About Bub City

RJ, Jerrod and Molly, in conjunction with Chef / Partner Doug Psaltis have created their own destination for country music lovers to enjoy a cocktail, grab a bite and have some fun.

Chef Psaltis created Bub City’s new menu with a focus on authentic barbecue. Signature items include Burnt Ends, Baby Back Ribs, Carolina Style Pulled Pork and 18 hr. Beef Brisket. Large groups can enjoy the “Whole Pork Picnic” featuring Slow-Smoked Pork Shoulder served with four sides.

Bub City boasts a bar offering more than 125 selections.

435 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:
M-Fri 11:00AM - 2:00AM
Sat 10:00AM - 3:00AM
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00AM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4200

Website:
http://www.bubcitychicago.com/

Entertainment:
Guests can expect to see live performances on the venue’s 16-foot stage by some of country music’s emerging talent throughout the week, take in acoustic performances on Mondays, and get behind the mic during live band karaoke on Tuesdays.

Catering:
Set with high top tables and bar seating, Bub City's semi-private Whiskey Bar is perfect for a cocktail reception (up to 40 guests) and with the added Corral, accommodates 60. Both are available prior to 7:30 p.m. daily. Arrangements for large groups of up to 20 guests can also be made in the main dining room.

Public Transit:
CTA #22 Bus at Clark and Hubbard St
Close to CTA Brown/Purple Line stop at Merchandise Mart
Close to CTA Red Line stop at Grand and State St

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
Fridays just got a whole lot better. We're now celebrating the end of the workweek with a Build-Your-Own-Margarita Bar. For just $9, customize your marg just the way you like it: Start with Casamigos Blanco tequila and choose frozen or on-the-rocks, then the rest is up to you. Pick from salt rims like lime, smoke and spicy salts, then decide on a mixer—classic lime, grapefruit, coconut, cucumber, spicy strawberry or pineapple. As the bartender mixes away, choose from a variety of garnishes, including herbs, fruit, vegetable spears, blackened shrimp and more. Added bonus: There may just be some salty snacks (think pork rinds, chips and guacamole) and an ice-cold beer waiting for you at the end of the line. To reserve a table, please visit bubcitychicago.com or call 312-610-4200.

Private Dining

Host your next private event at Bub City and treat your guests to an authentic barbecue experience. Our unique atmosphere, delicious food, and attentive service will ensure your gathering is one to remember!

Bub City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (45)
Comfort Food (42)
Casual (38)
See All
Fun (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Good for Groups (26)
Good for a Date (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Great Beer (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Authentic (15)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Late-night Find (13)
People Watching (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Dancing (12)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Live Sports (9)
Special Occasion (6)
Family Style (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Spicy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (1)
Romantic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Cozy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
952 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

First timers. Food was surpringly tastey for a chain. Waitress was fast, friendly, but not over the top. No waiting long hours to be seated. Overall good experience. Close to the new River walk!

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Spicy, Comfort Food, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great time with great service. Bloody bar was awesome - though the scene was a little quieter than anticipated. Didnt mind us given we had young ones with us. Would highly recommend the tater tots and anything BBQ. Also would try the scramblers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Bub city has a great atmosphere - especially in the middle of the city. The food isn't really the highlight of the experience, but it is still good. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Decided to stop in for a barbecue with our grandson, age 9. We did not realize that this was not a family restaurant. It is a very very noisy sports bar! Good food, however, we won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Very loud and crowded. Make sure to get a reservation for a table, otherwise you'll be waiting. The food is worth the visit. Atmosphere is very loud and not great for conversations. Live music at night makes for a fun time.

Tags: People Watching, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Good whiskey selection. Pretty good BBQ. Try the brussel sprouts too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We came to Bub City on a recommendation. Food was good and pretty authentic. Liked that they had good music playing (just the right volume) and the fact that the "garage doors" were open so we could enjoy the outside without being on the sidewalk. Atmosphere was super casual which fit the place well.
Will come back one day to listen to the bands play and have some more brisket.

