but our next visit to Station Square will not include a visit to Buca.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Buca is our favorite restaurant. We neve ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Buca is our favorite restaurant. We never leave there hungry. Their sauce is one of the best around. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Always enjoy going there.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great restaurant for large groups

Dined on March 12, 2016

A cousin contacted me last minute to get together while she was visiting the area. It would be 11 people in our group. Buca di Beppo did a great job accommodating a large party. We had a vegan and vegetarian in our party as well as a bunch of meat eaters. Buca had great choices for everyone.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on March 3, 2016

Michelle was wonderful and really took care of us. Great place to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good time with family

Dined on February 15, 2016

We were here on a busy Valentine's Day evening for dinner. And even with the peak crowd, the service was wonderful and quick.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience1
service3

Not ideal atmosphere for an intimate eve ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Not ideal atmosphere for an intimate evening. Requested a quiet table but was given quite the opposite. Bad choice for Valentine's Day.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We were there on Valentines Day for a late lunch.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were there on Valentines Day for a late lunch. i had asked for a quiet booth. We were shown to a room with only one other table being occupied. But were shown to a table. We asked the hostess if we could have a booth. She got us a booth. We ordered the Valentines special....heart shape lasangna meal. Came with ceasar salad, garlic bread and cannonli dessert. Salad was very good. The lasangna itself was just OK. Nothing spectacular. Very large portion for two people. You will be taking a lot home. Garlic bread, real garlic. They should offer you some olive oil for dipping. As they do not serve butter with the bread. The little cannolis werr very good.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great overall experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised that we were able to secure a reservation for 7 over Valentine's Day weekend. We were seated promptly and our server greeted us immediately to take our drink orders. She was very attentive, informative and was able to help us navigate through the gluten free options. Our food arrived promptly and was delicious. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone with a larger party. The table and seating was intimate enough that we could have a conversation without yelling across the table, but ample enough to give everyone their space.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent. We had a very nice t ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was excellent. We had a very nice time. Brought enough home for another meal today.

food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Family style dining

Dined on December 31, 2015

We like the fun of ordering multiple things and sharing. The seating is always tight and the food was adequate but not great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Needs help and a bit of a clean up staff and place

Dined on December 28, 2015

I don't like to complain because I did work as a server for 12 years, but this was not a good experience. I have been to Buca multiple times both good and bad. This time it was bad in a few ways. Service wasn't great or even average. We saw our server three times, forgot things, and never refilled our drinks once through the service even when asked. We ordered chicken saltimbocca which was not sauteed enough. It was still gummy with flour & the prosciutto wasn't crispy still fatty. Again, I am not one to complain but that was inedible. So we asked for chicken carbonara and it came out nicely. But, I think our waiter was waiting for it the whole time in the kitchen. He got sat and never greeted his table next to us in-turn never came back & checked on us to see if our pizza was good or refill our drinks. It is what it is as they say. I would of liked to say they were shorthanded but there were servers all around, hosts, & bussers. The only complaint I heard was a server "blaming" her table's drinks from the bar not getting to them before their apps came out was because they didn't have a bartender. That should have never been told to them as an excuse along with later her putting in their order wrong and again blaming it on the computer buttons being so close to one another. I know everyone isn't perfect, but just a little more know how and listening in training to what the protocol is when things like this happens. What got me was the table behind me not getting greeted even when that same waitress who made her fair share of mistakes was asked by that table to order, and she then said let me find your waiter. She should have just taken the table instead of letting them sit there for another 10 minutes. To finally end this rant, I am sorry but the restaurant had an odor to it as well. I believe the carpets need a cleaning or maybe the bar area as well. All in all this will be our last "try" and bad experience at Buca because we will not be dining there again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fun place to go with a group! Food is gr ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

Fun place to go with a group! Food is great!

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrible Service

Dined on December 25, 2015

We reserved via Open Table 6PM on Christmas Evening. I brought my wife and three children down to the city (Pittsburgh Station Square) to have a nice dinner. We walked across the Smithfield Street bridge, and enjoyed the beautiful scenery, and were genuinely excited to do something different (going out for dinner in the city Christmas evening). When we arrived at the restaurant, the greeter was clearly very stressed, and seemed annoyed we were there (no Merry Christmas or anything). When I mentioned we had a reservation, he said we did not. I then showed him the email confirmation, at which point he acknowledged we did have a reservation, and this apparently stressed and annoyed him more. So he proceeded to meet with 3 or 4 other waiters/staff and they discussed what seemed to be a game plan to move people around (not just us). Apparently we were not the only issue. The vibe was ruined and we didn't feel good about being there. Actually, we felt like a nuisance, so we just left after 10 minutes or so. I understand they were working on Christmas, and were likely dealing with other problems when we got there. I appreciate that. We would have waited 30 minutes if they would have simply been cordial, and maybe even apologized for issues beyond our control. Afterall, we did our part. We reserved and we showed up. Instead, they made us feel unwelcome and uncomfortable. So we left and ate at home. Needless to say I will not be back.

