About Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee

1233 North Van Buren Street
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
East Juneau Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 224-8672

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Free self parking in public lot. After 5:30 p.m. additional parking is available in the Jewish Community Center parking lot north of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MCTS bus stop at Van Buren and Juneau.

Executive Chef:
Sal Fontanazza

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI
Birthday Cupcake - Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
See All
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Cozy (1)
Casual (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
637 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Worst meal we have had in a long time. M ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Worst meal we have had in a long time. My two daughters and I went for a causal meal and it was terrible service, terrible food never giving that chain another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Good for big groups. Very friendly for k ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Good for big groups. Very friendly for kids. Food is standard Italian, nothing special.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Good food and service

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service. Wonderful food will ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Outstanding service. Wonderful food will go again with family and friends

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were out of most alcohol. Server wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

They were out of most alcohol. Server was unaware of what they had in stock. Forgot salad and tried to blame another server on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Good food, friendly/prompt service. Goo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good food, friendly/prompt service. Good variety of Italian food and beverages.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good meatballs. Cheese bread was tasted ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good meatballs. Cheese bread was tasted and smelled like burnt plastic. Server could have been more helpful in recommending dishes and portions. Way too much food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The food was delicious as always. We ord ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was delicious as always. We ordered the chicken procuitto with pesto sauce, Bolognese, garlic bread, fried mozzarella, and chocolate cake. We had great service. My favorites are chicken parmesan and chicken marsala.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Huge portions and their house chianti wi ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Huge portions and their house chianti wine is the best wine I've had. I wouldn't say that I'm a wine connoisseur, but I do know a reasonable amount about wine and drink a lot of it. Hands down, if I could only drink one wine for the rest of my life, it would be their house Chianti.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the place yes pricey but for a big ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Love the place yes pricey but for a big group it's a great time and very easy to order.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Buca is lively, fun, and has great food.

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Buca is a fun place to visit, with great food for those who enjoy Italian cuisine, especially the traditional specialties. There salads are extra delicious and the family-style servings are great for groups of three or more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Gone downhill, not what it used to be

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been coming to Buca's for 18 years since we moved to Milwaukee and it's not the restaurant it use to be. The quality of food and service has gone downhill over the years, but we wanted to give it another chance on Mother's Day. The noodles in the baked rigatoni were mushy and not al dente. I've made better pasta dishes at home. The service was spotty, and we had to wait a long time for our tiramasu. The staff seemed totally unprepared for our dessert order, and our waitress handed us the check without asking if we wanted dessert. While it was a decent meal, the quality did not match the restaurant's price point as it has in the past. We wish we could turn back time to what Buca's used to be when the menu was on a board on the wall and not a corporate laminated menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Mothers day lunch

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for family lunch. Food was superb and plenty of it. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Portions were huge and the food was quit ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Portions were huge and the food was quite tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Chicken Marsla

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Great place for a large group. Huge portions, serve more than indicated. BEST chicken marsla in town. Wait staff that took our order was loud, no basic customer service friendliness, did her job, and only job

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Service was very disappointing.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Service was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

We had a large group so they put us off ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a large group so they put us off in a separate room which was nice because we could hear each other talk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fast service

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food came out very fast, faster than several other places I've dined out at. It was good. I was impressed. I always enjoy this place any time we get the chance to dine here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Since I like seafood and my wife doesn't ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Since I like seafood and my wife doesn't, we agreed on the Quattro alforne platter.

This was the best Italian food I have had in a long time.

Service was top notch and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and good food. Can be v ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Great atmosphere and good food. Can be very loud and crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Fun experience

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Bucca is always a great time for a large party or a few people. Food is always good and well prepared . Staff at this location is wonderful and accommodating. Hope someday that corporate updated the bar.. Pretty tired looking... Updating the bar might make patrons stay and have a drink afterwards. Bar is pretty run down looking . Overall its a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent Food

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 26, 2015

The food is consistently excellent. The portions are generous and we always like the family style presentation. The atmosphere is fun. So many interesting Italian themed items to look at.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We never ate, after waiting 1:30 and see ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2015

We never ate, after waiting 1:30 and seeing others that arrived after us get food we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

not worth the money

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2015

Food just wasn't as good as I remember growing up. The prices were far too high for the food quality...large portions or not.

Our server was nice and attentive, however, we went around 5:30 (with a reservation), it was completely dead and they sat us in the bar. We listened to other servers yell stuff to the bartender and it was just all around rude...especially considering it was dead!

Not impressed and wouldn't waste the money for Olive Garden quality.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

20 yrs of Buca

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2015

I've been going to this Buca for 20 years now and it's just as wonderful as the first day I walked in. The service is fantastic and you won't believe how good the food is.

