About Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis

35 North Illinois Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Washington Street and Market

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 632-2822

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Metered street parking available. Paid public parking in nearby parking structures.

Skywalk available from local area hotels, the convention center and Lucas Oil Stadium.

Public Transit:
IndyGo Bus Service - Market & Ohio Stop

Executive Chef:
Daniel Guba

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Spicy Chicken Rigatoni
Chicken Limone
Shrimp Florentine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (10)
Kid-friendly (6)
Fun (4)
See All
Family Style (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Casual (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
985 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food not as great for the price...expect ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food not as great for the price...expecting more flavor. Food was heavy

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

WE HAD A WONDERFUL SERVER AND THE FOOD, ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

WE HAD A WONDERFUL SERVER AND THE FOOD, AS ALWAYS, WAS FANTASTIC!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable time. The food was delic ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Very enjoyable time. The food was delicious! Very large portions.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time with friends or fam ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always a great time with friends or family. Food is consistently good. Love the open kitchen and location.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Family Style, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Found food to be just okay. Found the co ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Found food to be just okay. Found the cost per person to be expensive although the dishes are provided 'family style'. It would have been less expensive to order a la carte at a different restaurant. (3 people, we ordered 1 salad, 1 protein [proscuitto chicken] and 1 pasta dish). Service was good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Celebrated my daughters 21st bday with h ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Celebrated my daughters 21st bday with her friends and had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and excellent service. Our wa ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good food and excellent service. Our wait staff even proactively brought out soda water to help with a Marinara splash on a white skirt that was no fault of theirs. Consistently a go to dining place for us before downtown events.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Going to any Buca one knows what to expe ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Going to any Buca one knows what to expect and really that's the reason to go. You go to have a great meal served by friendly people and they never disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, generous portions, great serv ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good food, generous portions, great service. Very loud, but if you are forewarned and don't mind, shouldn't be an issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

First, consider that this was a Saturday ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

First, consider that this was a Saturday night during GenCon in Indy. That usually means oversubscribed tables, long waits and poor service. We had reservations and were seated quickly. To accommodate the large crowds tables were spaced way too close together and we were constantly hit by service personnel and the other patrons when leaving their tables. Other than that the service was very attentive, the food was excellent and we will be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Every year we book a dinner reservation ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Every year we book a dinner reservation at Bucca during Gen Con. Our company exhibits at Gen Con and so our crew of 6-8 people usually enjoy the great food and service. This year, it was absolutely swamped and even though we had 6:30 reservations, we didn't actually get seated until like 6:50ish I believe. The entrance of the restaurant is just a long hallway to the kitchen and host station. So it's really kinda cramped. We walked by the line because thats usually people who don't have a reservation. Anyway, long story short the food and service were great as usual. However, the drinks were pretty awful. The margaritas were almost clear and had no flavor. One of our team members got some "Buca special" drink and it was almost entirely booze with no flavor. (2 of us tried it and it was awful...) Anyway, we're not high maintenance or picky folks...these were really out of the ordinary things for this Bucca location. Normally everything is about flawless. This issue isn't going to prevent us from coming back, but it did have a significant effect on the ratings we gave this time. We think the bartender(s) that night needs some serious training because those were some awful beverages. (or maybe it was just an off night, guess we'll never know.) We hope that next year the beverages match the great food/service we're used to. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good portions, but it is very crowded, f ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good portions, but it is very crowded, food quality was adequate at best, and the servers seemed to be spread too thin to keep up with a standard service standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Neat, energetic place. Food excellent. ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Neat, energetic place. Food excellent. Bread and salad we ordered was superb. Our waitress was average,, but overall really liked this restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Oversize portions left plenty for leftov ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Oversize portions left plenty for leftovers and next-day meals.

Tasty food in a nice location

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a great time! This is always a c ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We had a great time! This is always a crowd pleaser with my picky bunch. Service was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is served family style and there is ...

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food is served family style and there is LOTS of it...all good. Not gourmet but comfort foods. Apple salad was new on the menu and delicious. Have been in these restaurants in other cities and the décor and menu are the same. It's a stitch--and worth going if you want good food that is not obscenely expensive. A great value and good fun. Servers and front of the house staff were delightful. Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just ok.

 
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We booked this restaurant on a Sunday ni ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We booked this restaurant on a Sunday night through Open Table for 8:45 to celebrate a special occasion. We picked it because we were familiar with the chain and it could accommodate a group of 10 per Open Table. We had to take several taxis to get there. When we arrived, the doors were closed, and then when we were able to get in, we were summarily turned away without apologies ("sorry we are closed, we know there are problems with the reservations on Open Table"). The rude affect was offensive, and we would not recommend this establishment. Sadly, we weren't the only ones turned away this way (8:45 seems quite early to be closed).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

My family and I always love coming downt ...

 
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My family and I always love coming downtown to Buca di Beppo and this occasion was no different. They had a large party in the house that night and the place was hopping!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad Choice

 
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Epic fail on my part for selecting the WRONG place to dine for our group of 13

On time for our reservation and seated promptly. Our waiter stopped bye to tell us he would be with us after he "Catches his breath" and he was having a friend get water for us. There was only a few tables occupied when we got there. It was right at 30 minutes before our wine was served and order taken. Salads and bread were fine but food was cold and just ruined the overall experience. Manager asked if we had a problem (meaning we had to tell him what we had already told the waiter) and his solution was to make us some more to go. We didn't come there for carryout so we declined and no other solution was offered. WILL NOT BE BACK OR RECOMMEND

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Our food was delivered cold. Our server ...

