About Buca di Beppo - Kansas City

310 West 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Near Wyandotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6548

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Parking Details:
Free public parking. Wheelchair accessibility is available from rear of the parking garage.

Public Transit:
The Max bus stop - 47th and Wyandotte stop.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Smith

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Baked Rigatoni - Buca di Beppo - Kansas City, Kansas City, MO

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Bring your sweetie to Buca di Beppo for Valentine’s Day. If you haven’t made your reservation yet, make it today!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

3.6

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

58% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Casual (10)
Family Style (10)
See All
Good for Groups (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Fun (6)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Private Room (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Romantic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time here. Big portions. Excellent ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

First time here. Big portions. Excellent flavor. Would certainly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I have visited before, but this particul ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I have visited before, but this particular evening was a disappointment. Our table was terrible, the service was so-so and the food was only 1/2 great. I'm not sure I'll ever be interested in visiting again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The Spaghetti was not good, however the ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The Spaghetti was not good, however the Shrimp Florentine was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Every time we've ever gone it's always b ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Every time we've ever gone it's always been pleasant except for this last time. Which is when we've been asked to review. The people before us ending up leaving because they sat them twice at dirty tables then our food was forgotten then our silverware wasn't washed at all the bathroom smelled of sewage. This place has been one of my utmost favorites so this experience was very surprising and disappointing in comparison.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Good for Groups, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Dinner with family and friends

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Dinner with family and friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress brought bread then said "be con ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waitress brought bread then said "be conservative we are running out." Which just seemed rude and unprofessional. Plus the bread tasted cold and stale. How could they be running out when it tasted like they were serving old bread!?!? Then I order alfredo sauce instead of red sauce and it wasn't brought with my food. I was assured it was coming right out, 15

minutes later still no alfredo sauce. Waitress came back and said they were making it fresh, when I made the comment(very politely) that I ordered it with my food the waitress got an attitude and said she would get the manager. (I didn't even want a manager, just my sauce) Manger comes, says she will comp my chicken parmesan, and says the alfredo sauce will be right out. 10 minutes later, no sauce, manager comes back and apologizes again and says she will

go get my sauce. 10 minutes later finally received my sauce after my food was cold and every one else was done eating. The waitress wouldn't even come back to our table, they sent someone else wait on us and let me say this; I worked in the food service industry for 10 years. I would never be rude or treat someone rudely and I am always extra patient and understanding when it comes to dining at a restaurant. I understand things happen! But the entire night was simply horrible and the food was equally disappointing. Our bill was still over $50 after receiving horrible service and food that was not worth the price. I should have gone to Olive Garden where the breadsticks are always good and when I go there "I'm family"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Made a reservation and were early, but s ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Made a reservation and were early, but still had to wait awhile to be seated. Quick and friendly service. Amazing food, huge portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food. Too loud, too crowded. Watere ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good food. Too loud, too crowded. Watered down Sangria. Unique decor. Smelly messy bathroom. Switched waiters mid order?? Birthday and no free desert for the birthday boy.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Arrived on time for our 7pm reservation, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Arrived on time for our 7pm reservation, at check-in we were informed reservations running about 30 minutes behind. 90 minutes later, other guests waiting for table started to leave because the restaurant told them they had run out of food. Hostess disappeared to go help bus tables because they had nobody else to do it. We finally gave up and grabbed fast food at 9pm

I doubt I will ever trust a special family occasion with Bucca do Beppo again 🙁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

We had a 6:45 reservation and finally go ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had a 6:45 reservation and finally got a table at 8:00pm. When we were seated, we were informed they were out of lasagna. Our server, Nicole, was lovely but it was not the experience I was expecting from Buca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

I had made reservations for Christmas di ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I had made reservations for Christmas dinner. 6:30. Not late in the evening.. We arrived after driving 30 mins downtown. Not only were we told there was a 30 minute wait (even WITH a reservation), but we were handed a sheet of paper with all the food they were out of. It filled a 9" x 11" sheet of paper. Including spaghetti, bread, lasagna, meatballs, rigatoni, etc etc. Looking at it, there was little left. REALLY?!?! They said they had taken twice the reservations they normally do. I'm sorry, don't you take the amount of reservations your kitchen can handle? Not just an infinite amount? So those of us that planned ahead for our holiday dinner with you were left out in the cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value4

