About Buca di Beppo - Kansas City

310 West 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Near Wyandotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6548

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Parking Details:
Free public parking. Wheelchair accessibility is available from rear of the parking garage.

Public Transit:
The Max bus stop - 47th and Wyandotte stop.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Smith

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Baked Rigatoni

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

good for groups (27)
special occasion (22)
kid-friendly (15)
See All
neighborhood gem (6)
great for lunch (5)
romantic (5)
fit for foodies (5)
notable wine list (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4

The food is always abundant and very goo ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food is always abundant and very good. The service is above average and the ambiance is great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was AMAZING!

Dined 3 days ago

This place was AMAZING!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, Scott was great! So attenti ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our server, Scott was great! So attentive and pleasant. Food was very good. We were able to complete our salads and have a few minutes prior to the entree being served. That is my ideal dinner experience. Thanks, Scott. We had a great evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The last time i was there - it was great ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The last time i was there - it was great! This time was loud in the room we were in and was full of kids and the waiter at the other tables talked very loud and i could not hold a conversation due to the loud kids and the echo of there voices. The system malfunctioned and we had to wait a long time for appetizers. The food was okay, not as good as last time i was there. I would have recommended this restaurant before this visit. Terra mizzou not too much coffee liquor, could have had more for flavor. Sorry, but disappointed this time.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

Our party members who had not been befor ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our party members who had not been before balked initially at menu prices, but cooled down when the family style experience was explained. Perfect amount of food, great service, and a really great time with visiting family members.

food4
ambience5
service4

Fun atmosphere. Campy. Food is good, H ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Fun atmosphere. Campy. Food is good, HUGE portions. (Except for the stuffed mushroom appetizer -- would suggest a 'large' size option for groups that want more than six at a time.)

food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great value - a little too energetic

Dined on May 29, 2016

We love celebrating family birthdays at Buca. Love family-style service. Plaza location is a bit claustrophobic and this time, it was quite loud due to a few groups we were seated near. If you like the energy, it's a great time and great value!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service. We love it ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and great service. We love it here!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Bucca for Mother's day 2016. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Bucca for Mother's day 2016. It was great for our large party of 11. First time dining and we really enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food and Service. Enjoyed the Atmosphere !

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mothers Day. Everyone had a great time. Server was very helpful and food was GREAT ! Atmosphere was wonderful. Would definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The servers know how to handle crowds admirably

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mother's Day and everywhere was hectic but our waiter, Scott, was awesome. He made good recommendations about size portions (it is easy to over order) and didn't bat an eye when our baby had crayons and puffs on the table. The food was good and served promptly. I like when a restaurant doesn't trap you in a forced brunch menu for $40 for eggs and sides. Buca knows how to handle large groups and the whole time went smoothly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for traditional Italian Food

Dined on May 3, 2016

After many years we returned to Buca di Beppo. Still the same great southern "Italian" atmosphere. The tomato / basil soup was outstanding. My wife can't stop talking about it. And the Shrimp Florentine Pasta is in our opinion one of the best pasta dishes at Buca. This time we will not wait as long to return for an encore.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good food, big portions

Dined on April 30, 2016

Very good food, big portions

food2
ambience3
service2

Had lunch at 11:30, the bruchetta tomato ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Had lunch at 11:30, the bruchetta tomatoes were slightly frozen so I assume I paid $15 for leftovers from the night before. I've had the bruchetta when it's fresh and great but this was not. The waiter was very hyper and talked so fast you couldn't understand him. Not my best experience for Buca.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The kitchen was a bit slow that night

Dined on April 27, 2016

For a non-busy Wed night, we did have to wait a bit for our food. I've been there before when it was much busier and the service was quicker.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great for a group!

Dined on April 6, 2016

We dined as a couple and the menu really isn't set up for that. Phenomenal serice. We loved the food, especially the green apple/gorgonzola salad and the stuffed shells were great. Took home lots of leftovers. Very family friendly and caters to large business groups so not necessarily great for a nice quiet/romantic dinner. Was fine for us but may not suit others. Would go back with a group - would be great value.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food and service but pricey

Dined on March 27, 2016

Hosts always seem surprised when you check in for your reservation and unprepared to seat you. Our server was good as well as the food although it is way overpriced for what you get. Three of us shared a small salad, shrimp pasta, and the pasta quatro dish. One beer and 3 canopies came to $94 for lunch. Not a good value at all.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience4
service3

The food this time was terrible. My boyf ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food this time was terrible. My boyfriend and I wanted to have dinner with some friends, so we choose the 4 for $40 meal deal. Big mistake, we ordered the Spaghetti with Meat Sauce. It wasn't good at all, the sauce was runny and small portioned. It was so much juice from the sauce in the bottom of the dish we couldn't hardly get the pasta on plate without alot of dripping. Meat sauce is usually thick and hearty, this sauce was not. We usually have a good filling experience at Bucca di Beppo, but this visit was very disappointing. We went across the street to have drinks and appitizers to get full and finish out the eve.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great, the staff was ver ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

The service was great, the staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was amazing!

food4
ambience2
service2

Food was delicious but we had to wait 20 ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Food was delicious but we had to wait 20 minutes past our reservation for a table because of a staffing issue. Once we did get seated our waiter was forgetful and slow.

food5
ambience5
service5

I always find walking through the kitche ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

