About Bub City

435 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

RJ, Jerrod and Molly, in conjunction with Chef / Partner Doug Psaltis have created their own destination for country music lovers to enjoy a cocktail, grab a bite and have some fun.

Chef Psaltis created Bub City’s new menu with a focus on authentic barbecue. Signature items include Burnt Ends, Baby Back Ribs, Carolina Style Pulled Pork and 18 hr. Beef Brisket. Large groups can enjoy the “Whole Pork Picnic” featuring Slow-Smoked Pork Shoulder served with four sides.

Bub City boasts a bar offering more than 125 selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:
M-Fri 11:00AM - 2:00AM
Sat 10:00AM - 3:00AM
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00AM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4200

Website:
http://www.bubcitychicago.com/

Entertainment:
Guests can expect to see live performances on the venue’s 16-foot stage by some of country music’s emerging talent throughout the week, take in acoustic performances on Mondays, and get behind the mic during live band karaoke on Tuesdays.

Catering:
Set with high top tables and bar seating, Bub City's semi-private Whiskey Bar is perfect for a cocktail reception (up to 40 guests) and with the added Corral, accommodates 60. Both are available prior to 7:30 p.m. daily. Arrangements for large groups of up to 20 guests can also be made in the main dining room.

Public Transit:
CTA #22 Bus at Clark and Hubbard St
Close to CTA Brown/Purple Line stop at Merchandise Mart
Close to CTA Red Line stop at Grand and State St

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
Fridays just got a whole lot better. We're now celebrating the end of the workweek with a Build-Your-Own-Margarita Bar. For just $9, customize your marg just the way you like it: Start with Casamigos Blanco tequila and choose frozen or on-the-rocks, then the rest is up to you. Pick from salt rims like lime, smoke and spicy salts, then decide on a mixer—classic lime, grapefruit, coconut, cucumber, spicy strawberry or pineapple. As the bartender mixes away, choose from a variety of garnishes, including herbs, fruit, vegetable spears, blackened shrimp and more. Added bonus: There may just be some salty snacks (think pork rinds, chips and guacamole) and an ice-cold beer waiting for you at the end of the line. To reserve a table, please visit bubcitychicago.com or call 312-610-4200.

Restaurant Photos

Bub City
Giddy Up Fries
Eight Buck Cluck
chili
Ponderosa Pine Cocktail
Buffalo Chicken Bites
Fried Pickles
Blue Crab Fingers
Lemon Meringue Pie
Strawberry Crumble
Chopped Brisket Sandwich
Whiskey Sour
Old Fashioned
BBQ St. Louis Pork Ribs
Bourbon Sour
Old-Fashioned
North To Alaska
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Mac and Cheese
Crispy Smoked Wings
Front Porch Sweet Tea
Baby Back Ribs
Coffin Nail
Baby Back Ribs And Mac And Cheese
Bone-In Braised Short Rib
Banana Pudding
Burnt Ends Platter
Phoebe's Mac & Cheese
Trucker Stack
Sweet Potatoes
Pastrami Cobb
Fried Chicken and Waffles
Whiskey Flight
Waffle Fries
Peanut Butter Chocolate Delight
Black Pepper Beef Ribs - Texas-Style
Diy Bloody Mary Bar
Corn Off The Cob
Iced tea
barbecued turkey
Brussels Sprouts Salad
Chicken and Waffles
Griddled Bbq Bacon
 Fried Chicken
Burnt Ends.
Bbq Combo Platter
lobster roll

Private Dining

Host your next private event at Bub City and treat your guests to an authentic barbecue experience. Our unique atmosphere, delicious food, and attentive service will ensure your gathering is one to remember!

Bub City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Barbecue
Chicago / Illinois
Barbecue
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

good for groups (77)
vibrant bar scene (65)
great for lunch (46)
See All
hot spot (46)
great for brunch (42)
fit for foodies (31)
late-night find (29)
neighborhood gem (27)
great for outdoor dining (22)
special occasion (20)
kid-friendly (11)
scenic view (3)
romantic (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
758 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and the food is almost ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Great atmosphere and the food is almost as good as in the south. Tuesday karaoke is a riot :)

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Waitress took 10-15 minutes to come to o ...

