About Bub City

435 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

RJ, Jerrod and Molly, in conjunction with Chef / Partner Doug Psaltis have created their own destination for country music lovers to enjoy a cocktail, grab a bite and have some fun.

Chef Psaltis created Bub City’s new menu with a focus on authentic barbecue. Signature items include Burnt Ends, Baby Back Ribs, Carolina Style Pulled Pork and 18 hr. Beef Brisket. Large groups can enjoy the “Whole Pork Picnic” featuring Slow-Smoked Pork Shoulder served with four sides.

Bub City boasts a bar offering more than 125 selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:
M-Fri 11:00AM - 2:00AM
Sat 10:00AM - 3:00AM
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00AM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4200

Website:
http://www.bubcitychicago.com/

Entertainment:
Guests can expect to see live performances on the venue’s 16-foot stage by some of country music’s emerging talent throughout the week, take in acoustic performances on Mondays, and get behind the mic during live band karaoke on Tuesdays.

Catering:
Set with high top tables and bar seating, Bub City's semi-private Whiskey Bar is perfect for a cocktail reception (up to 40 guests) and with the added Corral, accommodates 60. Both are available prior to 7:30 p.m. daily. Arrangements for large groups of up to 20 guests can also be made in the main dining room.

Public Transit:
CTA #22 Bus at Clark and Hubbard St
Close to CTA Brown/Purple Line stop at Merchandise Mart
Close to CTA Red Line stop at Grand and State St

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
Fridays just got a whole lot better. We're now celebrating the end of the workweek with a Build-Your-Own-Margarita Bar. For just $9, customize your marg just the way you like it: Start with Casamigos Blanco tequila and choose frozen or on-the-rocks, then the rest is up to you. Pick from salt rims like lime, smoke and spicy salts, then decide on a mixer—classic lime, grapefruit, coconut, cucumber, spicy strawberry or pineapple. As the bartender mixes away, choose from a variety of garnishes, including herbs, fruit, vegetable spears, blackened shrimp and more. Added bonus: There may just be some salty snacks (think pork rinds, chips and guacamole) and an ice-cold beer waiting for you at the end of the line. To reserve a table, please visit bubcitychicago.com or call 312-610-4200.

Private Dining

Host your next private event at Bub City and treat your guests to an authentic barbecue experience. Our unique atmosphere, delicious food, and attentive service will ensure your gathering is one to remember!

Bub City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (38)
Live Music (33)
Comfort Food (31)
See All
Good for Groups (24)
Fun (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Good for a Date (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Live Sports (16)
Happy Hour (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Great Beer (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
People Watching (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Family Style (10)
Dancing (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Spicy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
897 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Y'all are the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Didn't care for the music or decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great brunch and bloody Mary bar. You will be full after you are done eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Had an amazing time. Huge selection of bourbon whiskey! Great love music with wonderful service.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Dancing, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

great food and amazing service ! the food came out very quick and our waiter was very helpful and nice. the live music was a little loud and people had to yell to eachother . other then that the food was perfect and it was a great experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Went before Goodman. Pretty loud, server was decent but entrées arrived about 30 seconds after app, but were still oddly not that warm. We had a gift card to burn...only reason we went. Much better food in this city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was cold, server didn't know menu and was promised broccoli when they don't even offer that

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was simply amazing! Loved taking my date there for a fantastic meal. Definitely coming back soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Dancing, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great atmosphere and had an awesome country band playing. I loved that they kept filling up my water throughout the night without even asking. We started with appetizers and wow were they huge! Someone could probably make a meal out them. The service was quick and we were constantly taken care of...our server was always making sure we had what we needed. We had a great time. We are definitely going to be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Live Music, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went for Saturday brunch. Place was busy, but the build your own Bloody Mary made up for it. We ordered the food to share between two of us and had more than enough to eat. Pulled pork sandwich, brisket nachos, and bacon Mac&Cheese was served within 10 minutes of ordering it. Would definitely go again!

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Meh. It was just okay. The food, I've had better BBQ. Buts it's a LEYE so it's hit or miss. I'd go for drinks n appetizers only.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I'd go here every Sunday if I could. The brunch is delicious, the Bloody Mary bar is the best I've ever seen anywhere, there is live music and the vibe is awesome. Great spot for a group!

Tags: Live Sports, Family Style, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I went for Restaurant week so I was disappointed they had run out of the brisket option but they did substitute a pulled pork option. The salad was huge! It was very busy so felt crowded seated at a high top table for my dinner reservations. Constantly getting hit by purses and bags when people walked by and ducked my head for waitstaff carrying trays. We were seated by the bar. It was loud.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great brunch food- can't beat the chicken sandwich

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I love this place and have had great experiences in the past. This time just fell short but that won't keep me from returning.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Bub City is a fun place to eat with friends. I love Country music, so this place is the place to be. Biscuits and gravy were really good and the amount of food you are served is too much, so plan on a take home a sack. Thanks for a great brunch!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was excellent. Interesting and good selections on menu. Prices were reasonable for downtown. Our server was friendly and fast, but didn't rush us out once we were done eating. The only negative part of the night was the location of our table as my chair was kicked at least thirty times and that was annoying.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

So fun! Great service! Fabulous live music! Not overly priced!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Great Beer, Casual, Bar Seating, Live Music, Dancing, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Terrible food. Earnest servers. Fun atmosphere particularly if you like country music. Go for a beer some wings and for music. Skip big meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very fun atmosphere! Great service! Great brisket! Mac and cheese okay as was fried chicken....just okay which was a bit of a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great BBQ for the Midwest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fun, energetic, good food, great ambiance and service. Would like to come back with a group for live music. Careful for the MANnequin in the ladies bathroom.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great Beer, Live Music, Spicy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Dancing, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

They are so accommodating to food allergies and still yummy!

