About Bub City

RJ, Jerrod and Molly, in conjunction with Chef / Partner Doug Psaltis have created their own destination for country music lovers to enjoy a cocktail, grab a bite and have some fun.

Chef Psaltis created Bub City’s new menu with a focus on authentic barbecue. Signature items include Burnt Ends, Baby Back Ribs, Carolina Style Pulled Pork and 18 hr. Beef Brisket. Large groups can enjoy the “Whole Pork Picnic” featuring Slow-Smoked Pork Shoulder served with four sides.

Bub City boasts a bar offering more than 125 selections.

435 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:
M-Fri 11:00AM - 2:00AM
Sat 10:00AM - 3:00AM
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00AM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4200

Website:
http://www.bubcitychicago.com/

Entertainment:
Guests can expect to see live performances on the venue’s 16-foot stage by some of country music’s emerging talent throughout the week, take in acoustic performances on Mondays, and get behind the mic during live band karaoke on Tuesdays.

Catering:
Set with high top tables and bar seating, Bub City's semi-private Whiskey Bar is perfect for a cocktail reception (up to 40 guests) and with the added Corral, accommodates 60. Both are available prior to 7:30 p.m. daily. Arrangements for large groups of up to 20 guests can also be made in the main dining room.

Public Transit:
CTA #22 Bus at Clark and Hubbard St
Close to CTA Brown/Purple Line stop at Merchandise Mart
Close to CTA Red Line stop at Grand and State St

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
Fridays just got a whole lot better. We're now celebrating the end of the workweek with a Build-Your-Own-Margarita Bar. For just $9, customize your marg just the way you like it: Start with Casamigos Blanco tequila and choose frozen or on-the-rocks, then the rest is up to you. Pick from salt rims like lime, smoke and spicy salts, then decide on a mixer—classic lime, grapefruit, coconut, cucumber, spicy strawberry or pineapple. As the bartender mixes away, choose from a variety of garnishes, including herbs, fruit, vegetable spears, blackened shrimp and more. Added bonus: There may just be some salty snacks (think pork rinds, chips and guacamole) and an ice-cold beer waiting for you at the end of the line. To reserve a table, please visit bubcitychicago.com or call 312-610-4200.

Private Dining

Host your next private event at Bub City and treat your guests to an authentic barbecue experience. Our unique atmosphere, delicious food, and attentive service will ensure your gathering is one to remember!

Bub City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (40)
Comfort Food (38)
Casual (36)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Fun (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Good for a Date (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Happy Hour (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Great Beer (13)
Live Sports (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Dancing (11)
Special Occasion (8)
People Watching (8)
Authentic (8)
Family Style (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (2)
Spicy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Romantic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
931 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was fabulous! The smoke on the meat is better than any we've had in TX or OK... wonderful! Trucker snacks are our new fave and WILL be attempted at home! I had the mezcale/ginger mixer, (can't remember the name) and loved it too! Our waitress was responsive and took great care of us in the middle of a huge crowd! Very nice to walk in and sit down on a Sat night, so, res recommended early. All around great evening, even my non-foody hub was all about Bub City!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious food, great service and a lovely atmosphere!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great lunch spot, good food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This place is amazing! I love the atmosphere, the food is amazing and the service is phenomenal! If you enjoy country music and great food, this is the place for you!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The music was lively, fun and enjoyable. The food came out correct. We didn't love the cheesy hash browns - note for us in the future.

Our server was incredible! Last time we used that word to describe a server was in 2011. Attentive, responsive, personable, professional, accurate, etc.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fun, fun, fun!!!! Good staff and good food and great Whiskey!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I brought my Mom here from Houston and she loved the ribs! The scenery was great and energetic! We had to send our food back due to it coming out cold. The manager, Tate made a GREAT turnaround in the service, food and hospitality! I'd definitely return back! The brisket baked beans were to die for!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Very good BBQ, appetizers and drinks. First time dining, and will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a great time! Our waitress Ashley was awesome!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The obvious reason to go here is for the blood marys. Beyond that, the food is really quite good. There was a live band on Sunday morning that was really entertaining. We were sitting quite close to them and once they started it was sorta hard to hear people at our table. Very entertaining though.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Loved coming here in the past! New management seems to not have the place running as smoothly as it used to. Hostess was rude upon arrival.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We really enjoyed our time at BubCity! I would definitely suggest the pulled pork and Mac and cheese!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We went to Bub City on Saturday for brunch. The Bloody Mary bar was phenomenal - many fun options. Our server Ashley was super attentive and very accommodating to our "special" orders. The jalapeno hash browns were very flavorful, along with the chips and all of the food. Good portions - not skimpy or overwhelmingly large. I am not a big fan of country music, but it was not too twangy or too loud so I could definitely manage it. There were many large groups of 20-somethings have brunch together and as more people came in, it seemed that they all knew each other - lots of hugging and joy to see each other. A regular Cheers! The atmosphere was very positive and energizing - loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Very loud restaurant, first of all. Waiter was outstanding and very helpful. Place was super crowded. We were bumped into often. Ketchup wasn't very good. We had the wings and the special fish and chips. Both were very good for what they are. Everything was hot. The waiter is what really made it enjoyable, always making sure we were taken care of. Everyone that we encountered there was very friendly. Think it may be for a younger crowd though. Not really family orientated I don't think. Probably won't go back.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Some of the best brisket I have ever had! The kids really enjoyed their Mac n Cheese dishes.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Boyfriend Cesat Valets for bubb city and they are always so welcoming when I go! Awesome service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Dancing, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 28, 2017

