About Buca di Beppo - Maple Grove

12650 Elm Creek Boulevard
Maple Grove, MN 55369
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(763) 494-3466

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking available in public lot.

Public Transit:
Metro bus service - Maple Grove stop.

Executive Chef:
Carlos Molina

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Maple Grove Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Best Restaurants in Maple Grove ›

good for groups (17)
kid-friendly (16)
special occasion (12)
See All
great for lunch (8)
neighborhood gem (5)
romantic (4)
fit for foodies (4)
great for brunch (2)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buca always meets the need - fun dining, ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Buca always meets the need - fun dining, good conversation, good food, friendly service, yes to all of the above. Great place for nice and informal discussions over a meal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

I brought my fiance here for mother's da ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I brought my fiance here for mother's day, should have read more into the reviews, they were right. At first when sitting down, the seats had large rips in them that appeared to have been there a long time. All of the walls were completely covered with pictures, art and stickers, several of which were broken, ripped or damaged. It was seemingly overwhelming and overcrowded. Tables and chairs were very close together. House bread brought out was very plain and the olive oil wasn't anything special to dip it in. Ordered fried mozzarella for a side, which appeared very well however after biting into the mozzarella it tasted like plastic and it even looked like plastic on the inside. The marinara sauce was very watered down and had absolutely no flavor. We then ordered the baked ziti to eat, which we were warned the plate was very hot as they baked it on the plate. First looks the dish appeared terrible, the entire top was very dry and appeared to be re-heated. After taking a few bites, there was very little flavor. The entire bottom of the dish was nothing but liquid and overall was terrible. At this point we stopped even attempting to eat and asked for the check. The waiter was very nice and understanding; however will not ever return to this restaurant again. Completely ruined mother's day for us and had to suffer and eat fast food instead, as most places were too booked for last minute appointments.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

happy customer

Dined on May 6, 2016

My family came in to buca in Maple grove for the first time on Friday evening. I changed the reservation 3 different times and they did not seem to mind! We loved how friendly everyone was and almost all of the food we ordered was delicious. None of us were fans of the chicken filled cannelloni (I believe that was the name of the dish). However; the rest of the food was better than we could remember at other locations and very tasty! We also enjoyed the fact that we did not have to wait long for food and drinks. We will for sure be back at the maple grove location again! other locations did not compare in food quality or atmosphere in my opinion (saint Paul and Burnsville). Although it has been a year or so since I've been to the Burnsville location, as well as the saint Paul location.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

We love Buca, especially the Chicken Marsala and the salad. They've changed their standard salad from years ago when it was more of an antipasti, but it is still great. Chicken Marsala is our favorite. Celebrated an engagement. Took home lots of leftovers for the happy couple.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service4

Food was great

Dined on April 1, 2016

Food was great

food5
ambience4
service4

Buca is always great! Loved it!

Dined on March 22, 2016

Buca is always great! Loved it!

food2
ambience4
service2

A long wait for our food. I usually love ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

A long wait for our food. I usually love the eggplant Parmesan but this time it was overdone, too salty and not nearly as flavorful as usual. Maybe just an off night for my usually good dining spot

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Still Like It

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Had a problem at lunch with my daughter but after showing the mess that was delivered to me the server took it back and gave me something else that was up to Buca's usual fine standards.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Wine was Good. Service ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Food was good. Wine was Good. Service was good. I wiill be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3

Food was ok at best... Not great. Everyt ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was ok at best... Not great. Everything was kind of bland- maybe it was our selections. Service was good.

food2
ambience2
service1

Not worth it.

Dined on March 5, 2016

Not worth it.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun place to dine with a group!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Good food, great service, family sized entrees, fun atmosphere. Some sides have heavy dose of garlic.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A Golden Birthday Celebration

Dined on February 17, 2016

The staff was welcoming and in honor of it being our teen daughter's golden birthday they even took her on a tour of the kitchen before seating us! She had great fun with the birthday sign and we all had a delightful time. The only fallback was we didn't receive enough plates and it took awhile for us to track down someone to get us another one.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service5

Service was excellent Very knowledgable ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Service was excellent Very knowledgable staff Food was blah Had 4 different pastas All tastes the same

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Service was great. It wa ...

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

Food was great. Service was great. It was not crowded.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Not great service by any means.

