About Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee

1233 North Van Buren Street
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
East Juneau Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 224-8672

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Free self parking in public lot. After 5:30 p.m. additional parking is available in the Jewish Community Center parking lot north of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MCTS bus stop at Van Buren and Juneau.

Executive Chef:
Sal Fontanazza

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee
Birthday Cupcake

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (10)
good for groups (10)
kid-friendly (8)
See All
fit for foodies (5)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (2)
notable wine list (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
late-night find (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
627 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Buca is lively, fun, and has great food.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Buca is a fun place to visit, with great food for those who enjoy Italian cuisine, especially the traditional specialties. There salads are extra delicious and the family-style servings are great for groups of three or more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Gone downhill, not what it used to be

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been coming to Buca's for 18 years since we moved to Milwaukee and it's not the restaurant it use to be. The quality of food and service has gone downhill over the years, but we wanted to give it another chance on Mother's Day. The noodles in the baked rigatoni were mushy and not al dente. I've made better pasta dishes at home. The service was spotty, and we had to wait a long time for our tiramasu. The staff seemed totally unprepared for our dessert order, and our waitress handed us the check without asking if we wanted dessert. While it was a decent meal, the quality did not match the restaurant's price point as it has in the past. We wish we could turn back time to what Buca's used to be when the menu was on a board on the wall and not a corporate laminated menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mothers day lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for family lunch. Food was superb and plenty of it. Service was excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Portions were huge and the food was quit ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Portions were huge and the food was quite tasty.

food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Chicken Marsla

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Great place for a large group. Huge portions, serve more than indicated. BEST chicken marsla in town. Wait staff that took our order was loud, no basic customer service friendliness, did her job, and only job

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service1

Service was very disappointing.

Dined on March 13, 2016

Service was very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a large group so they put us off ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a large group so they put us off in a separate room which was nice because we could hear each other talk

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fast service

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food came out very fast, faster than several other places I've dined out at. It was good. I was impressed. I always enjoy this place any time we get the chance to dine here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Since I like seafood and my wife doesn't ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Since I like seafood and my wife doesn't, we agreed on the Quattro alforne platter. This was the best Italian food I have had in a long time. Service was top notch and attentive.

food5
ambience4
service3

Great atmosphere and good food. Can be v ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great atmosphere and good food. Can be very loud and crowded.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fun experience

Dined on January 1, 2016

Bucca is always a great time for a large party or a few people. Food is always good and well prepared . Staff at this location is wonderful and accommodating. Hope someday that corporate updated the bar.. Pretty tired looking... Updating the bar might make patrons stay and have a drink afterwards. Bar is pretty run down looking . Overall its a great experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food

Dined on December 26, 2015

The food is consistently excellent. The portions are generous and we always like the family style presentation. The atmosphere is fun. So many interesting Italian themed items to look at.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1

We never ate, after waiting 1:30 and see ...

Dined on December 24, 2015

We never ate, after waiting 1:30 and seeing others that arrived after us get food we left.

food2
ambience4
service4

not worth the money

Dined on December 10, 2015

Food just wasn't as good as I remember growing up. The prices were far too high for the food quality...large portions or not. Our server was nice and attentive, however, we went around 5:30 (with a reservation), it was completely dead and they sat us in the bar. We listened to other servers yell stuff to the bartender and it was just all around rude...especially considering it was dead! Not impressed and wouldn't waste the money for Olive Garden quality.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

20 yrs of Buca

Dined on November 26, 2015

I've been going to this Buca for 20 years now and it's just as wonderful as the first day I walked in. The service is fantastic and you won't believe how good the food is. We recently went there for thanksgiving dinner and they really did it right. Traditional turkey and stuffing with cranberry sauce mixed in with their signature everyday garlic mash potatoes and green beans. What a delight. Thanks Buca!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and very friendly waitress. T ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Great food and very friendly waitress. The service was excellent.