Dined 7 days ago

Waitress took 10-15 minutes to come to our table after we sat, food was subpar, chicken was dry, syrup for waffles tasted like it hard artificial sweetener. Music was good and blood mary bar had a lot of options.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food, Service, and most importan ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Amazing Food, Service, and most importantly WHISKEY!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Bub City after our son's colleg ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We chose Bub City after our son's college graduation. Abby was our server and did an excellent job and we felt all of our needs were met. We had a party of 8 so lots of food and drink requests were made. Such a fun place and food was delicious too with large portions for dinner the next night!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Food and Music

Dined on June 8, 2016

Went here with a couple friends to have a celebration of our friend getting a job abroad. The menu is limited and it is difficult to eliminate items off entrees, At Least With The Server We Had. The band was great, they did karaoke that night. People were dancing, drinks not too expensive for the river north area.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The ribs were the best ever. Tater tots ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The ribs were the best ever. Tater tots were super, even the last few when they were cold. Slaw excellent with a background taste of horseradish.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Brunch and Bloodys

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Great bloody bar with lots of options. Brunch was very good, we ordered biscuits and gravy, hash brown with egg, and chicken and waffles. The hash browns kind of lacked in flavor for me, but the other two dishes were fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Nothing special.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was overpriced. A mere four slices of brisket was $16. A can of beer was $5. I am a BBQ connoisseur and thought Bub City was average at best. Music and crowd was very loud. I had to shout to talk. Service was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Pretty sure I got food poisoning from th ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Pretty sure I got food poisoning from them, hence the bad review.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Our service was great. The food, though, ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Our service was great. The food, though, was subpar. I did not think that our food was worth what we paid for it. I do not think I would return simply because of the price point for a mediocre meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and entertainment of a live b ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food and entertainment of a live band. Went there on a Monday evening and it had a great atmosphere! Definitely will go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great service!! Shout out to Ozgood! He's been my server both times. Amazing food and I love the live music :)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived really late for our reservati ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We arrived really late for our reservation on a Saturday night, my fault I mixed up the time. When we arrived there was a line around the corner to get in and surprisingly they were still holding our table 35 minutes into our reservation, thank goodness!!! Place had great live band, food was awesome and service was very attentive!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved brunch and we are happy we made ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We loved brunch and we are happy we made reservations. The Bloody Mary bar was phenomenal and we were satisfied with 2 of the apps (lobster and brisket nachos) that we didn't even order entres! We will be back for sure, especially since we are new to the neighborhood.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Bloody Mary Bar!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I'm not normally a huge fan of Bloody Marys, but this place has it all. I tried a Bloody Maria (tequila) then got to choose one of three mixers, and got to garnish my drink with a TON of different spices and toppings. They had grilled cheese sandwiches, different types of olives, pickles, vegetables, sausages, etc., etc. To top it off I got a small bottle of Modelo and it all cost only $10. I highly recommend it!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Love the food, music and atmosphere here! The wait staff is outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Lively Southern Style Bar

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Live music stage and BBQ fare in the middle of river north makes for a great night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Get the burnt ends - melt in your mouth! ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Get the burnt ends - melt in your mouth! And whisky with ginger ale? Yes plz!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food, Good Drinks

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was great, it was beyond my expectations. I had the chicken in the bun and was pretty much a half of a whole chicken. It was cooked well and the sauce was good. Theres a large list of whiskies if you are a whisky fan, this is the place to be in the River North area.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

The Bloody Mary bar is one of the best i ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The Bloody Mary bar is one of the best in the city and the live music is always fun.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time

