About Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway

5192 Buffalo Speedway
Houston, TX 77005
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between West Park and Bissonnet

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 665-2822

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Free public parking. Valet parking is available on the weekends.

Public Transit:
Metro Bus stop - West Park and Buffalo Speedway stop.

Executive Chef:
Homero Garcia

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway
Meatballs
Brownie
Minestrone Soup
Shrimp Fra Diavolo
Supremo Italiano Pizza
Shrimp Florentine
Baked Rigatoni
Quattro Al Forno
Seafood Trio Platter
Italian Bread
Mediterranean Orange Cocktail
Rigatoni With Sausage
Ravioli With Meat Sauce
Oven Baked Salmon
Chopped Salad
Italian Lasagna
Veal Saltimbocca and Spicy Chicken Rigatoni
Fried Calamari
Apple Gorgonzola Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Houston - Speedway Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (10)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
See All
special occasion (4)
fit for foodies (2)
romantic (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Fathers' Day at Buca di Beppo was a bit ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Fathers' Day at Buca di Beppo was a bit of a mixed bag. We were a group of 8 and were squeezed somewhat uncomfortably into a large booth in the very back of the restaurant. I should have asked for a different seating, but I didn't. Our waitress was friendly and mostly pretty attentive, though being so far in the back, we did have a couple of time when getting her attention was a challenge. Also the booth made serving those seated against the wall difficult. Ordering family style is also a bit daunting. I ordered enough, but only just, and probably should have added another small entre or a side. We'll probably dine here again because it is sometimes convenient and the food is pretty good, but it is not our favorite by any means.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The pizza was delicious, both the vegeta ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The pizza was delicious, both the vegetable and the Supreme were excellent! We also enjoyed the antipasto salad, which was a terrific take on antipasto and salad. Buca di Beppo is the perfect place to dine and have fun with family and friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect experience!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Perfect experience!

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant is excellent. But I reque ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The restaurant is excellent. But I requested table for 8 but the table they gave us just fit 6 adults maximum! So we had to sit but it was not comfortable.

Tags: group bookings
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time. Hadn't been fo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Hadn't been for a long while, so it was a nice stroll down memory lane with our now grownup children!

food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great dinner today!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Had a great dinner today!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The waitstaff is very nice, attentive an ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The waitstaff is very nice, attentive and professional.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4

Always excellent!!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Always excellent!!

food4
ambience4
service4

Heaping bowls of good pasta dishes.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Heaping bowls of good pasta dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on April 24, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the food and the service. Will bring the family back again soon.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4

Always great!!!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Always great!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun fantastic friendly

Dined on April 6, 2016

Enjoyed birthday celebration with good food and friendly service. Reasonable prices and large portions.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Great place to bring a small group, which we did - 4 of us. Had a very good waiter who remained attentive throughout. Food was Buca, filling, and tasty.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Buca di Beppo Houston. It is one ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Love Buca di Beppo Houston. It is one of our favorites. Also Eli (waitress) is always our server, the best service every time we are there!!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Consistently good food

Dined on February 28, 2016

They were not overly crowded at 8pm but we still had a wait and the initial visit of our wait person was a little slow. After that we did fine and the food was good.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Relieved to Find that Buca is Still Very Good

Dined on February 21, 2016

We eat at Buca regularly but hadn't been in a couple of months. I was worried about the food after having read some recent reviews. Our service wasn't great because we had a new server, but the food was fantastic, as good as it has ever been. There were four of us and we shared Chicken Marsala (the best I've ever had), Eggplant Parm, and Spaghetti and Meatballs, along with an Apple Gorgonzola Salad. Everything was excellent. The noise level at Buca is always loud, so if that's not for you, it might be better to try somewhere else. But if you like an energetic atmosphere, this is the place. For a unique experience ask for the table in the kitchen . There's only one, so you have to get lucky.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service5

Don't get the baked ziti. Overcooked and ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Don't get the baked ziti. Overcooked and very dry.

food5
ambience5
service5

Family style dining! Great food and ambi ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Family style dining! Great food and ambiance!!

food5
ambience5
service4

Food is always amazing although the red ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food is always amazing although the red sangria wasn't as good as I remember it being. Fun atmosphere, friendly service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the Valentine's Day heart-sh ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We went for the Valentine's Day heart-shaped lasagna special. Gourmet food - no. Great comfort food - absolutely. Loads of fun for a couple - absolutely. It is a Valentine tradition for my husband and me. Next year will be our 50th Valentine's Day together, and we'll be celebrating at Buca di Beppo.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always get the Frutta del Mar amazing

Dined on January 23, 2016

Always get the Frutta del Mar amazing

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not Impressed

Dined on January 18, 2016

We dined here on a Sunday evening. Service was a little slow, but attentive. I thought the prices were a high for family style. We ordered the Egg Plant Parmesan and the Ziti with Chicken and Sausage, the latter of which had NO sausage, and 3 very small pieces of chicken on the top. We confirmed with our server that we got what we ordered. She brought about a small bowl of chicken to add to the dish. These dishes tasted ok, but were not outstanding. The Apple and Gorgonzola salad, however, was good.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