If you found this listing using the "Kid-Friendly" filter, beware. By "Kid-Friendly" they mean it's loud enough that your kids won't disturb others. There is no kids menu. There are no crayons. No special placemat. Nada. This would not be a problem if the restaurant had not categorized itself on Open Table as "Kid-Friendly" - but when traveling with kids and relying on these classifications in restaurant choices, it's a problem.

If you just want BBQ - good! This place is good for that! For grown-ups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This place is great vibes and awesome food. The wait staff is always fun and attentive and the drinks are great. Love Bub City.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Nice place, good food and music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food was average at a premium price. Made reservations on-line and made comment that we were celebrating our anniversary; no mention of it while we were there. From Texas so was very disappointed!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was a great time honestly

Tags: Hot Spot, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great energy, good food and service, but tables were tight and got bumped often. Otherwise had a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

From the moment we walked in, it felt like we were in a bar in Nashville. we arrived early for our reservation and we seated immediately. at no point during our time there di it feel like the server was simply trying to flip the table and get us out the door.
The food was absolutely top shelf in regards to authentic flavoring. The Nashville hot chicken was not my first choice of items on the menu, but I am damn glad I went with it. full of flavor and stayed juicy. The Brussel Sprouts were outstanding as well. they had some mustardy dressing on them
and the Whiskey Bar is a perfect way to finish off that meal. Don't be cheap. treat yourself, and enjoy a cocktail.
We will be going back to Bub City.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This place is really good for party especially on Friday night. The music there makes you relax and energetic. I like the ribs and sausage there, especially the fried stuffed jalapeno, it's soooooooo good!!!

Oh, by the way, the women restroom's decoration is funny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We came mostly for the build your own Bloody Mary bar, which did not disappoint. Our server was about as bad as they come, although she did get our food order right. The rest of the staff seemed very friendly and helpful, so maybe just caught her on a bad day.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Don't get sat in the bar area on a weekend night, people bump into you and basically sit on you. Not ideal, but the food and good service make up for some of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food, will definitely return. Very loud, so be aware of that if noise bothers you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Fantasy BBQ!
This was my second visit, with friends, to BC.
Each visit the food and service have been exceptional. I have tried the Chicken, 18 hour Brisket, Ribs, Pulled Pork, Mac-N-Cheese, Wings and the amazing Sprouts.
The band that start around 9-9:30 have been pretty good as well.
Cheers!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great atmosphere, and amazing wait- staff! Food was excellent and was served rather fast, wide selection of drinks as well

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Bub City is my FAVORITE country bar in Chicago!!! Sunday Brunch is my favorite. Cannot beat their bloodymarys and live country music!! 5 stars!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Dancing, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was amazing... staff very nice...and prices are VERY reasonable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

There was a man in the ladies restroom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great cocktails and BBQ!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was great but our waiter missed a couple things. Specifically, we asked him for refills on our drinks a couple times and didn't get it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Husband and I went for drinks, dinner and live music! We came early to have some drinks- stopped in at 8pm (reservations not until 930) the host told us she could get us sat early so just hang out at the bar- which was standing room early. We weren't able to be sat until nearly 10pm, so that was frustrating! Food was good- recommend the nachos! Band was good and great service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Y'all are the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great food. Didn't care for the music or decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great brunch and bloody Mary bar. You will be full after you are done eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had an amazing time. Huge selection of bourbon whiskey! Great love music with wonderful service.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Dancing, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

great food and amazing service ! the food came out very quick and our waiter was very helpful and nice. the live music was a little loud and people had to yell to eachother . other then that the food was perfect and it was a great experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.