About Bub City

RJ, Jerrod and Molly, in conjunction with Chef / Partner Doug Psaltis have created their own destination for country music lovers to enjoy a cocktail, grab a bite and have some fun.

Chef Psaltis created Bub City’s new menu with a focus on authentic barbecue. Signature items include Burnt Ends, Baby Back Ribs, Carolina Style Pulled Pork and 18 hr. Beef Brisket. Large groups can enjoy the “Whole Pork Picnic” featuring Slow-Smoked Pork Shoulder served with four sides.

Bub City boasts a bar offering more than 125 selections.

435 N Clark St
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:
M-Fri 11:00AM - 2:00AM
Sat 10:00AM - 3:00AM
Sun 10:00AM - 12:00AM

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4200

Website:
http://www.bubcitychicago.com/

Entertainment:
Guests can expect to see live performances on the venue’s 16-foot stage by some of country music’s emerging talent throughout the week, take in acoustic performances on Mondays, and get behind the mic during live band karaoke on Tuesdays.

Catering:
Set with high top tables and bar seating, Bub City's semi-private Whiskey Bar is perfect for a cocktail reception (up to 40 guests) and with the added Corral, accommodates 60. Both are available prior to 7:30 p.m. daily. Arrangements for large groups of up to 20 guests can also be made in the main dining room.

Public Transit:
CTA #22 Bus at Clark and Hubbard St
Close to CTA Brown/Purple Line stop at Merchandise Mart
Close to CTA Red Line stop at Grand and State St

Executive Chef:
Doug Psaltis

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
Fridays just got a whole lot better. We're now celebrating the end of the workweek with a Build-Your-Own-Margarita Bar. For just $9, customize your marg just the way you like it: Start with Casamigos Blanco tequila and choose frozen or on-the-rocks, then the rest is up to you. Pick from salt rims like lime, smoke and spicy salts, then decide on a mixer—classic lime, grapefruit, coconut, cucumber, spicy strawberry or pineapple. As the bartender mixes away, choose from a variety of garnishes, including herbs, fruit, vegetable spears, blackened shrimp and more. Added bonus: There may just be some salty snacks (think pork rinds, chips and guacamole) and an ice-cold beer waiting for you at the end of the line. To reserve a table, please visit bubcitychicago.com or call 312-610-4200.

Private Dining

Host your next private event at Bub City and treat your guests to an authentic barbecue experience. Our unique atmosphere, delicious food, and attentive service will ensure your gathering is one to remember!

Bub City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (58)
Live Music (45)
Fun (42)
See All
Casual (41)
Good for Groups (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Good for a Date (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Authentic (19)
Great Beer (19)
People Watching (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Live Sports (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Dancing (6)
Spicy (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Business Meals (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Incredibly noisy even for Bub City. Server was good but the food is pretty mediocre. Burnt Ends were very fatty and all soft and mushy buried in sauce. Burnt ends used to be crunchy like the burnt ends of a brisket. Mostly fat now. Other dishes were just okay... couldn't wait to leave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The server was friendly attentive. The food was good, and I enjoyed the ambience. Great for a casual brunch/lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Very loud! The food was mediocre and the sauce not very noteworthy for a BBQ place. Service was fine. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I love this place! Bub City's whiskey selection is top notch, and the BBQ is phenomenal! My favorite spot in the city!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The macaroni & cheese is outstanding and also the guacamole. You have to get the biscuit, it is almost a meal in itself. Everything was flavorful and the wait staff very attentive. I highly recommend Bub City.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our waitress knew we had a time constraint and took good care of us. Spoon bread is a must. Would recommend and food and decor were great for a night out with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Our waitress was very courteous and super sweet. The food was amazing! A friend and I split the 4 meat meal and the brisket was a little dry but there were a ton of BBQ sauce options at the table. The mac n cheese was to die for and the buffalo bites... I can't even put in to words how amazing they were. The burnt ends were amazing as always as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Music a bit loud and I never understand why the nice dance floor is filled with tables and/or people just standing around- too crowded. Tater fluff is delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Live Music, Spicy, People Watching, Quick Bite, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I'm from Tennessee and the biscuits and gravy are exactly how they are served back home. The mimosas are yummy and the breakfast is outstanding!!! Sit outside if you can.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Fun night out with the girls. Great music. Good crowd. We had a table but didn't need it when the music started.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great bbq. Great atmosphere. Live music. The kids loved it too!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Sunday brunch was delicious. Large portions for sharing. Bloody Mary bar with Everything! Live music and fun atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

we decided to bring the kids here for brunch. the build your own bloody Mary bar was fun for the whole family. The girls each made a plate of garnishes that my wife and I enjoyed with our drinks.
The food portions were enormous and reasonably priced. All of the food was the highest quality and felt authentic.
the service was fast and friendly. I never felt like she was hovering. And sitting next to one of the open rollup doors gave us all of the benefits of outdoor seating with a roof over our head. The Pride Parade was that day, so needless to say, the people watching was to notch.
This was my second time at Bub City and it will not be my last.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Bub City never disappoints!!! It's always a blast! Great food, drinks, service and entertainment. What more could you ask for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent food and great service. The live music rocked! Lively atmosphere, good place to have a drink.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We waited an extraordinarily long time for our appetizers. Then the waitress came by and asked part of our party what they ordered because she lost part of the ticket. The two re-orders came out first and the three original orders were delayed so our table did not get to eat together. The food itself was quite mediocre. Overall a very disappointing experience going there for my husband's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great food and unique items with a fun and vibrant atmosphere. Great barbecue meats and tasty side dishes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great brunch spot, amazing breakfast which I had no idea they would be a breakfast type of place - music was great and staff was very friendly/ prompt

