About Bub City

RJ, Jerrod and Molly, in conjunction with Chef / Partner Doug Psaltis have created their own destination for country music lovers to enjoy a cocktail, grab a bite and have some fun.

Chef Psaltis created Bub City’s new menu with a focus on authentic barbecue. Signature items include Burnt Ends, Baby Back Ribs, Carolina Style Pulled Pork and 18 hr. Beef Brisket. Large groups can enjoy the “Whole Pork Picnic” featuring Slow-Smoked Pork Shoulder served with four sides.

Bub City boasts a bar offering more than 125 selections.

435 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:
M-Fri 11:00AM - 2:00AM
Sat 10:00AM - 3:00AM
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00AM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4200

Website:
http://www.bubcitychicago.com/

Entertainment:
Guests can expect to see live performances on the venue’s 16-foot stage by some of country music’s emerging talent throughout the week, take in acoustic performances on Mondays, and get behind the mic during live band karaoke on Tuesdays.

Catering:
Set with high top tables and bar seating, Bub City's semi-private Whiskey Bar is perfect for a cocktail reception (up to 40 guests) and with the added Corral, accommodates 60. Both are available prior to 7:30 p.m. daily. Arrangements for large groups of up to 20 guests can also be made in the main dining room.

Public Transit:
CTA #22 Bus at Clark and Hubbard St
Close to CTA Brown/Purple Line stop at Merchandise Mart
Close to CTA Red Line stop at Grand and State St

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
Fridays just got a whole lot better. We're now celebrating the end of the workweek with a Build-Your-Own-Margarita Bar. For just $9, customize your marg just the way you like it: Start with Casamigos Blanco tequila and choose frozen or on-the-rocks, then the rest is up to you. Pick from salt rims like lime, smoke and spicy salts, then decide on a mixer—classic lime, grapefruit, coconut, cucumber, spicy strawberry or pineapple. As the bartender mixes away, choose from a variety of garnishes, including herbs, fruit, vegetable spears, blackened shrimp and more. Added bonus: There may just be some salty snacks (think pork rinds, chips and guacamole) and an ice-cold beer waiting for you at the end of the line. To reserve a table, please visit bubcitychicago.com or call 312-610-4200.

Private Dining

Host your next private event at Bub City and treat your guests to an authentic barbecue experience. Our unique atmosphere, delicious food, and attentive service will ensure your gathering is one to remember!

Bub City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (40)
Casual (39)
Live Music (33)
See All
Fun (33)
Good for Groups (27)
People Watching (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Authentic (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Great Beer (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Live Sports (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Spicy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
1009 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This place was not bad. The food was way over priced. Canned beer. Bleh. I'm not a hipster. Way too loud.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Loved the Bloody Mary Bar. Mini grilled cheese, pickled brussel sprouts, and a deviled egg are some of the offering to put in your drink. The Ham and Cheese omelet was really good too! All of our portions were large, so go hungry. During brunch they have live country music and it is just the right volume, so you can still talk without yelling.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service and food ... brunch and lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

A country BBQ place in River North. Service is always flaky and gets my orders incorrect. Prices are reasonable and the fried chicken and burgers are decent if they happen to bring you what you ordered

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Did a late brunch there. Brisket sandwich was good but too messy to eat with hands (not a bad thing). Bacon was a Fred flinstone size piece of meat, mostly fat but delicious nonetheless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our waitress was awesome! Food was delicious also!

Tags: Live Music, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food was very good, just expensive for BBQ. The BBQ sauces weren't very good and could definitely be improved. The bathrooms have been moved to the basement, so not sure if a person with disability would be able to enjoy the place. But overall, good place and think you'd like it too.

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Our server was fantastic and the hostesses helped me deal with the seating since my attendees were late and non-committal from the start. Thanks again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Delicious BBQ and Chicken - but the real stars of the show were the sides! Creamy Mac n cheese, crispy tater tots, smoky beans and fresh corn. Yum!

