About Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto

643 Emerson Street
Palo Alto, CA 94301
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hamilton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-0665

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area

Parking Details:
There is a 3-level parking garage directly behind us at City Hall. It is free of charge but fills up quickly on weekends.

Public Transit:
We are very close to the Palo Alto BART station.

Executive Chef:
Eric Keyes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto
Chicken Saltimbocca
Fettuccine Alfredo
Apple Gorgonzola Salad
Baked Ziti
Supremo Italiano Pizza
Meatball
Caprese Salad
Fried Calamari
Linguini Con Vongole
Fried Mozzerella
Calamari
Shrimp Fra Diavolo
Spicy Calamari
Bread
Spicy Chicken Rigatoni
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Chicken Piccata
Prosciutto Stuffed Chicken
Eggplant Parmigiana
Seafood Trio Platter
Chicken Carbonara
Baked Rigatoni
Bread & Rosemary Olive Oil
strawberry iced tea
Tiramisu
Lobster Ceasar Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

63% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Palo Alto ›

Good for Groups (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Romantic (2)
Family Style (2)
Fun (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a very disappointing meal here. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a very disappointing meal here. Although I had made a reservation they put us at a table that was in the main thoroughfare to the upstairs kitchen. The waiters were squeezing behind the chairs of two of our party and the chairs of the next table to access the entire right side of the poorly laid out dining room.

When we asked to move we were told that the other tables all had prior reservations placed on them. During the course of our meal, the table that was next to us, and would have been much more comfortable for us and the wait staff, never filled with customers.

The final encounter with our waitress, was her letting us know that there would be a large party arriving in the next 20 minutes, and to keep that in mind, implying, " Hurry up and eat, so you aren't bothered by the waiters squeezing past your table to serve them."

For a restaurant that prides itself on family style dining and atmosphere we were treated not like family, but like a nuisance.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Our food did not arrive at the same time ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our food did not arrive at the same time. One child's dinner came out 15 minutes late. We ordered mussels and they were dry as a bone and small. The chicken parm for kids was too bready.

The portions for 2 would serve four so there was way too much food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Took server 20 minutes to greet us at ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Took server 20 minutes to greet us at our table. Had to ask 3 times for lemon, more water, and a refill on iced tea. Celebrated 3 birthdays and waitstaff were very lackluster in the celebration. Food was not great. Bland white sauce, chicken seemed old. Won't be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent service and delicious food!!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent service and delicious food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Table was seriously cramped and then ove ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Table was seriously cramped and then overloaded by the server (not just food, but cake boxes, to go containers, pizza stands) to the point where we couldn't see people seated directly across from each other. Not an excellent experience.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We've been here often and this visit see ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We've been here often and this visit seemed off. We also spent way more than we normally do so I guess prices went up but service and quality of food went down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

This was a great restaurant to take litt ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was a great restaurant to take little kids and my elderly mother to. We were seated right away and service was very quick although the restaurant supervisor did most of the work instead of the waitress. The food was good for what was expected - this is not a fine dining restaurant but a nice place for people to get together. They did well accommodating my mother with seating. Nothing was dirty, everything we needed was brought to us without asking and we had a nice time.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous service and friendliness! Unbel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fabulous service and friendliness! Unbelievable deserts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were enticed to return to Buca with a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We were enticed to return to Buca with a lasagna week promotion. It turns out that their lasagna is absolutely delicious! It included a band of meat as one of the layers. We put on some oregano to make it even tastier.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing experience. Party of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Very disappointing experience. Party of 8-waiter spilled wine bottle on floor and continued serving it to us-poor HYGIENE-only lost about a glass of wine but the fact that the top of the bottle touched the floor and the server did not nothing about it we found to be disgusting-makes you wonder about the kitchen food standards. The server refused to get us another bottle so we simply did not drink the wine. We ordered a ton of food (we love their leftovers) but none of it was served hot-some was actually cold. Server was extremely inattentive and treated us like he was doing us a favor-we brought guests who had never been to the restaurant who said they are definitely NEVER going back! It will be a long time before we do too. We were celebrating my son's graduation from law school and therefore just made the best out of a bad situation. I left three messages in the past month for the manager to call me back but have never received a return call. TOTAL waste of $340!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

noisy

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was nice at first, then two large parties showed up and the noise level was so high that we could not talk to each other. We could not wait to get out of there. Its a nice place with good food, but too many people in to close proximity.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The mixed green salad was great. Everyon ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The mixed green salad was great. Everyone loved the chicken limone and the prosciutto chicken. For a casual group group experience we were very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Family outing

