About Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee

1233 North Van Buren Street
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
East Juneau Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 224-8672

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Free self parking in public lot. After 5:30 p.m. additional parking is available in the Jewish Community Center parking lot north of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MCTS bus stop at Van Buren and Juneau.

Executive Chef:
Sal Fontanazza

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Bring your sweetie to Buca di Beppo for Valentine’s Day. If you haven’t made your reservation yet, make it today!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Milwaukee Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Casual (7)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Vegan (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been coming to Buca's for 20+ ye ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have been coming to Buca's for 20+ years and had always had a great experience. We threw a 60th birthday party there 10 years ago and everyone loved it. This was the first time back to this location in about 5 years. Based on our experience we would not recommend going there to anyone and we will not return. I booked a reservation for 9 at 6:45. We were sat a little late because of having to get our table ready. When we were finally seated the table was only set for 8 so I had to flag someone down for another chair. We sat and waited and waited. For 40 minutes no one approached our table. Not even for a drink order. At 45 minutes the waitress came and introduced herself. She started off by saying how she was exhausted and sweaty..not the greeting we were expecting. Her shirt was gaping open around her mid section and you could see her belly hanging out. She was also in desperate need of a shower or deodarant. We almost fell over from her odor when she reached for the menus. She took our drink and food orders. Only half the drinks made it to the table. We had to flag down a different waiter for the rest. When we finally received our food, the fettuccine alfredo was so dry no one would eat it. The same with the baked ziti. No one ever came back to check on how things were. The food quality was no where near what it used to be and we were embarrassed we invited our daughter's in laws to come there. It was my daughter's birthday which I let them know when I made the reservation. I also told the waitress when she came to the table. I had to remind her again when she brought us containers to pack up leftovers. I honestly don't think she remembered. The staff came and sang minus the candelabra.. which was a little disappointing. Buca's is definitely not what we remember it to be and I can honestly say we won't be back or recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Inattentive and poor service. Absent mi ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Inattentive and poor service. Absent minded waitress and an extended wait for food. Manager comped most of the cost when he learned that we ate there quite often and never had this experience before.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

New Years celebration

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was excellent as always, but se ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was excellent as always, but service was so slow. With a party of 6 arriving at 5:15 pm, we didn't leave till 7:30 pm. Our waitress had too many tables, it took 30 minutes for her to have our bill corrected twice. And since when does a restaurant not have it signature drink available during the holiday season?!?!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We're seated 20late. Plenty of tables, ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

We're seated 20late. Plenty of tables, but understaffed. Waitress couldn't keep up with her workload. She forgot to bring out one entree but didn't go get when told. She had way too many tables. I don't understand how they couldn't staff correctly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

We made an early reservation for 10 to b ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

We made an early reservation for 10 to beat any dinner time rush. Did not work. The parking lot was > 1/2 empty, so they were not busy. Hostess was clueless. Waited 20+ minutes to be seated. Waited for a waitress. Waited 30 minutes to have water glass refilled. Waited 50 minutes from time food ordered to when it arrived. From time of arrival to time food served = 90+ minutes and we had little kids. Out of certain foods (green beans) and drinks. Really? No offer to comp any portion of meal. No free bread while waiting and waiting. No manager apology. Was meant to be a special meal w/ the fam for the holidays and turned out to be a big, big bust. Won't be back anytime soon, if ever. Very, very, very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Despite the friendly service and generou ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Despite the friendly service and generously comping part of our meal our waiter could not overcome errors by the kitchen incorrectly making the salad, delays in receiving all courses and a general lack of staffing to cover the holiday rush. Too bad as the food was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

We did not feel like cooking Christmas d ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

We did not feel like cooking Christmas dinner this year so our family of 11 set out to find something open. We had an amazing family style dinner to celebrate the holiday with wonderful service and ambiance!! We will definitely be going back... and when they tell you a serving size serves 2 or more... believe them 😉

Tags: , Good for a Date, Authentic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came to Buca's last year on Christmas ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

I came to Buca's last year on Christmas Eve and waited over 2 hours for a table. They were out of some things on the menu which was disappointing but the quality of the food was good. This year I called ahead to make sure that reservations would not be handled like last year. We were seated right away however we were rushed from beginning to end and the food quality was extremely poor. We had to ask for bread several times and were not given it until after our appetizers were served. The quality of ingredients in the salad was poor and not fresh and our pasta dish was lacking flavor. Everything including the meal preparation felt rushed. We will not be back. I was extremely disappointed in the quality of food. I have always loved Buca's but feel it now has gone down hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Christmas Eve dinner with our adult kids ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner with our adult kids and their date/fiance. Fun atmosphere with family style comfort food. Staff was friendly with many well wishes for Christmas:)

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation but still had to wa ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a reservation but still had to wait 30 minutes for our table, then another 10 minutes for a server. We had tickets to a show and the delays made the whole meal stressful.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The food is always fantastic and the po ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food is always fantastic and the portions are huge. My fave is the Chicken Carbanara! Wait staff friendly and attentive. We were a group of 8, celebrating a birthday. The Colossal Brownie Sundae is awesome and everyone had some! The wait staff all sang and it was a lot of fun!

