About Buca di Beppo - Kansas City

310 West 47th Street
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Near Wyandotte Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 931-6548

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Parking Details:
Free public parking. Wheelchair accessibility is available from rear of the parking garage.

Public Transit:
The Max bus stop - 47th and Wyandotte stop.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Smith

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Buca di Beppo - Kansas City
Baked Rigatoni

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Kansas City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

Good for Groups (19)
Special Occasion (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Romantic (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a large party for dinner on a Fri ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a large party for dinner on a Friday night and the food and the service were absolutely wonderful. It was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was nice, but when we checked in we w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was nice, but when we checked in we were told their system doesn't communicate well with OpenTable so even though we had a reservation, we really did not have one. They said we were seated right on top of a party of 10 that had just been seated. They squeezed us in, but if you make a reservation here is double check to see that it actually is in place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It was just ok....to start the parking s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was just ok....to start the parking sucks, the elevator was broke and there are 3 flights of stairs. Then the place is a maze to get through and the hostess got lost while trying to assist me to find my group. After getting settled in we noticed how the restaurant lacked ventilation. It was dark, humid and warm. Very uncomfortable! Our server was sweating and was servicing three large groups. So to the food....it was bland. None of our food came out together and we waited for food after were done eating. I would not go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

It was super hot in the restaurant and t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

It was super hot in the restaurant and the people sitting next to us were the worlds' rudest people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

James was not a great server. Drinks wer ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

James was not a great server. Drinks were always empty, very slow response all night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

After a long day, I was too tired to coo ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

After a long day, I was too tired to cook. Buca is nearby, the food is always good, and we had a gift certificate that was good there. Instead of our usual Caesar salad, which we still love, we tried the Broccoli Romano along with the Shrimp Florentine, and they were both great. So was the carafe of white sangria...yum!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

The staff was a bit overwhelmed it appea ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The staff was a bit overwhelmed it appeared but they did make it up to us with free drinks and apologized. Seemed to be a bit of confusion about what had and hadn't been done between staff/management. Our main server did a good job of estimating the amount of food we would need which was a big help and Derrick who was training was very helpful and cheerful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I've been to Buca many times with my fam ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I've been to Buca many times with my family. My dad loves going here for his birthday. When we arrived for our reservation (made over a week in advance) we saw that the elevator was out of service. This was worrisome considering my mom is in a wheel chair and cannot walk. It's already difficult enough to get around when you or a loved one is in a wheelchair. I asked the hostess about it and she just said "oh they were supposed to call you." No one called me, and I know my phone number was on the reservation since I made it through OpenTable. They hardheartedly offered to ask the restaurant next door if we could use their elevator and then go through their basement but made it seem as though that was an unlikely scenario. The two employees we spoke did not apologize or seem to care. At one point, the waiter/host blatantly ignored me. End result: We had to find somewhere else to make a last minute reservation for a party of 8 on a holiday weekend. We found another restaurant and it kind of sucked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food is always abundant and very goo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food is always abundant and very good. The service is above average and the ambiance is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This place was AMAZING!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This place was AMAZING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Scott was great! So attenti ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our server, Scott was great! So attentive and pleasant. Food was very good. We were able to complete our salads and have a few minutes prior to the entree being served. That is my ideal dinner experience. Thanks, Scott. We had a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The last time i was there - it was great ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The last time i was there - it was great! This time was loud in the room we were in and was full of kids and the waiter at the other tables talked very loud and i could not hold a conversation due to the loud kids and the echo of there voices. The system malfunctioned and we had to wait a long time for appetizers. The food was okay, not as good as last time i was there. I would have recommended this restaurant before this visit. Terra mizzou not too much coffee liquor, could have had more for flavor. Sorry, but disappointed this time.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Our party members who had not been befor ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our party members who had not been before balked initially at menu prices, but cooled down when the family style experience was explained. Perfect amount of food, great service, and a really great time with visiting family members.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun atmosphere. Campy. Food is good, H ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Fun atmosphere. Campy. Food is good, HUGE portions. (Except for the stuffed mushroom appetizer -- would suggest a 'large' size option for groups that want more than six at a time.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great value - a little too energetic

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We love celebrating family birthdays at Buca. Love family-style service. Plaza location is a bit claustrophobic and this time, it was quite loud due to a few groups we were seated near. If you like the energy, it's a great time and great value!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food and great service. We love it ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and great service. We love it here!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Bucca for Mother's day 2016. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Bucca for Mother's day 2016. It was great for our large party of 11. First time dining and we really enjoyed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Service. Enjoyed the Atmosphere !