food4
ambience4
service5

Good food with one exception

Dined on November 14, 2015

Four of us ate dinner. We ordered 3full entrees, a salad and dessert. We also ordered a bottle of wine. Everything was very good tasting. The warm bacon dressing spinach salad was especially delicious although the dressing was not warm. Wonderful bread! We had a spinach, shrimp pasta dish which was so overwhelmingly full of garlic, we could barely taste the other ingredients. We would have sent it back but were pressed for time. The pinot was very good as were the canolis. Our server Mikela (Mikki) a was excellent! We will go back but will be careful to remind the chef about use of garlic.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Traditional red sauce

Dined on October 17, 2015

Wonderful authentic family style Italian! We had amazing lasagna and meatballs as well as chicken scallopine topped off with a wonderful chianti. The extra large portions making sharing a big part of the meal. Our server was wonderful as well he even took the kids on a quick tour of the kitchen which thought was neat. All in all a wonderful evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3

Reservation confirmed but let down

Dined on October 4, 2015

I had a group of 15 (3 of them children) for a birthday celebration. I made reservations online and requested the "Pope table." I knew this was a large round table and we could all converse together. I have a voice mail confirming my reservation at the table and it was still given away to another group. We were packed into a long table where people were felt left out. The manager did take 15% off but I will not be coming back. Hostess was rude and discuss nothing to fix the issue.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

It's was good

Dined on October 4, 2015

Great place too eat. Only thing was that I had reservation but it was about fifteen minutes after I got seated. But it was packed. Other than that a very enjoyable place as two or group. Enjoyed it very much.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience2
service1

Reservations mean nothing at this restaurant.

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

We made a reservation weeks ahead of time and still had to wait 35 min. for our table after being told repeatedly that it would only be another 5 or 6 minutes. There was a mob of people waiting in the bar and small lobby area. Another party had made a reservation a month in advance for a birthday celebration and Buca's could not find their reservation at all. This place is total chaos. The food is OK but definitely not worth the hassle.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great for large groups

Dined on October 3, 2015

The waitstaff was friendly and attentive. They had no trouble accommodating our party of twenty guest. All the food was brought out at the same time, all was hot, good, and filling. It is your fault if you leave this restaurant hungry! Would recommend for large groups!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Service For Homecoming Group

Dined on October 3, 2015

Lorie put together a menu at $23 for our group, which included tip. It was perfect for our group of 16 fifteen-year-olds!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience2
service1

Not the Normal Service

Dined on October 3, 2015

While our servers were friendly, we were told when seated that they had a lot of big parties coming in around 5 pm and were getting ready for those, the TWO of us were then escorted to a six person table, passing numerous empty table for two along the way. Then, not even an hour later, nearing 5:30 pm, my friend and I had just wrapped up eating and were in the middle of good conversation and were told, politely, but firmly that we needed to get going because they had bigger parties coming in. I just think that was very unprofessional and no matter how "nicely" we were asked that it was quite rude. Especially since we had just spent over $60 on our meals and drinks combined. If the bigger party was the reason we were pushed out, then we should have been seated at a more fitting table.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Good taste, over-priced

Dined on September 13, 2015

Food is delicious. Two sodas, a small salad and pasta dish, tip = $55.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome time!

Dined on September 13, 2015

We travel 30 miles every year to celebrate my birthday at Buca. It is a special tradition for us. We love the food and the service is great. The fact that we can have several different items to share instead of making only 1 choice is an added bonus. The atmosphere is friendly, like being in your own dining room.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1

POOR SERVICE

Dined on September 13, 2015

We had to ask for silverware-got the appetizer and no way to eat it. We had to ask for bread. We had to ask for the oil and balsamic to dip the bread in once it came, the waitress forgot. Had asked at time of ordering the appetizer for butter for the bread, needed to ask again. I have an issue with the carafe's of Sangria. I'm paying for Sangria not ice. The bartenders fill the containers so full of ice you get very little sangria. We go to Buca's a lot for family celebrations. We spend alot. I expect better service and value when we go for the amount we are being charged..

food2
ambience3
service3

Disappointed with the food

Dined on September 12, 2015

The food wasn't good, as I remembered from my past experiences (although it has been a couple years since, at this location). We ordered calamari (not good), garlic bread (good), Caesar salad (fine), baked ziti added chicken (not good).