Tags: Authentic, Dancing, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my mom and sisters here for Mother's Day and they had the BEST time! The acoustic musicians were really talented, the food was perfect for Sunday brunch (as always), and the bloody bar is one of the best in the city.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was great! The live music was really good. Great place!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We used to love eating at Bub City, but this visit was a disappointment. The service was slow, even though we had an early seating for Mother's Day and the place was almost empty. We selected Bub City because we wanted to eat early and have a relaxed atmosphere, then get about our day. Unfortunately the service was very slow and we waited so long between dishes, that our quick meal took two hours and 15 minutes. The waffle with fresh seasonal fruit only had a few sliced strawberries, which was fine, but it should not have been listed as fresh seasonal fruit, as if it had a nice fruit assortment. The hash browns with pimento cheese were a gooey mess. The biscuits were over cooked. With many new Southern food places in Chicago, Bub City needs to re-think its food and service. The location is great and the interior is really appealing, so I was sorry the food and service were less than average.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Staff was very accommodating to the children in our party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service. Top notch . Above and beyond !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Dancing, Live Music, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This place is my favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Tate and his entire team were awesome! We went back for another meal it was so great!
Awesome time at night! Can't wait to go back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Loved the food. Good service. We went for a Bachelorette party and we all had a good time. BBQ was delicious and mac and cheese was also a fav.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, People Watching, Dancing, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Had a great meal. Mac and cheese was exceptional. Good brisket. Good atmosphere and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Service was quite good and very friendly. Atmosphere was fun if you enjoy country. Brisket was exceptional but ribs were rather mediocre.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Was great environment, however definitely too loud, even when live bands were not playing. Difficult to hear the person next to you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Great Beer, Authentic, Live Music, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was very good. Waitress was excellent. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were vising Chicago for the weekend and came here for a fun night out. There was a huge line up at the door but I had made a reservation for 10 so we walked right in which was great. We had a table by the bar. Listened to the live country band and it was awesome. Would definitely recommend this place if you want a fun country bar to go to!

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was fabulous! The smoke on the meat is better than any we've had in TX or OK... wonderful! Trucker snacks are our new fave and WILL be attempted at home! I had the mezcale/ginger mixer, (can't remember the name) and loved it too! Our waitress was responsive and took great care of us in the middle of a huge crowd! Very nice to walk in and sit down on a Sat night, so, res recommended early. All around great evening, even my non-foody hub was all about Bub City!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Delicious food, great service and a lovely atmosphere!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great lunch spot, good food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This place is amazing! I love the atmosphere, the food is amazing and the service is phenomenal! If you enjoy country music and great food, this is the place for you!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The music was lively, fun and enjoyable. The food came out correct. We didn't love the cheesy hash browns - note for us in the future.

Our server was incredible! Last time we used that word to describe a server was in 2011. Attentive, responsive, personable, professional, accurate, etc.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fun, fun, fun!!!! Good staff and good food and great Whiskey!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I brought my Mom here from Houston and she loved the ribs! The scenery was great and energetic! We had to send our food back due to it coming out cold. The manager, Tate made a GREAT turnaround in the service, food and hospitality! I'd definitely return back! The brisket baked beans were to die for!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Chicken and waffles are my go-to comfort food. I can't say enough about what all my friends say is the most stacked Bloody Mary bar in the city. I'm not a fan, but their "adult" tea had me whistling Dixie. Love brunching here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Very good BBQ, appetizers and drinks. First time dining, and will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a great time! Our waitress Ashley was awesome!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The obvious reason to go here is for the blood marys. Beyond that, the food is really quite good. There was a live band on Sunday morning that was really entertaining. We were sitting quite close to them and once they started it was sorta hard to hear people at our table. Very entertaining though.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Loved coming here in the past! New management seems to not have the place running as smoothly as it used to. Hostess was rude upon arrival.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We really enjoyed our time at BubCity! I would definitely suggest the pulled pork and Mac and cheese!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We went to Bub City on Saturday for brunch. The Bloody Mary bar was phenomenal - many fun options. Our server Ashley was super attentive and very accommodating to our "special" orders. The jalapeno hash browns were very flavorful, along with the chips and all of the food. Good portions - not skimpy or overwhelmingly large. I am not a big fan of country music, but it was not too twangy or too loud so I could definitely manage it. There were many large groups of 20-somethings have brunch together and as more people came in, it seemed that they all knew each other - lots of hugging and joy to see each other. A regular Cheers! The atmosphere was very positive and energizing - loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Very loud restaurant, first of all. Waiter was outstanding and very helpful. Place was super crowded. We were bumped into often. Ketchup wasn't very good. We had the wings and the special fish and chips. Both were very good for what they are. Everything was hot. The waiter is what really made it enjoyable, always making sure we were taken care of. Everyone that we encountered there was very friendly. Think it may be for a younger crowd though. Not really family orientated I don't think. Probably won't go back.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Some of the best brisket I have ever had! The kids really enjoyed their Mac n Cheese dishes.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Boyfriend Cesat Valets for bubb city and they are always so welcoming when I go! Awesome service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Dancing, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 28, 2017

If you found this listing using the "Kid-Friendly" filter, beware. By "Kid-Friendly" they mean it's loud enough that your kids won't disturb others. There is no kids menu. There are no crayons. No special placemat. Nada. This would not be a problem if the restaurant had not categorized itself on Open Table as "Kid-Friendly" - but when traveling with kids and relying on these classifications in restaurant choices, it's a problem.

If you just want BBQ - good! This place is good for that! For grown-ups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This place is great vibes and awesome food. The wait staff is always fun and attentive and the drinks are great. Love Bub City.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Nice place, good food and music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.