About Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis

35 North Illinois Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Washington Street and Market

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 632-2822

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Metered street parking available. Paid public parking in nearby parking structures.

Skywalk available from local area hotels, the convention center and Lucas Oil Stadium.

Public Transit:
IndyGo Bus Service - Market & Ohio Stop

Executive Chef:
Daniel Guba

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis
Spicy Chicken Rigatoni
Chicken Limone
Shrimp Florentine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Downtown Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (31)
kid-friendly (15)
special occasion (11)
See All
neighborhood gem (4)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (3)
notable wine list (2)
fit for foodies (2)
romantic (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I always love coming downt ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My family and I always love coming downtown to Buca di Beppo and this occasion was no different. They had a large party in the house that night and the place was hopping!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Bad Choice

Dined on May 15, 2016

Epic fail on my part for selecting the WRONG place to dine for our group of 13 On time for our reservation and seated promptly. Our waiter stopped bye to tell us he would be with us after he "Catches his breath" and he was having a friend get water for us. There was only a few tables occupied when we got there. It was right at 30 minutes before our wine was served and order taken. Salads and bread were fine but food was cold and just ruined the overall experience. Manager asked if we had a problem (meaning we had to tell him what we had already told the waiter) and his solution was to make us some more to go. We didn't come there for carryout so we declined and no other solution was offered. WILL NOT BE BACK OR RECOMMEND

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service5

Our food was delivered cold. Our server ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our food was delivered cold. Our server was very nice and apologized and said he would take care of it. 20 minutes later the mgr came over and said the plate with our replacement food broke when coming out of the oven. We had a play to get to and could not wait any longer. We left the restaurant hungry. The mgr did comp our appetizer but I would have thought another attempt at a good meal would have been better customer service.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. Reservation ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. Reservation was accurate and we were seated in minutes of arrival.

food3
ambience4
service3

They were extremely busy, so our 7:45 re ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

They were extremely busy, so our 7:45 reservation didn't get seated until 8:30. At 8:40, our waitress finally makes it to us and informs us that the kitchen closes at 9:00 sharp, so all dessert orders need to be in by that time. She was very good. They were just short staffed.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had reservations for 7 pm made months i ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had reservations for 7 pm made months in advance. We were finally seated after 8pm! It is frustrating to have reservations and still had to wait over a hour for a table!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner before the theater

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our group of 10 needed a restaurant to accommodate our group and get us out in time for the show and Bucca did the job despite Mother's Day and graduation in the area. We did wait about 15 minutes past our reservation time for a table which was confusing since there were a majority of empty tables in the area we were seated. Our server was prompt without rushing and the food was great. I only wish she would have asked how to split the bill so we didn't have to scramble at the end to make it all work out.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Won't be back

Dined on May 8, 2016

Came here for mother's day as every other restaurant was booked. Was able to book a table for 5 people on open table for 2:15. We didn't get sat until almost 2:45. There was a long wait but the restaurant was not even half way seated. The waitress was really nice but she forgot my wine and I had to ask for it 3 times. Our pasta dish came out completely cold. Not even warm. We sent it back and they brought us a bigger dish that was hot but it was more dry with less sauce. The waitress said she would make sure that the manager took it off as it was not okay to get cold pasta. They never took it off our bill. The experience all around was not that great and I will not be back. I will make sure to make a reservation somewhere nicer next time I want to go out to dinner during a busy day.

food5
ambience4
service5

Mother's day lunchtime. Our servers wer ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's day lunchtime. Our servers were very attentive and helped each other out to make sure that all guests were taken care of. Great meal. Thank you.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

A little disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

We made reservations for 15 for Mother's Day. We checked in and were told it would be a minute. Over 30 minutes later we were seated in a VERY tight space. We had time to look at the food being prepared and had read the menu ahead of time, so we had a general idea what we wanted. The portions are huge, but they did not provide enough sauce on the entrees to use with all the noodles, so then you are left with lots of noodles and no sauce. This makes one very sad. I know they were busy, but by the time we were seated and they took our order, the rush was over and there were not many people in our section and it was still hard to get a refill. For the cost, there are many other good Italian restaurants in town. I would give those a try instead.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Not the usual good experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

