About Bub City

RJ, Jerrod and Molly, in conjunction with Chef / Partner Doug Psaltis have created their own destination for country music lovers to enjoy a cocktail, grab a bite and have some fun.

Chef Psaltis created Bub City’s new menu with a focus on authentic barbecue. Signature items include Burnt Ends, Baby Back Ribs, Carolina Style Pulled Pork and 18 hr. Beef Brisket. Large groups can enjoy the “Whole Pork Picnic” featuring Slow-Smoked Pork Shoulder served with four sides.

Bub City boasts a bar offering more than 125 selections.

435 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:
M-Fri 11:00AM - 2:00AM
Sat 10:00AM - 3:00AM
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00AM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4200

Website:
http://www.bubcitychicago.com/

Entertainment:
Guests can expect to see live performances on the venue’s 16-foot stage by some of country music’s emerging talent throughout the week, take in acoustic performances on Mondays, and get behind the mic during live band karaoke on Tuesdays.

Catering:
Set with high top tables and bar seating, Bub City's semi-private Whiskey Bar is perfect for a cocktail reception (up to 40 guests) and with the added Corral, accommodates 60. Both are available prior to 7:30 p.m. daily. Arrangements for large groups of up to 20 guests can also be made in the main dining room.

Public Transit:
CTA #22 Bus at Clark and Hubbard St
Close to CTA Brown/Purple Line stop at Merchandise Mart
Close to CTA Red Line stop at Grand and State St

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
Fridays just got a whole lot better. We're now celebrating the end of the workweek with a Build-Your-Own-Margarita Bar. For just $9, customize your marg just the way you like it: Start with Casamigos Blanco tequila and choose frozen or on-the-rocks, then the rest is up to you. Pick from salt rims like lime, smoke and spicy salts, then decide on a mixer—classic lime, grapefruit, coconut, cucumber, spicy strawberry or pineapple. As the bartender mixes away, choose from a variety of garnishes, including herbs, fruit, vegetable spears, blackened shrimp and more. Added bonus: There may just be some salty snacks (think pork rinds, chips and guacamole) and an ice-cold beer waiting for you at the end of the line. To reserve a table, please visit bubcitychicago.com or call 312-610-4200.

Private Dining

Host your next private event at Bub City and treat your guests to an authentic barbecue experience. Our unique atmosphere, delicious food, and attentive service will ensure your gathering is one to remember!

Bub City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (30)
Casual (30)
Comfort Food (28)
See All
Fun (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Bar Seating (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Great Beer (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Live Sports (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Dancing (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Family Style (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Special Occasion (8)
People Watching (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Spicy (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Business Meals (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Romantic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
912 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice place, good food and music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was average at a premium price. Made reservations on-line and made comment that we were celebrating our anniversary; no mention of it while we were there. From Texas so was very disappointed!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great energy, good food and service, but tables were tight and got bumped often. Otherwise had a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

From the moment we walked in, it felt like we were in a bar in Nashville. we arrived early for our reservation and we seated immediately. at no point during our time there di it feel like the server was simply trying to flip the table and get us out the door.
The food was absolutely top shelf in regards to authentic flavoring. The Nashville hot chicken was not my first choice of items on the menu, but I am damn glad I went with it. full of flavor and stayed juicy. The Brussel Sprouts were outstanding as well. they had some mustardy dressing on them
and the Whiskey Bar is a perfect way to finish off that meal. Don't be cheap. treat yourself, and enjoy a cocktail.
We will be going back to Bub City.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This place is really good for party especially on Friday night. The music there makes you relax and energetic. I like the ribs and sausage there, especially the fried stuffed jalapeno, it's soooooooo good!!!