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Our table was too small for our party. I ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Our table was too small for our party. I asked for a bigger table but was refused.

Tags: kid-friendly
food2
ambience1
service1

Horrible service and mediocre food.

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

Horrible service and mediocre food.

food2
ambience1
service1

Immensely unsatisfied

Dined on November 26, 2015

I booked the restaurant known for family style meals for a group of 10 on thanksgiving..... We were crammed into a booth & 4 top table next to it- not adjoined in the bar area......this was the start of a downward spiral - when booking we assumed we would be seated at a large table for 10 people...not separate tables where we had to crawl over each other. My husband & his uncle both ordered a beer, one blue moon, one Stella- they Both were served a bud light. Food came out randomly, with parts of the meals missing, appetizer plates were given to us as dinner plates, NOTHING was cleared in this overly crammed space- including extra water glasses & empty dishes that piled on top of one another wherever there was a hint of space. Then to top it off, only one family had requested a separate check in the Beginning of the meal & were brought their check minuets after food was served.......the rest of us all had cash so we remained together on the other check.....our cash was used partially by the server to pay the other check even though both checks were placed in correct payment books with according bills......it was a MES . I worked in a restaurant for 7 Years & it certainly was more of a local family place but this Never would have been acceptable! Ridiculous to say the least.

food3
ambience3
service1

Service was slow, food was expected

Dined on November 15, 2015

We made a reservation for 8pm, we didn't get out until 10pm. There was nobody waiting to be seated when we walked in, so it was a little odd to have a 2 hour dinner. The food was tasty! Of course Buca is the type of restaurant to go in groups, due to portion sizes.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service4

good for a large group

Dined on November 8, 2015

Accommodating to large groups, service good considering we were a group of 20. Food and wine prices too high for the quality of food and wine brands.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food1
ambience1
service2

Not a good experience

Dined on November 1, 2015

Unfortunately, this was not a good experience. We had to walk up to the third floor with 10 of us and then we were placed in a very small room at a large table with two other booths...very poor setup. The appetizers arrived over cooked (no cheese in the mozzarella pieces, fried calamari had no meat) and for the main course the chicken was over cooked and dry and the pasta arrived cold. Needless to say, no dessert for us!

food2
ambience1
service3

Disappointed

Dined on October 31, 2015

Buca had been suggested by several people, so I was expecting great food. My husband and I were both very disappointed. We did not want to share, but were not able to order single portions from the dinner menu so we were limited to the lunch menu. I had reviewed the dinner menu on the website prior to making a reservation, and it clearly indicates that single portions are available. I chose a salad because none of the choices on the luncheon menu were appealing. I wanted some bread with it and was told that my only choice was to order a basket of bread, which was much more than I needed. My husband ordered a meatball hoagie. The meatballs were very disappointing. They had very little meat. very much filler, too much garlic, and were not tasty. We have an Italian restaurant in our small town that puts Buca to shame.

food2
ambience3
service3

Not so bad is the best I can say!

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

The food was okay although I felt like I could have made the one pasta dish, which the waitress told us was their pasta specialty. I can't remember the name of the dish but it was like a spicy baked ziti covered in cheese. It was good but like I said I could have made it myself. We had a Caprese salad as an appetizer and that was was really good. The other dish we shared was a spicy chicken platter not worth mentioning. Lastly, ask to seated outside of the bar area as it was freezing. We asked our waitress to adjust the air twice but received no help. Too many choices in the area to go back. I know it's a chain so my expectations were not that high but I've had much better meals. At least we left full.

food4
ambience4
service4

Traditionally Italian Bucca di Beppo is ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Traditionally Italian Bucca di Beppo is a typical Italian restaurant. Vibrant decoration and large portions! Servers are kind. And if you have a big party, try the Pope room. So nice! Food is very good, but not outstanding.

food1
ambience1
service4

Horrible food and credit card double charged

Dined on October 17, 2015

Food tasted burnt, we we're still hungry when we left. Portions were not right. Then they have the nerve to charge my card double for the order. Takes forever for them to get money back.

food4
ambience2
service1

Llv

Dined on October 15, 2015

Food was very good but service was awful. The server was new to the floor but she was sooo unorganized . waited so long for drinks and appetizers and they almost came out the same time as entrees , very disappointed

food3
ambience1
service2

Not on my list of favorites. A good plac ...

vip
Dined on October 12, 2015

Not on my list of favorites. A good place to tie on a food bag., cheap. That's about it. Our waiter didn't have a clue how to open a bottle of wine. Nice kid just poorly prepared by management.

