About Buca di Beppo - Austin

3612 Tudor Boulevard
Austin, TX 78759
View Larger Map

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Mopac Access Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 342-8462

Website:
http://www.bucadibeppo.com/

Catering:
Our full menu is available for Buca To Go and Delivery. If you're hosting a special occasion or group event at your home, office or a local area reception hall, Buca To Go or Buca Delivery is the perfect choice. Our friendly & professional staff will assist you with your order, arrange a specific pick-up time for Buca To Go or deliver your order ($25 delivery fee applies to deliveries). Plates, napkins, eating & serving utensils and condiments are included. No minimum purchase required. Please allow 3 hours for same-day delivery and call for questions/details about our delivery service area.

Parking Details:
Free self parking in private lot. Additional parking available in public shared lot.

Public Transit:
Capitol Metro bus stops at Tudor Boulevard and at Hyatt Place.

Executive Chef:
Gustavo Patron

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion, planning a business dinner or having a night out with family and friends, Buca di Beppo is your answer to one fabulous group dining experience! Buca serves authentic Italian family-style meals in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our knowledgeable staff will help organize and plan your group event or meetings with diverse lunch or dinner banquet packages - ideal for groups of 20 or more. Private and semi-private rooms are available.

Restaurant Photos

Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Buca di Beppo - Austin
Chicken Parmigiana
Baked Ziti
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Fettuccini Alfredo
Purple Pear Italian Soda
Lasa
Colossal Brownie Sundae
Gnocchi
Ravioli With Meat Sauce
Cake
Chicken Canelone
Jumbo Stuffed Shells
Seasonal Vodka Cider
Shrimp Fra Diavolo
Bruschetta

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From Buca's delicious, Italian cuisine to the fun and festive atmosphere, we know how to have a good time! Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. We can accommodate any event or budget, from business occasions to casual family affairs.

Buca di Beppo - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.6

ambience

3.6

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (3)
special occasion (2)
kid-friendly (1)
See All
late-night find (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My date and I originally had plans to ha ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My date and I originally had plans to have dinner somewhere else but had to switch up after a power outage hit that neighborhood. At first, I was surprised that I was able to get a Saturday night table at Buca on such short notice, and even more surprised when I could get a parking spot right in front of the restaurant. After dining there, I understood why Buca was as empty as I'd seen it on a weekend. Salad portion was smaller than usual and the lettuce was starting to go brown. Entree chicken was on the dry side and not sauced sufficiently. Service was adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good! Plenty in portions!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was good! Plenty in portions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Have been to this Buca many times. Food ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Have been to this Buca many times. Food is usually good. Service is marginal. This time it was a Tuesday. Not many people in the restaurant. We sat in the bar area again. It was very cool again. The AC is cranked down in this area. Very uncomfortable. The bartender is responsible for waiting tables and also making all the drinks for the entire restaurant and maintaining the bar, therefore we had to wait too long again for things and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

It was our first time going. They walked ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

It was our first time going. They walked us through the way the ordering is done. Since it is family style dining, it was a bit confusing. Once it was explained by our waiter, we had a better picture. Do not shy away because of the price. The small portions were enough to split between two people and still bring some some left-overs. Make it a dining experience. That's what we did. I suggest reservations!!!!! Open table was the best app for it. Cut our wait time by over 1.5 hrs that we were originally quoted when I initially called.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun times, fair food.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We had a corner booth in the back, so it wasn't as loud as I imagine other parts of the restaurant were. Overall the ambiance was raucous and fun, which is what I think they are going for, judging by the wall art - basically a collage of photos of Italian-Americans and Italian celebrities. The waiter was friendly and attentive. The kitchen lost our order and so the wait for our food was about 45 minutes, but we were having fun, and luckily, my 6-year old was in a good mood. The lemon chicken was frankly bland. The spaghetti and meatballs was pretty good. The desserts were good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Absolutely the worst experience from the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Absolutely the worst experience from the moment we entered until we left. When we mentioned the horrible service to the manager he was indifferent and recommended that we go to their corporate webpage. No wonder the staff doesn't care. They get it from their management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Big portions. Tasty Italian food.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Interesting pictures on the walls. Old style furnishing. Apparent leak, so the back door was open with fans blowing. Their approach to Italian food is very traditional and tasty with large sharing portions. So you do get your money's worth, so to speak, in an average setting. We'd go back for a very casual family dinner mostly for the neighborhood convenience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Easter Meal

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We ate here on Easter and to my surprise it was not that crowded. We were sat at the bar at to my relief the noise level was just right. The music was not too loud, not too low. The wait staff at the bar wee very personable and friendly but not too overbearing. I was with my wife, 2 daughters and my dad and we had an enjoyable meal. The food was very good as well.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Just Ok

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

The food is fine, nothing special. Same goes for service, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very Disappointed with staff and management

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Arrived early with no rush on a Thursday night and place was only about 20% full. I've been thinking for a long time that Austin wait staff are the worse I've encountered anywhere in the world and the young lady here lived up to the image.