We have eaten at Buca's several times and usually the service has been good. We had a reservation for 7:30, weren't seated until 8:00 and and at 8:30 we still had not received our salad and appetizer. The food was still good but for the price I was disappointed. I alerted the manager of our problem when he walked by. He quickly brought the salad and appetizer. The appetizer was cold. I thought he would have offered to at least comp that but no offer was made.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Waitress was excellent!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Waitress was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

It was great to sit outside on the sidew ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

It was great to sit outside on the sidewalk and people watch while we enjoyed our dinner. Our server was great. The food was great, as usual.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was wonderful everyone was happ ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was wonderful everyone was happy with the order

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Mediocre at best

Dined on April 30, 2016

What's the point of making a reservation, confirming the appointment and still waiting 30 minutes to be seated. The service was okay. The food was below average for the price. Bland & dry.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Long wait

Dined on April 22, 2016

I was disappointed due to the fact that I had to wait an hour after my reservation time. Very difficult to conduct a business dinner. I would hope they adjust reservation times appropriately.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Rocky Start but a solid finish

Dined on April 22, 2016

We made a reservation and it took over 30 minutes beyond our reservation time to get the restaurant staff to clear and set an open table when we pointed out that they had 4 tables ready to go outside. From that point forward it was everything we expected and our waitress was awesome. All in all we had a good time. Had they actually seated us sooner than later I would have given this place a 5 star rating.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Great Food, Service unusually eh.

Dined on April 20, 2016

We eat there every year when we are in Indianapolis and it has always been great. This year we were dining late after the usual evening rush. We were seated outside which was ok as it was a very nice evening. It took a long time for our server to arrive at our table to see if we wanted any appetizers and get our drink order. After bringing our drinks it seemed like a long time till our server returned to take our dinner order. It seemed like it was taking longer than normal to get our food. While we were waiting we noticed that two tables that were seated after us were getting served. Finally our food arrived. The food was great as it usually is. We have had great service here before and we definitely will return again.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Generic Italian American fare

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was OK, pretty standard pasta and pizza dishes. We shared a veal parmesan and Caesar salad among 4 adults and were very full. The marinara sauce could have used more garlic, but generally its OK albeit bland.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great and cheerful help!

Dined on April 5, 2016

Great and cheerful help!

food4
ambience4
service5

Great place for large groups and service ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Great place for large groups and service was excellent.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Normally very good, just not this time...

Dined on March 20, 2016

I'm in Indy normally once a year or so and this is typically one of our favorites. The wine list was great, the antipasti salad was great but we didn't care for our pasta this time. We got the spicy chicken rigatoni and it was definitely SPICY. I felt like the red pepper flakes were way too plentiful. I've had the Shrimp Fra Diavolo before and that was fine but this was so hot the pasta didn't even have any flavor. We didn't eat bt maybe half of a small portion because it was just too hot. The restaurant was really slow while we were there on a Sun evening and we really didn't want to send it back and wait for another since we were working. I'd return but definitely wouldn't get this dish again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazed they can serve so many so well!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Was concerned when we arrived and the line was out the door...we had a reservation and the host indicated it would be 5-7 minutes delayed (no big deal to us) but we really didn't believe him. At EXACTLY 7 minutes we were seated. WOnderful patient waitress who was really hustling but still very nice and welcoming. The salads were the best---as were the appetizers. I would not bother with the garlic bread again--a bit dry but everything else was fabulous. Great service, enormous portions, fun environment.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server, Bryan, was the absolute best ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Our server, Bryan, was the absolute best in dealing with a large party and separate checks. Definitely made the meal enjoyable!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Plenty for everyone

