About Bub City

435 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

RJ, Jerrod and Molly, in conjunction with Chef / Partner Doug Psaltis have created their own destination for country music lovers to enjoy a cocktail, grab a bite and have some fun.

Chef Psaltis created Bub City’s new menu with a focus on authentic barbecue. Signature items include Burnt Ends, Baby Back Ribs, Carolina Style Pulled Pork and 18 hr. Beef Brisket. Large groups can enjoy the “Whole Pork Picnic” featuring Slow-Smoked Pork Shoulder served with four sides.

Bub City boasts a bar offering more than 125 selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:
M-Fri 11:00AM - 2:00AM
Sat 10:00AM - 3:00AM
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00AM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4200

Website:
http://www.bubcitychicago.com/

Entertainment:
Guests can expect to see live performances on the venue’s 16-foot stage by some of country music’s emerging talent throughout the week, take in acoustic performances on Mondays, and get behind the mic during live band karaoke on Tuesdays.

Catering:
Set with high top tables and bar seating, Bub City's semi-private Whiskey Bar is perfect for a cocktail reception (up to 40 guests) and with the added Corral, accommodates 60. Both are available prior to 7:30 p.m. daily. Arrangements for large groups of up to 20 guests can also be made in the main dining room.

Public Transit:
CTA #22 Bus at Clark and Hubbard St
Close to CTA Brown/Purple Line stop at Merchandise Mart
Close to CTA Red Line stop at Grand and State St

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
Fridays just got a whole lot better. We're now celebrating the end of the workweek with a Build-Your-Own-Margarita Bar. For just $9, customize your marg just the way you like it: Start with Casamigos Blanco tequila and choose frozen or on-the-rocks, then the rest is up to you. Pick from salt rims like lime, smoke and spicy salts, then decide on a mixer—classic lime, grapefruit, coconut, cucumber, spicy strawberry or pineapple. As the bartender mixes away, choose from a variety of garnishes, including herbs, fruit, vegetable spears, blackened shrimp and more. Added bonus: There may just be some salty snacks (think pork rinds, chips and guacamole) and an ice-cold beer waiting for you at the end of the line. To reserve a table, please visit bubcitychicago.com or call 312-610-4200.

Restaurant Photos

Bub City
Bub City
Giddy Up Fries
Eight Buck Cluck
chili
Ponderosa Pine Cocktail
Buffalo Chicken Bites
Fried Pickles
Blue Crab Fingers
Lemon Meringue Pie
Strawberry Crumble
Chopped Brisket Sandwich
Whiskey Sour
Old Fashioned
BBQ St. Louis Pork Ribs
Bourbon Sour
Old-Fashioned
North To Alaska
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Mac and Cheese
Crispy Smoked Wings
Front Porch Sweet Tea
Baby Back Ribs
Coffin Nail
Baby Back Ribs And Mac And Cheese
Bone-In Braised Short Rib
Banana Pudding
Burnt Ends Platter
Phoebe's Mac & Cheese
Trucker Stack
Sweet Potatoes
Pastrami Cobb
Fried Chicken and Waffles
Whiskey Flight
Waffle Fries
Peanut Butter Chocolate Delight
Black Pepper Beef Ribs - Texas-Style
Diy Bloody Mary Bar
Corn Off The Cob
Iced tea
barbecued turkey
Brussels Sprouts Salad
Chicken and Waffles
Griddled Bbq Bacon
 Fried Chicken
Burnt Ends.
Bbq Combo Platter
lobster roll

Private Dining

Host your next private event at Bub City and treat your guests to an authentic barbecue experience. Our unique atmosphere, delicious food, and attentive service will ensure your gathering is one to remember!