I always find walking through the kitchen to be a odd experience. Especially since they have tables that you can sit at inside their kitchen. I've never understood why they have this but I'm sure there is a reason. As far as my date at the restaurant, it was awesome! No issues

food5
ambience4
service4

Great experience for my students. Great ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great experience for my students. Great service and I always love the Quattro al Forno for the variety or the Shrimp Fra Diavolo If you enjoy some spice.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Confusing outing

Dined on February 28, 2016

They turned away people by stating "hour waits", yet the place was almost empty. They said they only took reservations at that point in the evening (Sunday, around 5p), so I made a reservation online to be seated 20 minutes later. She at first was hesitant to honor the reservation, but did once it showed up in their system seconds later. Food was nothing to write home about, but service was fine. Wouldn't go back unless I had a coupon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

American Italian not worth it

Dined on February 27, 2016

Went here to try out a new restaurant on KC, MO Country Club Plaza. I had heard people say it was really good but when we got there I saw a different story. Food seems very bland. For what we paid for the food was not up to par, portions were good for the price but I could have easily made same food at home. I will not be going back unless I go with a group of people and even then I would suggest going somewhere else.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was AWESOME!! The food was gr ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Our server was AWESOME!! The food was great and as always we love the environment.

food4
ambience3
service5

Large portion sizes and good service.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Large portion sizes and good service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner experience, especially for Valentines

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great dinner experience, especially for valentines day. The food servings are large, great for groups.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, sangria was great!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was delicious, sangria was great!

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on January 30, 2016

We've been to Buca several times and have been pleased each time, but we were far from impressed this time. The hostesses were rude and the waiter was basically absent for most of the visit; he didn't even bother to tell us his name and it took 20 minutes for us to get our drinks, even longer to place an appetizer order, we had to ask for bread, and then over 20 minutes for us to get our bill and even longer for him to return for our signature. On top of the delinquent waiter, we had to keep our two kids under 4 busy because we had to wait so long. Needless to say, it wasn't a good visit and and this point, we won't recommend them anymore.

food5
ambience5
service5

It's always a pleasure dining here. Love ...

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

It's always a pleasure dining here. Love the remodel.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and even better service

Dined on January 24, 2016

Always a good time when I come to this restaurant. It was my second time coming with a group of people, even though it was for my BF B-Day we all had a great time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on January 24, 2016

This is one Italian family restaurant that is my favorite. I love the atmosphere, the prices, and the feel of the restaurant. You won't be disappointed. A key thing to remember is that you can feed at least 4 people with a small entree.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always!!!

Dined on January 21, 2016

As always, we had a great time dining here. The food was amazing, the service was awesome, and the ambiance was cool as well. We really like this place, so going here is just down right fun. If you are looking for a great meal at a great price, you have found it here.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I definitely would return to try more dishes

Dined on January 16, 2016

Had a great time friendly staff unique dining experience love the whole family style eating

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Ok lunch, has been better

Dined on January 2, 2016

The fettuccine alfredo was disappointing. It didn't appear to be truly fresh, like it had been sitting in the bowl for at least 15 minutes before being served. The top was kind of dry and I had to majorly stir the pasta to get the sauce from the bottom of the bowl back onto the noodles. The serving size was good. The flavor was sincerely lacking, even adding parmesan, salt, and pepper. I did not wish to take the remainder home, so my dining companion did, to doctor it up. The garlic mashed potatoes were decent in flavor. A few potato chunks were under cooked and crunchy. The serving size was meager, especially for a $10 charge. It was only slightly larger than the serving size I would like for myself unless there were at least two other veggies on my plate. The server was very nice and attentive without being obtrusive. Based on this trip only, I would not return. I have been there when it's been better, so I might go again, just not hastily, and only if someone else suggests it.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4

The stuffed shells were very good. The c ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

The stuffed shells were very good. The calamari was spicy but tasty. But we were there New Years Eve and some of our order was lost but manager worked hard to make it right.

food3
ambience4
service1
value5

Service?

Dined on December 31, 2015

We were very disappointed in the service we received. The food was average and it didn't make up for the crummy service. Our server totally ignored us until he brought us our check, then he wanted to make small talk. It will be awhile before we go back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

System was thrown off

Dined on December 31, 2015

Everyone that had booked the reservations online times were delayed because the open table app had booked too many people within the same time slot. Though we waited for nearly an hour checking in an hour prior to our reserved time the Service provided was phenomenal!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Fun atmosphere, family-friendly but poor service

Dined on December 27, 2015

Fun atmosphere and a great place to take kids when spending time on the Plaza. Family style eating is a nice change of pace. Food is solid - old school, American Italian. It's dark and always feels cramped and chaotic but that's part of the charm. Our last visit was a bit disappointing. Terrible service. A couple of examples: No beveridge refills without multiple times asking. The waitress brought out plates of oil for the bread but then no bread. When we asked her 10 minutes later if the bread was coming she replied, "I usually bring it with the meal." Not typical there, but ok. When the meal came we asked her again and her response was, "Uh, yeah, I guess I can get you some bread if you want some." Expect that at Ed Debevic's where it's schtick but not at Buco.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

What Reservations........

Dined on December 27, 2015

Reservations at 8 sitted at 8:50. Waiter slow getting drinks and slower at getting order. Noisy air conditioning unit. Not our best experience. Oh and ordered spaghetti and meatballs to go, out of meatballs........ Go figure.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.