Oh, by the way, the women restroom's decoration is funny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We came mostly for the build your own Bloody Mary bar, which did not disappoint. Our server was about as bad as they come, although she did get our food order right. The rest of the staff seemed very friendly and helpful, so maybe just caught her on a bad day.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Don't get sat in the bar area on a weekend night, people bump into you and basically sit on you. Not ideal, but the food and good service make up for some of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food, will definitely return. Very loud, so be aware of that if noise bothers you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Fantasy BBQ!
This was my second visit, with friends, to BC.
Each visit the food and service have been exceptional. I have tried the Chicken, 18 hour Brisket, Ribs, Pulled Pork, Mac-N-Cheese, Wings and the amazing Sprouts.
The band that start around 9-9:30 have been pretty good as well.
Cheers!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great atmosphere, and amazing wait- staff! Food was excellent and was served rather fast, wide selection of drinks as well

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Bub City is my FAVORITE country bar in Chicago!!! Sunday Brunch is my favorite. Cannot beat their bloodymarys and live country music!! 5 stars!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Dancing, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was amazing... staff very nice...and prices are VERY reasonable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

There was a man in the ladies restroom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great cocktails and BBQ!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was great but our waiter missed a couple things. Specifically, we asked him for refills on our drinks a couple times and didn't get it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Husband and I went for drinks, dinner and live music! We came early to have some drinks- stopped in at 8pm (reservations not until 930) the host told us she could get us sat early so just hang out at the bar- which was standing room early. We weren't able to be sat until nearly 10pm, so that was frustrating! Food was good- recommend the nachos! Band was good and great service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Y'all are the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great food. Didn't care for the music or decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great brunch and bloody Mary bar. You will be full after you are done eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had an amazing time. Huge selection of bourbon whiskey! Great love music with wonderful service.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Dancing, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

great food and amazing service ! the food came out very quick and our waiter was very helpful and nice. the live music was a little loud and people had to yell to eachother . other then that the food was perfect and it was a great experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Went before Goodman. Pretty loud, server was decent but entrées arrived about 30 seconds after app, but were still oddly not that warm. We had a gift card to burn...only reason we went. Much better food in this city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was cold, server didn't know menu and was promised broccoli when they don't even offer that

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was simply amazing! Loved taking my date there for a fantastic meal. Definitely coming back soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Dancing, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great atmosphere and had an awesome country band playing. I loved that they kept filling up my water throughout the night without even asking. We started with appetizers and wow were they huge! Someone could probably make a meal out them. The service was quick and we were constantly taken care of...our server was always making sure we had what we needed. We had a great time. We are definitely going to be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Live Music, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went for Saturday brunch. Place was busy, but the build your own Bloody Mary made up for it. We ordered the food to share between two of us and had more than enough to eat. Pulled pork sandwich, brisket nachos, and bacon Mac&Cheese was served within 10 minutes of ordering it. Would definitely go again!

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Meh. It was just okay. The food, I've had better BBQ. Buts it's a LEYE so it's hit or miss. I'd go for drinks n appetizers only.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I'd go here every Sunday if I could. The brunch is delicious, the Bloody Mary bar is the best I've ever seen anywhere, there is live music and the vibe is awesome. Great spot for a group!

Tags: Live Sports, Family Style, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I went for Restaurant week so I was disappointed they had run out of the brisket option but they did substitute a pulled pork option. The salad was huge! It was very busy so felt crowded seated at a high top table for my dinner reservations. Constantly getting hit by purses and bags when people walked by and ducked my head for waitstaff carrying trays. We were seated by the bar. It was loud.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great brunch food- can't beat the chicken sandwich

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I love this place and have had great experiences in the past. This time just fell short but that won't keep me from returning.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Bub City is a fun place to eat with friends. I love Country music, so this place is the place to be. Biscuits and gravy were really good and the amount of food you are served is too much, so plan on a take home a sack. Thanks for a great brunch!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was excellent. Interesting and good selections on menu. Prices were reasonable for downtown. Our server was friendly and fast, but didn't rush us out once we were done eating. The only negative part of the night was the location of our table as my chair was kicked at least thirty times and that was annoying.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

So fun! Great service! Fabulous live music! Not overly priced!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Great Beer, Casual, Bar Seating, Live Music, Dancing, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Terrible food. Earnest servers. Fun atmosphere particularly if you like country music. Go for a beer some wings and for music. Skip big meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very fun atmosphere! Great service! Great brisket! Mac and cheese okay as was fried chicken....just okay which was a bit of a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great BBQ for the Midwest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fun, energetic, good food, great ambiance and service. Would like to come back with a group for live music. Careful for the MANnequin in the ladies bathroom.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great Beer, Live Music, Spicy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Dancing, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

They are so accommodating to food allergies and still yummy!

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good food and great atmosphere and the wait staff was very personable. Great location as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.