They ran out of most of their ingredient ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

They ran out of most of their ingredients on Christmas and did nothing to try to make it up to the guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We decided to go on Christmas since it w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We decided to go on Christmas since it was open and seemed like a good idea! We got there for the reservation to check in and they did not acknowledge us beyond shoving a list of foods that they were out of in our face. The list included Bread, Spaghetti Noodles, Meatballs, Eggplant, and about 10 more items. Since I was going to get Eggplant Parmesan and my fiance planned to get the Spaghetti we decided that we would give up our reservation to the many other people in the waiting area. We tried to tell the hostess but they did not acknowledge if they heard us or not. So we waited a few minutes - tried to tell them again - and then left. It was a very strange experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

They were out of: Meatballs Spaghetti ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

They were out of:

Meatballs

Spaghetti

Peppers

Stuffed chicken

Bread !?!

I feel bad for those who had later reservations than ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We made a reservation, but they were run ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We made a reservation, but they were running 1/2 hour behind. When we arrived we were told they were out of complimentary bread, spaghetti, meatballs, red peppers, Lasagne, and so many other things. We were very disappointed. How does an Italian restaurant run out of spaghetti???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

we had reservations for 4pm, we were the ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

we had reservations for 4pm, we were there in time but there was no table waiting for us. we had to wait to be seated. then they were all out of sever items, bead, meat balls rosito and what else i don't remember just now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

They didn't have meatballs or bread when ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

They didn't have meatballs or bread when we arrived, which is stupid for an Italian restaurant. It looks like they had bread when we were leaving, so I don't know what the hell that was about. Crappy management hung its workers out to dry this day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

As always the food was amazing! I absol ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

As always the food was amazing! I absolutely love the Stuffed Shells and we tried the Supremo Pizza and it was amazing as well. This is our 4th Christmas Eve dinner here in a row! I guess it's our new tradition 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, family atmosphere. Would de ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food, family atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Loud. Tables crowded. Main waitress, Sta ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Loud. Tables crowded. Main waitress, Stacey, was aloof. Megan was friendly, happy, had a personality. If i came back i would ask for her. Food was mediocre. Not warm. Dishes didn't included pasta or potatoes. Nice they had gluten free choices, but no gf pasta. Not really a good value for what is served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Our server Nicole was very attentive and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our server Nicole was very attentive and a good sport when some of our party were teasing her.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was mediocre. Service was terrible ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was mediocre. Service was terrible, having to ask for drinks multiple times including five request for a Coke. Great for large groups as the tables are all large and pricing was good. However, if you are looking for a memorable evening this is not the place.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We arrived and were seated early. It too ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We arrived and were seated early. It took a server a while to come to our table only to tell us that he'd be back. He never returned. Instead, a young and inexperienced (but very nice) server finally came 5 minutes later. She explained how the restaurant and menu worked and took our drink order. She returned about 10 minutes later with water and our drinks. She took our dinner orders and offered bread and said she'd be right back. It took her a while to return with our drinks and didn't have the bread. The bread came about 10 minutes later without butter or olive oil/balsamic vinegar which she said she had to find. After another 5 minutes she returned with the balsamic and shortly thereafter our salad. Then about 5 minutes later another server brought our entrees. At the same time, our original server reappeared to seat 8 young ladies at the table right next to ours. They were VERY loud throughout our meal and nobody asked them to calm down etc. our server reappeared when we were halfway through our meals to check on us. Then she returned about 5 minutes later to see if we wanted dessert while we were still trying to eat our dinner between a waitress who seemed to be rushing our meal and 8 very loud young ladies. It was a very disappointing experience to say the least. It felt disorganized, rushed, unconcerned about our enjoyment of the food or the time in the restaurant. If that is a typical experience there there is ZERO chance that I'll recommend the restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

The food is terribly overpriced. Sure yo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food is terribly overpriced. Sure you get massive bowls of pasta but a family of three doesn't need massive bowls of pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

We go to Buca for anniversaries birthday ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We go to Buca for anniversaries birthdays and anytime we have an out of town guest! It is one of my favorite places in town and has a fantastic sangria

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere! Delicious food! Go ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere! Delicious food! Go with an appetite!