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

Love Bucca's, food, service, atmosphere ...

Dined on July 28, 2015

Love Bucca's, food, service, atmosphere always great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

The only thing better than the food was ...

Dined on July 25, 2015

The only thing better than the food was the service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We eight had an outstanding time. Jimmy ...

Dined on June 27, 2015

We eight had an outstanding time. Jimmy our server was fantastic!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints

Dined on June 21, 2015

Although this is a chain, it doesn't feel like one. We love the family atmosphere, all the old photos everywhere, the revolving pope on the long table. But the best part is the food. The apple Gorgonzola salad is my favorite and the meatballs are the best you'll ever taste. You can't go wrong with any choice on the menu and the servings are huge; no one leaves without a doggie bag.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

good food good folks good fun

Dined on June 14, 2015

We celebrated my grandson's graduation from high school. Our group included all age groups. The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. The food was DELICIOUS. The FAMILY style service made it possible for everyone to make choices about what they ate. I also appreciated the pre-visit information I received.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service3

The main attraction is the family atmosphere

Dined on June 13, 2015

I will start by saying I have been going to a Buca di Beppo in a variety of cities since they first opened. The atmosphere is the only reason I return, its nice in our insular society to have so many lively groups of people sitting together, laughing and having a good time. Notice I did not say enjoying a good meal, the food has gone downhill. Our Fettuccine Alfredo pasta was overcooked and tasteless, as was the Shrimp Florentine. The bruschetta was served in an oversized plastic martini glass, with the toast wedges sticking out and one had to scoop the tomato mix on the toast, it was very awkward. The salad was ok but could have been more fresh. The Lemon Chicken was the only thing somewhat palatable (besides the spagetti) but even that was a little tough and chewy though it had good flavor. I can only give Kudos to the spaghetti with meatballs and the garlic bread.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Fast,Friendly,Fantastic

Dined on May 28, 2015

This was my first time dining here. I went with a co-worker for lunch on a Thursday at 1 pm. The was no wait, we were seated immediately. Our server was very friendly and answered all of our questions with enthusiasm and knowledge. Our food only took about 6 minutes to arrive- (Very Fast) and was absolutely delicious. I had the Shrimp Florentine with Mozzarella Garlic bread and my co-worker ordered the Shrimp Fra Diavolo ...both dishes arrived looking very delicious and smelled fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Post Proposal Dinner

Dined on May 23, 2015

We went there with a large group after proposing to my now fiancee, and everything worked out great! I called them ahead of time with what food I would like ordered, and they were very accomdating to splitting the bill and having different drink tabs open. Great experience and the food was fantastic! One dish that stood out to a lot of people was the Spicy Chicken Rigatoni! Really really good!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for graduation

Dined on May 17, 2015

They went out of their way to make our graduation party comfortable! We had a blast and the food was amazing!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Fun restaurant for special occasion or large group

Dined on May 16, 2015

This is not a place for a romantic dinner date. Louder than average and many large groups. Food was delicious and service was impeccable though and would recommend visiting if looking for a fun place to celebrate a special day or to enjoy a dinner with a large group of family or friends. Reservations are a must! Wish the bar area was a bit larger though. Very crowded.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday date with the Wife

Dined on May 15, 2015

My wife and I were celebrating her birthday and she had never been to Buca Di Bepo before so I felt this was the perfect opportunity to introduce her to your food. As I thought, she was not disappointed and we will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The people at this resturant are always ...

Dined on May 10, 2015

The people at this resturant are always extremely helpful and friendly. Love going to this establishment!! Food is awesome!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.