Dined on January 30, 2016

We had a group of 20. 6 kids under 5 years old and 14 adults. The restaurant gave us 1 server. 1! For the 20 of us! Most were ordering alcohol and kids needed refills. It was extremely annoying. He wasn't perceptive to what anyone needed refilled because other people were wanting different drinks and apps and he was running around like a chicken without a head. I can't understand why we couldn't have at least one more server added to our table. It would have eliminated stress, confusion, and made us much more satisfied.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3

Food is excellent, very crowded.

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Food is excellent, very crowded.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good stop at Buca!

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

Went for National Spaghetti Day and had a great time. Good wait staff and service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Very disappointing experience

Dined on January 2, 2016

We were seated quickly since we had a reservation. Service was initially good but went downhill. We ordered a pizza, the shrimp diavolo and broccoli side. The pizza arrived cold and the shrimp was too spicy for our taste. The menu said the broccoli came with a "light touch of crushed red pepper" and since we like a bit of spice, we thought it would be fine. The broccoli had VERY heavy red pepper. I guess it was our fault for not asking about the pepper level so we asked for a glass of milk along with asking for the pizza to get reheated. After 15 minutes, we flagged down someone to bring the the milk and pizza. The pizza came back lukewarm and the pasta was now cold as well. The server never came back and we got the bill from someone else. We used to enjoy Buca but won't be back. Too many alternative dining options to risk another bad experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had the pope at our table, and he ove ...

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

We had the pope at our table, and he oversaw some delicious appetizers, meals, and dessert. Has a semi private room which was great for our birthday party. Service was excellent.

food2
ambience4
service2

In all fairness, it was Christmas Day ev ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

In all fairness, it was Christmas Day evening, I'm not sure if they were understaffed or busier than they thought they would be. We certainly will go back but it's not the same Buca it was 10 years ago... Food has declined tremendously. Lead Hostess

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Always a great place to eat with any size group.

Dined on December 25, 2015

We've been to Buca many times...as a couple or with a group. We have even met after a family funeral...So everyone was able to have a meal together and talk over all the old memories! Service has ways been good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was nice not to have to cook on Chris ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

It was nice not to have to cook on Christmas eve and we had left overs for later

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Poorly executed holiday

Dined on December 24, 2015

Tough night as it was a holiday, but the appetizer was cold upon arrival, one of our main courses was completely forgotten, then when brought after 15 minutes of service the rest of the group was the wrong entree and also was cold. It was just really not good, and I won't return.

food4
ambience5
service5

meeting with friends

Dined on November 29, 2015

Had a great time. Lots of things to observe like posters, pictures, etc.. Good food, but ordered too much with the large servings. Would go again, no question.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service4

Thanksgiving Menu

Dined on November 26, 2015

The service and food was good however, we were disappointed that we had to pay extra for an additional bowl of potatoes and stuffing. The portions were too small for a family of 6 with the exception of the cranberries, gravy and green beans. The price we were charged didn't support the amount of food provided. I will not recommend Buca's Thanksgiving menu in the future.

food4
ambience2
service1

Good food marred by sustandard operations/service

Dined on November 21, 2015

We've been to the Maple Grove and downtown Mpls Buca locations several times, so have a good idea of what to expect. While the food, especially the Apple Gorgonzola salad, was very good (the salad alone is worth the visit), our visit was marred by issues with the server, which we chalked up more to systemic operations/training issues at this location (i.e. a mgt/leadership issue), than to the server herself. Frankly, our waitress shouldn't have been out on the dining floor without being better trained. Among the issues we experienced: Buca was out of their house red wine (incredible...on a Friday night!...at an Italian restaurant!), so we ordered an alternate, which didn't arrive until after the entree was served, and after we had to ask for it again. Then, when the bill came, we were charged for a higher-priced wine...it turned out we had been brought the wrong red wine. Bread was promised when we ordered our entrees, but was never delivered. Water glasses were never re-filled. And the bill, even after being charged for the wrong wine, came back wrong again, requiring an add'l 20-minute wait to be corrected. Unless this particular Buca can pull its act together, there are too many other Maple Grove dining options to visit this particular Buca location.

food4
ambience5
service4

Food was good but meat portion seems to ...