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good food and great atmosphere and the wait staff was very personable. Great location as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fun atmosphere, good food.

Our waiter was friendly and attentive, but explained to us that everything was a la carte and the sandwiches didn't come with anything, so we ordered waffle fries... only to find that the sandwiches came with chips and cole slaw. Had we know that we wouldn't have ordered the fries.

The whiskey list is extensive, there are several beers available, but only about 4 wines, so if you're a wine lover your choices are limited.

We had the pulled chicken and brisket sandwiches, which were both good. The waffle fries were plentiful and good, as well. It was a bit noisy, but fun. My date got a kick out of the women's rest room... a bit pricier than most bbq places for a sandwich (but not over-the-top expensive), but it's a Lettuce Entertain You venue, so I guess it's expected.

Overall, we had a good time and the food was yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Highly recommend the Sunday brunch and Bloody Mary bar. Bloodys are pricy but worth it - more than the usual condiments plus a small high life as your chaser included.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The Food was good. Atmosphere was fun great place to meet friends in Chicago not to pricey. Bar stocked well Bartenders knew how to make drinks just a fun place in Chicago 👍

Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Molecular Gastronomy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Staff is friendly, food is fantastic "comfort food"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2016

More bar like atmosphere than restaurant. Great place to sit outside in the summer.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great drinks, great food. Make room to order side dishes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Nice place but the BBQ was mediocre at best. Average price for this type of place in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Stopped in with two others for a casual dinner. Little busy but not outrageous for a Saturday night. Did not wait more than a few minutes for a table.

Ambience is pleasant, volume is reasonable, drink selection is solid. Food is reasonably priced for the River North location; the BBQ brisket I sampled from a companion's plate was on point. Maybe not on par with authentic Southern BBQ joints, but very solid nonetheless. And if you're into fried chicken sandwiches, it's hard to beat the 8 Buck Cluck. Lot of good food for the price.

Service was fantastic, as well. Friendly and attentive without overdoing it. We'll be back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I've been to Bub City for brunch twice now and each time was fantastic. The bacon is unique, the biscuits are delicious, and the portions are plentiful. I'm not a fan of bloody Mary's, but they look exciting. Grandpa's Special Tea is a mug of Litpon plus a shot of cinnamon whisky - all you need on a cold winter day! It's a really fun atmosphere with tasty food. It's worth trying and retrurning for brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food!

Burnt ends were absolutely amazing! Gidde up fries are a must and the Fried pickles were the best I'd ever had! Will surely revisit

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Fun, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Very nice evening with friends, the good food and live country music . Place for dancing. Super loose atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Everything was great food was amazing and our server was super fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Fantastic meal!! Way to much food for a great price!

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Ya gotta like country music to eat here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We celebrated Thanksgiving there, with a special turkey with fixings dinner. It was amazing, as well as others who tried ribs, butt-ends, and some side dishes like the corn and spoon bread. Huge selection of whiskeys and definitely noisy (in a good way!).

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving special! We made reservations and had to adjust them the day before. Staff was friendly, relaxed and helpful. The food came out quickly and was delicious!! The generous helping of turkey breast was juicy. Included was mashed potatoes, gravy, corn bread stuffing, and a small condiment bowl of cranberries. I would have appreciated something green on my plate, though. The restaurant was warm and fun. Everyone had a relaxed smile! I will definitely go back the next time I get to Chicago.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Live Sports, Late-night Find, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, People Watching, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fantastic service and atmosphere. Great Thanksgiving food and ribs.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

There was no brunch unable to be seated till after delivery of food for thanksgiving

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

This place has seen its day. The menu is standard and the food is cafeteria quality.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Enjoyed the BBQ so if you are a fan of lots of BBQ options, try this place. The food was out quickly and service was great.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Loved Bub City!!! Excellent food and entertainment with the live bands! The Brisket is the best!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Dancing, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

AMAZING food!!! We had a group of 6, and EVERYTHING was excellent!! Blows away any other BBQ restaurant I've been to!

Tags: Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I appreciated their willingness to accommodate our group of 11 on a busy Saturday night. However, we were seated near the bar, which was closed off for a "private" party. Between their loud conversations, the even louder music and the noise level of the rest of the room, the evening turned out to be a disappointment. It was hard for us to carry on our own conversations. Our server did a great job. She was pleasant, helpful and patient.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The smoked chicken was fabulous - was under the opinion there might be live dinner music - that is the only thing that would have made it better - was a little over noisy - couldn't hear people at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was there with a group of ladies, we had a great time and our server was excellent!! I wish I could remember his name, he was one of the best servers i've had!!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I love coming here for brunch! If you like live country music, this is a great spot. I was able to get a 1:30 reservation the morning of which was awesome. I got the chicken biscuit sandwich with grits and mac and cheese on the side. I'm originally from the south so their grits are nothing to write home about. But everything else was extremely tasty. Their Bloody Mary bar is also great. So many different toppings, even a small grilled cheese sandwich (get this every time, trust me).

Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.