One of our favorite places!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been several years since we have ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

It has been several years since we have been at Buca's. We used to love their Veal Marsala. We ordered it this time and the veal was very tough and not tender.

Our server did an excellent job, very attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Worst meal we have had in a long time. M ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Worst meal we have had in a long time. My two daughters and I went for a causal meal and it was terrible service, terrible food never giving that chain another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Thanksgiving

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good for big groups. Very friendly for k ...

 
·Dined on November 14, 2016

Good for big groups. Very friendly for kids. Food is standard Italian, nothing special.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Good food and service

 
·Dined on November 9, 2016

Good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service. Wonderful food will ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

Outstanding service. Wonderful food will go again with family and friends

Tags: , Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were out of most alcohol. Server wa ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

They were out of most alcohol. Server was unaware of what they had in stock. Forgot salad and tried to blame another server on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Good food, friendly/prompt service. Goo ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good food, friendly/prompt service. Good variety of Italian food and beverages.

Tags: , Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good meatballs. Cheese bread was tasted ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good meatballs. Cheese bread was tasted and smelled like burnt plastic. Server could have been more helpful in recommending dishes and portions. Way too much food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The food was delicious as always. We ord ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was delicious as always. We ordered the chicken procuitto with pesto sauce, Bolognese, garlic bread, fried mozzarella, and chocolate cake. We had great service. My favorites are chicken parmesan and chicken marsala.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Huge portions and their house chianti wi ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Huge portions and their house chianti wine is the best wine I've had. I wouldn't say that I'm a wine connoisseur, but I do know a reasonable amount about wine and drink a lot of it. Hands down, if I could only drink one wine for the rest of my life, it would be their house Chianti.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the place yes pricey but for a big ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Love the place yes pricey but for a big group it's a great time and very easy to order.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Buca is lively, fun, and has great food.

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Buca is a fun place to visit, with great food for those who enjoy Italian cuisine, especially the traditional specialties. There salads are extra delicious and the family-style servings are great for groups of three or more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Gone downhill, not what it used to be

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been coming to Buca's for 18 years since we moved to Milwaukee and it's not the restaurant it use to be. The quality of food and service has gone downhill over the years, but we wanted to give it another chance on Mother's Day. The noodles in the baked rigatoni were mushy and not al dente. I've made better pasta dishes at home. The service was spotty, and we had to wait a long time for our tiramasu. The staff seemed totally unprepared for our dessert order, and our waitress handed us the check without asking if we wanted dessert. While it was a decent meal, the quality did not match the restaurant's price point as it has in the past. We wish we could turn back time to what Buca's used to be when the menu was on a board on the wall and not a corporate laminated menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Mothers day lunch

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for family lunch. Food was superb and plenty of it. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Portions were huge and the food was quit ...

 
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Portions were huge and the food was quite tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Chicken Marsla

 
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Great place for a large group. Huge portions, serve more than indicated. BEST chicken marsla in town. Wait staff that took our order was loud, no basic customer service friendliness, did her job, and only job

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Service was very disappointing.

 
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Service was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

We had a large group so they put us off ...

 
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a large group so they put us off in a separate room which was nice because we could hear each other talk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fast service

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food came out very fast, faster than several other places I've dined out at. It was good. I was impressed. I always enjoy this place any time we get the chance to dine here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Since I like seafood and my wife doesn't ...

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Since I like seafood and my wife doesn't, we agreed on the Quattro alforne platter.

This was the best Italian food I have had in a long time.

Service was top notch and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and good food. Can be v ...

 
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Great atmosphere and good food. Can be very loud and crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Fun experience

 
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Bucca is always a great time for a large party or a few people. Food is always good and well prepared . Staff at this location is wonderful and accommodating. Hope someday that corporate updated the bar.. Pretty tired looking... Updating the bar might make patrons stay and have a drink afterwards. Bar is pretty run down looking . Overall its a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent Food

 
·Dined on December 26, 2015

The food is consistently excellent. The portions are generous and we always like the family style presentation. The atmosphere is fun. So many interesting Italian themed items to look at.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We never ate, after waiting 1:30 and see ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2015

We never ate, after waiting 1:30 and seeing others that arrived after us get food we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

not worth the money

 
·Dined on December 10, 2015

Food just wasn't as good as I remember growing up. The prices were far too high for the food quality...large portions or not.

Our server was nice and attentive, however, we went around 5:30 (with a reservation), it was completely dead and they sat us in the bar. We listened to other servers yell stuff to the bartender and it was just all around rude...especially considering it was dead!

Not impressed and wouldn't waste the money for Olive Garden quality.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

20 yrs of Buca

 
·Dined on November 26, 2015

I've been going to this Buca for 20 years now and it's just as wonderful as the first day I walked in. The service is fantastic and you won't believe how good the food is.

We recently went there for thanksgiving dinner and they really did it right. Traditional turkey and stuffing with cranberry sauce mixed in with their signature everyday garlic mash potatoes and green beans. What a delight. Thanks Buca!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and very friendly waitress. T ...

 
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Great food and very friendly waitress.

The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.