About Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square

3 Station Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Carson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 471-9463

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking available in two public lots at Station Square.

Public Transit:
Port Authority Bus Service - Carson Stop or Smithfield Street Bridge stop

Port Authority Trolley Station Square stop.

Executive Chef:
Joby Morgan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square
Eggplant Parmigiana
Mixed Entree Platter
Mega Meatballs!
Seafood Platter
Rigatoni With Rosa Sauce & Chicken
Moscato
White Sangria
Brownie a la mode
Brownie Sundae

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Pittsburgh - Station Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.6

ambience

3.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (7)
Special Occasion (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Waterfront (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
755 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thanks to the amazing staff at Buca for ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 4 days ago

Thanks to the amazing staff at Buca for being super accommodating for our large family! Service was excellent, the food was perfect for family style, and everyone had a great time (including our very unruly 15 month old)!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The hostess was very prompt and friendly ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The hostess was very prompt and friendly. My server was amazing. I feel like i overpaid for my food that wasnt good. We came earlier in the week. We were hopeing for better food. But no...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Paige was our server, nice young lady. N ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Paige was our server, nice young lady. Not very knowledgeable. The area in which we sat smelled wet and moldy. My alfredo was under cooked and the chicken smelled spoiled. My husband enjoyed his meal and the Italian cake was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

A restaurant that advertises that it's I ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A restaurant that advertises that it's Italian Immigrant food provides what you would expect with large portions of standard fare. We had Eggplant Parm, Chicken Limone, Veal Marsala, and two kinds of pasta. Large portions and tasty food - but nothing exceptional.

Most disappointing was the Caprese salad. At this time of the year you cannot find a bad tomato so how come we had slices of rock hard, barely red tomatoes on the plate? By the way, there should also be balsamic vinegar drizzled on it. Very few basil leaves. Very disappointing.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We came to Buca with a part of 10 to cel ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We came to Buca with a part of 10 to celebrate a birthday. The hostess was ready for us. We were sat promptly. Menus came soon after. Our waitress was outstanding the entire night. She was very helpful with what to order, was very attentive to our needs, and friendly.

The food was great. We ordered Chicken Parm, Spicy Chicken Rigatoni and Chicken Carbonara along with Bruschetta and Salad. All were prepared well.

The atmosphere at Buca is excellent for small or large groups of all ages.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As bad as ever... Poor service, below a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

As bad as ever... Poor service, below average food, overpriced. The family style calamari was smaller than a personal order just about anywhere. The house wine was bad. The veal marsala was tough/chewy, the chicken parm tasted gummy like it was micro-waved. The chicken cannelloni were acceptable. We couldn't find our waitress. We tried Buca about 10 years ago and thought we would give it another try. My advice - don't waste your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The food here used to be so good. It was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food here used to be so good. It was one of our favorite restaurants a few years back which added to our disappointed. It was awful. Flavorless and really small portions. It's very overpriced. For example, we paid $15 for a Caprese Salad that consisted of 5 underripe tomatoes, 5 thin slices of cheese and 5 basil leaves. They must have forgotten the dressing bc there was none on it and our waitress was nowhere to be found. The highlight of our meal was walking across the street to Melting Pot for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Overpriced Italian food that isn't expen ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Overpriced Italian food that isn't expensive to make at home....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and service were very good! Locatio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food and service were very good! Location was scenic.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Linguini frutti Di mare was lacking clam ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Linguini frutti Di mare was lacking clams. Some of the mussels were not open. Did not get utensils until after food was brought. Same for the desert, ice cream but no spoon. Not much attention to detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Food was excellent, service was great, s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was excellent, service was great, seating was great

I was pleasantly surprised we had an awesome meal

It was my birthday but I didn't want any fuss .

Thanks you all for making it so memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time. Festive atmosphere, n ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a great time. Festive atmosphere, nice staff and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good not great food, decor is great, if ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Good not great food, decor is great, if you like old Italian photos and the Yankees!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent atmosphere great food. Only do ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent atmosphere great food. Only down side was our server Daniel was not the friendliest. Otherwise great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Spaghetti and meatballs has excellent me ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Spaghetti and meatballs has excellent meatballs family style the small feeds two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We had planned an overnight trip to Pitt ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We had planned an overnight trip to Pittsburgh with our son. Made reservations for the 3 of us and glad I did. There was an hour and a half wait to get in. We had a wonderful meal, wine, and even offered to take a group picture of an engagement party seated next to us. Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was my second time here and both ti ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