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Bring your family! Or friends. Coworkers. A big group of 4 or more in general. The plates are huge! Small 2-3 or large 5 available. Loved the shrimp florentine linguine, stuffed shells with minced spicy sausage and spinach, and cheesy garlic bread! Make a reservation just in case. They don't give out a birthday dessert but the whole crew will sing to the special guest. Sign up for coupon emails! You'll get something for your bday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and lots of it. Great for gr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and lots of it. Great for group dinners.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seemed very short staffed and poorly man ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Seemed very short staffed and poorly managed. Fortunately I have been to other Bucca's otherwise I would never eat at their restaurant again. Bar was horrible bad drinks and terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Not this Buca Di Beppo

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Staff member requested birthday lunch at Buca Di Beppo. We have often eaten at the SF spot. Our boss questions the choice as he seemed to remember a past visit that didn't go so well. Well he was spot on. As we approached I started to recall, yes I think we made a mistake. While you enter through the kitchen, which is a little odd, a greeting from one of the 4 staff members could have made it a little less awkward. Noticed for a lunch hour there was only one other patron in the place which made it more confusing when it took forever for our order to be taken. Requested Salad first, which was forgotten. I asked for my plate to be kept warm while I ate my salad then my boss had to go look for our server to get my meal. Everyone else had finished. 10 more minutes later plates were remove, take home containers asked for, THEN other 10 before we were able to request our bill. Good thing we allowed two hours for lunch. If it was busy, I could understand. When your the only ones in the place, well that's bad service. Oh, again leaving through the kitchen, NOT ONE employee said thank you for coming, hope you enjoyed your meal as we marched on by. I don't think we will forget why we will not be returning to this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Exceptionally slow and forgetful service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Exceptionally slow and forgetful service. Noise level. Indigestion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We just noticed that the serving is a li ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We just noticed that the serving is a little small now that before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food but Service is Slow

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

This is nor our first visit nor is it the first time that there has been a significant delay in getting our food. They always seem to have an excuse but 30 minutes between salad and the main course is a wait. We love the food especially the Chicken Saltimbocca and Green Beans. Please bring back the Pasta Basilico. If you ask they try but its not he same.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

Good Quality Food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Good Quality Food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I probably wouldn't go on a Saturday nig ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

I probably wouldn't go on a Saturday night again. We were always trying to look for our server. We had to ask several times for silverware, a plate, missing drink, and an extra to go bag. She never came around to refill our water. Service just wasn't that great on this night. Any other night when they aren't as busy is a lot better than a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

The portion sizes are good and the flavo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

The portion sizes are good and the flavors are there. However, the kitchen needs to improve on getting food out in a timely manner. One of our dishes was lukewarm and another cold, as if it had been sitting there for a while waiting for everything else. With reservations, we still had to wait 30 minutes because the restaurant didn't have tables available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Lots of food and tasty, too!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

It was my birthday, and being a member of Buca's e-club, I got a $20 off coupon! My wife & I are fond of various chicken dishes at Buca, including the Chicken Parmagiana, the Chicken Saltimbocca, and the Prosciutto Stuffed Chicken. Well worth the money!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic Spot for Big Groups and Birthday Parties

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The food here is excellent - very excellent. The mixed green salad with the prosciutto and Gorgonzola is super delicious, as is the Chicken Limone (essentially their version of Chicken Piccata).

The restaurant is loud, but it adds to the festive atmosphere. Best to go in a large group, as the dishes are served family style and are very generous portions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Too Loud and poor service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Music was super loud, and the volume control button on the wall was not working. Our waiter must have been new. He was slow and keep taking our plates away while eating.

The customer service is very poor, and the place is quite run down. They should update their restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

2nd meal at the location

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was the 2nd time we dined at this location and it will be out last. Although the service was great, the food was not.

