About Buca di Beppo - Kansas City

310 West 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Near Wyandotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6548

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Parking Details:
Free public parking. Wheelchair accessibility is available from rear of the parking garage.

Public Transit:
The Max bus stop - 47th and Wyandotte stop.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Smith

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Baked Rigatoni - Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

Good for Groups (8)
Fun (6)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Family Style (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Casual (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Authentic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent. Our seating was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent. Our seating was in very close quarters. We were a large party seated next to another large party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food great. Service not so much. Reserv ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Food great. Service not so much. Reservations at 6:00 - not seated until almost 7:00. Comped 2 appetizers for us. Waitperson not real attentive. Was very chaotic. Waitperson forgot to bring 2 sides. Comped those for us also. Will come back but not for special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We arrived 5 minutes early for our reser ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

We arrived 5 minutes early for our reservation and there were only a few other people when we arrived but it took 15-20 minutes waiting with two very exhausted little girls who were growing very restless. We waited probably 10 minutes after being seated for our server who took our drink order but didn't return for over 20 minutes (he apologized and said he had to clock out of serving and clock in as bartender and that caused the delay). Our food order didn't take as long as our drinks but we had to flag down another server to request Parmesan cheese and some extra sauce. We all enjoyed our drinks and meal and our server was very friendly. We booked an early reservation to beat the holiday Plaza dinner rush but the staff seemed a bit off their game even with early arrivals. It's not the server's fault when they are asked to perform two roles during their shift and he did it with a smile on his face but management should beef up the bar and waitstaff for holiday weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Made reservations several weeks ahead, c ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Made reservations several weeks ahead, called to let them know we would be a few minutes late and they were rude. Arrived 10 min late as stated and had to wait 25 min to be sat. Restaurant was very open and we were seated 8 people in a small booth when they had tables and chairs open, denying our request to be relocated. Waiter was nice however when he had gotten our order the appetizer came out then immediately afterwards came our salad and dinner, we stated we just got out appetizers and the server of food was very rude and left with the food returning in 2 minutes and left it on the table when we were still trying to finish apps/salad. Waters/soda went empty having to request several times to refill. Overall service horrible but the food was good. I think though just the whole experience was disappointing. We had 2 birthdays and they sang happy birthday to 2 tables down from us and said that was the happy birthday they did not bring the candle or personalize anything. Very disappointed to many great places to eat to be treated like that.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Check in was not the best and we weren't ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Check in was not the best and we weren't seated until 30 minutes after our reservation time. Food and the service at the table was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Mozerella bread had way too much garlic. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Mozerella bread had way too much garlic. Sent it back and replacement was just as bad. Salad was good. Lasagna was very bland. Server was good about replacing breadsticks but not overly friendly. Never got a refil on water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We love this place! The food is great a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love this place! The food is great and we love the layout! Great place, great food, great wine, great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have a big family? Then family style he ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Have a big family? Then family style here will serve all your needs. (And you'll have some left over!) We make it a tradition to gather after shopping Black Friday on the Kansas City Plaza to meet here for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and huge portions. Come hungr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food and huge portions. Come hungry! Good for big groups and families.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Food was good an ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was good and servings plentiful. Only negative was the the veal dish was a little tough. We probably won't order that again. The mussels marina was excellent and we will definitely have that again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The waiter that we had was great. Great ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The waiter that we had was great. Great food and ambiance. The restaurant is a maze but the food makes it worth it.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The meatballs are nasty. They taste lik ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The meatballs are nasty. They taste like they came out of a can. The tomato sauce that came with the meatballs is not good my daughter would not even eat the noodle that had the sauce on it. I thought it was over priced, I will not be going back. The stale and musty smell made a very negative first impression. I did like the apple salad, but the rest was nasty. Why would you serve cold bread? I was very upset I spent $150 at a place that is out dated. Change the menu, it is time to leave the 90's. It was fun when it was new but the food has not changed. How do you even think that the meatballs are good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

I've eaten here before and the food was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I've eaten here before and the food was great and it's great for groups; however, after this past weekend's experience we probably won't ever go back. Saturday we had a group of 12 for an 8:30 reservation. They were really busy, as usual. I'm not sure if they were low on staff or what, but we weren't seated until 8:50 and then we waited another 20 minutes before anyone even acknowledged that we were there. No one even brought us water after 20 minutes of being seated. We knew another dinner party there that had a 7pm reservation and they said it took 2 hours for them to get their main courses. By this point everyone was so hangry, that we weren't going to wait 2 more hours for food. We ended up leaving and going down the street to Tom Fooleries and was served immediately. It was unfortunate, because everyone was craving pasta.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We noted in our reservation that this wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We noted in our reservation that this was a very special occasion (10 year anniversary). When we arrived 15 min. early, I let them know we were there and they said they'd get us right in. We weren't seated until ten minutes after our reservation time. Then our server had to be reminded every time he came by our table that he had never brought our beverages. We ordered the spicy rigatoni and we're shocked how much penne there was. Overall just a really sad way to spend our anniversary. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The plaza at night doesn't seem safe any ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The plaza at night doesn't seem safe anymore. Food was good, overall decent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Service was poor.....food was late & inc ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was poor.....food was late & incorrect.....very disorganized ......will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Too loud and the server worked hard to r ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Too loud and the server worked hard to rush us through the meal. I've been to this location with a large group and it was fine so perhaps an anomaly this time. There are other Italian restaurants in KC better suited for family style dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Buca is about the best Italian in town b ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Buca is about the best Italian in town based on the food, serving size, environment and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