Dined on April 24, 2016

This is a great Sunday brunch spot. Live country music, outdoor seating, DIY bloody mary bar and/or bottomless mimosas.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I took our niece and her fiance out for dinner and thought this would be a fun place to go. The fiance is from Kansas City and always brags about the great BBQ. He ordered and after taking his first bite said, WOW this place is as good as Kansas City! I have the pull chicken sandwich and my husband had the burnt tips. Everyone enjoyed their dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not so Great Service

Dined on April 23, 2016

when we first got to the restaurant it was great, didn't have to wait in long line outside, had to wait about 15 min before getting seated. once seated no server came up to greet us and people were leaving empty drinks on table and leaning on our table. Not a very good date if you ask me. Got up to leave told hostess and she didn't even remember seating us...so basically we were forgotten. Not very good service overall.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Love everything about this place!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Love everything about this place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting Chicago

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our second visit to Bub City. Try to get there every visit to Chicago. Love bbq food, and this fits the bill. Crowded, noisy place, but the food is delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice place

Dined on April 4, 2016

We had dinner here, nice atmosphere, good food, lot of tv's, for us it looked like typical American :-) Burger, ribs and pulled pork tasty. Very good service!

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great bbq with great music and drinks

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great bbq with great music and drinks

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Bub city

Dined on April 2, 2016

My friends and I come here for food all the time. I decided to have my birthday dinner and drinks here and it was the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service5
value4

Ok For Lunch

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Went to Bub City for dinner but was disappointed by the atmosphere and frankly the food choices. The menu seemed to be more of a lunch menu and really didn't have a lot to chose from. This is a good place to stop with friends for a beer or to have lunch, but if you want a relaxing dinner with great cocktails I do not recommend this restaurant. I had the brisket sandwich which was very dry and tasteless. The coleslaw was very good. Our waiter gave us excellent service.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun Country Bar

Dined on March 27, 2016

Good eats, good music! Fun atmosphere! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere

Dined on March 26, 2016

Atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5

Great BBQ and live music

Dined on March 24, 2016

Great BBQ and live music

food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and music especially if you l ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Great food and music especially if you love BBQ and country music.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still dreaming about it

Dined on March 20, 2016

Went here on the recommendation of some local friends while I visiting the city-sooooo happy we took their advice and tried it for brunch. Every single thing was delicious. I only wish my stomach was as big as my eyes. Disappointed that I don't live in Chicago to experience this all the time. Loved the live music, too!! Service was extremely quick, especially given that it was Sunday brunch. Drinks were delicious. Reservations are probably a good idea.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

finally found a country bar!

Dined on March 13, 2016

The music was great. It's hard to find a country bar in downtown Chicago but finally found one! Bub City was overall excellent. Server was very friendly. Great food at a good price. Definitely coming back again!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Fried Chicken Sandwich Ever!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Hands down the best fried chicken sandwich. I tell everyone this and everyone who has tried it agrees. Sweet tea is pretty good too considering this is Chicago and all. Great service and fun atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Bad BBQ - Loud Country Music

Dined on March 7, 2016

The music, even on a loop so we suffered through it twice, was the best part of the meal. The chicken wings were burnt. The BBQ Nachos were cold. The Ribs were fatty. The beef was tough. The coleslaw was swimming in mayo. Seriously. Don't go.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great weekend brunch spot

Dined on March 5, 2016

I loved Bub City for a weekend brunch spot. The food was delicious and the bloody mary bar was awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Quality has gone downhill

Dined on March 4, 2016

Our waiter was very slow to attend to our table. Upon receiving the food, we were not asked how our food was because our waiter was never around. The fried chicken was extremely undercooked, bleeding and I was unable to eat my meal, it was obvious I was unable to eat it and the waiter never questioned. Also no manager in sight to speak to. I have been going there for the past two years so I am hoping this was just an off day

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great stop for drinks and food before a show

Dined on March 4, 2016

Live music, a margarita bar, and awesome service! Ordered a bunch of food and just shared everything, all food was great Mac and cheese was a favorite. Server was outstanding! Very knowledgeable, friendly, and was a large contributing factor to why we will come back! Really vibrant spot in river north!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.