Bub City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Barbecue
Chicago / Illinois
Barbecue
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

good for groups (71)
vibrant bar scene (63)
great for brunch (45)
See All
hot spot (45)
great for lunch (42)
fit for foodies (32)
neighborhood gem (30)
late-night find (29)
great for outdoor dining (27)
special occasion (22)
kid-friendly (13)
scenic view (4)
romantic (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
782 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Don't come if you are looking for a good ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 2 days ago

Don't come if you are looking for a good dining experience. Atmosphere is vibrant and fun but I was so embarrassed that I brought my out of town guests here for BBQ. The fried chicken was good but the pulled pork, beef brisket and ribs were pretty much disgusting. How could a BBQ place mess it up so badly? Maybe they just cater to the drinking crowd.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Our office team came to Bub City to cele ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our office team came to Bub City to celebrate the 55th Birthday of one of our co-workers. It was really a nice place. The food portions were awesome. My trip to the ladies bathroom was an experience. I will definitely recommend to a friend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great theme. Yummy bbq. Not bad price ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great theme. Yummy bbq. Not bad price wise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our server was energetic and described t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our server was energetic and described the food well. We didn't feel rushed and had a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch - was a great atmosphere ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went for brunch - was a great atmosphere with lots of options great for the morning after a party. Great Bloody Mary bar as well. Food was good - felt it was just a tad pricy for breakfast food though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasty BBQ in the heart of Chicago's Rive ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Tasty BBQ in the heart of Chicago's River North neighborhood. Casual ambience and friendly service make for a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Every time I dine here I have a great ex ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Every time I dine here I have a great experience. The food is impeccable, service is great and attentive, ambiance is excellent. Whether it's a very busy weekend night or a slower weekday evening Bub City never fails to impress.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch at Bub City was great! The meat an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Lunch at Bub City was great! The meat and three is a great deal, tons of food.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

3 friends meeting for bday dinner on a T ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

3 friends meeting for bday dinner on a Thursday night. Decided to share: pulled pork plate, wings (overdone), brussel sprout salad, and taquitos. All great for sharing! Band was doing their sound-check at 8 which was a nuisance . Then they teased with one song and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Super fun atmosphere! There was a band t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Super fun atmosphere! There was a band the night we went & they were great.

The staff were so friendly & the food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think this place is in need of new man ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I think this place is in need of new management

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

I love going here for brunch and listeni ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I love going here for brunch and listening to the great live music! The briskest Hashbrowns with fried egg on top are outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for brunch since my sister was i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went for brunch since my sister was in town and really wanted to hear country. She loved this place! The service was awesome, everyone very friendly and accommodating when we needed a bigger table for two additional people who came late.

The food was delicious and the drinks superb 👌🏼 We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing first brunch experience! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had an amazing first brunch experience! Food and service were wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a primo booth right at the front win ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had a primo booth right at the front window which was open on a beautiful evening. Always a great time at Bub City. We all felt are food was good but not as much so as in the past. I had burnt ends which aren't quite the same as what I am used to at BBQ places. Atmosphere was vibrant, can be as loud as you want and service was great and not rushed. We will be back

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The old Bub City by North Ave was hands ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The old Bub City by North Ave was hands down our favorite fun, big group destination. This Bub City lacks the ambience of the original as well as the GARLIC ROLLS you used to get when you sat down. The original was a classic and although ok, this place just doesn't have the same feel. With a little fine tuning, this place could rise again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Awesome service. Server went over specia ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Awesome service. Server went over specials, checked back often. Great attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was fantastic. The potato ch ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service was fantastic. The potato chips were out of this world! The food overall was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed Bub City. The food was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I really enjoyed Bub City. The food was excellent. I went for dinner and had the beef rib, which was enormous in size, it was juicy, tender, and very flavorful. My side was the brussels sprouts, which were prepared in a tangy, mustardy type of sauce. I love brussels sprouts but was not too sure about the sauce. It was amazing! I loved how the tangy flavor of the sauce cut the bitterness of brussels sprouts. Totally would order it again. I did feel the noise level was insane - from the music playing and the crowd. Sitting across from my friend, I felt like we had to shout to hear one another. There was a band that was getting set up just when we were wrapping up our meal and I'll say I'm quite glad we were not there for it as I expect the noise level would have been even worse. I would go again, probably during lunch, as I think dinner is just a bit too noisy for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Fun and energetic. Had friends in town f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fun and energetic. Had friends in town from Atlanta who love BBQ and Bub City did not disappoint. He couldn't get over the whiskey selection. Highly recommend for casual dining.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The bloody mary bar was absolutely outst ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The bloody mary bar was absolutely outstanding, as was the service. The brunch food choices were expansive, hearty, delicious and quick to arrive. The outdoor dining area was perfect for catching up with friends. I cannot recommend Bub City enough.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my girlfriend's 21st birth ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We celebrated my girlfriend's 21st birthday. The waitress was super nice and we loved the atmosphere. The food was delicious, we had a party of 8 and everyone got something different and found it all very tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and the food is almost ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great atmosphere and the food is almost as good as in the south. Tuesday karaoke is a riot :)