This was my second time here and both times the service was poor. They are very unorganized. We actually had to leave after waiting for our reservation for over an hour after the reservation time. This time it took a long time to get our bill and there was no one in the restaurant. The hostess was inconsiderate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Sadly disappointed by a Regular Spot...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Typically we are pleased with an energetic atmosphere and familiar menu, however this visit was disappointing. The service was slow, drinks not refreshed, condiments requested more than once and food not much better than average. It's unfortunate, but our next visit to Station Square will not include a visit to Buca.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Buca is our favorite restaurant. We neve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Buca is our favorite restaurant. We never leave there hungry. Their sauce is one of the best around. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Always enjoy going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant for large groups

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

A cousin contacted me last minute to get together while she was visiting the area. It would be 11 people in our group. Buca di Beppo did a great job accommodating a large party. We had a vegan and vegetarian in our party as well as a bunch of meat eaters. Buca had great choices for everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Michelle was wonderful and really took care of us. Great place to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good time with family

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We were here on a busy Valentine's Day evening for dinner. And even with the peak crowd, the service was wonderful and quick.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not ideal atmosphere for an intimate eve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Not ideal atmosphere for an intimate evening. Requested a quiet table but was given quite the opposite. Bad choice for Valentine's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

We were there on Valentines Day for a late lunch.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We were there on Valentines Day for a late lunch. i had asked for a quiet booth. We were shown to a room with only one other table being occupied. But were shown to a table. We asked the hostess if we could have a booth. She got us a booth. We ordered the Valentines special....heart shape lasangna meal. Came with ceasar salad, garlic bread and cannonli dessert.

Salad was very good. The lasangna itself was just OK. Nothing spectacular. Very large portion for two people. You will be taking a lot home. Garlic bread, real garlic. They should offer you some olive oil for dipping. As they do not serve butter with the bread. The little cannolis werr very good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great overall experience

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised that we were able to secure a reservation for 7 over Valentine's Day weekend. We were seated promptly and our server greeted us immediately to take our drink orders. She was very attentive, informative and was able to help us navigate through the gluten free options. Our food arrived promptly and was delicious. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone with a larger party. The table and seating was intimate enough that we could have a conversation without yelling across the table, but ample enough to give everyone their space.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. We had a very nice t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was excellent. We had a very nice time. Brought enough home for another meal today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Family style dining

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We like the fun of ordering multiple things and sharing. The seating is always tight and the food was adequate but not great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Needs help and a bit of a clean up staff and place

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

I don't like to complain because I did work as a server for 12 years, but this was not a good experience. I have been to Buca multiple times both good and bad. This time it was bad in a few ways. Service wasn't great or even average. We saw our server three times, forgot things, and never refilled our drinks once through the service even when asked. We ordered chicken saltimbocca which was not sauteed enough. It was still gummy with flour & the prosciutto wasn't crispy still fatty. Again, I am not one to complain but that was inedible. So we asked for chicken carbonara and it came out nicely. But, I think our waiter was waiting for it the whole time in the kitchen. He got sat and never greeted his table next to us in-turn never came back & checked on us to see if our pizza was good or refill our drinks. It is what it is as they say. I would of liked to say they were shorthanded but there were servers all around, hosts, & bussers. The only complaint I heard was a server "blaming" her table's drinks from the bar not getting to them before their apps came out was because they didn't have a bartender. That should have never been told to them as an excuse along with later her putting in their order wrong and again blaming it on the computer buttons being so close to one another. I know everyone isn't perfect, but just a little more know how and listening in training to what the protocol is when things like this happens. What got me was the table behind me not getting greeted even when that same waitress who made her fair share of mistakes was asked by that table to order, and she then said let me find your waiter. She should have just taken the table instead of letting them sit there for another 10 minutes. To finally end this rant, I am sorry but the restaurant had an odor to it as well. I believe the carpets need a cleaning or maybe the bar area as well. All in all this will be our last "try" and bad experience at Buca because we will not be dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Fun place to go with a group! Food is gr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Fun place to go with a group! Food is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible Service

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We reserved via Open Table 6PM on Christmas Evening. I brought my wife and three children down to the city (Pittsburgh Station Square) to have a nice dinner. We walked across the Smithfield Street bridge, and enjoyed the beautiful scenery, and were genuinely excited to do something different (going out for dinner in the city Christmas evening). When we arrived at the restaurant, the greeter was clearly very stressed, and seemed annoyed we were there (no Merry Christmas or anything). When I mentioned we had a reservation, he said we did not. I then showed him the email confirmation, at which point he acknowledged we did have a reservation, and this apparently stressed and annoyed him more. So he proceeded to meet with 3 or 4 other waiters/staff and they discussed what seemed to be a game plan to move people around (not just us). Apparently we were not the only issue. The vibe was ruined and we didn't feel good about being there. Actually, we felt like a nuisance, so we just left after 10 minutes or so.

