About Bub City

435 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

RJ, Jerrod and Molly, in conjunction with Chef / Partner Doug Psaltis have created their own destination for country music lovers to enjoy a cocktail, grab a bite and have some fun.

Chef Psaltis created Bub City’s new menu with a focus on authentic barbecue. Signature items include Burnt Ends, Baby Back Ribs, Carolina Style Pulled Pork and 18 hr. Beef Brisket. Large groups can enjoy the “Whole Pork Picnic” featuring Slow-Smoked Pork Shoulder served with four sides.

Bub City boasts a bar offering more than 125 selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:
M-Fri 11:00AM - 2:00AM
Sat 10:00AM - 3:00AM
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00AM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4200

Website:
http://www.bubcitychicago.com/

Entertainment:
Guests can expect to see live performances on the venue’s 16-foot stage by some of country music’s emerging talent throughout the week, take in acoustic performances on Mondays, and get behind the mic during live band karaoke on Tuesdays.

Catering:
Set with high top tables and bar seating, Bub City's semi-private Whiskey Bar is perfect for a cocktail reception (up to 40 guests) and with the added Corral, accommodates 60. Both are available prior to 7:30 p.m. daily. Arrangements for large groups of up to 20 guests can also be made in the main dining room.

Public Transit:
CTA #22 Bus at Clark and Hubbard St
Close to CTA Brown/Purple Line stop at Merchandise Mart
Close to CTA Red Line stop at Grand and State St

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
Fridays just got a whole lot better. We're now celebrating the end of the workweek with a Build-Your-Own-Margarita Bar. For just $9, customize your marg just the way you like it: Start with Casamigos Blanco tequila and choose frozen or on-the-rocks, then the rest is up to you. Pick from salt rims like lime, smoke and spicy salts, then decide on a mixer—classic lime, grapefruit, coconut, cucumber, spicy strawberry or pineapple. As the bartender mixes away, choose from a variety of garnishes, including herbs, fruit, vegetable spears, blackened shrimp and more. Added bonus: There may just be some salty snacks (think pork rinds, chips and guacamole) and an ice-cold beer waiting for you at the end of the line. To reserve a table, please visit bubcitychicago.com or call 312-610-4200.

Restaurant Photos

Bub City
Bub City
Giddy Up Fries
Eight Buck Cluck
chili
Blue Crab Fingers
Lemon Meringue Pie
Strawberry Crumble
Ponderosa Pine Cocktail
Chopped Brisket Sandwich
Old Fashioned
Whiskey Sour
BBQ St. Louis Pork Ribs
Bourbon Sour
Old-Fashioned
North To Alaska
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Buffalo Chicken Bites
Mac and Cheese
Crispy Smoked Wings
Baby Back Ribs
Front Porch Sweet Tea
Coffin Nail
Baby Back Ribs And Mac And Cheese
Banana Pudding
Burnt Ends Platter
Bone-In Braised Short Rib
Fried Pickles
Phoebe's Mac & Cheese
Trucker Stack
Sweet Potatoes
Pastrami Cobb
Fried Chicken and Waffles
Whiskey Flight
Waffle Fries
Peanut Butter Chocolate Delight
Black Pepper Beef Ribs - Texas-Style
Diy Bloody Mary Bar
barbecued turkey
Iced tea
Corn Off The Cob
Chicken and Waffles
Brussels Sprouts Salad
Burnt Ends.
Griddled Bbq Bacon
 Fried Chicken
Bbq Combo Platter
lobster roll

Private Dining

Host your next private event at Bub City and treat your guests to an authentic barbecue experience. Our unique atmosphere, delicious food, and attentive service will ensure your gathering is one to remember!