My husband asked why I would want to dine here when I cook way better than what we were served? Obviously because I wanted to eat out and not cook on Valentine's day but I understand his question. I am not a chef, I do cook and bake a lot, and I expect a restaurant to serve better food than what we received.

I will give our server Daniel 5+ stars. He was friendly, fast, and polite. He did his job performance perfectly.

Also, the girls in the kitchen were having inappropriate conversation. We were there right when the restaurant opened, it was quiet and we could hear everything they were talking about. This is not how I want my kids, husband and myself to dine.

Anyway, the food was blah, our table was super small for 4 people, so therefore we will not be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Fun place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This is a great place for a group. The food was excellent. The wait staff can certainly benefit from more training especially when it comes to opening a bottle of wine and pouring. The busser was so loud when he was clearing the tables. It was distracting.

I think management might be overwhelmed. The SF location is busier but seems to be able to deal with difficult situations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Ordinarily Buca is a favorite go to for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Ordinarily Buca is a favorite go to for some great comfort food and a fun experience. While our server was really personable and lively, he didn't deliver the food. We waited a half an hour for our calamari appetizer, but wait he brought our salad first. Finally the calamari came. We waited over an hour for our entres. Last, the AC was really pumped up. Outside the weather was mild. Inside was freezing. Anyway of course I will go back. Just hope the experience will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Had you wait a while for food because th ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Had you wait a while for food because they are packed. However the wait staff is really nice, trying her best to make us comfortable while we waited. The food is excellent and they give you a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It's changed (sigh)

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

I used to eat here about once a week. This past experience wasn't that great. It wasn't "bad" - just not nearly as good as past visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

What huge meatballs you have!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

As members of Buca's e-club, I occasionally get enticing offers, and their one-day half-off spaghetti special was too tempting to pass up. We got the spaghetti and meatballs, and when they say meatballs, they mean MEATBALLS...they're not only huge, but they're quite tasty, too.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Feast

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Good food, with a wide selection, in generous portions.

Kid friendly; good for family times out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Food and Atmosphere

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

I've been to Buca di Beppo in Palo Alto several times and it's never a disappointment. The server's are always very patient/friendly and professional. They provide helpful suggestions on new menu items as well. The food is ALWAYS excellent and I love looking at ALL of the pictures they have up on their walls. It was wonderful that they were open on Christmas day as it's always a homey place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We normally enjoy this restaurant but xm ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We normally enjoy this restaurant but xmas eve was terrible. There wasn't a single satisfied table in our room, and the staff was stressed and overwhelmed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Ruined a Christmas Tradition

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Buca di Beppo is usually a great Christmas Eve tradition. But this time we decided we're never coming back. It took 2+ hours for our drinks to come out and by the time we actually got food it was 9 o'clock. We had a reservation at 6 o'clock and they didn't seat us for another 30 minutes. Our server literally cried at our table in stress. The manager was a complete wimp and was hiding in the kitchen. Worst experience ever and ruined a Christmas tradition .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

1-1/2 hours to get our food👿!!!

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Our server was great and doing the best he could but it took an hour and a half to get our main course dishes. Pathetic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

Celebrating anything? This is the place to go to!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Loved the vibe, loved the fact that it was separate from other groups, food was amazing, we had a great time celebrating a birthday!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner with friends

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Came in 15 minutes early of my reservations. She said our table is not ready. 50% of first flr was open and empty. The hostess asked us to wait outside where it was freezing cold. Asked her if we could sit at the bar since we want to order drinks. She said no. Ignored her and went to the bar anyway. No bartender around. Asked some servers and they were somewhat rude and helpless. One guy came around and said the bartender will be there in 5 mins. Still no one to take our order. Finally got seated. By then service was great. Waitress was attentive and helpful. Food came right away and was hot. We felt though that we were rushed to get out of there because of other parties coming in. I met with friends that had not seen for months and we were having great conversations around dinner. Server was coming around every 10mins. Finally, we got the hint. Other than that, food was awesome as usual. Will not come back anytime soon though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great for big groups

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

we had a crew of 20 for dinner - 4 more than our reservation.

they gladly accommodated us

great place for a group that large - the quality of the food is outstanding - very large portions - order less than you need.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service is ridiculous.

 
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Service is ridiculous. We were sitting at the table for 20 minutes and no one came to help us. We ended up leaving the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.