food2
ambience2
service2

Too expensive, poor service, mediocre food

Dined on October 11, 2015

When we sat down the waitress only gave the two of us one place setting so there was no silverware and we had to deal with that until 3/4 of the way through the appetizer we shared because our waitress had disappeared. We ordered house wine at $9 a glass & only got 1/2 a glass each. The stuff was probably only $9 per bottle. The best part of our meal was the bruschetta appetizer, that was excellent. The side of broccoli had so much crushed red pepper on it that neither of us could eat it & I like hot food. The last time my girl was there she loved the broccoli and was looking forward to it. Where's the consistency? The chicken parm wasn't bad but for the price I expected twice the portion, especially since it's supposed to feed two. There was none left to take home and we're not real big eaters. It was also my date's birthday. I notified the restaurant when I made the reservation, when we confirmed the reservation, and upon entering to let them know we had arrived. The never did anything for my girl for her birthday, nothing. I could have taken her to the Olive Garden for 1/6th the price & they'd have at least sang her a song or done something for her on her birthday. This was a $100 dinner for two that would have been mediocre at $50. Not a great experience, although spending the day at Station Square was nice. I cannot recommend Buca di Peppo. I hate to write a review like this because I was a waiter for several years when I was in college. I understand it's a difficult business. I did tip the girl well but they really need to step up their game several notches in all areas.

food4
ambience4
service3

Happy Wedding Day!

Dined on October 11, 2015

We chose Buca at Station Square because shortly before, we were married in Point State Park. It was close by, could accommodate our party of 9, which contained some picky eaters. You can't go wrong with pasta when it comes to picky eaters. We were on the third floor, and away from most of the noise. The food was delicious, and the staff provided a comparable backup plan when the lasagna wasn't presentable enough to serve. Service was good, but slow at times, and we don't know if that was because there was a huge crowd downstairs, or something else going on. We were also comped a dessert platter due to the lasagna issue. We had a great time, and plenty of leftovers to eat this week! We thank the staff for taking such good care of us!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2

delicious

Dined on October 11, 2015

First time food came it was not hot so remade and was perfect. Was worth the extra time. Waiter was very nice offering free desert for the inconvenience but dinner so good no room for desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

94th birthday

Dined on October 4, 2015

We had a wonderful time for our grandmother's 94th birthday at Buca. Our waitress was fantastic and the restaurant was very accommodating to our large group. There was a very fun atmosphere. The only thing we were a bit disappointed in were the pasta dishes. The gnocchi dish was extremely salty and the backed ziti with sausage was extremely dry. The rest of the food including salads, chicken , appetizers, etc was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Frequent Customer

Dined on October 4, 2015

This is one of our go to places for a great dinner and great service. Food is always good. Service this time was exceptional.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Food was delicious, as always. However, ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

Food was delicious, as always. However, it's really annoying how even when you make reservations, that you still have to wait 20 minutes...

food1
ambience1
service3

I wouldn't go back

Dined on September 27, 2015

Place smelled of mildew from the moment we walked in. Although waiter was super friendly, food was terrible. Pasta had weird , starchy taste to it - vodka sauce sticky, flavorless, and not good at all. Chicken parm greasy and flavorless. Ceasar salad way over dressed, and terrible dressing at that. And, very expensive - especially for quality of food.

food1
ambience3
service4

The service was good. The atmosphere wa ...

Dined on September 26, 2015

The service was good. The atmosphere was ok. The seating for 8 in a straight booth was tight and somewhat uncomfortable. The booths had lost silverware underneath, who knows how long they were there. What was most disappointing was the food. I've never gone to an "Italian" restaurant and ordered a vodka sauce that was bright red and with pepper flakes (if you're thinking it was an Arrabbiata you are thinking correctly). The staff tried to explain it away and even offered to replace it but due to time constraints, it was not feasible. If buca's vodka sauce is a traditional tomato sauce with red pepper flakes and may or may not contain vodka, their corporate stance as an Italian restaurant chain should be challenged....it is more in line with a High School cooking experiment when the parents are not home. Reality is that some of this location's cooks need training as I suspect they are not up to speed with the requirements of the menu to which they purport to cook for.

food2
ambience4
service1

Service and Food

Dined on September 21, 2015

We came at a slow time, however, it took forever to receive our food and dessert!!! Once we received our order it was not very hot and the chicken procuitto we ordered was over cooked. My sister and I have been to Vegas and went to Buca. It was a much better meal and service. Your prices are alittle high. I don't mind paying, however, I don't feel we got our monies worth.

food4
ambience2
service4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on September 20, 2015

We have not been there in a year. Main reason we went to celebrate son's birthday was for the Tiramisu. When I booked I asked for them to have Tiramisu with a candle. We didn't have anything. I did take home a Tiramisu and the sons said it was dry and no flavor of rum or espresso, not much flavor- different than the last time they had it. Most of the meal was very good. Grandson ordered pepperoni pizza and his came about 10 min. after the entrees came. We were told the first one burned. When he did get it there was no pepperoni. The waitress took back the cheese pizza and brought it back with pepperoni, unfortunately the bottom was burned because of being cooked twice. He ate the pepperoni and left the pizza. We told the waitress thinking they may remove the price of the pizza. That didn't happen. Since there are so many other places to eat I'm not sure when we will go back again.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.