Bub City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Barbecue
Chicago / Illinois
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

Good for Groups (57)
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
Hot Spot (43)
See All
Great for Lunch (41)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Great for Brunch (29)
Late-night Find (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Comfort Food (12)
Live Music (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
People Watching (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (6)
Casual (5)
Live Sports (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Cozy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Dancing (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tapas (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
804 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unfortunately had a bad experience and i ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Unfortunately had a bad experience and it happened to be my moms 60th birthday. Started off with attitude from the hostess. We had 8 people in our party for a Sunday afternoon brunch, reservation was accidentally only made for 7. So I said its 8 is that ok can we make it work? She was NOT happy and seemed to ruin her day even though we were given a booth in the very back corner of the bar. Service has gone down hill very fast. We ended up going back and forth to the bar since we could not get a drink from our server. Did not make any sense sine it was only 12 in the afternoon? Food was fine - but wish we would have went somewhere else since it was a special occasion. Wont be back for a while!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great place for live music and brunch!! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for live music and brunch!! Great service and awesome food !!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Bar-B-Que in River North. We went ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great Bar-B-Que in River North. We went there for lunch and you get a lot of food for the money. We sat outside and the weather was great. Also a great place to people watch. We have not gone during the evening, but have walked by and the line to get in is long and the music is loud and sounds like a lot of fun!

Definitely, worth trying.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Chicago country bar

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Best Chicago country bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Bub City! The food, the atmospher ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I love Bub City! The food, the atmosphere, the drinks, and the music. You cannot find a more comfortable, fun, and entertaining bar in the city.

Tags: Happy Hour, Dancing, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with the Giddy-Up fries (exce ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We started with the Giddy-Up fries (excellet appetizer). With this, you don't need sides with your meal - it is big. We had the ribs and salmon with some sides. All very good. The Pom. Margarita was good as was the Back Porch Tea and KY High Holiday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Chicago from Toronto once a yea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We visit Chicago from Toronto once a year, and Bub City brunch is one of our favourite places! We make sure to get at least one meal in during our Chicago trips! Great vibes, good food and drink!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Live Music, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted a nice BBQ restaurant with som ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We wanted a nice BBQ restaurant with some good choices, everything tasted great! Would go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the outdoor seating; the ribs are ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Love the outdoor seating; the ribs are wonderful and my first introduction to fried pickles...YUM, YUM, YUM!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Poor service and expensive (sides 6.95 p ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Poor service and expensive (sides 6.95 per item). Wait staff would not come back to the table for refills/assistance.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

I love weekend brunch at Bub City. Food ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I love weekend brunch at Bub City. Food is great, southern food. Atmosphere is fun. Live music on Sundays. Really a great option!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Loved the venue and our waitress was exc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Loved the venue and our waitress was excellent, friendly and helpful. K Phillips band played and they were awesome so a great lunch with a great lady

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

All-in-all, a good restaurant. Good bar ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

All-in-all, a good restaurant. Good barbecue and sides, giant portions, excellent value. I recommend going at off-hours to avoid the crowds

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great restaurant , food & drink. Great s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great restaurant , food & drink. Great servers!! My 4th visit just as great as the first and even better with the band.

Great band, Broseph E. Lee... Please have them back !!! Brock's smile & their music lit up your crowd!! Have them back for the last seasons games at wrigley & weekend series with cardinals !!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vibrant scene, good BBQ. Can get crowded ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Vibrant scene, good BBQ. Can get crowded so make reservations.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an early reservation on a Sunday ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had an early reservation on a Sunday evening, and even then, things were pretty busy, especially the outdoor seating area. Our waitstaff was very friendly and attentive.

We ordered the Waffle Fries with the garlic sauce and crab meat, and oh.... my..... goodness!!!!! These were out of sight! The appetizer was huge and more than enough for two people.

A band was setting up on the stage, and unfortunately wasn't going to start for a while, but their warm-up, was really good. I'm sure it would have been a good show. No complaints, but I am looking forward to visiting it again so I can have more substance to review.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the atmosphere, wonderful food, and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Love the atmosphere, wonderful food, and delicious drinks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bub City is a good place to eat barbeque ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Bub City is a good place to eat barbeque. The food was excellent, especially the fried pickles. The service was good and the prices are also good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food and wonderful live music! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Delicious food and wonderful live music! This place is a lot of fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bub City food is always great and the dr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Bub City food is always great and the drinks were pretty fantastic. But if you are going to be meeting a potential date I suggest another place. Had a hard time having a conversation because every other word was "What? Huh?"