Dined on March 18, 2016

Our reservation was honored even during a very busy time. Great for groups. Not a place for an intimate dinner as it's very loud.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service5

The caprese salad was good. The tomatoes ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

The caprese salad was good. The tomatoes were a bit unripe. The calamari was excellent. Our waitress couldn't have been any better. Nice experience!

food4
ambience4
service5

Great place for groups and sides are jus ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great place for groups and sides are just as big as the small plates!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Experience

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a group of 8. Our server was very attentive. He even had a lot of big tables. Family style food. Great, classic Italian. We will definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, family-owned, authentic-Roman ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Wonderful, family-owned, authentic-Roman-Italian-style cuisine based on traditional values and homemade dishes for a group / family to share. Reasonable prices for the quantity of food (unlike typical French restaurants). Somewhat a hole-in-the-wall feel. Food was good, service was great, definitely recommended.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food is served family style here, however they do have have portions that serve 2-3 people for couples or friends. A little pricey but the atmosphere is neat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The service was excellent. However, the ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The service was excellent. However, the food and the restaurant were both cold. I requested a table and they tried to seat us at a booth. Dessert was great. Overall for the money they charge the food should arrive at the table hot. Disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 12, 2016

Excellent service and couldn't ask for more on Valentine's Day!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere! Meatballs ar ...

Dined on February 9, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! Meatballs are outstanding!

food3
ambience3
service3

We had reservations @ 8pm and arrived at ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

We had reservations @ 8pm and arrived at 7:40. We were not seated until 9pm. Once we were seated our service was excellent, but an hour wait WITH reservations is NOT acceptable.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Didn't get to dine at Buca Di Beppo

Dined on January 31, 2016

Unfortunately, we did not get to dine at the restaurant. Although I called just an hour before our scheduled dining time to see if we could add 4 to our party (we were told it would not be a problem) when we arrived their was a line out the door of people waiting to be seated. After making our way through the line of approximately 40 people (past one extremely rude gentleman), we check in at the hostess stand only to learn that all the people waiting also had reservations for 7:00. After giving it 20 minutes and hearing only 1 group being seated, we decided to go else where for dinner. Not sure what happened but the hostess seemed flustered and told us that management was not giving her any information. I'm sure something happened with their reservation system but it still was not the best plan to have people have to push their way through a crowd to check in - why not have check in at the door?

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

crowded

Dined on January 31, 2016

The restaurant was extremely crowded and noisy, and filled with pre-teens without supervision. We were seated after our reservation time, but the staff quickly accommodated a member of our group with a physical disability and were very respectful and helpful throughout the night once we were seated.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Turkey Bolognese

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

I don't eat red meat and loved the Turkey Bolognese. I hope it becomes a permanent menu item! I also thought the garlic bread was much improved over the last time I remember having it. It was more flavorful and not dry.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Not forthcoming and suitable for large groups

Dined on January 9, 2016

Maybe they had an off night but I went to Bucca with a reservation for 20 on a Friday night at 7:30 and was thoroughly disappointed when we were all seated at different tables in the same section. My group was sending a friend off to a new adventure in California and we wanted to all be seated together so that we could enjoy his company before he left. I was told that they would be able to accommodate my reservation but not told that it would be spread over 4 separate tables. Overall the waitstaff was fairly good, a few drinks came out slow, and the food was overall just below average Italian..I would not go back

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

NYE 2015

Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I have visited Buca for several different special occasions like birthdays and anniversaries so we decided to come here for our 2015 NYE dinner. We made reservations a week before and when we arrived we maybe waited 10 minutes for our table. The server, Bryan, was prompt, courteous, and friendly. Since it was NYE we purchased the big bottle of wine, cheese garlic bread, a couple small menu items to share, and tiramisu for dessert. In all the bill was ~$110 before the tip. We love Buca and they continue to impress. We'll be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food. Awesome service. Will be bac ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Great food. Awesome service. Will be back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.