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great spot for brunch. The blo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is a great spot for brunch. The bloody mary bar is fantastic. I have been here a few times. The staff is not super friendly; it is really hit or miss. The food is pretty good for comfort food. The best day to go is Sunday for brunch and live bands.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Waitress took 10-15 minutes to come to o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Waitress took 10-15 minutes to come to our table after we sat, food was subpar, chicken was dry, syrup for waffles tasted like it hard artificial sweetener. Music was good and blood mary bar had a lot of options.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing Food, Service, and most importan ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Amazing Food, Service, and most importantly WHISKEY!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Bub City after our son's colleg ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We chose Bub City after our son's college graduation. Abby was our server and did an excellent job and we felt all of our needs were met. We had a party of 8 so lots of food and drink requests were made. Such a fun place and food was delicious too with large portions for dinner the next night!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Music

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Went here with a couple friends to have a celebration of our friend getting a job abroad. The menu is limited and it is difficult to eliminate items off entrees, At Least With The Server We Had. The band was great, they did karaoke that night. People were dancing, drinks not too expensive for the river north area.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The ribs were the best ever. Tater tots ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The ribs were the best ever. Tater tots were super, even the last few when they were cold. Slaw excellent with a background taste of horseradish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch and Bloodys

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great bloody bar with lots of options. Brunch was very good, we ordered biscuits and gravy, hash brown with egg, and chicken and waffles. The hash browns kind of lacked in flavor for me, but the other two dishes were fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Nothing special.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was overpriced. A mere four slices of brisket was $16. A can of beer was $5. I am a BBQ connoisseur and thought Bub City was average at best. Music and crowd was very loud. I had to shout to talk. Service was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Pretty sure I got food poisoning from th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Pretty sure I got food poisoning from them, hence the bad review.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Our service was great. The food, though, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our service was great. The food, though, was subpar. I did not think that our food was worth what we paid for it. I do not think I would return simply because of the price point for a mediocre meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food and entertainment of a live b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food and entertainment of a live band. Went there on a Monday evening and it had a great atmosphere! Definitely will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great service!! Shout out to Ozgood! He's been my server both times. Amazing food and I love the live music :)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived really late for our reservati ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We arrived really late for our reservation on a Saturday night, my fault I mixed up the time. When we arrived there was a line around the corner to get in and surprisingly they were still holding our table 35 minutes into our reservation, thank goodness!!! Place had great live band, food was awesome and service was very attentive!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved brunch and we are happy we made ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We loved brunch and we are happy we made reservations. The Bloody Mary bar was phenomenal and we were satisfied with 2 of the apps (lobster and brisket nachos) that we didn't even order entres! We will be back for sure, especially since we are new to the neighborhood.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Bloody Mary Bar!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I'm not normally a huge fan of Bloody Marys, but this place has it all. I tried a Bloody Maria (tequila) then got to choose one of three mixers, and got to garnish my drink with a TON of different spices and toppings. They had grilled cheese sandwiches, different types of olives, pickles, vegetables, sausages, etc., etc. To top it off I got a small bottle of Modelo and it all cost only $10. I highly recommend it!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Love the food, music and atmosphere here! The wait staff is outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lively Southern Style Bar

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Live music stage and BBQ fare in the middle of river north makes for a great night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.