B di B is just an ok place. I've been h ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

B di B is just an ok place. I've been here many times, but am always underwhelmed by all of it. The cook needs to learn to drain the pasta...two of our pasta dishes were swimming in water, and very little sauce. I had to ask for extra sauce, and that took forever to arrive. It's just always a so-so experience. I never choose this place, but am always invited to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Food was great but really noisy. Couldn' ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was great but really noisy. Couldn't even have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Very good place for my daughter's 12th b ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very good place for my daughter's 12th birthday with friends!!

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place for family dining!

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great place for family dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been here before and the food was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We've been here before and the food was as good as always. However, I felt like our portion (got a small bowl) this time around wasn't quite as big..maybe just a fluke. We sat in a room we hadn't been in before though and it wasn't as cozy/authentic as some of the other rooms. Good experience overall though!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a large party for dinner on a Fri ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a large party for dinner on a Friday night and the food and the service were absolutely wonderful. It was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was nice, but when we checked in we w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was nice, but when we checked in we were told their system doesn't communicate well with OpenTable so even though we had a reservation, we really did not have one. They said we were seated right on top of a party of 10 that had just been seated. They squeezed us in, but if you make a reservation here is double check to see that it actually is in place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It was just ok....to start the parking s ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was just ok....to start the parking sucks, the elevator was broke and there are 3 flights of stairs. Then the place is a maze to get through and the hostess got lost while trying to assist me to find my group. After getting settled in we noticed how the restaurant lacked ventilation. It was dark, humid and warm. Very uncomfortable! Our server was sweating and was servicing three large groups. So to the food....it was bland. None of our food came out together and we waited for food after were done eating. I would not go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

It was super hot in the restaurant and t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2016

It was super hot in the restaurant and the people sitting next to us were the worlds' rudest people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

James was not a great server. Drinks wer ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 17, 2016

James was not a great server. Drinks were always empty, very slow response all night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

After a long day, I was too tired to coo ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2016

After a long day, I was too tired to cook. Buca is nearby, the food is always good, and we had a gift certificate that was good there. Instead of our usual Caesar salad, which we still love, we tried the Broccoli Romano along with the Shrimp Florentine, and they were both great. So was the carafe of white sangria...yum!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

The staff was a bit overwhelmed it appea ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 13, 2016

The staff was a bit overwhelmed it appeared but they did make it up to us with free drinks and apologized. Seemed to be a bit of confusion about what had and hadn't been done between staff/management. Our main server did a good job of estimating the amount of food we would need which was a big help and Derrick who was training was very helpful and cheerful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I've been to Buca many times with my fam ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 4, 2016

I've been to Buca many times with my family. My dad loves going here for his birthday. When we arrived for our reservation (made over a week in advance) we saw that the elevator was out of service. This was worrisome considering my mom is in a wheel chair and cannot walk. It's already difficult enough to get around when you or a loved one is in a wheelchair. I asked the hostess about it and she just said "oh they were supposed to call you." No one called me, and I know my phone number was on the reservation since I made it through OpenTable. They hardheartedly offered to ask the restaurant next door if we could use their elevator and then go through their basement but made it seem as though that was an unlikely scenario. The two employees we spoke did not apologize or seem to care. At one point, the waiter/host blatantly ignored me. End result: We had to find somewhere else to make a last minute reservation for a party of 8 on a holiday weekend. We found another restaurant and it kind of sucked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food is always abundant and very goo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food is always abundant and very good. The service is above average and the ambiance is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This place was AMAZING!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 26, 2016

This place was AMAZING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Scott was great! So attenti ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our server, Scott was great! So attentive and pleasant. Food was very good. We were able to complete our salads and have a few minutes prior to the entree being served. That is my ideal dinner experience. Thanks, Scott. We had a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The last time i was there - it was great ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 20, 2016

The last time i was there - it was great! This time was loud in the room we were in and was full of kids and the waiter at the other tables talked very loud and i could not hold a conversation due to the loud kids and the echo of there voices. The system malfunctioned and we had to wait a long time for appetizers. The food was okay, not as good as last time i was there. I would have recommended this restaurant before this visit. Terra mizzou not too much coffee liquor, could have had more for flavor. Sorry, but disappointed this time.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Our party members who had not been befor ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our party members who had not been before balked initially at menu prices, but cooled down when the family style experience was explained. Perfect amount of food, great service, and a really great time with visiting family members.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun atmosphere. Campy. Food is good, H ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Fun atmosphere. Campy. Food is good, HUGE portions. (Except for the stuffed mushroom appetizer -- would suggest a 'large' size option for groups that want more than six at a time.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great value - a little too energetic

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We love celebrating family birthdays at Buca. Love family-style service. Plaza location is a bit claustrophobic and this time, it was quite loud due to a few groups we were seated near. If you like the energy, it's a great time and great value!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food, great wine, and great servic ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food, great wine, and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service. We love it ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and great service. We love it here!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.