 
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our food was delivered cold. Our server was very nice and apologized and said he would take care of it. 20 minutes later the mgr came over and said the plate with our replacement food broke when coming out of the oven. We had a play to get to and could not wait any longer. We left the restaurant hungry. The mgr did comp our appetizer but I would have thought another attempt at a good meal would have been better customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Excellent food and service. Reservation ...

 
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. Reservation was accurate and we were seated in minutes of arrival.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

They were extremely busy, so our 7:45 re ...

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

They were extremely busy, so our 7:45 reservation didn't get seated until 8:30. At 8:40, our waitress finally makes it to us and informs us that the kitchen closes at 9:00 sharp, so all dessert orders need to be in by that time. She was very good. They were just short staffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Had reservations for 7 pm made months i ...

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had reservations for 7 pm made months in advance. We were finally seated after 8pm! It is frustrating to have reservations and still had to wait over a hour for a table!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner before the theater

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our group of 10 needed a restaurant to accommodate our group and get us out in time for the show and Bucca did the job despite Mother's Day and graduation in the area.

We did wait about 15 minutes past our reservation time for a table which was confusing since there were a majority of empty tables in the area we were seated.

Our server was prompt without rushing and the food was great. I only wish she would have asked how to split the bill so we didn't have to scramble at the end to make it all work out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Won't be back

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Came here for mother's day as every other restaurant was booked. Was able to book a table for 5 people on open table for 2:15. We didn't get sat until almost 2:45. There was a long wait but the restaurant was not even half way seated. The waitress was really nice but she forgot my wine and I had to ask for it 3 times. Our pasta dish came out completely cold. Not even warm. We sent it back and they brought us a bigger dish that was hot but it was more dry with less sauce. The waitress said she would make sure that the manager took it off as it was not okay to get cold pasta. They never took it off our bill. The experience all around was not that great and I will not be back. I will make sure to make a reservation somewhere nicer next time I want to go out to dinner during a busy day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Mother's day lunchtime. Our servers wer ...

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's day lunchtime. Our servers were very attentive and helped each other out to make sure that all guests were taken care of. Great meal. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A little disappointed

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We made reservations for 15 for Mother's Day. We checked in and were told it would be a minute. Over 30 minutes later we were seated in a VERY tight space. We had time to look at the food being prepared and had read the menu ahead of time, so we had a general idea what we wanted. The portions are huge, but they did not provide enough sauce on the entrees to use with all the noodles, so then you are left with lots of noodles and no sauce. This makes one very sad. I know they were busy, but by the time we were seated and they took our order, the rush was over and there were not many people in our section and it was still hard to get a refill. For the cost, there are many other good Italian restaurants in town. I would give those a try instead.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Not the usual good experience

 
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We have eaten at Buca's several times and usually the service has been good. We had a reservation for 7:30, weren't seated until 8:00 and and at 8:30 we still had not received our salad and appetizer. The food was still good but for the price I was disappointed. I alerted the manager of our problem when he walked by. He quickly brought the salad and appetizer. The appetizer was cold. I thought he would have offered to at least comp that but no offer was made.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Waitress was excellent!

 
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Waitress was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was great to sit outside on the sidew ...

 
·Dined on May 6, 2016

It was great to sit outside on the sidewalk and people watch while we enjoyed our dinner. Our server was great. The food was great, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was wonderful everyone was happ ...

 
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was wonderful everyone was happy with the order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mediocre at best

 
·Dined on April 30, 2016

What's the point of making a reservation, confirming the appointment and still waiting 30 minutes to be seated. The service was okay. The food was below average for the price. Bland & dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Long wait

 
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I was disappointed due to the fact that I had to wait an hour after my reservation time. Very difficult to conduct a business dinner. I would hope they adjust reservation times appropriately.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Rocky Start but a solid finish

 
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We made a reservation and it took over 30 minutes beyond our reservation time to get the restaurant staff to clear and set an open table when we pointed out that they had 4 tables ready to go outside. From that point forward it was everything we expected and our waitress was awesome. All in all we had a good time. Had they actually seated us sooner than later I would have given this place a 5 star rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Food, Service unusually eh.

 
·Dined on April 20, 2016

We eat there every year when we are in Indianapolis and it has always been great. This year we were dining late after the usual evening rush. We were seated outside which was ok as it was a very nice evening. It took a long time for our server to arrive at our table to see if we wanted any appetizers and get our drink order. After bringing our drinks it seemed like a long time till our server returned to take our dinner order. It seemed like it was taking longer than normal to get our food. While we were waiting we noticed that two tables that were seated after us were getting served. Finally our food arrived. The food was great as it usually is. We have had great service here before and we definitely will return again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Generic Italian American fare

 
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was OK, pretty standard pasta and pizza dishes. We shared a veal parmesan and Caesar salad among 4 adults and were very full. The marinara sauce could have used more garlic, but generally its OK albeit bland.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great and cheerful help!

 
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Great and cheerful help!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for large groups and service ...

 
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Great place for large groups and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Normally very good, just not this time...

 
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I'm in Indy normally once a year or so and this is typically one of our favorites. The wine list was great, the antipasti salad was great but we didn't care for our pasta this time. We got the spicy chicken rigatoni and it was definitely SPICY. I felt like the red pepper flakes were way too plentiful. I've had the Shrimp Fra Diavolo before and that was fine but this was so hot the pasta didn't even have any flavor. We didn't eat bt maybe half of a small portion because it was just too hot. The restaurant was really slow while we were there on a Sun evening and we really didn't want to send it back and wait for another since we were working. I'd return but definitely wouldn't get this dish again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.