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food and good value at lunch. Bloody marys are wonderful! But, if on a time limit, you need to be prepared to order as soon as the server greets the table. It takes awhile to get drinks to the table, so if you wait to put your food order in until you have your drinks you could be there for an hour before you get your food. Definitely worth the wait, though. I don't think I've ever had a complaint about the food, but I do have to plan ahead since it's not the place to grab a quick lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Live Music, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great food and live music! We went to Bub City while on holiday in Chicago and had such a great evening. Definitely recommend for a fun night out and will head back wen we're next in town!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I came all the way from Detroit to see Kristin Kearns perform on June 4th. Good food and service please invite her back. Watching her play at Bub City was worth the drive.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The food is so great, every time. We always over order and its a test of your self-discipline to not over-eat, and finish! We had enough food leftover to have dinner the next night. Its a big open restaurant/bar, so the acoustics are not forgiving. This visit, we were not pleased to sit next to a table of tourists talking, very loudly (because, obv. they were very important), about their very narrow-minded world views and most likely offended some patrons other patrons, too. This is not the restaurant's fault, but still very unfortunate to the workers and other diners.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Perfect place to have a working lunch. Great service and food choices. Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was good, it was very loud but was expecting that. Live Ben Gallagher was really good. Only negative is they ran out of Chicago and St. Louis style ribs. As a BBQ place you should NEVER run out of ribs!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was average at best. Had one of their signature drinks and it was weak. Service was good and the ambiance was nice, but would not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food, service, and energy. My friends from my hometown were visiting, and it was the perfect setting.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Terrific whiskey options and shots with varying prices depending on brand and quality. The bill can get big quickly with better quality and multiple drinks. Loved all whiskey shot flavors! Brisket, ribs, and brisket sandwich delicious! Chicken also fantastic! Shared sides of Brussels sprouts (yum!) and jalapeño brisket mac & cheese! Plenty of food in portions! Server was knowledgeable and pleasant! Made reservations and were glad we didn't have to wait as at that time (6:30pm Saturday night) lines were getting long at the door.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Live Music, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent experience from the beginning to the end. The staff is extremely nice and food is very good. The wait time to sit or for the food wasn't long at all. I went with my kids and they loved the wings. Will definitely go back but probably with some adults.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great Beer, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I've been to Bub City numerous times, but felt compelled to write a review because this was the most outstanding of them all. A friend and I made two reservations for four because we couldn't get one for eight, knowing we'd likely not be near each other. However, upon calling ahead because we were running a few minutes late, I mentioned to the hostess that our two parties were together. When we got there, there was a cancellation and they had a high top for eight set up right by the band. Plus, holly, our server was so attentive to us despite the usual Friday night crowd. Usually, one would expect a river north hot spot to lack in kindness and service, but this was so not the case. Thanks, Bub!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

First timers. Food was surpringly tastey for a chain. Waitress was fast, friendly, but not over the top. No waiting long hours to be seated. Overall good experience. Close to the new River walk!

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Spicy, Comfort Food, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great time with great service. Bloody bar was awesome - though the scene was a little quieter than anticipated. Didnt mind us given we had young ones with us. Would highly recommend the tater tots and anything BBQ. Also would try the scramblers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Bub city has a great atmosphere - especially in the middle of the city. The food isn't really the highlight of the experience, but it is still good. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Decided to stop in for a barbecue with our grandson, age 9. We did not realize that this was not a family restaurant. It is a very very noisy sports bar! Good food, however, we won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Very loud and crowded. Make sure to get a reservation for a table, otherwise you'll be waiting. The food is worth the visit. Atmosphere is very loud and not great for conversations. Live music at night makes for a fun time.

Tags: People Watching, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Good whiskey selection. Pretty good BBQ. Try the brussel sprouts too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We came to Bub City on a recommendation. Food was good and pretty authentic. Liked that they had good music playing (just the right volume) and the fact that the "garage doors" were open so we could enjoy the outside without being on the sidewalk. Atmosphere was super casual which fit the place well.
Will come back one day to listen to the bands play and have some more brisket.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my mom and sisters here for Mother's Day and they had the BEST time! The acoustic musicians were really talented, the food was perfect for Sunday brunch (as always), and the bloody bar is one of the best in the city.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was great! The live music was really good. Great place!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We used to love eating at Bub City, but this visit was a disappointment. The service was slow, even though we had an early seating for Mother's Day and the place was almost empty. We selected Bub City because we wanted to eat early and have a relaxed atmosphere, then get about our day. Unfortunately the service was very slow and we waited so long between dishes, that our quick meal took two hours and 15 minutes. The waffle with fresh seasonal fruit only had a few sliced strawberries, which was fine, but it should not have been listed as fresh seasonal fruit, as if it had a nice fruit assortment. The hash browns with pimento cheese were a gooey mess. The biscuits were over cooked. With many new Southern food places in Chicago, Bub City needs to re-think its food and service. The location is great and the interior is really appealing, so I was sorry the food and service were less than average.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Staff was very accommodating to the children in our party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.