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mothers Day. Everyone had a great time. Server was very helpful and food was GREAT ! Atmosphere was wonderful. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The servers know how to handle crowds admirably

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mother's Day and everywhere was hectic but our waiter, Scott, was awesome. He made good recommendations about size portions (it is easy to over order) and didn't bat an eye when our baby had crayons and puffs on the table. The food was good and served promptly. I like when a restaurant doesn't trap you in a forced brunch menu for $40 for eggs and sides. Buca knows how to handle large groups and the whole time went smoothly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A great place for traditional Italian Food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

After many years we returned to Buca di Beppo. Still the same great southern "Italian" atmosphere. The tomato / basil soup was outstanding. My wife can't stop talking about it. And the Shrimp Florentine Pasta is in our opinion one of the best pasta dishes at Buca.

This time we will not wait as long to return for an encore.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, big portions

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Very good food, big portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had lunch at 11:30, the bruchetta tomato ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Had lunch at 11:30, the bruchetta tomatoes were slightly frozen so I assume I paid $15 for leftovers from the night before. I've had the bruchetta when it's fresh and great but this was not. The waiter was very hyper and talked so fast you couldn't understand him. Not my best experience for Buca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The kitchen was a bit slow that night

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

For a non-busy Wed night, we did have to wait a bit for our food. I've been there before when it was much busier and the service was quicker.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great for a group!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

We dined as a couple and the menu really isn't set up for that. Phenomenal serice. We loved the food, especially the green apple/gorgonzola salad and the stuffed shells were great. Took home lots of leftovers. Very family friendly and caters to large business groups so not necessarily great for a nice quiet/romantic dinner. Was fine for us but may not suit others. Would go back with a group - would be great value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food and service but pricey

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Hosts always seem surprised when you check in for your reservation and unprepared to seat you. Our server was good as well as the food although it is way overpriced for what you get. Three of us shared a small salad, shrimp pasta, and the pasta quatro dish. One beer and 3 canopies came to $94 for lunch. Not a good value at all.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The food this time was terrible. My boyf ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food this time was terrible. My boyfriend and I wanted to have dinner with some friends, so we choose the 4 for $40 meal deal. Big mistake, we ordered the Spaghetti with Meat Sauce. It wasn't good at all, the sauce was runny and small portioned. It was so much juice from the sauce in the bottom of the dish we couldn't hardly get the pasta on plate without alot of dripping. Meat sauce is usually thick and hearty, this sauce was not. We usually have a good filling experience at Bucca di Beppo, but this visit was very disappointing. We went across the street to have drinks and appitizers to get full and finish out the eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

The service was great, the staff was ver ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The service was great, the staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious but we had to wait 20 ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Food was delicious but we had to wait 20 minutes past our reservation for a table because of a staffing issue. Once we did get seated our waiter was forgetful and slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

I always find walking through the kitche ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

I always find walking through the kitchen to be a odd experience. Especially since they have tables that you can sit at inside their kitchen. I've never understood why they have this but I'm sure there is a reason. As far as my date at the restaurant, it was awesome! No issues

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience for my students. Great ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Great experience for my students. Great service and I always love the Quattro al Forno for the variety or the Shrimp Fra Diavolo If you enjoy some spice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Confusing outing

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

They turned away people by stating "hour waits", yet the place was almost empty. They said they only took reservations at that point in the evening (Sunday, around 5p), so I made a reservation online to be seated 20 minutes later. She at first was hesitant to honor the reservation, but did once it showed up in their system seconds later. Food was nothing to write home about, but service was fine. Wouldn't go back unless I had a coupon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

American Italian not worth it

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Went here to try out a new restaurant on KC, MO Country Club Plaza. I had heard people say it was really good but when we got there I saw a different story. Food seems very bland. For what we paid for the food was not up to par, portions were good for the price but I could have easily made same food at home. I will not be going back unless I go with a group of people and even then I would suggest going somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Our server was AWESOME!! The food was gr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Our server was AWESOME!! The food was great and as always we love the environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Large portion sizes and good service.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Large portion sizes and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great dinner experience, especially for Valentines

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great dinner experience, especially for valentines day. The food servings are large, great for groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, sangria was great!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was delicious, sangria was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We've been to Buca several times and have been pleased each time, but we were far from impressed this time. The hostesses were rude and the waiter was basically absent for most of the visit; he didn't even bother to tell us his name and it took 20 minutes for us to get our drinks, even longer to place an appetizer order, we had to ask for bread, and then over 20 minutes for us to get our bill and even longer for him to return for our signature. On top of the delinquent waiter, we had to keep our two kids under 4 busy because we had to wait so long. Needless to say, it wasn't a good visit and and this point, we won't recommend them anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

It's always a pleasure dining here. Love ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

It's always a pleasure dining here. Love the remodel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and even better service

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Always a good time when I come to this restaurant. It was my second time coming with a group of people, even though it was for my BF B-Day we all had a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

This is one Italian family restaurant that is my favorite. I love the atmosphere, the prices, and the feel of the restaurant. You won't be disappointed. A key thing to remember is that you can feed at least 4 people with a small entree.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.