It was a little noisier than we'd like but not horrendous.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Live Music, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Incredible food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Bloody Mary bar was great. Food came out fast and was delicious. Perfect lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great place for recent sat brunch/late breakfast...large but tasty portions!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Live music & people were good, but food was mediocre & drinks were expensive.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were seated quickly and accommodated with our big party. The food was good, the loaded fries are a must! It was a good experience especially with our two girls under two; we didn't have to worry about them being too loud! 😉

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Live Sports, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We came at lunch time and the restaurant was pretty empty. We were given our choice of indoor or outdoor seating. Our waitress was friendly but we had to get her attention to receive drink refills and to have our check cashed out.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2017

My server was great and kept asking if everything was good!! Food was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Always good barbecue. Live music for Sunday brunch (music started around noon). Very loud, so if you want a quiet conversation I suggest trying to get a seat outdoors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Can't go to Sunday brunch without visiting Bloody Mary bar. That can be a meal in itself. Soooooo gooooood

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Comfort food brunch and an awesome Bloody Mary Bar!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food took long time but the staff was fantastic and comped 50% and gave us a free app

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The Bloody Mary bar and food is great , but a little expensive. The waffle with fresh fruit is my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Have visited several times. Always great food & fun atmosphere. Recommend trying the nachos & whatever frozen drink is offered for that season.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our food was fantastic! Do yourself a favor. Don't get a glass of wine. It comes in a can.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food wasn't as good as I remembered. But still may go back for another try.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Incredibly noisy even for Bub City. Server was good but the food is pretty mediocre. Burnt Ends were very fatty and all soft and mushy buried in sauce. Burnt ends used to be crunchy like the burnt ends of a brisket. Mostly fat now. Other dishes were just okay... couldn't wait to leave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The server was friendly attentive. The food was good, and I enjoyed the ambience. Great for a casual brunch/lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Not really a BBQ restaurant. Brisket comes in sauce even when asked for no sauce on the side. Blood Mary bar was good go for the bacon and shrimp first and load up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had great food and great service in a great atmosphere:). The barbecue was awesome and the portions generous. We had a great indoor a booth that was open to the outdoor patio. We went prior to the Roger Waters concert and it was a fun place to start the party!!! Will return:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Very loud! The food was mediocre and the sauce not very noteworthy for a BBQ place. Service was fine. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I love this place! Bub City's whiskey selection is top notch, and the BBQ is phenomenal! My favorite spot in the city!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The macaroni & cheese is outstanding and also the guacamole. You have to get the biscuit, it is almost a meal in itself. Everything was flavorful and the wait staff very attentive. I highly recommend Bub City.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our waitress knew we had a time constraint and took good care of us. Spoon bread is a must. Would recommend and food and decor were great for a night out with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Our waitress was very courteous and super sweet. The food was amazing! A friend and I split the 4 meat meal and the brisket was a little dry but there were a ton of BBQ sauce options at the table. The mac n cheese was to die for and the buffalo bites... I can't even put in to words how amazing they were. The burnt ends were amazing as always as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Music a bit loud and I never understand why the nice dance floor is filled with tables and/or people just standing around- too crowded. Tater fluff is delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Live Music, Spicy, People Watching, Quick Bite, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I'm from Tennessee and the biscuits and gravy are exactly how they are served back home. The mimosas are yummy and the breakfast is outstanding!!! Sit outside if you can.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Fun night out with the girls. Great music. Good crowd. We had a table but didn't need it when the music started.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great bbq. Great atmosphere. Live music. The kids loved it too!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Sunday brunch was delicious. Large portions for sharing. Bloody Mary bar with Everything! Live music and fun atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

we decided to bring the kids here for brunch. the build your own bloody Mary bar was fun for the whole family. The girls each made a plate of garnishes that my wife and I enjoyed with our drinks.
The food portions were enormous and reasonably priced. All of the food was the highest quality and felt authentic.
the service was fast and friendly. I never felt like she was hovering. And sitting next to one of the open rollup doors gave us all of the benefits of outdoor seating with a roof over our head. The Pride Parade was that day, so needless to say, the people watching was to notch.
This was my second time at Bub City and it will not be my last.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Bub City never disappoints!!! It's always a blast! Great food, drinks, service and entertainment. What more could you ask for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.