vip
Dined on November 19, 2015

Food was good but meat portion seems to be getting smaller. server could have been more attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday weekend get-away

Dined on November 6, 2015

We enjoyed my husbands birthday weekend starting off with a great room at Staybridge and a very delicious dinner at Bucca Di Beppo. This was my husbands first visit and first time having veal which he really enjoyed. I like the family dinner concept. You get a lot of food so we were able to take home a full helping and split it the next day. The atmosphere is one of my favorites of old Italian family feel. Cozy, warm and inviting. Our waitress was a doll. She was so very polite and helpful and checked on us often. The food was flavorful, hot and just right. The wine was just as good. Nice selection. He likes red dry and I like a sweet crisp wine. Thank you for a wonderful evening and start to a great weekend birthday celebration

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service3

Had not been to Buca in quite some time ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

Had not been to Buca in quite some time and not certain we would revisit. It was Halloween and maybe that's why it was not very busy. We got seated in the bar which was ok and got seated in the booth that would require one person to look at the wall - even though there were other booths open...so we requested to move. The wait staff was attentive and provided good service. The food was good but not great and it seems like the prices certainly have gone up. It's a tough location with alot of other restaurants to choose from -perhaps that why it seemed business was slow.

food5
ambience3
service4

Energetic Evening of Italian

Dined on October 25, 2015

Buca is bustling and still has an energy about it. I had not been to Buca for quite some time, but Mom in town really wanted to try it out. Service was very good. Hostess was a bit green and not as welcoming as the wait staff was. They handled a shortage on mashed potatoes well - we will get some next time!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

always great food and friendly service � ...

Dined on October 19, 2015

always great food and friendly service 👍🏼👍🏼

food5
ambience5
service5

Buca di Beppo in MG always a good choice for us

Dined on October 17, 2015

Once again, we enjoyed a good meal and pleasant atmosphere at BdB in MG. So much to choose from, great wait staff and delicious, generous portions.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Celebration

Dined on October 16, 2015

Buca's was a great place to bring our party of 16 people for a 50th Wedding Anniversary dinner. We had the Pope room, which was a lot of fun and easy to visit, yet have lots of energy in the rooms around us. The wait staff was excellent. They were fun, light hearted and made everyone at the table feel special. Some of the best service I've had anywhere!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

First time there

Dined on October 11, 2015

My family and I have never been here before. We found a coupon and decided to try it. The food was outstanding!!! The staff was great and were helpful when we said it was our first time. The only downside was a table next to us had a crying 8 year old and they wouldn't take him out of the dinning area. His screaming ruined part of our time there and the staff did not ask the family to control their child. The mozzarella bread was great. We almost ordered a second basket. We ordered two small dinners to share among us four. We had almost no leftovers. And we did something we never do at any restaurant, we ordered dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

LOUD, but good grub

Dined on October 2, 2015

As you may already know, the food is served family-style, so best for larger groups. We've been to this location before and had good experiences, but this time we were in a different alcove and it was unbearably noisy. The wait staff were friendly and all, but not the most intuitive in terms of when it might be okay to "check in" (i.e., interrupt). Between the noise and the interruptions, I was a little on edge the whole time. Overall, I would still recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to bring a big group, but next time I think I'll insist on a table in a more open area to reduce noise.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on September 22, 2015

We stopped in at about 5:30 on a weeknight. Not crowded at all. Our servers were all very attantive and helpful. The food was excellent and atmosphere cozy. I'd been thinking about their calamari & spaghetti with meatballs for weeks & they didn't disappoint. If I had one wish it would be that a side salad were included with entree's. (Instead of ala carte pricing.)

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Amount of food

vip
Dined on September 22, 2015

We ordered 2 small dishes and an appetizer and it was plenty of food for 3 people. You get bread to start so the small sized portions were fine. Go here if it's your birthday - the free sundae you get is enormous - enough for 4+ people!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place. My favorite Italian cantin ...

Dined on September 20, 2015

Great place. My favorite Italian cantina in the area.

food5
ambience5
service4

The food was amazing! When we arrived th ...

Dined on September 18, 2015

The food was amazing! When we arrived they asked if we'd been there before and when we said no, they walked us through the kitchen and gave us a brief tour! The kids loved it! Our server was friendly and seemed genuinely happy to serve us. Overall great experience!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.