We ordered wine and she brought it and poured for me (the guy) first and then for my girlfriend, spilling the wine as she half missed the glass. which left the table cloth we for the remainder of the evening.

Appetizers took about 25 minutes to arrive and we never saw her to even inquire why it was taking so long. One the bread and wine were on the table she vanished. When she poured the oil and vinegar she over poured the vinegar to the rim of the plate, about 4 times what is normal and provided only a splash of vinegar. I ended up pouring the oil off into a napkin from the two extra place settings she never cleared from the table.

Veal Parmigiana was ordered and 3 pieces of burnt veal was served up with a smidgen of the sauce. When she made it back to the table a while later my girlfriend had had 2 bites of 1 of the 3 slices and I had about 4 of mine and the rest was still on the large platter. I stated the veal was over cooked, black on the edges with the consistency of tough shoe leather. Her comment was that "Yeah. I noticed"..... I guess she was too afraid of the cook to mention it then or to the manager before serving it.

Manager finally came by and looked at it and agreed it should not have been served. he discounted the entree (which had 90% remaining) by $14 (50%)

Never again here. Nicer places with better service at the Domain or Arboretum in the same price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

Italian for Christmas

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

We decided not to cook for Christmas and the original place we tried was over an hour wait. Buca di Beppo had an open reservation. When we arrived, the host was overwhelmed and people were waiting all over. Evidentially large group seating was an issue on Christmas. However we were seated promptly as a party of four. Our waitress was energetic and friendly through out the meal. Our food came out quickly. My dad and brother enjoyed a generous small pizza and my mom and I enjoyed a nicely spiced shrimp pasta. Yum!

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved it!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Great gift for Christmas. Didn't have to cook a thing. Has lunch at Lubys and topped the day off with dinner at a place we've never been before and had a great time. This is our go to Italian restaurant from now on! Buca di Beppo is amazing!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very bad customer service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We came on Christmas night. The staff was overwhelmed and it was clear they weren't prepared for the crowd. Awful experience. We'll stay home for Christmas dinner in the future.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Bad service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

The service was terrible. Took my husband 40 minutes to get a beer. Fettuccine Alfredo was so dry, we asked for extra sauce and it took 30 minutes and then they charged for the extra sauce. Most of the food was just ok ; not terrible. but not great either. Would not go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Not a great result on Christmas

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

I took my family of 5 there for Christmas for a 4:15 reservation. We were seated at about 4:30. Our server promptly brought us water and bread and took our order. The first dish ( tomato, basil, mozzarella in olive oil) was delivered promptly and tasted very good. Our entree item took about 90 minutes to come out, and the 5 pieces of chicken were tiny, overcooked, and dry. Our server started apologizing to us at about the 45 minute mark for how long it was taking, but it still took much longer.

We were interested in dessert and coffee, but we had been at the restaurant for almost 2 hours already. We chose to pay and leave.

Overall, it was a disappointing effort and too expensive for the small amount of food in our main entree. I don't plan to go back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Always good service and good food.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Quirky interior will keep you entertained. Food is reliably good. Portions are huge, so plan on sharing.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place for a family get toge ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

What a great place for a family get together. Huge portions and amazing quality that impressed the pickiest of eaters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place for larger parties or special occasion

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

I like the family style nature of the dishes and the variety to choose from. The environment is fun and casual and sets a relaxing tone. The food is good. I prefer this restaurant to other Italian chains. Always a nice time when our family visits.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

SO LOUD!!!!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Hubs and I took the kiddos to Buca Di Beppo for the first time last Saturday, thinking it would be fun for them. We had a reservation and were seated immediately, however, they seated us in a room with two large parties who were drinking and SO LOUD!!! In addition, we really needed a high chair for our 2 year old, but due to the limited space in the room with the parties, we had to seat her in our booth. I'm sure you can imagine how that went... yeah. Not good. Finally, we hardly saw our waiter. In fairness to him, he was working one of the large, obnoxious parties, but the service was less than spectacular. He basically showed up to take our order and bring our bill but someone else did everything else. We couldn't wait to get out of there... even I was over-stimulated. Will we go back, unlikely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Thanksgiving Lunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

For our non-traditional Thanksgiving Day lunch we could not have picked a better spot. We got served in a timely manner on a very busy day and the food was excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hot

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

We were walked all the way through the the restaurant and we were seated as far back as you could go. The farther back we went, the hotter it got. It was stifling where we were seated, no cool air coming from anywhere. was an uncomfortable meal

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

thanksgiving visit

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

3Rd holiday at Buca. Will be a tradition every Thanksgiving and maybe other holidays.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanskgiving with Pope Francis!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