I understand they were working on Christmas, and were likely dealing with other problems when we got there. I appreciate that. We would have waited 30 minutes if they would have simply been cordial, and maybe even apologized for issues beyond our control. Afterall, we did our part. We reserved and we showed up. Instead, they made us feel unwelcome and uncomfortable. So we left and ate at home. Needless to say I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our table was too small for our party. I ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Our table was too small for our party. I asked for a bigger table but was refused.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Horrible service and mediocre food.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Horrible service and mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Immensely unsatisfied

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

I booked the restaurant known for family style meals for a group of 10 on thanksgiving..... We were crammed into a booth & 4 top table next to it- not adjoined in the bar area......this was the start of a downward spiral - when booking we assumed we would be seated at a large table for 10 people...not separate tables where we had to crawl over each other. My husband & his uncle both ordered a beer, one blue moon, one Stella- they Both were served a bud light. Food came out randomly, with parts of the meals missing, appetizer plates were given to us as dinner plates, NOTHING was cleared in this overly crammed space- including extra water glasses & empty dishes that piled on top of one another wherever there was a hint of space. Then to top it off, only one family had requested a separate check in the Beginning of the meal & were brought their check minuets after food was served.......the rest of us all had cash so we remained together on the other check.....our cash was used partially by the server to pay the other check even though both checks were placed in correct payment books with according bills......it was a MES . I worked in a restaurant for 7 Years & it certainly was more of a local family place but this Never would have been acceptable! Ridiculous to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Service was slow, food was expected

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

We made a reservation for 8pm, we didn't get out until 10pm. There was nobody waiting to be seated when we walked in, so it was a little odd to have a 2 hour dinner. The food was tasty! Of course Buca is the type of restaurant to go in groups, due to portion sizes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

good for a large group

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Accommodating to large groups, service good considering we were a group of 20. Food and wine prices too high for the quality of food and wine brands.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Not a good experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Unfortunately, this was not a good experience. We had to walk up to the third floor with 10 of us and then we were placed in a very small room at a large table with two other booths...very poor setup. The appetizers arrived over cooked (no cheese in the mozzarella pieces, fried calamari had no meat) and for the main course the chicken was over cooked and dry and the pasta arrived cold. Needless to say, no dessert for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Disappointed

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Buca had been suggested by several people, so I was expecting great food. My husband and I were both very disappointed. We did not want to share, but were not able to order single portions from the dinner menu so we were limited to the lunch menu. I had reviewed the dinner menu on the website prior to making a reservation, and it clearly indicates that single portions are available. I chose a salad because none of the choices on the luncheon menu were appealing. I wanted some bread with it and was told that my only choice was to order a basket of bread, which was much more than I needed. My husband ordered a meatball hoagie. The meatballs were very disappointing. They had very little meat. very much filler, too much garlic, and were not tasty. We have an Italian restaurant in our small town that puts Buca to shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Not so bad is the best I can say!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

The food was okay although I felt like I could have made the one pasta dish, which the waitress told us was their pasta specialty. I can't remember the name of the dish but it was like a spicy baked ziti covered in cheese. It was good but like I said I could have made it myself. We had a Caprese salad as an appetizer and that was was really good. The other dish we shared was a spicy chicken platter not worth mentioning. Lastly, ask to seated outside of the bar area as it was freezing. We asked our waitress to adjust the air twice but received no help.

Too many choices in the area to go back. I know it's a chain so my expectations were not that high but I've had much better meals. At least we left full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Traditionally Italian Bucca di Beppo is ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Traditionally Italian

Bucca di Beppo is a typical Italian restaurant. Vibrant decoration and large portions! Servers are kind. And if you have a big party, try the Pope room. So nice! Food is very good, but not outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Horrible food and credit card double charged

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Food tasted burnt, we we're still hungry when we left. Portions were not right. Then they have the nerve to charge my card double for the order. Takes forever for them to get money back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.