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I absolutely love coming here. The food ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I absolutely love coming here. The food is always delicious and the service never disappoints. This is always the place I recommend when going to the plaza. Ive had two birthdays and a team diner here and everyone loved it. I can't wait till we have the opportunity to come here again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Spicy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always good. Service is hit or m ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food is always good. Service is hit or miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

We all gathered here to celebrate my dau ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We all gathered here to celebrate my daughter's graduation from KU. The food, as always, was incredible. The only two issues we really had were 1) the table was way too crowded. We had 10 people at one table, and once you got into your seat, you couldn't move. Perhaps you could put 8 people at a table? The other issue was that one of our diners had to use the gluten free menu, which was fine because we got it as soon as we asked for it, but then her food came at least 15 minutes after everyone else's, so we were almost finished eating by the time she got her food. Then the waitress lost one of the credit cards and, although we found it, we had a pretty tense 10-15 minutes looking for it.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Private Room, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the first time for a couple of ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was the first time for a couple of our friends. We all had a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Spicy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. Our seating was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was excellent. Our seating was in very close quarters. We were a large party seated next to another large party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food great. Service not so much. Reserv ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food great. Service not so much. Reservations at 6:00 - not seated until almost 7:00. Comped 2 appetizers for us. Waitperson not real attentive. Was very chaotic. Waitperson forgot to bring 2 sides. Comped those for us also. Will come back but not for special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Made reservations several weeks ahead, c ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Made reservations several weeks ahead, called to let them know we would be a few minutes late and they were rude. Arrived 10 min late as stated and had to wait 25 min to be sat. Restaurant was very open and we were seated 8 people in a small booth when they had tables and chairs open, denying our request to be relocated. Waiter was nice however when he had gotten our order the appetizer came out then immediately afterwards came our salad and dinner, we stated we just got out appetizers and the server of food was very rude and left with the food returning in 2 minutes and left it on the table when we were still trying to finish apps/salad. Waters/soda went empty having to request several times to refill. Overall service horrible but the food was good. I think though just the whole experience was disappointing. We had 2 birthdays and they sang happy birthday to 2 tables down from us and said that was the happy birthday they did not bring the candle or personalize anything. Very disappointed to many great places to eat to be treated like that.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We arrived 5 minutes early for our reser ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We arrived 5 minutes early for our reservation and there were only a few other people when we arrived but it took 15-20 minutes waiting with two very exhausted little girls who were growing very restless. We waited probably 10 minutes after being seated for our server who took our drink order but didn't return for over 20 minutes (he apologized and said he had to clock out of serving and clock in as bartender and that caused the delay). Our food order didn't take as long as our drinks but we had to flag down another server to request Parmesan cheese and some extra sauce. We all enjoyed our drinks and meal and our server was very friendly. We booked an early reservation to beat the holiday Plaza dinner rush but the staff seemed a bit off their game even with early arrivals. It's not the server's fault when they are asked to perform two roles during their shift and he did it with a smile on his face but management should beef up the bar and waitstaff for holiday weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Check in was not the best and we weren't ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Check in was not the best and we weren't seated until 30 minutes after our reservation time. Food and the service at the table was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Mozerella bread had way too much garlic. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Mozerella bread had way too much garlic. Sent it back and replacement was just as bad. Salad was good. Lasagna was very bland. Server was good about replacing breadsticks but not overly friendly. Never got a refil on water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We love this place! The food is great a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love this place! The food is great and we love the layout! Great place, great food, great wine, great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have a big family? Then family style he ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Have a big family? Then family style here will serve all your needs. (And you'll have some left over!) We make it a tradition to gather after shopping Black Friday on the Kansas City Plaza to meet here for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and huge portions. Come hungr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food and huge portions. Come hungry! Good for big groups and families.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Food was good an ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was good and servings plentiful. Only negative was the the veal dish was a little tough. We probably won't order that again. The mussels marina was excellent and we will definitely have that again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.