We recently went there for thanksgiving dinner and they really did it right. Traditional turkey and stuffing with cranberry sauce mixed in with their signature everyday garlic mash potatoes and green beans. What a delight. Thanks Buca!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and very friendly waitress. T ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Great food and very friendly waitress.

The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food with one exception

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 14, 2015

Four of us ate dinner. We ordered 3full entrees, a salad and dessert. We also ordered a bottle of wine. Everything was very good tasting. The warm bacon dressing spinach salad was especially delicious although the dressing was not warm. Wonderful bread! We had a spinach, shrimp pasta dish which was so overwhelmingly full of garlic, we could barely taste the other ingredients. We would have sent it back but were pressed for time. The pinot was very good as were the canolis. Our server Mikela (Mikki) a was excellent! We will go back but will be careful to remind the chef about use of garlic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Traditional red sauce

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2015

Wonderful authentic family style Italian! We had amazing lasagna and meatballs as well as chicken scallopine topped off with a wonderful chianti. The extra large portions making sharing a big part of the meal. Our server was wonderful as well he even took the kids on a quick tour of the kitchen which thought was neat. All in all a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reservation confirmed but let down

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 4, 2015

I had a group of 15 (3 of them children) for a birthday celebration. I made reservations online and requested the "Pope table." I knew this was a large round table and we could all converse together. I have a voice mail confirming my reservation at the table and it was still given away to another group. We were packed into a long table where people were felt left out. The manager did take 15% off but I will not be coming back. Hostess was rude and discuss nothing to fix the issue.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

It's was good

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 4, 2015

Great place too eat. Only thing was that I had reservation but it was about fifteen minutes after I got seated. But it was packed. Other than that a very enjoyable place as two or group. Enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reservations mean nothing at this restaurant.

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 3, 2015

We made a reservation weeks ahead of time and still had to wait 35 min. for our table after being told repeatedly that it would only be another 5 or 6 minutes. There was a mob of people waiting in the bar and small lobby area. Another party had made a reservation a month in advance for a birthday celebration and Buca's could not find their reservation at all. This place is total chaos. The food is OK but definitely not worth the hassle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Great for large groups

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2015

The waitstaff was friendly and attentive. They had no trouble accommodating our party of twenty guest. All the food was brought out at the same time, all was hot, good, and filling. It is your fault if you leave this restaurant hungry! Would recommend for large groups!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Service For Homecoming Group

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 3, 2015

Lorie put together a menu at $23 for our group, which included tip. It was perfect for our group of 16 fifteen-year-olds!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not the Normal Service

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 3, 2015

While our servers were friendly, we were told when seated that they had a lot of big parties coming in around 5 pm and were getting ready for those, the TWO of us were then escorted to a six person table, passing numerous empty table for two along the way. Then, not even an hour later, nearing 5:30 pm, my friend and I had just wrapped up eating and were in the middle of good conversation and were told, politely, but firmly that we needed to get going because they had bigger parties coming in. I just think that was very unprofessional and no matter how "nicely" we were asked that it was quite rude. Especially since we had just spent over $60 on our meals and drinks combined. If the bigger party was the reason we were pushed out, then we should have been seated at a more fitting table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Good taste, over-priced

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 13, 2015

Food is delicious. Two sodas, a small salad and pasta dish, tip = $55.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Awesome time!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 13, 2015

We travel 30 miles every year to celebrate my birthday at Buca. It is a special tradition for us. We love the food and the service is great. The fact that we can have several different items to share instead of making only 1 choice is an added bonus. The atmosphere is friendly, like being in your own dining room.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

POOR SERVICE

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 13, 2015

We had to ask for silverware-got the appetizer and no way to eat it. We had to ask for bread. We had to ask for the oil and balsamic to dip the bread in once it came, the waitress forgot. Had asked at time of ordering the appetizer for butter for the bread, needed to ask again. I have an issue with the carafe's of Sangria. I'm paying for Sangria not ice. The bartenders fill the containers so full of ice you get very little sangria. We go to Buca's a lot for family celebrations. We spend alot. I expect better service and value when we go for the amount we are being charged..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Disappointed with the food

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 12, 2015

The food wasn't good, as I remembered from my past experiences (although it has been a couple years since, at this location). We ordered calamari (not good), garlic bread (good), Caesar salad (fine), baked ziti added chicken (not good).

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Love Bucca's, food, service, atmosphere ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 28, 2015

Love Bucca's, food, service, atmosphere always great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The only thing better than the food was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 25, 2015

The only thing better than the food was the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.