I made an online reservation for Thanksgiving lunch for a group of 12. We arrived 5-minutes early for our reservation and were seated promptly in the "pope" room that featured a bust of Pope Francis in the middle of the table on a Lazy Susan. Our waiter was courteous, attentive & engaging. The restaurant GM took the time to visit with us in an effort to ensure that our meal and visit was satisfactory. As always, the meal was hearty, delicious & very satisfying! This is the 2nd consecutive year that we celebrate Thanksgiving at Buca di Beppo and we are already planning our third!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!!!!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Everything is good here, food, service, place!! love it!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Heather Perry The Pet Loss Center

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

When I called I spoke with J Tracy. She is fun and energetic. She helped me with the menu and suggested wines for our group. Very nice down to earth lady. She even came out and met us and made us all laugh after we had such a long day with our Grand Opening. That woman deserves a raise for sure.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

We decided to try this restaurant for date night after a friend suggested it. I thanked him over and over for the suggestion. The food was AMAZING with big portions!!! My husband and I will definitely be coming back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

35th dinner anniversary oct 4th 2015 7:30 pm

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on October 5, 2015

We Had veal and chicken Parmigiana thin breaded patties not True Italian but commercial not homemade at all and there is a big difference. the cake I had was a small thin slice for$13 was supposed to be for 2 people . lets face it I bought a salad some spaghetti some low quality patties and a $10 loaf of non Italian bread , the coffee was luke warm a few sodas all for about $100 .the mozzarella was nothing like the picture on the wall of the ladies eating pizza .we absolutely Loved the salad the correct blend of olive oil and vinegar .

Tags: late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

no service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 28, 2015

No refills, no waitress to attend, no napkins were given after we asked... They knew it was a birthday and we had to call several times for them to attend to that. There was almost no one in the restaurant because it was a monday and we still had to leave a good chunk of tip even if the waitress didn't do much.

Worst service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Best lasagna than any other restaurant

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

I always come here for the best lasagna in town. I also like the wait staff very attentive.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fektt like Sunday's at moms

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

First time going to this restaurant. We celebrated our daughter's birthday. Loved the atmosphere and the different dinning rooms decor. The food was great and service was too. Great place for a celebration with family and friends. Definately recommend this place.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Family birthday dinner flop

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

We had a big family birthday dinner here and were disappointed in both the food and the service. The food was ok, but not any better than what you can get in the frozen food section of the grocery store. The best food of the night was the birthday cake we brought to the meal! The food was certainly not worth the hefty price tag. The service was disturbing. First the insistence that each person show ID for a beer despite the fact that they were obviously way over 2l1, and declining service, in an way that was embarassing, to one of our group that did not have their ID with them. Then, to top it off, they tried to charge us for the beer that they declined to serve us! Plus slow service, empty drink glasses during the meal, and the place wasn't even busy. It was not a good experience and we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great food. Lots of great food.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 1, 2015

Great food. Lots of great food. Unique atmosphere. Wonderful Italian food with not a burger or chicken tender to be found.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pre K dining room

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

The room we were in was too closed in for group seating. With reservations, our group of ten walked into a room with two families seated together, right behind our chairs...parents eating while their children ran around and were LOUD. Parents sat stuffing their faces. No place to move us! Bad deal but good meal! Won't go back.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Celebrating my birthday

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

Celebrating my birthday with my family for a party of 11. The service was excellent and couldn't ask for anything less from them.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One year old

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

Met family and friends to celebrate my grandson's first birthday. We come to Boca a lot for celebrations. Unfortunately this time the service was not as good as usual. We did not get offers of drink refills, had to ask questions several times, had to call the waiter several times to ask questions, at the end of the meal were given the to go boxes to fill ourselves, just did not get very good service. Maybe the waiter was busy. Maybe there were a lot of people there. The room we were in was very private so we could not see what else was going on around us. The food was great as always. We haven't changed our love for the restaurant and always recommend it to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Very awesome place. I've been coming her ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

Very awesome place. I've been coming here since I was a kid. Great for any occasion. Try the lemon chicken

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Food and Ambiance

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

The food was spot on and the service was fast and friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Buca di Beppo - Austin

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

I brought my partner here for a romantic, special dinner and he enjoyed it very much. I had visited Bucca during lunch with friends and we all enjoyed our meal, the ambiance, the special attention that wait staff paid to our group. I highly recommend Bucca for lunch with a group or for a special dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made Memories w/Good Food & La Familia

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

It has been a while since I have been to Buca Di Beppo. Our family was celebrating a birthday and the family style service gave us the sense we were at home enjoying a meal without the labor of cooking and cleaning. The food was good and we could actually hear each other speak from across the table. Our server was extremely friendly and attentive. We'll be back to celebrate again in the near future.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Mixed feelings

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

We ate early, so it was quiet, uncrowded. Personally, I could do without some of the tacky photos on the wall... tongues hanging out, etc. Old time photos can be great. The food was quite good. I did not like the Buco Chianti, however, and told the server. Service was rather slow... perhaps because they cannot see the tables easily.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.