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Don't come if you are looking for a good ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Don't come if you are looking for a good dining experience. Atmosphere is vibrant and fun but I was so embarrassed that I brought my out of town guests here for BBQ. The fried chicken was good but the pulled pork, beef brisket and ribs were pretty much disgusting. How could a BBQ place mess it up so badly? Maybe they just cater to the drinking crowd.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

If you like country music and barbecue, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

If you like country music and barbecue, this is a must! I've tried every kind of chicken on the menu and there is no wrong choice. The Nashville tenders are great if you can handle spice. Their macaroni and cheese is one of the best I've had. Overall great food, great service, and great ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our office team came to Bub City to cele ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our office team came to Bub City to celebrate the 55th Birthday of one of our co-workers. It was really a nice place. The food portions were awesome. My trip to the ladies bathroom was an experience. I will definitely recommend to a friend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great theme. Yummy bbq. Not bad price ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great theme. Yummy bbq. Not bad price wise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our server was energetic and described t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our server was energetic and described the food well. We didn't feel rushed and had a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch - was a great atmosphere ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went for brunch - was a great atmosphere with lots of options great for the morning after a party. Great Bloody Mary bar as well. Food was good - felt it was just a tad pricy for breakfast food though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasty BBQ in the heart of Chicago's Rive ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Tasty BBQ in the heart of Chicago's River North neighborhood. Casual ambience and friendly service make for a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Every time I dine here I have a great ex ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Every time I dine here I have a great experience. The food is impeccable, service is great and attentive, ambiance is excellent. Whether it's a very busy weekend night or a slower weekday evening Bub City never fails to impress.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch at Bub City was great! The meat an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Lunch at Bub City was great! The meat and three is a great deal, tons of food.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

3 friends meeting for bday dinner on a T ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

3 friends meeting for bday dinner on a Thursday night. Decided to share: pulled pork plate, wings (overdone), brussel sprout salad, and taquitos. All great for sharing! Band was doing their sound-check at 8 which was a nuisance . Then they teased with one song and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Super fun atmosphere! There was a band t ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Super fun atmosphere! There was a band the night we went & they were great.

The staff were so friendly & the food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think this place is in need of new man ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I think this place is in need of new management

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

I love going here for brunch and listeni ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I love going here for brunch and listening to the great live music! The briskest Hashbrowns with fried egg on top are outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for brunch since my sister was i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went for brunch since my sister was in town and really wanted to hear country. She loved this place! The service was awesome, everyone very friendly and accommodating when we needed a bigger table for two additional people who came late.

The food was delicious and the drinks superb 👌🏼 We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing first brunch experience! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had an amazing first brunch experience! Food and service were wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a primo booth right at the front win ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had a primo booth right at the front window which was open on a beautiful evening. Always a great time at Bub City. We all felt are food was good but not as much so as in the past. I had burnt ends which aren't quite the same as what I am used to at BBQ places. Atmosphere was vibrant, can be as loud as you want and service was great and not rushed. We will be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The old Bub City by North Ave was hands ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The old Bub City by North Ave was hands down our favorite fun, big group destination. This Bub City lacks the ambience of the original as well as the GARLIC ROLLS you used to get when you sat down. The original was a classic and although ok, this place just doesn't have the same feel. With a little fine tuning, this place could rise again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Awesome service. Server went over specia ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Awesome service. Server went over specials, checked back often. Great attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was fantastic. The potato ch ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service was fantastic. The potato chips were out of this world! The food overall was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bub City's food is delicious. Made a res ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Bub City's food is delicious. Made a reservation and was able to stay for the live music! Danced the night away after. Amazing night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.