No Name Given

Dined on January 9, 2016

I do not want to write a review. i should be able to post the general questions without having to do an essay. This was a dinner reservation, not a test.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1

This particular waitress is always rude. ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

This particular waitress is always rude. We have had her once before, and she always has an attitude problem. Will return for food but next time I will make sure she is not our server

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Do NOT go there

Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was bad- huge portions with no real taste Service was bad- ordered two appetizers- only got one, ordered a kids pizza- got it last, and cold. drinks only arrived after the food. got a bread basket- with no utensils or plates. cake was hard as a rock and cold- should have been a malted lava cake... go figure

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

VERY family oriented, NOT dressy or romantic

Dined on January 1, 2016

I made reservations for NYE mainly because it was the only restaurant available in our area for that night. First time there, we were definitely over dressed. A lot of families with small screaming children and plastic checkered table clothes. I'm all about places like this on a normal basis, but I should have definitely looked deeper into reserving a spot that was more adult friendly with a dressier ambience. They have a full bar, so that was a plus. Chicken parm tasted exactly like Stouffers frozen entrée, but the mashed potatoes were delish. Staff is very friendly and accommodating, but they won't let you order until your entire party is there; even if you have separate tickets. I would go again for lunch or maybe even for some to-go food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

We did not like the food. It felt underc ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

We did not like the food. It felt undercooked and lacked flavor.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great Christmas Day alternative to cooki ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Great Christmas Day alternative to cooking! The food was yummy and the atmosphere was great. A tad loud but it was families happy to be together for the holidays. Definitely have a reservation for a busy day like today, we did and only waited 20 min from reservation time to be seated...If you were a walk in the wait was crazy long! We will be back!

food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Christmas Eve

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

We had an early dinner with grandparents before heading to Christmas Eve services. The Chicken Saltimbucco and the Lasagna were bot h excellent. Our waiter, Scott, was very attentive and handled our large group and several others very well.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service4

Tried the "FREE" Buccatoli Not a good d ...

vip
Dined on November 30, 2015

Tried the "FREE" Buccatoli Not a good dish Too much dough Over cooked Lacked flavor It required a dipping sauce... that was cold and actually failed to complement the flavor of the dish.

food5
ambience3
service5

A great go to!

Dined on November 28, 2015

Always great value and tasty! For dine-in or great carry out too!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

thanks giving dinner

Dined on November 26, 2015

As always, the food was very good and plenty of it. We ate left overs for two days. The service was the best we have ever received. Reservation was honored and we were seated immediately.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5

Thanksgiving Dinner

Dined on November 26, 2015

The thanksgiving special turkey dinner was very good. The stuffing was made with Italian sausage which really brightened it up. The turkey and gravy were also very good - did not taste processed or canned. There were six of us and we ordered dinner for three and had turkey and potatoes left over. We were disappointed with the Apple and Gorgonzola salad. It was short on apples, walnuts and gorgonzola. We've ordered it several times in the past and the version on Thanksgiving didn't measure up. Hope it was just an off day. Our waiter was great and very attentive. Would recommend Buca di Beppo any time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Thanksgiving Lunch

Dined on November 26, 2015

I took my Mother, brother and niece here for Thanksgiving lunch. The traditional Thanksgiving food was excellent. The service was excellent and Travis our server was the reason. He was very attentive and anticipated our needs very well. It was the best way to spend Thanksgiving with my small family group. I can not wait to go back and it is so close to home.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Good for large parties! A great place to ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Good for large parties! A great place to relax with friends and/or family for a nice meal

food5
ambience5
service5

Family Style

Dined on November 7, 2015

Buca di Beppo's menu and atmosphere are family style. Dinner portions are made for sharing. Definitely NOT a romantic date night type of place. Bring the kids, the in-laws, and a big appetite!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

create your own

Dined on November 1, 2015

After many years coming to Buca, we tried the create your own pasta. Since we had tried most of the dishes, we knew what we liked. This was a great experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service1

The food didn't taste the same...I use t ...

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

The food didn't taste the same...I use to love eating there but today when I went I wasn't to happy with the food and service...I probably won't be coming bk

food4
ambience4
service4

Big portions

Dined on October 23, 2015

It was just the two of us and since everything is family size we had too much food. The small is for 2 or more. We had the apple gorgonzola salad. The apples were sliced way too big, hard to eat that way. The cheese did not have much of a bite. The salad could have used a little of the balsamic vinegar they give you for your bread. We shared the make your own pasta. We had spaghetti with meatsauce,meatballs, added mushrooms, onions and roma tomatoes with a sprinkle of red pepper. The sauce and meatballs were good. Needed more red pepper. This is a good choice for groups celebrating. Food was a touch bland but that probably works better for groups. The complimentary bread they served was good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Family celebration success

Dined on October 18, 2015

Laid back Italian served family style (small entree serves 2, large serves 4). We had a group of 17 and there was room for more. Our group was pretty loud. But I'm sure other sections were quieter. Tables are sectioned off into several "rooms" so it has a semi private feel. Food was good, and service was great. We kept our server running and she kept up with us well! Made for a memorable birthday gathering for my husband!

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.